View Full Version : Newell - Stay Or Go
16-04-2024, 08:13 PM
Seeing as polls are the in thing at the moment, one on Newell to bring us all together harmoniously.
HendoDelivered
16-04-2024, 08:26 PM
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Sioux
16-04-2024, 08:30 PM
Seeing as polls are the in thing at the moment, one on Newell to bring us all together harmoniously.
So you thought it would be a good idea to come up with this tripe?
HIBS NUTS
16-04-2024, 08:50 PM
Give it a rest guys.😔
16-04-2024, 08:51 PM
Walsall looking at him. Talks the lingo, makes sense.
16-04-2024, 08:52 PM
.net has completely gone to ****. Just getting stupid now.
16-04-2024, 08:53 PM
Leave no page unturned… wow.
What next - real life polls on evictions from the .net forum? :)
john rossi
16-04-2024, 08:58 PM
Player of the year don’t be daft
16-04-2024, 09:01 PM
What next - real life polls on evictions from the .net forum? :)
No purge surely?
16-04-2024, 09:06 PM
No purge surely?
funny you should mention that - I do wonder if one day a season in the books of some a bit of blood letting would keep them happy ;) The Purge is the dystopian show is it not ?
16-04-2024, 09:09 PM
The Hibs development player teen sensation Sol Stubbsy Davie Gray McGregor is accepting mediocrity during training - get rid!
Take it we're going to have a continuous series of stay or go polls u till we've gone through the whole club :dunno:
I'm Spartacus
16-04-2024, 09:20 PM
In a ploughed field of *****, Newell is the one glimmer of green shoot giving me some sort of hope, best passer at the club by some way and the right manager/coach would build around that.
Joe Newell will leave Hibs and only then will we see what we have lost, because he'll be superb wherever he goes.
16-04-2024, 09:48 PM
Polls - stay or go?
Stay...
Go...
That's racist...
Walsall looking at him. Talks the lingo, makes sense.
Really?
16-04-2024, 09:56 PM
Really?
😃😃😃
16-04-2024, 09:56 PM
How about
Stay
Go
16-04-2024, 10:00 PM
mon the poles
i mean mon the polls
16-04-2024, 11:18 PM
How about
Stay
Go
It’s a go from me.
16-04-2024, 11:40 PM
What next - real life polls on evictions from the .net forum? :)Please no as I'll be out for posting :hyper
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
17-04-2024, 12:44 AM
Would the last employee of the club left please post a poll on whether they should stay or go.
17-04-2024, 05:19 AM
A poll too far
Gash thread :na na:
Cannae wait for the new season to start already
17-04-2024, 06:57 AM
Polled out and finding this one a bit shan.
MelbourneHibees
17-04-2024, 07:17 AM
People clearly never read the OP. He made the poll to "bring us all together" because obviously everyone will vote stay.
Folk tearing into him making a fool of themselves 😂😂😂
17-04-2024, 07:33 AM
People clearly never read the OP. He made the poll to "bring us all together" because obviously everyone will vote stay.
Not necessarily based on his last three performances I would say go
Due a big performance his next game though as it is usually 1:4 :greengrin
Bigger problems at the Club just now
17-04-2024, 07:35 AM
Stay or leave Poles?
I thought Bexit was already decided?
NC1875
17-04-2024, 07:42 AM
In a ploughed field of *****, Newell is the one glimmer of green shoot giving me some sort of hope, best passer at the club by some way and the right manager/coach would build around that.
Joe Newell will leave Hibs and only then will we see what we have lost, because he'll be superb wherever he goes.
Superb wherever he goes ? A bit much no ?
We get the “superb” Joe Newell about once every 5-6 games.
17-04-2024, 08:04 AM
Was guessing that bit was tongue-in-cheek. Pretty obvious to anyone that Newell splits opinion on here.
MKHIBEE
17-04-2024, 09:01 AM
We will be having polls on which .netters stay or go next
17-04-2024, 09:02 AM
Your relentless on Newell. I will give you that!!
Stay. 100%
17-04-2024, 09:17 AM
I voted stay as a squad player. I like Joe but i'm hopeful we'll bring in better than him with the investment. That's not a dig at Joe as i rate him.
17-04-2024, 09:27 AM
Probably not getting the response the OP hoped for so far...
17-04-2024, 09:45 AM
I'd like him to stay, there are a few i'd get rid of before him, but saying that i'd like us to replace him with better.
I hope he becomes a good squad player.
17-04-2024, 09:57 AM
I don't mind him staying but I think he plays a part in our lack of urgency at times. I think the slow tempo and lack of urgency is the thing that annoys me more than anything about Hibs the last few years.
Sometimes he takes too many touches when one or two would do then moving the ball on (I get that involves other players moving off the ball which we arent great at). He's clearly an important player to the team and it's true that if Newell has a good game then Hibs generally do too. I'd also like to see him be more assertive and on the front foot when we don't have the ball. He done it once on Saturday (just after Campbell came on) where there was a loose ball and he got in and drove forward, played it into Marcondes who played a quick ball round the corner to Campbell out wide. More of that kind of football and more of that kind of play from Newell I'd like to see.
17-04-2024, 10:06 AM
Nothing less than 1 million lol
Just seen this and amazed 60% class him as a key player. Imo if we want to be 3rd/4th continously we need better than him playing every week.
22-04-2024, 06:56 AM
I voted stay as a squad player. I like Joe but i'm hopeful we'll bring in better than him with the investment. That's not a dig at Joe as i rate him.
That's where I am with him as well. Nowhere near as good as some on here think and nowhere near as bad either. Really good squad player to have IMO, but not nearly consistent enough performance wise to be a 'first name on the team sheet' kind of player.
sauzee1989
22-04-2024, 07:42 AM
What a stupid post, yes let’s get rid of our most influential player in past two seasons after finishing bottom 6.
22-04-2024, 07:44 AM
Just seen this and amazed 60% class him as a key player. Imo if we want to be 3rd/4th continously we need better than him playing every week.
I think we need to improve
1 x goalkeeper
2 x centre half
1 x centre forward
Before we think about trying to improve in Newell. Having that around him and NWM would help massively imo.
At the end of the season when Marcondes and Maolida leave too then that’s another attacking midfielder and left winger we need to improve before him, imo.
We’re not not challenging for European places because of Newell, he’s the obvious errors in recruitment and positions we recruit for the past 3 years.
22-04-2024, 07:44 AM
What a stupid post, yes let’s get rid of our most influential player in past two seasons after finishing bottom 6.
No sure this is the win you think it is
sauzee1989
22-04-2024, 07:57 AM
The situation would be much worse without joe Newell.
GreenPJ
22-04-2024, 08:01 AM
I suspect that Joe Newell would get in the Hearts first team in midfield - for me he is better than Devlin or Baningime or Grant. He of course needs to be more consistent and a bit more structured in his play - I do think he does too much some times, partly because his fellow midfielders were not doing their job but that then detracts from his overall performance. If he has quality alongside him (either as a holding midfielder or attacking midfielder) he would shine.
22-04-2024, 08:22 AM
The situation would be much worse without joe Newell.
How much worse?
