View Full Version : Sportscene highlights
30-12-2024, 04:26 PM
Declan Gallagher on Sky Ref Watch...both yellows for ARMSTRONG valid and correct.
And the Motherwell goal v the hun that the goalie punched in to his own net should have stood, what a surprise.
Renfrew_Hibby
30-12-2024, 04:33 PM
Declan Gallagher on Sky Ref Watch...both yellows for ARMSTRONG valid and correct.
SFA must dread that ref watch section on SKY. A genuinely competent former international ref running the rule over the weekly cock ups by our clueless/bent refs.
I'm sure he's highlighted a few debacles basically saying that he can't for the life of him think whet the ref was playing at.
30-12-2024, 04:44 PM
I don't know if it's just me but it seems to be every time Sportscene or Sportsound are covering Hibs in any programme they continually go on about the influence of Boyle. For me this is just a copout and really ignorant, because even though I've been a big fan of Boyle for years it's a long time since he's had a profound influence on how the team performs. Other players are now much more influential IMO. Boyle definitely still makes a good contribution from time to time, it's just, for me, it's as if the people on Sportsound or Sportscene, for whatever reason, still focus on him, which suggests to me that surprise surprise they don't really do much research on Hibs in the first place. Just my opinion.
While Boyle is not the player he was he has been a standout recently. Most influential player against Aberdeen and against Killie we were able to play without an out and out striker because of the effort he put in upfront and he still managed a great cross from which Hoilet was able to take the lead in the missof the season contest.
30-12-2024, 04:53 PM
Butland had a nightmare was slow going down for the Motherwell first had no chance with the second punched the ball into his own net for the third wrongly disallowed and made a pigs ear of a fourth narrowly but correctly ruled out for offside
It is like the SFA are running scared of The Rangers and the pundits do not want to get too involved in any detail
‘ Let’s move on ‘ Steven Thompson
30-12-2024, 05:43 PM
Cillian Sheridan seems a good pundit and a level above the usual, hopefully he gets used more.
Hun analysis predictable. We just get used to them getting twice as much chat as teams like motherwell, anything else would now seem peculiar.
Again, Hearts get quite an easy ride, good long look ar the positives, James Wilson and Prentice get the love. Skimming over Craig Gordons howler was just bizarre, Thomson actually interrupts Sheridan before Gordons name was even out of his lips :greengrin
In our game, Mcinnes got far too long to spout his nonsense on the red card, which was factually wrong. The first yellow could have been a red, and the second is also a yellow. Just straightforward. Not harsh.
Can you imagine if a Hibs keeper - any hibs keeper - had made that awful cock up?
There is no way it would be ignored / glossed over like that. Also, there is just not enough made of Hearts absolute horror show of a month.
Agree on Sheridan, he was very good. Actually thought Devlin was no bad as well.
Can you imagine if a Hibs keeper - any hibs keeper - had made that awful cock up?
There is no way it would be ignored / glossed over like that. Also, there is just not enough made of Hearts absolute horror show of a month.
Agree on Sheridan, he was very good. Actually thought Devlin was no bad as well.
The Craig Gordon love-in and inability to criticise any mistake he makes is bizarre. Commentators regularly Jizzing over him making routine saves.
Sure I read a stat saying he was in the bottom quarter of goalies in league for save % and expected goals conceded?
Great goalie in his day, and always plays out of his skin against us, but not his first mistake of the season.
30-12-2024, 05:54 PM
SFA must dread that ref watch section on SKY. A genuinely competent former international ref running the rule over the weekly cock ups by our clueless/bent refs.
I'm sure he's highlighted a few debacles basically saying that he can't for the life of him think whet the ref was playing at.
He's not that competent, was he not shown up as an imbecile the other week for doubling down on some opinion that was completely at odds with everyone else and the video evidence?
It's much like the Motherwell 'goal' or Hearts 'penalty'. The game is almost too subjective, we're splitting hairs over everything.
pollution
02-01-2025, 08:30 PM
I thought that the noise level was ok tonight except for the Rangers Celtic game which was so muffled as to be useless.
Why do they do this ? It's been happening for years .
HIBS NUTS
02-01-2025, 08:47 PM
I thought that the noise level was ok tonight except for the Rangers Celtic game which was so muffled as to be useless.
To cover all the sectarian singing?
02-01-2025, 08:49 PM
Without watching the show I’m guessing it’s to drown out a lot of things they’d prefer folk not to hear and pretend there’s not a problem.
03-01-2025, 08:01 AM
Ross County opener against the sheep away was a thing of beauty
Goal of the season material
Up-the-slope
05-01-2025, 02:24 PM
I think we can guess what parts of the match will be picked over and looked at in microscopic detail.... and the bits that won't
05-01-2025, 06:54 PM
Didn't talk about thr red card tackle in first half. Don't understand what the debate is all about regarding the penalty, if that happened anywhere else on the pitch is it a foul against Hagi, yes so if it is in the box it's a penalty.
Keepthefaith
05-01-2025, 06:54 PM
so they can show again the rangers goals from last weekend, but can't analyse a studs up tackle that we've had players sent off for? can guarantee if that was a Hibs player who made that tackle they'd have been calling for retrospective action!
nice to see them praise Boyle but felt they were indulging Clement by suggesting the pen was one Hibs got away with. campbell clearly shoved in the back and knocked over as a result.
Fergos
05-01-2025, 06:58 PM
Loved their repeat of the Celtic v Hun game before todays coverage…..pathetic.
The Keeper
05-01-2025, 06:58 PM
so they can show again the rangers goals from last weekend, but can't analyse a studs up tackle that we've had players sent off for? can guarantee if that was a Hibs player who made that tackle they'd have been calling for retrospective action!
nice to see them praise Boyle but felt they were indulging Clement by suggesting the pen was one Hibs got away with. campbell clearly shoved in the back and knocked over as a result.
05-01-2025, 07:04 PM
Only saw the Hun tackle on someone’s phone at the game on Sky Sports and the freeze frame looked like a straight red will be interesting to see what the VAR review will make of it ?
05-01-2025, 07:12 PM
05-01-2025, 07:13 PM
Only saw the Hun tackle on someone’s phone at the game on Sky Sports and the freeze frame looked like a straight red will be interesting to see what the VAR review will make of it ?
Said to my old man after the game (and no doubt echoing the thoughts of many other Hibs fans) that if that were the other way around, guaranteed that the Hibs player making that tackle would have been sent off
05-01-2025, 07:15 PM
Loved their repeat of the Celtic v Hun game before todays coverage…..pathetic.
Who knew the Hun couldn’t defend ?
They don’t like it up em !
05-01-2025, 07:17 PM
Didn't talk about thr red card tackle in first half. Don't understand what the debate is all about regarding the penalty, if that happened anywhere else on the pitch is it a foul against Hagi, yes so if it is in the box it's a penalty.
Hagi denies Campbell a potential goal-scoring opportunity, Campbell is closer to the ball and partly in front of Hagi who barges him over and trips him whilst making no attempt to play the ball, it's a penalty, clear as day.
05-01-2025, 07:20 PM
Hagi denies Campbell a potential goal-scoring opportunity, Campbell is closer to the ball and partly in front of Hagi who barges him over and trips him whilst making no attempt to play the ball, it's a penalty, clear as day.
:agree: so blatant. Its trolling to describe it as ‘controversial’; Marvin Bartley saying it was understandable that Clement was angry was ridiculous. Hes gone full-fat BBC Glasgow hasnt he?
05-01-2025, 07:21 PM
Voldemort is not happy.
xyz23jc
05-01-2025, 07:34 PM
:agree: so blatant. Its trolling to describe it as ‘controversial’; Marvin Bartley saying it was understandable that Clement was angry was ridiculous. Hes gone full-fat BBC Glasgow hasnt he?
Sadly, Yes! :agree:
Rumble de Thump
05-01-2025, 07:42 PM
The seasons-long pile on of abuse from the media on Porteous is starkly contrasted by their choice to not even acknowledge assaults from the Sevco players.
Porteous cleanly wins a ball and Sevco player throws himself to the ground feigning injury having not been touched and it's "leg breaker, the kid doesn't learn" chat for months. Sevco player stamps studs into someone's ankle nowhere near the ball and the pundits complain that Hibs were awarded a penalty after a Sevco player fouled in the box.
05-01-2025, 07:53 PM
Cammy Bell describing it as a 'coming together' hahaha. You are joking me.
The final angle from behind is the telling one. He just clatters into Campbell who is through on goal and sends him down.
I'm amazed this is even being discussed. I genuinely think if that goes against us I'm saying it's a daft challenge and don't have any complaints.
Describing the penalty incident as controversial is bizarre. It’s a stonewall penalty. I don’t remember any controversy regarding the penalty Rangers got at Easter Road a couple of years ago where Rocky was deemed to have fouled Antonio Colak. Must be one of the softest penalties ever and can’t remember any pundits saying it was soft or shouldn’t have been a penalty. The only pundit I’ve heard say today’s was a definite penalty was Ryan McGowan believe it or not.
