View Full Version : Match Updates. Hibs V Aberdeen
Newcastlehibby
12-05-2024, 12:54 PM
Never done this before. I hope to bring some good fortune.
Team is:
Wollacott
Cadden
Rocky
Hanlon
Obita
Newell
Emiliano
Moriah-Welsh
Boyle
Vente
Maolida
Subs:
Johnson
Levitt
Doyle-Hayes
Amos
Stevenson
Le Fondre
Triantis
Jair
Campbell
Cat Stanton
12-05-2024, 12:58 PM
A familiar looking team with a worrying goalkeeper...
https://twitter.com/HibernianFC/status/1789637964961628241
Albert Kidd 86’
12-05-2024, 01:13 PM
Aberdeen have only let in 1 goal in the league since march 16th. That goal was for ross county in an Aberbeen 2-1 victory…
before the nae sayers get stuck in to Hibs, please recognise the qualities of the team we are up against.
12-05-2024, 01:21 PM
Is Youan injured or out of favour?
12-05-2024, 01:22 PM
Aberdeen have only let in 1 goal in the league since march 16th. That goal was for ross county in an Aberbeen 2-1 victory…
before the nae sayers get stuck in to Hibs, please recognise the qualities of the team we are up against.
They're below us and haven't scored at ER in about 2 years. Should be winning. Start well and we will.
Trinity Hibee
12-05-2024, 01:23 PM
Is Youan injured or out of favour?
Injured
12-05-2024, 01:30 PM
Mon Hibs, into the sheep and 3 points.
Donegal Hibby
12-05-2024, 01:40 PM
Wish we had Marshall in goals though apart from that it's as good a team as we could pick .
Cmon the Hibees :flag:
12-05-2024, 01:44 PM
Think Murray Johnson should leave. If we're not going to play him today, we probably never will. Same old team, yawn.
12-05-2024, 01:44 PM
Think Murray Johnson should leave. If we're not going to play him today, we probably never will. Same old team, yawn.
He’s away to Airdrie for the season.
12-05-2024, 01:48 PM
He's been on the bench the last two weeks
12-05-2024, 01:48 PM
What?
12-05-2024, 01:50 PM
Where is everyone 😅
There must be about 7k here.
12-05-2024, 01:53 PM
Where is everyone 😅
Less than that.😅
Where is everyone 😅
7k, lucky if its 5k and 7 mins to ko
Bottom six should be an automatic sacking offence.
Green Man
Where is everyone 😅
I can’t remember the last time the crowd was so sparse. The place looks absolutely empty.
12-05-2024, 01:54 PM
With the greatest respect to yourself mate I think putting a young keeper in behind this team at the minute is a sure fire way to kill any confidence he has. He should have been out on loan this season and if he doesn't go out next year then the club will have failed him.
The Captain....
12-05-2024, 01:55 PM
Where is everyone [emoji28]
There must be about 7k here.Looks really empty today..rubbish at estimating crowd sizes but atm looks less than a third full.
Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk
12-05-2024, 01:55 PM
Nice to see Fonts. Legend.
12-05-2024, 01:57 PM
Nice to see Fonts. Legend.
:agree: legend!
12-05-2024, 01:57 PM
I’ll just get it of my chest now, Monty oot, FFS Rocky, pass the ball Boyle, Vente is a waste of money, goalkeeper is a mare here, FFS Cadden put a decent ball in, Newell is still to touch the ball, that will teach the manager.
:cb
12-05-2024, 01:59 PM
C’mon the Hibs. :flag:
Is it just Hibs tv for the game.
Monty’s rematch interview is so dull. I hope his pre match talk to the players is better than that.
I’ll just get it of my chest now, Monty oot, FFS Rocky, pass the ball Boyle, Vente is a waste of money, goalkeeper is a mare here, FFS Cadden put a decent ball in, Newell is still to touch the ball, that will teach the manager.
:cb
You are forgetting “right Hibs, let’s keep this lead” (with one minute to go) SH 😜
Where is everyone 😅
I think a few (thousand) have clearly decided to give this one a miss.
A fairly decent number from Aberdeen tbf, not their usual but not bad.
League Cup attendance level for us.
Doh Rae Me
12-05-2024, 02:01 PM
Monty’s rematch interview is so dull. I hope his pre match talk to the players is better than that.
I doubt it. Its like nails down a blackboard. He makes Cathro sound intelligent.
