View Full Version : Team for Motherwell

28-12-2023, 09:35 AM
Time to change things up and start getting people where they need to be on the park.

Marshall

Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita.

Jeggo
Newell
Levitt.

Boyle
Vente
Youan.

It's nowhere near perfect but I refuse to believe that line up and formation wouldn't create more than we are currently doing.

28-12-2023, 09:37 AM
Time to change things up and start getting people where they need to be on the park.

Marshall

Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita.

Jeggo
Newell
Levitt.

Boyle
Vente
Youan.

It's nowhere near perfect but I refuse to believe that line up and formation wouldn't create more than we are currently doing.

Are Miller and Boyle available, listening to Monty’s post match interview on Hibs TV, I got the impression all the Asian Cup players wouldn’t be available

28-12-2023, 09:38 AM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Boyle
Levitt
Newell
Tavares

Youan
Vente

Is my best guess at what the manager will do. Would definitely go with your team though Flash.

28-12-2023, 09:38 AM

Marshall

Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita.

Jeggo
Newell
Levitt.

Boyle
Vente
Youan.

Don't think anyone would really disagree with that setup, bar dropping Tavares which would be bordering on unfair really.

28-12-2023, 09:39 AM
Are Miller and Boyle available, listening to Monty’s post match interview on Hibs TV, I got the impression all the Asian Cup players wouldn’t be available

Aye definitely sounded like they wouldn’t be.

Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2023, 09:39 AM

Marshall

Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita.

Jeggo
Newell
Levitt.

Boyle
Vente
Youan.

Pretty sure Boyle, Miller and Rocky are away, otherwise I’d agree.

If they are away then Whittaker and Jair in for Boyle and Miller and I’d go with your team.

On the presumption we’re sticking with 4-4-2 :rolleyes: then I’d go:

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Newell
Jeggo
Jair

Vente
Doidge

28-12-2023, 09:45 AM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Boyle
Levitt
Newall
Youhan

Vente
Doidge

WestStandWillie
28-12-2023, 09:49 AM

Marshall

Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita.

Jeggo
Newell
Levitt.

Boyle
Vente
Youan.

That requires the manager to change his approach which we all know ain't happening :greengrin

28-12-2023, 09:52 AM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Boyle
Levitt
Newall
Youhan

Vente
Doidge

Based on the fact he ain’t changing the shape, that would be about what I would pick.

28-12-2023, 09:55 AM
Both Miller and Boyle will fly out with the squad to Abu Dhabi for their pre-tournament camp from Monday 1 January, 2024

From the Hibs site

Basildon Hibs
28-12-2023, 09:57 AM
Does it matter? 'well haven't won since September, so you just know who's gonna be giving them a welcome,festive three points..

😉

28-12-2023, 09:57 AM
So it'll be

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Levitt/Jeggo
Newell
Tavares

Vente
Doidge

Chipper1875
28-12-2023, 09:59 AM
I’d recall Megwa from airdrie and play him At right back

Daydreamer
28-12-2023, 10:00 AM
Jeggo, Whittaker and Jair should be nowhere near the team. Jeggo plays further back than the centre backs and invites teams on to you. Whittaker needs to learn how to run first and control the ball with the first touch and anyone who saw Jair last night must know that Johnson was right about the guy. I have never seen a Hibs player have so much off the ball and have so many one on ones and do FA with it.

McGruber
28-12-2023, 10:03 AM
Lets go 442 and have 2 in the middle against their 3 - we can compensate with our poacher striker dropping deep all game to try plug the gap.

28-12-2023, 10:05 AM
Going to be an interesting bench..

Last night was first time I thought we have hardly any options off bench.

28-12-2023, 01:13 PM
Both Miller and Boyle will fly out with the squad to Abu Dhabi for their pre-tournament camp from Monday 1 January, 2024

From the Hibs site

**** sake. I know neither have been brilliant but surely they could fly out a couple of days later?

28-12-2023, 01:21 PM
**** sake. I know neither have been brilliant but surely they could fly out a couple of days later?

They don't play until the 13th.

28-12-2023, 01:22 PM
Marshall

Whittaker
Hanlon
Fish
Obita

Youan
Newell
Jeggo
Jair

Vente
Doidge

It's going to be the same formation and with what we have available I think that's about the best we can put out. I wouldn't be against young Rudi getting a start though, he's ready imo.

28-12-2023, 01:26 PM
Jeggo, Whittaker and Jair should be nowhere near the team. Jeggo plays further back than the centre backs and invites teams on to you. Whittaker needs to learn how to run first and control the ball with the first touch and anyone who saw Jair last night must know that Johnson was right about the guy. I have never seen a Hibs player have so much off the ball and have so many one on ones and do FA with it.

Your takes on all three players are plain wrong.

28-12-2023, 01:32 PM

Terrible take on Jair.

28-12-2023, 01:43 PM
Terrible take on Jair.

Just in terms of last night, I think it’s a fair enough take on Jair. Second half he had multiple opportunities 1v1 with the full back and never managed to really get a clean shot away or a decent cross in. He did work harder than most but the novelty is wearing off a wee bit with him now and he needs to start producing more. For all the talk of formations and getting the best out of players etc just now, there wasn’t any lack of opportunity for him last night.

28-12-2023, 01:49 PM
Just in terms of last night, I think it’s a fair enough take on Jair. Second half he had multiple opportunities 1v1 with the full back and never managed to really get a clean shot away or a decent cross in. He did work harder than most but the novelty is wearing off a wee bit with him now and he needs to start producing more. For all the talk of formations and getting the best out of players etc just now, there wasn’t any lack of opportunity for him last night.

Jair had a lot of the ball deep in their half and did sweet FA with it. He was poor.

28-12-2023, 02:15 PM

Jair had a lot of the ball deep in their half and did sweet FA with it. He was poor.

Poster said that "Johnson was right about Jair" . I think that's a terrible take.

As for last night he wasn't great offensively agreed but he did put in a decent enough midfield shift. Hearts doubled up on him effectively which made it hard for him. If we go a goal up then think he gets more space to attack in with Hearts taking risks and would have been more effective.

28-12-2023, 02:23 PM

From the Hibs site
Fair chance both would have been dropped anyway - and Rocky too - but their absence does stretch our bench options. Boyle seems a shadow of his former self.
Given it's 'Well I'd be prepared to see Levitt start still - but almost as a last chance to impress, otherwise he should be oot the windae in the forthcoming windae with someone coming in to complement Newell in midfield a priority.

28-12-2023, 02:26 PM
Marshall
Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Jeggo
Newell
Molotnikov

Youan
Doidge
Jair

28-12-2023, 03:19 PM
Tavares has to be in the team surely? Youan contributed last night and his first couple of touches were probably my highlight from last night.

If I was changing the system at all it would be getting another man in midfield in a 4-2-3-1.

Marshall

Whittiker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Molotnikov
Newall

Youan
Levitt
Tavares

Vente/Doidge

However we won’t change so I think we will see the above team re shuffled with Boyle in instead of molotnikov.