Greensunshine
22-04-2024, 08:56 AM
Joe stays 100%
Surround him with better quality he’ll flourish.
Plenty good qualities.
22-04-2024, 09:00 AM
Newell on his day is one of the best midfielders in the league.
Newell off his game doesn't influence games, but he still works his arse off.
100% keep.
22-04-2024, 09:09 AM
Well, at least we now know the noisy minority is, in fact, a minority.
22-04-2024, 09:11 AM
Most influential? The influenced - be careful who is doing the influencing!
SickBoy32
22-04-2024, 09:28 AM
Totally agree 😂
60% of folk have watched him float round the park , for 5year, and conclude that he’s the guy to bring glory back to ER - frightening
‘Flatters to deceive’ is perfect for a player like Newell
22-04-2024, 11:41 AM
He's one of the very few in the squad that I'd keep a hold of.
22-04-2024, 11:58 AM
Totally agree 😂
60% of folk have watched him float round the park , for 5year, and conclude that he’s the guy to bring glory back to ER - frightening
‘Flatters to deceive’ is perfect for a player like Newell
I don’t think anyone is saying he’s the guy to bring glory back to ER.
More a recognition that in the attempt to bring back glory, while rebuilding the squad, replacing Newell is far from an immediate priority
22-04-2024, 12:01 PM
I don’t think we’re going to be able to carry out as big a rebuild as we actually need in one window. So we’ll need to keep some of the better players we have to fill out the squad. So for that reason I’d be keeping Newell.
Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2024, 12:03 PM
I don’t think we’re going to be able to carry out as big a rebuild as we actually need in one window. So we’ll need to keep some of the better players we have to fill out the squad. So for that reason I’d be keeping Newell.
Agree.
I’d love us to replace Newell with better. I’d love even more for us to replace the players poorer than Newell with better, which is pretty much all our midfield.
Once we replace them with better, we can think about Newell.
The Tubs
22-04-2024, 12:10 PM
What amazes me is how simple Mowbray made it all look when he was manager. Take the example of O'Connor. He saw he had an important role in the team but there was no cover so signed Morrow as a cheap back up until Fletcher could fill the role to some extent. Then, when O'Connor was about to leave, he signed Killen as a replacement. This kind of planning and replacement happened successfully all over the team, except for the goalie.
Donegal Hibby
22-04-2024, 12:28 PM
Agree, we are not going to absolutely gut the squad in the summer as it's a costly business and we probably won't have the budget to do that anyway.
It takes time over a few windows to do this which brings us back to the managers position in do we stick or twist ?.
Newell isn't one of the players that should be a priority to move on imo , theres others well below Newell on that list.
Only thing about Newell for me is you either get this guy that's playing fantastic or you have a passenger in midfield . I suppose I'd like to keep him though have someone else so we aren't relying on him in every game .
22-04-2024, 12:38 PM
Joe Newell is a typical example of everything that is wrong with Hibs at the moment. Slows play down so much with his backwards passing, yet when he does play on the front foot he's an exceptionally good player. Personally, I've had enough of the sometimes exceptional, mixed with below par or average, performances. We need players who are consistently good in all games - it's one of the reasons why we are so easily beat by many teams. Our best player, probably! But we need better higher tempo players! Time to move on Super Joe.
22-04-2024, 12:49 PM
Joe Newell is a typical example of everything that is wrong with Hibs at the moment. Slows play down so much with his backwards passing, yet when he does play on the front foot he's an exceptionally good player. Personally, I've had enough of the sometimes exceptional, mixed with below par or average, performances. We need players who are consistently good in all games - it's one of the reasons why we are so easily beat by many teams. Our best player, probably! But we need better higher tempo players! Time to move on Super Joe.
Those players very rarely exist in world football, even rarer to exist in Scottish football. Even rarer-er in Scottish football outwith Rangers and Celtc.
22-04-2024, 01:06 PM
Those players very rarely exist in world football, even rarer to exist in Scottish football. Even rarer-er in Scottish football outwith Rangers and Celtc.
I know I'll get shot down for this... but think of peak Lewis Stevenson. Or maybe Paul McGinn. These were both very steady, consistent performers who maybe didn't hit the heights that others did but they very rarely dropped below a certain level of performance either.
There's definitely something a bit funny about how hot and cold some of our current players are. Whilst it's fine to maybe have one who is like that, if we're considering Newell and Youan to be amongst our best players and you don't know from one week to the next whether they're going to turn up or not, it removes a bit of the mystery as to why we've been a mid table or bottom 6 side these past few years.
23-04-2024, 06:22 AM
I know I'll get shot down for this... but think of peak Lewis Stevenson. Or maybe Paul McGinn. These were both very steady, consistent performers who maybe didn't hit the heights that others did but they very rarely dropped below a certain level of performance either.
There's definitely something a bit funny about how hot and cold some of our current players are. Whilst it's fine to maybe have one who is like that, if we're considering Newell and Youan to be amongst our best players and you don't know from one week to the next whether they're going to turn up or not, it removes a bit of the mystery as to why we've been a mid table or bottom 6 side these past few years.
I think it’s a good point about the number of key players we have that blow hot and cold and not enough steady eddies, like prime Stevenson or Paul McGinn, throughout the team to compensate.
Some posters still argue Newell isn’t inconsistent or has been good all season. Off the top of my head I can think of 9 games where we got the version of Newell that didn’t turn up - St Mirren at home x 2, Motherwell at home ( after an outstanding team performance for the opening 20 minutes) x2, St Johnstone home and away, Forfar, Livingston at home. 70 minutes away to Killmarnock until Maolida came on/the red card. That’s 8 league games of the 33 to the split or 24% of our games.
You could make similar lists, or worse in number of cases, for all of the squad, bar Maolida, and it explains yet another season in the bottom 6.
Edit, don’t think Newell played away v St Johnston for the eagle eyed.
23-04-2024, 06:33 AM
Newell is the least of our problems. He's not as good as some posters think but he's above average for our level.
23-04-2024, 07:37 AM
I think it’s a good point about the number of key players we have that blow hot and cold and not enough steady eddies, like prime Stevenson or Paul McGinn, throughout the team to compensate.
Some posters still argue Newell isn’t inconsistent or has been good all season. Off the top of my head I can think of 9 games where we got the version of Newell that didn’t turn up - St Mirren at home x 2, Motherwell at home ( after an outstanding team performance for the opening 20 minutes) x2, St Johnstone home and away, Forfar, Livingston at home. 70 minutes away to Killmarnock until Maolida came on/the red card. That’s 8 league games of the 33 to the split or 24% of our games.
You could make similar lists, or worse in number of cases, for all of the squad, bar Maolida, and it explains yet another season in the bottom 6.
His last three league games were also a no show The Rangers A St Johnstone H and Motherwell A disappointing from our captain if anything he is inconsistent
23-04-2024, 07:42 AM
TBH I hope we replace the whole squad with someone better
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2024, 07:43 AM
And I hope we never stop doing that.
26-04-2024, 08:37 PM
And I hope we never stop doing that.
