View Full Version : Match Updates Livi v Hibs
Not a great 1st half but got the goal needed, better in the 2nd and got a VAR decision right for a change at the end, the ref was as usual very poor but it's another 3 points against the teams we should expect to beat, all in all a decent win.
09-12-2023, 04:26 PM
Of course if the linesman had done his job and gave offside then that would have been checked first and handball never looked at
But they’re told not to give them and let play run-on when relatively close like that one.. another ****ty thing caused by VAR
09-12-2023, 04:26 PM
It’s all a load of *****. Get VAR to ****.
So it’s offside if it’s a penalty, it’s still offside if no penalty and the corner is awarded, we’ll just ignore the offside in that instance.
What if they then score from the corner and they’ve already clarified the boy was offside leading to the corner. ****ing shambles.
HendoDelivered
09-12-2023, 04:27 PM
Superb win! Scary to think we should have an extra 9 points at least
Stanton Spence
09-12-2023, 04:29 PM
So VAR have said, you’ve given a corner, you might want to have a look at a potential penalty for handball. It’s offside if you do think it’s penalty, if you don’t think it’s a penalty then we all have to ignore the fact we’ve confirmed it’s offside and go with the corner. What if Livi had scored from a corner given where VAR & the ref have both confirmed it was offside in the move directly resulting in the corner?
I thought VAR was introduced to get the correct outcomes, not tye itself in knots strictly adhering to the rigid processes in place.
Exactly mate and one of many flaws in a system that’s ruining the game.
Crunchie
09-12-2023, 04:34 PM
Superb win! Scary to think we should have an extra 9 points at least
Draws have cost us big time, and var
09-12-2023, 04:38 PM
Above the Hearts works for me....:greengrin
That can't be true? They have the manager of the month. I suggest you double check that table 😉
09-12-2023, 04:39 PM
BBC “Victory sees Nick Montgomery's side strengthen their position in fifth, while Livingston stay rooted to the foot of the table”
Strengthened it that much we’ve popped up to 4th
That can't be true? They have the manager of the month. I suggest you double check that table 😉
They will be cancelling their stays in the windowless hotel tonight.
Hibees1973
09-12-2023, 04:47 PM
Great 3 points.
I don't go to away games these days.
If I did Livingston would be the last place I would go watch a football match.
09-12-2023, 04:49 PM
Hibs, Aberdeen and Sheffield United treble up at 20/1. That'll do.
09-12-2023, 04:57 PM
Of course if the linesman had done his job and gave offside then that would have been checked first and handball never looked at
I think we can let the linesman off for not putting his flag up, there was only a fag paper gap between them.
09-12-2023, 04:58 PM
Cadden will do well to dispossess miller
I mean in midfield, Whitacre had zero protection from youan.
09-12-2023, 04:58 PM
So, if it's a goal or penalty he's offside, if its a corner, goal kick or cleared he's not. Or to put it another way the ball is in play despite the player being offside unless a goal or penalty is conceded, in which case it was never in play.
I believe that this is how it works.
Victor
09-12-2023, 05:03 PM
As someone has already pointed out, Montgomery has got us to 4th with a team of players that he didn’t have any input into assembling. He has achieved 4th place solely on coaxing results out of a team that the previous Manager couldn’t get to play together.
09-12-2023, 05:04 PM
That’s a massive result
09-12-2023, 05:06 PM
What about when one of our offside decisions were clearly wrong? Does VAR not check those ones?
09-12-2023, 05:07 PM
Josh Campbell’s awful ability to pass the ball never fails to amaze me
He's not the only player today that needs extra passing lessons.
Youan, Jiar even Newall's passing was off today.
09-12-2023, 05:07 PM
What about when one of our offside decisions were clearly wrong? Does VAR not check those ones?
Only when a goal, penalty or red card is involved IIRC.
09-12-2023, 05:10 PM
He's not the only player today that needs extra passing lessons.
Youan, Jiar even Newall's passing was off today.
I gave Campbell a bit of stick after the last few games. But thought he was good when he came on today. Did exactly what was asked of him in a position that clearly isn’t natural for him. He’ll always give everything for us.
Good squad player.
09-12-2023, 05:11 PM
So if VAR had intervened to decide that foul on Boyle was worthy of a red card, but then spotted he was actually offside (he was miles on I know).
