View Full Version : Match Updates LeVain v Hibees

Pages : 1 [2] 3

16-12-2023, 03:39 PM
It's not nonsense lol he's lost his pace. He was never the greatest footballer but his biggest weapon is gone.

He really hasn't, not one time that he's been given the ball out wide and given the chance to run at someone, Hibs under Monty who I like make things way harder than it needs to be, you get Boyle on one wing and Elie on the other, get the ball to them as quickly as you can and let them run at people, they are our two best assets and should be used as such, instead we get pedestration play it back, play it back then give them the ball when there are players all around

16-12-2023, 03:40 PM
They are saying if we can get a goal in the next 5 minutes we’ll go on and win this. Up to now no shots on target in whole game :faf:

Brutal.Let's start with kicking the spherical thing towards the big net type thing ?

16-12-2023, 03:41 PM
Let's start with kicking the spherical thing towards the big net type thing ?

:agree: Would help our cause mate

16-12-2023, 03:42 PM
|You can b lame lack of service, but there's little to zero evidence our better forward players actually want to link up with each other.

Broxburn Greens
To who?

5 foot 5 Boyle? Or 5 foot 7 vente?

Or bring on Doidge?

We were more exciting going forward under LJ but worse at the back. I'll get slaughtered for this but actually thought we were more entertaining under him than Montgomery. For clarity I thought LJ had to go.

There was no plan/structure under Johnson, punt it up to our attacking players and hope for the best. Not that I’m saying it’s been great to watch under Monty. Our lack of anything decent off the bench isn’t helping though, when the starting eleven aren’t performing there’s nothing to come on and change it.

Broxburn Greens
16-12-2023, 03:43 PM
Let's start with kicking the spherical thing towards the big net type thing ?

There’s a novel idea, it’ll never catch on though [emoji23]

It’s a poor one today but as usual the overreactions on here are ridiculous.

Oh come now, it's Christmas and we shouldn't begrudge the hystericals some time out from under their beds.

Whoever keeps saying we can win this hasn't been watching the last 80 minutes.

supermcginn
He really hasn't, not one time that he's been given the ball out wide and given the chance to run at someone, Hibs under Monty who I like make things way harder than it needs to be, you get Boyle on one wing and Elie on the other, get the ball to them as quickly as you can and let them run at people, they are our two best assets and should be used as such, instead we get pedestration play it back, play it back then give them the ball when there are players all around

Can't blame the manager, he barely kicked a ball under Johnson either. It's no fault of his own he's had plenty bad injuries and is getting on.

7Hero
They are saying if we can get a goal in the next 5 minutes we’ll go on and win this. Up to now no shots on target in whole game :faf:

Brutal.

Yeah that's what got me too lol

It’s difficult to complain too much after 4 wins in 5 but today sounds like it’s been nowhere near good enough

Our performances away from home need to improve big time

16-12-2023, 03:44 PM
Decent save from Marshall again corner StJs.

16-12-2023, 03:45 PM
one of the few times i've agreed with preston "Hibs have been Rubbish"

Broxburn Greens
Really need the money from the Melkersen transfer spent wisely in January.

This has been brutal today.

So slow on and off the ball.

Youan, Vente and Boyle hardly in the game

It’s difficult to complain too much after 4 wins in 5 but today sounds like it’s been nowhere near good enough

Our performances away from home need to improve big time

Conditions aside it’s been really poor.

Shambles of an afternoon. So poor so far.

Can't blame the manager, he barely kicked a ball under Johnson either. It's no fault of his own he's had plenty bad injuries and is getting on.

Ok I won't blame the manager for not playing a speed merchant winger as a speed merchant winger and setting it up to get him the ball

Absolute *****

16-12-2023, 03:46 PM
We’ve been poor the last couple of games and picked up wins. Brutal today and don’t look like getting anything.

HendoDelivered
Kevin Harper has had a shocker on comms there. Its a booking but not a card? What 🤣🤣🤣

Mcbizz1998
What an absolute disaster. Compounded by the pinks winning, puts our pumping at CP into perspective.

7Hero
In what way? It's absolute pish.

Appears your not allowed to criticise Hibs when they are pish poor..

Which has happened far too much this season btw....but hey ho..

Rocky booked

scm70nyd1973
16-12-2023, 03:47 PM
What an absolute disaster. Compounded by the pinks winning. Puts. Our pumping at CP into perspective.

Still some time

****ing hopeless.

skyehibee
We deserve nothing from this.

GreenGray
I like Monty but he needs to find a way to make this system work for Vente, Boyle and Youan.

You have some of the best attackers in the league outwith the old firm there and they’re barely getting a sniff.

Vente scored every chance he got at the start of the season but we are just not creating for him.

Vente red carded

this could get overturned

Kevin Harper has had a shocker on comms there. Its a booking but not a card? What 🤣🤣🤣

I thought that too. I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt that he meant he’s been booked but didn’t think it was worthy of a yellow card.

What an absolute disaster. Compounded by the pinks winning. Puts. Our pumping at CP into perspective.

I disagree. You can’t view games like that as a comparison.

7Hero
16-12-2023, 03:48 PM
Can't even do the basics.. beaten by a team with far less budget and managed by levein.. sore one to take that..

There was no plan/structure under Johnson, punt it up to our attacking players and hope for the best. Not that I’m saying it’s been great to watch under Monty. Our lack of anything decent off the bench isn’t helping though, when the starting eleven aren’t performing there’s nothing to come on and change it.

Your first sentence was definitely the case this season under LJ.

Broxburn Greens
And that just sums it up

7Hero
Misses the derby then ?

16-12-2023, 03:49 PM
Red card for Vente, high foot.

Can't even do the basics.. beaten by a team with far less budget and managed by levein.. sore one to take that..

Levein will be talking about Natural Order next.

HendoDelivered
Harsh straight red that

Gordon is a freakin CHEAT

shame on him

absolutely disgusting cheating like that

That’s never a red card

I wouldn't miss Vente in the Derby

He's dropped 2 or 3 levels in workrate since Sept

Them on bbc scotland shouting about it being a high foot and bad challenge

Then change their tune when it goes to a VAR check 😂

jamie_1875
Embarrassing to be beaten by a Craig Levein St Johnstone side.

16-12-2023, 03:50 PM
Red card ruled out, yellow card instead.

Wins the ball and didn't touch the player. Can see why it's a yellow for dangerous play.

Never a red card. Doesn't touch him!

tonyrougier123
Glaringly obvious how bad the squad needs players today. Key areas just not good enough, and st Johnstone are awful which just amplifies our frailties. Roll on January!

GreenGray
I wouldn't miss Vente in the Derby

He's dropped 2 or 3 levels in workrate since Sept

Nonsense, we’re not supplying the boy

Does Craig Levein have some kind of voodoo spell over Hibs?