12-05-2024, 02:01 PM
Wonder what they'll say the crowd is compared to what it actually is lol.
12-05-2024, 02:02 PM
What is our pathological obsession with never trusting our home grown keepers
McHibby
12-05-2024, 02:03 PM
I am listening to BBC radio and just got a lump in my throat listening to Yogi talk about Hanlon and Stevenson. 💚
12-05-2024, 02:04 PM
Pitch looks good for an end of season game. New surface has clearly worked.
12-05-2024, 02:07 PM
You are forgetting “right Hibs, let’s keep this lead” (with one minute to go) SH 😜
Hibs will take the lead, silly talk :thumbsup:
12-05-2024, 02:08 PM
Decent pace from Hanlon there
12-05-2024, 02:09 PM
With the greatest respect to yourself mate I think putting a young keeper in behind this team at the minute is a sure fire way to kill any confidence he has. He should have been out on loan this season and if he doesn't go out next year then the club will have failed him.
I think he'd gain plenty confidence from getting his first start and he couldn't worse than Marshall. Just my thoughts of course. Weve been so reluctant to give youngsters a game for years now
Good start.
What is our pathological obsession with never trusting our home grown keepers
When was the last time a Hibs goalie broke through from youth academy ?
Not saying I disagree with you but can’t genuinely remember ?!!
12-05-2024, 02:10 PM
Good start.
Where have we heard that one before, prior to the inevitable sucker punch? :greengrin
12-05-2024, 02:11 PM
mon the cabbage
gies a goal
or even two
12-05-2024, 02:12 PM
Good start. Looking sharp.
Said it last week albeit it wasn't his best game but Nathan Moriah Welsh is the blueprint for youngsters coming into the side (easier said than done I know). 22 years old and constantly looking to move the ball forward. Quick and direct.
12-05-2024, 02:13 PM
Andy Mcneil ? No sure if he came through or not tho to be fair
Decent start first 10 mins, Boyle getting plenty of the ball
12-05-2024, 02:14 PM
McNeil was the last one I can remember actually being given a chance.
12-05-2024, 02:15 PM
newell 73rd yellow card of the season
12-05-2024, 02:16 PM
Was McNeil not more of a signing from Southampton than a Hibs youth player? He came through their academy rather than ours.
I don't think we've ever really given a youth of our own a chance in that position. Dabrowski got a fleeting look, Chris Reid never really got a chance to be much more than a back up.
12-05-2024, 02:16 PM
Stupid from Newell, booked already.
He never came through Hibs iirc. Sure he was a product of Southampton youth academy!
12-05-2024, 02:17 PM
Stupid from Newell, booked already.Shame we arnt playing at 12.30 yesterday - had about 3 of them early without a booking
Strange.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
12-05-2024, 02:17 PM
I think he'd gain plenty confidence from getting his first start and he couldn't worse than Marshall. Just my thoughts of course. Weve been so reluctant to give youngsters a game for years now
I think my biggest worry is that if he dropped a rookie mistake, which is likely given his age and inexperience, it's not exactly the nicest of environments for that to happen to the laddie. But maybe I'm being over protective of him.
12-05-2024, 02:18 PM
He never came through Hibs iirc. Sure he was a product of Southampton youth academy!
That's me stumped then, can't think of any at all!
12-05-2024, 02:18 PM
Stupid from Newell, booked already.
Would have got a stern talking to yesterday at parkhead.:rolleyes:
12-05-2024, 02:19 PM
We're all over them. Bets on the time of the Aberdeen opener?
12-05-2024, 02:21 PM
who else watched the train zooming down the ad board
heading towards Leith Central
Shame we arnt playing at 12.30 yesterday - had about 3 of them early without a booking
Strange.
Indeed. One after 30 seconds
12-05-2024, 02:24 PM
Unlucky with that corner set piece.
12-05-2024, 02:24 PM
Boyle switches wings
That's me stumped then, can't think of any at all!
Robin Rae and Chris Reid??
12-05-2024, 02:25 PM
What a save that is.
12-05-2024, 02:26 PM
Good save from Dons keeper.
OtleyHibs
12-05-2024, 02:26 PM
Close, keeper done well to get up for the rebound
12-05-2024, 02:27 PM
who else watched the train zooming down the ad board
heading towards Leith Central
Still waiting to see this train :greengrin
12-05-2024, 02:28 PM
All over them
12-05-2024, 02:29 PM
Still waiting to see this train :greengrin
it's in the Depot Refuelling :cb
12-05-2024, 02:29 PM
All over them
Wonder how much Aberdeen first goal is
12-05-2024, 02:30 PM
Aberdeen decide to try their luck, corner dons.