LewysGot2
28-12-2023, 03:39 PM
Any chance of new signings before Tuesday? 🤔

JammyDoidger
28-12-2023, 03:42 PM
Doidge is our only player that even remotely looks like a striker, he has to play.

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Harbottle
Obita

Levitt
Jeggo
Newell

Youan
Doidge
Tavares

ruthven_raiders
28-12-2023, 03:45 PM
Your takes on all three players are plain wrong.

Especially about Jair, yeh would have liked him going past players more in the second half but wish some others had his spirit at getting the ball back....

28-12-2023, 06:30 PM
Any chance of new signings before Tuesday? 🤔

30th Jan couple of last min loans and the usual bile of how lucky we are to get this young talent from English club

I’ll guess at least one off

28-12-2023, 08:18 PM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Jeggo
Newell
Jair

Doidge
Vente

Or

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Jeggo
Newell
Rudi

Youan
Vente
Jair

LewysGot2
29-12-2023, 12:08 PM
Marsh
Whittaker
Hanlon
Fish
Obita/Stevenson (not fussed which)

Newell
Jeggo
Youan
Jair

Vente
Doidgey

Not really much wriggle room tbf

29-12-2023, 12:34 PM
I'd start Doidge. Made a difference when he came on. If he's going to insist on 442 which looks the case then Doidge and Vente would be more effective than Boyle up top. Boyle needs to be play wide right. Taveres has improved but give me Boyle there every time.

Ship of Hope
29-12-2023, 12:42 PM
The problem with pairing boyle or youan with vente is that vente is doing all the legwork and not around the box where he is best placed to be. I would play tavares through the middle as a second striker / 10 as he can see a pass but is also better defensively and could perhaps free up vente to stay further up the pitch. Youan on left and boyle on the right where they have both been effective in the past. With boyle and miller away.. things need shifted about for this game. The squad is looking a bit threadbare but maybe an opportunity for a couple of the young boys to shine.

29-12-2023, 12:58 PM
Marshall

Whitts
Fish
Hanlon
Stevenson

Youan/Jair.
Levitt
Newell
Obita

Vente
Doidge

Hibees1973
29-12-2023, 01:05 PM

Agreed. Disgraceful stuff.

Flying out after the game on the 3rd. Is that too much to ask? Obviously is.

Just hope this time the docs around the Australian Squad don't come across something wrong with Boyle that the Hibs medical staff could not see.

29-12-2023, 01:38 PM
Agreed. Disgraceful stuff.

Flying out after the game on the 3rd. Is that too much to ask? Obviously is.

Just hope this time the docs around the Australian Squad don't come across something wrong with Boyle that the Hibs medical staff could not see.

Not the players decision unfortunately. That’s the downside of having players who play for teams outwith Europe. Long distances to travel for games too

Think this tournament is very important to all the countries involved. Surprised we brought in Jo Jo in the summer, when there was a good chance he’d be playing in this tournament, and he could have been our No 1

29-12-2023, 02:00 PM
We asked if the players could stay and play and the relevant countries refused.

Pissed off at that to be completely honest.

29-12-2023, 02:22 PM

I’m presuming hibs will be getting money for the players who are away
Similar to the payments clubs got after the Euros

29-12-2023, 02:24 PM
I'd like to see Molotnikov given a start but it won't happen.

29-12-2023, 02:28 PM
I'd like to see Molotnikov given a start but it won't happen.

There’s at least 4 starting places up for grabs, with Miller, Rocky and Boyle away, and Campbell injured
You’d think he doesn’t start, he would be getting on at some stage
Monty did say post match that some of the youngsters would get a chance

29-12-2023, 02:35 PM
There’s at least 4 starting places up for grabs, with Miller, Rocky and Boyle away, and Campbell injured
You’d think he doesn’t start, he would be getting on at some stage
Monty did say post match that some of the youngsters would get a chance

Team will more or less pick itself IMO.

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Levitt
Newell
Tavares

Doidge
Vente

Average age of the bench will be about 12 and we’ll be lucky to fill it.

29-12-2023, 02:45 PM
Team will more or less pick itself IMO.

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Levitt
Newell
Tavares

Doidge
Vente

Average age of the bench will be about 12 and we’ll be lucky to fill it.

Be interesting to see how Doidge and Vente play together, can’t be many times they’ve started a game together

Will be a very young bench as you say, apart from Lewis, Delferrière and Harbottle! Is Boric ahead of Johnson in goals? Have I missed anyone or have we recalled anyone out on loan?

29-12-2023, 03:01 PM
Interesting to see what Montgomery does, very few options if he remains with the 442 which I’m sure he will. Likely team;

……..…………Marshall……………

Whittikar….Fish…Hanlon …..Obita…..

Youan…..Levitt……Newell…..Jair…

…………….Doidge….Vente….

Leaving a bench of - Wollacott, Harbottle, Hanlon, Stevenson, Jeggo, Molotnikov, Landers

The bench of this game and pretty much since Montgomery has came in really makes you realise how weak our squad is

I’m hoping ALF is back for the game and we’re keeping it s bit quiet, think we’ve missed him massively and Vente more than anyone

Other option with a slight formation tweak that I would like to see due to the limited options;

……..…………Marshall……………

Whittikar….Fish…Hanlon…..Obita…..

…………………..Jeggo…..
………….Levitt…………Newell…..

Youan……………………………Jair….

……………………Vente……….

With a real emphasis on Newell and Levitt being much higher up the pitch.

29-12-2023, 03:01 PM
I'd start Doidge. Made a difference when he came on. If he's going to insist on 442 which looks the case then Doidge and Vente would be more effective than Boyle up top. Boyle needs to be play wide right. Taveres has improved but give me Boyle there every time.

I thought Doidge looked lively during his very brief time on the park.

Another thing that's been mentioned a few times is that we have a few players who don't look like they're enjoying their football right now. Doidge always looks like a fairly positive big lad, even if he's missing chances or not playing particularly well. I think we could do with a bit more of his attitude right now, along with the fact that he looks like he's knocking his pan in in an attempt to stay at the club. That might find itself transmitting to some of those who are going through the motions a bit.

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Jeggo
Newell

Youan
Levitt
Jair

Doidge

Miles from perfect but I'd argue the best of what we have available.

29-12-2023, 03:02 PM
Be interesting to see how Doidge and Vente play together, can’t be many times they’ve started a game together

Will be a very young bench as you say, apart from Lewis, Delferrière and Harbottle! Is Boric ahead of Johnson in goals? Have I missed anyone or have we recalled anyone out on loan?

I thought Doidge did really well when he came on the other night. Looked fit and sharp and very direct.

29-12-2023, 03:07 PM
I thought Doidge did really well when he came on the other night. Looked fit and sharp and very direct.
Agree totally, but, we need to get the ball to him, not over his head but onto it!
The final 3rd we don't seem to be able to direct the ball to the player in the middle?
Hopefully we can address the problem and maybe score some goals!!!!