We implode in his presence.

Did Vente even make contact with the player ? Wasn’t even a yellow.

7Hero
He's not touched the boy,cheating bassa.. has to be not a red.

Ref looking at monitor could get overturned.

How's it a booking? He doesn't touch him!!

16-12-2023, 03:51 PM
I’m fully behind Monty but this is every bit as bad as some of the stuff we saw under Johnson.

Once again it boils down to the players just being good enough, these are the same players who struggled at the beginning of the season under Johnson and are now struggling after a god few games under Monty.

Vente's foot gets the ball 1st clearly.

Red card ruled out, yellow card instead.

Be funny if Vente equalised.:greengrin

Still a high boot.

Another pass straight out the pitch.[emoji23]

7Hero
16-12-2023, 03:52 PM

We're never scoring

Boy should have been booked for simulation.

Gordon played for Dundee and Raith Rovers at youth level before John McGlynn took him to Hearts on a three-year contract

that explains it, a dirty cheat of a player

16-12-2023, 03:53 PM
Don’t even look like scoring

Sadly we ain’t getting anything from this game

Mcbizz1998
We love to take the piss out of old CL. Not sure why tbh. It was an absolute nap his mob would pump us ffs

Once again it boils down to the players just being good enough, these are the same players who struggled at the beginning of the season under Johnson and are now struggling after a god few games under Monty.

Vente's foot gets the ball 1st clearly.

We absolutely need strengthening but surely man for man we are better than St Johnstone. Though you’d be forgiven for thinking otherwise based on today’s performance.

16-12-2023, 03:54 PM
Don’t even look like scoring

Just getting in there half would be an improvement.

This is the worst performance since Andorra.

Hibee Daft
Very frustrating watch, the midfield just feels hollow at times.

Youan is guff at times. So meek.

16-12-2023, 03:55 PM
Ffs obita. All the time to cross it and he doesn't bother.

We've been as bad as anything I've seen in the last year or 2 but still to be convinced with Levitt and Boyle is not the player he was either, if any money comes our way soon, then we need 4-5 players minimum.

TrinityHFC
Your first sentence was definitely the case this season under LJ.

Was it? The Lucerne games were excellent. League games not so much but was sort of understandable.

Under LJ we could have defended better but we had a clear plan to be an attacking team, using the pace of our wide players.

We’ve gone from us being the team to having loads of shots at goal every week to the opposition having lots of shots every week. Most teams aren’t that clinical thankfully.

16-12-2023, 03:56 PM
Ffs obita. All the time to cross it and he doesn't bother.

It's the Hibs way, why make a first time cross when you can take an extra touch instead

16-12-2023, 03:56 PM
We've had a few games where we got the points but the performance was pretty poor, so it's not exactly a surprise that it didn't work out today.

I think we need an overhaul in January, hopefully get the midfield issues sorted.

16-12-2023, 03:57 PM
Nonsense, we’re not supplying the boy

Nonsense. Go look at his closing down & application vs celtic at home (OFF THE BALL MATE) and look at today

He's phoning it in

Absolutely criminal that losing 1-0 and the player with the most touches and dribbling at the opposition is Rocky

Was it? The Lucerne games were excellent. League games not so much but was sort of understandable.

Under LJ we could have defended better but we had a clear plan to be an attacking team, using the pace of our wide players.

We’ve gone from us being the team to having loads of shots at goal every week to the opposition having lots of shots every week. Most teams aren’t that clinical thankfully.

We were brilliant in the Luzern game. Motherwell away we just launched it up the park as Jeffers said. Last season I thought we were electric going forward at times.

Johnny Clash
16-12-2023, 03:58 PM
Obita having a howler. Too many Hibs players just don’t look bothered. Lazy attempts to pass the ball. No sense of urgency.

GreenGray
Nonsense. Go look at his closing down & application vs celtic at home (OFF THE BALL MATE) and look at today

He's phoning it in

You certainly can’t question his effort, he always puts a shift in.

Whole teams been miles off it today.

Surely Marshall goes up for the corner?

We absolutely need strengthening but surely man for man we are better than St Johnstone. Though you’d be forgiven for thinking otherwise based on today’s performance.

All they've done is work harder today, we've been very sloppy and pedestrian, no urgency at all, some of our basic passing has been like schoolkid stuff it's been that poor. Levitt was that bad it was like being a man short today which doesn't help when they play 5 in midfield, Jair and Youan are not midfielders.

No even had a shot on target

This is just bloody awful

I can’t believe we have been so bad

Other than Marshall’s display I can’t think of one single positive from today

Corner Hibs, get Marshall up.

We were brilliant in the Luzern game. Motherwell away we just launched it up the park as Jeffers said. Last season I thought we were electric going forward at times.

Electric is stretching things just a tad. Jeez.

Crunchie
16-12-2023, 03:59 PM
Absolutely criminal that losing 1-0 and the player with the most touches and dribbling at the opposition is Rocky
He should have been on from the start, Monty won't make that mistake again.

Lookin at this we will be lucky to be hovering just above the relegation zone, sad sad sad

3 points between us and Dundee in 7th. 13 points between us and bottom!!

No even had a shot on target

Vente had a weak one in the first half.

6-0 v Aberdeen springs to mind.

Need to be The Rangers to get those.

Trinity Hibee
16-12-2023, 04:00 PM

Aye just a bit 😂

Supposedly a handball but not getting checked by VAR?

ffs.

Full time. Poor as **** but entirely predictable against a craig levein side.

Ugh

Marshall strip being pulled at the corner.

Thought that was a penalty these days?

Can Foley play midfield?

16-12-2023, 04:01 PM
Well that was bad. Onto next week.

not a shock, is it

That's a really, really **** result.

If only we has a £1M+ forward on the books.

I don't think a one off game against a terrible Aberdeen team could count as "at times".

Very frustrating watch, the midfield just feels hollow at times.

Has done for years now. Far too lightweight. Seems to be no hurry to fix it though.

Said for a couple of weeks we were riding out luck.

We need to play 20 yards higher and with more intensity.

Greenio
Poor all over today. Not a good weekend of football

Trinity Hibee

Admittedly a fantastic result but Aberdeen were as bad as we were good that day. They were Shambolic in fact. Lost 5-0 at hearts and to darvel in the same week

16-12-2023, 04:02 PM
Supposedly a handball but not getting checked by VAR?

ffs.

Full time. Poor as **** but entirely predictable against a craig levein side.

Was hard to see in the replay but his hand was near the ball.

FT.

Manxhibs
I’d be happy for youan to never play for us again, waste of a jersey

Trinity Hibee

Prob score a couple next week. Hot and cold

The Captain....
That was ****ing grim...again

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

16-12-2023, 04:03 PM
Was hard to see in the replay but his hand was near the ball.

