View Full Version : Beer in the concourse
Stairway 2 7
01-10-2024, 01:45 PM
Why is it not a recipe for trouble in England and Wales?
Millwall, Cardiff, leeds are clearly more civilised than hibs or Raith fans in some people's eyes. Turning down millions of year for Hibs because someone would personally rather no drink it themselves is crazy to me. Even if we made half of what FC Twente make with the same crowd we'd have about 5 more players on 5k a week, that's a big jump in quality
Yeah the clubs with bigger crowds with gain more but it would be a massive boost to league 2 and the amateur clubs budget still
01-10-2024, 01:48 PM
Doubt it would help, as to the Government not caring about it I would point to the large increase in Minimum Pricing of Alcohol which to my mind would mean they would very much care. Don't think I've anything else to add to the discussion.
MUP's aim is about reducing alcohol related health problems/conditions though. You are muddling up two different issues - the misbehaviour of people as a result of consuming alcohol isn't a key consideration for these policy decisions.
01-10-2024, 01:48 PM
Doubt it would help, as to the Government not caring about it I would point to the large increase in Minimum Pricing of Alcohol which to my mind would mean they would very much care. Don't think I've anything else to add to the discussion.
Minimum pricing would have zero impact on a £6 pint of Tennents in the concourse.
davym7062
01-10-2024, 02:11 PM
I enjoy a few pints pre game in the comfort of a boozer, don’t see the attraction of freezing my nxxxx off standing in the East Stand concourse pre game. I’d more likely buy a pass for the new BTG if I fancied a different pre game environment. Likely over priced sub standard lager served in plastic glasses, don’t see the attraction at all really.
agree with that
01-10-2024, 02:26 PM
I enjoy a few pints pre game in the comfort of a boozer, don’t see the attraction of freezing my nxxxx off standing in the East Stand concourse pre game. I’d more likely buy a pass for the new BTG if I fancied a different pre game environment. Likely over priced sub standard lager served in plastic glasses, don’t see the attraction at all really.
What if they do it really well, wouldn't you rather be able to choose?
01-10-2024, 02:29 PM
MUP's aim is about reducing alcohol related health problems/conditions though. You are muddling up two different issues - the misbehaviour of people as a result of consuming alcohol isn't a key consideration for these policy decisions.
Yup.
The two issues are completely separate issues and it's a lazy and naive argument to conflate the two together.
01-10-2024, 02:36 PM
The one time I experienced alcohol at the football was in hospitality. I didn't drink but immediately after kickoff the guy next to me got punched and people nearly came to blows in the hospitality area at half time.
Keep it well, well away from football please.
01-10-2024, 02:51 PM
Yup.
The two issues are completely separate issues and it's a lazy and naive argument to conflate the two together.
I'll be honest mate I'm giving up now, people just dont want to understand the issue properly. The debate around this over the last week has been absolutely mind boggling, particularly on twitter with so many pepole just reacting to vague tabloid headings and not actually listening to what has been said.
The biggest dunce of them all has been David Tanner who hasn't come close to understanding anything about the issue yet continues to tweet utter nonsense. Still miffed that we employed him at Hibs.
01-10-2024, 03:08 PM
I'll be honest mate I'm giving up now, people just dont want to understand the issue properly. The debate around this over the last week has been absolutely mind boggling, particularly on twitter with so many pepole just reacting to vague tabloid headings and not actually listening to what has been said.
The biggest dunce of them all has been David Tanner who hasn't come close to understanding anything about the issue yet continues to tweet utter nonsense. Still miffed that we employed him at Hibs.
I think a lot of the press and thus a lot of the public are seeing it through their own experiences from decades ago.
I heard the debate on Sportsound a fair while back and Richard Gordon was going on about remembering a 'sea of bottles shattering against the roof of the Merkland Road End roof at Pittodrie'. It was as if people were proposing going back to the 1960s with guys lugging slabs of lager and half bottles of whisky onto crumbling terraces as opposed to a pretty tightly regulated sales process comparable to England with plastic cups and no alcohol actually permitted into the arena.
The behavioural issue is largely an irrelevance. Most of the anecdotal evidence seems to be 'I sit next to guys who are pished and annoying at games now'. That is surely proof that the current ban has minimal real impact on fan behaviour? People who want to get tanked up before a game can do so now. People who want to drink in the stadium can do so now if they pay £15 per game for the privilege. People who want to sneak their own alcohol into the stadium can do so with relative ease now.
I genuinely see no real likelihood of a real deterioration in behaviour just because a pint in a plastic cup is available on the concourse an hour before kick off. It seems a lot of tabloid headline hand wringing.
PHeffernan
01-10-2024, 03:20 PM
A pragmatic approach would see alcohol sold at Easter Road for all games other than those against Hearts and Rangers where some folk totally lose their ****.
I would say drunkeness in hospitality and cocaine consumption in all stadiums toilets are the current risk areas.
Cannae say I fancy a pint in the East in the brutal cauld between mid November and mid March especially with the doors thrown open at half time for the smokers.
Perhaps Hibs could build a big lounge to house bars in the East and charge a 100 quid a season for season ticket holders and 6 quid a pint.