29-12-2023, 03:09 PM

They will fly out later. Certainly Miller and Boyle.

29-12-2023, 03:12 PM

Did Doidge and Vente not start together away to Killie. Linked up well until Doidge got the kick in the face and had to go off??

29-12-2023, 03:13 PM

We pay the wages. I’d be surprised if that is true given we are talking about a couple of days. Why are Australia saying from the 1st and not on the 1st? Miller and Boyle will be available I reckon.

29-12-2023, 03:14 PM
They will fly out later. Certainly Miller and Boyle.

Already confirmed they’re going on the 1st.

Monty confirming in interview today that we asked the Aussies if we could keep them two days longer but request was rejected.

29-12-2023, 03:18 PM
Interesting to see what Montgomery does, very few options if he remains with the 442 which I’m sure he will. Likely team;

……..…………Marshall……………

Whittikar….Fish…Rocky…..Obita…..

Youan…..Levitt……Newell…..Jair…

…………….Doidge….Vente….

Leaving a bench of - Wollacott, Harbottle, Hanlon, Stevenson, Jeggo, Molotnikov, Landers

The bench of this game and pretty much since Montgomery has came in really makes you realise how weak our squad is

I’m hoping ALF is back for the game and we’re keeping it s bit quiet, think we’ve missed him massively and Vente more than anyone

Other option with a slight formation tweak that I would like to see due to the limited options;

……..…………Marshall……………

Whittikar….Fish…Rocky…..Obita…..

…………………..Jeggo…..
………….Levitt…………Newell…..

Youan……………………………Jair….

……………………Vente……….

With a real emphasis on Newell and Levitt being much higher up the pitch.

Won’t see Rocky.

29-12-2023, 03:20 PM
Won’t see Rocky.

Apologies you’re right, don’t know how I forgot that!

Even though it will be Hanlon I would like to see Harbottle get a chance at some point, was highly rated before he signed

29-12-2023, 03:22 PM
Apologies you’re right, don’t know how I forgot that!

Even though it will be Hanlon I would like to see Harbottle get a chance at some point, was highly rated before he signed

Me too. Harbottle is a man of mystery.

29-12-2023, 03:31 PM
I think people are getting a bit carried away re Doidge’s performance in the derby. He came on in the 88th minute.

He did ok with one run and lay off to Jair. That was about it.

I do agree we’d be better going 4-3-3 or 3-5-2 with what we have available but it’s not gonna happen is it 🫤

29-12-2023, 03:38 PM

Monty confirming in interview today that we asked the Aussies if we could keep them two days longer but request was rejected.

Booooooooooo.

29-12-2023, 03:45 PM

I just see absolutely no reason why they couldn’t stay for the game. Graham Arnold is a ****.

I think Jair and Rocky are in the same boat in that they have come a long way and really won the fans over. But I think it's somewhat masked their deficiencies. Everyone loves a redemption arc and 'but look how much they have improved' isn't really enough imo.

I think there are question marks on whether both are consistent enough to deserve to start every week.

With Jair, I would say that at least he is a proper left midfielder - he actually tracks back and puts in a shift defensively. For that reason he would be in the team for me but I'm not convinced he's incisive enough going forward.

He did TH, just was put on far too late

29-12-2023, 03:47 PM

Outrageous on principal. There is something wrong with football when the wage payers can’t have precedent over an extended training camp.
In reality I’m not sure we will be that hindered on the park with their absence.

29-12-2023, 04:11 PM
I just see absolutely no reason why they couldn’t stay for the game. Graham Arnold is a ****.

To be fair, they’re preparing for a major tournament, it loses him a couple of days with his full squad and runs the risk of injuries. I don’t think he can be blamed really, you know this kind of thing is going to happen when you have players of certain nationalities.

29-12-2023, 04:14 PM
Outrageous on principal. There is something wrong with football when the wage payers can’t have precedent over an extended training camp.
In reality I’m not sure we will be that hindered on the park with their absence.

Could be wrong but think we will get some kind of payment for participating players.

29-12-2023, 04:44 PM
I think people are getting a bit carried away re Doidge’s performance in the derby. He came on in the 88th minute.

He did ok with one run and lay off to Jair. That was about it.

I do agree we’d be better going 4-3-3 or 3-5-2 with what we have available but it’s not gonna happen is it 🫤

I guess it's mainly that he showed about as much in that positive moment as we've seen from Vente in the past half dozen matches.

29-12-2023, 04:46 PM
To be fair, they’re preparing for a major tournament, it loses him a couple of days with his full squad and runs the risk of injuries. I don’t think he can be blamed really, you know this kind of thing is going to happen when you have players of certain nationalities.

I actually think we're going to have to have a wee think about the wisdom of having a number of players of those nationalities if we're going to lose them for matches and especially if we're going to run with a squad that looks particularly light on cover.

29-12-2023, 04:58 PM

These are all fair points. I saw someone posted saying it’s 13 days or something till their first game. Just feel it’s a bit ***** for the club that pays their wages to lose them when there’s no game for so long and it’s purely just training they are going for. Hoped for a bit of leeway given the supposed good relationship we have with them.

Hibiza
29-12-2023, 07:21 PM
Jairs had a good ( been average) run , Rocky -enough been said .

sauzeelegod
30-12-2023, 11:55 AM
Would love to see a 4312 shape

With players on international duty I’d go…

Marsh

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Levitt
Jeggo
Newell

Molotnikov

Vente
Youan

It’s gonna be a 442 though.

1875M
30-12-2023, 12:27 PM
Will be a 4-4-2.

Marshall

Whittaker (wouldn’t play him but there’s nobody else)
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Newell
Levitt (if we had quality players, I’d be dropping him but I don’t think Jeggo is much better)
Jair

Doidge
Vente

Skol
30-12-2023, 12:30 PM
The team more or less picks itself I reckon. Jeggo or levitt being the only choice to be made. Possibly Stevenson for obita.

30-12-2023, 02:11 PM
The team more or less picks itself I reckon. Jeggo or levitt being the only choice to be made. Possibly Stevenson for obita.

I'd be playing Molotnikov ahead of both Jeggo and Levitt. They have had plenty of chances so let's see what the young lad can do. He's clearly deserving of a chance if he's been around the squad for a while so give him game time.

30-12-2023, 03:04 PM
I'd be playing Molotnikov ahead of both Jeggo and Levitt. They have had plenty of chances so let's see what the young lad can do. He's clearly deserving of a chance if he's been around the squad for a while so give him game time.

Jeggo's never really let us down imo. I know he has his limitations but we were in decent form when we had him and Newell in the midfield, better than at any other point this season. Some folk really haven't taken to him but given where we've found ourselves he's pretty much one of the first names on the team sheet for me.

