View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v St Mirren
03-02-2024, 03:05 PM
Unacceptable performance here.
But don’t think the manager will get sacked after just bringing 7 players in, a severe pumping from celtc could end it though.
Levitt Jair Youan off.
Septimus
It’s fine.
2 20ish year old CBs. One of which is too injured for the bench.
****ing pitiful
Meanwhile Alex Gogic shines.
Bill Foley now having second thoughts.
Mark05
03-02-2024, 03:06 PM
I’ve seen many dreadful Hibs performances over the years and that half has to be up with them. We’ve been awful in every possible way.
Can't disagree with you,that was awful.I Can't believe we had a better passing accuracy than St mirren in that first half 75% every pass seemed to go astray can it get any worse ?
DinkyTwo
03-02-2024, 03:07 PM
Yeah, time to go Nick.
Spent a bit of time trying to defend his insistence on 442 but as time has went on, he's become impossible to defend.
Players aren't buying into the system, Vente, Boyle, Youan, Fish all regressed under him.
It's just not worked out
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Anyone else think we can get back into it?
[emoji6][emoji1787]
Can’t see it.
Vente mayeda and Moriah-Welsh on
Levitt, youan and someone else off
What's up with Amos, I'd have expected him on before Moriah-Welsh
McGruber
03-02-2024, 03:08 PM
Stunned at how bad.
Sums up Montgomery- more possession and far more passes and no shots on or off target. 14 shot from Stirren from far less passes. We just go backward
2 in the middle against 3 kills you most weeks never mind with your 2, Levitt isn't mobile
Shocking
03-02-2024, 03:08 PM
Btw just realised Mark O'Hara isn't even playing
03-02-2024, 03:09 PM
Boo’d back on. That ever happened before?
Yes. Away at McDermid, league cup 1998. We'd had a better first half than this one, although think score was the same at that point.
Jair.
Saint Hibee
Moriah-Welch already an upgrade on Levitt
This will end up 4 or 5 as we try push back.
He has to go after this barring a miracle.
03-02-2024, 03:11 PM
Moriah-Welch already an upgrade on Levitt
Playing with ten men would be an upgrade on Levitt.
03-02-2024, 03:11 PM
How's that not a penalty btw?
Myziane falls over it's a pen
Also - sack everyone
03-02-2024, 03:12 PM
Why was that not a penalty for the tug on his shirt? :confused:
Ardenttwo
Playing with ten men would be an upgrade on Levitt.
Please please Levitt just go
Pen all day long!
OtleyHibs
Did VAR even look at that?
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 03:13 PM
Why was that not a penalty for the tug on his shirt? :confused:
It’s a foul anywhere else on the pitch
Surely VAR is there to spot what the ref has missed?
Mark05
I think we lost the ball in tackles before a pass could be made.
Yes,sloop I can accept stray passes but I can't accept not fighting for the cause I seen plenty of players just going through the motions that first half
How's that not a penalty btw?
Myziane falls over it's a pen
Also - sack everyone
Yup. Ridiculous that he needed to throw himself to the ground to get a penalty when that’s a clear foul anywhere else on the pitch.
scm70nyd1973
03-02-2024, 03:14 PM
To be honest - I actually hope that the team just ignore the Manager’s instructions, do our own thing and go for it - can’t be any worse can it 🤔
03-02-2024, 03:14 PM
Yup. Ridiculous that he needed to throw himself to the ground to get a penalty when that’s a clear foul anywhere else on the pitch.It's can't even be missed it's obvious his shirt is being pulled out
Clear penalty to rangers for that for sure
hhibs
03-02-2024, 03:15 PM
Why on earth is Whitakers still on,unfair on us and the laddie.
Yup. Ridiculous that he needed to throw himself to the ground to get a penalty when that’s a clear foul anywhere else on the pitch.
It was given against us at St Mirren for a shirt pull, even when the ball was nowhere near the incident in the 2-2 game.
HendoDelivered
Marcondes probably only about 50% fully match fit and easily our best player by a million miles. He must be thinking wtf 🤣
It's can't even be missed it's obvious his shirt is being pulled out
Clear penalty to rangers for that for sure
It’s cheating not giving that as a pen
Hibees1973
I never said I’ve been happy, I’ve challenged you on your endless tirade against the Gordon’s.
FWIW this manager is playing his way out the door. He’s been well backed by the owners, as was his predecessor.
What you are conveniently forgetting is this owner & CEO appointed him and the previous 2 clowns we had.
The owner and CEO are at the root of all our problems. Yes, the Gordons have supplied some cash, albeit some loans, but it has been completely wasted.
Maybe the ref didn't miss it and said to VAR he was happy it's not a pen, corrupt to the core.
Hibs4185
So much better without Levitt, Youan and Jair.
It’s like 11 v 11 for once
03-02-2024, 03:16 PM
Marcondes probably only about 50% fully match fit and easily our best player by a million miles. He must be thinking wtf [emoji1787]Actually think he's been pretty poor all and all
2nd half he's been better but he's not blameless for being 3-0 down
03-02-2024, 03:16 PM
It was given against us at St Mirren for a shirt pull, even when the ball was nowhere near the incident in the 2-2 game.
Right enough.
Up-the-slope
03-02-2024, 03:17 PM
Anyone else think we can get back into it?
[emoji6][emoji1787]
:agree:.... but Will we :hide:
03-02-2024, 03:18 PM
still time obviously :) but..our three worst home defeats to st mirren before today are
1960- 0-3
1929-- 3-5
1923-- 0-3
this could end up a new Low
HendoDelivered
Actually think he's been pretty poor all and all
2nd half he's been better but he's not blameless for being 3-0 down
Partly agree. Only one on our team who looks like a footballer though
The stats may suggest it doesn’t happen that often, I don’t know, but I wonder how many times Newell passes the ball backwards.
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 03:19 PM
Triantis looks dreadful if we’re honest.
03-02-2024, 03:20 PM
Well. It's better.