They’d have invited the referee over, allowed him to show the guy a red card, and then tell him to cancel it all because it was offside. But they couldn’t tell him until after he gave a red card because they can’t give an offside for a regular foul..
I’m no having this 😂😂
I think the red card still stands in that case.
09-12-2023, 05:17 PM
I gave Campbell a bit of stick after the last few games. But thought he was good when he came on today. Did exactly what was asked of him in a position that clearly isn’t natural for him. He’ll always give everything for us.
Good squad player.
If Miller is out it is a tough choice who to play at Right back. Some great experience for Whittaker but he is a mile away from being ready to play from the start. Campbell doesn't look too comfortable there but he at least matches up physically and blocks crosses. I'd try and play Elie up top and put Boyle on the right to help out slightly more.
09-12-2023, 05:26 PM
If Miller is out it is a tough choice who to play at Right back. Some great experience for Whittaker but he is a mile away from being ready to play from the start. Campbell doesn't look too comfortable there but he at least matches up physically and blocks crosses. I'd try and play Elie up top and put Boyle on the right to help out slightly more.
Is Whittaker not ready to play from the start? Or is it like when people said Doig couldn’t defend when he broke through. He’s backup, but has now started away at St Mirren (who were 3rd at the time) at home to Aberdeen and away Livi. We’ve won 2 of those games, drawn one, with 2 clean sheets and 2 goals conceded. He’s raw and still learning,he doesn’t look out of place whenever he has played IMO.
I’ve long since said play the youngsters when the opportunity arises. We will benefit far more from giving youngsters experience and having a clear pathway than shoe horning someone into an unnatural position instead IMO.
09-12-2023, 05:31 PM
Is Whittaker not ready to play from the start? Or is it like when people said Doig couldn’t defend when he broke through. He’s backup, but has now started away at St Mirren (who were 3rd at the time) at home to Aberdeen and away Livi. We’ve won 2 of those games, drawn one, with 2 clean sheets and 2 goals conceded. He’s raw and still learning,he doesn’t look out of place whenever he has played IMO.
I’ve long since said play the youngsters when the opportunity arises. We will benefit far more from giving youngsters experience and having a clear pathway than shoe horning someone into an unnatural position instead IMO.
He struggled a bit today first half but I think it was due to Youhan having one of those games in front of him. He was playing in front our dug out too and I thought he might struggle even more ( particularly decision making) away from them on the other side. As it turned out he was much better for the time he was on. Might have been the Youhan actually improved for the tine we were on top. I wonder if he was telt at half time? :greengrin
09-12-2023, 05:34 PM
Actually ****ing delighted after that win today. Delighted with our form in general actually. Really enjoying things right now. Long may it continue!
Levein up next though…
Caversham Green
09-12-2023, 05:34 PM
So do I - but it doesn't really make sense does it?
09-12-2023, 05:36 PM
Great result today, ground out the win 👍
Watched the Hearts game today and one thing I noticed that was glaringly obvious was first half Hearts pressed high and Aberdeen constantly tried to play from the keeper to the full backs (as we do often) and Hearts were very comfortable and often won possession back. Second half Aberdeen totally changed tack, played longer, balls over the top bypassing midfield, played wide quicker, and Hearts were atrocious. Time and time again they were caught out with longer balls out wide and between their centre halves. Hearts are a truly awful side to watch, hope we take note of how poor they are dealing with direct balls and grab the derby by the scruff of the neck and go for it - we’re the much better team with better players 👍
09-12-2023, 05:38 PM
He doesn't look ready to me. So many crosses come in from that side and physically he is a mile away. Doig wasn't the best defending when he came in but he looked good going forward and was much stronger. If the manager is playing him knowing it is a risk but that the reward will be accelerated development then I dare say that is a quid pro quo that could pay dividends. Whittaker has plenty confidence and his head stayed up but players with no recognised pace were easily knocking the ball past him and getting crosses in. That stopped as soon as Campbell came on. Whittaker is very young for a defender breaking through so has lots of time.
09-12-2023, 05:39 PM
I think the red card still stands in that case.
If it had been violent play maybe. But in this case it would’ve been for denying a goal scoring opportunity (or however it’s phrased now).