12-05-2024, 02:30 PM
Aberdeen have been almost comically bad. I've never seen a team have so many poor touches, misplaced passes and shanked clearances and I've watched Hibs home and away all season.
ElginHibbie
12-05-2024, 02:31 PM
Aberdeen getting more into it, just need to concede for this 30 minutes to sum up the season
…jinxed it
12-05-2024, 02:31 PM
And of course they go 1-0 up. Defence rolled out the red carpet and gave the guy about 10 minutes to pick his spot.
12-05-2024, 02:32 PM
9th here we come.
0-1 of course
Wonder how much Aberdeen first goal is
As predictable as the day is long. :hilarious
Us in a nut shell all season
Utterly predictable and boring
Typical. All Hibs 1 down.
Naturally
We're all over them. Bets on the time of the Aberdeen opener?
Called it
12-05-2024, 02:33 PM
0-1 of course
How, how, how? Wtf are we all about?!!
Can't defend, won't defend.
The Hibs revamp of Can't cook, Won't cook.
Typical, pretty much camped in their half
OtleyHibs
Just leave him alone at the edge of the box with all the time in the world, poor defending as per
Marcondes in la la land instead of picking up his man, who of course scores
Good goal to be fair.
We're all over them. Bets on the time of the Aberdeen opener?Called it
12-05-2024, 02:34 PM
Poor from Obita. Crap clearance. No one out to shut him down.
Usual from us. Decent start, then forget how to football.
We really are dribbling towards the finish line this season eh?
Better team (whatever that means?) but 1-0 down - anyone surprised.
Probably means we are good at keeping the ball in opposition half but actually do anything with the possession.
Is that down to being unlucky, the ref, VAR or the team just not being good/ruthless enough and the manager being a prick?
I just do not get it. They’ve been as bad as a team I’ve seen all season, we’ve been ok…… they’re 1-0 up. We are rotten from the core.
HendoDelivered
😂😂🫣
12-05-2024, 02:35 PM
Very courteous of Hibs to give the guy the time to hone his shooting skills I felt.
12-05-2024, 02:36 PM
Is that down to being unlucky, the ref, VAR or the team just not being good/ruthless enough and the manager being a prick?
Yes
Is that down to being unlucky, the ref, VAR or the team just not being good/ruthless enough and the manager being a prick?Personally, I blame Paul Hanlon.
[emoji6][emoji38]
Hibs and clean sheets don’t go.
One of the easiest teams to score against in the league.
When Emiliano isn't up to it he's totally rotten.
12-05-2024, 02:37 PM
A bad feeling we’re going to be in the LJ position all over again at the start of next season. Difference being he kept his job after securing europe for us.
NM’s done nout to give him any credit in the bank. In fact, he’s overdrawn
Worrying rumours that the fans are raging with the players. Don't like their playing methods at all. Could be in trouble by the end of the season.
We are pish in attack, weak in midfield and the defence is honking.
Marvelous................
12-05-2024, 02:38 PM
no way are we making Top six this season
no way
ElginHibbie
That’s true for far too many in the squad
We are pish in attack, weak in midfield and the defence is honking.
Marvelous................
Aye but apart from that. We are not far away apparently.
DinkyTwo
This sort of thing must be part of NM's review. Story of the season, dominate games, can't hit the back of the net, concede against the run of play.
Its not exactly a new phenomena with Hibs, but it needs sorted of we're to move forward. If NM can't sort it, he's not the man for the job
12-05-2024, 02:39 PM
no way
You could be on to something there. ☺️
12-05-2024, 02:40 PM
Aye but apart from that. We are not far away apparently.
I genuinely dont know why Wallacott gets a game either (missed him out of my "out entire team is pish" post earlier).
Worrying.
More worrying is its the same team as last week, I think?
WTF is NM thinking?
12-05-2024, 02:41 PM
no way
Bedwetter 😬
I just do not get it. They’ve been as bad as a team I’ve seen all season, we’ve been ok…… they’re 1-0 up. We are rotten from the core.
The Aberdeen team we beat 6-0 were better than this Aberdeen side showed in the first 30 minutes.