30-12-2023, 03:12 PM
Jeggo's never really let us down imo. I know he has his limitations but we were in decent form when we had him and Newell in the midfield, better than at any other point this season. Some folk really haven't taken to him but given where we've found ourselves he's pretty much one of the first names on the team sheet for me.

I don't disagree but I'd like to see us with more of an attacking threat and you just don't get that from Jeggo as it's not his game.

30-12-2023, 03:31 PM
Can we switch to a 3-5-2 and see how it goes?

30-12-2023, 03:57 PM
I agree. Not a fan of Levitt and Newell on the teamsheet together. For me when Levitt plays, Joe reverts to square passes and they both become far too comfortable playing in our own half, not clinical or efficient enough getting us forward. When Jeggo is in there Joe seems to take more responsibility to drive us on and have us playing forward - that's my feeling from what I've seen.

Levitt has a lot to prove IMO. And beyond that we've simply got to get Youan on the pitch don't we!!??

30-12-2023, 04:02 PM
I don't disagree but I'd like to see us with more of an attacking threat and you just don't get that from Jeggo as it's not his game.

Sure, but there should be enough players elsewhere in the team at fullback, wide midfield, 2 strikers and then Newell beside him to give us an attacking threat.

I can live with us having 3 primarily defensive players in our team at CH and then in the centre of midfield.

30-12-2023, 04:09 PM

Nope 442

Skol
30-12-2023, 04:10 PM
Molotnikov if he is ready should be introduced as a sub over a period of time. I know he has had a few appearances but not many and not demonstrated enough yet to be a starter.

30-12-2023, 05:00 PM
Nope 442

Is that your last word on the matter?

Ach well, worth a try.

Keepthefaith
30-12-2023, 08:45 PM
Will be a 4-4-2.

Marshall

Whittaker (wouldn’t play him but there’s nobody else)
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Newell
Levitt (if we had quality players, I’d be dropping him but I don’t think Jeggo is much better)
Jair

Doidge
Vente

Bit unfair on Whittaker. He's done well IMO, he's got great potential and feels similar to doig when he broke through. Remember the lad Miley at Newcastle is also only 17 and being played in top CL and EPL matches. Age isn't always relevant.

Also a bit concerned that folk seem to think doige is suddenly the answer..sure he had an impact coming on but games prior to that he's not looked effective. Seems a decent lad so nothing against him but we need better.

30-12-2023, 09:05 PM
Bit unfair on Whittaker. He's done well IMO, he's got great potential and feels similar to doig when he broke through. Remember the lad Miley at Newcastle is also only 17 and being played in top CL and EPL matches. Age isn't always relevant.

Also a bit concerned that folk seem to think doige is suddenly the answer..sure he had an impact coming on but games prior to that he's not looked effective. Seems a decent lad so nothing against him but we need better.

Not suggesting that Doidge is any sort of a long term answer but if it's between him and Vente based on recent contribution then I think I'd rather have Doidge in my team.

Slim pickings though, really.

30-12-2023, 09:07 PM
Is that your last word on the matter?

Ach well, worth a try.

Not my last word but NM has already stated on more than one occasion he will not waver from it.

To me you are giving the opposition a head start by declaring what formation you will be playing. The league is tight and often games are settled by fine margins and we would be as well publishing our line up the day before the game.

Personally I would have 352 and 433 as alternatives.

Keepthefaith
30-12-2023, 09:46 PM
Not my last word but NM has already stated on more than one occasion he will not waver from it.

To me you are giving the opposition a head start by declaring what formation you will be playing. The league is tight and often games are settled by fine margins and we would be as well publishing our line up the day before the game.

Personally I would have 352 and 433 as alternatives.

Which makes it all the more interesting that Naismith apparently changed tactics at half time due to how hibs were playing with obita and miller pushed forward. Monty has consistently said there are variations in application of 442 and it's not rigid in the way folk are making out

30-12-2023, 09:54 PM

This might be the game when he realises he has to change formation, using the fact that squad is thin so needs must

Keepthefaith
30-12-2023, 10:15 PM
This might be the game when he realises he has to change formation, using the fact that squad is thin so needs must

So we lose a first choice CB in Rocky and you think that's the right time to play 3 CBs?! IMO maintaining stability in amongst forced change is key, so slotting in hanlon or harbottle makes more sense and keep the shape as solid as possible. I'm not convinced we looked better as a 3 when Johnson tried it

30-12-2023, 11:05 PM
So we lose a first choice CB in Rocky and you think that's the right time to play 3 CBs?! IMO maintaining stability in amongst forced change is key, so slotting in hanlon or harbottle makes more sense and keep the shape as solid as possible. I'm not convinced we looked better as a 3 when Johnson tried it

No that's not what I think.
What I'd like to see is 433 but I'm not sure NM will change despite the lack of depth for the Motherwell game

31-12-2023, 08:44 AM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Levitt
Jeggo
Newell

Youan
Doidge
Jair

Vente on bench

31-12-2023, 08:49 AM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Levitt
Jeggo
Newell

Youan
Doidge
Jair

Vente on bench

Starting Doidge over Vente is a joke in my opinion.

Doidge is miles away from being good enough to be our starting striker. If we’re starting Doidge we’re starting a guy who I don’t think starts at any other team in our league.

I love the big guy, but he’s a sub at best for Hibs.

31-12-2023, 08:53 AM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Harbottle
Obita

Jair
Newell
Jeggo
Rudi

Doidge
Vente

I know we need to win the game but after the last few genes would also be nice to see something different and what Rudi & Harbottle can offer. Though unlikely to see both Whittaker & Rudi in together.

31-12-2023, 09:04 AM
Hibs showing a photo of training, and Lewis Miller is in it?

31-12-2023, 09:05 AM
Hibs showing a photo of training, and Lewis Miller is in it?

What’s weird about that?

31-12-2023, 09:06 AM
What’s weird about that?

They leave on the 1st billy.

1875M
31-12-2023, 09:16 AM

It’s nothing to do with age, I just don’t think he’s that good and I’m not sure RB is his natural position.

Agree with Doidge, we need better but at the moment due to injuries, we don’t so unless we chuck one of the young boys in, he’s our only real option.

31-12-2023, 09:58 AM
They leave on the 1st billy.

Ok, thought they’d have been away now as they had to be Abu Dhabi for the 1st

31-12-2023, 10:11 AM
Ok, thought they’d have been away now as they had to be Abu Dhabi for the 1st

The player behind him. Is that Hastie?

31-12-2023, 10:31 AM
It’s nothing to do with age, I just don’t think he’s that good and I’m not sure RB is his natural position.

Agree with Doidge, we need better but at the moment due to injuries, we don’t so unless we chuck one of the young boys in, he’s our only real option.

Based on what I've seen, Whittaker should be nowhere near a first team start at the moment.

Change of formation needed to counter our lack of full back options.

31-12-2023, 11:10 AM

Not sure, no meat on him anyway😀

31-12-2023, 05:00 PM
Starting Doidge over Vente is a joke in my opinion.

