View Full Version : Boyle Speculation

10-06-2024, 06:56 AM
Just watched an interview where Martin confirmed that he would like to play in the A League.

He confirmed that he was still under contract to Hibs and would be returning to them so he’d be with Hibs …..but when players add ‘if that changes, …..it changes’….while it is indeed a statement of fact…it’s not exactly slamming the door shut on the possibility of a move away from Easter Road.

We shall no doubt see…….

10-06-2024, 06:56 AM
Meh

Trinity Hibee
10-06-2024, 07:04 AM
If he could get back to his pre Saudi form then I’d absolutely want to keep him but since he’s returned he really hasn’t performed anywhere near what he’s capable of. He’ll probably be the highest earner right now. At his age I imagine injuries will become more frequent over the coming years.

10-06-2024, 07:16 AM
https://www.facebook.com/share/v/i7u5eiN9xg7e7XBs/

I'd say he probably expects to leave based on that

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

10-06-2024, 07:20 AM

Leave then. We need players who are completely committed.

Think he’d want to stick around for Gray and help him in his first season in charge.

10-06-2024, 07:32 AM
If he could get back to his pre Saudi form then I’d absolutely want to keep him but since he’s returned he really hasn’t performed anywhere near what he’s capable of. He’ll probably be the highest earner right now. At his age I imagine injuries will become more frequent over the coming years.

Everyone has their price. I'm sure if he wants to go, and if Hibs receive and offer that they think is acceptable, he will go.

Renfrew_Hibby
10-06-2024, 07:33 AM
Possibly got his heart set on a new life in Oz, kids still pre school I think?
I would imagine that his future after football is now at the front of his mind and you make the move now.
Who knows, this could have been on his mind for a while now and could have been an additional factor in his subdued play last year.

10-06-2024, 07:48 AM
Do A league teams pay transfer fees? I didn't think there was a lot of money sloshing about in that league. Unless Hibs would be happy to free up his wages?

10-06-2024, 07:48 AM
Wonder if Boyle and Youan left if gray would go to a 352?

……………..New Goalkeeper……..

…..…..CB………….CB……………CB

Cadden……NMW…..Newell…..Obita….

……………………Amos…..

………………Vente…..CF

Issue is we’d need three new starting centre halves which is unlikely meaning Rocky would start. Only other option is Harbottle.

Think the formation would suit Obita and Cadden well as wing backs and probably help the midfield three as there’s more protection.

Maybe most importantly for the club is they may think it’s the way to get the best out of Vente by having a strike partner for him?

Paul1642
10-06-2024, 07:50 AM
Do A league teams pay transfer fees? I didn't think there was a lot of money sloshing about in that league. Unless Hibs would be happy to free up his wages?

I was about to ask the same thing. His form has dipped but he’s still too good to allow to leave just for the sake of freeing up wages alone. A transfer fee is needed. The only alternative I could think of is a couple of younger players coming our way in exchange. I think the club would be happier with that than the fans would.

10-06-2024, 07:53 AM

…..…..CB………….CB……………CB

……………………Amos…..

………………Vente…..CF

Issue is we’d need three new starting centre halves which is unlikely meaning Rocky would start. Only other option is Harbottle.

Think the formation would suit Obita and Cadden well as wing backs and probably help the midfield three as there’s more protection.

Maybe most importantly for the club is they may think it’s the way to get the best out of Vente by having a strike partner for him?

It's a tricky one because at the moment we don't think we have the full backs to play a back 4. Going to a 3 means as you say 3 CB's and that's without a reserve. If we then need to flip to a 4 we still don't have the full backs needed.

10-06-2024, 07:55 AM
I was about to ask the same thing. His form has dipped but he’s still too good to allow to leave just for the sake of freeing up wages alone. A transfer fee is needed. The only alternative I could think of is a couple of younger players coming our way in exchange. I think the club would be happier with that than the fans would.

They don’t pay transfer fees within the A League.

There’s not a lot of money floating about in the A League so would be surprised to see a A League club pay a transfer fee to an overseas club.

Off the top of my head can’t remember one being paid before.

Definitely sounded like a ‘if you want me come and get me’ call though

10-06-2024, 08:01 AM
It's a tricky one because at the moment we don't think we have the full backs to play a back 4. Going to a 3 means as you say 3 CB's and that's without a reserve. If we then need to flip to a 4 we still don't have the full backs needed.

I wonder if we’d ever consider miller as a RCB in a back 3. Got all the physical attributes for it and his best qualities are defensively, he’d also be able to step into the game at times.

As long as you told him to stop diving and never try anything more than a 5 yard pass 🤣

Think Megwa has played centre half too so RCB could suit him also although a lot smaller in size and would be targeted every week as a result

10-06-2024, 08:05 AM
I’ve been heavy on keeping Boyle, those comments surprise me a little that he’s quite not saying he’s still got business to do with hibs.

Considering the number of times we paid him good wages on lengthy injuries it’s a little bit cheeky to hibs imo. Not like he’s been here a year or two must be close to 8/9 years.

If he’s wanting away, let him go. No player is bigger than the club

10-06-2024, 08:08 AM
I’ve been heavy on keeping Boyle, those comments surprise me a little that he’s quite not saying he’s still got business to do with hibs.

Considering the number of times we paid him good wages on lengthy injuries it’s a little bit cheeky to hibs imo. Not like he’s been here a year or two must be close to 8/9 years.

Exactly how I’m feeling about it as well. Annoyed me a wee bit

10-06-2024, 08:10 AM
Think it’s symptomatic of where we are as a Club Yet another new Manager Malky in situ and no new players signed with it being clear we need to move players on
Maybe it just feels like if opportunity arising now is the time to move
But the interview does tend to leave you thinking he is open to a move there It’s just a question of timing this summer or next

McGruber
10-06-2024, 08:18 AM

…..…..CB………….CB……………CB

……………………Amos…..

………………Vente…..CF

That team would absolutely be relegation material. Vente struggling for goals as it is never mind not having any creative players behind him or natural wingers.

Of course we'll bring attacking players in though so wouldn't worry just yet

10-06-2024, 08:20 AM
Boyles pre Saudi form will never come back. He has lost his pace now and it won’t come back. That was his biggest weapon. A move now might be best for all concerned.

10-06-2024, 08:21 AM

I found Boyle's response disappointing. he should have batted that question away. Clearly Boyle has plans and loyalty to Hibs takes second place to them, but a bit more discretion required from him there.

He's here!
10-06-2024, 08:21 AM

Not sure we should be demanding a transfer fee if he wants to move to Australia to bring up his family. He's given us terrific service over nearly a decade, cost us next to nothing and yielded us a bumper fee for his brief move to Saudi. At 31 he still has plenty to offer IMHO but I can see the appeal of such a move for him, particularly when it comes to travelling distances with the national team.

McGruber
10-06-2024, 08:22 AM

Surprised and disappointed. Sounds like he is off. Time to cash in.

10-06-2024, 08:23 AM
That team would absolutely be relegation material. Vente struggling for goals as it is never mind not having any creative players behind him or natural wingers.

Of course we'll bring attacking players in though so wouldn't worry just yet

Tbf it’s impossible to say whether it would or wouldn’t when it’s without 5 players 🤣

If the goalie and defenders were quality and solid it would give us a much better chance in this league. We would need a striker with proven quality though and ideally I’d want a more creative midfielder to play behind the strikers and let Amos, Newell and NMW battle it out for the central two positions

He's here!
10-06-2024, 08:25 AM
Leave then. We need players who are completely committed.

Think he’d want to stick around for Gray and help him in his first season in charge.

His commitment to Hibs can't really be questioned. In today's game his dedication to (and clear love for) the club is clear.

Perhaps he's sceptical about sticking with the club in its current basket case form. We'll be toiling again next season as things stand.

He's here!
10-06-2024, 08:30 AM

Injury is part and parcel of the game. Especially for guys with pace to burn. Continuing to be paid while injured is what any employee should expect.

What he's contributed (60 goals and playing almost as a one-man team at times) more than outweighs the injury lay-off frustrations.

10-06-2024, 08:32 AM
Would the A League pay more than Hibs ?

I’m not surprised really - the A league like the MLS seems a good option for players and the lifestyle with weather too.

Obviously far away from family for the Boyles but maybe after Saudi didn’t really work out he maybe keen to retire in A league.

I do feel his best days are past him - losing his pace as saw in last Derby being caught up in a 1v1.

Obviously love to keep him at Hibs but with his past injuries etc you can see why he thinks his time maybe running out to play elsewhere.

We also have the situation our club isn’t exactly flying and he will probably be a top earner at Hibs so can’t see Hibs standing in his way to free up ££.

10-06-2024, 08:34 AM

Yep that doesnt sound like a guy committed to Hibs. Bye Martin. Was nice whilst it lasted.

10-06-2024, 08:36 AM
His commitment to Hibs can't really be questioned. In today's game his dedication to (and clear love for) the club is clear.

Perhaps he's sceptical about sticking with the club in its current basket case form. We'll be toiling again next season as things stand.

He's clearly got a love for the club, but hes an asset that is only going to depreciate.

If he can bag a once-in-a-lifetime chance to move to Australia with his family, make Hibs (even more) money in the process and the move works out for all parties then it should be a no brainer.

10-06-2024, 08:42 AM
He's clearly got a love for the club, but hes an asset that is only going to depreciate.

If he can bag a once-in-a-lifetime chance to move to Australia with his family, make Hibs (even more) money in the process and the move works out for all parties then it should be a no brainer.

I doubt it pays more. This will be about lifestyle.

10-06-2024, 08:47 AM
Would the A League pay more than Hibs ?

I’m not surprised really - the A league like the MLS seems a good option for players and the lifestyle with weather too.

Obviously far away from family for the Boyles but maybe after Saudi didn’t really work out he maybe keen to retire in A league.

I do feel his best days are past him - losing his pace as saw in last Derby being caught up in a 1v1.

Obviously love to keep him at Hibs but with his past injuries etc you can see why he thinks his time maybe running out to play elsewhere.