The stats may suggest it doesn’t happen that often, I don’t know, but I wonder how many times Newell passes the ball backwards.
He's our best player, what are you trying to suggest?
Up-the-slope
So much better without Levitt, Youan and Jair.
It’s like 11 v 11 for once
If the learning is you can't rely on 2 wingers who give FB's no cover or a midfielder who won't battle then we might progress (some of us have know that for weeks though) 1 Passenger who might do the spectacular is a calculated risk... 3 is madness
03-02-2024, 03:21 PM
Why on earth is Whitakers still on,unfair on us and the laddie.
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 03:21 PM
St Mirren still first to every second ball
Sadly true
Hibs4185
03-02-2024, 03:22 PM
If he’s our best player, then we are destined for the championship
Shanksaidno
03-02-2024, 03:22 PM
If the learning is you can't rely on 2 wingers who give FB's no cover or a midfielder who won't battle then we might progress (some of us have know that for weeks though) 1 Passenger who might do the spectacular is a calculated risk... 3 is madness
About time for the good old chant from back in the day " we re so ***** its unbelievable "
03-02-2024, 03:23 PM
Aye, one game in 10. The rest vary from meh to utter pish.
scm70nyd1973
03-02-2024, 03:23 PM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;7572209]still time obviously :) but..our three worst home defeats to st mirren before today are
1960- 0-3
1929-- 3-5
1923-- 0-3
Was there not a 4 nil in the early 80s - I seem to recall travelling down from Aberdeen and wished I hadn’t ☹️
03-02-2024, 03:24 PM
Moriah Welsh is covering some amount of ground trying to cover the gaps that are now appearing
St Mirren doing that high press that so many of our managers promised we'd have a go at doing, but never have.
supermcginn
Sadly true
If he can't get a game for Sunderland he's hardly going to be a world beater. How bad must the Australian league be if the champions were managed by Montgomery and this huddie was in defence.
St Mirren doing that high press that so many of our managers promised we'd have a go at doing, but never have.
Sucked in our chief exec and B McD it would seem
My stream has stopped. Take it we're not looking like getting back into this one..
03-02-2024, 03:25 PM
Nightmare of a season. We are in freefall, Jambos are out of sight, Celtic on a downward trend and the **** looking like topping the league soon. I suppose there’s still hope ……. a few folk will still think we’re too good to be relegated. :greengrin
03-02-2024, 03:26 PM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;7572209]still time obviously :) but..our three worst home defeats to st mirren before today are
1960- 0-3
1929-- 3-5
1923-- 0-3
Was there not a 4 nil in the early 80s - I seem to recall travelling down from Aberdeen and wished I hadn’t ☹️
your spot on bud, 0-4 1985, so that one is indeed our worst home defeat to them
cubehindthegoal
About time for the good old chant from back in the day " we re so ***** its unbelievable "
You wouldn’t be a hibs fan would you ? lol
Trinity Hibee
My stream has stopped. Take it we're not looking like getting back into this one..
Lucky you
03-02-2024, 03:27 PM
So Megwa gets dropped for Whittaker, who in turn is pish and gets hooked for Megwa. While Cadden is on the bench…Makes no sense to me.
Still creating nothing
scm70nyd1973
I can’t help think that Marshall is not helping the defence - he’s got better but I am not convinced he’s good for our defence really
Hibees1973
1960- 0-3
1929-- 3-5
1923-- 0-3
I'm sure that may have been Dundee. Think it was 0-4 at half time.
I don’t think we have a best player.
Paulie Walnuts
Send Triantis back
Shanksaidno
03-02-2024, 03:28 PM
Sucked in our chief exec and B McD it would seem
Celtic next up :confused:
Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 03:29 PM
Is this really surprising given the other 'gems' our scouting network has produced.
If he can't get a game for Sunderland he's hardly going to be a world beater. How bad must the Australian league be if the champions were managed by Montgomery and this huddie was in defence.
I’ve said in a few posts recently …….. Monty was a ‘biggish’ fish in a small, stagnant pond. I don’t want to offend our Aussie Hibbies, but we have made a huge mistake.
Send Triantis backI think he will turn out good to be honest
He's obviously rusty and made a hash at the goal but you can see he has some qualities
Amazing that so many of us said we needed an experienced CB… But we sign two children.
Shanksaidno
03-02-2024, 03:30 PM
You wouldn’t be a hibs fan would you ? lol
Celtic next up :confused:
Dinnae.
I don’t think we have a best player.
:agree: He's just whipped in a great corner. :faf:
[QUOTE=scm70nyd1973;7572230]
I'm sure that may have been Dundee. Think it was 0-4 at half time.
no st mirren 1984/85
cubehindthegoal
(some of us have know that for weeks though)
Did you, or have you, applied for the managers job ? Why not if you know and can do what the managers you criticise can’t do.. Empty gloating.
Can't score, can't defend, what do we do, can't score can't defend, what do we do?
Se7enUp
03-02-2024, 03:31 PM
1960- 0-3
1929-- 3-5
1923-- 0-3
There was a midweek game in the early 80s that I can't be bothered looking up to verify, where Mcavennie ripped us a new on.
Amazing that so many of us said we needed an experienced CB… But we sign two children.
We all knew it.
We’ve known it for years now, the club fails to address it nearly every window
Yank Youan NOW
He's a forward, who we've seen do very well in a front 2 or 3. The same could be said for Maolida, Boyle and all our other forwards, so why hasn't our manager worked that out?
Not in a million years is he a wide midfielder and playing him in front of a 16-year-old full-back is simply madness.
03-02-2024, 03:32 PM
We all knew it.
We are all sick and tired repeating it
cubehindthegoal
We all knew it.
So it’s not the managers fault then ?
Nice bit of play by welsh and ALF there
Also...boooo Kensell!
We're leaving it late if we want to get 4 goals.
03-02-2024, 03:33 PM
Can't score, can't defend, what do we do, can't score can't defend, what do we do?
