View Full Version : Match Updates. Hibs V Aberdeen
12-05-2024, 04:05 PM
This one left at half time.
64 and that will be first time I have done that, jeez I stayed to the end for the Malmo game.
I think today is the first time I’ve ever been home while the game is still being played
And I live in Musselburgh
Na mate. No one is enjoying this. They’ve been proved right though. You defending him? Ridiculous post
The poster concerned is on multiple threads making snide wee similar remarks.
Im not backing the manager but im not mocking those with a different view.
Embarrassing, infant school banter.
e2los
Though I hate to say it, today may have been the best thing to happen. If we had scraped a win it would merely have covered the cracks and given NM more time.
Spot on as the young ones often say these days..
Trinity Hibee
I think today is the first time I’ve ever been home while the game is still being played
And I live in Musselburgh
Fair play for even going. More than this lot deserve
Just had an email from hibs.
Head over to MatchWornShirt.com to be in with a chance of getting your hands on the Hibernian shirts worn in today's cinch Premiership match against Aberdeen.
Think I'll pass on that one.
At least it'll be fairly fresh smelling as there'll be no sweat on it.
McHibby
12-05-2024, 04:06 PM
Sounds like some of Block 7 are doing a sit-in
12-05-2024, 04:06 PM
I have never felt as disgusted with Hibs, even during the Butcher and Calderwood shambles.
Those two, Maloney and Montgomery are the only 4 managers that had no redeeming qualities at their time with Hibs. I've been very supportive of most of our managers but Montgomery needs to go yesterday.
Trinity Hibee
12-05-2024, 04:07 PM
Hahahahahaha. You need to have a long hard look at yourself. Maybe being on here tonight isn’t for you. Again, a ridiculous post
12-05-2024, 04:08 PM
At least it'll be fairly fresh smelling as there'll be no sweat on it.
Joe Newell’s will be box fresh 👍
Didn't renew HTV after last week, so avoided punishing myself. Had a great afternoon on my terrace getting sozzled in the sun on cheap Gin&tonic. Life isn't all bad.
Clear out top to bottom needed, including a board that know even less about football than the 'unfortunates' on JKB... Not holding my breath though
... And another gone in, in the time it took to read the thread... Another G&T will sort that out 🥂
Hahahahahaha. You need to have a long hard look at yourself. Maybe being on here tonight isn’t for you. Again, a ridiculous post
Thats literally no argument at all.
Head over to MatchWornShirt.com to be in with a chance of getting your hands on the Hibernian shirts worn in today's cinch Premiership match against Aberdeen.
On the plus side, you wouldn't have to wash it.
12-05-2024, 04:09 PM
It's called gallows humour mate.
12-05-2024, 04:09 PM
No SOL played after the game ?
NC1875
12-05-2024, 04:10 PM
Joe Newell’s will be box fresh 👍
We’re lucky to have him apparently. Absolute imposter like the rest of them.
12-05-2024, 04:10 PM
Wtf are you on about? Perhaps you’re the one needing a wee time out 😂
He's here!
12-05-2024, 04:11 PM
Surely this has to be rock bottom?
It can only get better next season you’d have thought!!
Why can it only get better? On current evidence it looks more likely to get even worse.
Paulie Walnuts
12-05-2024, 04:11 PM
Hilarious. You’re clearly enjoying yourself.
Aye, clearly.
12-05-2024, 04:12 PM
Let’s not forget, these players are needing emptied as well
The likes of newell, etc the mainstays need punted.
They down tools just as much as the new guys
12-05-2024, 04:16 PM
No SOL played after the game ?
Death March more appropriate followed by the sound of tumbleweed blowing across the desert
Totally unacceptable
12-05-2024, 04:17 PM
:agree: It's an old football saying that it's players that get managers sacked. The players need emptied, too.
Far too many just turning up and collecting a wage for little effort.
Fuzzywuzzy
12-05-2024, 04:18 PM
Newell was straight done the tunnel when he got subbed. Not sure if he was already out at the final whistle
K-Zazu
12-05-2024, 04:19 PM
:agree: It's an old football saying that it's players that get managers sacked. The players need emptied, too.
But they’ve got contracts so what do we do? Just pay them off?
Fuzzywuzzy
Must have been a few thousand left at the final whistle. Don't even remember the attendance
GreenGray
Stubbs style rebuild required. Don’t have any faith in the current set up to do something remotely similar though.
12-05-2024, 04:21 PM
Newell was straight done the tunnel when he got subbed. Not sure if he was already out at the final whistle
Probably already at the driving range lofting balls like his passing and shooting.
shamo9
12-05-2024, 04:21 PM
Newell was back on the pitch at full time and went round applauding the fans.
