View Full Version : Beer in the concourse
Stairway 2 7
07-03-2024, 07:35 PM
Pretty boy made a good point in the PM forum about the absurdity of it being criminal for you to buy a pint at a cat b Hibs v Ross County. I'd heard Hibs were trying to push against the rule but haven't heard any more?
I read Zwolle with an average attendance of 2k less than us made €6 million from food and drink last year and most of that from beer. Their football culture is probably wilder than ours with plenty of what we would call cat A games. It's ridiculous that the gov think we can't handle beer in the stadium whilst Millwall v Leeds, Cardiff v Swansea or Chelsea v West Ham manage. If nothing else its giving our teams a huge financial disadvantage in Europe
https://twitter.com/ZachLowy/status/1730047063948136850
@ZachLowy
FC Twente made more money from selling beer than from selling players over the past year.
According to their 2022/23 financial report, their food and drink industry made a profit of €6m — the majority of which was from beer — whilst they made just €3.75m from player sales
Hibs4185
07-03-2024, 07:43 PM
I think allowing beer might actually reduce the number of incidents.
A lot of people including myself drink heavily before the game as there is no booze until after the game.
If you can get a beer at the game then I’d enjoy a few before the game, a couple during the game and a few after.
07-03-2024, 07:43 PM
Yup. Surely it’s one thing all 40 teams in the top four Scottish leagues can come together to lobby on. Embarrassing in the 21st century.
07-03-2024, 07:47 PM
Never going to happen whilst we've idiots who throw missiles on the pitch.
07-03-2024, 07:52 PM
Cause selling beer at category B games will cause a riot.
07-03-2024, 07:52 PM
They are more likely to be coked up than pissed up.
People who want to drink pre match are going to whether they buy it in the pub, off license, super market or at the ground.
07-03-2024, 08:02 PM
Cause selling beer at category B games will cause a riot.
Who said anything about a riot?
I just said throwing things!
Don't get me wrong, I've been a games when I've had a beer on the concourse! But these games have never had the aggressive behaviours we've seen in Scotland IMO.
07-03-2024, 08:11 PM
Was in Belgium in September watched Clubbe Bruges vs Ghenk.
Took my cup of Jupiler to my seat with me and drank throughout the game. No bother.
Took two minutes to pop down to the concourse and get a couple of refills. Very pleasant.
07-03-2024, 08:14 PM
Don’t really fancy a cold pint of piss water during the game , also no danger the authorities are going to allow it with all the bother that goes on at the moment.
Don't get me wrong, I've been a games when I've had a beer on the concourse! But these games have never had the aggressive behaviours we've seen in Scotland IMO.
Has there been aggressive behaviour at Category B games though?
Hibs4185
07-03-2024, 08:19 PM
Has there been aggressive behaviour at Category B games though?
To be fair, after the Foley millions, the yams will soon be a category B game
07-03-2024, 08:23 PM
Don't want to get covered in beer when a goal is scored.
Stairway 2 7
07-03-2024, 08:25 PM
You can't know much about Dutch football if you think Scotland has had more aggressive behaviours. Even this season Ajax had a riot
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/gallery/ajax-feyenoord-riots-police-eredivisie-31017200.amp
A number of games tastier down south than any hibs old firm games for example. Serie A games are much wilder in Scotland and they get beer no problem. I wasn't even born when the old firm riot happened it's bizarre it still gets talked about in reference to now
Stairway 2 7
07-03-2024, 08:27 PM
Don’t really fancy a cold pint of piss water during the game , also no danger the authorities are going to allow it with all the bother that goes on at the moment.
I don't think I've ever seen bother at a cat B game in my life, can't think of any
07-03-2024, 08:35 PM
Don't want to get covered in beer when a goal is scored. I've avoided the Prawn Sandwiches in teh West but that would be my fear. I doubt it would be much of an issue at Cat B games but at Cat A games it would just encourage the already poor behavior from fans particularly away fans.
The dalmeny
07-03-2024, 08:37 PM
Was in Belgium in September watched Clubbe Bruges vs Ghenk.
Took my cup of Jupiler to my seat with me and drank throughout the game. No bother.
Took two minutes to pop down to the concourse and get a couple of refills. Very pleasant.
Jupiler, nectar of the gods
davhibby
07-03-2024, 08:40 PM
I've avoided the Prawn Sandwiches in teh West but that would be my fear. I doubt it would be much of an issue at Cat B games but at Cat A games it would just encourage the already poor behavior from fans particularly away fans.
I wouldn’t be worrying about that as we have absolutely no chance of beer ever being allowed in the stands - would be concourse only if it ever happens.
Cat Stanton
07-03-2024, 08:43 PM
A lot of people including myself drink heavily before the game as there is no booze until after the game.
If you can get a beer at the game then I’d enjoy a few before the game, a couple during the game and a few after.
People will still drink heavily before a game. Away fans of all clubs do. Giving them yet more drink during the game won't help matters.
07-03-2024, 08:44 PM
It's one of those subjects it seems almost impossible to have a sensible discussion about.
As said above the reference point always seems to be a game that took place not a kick in the erse of 50 years ago. It was briefly discussed on Sportsound a few years back and Richard Gordon was droning on about a sea of bottles flying over his head at Pittodrie when Aberdeen played Celtic in nineteen oatcake as though that was in any way relevant. No one is suggesting a return to the days of guys lugging a slab of lager into the terraces and having a pee in the pocket of the guy in front. The suggestion is a couple of beers in an environment infinitely more controlled than 6 decades ago.
You can go to the rugby, horse racing, cinema, theatre, a gig and a multitude of other events in Scotland and have a beer but not at Hibs v St Johnstone on a Saturday afternoon. The societal problems with alcohol don't start at the door of a football stadium and they don't end when you cross the border with England but we are judged to different standards because we happe to be football fans from Scotland.
I understand people might say they don't want a beer at the game which is fine, it wouldn't be mandatory. However plenty people would and it's a potential money spinner for the clubs. Equally anti social behaviour around alcohol isn't prevented by banning drink at the stadium, I'd almost argue it is worsened as people often cram in too much pre game as compensation. It's the same as blaming the sale of a couple of 330ml cans on a plane for air rage incidents rather than the hours in the airport bar beforehand.
It's workable if there was a will to do it. You could have a trial at a few low key games to see how it went. You could have a list of fixture exemptions whereby a ban remained in place for games such as the derby. You could have a limit on now much each person could purchase. You could limit the sale of alcohol only to those also purchasing food. A suggestion of a return to 12 cans and a half bottle of whisky would be madness; allowing each paying punters the choice of a couple of beers not so much imo.
07-03-2024, 08:45 PM
I wouldn’t be worrying about that as we have absolutely no chance of beer ever being allowed in the stands - would be concourse only if it ever happens. The stewards stand and watch 10s of items flying on the pitch, half bottles getting drunk etc. Do you think they would stop drinking in the stand. It won't happen anyways as the behavior of fans is teh worst it has been in years
07-03-2024, 08:46 PM
I don't think I've ever seen bother at a cat B game in my life, can't think of any
It's probably rare but for example there were Dundee United fans throwing things from the away end at the Hibs Kids in the South last season. St Johnstone fans(s) in hospitality last year asking everyone around him for a square go. There was trouble at Raith Rovers Arbroath at the weekend - guy ended up with a fractured skull following scrapping after the game - yes it was after the game but still.
How would legislators possibly decide which games were ok for drink being allowed? That would be the issue. Far too complicated and would never happen, as much as we all want it to unfortunately.
Stairway 2 7
07-03-2024, 08:55 PM
It's probably rare but for example there were Dundee United fans throwing things from the away end at the Hibs Kids in the South last season. St Johnstone fans(s) in hospitality last year asking everyone around him for a square go. There was trouble at Raith Rovers Arbroath at the weekend - guy ended up with a fractured skull following scrapping after the game - yes it was after the game but still.
How would legislators possibly decide which games were ok for drink being allowed? That would be the issue. Far too complicated and would never happen, as much as we all want it to unfortunately.
The fact that you've used a random guy shouting for a fight and an incident hours after a game as your examples probably shows my point. I think it would take about 30 minutes per club to decide what was cat A or B. In saying that the games I mentioned before like Cardiff Swansea, Chelsea West Ham manage to serve drink, were not dafter than England I think we could manage it
It's not a small issue it's worth millions to each team. Think what the thousands per year could do for Edinburgh City or Leith Athletic.
07-03-2024, 09:10 PM
The fact that you've used a random guy shouting for a fight and an incident hours after a game as your examples probably shows my point. I think it would take about 30 minutes per club to decide what was cat A or B. In saying that the games I mentioned before like Cardiff Swansea, Chelsea West Ham manage to serve drink, were not dafter than England I think we could manage it
It's not a small issue it's worth millions to each team. Think what the thousands per year could do for Edinburgh City or Leith Athletic.
They were incidents off the top of my head, I'm sure there are plenty more. I don't think the Arbroath incident was hours after the game either.
But regardless of that, there is no way clubs would be allowed to decide what category a game is . It would have to be Government that makes final decisions on that - and there is no sensible way to do that without upsetting various clubs and supporters. For example every Hibs, Aberdeen, Hearts away day has a fairly substantial number of followers on the drink - so would every away game v ruled out for HIbs? And every away game for Rangers and Celtic?? Which home games would Rangers and Celtic be allowed drink at? Its an absolute minefield that would be almost impossible to sort out.
I agree that it should be allowed for all games and think it would be the only way it could realistically work . I would love that and don't think it would make things any worse - pints in plastic glasses would be relatively straightforward.
07-03-2024, 09:14 PM
You drink heavily before the game because you can’t have a drink for two hours during the game?
Stairway 2 7
07-03-2024, 09:20 PM
They were incidents off the top of my head, I'm sure there are plenty more. I don't think the Arbroath incident was hours after the game either.
But regardless of that, there is no way clubs would be allowed to decide what category a game is . It would have to be Government that makes final decisions on that - and there is no sensible way to do that without upsetting various clubs and supporters. For example every Hibs, Aberdeen, Hearts away day has a fairly substantial number of followers on the drink - so would every away game v ruled out for HIbs? And every away game for Rangers and Celtic?? Which home games would Rangers and Celtic be allowed drink at? Its an absolute minefield that would be almost impossible to sort out.
I agree that it should be allowed for all games and think it would be the only way it could realistically work . I would love that and don't think it would make things any worse - pints in plastic glasses would be relatively straightforward.
A number of leagues allow only home fans to drink which is sensible. Celtic and rangers would be fine with that as its only the profits from there home games that they would be interested in. Most games in Glasgow are mild bar the old firm. The police already categorise games I think they would lead it and it could be adapted.
I agree Scot gov would push against totally but clubs should be voicing opposition regularly. I really don't think the English, Irish and Welsh are more sensible than us. I suppose in Scotland if you can afford it you can have a pint in corporate before the game no bother, as is always the way with these things
07-03-2024, 09:32 PM
Odd that it is seen as normal at rugby games. 🤷🏻*♂️
07-03-2024, 09:43 PM
Odd that it is seen as normal at rugby games. 🤷🏻*♂️
That's because they generally behave in the stadium. It's only up town afterwards where they start groping women and stick their tadgers in their mates beers.
07-03-2024, 09:45 PM
Normal at fitba in Oz…in fact if beer wasn’t on sale there would be more chance of civil disorder.
Guess the prices charged would give our supporters something else to complain about though😂
07-03-2024, 09:48 PM
That's because they generally behave in the stadium. It's only up town afterwards where they start groping women and stick their tadgers in their mates beers.
Patter
Helensburghhibs
07-03-2024, 10:03 PM
Oh the banter.
They are allowed to drink because it's rooted as a toffs sport played by private school boys and watched by the self appointed elite.
07-03-2024, 10:08 PM
Pretty boy made a good point in the PM forum about the absurdity of it being criminal for you to buy a pint at a cat b Hibs v Ross County. I'd heard Hibs were trying to push against the rule but haven't heard any more?