05-01-2025, 08:05 PM
Describing the penalty incident as controversial is bizarre. It’s a stonewall penalty. I don’t remember any controversy regarding the penalty Rangers got at Easter Road a couple of years ago where Rocky was deemed to have fouled Antonio Colak. Must be one of the softest penalties ever and can’t remember any pundits saying it was soft or shouldn’t have been a penalty. The only pundit I’ve heard say today’s was a definite penalty was Ryan McGowan believe it or not.
It's a bit similar to the tangling of legs Rangers got a penalty for in the cup game last year. This had a hefty barge in the back first of all though, so is umpteen times more a penalty than that.
05-01-2025, 08:10 PM
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-premiership/12677360/rangers-win-penalty-at-easter-road-against-hibernian
I could never understand the criticism Rocky got on here for his ‘stupidity’. That level of contact in the box happens all the time. But the consensus was; clear penalty, move on. These decisions do not happen to Rantic though.
05-01-2025, 08:19 PM
Loved the bit with the mascots at the end :greengrin
05-01-2025, 08:53 PM
Just watched it showed the Diomande tackle in the highlights but conspicuously ignored it in the analysis. Went on and on and on about the penalty and how controversial it was, just stop it. Clear angle showing Hagi pushed over Josh in the back. Penalty clear as day but no the agenda is Clemente and Rangers are hard done to. Absolute nonsense as per usual
05-01-2025, 08:53 PM
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-premiership/12677360/rangers-win-penalty-at-easter-road-against-hibernian
I could never understand the criticism Rocky got on here for his ‘stupidity’. That level of contact in the box happens all the time. But the consensus was; clear penalty, move on. These decisions do not happen to Rantic though.
Yes that was a putrid decision
06-01-2025, 05:36 AM
Sums it up for me
Sutton on sky during the game said
“He draws the foul” and “it’s a soft one”
Unbelievable west coast bias, we should be use to it by now, but it never fails to baffle
Other end of the pitch, that’s a penalty and it wouldn’t be questioned, the Hibs defender would be called clumsy etc
06-01-2025, 06:13 AM
Loved the bit with the mascots at the end :greengrin
Aye that was brilliant.
Sums it up for me
Unbelievable west coast bias, we should be use to it by now, but it never fails to baffle
Other end of the pitch, that’s a penalty and it wouldn’t be questioned, the Hibs defender would be called clumsy etc
He’s not the only one. My brother sent me this written by Keith Jackshun and tbh it doesn’t surprise me in the slightest
The Belgian appeared to jab the finger of blame at match ref John Beaton and his helpers in the VAR bunker after twice seeing his side throw away the lead. It may have sounded like a deflectionary tactic given that he has made a habit of looking around for someone else to take the fall for him throughout this abysmal run of results away from home.
But - on this particular occasion - he probably had a point.
When Beaton pointed to the spot he appeared not to realise that Josh Campbell had whipped the legs from under Ianis Hagi rather than the other way around as the pair clattered into one another inside Liam Kelly’s box.
It’s beyond belief the west coast media’s bias and take on this and tbh is a non story and a clear penalty.
06-01-2025, 06:53 AM
He’s not the only one. My brother sent me this written by Keith Jackshun and tbh it doesn’t surprise me in the slightest
The Belgian appeared to jab the finger of blame at match ref John Beaton and his helpers in the VAR bunker after twice seeing his side throw away the lead. It may have sounded like a deflectionary tactic given that he has made a habit of looking around for someone else to take the fall for him throughout this abysmal run of results away from home.
When Beaton pointed to the spot he appeared not to realise that Josh Campbell had whipped the legs from under Ianis Hagi rather than the other way around as the pair clattered into one another inside Liam Kelly’s box.
It’s beyond belief the west coast media’s bias and take on this and tbh is a non story and a clear penalty.
:faf: Its pure fabrication
06-01-2025, 06:54 AM
Sums it up for me
I dont think Sutton was wrong, he did draw it by getting his body in front of Hagi. It was clever by Campbell, a professional bringing a penalty for his team.
..........unlike the Keith Jackson Daily Record quote in the post above, but we have known for years that he is a clown on a declining publication and best ignored.
Renfrew_Hibby
06-01-2025, 07:09 AM
Hopefully the penalty and the studs up challenge are covered on sky's ref watch, be interesting to hear Dermot Gallaghers take on it.
Berwickhibby
06-01-2025, 07:17 AM
Clement said in the interview something along the lines of instructing his players to go down in the box if there is contact …..FFS the Huns have been going down in the box whether there is contact or not for the last fifty odd years, that I have been watching Scottish fitba ….
06-01-2025, 07:31 AM
Will be interesting to see if The Rangers approach the SFA and ask for their thoughts as they did a few weeks ago in the final against Celtic ?
I doubt it somehow
It’s beyond belief the west coast media’s bias and take on this and tbh is a non story and a clear penalty.Simple gaslighting.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
06-01-2025, 08:09 AM
Expect nothing less from Keith Jackshun. A complete Rangers mouthpiece and cheerleader and an absolute joke of a 'journalist.'
06-01-2025, 08:28 AM
Will be interesting to see if The Rangers approach the SFA and ask for their thoughts as they did a few weeks ago in the final against Celtic ?
I doubt it somehow
Still waiting on them commenting on the disallowed Motherwell goal when Buckland punched it into his own goal.
06-01-2025, 08:30 AM
Just watched it showed the Diomande tackle in the highlights but conspicuously ignored it in the analysis. Went on and on and on about the penalty and how controversial it was, just stop it. Clear angle showing Hagi pushed over Josh in the back. Penalty clear as day but no the agenda is Clemente and Rangers are hard done to. Absolute nonsense as per usual
I would be fizzing if a Hibs defender made that challenge.
06-01-2025, 08:30 AM
Still waiting on them commenting on the disallowed Motherwell goal when Buckland punched it into his own goal.
Yeah that was a clanger of massive proportions goalkeeping error all day long
06-01-2025, 08:33 AM
Thought MB got the penalty analysis spot on ‘ These things even out over the season’
Try telling that to Voldemort :greengrin
06-01-2025, 08:35 AM
Thought MB got the penalty analysis spot on ‘ These things even out over the season’
Try telling that to Voldemort :greengrin
He also said ‘i can see why clement is angry’??! Can you aye? Unfortunately Marvin is fast becoming just like the rest of them
06-01-2025, 08:43 AM
He also said ‘i can see why clement is angry’??! Can you aye? Unfortunately Marvin is fast becoming just like the rest of them
Must admit at the game I thought it was a stonewaller now I see it more of a coming together if anything Hagi is slightly in front but side on then their hips collide and Josh cleverly goes down nice wee ball in from Gayle that created the chance
Hagi is clumsy in the challenge
Brother Beaton gave it so it must be a pen that is enough for me :greengrin
Got to remember that he tried to tell everyone that whole entirety of the Rangers team was 'assaulted' on the pitch after the 2016 SC final. He's up there with Ian Rankin for his works of fiction.
06-01-2025, 09:36 AM
That Rubezic for The Sheep is an animal
Straight red
Aberdeen in freefall
Pleasing
06-01-2025, 09:45 AM
Campbell is running on to the ball, Hagi is running across Campbell and makes first contact into the back of Josh. That's the foul. If Josh had caught Hagi's leg first, then maybe there's a case,but even then Hagi is at risk playing the man rather than the ball.
06-01-2025, 09:51 AM
It’s a Hibs foul anywhere else on the pitch. The fact that it’s in the oppositions box means it’s a penalty to Hibs.
Anything else is pure deflection.
Same furore when we got a penalty at ibrox. Is no one allowed to get penalties against them?
06-01-2025, 09:58 AM
They spent half the time disputing the penalty decision and hee haw about the red card tackle
06-01-2025, 10:09 AM
They spent half the time disputing the penalty decision and hee haw about the red card tackle
Playing to the Hun Hoards. Don’t want any strangers coming to their house.
06-01-2025, 10:16 AM
im amazed about the debate relating to our penalty, its a stonewaller.
All the debate does is highlight the media bias against us.
Chorley Hibee
06-01-2025, 10:25 AM
Laughable that it's even a discussion.
It was a clear penalty.
All this does is show up these cowardly 'pundits' for the forelock tugging Hun apologists that they are.
Bartley quickly turning into one of them too.
06-01-2025, 10:28 AM
All teams concede controversial penalties but when it is Rangers, particularly against Hibs it is a national disaster that requires an Inquiry with a capital I.
06-01-2025, 11:14 AM
No other club has decisions that go against them resulting in the intense scrutiny and examination as those against Rangers.
It’s the one thing comedy writers like Jackson thumping tables, but the national broadcaster playing along too is just classic modern day Sportscene.
In some ways I kind of half wish it actually was a wrong call rather than the stonewaller it was. There would have been a huge amount of satisfaction to come from that.
06-01-2025, 11:34 AM
Yeah, the studs on ankle tackle was identical to the one the St Johnston player saw red for last week.
Not even a yellow from Mr Beaton , suppose we should be grateful we got a free kick.
06-01-2025, 11:51 AM
The BBC Charter says its mission is this:
"The BBC should provide high-quality news coverage to international audiences, firmly based on British values of accuracy, impartiality, and fairness. Its international services should put the United Kingdom in a world context, aiding understanding of the United Kingdom as a whole"
British values (to the ultra British people) are not Scotland, not Wales, certainly not Europe, not minorities, and it will play to the Rangers
It will never change and the whole notion of Britain and British is yesterday's pizza
Clement said in the interview something along the lines of instructing his players to go down in the box if there is contact …..FFS the Huns have been going down in the box whether there is contact or not for the last fifty odd years, that I have been watching Scottish fitba ….