The unsubtle innuendos follow, must be cause we are *****.
Paulie Walnuts
I actually think he looks decent. But he not what we needed, he’s young inexperienced and not going to tighten up our defence while he finds his feet. Hence the ***** defending for the goal.
So Megwa gets dropped for Whittaker, who in turn is pish and gets hooked for Megwa. While Cadden is on the bench…Makes no sense to me.
I'm done trying to work out what Monty is trying to do, I gave him the benefit of the doubt as I was fed up with manager roulette but this is as bad as anything since Ross's bad run that got him sacked.
It’s the club as a whole.
The manager should be asking for an experienced CB, maybe he did but we haven’t brought one in for whatever reason
What we’re seeing on the park is 100% on NM
03-02-2024, 03:34 PM
That new centre half has won a raffle to get a game today. :faf:
MikeyS
He wanted the Aussie boy so I'd say its partly his fault
yep. Going to cost someone a job…
Another joke decision by collum there to book obita due to a guy screaming
Also, we are shoiite
03-02-2024, 03:35 PM
I'm done trying to work out what Monty is trying to do, I gave him the benefit of the doubt as I was fed up with manager roulette but this is as bad as anything since Ross's bad run that got him sacked.
Can’t believe I’m posting this but it’s actually looking like we’ve appointed someone worse than Johnson.
MikeyS
It’s the club as a whole.
The manager should be asking for an experienced CB, maybe he did but we haven’t brought one in for whatever reason
What we’re seeing on the park is 100% on NM
Aye he is way out his depth. We've plucked him from a junior level league. I dare say if Postecoglu wasn't australian we wouldn't have had a 2nd glance over at that tripe league! Blinded by the flavour of the month at the time.
HendoDelivered
I thought obita got booked in the first half as well?
cubehindthegoal
I think he will turn out good to be honest
He's obviously rusty and made a hash at the goal but you can see he has some qualities
It’s early days … there’ll be pain upon pain for a bit .. always are when you make sweeping changes … meantime the negatives will flow …
My view is … if it doesn’t work it doesn’t work, and we change it .. but give it some reasonable time .. I’m talking to fellow Hibs fans who are worried now .. not the (very few thankfully) here who aren’t … end of this year it still isn’t working .. it will be fixed ..
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 03:36 PM
Can’t believe I’m posting this but it’s actually looking like we’ve appointed someone worse than Johnson.
It’s blatantly clear we have imo and has been for weeks.
03-02-2024, 03:37 PM
There’s no comparison between today and what we saw under Johnson vs the same opposition in the first game of the season. First game we were still ***** and couldn’t defend but created chances and fought back. Today we’ve had one shot on target and not been near scoring.
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 03:38 PM
ALF picks up some good positions. Hope we keep him beyond this season
We did. It's not even debatable.
Up-the-slope
Did you, or have you, applied for the managers job ? Why not if you know and can do what the managers you criticise can’t do.. Empty gloating.
Yes i knew... but no I could not be a manager
But its been obvious as someone who has watched 40+ years of football that if you dont give your FB's some cover you will be in trouble. While many were criticising defence I have defended them to some extent due to the lack of cover.
I am a self confessed happy clapper who wants attacking football - BUT you need balance so you don't get suckered on the transitions
That new centre half has won a raffle to get a game today. :faf:
It’s amazing so many people complain about Hanlon. He’s miles better than anyone in defence today.
It’s early days … there’ll be pain upon pain for a bit .. always are when you make sweeping changes … meantime the negatives will flow …
My view is … if it doesn’t work it doesn’t work, and we change it .. but give it some reasonable time .. I’m talking to fellow Hibs fans who are worried now .. not the (very few thankfully) here who aren’t … end of this year it still isn’t working .. it will be fixed ..
Is that a promise, Monty?:greengrin
scm70nyd1973
03-02-2024, 03:40 PM
[QUOTE=Hibees1973;7572261]
no st mirren 1984/85
Yup - 27/04/1985 - nice day and that was about it
03-02-2024, 03:40 PM
The unsubtle innuendos follow, must be cause we are *****.
Thank you both (James70) for making me chuckle.
cubehindthegoal
03-02-2024, 03:41 PM
We did. It's not even debatable.
End of forum then 🙄
03-02-2024, 03:42 PM
It’s amazing so many people complain about Hanlon. He’s miles better than anyone in defence today.
Of course he is. Yet Monty prefers others.
We’ve had 3 or 4 corners but havnt contested 1 of them, absolutely crap
cubehindthegoal
Dinnae.
Bring em on .. that’s what’s being a Hibs fan is all about young uns lol
Ardenttwo
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;7572276]
Yup - 27/04/1985 - nice day and that was about it
Fans leaving Board will see this. Nail in Monty’s coffin
Green Reaper
03-02-2024, 03:43 PM
Still got another 10+ minutes of this to bear
I agree, I wanted Johnson gone but wanted experience in like McInnes or Robinson, we got another rookie who's still cutting his teeth in management, he's even more stubborn than Maloney was, getting peed off with Hibs right now. I wonder if Foley will have a big say in when and who we bring in after this shambles.
03-02-2024, 03:44 PM
Just home, left at half time with plenty of others. I'm no sitting in the freezing cold watching that *****. Don't care how the second half is going, that was one of the worst performences I have ever seen at ER. It's up there with the likes of Terry Butcher. We're going to get dragged into the relegation fight if we're not careful.
It's cold.
Problem is we sign players who have a good personality rather than based on how good or experienced they are. We are just not street wise and continue to be a soft touch.
Paulie Walnuts
I think he will turn out good to be honest
Not for me. He’s looked terrible imo.
Just home, left at half time with plenty of others. Don't care how the second half is going, that was one of the worst performences I have ever seen at ER. It's up there with thr likes of Terry Butcher. We're going to get dragged into the relegation fight if we're not careful.Hibs winning 5-3
[emoji6][emoji1787]
HendoDelivered
03-02-2024, 03:45 PM
Of course he is. Yet Monty prefers others.