This would finally improve the match day experience for us "legacy" supporters and importantly would also provide a heated area for those supporters over 70 years auld, pre match, half time and post match.
01-10-2024, 03:30 PM
It’s all about politics isn’t it. The Scottish Government has just put up the minimum price of alcohol for everyone in the country so that we will be less inclined to buy it. If they were then to make it easier to buy at a social occasion (as long as you can afford it)they will be shredded.
01-10-2024, 03:45 PM
I think a lot of the press and thus a lot of the public are seeing it through their own experiences from decades ago.
I heard the debate on Sportsound a fair while back and Richard Gordon was going on about remembering a 'sea of bottles shattering against the roof of the Merkland Road End roof at Pittodrie'. It was as if people were proposing going back to the 1960s with guys lugging slabs of lager and half bottles of whisky onto crumbling terraces as opposed to a pretty tightly regulated sales process comparable to England with plastic cups and no alcohol actually permitted into the arena.
The behavioural issue is largely an irrelevance. Most of the anecdotal evidence seems to be 'I sit next to guys who are pished and annoying at games now'. That is surely proof that the current ban has minimal real impact on fan behaviour? People who want to get tanked up before a game can do so now. People who want to drink in the stadium can do so now if they pay £15 per game for the privilege. People who want to sneak their own alcohol into the stadium can do so with relative ease now.
I genuinely see no real likelihood of a real deterioration in behaviour just because a pint in a plastic cup is available on the concourse an hour before kick off. It seems a lot of tabloid headline hand wringing.
Spot on. :agree:
01-10-2024, 03:54 PM
It’s all about politics isn’t it. The Scottish Government has just put up the minimum price of alcohol for everyone in the country so that we will be less inclined to buy it. If they were then to make it easier to buy at a social occasion (as long as you can afford it)they will be shredded.
Thats a good point but its why the clubs/Spfl/SFA must come up with evidence that shows that selling beer in grounds will not see a huge uplift in volume of alcohol being consumed, for example rather it will help reduce pre match pre match binge drinking.
The parity with Rugby is another thing that needs addressed - football is being punished because it is so popular with people attending in large numbers,week in week out. Rugby gets away with it because of the lesser spectator numbers. There is however a recognition within Parliament of the unfairness currently so proposals must focus on that too.
01-10-2024, 05:16 PM
The one time I experienced alcohol at the football was in hospitality. I didn't drink but immediately after kickoff the guy next to me got punched and people nearly came to blows in the hospitality area at half time.
That’s it. One idiot stops it for everyone😂
01-10-2024, 05:29 PM
Agree with all of this.
If it were to be given the go ahead, and assuming no drink allowed in the seats/standing areas, would we have enough space to accommodate several thousand people if they chose to drink in the stadium for 60-90 minutes prior to kick off, and at half time?
TrinityHFC
01-10-2024, 05:43 PM
Can’t get any more conclusive than that right enough. 😬
01-10-2024, 05:59 PM
No reason why you couldn't start a trial with a lower alcohol beer, pick some category B games and see if it works.
I have enjoyed beer at games in Aus and NZ and it really is good to have that option.
Maybe even you can only get beer if you order food could be part of the trial?
Stairway 2 7
01-10-2024, 06:10 PM
If it were to be given the go ahead, and assuming no drink allowed in the seats/standing areas, would we have enough space to accommodate several thousand people if they chose to drink in the stadium for 60-90 minutes prior to kick off, and at half time?
Works in every stadium in England and Wales so our modern stadium will be fine. Was at Everton this season and I had a pint. Very chilled atmosphere, some drunk some didn't I barely noticed the difference between there and Scotland pre match. Atmosphere was pish and no drunken debauchery. No drink during the game or outside the concourse. The stadium is a dump and needing the move
01-10-2024, 06:12 PM
I think there’s more than enough room. I used to go to the old White Hart Lane and the space available there was similar to what we have here and they managed no bother
01-10-2024, 06:46 PM
I think there’s more than enough room. I used to go to the old White Hart Lane and the space available there was similar to what we have here and they managed no bother
When I visited Goodison Park and Upton Park the areas where they were selling alcohol were much smaller than what we have available in all areas of the stadium. Newcastle too in the older stands from what I remember.
01-10-2024, 06:57 PM
When I visited Goodison Park and Upton Park the areas where they were selling alcohol were much smaller than what we have available in all areas of the stadium. Newcastle too in the older stands from what I remember.
Aye the Gallowgate corners and East Stand concourse are no bigger than ER.
I used to go down to St James quite often and after the novelty of getting a pint the first couple of times wore off I never really bothered. Same when Hibs were at Blackpool in pre season last summer. I couldn't even tell you if beer was served at Villa in Europe.
It's a nice option to have but it's not an environment in which anyone is going to go for a heavy sesh.
01-10-2024, 07:04 PM
Could get a beer at Villa, dont remember any bother?
Of course the Ross County mob might be different.
Murdoch
01-10-2024, 08:09 PM
A pragmatic approach would see alcohol sold at Easter Road for all games other than those against Hearts and Rangers where some folk totally lose their ****.
I would say drunkeness in hospitality and cocaine consumption in all stadiums toilets are the current risk areas.