FT.

Hits his torso first. No pen.

Also that Phillips has impressed every time I’ve seen him.

Bullies opposition and is comfortable on the ball

Mcbizz1998
Interested to hear the excuse for that tbh.

Shambles vs that speccy virgin as well 🤢

Brutal that. So poor.

HarpOnHibee
16-12-2023, 04:04 PM
Every fan that turned up for that should be issued a sincere apology. Not a single shot on target, beyond abysmal.

Should’ve had about three yellows

He’s so much better off the left.

Don’t think he knows where to position himself on the right

I don't think a one off game against a terrible Aberdeen team could count as "at times".

Ok. Forgetting about 6-0 v Aberdeen. 4-1 against Celtic, 4-0 and 4-1 v Livi. 3-1 v Aberdeen. That's "at times"?

Like going back to Fenlons team, an utter shambles, had it not been for Marshall we would have taken a right doing
Get it sorted Monty 😡👎

21sMay
Terrible display and the result has been coming. The tactics unfortunately don't work with the players we have . Our wingers are out and out wingers , not inverted wingers bar jair. Ellie and Boyle don't suit the system and untill we have the players needed for the way monty wasnts to play then he is going to have adjust his plans . Piss poor to watch again today . I do have faith in the manager that we will come good but he needs to see what's happening on the pitch and change things when it isn't working.

We're not a great side. By all accounts it could have been more than 1-0 today.

Should’ve had about three yellows

Probably, still played well however

Horrific performance much the same as last week.

Particular mention to Fish, Levitt, Obita, Boyle and Youan who were all rancid.

CB Hibs 68
16-12-2023, 04:06 PM

I agree.We haven’t played all that well recently but were getting the results.Definitely need to play further up the pitch and with more intensity..Vente needs help as he is a scorer.

TrinityHFC
16-12-2023, 04:06 PM
He’s so much better off the left.

Don’t think he knows where to position himself on the right

He’s also a winger or centre forward. Asking him to play inside and deep isn’t going to get the best out of him. We also want to keep the ball and go back the way rather than allowing players to take risks in forward areas. The only place we take risks is within 20 yards of our own goal.

Crunchie
16-12-2023, 04:07 PM

Fish? he was one of the very few pass marks

16-12-2023, 04:08 PM

Agreed mate. I like Levitt but I can absolutely understand why he’s getting regularly criticised. Youan I’d happily sell if we got a decent offer. Unless he’s played through the middle he doesn’t have the discipline our work rate to play wide in this setup.

16-12-2023, 04:08 PM
Ok. Forgetting about 6-0 v Aberdeen. 4-1 against Celtic, 4-0 and 4-1 v Livi. 3-1 v Aberdeen. That's "at times"?

I don't think winning games by wide margins means attacking electric football. We were mostly pish under LJ, anyone thinking any different is rewriting history.

16-12-2023, 04:09 PM

Aye, I reckon we used up all our luck last week

Our performances away from home, despite getting results, really haven’t been good at all.

Highly predictable against a CL team

I don't think winning games by wide margins means attacking electric football. We were mostly pish under LJ, anyone thinking any different is rewriting history.

I did say "at times". If you're going to just write off the examples I gave you then you'll be right. Mostly pish.

scm70nyd1973
It was like the game in Andorra - just dire and one to forget - next

Chorley Hibee
180 minutes against two of the worst teams in the division in the last week and we've barely created a chance.

The pace at which we play the game is absolutely criminal.

Not impressed with the punt it and hope for the best plan B either.

16-12-2023, 04:10 PM
We don’t have the players to play like this on a windy day on a bumpy pitch. We have no midfield either with the ball being constantly played back to Marshall. It’s putting us under constant pressure which has to give at some stage. We’ve got away with it on a good few occasions but it’s absolutely brutal and has me a nervous wreck watching it.

16-12-2023, 04:10 PM

It’s a huge concern that amongst the players you list as having been poor are a few players we’d consider to be amongst our best - and players it appears that Monty and his system struggle to get the best out of (whilst acknowledging the improvement in several other players under our current manager).

I just don’t see Boyle, Levitt and Youan fitting this 442 at all, whereas they should walk into other systems.

16-12-2023, 04:11 PM

Spot on. Exactly the type of player we need.

You don’t need two ‘6’ midfielders against anyone in this league other than against the Old Firm. Playing essentially two midfielders, both of whom today couldn’t take, turn and drive was a recipe for what unfolded. Just shows how bereft the squad is of a blend of midfielders, especially in the creative sense and the energy sense. That’s an area that needs urgent urgent attention in January as our midfield is very very weak at times, particularly when there’s injuries and suspensions. Needs pace in there.

EVENTUALLY
What was the point of the one yard pass from Marshall to Levitt on the six yard line. Diabolical decision making and shocking execution of the next attempted pass from Levitt to the goalscorer.

Fish? he was one of the very few pass marks

He absolutely wasn't. Was like a horse on roller skates.

16-12-2023, 04:12 PM
Agreed mate. I like Levitt but I can absolutely understand why he’s getting regularly criticised. Youan I’d happily sell if we got a decent offer. Unless he’s played through the middle he doesn’t have the discipline our work rate to play wide in this setup.

Even some of those of us who are being (occasionally very) critical of Levitt like him - it just often looks like he’s not being used properly.

16-12-2023, 04:13 PM
Youan and Obita were awful today. But not many did shine.

Broxburn Greens

This, concise and right on the money.

Top post.

TrinityHFC

We did attack much more effectively than we do now though.

People are talking about being happy to sell Youan. I don’t think that is a positive for our coaching team.

NM has spoken very well but I think we’ve had lots of coaches who have spoken very well and it hasn’t translated to the pitch. It has to be much better or this lot will also come under pressure.

Crunchie
He absolutely wasn't. Was like a horse on roller skates.
I think you have your CH's mixed up. From 90 seconds in PH was grim and only got worse as the game wore on.

I did say "at times". If you're going to just write off the examples I gave you then you'll be right. Mostly pish.

Hearts must have played "electric football" to win by 2 goals at Celtic Park today. They had 23% possession.

Winning games doesn't mean electric football.

Defeat fully compounded by hearts’ result at Celtic park.

It’s results like ours today that will see us beat to third place

16-12-2023, 04:14 PM
We surely have players that understand that when we pass the ball, it should be to a player wearing the same colour strip.

Not today we didn't....:rolleyes:
Beyond shocking.

16-12-2023, 04:15 PM

Hibs haven’t been electric for about 5 years, in my opinion.

We did attack much more effectively than we do now though.

How many goals had we scored at this time last season compared to this season?