I'm hoping we actually make a start at it before I pop my clogs
27-04-2024, 12:16 AM
Good to see the Jambos maintaining an interest - must have acquired more reading skills since Vlad said “the people that will invest are the simple fans”…
glenberviehibee
27-04-2024, 08:00 AM
Stay 100%
27-04-2024, 09:15 AM
Good to see the Jambos maintaining an interest - must have acquired more reading skills since Vlad said “the people that will invest are the simple fans”…
Only 27 of them though.
We never do though. Unless we sign SPL ready players or grow our own
HendoDelivered
27-04-2024, 10:54 AM
Stay 👍🏼
Exuberance1875
27-04-2024, 07:59 PM
Should be nothing more than a squad player IMO.
28-04-2024, 10:32 AM
Stay but he needs more games like yesterday.
04-05-2024, 05:13 PM
Everyone still happy with their votes?
04-05-2024, 05:19 PM
Yep. Ready to start yet another anti joe newell thread?
04-05-2024, 05:29 PM
Yep. Ready to start yet another anti joe newell thread?
There’s threads across here and on the PM forum discussing Rocky, Wollacot, Hanlon as well as Newell being discussed disparagingly by balanced/positive posters across various threads after today’s game. Is it just my post and this general thread you take exception to?
04-05-2024, 05:35 PM
Didn't look interested today 😔
04-05-2024, 06:15 PM
There’s threads across here and on the PM forum discussing Rocky, Wollacot, Hanlon as well as Newell being discussed disparagingly by balanced/positive posters across various threads after today’s game. Is it just my post and this general thread you take exception to?
Anytime I have looked at a JN thread for the last 12M, you are all over it. I totally get you don't rate him mate (and your view is no less valid than anyone else's), but the sheer number of posts you make saying the same things skews the argument.
As most will say, Joe Newell is the least of our problems.
As I said before, he is th
TheCabbage
04-05-2024, 06:47 PM
Go.
Don’t employ convicted drunk drivers
04-05-2024, 06:50 PM
Go.
We need someone who dictates the game from the middle.
Joe couldn't dictate a letter to a receptive typist.
04-05-2024, 06:59 PM
0 tackles & 3 fouls today against a midfield containing Connor Randall. Pitiful.
04-05-2024, 07:01 PM
Not for the first time this season I’d say that’s his worst performance in a very long time. Something definitely not right the last wee while.
Greensunshine
04-05-2024, 07:05 PM
I like Joe, he’s got real quality. However I would question his overall fitness. Blows out his arse early second half and starts diving into tackles he’s never winning.
Time to go.
NC1875
04-05-2024, 07:06 PM
Hopefully NM pisses off back to OZ and takes Joe with him. 👋🏽
04-05-2024, 07:10 PM
He had a wee burst of energy after we went 2-1 down. Ran over to take a long throw. Then ran to tackle their goalie when the ball was out of play and he was trying to waste time. Shame he never showed that kind of urgency when the ball was loose in the middle of the park for the previous 90 minutes.
He’s been central to too much crap for me. Time for change.
04-05-2024, 07:20 PM
😴
04-05-2024, 07:20 PM
I like Joe, he’s got real quality. However I would question his overall fitness. Blows out his arse early second half and starts diving into tackles he’s never winning.
Time to go.
I’m not in the stay category as I think he lacks real innate desire but in fairness, as a midfielder, it’s not easy playing there when essentially we are 4-2-4 and you have Boyle and Emi (or whoever) playing high and leaving him and AN Other to do all the grafting - it’s no surprise he fades badly. That said, as technically good he is with the ball (and he is), he always severely lacks drive - which you need as a midfielder who has the technical ability to get forward and create. The poor tackling is at times no doubt frustration, but for me, he’s on the “go” list - I genuinely believe we wouldn’t miss him if we got in the right blend and character in midfield, and I mean on field character because he’s a genuinely nice lad. Just doesn’t have the leadership qualities you need at this level as a senior pro for me. Playing really well one in five or six games isn’t good enough.
Hibs4185
04-05-2024, 07:29 PM
Newell epitomises everything that has been wrong with the club over the last few years.
Hes a decent player but he has to go. He loves the club and Edinburgh but that’s half the problem. Hes too comfortable.
Need to clear the rot out before it gets too ingrained
04-05-2024, 07:38 PM
He`s obviously a very talented player who makes some great passes and could probably play at a higher level . Doesn`t miss many matches through injury either . But he doesn`t seem to get the best out of younger teammates , gives away several unnecessary fouls every match and doesn`t seem to fit in to any system where we`re trying to play fast , attractive football . Well aware his replacement ( if he leaves ) may well be less talented but given Joe`s age I can`t see him making a much bigger impact if at all than now .
04-05-2024, 07:46 PM
Not for the first time this season I’d say that’s his worst performance in a very long time. Something definitely not right the last wee while.
I wonder what that could be…..
04-05-2024, 08:03 PM
His level of consistency or ability. Goes missing so many times
04-05-2024, 08:16 PM
Dunno, is it the same thing as when he was putting in s*** performances under Johnson and Maloney?
05-05-2024, 10:31 AM
Another class performance from Joe again, what would we do without him.:rolleyes:
05-05-2024, 10:38 AM
Another class performance from Joe again, what would we do without him.:rolleyes:
Absolute liability too often
You'll get his fan club on soon to tell you how lucky we are to have his quality at the club, hell of a nice guy with good hair though, so that's ok.
05-05-2024, 11:22 AM
You'll get his fan club on soon to tell you how lucky we are to have his quality at the club, hell of a nice guy with good hair though, so that's ok.
Moaning about potential options before they’ve even happened 😂
Eh?
05-05-2024, 11:24 AM
Eh?
Pretty self explanatory
Who's moaning and what potential options, Newell had another stinker and Blackpool made a tongue in cheek comment about it, all I said was his fan club will be on to tell you how great he is, when he really isn't.
05-05-2024, 11:28 AM
Who's moaning and what potential options, Newell had another stinker and Blackpool made a tongue in cheek comment about it, all I said was his fan club will be on to tell you how great he is, when he really isn't.
Aye. Exactly…
05-05-2024, 11:29 AM
‘Least of our problems’. It’s starting to annoy me folk saying that, and I like Newell as a player. But I don’t think anyone who’s been part of this continual slide down the table can be described as the least of our problems.
PineBarrens
05-05-2024, 11:48 AM
i have voted leave but literally dont want to see any of the current squad again
13-05-2024, 07:05 PM
I wonder if he's still the least of our problems today?
I always thought a captain should be the player the others look to when the chips are down, someone who would lead by example, they would struggle to find him when the team needs leadership.
Had enough of this imposter, he can go along with 99% of the others.
I wonder if he's still the least of our problems today?
I always thought a captain should be the player the others look to when the chips are down, someone who would lead by example, they would struggle to find him when the team needs leadership.
Had enough of this imposter, he can go along with 99% of the others.
Went into hiding yesterday as the game got worse, rightly hooked.
