View Full Version : Thoughts on getting rid of var

Wellbankhibby
12-11-2023, 01:47 PM
Just wondered what people's thoughts are of getting rid of this farce. It has caused nothing but problems. Cost all clubs money and it is destroying the game. At least with the old system you can celebrate a goal immediately. Even technology will favour the so called bigger clubs. We have been on the wrong end of this disaster many times. The semi final where Martin Boyle goal disallowed and then var not even checking the venti penalty. I was all for this helping our game because of so called corrupt referees but even with Var we have corrupt officials. Let's get rid of this nonsense and at least enjoy our football regardless of good or bad decisions.

12-11-2023, 01:49 PM
I said before it was implemented that the issue with Scottish refereeing isn't a question of competence, but of impartiality. VAR doesn't solve that. That's proven to be the case.

LunasBoots
12-11-2023, 01:50 PM
You need professional refs to run it, we don't have that.

DIXIHIBS
12-11-2023, 01:53 PM
Just wondered what people's thoughts are of getting rid of this farce. It has caused nothing but problems. Cost all clubs money and it is destroying the game. At least with the old system you can celebrate a goal immediately. Even technology will favour the so called bigger clubs. We have been on the wrong end of this disaster many times. The semi final where Martin Boyle goal disallowed and then var not even checking the venti penalty. I was all for this helping our game because of so called corrupt referees but even with Var we have corrupt officials. Let's get rid of this nonsense and at least enjoy our football regardless of good or bad decisions.

It certainly seems to cause as many issues as it is meant to resolve. I think most fans thought it might help eradicate the OF bias....how's that worked out. I really fail to see how it helps the game other than a few hairline offside decisions. Get rid.

12-11-2023, 01:53 PM

Nothing but nothing would change if all of our referees went professional under the current structure.

LunasBoots
12-11-2023, 01:55 PM
Nothing but nothing would change if all of our referees went professional under the current structure.

I don't doubt that, our officials just aren't very good as has been proved time and time again.

12-11-2023, 01:56 PM
Said since long before it arrived in Scotland that it would ruin the game as we know it. Ive experienced nothing to persuade me otherwise

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

12-11-2023, 01:57 PM
Sadly it won't be going anywhere. There is nothing wrong with the technology, just the muppets who are implementing it

12-11-2023, 02:03 PM

I disagree, all that would do is upgrade the current crop of cheats and we'd have the same results.

First off we need proper VAR, not someone using a camcorder from the 70s.

Then we need to import refs from outside Scotland and the Var studio should be manned by foreign officials abroad.

The obvious bias and corruption is deep rooted to the core, and is virtually impossible to erase.

I've more chance of biting my own erse of this happening though, and we are keeping the cheating for the foreseeable. :rolleyes:

12-11-2023, 02:03 PM
Get rid of the refs.

12-11-2023, 02:04 PM
It’s not fixing the issue it was brought in for. If anything it’s only heightened it by having more discussion over decisions. Time to bin it imo and put the resources into extra officials again.

12-11-2023, 02:05 PM
Mic up the refs.
They can't be trusted.

Donegal Hibby
12-11-2023, 02:19 PM
I'd like to see it scrapped. Kills the moment your team scores a goal and is doing more harm than good to football. As long as you have corrupt officials like Beaton , Walsh, Dickinson and the rest who will only give decision they want too and ignore other decisions they don't want to give it's no bloody good anyhow !.

12-11-2023, 02:35 PM
I suggested right at the start that I didn’t think Scottish Football could be trusted with VAR. Plenty disagreed feeling that it would weed out the dodgy decisions and favouritism.

I’ve seen nothing to suggest I was wrong in that assumption.

In Scotland it’s a cheats charter, and we simply can’t be trusted with it. Certainly with the pool of officials we have at present. Needs gone ASAP.

12-11-2023, 02:51 PM
Always been against it. Mistakes and bad decisions still happen, just in a different way - and are even less defensible.

Goal line technology is all we need.

12-11-2023, 02:53 PM
100% our league doesn’t need it. Until we got serious investment from sponsors or tv money plus an independent review into refereeing standards and var training it’s pointless.

I’d bin it yesterday.

12-11-2023, 02:58 PM
Get rid of the refs.

Would love to see our crop of cheats go on strike once again. Preferably permanently

12-11-2023, 03:07 PM
The sooner the better. An unmitigated **** show, as we knew it would be.

It's not going anywhere though sadly

Renfrew_Hibby
12-11-2023, 03:08 PM
We now have a system that can be manipulated to justify decisions given and not given for a particular club but to also increase the percentage chance of the overall result of a game.

VAR ain't going anywhere.

12-11-2023, 03:12 PM
Can’t see it going anywhere, so farm it out to another county to do the onfield reviews not the current crop of incompetent cheats such as Dallas.

12-11-2023, 03:13 PM
Var officials need to be from one of other uk nations or further.
How can 1 team go so long without conceding a penalty?

Var was a mess when it was rolled out now its just a shambles with all the dodgy decisions going in favour of certain clubs same as it was before var.

Until the clubs themselves demand action nothing will be done

12-11-2023, 03:13 PM
I think VAR should be operated by ex professional footballers or managers.

LewysGot2
12-11-2023, 03:15 PM
VAR was brought in to satisfy the SFA officials who were being overlooked for big games in Europe because they had no experience of VAR. There's no way they'll forego it now.

The Veteran
12-11-2023, 03:18 PM
The sooner the better. :aok:

12-11-2023, 03:19 PM
It's a system that could be viewed by anyone anywhere in the world. Get the tech right and have overseas neutral refs viewing the decisions. Beaton, Dallas, Dickinson etc are still just favouring two teams, and even then one more than the other, like they always have. Corrupt to the core and they dont even try to gide it anymore

12-11-2023, 03:19 PM
I think VAR should be operated by ex professional footballers or managers.

I can see it now. Kris Boyd, Alan Hutton, Alex Rae, Coisty, Steven Craigen, Kenny Miller and Kevin Thomson alternating between VAR and commentary duties.

12-11-2023, 03:21 PM
VAR was brought in to satisfy the SFA officials who were being overlooked for big games in Europe because they had no experience of VAR. There's no way they'll forego it now.

They won't have accomplished anything if rank rotten Scottish referees continue to be cast aside at world cups and Euros.

12-11-2023, 03:25 PM
It's a system that could be viewed by anyone anywhere in the world. Get the tech right and have overseas neutral refs viewing the decisions. Beaton, Dallas, Dickinson etc are still just favouring two teams, and even then one more than the other, like they always have. Corrupt to the core and they dont even try to gide it anymore

Foreign refs would need to be completely fluent in English which narrows the field but more importantly, I can't see the German or French FA's (for example) giving up their top officials on match day.

12-11-2023, 03:26 PM
Foreign refs would need to be completely fluent in English which narrows the field but more importantly, I can't see the German or French FA's (for example) giving up their top officials on match day.
They wouldn't need to be their top refs to be better than the cheats we have officiating at the moment

12-11-2023, 03:29 PM
They wouldn't need to be their top refs to be better than the cheats we have officiating at the moment

Agreed but I'm quite sure there are plenty of good referees in Scotland who can't get near it because they don't belong to the Glasgow and Lanarkshire mafia. I honestly don't know why any referee outwith those two even bother to try to get to the top.

12-11-2023, 03:32 PM
Agreed but I'm quite sure there are plenty of good referees in Scotland who can't get near it because they don't belong to the Glasgow and Lanarkshire mafia. I honestly don't know why any referee outwith those two even bother to try to get to the top.
Yeah, I'm with you on that. But that just shows the ingrained bias within Scottish football. Radical change is needed and the clubs outside the bigots need to drive it. It would be very easy for someone tech savoie to make a video of decisions for the bigots and against everyone else. All one way traffic in bad decidions

h1bs4life
12-11-2023, 03:37 PM
Like others I had hoped VAR would help sort out some of the bad decisions but it has made it worse
Now instead of just 4 officials at the stadium looking how to give Rangers and to some extent Celtic decisions we now have VAR and assistant VAR scouring every bit of footage remotely.
Bin it

snedzuk
12-11-2023, 03:43 PM
Bin. Killing all spontaneity.

12-11-2023, 03:50 PM
Yeah, I'm with you on that. But that just shows the ingrained bias within Scottish football. Radical change is needed and the clubs outside the bigots need to drive it. It would be very easy for someone tech savoie to make a video of decisions for the bigots and against everyone else. All one way traffic in bad decidions
Or even better if some computer geek could bust into their system and get the incriminating emails lol...

12-11-2023, 03:58 PM
Another example of how it’ll never work as long as it’s operated by humans in the Chelsea v City game. It’s all dependent on what and how they look at things.

Goal line technology is good. Automated offside in the Champions League. Otherwise, just get it tae ****!

Victor
12-11-2023, 04:13 PM
The referees, those on the pitch and the ones on VAR, have to explain their decisions. That would go some way to make their decisions more acceptable. It would not slow things down anymore than it currently does, as international rugby has shown. I also think fans would accept decisions more readily if they could hear the reasoning behind it. However, I am sure a lot of the referees would be lost for words as some of the recent decisions made against us have been incomprehensible.

12-11-2023, 04:31 PM
I think there's a place for VAR, but not three version we've got. The principle is good but the application is appalling.

It doesn't help that we get a skewed view of it because the media focus on when VAR gets it wrong, but if you look at the Rangers game today - the penalty (first) didn't go to VAR, and it should have, so the wrong decision stood.

Rangers had a goal ruled out on VAR (I believe) which corrected a bad decision which would have gone against Livi, and then VAR also corrected a handball that the referee missed, which was a stonewaller.

We're all talking about the one where VAR didn't work but it did exactly what it should on two other major instances in the game.

VAR has righted a lot of wrong decisions since it's implementation, but even with that, the way it's applied now is awful and I think overall, the game if worse for it.

The version of VAR at the World Cup was superb, what we've got is like middle-aisle of Lidl VAR, run by folk who are either incompetent or corrupt. It needs binned until they can sort it.

allmodcons
12-11-2023, 04:32 PM
Bin. Killing all spontaneity.

This 100%

I haven’t been to a game since it was introduced.

12-11-2023, 06:40 PM
Would be happy to see VAR scrapped

The Boyle goal at Hampden snapped the last vestige of patience for me

Life was better before VAR

12-11-2023, 06:42 PM
Never wanted it and would be happy to see it binned. It adds nothing and takes so much away.

et_hibby
12-11-2023, 06:52 PM
Var officials need to be from one of other uk nations or further.
How can 1 team go so long without conceding a penalty?