We also have the situation our club isn’t exactly flying and he will probably be a top earner at Hibs so can’t see Hibs standing in his way to free up ££.

No - nowhere near. But probably last chance of signing fee.

10-06-2024, 08:47 AM

There are very few clubs who could afford a transfer fee…….and not many who could pay what Hibs pay him.

I think his place in the starting 11 for the Socceroos is not guaranteed either.

Martin knows his business best, but I can’t see any A League clubs bursting the banks to sign him at 31…think the only ones who could are the two big Sydney clubs and Melbourne City…..unless he rolls up in NZ with the newly formed Auckland FC through some kind of deal with Black Knight.

Fuzzywuzzy
10-06-2024, 08:55 AM
Couldn't blame him for wanting to improve his quality of life and lifestyle by moving there. He has a young family to think of. He would go with my best wishes, it's not like he hasn't been a good servant to the club

The Baldmans Comb
10-06-2024, 08:57 AM
The question arose because it was planted and the answer was given because it was scripted.

That's how these things work which would free huge wages for Hibs though hard to see how Boyle can replicate anything close in Australia.

10-06-2024, 09:03 AM

And extending his career in a less demanding league.

10-06-2024, 09:04 AM
Gotta make the most of the opportunity when we have them here.

We blew it against St Johnstone. And kicks in the stanes from Aberdeen and Celtic. I’d like to say we’ll learn. We probably has peak Boyle tho and we have to the thankful for that.

i wish him well if he’s offski. One of the bright lights.

10-06-2024, 09:05 AM
If he stays, he needs to up his game considerably from last season. If he goes then good luck to him.

10-06-2024, 09:05 AM
Couldn't blame him for wanting to improve his quality of life and lifestyle by moving there. He has a young family to think of. He would go with my best wishes, it's not like he hasn't been a good servant to the club

Agree with that, but like most of us I still hold hopes of him regaining his dashing style and playing a part in our resurgence.

Having said that, even the most loved players leave the club eventually, and with him entering his final year of his contract he’s maybe looking for a contract for a bit longer than that.

Just hope it all works out for the best of both parties.

Rumble de Thump
10-06-2024, 09:09 AM
Auckland FC might fancy a marquee signing. He's seemed a lot more interested in playing for Australia rather than Hibs for quite a while. It does feel like his time at Hibs is coming to an end. Good luck to him.

supermcginn
10-06-2024, 09:11 AM
His pace has gone, he's on massive wages, it's a good time for both parties for him to move on. Great player for us in his prime but time moves on.

10-06-2024, 09:12 AM
If he wants to go, I'd just let him go for whatever you can get for him.

I want him to stay to be clear however, it's been well documented that there's been off the field stuff going on (I've no idea what, just what's been rumoured)and if a change of scenery helps his personal life then I think hibs should help him facilitate it. I know in business there's no room for sentiment but he's been fantastic for us in so many ways and if we can help him we should

10-06-2024, 09:12 AM
Having already lost Maolida, looking likely to lose Youan, if we were to sell Boyle as well that a lot of goals and creativity to replace at once.

I’m not really against anyone in that squad leaving if we can get a deal that works for us but we’ll need to be very careful how we go about it.

Paul1642
10-06-2024, 09:18 AM
I’ll be gutted if Boyle goes, although less gutted than I was was last time around.

The con is that he is on his day probably our best player and it’s hard to find a player of that quality at our level.

The pro is that his performances last season had dropped and we can’t afford someone who is likely close to being our top earner not playing well. At 31 we should be able to get another good year, if not two, from him but those at the club will know how likely that actually is.

If he does go it’s another large wage available for the squad overhaul I suppose.

10-06-2024, 09:19 AM
Auckland FC might fancy a marquee signing. He's seemed a lot more interested in playing for Australia rather than Hibs for quite a while. It does feel like his time at Hibs is coming to an end. Good luck to him.

No doubt they will…but if they do Martin needs to keep in mind that there is a difference between Australia and New Zealand.
Arthur Duncan is still there as far as I know.

Paul1642
10-06-2024, 09:21 AM
Having already lost Maolida, looking likely to lose Youan, if we were to sell Boyle as well that a lot of goals and creativity to replace at once.

I’m not really against anyone in that squad leaving if we can get a deal that works for us but we’ll need to be very careful how we go about it.

With the BK investment, last weeks investment, Youans transfer fee, and Youan & Boyle’s combined wages, the budget to replace them really should be pretty impressive.

It’s still not an easy task but if the scouting is right this could turn out well.

Stokesy's on fire
10-06-2024, 09:28 AM
Stunned we have fans wishing a player with Boyles ability away...

10-06-2024, 09:29 AM

Sounds like Boyle is wishing himself away.

Trinity Hibee
10-06-2024, 09:35 AM

You have to weigh up his age and injury record recently. The squad has underperformed and this is a fresh slate point with investment coming in.

No one doubting his ability when he’s on form but the time comes for everyone to move on eventually

10-06-2024, 09:39 AM
I think he will be away. He's lost half a yard and with it the ability to influence games like he used to. Rarely hits the byeline now, always comes inside.

10-06-2024, 09:43 AM
I wonder if there's more to it than just Boyle wanting away. Sure he could go over to Oz and retire to a fantastic life with his family but who's to say the club aren't pushing him or encouraging him towards the airport?

Especially given the rumours around the club calling time on Hanlon and Stevenson. Is there a push towards a younger hungry side?

Boyle leaving though brings a close to possibly the best spell we've had following the hibees in the last 20 years or so. That 2015-22 era of Carnival De Paris and Dion was probably the most connected I've felt towards the club.

Only other time was teenage kicks era under Mowbray (admittedly I am "only" 35 and so limited in my choices for successful hibs team) but everything felt positive and strong at the club in that period

McGruber
10-06-2024, 09:46 AM

Gutted if he's away - but sounds like he wants off so wouldn't begrudge the club doing a deal. Only want players committed to the cause. Same goes for Youan, be gutted if he's away aswell but good money for a player that wants to leave so couldn't blame the club.

Really need to be getting the replacements right - big shoes to fill

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 09:52 AM
With the rebuild we have to do , losing both Boyle and Youan would be bad , we'd struggle to get two players of their quality again .

lugz
10-06-2024, 09:59 AM
Think a lot of people are living in the past when it comes to Boyle, in truth any of last seasons team should be free to leave as they'd not be difficult to replace.

10-06-2024, 10:05 AM
I blame Mcleish for not calling him up for Scotland.

10-06-2024, 10:07 AM
With the rebuild we have to do , losing both Boyle and Youan would be bad , we'd struggle to get two players of their quality again .

Bit dramatic. We'd replace the players as we always do.

Fair enough saying that about McGinn but Youan and Boyle are replaceable just like the rest of the squad.

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 10:20 AM
Bit dramatic. We'd replace the players as we always do.

Fair enough saying that about McGinn but Youan and Boyle are replaceable just like the rest of the squad.

Youan has contributed around about 10 goals and 10 assists as a winger which won't be easily replaced.
Boyle is also one of the few good players left at our club .

Between losing Maolida and now talk of both Boyle and Youan going , that's going towards 30 goals we are taken out of the team.

Replacing both won't be easy . Anyhow it would be a bad start imo losing two of our main players while we are left with around 20 that aren't good enough.

10-06-2024, 10:24 AM
He went to Saudi with our blessing and a wedge for us, that never worked out and he came back but had to almost triple his wages to compensate. He's not been the same since his injury and we're paying a lot for someone who isn't the same player. Cancel his contract, let him move to Oz and use his hefty wage on 2 good players.

10-06-2024, 10:41 AM
I know teams don't generally improve by moving on their better players but with Boyle I think there is a lot to weigh up.

He's one of our high earners, he's 31, he's had 3 major injuries, he's very reliant on his pace and acceleration and he seems to have his eye on a move away.

I think this summer could be the time to deal and it frees up a lot of money that could be spent elsewhere. If his head isn't fully in the game here then denying him a big opportunity to move his family elsewhere is arguably not a good move for either club or player.

I'd be far less gutted about him going now than I was when he went to Saudi. He was the bargain of the decade for us first time round and he has been a good servant so he can go with our best wishes.

10-06-2024, 10:48 AM
I think we’ve seen the best of Martin, don’t grudge him a move to Oz if that’s what he wants for his family. His ‘reported’ wages would cover 2 x decent signings I’d suspect so don’t think we should stand in his way.

10-06-2024, 10:57 AM
Nice to see another great servant being treated with such respect😏

Funny to see folk get so butt hurt about players having other potential goals in life when we so often read comments like “empty” “get rid” “bin”. “mass clear out” when it suits.

10-06-2024, 10:58 AM
I think people are remembering Boyle pre Saudi, this last season he was poor.

If it was an option of him or Youan I’d 100% keep Youan.

10-06-2024, 11:01 AM
Nice to see another great servant being treated with such respect😏

Funny to see folk get so butt hurt about players having other potential goals in life when we so often read comments like “empty” “get rid” “bin”. “mass clear out” when it suits.

There’s no loyalty in football and that works all ways.

Players and coaches shouldn’t have any loyalty to us as we wont have any for them if they don’t perform for whatever reason.

There’s nothing wrong with that imo, it’s just the nature of the beast with this industry.

I don’t think anybody has said anything out of order about Boyle, not been anything personal that I’ve seen anyway.

10-06-2024, 11:08 AM

Well yes, I didn't say it did.

Normal jobs in Australia do though, maybe hes got one eye on life after football.

10-06-2024, 11:09 AM
Just seen the extension of the interview floating about on Youtube (DINNAE KEN HOW TO POST IT)and at the 6.15 mark he's asked about when he could move here.....he basically says that while he would have to sort out things for his family, once that it is done he could move in a matter of days.....and cites Jimmy Jeggo's move as an example.

Martin's no daft, and would know it would hit the headlines in Scotland within hours, so he's obviously thought things through.

Be sorry to see him go, but seems his mind is focussed on Downunder.

BTW..He WAS complimentary about Hibs and the supporter base, but reckon there will be a few serious discussions at Easter Road on his return.