A confession that they coach the players to win dodgy penalties.
06-01-2025, 12:00 PM
I can only find the BBC's 60 second highlights on the website, but all the other games are available?
SickBoy32
06-01-2025, 12:28 PM
The BBC Charter says its mission is this:
"The BBC should provide high-quality news coverage to international audiences, firmly based on British values of accuracy, impartiality, and fairness. Its international services should put the United Kingdom in a world context, aiding understanding of the United Kingdom as a whole"
British values (to the ultra British people) are not Scotland, not Wales, certainly not Europe, not minorities, and it will play to the Rangers
It will never change and the whole notion of Britain and British is yesterday's pizza
Yep 👍
A dreadfully biased service - be that in the political sphere, or football (both sportscene and the radio offering)
Glad to see the number of folk bumping the archaic License Fee continues to grow year on year.
06-01-2025, 12:29 PM
Really don't understand the debate, penalty all day and everyday, end off
DickieDastardly
06-01-2025, 12:31 PM
At the match i thought we were a tad fortunate to get the penalty, as it looked to me as if Hagi had got marginally in front of Campbell; nothing I've seen since changes that opinion. However, delighted to get it and for sure that's the type of decision the OF always get against everyone else.
Not sure what the VAR officials were looking at for the potential red card, It seemed pretty clear. As mentioned earlier Porteous was hounded by the media for a challenge at Ibrox when he actually won the ball, similarly NMW was red carded when he cleanly won the ball against Lundstrum at ER, in that one he actually never connected with the plastic hard man.
06-01-2025, 12:33 PM
Cammy Bell describing it as a 'coming together' hahaha. You are joking me.
The final angle from behind is the telling one. He just clatters into Campbell who is through on goal and sends him down.
I'm amazed this is even being discussed. I genuinely think if that goes against us I'm saying it's a daft challenge and don't have any complaints.
Should be Cammy Bell-End
babahibs
06-01-2025, 12:47 PM
It's not the tangle of legs that result in the foul, it's the barge into Campbells back a split second before.
It's as stonewall a penalty as you can get.
I'm sure the officials would've loved to cancel it, but they simply couldn't
percy veer
06-01-2025, 02:32 PM
its clumsy much like the pen rangers got against us in march when obita fouled didnt see much anger then
Johnny Clash
07-01-2025, 06:48 AM
It's not the tangle of legs that result in the foul, it's the barge into Campbells back a split second before.
It's as stonewall a penalty as you can get.
I'm sure the officials would've loved to cancel it, but they simply couldn't
That’s so true … Hagi deliberately swings his hip into Josh to try force him off the ball. It’s not just two players colliding. 100% penalty.
If it was a controversial penalty, Beaton wouldn't have given it.
11-01-2025, 06:39 PM
Never usually watch this live, just catch up and fast forward until I see our badge. Going to go back to that approach. Over 20 minutes of Celtc. Brutal.
11-01-2025, 07:38 PM
Very much enjoyed their take on Halliday today :greengrin
11-01-2025, 07:38 PM
Wow, credit to Sportscene and McCann who actually bothered their erse to do proper Hibs analysis. Insightful. Thanks BBC.
11-01-2025, 08:48 PM
I normally record on series link so I can fast forward through all the guff too but it didn't seem to record tonight and it's not on the iPlayer (that I can find!)
Edit: Found it lol
11-01-2025, 08:52 PM
Dundee Utd taking over from Hearts as spawniest team going.
Every time I’ve watched their games the other team seem to drill them but Utd come out with three points. Crazy stuff.
11-01-2025, 08:53 PM
Dundee Utd taking over from Hearts as spawniest team going.
Every time I’ve watched their games the other team seem to drill them but Utd come out with three points. Crazy stuff.
Aberdeen had the mantle for a bit before Utd.
11-01-2025, 09:08 PM
No replays of caddens injury. Anyone seen it back properly?
The Motherwell player immediately had a go at Cadden as he lay on the ground. Seemed odd when you see his nose broke!
11-01-2025, 09:13 PM
And now having watched it, I still can't work out of Boyler was onside on not, he seemed to be leaning well forward.
Looks like they drew the lines in crayon
And now having watched it, I still can't work out of Boyler was onside on not, he seemed to be leaning well forward.
I thought he looked off at the time and also on the highlights. The drawing of the lines did look odd and there's even a little gap but I'm not convinced. I'm think VAR has done us a favour, it's due us a few.
HIBS NUTS
11-01-2025, 09:57 PM
I thought he looked off at the time and also on the highlights. The drawing of the lines did look odd and there's even a little gap but I'm not convinced. I'm think VAR has done us a favour, it's due us a few.
It looked offside at the game, the highlights and VAR .
11-01-2025, 10:04 PM
Maybe there's no conspiracy at all.
HibeeMackenzie
11-01-2025, 10:11 PM
Wow, credit to Sportscene and McCann who actually bothered their erse to do proper Hibs analysis. Insightful. Thanks BBC.
Neil McCann strangely always seems to talk well about hibs
11-01-2025, 10:14 PM
Neil McCann strangely always seems to talk well about hibs
Really like McCann.
ChilliEater
12-01-2025, 06:10 AM
Maybe there's no conspiracy at all.
That's what they want you to think :wink:
12-01-2025, 06:12 AM
Thought Brian Graham spoke well as an experienced pro
Never worked out for him at Hibs wasn’t to be but scored some good goals for us
I think offside has to be from a part of your body that can score a goal, if his arm is offside that doesn't count.
12-01-2025, 07:31 AM
I think offside has to be from a part of your body that can score a goal, if his arm is offside that doesn't count.
Looked like Obita’s cross took a deflection off the nearest Motherwell defender trying to close him down
MountcastleHibs
18-01-2025, 10:51 PM
Amateur hour on Sportscene again. Amy Canavan repeatedly calling Rudi Molotnikov, Rudi Molotkinov in the highlights package.
18-01-2025, 10:56 PM
Amateur hour on Sportscene again. Amy Canavan repeatedly calling Rudi Molotnikov, Rudi Molotkinov in the highlights package.
I’ve got to say, thats not exactly broadcasting crime of the century:greengrin
I actually feel like its been better recently, i liked Peter Grant looking and talking like Tony Soprano’s long-lost Scottish cousin. Analysis decent too.
PHeffernan
18-01-2025, 10:58 PM
Very strange as Amy was reporting at another match today. Stephen Craigan was their guy at Easter Road.
Post match dubbing commentary in haste is fraught with danger as Miss Canavan will now know.
18-01-2025, 10:59 PM
What the cocking otter was the Ross County defender thinking of? Raised an eyebrow.
18-01-2025, 11:00 PM
What the cocking otter was the Ross County defender thinking of? Raised an eyebrow.
A bet on?
18-01-2025, 11:03 PM
A bet on?
It’s certainly very difficult to put a logical explanation to it.
18-01-2025, 11:05 PM
It’s certainly very difficult to put a logical explanation to it.
At first i thought he might have put the arm up to claim for a foul, but that wasnt it either. Just no reason to do that.
Trying to model his game on Joe Jordan.
18-01-2025, 11:57 PM
So what did they have to tell us about Hearts?
19-01-2025, 07:56 AM
Last night’s show was pathetic. Really short section on the hibs game and the in show graphics/titles looked like a 10yr old did them.
Alan62
19-01-2025, 08:25 AM
The match summaries were painfully amateurish.
10-02-2025, 09:51 AM
The Rangers 0 v 1 Queens Park
Compulsive viewing Billy Dodds and Richard Foster saying never a corner in the build up to the Spiders’ goal and both said definitely a The Rangers penalty and was well struck by Tav 😂
Oh ma aching sides
Jesus wept
The good news both reckon Voldemort gets to keep the gig
Should be an enquiry into the blatant cheating that goes on in our National game and everyone just accepts it
Kevin Nisbet making the unmissable missable 😂
10-02-2025, 09:57 AM
Notice the Hibs highlights they totally ignored the Campbell penalty but showed the Bowie one. Again appalling refereeing being protected. Maybe Clancy got to edit it.
10-02-2025, 09:57 AM
The Rangers 0 v 1 Queens Park
Compulsive viewing Billy Dodds and Richard Foster saying never a corner in the build up to the Spiders’ goal and both said definitely a The Rangers penalty and was well struck by Tav 😂
Oh ma aching sides
Jesus wept
The good news both reckon Voldemort gets to keep the gig
Is that good news, Billy?
Yesterday's result was a shocker for him, obviously, but he's achieving everything else he's expected to and more.
2nd in the league by a stretch and into the last 16 of the Europa league whilst playing some good football against Man U and Spurs.
I'd rather they sack him with a big payout and bring in someone with entirely different ideas so they have to break the bank again to sign players.
10-02-2025, 10:00 AM
Yesterday's result was a shocker for him, obviously, but he's achieving everything else he's expected to and more.
2nd in the league by a stretch and into the last 16 of the Europa league whilst playing some good football against Man U and Spurs.
I'd rather they sack him with a big payout and bring in someone with entirely different ideas so they have to break the bank again to sign players.