Cannae say I fancy a pint in the East in the brutal cauld between mid November and mid March especially with the doors thrown open at half time for the smokers.
Perhaps Hibs could build a big lounge to house bars in the East and charge a 100 quid a season for season ticket holders and 6 quid a pint.
This would finally improve the match day experience for us "legacy" supporters and importantly would also provide a heated area for those supporters over 70 years auld, pre match, half time and post match.
Celtic have done lots of work over the last couple of years to add in multiple lounges and bars throughout the stadium which I assume are currently an extension of hospitality. I don’t know the full setup of our BTG but this appears to be something similar where for an additional price you get access to these for a pint when the rules permit (stadium wasn’t in use when I was there). Much more appealing than standing in a freezing concourse but having the choice would be nice as others have said.
01-10-2024, 08:20 PM
I've read a few times now that bringing drink to stadiums isn't a good idea because people wouldn't want to stand in a freezing cold concourse drinking a pint. It's just struck me that its not a very good argument because the alternative is standing in a freezing cold concourse not drinking a pint. In both scenarios it's going to be cold, so how does having the option to also get a pint make that scenario worse?:hilarious
01-10-2024, 08:36 PM
I've read a few times now that bringing drink to stadiums isn't a good idea because people wouldn't want to stand in a freezing cold concourse drinking a pint. It's just struck me that its not a very good argument because the alternative is standing in a freezing cold concourse not drinking a pint. In both scenarios it's going to be cold, so how does having the option to also get a pint make that scenario worse?:hilarious
Eh? The majority of fans turn up 5 minutes before kick off, who’s hanging about behind the East Stand for long before the game? Silly comparison to make as clearly the whole point would be to encourage fans to get to the ground earlier and not just down 1 pint at half time.
01-10-2024, 08:48 PM
Eh? The majority of fans turn up 5 minutes before kick off, who’s hanging about behind the East Stand for long before the game? Silly comparison to make as clearly the whole point would be to encourage fans to get to the ground earlier and not just down 1 pint at half time.
Fair point, I've not even had a beer tonight myself, but I have had 2 Callipo's so too much sugar for me!
There's a fair number of fans in the concourse before games already or in their seats though, pint availability would attract even more. People do it in other countries, it happens all the time in other cold countries. Its hardly freezing in the concourse either. I'd far rather get to the ground 30 mins before KO and have a couple of pints there safe in the knowledge its a 60 second walk to my seat than rush from a boozer. And of course I could have at least one at half time then one at the end. :greengrin
01-10-2024, 10:38 PM
Fair point, I've not even had a beer tonight myself, but I have had 2 Callipo's so too much sugar for me!
There's a fair number of fans in the concourse before games already or in their seats though, pint availability would attract even more. People do it in other countries, it happens all the time in other cold countries. Its hardly freezing in the concourse either. I'd far rather get to the ground 30 mins before KO and have a couple of pints there safe in the knowledge its a 60 second walk to my seat than rush from a boozer. And of course I could have at least one at half time then one at the end. :greengrin
You will need to factor in a couple of visits to the loo as well,
01-10-2024, 10:50 PM
You will need to factor in a couple of visits to the loo as well,
I have to do that already when I binge drink pre match then sneak a hip flask in. :greengrin
hibsforeurope
02-10-2024, 09:01 AM
The ban in football stadiums makes no sense at all now, things have moved on hugely as folk have discussed.
I just find it bizarre that in 4 weeks i can go to a sporting match in Edinburgh and have beer (no regulation on how many someone can drink) in my seat watching the game but the day after i cant do the same in a stadium in the same city on the same weekend.
Surely this would be a huge tax generator for the government (if figures from the Dutch team are a barometer).
Bristol rovers game last night
Bars, food and live band before the game on the concourse
Bar and food available indoors
Reopens at half time - no need to down your pints, can finish even if the game restarts
Very well staffed, policed and friendly stewards
£5.80 a Guinness
£7 for chicken loaded fries (they were superb)
Enhances the match day experience
WestStandWillie
02-10-2024, 11:25 AM
All for beer back at the football but the few have ruined it for the many.
Should be trialled at non Category A games but there's not a hope in **** that'll happen.
John Sweeny says no, so no it will be.
02-10-2024, 11:35 AM
Swinney didn't say no though.
02-10-2024, 12:06 PM
The reincarnation of John Knox himself!
02-10-2024, 12:15 PM
Speaking to a friend who has worked at bars near Haymarket, she found rugby fans to be far worse than football fans with a drink in them. Arse pinched, people pissing in pint glasses, disrespectful to bar staff - football fans are likely to be noisy but are better behaved.
Swinney didn't say no though.
He did say the Scottish government has no plans to review 45 year old ban.
02-10-2024, 01:00 PM
Bristol rovers game last night
Bars, food and live band before the game on the concourse
Bar and food available indoors
Reopens at half time - no need to down your pints, can finish even if the game restarts
Very well staffed, policed and friendly stewards
£5.80 a Guinness
£7 for chicken loaded fries (they were superb)
Enhances the match day experience
One of my good mates was down at Carlisle a few weeks ago and said they had it spot on. Big pre match area with street food trucks, converted shipping containers selling beer and a big screen showing the football. It's supposed to be based on a US style tailgate party, you could then get a beer on the concourse in the ground as well.