I read Zwolle with an average attendance of 2k less than us made €6 million from food and drink last year and most of that from beer. Their football culture is probably wilder than ours with plenty of what we would call cat A games. It's ridiculous that the gov think we can't handle beer in the stadium whilst Millwall v Leeds, Cardiff v Swansea or Chelsea v West Ham manage. If nothing else its giving our teams a huge financial disadvantage in Europe
https://twitter.com/ZachLowy/status/1730047063948136850
@ZachLowy
FC Twente made more money from selling beer than from selling players over the past year.
According to their 2022/23 financial report, their food and drink industry made a profit of €6m — the majority of which was from beer — whilst they made just €3.75m from player salesSo Zwolle made more than 3 million euros from drink sales in one season ? Let`s say 20 matches with average crowd of 10 000 ( is our average about 12 000 ? ) . So club is making more than 15 euros profit per supporter per match even if there are a significant number who are kids , teetotal , driving etc etc . If statistics are accurate they clearly inlude sales on non match days , outside ground on match days , etc . Also " beer " probably includes 0% or almost 0% beer . Hibs are already making a lot of money from hospitality and unless I`m misinterpreting season ticket info , fans who don`t want to pay extra ( a lot of extra ! )i some parts of ER for access to a bar risk losing their place .
07-03-2024, 10:12 PM
It might help encourage people to the ground earlier too, if they could have a quick pint before kick off at the ground rather than stay in the pub as late as possible.
I’d be all for it. If I was going to a game I’d far rather spend my beer money at ER than anywhere else. At least it’s going to a good cause.
07-03-2024, 10:20 PM
There's no issues in England with a drink in the concourse. We could absolutely introduce it for cat B games at least.
wearehibernian
08-03-2024, 12:21 AM
Bottom up approach? Start in lower leagues first giving these clubs a chance to bring in some extra cash. Don't see why folk can't enjoy a beer at the game and f you treat people with mistrust then what do you expect in return?
King Cosell
08-03-2024, 12:42 AM
I'm dead against it. I could understand Kilmarnock or St Mirren wanting to sell beer, there's no pubs near their grounds, but we've got loads, and it wouldn't be much of a money-spinner. You're in the ground for 2 hours, you can have a drink before and after.
08-03-2024, 05:23 AM
Rugby fans are allowed to drink because they generally don’t have groups of bams wearing balaclavas in their support who are out for a fight.
It would be great if we could all have a beer at the football and I agree that not being allowed to drink means folk get tanked up on alcohol and ching pre-match.
But there is absolutely no point in comparing football fans and rugby fans. They are different and that’s just a fact.
Stairway 2 7
08-03-2024, 05:47 AM
So Zwolle made more than 3 million euros from drink sales in one season ? Let`s say 20 matches with average crowd of 10 000 ( is our average about 12 000 ? ) . So club is making more than 15 euros profit per supporter per match even if there are a significant number who are kids , teetotal , driving etc etc . If statistics are accurate they clearly inlude sales on non match days , outside ground on match days , etc . Also " beer " probably includes 0% or almost 0% beer . Hibs are already making a lot of money from hospitality and unless I`m misinterpreting season ticket info , fans who don`t want to pay extra ( a lot of extra ! )i some parts of ER for access to a bar risk losing their place .
Its 14k their average attendance co closer to €10. In Groningen the young team still drink in the pubs as pints 50% cheaper but the stadium concourse packed with families and dads having a beer and kids food, they have the games on screens and it's a nice but quiet atmosphere. The local boozers are still packed and radge, it makes it more of a full day for football fans. They of course all drink during the game
Trying to find other examples but obviously hard to compare. One is in American Tennessee American football they sold 278,000 beers in a season which generated them $3.3 million dollars. Obviously beer is about double the price their and we would have to sell 13k per game to match they sales
https://eu.knoxnews.com/story/sports/college/university-of-tennessee/football/2023/02/20/neyland-stadium-beer-sales-tennessee-football-games-2022/69915644007/
08-03-2024, 05:55 AM
Beer consumed at a football match has never been the main reason for football violence but it got scapegoated after the Rangers Celtic on field violence all those years ago
ruthven_raiders
08-03-2024, 06:39 AM
Get having a drink before game and after but during, so people will be up and downstairs getting beers and going to the toilet, so instead of spilling coffee etc they will be spilling beer over people 🤣🤣 not for me.....
08-03-2024, 06:46 AM
The stewards stand and watch 10s of items flying on the pitch, half bottles getting drunk etc. Do you think they would stop drinking in the stand. It won't happen anyways as the behavior of fans is teh worst it has been in years
I'd be interested to know how drinking is policed down south to prevent it being brought from the concourse into the stand. Other than direct people to their seats our stewards are totally ineffective when it comes to policing anything and given their minimum wage and minimum training that's not a criticism just a fact of life. In my experience, their idea of frisking someone approaching the East is a sympathetic tap on the shoulder and an apologetic "enjoy the game", so cant imagine them looking too closely at punters returning to their seats after halftime to check if they've stuck a pint under their jacket.
If that could be effectively monitored it wouldn't bother me apart from a potential steep rise in punters going back and forth to the toilets, which as a man of a certain age would undoubtedly include me :greengrin
08-03-2024, 06:47 AM
[QUOTE=Bristolhibby;7606331]Was in Belgium in September watched Clubbe Bruges vs Ghenk.
J[/QUOTE
Get having a drink before game and after but during, so people will be up and downstairs getting beers and going to the toilet, so instead of spilling coffee etc they will be spilling beer over people 🤣🤣 not for me.....
Got to agree, bladder control is bad enough as it is, with the constant comings and goings to the bogs at big matches :agree:
Whilst I like a drink, I’m not really that bothered about bevvying at a match. Given the ongoing issues with disorder in stadiums in Scotland, we’re hardly making a strong case for persuading the authorities that adding alcohol in the ground during the match is a wise idea.
Shame that there’s not parity between sports etc, missed revenue raising opportunities etc, but tough titty really.
08-03-2024, 06:52 AM
It’s amazing how all the people in hospitality aren’t fighting on the pitches every week. 🤷🏻*♂️. By this time next year there will be about 800+ people all consuming alcohol in the ground. 3hrs pre, half time, and generally 2 hrs post.
I’m not sure how having it available in the concourse is in anyway different. Make it 25+ if they don’t trust the young crew.
08-03-2024, 07:17 AM
Culturally in Scotland, there is still a Calvinist streak that runs through how the political class view and deal with drink. If anyone thinks that having a pint at half time will make someone throw a lighter on the pitch at Hibs v Ross County they are living in cloud cuckoo land.
08-03-2024, 07:26 AM
Beer consumed at a football match has never been the main reason for football violence but it got scapegoated after the Rangers Celtic on field violence all those years ago
Yepp.
You could argue that some of the worst football violence took place after the alcohol ban came in to force in the 80's and 90's with the casual movement.
08-03-2024, 07:29 AM
For anyone that attends games regularly in England and Scotland, is cocaine use as obvious in English grounds as it is up here?
I wonder if the chance to buy a few pints at grounds would have lessened the amount of drugs sloshing around at games.
08-03-2024, 07:51 AM
If you must by all means queue up for an overpriced lager in a plastic container. Mugs!
08-03-2024, 07:51 AM
I'd be interested to know how drinking is policed down south to prevent it being brought from the concourse into the stand. Other than direct people to their seats our stewards are totally ineffective when it comes to policing anything and given their minimum wage and minimum training that's not a criticism just a fact of life. In my experience, their idea of frisking someone approaching the East is a sympathetic tap on the shoulder and an apologetic "enjoy the game", so cant imagine them looking too closely at punters returning to their seats after halftime to check if they've stuck a pint under their jacket.
If that could be effectively monitored it wouldn't bother me apart from a potential steep rise in punters going back and forth to the toilets, which as a man of a certain age would undoubtedly include me :greengrin
I’ve been to a few games down south and they just have a steward standing at every entrance/exit to the seats telling folk that they need to stay in the concourse with alcohol
Paulie Walnuts
08-03-2024, 07:57 AM
How do we reckon it would be policed in terms of ID?
Without sounding really rude, I’m not sure I’d fancy the current kiosk staff to handle ID duties.
08-03-2024, 08:14 AM
I'm dead against it. I could understand Kilmarnock or St Mirren wanting to sell beer, there's no pubs near their grounds, but we've got loads, and it wouldn't be much of a money-spinner. You're in the ground for 2 hours, you can have a drink before and after.
Pubs around Easter road that appreciative of the revenue that football brings are getting fewer and fewer, and that is only going one way.
Why should Hibs not be allowed to take advantage of that? The pubs will still have their regular matchday customers but for the pubs that actively discourage football fans and clearly want nothing to do with it, I say **** 'em, get the customers to ER instead.
08-03-2024, 08:15 AM
If you must by all means queue up for an overpriced lager in a plastic container. Mugs!
They're not mugs, they're pint cups.
08-03-2024, 08:26 AM
I think it would be a huge money spinner. It was something Ron Gordon mentioned a few times; RG seemed like a very nice man but I'm not convinced he wanted the introduction of pints in the concourse just because he wanted the fans to have a jolly nice day. He wanted it because it would make money and would give us an income stream currently denied to us that clubs in the lower reaches of the English Championship, League One and League Two have; the very clubs we are operating in the same market as when it comes to player recruitment.
Hibs are turning huge swathes of the ground over to hospitality areas because it makes money. The club didn't spend millions refurbishing hospitality and decanting office space over to the south stand to create more hospitality space if they weren't convinced it was a money spinner. Likewise RG wouldn't have stated his frustration about not being able to make a simpler offering to the regular fan if he didn't believe that would have made money.
More generally as Brightside said above we currently have hundreds of people drinking in the ground pre match, at HT and post match anyway. Add to that we have hundreds, if not thousands, more drinking in pubs within spitting distance of the stadium and most matches pass without a single incident of note. I'm not buying the idea that a couple of beers on the concourse would suddenly see raging battles and all kinds of other anti social behaviour spring up. The extremes on either side wouldn't accept it but in reality the average football and rugby fan isn't all that different; both fanbases are predominantly made up of ordinary people who can have a drink or 3 in peace and bother nobody whilst doing so.
Yorkshire HFC
08-03-2024, 08:43 AM
I thought that society was turning away from alcohol - I have been reading for years about the number of pubs closing down, and this thread references many pubs that have closed near the ground. The number of young people who don't drink is steadily increasing.
I know that Hibs have always tried to promote alcohol (just look at the current shirt sponsor) and that they will push for it if they can make more money from selling it, but I don't see any other advantages to it being available.
What's the upside - a small number of people can get a few more drinks?
I'm quite happy with the ban - I've had several days at the cricket affected by drunks.
08-03-2024, 09:05 AM
It’s one of those for me where I’ve enjoyed taking advantage of the alcohol on sale in grounds over in Germany, but have never had much of a sense that I’m missing out that much with not having the option to do so at home.
A pint in a plastic tumbler in a dusty, cold concourse holds little appeal for me. But that said, if it attracted fans to get to Easter Road a lot earlier than they do at present then it’s got to be something to be considered.
Whether the demand for such is there or not I have doubts, but I also thought the Albion would be a hard sell when it was revealed that fans would have to pay a couple of hundred quid for a bar facility which proved to be wrong!
Mcbizz1998
08-03-2024, 09:28 AM
It’s a pint of lager, not a glass of 2011 Chateau Latour Pauillac. And overpriced, by how much? A quid or so? 😂
Mcbizz1998
08-03-2024, 09:32 AM
I thought that society was turning away from alcohol - I have been reading for years about the number of pubs closing down, and this thread references many pubs that have closed near the ground. The number of young people who don't drink is steadily increasing.
I know that Hibs have always tried to promote alcohol (just look at the current shirt sponsor) and that they will push for it if they can make more money from selling it, but I don't see any other advantages to it being available.
I'm quite happy with the ban - I've had several days at the cricket affected by drunks.
I go to rugby and football frequently. I always drink less before the rugby because I know I can get a pint in the ground if I want one. At the football, we squeeze in as many pints as we can before the game as we know we can’t get any at the game.
That’s definitely the case for a lot of fans. And when you get to the young team, they will drink a lot more before than I do plus smuggle bottles into the ground - which end up getting launched on the pitch.