Exuberance1875
12-05-2024, 04:22 PM
Awful all over the park but honestly one of the worst performances ever witnessed from a right back today in Chris Cadden.
Absolutely torture, Hoilett gave him the run around
12-05-2024, 04:22 PM
yogi saying"he's heard" the young boys are being stifled
Chorley Hibee
12-05-2024, 04:23 PM
Sums up how detached from reality the imposters at Easter Road are.
Club is rotten to the core.
Yogi is a slaver.
But they’ve got contracts so what do we do? Just pay them off?
I realise that. Still need emptied.
12-05-2024, 04:24 PM
Yogi is a slaver.
Exactly.
Crazyhorse
12-05-2024, 04:24 PM
My impression is no one downs tools with people like McInnes.
I would think he would beat seven shades of ***** out of you if he even suspected it…
12-05-2024, 04:25 PM
yogi saying"he's heard" the young boys are being stifledMost of our decent "young boys" are out on loan getting experience of first team football
Which is what should be happening at there age
Managers done a poor job and will be sacked, dunno if you can really "stifle" young players that are mostly out on loan over the course of a season
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
12-05-2024, 04:27 PM
Jim Goodwin was sacked by this time after the 6-0 game. Why is Montgomery still in post?
12-05-2024, 04:28 PM
It’s been glaringly obvious for a while that Monty is out of his depth but that result really does not reflect well on the character and mentality of the players involved.
12-05-2024, 04:29 PM
Sportsound commentators creaming themselves about the Sheepies performance today when it’s obvious the result is down more to how totally abject we were.
12-05-2024, 04:29 PM
Yogi is a slaver.
babahibs
12-05-2024, 04:30 PM
Well said Hibsbollah, some absolute rockets on here
It’s been glaringly obvious for a while that Monty is out of his depth but that result really does not reflect well on the character and mentality of the players involved.
Surely the manager instils mentality and character into players, they should all be well trained in their jobs and be up for each match, they look like they can't be arsed, that stems from the manager.
12-05-2024, 04:38 PM
Sportsound commentators creaming themselves about the Sheepies performance today when it’s obvious the result is down more to how totally abject we were.
Willie Miller loving it had to switch off
12-05-2024, 04:39 PM
Surely the manager instils mentality and character into players, they should all be well trained in their jobs and be up for each match, they look like they can't be arsed, that stems from the manager.
There are things that players have to take responsibility for, and putting a bit effort in is one. This is the second manager this season that they’ll have seen off. And some of them have seen off others previously. When the same questions keep getting asked of those players, there comes a point that they are maybe something to do with it.
12-05-2024, 04:40 PM
Can’t blame them for that, I thought we were ok for 25 minutes, they score and dominate from then on.
They dominated because we were so poor. Our players downed tools. The Sheep's biggest win here since 1985 and their biggest away win this season. They are in the bottom six for a reason.
12-05-2024, 04:47 PM
He also said hanlon was retiring, the guy doesnt have a clue as to what is happening at the club
supermcginn
12-05-2024, 04:52 PM
Yogi is a slaver.
Don't disagree but as a manager for us he's a million miles ahead of Montgomery.
12-05-2024, 04:59 PM
Don't disagree but as a manager for us he's a million miles ahead of Montgomery.
He wasn't. 5-1 away at st Johnstone, 4-1 at Hamilton etc. He was shambolic.
Davy Mac
12-05-2024, 05:02 PM
They dominated because we were so poor. Our players downed tools. The Sheep's biggest win here since 1985 and their biggest away win this season. They are in the bottom six for a reason.
You know what, I was at that game in 1985 and nowt much has changed.
But will be fixed with a new appointment as N's interview sounded like a parting dig at the fans IMO
12-05-2024, 05:04 PM
Yet when the media say the same thing after we have a good win it's us who get the hump. We were crap, they were better. End of.
12-05-2024, 05:05 PM
You know what, I was at that game in 1985 and nowt much has changed.
But will be fixed with a new appointment as N's interview sounded like a parting dig at the fans IMO
He didn't do himself any favours in the interview. Fans make it difficult to play at Easter Road. Character needed. Blah blah blah.
12-05-2024, 05:06 PM
Yogi is a slaver.
Still thought he made more sense than Monty
12-05-2024, 05:08 PM
Yet when the media say the same thing after we have a good win it's us who get the hump. We were crap, they were better. End of.
They haven't had an opportunity to compliment any of our performances this season under NM.