I don't want to drive business away from local pubs but the above sounds a lot more geared towards families or people just wanting to grab 1 or 2 rather than have a longer session in the boozer. If a club at the bottom of League Two in England can pull that together surely it's not beyond the savvy of people running some Scottish clubs. We have a lot of space behind the East and at that corner between the FF and East (albeit that would need leveled and a new space found for cars).
It doesn't detract from the Albion Bar or BTG which have the selling point of guaranteed entry, limited capacity and they are indoors.
02-10-2024, 01:16 PM
We're obviously too violent and unpredictable compared to our friends at clubs down south.
Treating people with utter contempt.
02-10-2024, 01:48 PM
He did say the Scottish government has no plans to review 45 year old ban.
He made the same point as the Health Secretary Neil Gray a few days previously which is that if SG got proposals they would look at them. The tabloids cleverly spun both statements to get two rounds of clickbait based on very little.
Swinney said SG doesn't have plans to end the ban currently because it hasnt recieved any propsals to do so. This is very different from him saying "no".
Once they come in the conversation starts properly.
Numptie
02-10-2024, 03:27 PM
We wouldn't go back to everyone carrying in 6 cans and a bottle of whisky as we would only be able to have drink served in the ground. The ban was ridiculous as it was all about us taking drink into the ground, not 'drinking in the stadium'. I've been at a few English grounds and when on a stag you might have 2 pints before, one at half-time and then head to the nearest warm pub to go on. And, if you turn up already pi***d then you should not get in - but that's where it would fall down, as they wouldn't stop the drunks getting in at an old firm game but would only be too happy to stop one of us getting into Ibrox or Parkheed. Should just ban it at old firm games, and we can all get on with having a drink, or not (I take the car now to home and away games so no drink for me).
02-10-2024, 04:13 PM
We wouldn't go back to everyone carrying in 6 cans and a bottle of whisky as we would only be able to have drink served in the ground. The ban was ridiculous as it was all about us taking drink into the ground, not 'drinking in the stadium'. I've been at a few English grounds and when on a stag you might have 2 pints before, one at half-time and then head to the nearest warm pub to go on. And, if you turn up already pi***d then you should not get in - but that's where it would fall down, as they wouldn't stop the drunks getting in at an old firm game but would only be too happy to stop one of us getting into Ibrox or Parkheed. Should just ban it at old firm games, and we can all get on with having a drink, or not (I take the car now to home and away games so no drink for me).
Those stag do's don't sound like much fun. 😉
Works in every stadium in England and Wales so our modern stadium will be fine. Was at Everton this season and I had a pint. Very chilled atmosphere, some drunk some didn't I barely noticed the difference between there and Scotland pre match. Atmosphere was pish and no drunken debauchery. No drink during the game or outside the concourse. The stadium is a dump and needing the move
Cheers chaps, it’s not something I’ve experienced elsewhere so wasn’t sure if it could be a problem
I wasn’t attending matches in the late 70s/early 80s, but would I be right in thinking that segregation and moving fans away from each other post match is far more effective now?
Therefore making it less unsafe from fans getting into with each other?
Might also help with the first 10-15 minutes of a match getting disturbed by the latecomers from the pub :greengrin
02-10-2024, 08:39 PM
It would he great to be able to have a drink in the stadium, but we have got used to going to the pub before and after the game. Some of the pubs rely heavily on the money made from the football crowd. Wouldn't want some of the pubs to close because of the trade they would lose.
From experience the rugby fans get away with things before and after games due to consuming too much alcohol that football fans would not get away with.
The demographic of the fans at a football match now is a lot different to when the drinks ban was brought in there are more women and family groups.
The government could allow drink at matches which are not CAT A to test the water.
02-10-2024, 09:15 PM
Speaking to a friend who has worked at bars near Haymarket, she found rugby fans to be far worse than football fans with a drink in them. Arse pinched, people pissing in pint glasses, disrespectful to bar staff - football fans are likely to be noisy but are better behaved.
It's a strange one.
When I worked in hospitality we dreaded the big rugby weekends. Some of the behaviour, particularly towards women, was a disgrace. I also read someone on here say cocaine wasn't an issue at rugby; perhaps the hotel I worked in was the exception that proves the rule but it was rife before and after the matches. We were well away from the stadium and ended up having to get security in to monitor access to the public bogs.
It felt more like a football cup final crowd rather than a standard match day at Easter Road. A big jolly that didn't happen very often. I suppose that's because it was, when you look at the rugby crowds week to week and then look at the Six Nations crowds both in the stadium and out and about in town then it's evident there is a lot of the once a year brigade out in force similar to when Hibs or Hearts are at Hampden and that brings some similar behaviour issues.
It was a different kind of bad behaviour from what I have seen at football. There never felt like pent up violence or tribalism in the air (which isn't really all that common at football either except at the powder keg games). Guys from either side would happily drink together and have the 'aren't we so much more mature than football fans' act. It was more they were ****ing pests with a handful straying towards being total creeps. Jumping onto the wrong side of the bar to pour themselves pints, groping female bar staff then saying it was 'just banter', having a weird obsession with exposing themselves, the obligatory piss in the pint glass competition, refusing to leave at closing time etc etc. It was boorish lads lads lads stuff.