Hibs4185
I just don’t think you can play youan, Boyle and Jair in the same team.

If we got an offer for youan in January I’d bite their hand off.

As with the previous windows we need to address the midfield. Try and create some forward momentum for vente, Boyle and the rest.

Far too many of these Brutal performances given the talent we have.

I think you have your CH's mixed up. From 90 seconds in PH was grim and only got worse as the game wore on.

I forgot about Hanlon. He was murder too.

Really really poor. With the exception of Marshall not sure I’d give anyone pass marks.

Mid-long term there’s big question marks around whether Boyle, Youan, Tavares, Jeggo & Levitt are either good enough/consistent enough to be regular starters IMO.

For those saying we have a good squad and a squad others teams would envy what’s that based on? Our bench is generally a variation from Wollacot, Stevenson, Harbottle, Hanlon/Rocky, Jeggo, Delfierre, Campbell, Doidge and the two youngsters Whittaker & Rudi. With the exception of the youngsters I wouldn’t really ever want to bring any of them on.

January can’t come quick enough.

16-12-2023, 04:16 PM
We also paid 700k on a striker who, in the last few games, is seldom in the opposition box, no wonder the guy is starting to look hacked off.

16-12-2023, 04:16 PM
Hearts must have played "electric football" to win by 2 goals at Celtic Park today. They had 23% possession.

Winning games doesn't mean electric football.

What's that got to do with what I said?

16-12-2023, 04:17 PM
We also paid 700k on a striker who, in the last few games, is seldom in the opposition box, no wonder the guy is starting to look hacked off.

Totally. We basically create **** all for him. Been like that pretty much the whole time he’s been here.

16-12-2023, 04:17 PM
Another disappointing performance in which we just didn't do enough to win a game of football, Levitt tried all game to play a killer ball in but never executed. Poor from the attacking 4.

A lot of work still to be done if Monty is going to play this style every week.

Onto the next one.

TrinityHFC
16-12-2023, 04:18 PM
How many goals had we scored at this time last season compared to this season?

I don’t particularly care.

We have forward players available now that we didn’t have then. The intent though was to try and attack and make chances, which we did generally do.

16-12-2023, 04:18 PM
I’m not listening to anyone who says we can’t get a result at Celtic park cause of budgets.

Especially against an average Celtic team like that one

16-12-2023, 04:19 PM
Even some of those of us who are being (occasionally very) critical of Levitt like him - it just often looks like he’s not being used properly.

Agreed but hard to defend him on today’s performance. He’s cost us a few goals through slack play and not tracking back.

16-12-2023, 04:19 PM
I don’t particularly care.

We have forward players available now that we didn’t have then. The intent though was to try and attack and make chances, which we did generally do.

From a quick check we had scored 21 goals by this date (not sure if it's the same amount of games played). This season we have scored 24, so the theory we attacked much more effectively doesn't really stand up to any scrutiny.

We had Nisbet last season who on current form looks a better player than Nisbet, he's scored 4 league goals this season compared to Vente's 3 in a much tougher league.

So again, your argument about having attacking options now we didn't have them doesn't stand up to any scrutiny.

16-12-2023, 04:20 PM
Defeat fully compounded by hearts’ result at Celtic park.

It’s results like ours today that will see us beat to third place

There’s no way we’ll get 3rd playing like this. Teams have sussed us and we’re now creating problems for ourselves. We can barely get out our own half.

Crunchie
16-12-2023, 04:20 PM
Agreed but hard to defend him on today’s performance. He’s cost us a few goals through slack play and not tracking back.
Today was his chance to step up with Joe being suspended, he was woeful in everything he did today.

16-12-2023, 04:21 PM

Shocker today but when did he cost us not tracking back?

16-12-2023, 04:21 PM
Jeggo for Newell is a downgrade of monumental proportions.

Incredible we don't have any other midfield options whatsoever.

16-12-2023, 04:22 PM
Shocker today but when did he cost us not tracking back?

Aberdeen semi being one.

I’m not convinced our midfield looks much better with levitt in it.

I’d go with jeggo and joe

He is so poor on the ball, cripples the team going forward.

16-12-2023, 04:23 PM

Levitt to me looks like the worst version of Newell, and what is now the old version .

He’s beat and tidy, technically very good and can play some excellent progressive passes. However he also drifts through games and doesn’t overly impact games as much as he should IMO.

16-12-2023, 04:24 PM
Aberdeen semi being one.

No chance that was Levitt's fault. Obita was the guy that failed to track his man that day. Several others at fault as well before Levitt for that goal.

16-12-2023, 04:24 PM
There’s no way we’ll get 3rd playing like this. Teams have sussed us and we’re now creating problems for ourselves. We can barely get out our own half.

Adding 2/3 players in January will make a significant difference. A luxury the new man’s not had yet. Could do with one or two results before the new year and then the big push 👍

16-12-2023, 04:29 PM
Adding 2/3 players in January will make a significant difference. A luxury the new man’s not had yet. Could do with one or two results before the new year and then the big push 👍

We definitely need to get players in that can play his style, especially at full back centre half and midfield.

16-12-2023, 04:29 PM
No chance that was Levitt's fault. Obita was the guy that failed to track his man that day. Several others at fault as well before Levitt for that goal.

Of course, but he could have done much better.

Rumble de Thump
16-12-2023, 04:30 PM
Get that Melkersen dosh spent. Not long to go until the transfer window opens.

16-12-2023, 04:32 PM

Totally agree and underlines my previous point about a distinct lack of creative, physical, energetic midfielders at the club. Far too many one dimensional midfielders in the squad, which isn’t the fault of the manager. It’s the fault of recruitment and previous regimes. We need to identify a McGinn and Allan type(s) from somewhere ie when they were on their development curve. I agree with Michael Stewart, we often look too far abroad when there are gems here in Scotland just needing a chance.

You play either Jeggo or Levitt, not both - that means instantly your midfield is overrun and lacking an attacking aspect, given Youan and Martin don’t defend, and Vente ends up dropping deep to pick up deeper possession.

Monty does need to adapt and be less stubborn too - he’ll learn and also bring in players more adept at the style of play.

We move on though, very bad day at the office.

16-12-2023, 04:32 PM
We definitely need to get players in that can play his style, especially at full back centre half and midfield.

Genuine question.

What is his style? Other than trying to get guys to play out from the back who are evidently completely incapable of doing so I struggle to see what we are trying to achieve most weeks.

16-12-2023, 04:34 PM

You just can't help yourself in your constant criticism of Hanlon.

Past boring now.

16-12-2023, 04:35 PM
Genuine question.

What is his style? Other than trying to get guys to play out from the back who are evidently completely incapable of doing so I struggle to see what we are trying to achieve most weeks.