12-05-2024, 05:08 PM
He didn't do himself any favours in the interview. Fans make it difficult to play at Easter Road. Character needed. Blah blah blah.
Blaming the fans! He can go **** himself if that was the case.
supermcginn
12-05-2024, 05:11 PM
He wasn't. 5-1 away at st Johnstone, 4-1 at Hamilton etc. He was shambolic.
He got European football mate monty is an absolute joker.
Trinity Hibee
12-05-2024, 05:14 PM
Sorry what?!
12-05-2024, 05:25 PM
Just back, honestly, I thought I was going to come back to the announcement he'd been sacked. I can't imagine him surviving that.
12-05-2024, 05:30 PM
Fans vented their fury at Monty's flops at full-time, with the club's ultras staging a sit-in protest after the game (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/fed-up-hibs-ultras-easter-29155819) as they refused to leave the stadium.
He added: "This isn't an easy place to play and the fans vent their frustrations which they've done a lot over the last couple of seasons. It's difficult and that's when you need your players to show courage and continue to get on the ball and try and get back into the game. But we didn't do that and that's why the second-half was frustrating.
lol
Nice, we should have met for a beer today and completely ignored this game 😁
I'm near Bingley and Hibs are crap.
12-05-2024, 05:33 PM
Oh dear. Being out of his depth means he gets a wee bit slack, that kind of comment will lose that completely.
Pretty sure we have been abject away from home as well.
I actually thought the fans were fine initially; watching your team fall apart, again, is why the fans turned, & largely by leaving rather than
by turning on Montgomery or the team; there weren't enough left by the end to say very much that I heard.
12-05-2024, 05:34 PM
Fans vented their fury at Monty's flops at full-time, with the club's ultras staging a sit-in protest after the game (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/fed-up-hibs-ultras-easter-29155819) as they refused to leave the stadium.
He added: "This isn't an easy place to play and the fans vent their frustrations which they've done a lot over the last couple of seasons. It's difficult and that's when you need your players to show courage and continue to get on the ball and try and get back into the game. But we didn't do that and that's why the second-half was frustrating.
lol
Disgrace. He’s gone. Even charlatans like Maloney and Johnson never spouted nonsense like that.
12-05-2024, 05:36 PM
lol
A multi million pound training centre, a fantastic expensive bowling green pitch and huge home support. That’s against Dundee’s quagmire pitch, pishy support and them having to train in the Tay everyday. Such a difficult place to play eh, what an absolute thicko he is.😂
Scotty Leither
12-05-2024, 05:39 PM
lol
Who’s writing his scripts, Cathro?
12-05-2024, 05:41 PM
I can't believe that we've just lost 4-0 at home to Aberdeen and there's no news of his dismissal. Are Kensell etc taking the piss?
12-05-2024, 05:43 PM
lol
What a pathetic thing to say. He’s now up there with Calderwood as my least favourite Hibs manager.
Lewisman
12-05-2024, 05:44 PM
I can't believe that we've just lost 4-0 at home to Aberdeen and there's no news of his dismissal.
If anyone thinks he will remain after next week they need to have their head examined.
12-05-2024, 05:46 PM
Sorry what?!
It was a disastorous interview. Essentially saying the fans have been venting their frustrations at Easter Road a lot over the last few years which makes it difficult for the players.
12-05-2024, 05:46 PM
If anyone thinks he will remain after next week they need to have their head examined.
Get him out now!
12-05-2024, 05:48 PM
Yep they did, let's forget about Monty, Kensell and the Gordons for a minute and while I'd like them all gone these players were totally unprofessional today.
Cadden, playing for an outside chance of a Scotland squad place - abysmal. Marcondes - like a 38 year old, can't run, can't turn. Thanks for the free kick and the 1st half at the piggery. Bye. The others - it's been said so many times before. Either limited ability or poor attitude. Or in some cases, both.
What a bloody mess.
The most glaring thing to me today was how easy we are to play against, Aberdeen players constantly finding little pockets of space and passing round us with ease.
Us on the other hand looked absolutely clueless in possession and were far too pedestrian while on the ball.
Crazyhorse
12-05-2024, 06:05 PM
I'm near Bingley and Hibs are crap.
Sound like we need a West Yorkshire Hibs therapy group 😅
Crazyhorse
12-05-2024, 06:07 PM
Yep they did, let's forget about Monty, Kensell and the Gordons for a minute and while I'd like them all gone these players were totally unprofessional today.