Letting people buy a couple of beers would reduce drunkenness for a lot of people.
08-03-2024, 10:43 AM
Thats a really interesting perspective, as I wouldn't normally associate cricket with loutish behaviour.
It maybe has something to do with the long days at a cricket game though?
08-03-2024, 10:50 AM
Thats a really interesting perspective, as I wouldn't normally associate cricket with loutish behaviour.
Yeah, in the same way that a boring 9-5 job can drive you to drink, you'd have to imagine the same would apply to cricket!
08-03-2024, 11:25 AM
Maybe the queues for the toilet cubicles wouldn't be as bad if there were more folk queuing for beer :greengrin
I am not sure I see the need for this. If I want a pint before the game I have options. Plenty of them.
I’ve been in English grounds and seen drinking but outside in the cold holds little appeal. Millwall was an eye opener where you could take carry outs in and there was a marquee with madness/specials type tunes blasting out. I did go to a game in Spain on a lovely warm evening. Fancied a beer, but they only sold alcohol free. I have also been at cricket where you can drink and on a lovely day, that was good, but some people went over the top
Hillsidehibby
08-03-2024, 12:01 PM
You've clearly never been to the Sydney Cricket Ground :greengrin
08-03-2024, 12:15 PM
Yeah, in the same way that a boring 9-5 job can drive you to drink, you'd have to imagine the same would apply to cricket!
A day at the cricket is one of the best sporting days out you can get. You should try it. :greengrin
08-03-2024, 12:25 PM
Sadly the idiots who can't behave when drinking will spoil it for the majority of those who drink.
08-03-2024, 12:33 PM
Sadly the idiots who can't behave when drinking will spoil it for the majority of those who drink.
Seems to work fine in England, and they have loads of supports who are more likely to cause trouble than anyone up here bar the Sevconians.
TrinityHFC
08-03-2024, 12:40 PM
I am not sure I see the need for this. If I want a pint before the game I have options. Plenty of them.
I’ve been in English grounds and seen drinking but outside in the cold holds little appeal. Millwall was an eye opener where you could take carry outs in and there was a marquee with madness/specials type tunes blasting out. I did go to a game in Spain on a lovely warm evening. Fancied a beer, but they only sold alcohol free. I have also been at cricket where you can drink and on a lovely day, that was good, but some people went over the top
The need is for Hibs to become one of those options so they can make an extra bit of cash. Seems sensible to me. Anyone who is going to be an idiot will be an idiot regardless.
08-03-2024, 12:43 PM
Done a bit of digging on this issue with someone I know who knows someone who knows someone who knows someone who knows a bit about the recent history of the situation. Some stuff I wasn't aware of.
Alcohol wasn't allowed in Rugby stadiums until 2007 when Scottish Government changed legislation for Rugby only. The SFA and SPFL then pushed for a lifting of the ban in football stadia in 2015. SFA did some market research at the time and results didn't help their cause with mixed views from respondents - surprisingly (to me) not an overwhelming public majority support for its introduction.
There were then further discussions between SFA and authorities in the run up to the Euros with the idea of using matches at Hampden as a trial for alcohol being brought back into football stadia. It was under serious consideration but ultimately Scottish Government ministers ruled it out at the time though.
Since Ron Gordon arrived, Hibs have been very active (the most active club) in pushing for Alcohol sales to be allowed (suggesting a pilot trial period to monitor things) with Government and have had meetings on the matter with Government.
Most of the opposition to Alcohol being brought back is not actually about fan misbehaviour - it's about public health issues related to Alcohol and the large number of people that attend football matches having access to more alcohol. I'm led to believe that bringing alcohol back hasn't been fully ruled out by Government which is good news - however what they do require is extremely firm evidence to prove that allowing it to be sold in stadia would reduce pre match binge drinking by fans. This appears to be the way to make a case for change. There is also a recognition from authorities about the perceived unfairness of Alcohol being sold at Rugby. Ultimately its up to the football clubs/SFA/SPFL to come up with firm evidence that will help them make a robust argument that would allow Government to overturn the ban. Might take a while but wouldn't be surprised to see things change at some point in the next few years. It will all be very dependent on who is in the top Government Cabinet jobs at any given time too. Although having a First Minister who does not drink is unlikely to be of help.......
08-03-2024, 12:44 PM
I go to rugby and football frequently. I always drink less before the rugby because I know I can get a pint in the ground if I want one. At the football, we squeeze in as many pints as we can before the game as we know we can’t get any at the game.
That’s definitely the case for a lot of fans. And when you get to the young team, they will drink a lot more before than I do plus smuggle bottles into the ground - which end up getting launched on the pitch.
Letting people buy a couple of beers would reduce drunkenness for a lot of people.
Not sure I buy this. Getting drunk is a choice. You aren't drunk before games because Hibs don't serve bevvy. You are drunk because you've chosen to be drunk.
Don't really have a horse in this race because im not a big drinker but the idea it would reduce drunkenness is not true imo.
08-03-2024, 12:51 PM
Done a bit of digging on this issue with someone I know who knows someone who knows someone who knows someone who knows a bit about the recent history of the situation. Some stuff I wasn't aware of.
Alcohol wasn't allowed in Rugby stadiums until 2007 when Scottish Government changed legislation for Rugby only. The SFA and SPFL then pushed for a lifting of the ban in football stadia in 2015. SFA did some market research at the time and results didn't help their cause with mixed views from respondents - surprisingly (to me) not an overwhelming public majority support for its introduction.
There were then further discussions between SFA and authorities in the run up to the Euros with the idea of using matches at Hampden as a trial for alcohol being brought back into football stadia. It was under serious consideration but ultimately Scottish Government ministers ruled it out at the time though.
Since Ron Gordon arrived, Hibs have been very active (the most active club) in pushing for Alcohol sales to be allowed (suggesting a pilot trial period to monitor things) with Government and have had meetings on the matter with Government.
Most of the opposition to Alcohol being brought back is not actually about fan misbehaviour - it's about public health issues related to Alcohol and the large number of people that attend football matches having access to more alcohol. I'm led to believe that bringing alcohol back hasn't been fully ruled out by Government which is good news - however what they do require is extremely firm evidence to prove that allowing it to be sold in stadia would reduce pre match binge drinking by fans. This appears to be the way to make a case for change. There is also a recognition from authorities about the perceived unfairness of Alcohol being sold at Rugby. Ultimately its up to the football clubs/SFA/SPFL to come up with firm evidence that will help them make a robust argument that would allow Government to overturn the ban. Might take a while but wouldn't be surprised to see things change at some point in the next few years. It will all be very dependent on who is in the top Government Cabinet jobs at any given time too. Although having a First Minister who does not drink is unlikely to be of help.......
Thats really interesting, thanks for sharing.
With the governments anti-alcohol agenda though it would be a big surprise to me if we see it in the near future.
08-03-2024, 12:55 PM
Thats really interesting, thanks for sharing.
With the governments anti-alcohol agenda though it would be a big surprise to me if we see it in the near future.
Also interesting that Police Scotland are publicly neutral on the matter, saying it is for Government to decide. The issue are the public health stakeholder groups who are lobbying hard to reduce alcohol consumption across the board.
08-03-2024, 01:13 PM
Also interesting that Police Scotland are publicly neutral on the matter, saying it is for Government to decide. The issue are the public health stakeholder groups who are lobbying hard to reduce alcohol consumption across the board.
Wow I did not expect that.
Mcbizz1998
08-03-2024, 02:15 PM
Not sure I buy this. Getting drunk is a choice. You aren't drunk before games because Hibs don't serve bevvy. You are drunk because you've chosen to be drunk.
Don't really have a horse in this race because im not a big drinker but the idea it would reduce drunkenness is not true imo.
It’s true for me and the people I go to sport with. The point I’m making is banning drink in the ground does nothing to stop people being drunk. They just drink more before the game and also take alcohol in with them - because as you say, they want to get drunk.
If drink was available in the ground then some people (not all) would drink less before and wouldn’t see the need to bring drink to the game with them. That may result in less alcohol overall being consumed, or at least over a longer period of time. I think that’s a fairly plausible hypothesis - whether you, someone who doesn’t really drink, buys it or not.
08-03-2024, 02:25 PM
It’s true for me and the people I go to sport with. The point I’m making is banning drink in the ground does nothing to stop people being drunk. They just drink more before the game and also take alcohol in with them - because as you say, they want to get drunk.
If drink was available in the ground then some people (not all) would drink less before and wouldn’t see the need to bring drink to the game with them. That may result in less alcohol overall being consumed, or at least over a longer period of time. I think that’s a fairly plausible hypothesis - whether you, someone who doesn’t really drink, buys it or not.
08-03-2024, 02:54 PM
Look at the difference in pricing between here and down South (which is apparently due to increase even more). No chance the Scottish government are gonna allow it.
TrinityHFC
08-03-2024, 03:11 PM
Public health? Always seems to be football that has to do something for society. Having a couple of pints at most in a football ground once in a while which in reality would just be a change of venue for the practice is hardly where anyone needs to start on public health grounds.
08-03-2024, 03:28 PM
The one and only time I witnessed violence right next to me at the football was when I was in hospitality and the people next to me had been drinking.
Not for me thanks.
08-03-2024, 03:32 PM
Look at the difference in pricing between here and down South (which is apparently due to increase even more). No chance the Scottish government are gonna allow it.
MUP doesnt affect the price of a pint of lager or beer so not sure thats really too concerning. I think from what I've heard there is a chance of it happening - but it will need significant organisation and lobbying from Football.
Public health? Always seems to be football that has to do something for society. Having a couple of pints at most in a football ground once in a while which in reality would just be a change of venue for the practice is hardly where anyone needs to start on public health grounds.
Agreed. It's being punished for being too popular. Health campaigners are usually doing things for the right reasons but in my experience can often be way over zeaous and totally illogical with some of their arguments. As Covid proved though, health trumps most things in terms of policy priority for Governments.
Renfrew_Hibby
08-03-2024, 03:52 PM
Must seem bizarre to the likes of Kensell that alcohol sales are not permitted up here.
Stairway 2 7
08-03-2024, 04:25 PM
Must seem bizarre to the likes of Kensell that alcohol sales are not permitted up here.
I think Scottish people have it drummed into us that we're after, more violent or more drunk than the other home nations who have drink in the stadium with no problem. We certainly aren't. I doubt I'd often ever have a drink in the stadium but certainly like the large amount of money it would bring into my club
08-03-2024, 04:34 PM
The one and only time I witnessed violence right next to me at the football was when I was in hospitality and the people next to me had been drinking.
Not for me thanks.
That's make no sense.
Go to any category A game and you'll be in close vicinity of someone who is absolutely steaming. Having had a drink in the stadium or outside it doesn't contribute to how drunk someone is.
And again, it happens in England with powderkeg fixtures with more history of violence than any fixture up here outwith the Old Firm game.
08-03-2024, 04:52 PM
Not for me thanks.
Is that not almost an argument in favour of permitting alcohol to be sold in the ground? If you have only witnessed violence at close quarters once then it suggests the vast, vast majority can handle a drink and behave perfectly reasonably at the football. We all sit next to people who have been drinking every week and we all rarely see violence.
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-03-2024, 06:37 AM
At the minute I probably cross the line into what you’d call binge drinking territory on the way to matches. I’ll have a few cans on the train, usually a half bottle of a popular “wine” and then a couple of pints in the pub before going to the ground. I do this because once I go into the match I can’t get a drink, if we were able to have a pint in the concourse I’d actually most likely drink less than I do now pre match. Surely it’s a win win that Hibs would get more of my money and (although granted I never turn up utterly plastered) I, and I suspect many like me, would actually be less inebriated than the current arrangement. Add into that it’s unlikely the beer on sale would be particularly strong and would likely be pretty dear.