Doing really well in Europe not so good away from home domestically
Thought they were too casual and complacent yesterday and started with not their strongest line up they got what they deserved
He's here!
10-02-2025, 10:01 AM
Just as long as whoever's in charge has them bounce back to beat Hearts.
10-02-2025, 10:09 AM
Notice the Hibs highlights they totally ignored the Campbell penalty but showed the Bowie one. Again appalling refereeing being protected. Maybe Clancy got to edit it.
You cant judge from sportscene highlights what a game is actually like half the time. Its like being at a different game.
10-02-2025, 10:16 AM
Hibs could have had a few penalties if VAR was in situ but you can only play the hand you are dealt
Happy to be in the draw
Fingers and toes crossed 🤞
16-02-2025, 11:11 PM
‘What was Manneh thinking? He goes flying in!’ Says the commentator.
Its like im watching something else.
17-02-2025, 06:40 AM
Its like im watching something else.I did laugh at that - was he in a cupboard with no view of the game doing the commentary?
[emoji23]
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
He's here!
17-02-2025, 07:48 AM
Its like im watching something else.
Bewildering, especially as I think the commentary for the highlights of the 'lesser' games is often added after the match. All three studio pundits said it was never a second booking. There were also comments about it being 'a long afternoon' for the Hibs fans, our lack of shots on target and a general implication we were outplayed and clinging on for a point. The guy can only be a yam.
22-02-2025, 07:21 PM
Just watching Sportscene highlights and obviously ours were fabby.
Huns game was on next and there were a lot of empty seats at Ibrox before the St. M's goals, the natives are revolting (but we knew that anyway!)
jonny
22-02-2025, 07:31 PM
Just watching Sportscene highlights and obviously ours were fabby.
Huns game was on next and there were a lot of empty seats at Ibrox before the St. M's goals, the natives are revolting (but we knew that anyway!)
Big point for me was the Motherwell manager cutting about the touchline in a pair of faded blue jeans and a Stone Island zippy LoL
HIBS NUTS
22-02-2025, 07:43 PM
They dismissed hibs penalty very quickly, without really showing it properly, it looked a penalty to me.
And they thought the Celtic goal should have stood, even though the still shot, showed it was out, and the hibs defenders stopped as they thought it was out.
They also said the assistant never gave the ball out, the same assistant who was absolutely terrible all game.
22-02-2025, 07:46 PM
They dismissed hibs penalty very quickly, without really showing it properly, it looked a penalty to me.
And they thought the Celtic goal should have stood, even though the still shot, showed it was out, and the hibs defenders stopped as they thought it was out.
They also said the assistant never gave the ball out, the same assistant who was absolutely terrible all game.
Unbelievable but not in any way surprising they could suggest a Celtic goal should stand despite evidence showing the opposite. So sick of it.
Chorley Hibee
22-02-2025, 07:48 PM
So despite the evidence showing the ball was out, the Sportscene panel thought the goal should have stood?
Am I right?
**** me, no wonder nobody watches that pile of ***** anymore.
Musselbound
22-02-2025, 07:50 PM
Saw it a couple of times on Sportscene and definitely didn't think it was a penalty myself. I reckon var got the big decisions right and Rodgers talking nonsense that assistant can see if the ball was out better than var.
Saved me saying all that 👍
22-02-2025, 08:06 PM
VAR looked at it and could see the ball was well over the line and rather than let the goal stand decided to correctly chalk it off. Sportscene would rather give a wrong goal because they don’t have goal line cameras and would rather trust a linesman who could miraculously see through a Celtic player to tell Campbell was offside despite being on. A Rangers fan presenter, an ex Celtic player and an ex Jambo/Hun and not one of them thought the righ decision had been reached. Shambles of a programme, weegie biased pish.
22-02-2025, 09:11 PM
So despite the evidence showing the ball was out, the Sportscene panel thought the goal should have stood?
Am I right?
**** me, no wonder nobody watches that pile of ***** anymore.
Ah, but even though the only available camera angle showed the ball was out, an on the line camera may have shown that a micrometer of the ball might have been on the line so Celtic should have been given the benefit of the doubt.
What a crock of pish.
22-02-2025, 09:33 PM
Peter Grant going on about clear and obvious for a factual decision... The least we should expect as licence payers is pundits who have a basic grasp of the rules they're on to talk about.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 09:42 PM
The least we should expect is honest reflective truthful views.
Never going to happen on our TV.
Most worrying thing is they would argue they do.
Trump like I think. Only difference is the majority of the world don’t give a s*** about them or us or our football, so it stays parochial .. and they can rule in their wee world here .. with enough people to back it, support it, ignore it, justify it, defend it.
Pretty sad really.
That is OUR Scottish football in a nutshell.
He's here!
22-02-2025, 09:42 PM
'It looks to the naked eye as though it MIGHT be out,' concedes Steven Thompson.
I'm watching the same freeze frame as him which clearly shows the whole ball at least a couple of inches over the line. There's no 'might' about it.
And how about the commentary?
'But no red card' in reference to the bewildering VAR check on Rocky's attempted shot. As though it was somehow close to being a red and he can consider himself lucky?!
'Hibs have beaten Celtic JUST ONCE in their last 24 games.' Stated as though that's some sort of scarcely believable disgrace against a team which win pretty much every week.
Musselbound
22-02-2025, 10:00 PM
Most farcical debate of the night was surely the one about whether one of the St Mirren goals should have been disallowed. I thought one of the angles showed Rangers defender clipped his own feet clear as day.
The freeze frame they showed, you can actually see green grass between the line and the ball, that tells you it was over, but Celtic minded Grant couldn't agree, fed up of the Weegie bias on the the programme, I generally fast forward most of it.
bayhibs
22-02-2025, 10:13 PM
Peter Grant continued to refer to 'we' and 'they'. Someone should have told him it was the BBC not Celtic TV. Pathetic
22-02-2025, 10:31 PM
Peter Grant continued to refer to 'we' and 'they'. Someone should have told him it was the BBC not Celtic TV. Pathetic
Was just about to ask the same thing! 'we should've stopped the cross'
****! Sit doon wee man, you stopped nothing.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 11:05 PM
ah f it i’m going to watch … curious .. partly and mostly to see my team be so good today .. and partly to realise how they won’t present it that way and i’ll be p’d of at myself for giving them time .. might not happen again tho ..
.. and the consolation (isn’t that ironic) is .. I’ll see Hibs beat celtic again 💚
Cabbage-Patch
22-02-2025, 11:21 PM
I tuned in to see the tears and was not disappointed. Two bitter west coast darlings in Peter Grant and Neil McCann saying the goal should have stood when there's at least two camera angles showing the whole ball over the byline is embarrassing. It's not even close. Get it right F****** up you BBC and your Glasgow bias.
cubehindthegoal
22-02-2025, 11:31 PM
I tuned in to see the tears and was not disappointed. Two bitter west coast darlings in Peter Grant and Neil McCann saying the goal should have stood when there's at least two camera angles showing the whole ball over the byline is embarrassing. It's not even close. Get it right F****** up you BBC and your Glasgow bias.
I’ve actually not yet switched it on .. on pause.. want to see my team win v celtic and could watch it on repeat .. but it’s the thought of everyone on bbc or sky or wherever (BBC are the worst though) spoiling my enjoyment ..: it’s got to that jeez.
What a crap country we can show ourselves to be in football, to those who watch and think, but beyond football we are .. I would say … really good for a “wee” place .. not easy being a football fan in Scotland .. but .. is - mostly - being a Hibs fan though. Well .. forums are hard like. No offence to those who here do know how to talk and chat and debate and disagree and chat more. You know who you are .. not sure I’m one of you though like, but I am honest and speak and try to support our club always.
LEaston87
22-02-2025, 11:32 PM
Peter Grant’s minstrel button shirt was almost as bad as his analysis
PHeffernan
22-02-2025, 11:36 PM
Most farcical debate of the night was surely the one about whether one of the St Mirren goals should have been disallowed. I thought one of the angles showed Rangers defender clipped his own feet clear as day.
So did I.
The boy made a complete arse of it for both goals.
DinkyTwo
22-02-2025, 11:37 PM
"VAR isn't good enough, we can't possibly know if the ball is over the line fully.
We should go with the on-field decision instead. "
On-field decisions today -
Campbell offside (not offside)
Ignore Hibs penalty, Celtic only miss due to Rocky clearing off the line in the same phase of play - not even mentioned.
Celtic equalise, officials miss that the ball is over the line.
Aye, ok. You mean, ignore VAR when you want to cheat? 28549
PHeffernan
22-02-2025, 11:54 PM
The freeze frame they showed, you can actually see green grass between the line and the ball, that tells you it was over, but Celtic minded Grant couldn't agree, fed up of the Weegie bias on the the programme, I generally fast forward most of it.
It doesn't.
All that tells you is that the part of the ball that touches the grass was beyond the line. It doesn't tell you the whole circumference of the ball was beyond the line.
VAR made the best decision they could with the footage available from a camera on the 18 yard line.
If Celtic want a definitive decision in the future they can use some of their 75 million quid in the bank to pay for the all singing all dancing version of VAR and maybe even for a sensor in the ball like they had at the World Cup.