By contrast I've been to a few Edinburgh games and nothing like that has occured, it's just guys and families having a couple of beers and enjoying the game. Very much like the atmosphere at Hibs games is markedly different week to week than it is at Hampden. I'd suggest Hibs V Ross County with beer in the mix would be a lot more like Edinburgh v Ospreys on a Friday with 6000 in attendance than Scotland v Wales on a Saturday evening with 70K plus tens of thousands more in boozers across the city.
Posh Swanny
02-10-2024, 10:37 PM
One of my good mates was down at Carlisle a few weeks ago and said they had it spot on. Big pre match area with street food trucks, converted shipping containers selling beer and a big screen showing the football. It's supposed to be based on a US style tailgate party, you could then get a beer on the concourse in the ground as well.
I don't want to drive business away from local pubs but the above sounds a lot more geared towards families or people just wanting to grab 1 or 2 rather than have a longer session in the boozer. If a club at the bottom of League Two in England can pull that together surely it's not beyond the savvy of people running some Scottish clubs. We have a lot of space behind the East and at that corner between the FF and East (albeit that would need leveled and a new space found for cars).
It doesn't detract from the Albion Bar or BTG which have the selling point of guaranteed entry, limited capacity and they are indoors.
Peterborough have been building their fanzine for a few years now and put a big screen up for this year. Easy money, and good fun. They have games for the kids too, like the ones they have in the concourse on Hibs Kids days - football darts, speed gun etc.
https://x.com/theposh/status/1822603877264343310?s=46
03-10-2024, 10:29 AM
It's a strange one.
When I worked in hospitality we dreaded the big rugby weekends. Some of the behaviour, particularly towards women, was a disgrace. I also read someone on here say cocaine wasn't an issue at rugby; perhaps the hotel I worked in was the exception that proves the rule but it was rife before and after the matches. We were well away from the stadium and ended up having to get security in to monitor access to the public bogs.
It felt more like a football cup final crowd rather than a standard match day at Easter Road. A big jolly that didn't happen very often. I suppose that's because it was, when you look at the rugby crowds week to week and then look at the Six Nations crowds both in the stadium and out and about in town then it's evident there is a lot of the once a year brigade out in force similar to when Hibs or Hearts are at Hampden and that brings some similar behaviour issues.
It was a different kind of bad behaviour from what I have seen at football. There never felt like pent up violence or tribalism in the air (which isn't really all that common at football either except at the powder keg games). Guys from either side would happily drink together and have the 'aren't we so much more mature than football fans' act. It was more they were ****ing pests with a handful straying towards being total creeps. Jumping onto the wrong side of the bar to pour themselves pints, groping female bar staff then saying it was 'just banter', having a weird obsession with exposing themselves, the obligatory piss in the pint glass competition, refusing to leave at closing time etc etc. It was boorish lads lads lads stuff.
By contrast I've been to a few Edinburgh games and nothing like that has occured, it's just guys and families having a couple of beers and enjoying the game. Very much like the atmosphere at Hibs games is markedly different week to week than it is at Hampden. I'd suggest Hibs V Ross County with beer in the mix would be a lot more like Edinburgh v Ospreys on a Friday with 6000 in attendance than Scotland v Wales on a Saturday evening with 70K plus yena of thousands more in boozers across the city.
I had experiences you describe as above but the English rugby fans were by far the worst , or at least they were at the Caley hotel bar.
07-10-2024, 10:03 AM
‘ Carling announced as Official Beer and Proud Partner of the Scottish Professional Football League.’
Fine to be sponsored by an alcohol company but not fine to drink it in the stadiums outside hospitality.
Chorley Hibee
07-10-2024, 10:14 AM
Starting to think Hibs should sell Prozac in the concourse as opposed to beer.
There's another revenue stream for you, Ben.
07-10-2024, 12:01 PM
‘ Carling announced as Official Beer and Proud Partner of the Scottish Professional Football League.’
Fine to be sponsored by an alcohol company but not fine to drink it in the stadiums outside hospitality.
Absolutely ridiculous 😂
It’s complete snobbery aswell. It’s alright for the middle class snoots at the six nations to get pissed up at the game and carry on acting like complete and utter ***** up the toon after it, infact their behaviour is actively encouraged and just as bad if not worse than us that follow football.
mcohibs
07-10-2024, 05:22 PM
Absolutely ridiculous 😂
It’s complete snobbery aswell. It’s alright for the middle class snoots at the six nations to get pissed up at the game and carry on acting like complete and utter ***** up the toon after it, infact their behaviour is actively encouraged and just as bad if not worse than us that follow football.
Hear this comparison a lot but if people are being honest, the level of disorder at fitba, particularly violent disorder, completely dwarfs rugby, even without bevvy at the ground.
Rugby has its fair share of fannies with a drink in them but having been to quite a lot of games at Murrayfield, it’s never been anything less than a brilliant atmosphere and a great day out. Never experienced any violence there, even in a non-segregated crowd.
It’s every week at football up and down the country. Saturday being a prime example. Scrapping against Motherwell ffs 😂 why?