Var was a mess when it was rolled out now its just a shambles with all the dodgy decisions going in favour of certain clubs same as it was before var.

Until the clubs themselves demand action nothing will be done
This. As with many other technical/ IT systems, outsource it overseas. Impartial decision making and, quite possibly, cheaper!

12-11-2023, 07:04 PM
This. As with many other technical/ IT systems, outsource it overseas. Impartial decision making and, quite possibly, cheaper!

Way to do it for now until AI gets into it, get rid of the bias from the west.

12-11-2023, 07:06 PM
It doesn’t matter if VAR is there or not, they can basically make a case for any decisions they make. Even the pundits do it, if it’s a decision against the old firm for a penalty they’ll say not enough contact, if it’s a decision for then they’ll say there was some contact so the ref:VAR had to give it. It really is a no win situation.

et_hibby
12-11-2023, 07:15 PM
It doesn’t matter if VAR is there or not, they can basically make a case for any decisions they make. Even the pundits do it, if it’s a decision against the old firm for a penalty they’ll say not enough contact, if it’s a decision for then they’ll say there was some contact so the ref:VAR had to give it. It really is a no win situation.
Outsource it overseas and don’t even let officials know which teams they are VAR officiating beforehand. Beaton, Dickinson, etc can cover the Indian Superleague in reciprocation!

12-11-2023, 07:17 PM

I’d rather the money was spent bringing in foreign referees.

12-11-2023, 07:35 PM
Get rid. They won't though so mic up the refs and make the conversion with var available.

12-11-2023, 07:37 PM
I think VAR is a good thing.

Unfortunately the people looking at the screens make it unworkable in this country due to their bias

12-11-2023, 07:37 PM
Get rid. Didn't want it before, don't want it now.

12-11-2023, 08:11 PM

Yip, get AI in so it can track then bald headed linesman instead of the ball

147lothian
12-11-2023, 08:21 PM
VAR would be good for walking football, because everything gets looked at in slow motion. It shouldn't be allowed anywhere near the professional game.

12-11-2023, 08:30 PM

Pundits on the BBC yesterday were discussing Hibs claim against Aberdeen in the SF. Unanimous that it was a penalty and unanimous at the surprise it didn't go to VAR, most vocal being Willie Miller.

I'm not surprised it didn't go to VAR. Those type of decisions have gone against Hibs since I started going to see us. When some fans were adamant that pre-2012 Craig Thomson showed bias against us others said it was paranoia or just he wasn't any good. They penny dropped for a lot of fans when a poster on here showed his clear bias against us was fact, using statistical analysis.

The current crop of refs just stink of favouring the most bigoted club on the planet. I'm not angry or upset when saying that, they just are, it's a banal, ordinary thing. The chances that VAR would be performed without bias by Scottish referees is a joke. The only mildly surprising thing is brass neck of some the decisions. When a ref on the park got something wrong he had the excuse of only seeing things from one angle. No excuses from VAR but they carry on doing it without any shame.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

12-11-2023, 08:38 PM
Bin VAR. The first pen for Sevco today shows there’s no point having it. Be better spending the money on goal line technology.

12-11-2023, 08:41 PM
I don't care if it statistically means we have slightly more correct decisions, if it takes so much away from the fan experience of football.

It worked well at the world cup because we were all watching on TV. It flat out doesn't work for fans in the ground, it ruins the real fan's experience.

I've said it before, it's for armchair/tourist fans watching from afar.

12-11-2023, 08:59 PM
Keep and sort. Also sort the offside law to ease the VAR decisions. The game is and always has been about the officials perception of the incidents that are subjective. Get them wired up in real time and let us hear how decisions are come to. I’d also add that a team may have a certain amount of VAR reviews per game so penalty claims for instance cannot just be ignored. Simplify what and what cannot be reviewed. It will get to the correct decisions and I think we all want that. I don’t get the ruining the game for fans at the stadium argument. I’d rather belatedly celebrate a goal for a second time than be pissed off that a perfectly good goal was chalked off or I couldn’t celebrate with 100% certainty within a few seconds. I read somewhere that around 95% of calls were correct after a VAR intervention. Presumably the other 5% were where refs after talking to VAR stuck with their view of things after VAR thought they might have been wrong. For anyone that thinks that never happens there was one at Fir Park yesterday.

Paulie Walnuts
12-11-2023, 09:08 PM
Bin it. A major part in football being infinitely less enjoyable than it used to be to watch.

Malonga's Cat
12-11-2023, 09:20 PM
Bin it. Pronto. Interesting for about 5 minutes but it doesn't work. It's actually added to the inconsistent decisions and over scrutiny. The money spent on VAR could go on referees going full time/training/recruitment of new officials.

Donegal Hibby
12-11-2023, 09:26 PM
Good thread this in most of us actually agree on something for a change 😂

12-11-2023, 09:27 PM
Get rid please and let's go back to abusing refs for themselves alone.

12-11-2023, 10:14 PM
VAR isn't the problem imo. We've seen plenty of times it's gone well (the last World Cup absolutely smashed it).

What it's done is expose how utterly rotten and corrupt our game is in favour of 1 particular team.

And now rather than discuss that, it's all about VAR 😔.

13-11-2023, 04:54 AM
I thought VAR would stamp out the cheating. How stupid do I actually feel never mind admitting that but genuinely believing it?
I actually thought that photographic evidence would stop this,

It’s got to a point that to me VAR ain’t the problem it’s the complete corruption within our game. What’s worse we allow it to go on. Now the officials are using VAR to actually take their corruption to a new level.

And to rub salt into the wounds they have the audacity to stick spec savers on their tops to make it seem like it’s a joke.

I go to every game home and away and it’s getting to the point that I don’t think it’s worth the money paying to get mugged over and over by corrupt officials. Would you constantly go to the bookies knowing you had no chance of a fair bet, so why do we constantly go to the footy? Easy answer to this is we love our team, it’s that simple.

Get Var to France and make sure the officials are with it.

13-11-2023, 07:14 AM
Keep and sort. Also sort the offside law to ease the VAR decisions. The game is and always has been about the officials perception of the incidents that are subjective. Get them wired up in real time and let us hear how decisions are come to. I’d also add that a team may have a certain amount of VAR reviews per game so penalty claims for instance cannot just be ignored. Simplify what and what cannot be reviewed. It will get to the correct decisions and I think we all want that. I don’t get the ruining the game for fans at the stadium argument. I’d rather belatedly celebrate a goal for a second time than be pissed off that a perfectly good goal was chalked off or I couldn’t celebrate with 100% certainty within a few seconds. I read somewhere that around 95% of calls were correct after a VAR intervention. Presumably the other 5% were where refs after talking to VAR stuck with their view of things after VAR thought they might have been wrong. For anyone that thinks that never happens there was one at Fir Park yesterday.

Absolutely this. Like rugby fans at the ground should hear the discussion and reasons. Your point about a team getting a number of challenges is also a good one. The competency and transparency of the officials needs to be improved.

13-11-2023, 07:39 AM
What are folk expecting to hear by listening to what the refs say when discussing a decision?

Take yesterdays penalty as an example, all that you would hear is that there was contact so it’s a penalty. We already know that’s wrong as it was a clear dive but what else are folk expecting to hear?

Mcbizz1998
13-11-2023, 07:43 AM
No interest in hearing the likes of John Beatons annoying nasal voice.

Get rid of it. It’s been an absolute shambles up here and in England tbh. Football is unique in many ways but particularly the celebrations of players and fans. We can’t celebrate anymore, always waiting for some pleb in a studio to ruin it.

13-11-2023, 08:12 AM
This 100%

I haven’t been to a game since it was introduced.

You stopped going because it was introduced?

13-11-2023, 09:10 AM
What are folk expecting to hear by listening to what the refs say when discussing a decision?

Take yesterdays penalty as an example, all that you would hear is that there was contact so it’s a penalty. We already know that’s wrong as it was a clear dive but what else are folk expecting to hear?

Suppose the rational on why decision is made. Though you would only hear ones being reviewed so neither our pen last week or the Rangers one yesterday as the var guy thought refs decision was correct. Just think it is quite good in rugby to hear the dialogue and why decision reached. I think at minimum it may make officials be slightly more accountable than they are knowing the public will hear their thoughts.

Dmas
13-11-2023, 09:16 AM
No interest in hearing the likes of John Beatons annoying nasal voice.

Get rid of it. It’s been an absolute shambles up here and in England tbh. Football is unique in many ways but particularly the celebrations of players and fans. We can’t celebrate anymore, always waiting for some pleb in a studio to ruin it.

Happened before with an unnoticed/ late offside flag, Celebrating issues aren’t as big a thing as has made out, VAR being about didn’t stop anyone celebrating Boyles goal at Hampden for example.

It’s needing broadcast what when and why VAR is used so that everyone is clear we shouldn’t have a watered down version than is used anywhere else either VAR should be VAR, I think be able to hear the discussion is a good one as well if not to keep everyone honest this veil of secrecy to what’s being discussed on incidents such as rangers pen yesterday only adds to conspiracy issues, the stadium experience needs looking at also just having a message on screen isn’t enough imo the incident being reviewed on a big screen with audio of the discussion like rugby would be great im unsure of that sort of thing crosses over to football

13-11-2023, 10:50 AM
get rid

Mcbizz1998
13-11-2023, 10:55 AM
Happened before with an unnoticed/ late offside flag, Celebrating issues aren’t as big a thing as has made out, VAR being about didn’t stop anyone celebrating Boyles goal at Hampden for example.

It’s needing broadcast what when and why VAR is used so that everyone is clear we shouldn’t have a watered down version than is used anywhere else either VAR should be VAR, I think be able to hear the discussion is a good one as well if not to keep everyone honest this veil of secrecy to what’s being discussed on incidents such as rangers pen yesterday only adds to conspiracy issues, the stadium experience needs looking at also just having a message on screen isn’t enough imo the incident being reviewed on a big screen with audio of the discussion like rugby would be great im unsure of that sort of thing crosses over to football

Not seeing an offside flag is not similar, at all. The flag goes up immediately, if fans or players don't think to look and celebrate anyway then that's their issue. VAR comes in well after the goal is scored and full celebration is over. It absolutely did stop me celebrating Boyles non-goal. The second it went in I knew it would go to VAR and may be chalked off.

13-11-2023, 11:07 AM
While I don’t watch a lot of rugby or tennis, when I do, both seem to have very little issue with their equivalent VAR systems.