10-06-2024, 11:16 AM
Just seen the extension of the interview floating about on Youtube (DINNAE KEN HOW TO POST IT)and at the 6.15 mark he's asked about when he could move here.....he basically says that while he would have to sort out things for his family, once that it is done he could move in a matter of days.....and cites Jimmy Jeggo's move as an example.

Martin's no daft, and would know it would hit the headlines in Scotland within hours, so he's obviously thought things through.

BTW..He WAS complimentary about Hibs and the supporter base, but reckon there will be a few serious discussions at Easter Road on his return.

Really disappointed in Boyle. If he wants the move then discuss that privately with the club, as you say he knows it’ll make headlines here.

Regardless if he wants away I hope we do whats best for us. That may well be freeing up his wage.

10-06-2024, 11:20 AM

Didn't think i'd be shocked at anything posted on here anymore :greengrin

10-06-2024, 11:35 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if this isn't all coming from him. He may know that the club are happy to move him on too in order to free up his hefty wages. It could be looked at that he's actually helping the club by being open to moving on.

I love the Squirrel but personally I see this as a bit of a win win for Hibs & Boyle if we can replace him with someone with better current and potential ability. Would give me a bit more interest in the A League too.

Thinking as I type but I wonder if Foley's Auckland FC could be a shout, I'd take a great interest in them if that was the case and I know there's a lot of Scots over there that they'd then get along to watch them.

Mcbizz1998
10-06-2024, 11:38 AM
Boyle had 1 poor season (by his standards) in an awful one for the club with a manager who had a really rigid way of playing.

I am far from convinced that Boyle is 'done' or his legs have gone. Should be going nowhere and we can reassess in January after 6 months under DG/with better signings (hopefully) around him.

DickieDastardly
10-06-2024, 11:39 AM
Still think he has a lot to offer.

For me his style of play was completely stifled under Monty, the slow methodical build up meant the opposition generally had 11 men behind the ball leaving no space for him to operate in and use his pace.

Hopefully a more traditional (and flexible) approach from SDG would see him begin to flourish again, with balls in-behind opposition full backs for him to run on to.

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 11:39 AM
Really disappointed in Boyle. If he wants the move then discuss that privately with the club, as you say he knows it’ll make headlines here.

Regardless if he wants away I hope we do whats best for us. That may well be freeing up his wage.

Don't think he's said anything wrong . Small clip of it here that .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-martin-boyle-australia-transfer-news-4659066

10-06-2024, 11:46 AM

For me his style of play was completely stifled under Monty, the slow methodical build up meant the opposition generally had 11 men behind the ball leaving no space for him to operate in and use his pace.

Hopefully a more traditional (and flexible) approach from SDG would see him begin to flourish again, with balls in-behind opposition full backs for him to run on to.

Agree with this - he showed against Motherwell he’s still got it.

Also, a couple of weeks prior when we got the elusive early goal v St Johnstone and opened the game up he was electric.

The game Monty had us playing though just generally didn’t get the best out of him. There was plenty of flashes during the season though that prove he is still more or less the same player.

10-06-2024, 11:47 AM
Boyle had 1 poor season (by his standards) in an awful one for the club with a manager who had a really rigid way of playing.

I am far from convinced that Boyle is 'done' or his legs have gone. Should be going nowhere and we can reassess in January after 6 months under DG/with better signings (hopefully) around him.

This is pretty much where I'm at with it.

I think we need Boyle at Hibs for the coming season more than we need the wage it would free up to see him depart. There's life in those legs yet and I have little faith that we would replace him effectively.

Donegal Hibby
10-06-2024, 11:51 AM

Agree with this , was there one player apart from Maolida that was a standout or improved last season? .

Good pre season under his belt and hopefully Boyle is back to his best again.

10-06-2024, 11:58 AM
Maybe the tactics hindered his season along with his injury.

We would be mad to let him go.

10-06-2024, 11:58 AM
I don't disagree that he's still a good player with something to offer but there's no doubt he's lost a bit of his pace which is such a key attribute for him. If we can move him on while his stock is still decent and replace him with someone better and on their way up then it's a great move to make.

Couple of BIG IFs though.

Just reckon it's a risk to keep our highest earner around when he's no longer one of the best players at the club, or shouldn't be. Ideally he bounces back and shows that he still is that player.

10-06-2024, 12:07 PM
Just about every player at the club regressed under Montgomery. Boyle included. I wouldn't be writing him off just yet. He's also still under contract despite what he may say about future options.

10-06-2024, 12:07 PM
I don't disagree that he's still a good player with something to offer but there's no doubt he's lost a bit of his pace which is such a key attribute for him. If we can move him on while his stock is still decent and replace him with someone better and on their way up then it's a great move to make.

Couple of BIG IFs though.

Just reckon it's a risk to keep our highest earner around when he's no longer one of the best players at the club, or shouldn't be. Ideally he bounces back and shows that he still is that player.

I'm not sure it matters what his stock is, as we have been advised that A-League teams aren't going to be paying a fee for him.

I think there is some doubt about whether Boyle has lost pace. I still see him as rapid, he's been hamstrung by the style of play Monty adopted for the team. The slow build up didn't suit him and hopefully Gray will be smart enough to play to our strengths. One of those strengths is Boyle's ability to stretch a defence with his running.

supermcginn
10-06-2024, 12:12 PM
Maybe the tactics hindered his season along with his injury.

We would be mad to let him go.

Hardly, he's our highest paid player, his main asset is pace which he's lost quite a bit of and he's only going to get slower. The time is right to invest his wages on a younger model.

10-06-2024, 12:20 PM
I don’t actually think Boyle was half as bad last season as some people make out.

I’d prefer to keep him.

10-06-2024, 12:28 PM
Think he will be off if given chance for a new life in oz with tye family amd most of us would be if given the chance to get away from here. Think we have seen the best of him so cash in and let him go

10-06-2024, 12:33 PM
I feel that its time to cash in our saleable assets.

Boyle, Youan, Vente and past POTYs like Newell and Obita. We could use the cash for more facilities at East Mains which produces one first-team player every decade.

The rest of the cash could be used to square off the deficit from relegation.

We could then look around the lower leagues for replacements, I've heard there's some excellent talent at Peterhead, Alloa and Stenhousemuir.

😉

10-06-2024, 12:34 PM

... :-)

snedzuk
10-06-2024, 12:48 PM

Boyle, Youan, Vente and past POTYs like Newell and Obita. We could use the cash for more facilities at East Mains which produces one first-team player every decade.

We could then look around the lower leagues for replacements, I've heard there's some excellent talent at Peterhead, Alloa and Stenhousemuir.

😉

Actually, its Peterhead, Elgin, Kelty Hearts and Queens Park, as we might be about to find out if we cant get our act together.

10-06-2024, 01:00 PM

😉

We could then sell Easter Road for housing and use the profits to build a better community hub and save all the hassle we have to go through with a failing football team. Why haven’t we thought of that before. 😉

10-06-2024, 01:01 PM
Boyle's best period for Hibs was during the counterattacking Ross era. Be interesting to see what SDG does.

10-06-2024, 01:06 PM
Id imagine - and seems like Martin alluded to this in his season reflections - the season was poor and he and the senior members need to step up and he was ready to oick up the leadership role challenge.
so we’ll see whether the ties are strong between him and SDG or whether money and the pull of Oz ones out.

10-06-2024, 01:53 PM
Id imagine - and seems like Martin alluded to this in his season reflections - the season was poor and he and the senior members need to step up and he was ready to oick up the leadership role challenge.
so we’ll see whether the ties are strong between him and SDG or whether money and the pull of Oz ones out.

What money?

If Boyle goes it will be because he and his family fancy a new life in Australia, not because he will earn more ?

This got me thinking about contracts and Hibs having to pay out in order to move players on who are still under contract. When Boyle re-signed I assume he will have received a healthy signing on fee? Do we get 1/3rd back if we are good enough to release him or does that one only cut one way? I think we can safely forget the notion of getting a fee for him, based on the Forza insight into the current state of transfers down under.

10-06-2024, 02:12 PM

I’m not saying he couldn’t have a decent season again but his legs have definitely gone. He is not blasting past defenders the way he used to and that will never come back again. I can guarantee you that. Once you lose your speed, it’s gone for good. He will never be as fast again.

stuart-farquhar
10-06-2024, 02:30 PM
Think he will be off if given chance for a new life in oz with tye family amd most of us would be if given the chance to get away from here. Think we have seen the best of him so cash in and let him go

Nah. Prefer the availability of world class theatre, food and the whole of Europe on my doorstep.

Personally very disappointed with Australia. Especially the early to bed culture.

But if you like space and remoteness from , well everywhere maybe a good choice.

tonyrougier123
10-06-2024, 02:49 PM
Martin Boyle leaving would be a huge blow. Still one of the best players in the league for me. I think we will need him more than ever next season. Anyone thinking there’s better kicking about that we could pick up is kidding themselves.
If boyler himself wants to go then that’s a different scenario altogether.
One of the best wingers I’ve ever seen at Easter road,and really should be facing Germany on Friday!
Alex McLeish!! 😡

10-06-2024, 03:04 PM
Nah. Prefer the availability of world class theatre, food and the whole of Europe on my doorstep.

Personally very disappointed with Australia. Especially the early to bed culture.

But if you like space and remoteness from , well everywhere maybe a good choice.

You've sold it to me!

The more I'm amongst people and traffic, the better remoteness sounds.

10-06-2024, 03:04 PM
They don’t pay transfer fees within the A League.

There’s not a lot of money floating about in the A League so would be surprised to see a A League club pay a transfer fee to an overseas club.

Off the top of my head can’t remember one being paid before.

Definitely sounded like a ‘if you want me come and get me’ call though

He could buy out his contract with us making him a free transfer

10-06-2024, 03:08 PM
Thanks for the memories. Ciao.

10-06-2024, 03:08 PM

Eh?

10-06-2024, 03:13 PM

That’s not the Australia I recognise?[emoji102][emoji23]

10-06-2024, 03:32 PM

That’s not the Australia I recognize.