Sounds like a waste of money. For me cooncil VAR is good enough for the 14th best league in Europe in a country of 5.5 million people. It corrects the worst decisions of human referees like the two it corrected today.
cubehindthegoal
23-02-2025, 12:02 AM
It doesn't.
All that tells you is that the part of the ball that touches the grass was beyond the line. It doesn't tell you the whole circumference of the ball was beyond the line.
VAR made the best decision they could with the footage available from a camera on the 18 yard line.
If Celtic want a definitive decision in the future they can use some of their 75 million quid in the bank to pay for the all singing all dancing version of VAR and maybe even for a sensor in the ball.
Sounds like a waste of money to me. For me cooncil VAR is good enough for the 14th best league in Europe in a country of 5.5 million people.
This is why I still haven’t managed to put it on. All nonsense around it. Debating untruths. F it. It’s bed for me, and I won’t watch my team again tonight beating celtic deservedly. What the f*** is wrong with this place. Or some people to be fair. And good night.
PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 12:06 AM
This is why I still haven’t managed to put it on. All nonsense around it. Debating untruths. F it. It’s bed for me, and I won’t watch my team again tonight beating celtic deservedly. What the f*** is wrong with this place. Or some people to be fair. And good night.
23-02-2025, 12:37 AM
Peter Grant going on about clear and obvious for a factual decision... The least we should expect as licence payers is pundits who have a basic grasp of the rules they're on to talk about.
Peter Grant is the most pro-celtc analyst that's around. He is literally the popes number two.
cubehindthegoal
23-02-2025, 12:43 AM
Why the smile in reply to my post about nonsense around the facts we see before us ?
I’m sure I don’t get your meaning. Def off to bed now lol .. though did find a feed without commentators to watch again. Was good 😊
Cat Stanton
23-02-2025, 12:51 AM
I usually despair of this tedious Sportscene conspiracy anti-hibs stuff. However...I've got to say... Jesus wept, the ball was clearly - clearly - over the line. The chat yhat the goal should have stood is ludicrous.
cubehindthegoal
23-02-2025, 01:17 AM
I usually despair of this tedious Sportscene conspiracy anti-hibs stuff. However...I've got to say... Jesus wept, the ball was clearly - clearly - over the line. The chat yhat the goal should have stood is ludicrous.
You mean BBC I assume. Sportscene are a milder version of their other broadcasts. But it’s all the same broadcaster. You know what .. for me, with all respect, I have long tired of people seeing in front of their eyes what happens in many aspects of Scottish football… from the accepted bigotry in Scotland, to the cheating that is seen as a low level thing in football m, and the media “subtle” bias. Tried to sleep .. but you know what .. sometimes we need to speak back against those who do what they do in football here … and what is worse .. those who defend it .. like trump behind the scenes folk - whether they’re scared or believe - they back things that are simply untrue .. not that this is politics .. but … what our club is wading through year after year, is a similar mire of utter untruths. Makes me sad to think this is what it’s came to .. no better, no improvement.
Sure I’m just an old daft man who doesn’t get it though.
Sick of it like. Wish folk would open their eyes. Scottish football .. do you ever wonder why different teams share the winning in american football .. at least they get that right .: and only two teams win the league here. And we accept that is how it will be .. forever .. total joke if you think about it.
PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 01:19 AM
We would only know if it was clearly over the line if there was a camera in line with the bye line.
What gets me is we have the VAR we have and it is the best chance of getting the big decisions right but players, managers and especially supporters just can't accept VAR decisions made in good faith. In this case the ball looks out and that is the decision VAR made based on the footage available to them and I would accept it if it was against Hibs.
We lived for decades with horrendous decisions and now we argue about bawhair decisions. The Rodgers logic is that because a definitive decision could not be reached due to the limits of our VAR they should have stuck with the linesman's decision. In England clubs have armies of lawyers so they don't have to accept FA decisions which they don't like. It's all modern day bawbaggery predicated on folk getting their own way.
23-02-2025, 03:09 AM
If you think Sportscene is bad ... Sky News International went from English Premier review to .."and in Scotland, Rangers missed out on a chance to put pressure on Celtic when they failed to pick up 3 points at home to St Mirren, leaving Celtic in prime position in the race for the title."
Nothing wrong with that, but the visuals running at the time was Triantis picking up the ball in midfield, passing to Campbell, who slots the ball into the Celtic net !!
Not one mention of Hibs, or Hibs beating Celtic.
It's like, we don't dare talk about Celtic getting beat (while showing them .. actually getting beat) or show Rangers getting beat while talking about them .... getting beat.
Even my wife (who has zero interest in football), turned to me said that report was completely confusing and made no sense.
23-02-2025, 04:47 AM
If you think Sportscene is bad ... Sky News International went from English Premier review to .."and in Scotland, Rangers missed out on a chance to put pressure on Celtic when they failed to pick up 3 points at home to St Mirren, leaving Celtic in prime position in the race for the title."
Nothing wrong with that, but the visuals running at the time was Triantis picking up the ball in midfield, passing to Campbell, who slots the ball into the Celtic net !!
Not one mention of Hibs, or Hibs beating Celtic.
It's like, we don't dare talk about Celtic getting beat (while showing them .. actually getting beat) or show Rangers getting beat while talking about them .... getting beat.
Even my wife (who has zero interest in football), turned to me said that report was completely confusing and made no sense.
BBC Scotland scrolling news feed this morning had a video from the game, no highlights, just footage of Brenda haranguing the officials at the end, like the officials were somehow the main story :dunno:
23-02-2025, 06:30 AM
The thing that gets me about the likes of Peter Grant and Brendan Rodgers complaint about the camera angle used is if that decision was given in Rangers favour against them in an important old firm game, they’d be spitting feathers about it.
I get the argument that if we had Hawkeye and were able to use the system that highlighted the World Cup decision that showed the whole ball wasn’t over the line, then there would be more conclusive proof that could be provided, in the absence of that though, the VAR team need to use the technology available to them. The technology available to them showed the ball as clearly being over the line so they need to go with that. If that doesn’t satisfy Grant and Rodgers then tough titties.
Also, don’t remember hearing on sportscene a reference to the difference in budgets between us and Celtic?
23-02-2025, 06:39 AM
I watch sport scene on catch up.. sound down.. fast forward through the analysis… much less stressful.. I did see the Eastenders nonsense at the start though.. what on earth was that about… amateurish and embarrassing… why is a Scottish football show even mentioning a 3rd rate soap about London ?
Part of me is in the ‘get it up ye’s’ frame of mind, them finding petty things to greet about rather than give Hibs any credit
Another part of me is thinking, if that had been Hibs against Dundee/St Johnstone/Aberdeen etc, the var decision would have been accepted without comment by the media, and barely discussed in highlights. Fans of either side would talk about it, but that’s it. But because it’s Celtic, because we didn’t just lie down for the standard 3-0 defeat, because Rodgers is a classless, entitled wee nyaff who can’t ever give credit to the opposition, because the ref couldn’t bend the rules enough for a Celtic result, it’s getting talked about as if it’s some crime of the century.
This noise is all about Celtic putting pressure on officials. When Maeda went down in the box early yesterday, it was a blatant dive, but he sits in the ground and glares at the ref, I said to my old man, he’s not expecting a penalty there, but it’s the constant pressure and asking the officials to make decisions over and over and over, eventually they’ll give one just through sheer force of numbers and pressure. Same when rangers went on and on about not getting a penalty in the cup final, the constant noise puts pressure on the officials (who are already leaning towards rangers and Celtic anyway).
23-02-2025, 08:58 AM
Big point for me was the Motherwell manager cutting about the touchline in a pair of faded blue jeans and a Stone Island zippy LoL
Has the look of a Poundland Klopp about him :greengrin
HarpOnHibee
23-02-2025, 09:16 AM
In a normal country, there would have been more focus on the ignored penalty call that almost led to a Celtic goal. Not to mention another blatant foul on a Hibs player that also almost led to a Celtic goal. The referee stopping the game for non-head injuries on Celtic players, but only after Hibs gained possession and were on the attack. The studs in challenge where the Celtic player instantly received a yellow card, no VAR review for a potential red. (Not that I think it should have been a red, but we've seen them dished out to us so far this season as well as other non-OF clubs). Then the attempt from VAR to send off Rocky for having the audacity to shoot. Not to mention looking for any reason not to award our perfectly legitimate goals.
But no, a ball that clearly goes out of play is the big controversial talking point. As it robs Celtic of their sense of entitlement. No credit to Hibs and no humble pie or class from them or their media propagandists.
23-02-2025, 09:19 AM
In a normal country, there would have been more focus on the ignored penalty call that almost led to a Celtic goal. Not to mention another blatant foul on a Hibs player that also almost led to a Celtic goal. The referee stopping the game for non-head injuries on Celtic players, but only after Hibs gained possession and were on the attack. The studs in challenge where the Celtic player instantly received a yellow card, no VAR review for a potential red. (Not that I think it should have been a red, but we've seen them dished out to us so far this season as well as other non-OF clubs). Then the attempt from VAR to send off Rocky for having the audacity to shoot. Not to mention looking for any reason not to award our perfectly legitimate goals.
But no, a ball that clearly goes out of play is the big controversial talking point. As it robs Celtic of their sense of entitlement. No credit to Hibs and no humble pie or class from them or their media propagandists.