Reckon he’s away after a pumping from Celtic Jeffers or do you think they will hold out til the result of the ICT game?
Trinity Hibee
03-02-2024, 03:45 PM
Just home, left at half time with plenty of others. I'm no sitting in the freezing cold watching that *****. Don't care how the second half is going, that was one of the worst performences I have ever seen at ER. It's up there with the likes of Terry Butcher. We're going to get dragged into the relegation fight if we're not careful.
You’ve missed absolutely nothing
03-02-2024, 03:46 PM
Hibs winning 5-3
[emoji6][emoji1787]
I'd be pleased to bits if that was the case but I'm genuinely worried about us now.
HendoDelivered
I reckon Vente hates it at Hibs, he’s looked depressed for ages.
Reckon he’s away after a pumping from Celtic Jeffers or do you think they will hold out til the result of the ICT game?
Really can’t see it after bringing in so many players this window.
03-02-2024, 03:47 PM
I'd be pleased to bits if that was the case but I'm genuinly worried about us now.
Very worrying
You’ve missed absolutely nothing
I thought so.
supermcginn
That doesn't mean he's good. They are all hopeless at the back.
03-02-2024, 03:48 PM
He must be the easiest centre forward in the league to play against.
Up-the-slope
Is this a good point to say that Brendan Rodgers has never won at ER? :offski:
Paulie Walnuts
I’d be stunned if there’s many, if any, who are enjoying playing for Hibs.
The Captain....
03-02-2024, 03:49 PM
A lot of rubbish drifting aimlessly about the pitch.
A hackneyed metaphor for today's cluster****.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
The Tubs
Cos he’s getting balls punted at him that he can do **** all with.
Yet there still posters saying they enjoyed watching hibs just now, mind blowing
Hibs can't half spoil your weekend.
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 03:50 PM
Yet there still posters saying they enjoyed watching hibs just now, mind blowing
I find that mind blowing.
03-02-2024, 03:51 PM
Don’t think there will be many today
Shanksaidno
I thought so.
Board too scared to sack NM tonite but defeats by Celtic and Inveness will see the deed done ....... :flag:
CentreForward
Gray back in the dugout up at Inverness surely ?!
03-02-2024, 03:53 PM
Should be back in the dug-out for the Celtic game
03-02-2024, 03:54 PM
Is it wrong to be pleased that hearts have scored?
03-02-2024, 03:55 PM
Give him the till the end of the season while Foley and co get football operations sorted. Kensell and Brian can pack their bags.
Is it wrong to be pleased that hearts have scored?
It’s pretty pointless regardless
CL0762
No wonder. A striker who comes alive in the penalty box never gets to receive the ball in the area he’s strongest in.
It’s actually becoming laughable how inept we are 😂
03-02-2024, 03:57 PM
It’s the hope that kills you.
Hoping the new signings make it better.
Some how we look worse than ever
Might as well give it to Gray until the end of the season, he would surely do better than NM.
Use the next 3 months to get someone in for the new season.
cubehindthegoal
03-02-2024, 03:59 PM
Hibs can't half spoil your weekend.
Yup. And as one of my genuine older fellow fans here who have been a Hibs fan that saw Turnbulls Tornadoes .. get used to it 😉 … but seriously … I get it. So get it that we don’t look like we are on the up if you look at single matches just now … but it is … I believe … I have seen much much much worse in our history .. and in others clubs too … only Aberdeen and Dundee Utd challenged it after that time .. and then they were stamped down by money …
Can understand, the more teams they beat it prevents said teams gaining any advantage on us.
They may help save us from relegation.
We are certainly not helping ourselves
pollution
This manager will bring us down to his level.
Get rid now ffs
It’s the hope that kills you.
Hoping the new signings make it better.
Some how we look worse than ever
I was a little more optimistic about today compared to last week, have been doing 6 days nights the past few weeks so I just slept for last weeks game.
Second half we still never looked like scoring a goal, for me either Monty goes or something has to change system and tactics wise.
Can understand, the more teams they beat it prevents said teams gaining any advantage on us.
They may help save us from relegation.
It’s completely pointless though if we’re picking up 0 points
03-02-2024, 04:00 PM
Every single player in that park was a disgrace. Attitude and lack of willingness to apply themselves. **** them.
03-02-2024, 04:01 PM
Was there booing at the end?
NC1875
03-02-2024, 04:01 PM
Has he been sacked yet ?
Yup. And as one of my genuine older fellow fans here who have been a Hibs fan that saw Turnbulls Tornadoes .. get used to it 😉 … but seriously … I get it. So get it that we don’t look like we are on the up if you look at single matches just now … but it is … I believe … I have seen much much much worse in our history .. and in others clubs too … only Aberdeen and Dundee Utd challenged it after that time .. and then they were stamped down by money …
Having watched the Tornadoes I sometimes think it was a curse
03-02-2024, 04:02 PM
yellow cards
3-3
can't even beat them on bookings
Was there booing at the end?Yes. Even when the team came over to the stand.
Yes. Even when the team came over to the stand.
Cheeky gits
03-02-2024, 04:03 PM
Having watched the Tornadoes I sometimes think it was a curse
All seems like dream now
Donegal Hibby
03-02-2024, 04:04 PM
That was just awful , as bad as I've seen us . Don't know were we go from here
03-02-2024, 04:06 PM
This manager will bring us down to his level.
Get rid now ffs
The minute he came in and started playing 4-4-2 despite it being obvious it wasn't working for us after a short time is when alarm bells started ringing. People can harp on about it being 'dynamic' but they're delusional. Trying to force a system on players who can't play it was always going to be a recipe for disaster. I had the game on in the background and thankfully missed most of it but I don't care what he played today. If he can't see the obvious when it's staring him in the face then he'll need a lot more quality than he's got to brute force this team to results.
ionahibby
03-02-2024, 04:06 PM
Still 7th which is a miracle.