Doidge is miles away from being good enough to be our starting striker. If we’re starting Doidge we’re starting a guy who I don’t think starts at any other team in our league.

I love the big guy, but he’s a sub at best for Hibs.

I agree but it isn’t happening for Vente and we were crying out for Doidge earlier in Derby

Fanforlife
31-12-2023, 09:08 PM
If its photo im thinking of then it's Harry Wright behind him

31-12-2023, 11:38 PM
Wait, this game is on the 2nd? I thought it was on Saturday lmao

31-12-2023, 11:54 PM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Boyle
Levitt
Newell
Tavares

Youan
Vente

Is my best guess at what the manager will do. Would definitely go with your team though Flash.

I would think you’re close to it here. At least Motherwell beat Livi, so we mightn’t feel the need to perform our usual charity act to a team that hasn’t won in months.

01-01-2024, 10:00 AM
I would think you’re close to it here. At least Motherwell beat Livi, so we mightn’t feel the need to perform our usual charity act to a team that hasn’t won in months.

Boyle isn't available though.

Paulie Walnuts
01-01-2024, 10:09 AM

Boyle is away so it definitely won’t be that team.

01-01-2024, 04:03 PM
5 players missing from the squad that faced Hearts including 4 who started the game.

01-01-2024, 04:23 PM
We've no got to go to see them again, do we? Can they no just let us finish our holidays in peace?

01-01-2024, 04:26 PM
5 players missing from the squad that faced Hearts including 4 who started the game.

Might not be bad thing. Will give some of the other lads a chance

berwickhibee
01-01-2024, 04:28 PM
Really highlights the weakness of our squad.we are miles away from where we should be.

Disastrous signings, manager needs 2 windows before we can even judge him.

That squad is weak in quality and numbers.

01-01-2024, 04:35 PM
Is it an idea to play Vente and Doidge up front, in and around the box?

Is it also an idea to play Levitt much further up the pitch where he can influence things?

01-01-2024, 04:36 PM
Really highlights the weakness of our squad.we are miles away from where we should be.

Why does he need 2 windows before we can judge him? Two windows to get whoever McDermott gives him? A decent manager would get more out of this squad than LJ/Montgomery.

01-01-2024, 04:45 PM

Any squad would be weakened if it lost 4 players to international duty mid season and another 4(?) to injury. That’s not weak in numbers its part of football now. We still have enough decent players to do better than we currently are.

JammyDoidger
01-01-2024, 04:48 PM
Couldn't we have asked for the game to be moved if we have 3 on international duty? I mind us being able to do this when we were in the championship?

andrew70
01-01-2024, 07:40 PM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Molotnikov
Levitt
Newell
Jair

Doidge
Vente

Paul1642
01-01-2024, 08:03 PM

We are thin on numbers and quality however loosing 4 to international duty in January is not something I imagine many other teams in the league have to contend with.

01-01-2024, 08:07 PM

Marshall

Miller
Fish
Hanlon
Obita.

Jeggo
Newell
Levitt.

Boyle
Vente
Youan.

My amended team taking absence into account would be;

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Jair
Newall
Levitt
Youan

Vente
Doidge.

Paul1642
01-01-2024, 08:14 PM
When is Le Fondre back? Big miss IMO.

01-01-2024, 08:15 PM

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Jair
Newall
Levitt
Youan

Vente
Doidge.

Let's assume that is the team, the bench will have no experience bar Stevenson.

Likely to be Boric, Stevenson, Delf, Harbottle, Molotnikov, Landers and perhaps Clelland or Wright?

andrew70
01-01-2024, 08:17 PM
When is Le Fondre back? Big miss IMO.

He said he was back doing light running to someone on twitter.

So hopefully by early Feb.

01-01-2024, 08:17 PM

Likely to be Boric, Stevenson, Delf, Harbottle, Molotnikov, Landers and perhaps Clelland or Wright?

Going to be a really young / inexperienced bench you would think except for Stevenson.

01-01-2024, 08:20 PM

Jeggo?

Clelland is a possibility, Wright not near the first team yet. Hamilton maybe? Not sure what Blaneys situation is regarding injury.

01-01-2024, 08:22 PM
Jeggo?

Clelland is a possibility, Wright not near the first team yet. Hamilton maybe? Not sure what Blaneys situation is regarding injury.

Oops, aye I forgot about him.

andrew70
01-01-2024, 08:26 PM
Jeggo?

Wright has definitely been training with first team. Whilst he’s very young I wouldn’t be surprised to see him on the bench tomorrow.

Fanforlife
01-01-2024, 08:33 PM
Wright has definitely been training with first team. Whilst he’s very young I wouldn’t be surprised to see him on the bench tomorrow.
Harry is in the squad, unsure regarding making bench.

andrew70
01-01-2024, 08:39 PM
Harry is in the squad, unsure regarding making bench.

Thanks and good luck to him.

Roxyhibee
01-01-2024, 10:25 PM
It would be good to see McKirdy back in tomorrow and get on for 10 mins or so..

Keepthefaith
01-01-2024, 11:06 PM
Why does he need 2 windows before we can judge him? Two windows to get whoever McDermott gives him? A decent manager would get more out of this squad than LJ/Montgomery.

do you ever give it a rest? every single post is just out and out having a dig. I'm not sure which manager you think is out there that would guarantee us success? as I said on another thread, you only have to look at Chelsea and Man U to see that experienced managers don't always bring this, yet there are others like the Ipswich manager doing great things in his first season.

NM has proven he can turn a team around in CCM. I don't buy the crap that it was somehow easier because it was the A league - for me that's just detractors trying to justify criticism. the guy has improved us, he admits we need to do better and the club are taking a considered long term plan to make us better. having gob shi*es taking every opportunity to kick NM and the club at every turn before he's even had a chance to make a mark really doesn't help.

the club recognises the mistakes made and have owned these. they have a strategic plan in place to improve, they're not content with mediocrity whatever the doom mongers say. maybe try taking a breath, acknowledge that there have been positives and have some patience. too many adults acting like school kids on here

01-01-2024, 11:44 PM
do you ever give it a rest? every single post is just out and out having a dig. I'm not sure which manager you think is out there that would guarantee us success? as I said on another thread, you only have to look at Chelsea and Man U to see that experienced managers don't always bring this, yet there are others like the Ipswich manager doing great things in his first season.

NM has proven he can turn a team around in CCM. I don't buy the crap that it was somehow easier because it was the A league - for me that's just detractors trying to justify criticism. the guy has improved us, he admits we need to do better and the club are taking a considered long term plan to make us better. having gob shi*es taking every opportunity to kick NM and the club at every turn before he's even had a chance to make a mark really doesn't help.

the club recognises the mistakes made and have owned these. they have a strategic plan in place to improve, they're not content with mediocrity whatever the doom mongers say. maybe try taking a breath, acknowledge that there have been positives and have some patience. too many adults acting like school kids on here

Noble effort at reasoned debate but you're wasting your time with some posters

02-01-2024, 12:19 AM

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Jair
Newall
Levitt
Youan

Vente
Doidge.