Rugby seems most applicable, you have their extra ref watching the video, they’re all miced up etc and it just seems to happen quickly and easily.

Football probably needs to consider some rule changes for both VAR itself and other rules to reflect the use of cameras, replays etc.

13-11-2023, 11:12 AM
It's interesting that in England audio is released when it is asked for but up here there is no transparency at all.

When I say interesting, I mean absolutely outrageous.

13-11-2023, 11:12 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/Z5gcY8cM/IMG-1221.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

I'm Spartacus
13-11-2023, 11:14 AM
The Sevco 'penalty' v Livingston just shows where the problem lies, it's not VAR but the 'humans' we have operating and officiating our games.

Corrupt before I was born and corrupt long after I die.

leith lynx
13-11-2023, 11:25 AM
Bin it, the English championship is fine without it. VAR just creates another level of unwanted hassle, I would prefer the club's to invest in goal line technology instead, and of course the hardest job of producing better refs!

13-11-2023, 12:14 PM
Not seeing an offside flag is not similar, at all. The flag goes up immediately, if fans or players don't think to look and celebrate anyway then that's their issue. VAR comes in well after the goal is scored and full celebration is over. It absolutely did stop me celebrating Boyles non-goal. The second it went in I knew it would go to VAR and may be chalked off.

It wasn’t a goal to celebrate so I’m confused why it’s an issue.

Victor
13-11-2023, 12:24 PM

Agree. It is a two tier system.

13-11-2023, 12:31 PM
Bin it, the English championship is fine without it. VAR just creates another level of unwanted hassle, I would prefer the club's to invest in goal line technology instead, and of course the hardest job of producing better refs!

I disagree, we definitely need it but it needs to be delivered fairly. It's who is implementing it that's the problem, we've always had bent ref's and VAR is the way to finally get a fair match.The whole thing needs taken away from the cheating largs mafia, but you and I know that will never happen,so until such time as it is,the game will continue to be rigged and we will have to live with it.:(

13-11-2023, 12:46 PM

What was the on-field decision...

StockbridgeGoat
13-11-2023, 12:56 PM
Get rid of it. It has, as I suspected all along, merely become something utilised for the benefit of one club.

13-11-2023, 02:02 PM

The issue is it wasn't offside. VAR got it wrong.

13-11-2023, 02:17 PM
While I don’t watch a lot of rugby or tennis, when I do, both seem to have very little issue with their equivalent VAR systems.

Rugby seems most applicable, you have their extra ref watching the video, they’re all miced up etc and it just seems to happen quickly and easily.

Football probably needs to consider some rule changes for both VAR itself and other rules to reflect the use of cameras, replays etc.

It's far easier to implement in rugby.

It's primarily used for things like ball grounding, high tackles and potential offsides in lead up to tries (and offside in rugby isn't drawn to to a tiny level), all things that can be easily, in the vast majority of cases, be checked fairly quickly.

13-11-2023, 02:36 PM
The issue is it wasn't offside. VAR got it wrong.

Immaterial. It’s the non celebration I’m talking about. He knew var was going to be checking it so didn’t celebrate. Var called no goal so he’s not missed out. Var calls goal and he gets to celebrate. If he had celebrated first time round he could get another shot too. Win win.

13-11-2023, 02:40 PM
What was the on-field decision...

Saturday past Offside. Last Saturday goal. I’m not sure what difference it makes. Celebrated the goal last Saturday chalked off it’s a pisser. Didn’t celebrate Saturday past as he was clearly offside and even tho VAR would check they would agree with the assistant. If they hadn’t I’d have celebrated when they did that.

Bushwoof
13-11-2023, 03:55 PM
Has it improved the accuracy of decisions? Possibly, but not necessarily.
Has it improved the matchday experience? Absolutely not, it's far worse.

Is VAR worth keeping for a questionable benefit in the quality of decisions, at the expense of making the product so much less entertaining? Absolutely not.

13-11-2023, 04:25 PM

Opening sentence is spot-on for me.

Used to be if you thought it might be dodgy, you glanced at the linesman for a flag while beginning your celebration.

Now every ****ing goal you fear they’ll find something to ruin it with by scrutinising for 5 mins.

Football isn’t the same anymore. It’s actually all getting a bit laughable.

13-11-2023, 04:37 PM

Used to be if you thought it might be dodgy, you glanced at the linesman for a flag while beginning your celebration.

Now every ****ing goal you fear they’ll find something to ruin it with by scrutinising for 5 mins.

13-11-2023, 06:49 PM
It's far easier to implement in rugby.

It's primarily used for things like ball grounding, high tackles and potential offsides in lead up to tries (and offside in rugby isn't drawn to to a tiny level), all things that can be easily, in the vast majority of cases, be checked fairly quickly.

I disagree - I think rugby is a harder game to ref than football.

More players - various cross over runs - scrums - line outs - rucks etc.

The difference is they have a system which is fluid and not run by total muppets.

Rugby tries are checked with various passes / moments where as football takes an age to check offsides / penalties etc.

If the operation was quicker - if fans in the stadium had replays of the incidents and the refs conversations were available to everyone we wouldn't get this total mess we have just now.

Football should widen VAR to just watch the game and call up any incidents missed or errors. Even put a 1 minute time limit on goal checks and if they can't prove it's not a goal let it stand.

The big issue in Scotland is the cheap crap version of VAR we have paid for by the higher ranked clubs - Celtic and Rangers pay more than 12th placed team - that's not right.

Add in the West coast bias of refs and the old firm favouritism and you have a mess.

13-11-2023, 08:36 PM
I disagree - I think rugby is a harder game to ref than football.

More players - various cross over runs - scrums - line outs - rucks etc.

The difference is they have a system which is fluid and not run by total muppets.

Rugby tries are checked with various passes / moments where as football takes an age to check offsides / penalties etc.

If the operation was quicker - if fans in the stadium had replays of the incidents and the refs conversations were available to everyone we wouldn't get this total mess we have just now.

Football should widen VAR to just watch the game and call up any incidents missed or errors. Even put a 1 minute time limit on goal checks and if they can't prove it's not a goal let it stand.

The big issue in Scotland is the cheap crap version of VAR we have paid for by the higher ranked clubs - Celtic and Rangers pay more than 12th placed team - that's not right.

Add in the West coast bias of refs and the old firm favouritism and you have a mess.

I think it lends itself to rugby (and most other sports) better though, in terms of stoppages and the flow of the game etc.

And it’s absolutely brutal in the so-called best league in the world too.

All opinions but mine is that VAR is *****, and always will be.

13-11-2023, 08:43 PM
Get rid of it. It has, as I suspected all along, merely become something utilised for the benefit of one club.

Then it goes back to that one club running the show with impunity, let’s sort VAR out, mic the refs

13-11-2023, 08:46 PM
Then it goes back to that one club running the show with impunity, let’s sort VAR out, mic the refs

It's occurred to me more than once that referees might want it gone so they can fly under the radar again.

LeithMike
13-11-2023, 08:56 PM
I think I’d be in favour of getting rid.

1. The loss of ability to enjoy a goal.

2. The absolutely nonsensical situation where a player is clearly offside but the play continues until the chance is gone and the flag goes up which can lead to a couple of minutes of football that doesn’t count. What happens when a serious injury occurs?

3. Offside being awarded when a toe or shoulder is offside but the player is not really gaining an advantage. The rule was never meant to be enforced like that.

4. Defensive fouls in the box which may technically be a foul but doesn’t deny a goal scoring chance (like at St Mirren or penalty awarded to Rodri against Man Utd).For years refs have correctly turned a blind eye to these and we now have no clue when a penalty should be awarded for a shirt pull and there is a big advantage to attacking team.

5. It ruined the World Cup Final in 2018 awarding that penalty for an accidental handball against Croatia and changed the game. That was a shocking decision.

6. Generally it leads to binary and clinical decisions and takes common sense out of the game. I don’t mind inconsistency in decisions as long as the ref is consistent within a game. I like a referee to use common sense and not constantly be stopping the game for infringements.

If they don’t get rid, there needs to be a review of the rules but I certainly don’t trust FIFA or Wenger to do that for the betterment of the game.

13-11-2023, 08:57 PM
It's occurred to me more than once that referees might want it gone so they can fly under the radar again.

They seem to be coping alright

SickBoy32
14-11-2023, 08:28 AM
Has it improved the accuracy of decisions? Possibly, but not necessarily.
Has it improved the matchday experience? Absolutely not, it's far worse.

Is VAR worth keeping for a questionable benefit in the quality of decisions, at the expense of making the product so much less entertaining? Absolutely not.

:top marks - an awful system that is inherently flawed, reduces fan enjoyment and needs consigned to the history books ASAP

14-11-2023, 08:43 AM

Interesting point.

The head of VAR was talking on radio last week about protecting the refs.

It shouldn’t be about that it - it should be about the integrity of the game. Obviously health and well being of refs important too.

Football will never improve officiating unless they give a microphone to ref in the top leagues to explain decisions.

Video replays of not - explain the decisions.

Take that away and it’s a step backwards when other sports have used to to improve the game.

Similar to concussions in rugby, football is miles behind sorting the basics.

Numptie
14-11-2023, 08:52 AM
VAR isn't going anywhere. The main task is to improve it and that needs VAR experts, and I don't think our old Refs are up to the job. If you look at Rugby you can see a proper decision making discussion between VAR and the Ref. The St Mirren penalty is an example - was the keeper fouled before the tug on the shirt - a fairly simple process to check as VAR was overruling an on field decision of a foul on the keeper (I think). Rugby follows the whole play leading up to an overrule, and in the world cup we saw a number of occasions where a try was cancelled when they checked and saw foul play leading up to the try. Football can't just pick one foul and ignore other foul play that led up to it !!!

Stanton Spence
14-11-2023, 09:02 AM
Interesting point.

The head of VAR was talking on radio last week about protecting the refs.

It shouldn’t be about that it - it should be about the integrity of the game. Obviously health and well being of refs important too.

Football will never improve officiating unless they give a microphone to ref in the top leagues to explain decisions.

Video replays of not - explain the decisions.

Take that away and it’s a step backwards when other sports have used to to improve the game.