Oh 0-2😅😅😅😅😅
When I've seen us relegated before, it's been because of a hopeless inability to score goals. The defence has often been respectable at these times, if imperfect.
Is this the worst Hibs defence in half a century? I think it might well be.
Get him to **** now Hibs
Amazed he is starting, probably in his contract maybe.
We're terrible.
Another one from Obita.
Too late to keep Lewis. He's clear of this idiot
You could be on to something there. ☺️
i'll just make do with the generous 13/8 odds on our opponents today as a consolation
sigh :(
make that 0-2 easy
That is laughable from Obita.
We are ****ing rotten.
We are unproductively competent in holding on to the ball (for much of a game), but rarely thteaten defences.
12-05-2024, 02:42 PM
Ffs
He needs fired at half time, ffs
OtleyHibs
Joke at the back again
Boom. That easy. When's he gone?
Obita should never have been beaten like that. It’s basic stuff.
Just be a little patient, super Joe Newell will drag us bag into this.
0-2.
All over for Monty now.
Hibs and clean sheets don’t go.
One of the easiest teams to score against in the league.I think the away teams enjoy our immaculate pitch as well as our powderpuff football style.
Boom. That easy. When's he gone?
Tonight.
Obita is meant to be our best hope at left back and he’s gifted them a couple. Not the first time this season either.
Cheerio Monty!
Chorley Hibee
12-05-2024, 02:43 PM
Never mind.
He'll be along to tell us that we would have been happy at 0-0 or some other *****.
Club is rotten to the core.
All over for Monty now.
Doubtful
He should’ve been away as soon as we failed to make top 6
Please ****ing sack him
NC1875
Surely no one backs this clown now. Get him to ****
HendoDelivered
Feel like the GTF chants will be out soon
Joke at the back again
What about the midfield?
Moriah Welsh was marking nobody.
Its a joke if this clown doesnt get fired tonight
All over for Monty now.
Oh but wait until he gets his own players in. 😂
It would be a mercy killing to sack him now.
He is never recovering from the last few weeks.
We’re close. So, so, close…
Second ball edge of the box.
It’s a ***in joke every week.
DinkyTwo
That'll be that then
great hospitality though
very expensive hospitality at that
Anyone surprised - shambles FC led by a bunch of clowns.
Don’t worry Monty will sort it in summer with our largest transfer budget ever.
12-05-2024, 02:44 PM
I genuinely dont know why Wallacott gets a game either (missed him out of my "out entire team is pish" post earlier).
Worrying.
More worrying is its the same team as last week, I think?
WTF is NM thinking?
By all accounts they’ve decided Wollacott isn’t good enough mate, so it’s puzzling why he’s getting a chance unless they figure Johnson just isn’t ready.
As to your last sentence I’ve been wondering that since the 4th league game…:greengrin
My old man
I’ve been a “give him time “ kinda guy
BUT nah get him punted NOW
The only positive to come out of today would be him and 80% of this squad being fired this evening (even if we do somehow manage any kind of result). This is just utterly honking.
Oh but wait until he gets his own players in. 😂
Did Aberdeen sub on VAR early doors? I mean I take that’s why a ***** Aberdeen side are beating us 2-0 at home?
The Captain....
12-05-2024, 02:45 PM
Can we sack him at HT please. Sick of the sight of him.
Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk
Feel like the GTF chants will be out soon
Is there anyone there to chant it?
Great finish to be fair to polvara
Extremely poor from Obita though
Emi has been absolutely garbage btw - genuinely like a man down with his work rate
This could get messy.
This could get toxic , Just tell us he's leaving the club at the end of the season so we can rebuild with a proper manager for next season
Just be a little patient, super Joe Newell will drag us bag into this.
0-2.
Strange target from this first half. Been 6 or 7 worse. Obita is literally playing against us.
NC1875
When I've seen us relegated before, it's been because of a hopeless inability to score goals. The defence has often been respectable at these times, if imperfect.
Is this the worst Hibs defence in half a century? I think it might well be.
Paul Hanlon still amazing though apparently and we’d be in the top 6 if he’s played more. As ***** as the rest of them.
Massive clear out needed staring with the manager tonight surely
Hoped we wouldn’t have to change manager again, but he has to go now
12-05-2024, 02:46 PM
great hospitality though
very expensive hospitality at thatWhat's that got to do with anything? Its nigh on sold out most weeks - which is surley a good thing?