Rapidly losing interest, could take a pounding on Wednesday.
03-02-2024, 04:10 PM
Admins should close this thread in disgust. We will run out of adjectives to describe how bad that was.
03-02-2024, 04:11 PM
My over optimism in life is so often misplaced
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 04:11 PM
Rapidly losing interest, could take a pounding on Wednesday.
Could see Hibs taking one as well, enjoy though.
03-02-2024, 04:13 PM
Haha 😄
That gave me a much needed giggle
03-02-2024, 04:16 PM
Absolutely ****ing atrocious. That was awful. Horrible.
I want to like NM, I really do. And he seems an amiable chap as well.
But I have never ever been so bored watching a Hibs team and it’s been like this for a couple of months now. I actually wanted to give him time to bed in the new signings but having watched that today, we were worse than we’ve ever been.
03-02-2024, 04:17 PM
😂😂😂
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 04:21 PM
Absolutely ****ing atrocious. That was awful. Horrible.
I want to like NM, I really do. And he seems an amiable chap as well.
But I have never ever been so bored watching a Hibs team and it’s been like this for a couple of months now. I actually wanted to give him time to bed in the new signings but having watched that today, we were worse than we’ve ever been.
Amiable is probably fair but I’m not sure that’s a great quality for a football manager. I reckon he must bore the players to death. Hes so dull, cant imagine him getting angry, cant imagine him getting excited.
mcfly
03-02-2024, 04:22 PM
I read so many comments re best transfer window in ages.
Not addressing our obvious weaknesses with a powder puff defence and midfield is shameful.
The new manager seems lost and the board have to stand up and take full ownership of yet another poor appointment made by them
We are a joke right now. Bottom 6 certs and on this form lucky to bc avoid a playoff.
Disgusting performance today.
03-02-2024, 04:22 PM
Amiable is probably fair but I’m not sure that’s a great quality for a football manager. I reckon he must bore the players to death. Hes so dull, cant imagine him getting angry, cant imagine him getting excited.
Correct. I’m trying my level best to be rational and calm and to see positives but there’s none. Absolutely zero.
How can a team have so much attacking options yet look completely toothless game after game.
ShetlandHibby
03-02-2024, 04:23 PM
Look we’ve got to give these loan boys a chance to bed in. They’ve obviously got the quality to fire us up the league. It’s only a matter of time before the team clicks and we start winning games. All it takes is a break or bit of good fortune and the momentum will turn in our favour
Mike Berry
03-02-2024, 04:24 PM
Not sure why he thought he could throw a new team together in a couple of weeks and have it work. Total mess today. Embarrassing.
Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk
03-02-2024, 04:24 PM
He reminds me of Beaker from the muppets but beaker was a better tactician.
Mrimbetween
03-02-2024, 04:26 PM
One win in 8 , dreadful and celtic in midweek i despair
Fergos
03-02-2024, 04:27 PM
Thankful for a laugh after that.
Very good bud 😂
tonyrougier123
You’ve got say,to oversee a transfer window like that with a director of football pretty galling,willing to give any players a chance but complete scatter gun of activity,lots of inexperience yet again. Three 20yr old cbs in a hibs side needing that awareness that comes with experience, we all know we lack. And there’s a guy like Gogic strolled it today. A player chased out virtually who clearly wasn’t the problem in the hibs team he played in. What a complete shambles!
😄 🤣 😂
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 04:30 PM
You’ve got say,to oversee a transfer window like that with a director of football pretty galling,willing to give any players a chance but complete scatter gun of activity,lots of inexperience yet again. Three 20yr old cbs in a hibs side needing that awareness that comes with experience, we all know we lack. And there’s a guy like Gogic strolled it today. A player chased out virtually who clearly wasn’t the problem in the hibs team he played in. What a complete shambles!
I’ve found a lot of the praise given to BMcD a bit strange if I’m honest. There’s been absolutely nothing about him since he’s come in to suggest he’s any good at what he’s doing.
Wouldn’t be surprised if he leaves once the Bournemouth link is in full flow if we’re going to be using their scouting/analysis etc anyway.
03-02-2024, 04:38 PM
What you are conveniently forgetting is this owner & CEO appointed him and the previous 2 clowns we had.
The owner and CEO are at the root of all our problems. Yes, the Gordons have supplied some cash, albeit some loans, but it has been completely wasted.
I don’t forget that. I acknowledge that fact, I also acknowledge that the Gordon’s as a family have done good things for Hibs but that they’ve also made mistakes.
What you never say is what YOUR solution is. You berate and berate without any actual input as to what the solution is.
And sacking Kensall is not a solution, it just creates another problem.
FWIW if Kensall left tomorrow I wouldn’t give a flying ****. He’s done good things off the pitch and made some stinking appointments (and one sacking) on it.
Ardenttwo
03-02-2024, 04:39 PM
One win in 8 , dreadful and celtic in midweek i despair
But but but we have had a great training and bonding jaunt in Dubai didn’t you know
Exuberance1875
03-02-2024, 04:39 PM
How bad is Jair by the way? Gets away with murder based on slight improvements from last season.
Provides nothing and hides constantly.
tonyrougier123
03-02-2024, 04:43 PM
I’ve found a lot of the praise given to BMcD a bit strange if I’m honest. There’s been absolutely nothing about him since he’s come in to suggest he’s any good at what he’s doing.
Wouldn’t be surprised if he leaves once the Bournemouth link is in full flow if we’re going to be using their scouting/analysis etc anyway.
The team getting in loads of loans is a real gamble,I’d describe it as soulless,these players will in most cases move on.
The manager isn’t covering himself in glory,there is nothing in his time in charge to hang your hat on. Players are regressing in his style of play and although clearly not working he’s not for shifting his shape. It’s really quite bizarre in the context tbh. Mariners have kicked on in oz again as well,so the hype might’ve been all there is to Montgomery as a gaffer.