Similar to concussions in rugby, football is miles behind sorting the basics.
Rugby and football are two totally different sports and everyone seems to bring up rugby when discussing VAR in football. For me you can’t compare both to each other especially when regarding the rules of each game
Football didn’t need VAR it’s the best game on the planet for me and by a long distance and for a long time and wasn’t falling behind any other sports.
You did come away from games wondering why you didn’t get decisions in certain games and even raging at some decisions but that’s still happening anyway and I just don’t see any good reasons to keep it
It’s ruining the game for me

14-11-2023, 09:29 AM
Rugby and football are two totally different sports and everyone seems to bring up rugby when discussing VAR in football. For me you can’t compare both to each other especially when regarding the rules of each game
Football didn’t need VAR it’s the best game on the planet for me and by a long distance and for a long time and wasn’t falling behind any other sports.
You did come away from games wondering why you didn’t get decisions in certain games and even raging at some decisions but that’s still happening anyway and I just don’t see any good reasons to keep it
It’s ruining the game for me

Rugby is brought up as they have been using it for a long time and with much success.

Football and rugby are different sports obviously but football is easier to referee and should be even easier to use any video technology.

What’s the issue with refs explaining decisions to supporters ? As Hibs dans it would surely help us understand any possible West Coast bias / corruption from refs.

hibsforeurope
14-11-2023, 09:32 AM
The amount of managers coming out in press conferences to speak out against the VAR set up is ever increasing, and not just the smaller clubs but the clubs who benefit (2nd) most from it domestically.

Stevie Robinbson made a good point mid week that it's the clubs who are funding it annually, around 120k each. if it's the clubs who are funding it surely they should have a say in the product offered or to scrap it all together.

personally i think we need to either get rid or to upgrade the quality of the cameras and just use for offside (the AI version used in the world cup) and goal line. take out the subjective areas from the VAR scope completely and just deal with fact.

SickBoy32
14-11-2023, 09:33 AM
Rugby is brought up as they have been using it for a long time and with much success.

Football and rugby are different sports obviously but football is easier to referee and should be even easier to use any video technology.

What’s the issue with refs explaining decisions to supporters ? As Hibs dans it would surely help us understand any possible West Coast bias / corruption from refs.

In what way is football easier to referee than rugby? I don't watch much rugby, but when I do, I don't really see players feigning injury / contact to try and fool the referee - definitely adds a challenge for football refs.

Bit in bold - if any Hibs fans still think that refereeing corruption in Scotland is only a possibility, then they've not been paying attention quite frankly. It's been obvious for years.

14-11-2023, 09:34 AM
The amount of managers coming out in press conferences to speak out against the VAR set up is ever increasing, and not just the smaller clubs but the clubs who benefit (2nd) most from it domestically.

Stevie Robinbson made a good point mid week that it's the clubs who are funding it annually, around 120k each. if it's the clubs who are funding it surely they should have a say in the product offered or to scrap it all together.

personally i think we need to either get rid or to upgrade the quality of the cameras and just use for offside (the AI version used in the world cup) and goal line. take out the subjective areas from the VAR scope completely and just deal with fact.

The clubs fund it but the funding is done on league placings.

Celtic and Rangers pay more than Hibs and Hearts for example.

There is also no way it should be changed mid season.

Was a joke they actually brought it in mid season - again complete nonsense.

VAR isn’t going anywhere and will make Scotland look more tin pot if they take it away when other team leagues use it.

14-11-2023, 09:38 AM
In what way is football easier to referee than rugby? I don't watch much rugby, but when I do, I don't really see players feigning injury / contact to try and fool the referee - definitely adds a challenge for football refs.

Bit in bold - if any Hibs fans still think that refereeing corruption in Scotland is only a possibility, then they've not been paying attention quite frankly. It's been obvious for years.

If you don’t watch much rugby it’s hard for you to comment.

Rugby has more players / more crossovers / runs / kicking and general phases of play.

Rugby can have 15 passes and then and a try scored and the check is quick.

Football has one long ball from Will Fish to Boyle and takes them 5 mins to figure out if it’s a goal?!

hibsforeurope
14-11-2023, 09:38 AM
The clubs fund it but the funding is done on league placings.

Celtic and Rangers pay more than Hibs and Hearts for example.

There is also no way it should be changed mid season.

Was a joke they actually brought it in mid season - again complete nonsense.

VAR isn’t going anywhere and will make Scotland look more tin pot if they take it away when other team leagues use it.

If it's paid for by skimming prize money the clubs should be pushing to upgrade the current quality.

There is likely to be some sort of bonus for Scotland reaching the euro's coming our way they can use.

14-11-2023, 10:04 AM
If it's paid for by skimming prize money the clubs should be pushing to upgrade the current quality.

There is likely to be some sort of bonus for Scotland reaching the euro's coming our way they can use.

"VAR is expected to cost around £1.2m per season and Premiership clubs will pay for the technology with each club's share depending on their final league position.
The Premiership winners will pay approximately £195k per season, with a sliding scale to the 12th club, who would pay around £67k."

https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11781/12593541/var-scottish-premiership-to-introduce-video-technology-after-crucial-vote#:~:text=VAR%20is%20expected%20to%20cost,would %20pay%20around%20£67k.

The game at Hampden showed 1 TV camera looking at the replay - more cameras are needed also - but costs money and people to operate them / stadiums to have the capacity to have them.

Paulie Walnuts
14-11-2023, 10:08 AM

Rugby has more players / more crossovers / runs / kicking and general phases of play.

Football has one long ball from Will Fish to Boyle and takes them 5 mins to figure out if it’s a goal?!

Football can see the ball turned over 3 or 4 times in a matter of seconds, 3 or 4 passes played in the blink of an eye, a foul commited by the slightest touch on a players heel by another players knee etc.

The idea that football is just one pass then goal and that’s all there is to check is a bit silly. Rugby can also have very simple passages of play.

Mcbizz1998
14-11-2023, 10:18 AM

Well mainly because Rugby has far more laws. It’s a much more complicated game. Football by comparison is simple.

14-11-2023, 10:43 AM
Mass boycott of all games until its binned

14-11-2023, 10:47 AM

The big issue is that our Referees are cheats. You could invest £1billion in VAR in Scotland and it will still be used to gain advantage for the teams supported by the establishment.

14-11-2023, 10:51 AM
Football can see the ball turned over 3 or 4 times in a matter of seconds, 3 or 4 passes played in the blink of an eye, a foul commited by the slightest touch on a players heel by another players knee etc.

The idea that football is just one pass then goal and that’s all there is to check is a bit silly. Rugby can also have very simple passages of play.

I didn't mean it's always like that for football - but my example was to show that a simple decision of a single pass and offside took 5 minutes.

A simple try in rugby would take 30 seconds.

The only time rugby takes a while is red or yellow cards.

Rugby isn't perfect but rugby league and union use the TMO so much better than football uses VAR.

14-11-2023, 10:53 AM
The big issue is that our Referees are cheats. You could invest £1billion in VAR in Scotland and it will still be used to gain advantage for the teams supported by the establishment.

I think they are just really poor.

Lack of refs at lower leagues - lack of refs at top level - crap refs get fast tracked.

No accountability. In England - crap decision and refs can be demoted. Here it's same ref gets another game week after.

It's not a simple get rid of keep VAR discussion - various issues with the standard of how games are officiated in Scotland.

GRA
14-11-2023, 11:02 AM
The concept of VAR is a good one. Errors from refs will inevitably happen, and some calls are subjective, but the purpose is to minimise those errors.

But the implementation has, so far, been a disaster. So many inconsistencies with the incompetent clowns running it, even for those non-subjective decisions. Unless there is a massive uptick in competency, which I doubt will happen, then get rid.

14-11-2023, 11:06 AM

If you honesty think that Ref's in Scotland aren't biased then you really need to take a bit more notice.

14-11-2023, 11:21 AM

Lack of refs at lower leagues - lack of refs at top level - crap refs get fast tracked.

No accountability. In England - crap decision and refs can be demoted. Here it's same ref gets another game week after.

It's not a simple get rid of keep VAR discussion - various issues with the standard of how games are officiated in Scotland.Refs from outwith the Glasgow area not being allowed to progress as they don't support the "you know who's" is probably a better explanation.

Funny how they are always inept in favour of The the's.

14-11-2023, 11:26 AM
Regarding all the shenanigans that goes on at corners and free kicks in the penalty area, I'd rather a rule that any blocking off a players run or pull back of a shirt will automatically be given as a foul. Is it football to see players physically blocking other players using tactics best left to a rugby ground? Or same with players pulling back other players by grabbing ones shirt. Players do it because they know that for the majority of the times that they'll get away with it. I'd rather fouls to be automatically given and that would hopefully stop players from doing it.

14-11-2023, 11:26 AM
If you honesty think that Ref's in Scotland aren't biased then you really need to take a bit more notice.

Poor / bias 100%.

It’s a joke - it’s actually very close to putting me off watching games.

Hibs07p
14-11-2023, 11:30 AM

It's not a simple get rid of keep VAR discussion - various issues with the standard of how games are officiated in Scotland.

The reason there is, if any, a lack of top referees in Scotland, is because there is no motivation for referees at grass root level to invest their time and energy and try to make a career out of football, unless they have allegiences towards the west coast refereeing fraternity, and possibly a dodgy handshake. The SFA should be held to account on why there is no clear refereeing pathway for grassroots refs from all over Scotland, and if there is, why is it failing, and who is responsible?

Scottish Cup Winners 2016.

14-11-2023, 12:02 PM
The reason there is, if any, a lack of top referees in Scotland, is because there is no motivation for referees at grass root level to invest their time and energy and try to make a career out of football, unless they have allegiences towards the west coast refereeing fraternity, and possibly a dodgy handshake. The SFA should be held to account on why there is no clear refereeing pathway for grassroots refs from all over Scotland, and if there is, why is it failing, and who is responsible?

Scottish Cup Winners 2016.
Been saying the same for years. Absolute waste of time for a referee from Aberdeen for example to even bother trying to get to the top.

Hibs07p
14-11-2023, 12:59 PM
Been saying the same for years. Absolute waste of time for a referee from Aberdeen for example to even bother trying to get to the top.

Nothing will change until there's a root and branch shake up of both the SFA regarding referees, and also importantly the SPFL, all our clubs, accepting responsibility for all our fans. Forget restricted liability, lay the rules for all our clubs fans, and penalise clubs that continue to let the Scottish game down. The only downside I see, are finding officials that would hand out the penalties to the clubs, and expect to accept the abuse that would come their way. The whole of Scottish football is guilty of failing in governance of our game, aided and abetted by our so called "unbiased" BBC Scotland media.
Getting back on topic, the concept of VAR is great. For it to work effectively it needs to be the best it can be, with unbiased officials, I don't see that happening anytime soon.
Bin it.