13-05-2024, 07:14 PM
Rocky being sent out to do post match interviews was shocking
Stand up "captain"!! (yes I know PH is club captain and therefore wore the band yesterday but JN has wore the band most weeks and is recognised as the team captain)
13-05-2024, 07:18 PM
Thought Rocky spoke well
13-05-2024, 07:29 PM
Thought Rocky spoke well
Yes he did was honest
Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 07:33 PM
Stand up "captain"!! (yes I know PH is club captain and therefore wore the band yesterday but JN has wore the band most weeks and is recognised as the team captain)
Didn't know about this until I read it now . What's going on at our club when a player who's already been getting a lot of stick is sent out to do the post match interview after that result .
Surely that's Newells place to do that as the recognised captain of the club .
Says alot for ones character while not a lot about the others .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/rocky-bushiri-candid-hibs-embarrassing-29161226
Paulie Walnuts
13-05-2024, 08:36 PM
Do the players decide who’s going out to do the interviews?
Genuine question, I’ve no idea who decides. I’d be surprised if the players just decide between themselves though.
13-05-2024, 08:39 PM
Go.
Bang average player who has one good game in 10.
Sorry Joe.
13-05-2024, 08:43 PM
Get rid.
But if we are getting rid we must
1 - Find better
2 - Get rid of every other midfield player we have. Because he is still our best one.
If we cant do both of those, then he'll have a place here.
13-05-2024, 08:45 PM
Didn't know about this until I read it now . What's going on at our club when a player who's already been getting a lot of stick is sent out to do the post match interview after that result .
Surely that's Newells place to do that as the recognised captain of the club .
Says alot for ones character while not a lot about the others .
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/rocky-bushiri-candid-hibs-embarrassing-29161226
Hanlon is recognized captain.
Did Gray do interviews every week after losing to Alloa, Dumbarton, QOTS, Falkirk? Or did it just rotate around the squad without any real thinking in it, like every other club in the world?
Cheerio Joe 🙄
well he still has nice hair
so there
13-05-2024, 08:49 PM
Do the players decide who’s going out to do the interviews?
Genuine question, I’ve no idea who decides. I’d be surprised if the players just decide between themselves though.
That's a fair question, and I'm not 100% sure although I'm sure there's a level of agreement around a cohort of players doing it. The lads on the stick to football podcast spoke about it a few weeks ago from memory
Imo though, when we have a **** show like Sunday, I expect the "leaders" to face the media and that falls on Newell and to a lesser extent Hanlon but as he's not played a lot of matches Newell should be facing the uncomfortable questions
13-05-2024, 08:58 PM
Did Gray do interviews every week after losing to Alloa, Dumbarton, QOTS, Falkirk? Or did it just rotate around the squad without any real thinking in it, like every other club in the world?
A quick squint on our twitter feed shows a loss to alloa in April 2016 but nobody done a post match interview. Couldn't see anything from Dumbarton. Never looked for other clubs
I think most recognise the club is in turmoil right now. I feel it's harsh Rocky has done media duties albeit without knowing whether he's volunteered but what I'd have liked is for the captain of the team to step up and face the media and that sets a tone throughout the club, imo
Donegal Hibby
13-05-2024, 09:04 PM
Hanlon's not playing most weeks and away at the end of the season so I'd say Newell is seen as the recognised captain .
If nobodys done any real thinking into putting a player who's already came in for some severe stick doing an interview after that result then there's something far wrong somewhere .
That's when I'd expect the captain to show some leadership qualities in taking the interview .
What Gray done I can't remember though imo showed more leadership qualities than the one we have now .
13-05-2024, 09:26 PM
By all means criticise his performance but it’s getting a bit ridiculous he’s now getting slated cos he didn’t do the post match interview.
Contador
13-05-2024, 09:29 PM
Bang average player but nowhere near the top of our list of issues at the moment.
13-05-2024, 09:30 PM
By all means criticise his performance but it’s getting a bit ridiculous he’s now getting slated cos he didn’t do the post match interview.
He's supposed to be captain, a captain leads, he does not and should have taken control of the media.
Posted missing on that too.
13-05-2024, 09:39 PM
He's supposed to be captain, a captain leads, he does not and should have taken control of the media.
Posted missing on that too.
On that basis he should have been doing the post match interviews after St Johnstone and Motherwell games. I’m not his biggest fan but not doing post match interviews is yet another unnecessary stick to beat him with.
We’ve had a number of pish performances this season was he supposed to do the post match interviews after all of these games too ?
paddy1875
13-05-2024, 09:41 PM
An average player in a below average team
13-05-2024, 10:02 PM
Yep. Utterly mental. Take control of the media :faf:
Joe Newell A) isn't our captain and B) has no say whatsoever in who does interviews with the club.
13-05-2024, 10:06 PM
He isn’t up at the top of the pile of our problems however for me he’s been the mainstay in what’s been a poor and pedestrian midfield.
He’s one of those players though that would probably be better with the correct mix of players around him.
13-05-2024, 10:12 PM
He isn’t up at the top of the pile of our problems however for me he’s been the mainstay in what’s been a poor and pedestrian midfield.
He’s one of those players though that would probably be better with the correct mix of players around him.
He’ll be going into his 6th season next season and there’s still talk about finding the correct players beside him. NMW & Marcondes the latest in a long list not to be those players. I think the reality is it’s two real quality midfielders that can carry him that he needs.
13-05-2024, 11:11 PM
He’ll be going into his 6th season next season and there’s still talk about finding the correct players beside him. NMW & Marcondes the latest in a long list not to be those players. I think the reality is it’s two real quality midfielders that can carry him that he needs.
I’ve never known a poster to be so obsessed with one of our own players, utterly bizarre.
14-05-2024, 07:16 AM
Yep. Utterly mental. Take control of the media :faf:
Joe Newell A) isn't our captain and B) has no say whatsoever in who does interviews with the club.
He's been captain most of the season, and as one of our most senior players should be showing an example on and off the park, but no its just another case of passing the buck.
14-05-2024, 07:52 AM
I’ve never known a poster to be so obsessed with one of our own players, utterly bizarre.
We must be in the last vestiges of the defence of Newell when it’s easier to play the man than the ball.
Folk are quick to pile on Hanlon and Stevenson for their part in supposed decades of poor performances and that’s their opinion however for a player of his reported talent (and Captain for parts) Joe Newell has only a handful of times turned up and put in a performances.
Before folk tell me he’s our best player blah blah he’s part of a team that’s currently sitting 9th and just been pumped by a less than average Aberdeen team at home.
He goes for me.
14-05-2024, 08:45 AM
Folk are quick to pile on Hanlon and Stevenson for their part in supposed decades of poor performances and that’s their opinion however for a player of his reported talent (and Captain for parts) Joe Newell has only a handful of times turned up and put in a performances.
Before folk tell me he’s our best player blah blah he’s part of a team that’s currently sitting 9th and just been pumped by a less than average Aberdeen team at home.
He goes for me.
If we appoint a manager that knows what he’s doing, he’ll be gone.
14-05-2024, 09:06 AM
He has to be one of the first to go for me, he exemplifies exactly what’s wrong with the team and squad with his lack of drive, leadership, real inner desire, and his one game in six or seven “good” performances. Dreadfully inconsistent as a midfielder with no one next to him or behind him to get torn into him during games to up his levels. Coasts through life and games at Hibs.