Paulie Walnuts
07-10-2024, 05:23 PM
Hear this argument a lot but if people are being honest, the level of disorder at fitba, particularly violent disorder, completely dwarfs rugby, even without bevvy at the ground.
Rugby has its fair share of fannies with a drink in them but having been to quite a lot of games at Murrayfield, it’s never been anything less than a brilliant atmosphere and a great day out. Never experienced any violence there, even in a non-segregated crowd.
It’s every week at football up and down the country. Saturday being a prime example. Scrapping against Motherwell ffs 😂 why?
There’s not bother every week at the football.
07-10-2024, 05:23 PM
Absolutely ridiculous 😂
I wouldn't try going to the Borders and call them middle class snoots.
I’ve saw more fights at a music concert than at a football match & those venues continuously sell alcohol during the gig but nothing said about it
07-10-2024, 05:49 PM
Not in the away end we couldn’t.
07-10-2024, 06:00 PM
There’s not bother every week at the football.
If there was no segregation and bevvy allowed in your seats, like there is at Rugby, you'd likely have bother most weeks.
People saying Rugby fans are just as bad are at it. Scotland v England rugby there are 70,000 fans, bevvy in seats and no segregation at all outside or inside the ground.
Now imagine that exact same scenario was permitted for a Scotland v England football game. It would be absolute carnage inside the stadium, the game would be abandoned or probably wouldn't even kick off due to the trouble.
That doesn't mean alcohol shouldn't be allowed at certain games in Scotland IMO, but the behaviour of fans at the two sports are not comparable.
07-10-2024, 06:02 PM
Hear this comparison a lot but if people are being honest, the level of disorder at fitba, particularly violent disorder, completely dwarfs rugby, even without bevvy at the ground.
Utter nonsense. It’s not every week at the football.
It genuinely baffles me how anyone can come out with this pish and completely ignore the hundreds of professional football matches that happen elsewhere in the UK every single week.
What is it about Scotland that makes people think it’ll be so different?
It’s bat**** thinking.
mcohibs
07-10-2024, 06:30 PM
Utter nonsense. It’s not every week at the football.
It genuinely baffles me how anyone can come out with this pish and completely ignore the hundreds of professional football matches that happen elsewhere in the UK every single week.
What is it about Scotland that makes people think it’ll be so different?
It’s bat**** thinking.
😂 I’m not arguing that alcohol shouldn’t be introduced back into grounds in Scotland. IMO it absolutely should and would love to see it.
My point was that the comparison to rugby in terms of disorder is miles off.
08-10-2024, 07:22 AM
If there was no segregation and bevvy allowed in your seats, like there is at Rugby, you'd likely have bother most weeks.
People saying Rugby fans are just as bad are at it. Scotland v England rugby there are 70,000 fans, bevvy in seats and no segregation at all outside or inside the ground.
Now imagine that exact same scenario was permitted for a Scotland v England football game. It would be absolute carnage inside the stadium, the game would be abandoned or probably wouldn't even kick off due to the trouble.
That doesn't mean alcohol shouldn't be allowed at certain games in Scotland IMO, but the behaviour of fans at the two sports are not comparable.
There are dozens of games in England every week with drink allowed and no segregation and it rarely kicks off.
There are loads of games in Scotland with drink in clubhouses and no segregation that are the same.
08-10-2024, 07:28 AM
I wouldn't try going to the Borders and call them middle class snoots.
Can Colin from Longbangers come and confirm for us that he is a middle-class snoot?
08-10-2024, 08:03 AM
There are dozens of games in England every week with drink allowed and no segregation and it rarely kicks off.
There are loads of games in Scotland with drink in clubhouses and no segregation that are the same.
At what level?
If you had no segregation at all and alcohol allowed at seats, as you do at rugby, then we'd have trouble guaranteed at games with Hearts, Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and possibly games with Motherwell, Dundee, Dundee Utd ect.
There is basically no violent disorder at rugby matches. As I said, imagine you had the exact same setup for football as you do at Rugby for Scotland V England. There would be riots and the game likely wouldn't even kick off due to the behaviour of fans. That's the truth, some football fans might not want to admit it though.
08-10-2024, 08:06 AM
There was no beer in the away end that night. Your day sesh is making your memory hazy :greengrin
08-10-2024, 08:32 AM
At what level?
If you had no segregation at all and alcohol allowed at seats, as you do at rugby, then we'd have trouble guaranteed at games with Hearts, Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and possibly games with Motherwell, Dundee, Dundee Utd ect.
There is basically no violent disorder at rugby matches. As I said, imagine you had the exact same setup for football as you do at Rugby for Scotland V England. There would be riots and the game likely wouldn't even kick off due to the behaviour of fans. That's the truth, some football fans might not want to admit it though.
I don't know why segregation is being discussed here. It's segregated at football in England and to add to that you're only allowed to drink in the concourse so i'm struggling to understand why it's relevant here.
As for no trouble at rugby. A fight broke out in front of a mate of mine at Murrayfield this year at the France game. To add to that, I watched a report on bother being caused by bevvy being drunk in the stand at rugby last year. There was multiple stories of people spilling their pints over other fans, there were numerous people interviewed about fans views being constantly interrupted by fans constantly getting up to go another beer. There was one story about a boy so pished he spilt his beer on a child and then puked on him.