Mrimbetween
10-06-2024, 03:36 PM
Its looking ominous that Martins leaving, especially after speaking out. Don't know what happening behind the scenes but there must be something afoot

Be a big loss if he does leave but as mentioned free up a fair chunk of cash .Hope he stays even for another season as we group in what will be a long process

10-06-2024, 03:47 PM
Its looking ominous that Martins leaving, especially after speaking out. Don't know what happening behind the scenes but there must be something afoot

Be a big loss if he does leave but as mentioned free up a fair chunk of cash .Hope he stays even for another season as we group in what will be a long process

Is it ominous? What did he say, because I missed him speaking out?

10-06-2024, 04:08 PM
Eh?

Just my lackadaisical response to his lackadaisical response.

A bit dismissive of the club. Just somewhere he's contracted to I guess...

Could've responded in a more respectful manner why still talking about his desire to do his best here whilst he's still under contract given his history at the club. At the same time he can also talk up the possibilities of playing in the A league with a view a change of life etc for his family is that's what he wants.

Might not have been a great year but seems a bit non plussed which is a poor attitude given our support over the years.

Greensunshine
10-06-2024, 04:13 PM
Can’t say I’d be unhappy if he were to leave because let’s face it he’s a shadow of the player he once was.

Always be a legend and welcome back anytime but sometimes clubs and players need to go their separate ways.

We are at a critical point in this clubs history and I really hope MM & SDG can start to build something special.

10-06-2024, 04:30 PM

Could've responded in a more respectful manner why still talking about his desire to do his best here whilst he's still under contract given his history at the club. At the same time he can also talk up the possibilities of playing in the A league with a view a change of life etc for his family is that's what he wants.

Might not have been a great year but seems a bit non plussed which is a poor attitude given our support over the years.

Martin likes telling people what they want to hear, an Australian reporter in Australia says "In an interview a few years ago, you said you'd like to play in the A-League is that still true" or words to that effect.

Martin Replies " yes, love Australia, blah, blah...great league blah blah, but obviously still contracted to Hibs..blah blah,, who knows what the future holds...big smile"

I really don't know what the issue is. He's much more likley to go there at the end of his contract, I can't see Hibs letting a full International go for free and A-League teams rarely pay fees.

10-06-2024, 04:42 PM
Martin likes telling people what they want to hear, an Australian reporter in Australia says "In an interview a few years ago, you said you'd like to play in the A-League is that still true" or words to that effect.

Martin Replies " yes, love Australia, blah, blah...great league blah blah, but obviously still contracted to Hibs..blah blah,, who knows what the future holds...big smile"

I really don't know what the issue is. He's much more likley to go there at the end of his contract, I can't see Hibs letting a full International go for free and A-League teams rarely pay fees.

Tend to agree however you couldn’t really grudge him and his family that sort of move.

10-06-2024, 04:57 PM
That’s not the Australia I recognise?[emoji102][emoji23]

Nor the Scotland. Even Europe is a bit further than our doorstep nowadays.

And surely they have food in Oz 🤷🏻

10-06-2024, 05:02 PM
Nor the Scotland. Even Europe is a bit further than our doorstep nowadays.

And surely they have food in Oz [emoji1744]

Better than the food we have here.

10-06-2024, 05:14 PM
Tend to agree however you couldn’t really grudge him and his family that sort of move.

I don't necessarily disagree and won't begrudge him a move either. Was happy to see him move last time around for the sake of his family given the money involved.

Where I do have an issue is that Martin is one of, if not the highest paid players at the club. He's been well rewarded for his service over the years and rightfully so. With his status and seniority at the club I just expect him to be a bit more respectful towards Hibs and the support. I'm maybe reading into it a bit more than needed but the general attitude around the club has been poor for a while and I expect players under contract, especially someone of Martins stature to be bit a bit wiser when answering questions.

10-06-2024, 08:15 PM
It would be a blow to lose another one after it's looks like Youan is on the way out and Maolida don't look like he'll be back.

I don't think many of us would think any different of Martin if he was to leave in the summer and would still be a club legend and welcome back anytime.

10-06-2024, 08:54 PM

I agree. Hibs have been as good for him as he has been for us and deserve a bit more respect.

10-06-2024, 10:14 PM

Correct

Not too happy with the way he disrespects the club tbh

If he doesn’t want to be here he can **** off with the rest of them

11-06-2024, 06:55 AM
Seems like he ain’t happy .. if you compare that to his interviews pre Saudi or even on his return

Having watched that I’ll be stunned if he is still here next season

11-06-2024, 07:07 AM
Correct

Especially off the back of a very poor season. You'd think they'd be keeping their heads down.

11-06-2024, 08:14 AM
Seems like he ain’t happy .. if you compare that to his interviews pre Saudi or even on his return

Having watched that I’ll be stunned if he is still here next season

Maybe he needs to suck it the **** up and make amends for last season instead of talking about how much he’d like to be playing elsewhere

11-06-2024, 08:16 AM
Maybe he needs to suck it the **** up and make amends for last season instead of talking about how much he’d like to be playing elsewhere

Give him a bell and tell him in those words

Brummie_Hibs
11-06-2024, 08:42 AM
I won't lose sleep.

We've been calling out for a squad cull and refresh - we are getting that now. Good.

Greenworld
11-06-2024, 09:21 AM
It's all very well letting youan and Boyle leave if the money fully goes into the football first team budget.
2.5 million from youan and 500k for Boyle would let the club shake up the Squad further . The danger is that a hell of amount of first team starters leaving when you consider the loan players .
I guess things will move very quickly after the 14th June when the transfer window opens

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk

11-06-2024, 09:25 AM
Correct

Yep, this. He wants to learn to keep his gob shut over stuff like that, whatever his future plans might be.

11-06-2024, 09:26 AM
I won't lose sleep.

We've been calling out for a squad cull and refresh - we are getting that now. Good.
:agree: Thanks Martin but time to go.

11-06-2024, 09:30 AM
We have been awful for the best part of three years.

There is not one player in the squad that you could say we must keep him and build a team round him.

It really has been that bad.

So im all for a total clearout.

I dont "want" Boyle to go, but if we can use his very high wages to rebuild then we should.

11-06-2024, 09:33 AM
It's all very well letting youan and Boyle leave if the money fully goes into the football first team budget.
2.5 million from youan and 500k for Boyle would let the club shake up the Squad further . The danger is that a hell of amount of first team starters leaving when you consider the loan players .
I guess things will move very quickly after the 14th June when the transfer window opens

Hibs aren't getting 2.5 million for Youan and neither will we get £500,000 for Boyle.

11-06-2024, 09:38 AM
Hibs aren't getting 2.5 million for Youan and neither will we get £500,000 for Boyle.

It’s been widely reported we have an offer of £2.5 mil (including add ons) for Youan. Though to be fair that seems to have gone quiet.

Agree about Boyle. Don’t think we’ll get a fee for him.

11-06-2024, 09:51 AM
It’s been widely reported we have an offer of £2.5 mil (including add ons) for Youan. Though to be fair that seems to have gone quiet.

Agree about Boyle. Don’t think we’ll get a fee for him.

Yes, the key part about Youan's purported fee is the bit about add-ons. A wild guess on my part, but we will be lucky to see a million in cash.

11-06-2024, 10:12 AM
Give him a bell and tell him in those words

You got his number?

11-06-2024, 10:21 AM
Yes, the key part about Youan's purported fee is the bit about add-ons. A wild guess on my part, but we will be lucky to see a million in cash.

2m deal with 500k add ons - appearance based.

The 2m will obv be paid in instalment - just like every football deal now. Its still £2m quid for us to spend (in installments)

11-06-2024, 10:28 AM
2m deal with 500k add ons - appearance based.

The 2m will obv be paid in instalment - just like every football deal now. Its still £2m quid for us to spend (in installments)

As you know, the amount of money before add-ons has been much debated on the PM forum and there are posters suggesting it's a lot less than 2 million, If it was as much as that, I'd be astonished.

11-06-2024, 11:28 AM
Boyler in starting 11 for Palestine WC game in Perth kicking off in 45 minutes

lugz
11-06-2024, 11:31 AM
Boyler in starting 11 for Palestine WC game in Perth kicking off in 45 minutes

He must be really well thought off in the national set up because his form wouldn’t be one of someone making a national team never mind starting. What did he produce last season? 8 goals in all competitions?

11-06-2024, 12:37 PM
Commentator said obviously Boyle wants to play in the A league at some stage, he then a few minutes later sets up the 2nd goal to make it 2-0.

11-06-2024, 12:53 PM
Commentator said obviously Boyle wants to play in the A league at some stage, he then a few minutes later sets up the 2nd goal to make it 2-0.

Nice work for the third too.. albeit seemed to get away with at least one offside.

11-06-2024, 12:56 PM
Nice work for the third too.. albeit seemed to get away with at least one offside.

Missed that, i turned it off after the 2nd, was pretty bored with it to be honest. :greengrin

Green forever
11-06-2024, 01:27 PM
And scores Australia's fourth goal.

And almost sets up a fifth.

11-06-2024, 01:44 PM
Definitely putting himself in the shop window, setting up two and scoring one… Almost like he’s playing for a move 🤔

lugz
11-06-2024, 01:50 PM
Definitely putting himself in the shop window, setting up two and scoring one… Almost like he’s playing for a move 🤔

Or he’s playing Palestine, they wouldn’t look out of place in the league cup group stages with us.

11-06-2024, 02:15 PM

He's already signed for an Australian club if the rumours are correct. If true he won't need to worry about a shop window.

11-06-2024, 02:31 PM
He's already signed for an Australian club if the rumours are correct. If true he won't need to worry about a shop window.

Im assuming you have heard something and there are rumours doing the rounds, is this on the back of the interview that we all heard yesterday or was this pre-interview?

Hibiza
11-06-2024, 02:34 PM
Martin, you've been a great servant to our club but if you feel like moving , good luck.

11-06-2024, 02:42 PM
I may be wrong but were the club not really good to Boyle in him returning?

Boyle wasn’t receiving his wage abroad and Hibs still hadn’t received part of the fee.