Cadden, playing for an outside chance of a Scotland squad place - abysmal. Marcondes - like a 38 year old, can't run, can't turn. Thanks for the free kick and the 1st half at the piggery. Bye. The others - it's been said so many times before. Either limited ability or poor attitude. Or in some cases, both.
What a bloody mess.
Ok I agree.
But other managers don’t put up with unprofessional *****
12-05-2024, 06:17 PM
He got European football mate monty is an absolute joker.
Eh, yeah. Another few weeks on that season he'd have blown that too.
babahibs
12-05-2024, 06:19 PM
The most glaring thing to me today was how easy we are to play against, Aberdeen players constantly finding little pockets of space and passing round us with ease.
Us on the other hand looked absolutely clueless in possession and were far too pedestrian while on the ball.
Yeah, look at their second goal again, watch the player that scores, in the build up to it, no hibs player comes within 5 yards of him, he's got all the space and time in the world.
supermcginn
12-05-2024, 06:22 PM
Eh, yeah. Another few weeks on that season he'd have blown that too.
Eh yeah. Nice to see you admit you are wrong for a change.
SickBoy32
12-05-2024, 06:29 PM
Looked like Boyle volleyed the ball into the Hibs dugout in anger after the 4th went in - anyone else see this ?
12-05-2024, 06:30 PM
Eh yeah. Nice to see you admit you are wrong for a change.
Keep it on topic please.
I admit I'm wrong plenty on here. I really have no issue doing so when I actually am.
Yogi was a crap Hibs manager too. What was he, 0 wins in 5 against Hearts? Mince.
12-05-2024, 06:32 PM
On sportscene the commentator just said that if maolida didn't score that would be 3 games in a row without a goal...
Did he not score last week?
12-05-2024, 06:38 PM
They dominated because they were better than us, they did what they had to do.
No point in insinuating they only won cause we were poor, they won and won well.
They did win because we were very, very poor. They don't often come to Easter Road or indeed anywhere else and win by 4 goals as I've already pointed out. We downed tools today and were as poor as we've been this season which is some going even for us.
12-05-2024, 07:07 PM
Serious question for all the world football officianados who were raving about Monty coming in as our new Head Coach prior to his appointment ( I admit I'd never heard of him.) : What players has he coached to be better than they were?
I can't think of a single one.
12-05-2024, 07:09 PM
Serious question for all the world football officianados who were raving about Monty coming in as our new Head Coach prior to his appointment ( I admit I'd never heard of him.) : What players has he coached to be better than they were?
I can't think of a single one.
Marshall improved but he couldn't have got any worse.
12-05-2024, 07:19 PM
Just seen the goals.
Levitt at the last goal sums him, these players and this club up. Half arsed *****
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
12-05-2024, 07:20 PM
Just seen the goals.
Levitt at the last goal sums him, these players and this club up. Half arsed *****
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
A complete and utter joker, an absolute mouse of a player
Get him so far to ****
Weasel. Been like that all season when he’s actually been fit
davym7062
12-05-2024, 07:22 PM
we do well play nice football get the the opposition box and forget we play in green
12-05-2024, 07:36 PM
A complete and utter joker, an absolute mouse of a player
Get him so far to ****
Weasel. Been like that all season when he’s actually been fit
He’s the furthest I’ve ever seen from being of the required quality to play for Hibs to have had that honour.
He’s not going to “come good”, he shouldn’t be getting a clean slate under a new manager and we shouldn’t be wasting time trying to get someone to take him off our hands. He should get his contract paid up and sent packing pronto.
Awful, awful footballer.
12-05-2024, 08:02 PM
Looked like Boyle volleyed the ball into the Hibs dugout in anger after the 4th went in - anyone else see this ?
Boyle has been poor for a long time now.
12-05-2024, 08:07 PM
Boyle has been poor for a long time now.
Agreed but you watch him today, time and time again he’s ready to run in behind and we just don’t play it. We don’t want to hit teams on a quick counter and get in behind. This type of football isn’t gonna get the best out of him
13-05-2024, 02:04 AM
I’m not backing Monty but it is a fair point.
Some of our fans are poisonous and destroy players constantly at the ground and on social media.
Other opposition managers have said this and know that the Hibs crowd turn on their team quickly and the players panic. They use this to their advantage.
I totally get the frustration at how we have performed over the last few seasons but the vitriol that gets spouted by many is beyond excessive at times.
I sometimes wonder why players would sign for us.
I can’t remember the last time the ER crowd roared the team from start to finish. Probably the 5-5 with Sevco a few years back.
I know folk are going to say the players need to give us something to cheer but I remember back in the 80s/90s when we were really poor the crowd still chanted the majority of the match and tried to back the team.