That’s what I mean, if he wants to build from the back he needs players who are capable. It’s also a good idea to take conditions into account when you’re trying tippy tappy football out of defence in winter in Scotland.

16-12-2023, 04:35 PM

A good manager should work with what he’s got. Not try to play his way with players who cannae do it.

Piss with the cock you have.

Crunchie
16-12-2023, 04:38 PM
You just can't help yourself in your constant criticism of Hanlon.

Past boring now.
Hardly constant mate, how would you sum up his performance today? Was I wrong?

16-12-2023, 04:40 PM
I think today showed us what many of us have thought for ages.

Our players aren't good enough and we need better all round.

A stronger starting eleven and a bench full of players who are capable of coming on and making a difference.

Every week when the team is announced I look at the bench and think there's not a lot there

16-12-2023, 04:42 PM
Hardly constant mate, how would you sum up his performance today? Was I wrong?

He was poor but so was everyone else.

Why do you continue to single out him?

And by the way you were a bit smug after last Saturday stating there's no way would NM start Rocky over Hanlon, well wrong.

16-12-2023, 04:42 PM
No getting away from it that was as bad as we have been for some time, Le-vain will be laughing into his red plonk tonight. You would need to be blind not to see that we need better players, extra investment may provide the means for this, along with some good loans. The boy Phillips in the middle for them is a loan from Crystal Palace, this is the type of player or better we need to get to where Monty is going to take us.
It was bad today but we move on, no use crying over spilt milk.
Rocky was my man of the match.

16-12-2023, 04:47 PM
A good manager should work with what he’s got. Not try to play his way with players who cannae do it.

Piss with the cock you have.

As it stands he’s trying to impress with one and a half inches. Desperately short in depth and imbalanced.

16-12-2023, 04:48 PM
As it stands he’s trying to impress with one and a half inches. Desperately short in depth and imbalanced.

I feel his pain.

Crunchie
16-12-2023, 04:49 PM
He was poor but so was everyone else.

Why do you continue to single out him?

And by the way you were a bit smug after last Saturday stating there's no way would NM start Rocky over Hanlon, well wrong.
I don't continually single him out, I'm sorry if you're that fragile where he's concerned. I just don't think he's been good enough for years now.

16-12-2023, 04:52 PM
I think today showed us what many of us have thought for ages.

Our players aren't good enough and we need better all round.

A stronger starting eleven and a bench full of players who are capable of coming on and making a difference.

Every week when the team is announced I look at the bench and think there's not a lot there

Very true Scoopy, i don’t think it’s the manager at fault either tbh, i think recruitment has been poor in certain areas of the pitch, particularly in midfield where there’s a distinct lack of dynamism and creativity. I’d like us to strengthen that left side too, get an out and out left sided winger so we aren’t reliant on Youan there and he can be played more centrally at times. The lad Beck would be a terrific addition at left back too if he ever became available (or someone of his ilk)

16-12-2023, 04:54 PM
Very true Scoopy, i don’t think it’s the manager at fault either tbh, i think recruitment has been poor in certain areas of the pitch, particularly in midfield where there’s a distinct lack of dynamism and creativity. I’d like us to strengthen that left side too, get an out and out left sided winger so we aren’t reliant on Youan there and he can be played more centrally at times. The lad Beck would be a terrific addition at left back too if he ever became available (or someone of his ilk)

It’s the managers fault we’re playing tippy tappy football on our 18 yard line on a bobbly pitch in a gale with players who are not comfortable doing it.

EVENTUALLY
16-12-2023, 04:58 PM

Half a team then ?

You're not wrong but even with better technical players the passing speed and tempo needs to be massively increased.

Egan Riley and Harry Clarke would be a start.

16-12-2023, 05:00 PM
NM
Disappointing result, disappointing performance in patches. We got punished for a mistake and we didn't capitalise on mistakes they made.

Chorley Hibee
16-12-2023, 05:00 PM
Half a team then ?

You're not wrong but even with better technical players the passing speed and tempo needs to be massively increased.

Egan Riley and Harry Clarke would be a start.

No chance Harry Clarke is leaving a side currently top of the English Championship for us.

16-12-2023, 05:01 PM
NM
Disappointing result, disappointing performance in patches. We got punished for a mistake and we didn't capitalise on mistakes they made.

He really means we eventually got punished for the mistakes we were constantly making playing out from the back.

Chorley Hibee
16-12-2023, 05:01 PM
NM

Disappointing performance in patches is a bloody understatement.

It's slow, cumbersome and quite frankly boring, and it is a weekly occurrence now.

It needs to change.

TrinityHFC
16-12-2023, 05:02 PM
From a quick check we had scored 21 goals by this date (not sure if it's the same amount of games played). This season we have scored 24, so the theory we attacked much more effectively doesn't really stand up to any scrutiny.

We had Nisbet last season who on current form looks a better player than Nisbet, he's scored 4 league goals this season compared to Vente's 3 in a much tougher league.

So again, your argument about having attacking options now we didn't have them doesn't stand up to any scrutiny.

Around this time last year we basically had Nisbet, Youan and Melkersen available most weeks.

I think we have more options now.

Even just taking this season before NM arrived we I think averaged 1.75 goals per league game and 2 goals per game in our European games. We are down to 1.2 now.

My own eyes can tell me we aren’t creating many chances. I think the match stats for attempts on goal will be down overall too. We haven’t always taken chances over last year and a bit but we did tend to create a lot.

16-12-2023, 05:07 PM
Disappointing performance in patches is a bloody understatement.

It's slow, cumbersome and quite frankly boring, and it is a weekly occurrence now.

It needs to change.

:agree: seriously awful today, every player apart from Marshall

16-12-2023, 05:09 PM
Sooner foley gets the investment in the better

Miles away from 3rd regularly each season

16-12-2023, 05:11 PM
Usual over reaction on here. First defeat in 14 league games, I think, to a team outside Rangers and Celtic.

It takes time. But definite progress. On the right road.

16-12-2023, 05:13 PM
It’s the managers fault we’re playing tippy tappy football on our 18 yard line on a bobbly pitch in a gale with players who are not comfortable doing it.

New manager comes in after window with team languishing at the bottom of the league. As it stands with same players and squad gets us to 2 points off 3rd with games and a window coming up with a chance to bring in 3 or 4 who can play the system he wants engrained, as well as moving on players. We lost a game of football, no more, no less. It happens. The manager hasn’t even had a transfer window yet!!

Of course, but he could have done much better.

I don't think he could have but either way dont think hes cost us a few goals like u suggested. Def at fault today no doubt.