Excellent summary that Rodger’s chat also completely deflects from the correct praise which should be to Hibs a team with significantly less resources 😄 turning over Scotlands unbeatable darlings. Media in this country are appalling
23-02-2025, 09:29 AM
The thing that gets me about the likes of Peter Grant and Brendan Rodgers complaint about the camera angle used is if that decision was given in Rangers favour against them in an important old firm game, they’d be spitting feathers about it.
I get the argument that if we had Hawkeye and were able to use the system that highlighted the World Cup decision that showed the whole ball wasn’t over the line, then there would be more conclusive proof that could be provided, in the absence of that though, the VAR team need to use the technology available to them. The technology available to them showed the ball as clearly being over the line so they need to go with that. If that doesn’t satisfy Grant and Rodgers then tough titties.
Also, don’t remember hearing on sportscene a reference to the difference in budgets between us and Celtic?
That World Cup decision highlighted for me a fine margin thst just seemed ridiculous Thst ball was out but the system was used to show the tiniest of bit of tge ball was touching the line
Yesterday the ball looked more out than in but to the naked eye in real time how can you know the whole of the ball is definitely out. VAR had to look at it and make a decision
Thankfully it went in our favour as we deserved that win yesterday
Rodgers still pissed off they lost that late goal in Germany but he is forgetting Tge Rangers are so ***** no one will catch Celtic
23-02-2025, 09:30 AM
Spot on. They kept going on about the linesman having the best view, this was the same guy who got the offside wrong for the Hibs second goal. Rodgers came across as a bitter we man and Peter Grant was just appalling in summary. He is better sticking to Celtic TV
23-02-2025, 10:15 AM
Celtic have recently been in the huff with the BBC about something they said about Rogers.
Obviously them making sure they are in the good books now.
LewysGot2
23-02-2025, 10:20 AM
Spot on. They kept going on about the linesman having the best view, this was the same guy who got the offside wrong for the Hibs second goal. Rodgers came across as a bitter we man and Peter Grant was just appalling in summary. He is better sticking to Celtic TV
Peter Grant is honking. Neil McCann gets a bye from me as he’s been championing SDG all season when everyone else was putting the boot in
23-02-2025, 10:40 AM
Been taking a shine to Neil McCann but he is bang out of order ball was out of play
https://i.ibb.co/ycxHXFHB/IMG-3305.png (https://ibb.co/tT1V4pVP)
The Rangers game big centre back trips himself up goal to St Mirren after VAR for infringement
Noticed they even added on +10 minutes injury time to try and get the Huns a lifeline
Scottish football is corrupt
23-02-2025, 11:31 AM
You can understand why Brenda and Celtic are so upset. Their Celtic-leaning linesman did everything usually expected of him, finding Campbell offside at the 2nd. And turning a blind eye to Celtic running the ball out of play. Only for VAR to correct both decisions.
Without VAR, that game ends 2-1 Celtic and all would be as it should be.
23-02-2025, 11:38 AM
Crocker and Sutton even mentioned it in commentary in the St Johnstone v Hearts get over it.
23-02-2025, 11:58 AM
Very very similar I thought to the incident in Everton v Man Utd that all pundits were clamouring to say was a pen.
Helensburghhibs
23-02-2025, 11:59 AM
We lose out on the clear and obvious thing because refs still don't give the on field decision fairly across all 12 teams. I guarantee at the other end yesterday maclean gives that pen and it cant be overturned because its not a clear and obvious mistake.
23-02-2025, 08:17 PM
IMO post of the day. Well said (written).
He's here!
23-02-2025, 08:42 PM
Been taking a shine to Neil McCann but he is bang out of order ball was out of play
https://i.ibb.co/ycxHXFHB/IMG-3305.png (https://ibb.co/tT1V4pVP)
The Rangers game big centre back trips himself up goal to St Mirren after VAR for infringement
Noticed they even added on +10 minutes injury time to try and get the Huns a lifeline
Scottish football is corrupt
Even the shadow of the ball is over the line, so there's not even a question of the whole width of the ball being over. Extraordinary that this is deemed controversial by anyone.
HarpOnHibee
23-02-2025, 09:44 PM
Even the shadow of the ball is over the line, so there's not even a question of the whole width of the ball being over. Extraordinary that this is deemed controversial by anyone.
The positioning of the shadow would only be relevant if the sun was directly overhead and not casting a shadow at an angle.
23-02-2025, 09:55 PM
The issue is that var shouldn't interfere with the call because it isn't in line with the cross. And people are dismissing this based on footage that also isn't in line.
In real time the referee gave it. The linesman didn't flag it. And var didn't have the information, the correct angle, to interfere.
I'm obviously happy the decision went our way. It doesn't always though. Var is a blight on our game and should not be overstepping it's mark. Not even in the rare event it favours hibs
23-02-2025, 10:38 PM
The issue is that var shouldn't interfere with the call because it isn't in line with the cross. And people are dismissing this based on footage that also isn't in line.
In real time the referee gave it. The linesman didn't flag it. And var didn't have the information, the correct angle, to interfere.
I'm obviously happy the decision went our way. It doesn't always though. Var is a blight on our game and should not be overstepping it's mark. Not even in the rare event it favours hibs
I don't agree at all.
The linesman has guessed and we don't know if the referee had a view on it. Rather than going on a guess from a one time look at it, we've got a decision based on a thorough review of the incident.
It might not be 100% definitive, but it's a significantly better informed opinion than the one that gave the goal.
It hasn't overstepped the mark either. Every goal is checked, a key part of that check is to see if the ball crossed the line, they're duty bound to review it - it's absolutely within their job to check and rule on it.
HarpOnHibee
23-02-2025, 10:41 PM
If it hadn't been for VAR, not only would that goal have stood, we'd have had a goal wrongly chalked off as well. It's frustrating and far from perfect (the delayed flags for very obvious offsides do my nut in!), but we'd have been absolutely robbed without it.
23-02-2025, 10:48 PM
I'm obviously happy the decision went our way. It doesn't always though. Var is a blight on our game and should not be overstepping it's mark. Not even in the rare event it favours hibsA blight?
We lost yesterday without VAR
23-02-2025, 11:00 PM
A blight?
We lost yesterday without VAR
Our two biggest wins this season - PBS on Boxing Day and yesterday were both games where, without VAR, incorrect calls from the linesman would have decided the game rather than our play.
VAR righted three wrongs in those matches that were absolutely key to getting the fair and correct outcome.
I do not understand why people think that's a worse scenario than the alternative without VAR, where we'd have lost or drawn because of mistakes from the linesman.
I can't get my head around that.
PHeffernan
23-02-2025, 11:45 PM
The referee gave a goal and the linesman didn't flag.
VAR, as it does with every goal, reviewed it and in the course of this review formed the opinion that the ball had crossed the bye line before being crossed and Alan Muir made his decision accordingly. This is not much different from many other VAR decisions, the officials form an opinion and make a decision based on all the camera footage available and like every other VAR decision not everyone agrees with it.
I understand Rodgers point i.e. whether the ball is in or out is a matter of fact but we don't have the technology to prove it one way or the other so the VAR official made a decision based on the available footage which was the best and most reliable evidence in this case. The only thing that Alan Muir could have done differently would have been invited the referee to view the footage and make his own decision but even if he did and the referee came to the same conclusion Rodgers would have still complained because only VAR can make decisions on matters of fact.
In essence the VAR protocols for this scenario are based on a system which has goalline technology and more cameras so in this case Muir has taken a pragmatic approach to come to the right decision rather and he should be applauded for it but won't be.
24-02-2025, 02:30 AM
Our two biggest wins this season - PBS on Boxing Day and yesterday were both games where, without VAR, incorrect calls from the linesman would have decided the game rather than our play.
VAR righted three wrongs in those matches that were absolutely key to getting the fair and correct outcome.
I do not understand why people think that's a worse scenario than the alternative without VAR, where we'd have lost or drawn because of mistakes from the linesman.
I can't get my head around that.
VAR is s sticking plaster over a gaping hole created by decades of OF bias in Scotland. As long as it doesn't interfere with business as usual (official favouritism), it's fine. As soon as it's used or seen to interfere with that, Celtic and The Rangers go into meltdown rustling up ex-players, pundits, journalists, commentators and ex-refs to try win the game of public opinion.
The amount of handwriting and discussion that's gone on about this one incident would tell an alien everything it would need to know about the state of Scottish football / media. Utterly pathetic.
kentao
24-02-2025, 05:12 AM
We have VAR and that couldn't spot a handball against Kuhn and a shirt pull and bundling over in the Mykola incident both of which we have conceded penalty's for this season. If the referee and Var do their job right and the game would have been out of sight before this disallowed goal.
24-02-2025, 05:57 AM
I don't agree at all.
The linesman has guessed and we don't know if the referee had a view on it. Rather than going on a guess from a one time look at it, we've got a decision based on a thorough review of the incident.
It might not be 100% definitive, but it's a significantly better informed opinion than the one that gave the goal.
It hasn't overstepped the mark either. Every goal is checked, a key part of that check is to see if the ball crossed the line, they're duty bound to review it - it's absolutely within their job to check and rule on it.