Some of our fans are poisonous and destroy players constantly at the ground and on social media.
Other opposition managers have said this and know that the Hibs crowd turn on their team quickly and the players panic. They use this to their advantage.
I totally get the frustration at how we have performed over the last few seasons but the vitriol that gets spouted by many is beyond excessive at times.
I can’t remember the last time the ER crowd roared the team from start to finish. Probably the 5-5 with Sevco a few years back.
I know folk are going to say the players need to give us something to cheer but I remember back in the 80s/90s when we were really poor the crowd still chanted the majority of the match and tried to back the team.
You got grit and fight in the 80s/90s teams no matter how poor it was the team would battle for the jersey, this team roll over never have I had less of a liking to a hibs team if it was announced all players where leaving next week I wouldn’t have a care for any of them.
I don’t know how these guys can look at themselves in the mirror, how often they are hearing this hibs are falling apart chant and show no personal pride to fight back, it’s easy to lay all the blame at the managers door but these cowards are as much to blame imo remember the performance Vs Celtic after the st.mirren disaster these player have that in the locker they just choose not to use it
13-05-2024, 06:35 AM
Amongst everything else yesterday, I was standing outside the stadium waiting for the gates to be open and noticed the stadium looks a mess at the moment, it's one of those ones where the longer you look the worse it looked. It definitely needs some care and maintenance over the summer, a clean and a fresh coat of paint would make a lot of difference.
13-05-2024, 06:35 AM
Agreed but you watch him today, time and time again he’s ready to run in behind and we just don’t play it. We don’t want to hit teams on a quick counter and get in behind. This type of football isn’t gonna get the best out of him
He got in behind at 0-0. First touch found the goalie.
13-05-2024, 06:39 AM
:agree: ruined a nice move. That and the Maolida shot well saved couldve given us a nice cushion. We actually started well going forward. But for some reason boyle doesnt get targeted for the same criticism as some others.
13-05-2024, 06:48 AM
Blaming fans for our awful form at home should be the final nail in the coffin for NM.
13-05-2024, 06:57 AM
:agree: ruined a nice move. That and the Maolida shot well saved couldve given us a nice cushion. We actually started well going forward. But for some reason boyle doesnt get targeted for the same criticism as some others.
I think that’s usually the case when a player has a bit of ‘credit in the bank’. Always tends to give them a bit of leeway. The ones who usually get it the worst are those who have done next to nothing in a Hibs strip and continue to be pish week in week out
13-05-2024, 06:58 AM
Player takes bad touch. Shock.
There were also plenty times early on where he finally got the ball then turned and drove at Aberdeen beating a few players.
13-05-2024, 07:06 AM
Out of interest, for anyone who was watching online/TV, was that offside? Seemed like the linesman put his flag up when Vente was still in a dangerous position, the ref then blowing his whistle rather than letting play go on.
Similar to the Madrid vs Munich incident although slightly less important :greengrin
13-05-2024, 07:27 AM
Out of interest, for anyone who was watching online/TV, was that offside? Seemed like the linesman put his flag up when Vente was still in a dangerous position, the ref then blowing his whistle rather than letting play go on.
Similar to the Madrid vs Munich incident although slightly less important :greengrin
Was offside ( Vente ) they got it spot on eventually
13-05-2024, 07:40 AM
I think that’s usually the case when a player has a bit of ‘credit in the bank’. Always tends to give them a bit of leeway. The ones who usually get it the worst are those who have done next to nothing in a Hibs strip and continue to be pish week in week out
Not always the case.
13-05-2024, 08:52 AM
Player takes bad touch. Shock.
There were also plenty times early on where he finally got the ball then turned and drove at Aberdeen beating a few players.
A professional footballer being consistently unable to control a ball, like Boyle, Youan, and Vente yesterday, is shocking.
13-05-2024, 08:53 AM
A professional footballer being consistently unable to control a ball, like Boyle, Youan, and Vente yesterday, is shocking.
Think consistently is harsh. Boyles first touch is either majestic or awful though. Doesn’t really appear to be a middle ground which is weird
13-05-2024, 08:59 AM
Youan wasn't even on the bench yesterday?
13-05-2024, 09:13 AM
Youan wasn't even on the bench yesterday?
Apologize. Meant Youan in general. Maolidas touch was abysmal yesterday too.
13-05-2024, 09:21 AM
I can't believe that we've just lost 4-0 at home to Aberdeen and there's no news of his dismissal. Are Kensell etc taking the piss?
Maybe it hasn’t registered with them.