14-05-2024, 09:07 AM
He can go aswell now
Bang average, only plays when he fancies it
Bye
04-08-2024, 05:25 PM
Start of a new season, a familiar story. I wonder if a new poll, or if you could change previous votes, would have the same results.
I also wonder what a similar poll for Campbell would look like.
04-08-2024, 05:32 PM
Put keep as a squad player, we need to find a centre midfield leader who is a calming influence.
Where you find them is the biggest problem, and if found they need to be up to speed right away.
04-08-2024, 05:35 PM
He is and never will be a captain of Hibs, as plenty folk have said whoever gave him a 3 year extension on his contract are taking the piss 😡
04-08-2024, 05:35 PM
I think blaming Newell, or any individual player really, is similar to those doughnuts down south blaming immigrants for the sins of the tory government.
Kensell and Gordon to blame for the state of Hibs. Not Joe Newell.
He isn't great, but he is our best midfielder. Campbell and NMW much worse today. If he has to go, they all do (which I think most would be fine with)
04-08-2024, 05:37 PM
Put keep as a squad player, we need to find a centre midfield leader who is a calming influence.
Where you find them is the biggest problem, and if found they need to be up to speed right away.
Id say completely the opposite (calming influence). He’s too laid back, doesn’t make demands of others around him, doesn’t drive standards upwards and is meek. We need a no nonsense winner in the central area, bolstered by creativity and real energy. It’s pedestrian in that area because there’s no in game demands being put on them by the likes of Joe. He defines not only our midfield but our team at present - very boring, bland and completely uninspired.
04-08-2024, 05:38 PM
I think blaming Newell, or any individual player really, is similar to those doughnuts down south blaming immigrants for the sins of the tory government.
wow
Hibiza
04-08-2024, 05:39 PM
Can't find the poll but Joe you contribute nothing truth be told.
NC1875
He isn't great, but he is our best midfielder. Campbell and NMW much worse today. If he has to go, they all do (which I think most would be fine with)
The problem is the fact that he is our best midfielder. A new contact and the captaincy though ? Dearie me David Gray!
Joe Newell should not be our captain. Today was another one of his magic disappearing acts.
He isn’t solely responsible for anything but him being such a crucial part of our team is criminal. How manager after manager comes in and does the same things is beyond me.
04-08-2024, 05:41 PM
The problem is the fact that he is our best midfielder. A new contact and the captaincy though ? Dearie me David Gray!
The problem is no one has signed a better midfielder than him in 5 years. Because our club is run by idiots.
04-08-2024, 05:42 PM
He should have been gone years ago. Gray has had a shocker with the new contract. [emoji35]
04-08-2024, 05:42 PM
whatever, he still has nice hair :greengrinlucky git
NC1875
04-08-2024, 05:43 PM
The problem is no one has signed a better midfielder than him in 5 years. Because our club is run by idiots.
I’m not disagreeing with you.
Newel being our best midfielder shows how bad we are, Josh Campbell would struggle to get a game for Dunfermline but some on here telling us he’ll be player of the year 😂
Newell is certainly not the only problem with the team, the squad or the club.
But, the midfielders around him have changed, he’s had jeggo, nmw, Campbell, Levitt, marcondes, and others in there with him. He’s the mainstay of a long time underperforming midfield. At some point we have to take him out as well and see if another combination works, it can’t always be someone else’s fault with him.
He’s gotten away for too long with excuses being made for him (not having a dig at you), he turns it on far too sporadically, and he’ll see another manager off soon enough (although making him captain was always going to bite SDG in the arse).
As captain he should be setting the tone, bringing the best out in his teammates, but he rarely does.
04-08-2024, 05:45 PM
He should have been gone years ago. Gray has had a shocker with the new contract. [emoji35]
do we know for sure who gave him the contract extension ? i get the impression sdg's job is to coach the players and pick the team
McGruber
04-08-2024, 05:45 PM
We have 8 centre midfielders in the first team squad. Newell is the best of those 8 midfielders. There's midfielders to move on before Newell - 7 of them to be exact. We could also do better than Newell, just seems a strange place to start
04-08-2024, 05:47 PM
do we know for sure who gave him the contract extension ? i get the impression sdg's job is to coach the players and pick the team
The club and Gray say he has final say so we have to take them at their word?
04-08-2024, 05:48 PM
Joe Newell should not be our captain. Today was another one of his magic disappearing acts.
He isn’t solely responsible for anything but him being such a crucial part of our team is criminal. How manager after manager comes in and does the same things is beyond me.
Based on this week and last week's games the decision to sign him on another 3 year contract looks crazy. Just so disappointing. He looks so devoid of energy and completely lacking in inspiration.
04-08-2024, 05:50 PM
Newell is what he is, a decent player in our league. In a good team he'd be perfectly fine as he's not a bad player.
Folk claiming he's better than that most have their eyes painted on. He's never once stepped up and dragged us through a game when really needed.
He's our best midfielder just now. That says more about our current standard than him though.
Houston7
04-08-2024, 06:05 PM
Newell is what he is, a decent player in our league. In a good team he'd be perfectly fine as he's not a bad player.
Folk claiming he's better than that most have their eyes painted on. He's never once stepped up and dragged us through a game when really needed.
He's our best midfielder just now. That says more about our current standard than him though.
Perhaps I’m just an old fool, who doesn’t know what he is talking about. However, the way the game went, it is easy to forget the first half. My impression was that Joe Newell ran the midfield in the first half - but I’m not suggesting that he is generally good enough for Hibs. We miss an incredible sitter - & then I suspect someone doped the players drinks at halftime. What happened at halftime? Robinson sussed us out - resulting in us having absolutely no midfield & then no fight in second half.
04-08-2024, 06:07 PM
Okay, I admit it. Removing Joe Newell from the team will solve every single one of our problems overnight.
Can we stop now?
Silky
04-08-2024, 06:20 PM
He can go aswell now
Bang average, only plays when he fancies it
Bye
Plenty others that could be levied at. I understand that Joe is a player who divides opinion amongst the support but I think sometimes he's the scapegoat on days like today. Boyle imo seems untouchable compared to Newell, yet has been just as culpable recently. I think he's been poor for a long time, and he was terrible today, but he slips under the radar. He's as much of the problem as Newell and I find it completely baffling there's no poll about him either.
04-08-2024, 06:31 PM
Plenty others that could be levied at. I understand that Joe is a player who divides opinion amongst the support but I think sometimes he's the scapegoat on days like today. Boyle imo seems untouchable compared to Newell, yet has been just as culpable recently. I think he's been poor for a long time, and he was terrible today, but he slips under the radar. He's as much of the problem as Newell and I find it completely baffling there's no poll about him either.
Have you missed the Boyle thread?
snedzuk
04-08-2024, 06:32 PM
That would be the Boyle who Gogic outpaced, having given him a start, in the second half. Boyle minus his pace is a serious passenger.
Silky
04-08-2024, 06:47 PM
Have you missed the Boyle thread?
Have you read it? You'll see a similar post there! But the pont still stands.