Totally agree. Far better coming to the correct decision by using all evidence available. Linesmen guess all the time as there will be players between the ball and the line. It would make no sense not to use what was there.
24-02-2025, 06:01 AM
Those that are arguing that because VAR gave us the goal and disallowed theirs, that all proves VAR is great are missing the point.
The existence of VAR has meant ref ‘standards’ of competence are falling even further, because it changes the decisions they are willing to make. They are second guessing themselves. (and of course that’s leaving aside all the other ****, like countless delays to the viewing experience and the disproportionate amount of checks certain teams seem to benefit from).
The linesman is 5 yards behind the ball when it reaches the goal line (the video angle from high up in the stand looking along the goal line shows that). He doesn’t have a clear view because he’s out of position and a Celtic player partially in the way. He’s guessed.
VAR has used multiple angles to assess where the ball is, as well as checking any other possible infringements, as they do for every goal.
24-02-2025, 10:27 AM
The linesman is 5 yards behind the ball when it reaches the goal line (the video angle from high up in the stand looking along the goal line shows that). He doesn’t have a clear view because he’s out of position and a Celtic player partially in the way. He’s guessed.
VAR has used multiple angles to assess where the ball is, as well as checking any other possible infringements, as they do for every goal.
I don't think he's guessed, I think he knows that he doesn't know and VAR will correct it anyway. He did the right thing.
26-02-2025, 09:46 PM
“Including Kilmarnock vs Rangers and Hearts vs St Mirren, its Sportscene!” Says the BBC anchor.
Glad theyve got the big games on :rolleyes:
26-02-2025, 09:55 PM
New and trending on the iPlayer app shows match of the day and some other stuff that’s cleary not getting as many views as Sportscene would how’s that?
HarpOnHibee
26-02-2025, 09:58 PM
New and trending on the iPlayer app shows match of the day and some other stuff that’s cleary not getting as many views as Sportscene would how’s that?
Because Iplayer looks at your IP and if it determines that you're located in Scotland, it will show information based on a Scottish audience.
26-02-2025, 09:58 PM
Maybe irrational but I ****ing hate that daft wee theme song Sportscene has.
Paulie Walnuts
26-02-2025, 10:01 PM
Like they’ve attempted a total knock off MOTD theme song.
26-02-2025, 10:04 PM
Was saying that to the Mrs, doesn’t really sell our game well does it. Imagine you’ve just watched MOTD with its high production value and think “Oh ill just stay up and watch these Scottish highlights”
And you hear that ****ing tune and then a jump-cut to Steven Thompson’s puss staring at you.
26-02-2025, 10:06 PM
30 minutes of Rangers including detailed analysis, 20 minutes of Hearts match and all the other games getting 5 minutes each no doubt.
26-02-2025, 10:07 PM
Smith’s celebration:greengrin love him
TrinityHFC
26-02-2025, 10:11 PM
It’s the original tune from the 70s isn’t it?
26-02-2025, 10:15 PM
It’s the original tune from the 70s isn’t it?
Well it’s ***** and, like platform shoes, should’ve been left in the 70’s
26-02-2025, 10:21 PM
They're predictably not happy with the handball decision in our game.
Have to be honest, I think the goal should have stood. I can't see much wrong with it.
Do I care? Absolutely not.
26-02-2025, 10:21 PM
Michael Stewart has watched the Dundee United disallowed goal 74 times and still cannae see the ball hitting Sam Dalby’s hand :greengrin
Special mention for Bowie’s sublime finish and a superb through ball from Triantis and Dwight Gayle’s through ball for Junior Hoilett who kept his cool before giving the keeper the ‘eyes’ and slotting the ball inside his near post
Jesus wept
26-02-2025, 10:24 PM
I ****ing luv it. Brings back great memories of the Alex Miller hey days :greengrin
Oh a **ck Michael Stewart Jambo twat.
Paulie Walnuts
26-02-2025, 10:28 PM
Michael Stewart has watched the Dundee United disallowed goal 74 times and still cannae see the ball hitting Sam Dalby’s hand :greengrin
Special mention for Bowie’s sublime finish and a superb through ball from Triantis and Dwight Gayle’s through ball for Junior Hoilett who kept his cool before giving the keeper the ‘eyes’ and slotting the ball inside his near post
Jesus wept
The Bowie finish is superb :agree:
SonOfDavidFrancey
26-02-2025, 10:29 PM
Two games in a row Jordan has got away with one
26-02-2025, 10:31 PM
Makenzie Kirk St Johnstone looks like Kieron Bowie’s twin brother even has a similar playing style scoring two goals in two games
22 mins of Rangers says it all about this programme.
26-02-2025, 10:42 PM
Why was Dessers not booked for celebrating by running into the crowd after scoring?
Can't see it hitting Dalby's hand, could it have been disallowed because he was climbing on Campbell? Looked like a good goal but watching the replay his arm is on Campbell's shoulder impeding him slightly as he tries to jump for the ball but maybe not enough to chop it off.
The ball definitely comes off something, you can see it wasn't a clean header but it looks more like it's the back of Campbell's head it glances off.
Why was Dessers not booked for celebrating by running into the crowd after scoring?Why do you think?
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
26-02-2025, 10:45 PM
Did Craig Gordon not get booked for his assault on a ST’s player? They didn’t discuss that. Offside or not you can’t get away with assaulting a player like that, surely.
Ron D Hibbie
26-02-2025, 10:46 PM
Why was Dessers not booked for celebrating by running into the crowd after scoring?
Think he was.
26-02-2025, 10:48 PM
Think he was.
Not according to Live Scores.
Ron D Hibbie
26-02-2025, 10:49 PM
Not according to Live Scores.
BBC has him yellow carded in 63 min.
Did Craig Gordon not get booked for his assault on a ST’s player? They didn’t discuss that. Offside or not you can’t get away with assaulting a player like that, surely.
Maybe just got to it 1st, like when Marshall punched Miovski.
Don't think the St Mirren guy should have had the red rescinded. Brutal challenge and completely deliberate. Was never getting the ball.
26-02-2025, 11:08 PM
Can't see it hitting Dalby's hand, could it have been disallowed because he was climbing on Campbell? Looked like a good goal but watching the replay his arm is on Campbell's shoulder impeding him slightly as he tries to jump for the ball but maybe not enough to chop it off.
The ball definitely comes off something, you can see it wasn't a clean header but it looks more like it's the back of Campbell's head it glances off.
I would have been raging if we had that goal disallowed but, hey ho, it’s nice to be on the end of fortunate decisions for a change.
26-02-2025, 11:16 PM
For what it's worth, we have been on the end of some absolutely shocking decisions early this season, including against Dundee Utd themselves. If there is such a thing as these things equaling themselves out over a season, that's what happened today, but importantly we capitalised on the good fortune. We still had to go and win the game, which we did.
And I can't say all that without also mentioning one of the worst refereeing decisions I have ever witnessed, also against Dundee Utd the last game before VAR was introduced up here. Myko scored whilst easily 2 yards onside, wrongly disallowed, and we went on to lose the game. Justice done.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
hibstag
27-02-2025, 06:51 AM
22 mins of Rangers says it all about this programme.
Well half their staff are on the rangers bench they are probably still paying them.
27-02-2025, 06:59 AM
Well it’s ***** and, like platform shoes, should’ve been left in the 70’s
Should have kept the Avril Levine song as the theme. With John Collins being projected on the high flats.
Paulie Walnuts
27-02-2025, 07:09 AM
Dessers was booked for it. Bowie however done it for us and got away with it.
27-02-2025, 07:11 AM
Dessers was booked for it. Bowie however done it for us and got away with it.
Bowie never leaves the pitch during his celebration
Paulie Walnuts
27-02-2025, 07:13 AM
He’s got fans in the stand hanging off him. So do Hoillet and Triantis. They’re all miles off the pitch.
27-02-2025, 07:22 AM
He’s got fans in the stand hanging off him. So do Hoillet and Triantis. They’re all miles off the pitch.
Yep, and to be honest its one of the most ridiculous rules they introduced.
Celebrating a goal - especially an important one - is one of the joys of football.
Paulie Walnuts
27-02-2025, 07:24 AM
Celebrating a goal - especially an important one - is one of the joys of football.
Agree completely. Taking your top off the same, although I can make an exception for doing it to reveal certain messages etc.
27-02-2025, 07:50 AM
:faf: He's practically in the stand behind the goal, along with a few others. :greengrin
27-02-2025, 07:52 AM
:faf: He's practically in the stand behind the goal, along with a few others. :greengrin
Unfortunately with the camera angles available, we can't say for certain that he fully crossed the line
27-02-2025, 07:52 AM
Unfortunately with the camera angles available, we can't say for certain that he fully crossed the line
27-02-2025, 07:54 AM
Unfortunately with the camera angles available, we can't say for certain that he fully crossed the lineMaybe we should get Mikey Stewart to officially review it before we jump to any conclusions?
As far as I'm concerned the pitch was just far too close to the stand on this occasion.
27-02-2025, 08:39 AM
28573https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/8330bb49-d176-4103-9950-124a17d12b17
https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/e58a1d72-fe4f-4f45-9e1c-1eec70b699a8
Ball comes in, he heads it down, then it bounces up agin of his hand/arm on Nectars shoulder. Nae joy!!!