Would be surprised if that's not the starting 11.

02-01-2024, 02:40 AM
Would be surprised if that's not the starting 11.

Will we have to go to the under 14’s to fill the bench?

02-01-2024, 04:06 AM
Noble effort at reasoned debate but you're wasting your time with some posters

which begs a question..

h1bs4life
02-01-2024, 06:49 AM

Spot on mate , NM hasn’t even had a transfer window yet there is calls for his head . Most of the players have been in squads that have got rid of 2 , 3 some a lot more managers sacked .
Montgomery is at least trying to get us playing a certain style , not everyone may like the style but that’s the same with football fans at every club .
Hopefully with a huge investment coming into the club us long suffering fans will get some payback for what we have been through over the years .
That may be with / without Monty until then I will be there backing the manager and the team on the park.
It is incredible the size of crowds we are getting with all the boots in the baws we get .

02-01-2024, 07:14 AM
Spot on mate , NM hasn’t even had a transfer window yet there is calls for his head . Most of the players have been in squads that have got rid of 2 , 3 some a lot more managers sacked .
Montgomery is at least trying to get us playing a certain style , not everyone may like the style but that’s the same with football fans at every club .
Hopefully with a huge investment coming into the club us long suffering fans will get some payback for what we have been through over the years .
That may be with / without Monty until then I will be there backing the manager and the team on the park.
It is incredible the size of crowds we are getting with all the boots in the baws we get .
I'm not convinced by the constant chat about managers having to make do with players they have inherited and not being judged until they have had a window or two of their own. Similarly, NM's persistence with playing a certain style.
If all a good chef has got to hand is a string of sausages you don't try and serve up beef wellington. You might want to serve beef wellington but your wasting your time trying to do so with sausages. You need to wait until you have the right ingredients and in the meantime make do by producing a solid sausage casserole.
By the same token, a good manager should be trying to get a solid product on the pitch with the players he has at his disposal and not trying to dress them up as something they are not. I have not been a fan of McInnes but given what he is doing with the squad he has at Killie, you can't help but wonder what he could produce with Hibs' current ingredients.

02-01-2024, 07:29 AM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Levitt
Newell
Jair

Doidge
Vente

02-01-2024, 07:57 AM
I'm not convinced by the constant chat about managers having to make do with players they have inherited and not being judged until they have had a window or two of their own. Similarly, NM's persistence with playing a certain style.
If all a good chef has got to hand is a string of sausages you don't try and serve up beef wellington. You might want to serve beef wellington but your wasting your time trying to do so with sausages. You need to wait until you have the right ingredients and in the meantime make do by producing a solid sausage casserole.
By the same token, a good manager should be trying to get a solid product on the pitch with the players he has at his disposal and not trying to dress them up as something they are not. I have not been a fan of McInnes but given what he is doing with the squad he has at Killie, you can't help but wonder what he could produce with Hibs' current ingredients.

Did you think mcinnes hasn’t been allowed to sign any players at Killie? He’s not working wonders with the squad he inherited, and when he did take over that squad their fans were far from convinced.

02-01-2024, 08:08 AM

Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Jair
Newall
Levitt
Youan

Vente
Doidge.

What has happened to Harbottle as thought he could play any position at the back but yes thats the team for me unless Harbottle in for Whittaker.

02-01-2024, 08:19 AM
Will we have to go to the under 14’s to fill the bench?

Boruc, Stevenson, Jeggo, Harbottle, Molotnikov and a few others......

McGruber
02-01-2024, 08:46 AM
Marshall

Whittaker
Fish
Hanlon
Obita

Youan
Levitt
Newell
Jair

Doidge
Vente

Pretty sure this will be the team.
The more I think about it though I'm really hoping we play Youan upfront with Vente. We played Youan for a spell upfront in Nisbet's absence and he was excellent and went on a scoring run. He has pace to play on the shoulder and better in the air than Boyle. Also gets him closer to goal where as it is now he is looking to beat 2 or 3 men, get him further up where he is on last defenders more often. Also just generally think he is our brightest (and most frustrating) attacking threat, even with Jair's individual improvement.
Given Montgomery wants the 442 would look to fill wide right in Boyle absence with say Molotnikov and lets give him a try if that is his position. Only thing would be Whittaker likely right back and that's a young side of the pitch. Alternatively play Jair right as tracks back well and Obita left and bring Stevenson in left back.

NC1875
02-01-2024, 08:51 AM
Was meant to be working today but not much happening so just had a look to try and get 2 tickets. Only available ones together in west upper executive and no kids tickets in there.

Looks like another decent crowd.

Chipper1875
02-01-2024, 08:57 AM
Was meant to be working today but not much happening so just had a look to try and get 2 tickets. Only available ones together in west upper executive and no kids tickets in there.

Looks like another decent crowd.

There’s a couple of single seats with a couple of sold seats in between. I’m sure people would move one seat for you and your kid to sit beside each other

NC1875
02-01-2024, 09:02 AM
There’s a couple of single seats with a couple of sold seats in between. I’m sure people would move one seat for you and your kid to sit beside each other

Yeah I did see them. Will probably just do that and hope the people in the other seats are ok.

Chipper1875
02-01-2024, 09:16 AM
Yeah I did see them. Will probably just do that and hope the people in the other seats are ok.

Plus there will be plenty spare seats for season ticket holder not making it

02-01-2024, 09:38 AM
Can’t see a big crowd actually being in attendance today. Will be very flat after last week. We need to come out and show a lot more intent than we have been recently.

02-01-2024, 09:47 AM
I was tempted to go today but the post Christmas direct debits have hit hard this year. I doubt I’ll be the only potential walk up that’s having similar thoughts today.

02-01-2024, 09:48 AM
Can’t see a big crowd actually being in attendance today. Will be very flat after last week. We need to come out and show a lot more intent than we have been recently.

Yeah - likely a few empty seats due to it being 3pm on a normal working day for many folk.

02-01-2024, 09:55 AM
I've got a feeling we might win today. Seen it often after a dismal derby defeat. With the players we have missing, he might be forced to play others in their correct positions.

EGL2000
02-01-2024, 09:58 AM
Think the crowd will be poor today, but looking forward to it. Think we will win convincingly, much needed after last week!

02-01-2024, 10:04 AM
Think the crowd will be poor today, but looking forward to it. Think we will win convincingly, much needed after last week!

Looking at seating map - looks pretty full.

Would imagine ST won’t show for a variety of reasons.

Can’t afford to drop points today - even a draw would be a poor result.

hibee
02-01-2024, 10:54 AM

Yes, crazy having a 3pm kick off on a normal working day so plenty season ticket holders will be forced to miss the game.

Hoping to see a win and maybe our centre forward playing up front and getting a couple of goals.