09-03-2024, 07:09 AM
At the minute I probably cross the line into what you’d call binge drinking territory on the way to matches. I’ll have a few cans on the train, usually a half bottle of a popular “wine” and then a couple of pints in the pub before going to the ground. I do this because once I go into the match I can’t get a drink, if we were able to have a pint in the concourse I’d actually most likely drink less than I do now pre match. Surely it’s a win win that Hibs would get more of my money and (although granted I never turn up utterly plastered) I, and I suspect many like me, would actually be less inebriated than the current arrangement. Add into that it’s unlikely the beer on sale would be particularly strong and would likely be pretty dear.
You also have to factor in the type of alcohol that would be available. In pubs close to the stadium you can get shots of tequila, jaigermesiter ect plus vodka and 5.2% strength beers. That's going to get folk a lot more drunk than some watered down 3.5 or 4% lager.
I also don't buy this "it's 2 hours, if you can't go without a drink in that time bla bla" chat. You could say the exact same thing about food, nobody needs to eat but if you fancy something then the option is there. It should be the same if you fancy a pint.
Bridge hibs
09-03-2024, 07:21 AM
You also have to factor in the type of alcohol that would be available. In pubs close to the stadium you can get shots of tequila, jaigermesiter ect plus vodka and 5.2% strength beers. That's going to get folk a lot more drunk than some watered down 3.5-4.% lager.
I also don't buy this "it's 2 hours, if you can't go without a drink in that time bla bla" chat. You could say the exact same thing about food, nobody needs to eat but if you fancy something then the option is there. It should be the same if you fancy a pint.I agree with the last part, I used to love having a couple of beers with the mates pre and post match, it was tradition and it was great to meet up with likeminded folks after a weeks graft to yap about all things hibs. We didnt get bladdered where we were falling about, it was just a catch up in a semi relaxed atmosphere in the Gates, JP Snooker, the Marionville or the Loch Inn
A beer or two on the concourse wouldnt exactly replicate that but it would be the next best thing I suppose, nothing ventured and all that
You could of course still do the same pre match. Drink once in the ground etc etc.
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-03-2024, 07:58 AM
You could of course still do the same pre match. Drink once in the ground etc etc.
That’s true, I could. But you wouldn’t be able to drink in your seat and as it is I get to the ground about five mins before kick off so I wouldn’t be able to drink in the concourse until half time (which would likely be a single pint, if you actually manage to get served one at all during half time) so it’d make absolutely zero difference to how it is now, for me personally, if I was to do that. It’s another revenue stream for clubs in a country that’s falling further and further behind due to a lack of finances, it’s not as if anyones saying we should be able to bring in massive carry outs like in the 70s.
Crunchie
09-03-2024, 08:46 AM
It's one of those subjects it seems almost impossible to have a sensible discussion about.
As said above the reference point always seems to be a game that took place not a kick in the erse of 50 years ago. It was briefly discussed on Sportsound a few years back and Richard Gordon was droning on about a sea of bottles flying over his head at Pittodrie when Aberdeen played Celtic in nineteen oatcake as though that was in any way relevant. No one is suggesting a return to the days of guys lugging a slab of lager into the terraces and having a pee in the pocket of the guy in front. The suggestion is a couple of beers in an environment infinitely more controlled than 6 decades ago.
You can go to the rugby, horse racing, cinema, theatre, a gig and a multitude of other events in Scotland and have a beer but not at Hibs v St Johnstone on a Saturday afternoon. The societal problems with alcohol don't start at the door of a football stadium and they don't end when you cross the border with England but we are judged to different standards because we happe to be football fans from Scotland.
I understand people might say they don't want a beer at the game which is fine, it wouldn't be mandatory. However plenty people would and it's a potential money spinner for the clubs. Equally anti social behaviour around alcohol isn't prevented by banning drink at the stadium, I'd almost argue it is worsened as people often cram in too much pre game as compensation. It's the same as blaming the sale of a couple of 330ml cans on a plane for air rage incidents rather than the hours in the airport bar beforehand.
It's workable if there was a will to do it. You could have a trial at a few low key games to see how it went. You could have a list of fixture exemptions whereby a ban remained in place for games such as the derby. You could have a limit on now much each person could purchase. You could limit the sale of alcohol only to those also purchasing food. A suggestion of a return to 12 cans and a half bottle of whisky would be madness; allowing each paying punters the choice of a couple of beers not so much imo.
I’m not sure you should have included horse racing in your list, the drunken Ned’s who frequent race tracks is becoming more prevalent by the year. It’s a big no no from me, if you can’t go a couple of hours without a drink you have a problem.
09-03-2024, 09:05 AM
It won’t happen.
UEFA tries to promote healthy and active lifestyles alongside its social responsibility programme. Scottish football is struggling to control crowds as it is with lack of policing and ultras becoming more extreme.
It’s bad enough as it is with load of drunk folk at games acting like idiots let alone adding more drink options and the possibility of under age folk having a drink during the game.
Few examples mention ok this thread..
England fans aren’t exactly known for good behaviour with club sides and national team - even talk about an alcohol ban at the euros for the Serbia game. I maybe wrong but I think some bigger English games they maybe only serve alcohol till kick off or half time ?
Having been to some international games some places even sold low percentage alcohol which was expensive for not much.
Also someone mentioned alcohol on planes - that should be banned too as several examples of passengers unable to handle booze and flight attendants having to deal with nonsense when they aren’t trained bouncers.
The only solution I’m surprised the club don’t offer a ST holder type basic bar which isn’t expensive like hospitality as surely they would make ££ on match days for this - maybe not worth it opening every few weeks ? Always thought it would help bring fans to the stadium earlier and keep them later. Seems other clubs do this but Hibs don’t which is a shame. Would have to be a permanent structure as the tents would be rejected by neighbours behind the east stand.
09-03-2024, 09:10 AM
Agree
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-03-2024, 10:19 AM
The only part of this I dispute is the young team bit, I’d imagine a lot of them wouldn’t actually be old enough to buy a drink in the ground so they’ll still be smuggling in bevvy and getting blotto beforehand.
I don’t get the mentality of drinking heavily before football.
Last Sunday I was out for a run and as I was heading eastwards towards cramond brig there was a white minibus driving slowly. Passed me full of Celtic fans going to tynecastle. It went round a corner and when I caught up it was stopped with half a dozen middle aged men taking a piss by the roadside.
This was probably 11am. I have no idea where they travelled from but presume plenty cans had been sunk to be desperate for a pee that early.
09-03-2024, 12:39 PM
...a fire in the sky.
09-03-2024, 12:40 PM
...a fire in the sky.
😂😂😂
09-03-2024, 04:59 PM
Is there any rule currently stopping the sale of 0% beers/ciders?
Bridge hibs
09-03-2024, 05:09 PM
I could be wrong but I believe even non alcoholic beers etc still have a “trace” up to 0.5 so most likely still under the alcohol licence, U18s cant buy it in shops so licensing laws could remain the same for 0% alcohol beers and ciders
hibsforeurope
09-03-2024, 05:13 PM
I’m Sure they sell it a 0% beer at Tynecastle, or certainly did
09-03-2024, 05:16 PM
Don't want to get covered in beer when a goal is scored.
It would be an incredible effort to get covered in beer in yer seat by someone drinking it in the concourse
09-03-2024, 05:23 PM
Thanks for sharing.
I’d no idea about the health concerns being given as a reason.
Those who will be drinking will just do it elsewhere anyway.
The ban is absolutely nuts and I’m baffled by more research being done on this. Every week in England and Wales over a hundred clubs sell it with very little bother.
I can see no issue whatsoever selling it at cat b games.
09-03-2024, 05:30 PM
I could be wrong but I believe even non alcoholic beers etc still have a “trace” up to 0.5 so most likely still under the alcohol licence, U18s cant buy it in shops so licensing laws could remain the same for 0% alcohol beers and ciders
I think on the first part, it's that drinks with up to 0.5% can still be termed as non alcoholic. They are able to/do produce genuine 0% stuff though.
Overall though I think you're right in that it does, for whatever the reason, fall under alcohol licensing requirements.
Although, interesting if Tynecastle do/did. Perhaps the commercial argument just doesn't stack up.
09-03-2024, 07:30 PM
The best thing about getting a beer at half time is it'll stop the withdrawal symptoms and hangovers I start to get in the 2nd half.
09-03-2024, 07:51 PM
I've not had great experiences around drunk folk at football games. Which makes me naturally wary but having said that, they were all either at Hampden or Cat A games.
Not fussed about a drink at the football myself but does feel like a good money maker for the club at Cat B games.
I'd like to see some of the money from it invested into better security at games so that folk who are smashed or causing issues can be dealt with quickly.
09-03-2024, 08:16 PM
Scottish Government is looking at ways to ban or drastically reduce alcohol ads.The minimum unit price is liable to be increased every year. Their is zero chance of them allowing alcohol at football matches.
Up-the-slope
09-03-2024, 09:27 PM
Im interested in the the issue around equality and wondering how it would go if a club (or SPFL) took a case against Scottish government around selectively choosing sports to allow / ban sale of alcohol at :rolleyes: and how they could defend the current situation where some you can consume alcohol while in seat viewing sport and others where it is totally banned
ErinGoBraghHFC
09-03-2024, 09:38 PM
Im interested in the the issue around equality and wondering how it would go if a club (or SPFL) took a case against Scottish government around selectively choosing sports to allow / ban sale of alcohol at :rolleyes: and how they could defend the current situation where some you can consume alcohol while in seat viewing sport and others where it is totally banned
a minimum of 25% of the spectators present must be named Tarquin, Hugo or Hamish to be allowed to consume alcohol at a sporting event
10-03-2024, 08:15 AM
a minimum of 25% of the spectators present must be named Tarquin, Hugo or Hamish to be allowed to consume alcohol at a sporting event
That is such tired banter.
Mcbizz1998
10-03-2024, 08:17 AM
That is such tired banter.
Yep. Tragic patter.
10-03-2024, 09:05 AM
Scottish Government is looking at ways to ban or drastically reduce alcohol ads.The minimum unit price is liable to be increased every year. Their is zero chance of them allowing alcohol at football matches.
The Scottish Government have actually said to Hibs that they haven't ruled out alcohol coming back and have asked clubs to provide evidence that will back the case. There are no guarantees but it's certainly a higher chance than zero.
On Alcohol advertising bans, despite the fact Humza Yousaf doesnt drink - he has actually helped tone down original propsals put in place under Nicola Sturgeon. He's def not as hard line on Alcohol as she was.
On MUP - the price going up is largely to recognise inflation and is mainly about curbing sales of cheap high strength cider. Not a barrier to selling 4% beer at football.
Whilst I understand your scepticism, there is way more chance of this happening than you think, I think.
10-03-2024, 10:32 AM
The Scottish Government have actually said to Hibs that they haven't ruled out alcohol coming back and have asked clubs to provide evidence that will back the case. There are no guarantees but it's certainly a higher chance than zero.
On Alcohol advertising bans, despite the fact Humza Yousaf doesnt drink - he has actually helped tone down original propsals put in place under Nicola Sturgeon. He's def not as hard line on Alcohol as she was.
On MUP - the price going up is largely to recognise inflation and is mainly about curbing sales of cheap high strength cider. Not a barrier to selling 4% beer at football.
Whilst I understand your scepticism, there is way more chance of this happening than you think, I think.
The beauty of you posting about alcohol levels, alcohol bans, attitudes towards alcohol and the chances of being allowed to drink alcohol, with a hangover, is not lost on me.
10-03-2024, 10:38 AM
Oh the banter.
They are allowed to drink because it's rooted as a toffs sport played by private school boys and watched by the self appointed elite.
That's nonsense.
We used to be allowed to drink at football, we could bring our own in whatever quantity we wanted.
Football fans in England are allowed drink.
It wasn't the "toffs" that put an end to it in Scotland.
10-03-2024, 11:08 AM
The beauty of you posting about alcohol levels, alcohol bans, attitudes towards alcohol and the chances of being allowed to drink alcohol, with a hangover, is not lost on me.
If anyone was going to pick up on that I knew it would he you :greengrin
10-03-2024, 12:34 PM
If anyone was going to pick up on that I knew it would he you :greengrin
Mother’s Day too. You should be utterly ashamed.
10-03-2024, 12:53 PM
Mother’s Day too. You should be utterly ashamed.