28573https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/8330bb49-d176-4103-9950-124a17d12b17
https://www.hibs.net/blob:https://www.hibs.net/e58a1d72-fe4f-4f45-9e1c-1eec70b699a8
Ball comes in, he heads it down, then it bounces up agin of his hand/arm on Nectars shoulder. Nae joy!!!
That pic makes it crystal clear now, how come we didn't see that last night.
27-02-2025, 08:56 AM
These extremely fuzzy and static images make it crystal clear?
Okay.
27-02-2025, 09:28 AM
😂😂😂.
sharing images on this site is not the best is it.
27-02-2025, 09:46 AM
Just seen the worst scarfs ever during the gimps highlights.
Budgies ultras scarfs in their gimp pit behind the goal. :faf::faf::faf:
Saint Hibee
27-02-2025, 09:47 AM
27-02-2025, 09:48 AM
Pretty clear that Dalby climbs on Bowie to stop him jumping..
27-02-2025, 10:08 AM
Pretty clear that Dalby climbs on Bowie to stop him jumping..
Triantis.
27-02-2025, 10:40 AM
Triantis.
So clear.
WestEndHibee
27-02-2025, 01:54 PM
Triantis.
Not sure the camera angle is able to tell us who it is, let’s try not to guess please.
27-02-2025, 05:03 PM
Not sure the camera angle is able to tell us who it is, let’s try not to guess please.
Was just basing my hunch on the fact that Bowie wasn't even on the park yet.:wink:
However, being booked for being ugly is fair and reasonable!
27-02-2025, 09:27 PM
Laughable that they even entertained showing the Hibs goal kick that 'should' have been a corner in the minute before the goal.
PHeffernan
27-02-2025, 09:38 PM
Laughable that they even entertained showing the Hibs goal kick that 'should' have been a corner in the minute before the goal.
Goodwin moaned about it post match so it was relevant to show it.
DU were shown to be in possession in the subsequent play before Galagher passed it to a Hibs player in the middle of the pitch and that showed the excuse up for the smokescreen it was.
27-02-2025, 09:43 PM
Goodwin moaned about it post match so it was relevant to show it.
Given DU were shown to be in possession in the subsequent play before Galagher passed it to a Hibs player in the middle of the pitch showed the excuse up for the smokescreen it was.
Exactly. They're making out that the goal kick led straight to the goal. It didn't. It was a misplaced pass from United after that which caused their downfall.
28-02-2025, 05:56 AM
Yep you need an angle directly above him to have conclusive proof
Cat Stanton
28-02-2025, 07:05 AM
If it had been the other way round, folk here would have moaned if they hadn't shown it...
Paulie Walnuts
28-02-2025, 07:45 AM
If it had been the other way round, folk here would have moaned if they hadn't shown it...
Goodwin has been moaning about it. It makes complete sense for them to let the viewers see the incident that’s going to be referenced in the interviews.
28-02-2025, 09:10 AM
Goodwin has been moaning about it. It makes complete sense for them to let the viewers see the incident that’s going to be referenced in the interviews.
Particularly when it looks like the correct decision was made at the time.
28-02-2025, 10:47 AM
However, being booked for being ugly is fair and reasonable!
02-03-2025, 09:08 PM
At the time, I thought that Beaton had got the penalty decision right and that, while the Hearts defender had tugged Cadden’s jersey and slightly kicked his ankle, it was a bit soft and Cadden’s dramatic fall made him decide not to give it. After watching it on Sportscene, I have changed my mind and, for good measure, both Scott Allan and Stephen Naismith thought it was a certain penalty. I’m surprised that VAR didn’t check it …… there was no indication that they had.
andrew_dundee
02-03-2025, 09:12 PM
At the time, I thought that Beaton had got the penalty decision right and that, while the Hearts defender had tugged Cadden’s jersey and slightly kicked his ankle, it was a bit soft and Cadden’s dramatic fall made him decide not to give it. After watching it on Sportscene, I have changed my mind and, for good measure, both Scott Allan and Stephen Naismith thought it was a certain penalty. I’m surprised that VAR didn’t check it …… there was no indication that they had.
I was only half listening but did they not say because the shirt pull was first the ankle clip wasn't checked?
02-03-2025, 09:27 PM
I was only half listening but did they not say because the shirt pull was first the ankle clip wasn't checked?
Well why didn’t they check for the shirt pull? I think they would have looked at the whole piece of action, but they didn’t. Beaton’s wag of the finger suggested simulation. But if that was the case, why didn’t he not book Cadden?
02-03-2025, 09:28 PM
Watching Sportscene back now and at the time I knew it was good, but what a run and finish from Boyle!
02-03-2025, 09:32 PM
Watching Sportscene back now and at the time I knew it was good, but what a run and finish from Boyle!
I said this earlier; not nearly enough credit for both elements of the goal-so hard to get on the end of that, the angle of his run to get past the New Cafu was incredible.
02-03-2025, 09:50 PM
Going to say something controversial given the apparent Nisbet stuff, but, Naismith seems like a decent guy.
Speaks well on Sportscene and when he's on The Warm-up
02-03-2025, 10:00 PM
Going to say something controversial given the apparent Nisbet stuff, but, Naismith seems like a decent guy.
Both Naismith and Allan are so much more interesting than the usual pricks.
cubehindthegoal
02-03-2025, 10:16 PM
Haven’t read this above for a while … and glad not to .. so apologise for my acknowledged ignorance ..
but one thing .. sky isn’t bbc .. they’re not good .. but bet hearts fans notice a difference ..
.. they do btw .. they quite enjoy it from what i hear .. the bbc .. never complain any less than the two glasgow teams about them … tells it all.
Musselbound
02-03-2025, 10:27 PM
Anyone else noticed that Michael Stewart never seems to be on after a derby defeat?
cubehindthegoal
02-03-2025, 10:33 PM
Anyone else noticed that Michael Stewart never seems to be on after a derby defeat?
If anyone listened over the past few years, they’d know .. if anyone needs challenged about their comments on their bias..well ..
02-03-2025, 10:41 PM
Both Naismith and Allan are so much more interesting than the usual pricks.
Yep, both offered good analysis of the game and the key tactical changes that helped us and hindered hearts.
Far better than some of the other eejits.
random sub
02-03-2025, 11:09 PM
Yep, both offered good analysis of the game and the key tactical changes that helped us and hindered hearts.
Far better than some of the other eejits.
really good tactical analysis from the pair of them, and Naismith very balanced and fair. Both good pundits
cubehindthegoal
02-03-2025, 11:42 PM
🙄
03-03-2025, 08:43 AM
Still wore a hideous maroon jumper last night.
03-03-2025, 08:48 AM
Yep, I don't mind him as a pundit. Comes across as pretty balanced and fair. I'll add Halliday to that too. Obviously didn't watch the Sky coverage yesterday as I was at the game, so apologies if he wasn't this yesterday, but he is usually pretty balanced too, with decent insight.
03-03-2025, 08:52 AM
First time I have seen their goal since yesterday at the game but sorry that one looks down to Rocky poor play poor clearance and generally he looked nervous the whole first half
Cannae fault the whole team second half
Agree on Naismith but definitely need more Hibs minded pundits on the beeb
Said it last week but young Makenzie Kirk St Johnstone looks a prospect scored again
03-03-2025, 08:59 AM
First time I have seen their goal since yesterday at the game but sorry that one looks down to Rocky poor play poor clearance and generally he looked nervous the whole first half
Cannae fault the whole team second half
Agree on Naismith but definitely need more Hibs minded pundits on the beeb
Yep, unless the goalie has called for it, it’s Rocky’s ball all day long to deal with and he hesitates, lets it bounce, and then plays it into danger.
It was very poor from him.
Second half he was very good though.
03-03-2025, 09:04 AM
Yep, unless the goalie has called for it, it’s Rocky’s ball all day long to deal with and he hesitates, lets it bounce, and then plays it into danger.
It was very poor from him.
Second half he was very good though.
👍
From my vantage point West South Lower looked a keepers ball but Rock should deal with that 😀
03-03-2025, 09:06 AM
Yep, I don't mind him as a pundit. Comes across as pretty balanced and fair. I'll add Halliday to that too. Obviously didn't watch the Sky coverage yesterday as I was at the game, so apologies if he wasn't this yesterday, but he is usually pretty balanced too, with decent insight.
One of the funnier things yesterday was when we were belting out the Andy Halliday song, Kris Boyd was looking at him and laughing! I can see the commentary position and to be fair to Halliday, he was grinning too
16-03-2025, 05:51 AM
Individual highlights of each game now available on BBCi Player
Camera behind the goal showed Murray’s shot coming off Rocky’s foot before entering the net umpteen chances to clear the danger beforehand Smith seems to dive in the opposite direction and Iredale lets the Killie attacker get the jump on him
Two points dropped
Olusanya harshly sent off for St Mirren after a coming together second yellow
16-03-2025, 06:48 AM
Olusanya harshly sent off for St Mirren after a coming together second yellow
That's the understatement of the century!
16-03-2025, 06:52 AM
That's the understatement of the century!
Yip normally wouldn’t even comment on a St Mirren game but another example of our poor refs but as Steven McGinn suggested maybes VAR should be allowed to intervene in such glaring injustices