We can the invest that money we make Into top talent
[emoji6]
Almost a third
Greensunshine
Some of our play is awful, I’ve just witnessed Boyle make a really good run between two players and then he goes and over hits an easy pass to Cadden which goes out for a goal kick! Piss poor!
I’ve also just witnessed Cadden in possession mi**** what should have been an easy floated cross into the Aberdeen box!
We make far too many mistakes!
Newell playing centre half nearly. 1 v 4 in the middle no surprise we are getting overloaded.
players have bottled completely gone. This could be 4/5
Nearly 0-3 there. This is shambolic
Greensunshine
12-05-2024, 02:48 PM
Hoped we wouldn’t have to change manager again, but he has to go now
It’s the players letting us down.
audible boooooooooooooo's at HT
OtleyHibs
HT, shambles as usual
You could put anyone in as our manager and we wouldn’t be any worse, everyone has thrown in the towel, would be happy to see no one back
Thank god I have lost my stream.
audible boooooooooooooo's at HT
Rightly so
We've not recovered from being so close to jubilation.
tonyrougier123
Aye big changes definitely needed. Brutal watch this! You’d look at the stats and think we must’ve been good but watching tells another story. I find it hard to see where the problem lies. Marcondes might be just about the biggest inflated reputation player I’ve ever come across. Rocky good on the ball can drive forward but he’s never a centre back. Cadden goes through the motions,obita likewise and a few mistakes creeping in for him. Total mess 🤦*♂️
At what point does the players take any ******g responsibility ? They are a disgrace.
Embarrassment being beaten by one of the poorest Don's teams in half a century.
There is nothing in this Hibs side and its time for Monty and Kensell to **** off to where they came from.
Disgraceful how far the standards at this club have fallen.
No amount of money can gloss over gross incompetence!
12-05-2024, 02:49 PM
I actually can’t believe how bad Aberdeen have been but they’re still managing to be 2 nil up. What an utter shambles.
The players don't care as clear who's been told they are out the door.
He has lost the group, that's clear.
Aberdeen acted quickly, new manager in place for next year and a caretaker grinding out good results to end this season on a good note. Hearts have a manager in place and have 3/4 already signed and ready to come in next season.
We are letting this joker run us into the ground and it still seems likely he will be given the summer to waste even more money.
It's frightening how badly run out whole football operation is.
At this rate next season is already getting closer to a write off because I have zero faith in the current manager and those at the club to replace the amount of players leaving.
12-05-2024, 02:50 PM
Jair will turn it round on the second half
Aye, you’re right - they are………… along with him, his assistants, his superiors, his owners. We’re just a ‘meh’ club these days. Players couldn’t give a F. I’m not sure anyone has the ‘passion’ for hibs, from top to bottom (other than the two legends that have just announced they’re away and SDG).
We aren’t going to win 3-2 are we ?
When was the last time we were 2-0 down and won 3-2 ?
Zero leadership or guts in this team or management.
Aberdeen don’t even have a proper manager in charge.
Finishing 9th - would get rid of 99% of the team and all the back room staff.
12-05-2024, 02:51 PM
Two bits of quality for their goals. thats it really.
A total lack of urgency by most of our players after we went behind was the most worrying thing. Lack of desire.
Aberdeen acted quickly, new manager in place for next year and a caretaker grinding out good results to end this season on a good note.
We are letting this joker run us into the ground and it still seems likely he will be given the summer to waste even more money.
It's frightening how badly run out whole football operation is.Didn't Aberdeen mess around with Neil Warnock for a while - then he walked and they put there 2nd caretaker in charge?
Not quite sure it was acting quickly to be fair
A decent first 25 with lots of energy off the ball and some decent stuff on it with Boyle an early threat. Just not good enough attacking wise in that spell.
Strange clearance from Obita for the first with so much space for the Aberdeen player to get his strike away, second again Obita involved.
As soon as it went 0-1 players just looked like no idea what to do.
We must have the worst defence in the league. Get this imposter out and its a total rebuild required.
Greensunshine
12-05-2024, 02:52 PM
At what point does the players take any ******g responsibility ? They are a disgrace.
Spot on mate, guys like Boyle not being able to trap a bag of cement.
Basic man marking in and around the box non existent.
We can blame the manager all we want but what’s really needed is a complete clear out of players.
Thank god I have lost my stream.
Doctor can give you something for that.
Moriah Welsh has looked absolutely hopeless the last couple of games. More superb recruitment.