Not a fan of 442 unless you have the quality of players to play it properly.
Shoehorning Jair and Youan into wide midfielders isn't working, they don't do enough defensively.
I've yet to see what everyone else sees in Levitt, 1 decent game so far but very lightweight to be paying as a 2 in the middle.
Boyle is not an out and out striker, get him back on the right wing and let him do his stuff out there.

All around a very poor performance with Marshall the only one getting pass marks, if we continue with 442 then we need at least 4-5 players who can at least play in that system, it's obvious tat right now these players aren't capable.

Usual over reaction on here. First defeat in 14 league games, I think, to a team outside Rangers and Celtic.

There's nae over reaction, it was gash! 😡

16-12-2023, 05:17 PM

Nobody is over reacting, many just stating the obvious that that was dire and we need new players if we want to play better, even in our wee run recently we've not been that great.

TrinityHFC
16-12-2023, 05:19 PM
Nobody is over reacting, many just stating the obvious that that was dire and we need new players if we want to play better, even in our wee run recently we've not been that great.

I don’t think everyone is saying we just need new players. We’re capable of much better with these players. Yes better players would be welcome but it is clear we aren’t getting enough from our best players.

16-12-2023, 05:19 PM

Slow progress I'd say, we've won 6 league games all season. Ive got more hope with Monty certainly than with LJ but pardon me if Im not exactly gushing with excitement at the progress to date. Hopefully a bit more time and more investment in the playing side will prove more fruitful.

16-12-2023, 05:21 PM
New manager comes in after window with team languishing at the bottom of the league. As it stands with same players and squad gets us to 2 points off 3rd with games and a window coming up with a chance to bring in 3 or 4 who can play the system he wants engrained, as well as moving on players. We lost a game of football, no more, no less. It happens. The manager hasn’t even had a transfer window yet!!

Don’t disagree but his tactic of playing out from the back with the players he does have available was not working especially in the conditions. We were constantly giving the ball away outside our box resulting in Marshall having to pull off some great saves or poor play by their forwards. There are the times where managers need to read the situation and change it.

There is no doubt a better back line and midfield would help but there are times you just shouldn’t invite pressure onto yourself in conditions like those today or last week. We fortunately got away with it last week.

May21/05/216
16-12-2023, 05:27 PM

It takes time. But definite progress. On the right road.Agree

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

Stanton Spence
16-12-2023, 05:31 PM
No chance Harry Clarke is leaving a side currently top of the English Championship for us.

Not only that he’s a boyhood Ipswich fan and had a very good game today
As you said no chance

EVENTUALLY
16-12-2023, 05:32 PM

Oh I know. But they are the type we need for these tactics. Tall, powerful, athletic with decent technical ability and self confidence to take the ball, turn and move it on accurately with pace.

16-12-2023, 05:34 PM
It's very hard to get excited about Hibs just now and both managers this season are culpable. We're a dire watch, even on our recent good spell results wise. Marshall has been in very good form thankfully.

16-12-2023, 05:39 PM
I don't continually single him out, I'm sorry if you're that fragile where he's concerned. I just don't think he's been good enough for years now.

Not fragile in the slightest.

Even last Saturday when he was good rather than give him credit you just ripped into him

16-12-2023, 05:43 PM
We have scraped a few wins of late which have masked a whole load of deficiencies. Entertainment levels are low and we are not a good watch. That's fine when you are winning as people are still happy, but when you lose as abjectly as we did today, the overall style comes into question.

Our playing out from the back is painfully slow and usually ineffective as teams have cottoned on not to press our CHs and just let them have the ball.

Not one pass mark today aside from Marshall.

yerauldda
16-12-2023, 05:43 PM
Crying out for a change of shape and creative midfielder. Levitt has been atrocious for us.

16-12-2023, 05:45 PM
Oh I know. But they are the type we need for these tactics. Tall, powerful, athletic with decent technical ability and self confidence to take the ball, turn and move it on accurately with pace.

I think it’s a very good point about “their type” though. If we’re putting a shopping list for January together, players with the physical characteristics you describe who are at biggish English clubs and are needing to get regular football out on loan should be on it.

supermcginn
16-12-2023, 05:49 PM

He's so poor. A recently retired spfl striker said at a sportsman's dinner last week that he loved playing against Hanlon more than anyone.

16-12-2023, 05:51 PM
I think NM needs to take stock of his I only play a 442 formation policy.

It's too predictable and gives opposite managers a head start

16-12-2023, 05:52 PM
He's so poor. A recently retired spfl striker said at a sportsman's dinner last week that he loved playing against Hanlon more than anyone.

Just name him then, it would be of interest

Chorley Hibee
16-12-2023, 05:57 PM

Absolutely, and pretty much everything we lack in abundance.

Hibees1973
16-12-2023, 06:14 PM
Today proved that when Newell is not in the side we have no creativity.

Newell is so far ahead of any other midfielder we have, it reflects the poor recruitment that has taken place in midfield.

How can the likes of Vente and Boyle expect to get chances when they do not receive the ball in forward positions and able to hurt the opposition. We have decent attackers for this league. But the likes of Jeggo, Campbell & Levitt are not good enough. Jeggo offers nothing, Campbell is inconsistent and Levitt flatters to deceive. We have got away with a couple of narrow wins in the last few weeks, which has surprised me, but have been far from convincing.

Montgomery has done well with the tools that he has. With the Melkersen windfall and possible new investment a top 4 place is not beyond us.

We cannot rely on 4 or 5 of our starters today (Miller, Hanlon, Youan, Levitt & Jeggo). Yet again today our bench was very weak. Newell apart, the only player we currently have who would improve that team today is Cadden. Miller is very raw and has scope to improve but I would feel a lot more comfortable with Cadden in the team.

Cannot expect too many changes in January as it's a difficult window, but one or two coming into the first team will be good.

16-12-2023, 06:20 PM
Not got players to play out from back, opposition now know this and put pressure on the players which leads to mistakes, needs to be a plan b when this happens.
We have some very good players but not getting the best out of them for some reason

16-12-2023, 06:22 PM

Did that recently retired Spfl striker have any winners medals

Bridge hibs
16-12-2023, 06:27 PM
Did that recently retired Spfl striker have any winners medals

Im sure Kevin Kyle won a medal with the rangers 🫢

16-12-2023, 06:38 PM
Im sure Kevin Kyle won a medal with the rangers 🫢

Who, would go to an after tea party to listen to him.

Bridge hibs
16-12-2023, 06:39 PM

Yeah if I had been struggling to sleep

16-12-2023, 06:40 PM
Not sure how it’s evolved into a Hanlon debate, but he certainly has been a terrific player for us and like all players divides opinion. Are his best days behind him, absolutely, should he be moved on - yes. Is he a bad player, no, he’s proved that he’s been a terrific servant and won a cup, big games and a league.