09-12-2023, 05:40 PM
Officials were awful.
At least twice it was miles offside - they played on and Hibs players nearly got injured.
Then some of the fouls and offside were really questionable and another long VAR delay - players standing there freezing in the rain waiting.
Good win for Hibs - 2-0 and it’s over but the non goal gave Livi a lift.
Marshall made a good save as Livi tried to get something from game but we moved the ball really well at times.
The speed we had up front at times was frightening.
babahibs
09-12-2023, 05:44 PM
A superb, hard fought 3 points in awful conditions. Next..........
09-12-2023, 05:46 PM
How did Jair play today ? My mate texted me saying first half he had some really bright moments and is playing with real touches of flair. The points we’ve amassed since his reintroduction is impressive.
09-12-2023, 05:47 PM
As someone has already pointed out, Montgomery has got us to 4th with a team of players that he didn’t have any input into assembling. He has achieved 4th place solely on coaxing results out of a team that the previous Manager couldn’t get to play together.
Please look above.
09-12-2023, 05:48 PM
So do I - but it doesn't really make sense does it?
Certainly not.
09-12-2023, 05:48 PM
How did Jair play today ? My mate texted me saying first half he had some really bright moments and is playing with real touches of flair. The points we’ve amassed since his reintroduction is impressive.
Played well again. Have absolutely no doubt whatsoever he should be starting now. Getting more confident and better at decision making in each passing game.
That’s a very good point. If you add in the points dropped from draws in the early days, it could have been even better.
09-12-2023, 05:50 PM
Played well again. Have absolutely no doubt whatsoever he should be starting now. Getting more confident and better at decision making in each passing game.
Great to hear John 👍
09-12-2023, 05:53 PM
I don’t think it’s hard, I know exactly what you’re saying, I’m just not convinced you’re correct.
I’ve never seen it before where they recommend a penalty check, ref goes over after minutes of reviewing it, gives it and is told “by the way it was offside so that was all for nothing”. The first thing they do is check offside to save him having to go over and review it, is it no?
They are allowed to check the offside during the penalty review. It’s one of the crucial parts in determining if it’s a penalty or not, and happens in countless reviews.
I do agree the whole thing should get binned though 👍
This proves how inept they are.
i
09-12-2023, 05:57 PM
Played well - skinned a few players - got chopped down few times - opposition should have had yellows for - only 1 yellow given.
Had a few goal attempts too - nice to have a threat on left and right and speed up front / wide.
09-12-2023, 05:58 PM
Played well - skinned a few players - got chopped down few times - opposition should have had yellows for - only 1 yellow given.
Had a few goal attempts too - nice to have a threat on left and right and speed up front / wide.
Deceptively quick eh? Not necessarily in sprint speed but body movement. Great wee player.
Mikey_1875
09-12-2023, 06:02 PM
Delighted to get a result there with a less than brilliant performance. We have been on the other side of that plenty of times so take it when it comes.
Can’t wait to have Miller and Obita back on the wings together as I think it has hampered our attacking threat in games with them missing.
09-12-2023, 06:05 PM
Crap pitch. Crap conditions. A team that just bombard you in the air for 90 minutes. Up the road with 3 points all that matters.
09-12-2023, 06:19 PM
Hibs win. Hearts lose. Eutopia.
09-12-2023, 06:44 PM
Hibs win. Hearts lose. Eutopia.
Even better than that. Villa won and Arsenal lost all in the same match. Carlsberg weekend indeed. :greengrin
09-12-2023, 06:48 PM
The weather, the pitch, the physical livi team. It was always going to be tough today and the team deserve a lot of credit for getting through that with 3 points, well done!
Trinity Hibee
09-12-2023, 07:25 PM
Watching the highlights there is so much water lying on that artificial pitch. Must have zero drainage. Disgraceful surface
09-12-2023, 07:41 PM
Great 3 points simple as that.
K-Zazu
09-12-2023, 08:26 PM
Watching the highlights there is so much water lying on that artificial pitch. Must have zero drainage. Disgraceful surface
It’s embarrassing
09-12-2023, 08:33 PM
Crap ground, crap pitch, crap weather, crap game but great result, tough 3 points Monty and the team done well, they even tried to cheat us out of the points in the last min, that var is killing the game, sucks all the fun out. Moved above the jambos and never even played well, that is the sign of a team doing something right.