Funnily enough I'm taking my wee mum out for dinner at 4pm. I will be binge drinking red wine to make sure I am suitably inebriated for arrival at Easter Road at 5.29pm. Might try to sneak a hip flask in too.
I've had some great days at Headingley with a few beers 😁.
The rugby league too.
Won't work at the football as its a different mindset and the plastic pint glasses are rubbish. Agree with a lot of posts though, would make the club a lot of money. Having a beer at the football in England is pretty poor.
10-03-2024, 01:15 PM
Funnily enough I'm taking my wee mum out for dinner at 4pm. I will be binge drinking red wine to make sure I am suitably inebriated for arrival at Easter Road at 5.29pm. Might try to sneak a hip flask in too.
My regards to LaMomma. Hope it’s a great day right through!
Rumble de Thump
10-03-2024, 01:21 PM
I can't even remember the last time I got really drunk.
I can't even remember the last time I got really drunk.Some hangover that.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
10-03-2024, 01:22 PM
I can't even remember the last time I got really drunk.
Isn't that always the case? 🥴
Stairway 2 7
10-03-2024, 01:32 PM
I've had some great days at Headingley with a few beers 😁.
The rugby league too.
Won't work at the football as its a different mindset and the plastic pint glasses are rubbish. Agree with a lot of posts though, would make the club a lot of money. Having a beer at the football in England is pretty poor.
How does it work fine in the Rep, N Ireland, Wales and England with no problems. Are we thicker or more violent than them. We drink about the same per capita so not sure how we can't manage it but they can
Stairway 2 7
12-03-2024, 12:34 PM
Could be worse the price of 4 pints at Linfield on Sunday has gone viral 😆
12-03-2024, 01:01 PM
I'd disagree with that. I'm not convinced the SNP will survive the next election and I'm pretty sure is the SPFL took the SG to court over this, I'm not confident of the SG's chances.
27-09-2024, 10:14 AM
Maybe just maybe
https://hellorayo.co.uk/clyde/local/news/scottish-football-booze-ban-pressure/
Mcbizz1998
27-09-2024, 11:26 AM
Maybe just maybe
Sounds relatively positive/hopeful?
DinkyTwo
27-09-2024, 11:43 AM
Sounds like there is a chance, but I have absolutely zero trust that the powers that be to make a sensible decision.
SNP - have been sneakily reducing where / how people can enjoy alcohol for years. Remember in covid when you could go for dinner, but not have a glass of wine? Mental.
SPFL - less said the better. Twice Rangers fans have came onto the pitch for a fight after losing cup finals. Twice they've got away with it, whilst we got the book thrown at us and in the case of 1980, every team in the league was punished by the alcohol ban.
I'm not actually too bothered about having a beer at a football match, but people should be allowed the opportunity.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Stairway 2 7
27-09-2024, 11:45 AM
How many hundred of people do hibs have in corporate now that drink up until kick off?
timewilltell
27-09-2024, 12:24 PM
Why do you need to drink alcohol to watch 90 mins of football. Genuine question.
27-09-2024, 12:25 PM
Why do you need to drink alcohol to watch 90 mins of football. Genuine question.
Have you watched Hibs much in the last few years? :greengrin
27-09-2024, 12:33 PM
Nobody will be forced into it.
Stairway 2 7
27-09-2024, 12:37 PM
No one needs a pie when it's only 90 minutes yet thousands are sold. It's about choice. People can get steaming in their house, pubs near stadium or behind the goals ect if they want, the number won't increase because you can buy a £7 pint of Madri in the concourse.
27-09-2024, 12:38 PM
Not really the point of the thread is it? Are you in opposition to the choice being re-introduced?
27-09-2024, 12:40 PM
I just can't see it ever happening to be honest.
27-09-2024, 12:41 PM
You don’t “need” a pint when watching a movie or going to a concert. The choice is there if you want it. Football is an entertainment business and should not be treated any differently based on a ban which took place over 40 years ago. Times have changed and so should this archaic alcohol ban.
27-09-2024, 12:41 PM
The same SNP have banned alcohol on trains so can't see it happening.
27-09-2024, 12:44 PM
Because people have different personalities and thoughts and not everybody thinks like you.
27-09-2024, 12:50 PM
Yep.
Unless you're going to the rugby of course. :rolleyes:
ruthven_raiders
27-09-2024, 12:52 PM
Because people have different personalities and thoughts and not everybody thinks like you.
It's about choice, before game is fine, of after to discuss the game, wouldn't be a fan of HT pints as people rush up and down to down a pint in between halves, and certainly not the USA or rugby style of pints at your seat imagine the carnage, beer everywhere!
Mark05
27-09-2024, 12:55 PM
I was at the Germany v Scotland game, the German guy next to me bought me a pint and I bought him one back.I enjoyed it more than I thought, then again I needed something to null the pain😅.It definitely opened my eyes to the different culture at games in Germany compared to here
27-09-2024, 01:00 PM
Yep.
Unless you're going to the rugby of course. :rolleyes:
Pretty sure it's not sport specific
27-09-2024, 01:03 PM
It's also rarely enforced if you behave like a decent human being.
I've been on loads of trains to Hibs away games, coming home from walking trips, days out at non league games etc etc and never had any issue sitting having a couple of cans.
27-09-2024, 01:04 PM
I've been on loads of trains to Hibs away games, coming home from walking trips, days out at non league games etc etc and never had any issue sitting having a couple of cans.
Likewise.
27-09-2024, 01:08 PM
Yup. 👍
27-09-2024, 01:11 PM
Wasn't that ScotRail, pre-nationalisation?
27-09-2024, 01:12 PM
Of course it isn't.
That was flippant on my part.
PB is correct, doesn't matter if its a gig, football game, rugby game, whatever. If people behave they will be left well enough alone.
Therein lies the problem with football, we have had numerous instances where Block 7 especially have behaved poorly and let the club down. It happens at every club but these Ultras groups can't seem to not behave obnoxiously.
27-09-2024, 01:27 PM
Maybe just maybe
Good. I’m not one that shouts ‘nanny state’ at all government interference but it’s a joke we can’t have a pint before the match and at half time at Easter Road if we want.
jimbob07
27-09-2024, 01:50 PM
Oh the banter.
Aye that would be the same as Millwall and West Ham fans. Deary me 🤦🏼*♂️
27-09-2024, 01:58 PM
I believe the overall Alcohol ban on trains is looking like its going to be lifted soon.
The case is certainly being made as research has shown that the ban did nothing to improve antisocial behaviour on trains. That said, even if the overall ban is lifted there would still be the possibility of restrictions being put in place when "high risk" events are identified.
27-09-2024, 02:02 PM
Don't have a 'need' to do anything when I go to football games where I am, but find it enjoyable, and if it wasn't available, there would be hell to play., with literally hundreds of complaints.
In civilised places, its quite common you know?
27-09-2024, 02:03 PM
I believe the overall Alcohol ban on trains is looking like its going to be lifted soon.
The case is certainly being made as research has shown that the ban did nothing to improve antisocial behaviour on trains. That said, even if the overall ban is lifted there would still be the possibility of restrictions being put in place when "high risk" events are identified.
I might have misremembered (and haven't lived in Scotland for many years), but isn't that how it used to work? There would be temporary restrictions targeted at certain events, e.g. Aberdeen playing in Edinburgh so the trains on that route in the period where fans are likely to be travelling have an alcohol ban.
27-09-2024, 02:04 PM
I might have misremembered (and haven't lived in Scotland for many years), but isn't that how it used to work? There would be temporary restrictions targeted at certain events, e.g. Aberdeen playing in Edinburgh so the trains on that route in the period where fans are likely to be travelling have an alcohol ban.
Yeh - they used to run "dry trains" so if we were playing in a semi final at hampden - any train leaving edinburgh for glasgow between (say) 9 and 14:30 would be dry. Any train leaving Glasgow for Edinburgh from 5-7 would also be "dry".
27-09-2024, 02:11 PM
It will never happen is my opinion too.
27-09-2024, 02:12 PM
Yeh - they used to run "dry trains" so if we were playing in a semi final at hampden - any train leaving edinburgh for glasgow between (say) 9 and 14:30 would be dry. Any train leaving Glasgow for Edinburgh from 5-7 would also be "dry".
:agree::agree:
It happens now on Edinburgh Trams. Alcohol allowed for the most part, but restricted when events are on at Murrayfield. Not that you've got room to lift a can to your mouth getting to Murrayfield on a tram when there is an event on as you are packed in like sardines. :greengrin
27-09-2024, 02:16 PM
I think I mentioned when this thread was previously going that personalities in power are key to where this goes. Having Neil Gray in the top health role is a good thing I think, as he is as likely as anyone to be sympathetic to the calls. It's all on football authorities & clubs to come up with a workable proposal now - Gray has invited them to do so with his comments today so they better get working on it!
27-09-2024, 02:18 PM
It will never happen is my opinion too.
With the Health Secretary inviting football authorities to come up with a proposal, I think the opposite. It's just a matter of how long it will take.
27-09-2024, 02:20 PM
When I lived in Aberdeen I quite often got the train 'home' to Edinburgh for the weekend on a Friday AM. A couple of the trains in the morning were declared 'dry' trains between Aberdeen and Newcastle because they were full of guys returning from offshore letting their hair down and groups heading on stag and hen weekends. I always felt sorry for the poor conductor trying to enforce that.
Looking at the LNER website it seems that the dry policy is still the case on one of the Friday services now.
27-09-2024, 02:22 PM
With the Health Secretary inviting football authorities to come up with a proposal, I think the opposite. It's just a matter of how long it will take.
I think it's up to the football authorities to come up with a workable plan and then it's on fans to make it work when it does happen. The majority will; it will all hinge on the usual minority, as is always the case with these things.
27-09-2024, 02:25 PM
Nobody (or the vast majority of people) actually needs a drink, ever. It doesn't stop it being available throughout society and on practically every street corner though.
Probably wouldn't bother myself but don't see the real harm in it.
27-09-2024, 02:26 PM
The football authorities, Is that Rangers & Celtic?
27-09-2024, 02:37 PM
Reading George Adam’s Question he doesn’t seem to know that football clubs can already sell alcohol and fans can meet up over a pint. Just that we have to pay extra to do that.
one day maybe...
27-09-2024, 02:59 PM
I attend a few Tottenham games and enjoy beers before the game in the bars around the ground and have a Beavertown pint at half time. I don't see an issue with enjoying a beer on the concourse. If people can't behave at certain games and by that I mean those games classed as category A, if there is a significant uplift in trouble then remove the right to buy alcohol for those games. If people can't behave in the ground, I'm sure they'll be quickly identified (unless it the onion bears, wearing those ridiculous balaclava's) and handed a banning order. Bring on the beers :greengrin
27-09-2024, 03:15 PM
I attend a few Tottenham games and enjoy beers before the game in the bars around the ground and have a Beavertown pint at half time. I don't see an issue with enjoying a beer on the concourse. If people can't behave at certain games and by that I mean those games classed as category A, if there is a significant uplift in trouble then remove the right to buy alcohol for those games. If people can't behave in the ground, I'm sure they'll be quickly identified (unless it the onion bears, wearing those ridiculous balaclava's) and handed a banning order. Bring on the beers :greengrin
Tottenhams concourse is slightly better than the East concourse at ER.
Have only been there for the NFL, but there was soooo much space, food and drink offerings. Heading down next weekend for the Jets vs Vikings game. Taking the motor, so only a couple of beers.
one day maybe...
27-09-2024, 03:23 PM
Tottenhams concourse is slightly better than the East concourse at ER.
Have only been there for the NFL, but there was soooo much space, food and drink offerings. Heading down next weekend for the Jets vs Vikings game. Taking the motor, so only a couple of beers.
Yeah its an amazing stadium and the concourse has plenty room, agreed. Enjoy the NFL game
27-09-2024, 03:29 PM
I have to laugh at the folk blaming the government, polis, football authorities etc. The blame for the ban lies firmly at the door of the complete ****wits who get tanked up, run onto the pitch and cause bother. I'm leaving 2016 out as there was absolutely zero intention of Hibs fans for a fight. I remember watching the 1980 Cup final and I'm sure folk will have seen the footage. Total carnage and I completely understand why the authorities would rather not have to cope with that again. I'm neither up nor down about this. I like a couple or three beers in the Central before the game but I can manage to go a couple of hours without another.
malcolm
27-09-2024, 03:29 PM
I’m sure they can’t behave whether pickled or not. :greengrin
one day maybe...