For a player who played youth football as a midfielder, played left back and then converted to centre half shows his versatility over a long career. His commitment is unwavering too.

But we need better, same as the situation with Lewis. Their time has come and now gone.

But he’s certainly not the reason we lost today - that’s laughable.

16-12-2023, 06:44 PM

Do they provide a translator or do you need to bring your own?

16-12-2023, 07:05 PM

😅

16-12-2023, 07:07 PM
Don’t disagree but his tactic of playing out from the back with the players he does have available was not working especially in the conditions. We were constantly giving the ball away outside our box resulting in Marshall having to pull off some great saves or poor play by their forwards. There are the times where managers need to read the situation and change it.

There is no doubt a better back line and midfield would help but there are times you just shouldn’t invite pressure onto yourself in conditions like those today or last week. We fortunately got away with it last week.

Looked like mainly individual mistakes he can't really legislate for someone like Levit misplacing passes.

16-12-2023, 07:10 PM

Miller is pretty much like this.

16-12-2023, 07:12 PM
Miller is pretty much like this.

Miller has generally done well in this system under this manager allowing for the odd blip.

16-12-2023, 07:16 PM
Apart from Marshall did the rest of the players think the game was still being played on the 30th

CB Hibs 68
16-12-2023, 07:18 PM
We are better under NM than LJ but as we can all see there is a massive overhaul needed.In general performances haven’t been any where near good enough and today has been coming. In NM defence he is working with the players at his disposal so maybe just maybe the transfer window will give him the chance to sort things out.Will be honest though his fixation on 442 and inability to get Vente involved up top concerns me.

TrinityHFC
16-12-2023, 07:26 PM
We are better under NM than LJ but as we can all see there is a massive overhaul needed.In general performances haven’t been any where near good enough and today has been coming. In NM defence he is working with the players at his disposal so maybe just maybe the transfer window will give him the chance to sort things out.Will be honest though his fixation on 442 and inability to get Vente involved up top concerns me.

In what ways are we better now than under LJ? I had hoped so when he arrived but we finished a few points off third last year and we had one bad spell of 3 league games this year where we scored 5 goals across 3 games and managed to lose them all. Our European games and Aberdeen away remain our best performances this season.

I’m at a loss to see how we’ve demonstrably progressed? If NM is here for a year and if he gets to 500 plus games in management I would expect he will lose 3 games in a row we or other teams he manages should have won.

16-12-2023, 07:26 PM
We missed Newell so much today. The midfield was outplayed. The guy Philips for them controlled things. I was unfortunate to be right down the front today and have to see that rat McGowan gloating at the end.

16-12-2023, 07:28 PM
In what ways are we better now than under LJ? I had hoped so when he arrived but we finished a few points off third last year and we had one bad spell of 3 league games where we scored 5 goals across 3 games and managed to lose them all. Our European games and Aberdeen away remain our best performances this season.

I’m at a loss to see how we’ve demonstrably progressed? If NM is here for a year and if he gets to 500 plus games in management I would expect he will lose 3 games in a row we or other teams he manages should have won.

We’re 2 points off third and have a manager who’s not had a transfer windows yet 👍 LJ had us in the relegation zone after the easiest set of fixtures we’ve ever had for seasons 👍

16-12-2023, 07:32 PM
We’re 2 points off third and have a manager who’s not had a transfer windows yet 👍 LJ had us in the relegation zone after the easiest set of fixtures we’ve ever had for seasons 👍

We're definitely in better shape than under LJ. I've got every confidence in NM to continue that improvement. However today was as bad as I've seen us in a long time. And Saints weren't much better.

TrinityHFC
16-12-2023, 07:35 PM
We're definitely in better shape than under LJ. I've got every confidence in NM to continue that improvement. However today was as bad as I've seen us in a long time. And Saints weren't much better.

Okay, can you give a go at elaborating on what is better now? I mean overall, not taking 3 games in isolation. What looks better for the present and future with this coaching team?

16-12-2023, 07:41 PM
We have scraped a few wins of late which have masked a whole load of deficiencies. Entertainment levels are low and we are not a good watch. That's fine when you are winning as people are still happy, but when you lose as abjectly as we did today, the overall style comes into question.

Our playing out from the back is painfully slow and usually ineffective as teams have cottoned on not to press our CHs and just let them have the ball.

Not one pass mark today aside from Marshall.
Yep, agree with all of that.

Sauzee67
16-12-2023, 07:41 PM
Zero shots on goal is not good enough for a team with our frontline , when was the last time we scored a goal from outside the 18 yard box ? We constantly try to tap the ball in from the 6 yard box or walk the ball in. We take too many touches on the ball and eventually lose it before getting a shot off. We need a Stevie Mallan type midfielder who is not scared of hitting a screamer from outside the box.

16-12-2023, 07:42 PM
Okay, can you give a go at elaborating on what is better now? I mean overall, not taking 3 games in isolation. What looks better for the present and future with this coaching team?

I think you've taken my post as me thinking everything is rosy. It's not. Today was dire and NM has a lot to prove. But it's obvious to me things have improved under NM. Our league position for a start. He brought in players who were out in the cold under LJ. He is prepared to bring through young players.

CB Hibs 68
16-12-2023, 07:43 PM
In what ways are we better now than under LJ? I had hoped so when he arrived but we finished a few points off third last year and we had one bad spell of 3 league games this year where we scored 5 goals across 3 games and managed to lose them all. Our European games and Aberdeen away remain our best performances this season.

Okay in the land of the blind the one eyed man is king .I was hardly giving a ringing endorsement to NM but you honestly think LJ was better? He needs the opportunity to bring some players in .Lets see.

16-12-2023, 07:46 PM

Pish today but come on, we’re in a better position than when he came in without question, without him having a chance to do anything to the squad. Still taking more points per game than LJ managed. It’s miles from perfect, today was diabolical and I disagree with his insistence on doing the same thing all the time but the good well outweighs the bad so far.

16-12-2023, 07:48 PM

We’ve gone from rock bottom and no points to joint 5th (where Johnson finished last season) and 2 points off 3rd.

We have moved from selection and formation bingo to a structured and recognisable formation and shape.

We have only lost 3 league games under Montgomery. 2 in Glasgow and a horror show today having now played every team (stand to be corrected). We lost to every team in the league under Johnson last season.

We’ve been to Hampden under both Maloney and Montgomery. Johnson went out the group stages to Falkirk, Morton and someone else I can’t remember who, and out the Scottish cup after our first game.

Players previously exiled have been developed and others have improved.

Youngsters are getting meaningful minutes and game time when games are in the balance and not just when we’re comfortably winning. Johnson had no intention to bring youngsters through.