Scottish Cup Winners 2016

14-11-2023, 02:21 PM

:faf::faf:

Sioux
14-11-2023, 02:53 PM

That's not strictly correct. The referee, if he is in doubt over the award of a try, will tell the VAR that he is awarding a try (or not as the case may be) unless the VAR has, and can show, evidence that his decision is wrong. The VAR does not review the try with a view to disallowing it. But we do in football, which except for offside decisions, is wrong imo.

14-11-2023, 03:06 PM
That's not strictly correct. The referee, if he is in doubt over the award of a try, will tell the VAR that he is awarding a try (or not as the case may be) unless the VAR has, and can show, evidence that his decision is wrong. The VAR does not review the try with a view to disallowing it. But we do in football, which except for offside decisions, is wrong imo.
Agree with that. It's not so long ago that they made an attacker onside if he was in line with the last defender and were clearly saying the attacker should always get the benefit of the doubt. Now it seems to me that there is an over eagerness to chop goals off which I just don't get. As for some of the penalty decisions, especially handball, there seems to be complete confusion as to what a handball offence actually is.

14-11-2023, 04:57 PM
Agree with that. It's not so long ago that they made an attacker onside if he was in line with the last defender and were clearly saying the attacker should always get the benefit of the doubt. Now it seems to me that there is an over eagerness to chop goals off which I just don't get. As for some of the penalty decisions, especially handball, there seems to be complete confusion as to what a handball offence actually is.The offside rule needs to change. Perhaps the whole of the torso. (clear daylight) before an attacker us offside. Be clearer that current bawhairs and shirtsleeves.

Logie Green
14-11-2023, 05:27 PM
The offside rule needs to change. Perhaps the whole of the torso. (clear daylight) before an attacker us offside. Be clearer that current bawhairs and shirtsleeves.

Arsene Wenger suggested that as long as any part of the attacking player is on the VAR line, i.e. the heel, then they should be deemed onside.
It favours the attacker obviously but I think it would be much fairer than it is just now.

14-11-2023, 05:30 PM
Arsene Wenger suggested that as long as any part of the attacking player is on the VAR line, i.e. the heel, then they should be deemed onside.
It favours the attacker obviously but I think it would be much fairer than it is just now.

Then more goals not less, the point of the game after all

14-11-2023, 05:37 PM
I misread the OP.

Give peace a chance indeed.

In all seriousness, some of us that watched a bit of football in stadiums prior to Scotland getting VAR, warned about the largely unreported-on misery of just not knowing when a goals a goal, and how that profoundly changes the viewing experience. TV viewers might not notice or care. But VAR changes what I always considered a near perfect emotion. We were proved right.

The problem is, now, the powers that be simply won’t countenance anything that sees them lose face. So we’re stuck with it.

ruthven_raiders
14-11-2023, 06:28 PM
Then more goals not less, the point of the game after all

Yeh good idea as I've previously said,they are going to trial this soon.

14-11-2023, 07:19 PM
I misread the OP.

In all seriousness, some of us that watched a bit of football in stadiums prior to Scotland getting VAR, warned about the largely unreported-on misery of just not knowing when a goals a goal, and how that profoundly changes the viewing experience. TV viewers might not notice or care. But VAR changes what I always considered a near perfect emotion. We were proved right.

The problem is, now, the powers that be simply won’t countenance anything that sees them lose face. So we’re stuck with it.

Didn't spoil it for me on Saturday, was quite obviously a perfectly good goal and I celebrated as I normally would. Don't know who these people are who see Hibs score and don't celebrate because VAR might intervene. Don't believe it at all tbh.

allmodcons
14-11-2023, 07:26 PM
You stopped going because it was introduced?

Not quite!

I attended Aberdeen v Hibs on Friday 4 November 2022 which, I think, was the first VAR game involving Hibs.

That night they took 4 or 5 minutes to award Aberdeen a penalty after a clear dive by Duk.

Marshall saved the spot kick then after Hibs went up field they pulled play back and awarded a retake of the penalty because Marshall had moved his feet off the goal line before the penalty was struck.

All told it took 8 minutes for Aberdeen to eventually score from what was a clear and obvious dive.

It was an absolute ****ing shambles that made me incredibly angry.

I left the ground at 2v0 and haven't attended a game since.

Football is about spontaneity and emotion. VAR is killing the game I love.

14-11-2023, 11:38 PM
Didn't spoil it for me on Saturday, was quite obviously a perfectly good goal and I celebrated as I normally would. Don't know who these people are who see Hibs score and don't celebrate because VAR might intervene. Don't believe it at all tbh.

:agree: When Youan scored his second at Tiny, there wasn’t a soul in that away end that wasn’t going radge celebrating.

When Boyle “scored” v Aberdeen I didn’t temper my celebrations and neither did the thousands of folk around us.

I didn’t go wild at Boyle’s disallowed goal on Saturday because i could see he was well offside anyway.

15-11-2023, 06:49 AM
Given that this system is accepted around the globe it is clearly not going away. Globally, there are a couple of tweaks that might help things along IMHO.

1. Put the F*****g flag up immediately you think it’s offside. The referee can allow the passage of play to reach its conclusion but at least we would see there might be a call to make afterwards.

2. Mic up the match officials and those handling VAR and show the breakdown of decisions on the big screen where there is one. Then at least we can see what “logic” is being applied. It might even add to the entertainment seeing that process, especially on the rare occasion it’s to our benefit.

3. Outsource VAR to a neighbouring country. Surely it can be done from anywhere in this modern day. The pictures are being beamed to some secret bunker anyway so might as well be looked at in France or Turkey or wherever. There should be little or no additional cost to that as it would simply be reciprocated from here.

4. Closer to home, if it was being monitored and checked independently there might be no need to disband to Lanarkshire mafia. Their bias would, at worst, be exposed, at best nullified.

15-11-2023, 07:08 AM
I think I’d be in favour of getting rid.

1. The loss of ability to enjoy a goal.

2. The absolutely nonsensical situation where a player is clearly offside but the play continues until the chance is gone and the flag goes up which can lead to a couple of minutes of football that doesn’t count. What happens when a serious injury occurs?

3. Offside being awarded when a toe or shoulder is offside but the player is not really gaining an advantage. The rule was never meant to be enforced like that.

4. Defensive fouls in the box which may technically be a foul but doesn’t deny a goal scoring chance (like at St Mirren or penalty awarded to Rodri against Man Utd).For years refs have correctly turned a blind eye to these and we now have no clue when a penalty should be awarded for a shirt pull and there is a big advantage to attacking team.

5. It ruined the World Cup Final in 2018 awarding that penalty for an accidental handball against Croatia and changed the game. That was a shocking decision.

6. Generally it leads to binary and clinical decisions and takes common sense out of the game. I don’t mind inconsistency in decisions as long as the ref is consistent within a game. I like a referee to use common sense and not constantly be stopping the game for infringements.

If they don’t get rid, there needs to be a review of the rules but I certainly don’t trust FIFA or Wenger to do that for the betterment of the game.Spot on with every point mate. I'd forgotten about that world cup final too, completely ruined the game.

15-11-2023, 07:11 AM
I misread the OP.

The problem is, now, the powers that be simply won’t countenance anything that sees them lose face. So we’re stuck with it.Well put

15-11-2023, 01:40 PM
Interesting clip from the Newcastle Arsenal goal :confused:

https://v.redd.it/cp5ig***2d0c1/HLSPlaylist.m3u8

Unfortunately VAR won't be going anywhere as there will be too much money and too many contracts invested in it all...

15-11-2023, 02:19 PM
Agree with that. It's not so long ago that they made an attacker onside if he was in line with the last defender and were clearly saying the attacker should always get the benefit of the doubt. Now it seems to me that there is an over eagerness to chop goals off which I just don't get. As for some of the penalty decisions, especially handball, there seems to be complete confusion as to what a handball offence actually is.

I definitely think there’s room for bringing back the concept of a player being level, and also that the benefit of the doubt should be given to the attacking team. Use wider lines and if they overlap then the player is onside. There would need to be proper daylight between the lines for the player to be offside and if there’s any doubt after a certain period of time, say 2-3 minutes, then the benefit of the doubt goes to the attacking team.

But all teams must play to the same rules.

15-11-2023, 02:57 PM
Given that this system is accepted around the globe it is clearly not going away. Globally, there are a couple of tweaks that might help things along IMHO.

1. Put the F*****g flag up immediately you think it’s offside. The referee can allow the passage of play to reach its conclusion but at least we would see there might be a call to make afterwards.

2. Mic up the match officials and those handling VAR and show the breakdown of decisions on the big screen where there is one. Then at least we can see what “logic” is being applied. It might even add to the entertainment seeing that process, especially on the rare occasion it’s to our benefit.

3. Outsource VAR to a neighbouring country. Surely it can be done from anywhere in this modern day. The pictures are being beamed to some secret bunker anyway so might as well be looked at in France or Turkey or wherever. There should be little or no additional cost to that as it would simply be reciprocated from here.

4. Closer to home, if it was being monitored and checked independently there might be no need to disband to Lanarkshire mafia. Their bias would, at worst, be exposed, at best nullified.

It's Clydesdale House.. G69 6GA

15 mins from Celtic Park
25 mins from Ibrox
27 mins from the Louden Tavern

15-11-2023, 03:50 PM

15 mins from Celtic Park
25 mins from Ibrox

4 minute drive from Garrowhill Masonic Lodge

15-11-2023, 03:57 PM

Point 1 is ok as long as the defending team keep on playing.

15-11-2023, 05:43 PM
I said before it was implemented that the issue with Scottish refereeing isn't a question of competence, but of impartiality. VAR doesn't solve that. That's proven to be the case.

Absolutely my view on VAR, it needs to be removed AND we need professional referees

16-11-2023, 07:52 AM
https://inews.co.uk/sport/football/football-fans-blocked-var-saudi-money-best-league-europe-2757501

Interesting piece on Sweden choosing to go without VAR.

Paulie Walnuts
16-11-2023, 07:54 AM

It’s exactly how I would want to see offside implemented but I don’t think it would change the bad decisions. There would still be a line they’d be working to that they’d manage to get wrong over and over again.

16-11-2023, 08:29 AM

15 mins from Celtic Park
25 mins from Ibrox

:agree: but even for me that's taking the conspiracy theory too far :wink:

24-11-2023, 10:52 AM
A review panel has found that only three of the 407 VAR decisions made in the Scottish Premiership this season were the wrong calls, with two coming against the same club.

https://t.co/6bpR7GJpkl

24-11-2023, 10:56 AM
No need to think about it just do it.