04-08-2024, 07:27 PM
Newell may be our best player ( as I’m constantly told ) However that doesn’t make him particularly good midfield player. Average at best and before anyone says anything to defend him, look how easily St Mirren midfield run through him and the other players today.
05-08-2024, 02:14 PM
Id say completely the opposite (calming influence). He’s too laid back, doesn’t make demands of others around him, doesn’t drive standards upwards and is meek. We need a no nonsense winner in the central area, bolstered by creativity and real energy. It’s pedestrian in that area because there’s no in game demands being put on them by the likes of Joe. He defines not only our midfield but our team at present - very boring, bland and completely uninspired.
Reread the post, I said we needed a calming influential midfielder not Newell!!!
18-08-2024, 09:37 AM
Can we use this thread for the Super (or not) Joe Newell debate and leave the Transfer Thread for transfer discussions?
18-08-2024, 09:47 AM
Well now that i've just found out he's English it's a no brainer.
18-08-2024, 09:57 AM
Christ, nearly 55% of the vote. There is still hope for hibs.net
Musselbound
18-08-2024, 10:52 AM
Can we use this thread for the Super (or not) Joe Newell debate and leave the Transfer Thread for transfer discussions?
I was thinking of writing similar on the transfer thread. Surely people can debate it all day long here?
18-08-2024, 03:56 PM
So, thoughts on our Captain's performance today.
When we needed leadership, did he provide some?
Did he drive us forward when we needed it most?
Did he offer protection to the much maligned defence when it was needed?
There will be plenty threads focusing on other players, so would be good to keep the focus of this one on our Captain.
Trinity Hibee
18-08-2024, 03:58 PM
At best he’s a squad player. Far too often has zero impact on a game which as a CM and a captain isn’t good enough.
18-08-2024, 03:58 PM
There will be plenty threads focusing on other players, so would be good to keep the focus of this one on our Captain.
Maybe best if bid comes in to move on
NC1875
18-08-2024, 03:59 PM
Another anonymous performance from our best midfielder.
So glad we gave him the new contact and captaincy.
Lucky to have him
18-08-2024, 04:01 PM
Only man able to make a tackle today.
Think I will leave this sad little echo chamber thread to blame everything on JN.
Just keep it off the transfer thread please.
The answer to each question is: no, he didn’t. Which is entirely in keeping with his weekly performance. Gray needs to make changes in the midfield, including what Newell is doing and is asked to do
Trinity Hibee
18-08-2024, 04:02 PM
Only man able to make a tackle today.
Think I will leave this sad little echo chamber thread to blame everything on JN.
Just keep it off the transfer thread please.
Yet you couldn’t help but comment. A lot of the comments here are fully justified
18-08-2024, 04:04 PM
Should have went two years ago
18-08-2024, 04:06 PM
He’s our best player. 100% stay
kentao
18-08-2024, 04:06 PM
I'm raging at him for not picking up his weekly booking when someone runs past him.
18-08-2024, 04:07 PM
If that’s the case, maybe he should start showing it.
18-08-2024, 04:08 PM
Based on what?
18-08-2024, 04:09 PM
He wasn't our worst player today. Why the hate?
18-08-2024, 04:14 PM
He wasn't our worst player today. Why the hate?
Rule 86- If you have an ‘attack line’ on a particular player, its easy. Unless that player gets an unquestionable 7/10 or above type performance, you can resurrect a thread five minutes after fulltime, post dripping with sarcasm and you get to look clever.
18-08-2024, 04:15 PM
Should have went two years ago
Clearly not, as he's had 2 good seasons since then.
18-08-2024, 04:17 PM
No midfielder does all this :faf:
Trinity Hibee
18-08-2024, 04:17 PM
Clearly not, as he's had 2 good seasons since then.
Has he? Must have missed those
18-08-2024, 04:18 PM
Has he? Must have missed those
No no. You seen them. 2 good seasons. Excellent contribution in terms of goals and assists last year especially.
He didn’t do any of them though. What a captain
18-08-2024, 04:20 PM
He didn’t do any of them though. What a captain
Oh yeah, he's captain, that grants him super powers to dominate against much better players.
18-08-2024, 04:20 PM
Oh yeah, he's captain, that grants him super powers to dominate against much better players.
No one expects him to dominate against Celtic. Would be good if could at least be competitive against them though.
NC1875
18-08-2024, 04:22 PM
No no. You seen them. 2 good seasons. Excellent contribution in terms of goals and assists last year especially.
I could understand your defence of Newell if he’d had even a good half in one game this season.
He’s been anonymous, like he is most weeks. One good game in ten doesn’t make him a good player.
18-08-2024, 04:22 PM
No one expects him to dominate against Celtic. Would be good if could at least be competitive against them though.
Losing 3-1 at parkhead is about as competitive as we can really be with this squad. Losing goals after 5 minutes against them twice cost us.
"Let's start 1-0 down then blame Newell for it"
18-08-2024, 04:23 PM
I could understand your defence of Newell if he’d had even a good half in one game this season.
He’s been anonymous, like he is most weeks. One good game in ten doesn’t make him a good player.
Who has had a good half in any game this season?
HIBS NUTS
18-08-2024, 04:26 PM
Do people of this forum, just sit waiting for a predictable defeat, and repeat there attack on the particular hibs player they don’t like.
Newell wasent great he wasent bad, but hibs did at least show some fight.
The season starts next week against Dundee,
I would have Bowie start instead of Boyle
18-08-2024, 04:26 PM
Do people of this forum, just sit waiting for a predictable defeat, and repeat there attack on the particular hibs player they don’t like.
Yes is the answer to your first question. That’s exactly what happens.
Who has had a good half in any game this season?
So the defence of the best midfielder at the club, the captain, is that others haven’t played well? Ffs
Since he’s supposedly our best player, our best midfielder, don’t you think we should start with his performance?
Btw, young Rudi has on more than one occasion had good half’s this season, as has Bowie last week, NMW against Peterhead, there will be more. JN hasn’t.
18-08-2024, 04:28 PM
Yes is the answer to your first question. That’s exactly what happens.
I don't think there's anything wrong in folk expecting your captain and supposed best player to have a positive impact on games. Even against Celtic I think he should be offering more.
Hanlon, stevenson, Rocky, have all had it much worse on here, but the second anyone criticises Newell you get told off. Supposed to be our best player yet there’s always excuses made for him - least of our problems/not the worst/just his style/he's being victimised because he’s English/needs better players around him.
The last one cracks me up, every single player would look better with better players around them, yet only he gets it trotted out week after week
18-08-2024, 04:35 PM
So the defence of the best midfielder at the club, the captain, is that others haven’t played well? Ffs
Since he’s supposedly our best player, our best midfielder, don’t you think we should start with his performance?
Btw, young Rudi has on more than one occasion had good half’s this season, as has Bowie last week, NMW against Peterhead, there will be more. JN hasn’t.
Oh right, we're counting games part time sides. Newell had a few decent games then.
No, we shouldn't start with his performance. Why? Our entire team lost. Was anyone good today?