We aren’t going to win 3-2 are we ?
When was the last time we were 2-0 down and won 3-2 ?
Zero leadership or guts in this team or management.
Gareth Evans came off the bench and scored 2 in a 3-2 win in the 90's against Dundee utd at Easter rd :greengrin
Why has the interim sheep manager turned results around so quickly? Thought a manager needed to get his own players in 1st.
Aberdeen acted quickly, new manager in place for next year and a caretaker grinding out good results to end this season on a good note.
It's frightening how badly run out whole football operation is.It's the current version of our club's style, leave everything to the last possible minute, make some frantic changes that don't actually remotely address the obvious whilst the supporters are left wondering how St Mirren, dundee and motherwell didn't have the same issues.
Out having lunch with our daughter and had a wee look earlier and it was 0-0, get in the house and turned tv on to see us getting beat 0-2 WTF. Why is this clown still in a job, yes the players aren't blameless but come on, I've just seen the goals and nobody from midfield closing, just ball watching. No urgency and all very half hearted, get most of these players to **** out of my club asap.
12-05-2024, 02:53 PM
He has lost the group, that's clear.Certainly looks that way
What a way for Paul and Lewie to end there careers here
Basildon Hibs
He has lost the group, that's clear.
Well why play them?
Get some of the laddies in.
Why is it that every new Hibs manager needs time to get their own players in?
Other clubs manage to have change of manager without going into freefall.
Get him out now or it will be relegation next season.
tonyrougier123
The players are 💯 to blame. The squad has no balance of types to win football matches regularly. No grit no determination no drive,like watching a team in exhibition mode most of the time. The dilemma we have can Montgomery and recruitment be trusted to add the quality graft and leadership character this team is bereft of. I’m highly dubious they will.
Didn't Aberdeen mess around with Neil Warnock for a while - then he walked and they put there 2nd caretaker in charge?
Not quite sure it was acting quickly to be fair
They've rectified the mistake.
We are sticking with ours.
12-05-2024, 02:54 PM
Doctor can give you something for that.
That did make me laugh! Needed that at half time watching this pish
What a pish set of circumstances for Lewis to come on for his 600th appearance.
Biffo
No, they didn't!
They appointed someone else in the short term, who was terrible and left, forcing them to speed up the process in hiring the manager.
The whole process in appointing their permanent full time manager took months!
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
Players have downed tools, they don’t like the manager and this is their way of getting him out the club so they can continue with there crap performances , if the manager goes then so does this team, bunch of jokers.
Two bits of quality for their goals. thats it really.
A total lack of urgency by most of our players after we went behind was the most worrying thing. Lack of desire.
You think so?
Most decent pro midfielders could pick out a shot given the time and space we gave them.
Both goals were scored by players with 5-6 yards of space and nobody closing down.
Awful
12-05-2024, 02:55 PM
They've rectified the mistake.
We are sticking with ours.Only after they had completed their review into there footballing department - strangely!
Thank god we are clear of relegation cause to me it looks like the players aren't trying a leg
Aye big changes definitely needed. Brutal watch this! You’d look at the stats and think we must’ve been good but watching tells another story. I find it hard to see where the problem lies. Marcondes might be just about the biggest inflated reputation player I’ve ever come across. Rocky good on the ball can drive forward but he’s never a centre back. Cadden goes through the motions,obita likewise and a few mistakes creeping in for him. Total mess 🤦*♂️
The clown said in his pre match interview that we were third in the XG table. So everything must be fine.
12-05-2024, 02:56 PM
It’s the manager’s job to mould players’ attitudes. Montgomery falls at the first hurdle. I’m sick saying it but he should never have been appointed in the first place.
Get this manager and squad to ****. Bye.
Hibs Board 17 April, when bottom 6 confirmed:
We have also held detailed discussions with Nick Montgomery to understand what has gone wrong during the current campaign and mutually agreed that results this season have been disappointing. There’s an understanding that results need to improve.
Since then, against bottom 6 clubs: LDWL L(osing)
Not much improvement there.
Story of the season. Shocking delivery in their final third and stood off allowing opposition all the time to shoot
12-05-2024, 02:57 PM
Only after they had completed their review into there footballing department - strangely!
So we are agreed they acted quicker than we have?
What a pish set of circumstances for Lewis to come on for his 600th appearance.
Is it too late to ask him to stay! Obita’s performance today has been woeful. Almost like he wants us to lose.