Guys like youan and vente even Boyle have lost their attacking edge in recent games looking like shells of the players they can be.
But the biggest disappointment has to be McDermott and his work so far. We all wanted Youan permanently and vente seemed a good find. Bit of a clamber on here for Levitt so was willing to say that was shrewd hoping folk were right. But defence was again neglected and again in January when you consider experienced hard wired defenders were needed.
03-02-2024, 04:43 PM
Exactly. When I asked this real Hibby, who lives in Oz, what he thought about Monty’s appointment, he just shook his head and said the standards crap and it might turn out to be a daft appointment. Looks like he was right.
Your mate was spot on. The fact that NM could win the title there says it all.
Imagine the standard of the league if his team were the best of them!
Always has been a footballing backwater, despite what you might hear from a few fans on here. Total joke of an appointment and adds to the reasons why BK should also leave.
But hey, we might sell a player on for a profit, so all is good.
03-02-2024, 04:44 PM
How bad is Jair by the way? Gets away with murder based on slight improvements from last season.
He’s total mince. As are most of the squad.
Numptie
03-02-2024, 04:46 PM
I’m an optimist but are we now looking down, and happy that St Johnstone won today??
hibee
03-02-2024, 04:46 PM
Anonymous, him and Whittaker are the worst right side to a team I’ve seen in a long time and all the other teams know it.
03-02-2024, 04:48 PM
I don’t forget that. I acknowledge that fact, I also acknowledge that the Gordon’s as a family have done good things for Hibs but that they’ve also made mistakes.
What you never say is what YOUR solution is. You berate and berate without any actual input as to what the solution is.
FWIW if Kensall left tomorrow I wouldn’t give a flying ****. He’s done good things off the pitch and made some stinking appointments (and one sacking) on it.
No, sacking Kensall would create an opportunity. He and the real Chief Executive have serially demonstrated their complete lack of any football insight, regularly pissing away money on incredibly poor managerial appointments and squad signings. They know **** all about football and need to be kept away from that altogether.
Montgomery as an appointment fits in entirely with their amatuerish approach to bringing in players. The 'I've watched Moneyball and played a bit of Football Manager' mentality allowed them to think they were going to spot diamonds in the rough that no-one else could see, bring them on and then sell them for $$$$. They were **** at that. They've now done the same with firstly Maloney and now Montgomery. If the owners had any sense they'd bring in a more rounded and experienced CE, keep their own fingerprints the **** away from the running of the club and install a manager with some degree of pedigree to bring authority with him.
Hopefully Foley won't tolerate this amateur-hour stuff for much longer anyway. It's pitiful, embarrassing and needless.
03-02-2024, 04:51 PM
Kensall’s job is primarily off the pitch - CEO and football side shouldn’t get mixed up
Totally different skillsets
03-02-2024, 04:53 PM
No, sacking Kensall would create an opportunity. He and the real Chief Executive have serially demonstrated their complete lack of any football insight, regularly pissing away money on incredibly poor managerial appointments and squad signings. They know **** all about football and need to be kept away from that altogether.
Montgomery as an appointment fits in entirely with their amatuerish approach to bringing in players. The 'I've watched Moneyball and played a bit of Football Manager' mentality allowed them to think they were going to spot diamonds in the rough that no-one else could see, bring them on and then sell them for $$$$. They were **** at that. They've now done the same with firstly Maloney and now Montgomery. If the owners had any sense they'd bring in a more rounded and experienced CE, keep their own fingerprints the **** away from the running of the club and install a manager with some degree of pedigree to bring authority with him.
Hopefully Foley won't tolerate this amateur-hour stuff for much longer anyway. It's pitiful, embarrassing and needless.
Actually I agree with every word, totally agree.
Paulie Walnuts
03-02-2024, 04:54 PM
The club feels like it needs another complete reset like we got when we got relegated. Hopefully it won’t take another relegation to see it happen but at this point in time, I wouldn’t bet money against it.
jakedance
03-02-2024, 04:57 PM
Genuinely can’t remember seeing as bad a Hibs performance as that first half. Deeply concerning.
03-02-2024, 04:58 PM
Yep. I’m fed up of hearing about all the Billy big baws pish that they speak. The rot has set in at the club and they’re at the epicentre of that.
03-02-2024, 05:01 PM
Nick Montgomery: "Nowhere near good enough, we we were outfought, outcompeted and outran. I understand the fans' frustration, sometimes boos have been unjustified but it was justified today."
NM: "We have to show more fight and leadership. We got exactly what we deserved."
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-02-2024, 05:01 PM
The moneyball analogy is spot on. The part that is left out of that movie is that Billy Bean knows a hell of a lot about baseball, far more than our recruitment team know about football, that’s for sure. Statistics are all well and good, but you need to know what you need. Billy Bean knew what his team needed, Kensell and co haven’t got a clue.
LunasBoots
03-02-2024, 05:03 PM
Like Nicks honesty but its something weve heard and seen far too often, whatever game plan he is setting up and telling the players to do just looks like it isnt working, players look so uncomfortable playing it, he has to change or he has to go.
03-02-2024, 05:10 PM
Nick Montgomery: "Nowhere near good enough, we we were outfought, outcompeted and outran. I understand the fans' frustration, sometimes boos have been unjustified but it was justified today."
NM: "We have to show more fight and leadership. We got exactly what we deserved."
Aye but he’s the one who lined us up with a back 4 that had 2 x 20 year olds and a 16 year old in it.
You’d get punished for that at amateur level, never mind SPL.
We had a month to sort out defensive issues. We’re no better off.
03-02-2024, 05:10 PM
I’ve seen some ***** over the years but I can’t ever remember a worse performance than that.
I thought the attitude shown by some of the players was absolutely disgraceful.
We are the softest team on the planet and the main thing he/we had to do in January (sorting the defence) has been totally neglected. Ok, we’ve signed two centre halves but thinking two 20 year old centre halves (one of which didn’t make the bench) would fix our problems was complete suicide.