K-Zazu
24-11-2023, 11:15 AM
A review panel has found that only three of the 407 VAR decisions made in the Scottish Premiership this season were the wrong calls, with two coming against the same club.

So what about the Rangers penalty at Livingston?

24-11-2023, 12:57 PM

Kind of proves its a very good thing.

24-11-2023, 01:05 PM
Kind of proves its a very good thing.

It doesn’t really. There would still be a great deal of subjectivity in many of those reviews. And many people, mainly people that pay to watch and also play the game, will continue to hate the impact that VAR has on the game and not think it’s a good thing.

Chorley Hibee
24-11-2023, 01:08 PM

If that has been deemed the correct decision, then I can safely say this "independent" review doesn't carry much weight.

24-11-2023, 01:08 PM

Exactly. There will be dozens of decisions in there that, if you showed them to a variety of people, they’d have a different opinion on.

24-11-2023, 01:11 PM

The fact they thought that award was merited tells you all you need to know about the validity of the review.

24-11-2023, 01:25 PM
VAR is here to stay, we need to accept that just as previous generations accepted offside changes, substitutes, red and yellow cards etc. VAR is still in it's infancy and will improve. That is, probably everywhere except Scotland where incompetent/corrupt refs will continue to struggle to apply it properly.

24-11-2023, 01:29 PM
It doesn’t really. There would still be a great deal of subjectivity in many of those reviews. And many people, mainly people that pay to watch and also play the game, will continue to hate the impact that VAR has on the game and not think it’s a good thing.

They're entitled to that opinion.

I went home and away every week in 2016 to see us lose the playoffs to Falkirk with awful decisions in both legs. I will always be in favor of VAR. I'd rather wait 30 seconds for decisions than spend another year in the championship when we shouldnt have

24-11-2023, 02:21 PM

I went home and away every week in 2016 to see us lose the playoffs to Falkirk with awful decisions in both legs. I will always be in favor of VAR. I'd rather wait 30 seconds for decisions than spend another year in the championship when we shouldnt have

I would rather be in the League Cup final than not.

Get VAR in the sea.

24-11-2023, 02:30 PM
I would rather be in the League Cup final than not.

Get VAR in the sea.

Ah but you see the decision that they reviewed was right (nae indication as to why the lines were squint and it took about 4 minutes).

And they didn’t actually review the penalty shout so no case to answer. Now I get that’s down to the person operating it but so are the 404 instances they say are correct, especially the subjective ones.

Their independent review is a load of nonsense.

24-11-2023, 02:51 PM
Ah but you see the decision that they reviewed was right (nae indication as to why the lines were squint and it took about 4 minutes).

And they didn’t actually review the penalty shout so no case to answer. Now I get that’s down to the person operating it but so are the 404 instances they say are correct, especially the subjective ones.

They did review the penalty. They review all such things. It just got done quickly. I disagree with that decision, but VAR reviews everything.

24-11-2023, 02:55 PM

Nothing independent about the GFA
Bent as a nine bob note the lot o them

24-11-2023, 03:03 PM
They did review the penalty. They review all such things. It just got done quickly. I disagree with that decision, but VAR reviews everything.

They never did a proper review on it, not the type of review the independent panel are talking about. There is a difference between them looking at something and then deciding whether it merits an actual review. The referee would have signalled that it was being reviewed.

And even if they did, it’s another example of something that is subjective meaning the independent review proves nothing one way or the other.

24-11-2023, 03:08 PM
Absolutely no chance that there has only been 3 wrong calls by VAR this season

What I would like to see if last seasons metrics though

24-11-2023, 03:38 PM

You are assuming that they would have given the decisions the way you think, when it is reviewed?

24-11-2023, 03:42 PM

Gaslighting

24-11-2023, 04:00 PM

What a load of b*ll*cks. Putin-esque levels of propaganda that, who do they think is buying it?

24-11-2023, 04:03 PM
What a load of b*ll*cks. Putin-esque levels of propaganda that, who do they think is buying it?STV News.

24-11-2023, 04:08 PM
You are assuming that they would have given the decisions the way you think, when it is reviewed?

I'd hope so yeah, neither decision was subjective tbh.

24-11-2023, 04:16 PM
What a load of b*ll*cks. Putin-esque levels of propaganda that, who do they think is buying it?

The fact the recent penalty given for Sevco at Livingston isn't included is just confirmation of bias.

Blatant bias.

24-11-2023, 04:18 PM

The Sevco penalty was probably the most blatant on field.error I've seen and var didn't correct it, and it wasn't anywhere near subjective either.

24-11-2023, 04:31 PM

I see the panel was made up of former players,managers and coaches. Just what many of the VAR doubters were wanting:greengrin.

24-11-2023, 05:04 PM

I could go through many decisions i think they have got wrong, but never either reviewed them or did review them and never changed the decision, i've no confidence they would have got the Falkirk decisions right if we had VAR.

24-11-2023, 05:19 PM
VAR is not the problem. It’s the people that are using it.

24-11-2023, 05:24 PM

It's both our budget version of VAR and its operators for me.

24-11-2023, 05:26 PM

That will always be a problem because so many decisions are subjective and so much of it depends on human intervention. Even if you look at offside decisions which are meant to be factual, you still need someone to draw lines on and you need them to do it right. The semi automated version in the Champions League is good. Goal line technology is good. But the rest of it and the impact it has on games is absolutely pish.

24-11-2023, 06:47 PM
I could go through many decisions i think they have got wrong, but never either reviewed them or did review them and never changed the decision, i've no confidence they would have got the Falkirk decisions right if we had VAR.

I think it's considerably more likely they would have, which is a good thing.

jakedance
24-11-2023, 08:55 PM
Get rid. I was all for it because I didn’t think the standards could get any worse. At least in the good old days you knew who to shout at.

24-11-2023, 09:00 PM
We should never have let it slither out the bucket in the first place. Send it home.

24-11-2023, 09:28 PM

People always say this but VAR is the people using it. You can’t separate VAR and those using it - it’s not some sophisticated technology that is simply in the wrong hands, it’s just referees rewatching incidents on a TV screen.

24-11-2023, 09:38 PM
People always say this but VAR is the people using it. You can’t separate VAR and those using it - it’s not some sophisticated technology that is simply in the wrong hands, it’s just bigots rewatching incidents on a TV screen.

Sorted.

24-11-2023, 09:47 PM
What do they mean by errors? I’d like to think if we’re putting up with this ****ing circus of spending minutes studying every incident then there wouldn’t be errors. It’s not something to celebrate and certainly isn’t proof of VAR being a good thing.

What about the hundreds of decisions where it didn’t get involved when it should have, vice versa, the subjective calls, ones that were wrong because the ref’s a dick? Presumably they’re not counted as errors?

Utter bollocks - just like VAR.

24-11-2023, 10:02 PM
Kids in the park. Are they imagining VAR into their games?

If they are, that's just where fitba is going. I hope they aren't, but surely only a matter of time. And that will be the sport they fall in love with.

And they'll support clubs at the top, or lower down, in the group structure. They'll love whoever it is.

We're dinosaurs here.

But we are bloody right.

Us and everyone before us saw it at its best. They'll not see it that way. Good luck to them.

25-11-2023, 10:31 AM
The fact the recent penalty given for Sevco at Livingston isn't included is just confirmation of bias.

Blatant bias.

The review covered the first eleven league fixtures. Think that game was game twelve. Be interesting to see it it’s mentioned after the next eleven review.

25-11-2023, 10:36 AM
Get rid of it and use the money saved on goal line technology.

03-12-2023, 06:40 PM
Did my eyes deceive me today. Did Colum allow play to proceed after he thought it was a free kick for a foul on Marshall today. He allowed the play to continue and Aberdeen duly popped it in the pokey. He than blows for the free kick. I thought it was only offsides that should happen in case the call was wrong not free kicks.
or was it an offside call?

03-12-2023, 07:40 PM
Did my eyes deceive me today. Did Colum allow play to proceed after he thought it was a free kick for a foul on Marshall today. He allowed the play to continue and Aberdeen duly popped it in the pokey. He than blows for the free kick. I thought it was only offsides that should happen in case the call was wrong not free kicks.

No your eyes were spot on and I struggled to understand that at the game. My understanding was it was just offside play would continue and be reviewed later. It was as clear a foul as you will see so if he should have blown questions should be asked. Another poor performance where he booked us for every foul and let them away with most

03-12-2023, 07:43 PM

No you’re not wrong, he did and the whistle only blew when Marsh lay prone clutching his head on the deck after they’d ‘scored’. I think the linesman gave him a word in his ear that it was a foul.

03-12-2023, 07:45 PM
Never mind VAR, who was operating the screens today ? Twice they had Aberdeen as having scored. Once was when Marshall was fouled, but the second time the ball hadn’t even gone in the goal :confused:

03-12-2023, 07:49 PM
It's both our budget version of VAR and its operators for me.

Bring in European operators.

03-12-2023, 08:01 PM
It’s ****, whether it works or not.

We got on fine before it. Offside goals, missed handballs and wrong decisions included. They made football football.

This nonsense about scoring a goal, kind of celebrating but not really because you’re just waiting for a VAR check to pop up on a screen, then spending the next half hour waiting while people in an office somewhere draw lines to see if the attackers bead of sweat is playing him offside is ruining the enjoyment of the game.

Some of footballs most iconic moments would’ve been disallowed by VAR if it existed 20 years ago.

03-12-2023, 08:06 PM
It’s ****, whether it works or not.

We got on fine before it. Offside goals, missed handballs and wrong decisions included. They made football football.

This nonsense about scoring a goal, kind of celebrating but not really because you’re just waiting for a VAR check to pop up on a screen, then spending the next half hour waiting while people in an office somewhere draw lines to see if the attackers bead of sweat is playing him offside is ruining the enjoyment of the game.

Some of footballs most iconic moments would’ve been disallowed by VAR if it existed 20 years ago.

Or allowed - Frank Lampard v Germany - priceless 😂👍

Big Joe Jordan against Wales 😂 Hand of Jaws !

03-12-2023, 08:10 PM

That's what's reducing my enjoyment of games. Plus it can lead to a game finishing ten minutes after it should, leading to me missing my train. As another minus, having qualified referees sitting in front of tv screens takes them away from on-field action when there's already a shortage of officials lower down the pyramid.