27-09-2024, 03:48 PM
I’m sure they can’t behave whether pickled or not. :greengrin
:not worth:not worth:greengrin
27-09-2024, 04:14 PM
Will it actually happen or is it just one or two mps that like football
Stairway 2 7
27-09-2024, 04:18 PM
I have to laugh at the folk blaming the government, polis, football authorities etc. The blame for the ban lies firmly at the door of the complete ****wits who get tanked up, run onto the pitch and cause bother. I'm leaving 2016 out as there was absolutely zero intention of Hibs fans for a fight. I remember watching the 1980 Cup final and I'm sure folk will have seen the footage. Total carnage and I completely understand why the authorities would rather not have to cope with that again. I'm neither up nor down about this. I like a couple or three beers in the Central before the game but I can manage to go a couple of hours without another.
I wasn't born when this game was played and I've a daughter in in uni you can see why to me it's utterly ******g bizarre to be brought up in current policy discussions. To me it's like saying we should ban Netflix now due to it effecting sales of Betamax tapes.
We could ban it for away fans and games police categorise as concerning. There would be zero extra trouble at hibs St Mirren if some people were buying expensive pints. Since Millwall v Leeds or Cardiff v Swansea can cope ok I'm sure Scotland can.
It's also holding Scottish clubs back compared to Europe FC Twente say they made more from beer than their player sales one year which were €3 million. There average attendance is the same as us but they can sell during the game which we wouldn't
https://e.vnexpress.net/news/football/beer-makes-dutch-club-more-money-than-players-4683925.html
27-09-2024, 04:43 PM
I think it's up to the football authorities to come up with a workable plan and then it's on fans to make it work when it does happen. The majority will; it will all hinge on the usual minority, as is always the case with these things.
I mentioned this before but surprisingly it isn't actually the threat of fan mis behaviour holding it back. The police are actually neutral on the issue.
Its the health lobbyists and the alcohol harm to health argument that has stopped it being introduced so far. If the the argument can be made that it will shift fan behaviour away from pre match binge drinking and that overall drinking levels won't increase then it stands a good chance.
27-09-2024, 04:44 PM
The football authorities, Is that Rangers & Celtic?
Eh?
27-09-2024, 04:52 PM
I wasn't born when this game was played and I've a daughter in in uni you can see why to me it's utterly ******g bizarre to be brought up in current policy discussions. To me it's like saying we should ban Netflix now due to it effecting sales of Betamax tapes.
We could ban it for away fans and games police categorise as concerning. There would be zero extra trouble at hibs St Mirren if some people were buying expensive pints. Since Millwall v Leeds or Cardiff v Swansea can cope ok I'm sure Scotland can.
It's also holding Scottish clubs back compared to Europe FC Twente say they made more from beer than their player sales one year which were €3 million. There average attendance is the same as us but they can sell during the game which we wouldn't
https://e.vnexpress.net/news/football/beer-makes-dutch-club-more-money-than-players-4683925.html
You are right, and its not part of the argument now which is good.
I think similar but begin with Cat B games only at first to prove the concept and then introduce it for Cat A games.
27-09-2024, 05:50 PM
I never used it as an argument to ban booze. All I said was that being witness to what went on that day and the subsequent ban, I can understand the authorities reluctance since then.
pollution
27-09-2024, 06:23 PM
...and gratuitously upped the minimum price on wine. Bloody killjoys.
27-09-2024, 06:28 PM
I will often go for a beer before and after the game.
But no alcohol in stadiums is all I've ever known so it doesn't really bother me.
27-09-2024, 06:31 PM
...and gratuitously upped the minimum price on wine. Bloody killjoys.
Only if you drink the really ****ty cheap stuff:wink:
27-09-2024, 06:40 PM
I never used it as an argument to ban booze. All I said was that being witness to what went on that day and the subsequent ban, I can understand the authorities reluctance since then.
Fan misbehaviour is not even part of the argument now though.
pollution
27-09-2024, 06:43 PM
Only if you drink the really ****ty stuff:wink:
Good point. Tesco put up the price from £9 to £9.50 and explained it was because of the Scottish Government policy.
I thought it only applied to strong wine, not middle of the road stuff.
27-09-2024, 07:04 PM
Good point. Tesco put up the price from £9 to £9.50 and explained it was because of the Scottish Government policy.
It's a minimum price on units of alcohol, of all types.
The latest MUP increase, though, doesn't take effect until Monday, so Tesco are at it there.
27-09-2024, 07:29 PM
It's a minimum price on units of alcohol, of all types.
The latest MUP increase, though, doesn't take effect until Monday, so Tesco are at it there.
Aye Tesco not telling the truth there!
The min price of a bottle of 12.5% wine with new increase rises from £4.60 odd to £6.09. A £9 bottle of wine isnt affected by the changes. Its only affecting the really horrible stuff.
Stairway 2 7
27-09-2024, 07:40 PM
Only if you drink the really ****ty cheap stuff:wink:
The really cheap stuff will now be £6.09 minimum, Toro Loco in Aldi was under this and was class for the price top tip. Can of 4.8% lager £1.60 now ffs. I just order online now and places like amazon give you the English price, which will be about half the price of Scotland from Monday on some things
Stairway 2 7
27-09-2024, 07:43 PM
The min price of a bottle of 12.5% wine with new increase rises from £4.60 odd to £6.09. A £9 bottle of wine isnt affected by the changes. Its only affecting the really horrible stuff.
Like last time they will push everything up, they aren’t going to put the 4.60 to 6.09 then keep the 6.50 stuff at 6.50 they will want a gap between it and the cheapest stuff. Will be a big win for the supermarkets
27-09-2024, 08:02 PM
Don’t understand why SG didn’t increase the duty so that income came to the tax payer instead of the retailer. Maybe tax on alcohol isn’t devolved?
27-09-2024, 08:15 PM
Don’t understand why SG didn’t increase the duty so that income came to the tax payer instead of the retailer. Maybe tax on alcohol isn’t devolved?
It isn't.
28-09-2024, 08:41 AM
Scotland has an interesting relationship with alcohol but the Scottish Government seems to have an anti-football agenda. Just because a few people over step the mark everyone gets punished. It's ridiculous that a rugby fan at Murrayfield can watch a game with a drink but a football fan can't. It's even more ridiculous that you can't buy a pint before, at halftime and after if you wish. The snobbery against ordinary football fans needs to change.
28-09-2024, 09:06 AM
Anyone who causes trouble because they can’t behave with drink will tank up before games anyway, wouldn’t make any difference to them when or where they get it
Cat Stanton
28-09-2024, 09:25 AM
Choice is one argument. A counter argument is that for certain fans who are already out of it, the last thing they (and we) need is access to more drink at the game. I'm thinking especially away fans who have been bevying (and sometimes on other substances too) all day. The 90+ minutes spent alcohol-free in a stadium is a good thing; giving them more drink would increase the risk of problems. I've been at some away games (eg Aberdeen) where folk have been in a horrendous state, and my kids were quite frightened by it all. Giving them (the drunk fans, not my kids..) the chance to get yet more booze at the game would just be stupid.
And because of this (the state fans get into), the rugby comparison doesn't hold. For whatever reason, you don't seem to get bus loads of away fans at rugby matches off their tits, causing hassle.
Lastly, I'm no SNP fan, but minimum pricing was brought in because like it or not, our society has a bit of an issue with alcohol, and a series of modelling studies prior to its implementation showed it would save lives. Evaluations since then have demonstrated that that's what's happened. Saving lives is a good thing, and calling them "kill joys" misses the point by some distance.
(I would get out more but the pub's not open yet...)
28-09-2024, 09:27 AM
Choice is one argument. A counter argument is that for certain fans who are already out of it, the last thing they (and we) need is access to more drink at the game. I'm thinking especially away fans who have been bevying (and sometimes on other substances too) all day. The 90+ minutes spent alcohol-free in a stadium is a good thing; giving them more drink would increase the risk of problems. I've been at some away games (eg Aberdeen) where folk have been in a horrendous state, and my kids were quite frightened by it all. Giving them (the drunk fans, not my kids..) the chance to get yet more booze at the game would just be stupid.
And because of this (the state fans get into), the rugby comparison doesn't hold. For whatever reason, you don't seem to get bus loads of away fans at rugby matches off their tits, causing hassle.
Lastly, I'm no SNP fan, but minimum pricing was brought in because like it or not, our society has a bit of an issue with alcohol, and a series of modelling studies prior to its implementation showed it would save lives. Evaluations since then have demonstrated that that's what's happened. Saving lives is a good thing, and calling them "kill joys" misses the point by some distance.
The one I’m in is 😂
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 10:16 AM
Absolutely no one thinks you will be able to drink during the 90 minutes so I think your first paragraph is a bit moot? If it came we would have the same rules as in England. People can get a pint up until kick off in their house or tamsons 5 minutes away. Hundreds also have a pint in the Albians bar and behind the goals.
It'll be about £7 a jar so the young team won't be interested It'll probably stop the rush for downing your pint in the boozers close by and be more chilled out. Scotland wouldn't be in the top 15 of the 27 EU countries for alcohol consumed, we're in the middle well behind countries like Austria,Germany, Portugal, France. I think the English media has us believing we're a group of raging alcoholics. Too wee, too poor, too stupid to be like most other nations and have drink at the football?
28-09-2024, 10:48 AM
They manage perfectly fine in England, we have far less of a problem with hooligans in this country compared to down south.
With the exception of one club, there is nobody in Scotland who has the same violent tendancies as loads of clubs down south. Leeds, West Ham, Millwall, Chelsea, Middlesbrough, Luton, Portsmouth Birmingham,Cardiff off the top of my head have far bigger hooligan elements than clubs like Hibs or Hearts and yet they are provided alcohol at every game and there is never any trouble inside the ground.
Dight
28-09-2024, 10:58 AM
Don't want to get covered in beer when a goal is scored. That does it for me, having seen the amount of beer that went into the air in Germany when Scotland scored, it all comes down again over everybody. Although with our strike rate maybe there is nothing to worry about. :wink:
Also having tried beers in other grounds I am not that desparate to drink over priced fizz from plastic cups anyways. If it were to happen, make sure beer can only be served in the East nearest to the away end and the beer can be thrown over them.
pollution
28-09-2024, 11:03 AM
The Times says a 13 degree wine increases from £4.88 to £6.34 from Monday, which is what I drink.
I don't know if that affects the selling price , can the retailer absorb the increase as the whole amount paid goes to them ?
None of the increase goes to the Scottish Government.
Anyway, I have forward ordered deliveries at today's cost for the next few weeks.
28-09-2024, 11:19 AM
I've had a few 'pints' at various German and Austrian stadiums and only really enjoyed it at the smaller, more traditional stadiums, where you get real beer
Cat Stanton
28-09-2024, 11:33 AM
Absolutely no one thinks you will be able to drink during the 90 minutes so I think your first paragraph is a bit moot? If it came we would have the same rules as in England. People can get a pint up until kick off in their house or tamsons 5 minutes away. Hundreds also have a pint in the Albians bar and behind the goals.
It'll be about £7 a jar so the young team won't be interested It'll probably stop the rush for downing your pint in the boozers close by and be more chilled out. Scotland wouldn't be in the top 15 of the 27 EU countries for alcohol consumed, we're in the middle well behind countries like Austria,Germany, Portugal, France. I think the English media has us believing we're a group of raging alcoholics. Too wee, too poor, too stupid to be like most other nations and have drink at the football?
We're in the "top one" (to quote Brian Clough) for alcohol deaths in western Europe.
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 11:43 AM
We're in the "top one" (to quote Brian Clough) for alcohol deaths in western Europe.
Yes but I think it's universally agreed that's due to almost every nation recording deaths differently. I doubt anyone seriously thinks Lithuania who drink 40% more alcohol per head has 30% of the alcohol deaths of Scotland.