Hibs essentially wrote off the fee and took him back on a much higher wage?

If it wasn’t for Hibs another club would have to pay the fee for Boyle that the club want and Hibs due plus the wages. If they never Boyle would likely have continued to not be paid?

11-06-2024, 02:47 PM
Good luck, to the wee Wombat if this is his future will remember some very good games and goals.

11-06-2024, 03:20 PM

Boyle wasn’t receiving his wage abroad and Hibs still hadn’t received part of the fee.

If it wasn’t for Hibs another club would have to pay the fee for Boyle that the club want and Hibs due plus the wages. If they never Boyle would likely have continued to not be paid?

Yep, we only received one payment and he lost some wages, so we basically got the same player for double the wages.

11-06-2024, 03:35 PM
Im assuming you have heard something and there are rumours doing the rounds, is this on the back of the interview that we all heard yesterday or was this pre-interview?

I first heard the rumour on the day of the Motherwell game. Melbourne City was the club mentioned.

11-06-2024, 03:37 PM
I first heard the rumour on the day of the Motherwell game. Melbourne City was the club mentioned.

I’m guessing the only way it’ll happen is if Boyle agrees to write off the remainder of his contract. Can’t see them paying a fee we’d be happy with.

11-06-2024, 03:37 PM

Cheers 👍

11-06-2024, 03:38 PM
Really nice place to live, beats Sydney

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2024, 03:40 PM
I’m guessing the only way it’ll happen is if Boyle agrees to write off the remainder of his contract. Can’t see them paying a fee we’d be happy with.

Why would we let one of our better players leave without a fee though ? .

11-06-2024, 03:42 PM

He wants away and it frees up a big salary.

I agree, I’d prefer we hold out for a fee that suits us. Just don’t think we will.

11-06-2024, 03:45 PM
Well fair dinkum mate, ya little ripper good on ya, just watch him go the squirrel has changed into a rocket propelled wombat.
good luck to him

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2024, 03:52 PM
He wants away and it frees up a big salary.

I agree, I’d prefer we hold out for a fee that suits us. Just don’t think we will.

Where you getting the ' he wants away ' from ? . It might free up a big wage though that doesn't mean we will get somebody as good .

Letting him go without a fee when his goals and assists could be the difference in us qualify for Europe would be a baffling strategy from the club imo .

I might be wrong though I thought we had another year option on him too ? .

Article here on Boyle situation ..
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/should-hibs-cash-in-on-their-talisman-while-they-still-can-4660718

11-06-2024, 03:56 PM
Where you getting the ' he wants away ' from ? . It might free up a big wage though that doesn't mean we will get somebody as good .

Letting him go without a fee when his goals and assists could be the difference in us qualify for Europe would be a baffling strategy from the club imo .

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/should-hibs-cash-in-on-their-talisman-while-they-still-can-4660718

He said he wants to play in the A-League, still a Hibs player but things can move quickly like the Jeggo transfer and conversations will need to be had when he gets back to Hibs.

Only way he could make it clearer he wants away is if he did his Australia press stuff in a full Melbourne City kit.

11-06-2024, 04:02 PM

Yep, we only received one payment and he lost some wages, so we basically got the same player for double the wages.

Why would Hibs double the wages of a player that they probably officially still retained rights to? Am I not right that under FIFA rules, his registration would have reverted back to Hibs if his new club defaulted on payments/wages?
Surely another club wouldn't have had to pay the Saudi club a fee, nor would they have had first dibs on Boyle?

scotiaf
11-06-2024, 04:05 PM

We were good to him, however we wanted him back also as we missed the goals, assists and him around the training ground. Football at the end of the day is a business and a life for a player. Hanlon has left and never wanted to leave, but the choice was out his hands. If Martin leaving gives us enough to sign 2 players to the squad and it’s the right 2 players for the team and he enjoys his time in Oz with the family. Then it will be as good a deal as we got swapping Harris for Boyle in the first place. Or we throw the money down the pan on the wrong fit for the team and score less goals ( probably more likely if looking at recent history )

11-06-2024, 04:09 PM

And we got about £1m for what, a 6 month loan?

It was a good deal for everyone involved.

11-06-2024, 04:16 PM

If he wants a move and both parties are happy then I’ll be surprised if it wasn’t a mutual agreement. I say this as Forza has mentioned A League teams don’t usually pay transfer fees.

I’m sure SDG and co will have identified replacements who can do a job for us and good one at that.

MB has been a superb player for us but it may just be time for him to move on!

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2024, 04:18 PM
He said he wants to play in the A-League, still a Hibs player but things can move quickly like the Jeggo transfer and conversations will need to be had when he gets back to Hibs.

Only way he could make it clearer he wants away is if he did his Australia press stuff in a full Melbourne City kit.

He said his aim was to play in the A-league at sometime which he said a year or two , was it ? . He did say he was contracted to Hibs and unless something changed he would be a Hibs player.

If keeping him for another year , gets us into Europe when we aren't going to get anything for him , surely that would be more beneficial to the club especially since we have lost Maolida and are possibly losing Youan too .

Letting him go for no fee doesn't really benefit Hibs alot imo .

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2024, 04:26 PM
If he wants a move and both parties are happy then I’ll be surprised if it wasn’t a mutual agreement. I say this as Forza has mentioned A League teams don’t usually pay transfer fees.

I’m sure SDG and co will have identified replacements who can do a job for us and good one at that.

MB has been a superb player for us but it may just be time for him to move on!

Again I can't see how Hibs would be happy just to let him go for nowt .

I still think with Maolida away and talk of Youan going to allow your next best attacking player to just leave would be madness.

SDG and Co might have replacements lined up though you will be hard pressed to get one near Boyles quality , they aren't that easy to get and the danger is you end up with another wonder kid like Jair too ! .

Its more beneficial to keep him for this season imo if we aren't getting a fee anyhow .

11-06-2024, 04:32 PM

I still think with Maolida away and talk of Youan going to allow your next best attacking player to just leave would be madness.

SDG and Co might have replacements lined up though you will be hard pressed to get one near Boyles quality , they aren't that easy to get and the danger is you end up with another wonder kid like Jair too ! .

Its more beneficial to keep him for this season imo if we aren't getting a fee anyhow .

He’s a high earner no longer performing and there is no club out there willing to pay a fee?[emoji2369]
Not saying that’s the case but that’s a scenario Hibs would let him leave for free.

11-06-2024, 04:35 PM
He said his aim was to play in the A-league at sometime which he said a year or two , was it ? . He did say he was contracted to Hibs and unless something changed he would be a Hibs player.

If keeping him for another year , gets us into Europe when we aren't going to get anything for him , surely that would be more beneficial to the club especially since we have lost Maolida and are possibly losing Youan too .

Letting him go for no fee doesn't really benefit Hibs alot imo .

Other posters have explained this.

Maolida was never our player so we had to make the most of it and we did. He has went back to his parent club and there was nothing we could do about it.

I’m also sure the club are planning for the departure of EY and if we get 2-2.5 million for him then we take the money and move on.

Well it might benefit using his reported wage on possibly 2 other players and they could improve us.

Boyle has been poor this season and there is no guarantee he will get back to his best this coming season.

Martin Boyle was a bit part player for us and everyone wonder why we were signing him back in the day. He’s turned out to be superb for us but he’s not getting any younger.

What if we manage to unearth another SJM.

All ifs and maybes but whilst I think he’s been superb it might just be time for him to move on. If he stays he’ll get my full support and if he chooses to move on my best wishes.

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2024, 04:37 PM
Other posters have explained this.

Maolida was never our player so we had to make the most of it and we did. He has went back to his parent club and there was nothing we could do about it.

I’m also sure the club are planning for the departure of EY and if we get 2-2.5 million for him then we take the money and move on.

Well it might benefit using his reported wage on possibly 2 other players and they could improve us.

Boyle has been poor this season and there is no guarantee he will get back to his best this coming season.

Martin Boyle was a bit part player for us and everyone wonder why we were signing him back in the day. He’s turned out to be superb for us but he’s not getting any younger.

All ifs and maybes but whilst I think he’s been superb it might just be time for him to move on. If he stays he’ll get my full support and if he chooses to move on my best wishes.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-want-more-money-for-elie-youan-amid-speculation-on-martin-boyles-future-as-transfer-business-ramps-up-4661765

11-06-2024, 04:40 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-want-more-money-for-elie-youan-amid-speculation-on-martin-boyles-future-as-transfer-business-ramps-up-4661765

I’ve seen that but I think the interview has a bit more to it. Watch that.

11-06-2024, 04:43 PM

I am not likely to believe anything from a newspaper that can’t even get the club we signed Youan from correct

Mrimbetween
11-06-2024, 04:46 PM
I think Martins been told if the right money comes in for you , you can go, if not you stay. Same with Youan. Makes sense

11-06-2024, 04:53 PM

If true he's on around £7.5k a week, that's 2 decent players wages.

11-06-2024, 04:56 PM

These journos man, 700k to Luzern.

Did we aye?

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2024, 05:01 PM
I think Martins been told if the right money comes in for you , you can go, if not you stay. Same with Youan. Makes sense

That would make more sense rather than let one of our best players who's under contract walk away for nowt 👍

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2024, 05:27 PM

Is there a player in our squad that hasn't been poor this season apart from Maolida ? . Still contributed 10 goals and 3 assists I think.

Your right though there's also no guarantees that he won't be back to his best next season either and contributing to the team like this ...

https://youtu.be/QG4Hl4yFC-A?si=6yBEPEZWQsisBr1O

Imo he's worth taking the chance on if your getting nothing for him anyway.

I'd admire your optimism/ positivity though how many players like SJM have we uncovered over the last few years . There's a hell of a lot more Jair's , Kenneh's , melkersen , bojangles etc etc ....... We have unearthed which is another reason I'd keep him too .

11-06-2024, 05:42 PM
If true he's on around £7.5k a week, that's 2 decent players wages.

Is it though?

Would a player like Danny Armstrong be signing up for half of what Boyle earns at Hibs? Boyle was/is a decent player, that's why he reputedly earns £7.5/week.