Montgomery hasn’t even had a transfer window yet. There’s lots of valid questions and criticism of Montgomery. Today was as bad as what we saw under previous managers and questions about our attacking threat and how we’re using Boyle, Vente, Youan etc are fair.

I don’t believe you really think it hasn’t improved under Montgomery. What is it you see that was better overall under Johnson?

16-12-2023, 07:55 PM
Today proved that when Newell is not in the side we have no creativity.

Newell is so far ahead of any other midfielder we have, it reflects the poor recruitment that has taken place in midfield.

How can the likes of Vente and Boyle expect to get chances when they do not receive the ball in forward positions and able to hurt the opposition. We have decent attackers for this league. But the likes of Jeggo, Campbell & Levitt are not good enough. Jeggo offers nothing, Campbell is inconsistent and Levitt flatters to deceive. We have got away with a couple of narrow wins in the last few weeks, which has surprised me, but have been far from convincing.

Montgomery has done well with the tools that he has. With the Melkersen windfall and possible new investment a top 4 place is not beyond us.

We cannot rely on 4 or 5 of our starters today (Miller, Hanlon, Youan, Levitt & Jeggo). Yet again today our bench was very weak. Newell apart, the only player we currently have who would improve that team today is Cadden. Miller is very raw and has scope to improve but I would feel a lot more comfortable with Cadden in the team.

Cannot expect too many changes in January as it's a difficult window, but one or two coming into the first team will be good.

Unfortunately I have to disagree with you about a couple of points, both Newell and Cadden (when he's fit) are both pretty inconsistent as well, and I think Miller will turn out to be a better all round player than Cadden but that's just my opinion. Newell when he's on his game is a fine player but for me we're far too reliant on him, there doesn't appear to be any other midfielder connecting with front line, although I haven't completely written Levitt off yet. We have needed better quality midfield and defence for some time but either we can't afford what is a available or we chose to strengthen other areas instead. It's been that way for a wee while now IMO.

16-12-2023, 08:24 PM
Next Saturday is absolutely massive now.

We need to win and we also need to show a lot more going forward.

If we lose there's a fair bit of pressure going into the Derby.

16-12-2023, 08:28 PM
St Johnstone must have a Hibs poster in their bedroom. They're today's Airdrie without the aggro.

TrinityHFC
16-12-2023, 08:34 PM
We’ve gone from rock bottom and no points to joint 5th (where Johnson finished last season) and 2 points off 3rd.

We have moved from selection and formation bingo to a structured and recognisable formation and shape.

We have only lost 3 league games under Montgomery. 2 in Glasgow and a horror show today having now played every team (stand to be corrected). We lost to every team in the league under Johnson last season.

We’ve been to Hampden under both Maloney and Montgomery. Johnson went out the group stages to Falkirk, Morton and someone else I can’t remember who, and out the Scottish cup after our first game.

Players previously exiled have been developed and others have improved.

Youngsters are getting meaningful minutes and game time when games are in the balance and not just when we’re comfortably winning. Johnson had no intention to bring youngsters through.

Montgomery hasn’t even had a transfer window yet. There’s lots of valid questions and criticism of Montgomery. Today was as bad as what we saw under previous managers and questions about our attacking threat and how we’re using Boyle, Vente, Youan etc are fair.

I don’t believe you really think it hasn’t improved under Montgomery. What is it you see that was better overall under Johnson?

I think this squad would have improved this season anyway. We ended last season strongly, we signed pretty well for the way we’d been playing and I thought apart from Andorra away the European games were excellent. I’m not counting Villa which was different league.

I can live with sacking a manager for losing 3 games if we are improving things.

I’m not enjoying what I’m watching, we are losing value in our better players and it remains to be seen whether this team is equivalent to where we ended last season. There’s too many games to go and teams have games in hand to draw any comparison to a where we ended a season to where we sit now.

Hibs teams shouldn’t be boring. This one is.

I’m not that bothered about playing young players for the sake of it, or for Jair playing really. That’s been more than negated by not getting the best from the players we have that can provide real quality and had some future value for us.

I enjoyed hearing what he had to say when he arrived but we’ve all been there before with managers. They need to get results and get the team playing well or they are toast.

We did finish last season well, we had some good performances in Europe and we still sacked a manager for losing 3 games. That’s the standard set.

BoyledEgg
16-12-2023, 09:06 PM
St Johnstone must have a Hibs poster in their bedroom. They're today's Airdrie without the aggro.

Why? They had only beaten us once in the last 8 games.

16-12-2023, 09:08 PM
Next Saturday is absolutely massive now.

We need to win and we also need to show a lot more going forward.

If we lose there's a fair bit of pressure going into the Derby.

Yep another tough away game.

Struggling to think of the last away game where we actually put in a good performance

Aberdeen under gray?

16-12-2023, 09:12 PM

Struggling to think of the last away game where we actually put in a good performance

Aberdeen under gray?

I don't think we have been good home or away since we lost the semi final in which we played pretty well.

Generally we have become incredibly dull to watch as well as giving away far too many shots on goal.

Hopefully the manager is able to rectify these issues before things get much hairier.

16-12-2023, 09:14 PM

Aberdeen under gray?

Semi final maybe. We weren't particularly good really. The better of two poor teams. Aberdeen away we were good. Then Luzern at home before that. Been a keech season.

Chorley Hibee
16-12-2023, 09:14 PM
61% possession, not a single effort on goal, barely a chance created, and the opposition having countless chances to score.

Much the same last week at Livingston.

Produce as little over the next two games and we're in dangerous territory yet again.

16-12-2023, 10:31 PM
If we're a 442 team then it's Operation Sell Levitt in Jan as he offers too little defensively & doesn't do enough going forward to justify being carried

16-12-2023, 10:37 PM
Horrendous goal to concede. How can you ask players to play out from the back if they are going to make such basic mistakes?

16-12-2023, 10:40 PM
Horrendous goal to concede. How can you ask players to play out from the back if they are going to make such basic mistakes?

That mistake isn’t on anyone apart from Levitt.it summed up his performance, seems to think you can play football at walking pace.

16-12-2023, 10:55 PM
That mistake isn’t on anyone apart from Levitt.it summed up his performance, seems to think you can play football at walking pace.

It wasn’t the only pass out from the back that went astray there were a good few more we got away with and it’s happened many times this season.

The tactic of playing out from the back slows the game down to a point players seem lethargic, pedestrian and sloppy. They play out, look for options, none appear and then pass back to the keeper and start again. Eventually getting themselves into tighter and tighter spots where they’re overwhelmed with the press. It absolutely kills momentum and starves the forwards of decent possession.

If you’re lucky enough to have the players of the quality of the Spanish national side or Man City in a windless snooker table surface it can work brilliantly, we’ve not. The dogged decision to never change it when it’s not working is the most worrying bit for me.