Although many experts in the drug field think MUP has driven problem drinkers to taking Benzos instead and helping cause the poor people to die.
https://www.thetimes.com/uk/scotland/article/minimum-alcohol-pricing-has-driven-people-to-street-drugs-say-experts-8t5z8tsf9
Either way no one is going to increase there drinking because you can now get an expensive pint for 45 minutes before the game starts. You can get bloto in in boozer or from any corner shop you want
28-09-2024, 11:50 AM
The Times says a 13 degree wine increases from £4.88 to £6.34 from Monday, which is what I drink.
I don't know if that affects the selling price , can the retailer absorb the increase as the whole amount paid goes to them ?
None of the increase goes to the Scottish Government.
Anyway, I have forward ordered deliveries at today's cost for the next few weeks.
You drink wine that costs £4.88 a bottle? Is it nice?!
28-09-2024, 11:51 AM
That does it for me, having seen the amount of beer that went into the air in Germany when Scotland scored, it all comes down again over everybody. Although with our strike rate maybe there is nothing to worry about. :wink:
Also having tried beers in other grounds I am not that desparate to drink over priced fizz from plastic cups anyways. If it were to happen, make sure beer can only be served in the East nearest to the away end and the beer can be thrown over them.
People wouldn't be allowed beer at their seat, so you wouldn't have to worry about that!
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 11:51 AM
I've had a few 'pints' at various German and Austrian stadiums and only really enjoyed it at the smaller, more traditional stadiums, where you get real beer
Yeah it's usually crap and in a plastic cup. Doubt I'll ever buy one unless maybe meeting some mates and having one whilst the kids play, better for kids in the concourse running about than a busy pub.
I'd not introduce it in away ends at first as that's where 90% of the agro is but I reckon once the novelty is over the threat will be a damp squib.
I've had a pint in Holland easily, where the casuals make our squads and ultras look like the bairns they are. If it causes no bother at Leeds v Millwall I'm sure Ross County v Dundee will pass without a riot 😆
I was 13 when the alcohol ban came in and now at 57 I have no desire to drink at games. I do recall smuggling cans of tennants in to hampden when I went to a Scotland game with my dad and his mates
There is no need to be necking a pint quickly just before kick off or at half time. If you need a beer enjoy one in a relaxed setting before or after. Or both.
If there is beer you can guarantee disruption as people arrive at their seat late having finished their beer then gone for a pee. Probably need a pee half an hour in and then leave after 42 mins to get their half time beer. Late back again, and another pee break in the second half. Leave early when we concede again.
I have only had a drink once at football and that was in Spain. The waitress told me they only sold sin alcohol. I was fine with that as it was a warm evening.
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 11:57 AM
You drink wine that costs £4.88 a bottle? Is it nice?!
As I said previous Toro loco from aldi is much better than 19 crimes at half the price. Waitrose La Umbra around a fiver is decent, Morrisons Kendermanns Riesling is something like £5.50 and really good.
We need a wine thread
28-09-2024, 12:22 PM
They manage perfectly fine in England, we have far less of a problem with hooligans in this country compared to down south.
With the exception of one club, there is nobody in Scotland who has the same violent tendancies as loads of clubs down south. Leeds, West Ham, Millwall, Chelsea, Middlesbrough, Luton, Portsmouth Birmingham,Cardiff off the top of my head have far bigger hooligan elements than clubs like Hibs or Hearts and yet they are provided alcohol at every game and there is never any trouble inside the ground.
I don’t have a strong opinion either way, and it’s not something that would appeal to me. However it’s not just hooligans or fighting that is a negative experience at the football. Tynecastle and Hampden are usually spoiled by folk that can’t handle their drink, have drunk to oblivion and/or nonexistent policing/stewarding turning those people away at the gates. If it’s not fighting it’s folk stumbling about the place, stinking of booze, incapable of getting remotely close to finding their seat etc.
A run of the mill home game to Falkirk (maybe the playoff) was spoiled by the guy directly behind us being worse for wear. We were in the second or 3rd row and his aggression to the linesman crossed a line. He was shouting about caving his head in etc. leaning over those in front of him to do so as we recoiled at the smell of stale alcohol.
Cat Stanton
28-09-2024, 01:43 PM
Yes but I think it's universally agreed that's due to almost every nation recording deaths differently. I doubt anyone seriously thinks Lithuania who drink 40% more alcohol per head has 30% of the alcohol deaths of Scotland.
Although many experts in the drug field think MUP has driven problem drinkers to taking Benzos instead and helping cause the poor people to die.
https://www.thetimes.com/uk/scotland/article/minimum-alcohol-pricing-has-driven-people-to-street-drugs-say-experts-8t5z8tsf9
Either way no one is going to increase there drinking because you can now get an expensive pint for 45 minutes before the game starts. You can get bloto in in boozer or from any corner shop you want
Lithuania is not in Western Europe. There have been various detailed analyses of this, using different definitions of cause of death (but all based on the WHO's ICD (international classification of diseases) system, and they all show the same. Be it groups of "alcohol related diseases", or simpler analyses of individual causes like liver cirrhosis, it all shows the same thing ie Scotland having the highest death rate among western European countries. It wasn't always the case - we were mid-table several decades ago, but rates increased massively and spectacularly from the early 1990s, which is why we are where we are. This is real, not artefact. I can send you links to various studies if you want.
28-09-2024, 01:51 PM
If it is allowed back, it'll be some 3% dishwasher pish at £7 for a 300 ml plastic cup. I wouldn't worry about anybody getting aggresively drunk on it. Seems a bit backwards that we can't get a beer in the concourse if we want one. However, I'm not a drinker at all and get fed up with loud boozing folks when I am kind of forced to go out, so not fussed either way.
28-09-2024, 01:55 PM
England national team fans are probably the most renowned for having problems with drink an loutish behaviour, yet all English grounds allow it
Scotland is so far behind the times
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 02:17 PM
Lithuania is not in Western Europe. There have been various detailed analyses of this, using different definitions of cause of death (but all based on the WHO's ICD (international classification of diseases) system, and they all show the same. Be it groups of "alcohol related diseases", or simpler analyses of individual causes like liver cirrhosis, it all shows the same thing ie Scotland having the highest death rate among western European countries. It wasn't always the case - we were mid-table several decades ago, but rates increased massively and spectacularly from the early 1990s, which is why we are where we are. This is real, not artefact. I can send you links to various studies if you want.
Yes please do.
Who said it was in western Europe. Germans also drink about 40% more than us there is simply no way their levels of liver cirrhosis will be smaller. If the deaths are higher which they won't be it will be with how the government treat and help people as less alcohol doesn't create more harm to the body. We drink less than half of the EU if people are dying it's not the alcohol, it's government failing people
Scot gov says prevalence of harmful drinking has went from 34% in 2003 to 22% in 2022. Units consumed has halved since 1990, under 18 drinking has collapsed since 2000.
Don't believe what the films tell us we drink less than most. This is probably boring everyones nut in and better in the holy ground forum but I don't think £7 jars are going to change Scotlands drinking when you can get 24 carling delivered to your door for £18 from amazon
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 02:19 PM
If it is allowed back, it'll be some 3% dishwasher pish at £7 for a 300 ml plastic cup. I wouldn't worry about anybody getting aggresively drunk on it. Seems a bit backwards that we can't get a beer in the concourse if we want one. However, I'm not a drinker at all and get fed up with loud boozing folks when I am kind of forced to go out, so not fussed either way.
I doubt I'd drink but if FC Twente say they are getting £3 million from beer sales I'd like that too so we can compete with them.
timewilltell
28-09-2024, 02:21 PM
Have you watched Hibs much in the last few years? :greengrin
I see what you did there! 😂
28-09-2024, 03:00 PM
At the Euro’s it was around 10 Euro’s for a beer but you got 3 Euro’s back if you give back the cup.
28-09-2024, 03:06 PM
If alcohol in the concourse is banned on health grounds as some are suggesting, why is it freely available at rugby and cricket in Scotland?
Cat Stanton
28-09-2024, 03:08 PM
Yes please do.
Who said it was in western Europe. Germans also drink about 40% more than us there is simply no way their levels of liver cirrhosis will be smaller. If the deaths are higher which they won't be it will be with how the government treat and help people as less alcohol doesn't create more harm to the body. We drink less than half of the EU if people are dying it's not the alcohol, it's government failing people
Scot gov says prevalence of harmful drinking has went from 34% in 2003 to 22% in 2022. Units consumed has halved since 1990, under 18 drinking has collapsed since 2000.
Don't believe what the films tell us we drink less than most. This is probably boring everyones nut in and better in the holy ground forum but I don't think £7 jars are going to change Scotlands drinking when you can get 24 carling delivered to your door for £18 from amazon
I'll pm you some links to avoid boring other people with this (as you say, we're nearing Holy Ground territory now), but in terms of who said it was Western Europe, I did..! That was my original point (that alcohol deaths were higher in Scotland than anywhere else in Western Europe) and which you were arguing against.
Look out for some links to dull reports in your private messages. Meanwhile I see Hearts are losing again - I'm sure we can both happily raise a glass to that!
28-09-2024, 03:19 PM
As I said previous Toro loco from aldi is much better than 19 crimes at half the price. Waitrose La Umbra around a fiver is decent, Morrisons Kendermanns Riesling is something like £5.50 and really good.
We need a wine thread
19 crimes is a crime to wine.
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 03:29 PM
I'll pm you some links to avoid boring other people with this (as you say, we're nearing Holy Ground territory now), but in terms of who said it was Western Europe, I did..! That was my original point (that alcohol deaths were higher in Scotland than anywhere else in Western Europe) and which you were arguing against.
Look out for some links to dull reports in your private messages. Meanwhile I see Hearts are losing again - I'm sure we can both happily raise a glass to that!
Genuinely interested ta as its brutal as are our drug deaths. I think we're going to be alright as the under 30s seem to be more and more against drinking and smoking. Yas thanks i didn't know the hearts were losing, ******g tremendous haha. I'm going to make margaritas and tell the Mrs and bairns that hearts are brutal, then watch them be uninterested in my excitement. 20 minutes to hold on, hearts should sell andrex in the concourse
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 03:30 PM
I agree bought it when so many people I know said it was nice, it's just a good marketing campaign
28-09-2024, 03:40 PM
All those wines are rubbish. You can't get decent wine for peanuts.
Cat Stanton
28-09-2024, 03:51 PM
Genuinely interested ta as its brutal as are our drug deaths. I think we're going to be alright as the under 30s seem to be more and more against drinking and smoking. Yas thanks i didn't know the hearts were losing, ******g tremendous haha. I'm going to make margaritas and tell the Mrs and bairns that hearts are brutal, then watch them be uninterested in my excitement. 20 minutes to hold on, hearts should sell andrex in the concourse
Pm sent (although not showing in my sent items) so message me if it doesn't arrive. Cheers!
28-09-2024, 03:54 PM
I like a chilled Vina Sol, £6 a bottle, but i wouldnt know a good wine if it bit me on the nose. :greengrin
Surely if you like it then it's a good wine whatever the cost?:confused:
28-09-2024, 04:13 PM
Haven't read the whole thread, but can't see the Police allowing this.😳
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 04:18 PM
We're allowing it to try and find out who are the bevvy merchants, signed D Brasco
HarpOnHibee
28-09-2024, 04:43 PM
I like a chilled Vina Sol, £6 a bottle, but i wouldnt know a good wine if it bit me on the nose. :greengrin
Avoid drinking expensive wine and you'll never be disappointed? :dunno:
28-09-2024, 05:23 PM
We need a wine thread
If you can find wine you like at a cheap price then that's great! Its more the fact that the first 3 or 4 pounds of any bottle of wine will be made up of tax, marketing, packaging, and distribution - and that is the same for any bottle of wine. So after you breach that price point the quality of the wine should (usually) increase drastically if you just spend a couple of quid extra.
https://www.bibendum-wine.co.uk/media/1334/bibendum-vinonomic-graphic-update-v3c-01.jpg
28-09-2024, 05:43 PM
It’s been said on the thread that the police are neutral on it. It’s the Scottish Government’s attempts to get Scots to drink less that means football fans can’t drink on the concourses. I’ve been to both Boro and Sunderland and had a pint at half time and nobody rioted.