11-06-2024, 06:11 PM
These journos man, 700k to Luzern.

Did we aye?

Pathetically poor knowledge

tonyrougier123
11-06-2024, 06:28 PM
Martin Boyle is hibs best player by some way. First name on team sheet, creates,scores is an out ball for the team,also is a club legend for me. Hes had a stop start couple of seasons due to injury and internationals.
If Boyle leaves there’s no chance we are replacing what he brings to the team. At 31 he’s in his peak. Unless there’s a ridiculous offer for him there’s absolutely no way we should be letting him leave.

When reading some of the comments on this thread it truly surprises me how readily some of you are to lose another club legend.

11-06-2024, 06:32 PM
As you know, the amount of money before add-ons has been much debated on the PM forum and there are posters suggesting it's a lot less than 2 million, If it was as much as that, I'd be astonished.

It was our good friend BK that said 2m tbf. :greengrin

Paul1642
11-06-2024, 06:33 PM
Martin Boyle is hibs best player by some way. First name on team sheet, creates,scores is an out ball for the team,also is a club legend for me. Hes had a stop start couple of seasons due to injury and internationals.
If Boyle leaves there’s no chance we are replacing what he brings to the team. At 31 he’s in his peak. Unless there’s a ridiculous offer for him there’s absolutely no way we should be letting him leave.

When reading some of the comments on this thread it truly surprises me how readily some of you are to lose another club legend.

Not sure he is our best player (and if he is, it’s because the competition for that title is underwhelming) and he is certainly not at his peak. Whilst certain players peak at or around 31, anyone who has watched Boyle can see the peak has past.

That said I don’t think I agree with letting him go on a free despite the wages that it would free up. I suggested earlier that if Australian teams don’t pay transfer fees then at least one younger player needs to come the opposite direction.

I also can’t help but feel there’s something going on behind the scenes with Boyle.

11-06-2024, 06:55 PM
Is there a player in our squad that hasn't been poor this season apart from Maolida ? . Still contributed 10 goals and 3 assists I think.

Your right though there's also no guarantees that he won't be back to his best next season either and contributing to the team like this ...

https://youtu.be/QG4Hl4yFC-A?si=6yBEPEZWQsisBr1O

Imo he's worth taking the chance on if your getting nothing for him anyway.

I'd admire your optimism/ positivity though how many players like SJM have we uncovered over the last few years . There's a hell of a lot more Jair's , Kenneh's , melkersen , bojangles etc etc ....... We have unearthed which is another reason I'd keep him too .

There are a lot better Scottish equivalents out there who would d a far better job than you’ve listed above.

Bear in mind we did get decent money for Melkersen

11-06-2024, 07:14 PM
Is it though?

Would a player like Danny Armstrong be signing up for half of what Boyle earns at Hibs? Boyle was/is a decent player, that's why he reputedly earns £7.5/week.

And how much is Killie paying him, I'd bet no more than £2 - 2.5K, they don't pay anywhere near what we pay our top players.

11-06-2024, 07:39 PM
And how much is Killie paying him, I'd bet no more than £2 - 2.5K, they don't pay anywhere near what we pay our top players.

We wouldn't be competing with what Killie are paying him, but with what he could get elsewhere if he leaves them. For example, he has no reason to sign for us on £4k per week if he can get £8k in the English Championship.

McGruber
11-06-2024, 07:50 PM
A goal and 2 assists for Boyle for Australia. Good pre season and he'll be back to his best.

Last year was a long season including up to the semi in the Asian cup, injuries, concussions and hindering tactics. No wonder he was looking jaded last couple months.

Quality player.

11-06-2024, 08:11 PM
A man of the match performance by Boyler last night.

Two assists and a goal in his 60 minute run out.

Back to playing with a smile on his face.

Fielded questions about a move to the A League and confirmed he’d like to play in it at some stage and sees it as a way of ‘giving back something’ for the trust Australia gave him.

Said he was looking forward to going back to Hibs, having a good break and seeing what happens from there.

Much more like the Boyler of old……

11-06-2024, 08:17 PM

Fielded questions about a move to the A League and confirmed he’d like to play in it at some stage and sees it as a way of ‘giving back something’ for the trust Australia gave him.

Said he was looking forward to going back to Hibs, having a good break and seeing what happens from there.

Good to hear

11-06-2024, 08:21 PM

Sounds good

11-06-2024, 08:34 PM
There's no doubting he had a poor season by his own high standards, if he stays we need more from him but I do have reservations about him not being as quick as he used to be. I wouldn't read too much in to him playing well against Palestine.

Donegal Hibby
11-06-2024, 09:14 PM
There's no doubting he had a poor season by his own high standards, if he stays we need more from him but I do have reservations about him not being as quick as he used to be. I wouldn't read too much in to him playing well against Palestine.

They all had . Thought he looked more like the boyler we know and love in the Motherwell game .

Good pre-season and a change in tactics were we move the ball quicker , maybe more direct and I think he could still be a very important player for us .

1875Sean
11-06-2024, 09:27 PM
A goal and 2 assists for Boyle for Australia. Good pre season and he'll be back to his best.

Last year was a long season including up to the semi in the Asian cup, injuries, concussions and hindering tactics. No wonder he was looking jaded last couple months.

Quality player.

Exactly a good season from Armstrong doesn’t make him a better player than Boyle

chippy
11-06-2024, 09:27 PM
​
He’s a high earner no longer performing and there is no club out there willing to pay a fee?[emoji2369]
Not saying that’s the case but that’s a scenario Hibs would let him leave for free.

I’d think there would have to be a clause- no signing for another S ottish club until he was 34…….

12-06-2024, 07:20 AM
I mean if this was a player being linked with Hibs you would be confident it's a done deal

https://x.com/10FootballAU/status/1800538973112029270?t=fHQhjI7hjtrPkNqB8F1DNw&s=19

12-06-2024, 07:24 AM
I mean if this was a player being linked with Hibs you would be confident it's a done deal

https://x.com/10FootballAU/status/1800538973112029270?t=fHQhjI7hjtrPkNqB8F1DNw&s=19

Well it’s safe to say he won’t be here past the year he’s got left on his deal. Probably a safe bet to go this summer if they can stump up the cash.

12-06-2024, 07:29 AM
Sounds like his mind is made up/ he has a grudge with something at Hibs

Move him on and thank him for his time. If your DG and your watching his interviews you must have some serious questions about his commitment to Hibs

We can’t afford anyone not giving 100% next season , if he doesn’t want to be here then see you later. Send the message that it doesn’t matter who you are, give 100% or go

12-06-2024, 07:30 AM
We wouldn't be competing with what Killie are paying him, but with what he could get elsewhere if he leaves them. For example, he has no reason to sign for us on £4k per week if he can get £8k in the English Championship.

This is true but we don't pay Championship wages, we can only deal in what we pay compared to other SPFL club, outwith the OF obviously.

Chorley Hibee
12-06-2024, 07:33 AM

Really disappointed in his behaviour.

Frankly, he can **** off if that's the level of disrespect shown to Hibs.

12-06-2024, 07:35 AM

Completely agree. Stinking way to go about it.

12-06-2024, 07:41 AM

If he’s not happy then he can leave.

12-06-2024, 07:41 AM
Watched that interview after their win

Jesus Christ

Move him on, wouldn’t even invite him back for pre-season, he was quick enough back to hibs after his last move was a disaster.

So disappointed in a player that I thought got the club.

Sell him today, I’d be saying the same if it was mckirdy, it’s more despicable that Boyle has made it crystal clear he wants talks and to move.

Disgusted

12-06-2024, 07:44 AM
Would need to check but I don’t think Aussie clubs pay lots in transfer fees - sounds as if he’s away, conversations clearly been had between player and clubs. Anything around £400K-£500K I’d snap yer hand off. Gets a huge earner off the books, extra bit of cash, opens the door for a younger, faster player with less injury concerns. No brainer for me. Been a very good player and servant for Hibs and would go with best wishes.

supermcginn
12-06-2024, 07:45 AM

Yeah watching that he is either desperate to leave or he's actually already signed for Perth.

12-06-2024, 07:49 AM
There’s ways to do things and be respectful but he shouldn’t get back into Easter Road after that. Get shot of him pronto.

12-06-2024, 07:50 AM
I was SO delighted when he came back, brilliant player on his day.

Gutted he looks like engineering a move here. But SDG needs committed players and if he isn’t then he can leave.

I wonder how much it’s has cost us to bring him back and wages over past two seasons.

12-06-2024, 07:52 AM

Don’t want him back tbh. Shadow or his former self, looks like he didn’t try a jot last season. Really disappointed in that interview from him. :bye:

12-06-2024, 07:57 AM
Don’t want him back tbh. Shadow or his former self, looks like he didn’t try a jot last season. Really disappointed in that interview from him. :bye:

To be fair I think the injuries are now always at the back of his mind and players in our league target him. He’s not the player he was, on a huge salary, and maybe it’s in the best interests of the club and player to get this move sealed. We need fitter players who offer more. Martin has played within himself this year.

12-06-2024, 08:01 AM
Fresh Start for the Boyles in Aus been great value for us

12-06-2024, 08:03 AM

Definitely away. I believe the A-league season kicks off in October. Maybe away this summer, maybe in January? Don’t know how their transfer windows work:dunno:

Greenworld
12-06-2024, 08:09 AM
Definitely away. I believe the A-league season kicks off in October. Maybe away this summer, maybe in January? Don’t know how their transfer windows work:dunno:If he goes he still has 1 season contract and I think have the option of another then they need to get something.
For all the dislike of him for what he is saying he is still a very good player.
I wonder if Auckland would wet his appetite. Would let the BK,s pay a few quid to us for him

12-06-2024, 08:12 AM

Seeing as Monty failed to get much of a tune out of any of our players, it’s hard to know whether Boyle’s form can recover.

From a dressing room pov, SDG is the gaffer now and maybe it’s helpful for him not to have too many players who still see him as one of the lads. I actually think Hanlon and Stevenson would help bolster his authority but that ship has sailed.