Stokesy's on fire
Losing to a pub club yet again. Bored of this now.
Yogi "i'm not seeing any leaders in that Hibs team"
that's because their aren't any Yogi :cb
The clown said in his pre match interview that we were third in the XG table. So everything must be fine.
What the **** is an XG table?
🤡
You think so?
Most decent pro midfielders could pick out a shot given the time and space we gave them.
Both goals were scored by players with 5-6 yards of space and nobody closing down.
Awful
The first one was a cracking strike. We have players who are supposed to do things like that at the top of the pitch but they flatter to deceive. Marcondes and most of the midfield look like they’re on the beach.
12-05-2024, 02:58 PM
I wouldn’t be sad to see every single player in this squad GTF. An absolute disgrace, the lot of them. A bigger disgrace that Montgomery and his boys team coaches are still anywhere near the club. Kensell and Ian Gordon can do one too. Sick of the lot of them.
chippy
12-05-2024, 02:59 PM
Well why play them?
Exactly , most of them won’t be here after Saturday - get Johnson in goal , can we get Aiken and Molitnokov back to play, also Jaco McIntyre - what a wasted opportunity . Oh did I say empty Monty and give McGregor / Gray the 2 games
So we are agreed they acted quicker than we have?I dunno - I think there review took months
Involved hiring someone to look after them until the end of the year that was a disaster and he walked so they installed another caretaker
If that was us no way would it be praised [emoji38]
It's gonna make no odds imo - half the squad is out so whoever comes in has a fairly clean slate anyway
Something people refer to in football in lieu of results to try and paint a positive picture.
I wouldn’t be sad to see every single player in this squad GTF. An absolute disgrace, the lot of them. A bigger disgrace that Montgomery and his boys team coaches are still anywhere near the club. Kensell and Ian Gordon can do one too. Sick of the lot of them.
12-05-2024, 03:00 PM
Exactly , most of them won’t be here after Saturday - get Johnson in goal , can we get Aiken and Molitnokov back to play, also Jaco McIntyre - what a wasted opportunity . Oh did I say empty Monty and give McGregor / Gray the 2 games
If monty goes, Gray must as well. Would be his 4th manager.
tonyrougier123
12-05-2024, 03:00 PM
Expected goals
Well why play them?
Guess in his mind he doesn't want to lose 4 or 5 by playing a load of them.
Then again the first team players could probably do that!
12-05-2024, 03:01 PM
What the **** is an XG table?https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.skysports.com/amp/football/news/11095/12829539/expected-goals-expected-assists-pressures-carries-high-turnovers-and-more-advanced-stats-explained
hibeez1875
12-05-2024, 03:01 PM
McInnes wouldn’t have put up with this @&£! Just saying
Expected goals
So not actual goals then, I buy a lottery ticket and can win an expected £8m, doesn't mean I'll win it though.
12-05-2024, 03:02 PM
To paraphrase a character from Inbetweeners. Well, that was f******* pathetic.
Xtremley guff? 😂 Although we would probably be first in that one.
Trinity Hibee
Heard that. Ridiculous statement to make.
“If we’d done our job properly we’d be 3rd”
Fuzzywuzzy
12-05-2024, 03:03 PM
Utter dugmeat. If he sees beyond 6pm very lucky
So not actual goals then, I buy a lottery ticket and can win an expected £8m, doesn't mean I'll win it though.
Exactly, it’s a ****ing joke.
I’m going to start an “Expected Hole” tally for my love life, it’ll still be a better outcome than Hibs XG.
NC1875
Moments away from jubilation until they draw the balls and you have 0 numbers.
He really needs sacked tonight. Ben Kensells position must surely be under serious consideration as well, he’s been an utter failure with anything to do with football.
Is it too late to ask him to stay! Obita’s performance today has been woeful. Almost like he wants us to lose.
He's not that good, cant defend and very average going forward.
That first half sums us up perfectly.
Playing all right, lose a goal to first effort on goal, total inability to react. ****ing gutless.
12-05-2024, 03:04 PM
So not actual goals then, I buy a lottery ticket and can win an expected £8m, doesn't mean I'll win it though.I was expecting a goal as well, do I get a badge or something?
At the very least Kensell's black balaclava would do.
Mrimbetween
12-05-2024, 03:04 PM
3-2 Hibs mon
h185forever
12-05-2024, 03:05 PM
Unless we are in dialogue with a new manager now ….the owners/board are letting us down badly.