03-02-2024, 05:12 PM
I’ve seen some ***** over the years but I can’t ever remember a worse performance than that.
I thought the attitude shown by some of the players was absolutely disgraceful.
We are the softest team on the planet and the main thing he/we had to do in January (sorting the defence) has been totally neglected. Ok, we’ve signed two centre halves but thinking two 20 year old centre halves (one of which didn’t make the bench) would fix our problems was complete suicide.
Aye but it doesnt matter if they are young only if they are good players apparently. Lot of *****. We needed proper experience to lead the team at the back and in midfield. The fact we still went with Newell and Levitt as a two in midfield was absolutely mental.
03-02-2024, 05:18 PM
How weak did we look across the park today? St Mirren were stronger than us to a man.
We've brought in a 6'3 CB who looks like he lose a battle with a wet paper bag.
We have no leadership, mental or physical strength and apparently a set of players who don't give a **** or are too young to impose themselves.
Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 05:21 PM
I've seen some of your replies to others who do not agree with you. You regularly say 'what solution do you have', 'what's the alternative' ,etc. I could turn it round and ask what is YOUR solution, but I very much doubt you have one either. Is your solution to go along with the nonsense and incompetence pedalled by Kensell & The Gordons. Because if it is we are heading in the wrong direction fast.
None of us on here are in the position to provide a solution as we neither have the power, influence or money to do it. This is a forum for Hibs fans to comment, criticise or praise. Sadly, apart from a few on here who see grains of optimism when there is really none, there has been very little to get positive about Hibs for a long time.
What is clear is that Kensell & The Gordons have had a fair number of chances to appoint the correct people to get an attractive and successful team on the park. However, all their footballing decisions have been a complete and utter disaster.
My view is it is clearly far easier to remove Kensell than the owners. Kensell has been involved in and has his finger marks over a whole load of lamentable appointments and sackings and has to be removed from his post. I've seen comments that he works tirelessly for Hibs in his role. Fair enough, he may put in the hours but he has done more harm than good.
Which brings me to the Gordon family. You are right in one thing, I don't have a solution to them being removed other than hope for a takeover from a wealthy consortium, with hopefully an affinity to Hibs and Edinburgh.
I've said before I do not trust the Gordons or Kensell to make the correct decisions in Hibs interest. Things as far as I can see are getting worse.
03-02-2024, 05:22 PM
Correct. I’m trying my level best to be rational and calm and to see positives but there’s none. Absolutely zero.
How can a team have so much attacking options yet look completely toothless game after game.
We have a poor defence and that midfield is awful, Levitt is a passenger, Newell is a show pony and Jair is ****in useless.
And managed by someone who just has not got a clue, he'd get sacked from aa kids team with his tactics and system.
Another clown.
03-02-2024, 05:23 PM
Aye but it doesnt matter if they are young only if they are good players apparently. Lot of *****. We needed proper experience to lead the team at the back and in midfield. The fact we still went with Newell and Levitt as a two in midfield was absolutely mental.
Managers with Newell in the middle of the park every week, particularly as ****ing captain, will continue to fail. Levitt is the most disinterested and least athletic player I’ve ever see in the middle of the park as well.
03-02-2024, 05:24 PM
Managers with Newell in the middle of the park every week, particularly as ****ing captain, will continue to fail. Levitt is the most disinterested and least athletic player I’ve ever see in the middle of the park as well.
They were dreadful today.Well away from any action.
03-02-2024, 05:24 PM
I've seen some of your replies to others who do not agree with you. You regularly say 'what solution do you have', 'what's the alternative' ,etc. I could turn it round and ask what is YOUR solution, but I very much doubt you have one either. Is your solution to go along with the nonsense and incompetence pedalled by Kensell & The Gordons. Because if it is we are heading in the wrong direction fast.
None of us on here are in the position to provide a solution as we neither have the power, influence or money to do it. This is a forum for Hibs fans to comment, criticise or praise. Sadly, apart from a few on here who see grains of optimism when there is really none, there has been very little to get positive about Hibs for a long time.
What is clear is that Kensell & The Gordons have had a fair number of chances to appoint the correct people to get an attractive and successful team on the park. However, all their footballing decisions have been a complete and utter disaster.
My view is it is clearly far easier to remove Kensell than the owners. Kensell has been involved in and has his finger marks over a whole load of lamentable appointments and sackings and has to be removed from his post. I've seen comments that he works tirelessly for Hibs in his role. Fair enough, he may put in the hours but he has done more harm than good.
Which brings me to the Gordon family. You are right in one thing, I don't have a solution to them being removed other than hope for a takeover from a wealthy consortium, with hopefully an affinity to Hibs and Edinburgh.
I've said before I do not trust the Gordons or Kensell to make the correct decisions in Hibs interest. Things as far as I can see are getting worse.
If people criticise Montgomery and want him gone for not switching from
His tactics that don’t work, then the same should be of Kensell. Need experienced defenders and yet again we get youngsters nowhere near our level.
Hes got the opposite to the Midas touch of anything fooot all related. It all turns into ****.
When during this guys tenure have boo’s been unjustified!?
Coach Jon
03-02-2024, 05:32 PM
Its so obvious that we dont have the MF numbers, I feel for Newell and Levitt as the manager has 2 wingers in who are not Midfielders, so they are getting overwhelmed by the opposition almost every week. Everyone can see that except the manager it seems, for that reason he needs to go.
Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 05:37 PM
Fight and leadership. When you sign the likes of Tavares, Youan, Milouda (I could mention loads others) no wonder there is no fight and leadership in the side.
We have signed a whole raft of players not suitable for the SPFL.
03-02-2024, 05:57 PM
My solution now would be to appoint a tried and tested manager in our division. I wouldn’t sack Kensell, I think there’s people who need sacking before him and the reside in the dugout, not the boardroom.
For all Kensells made some **** appointments on the pitch I think he’s done a world of good off it and should be left to get on with that.