Mcbizz1998
12-06-2024, 08:12 AM
As I said earlier, I don't think Boyle is as finished as some on here seem to believe.

Having said that, the interview posted is a shocker from our point of view. He is either already a goner or he is desperate to go, either way it's extremely disappointing to hear him disrespect the club that has given him the platform for his entire career.

Not impressed with that at all and frankly he can do one imo.

12-06-2024, 08:20 AM
Part of what previously made him great were his humility and hunger.

Looks like both of those have gone - there's only so good a player can be when his heart isn't in it.

Shame it's ending this way but when a player starts talking like that, the inevitable next step is that he needs to be careful the door doesn't smack his arse on the way out.

If Gray ever learnt anything from Sir Alex, he'll see that. Sadly.

12-06-2024, 08:33 AM
I'm at work and can't watch the video. Can someone tell me exactly what he's said?

12-06-2024, 08:34 AM
Thanks for your time here Martin but it’s time for you to move on.

12-06-2024, 08:54 AM
Lets be honest. If Boyle had never played for Hibs before until last season and was a Montgomery signing he'd be one of the first we'd be wanting moved on this summer.

12-06-2024, 09:06 AM
Lets be honest. If Boyle had never played for Hibs before until last season and was a Montgomery signing he'd be one of the first we'd be wanting moved on this summer.

Na, he wasn't that bad. Id be wanting rid of quite a few before him.

12-06-2024, 09:09 AM
He certainly could have chosen his words better, but he's probably thinking of 2 years playing in Australia against Scottish winter seasons, I've friends in Perth and it is a fantastic place to live.

McGruber
12-06-2024, 09:18 AM

I don't agree. Most of the frustration with him is he wasn't hitting the heights we know he can but that is comparing him to his earlier self. There's no clamour to shift Vente for example. There would be if that was his 3rd season and he'd hit 20 the previous 2 but we're not comparing his efforts at Hibs against anything. In what was a poor season for Boyle's standards he was still better and bigger threat for us than Vente and most other attacking players.
Monty tactics didn't help any of them either.
I think Boyle is far from finished and was looking forward to see him under Gray, no doubt would have been one of our main men.
Clearly away though, that interview was a shocker. Even if he was going/wanting to go how hard would it have been just to say he would like to play in Aus one day but for now giving everything for his current employers who are giving him a hefty wage and always seen him right

McGruber
12-06-2024, 09:23 AM
Would need to check but I don’t think Aussie clubs pay lots in transfer fees - sounds as if he’s away, conversations clearly been had between player and clubs. Anything around £400K-£500K I’d snap yer hand off. Gets a huge earner off the books, extra bit of cash, opens the door for a younger, faster player with less injury concerns. No brainer for me. Been a very good player and servant for Hibs and would go with best wishes.

Agree completely. Not that we would then have any choice in the matter but the worry is trying to replace his quality on our budget. I think the odds of a youngster stepping up or a new signing offering us as much is slim. Not impossible and need to have faith in new recruitment process - but going on the recent evidence, yeah, slim.

12-06-2024, 09:30 AM
I don't agree. Most of the frustration with him is he wasn't hitting the heights we know he can but that is comparing him to his earlier self. There's no clamour to shift Vente for example. There would be if that was his 3rd season and he'd hit 20 the previous 2 but we're not comparing his efforts at Hibs against anything. In what was a poor season for Boyle's standards he was still better and bigger threat for us than Vente and most other attacking players.
Monty tactics didn't help any of them either.
I think Boyle is far from finished and was looking forward to see him under Gray, no doubt would have been one of our main men.
Clearly away though, that interview was a shocker. Even if he was going/wanting to go how hard would it have been just to say he would like to play in Aus one day but for now giving everything for his current employers who are giving him a hefty wage and always seen him right

Given the players we've already seen walk out the door, if he's considered to be one of our "better dressing room characters" and he's blethering pish like this then we might well be in even more trouble than we think.

lugz
12-06-2024, 09:34 AM
Agree completely. Not that we would then have any choice in the matter but the worry is trying to replace his quality on our budget. I think the odds of a youngster stepping up or a new signing offering us as much is slim. Not impossible and need to have faith in new recruitment process - but going on the recent evidence, yeah, slim.

If Hibs can’t sign a player who can replace 8 goals in all competitions from a winger they may as well relegate us now. I get people love Boyle for what he’s done previously but since he’s came back he’s been a shadow of himself and really not that hard to replace.

12-06-2024, 09:38 AM
I just can’t get angry about this. Like it or not, football is transactional and loyalty is rare these days.

Players get jettisoned by clubs against their wishes all the time so the vice versa will happen as well.

Great servant, loves the club, great move for him. All the best, Martin. We move on and go again 💪🏼

McGruber
12-06-2024, 09:40 AM
If Hibs can’t sign a player who can replace 8 goals in all competitions from a winger they may as well relegate us now. I get people love Boyle for what he’s done previously but since he’s came back he’s been a shadow of himself and really not that hard to replace.

They spent £700K on our main striker that never scored 8 goals in all competitions...... strap yourself in

12-06-2024, 09:41 AM
I'm at work and can't watch the video. Can someone tell me exactly what he's said?

Not exactly as I can’t be bother transcribing but he essentially talks about his desire to play in A-League and if asked if he would play in Perth (where the Oz game was played) he would be happy with that.

When the camera then cut to the presenters, one of them was the manager or owner of Perth Glory, and he said that he is an excellent player. When pressed about getting MB, he said “well, we’ll continue the conversations”

The whole piece is about 3mins long and it’s just about getting MB playing in Oz.

lugz
12-06-2024, 09:43 AM
They spent £700K on our main striker that never scored 8 goals in all competitions...... strap yourself in

Haha you have a point! We're all doomed 😂

12-06-2024, 09:44 AM

Given the players we've already seen walk out the door, if he's considered to be one of our "better dressing room characters" and he's blethering pish like this then we might well be in even more trouble than we think.

It is quite worrying that it would appear we could lose most of our better players on top of the areas we’ve been needing fixed for ages, it’s a big ask for our recruitment team. We’re either planning to bring in a lot of quality players or there’s something not quite right in the background. Hopefully it’s the former but we’ll soon find out I suppose, the next few weeks should be very interesting.

12-06-2024, 09:46 AM

Boyle scored 11 in all comps last season. Averaged a goal every 4 games. I think it's naive to assume that's easy to replace.

Are there many other wingers in Scottish football doing that? Alan Forrest played the same number of games at Hearts and managed 4 goals. Danny Armstrong scored 9 in 47 games. Matty Kennedy 3 in 45.

12-06-2024, 09:50 AM

Boyle was the highest scorer at the club last season with 11 goals in all competitions. That is more than he has scored in all but two of his ten seasons at Hibs (including his loan season 2014-15).

I don't really get posts like this. Most folk understand that Boyle was returning from serious injury, deployed poorly last season and that he, like others, suffered from the piss poor tactics from NM.

Of course he can be replaced, but it will cost us? The pattern at Hibs is usually we see quality leave and poorer quality come in as their replacement. That applies to Doig, Porteous, Nisbet in the past few seasons, so where does this confidence that Boyle won't be hard to replace actually come from?

ozwoody
12-06-2024, 09:51 AM
It certainly seems like there have been discussions with Perth and they may have been productive.
A-league teams don't normally pay transfer fees so Hibs have either entered into discussions regarding a transfer, or squirrel will sign a pre contract in Jan to leave for free next summer.

Either way , this will be last time we see MB in a Hibs shirt I suggest

12-06-2024, 09:53 AM
Should be looking to play in the A League once he is done here in a couple of years time I mean look at Alf for example

Still has a lot to offer hibs could start by speaking to SDG and working on finding that yard he has lost getting his mojo back and a smile back on his pus 😀

lugz
12-06-2024, 09:55 AM
It is quite worrying that it would appear we could lose most of our better players on top of the areas we’ve been needing fixed for ages, it’s a big ask for our recruitment team. We’re either planning to bring in a lot of quality players or there’s something not quite right in the background. Hopefully it’s the former but we’ll soon find out I suppose, the next few weeks should be very interesting.

It would seem like there’s definitely issues behind the scenes, the fact that the players downed tools to get rid of a manger is completely unacceptable and they should all be binned asap, they don’t play for the manager they play for the badge and the fans and they couldn’t care less about either.

12-06-2024, 09:55 AM
Should be looking to play in the A League once he is done here in a couple of years time I mean look at Alf for example

Still has a lot to offer hibs could start by speaking to SDG and working on finding that yard he has lost getting his mojo back and a smile back on his pus 😀

Whatever happens, there's no way we should be letting him go for pennies just cos he fancies a shot at playing in Australia. He's worth more to Hibs this season coming than a hundred grand or so, or the savings we'd make on his salary by letting him go.

tonyrougier123
12-06-2024, 09:58 AM
Nothing wrong with the interview,everything wrong with folk on here happy to tear into boyler.Have a word with yourselfs folks!

12-06-2024, 10:06 AM
It would seem like there’s definitely issues behind the scenes, the fact that the players downed tools to get rid of a manger is completely unacceptable and they should all be binned asap, they don’t play for the manager they play for the badge and the fans and they couldn’t care less about either.

Maybe the player is having trouble behind the scenes and needs to get away? Why does it need to be Hibs fault?

12-06-2024, 10:06 AM

The players didn't down tools, they were just not good enough and that was compounded by NM being clueless as to setting up a team.

Players trying to get rid of the manager, issues behind the scenes, get them all binned, playing for the badge..............:not worth

lugz
12-06-2024, 10:11 AM
The players didn't down tools, they were just not good enough and that was compounded by NM being clueless as to setting up a team.

Players trying to get rid of the manager, issues behind the scenes, get them all binned, playing for the badge..............:not worth

I’m very surprised that anyone who went to the Aberdeen in particular would say that the players didn’t down tools, very much like when we put 6 past Aberdeen the year before when their players were at it.

lugz
12-06-2024, 10:12 AM
Maybe the player is having trouble behind the scenes and needs to get away? Why does it need to be Hibs fault?

If that’s the case then yes we should help accommodate a move as it’ll be best for both parties.