18-08-2024, 04:38 PM
It’s impossible to defend this line of argument, its like nailing jelly to the wall. We lost by 2 clear goals to a team streets ahead of us, due to some howlers at the back. Newell was part of a midfield that didnt break through and dominate. My complaint is the predictability of who certain folk constantly get their cheapies criticising. I also have serious doubts if any domestic midfielder will be able to ‘positively contribute’ against Celtic on current form. Kilmarnock surrendered 32 shots to them on opening day. We need an entire rebuild, no arguments there, i dont even mind if its Newell that is deemed to be exoendable by Mackay and the others that are paid to make these decisions. But is it his ‘fault’? Nah. Is he good enough for the team where it is, where we are at the moment in this ‘rebuild’? Undoubtedly yes. Unless you want to throw Amos’ dodgy knees in to the fray, or throw some youth player in instead.
18-08-2024, 04:39 PM
Great. Which Hibs captain has consistently turned up Vs Celtic btw?
Gray, our last great leader, was hooked at half time in a semi final for a dreadful performance against them.
18-08-2024, 04:40 PM
Gray, our last great leader, was hooked at half time in a semi final for a dreadful performance against them.
Ah right, so because they didn't Newell shouldn't?
Who was the last captain that was supposed to be our best player?
Oh right, we're counting games part time sides. Newell had a few decent games then.
No, we shouldn't start with his performance. Why? Our entire team lost. Was anyone good today?
Are they not competitive matches? Jeez we’re really contorting to not have to criticise him. As it happens, Newell didn’t manage any good half’s against those part time teams. His play was awful.
Why shouldn’t we start with his performance? According to you he’s the best player we have, and he’s the captain!
Miller was good today, as was myko. Can you point to anything productive or positive that Newell did today, or will you hide behind the constant ‘others were worse’ argument? This thread is about Newell, but all we hear from his defenders are pointing to other players who also didn’t play well.
18-08-2024, 04:42 PM
Are they not competitive matches? Jeez we’re really contorting to not have to criticise him. As it happens, Newell didn’t manage any good half’s against those part time teams. His play was awful.
Why shouldn’t we start with his performance? According to you he’s the best player we have, and he’s the captain!
Miller was good today, as was myko. Can you point to anything productive or positive that Newell did today, or will you hide behind the constant ‘others were worse’ argument? This thread is about Newell, but all we hear from his defenders are pointing to other players who also didn’t play well.
Certainly wasn't awful Vs queen's park. And I've never said he was the best player we have. Pointless to discuss further if you're just going to lie.
Well done, you’ve picked out one poor performance by gray, that excuses every poor performance the Joe Newell gives.
Can you find a poor performance against st mirren by gray as well, since Newell was posted missing in that match too?
18-08-2024, 04:45 PM
Apart from McGregor.
Certainly wasn't awful Vs queen's park. And I've never said he was the best player we have. Pointless to discuss further if you're just going to lie.
Pointless discussing this with you when you’re so entrenched in this, you cannot have any conversation with about him without bending over backwards to defend him at all costs.
18-08-2024, 04:47 PM
Well done, you’ve picked out one poor performance by gray, that excuses every poor performance the Joe Newell gives.
Can you find a poor performance against st mirren by gray as well, since Newell was posted missing in that match too?
I can, yes. 2-0 defeat away in the championship. Utterly skinned for both goals. Wednesday night.
18-08-2024, 04:47 PM
Quiet first half, more involved second half but some fair comments on not enough.
NMW was non existent today, a very early yellow card don't help though, still expecting a bit more.
Campbell gave his all and was an improvement on the week before.
18-08-2024, 04:48 PM
Newell was poor today, again.
He's not terrible but he's a million miles from the player some claimed he was, which leads to these kind of debates (which isn't helpful to him). People have nailed their colours to the mast and unfortunately, like a lot of threads, won't admit they got it wrong.
18-08-2024, 04:48 PM
Pointless discussing this with you when you’re so entrenched in this, you cannot have any conversation with about him without bending over backwards to defend him at all costs.
I'm not though. I'm actually quite rational about him. I admit when he is poor. Not been great in league or today . But I don't think anyone has. That's all I'm saying.
18-08-2024, 04:49 PM
Quiet first half, more involved second half but some fair comments on not enough.
NMW was non existent today, a very early yellow card don't help though, still expecting a bit more.
Campbell gave his all and was an improvement on the week before.
NMW is the player Newells haters think Newell is. Utterly hopeless.
18-08-2024, 04:50 PM
I feel like Newell is like the hibs net football equivalent of the trans debate.
It gets people very very agitated and aggressive, and i never can really see that its a particularly big or important issue in the wider scheme of things.
18-08-2024, 04:50 PM
Apparently, yeah.
18-08-2024, 04:52 PM
I feel like Newell is like the hibs net football equivalent of the trans debate.
It gets people very very agitated and aggressive, and i never can really see that its a particularly big or important issue in the wider scheme of things.
I'm not though. I'm actually quite rational about him. I admit when he is poor. Not been great in league or today . But I don't think anyone has. That's all I'm saying.
Agree with this
18-08-2024, 04:52 PM
Pretty much exactly what happens.
People seem angrier at me than Newell, though. Strange.
Groathillgrump
18-08-2024, 04:53 PM
He's all over this thread like a rash - 18 posts so far.
Obviously obsessed with Joe Newell.
Edit: 19 posts.
18-08-2024, 04:54 PM
NMW is the player Newells haters think Newell is. Utterly hopeless.
To use a response you made about Campbell, there are no Newell haters. Just those who think he should be bring more to the team, as Captain, as our best player. Or something along those lines.
18-08-2024, 04:55 PM
He's all over this thread like a rash - 18 posts so far.
Obviously obsessed with Joe Newell.
Edit: 19 posts.
I think counting other poster’s post counts puts you on fairly shaky ground to point at others for obsessiveness, but perhaps that’s just me.
LunasBoots
18-08-2024, 04:56 PM
Probably better to judge against teams more our level, Celtic have quality players who make players look bad, Newell isn't a bad player.
Pretty much exactly what happens.
People seem angrier at me than Newell, though. Strange.
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GMIOgclWEAABEG_.jpg
Should we start calling him/her Josephine?
18-08-2024, 04:57 PM
I've got a point, though. Just read the posts.
"you said he's our best player" - I didn't
"You said this about Campbell" - okay.
Usual nonsense.
Groathillgrump
18-08-2024, 05:01 PM
I think counting other poster’s post counts puts you on fairly shaky ground to point at others for obsessiveness, but perhaps that’s just me.
Who counted?
It's information that's available to anyone if you click on the number of replies to the thread on the front page. Nothing obsessive about it.
18-08-2024, 05:03 PM
Who counted?
It's information that's available to anyone if you click on the number of replies to the thread on the front page. Nothing obsessive about it.
Careful with facts now, that'll annoy some people more than they already are (if that's possible).
18-08-2024, 05:03 PM
Who counted?
20 years I’ve been on here and just realised you could do that!
Thought my number would be higher tbh, disappointing.
Groathillgrump
18-08-2024, 05:04 PM
[QUOTE=CapitalGreen;7746286]20 years I’ve been on here and just realised you could do that!]