McDermott, I don’t think he’s entirely innocent in all this and needs to seriously examine Montgomery’s appointment and his input.
The squad is the squad, we can’t change it.
We could suggest the manager maybe tries something different?
Hes clearly banking on getting the time he got in Australia and that isn’t gonna happen here.
The Gordon’s are owners of the club. End of, and short of a Hibs leaning Anderson type deciding he wants to buy the club coming along then that’s it. That’s my main contention with bitching and moaning about the owners, they are not (in my opinion) free from criticism, but they have been generous with their money, it’s just a shame they’ve put their faith in the wrong people at times. At the end of the day they were thoroughly vetted by STF and his people, and that’s all the endorsement I need to trust they mean no ill will to Hibernian FC.
Hibees1973
03-02-2024, 06:11 PM
My solution now would be to appoint a tried and tested manager in our division. I wouldn’t sack Kensell, I think there’s people who need sacking before him and the reside in the dugout, not the boardroom.
For all Kensells made some **** appointments on the pitch I think he’s done a world of good off it and should be left to get on with that.
McDermott, I don’t think he’s entirely innocent in all this and needs to seriously examine Montgomery’s appointment and his input.
The squad is the squad, we can’t change it.
We could suggest the manager maybe tries something different?
Hes clearly banking on getting the time he got in Australia and that isn’t gonna happen here.
The Gordon’s are owners of the club. End of, and short of a Hibs leaning Anderson type deciding he wants to buy the club coming along then that’s it. That’s my main contention with bitching and moaning about the owners, they are not (in my opinion) free from criticism, but they have been generous with their money, it’s just a shame they’ve put their faith in the wrong people at times. At the end of the day they were thoroughly vetted by STF and his people, and that’s all the endorsement I need to trust they mean no ill will to Hibernian FC.
Fair enough Jones. Good post.
Yes, I understand you feel the Gordons mean no ill will to Hibernian FC. FWIW I don't either. Yes they have been vetted and deemed fit and proper people. But there is now an accumulation of evidence gathering after nearly 4 years that, as owners, they will be unable to get a successful Hibs team on the park.
But, until we have owners able to provide solutions we will have to put up with them.
03-02-2024, 06:59 PM
Not sure I have ever seen a Hibs team clapping the East and being booed at Full Time. Monty needs a miracle to still be in a job at the end of teh season. He could help himself massively by being more pragmatic and making us harder to beat. We must be a dream to play against. Lose every 50-50, complete lack of energy and intensity and massive weak points on our right combined with a team that is simply shocking at passing the ball. I enjoyed watching how simple St Mirren made the game look, make progress up the pitch as quickly as possible so the defence doesn't get a chance to set. When you get the chance to put it in the danger area then put it in there. Today was man against boy on the pitch and the dug out. We could easily end up in a play off position this season
snedzuk
03-02-2024, 07:39 PM
Not sure I have ever seen a Hibs team clapping the East and being booed at Full Time. Monty needs a miracle to still be in a job at the end of teh season. He could help himself massively by being more pragmatic and making us harder to beat. We must be a dream to play against. Lose every 50-50, complete lack of energy and intensity and massive weak points on our right combined with a team that is simply shocking at passing the ball. I enjoyed watching how simple St Mirren made the game look, make progress up the pitch as quickly as possible so the defence doesn't get a chance to set. When you get the chance to put it in the danger area then put it in there. Today was man against boy on the pitch and the dug out. We could easily end up in a play off position this season
Tanser and Kiltie were excellent. Embarrassing episode when one of our older 'fans' apparently invited Robinson to a square go - like it was his fault Hibs were awful.
snedzuk
03-02-2024, 07:41 PM
'I can't accept that, the players can't accept that, but I have to accept that defeat'
03-02-2024, 08:06 PM
Never mind getting booed at full time, they got booed back ON to the pitch for the second half. That was definitely a new one on me.
03-02-2024, 09:40 PM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/425644690_10228681309410786_1826817395563834945_n. jpg?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=c42490&_nc_ohc=fEGqc2Y_gQEAX-2pPqM&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfBb5-K5PeV8mdo5OX8DSzHlcC3bLMtL1kpjPDrJkSVtSg&oe=65C2E2B2
04-02-2024, 12:16 AM
:top marks Excellent post.
04-02-2024, 12:48 AM
Not sure I have ever seen a Hibs team clapping the East and being booed at Full Time.
No way you’re old enough to be using a keyboard in that case, Wookie!
Trinity Hibee
04-02-2024, 06:30 AM
Tanser and Kiltie were excellent. Embarrassing episode when one of our older 'fans' apparently invited Robinson to a square go - like it was his fault Hibs were awful.
Embarrassing
Chorley Hibee
04-02-2024, 07:27 AM
https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/425644690_10228681309410786_1826817395563834945_n. jpg?stp=cp6_dst-jpg&_nc_cat=100&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=c42490&_nc_ohc=fEGqc2Y_gQEAX-2pPqM&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfBb5-K5PeV8mdo5OX8DSzHlcC3bLMtL1kpjPDrJkSVtSg&oe=65C2E2B2
Everyone involved in the running of the club should take a long hard look at this picture and cringe in shame at the damage they're doing to us.
I wouldn't lose a moment's sleep if pretty much everyone in the boardroom, on the coaching staff, and the playing squad, all left today.
Absolutely zero enthusiasm or attachment to what our club has been infested with since the Gordon family arrived.
04-02-2024, 07:41 AM
It won’t look to dissimilar to that at the start of the game on Wednesday, never mind by the end.
04-02-2024, 04:08 PM
Out of interest what was the official attendance? Can't seem to find it anywhere
04-02-2024, 05:09 PM
Haven’t seen any highlights but first goal was a header in the box and the third was from a couple of feet. Our goalie was nowhere to be seen. Should he have done better?
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2024, 05:17 PM
I thought Gogic was very good for them yesterday , player I wanted to keep . Jeggo and Doidge would have contributed more too .