12-06-2024, 10:13 AM
If he's on the reputed £7.5k a week(£390k a year), that's a hell of a lot to go towards replacing him.

Mcbizz1998
12-06-2024, 10:14 AM
Nothing wrong with the interview,everything wrong with folk on here happy to tear into boyler.Have a word with yourselfs folks!

Nah. People are within their rights to have a problem with that interview from a Hibs player.

Donegal Hibby
12-06-2024, 10:22 AM
If he's on the reputed £7.5k a week(£390k a year), that's a hell of a lot to go towards replacing him.

The replacing him bits easy , trying to find someone as good that contributes as much as Boyle does to our team even with that amount is far from easy.

Personally I still think we should hold on to him unless a suitable offer comes in from a A-league club which I don't think it will .

12-06-2024, 10:23 AM

:agree: I put it down to Montgomery being absolutely hopeless.

Chorley Hibee
12-06-2024, 10:24 AM

He's shown a huge level of disrespect to Hibs and the support.

As one of the senior players at the club, it's highly unprofessional.

Compare and contrast with the way McGinn handled himself throughout.

12-06-2024, 10:28 AM
His first interview I don't think was to bad, bit disappointed in the last few answers to the latest one.

Looks like hes off which is a bummer, we've seen our best players go all the time, I'll miss Boyle though.

12-06-2024, 10:29 AM

He did an interview a day or so before or after Hanlon and Lewie game saying he knows he's one of the senior players now and he's more than ready to step up;

“Those two were great role models and professionals around the place and they’re moving on. I think it’s time for myself and Joe (Newell) to step up and show that example to the rest of the group."

Good job stepping up, Martin. Nice of you to want to stay and help out your mate in his first job as head coach as well.

12-06-2024, 10:31 AM

Didn’t he give an interview recently on that very point? I’m sure I read or him him say that now with Paul and Lewis away, he needs to step up into that leadership role and be less of the joker that he tends to be.

This interview doesn’t exactly showcase those skills!

12-06-2024, 10:33 AM
He did an interview a day or so before or after Hanlon and Lewie game saying he knows he's one of the senior players now and he's more than ready to step up;

“Those two were great role models and professionals around the place and they’re moving on. I think it’s time for myself and Joe (Newell) to step up and show that example to the rest of the group."

Good job stepping up, Martin. Nice of you to want to stay and help out your mate in his first job as head coach as well.

Ah, I knew I had heard him say that. Thanks for clarifying!

12-06-2024, 10:33 AM
Honestly don’t think the interview was that bad. Sounds like he’ll probably be leaving however which makes his comments about stepping up to be a leader in the changing room odd.

12-06-2024, 10:49 AM
He's given Gray an opportunity to put down a marker though.

12-06-2024, 10:54 AM
Not sure he is our best player (and if he is, it’s because the competition for that title is underwhelming) and he is certainly not at his peak. Whilst certain players peak at or around 31, anyone who has watched Boyle can see the peak has past.

That said I don’t think I agree with letting him go on a free despite the wages that it would free up. I suggested earlier that if Australian teams don’t pay transfer fees then at least one younger player needs to come the opposite direction.

I also can’t help but feel there’s something going on behind the scenes with Boyle.

I think someone else mentioned on another thread his behaviour at the Hanlon/Lewis farewell was a bit strange. All the other players on the pitch ran over to hug them when they went off and he was stood on the touchline like a loner. I thought that was a bit odd at the time and still not sure what the story was.

12-06-2024, 11:01 AM
Boyle was the highest scorer at the club last season with 11 goals in all competitions. That is more than he has scored in all but two of his ten seasons at Hibs (including his loan season 2014-15).

I don't really get posts like this. Most folk understand that Boyle was returning from serious injury, deployed poorly last season and that he, like others, suffered from the piss poor tactics from NM.

Of course he can be replaced, but it will cost us? The pattern at Hibs is usually we see quality leave and poorer quality come in as their replacement. That applies to Doig, Porteous, Nisbet in the past few seasons, so where does this confidence that Boyle won't be hard to replace actually come from?

Also got a very nasty head injury

12-06-2024, 11:02 AM

No disrespect whatsoever. Handled the questions well imo and was pretty diplomatic. People interpreting this to suit their own agendas.

12-06-2024, 11:05 AM
I just can’t get angry about this. Like it or not, football is transactional and loyalty is rare these days.

Players get jettisoned by clubs against their wishes all the time so the vice versa will happen as well.

Great servant, loves the club, great move for him. All the best, Martin. We move on and go again 💪🏼

Kind of where I am. Sounds like something has already been agreed

12-06-2024, 11:21 AM
Kind of where I am. Sounds like something has already been agreed

I think money..or lack of it may scupper it though.

Every player moves on from their club at some point.

I hope he stays with Hibs but if he does end up in the A League, then he goes with my best wishes.

As someone who left Craigentinny for Sydney in his early 20’s and has never regretted it, I guess I can understand why he would want to bring his family to Oz.

12-06-2024, 11:25 AM
I can't understand the anger from that short video clip. Football will always be a bit mercenary with little to no loyalty (another reason we should applaud the two players released by Hibs with over 1100 game between them). Could some of the folk getting angry about Boyles interview also be ones who think we should just move players on, pay them off or the likes? That is the same just turned about on itself. Personally I would like to see Boyle stay, if he goes then I will wish him good luck in his new venture and he will have left me with many a happy memory. If he stays I will be happy he is still here because despite what some folk are stating, he is still a very good footballer and would grace any team in our league.

12-06-2024, 11:38 AM
Just to add more context. There are several posters on the PM board saying that Boyle was told he could leave the club last season. Reluctant to say more on here, as I think people should pay the tenner for the privilege of the many insights we get on there (yes, you prolific poster, with the thousands of posts :wink:).

12-06-2024, 11:42 AM
A-League clubs can’t even pay fees so this would be a free transfer if it happens.

It could be as simple as he’s sick of Scotland, fancies a far better lifestyle, decent money, and a season that goes from October to May.

Hibs07p
12-06-2024, 11:49 AM
His reputation for diving, overcooked by the sportsound pundits has left him as a player targeted in every game with serious tackles, with little protection from the referees and at risk of severe injury. Why would he not feel that going to Oz would be a better option. Porteous hasn’t done too badly by getting out of the toxic environment that is Scottish football, especially if you play for Hibs!

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

The Tubs
12-06-2024, 11:58 AM
His reputation for diving, overcooked by the sportsound pundits has left him as a player targeted in every game with serious tackles, with little protection from the referees and at risk of severe injury. Why would he not feel that going to Oz would be a better option. Porteous hasn’t done too badly by getting out of the toxic environment that is Scottish football, especially if you play for Hibs!

I think you're bang on here. Cheers, Yogi, ya big Hibee!

12-06-2024, 12:01 PM

It's not toxic at all - it's sport

Player A is quite good and hurts the opponent, does light hearted interviews after (ie) a semi final win that pokes fun at the broadcaster and the opponent = a target on your back

It's the same in any sport, any industry, any where.

Players like Ryan and Martin should take it as a compliment - it shows they are doing something right

12-06-2024, 12:08 PM
A-League clubs can even pay fees so this would be a free transfer if it happens.

It could be as simple as he’s sick of Scotland, fancies a far better lifestyle, decent money, and a season that goes from October to May.

Didn't CCM pay a fee to sign Alou Koul from Stuttgart?

12-06-2024, 12:10 PM
I have no issue with Boyle wanting a move. If his family have their heart set on Australia then fair enough.

There are ways to go about things though and publicly agitating for a move isn't a great look at all. Plenty players have moved on from Hibs for one reason or another and guys like McGinn and Doig who go about it the right way tend to leave with best wishes and lingering affection. The guys who publicly state how desperate they are to leave are more likely to attract the vitriol and ill feeling.

Hibs07p
12-06-2024, 12:13 PM

Player A is quite good and hurts the opponent, does light hearted interviews after (ie) a semi final win that pokes fun at the broadcaster and the opponent = a target on your back

Players like Ryan and Martin should take it as a compliment - it shows they are doing something right

It’s toxic when you have players trialled by sportscene because of bias, while defending other players of similar instances that play for other clubs. The msm in Scotland control the narrative, and that is often to the detriment of our club.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016.

Hibs07p
12-06-2024, 12:28 PM

It’s toxic when you have players trialled by sportscene because of bias, while defending other players of similar instances that play for other clubs. The msm in Scotland control the narrative, and that is often to the detriment of our club.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016.

12-06-2024, 01:08 PM
Didn't CCM pay a fee to sign Alou Koul from Stuttgart?

They actually sold Kuol to Stuggart a couple of seasons ago.

Not sure if Kuol was released by Stuggart or is technically ‘loaned’ to the Mariners.

There is a ban on internal transfers within the A League but I think clubs could pay a transfer fee to bring a player in from outside….BUT, and it’s a big but…..not many clubs would be able to do so…the tv money distributed to A League clubs may be as low as half a million dollars this year…….and clubs are facing difficult decisions.

Perth Glory were ordered mid season by the APL to loan their highest earning player to Melbourne Victory as the APL who were keeping Perth afloat could no longer guarantee they could continue to do so.

I think Perth have new owners now, but the depth of their pockets has yet to be displayed.

PHeffernan
12-06-2024, 01:14 PM
Just to add more context. There are several posters on the PM board saying that Boyle was told he could leave the club last season. Reluctant to say more on here, as I think people should pay the tenner for the privilege of the many insights we get on there (yes, you prolific poster, with the thousands of posts :wink:).

I can think of almost 400,000 reasons a year why that could be accurate.

Greensunshine
12-06-2024, 01:16 PM
I have no issue with Boyle wanting a move. If his family have their heart set on Australia then fair enough.

There are ways to go about things though and publicly agitating for a move isn't a great look at all. Plenty players have moved on from Hibs for one reason or another and guys like McGinn and Doig who go about it the right way tend to leave with best wishes and lingering affection. The guys who publicly state how desperate they are to leave are more likely to attract the vitriol and ill feeling.

100% 👍