If it's to be used I'd like it to work like in cricket or tennis i.e it would only come in when participants in the game ask for it. Give each team one opportunity per game to ask for a VAR review If the review's successful they retain their review. If not they just have to accept whatever the ref decides thereafter.

The only exception for me would be a red card offence not spotted by the ref. I don't mean upgrading a yellow to a red, just something which has happened behind his back.

03-12-2023, 08:48 PM

VAR Is just another tool to support bias in the Scottish game , we need to get rid of it for anything other than gross obvious errors ( such as the ball crossing the line ). it’s killing football

03-12-2023, 09:11 PM
The time taken to check the first goal is the type of thing that just totally pisses folk off. It wasn’t even close to being offside, how the hell it takes them as long to check things like that is infuriating.

03-12-2023, 09:14 PM
The time taken to check the first goal is the type of thing that just totally pisses folk off. It wasn’t even close to being offside, how the hell it takes them as long to check things like that is infuriating.They took the to see if they could fit a bendy line in.

03-12-2023, 09:20 PM
The time taken to check the first goal is the type of thing that just totally pisses folk off. It wasn’t even close to being offside, how the hell it takes them as long to check things like that is infuriating.
They would have had two offside checks to do for the first. Firstly Boyle( remember it wasn’t a goal kick) and then his pass to Vente.

03-12-2023, 09:35 PM
They would have had two offside checks to do for the first. Firstly Boyle( remember it wasn’t a goal kick) and then his pass to Vente.

Both should’ve taken seconds

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231203/cd899451efea7b0f632abec6ef7d453e.jpg
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20231203/18722e1af2fc78a54ec700b9bef9a6c2.jpg

Check should’ve been complete by the time the ball was back on the centre circle.

Hibs1969
03-12-2023, 10:06 PM
No you’re not wrong, he did and the whistle only blew when Marsh lay prone clutching his head on the deck after they’d ‘scored’. I think the linesman gave him a word in his ear that it was a foul.

I’ve always liked that guy Douglas Ross 😉

03-12-2023, 10:54 PM

Just had a good moan about that when we recorded the podcast tonight.

Absolute nonsense from the referee, was he trying to play advantage?! Clear foul, probably a booking, and he lets play go for a bit before calling it back. Bizarre refereeing, but that was pretty much the level he reached all game.

03-12-2023, 11:03 PM

This incident made me mad as IF he had blown at the time then no debate and free kick given but it was clear to me he was subconsciously waiting on the basis that VAR would rule against him he had got it wrong. But that can only happen once the ball is in the net.

Now it didn’t look like there was a VAR check (we don’t know for sure) but it open up the risks of having to rely on the idiots in the VAR room to try and find a reason why it might not be a foul. Pathetic.

03-12-2023, 11:31 PM
I’ve always liked that guy Douglas Ross 😉

You need therapy......

04-12-2023, 06:39 AM

Aye but there wasn’t anything remotely close to being offside. Didn’t need anyone sitting playing with lines for either, just needed to look at it.

04-12-2023, 06:44 AM
Aye but there wasn’t anything remotely close to being offside. Didn’t need anyone sitting playing with lines for either, just needed to look at it.

It’s not just offsides tho it’s anything that could rule it out. I get it still shouldn't have taken that long but it’s not as straightforward as folk think.

04-12-2023, 06:51 AM

That’s what i thought seemed a clear as day foul. Are we now letting var referee all the game. Maybe Shinnie was reffing the game as it appeared.

04-12-2023, 07:17 AM
On the positive we got to celebrate the goal twice.

04-12-2023, 07:20 AM
Never one to stick up for a ref however I think Collum was right to do what he did at the foul on Marshall.

One of the rules state:

“Delaying the flag/whistle for an offence is only permissible in a very clear attacking situation when a player is about to score a goal or has a clear run into/towards the opponents’ penalty area”

04-12-2023, 08:00 PM
It’s not just offsides tho it’s anything that could rule it out. I get it still shouldn't have taken that long but it’s not as straightforward as folk think.

In that instance it is easy IMO. The whole ‘move’ only took a few seconds. Nobody close to offside and no potential for any fouls. Just stop delaying the game unnecessarily.

Big90inOz
05-12-2023, 01:19 AM
VAR is sucking the enjoyment out of the game. In Aussie rules it has to be clear and obvious or the officials decision is final. It should only take seconds to check, how can taking 3 mins and looking at it 30 times be obvious.

05-12-2023, 02:12 AM
Never one to stick up for a ref however I think Collum was right to do what he did at the foul on Marshall.

One of the rules state:

“Delaying the flag/whistle for an offence is only permissible in a very clear attacking situation when a player is about to score a goal or has a clear run into/towards the opponents’ penalty area”

That just says it's permissable, not that he should - it was a clear foul and there was no need to let play run.

07-12-2023, 01:03 PM
Here's one.

https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1732749447627472972?t=i80BMryx5piFEdcfc73fOA&s=19

I couldn't really believe something so innocuous was worth debating on TV, but the replies suggest if it isn't a red 'we'd be as well going home'.

Refs might be s**** and VAR an inconsistent mess, but supporter bias and they fact everyone's gone so bloody soft all of a sudden doesn't help.

10-12-2023, 01:00 PM
The biggest problem for VAR is that rather than being an accessory to assist officials with decisions, it’s become an overbearing and influential component of the ebb and flow of games, which in turn is affecting the whole narrative and emotion of a football match.

Look at yesterday’s two prime examples.

Vente’s goal to make it 2-0 was celebrated in a manner befitting of what was at stake. 2 up in difficult conditions on a difficult pitch and a goal that has you thinking the games in the bag. Probably go on and add to the tally with a bit of pressure off.
The VAR intervention to then rule it off has effectively given you the same sensation as conceding straight from KO and rather than a 2 goal lead your back to one and the momentum swings to the opposition.

The penalty examination in injury time has you fearing the worst. They get the spot kick and the odds are you’re going home with a point feeling utterly dejected at conceding so late. Then they decide there was some offside instead and were celebrating the decision like it’s a goal to us.

You can argue that the decisions were proven to be correct, but I don’t think VAR was ever meant to be such a dominating presence in the game. It’s almost becoming the main talking point rather than the players on the park who we pay to watch for entertainment.

It’s added nothing to the game for me, and whether some decisions are proven to be correct, the game isn’t actually any the better for it if we have to go through continuous circuses in order to get to those decisions.

10-12-2023, 01:58 PM
The biggest problem for VAR is that rather than being an accessory to assist officials with decisions, it’s become an overbearing and influential component of the ebb and flow of games, which in turn is affecting the whole narrative and emotion of a football match.

Vente’s goal to make it 2-0 was celebrated in a manner befitting of what was at stake. 2 up in difficult conditions on a difficult pitch and a goal that has you thinking the games in the bag. Probably go on and add to the tally with a bit of pressure off.
The VAR intervention to then rule it off has effectively given you the same sensation as conceding straight from KO and rather than a 2 goal lead your back to one and the momentum swings to the opposition.

The penalty examination in injury time has you fearing the worst. They get the spot kick and the odds are you’re going home with a point feeling utterly dejected at conceding so late. Then they decide there was some offside instead and were celebrating the decision like it’s a goal to us.

You can argue that the decisions were proven to be correct, but I don’t think VAR was ever meant to be such a dominating presence in the game. It’s almost becoming the main talking point rather than the players on the park who we pay to watch for entertainment.

It’s added nothing to the game for me, and whether some decisions are proven to be correct, the game isn’t actually any the better for it if we have to go through continuous circuses in order to get to those decisions.

Agree with all of that. Becoming the main focus of football discussion now, its so dull.

10-12-2023, 02:05 PM

Yesterday just highlighted how pish the officials are. The Vente goal was miles offside. The linesman shouldn’t be missing it then it shouldn’t be taking 3 or 4 minutes to decide it was offside, you could tell that as soon as you saw it back.

I really wish we could just put it in the bin. The odd decision going against you, which still happens with VAR, was much better than this.

10-12-2023, 02:29 PM
It's *****.

For those growing up with it, as opposed to everyone on here, it will undoubtedly kill the spontaneity of the sport.

Football is about emotion and the highs and lows in those crucial moments, it's not meant to be micro managed and re-refereed to such a miniscule level.

10-12-2023, 02:44 PM
It's *****.

For those growing up with it, as opposed to everyone on here, it will undoubtedly kill the spontaneity of the sport.

Football is about emotion and the highs and lows in those crucial moments, it's not meant to be micro managed and re-refereed to such a miniscule level.

Exactly.:agree:

w pilton hibby
11-12-2023, 01:21 PM
From EEN

'Scottish fans say VAR is spoiling football as followers of Hearts, Hibs, Celtic, Rangers, etc make views clear.'

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/scottish-fans-say-var-is-spoiling-football-as-followers-of-hearts-hibs-celtic-rangers-etc-make-views-clear-4440800

Donegal Hibby
11-12-2023, 01:27 PM
From EEN

'Scottish fans say VAR is spoiling football as followers of Hearts, Hibs, Celtic, Rangers, etc make views clear.'

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/scottish-fans-say-var-is-spoiling-football-as-followers-of-hearts-hibs-celtic-rangers-etc-make-views-clear-4440800

I'd imagine it's not just fans in Scotland either that thinks VAR is spoiling the game.

11-12-2023, 01:27 PM
Don't forget the Scottish league has the cheap version of VAR - less cameras ( so less angles to look at incidents) plus the higher league placing teams pay more for it.

Until they share the payments or even better the league pay for it and they get more cameras with officials who are help accountable we will have long waits like Saturday in the freezing cold rain for the players and fans getting bored having no idea what's going on.

11-12-2023, 01:54 PM
Don't forget the Scottish league has the cheap version of VAR - less cameras ( so less angles to look at incidents) plus the higher league placing teams pay more for it.

Until they share the payments or even better the league pay for it and they get more cameras with officials who are help accountable we will have long waits like Saturday in the freezing cold rain for the players and fans getting bored having no idea what's going on.

What do you mean that the higher league placing teams pay more for it ?

11-12-2023, 02:05 PM
I see Sevco have appealed their weekend sending off which leads to the question of why is there an appeals process when we have VAR? I kind of hope Sevco are successful to show how worthless VAR is in it's current form. Referee books a player, VAR tells him he's wrong so the player ends up sent off then then appeals body tells VAR it was them that was wrong.

11-12-2023, 02:39 PM
What do you mean that the higher league placing teams pay more for it ?