02-01-2024, 11:05 AM
Will be surprised if there is more than 11,000 at the game. We need a win.

02-01-2024, 11:28 AM

The chef analogy would be a good one if humans were incapable of learning.

That'll be the same McInnes that had Killie teetering on the brink of relegation 3 transfer windows into his tenure. Would you be happy to stick by him if he was underperforming to an equivalent level at Hibs?

https://i.ibb.co/Ytgfg94/Screenshot-20240102-120752-Gallery.jpg (https://ibb.co/vJ9L95C)

02-01-2024, 12:46 PM
Mckirdy back on the bench.

ElginHibbie
02-01-2024, 12:47 PM

98th minute winner from the lad

02-01-2024, 12:50 PM
Probably the best we could have fielded today, great to see Mckirdy back on the bench.

02-01-2024, 12:52 PM
Will be surprised if there is more than 11,000 at the game. We need a win.

For some reason i'm really looking forward to today. Smaller crowds sometimes mean you get a better atmosphere from folk who really want to be there. McKirdy winner followed by some top online trolling from the southern scamp. 3-1 the Hibs.

02-01-2024, 12:52 PM
Absolutely fantastic to see McKirdy on the bench. Delighted for him.

Greenio
02-01-2024, 12:53 PM

02-01-2024, 12:56 PM
That bench is absolutely mental 🤣

Really excited to see McKirdy back, I think his style will really suit playing in a front 2. Think he’s smart enough to drop into pockets of space and pick the ball up, turn and make things happen.

02-01-2024, 12:56 PM
Think Doidge and Vente will work far better.

02-01-2024, 01:03 PM
Wonder if McKirdy is viable to play any part or included because of lack of numbers. Be interesting to see what Montgomery can do, if anything, with him going forward.

Greenio
02-01-2024, 01:03 PM
Could actually be a turning point for the team today. Ironically, we've lost perhaps the majority of the players that needed dropped. Rocky I dont think has done enough individually, but certainly Miller and Boyle have been off it for a good few games. Big opp for Doidge and the others today!

3-0 hibs win!

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 01:08 PM
The chef analogy would be a good one if humans were incapable of learning.

That'll be the same McInnes that had Killie teetering on the brink of relegation 3 transfer windows into his tenure. Would you be happy to stick by him if he was underperforming to an equivalent level at Hibs?

https://i.ibb.co/Ytgfg94/Screenshot-20240102-120752-Gallery.jpg (https://ibb.co/vJ9L95C)

How much was that ‘underperforming’ though? He had just got them promoted, it kind of stood to reason that they’d be down that end of the table. I’d suggest what he done with Killie last season would have been akin to finishing 4th or 5th with Hibs, about as expected.

02-01-2024, 01:13 PM
Has McKirdy played any friendlies / youth games ?

Not played for close to 6 months.

Like Jair would be great to see him get back playing and ideally scoring.

02-01-2024, 01:17 PM
Jesus Christ that bench!

Let's hope for a comfortable 3-0 win where we can bring on some of the young guys to get a bit of experience.

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 01:25 PM
Good to see McKirdy back.

Sioux
02-01-2024, 01:27 PM
Jesus Christ that bench!

Let's hope for a comfortable 3-0 win where we can bring on some of the young guys to get a bit of experience.

What were you expecting?

02-01-2024, 01:29 PM
What were you expecting?

Not much else, but it's still something to see it on paper.

Thank God for the Winter break. Hopefully some time for players to get back to fitness and bring in a couple.

Dmas
02-01-2024, 01:35 PM
Does anyone know what injury ALF has? I actually thought he was out with a sickness bug to begin with but he’s been out a long time now with not much being said about him

02-01-2024, 01:36 PM
Not much else, but it's still something to see it on paper.

Thank God for the Winter break. Hopefully some time for players to get back to fitness and bring in a couple.

To be honest I find a bench like that quite exciting, as well as Whittaker starting.

Is Delfierre injured? If not it’s bizarre we gave him an extension and then put 16 year olds on the bench ahead of him.

02-01-2024, 01:36 PM
Pleased for him that there has been a positive outcome to his heart scare.

02-01-2024, 01:37 PM
I don't really want to drown the place in negativity but that's hardly a team or bench that gives you much hope.

The four players Monty wants to bring in better be ready to be starting games.

Reasons for optimism - Motherwell are pish.

02-01-2024, 01:42 PM
I don't really want to drown the place in negativity but that's hardly a team or bench that gives you much hope.

I watched them the other day against Livi - they were very good.

Bair and Biereth caused a lot of problems and the left full back for them (agent?) got forward well and put in some really good crosses

I know people will think it’s just Livi, but it was Livi we beat 1-0 against and never looked great or created much against

Does anyone know what injury ALF has? I actually thought he was out with a sickness bug to begin with but he’s been out a long time now with not much being said about him

Think he posted that he was just back in training again so hopefully not too long now.

Squads paper thin. A failing in the summer to address numbers.

Need a result today. A decent performance wouldn’t go amiss either, it’s been a while

02-01-2024, 01:48 PM
Squads paper thin. A failing in the summer to address numbers.

Need a result today. A decent performance wouldn’t go amiss either, it’s been a while
Could be disappointed on both counts.

Fuzzywuzzy
02-01-2024, 01:57 PM
Montgomery said mckirdy could get a few minutes

02-01-2024, 01:59 PM
Jesus Christ that bench!

Looks fine to me, any decent carpenter should be able to knock one out in a day or so.

Dmas
02-01-2024, 02:01 PM

This is why the calls for him to be emptied are premature the squad he’s inherited is hopeless and he gets battered with this ‘good squad’ ‘proven spfl players’ rubbish 3 players away on international duty and look at the Nick of what he’s left with, we’re needing to find a bit of patience and let the guy start to build a squad that can complete for places in the 11 and higher up the league

02-01-2024, 02:01 PM
Looks fine to me, any decent carpenter should be able to knock one out in a day or so.:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

02-01-2024, 02:03 PM
Anyone going to start a match thread?

02-01-2024, 02:08 PM
any decent carpenter should be able to knock one out in a day or so.

Oo er missus! 😳

02-01-2024, 02:11 PM
unlucky Doidgealdo

02-01-2024, 02:11 PM
Jair in the mood today. Looking very dangerous.

02-01-2024, 02:12 PM
Anyone going to start a match thread?

You’re in it SG

02-01-2024, 02:14 PM
Gorgeous touch by Vente to release Youan, messed it up.

02-01-2024, 02:14 PM
A very decent start, playing very well so far. :top marks

02-01-2024, 02:16 PM
Looks fine to me, any decent carpenter should be able to knock one out in a day or so.

Wasn’t Jesus Christ a decent carpenter?

02-01-2024, 02:16 PM
Showing more intent in 15 minutes than in the previous 5 games combined

02-01-2024, 02:17 PM
Playing well and creating chances.