What needs changed there is bevvy needs to be limited to the concourse like football.
08-10-2024, 08:36 AM
At what level?
National league level. Plenty games at that level in England attract bigger crowds than there are at the vast majority of rugby matches in Scotland. Take Edinburgh, Glasgow and internationals out the equation and you are talking one man and his dog stuff at a lot of games. Even Edinburgh at home to Leinster on a Friday night a couple of weeks ago only attracted 7000 fans. There was a comparable number at Oldham v Solihull Moors in the National League last weekend. Chester v Farsley Celtic in the National League North had 2500, that's about 25 times what my closest rugby team, Musselburgh RFC, get every week if the evidence of my eyes is anything to go by. It's comparing oranges and apples.
Your whole scenario is hypothetical anyway. Not a single person is proposing removing segregation and letting folk run amok with bevvy at the football. Taking a totally ridiculous made up scenario only weakens an argument. I don't think there are many who would argue rugby and football don't attract different crowds with some different mindsets but the vast majority who attend both sports are decent types who can behave. Talk of running battles at football matches every week is just unmitigated nonsense.
08-10-2024, 08:41 AM
National league level. Plenty games at that level in England attract bigger crowds than there are at the vast majority of rugby matches in Scotland. Take Edinburgh, Glasgow and internationals out the equation and you are talking one man and his dog stuff at a lot of games. Even Edinburgh at home to Leinster on a Friday night a couple of weeks ago only attracted 7000 fans. There was a comparable number at Oldham v Solihull Moors in the National League last weekend. Chester v Farsley Celtic in the National League North had 2500, that's about 25 times what my closest rugby team, Musselburgh RFC, get every week if the evidence of my eyes is anything to go by. It's comparing oranges and apples.
Your whole scenario is hypothetical anyway. Not a single person is proposing removing segregation and letting folk run amok with bevvy at the football. Taking a totally ridiculous made up scenario only weakens an argument. I don't think there are many who would argue rugby and football don't attract different crowds with some different mindsets but the vast majority who attend both sports are decent types who can behave. Talk of running battles at football matches every week is just unmitigated nonsense.
My response is in reply to the usual posters claiming rugby fans are as badly behaved as football fans, which clearly isn't the case unless anyone thinks a non segregated alcohol available Scotland V England or Hibs v Hearts derby game would pass off without major trouble inside the grounds.
We've had Edinburgh v Glasgow rugby derbies played at Murrayfield, during the festive season with 5pm kicks off with bigger crowds than what ER or Tynecastle can even hold. No segregation and alcohol fully available. No trouble whatsoever.
If rugby fans are as bad as football fans, how can that pass off without major incident? Again, replicate that exact scenario at Murrayfield for an Edinburgh Derby and it would be absolute carnage.
08-10-2024, 11:35 AM
Not in the away end we couldn’t.
You could where i was before the match, never had any but you could buy drink.
I wandered over to the police 10 minutes in and asked if i could go in to the Hibs support, copper was great, no bother son get yourself in.
A few Hibs fans followed me after watching me get through.
08-10-2024, 12:32 PM
My response is in reply to the usual posters claiming rugby fans are as badly behaved as football fans, which clearly isn't the case unless anyone thinks a non segregated alcohol available Scotland V England or Hibs v Hearts derby game would pass off without major trouble inside the grounds.
We've had Edinburgh v Glasgow rugby derbies played at Murrayfield, during the festive season with 5pm kicks off with bigger crowds than what ER or Tynecastle can even hold. No segregation and alcohol fully available. No trouble whatsoever.
If rugby fans are as bad as football fans, how can that pass off without major incident? Again, replicate that exact scenario at Murrayfield for an Edinburgh Derby and it would be absolute carnage.
Presume you don’t live near Murrayfield? Stand on corstorphine road pre and p post match, especially when scotland play Ireland. Also go to the street right behind the Murrayfield hotel and you will see some anti social behaviour and trouble, I’ve had plenty experience of it!
08-10-2024, 01:05 PM
Presume you don’t live near Murrayfield? Stand on corstorphine road pre and p post match, especially when scotland play Ireland. Also go to the street right behind the Murrayfield hotel and you will see some anti social behaviour and trouble, I’ve had plenty experience of it!
I stay literally about 3 minutes walk from Murrayfield stadium.
Never once seen any violent disorder involving Rugby fans. Stood in the Roseburn bar with Scotland fans mixing with English, Welsh,Irish and never seen any hint of trouble.
Now imagine you had a sizeable group of Hearts fans in the Roseburn prior to a Derby. What do you think would happen in that scenario?
Paulie Walnuts
08-10-2024, 01:59 PM
Your post was in response to mine and all I said was there’s not bother every week at the football. I never mentioned rugby once.
08-10-2024, 02:33 PM
I stay literally about 3 minutes walk from Murrayfield stadium.
Never once seen any violent disorder involving Rugby fans. Stood in the Roseburn bar with Scotland fans mixing with English, Welsh,Irish and never seen any hint of trouble.