Don't thank me. :greengrin
18-08-2024, 05:04 PM
Who counted?
:aok: Well i appreciate the tip.
Groathillgrump
18-08-2024, 05:08 PM
:aok: Well i appreciate the tip.
My pleasure. :wink:
NC1875
18-08-2024, 05:08 PM
Probably better to judge against teams more our level, Celtic have quality players who make players look bad, Newell isn't a bad player.
Like St Mirren you mean ? Oh, wait a minute…..
18-08-2024, 05:10 PM
Like St Mirren you mean ? Oh, wait a minute…..
Do people just expect us to forget the games against Aberdeen, Livi, St Johnstone and Ross County and end of last season too?
NC1875
18-08-2024, 05:12 PM
Do people just expect us to forget the games against Aberdeen, Livi, St Johnstone and Ross County and end of last season too?
He’s anonymous most weeks and he’s still got people on here defending him. It’s mental.
Must be great being Joe Newell, paid handsomely for very little.
18-08-2024, 05:14 PM
So you thought it would be a good idea to come up with this tripe?One of the worst and most embarrassing threads I've seen on here.
18-08-2024, 05:16 PM
Your relentless on Newell. I will give you that!!
Stay. 100%Tedious as **** would be a better way to describe it.
1875Sean
18-08-2024, 05:20 PM
This post is embarrassing
18-08-2024, 05:23 PM
This post is embarrassing
Thank you Sean
18-08-2024, 05:32 PM
We we start calling him/her Josephine?
…and invite JK Rowling, youre on, im all in on this.
18-08-2024, 05:46 PM
Thought he was non existent today. Midfield offered nothing going forward but no protection to the defence either.
He’s captain but spent most of the game with his head down. I’ve never been his biggest fan but I think he’s had a particularly bad start to this season.
Bronson
18-08-2024, 05:56 PM
Newell is a good player but does have a tendency to stink out the joint on occasion.
What chance has he got playing next to NMW, Campbell, Levitt etc. He's never had the luxury of good midfielders around him bar about 3 games next to JDH and magennis under jack ross.
18-08-2024, 06:12 PM
Newell is a good player but does have a tendency to stink out the joint on occasion.
What chance has he got playing next to NMW, Campbell, Levitt etc. He's never had the luxury of good midfielders around him bar about 3 games next to JDH and magennis under jack ross.
Ah yes it’s everyone else’s fault. Historically, our record is better when Joe Newell doesn’t start than when he does.
18-08-2024, 06:16 PM
What chance have the other midfielders got playing beside him?
Why is it always someone else’s fault?
Ah yes it’s everyone else’s fault. Historically, our record is better when Joe Newell doesn’t start than when he does.
For some reason JN is afforded all sorts of excuses that no other player can have, and anyone criticising him is taken to task by some posters
18-08-2024, 07:43 PM
For some reason JN is afforded all sorts of excuses that no other player can have, and anyone criticising him is taken to task by some posters
This doesn't happen. Utter nonsense.
Really? Ok, how many other players are consistently given the excuse of ‘he’ll be better with better players’, ‘or what chance has he got with these poor teammates’?
It’s true of every single player at the club, yet it’s said about Newell almost on a weekly basis. It’s happened twice in the last half hour on this very thread. So why doesn’t Campbell get the same treatment? Or ekpetita?
It’s interesting that once again you’re straight in to defend him, at every turn there you are. Do you give all the other players the same leeway?
18-08-2024, 08:00 PM
Really? Ok, how many other players are consistently given the excuse of ‘he’ll be better with better players’, ‘or what chance has he got with these poor teammates’?
It’s true of every single player at the club, yet it’s said about Newell almost on a weekly basis. It’s happened twice in the last half hour on this very thread. So why doesn’t Campbell get the same treatment? Or ekpetita?
It’s interesting that once again you’re straight in to defend him, at every turn there you are. Do you give all the other players the same leeway?
I give my honest opinion on all players. That's it.
Newell gets very little leeway. Folk expect prime Patrick Vieira. He's a decent player. Much better than Campbell and NMW. That's just how it is. I'm all for replacing him if we get better. But I'd get rid of every other midfielder before him.
As do I mate. We can agree that we see him differently, and that’s ok.
Fwiw, I agree he is a decent player, and is the better of those three, I think he can give so much more imo, which is probably why he’s so polarising amongst the support.
Either way, we’re both (and everyone else) wanting the best and hoping for a positive result next weekend, whoever is playing :greengrin
18-08-2024, 08:08 PM
Folk expect prime Patrick Vieira.
Donegal Hibby
18-08-2024, 08:12 PM
Not today .
18-08-2024, 08:17 PM
Really? So you don't regularly see posts asking why he doesn't score more, tackle more, drive forward more, protect the defense, lead the team, inspire others etc. I've seen about 10 players ever do all that. Vieira and Michael Essien the only two of them to play at Easter Road.
18-08-2024, 08:17 PM
Absolutely no one expects that. They just want him to be more consistent when it comes to the good performances he's clearly shown he's capable of.
Everyone who's criticising him on this thread hope he has a stormer against Dundee next week.
18-08-2024, 08:18 PM
Not today .
Campbell and NMW offer nothing. NNW gets booked early on which constraints his all action style. Neither can pass. I would play Levit with JN, they are both footballers and bring in new guy on loan from Celtic as the defensive mid.
supermcginn
18-08-2024, 08:42 PM
Campbell and NMW offer nothing. NNW gets booked early on which constraints his all action style. Neither can pass. I would play Levit with JN, they are both footballers and bring in new guy on loan from Celtic as the defensive mid.
Correct, those two are headless chickens and extremely limited footballers. Levitt and Newell are far superior ability wise.
Bronson
18-08-2024, 08:44 PM
Listen folks you're entitled to your opinion but if you look at a midfield of NMW, Campbell and newell and think newell is the weak link I think you need your head checked. I'll guarantee the others get emptied long before newell.
18-08-2024, 08:49 PM
Listen folks you're entitled to your opinion but if you look at a midfield of NMW, Campbell and newell and think newell is the weak link I think you need your head checked. I'll guarantee the others get emptied long before newell.
Given he’s just been given a new deal and been appointed club captain there’s a fair chance you’ll be right on the final point.
If two thirds of our midfield continues to be Newell and Campbell, the manager will be emptied long before them all though. I’d like to think it won’t be, but I wouldn’t be overly surprised either.
18-08-2024, 09:04 PM
What is it that Newell is actually good at? We know Campbell can run around and score the odd goal, Levitt can stand in one place for minutes on end, and NMW chase shadows, and can get booked just for farting, but what does Newell do thats so much better than the other lot of crap?
18-08-2024, 09:05 PM
Newell’s our best midfielder player. That doesn’t make him a good player, it just makes him our best midfielder player.
GGTTH.
18-08-2024, 09:06 PM
None of them are good enough. Campbell was the worst of the 3 last week and the best of the 3 today. None of them are putting in decent performances, none of them are consistent and none of them would a huge miss if they were excluded from the starting XI.
18-08-2024, 09:22 PM
none of them would a huge miss if they were excluded from the starting XI.
Unfortunately, that's how I see it too.