28-09-2024, 05:59 PM
It’s been said on the thread that the police are neutral on it. It’s the Scottish Government’s attempts to get Scots to drink less that means football fans can’t drink on the concourses. I’ve been to both Boro and Sunderland and had a pint at half time and nobody rioted.
It seems a really niche way to prove your policy.
When most fans have a pint before and after the game.
It’s just that 90 minutes in the middle that the Government are dead set against.
Very weird.
Can’t see publicans being happy about any changes. They want the drinking crowd to themselves and the punters gasping at 1745.
28-09-2024, 06:02 PM
Exactly this :agree:
28-09-2024, 06:54 PM
Cheers 🍻 😉
hibs4life
28-09-2024, 06:55 PM
Not being able to get a drink for the duration of a match doesn't seem like that important an issue to me. I think an issue is the equivalence with rugby - Social snobbery, or different policies for crowds with different sets of behaviours?
I do get the criticism for the different approach between the 2 sports. Fundamentally though, my opinion is that for fans where the football is the key focus, drinking during the game is relatively peripheral and not of great importance, other than to the clubs, which see it as another income stream.
It seems that currently, for radge behaviour at games, coke is king...
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 06:58 PM
Exactly this :agree:
That opens them up to being quite clearly and obviously discriminatory. If the only reason you're banning it is on health grounds be consistent and ban it at the other sports and culture events. Rugby, cricket, theatre, cinema and concerts or millions at the festival. If your saying its for violence that's different and you've maybe got an argument. If it's just for decreasing drinking then just picking the most working class thing when you can go to the theatre or rugby and drink isn't a good look. You can drink if you can afford it up until kick off, we were close to 300 spaces before the behind the goals were built. We now have probably more than some league 2 teams get crowds drinking at Easter Road each week
Stairway 2 7
28-09-2024, 07:04 PM
If you can find wine you like at a cheap price then that's great! Its more the fact that the first 3 or 4 pounds of any bottle of wine will be made up of tax, marketing, packaging, and distribution - and that is the same for any bottle of wine. So after you breach that price point the quality of the wine should (usually) increase drastically if you just spend a couple of quid extra.
https://www.bibendum-wine.co.uk/media/1334/bibendum-vinonomic-graphic-update-v3c-01.jpg
I find it much easier in Aldi and Lidl that cut out getting from companies who spend on advertising and marketing. They make their wine a loss leader and that's why they have decimated the middle class food market. They will lose a couple of pence on wine as long as you get your shop, Sainsbury's selling branded just can't do that. Most of it is patter anyway
https://www.thedrinksbusiness.com/2024/08/wine-buffs-fooled-by-aldi-cheap-wine-stunt/
28-09-2024, 07:12 PM
Read the thread title as "Bear in the Concourse" 😲
hibs4life
28-09-2024, 07:18 PM
Only for Rangers games, surely...
28-09-2024, 07:27 PM
Exactly. If you like it you like it and all the better if it's a relatively cheap one. You can get perfectly nice wines here for around 7 (sometimes 6 quid) a bottle. In France and Spain you can knock a few quid off that. Had really good tasting wines for 5 Euros there. Helps if you can produce it in abundance like both those countries!
Far too much nonsense surrounds wine with so called connosieurs who haven't really a clue about what they're drinking. There are experts for sure but you can fool some styled ones with a 10 quid bottle and say it's worth many times that. Wonder how much Ian Gordon knows about it? 😂
Agree that 19 Crimes stuff is horrendous though! Not a fan of Shiraz.
28-09-2024, 07:55 PM
That opens them up to being quite clearly and obviously discriminatory. If the only reason you're banning it is on health grounds be consistent and ban it at the other sports and culture events. Rugby, cricket, theatre, cinema and concerts or millions at the festival. If your saying its for violence that's different and you've maybe got an argument. If it's just for decreasing drinking then just picking the most working class thing when you can go to the theatre or rugby and drink isn't a good look. You can drink if you can afford it up until kick off, we were close to 300 spaces before the behind the goals were built. We now have probably more than some league 2 teams get crowds drinking at Easter Road each week
Agree 100%. And for what its worth there is a recognition within Government that its unfair and Rugger buggers get favourable treatment. Footballs downfall is its popularity.
28-09-2024, 08:34 PM
I find it much easier in Aldi and Lidl that cut out getting from companies who spend on advertising and marketing. They make their wine a loss leader and that's why they have decimated the middle class food market. They will lose a couple of pence on wine as long as you get your shop, Sainsbury's selling branded just can't do that. Most of it is patter anyway
https://www.thedrinksbusiness.com/2024/08/wine-buffs-fooled-by-aldi-cheap-wine-stunt/
Through my work I've engaged with all the big retailers, i have to say Aldi are by far and away the most impressive.with respect to all parts of their operation.
gramskiwood
28-09-2024, 09:09 PM
So did I. Lol
30-09-2024, 06:01 PM
Maybe not then.
John Swinney insists alcohol ban at Scottish football grounds will continue
dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics
jimbob07
30-09-2024, 06:06 PM
You’re spot on 👍
30-09-2024, 06:12 PM
Maybe not then.
John Swinney insists alcohol ban at Scottish football grounds will continue
dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics
Misleading headline from the Record as usual.
Swinney isnt really saying anything here. He is hardly likely to publicly commit to lifting a ban before representations have even been made, so he has taken the standard middle ground response.
30-09-2024, 06:24 PM
Not being able to get a drink for the duration of a match doesn't seem like that important an issue to me. I think an issue is the equivalence with rugby - Social snobbery, or different policies for crowds with different sets of behaviours?
I do get the criticism for the different approach between the 2 sports. Fundamentally though, my opinion is that for fans where the football is the key focus, drinking during the game is relatively peripheral and not of great importance, other than to the clubs, which see it as another income stream.
It seems that currently, for radge behaviour at games, coke is king...
I think losing significant amounts of potential revenue is quite a big issue.
30-09-2024, 06:41 PM
I think losing significant amounts of potential revenue is quite a big issue.
I can’t see the appeal for fans, to drink cold beer in a freezing stadium, which it is 6 months of the year
Was at Ajax 2 years ago and they sell around 60,000 litres per home game. Helps when you can close the roof on a cold winters day/night
ErinGoBraghHFC
30-09-2024, 06:47 PM
I can’t see the appeal for fans, to drink cold beer in a freezing stadium, which it is 6 months of the year
Was at Ajax 2 years ago and they sell around 60,000 litres per home game. Helps when you can close the roof on a cold winters day/night
Don’t feel the cold as much when you’re paralytic, which might make drawing 1-1 with Ross County on a freezing cold winters night (made up scenario I’ve not checked the fixtures but you know what I mean) more bearable.
Stairway 2 7
30-09-2024, 07:55 PM
Money is the appeal to me. We get a third of Ajax attendance but that would be 30k pints sold for us a game. FC Twente with a similar attendance say the get €3 mil from it, that can be the difference between us competing with similar size clubs in Europe. They could even start it in the lower leagues it would be lifeline for some small clubs
30-09-2024, 08:11 PM
Have you seen the queue for outside beers at the Edinburgh Christmas market during the coldest 6 weeks of the year?!
01-10-2024, 08:13 AM
Clubs right across England and Wales at all levels sell millions of litres a year in all temperatures without a single closed roof. Can't see how it would be different here.
01-10-2024, 08:20 AM
Ewen Cameron, whatever you may think of him has posted a few excellent points re this on Twitter.
https://x.com/EwenDCameron/status/1840822438419956151
I’ve had long conversations about this with politicians and I’ve always been of the opinion that you get the fans into the stadium 90 minutes early.
They’re off the streets. They’re not ‘tanking up’ before kickoff.
And……
They’re not all turning up at the same time to get into the stadium because they’ve decided to ‘knock one back’ in the pub before walking to the ground etc
There are far more positives than negatives to selling alcohol at the stadium than not imo.
Plus, I ******g detest that we all get lumped in with a few idiots when they step out of line.
If you serve drink in the stadium and a few let the club down….you have their season ticket details….instant ban.
Job done
Weed out the ********s and let the majority enjoy a great day out with or without a beer….but we should have the choice.
01-10-2024, 08:49 AM
Ewen Cameron, whatever you may think of him has posted a few excellent points re this on Twitter.
https://x.com/EwenDCameron/status/1840822438419956151
His “long conversations with politicians” probably involved a slaver with George Foulkes and Ian Murray in hospitality at Tynecastle.
And who’s the “they” he talks of? All fans?
It’s a lot of hot air just to say he thinks fans are going to start turning up 90 minutes before KO for a pint on a concrete concourse to drink pints that are £3+ more expensive than their favoured match day locals.
01-10-2024, 08:59 AM
His “long conversations with politicians” probably involved a slaver with George Foulkes and Ian Murray in hospitality at Tynecastle.
And who’s the “they” he talks of? All fans?
It’s a lot of hot air just to say he thinks fans are going to start turning up 90 minutes before KO for a pint on a concrete concourse to drink pints that are £3+ more expensive than their favoured match day locals.
What points that he makes are hot air?
'They' are clearly the people who want to have a pint in the ground.
He doesn't offer any opinion on whether fans will want to turn up. He says we should have the choice.
Whether fans will 'want' to turn up is backed by the fact that hundreds of thousands do every week in England and Wales. I've can't see why Scotland will be any different.
A total non starter, booze in the grounds is a recipe for trouble.
01-10-2024, 11:43 AM
Broken record here, but its not about trouble in the stands. Police are entirely neutral on the booze ban either way and Government believes that trouble in stadiums is largely manageable these days, regardless of whether booze is sold or not in stadiums.
TrinityHFC
01-10-2024, 11:48 AM
It's not really.
01-10-2024, 12:04 PM
I don't think it will ever happen while Scottish fans continue to misbehave. Pitch invasions, sectarian songs, pyro, throwing things.
Personally don't really care, wouldn't drink it anyway, so happy to continue without.
Broken record here, but its not about trouble in the stands. Police are entirely neutral on the booze ban either way and Government believes that trouble in stadiums is largely manageable these days, regardless of whether booze is sold or not in stadiums.
I would love to agree, but nope not for me, had enough trouble sitting next guys who had spent couple of hours pre match in the pub getting blootered without them being able to top up at half time. Also first Rangers or Celtic or Hearts, booze in the stadium, good luck with that.
It's not really.
In my opinion, oh yes it is.
01-10-2024, 12:15 PM
I would love to agree, but nope not for me, had enough trouble sitting next guys who had spent couple of hours pre match in the pub getting blootered without them being able to top up at half time. Also first Rangers or Celtic or Hearts, booze in the stadium, good luck with that.
You may not like the thought of it on those grounds, but that doesn't mean its a non-starter for those reasons. You can disagree, but its not something that matters to Government as part of the argument.
Binge drinking before games, sneaking bottles into stadiums and extensive cocaine use in toilets are the real issues. Lifting a booze ban is actually more likely to help mitigate some of that behaviour.
You may not like the thought of it on those grounds, but that doesn't mean its a non-starter for those reasons. You can disagree, but its not something that matters to Government as part of the argument.
Binge drinking before games, sneaking bottles into stadiums and extensive cocaine use in toilets are the real issues. Lifting a booze ban is actually more likely to help mitigate some of that behaviour.
Doubt it would help, as to the Government not caring about it I would point to the large increase in Minimum Pricing of Alcohol which to my mind would mean they would very much care. Don't think I've anything else to add to the discussion.
01-10-2024, 12:28 PM
I enjoy a few pints pre game in the comfort of a boozer, don’t see the attraction of freezing my nxxxx off standing in the East Stand concourse pre game. I’d more likely buy a pass for the new BTG if I fancied a different pre game environment. Likely over priced sub standard lager served in plastic glasses, don’t see the attraction at all really.
01-10-2024, 01:01 PM
Why is it not a recipe for trouble in England and Wales?