LewysGot2
09-12-2023, 08:42 PM
Better than a dry day. They never water the park making it even worse for opponents so rain is a blessing.
09-12-2023, 08:44 PM
Crap ground, crap pitch, crap weather, crap game but great result, tough 3 points Monty and the team done well, they even tried to cheat us out of the points in the last min, that var is killing the game, sucks all the fun out. Moved above the jambos and never even played well, that is the sign of a team doing something right.
You realise VAR bailed us out?
LewysGot2
09-12-2023, 08:52 PM
Of course it's debatable. Hanlon's entire career has been him unable to win aerial duals. Rocky so far at Hibs is far better. Why he's been singled out if he has is piss poor management.
Whit?
09-12-2023, 09:02 PM
Did it? the Livi boy was well offside, even a blind lino could see that.
Var is killing the game, no seen the highlights as we was too far away and the weather was so bad it was hard to see, but was Vente goal really offside as well.
09-12-2023, 09:19 PM
You realise if there was no VAR it wouldn’t have been looked at in the first place? In fact.. we’d have been 2-0 up!
Even if it had bailed us out, which it didn’t, is still utterly ****.
Donegal Hibby
09-12-2023, 09:22 PM
Did it? the Livi boy was well offside, even a blind lino could see that.
Var is killing the game, no seen the highlights as we was too far away and the weather was so bad it was hard to see, but was Vente goal really offside as well.
Yeah Vente was offside. Sky highlights here 👍
https://www.skysports.com/football/livingston-vs-hibernian/report/487689
09-12-2023, 09:32 PM
Was Dallas on var asleep when Devlin should have been sent off for elbow on Obita and the clear last man red card on Boyle? Farcical how selective that is used.
09-12-2023, 10:12 PM
Deceptively quick eh? Not necessarily in sprint speed but body movement. Great wee player.
The other good thing is he’s equally comfortable on either foot. The full back can’t force him inside or out as he’ll always get his cross over. Growing with every game. And what a shift he puts in. He’s getting to that point now where when he gets the ball out wide and is facing up to the full back, you anticipate something good is going to happen. Looking forward to see him continue to develop.
10-12-2023, 11:42 AM
https://youtu.be/90H8bzXFeso?si=ZZEDVpnw_1LOql6n
10-12-2023, 03:19 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned, but good to see us finally win while wearing the purple strip.
Maybe it's not a jinx after all.
On the plus side, yesterday might be the last time we ever play on it if Livi get relegated and the potential vote on grass only pitches is successful.
10-12-2023, 04:15 PM
The ref didn't give a penalty, he gave a corner.
So VAR didn't bail us out at all.
10-12-2023, 09:20 PM
Just watched the All Access video that Hibs put out from yesterday. At Vente’s goal it looks as if Boyle maybe gets a touch on the ball at the front post which would mean Vente was onside
10-12-2023, 09:24 PM
Just watched the All Access video that Hibs put out from yesterday. At Vente’s goal it looks as if Boyle maybe gets a touch on the ball at the front post which would mean Vente was onside
But Boyle was offside too
10-12-2023, 09:26 PM
But Boyle was offside too
Was he? I’ve only seen it on that video and it’s from behind the goals so can’t see that properly
10-12-2023, 09:29 PM
Was he? I’ve only seen it on that video and it’s from behind the goals so can’t see that properly
Yeah both him and Vente are offside when the cross comes in.
I actually (wrongly) thought it was Boyle it was on when it first got checked
10-12-2023, 09:32 PM
Yeah both him and Vente are offside when the cross comes in.
I actually (wrongly) thought it was Boyle it was on when it first got checked
Just saw a screenshot of it and both miles off. No idea what took so long for them to rule it out
10-12-2023, 09:35 PM
Just saw a screenshot of it and both miles off. No idea what took so long for them to rule it out
It took them even longer to not give a penalty that was even more offside 😁
10-12-2023, 09:38 PM
It took them even longer to not give a penalty that was even more offside 😁
Aye that was a shocker as well. No idea why the ref went to the screen
Raith surface on Friday 10 times better than either Livi or Killie.