Rumble de Thump
02-01-2024, 02:18 PM
BBC Radio Scotland even more brutal to listen to than normal. A full card of fixtures today and while the games are being played the pundits are still arguing about Sevco not getting a penalty a few days ago. Mind numbing.

Showing more intent in 15 minutes than in the previous 5 games combined

2 of which we won… makes sense.

Jair really up for it. Strong start.

What's ghe story with cliff? Had this other fella on comms the last few games

02-01-2024, 02:20 PM
that train on the advertising board is so kool :greengrin

02-01-2024, 02:20 PM
2 of which we won… makes sense.

Did you see them?

02-01-2024, 02:21 PM
Youan down with an injury. Last thing we need

Youan getting treatment after a challenge. We didn’t even get the foul.

BBC Radio Scotland even more brutal to listen to than normal. A full card of fixtures today and while the games are being played the pundits are still arguing about Sevco not getting a penalty a few days ago. Mind numbing.

Yeah, ignored the goal at Raith to discuss the VAR in the old firm game. First break in discussion they go to Ibrox. first mention of Hibs 20 minutes into the game smfh

Youan off injured. Last thing we need

Certainly didn’t need anymore injuries

02-01-2024, 02:23 PM
that was a good ball forward by Hanlon, just a tad too hard for jair to keep in

02-01-2024, 02:24 PM
McKirdy warming up as a precaution incase youan doesn't make it back on

come on referee ffs man

02-01-2024, 02:25 PM

Had lovely harmonies with his sister Karen.

Hibees1973
02-01-2024, 02:26 PM
Seems a bodycheck is no longer a bookable offence.

That's two bookings Motherwell should have had. Even mistakes like this by officials have a major influence on the outcome of games.

02-01-2024, 02:27 PM
Did you see them?

Yes. I definitely felt there was no intent to win the two games we won.

Coaching team clearly working on set plays as we've had a few different routines since they've come in. Great to see

Paulie Walnuts
Jair done well so far.

Andymac85
02-01-2024, 02:29 PM
The standard of football refereeing in this country is absolutely laughable. I watch a lot of American sports and the decision making seems so much more consistent. Given those refs are probably full time and getting paid a decent whack.

Well they nailed him to a big lump of wood so he must have cost someone their bonus.....

Andymac85
Jair done well so far.

He has been one of our best players consistently over the past few months.

02-01-2024, 02:30 PM
That was a great goal

Yaaaaasssss

Youan. Great goal

I’m glad he didn’t go off injured

woop woop :flag:

Great goal

It’s little things like that corner kick that give me confidence we’re onto a good thing with Montgomery and it will come good once he can shape the squad.

Presumably Youan’s okay then? 😁💚

Paulie Walnuts
02-01-2024, 02:31 PM
Great goal that.

Moments like that show why we simply can’t let folk like him go.

The Captain....
Superb goal from Youan. Well deserved lead.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

The standard of football refereeing in this country is absolutely laughable. I watch a lot of American sports and the decision making seems so much more consistent. Given those refs are probably full time and getting paid a decent whack.
Doesn't matter if this mob became full time, that wouldn't make them better. Scotland probably has dozens of better referees than what we get but they either live in the wrong geographical area or kick with the wrong foot.

Great goal and deserved. Funnily enough I was just about to post that Tavares had been good but Youan had been poor.

Class

Great goal and deserved. Funnily enough I was just about to post that Tavares had been good but Youan had been poor.

That’s what Youans good at

Lee Marvin
02-01-2024, 02:32 PM
Prob best 30 mins in league this season

Look far better side without boyle up front

NC1875
02-01-2024, 02:33 PM
Patons 5th foul of the game. Already been spoken to and no booking

02-01-2024, 02:33 PM
Good goal, we are certainly getting the ball forward more quickly in the first 30 mins of this game, that's what I've been looking for in the last 2 months

02-01-2024, 02:34 PM
Prob best 30 mins in league this season

Look far better side without boyle up front

Players in their natural positions maybe is that simple. We can mix it up now and good to have multiple and different options up front and wide.

02-01-2024, 02:34 PM

Hibs first foul will more than likely be a card!

02-01-2024, 02:35 PM
Need a much deserved second as you just know a sucker punch goal from a corner is coming from Motherwell.

02-01-2024, 02:35 PM
This is a magnificent 30 mins from everyone .

02-01-2024, 02:36 PM
Hibs first foul will more than likely be a card!

Said the same thing to my old man a couple of minutes ago, you can see it coming.

How good is Jair by the way ?! Absolutely staggering he was frozen out for so long !!

Hibees1973

Exactly.

Don't like one bit how this game is getting refereed

Have bad vibes that no matter how good we play the ref is going to give Motherwell something from this.

How soft was that

Never change hibs, honestly

02-01-2024, 02:37 PM
Aw man ...

02-01-2024, 02:38 PM
Need a much deserved second as you just know a sucker punch goal from a corner is coming from Motherwell.

And there it is. An injustice to be level again.

Lee Marvin
I genuinely think that was the first time they have been in our box

The Captain....
Yet another soft as **** goal conceded. So frustrating after being on top. We've seen this scenario before.

back up and at them Hibs..c'mon. don't let the focus and the intent diminish

02-01-2024, 02:39 PM
That will happen when you play a 16 year old, switched off and a very soft goal after dominating the game so far.

02-01-2024, 02:39 PM
We were doing well til someone started a matchday thread 😳

02-01-2024, 02:40 PM
Awful defending. Motherwell have been non existent as an attacking threat and yet we concede from a m thing situation. Terrible from us.

02-01-2024, 02:40 PM
Well should have scored there

NC1875
02-01-2024, 02:41 PM
In total control to panic stations in 5 minutes. Typical Hibs

02-01-2024, 02:41 PM
Aw cmon Hibs FFS.

Just one game can we play well, score loads and keep a clean sheet!

Heads up let’s get back at them!

berwickhibee
02-01-2024, 02:42 PM
Not good enough in either box and not dominant in midfield,story of Hibs.

02-01-2024, 02:45 PM
I watched them the other day against Livi - they were very good.

Bair and Biereth caused a lot of problems and the left full back for them (agent?) got forward well and put in some really good crosses

I know people will think it’s just Livi, but it was Livi we beat 1-0 against and never looked great or created much against
Getting first goal is crucial as they don’t cope well with going behind and are vulnerable at the back big style

02-01-2024, 02:45 PM
Typical Hibs so far.

The Captain....
02-01-2024, 02:46 PM
Whittaker having a difficult 10 mins

02-01-2024, 02:47 PM
That will happen when you play a 16 year old, switched off and a very soft goal after dominating the game so far.

Did he not play a part in Youan’s goal?

02-01-2024, 02:49 PM
Decent response from the fans at halftime, think its clear we did pretty well aside from a sloppy 5 mins. Jair on it. Hanlon very good too.

02-01-2024, 02:50 PM
I thought offside was not flagged until the attacking play was over. Whittaker about to out a cross in, and lino flags for it. Which Doidge was onside for