If you if finish 1st in the league you pay more for VAR than 12th in the league.

So Rangers and Celtic pay more than Livingston for example if current positions remain.

11-12-2023, 02:46 PM
If you if finish 1st in the league you pay more for VAR than 12th in the league.

So Rangers and Celtic pay more than Livingston for example if current positions remain.

Oh well.. at least Rangers and Celtic are getting a fair return on their investment then.

11-12-2023, 02:58 PM
I see Sevco have appealed their weekend sending off which leads to the question of why is there an appeals process when we have VAR? I kind of hope Sevco are successful to show how worthless VAR is in it's current form. Referee books a player, VAR tells him he's wrong so the player ends up sent off then then appeals body tells VAR it was them that was wrong.Appealed?

He studded him on the knee [emoji1787]

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

11-12-2023, 03:03 PM
Appealed?

I didn't see the challenge, just was interesting to me that they even could appeal given that VAR is supposed to make sure there are no mistakes. Anyway, they are trying to get him back and available for the cup final I imagine. Will still make VAR ridiculous if they succeed.

11-12-2023, 03:04 PM
I didn't see the challenge, just was interesting to me that they even could appeal given that VAR is supposed to make sure there are no mistakes. Anyway, they are trying to get him back and available for the cup final I imagine. Will still make VAR ridiculous if they succeed.There's been some reds overturned already that var have looked at or advised the ref to look during the game

A few appeals afterwards have been successful

11-12-2023, 03:09 PM
Appealed?

It’s an absolute joke. I saw Lee McCulloch on sky saying he thought there was enough in it for grounds for an appeal straight after saying Rangers will appeal just to have him available pre appeal. The boy not only literally left his foot in there he repositioned it for maximum effect. :rolleyes:

11-12-2023, 03:10 PM
There's been some reds overturned already that var have looked at or advised the ref to look during the game

A few appeals afterwards have been successful

Am I the only one that finds that bizarre? Clubs pay for a system that has multiple camera angles for catching on-field mistakes then have to further fund an appeals process to make sure the VAR operators got it right?

11-12-2023, 03:31 PM
What are the chances they dismiss the appeal, and increase the ban? :faf:

11-12-2023, 04:22 PM
What are the chances they dismiss the appeal, and increase the ban? :faf:On point 1 I'd say very slim

On point 2 id say absolutely zero regardless of it's frivolous nature....

11-12-2023, 04:47 PM
Appealed?

Assume the appeal gets heard prior to the final and not after allowing him to play. That would be nonsensical

11-12-2023, 04:48 PM
It’s an absolute joke. I saw Lee McCulloch on sky saying he thought there was enough in it for grounds for an appeal straight after saying Rangers will appeal just to have him available pre appeal. The boy not only literally left his foot in there he repositioned it for maximum effect. :rolleyes:

Given some of the challenges he put in during his career he is probably right

11-12-2023, 04:51 PM
Assume the appeal gets heard prior to the final and not after allowing him to play. That would be nonsensical
Been fast tracked and being heard tomorrow.

11-12-2023, 07:39 PM

So the cost of running the system is paid for at the end of the season. Who paid the setting up costs?

11-12-2023, 07:56 PM
Am I the only one that finds that bizarre? Clubs pay for a system that has multiple camera angles for catching on-field mistakes then have to further fund an appeals process to make sure the VAR operators got it right?

Jimmy Jeggo’s red card at St Johnstone last season was overturned after an appeal

11-12-2023, 08:05 PM
Jimmy Jeggo’s red card at St Johnstone last season was overturned after an appeal
I'm not doubting it happens, just seems ridiculous to me. Clubs are paying to police the police?

ChilliEater
11-12-2023, 09:17 PM
I'm actually loving VAR and want it to stay - although for all the wrong reasons. I think it's biggest positive is that it is backing up my belief that refereeing in Scotland is not just inept, but actually corrupt, and I hope that that then leads to increasing pressure to change things for the better. No guarantees that that will happen, of course, but there's no way it would happen without this level of evidence. What it needs is a journalist with some integrity and backbone to seriously investigate decisions, and non-decisions, to produce a fair and balanced report on how close contentious decisions get to the whole "even themselves out over a season" thing.

12-12-2023, 12:01 AM
I'm actually loving VAR and want it to stay - although for all the wrong reasons. I think it's biggest positive is that it is backing up my belief that refereeing in Scotland is not just inept, but actually corrupt, and I hope that that then leads to increasing pressure to change things for the better. No guarantees that that will happen, of course, but there's no way it would happen without this level of evidence. What it needs is a journalist with some integrity and backbone to seriously investigate decisions, and non-decisions, to produce a fair and balanced report on how close contentious decisions get to the whole "even themselves out over a season" thing.
Let us hear the decision making conversations. It’s as simple as that.

12-12-2023, 12:25 AM
So the cost of running the system is paid for at the end of the season. Who paid the setting up costs?

It comes out of the prize money so will be paid from tv money from Sky/cinch sponsorship money.

Victor
12-12-2023, 01:19 AM
Let us hear the decision making conversations. It’s as simple as that.

This. That would show incompetence, ignorance or corruption.

12-12-2023, 05:59 AM
Been fast tracked and being heard tomorrow.

12-12-2023, 05:44 PM
I see the appeal has failed. Anyone know if the ban was increased?

12-12-2023, 05:56 PM
The added time is a huge issue for me - totally subjective and score dependent.

The added time should either include mandatory time added on - 30 seconds per sub, eg 6 subs = 3 minutes. Goal celebrations 30 seconds, or where play stops for any reasons the clock stops immediately as in rugby. As in tennis, the teams should be allowed to have 3 challenges to / or ask for a VAR check (or can initiate one). And the referees and VAR officials are mic’d up so decisions are clearly explained.

Bridge hibs
12-12-2023, 07:54 PM
I see the appeal has failed. Anyone know if the ban was increased?

Not sure but my neighbour doesnt seem to be taking it well 27489

12-12-2023, 08:27 PM
Not sure but my neighbour doesnt seem to be taking it well 27489
She's one of the better looking ones too......

12-12-2023, 09:47 PM
The added time is a huge issue for me - totally subjective and score dependent.

The added time should either include mandatory time added on - 30 seconds per sub, eg 6 subs = 3 minutes. Goal celebrations 30 seconds, or where play stops for any reasons the clock stops immediately as in rugby. As in tennis, the teams should be allowed to have 3 challenges to / or ask for a VAR check (or can initiate one). And the referees and VAR officials are mic’d up so decisions are clearly explained.

6 VAR checks on top,of any originated by the VAR ref. We’d never get home.

xbar81
15-01-2024, 02:38 PM
Former SFA chief Smith proposes VAR appeals system (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/fifa-world-cup/former-sfa-chief-smith-proposes-var-appeals-system/ar-AA1mXhtu)

interesting and I agree with it.

Would love VAR to go away back to the scrap heap it came from.

The challenge system is the next best thing to it going away as would ensure it's only used when they think they have a reasonable chance of success. A great thing happens when a team runs out of challenges (var goes away :greengrin)

15-01-2024, 03:06 PM
Yep, agree with a lot of that. The more corruption there is the less effective VAR is imo, and Scottish football has been corrupt for a long time.

xbar81
15-01-2024, 03:10 PM
Yep, agree with a lot of that. The more corruption there is the less effective VAR is imo, and Scottish football has been corrupt for a long time.

the corruption is getting worse with var. They are giving things to the old firm and not giving the same thing AGAINST them.

It's just another way to screw the non old firm clubs.

16-01-2024, 08:17 AM
Let's not get rid of VAR, it really shows up just how corrupt our refs really are.

16-01-2024, 08:28 AM
Let's not get rid of VAR, it really shows up just how corrupt our refs really are.Exactly. If the six or seven officials watching in real time, with those in the VAR room getting different angles and replays, can't get it right then it's time for an upgrade on those officials.

16-01-2024, 09:46 AM
Mic up the refs.
They can't be trusted.

Hard agree. Unless it is completely transparent and open - and actually rugby does a decent job of this - we won't get the benefit of less biased decision making.

Stanton Spence
16-01-2024, 10:09 AM
Let's not get rid of VAR, it really shows up just how corrupt our refs really are.

That’s a bit like biting your nose off to suit your face
Get rid of it and if I had my way I’d get rid of var today it’s killed the game for me. I find it refreshing watching games without it and that’s putting it mildly

SickBoy32
16-01-2024, 10:27 AM
Get rid of it and if I had my way I’d get rid of var today it’s killed the game for me. I find it refreshing watching games without it and that’s putting it mildly

Victor
16-01-2024, 10:36 AM

Keep goal line technology, that’s all we needed in the first place, get rid of VAR. However, you know that’s not going to happen as UEFA are heavily into it. But if it does stay, the decision making has to be made clearer and available. Mic’d up referees has to be the way forward.

16-01-2024, 01:11 PM
The standard of our referees is the worst it's ever been. Doesn't matter about the system it's the people operating it. Do we ever supply referees to UEFA competitions nowadays? If we don't that tells all we need to know.

16-01-2024, 02:25 PM
The standard of our referees is the worst it's ever been. Doesn't matter about the system it's the people operating it. Do we ever supply referees to UEFA competitions nowadays? If we don't that tells all we need to know.
The poor dears are complaining about a lack of support but then say they would agree with releasing audio if they got a match fee raise. Whole ******* lot of them need emptied along with those in charge of them to at least start to rebuild into a functioning organization. The current situation is about as unprofessional as it gets which shows in their collective inability to be chosen for major international tournaments.

xbar81
16-01-2024, 02:33 PM
Some people on here saying things like "oh it's not the system that's at fault it's the clowns operating it" Sorry I cannot agree with this. The people operating it IS the system and it's part of the VAR as a whole.

Getting rid of VAR would get rid of the system (and those people operating who are part of it). It's no good saying you want different people operating it, they will still make the same mistakes, it's human nature and these are all SFA humans.

Down south there is a problem too (and they don't have SFA bandits).

The whole system needs scrapped as football was better without it.

p.s. keep goal line technology and appeals.

16-01-2024, 02:36 PM
Keep goal line technology, that’s all we needed in the first place, get rid of VAR. However, you know that’s not going to happen as UEFA are heavily into it. But if it does stay, the decision making has to be made clearer and available. Mic’d up referees has to be the way forward.

We don’t actually have goal line technology up here. Not like in England at least. In England, they have sensors that send an alert to the referee when the ball crosses the line. Up here it is VAR manually checking it similar to an offside.