Now imagine you had a sizeable group of Hearts fans in the Roseburn prior to a Derby. What do you think would happen in that scenario?
There's no mention of violence in her post. Just general anti-social behaviour. I live right next to the stadium and my local is The Hampton and I've seen plenty on rugby days.
08-10-2024, 02:44 PM
There's no mention of violence in her post. Just general anti-social behaviour. I live right next to the stadium and my local is The Hampton and I've seen plenty on rugby days.
They said anti social behaviour and "trouble". Trouble used in that context normally refers to violence, what else could it mean if it's being defined separately to anti social behaviour?
08-10-2024, 02:57 PM
They said anti social behaviour and "trouble". Trouble used in that context normally refers to violence, what else could it mean if it's being defined separately to anti social behaviour?
The trouble I was referring to is throwing on glass bottles to opposition fans also throwing bags of “empties” out their bus towards non rugby fans standing at bus stops (just a personal example there).
Away from the rugby….personally I think beer being served in the concourse is a good idea. My dad likes to be at the stadium early due to his mobility and getting parked, so having a pint with him pre match would be good.
The dalmeny
09-10-2024, 11:30 AM
The trouble I was referring to is throwing on glass bottles to opposition fans also throwing bags of “empties” out their bus towards non rugby fans standing at bus stops (just a personal example there).
Away from the rugby….personally I think beer being served in the concourse is a good idea. My dad likes to be at the stadium early due to his mobility and getting parked, so having a pint with him pre match would be good.
Been going to internationals since the 80s and never once seen a glass bottle thrown home or away. I can go with you maybe seeing this once but many more than that I just don't believe you. You can only comment from experience though.
I agree with your your comment re the concourse though, wouldn't be to keen on it being taken to seats.
09-10-2024, 11:51 AM
See that they will be selling beer at Hampden for the rugby.
10-10-2024, 05:55 PM
See that they will be selling beer at Hampden for the rugby.
That's fair enough, you'd have to be totally p1ssed to want to watch a rugby match.
14-10-2024, 01:16 PM
You can keep your overpriced plastic pints.
14-10-2024, 01:27 PM
You can keep your overpriced plastic pints.
What about those of us who might appreciate being treated like adults and given the choice as to whether or not we want an overpriced pint at a football game?
03-05-2025, 11:20 AM
I see in England MPs are urging a rethink to allow fans to drink in the stands now. When will the Scottish authorities drag us out of the dark ages and allow booze in football stadiums? Would make a massive difference to the match day experience and be massive for revenue across Scotland’s football clubs. Has to happen.
03-05-2025, 11:35 AM
I see in England MPs are urging a rethink to allow fans to drink in the stands now. When will the Scottish authorities drag us out of the dark ages and allow booze in football stadiums? Would make a massive difference to the match day experience and be massive for revenue across Scotland’s football clubs. Has to happen.
There’s probably more likelihood of our rulers deciding that pubs within a certain vicinity of Scottish stadiums are to be restricted from selling alcohol on a matchday than fans having the option of a beer on the concourse.
03-05-2025, 11:38 AM
The SNP will never allow drinking at the football.
They've still point blank refused to reinstate in on the trains despite numerous requests from Scotrail.
03-05-2025, 11:40 AM
They've still point blank refused to reinstate in on the trains despite numerous requests from Scotrail.
So unbelievably backwards - they treat us like absolute ***m.
03-05-2025, 11:43 AM
The alcohol ban is ignored by Scotrail staff. Was drinking on the train last week to Aberdeen. None of the staff care.
03-05-2025, 11:44 AM
Good revenue for the club. Personally, I'd swerve the chance to queue up for lager in plastic and wait till after the game for a decent pint.
03-05-2025, 11:46 AM
I posted when this thread came out that Government and Police Scotland were open to considering removing the ban, and that there might be a good chance of it happening. I have to say I think the opposite now in terms of it happening.
SFA and SPFL commissioned a "Football and Alcohol Scoping Study" research report from Stirling Uni - the way that report (published in March) was written has virtually killed it dead. Despite the findings being mixed in terms of for and against, the conclusions and headlines were heavily biased against the idea of Alcohol being introduced. Its almost like it was written by someone from Alcohol Focus Scotland. If the footballing authorities were serious about bringing alcohol back to stadia then that report was a huge own goal, as the headlines generated will make it very difficult for change.
https://www.stir.ac.uk/media/stirling/services/research/documents/policy-briefings/fasst-briefing-paper.pdf
Reports like that can often be swayed one way or another. The two authors of the research are from the social marketing and health institute at the University and a fair number of participants in the study were NHS professionals or football safety officers. Whilst there was club hospitality and CEO involvement, it doesn't appear their views were strong enough to make a positive case for change here, certainly not in the minds of the health institute researchers.:cb
03-05-2025, 12:03 PM
The alcohol ban is ignored by Scotrail staff. Was drinking on the train last week to Aberdeen. None of the staff care.
Not all staff. Plenty jobsworth ******s who revel in stopping you.
It's also still illegal.
03-05-2025, 12:37 PM
Not all staff. Plenty jobsworth ******s who revel in stopping you.
It's also still illegal.
It's not the staff's fault.
If they ignore people drinking and there's bother they will be in trouble themselves.