I’ve seen no real signs of improvement this season …same old failings are still there …..defence can’t stop crosses into our box nor deal with them once they arrive …the midfield defensively give opponents too much space and time around our final third and don’t contribute enough quality going forward. The attack has individual flair players who just don’t work as a unit.
I accept individuals throughout the team throw in the odd good performance ,..,or 20 minutes…and it’s just not good enough.
For example MB has so far had his best performance of the season so far but nothing has come of it.
Monty OUT ASAP and a manager familiar with the SPL is a must I believe if we are to start making progress..others may disagree.
At this stage I’d take back NL for a fixed term 12 months up front and if he behaves and we improve then good …otherwise cheerio.
Im suggesting him as I don’t think any of the GOOD SPL managers would touch us.
with the SPL
Basildon Hibs
It’s the manager’s job to mould players’ attitudes. Montgomery falls at the first hurdle. I’m sick saying it but he should never have been appointed in the first place.
Correct. Another dreadful appointment.
Just like the previous two ...
tonyrougier123
It’s widely used system. I’m no expert mind. But I think what they do is tally up all your other stats and compile it into goals you would be expected to score figures, so for example we might be based on today 1.12 expected goals to be scored.
Even that song we’ve played when we come out for like 20 years is annoying me now 😂😂
Trinity Hibee
12-05-2024, 03:06 PM
It’s widely used system. I’m no expert mind. But I think what they do is tally up all your other stats and compile it into goals you would be expected to score figures, so for example we might be based on today 1.12 expected goals to be scored.
It’s a ****ing pointless stat which there are loads of nowadays. Maybe if folk just focussed on winning games of football everything else would fall into place? Just an idea
I’m going to start an “Expected Hole” tally for my love life, it’ll still be a better outcome than Hibs XG.
I think i'd prefer to watch you than Hibs.
It’s like a coffee table but extra good. :greengrin
tonyrougier123
12-05-2024, 03:07 PM
It’s a ****ing pointless stat which there are loads of nowadays. Maybe if folk just focussed on winning games of football everything else would fall into place? Just an idea
I agree I’m just trying to explain it to someone 😂🤦*♂️
12-05-2024, 03:07 PM
So not actual goals then, I buy a lottery ticket and can win an expected £8m, doesn't mean I'll win it though.Not really a good comparison
Xg is actually a reasonable stat that also takes into account the quality of chances created
It's used throughout football now
Basically it shows our finishing is *****
Christ knows what it will paint our defending like [emoji38]
12-05-2024, 03:08 PM
silly foul to give away
Trinity Hibee
I agree I’m just trying to explain it to someone 😂🤦*♂️
Ye sorry wasn’t a dig. I’m just so pissed off things like XG are even a thing. Not directed at you.
We are ****ed
It’s a ****ing pointless stat which there are loads of nowadays. Maybe if folk just focussed on winning games of football everything else would fall into place? Just an ideaThe folk who are winning games of football will also be using the stat
It's not one or another
Hibs4185
If monty goes, Gray must as well. Would be his 4th manager.
And Newell’s fifth? Surely has to go before gray?
tonyrougier123
12-05-2024, 03:09 PM
Even that song we’ve played when we come out for like 20 years is annoying me now 😂😂
That’s peeved me off for ages, was down at prem game other week the music before the game was class. No idea why Barry persists with that nonsense track 😡
🤣
He's here!
3-2 Hibs mon
4-0 Aberdeen seems much more likely.
Does that get us into the XG group stages next season?
Trinity Hibee
12-05-2024, 03:10 PM
The folk who are winning games of football will also be using the stat
It's not one or another
It’s not something to be boasting about when you are in the position we are in.
Trinity Hibee
Does that get us into the XG group stages next season?
No because we’ve already won the XG cup
We consistently have an enormous disparity between xG and goals scored. That should be treated as a problem to solve rather than a good thing.
I have no idea how anyone can be torn about NM
Actually, the thought of him getting his own players makes me even more worried about how bad we could really be under him.
I know exactly what it means but for him to come out with that pish is literally taking the piss, I wonder what out expected goal against numbers are, I bet we're high up that chart too.
12-05-2024, 03:11 PM
0-3
Get him to ****
0-3. This is 100% a result and performance deserving of being sacked before he’s even left the stadium. Make him do a Goodwin and climb the advertising boards.
lol. Some goal.