04-11-2023, 06:38 PM
Is he?
04-11-2023, 06:38 PM
Think we hired Colin my mistake
04-11-2023, 06:41 PM
I'm hurting bad after this but tonight wasn't his fault. 100% to blame versus Ross County but I don't think it's on him today.
Our bench said a lot about what he's dealing with.
That said, this 442 isn't really working. He needs to find a way to get us winning games. We can't keep losing and drawing and hope that January recruitment will fix the problem. But I am keen to see what he'll do with 4-5 of his own players in the side.
04-11-2023, 06:41 PM
That wasn't on him tonight. Not even close.
AL-Qaholik
04-11-2023, 06:42 PM
Very difficult to know if he’s good enough.
What is very clear, though, is he’s completely inflexible and will play “his way” regardless of whether it suits the players at his disposal and/or actually gets results.
I would love to know what on earth our interview process is.
Potty78
04-11-2023, 06:44 PM
Is he?
What would u have done more to win the game? We missed chances it happens. Gutted so it's a yes from me👍
04-11-2023, 06:45 PM
I'm hurting bad after this but tonight wasn't his fault. 100% to blame versus Ross County but I don't think it's on him today.
Our bench said a lot about what he's dealing with.
That said, this 442 isn't working. He needs to find a way to get us winning games. We can't keep losing and drawing and hope that January recruitment will fix the problem.
Out of curiosity how is it not his fault? He picks the team, they are his tactics. This Hibs team is the most boring I have seen since Bertie Auld was in charge. There is no enjoyment watching Hibs absolutely abysmal
THESHIP
04-11-2023, 06:46 PM
Another dud who hasn’t got a clue. Absolutely no improvement whatsoever with the current group of players.
Exuberance1875
Not sure this is fully on him, however, serious clear out needed in January. Players who have been here under previous managers and had them sacked too need to go. Genuine move on 10/11 players and bring in the same amount. Worked under Stubbs.
It was 0-0 when they went down to 10 men. 15 minutes left. We lost. In fact we got worse. No game management again.
04-11-2023, 06:47 PM
Out of curiosity how is it not his fault? He picks the team, they are his tactics. This Hibs team is the most boring I have seen since Bertie Auld was in charge. There is no enjoyment watching Hibs absolutely abysmal
How else would you have us playing tonight? We had 4 attackers starting. I don't love the 442 but a look at the bench and I think you should start to have some sympathy.
The Captain....
I dont think the system or the way we put ourselves under pressure trying to pass out from the back gets the best out of the players he has. His substitutions have been very questionable in several games as well.
Not particularly impressed so far. If he lasts til next window it would be interesting to see if he can improve things with the type of player he wants. Feels like we're handicapping ourselves before the game even starts with our set up.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
Gaffer1875
FFS, give him a chance! Tonight is not on NM!
04-11-2023, 06:48 PM
We were the far better team today, we never got the luck today.
We had plenty chances to win it, Miller tried to be smart (again) and it cost us.
You can see he’s made a huge difference already
LunasBoots
When Aberdeen went down to ten we just collapsed again, there was no plan, just hoof the ball into the box and hope it landed on someone's head.
USA_Hibee
Jesus.. why would anyone want this job when we have so many fans willing to write managers off so, so quickly.
Paulie Walnuts
At this point in time? Absolutely nowhere near it.
Yes 100% Aberdeen goalie was bored
Is he?
That was not on the manager tonight.
Not by a million miles.
Come off it. He's been here 8 ****ing weeks.
supermcginn
04-11-2023, 06:49 PM
The players are soft and habitual losers. Hopefully he gets some of them out of the door asap.
Why not? We were brutal to watch again, apart from 15-20 minutes of the second half.
I'd blame the manager and the players too, they're all not very good
04-11-2023, 06:51 PM
How else would you have us playing tonight? We had 4 attackers starting. I don't love the 442 but a look at the bench and I think you should start to have some sympathy.
How about having a team that don’t have the worst defensive record and are not boring to watch. This Hibs team is murder in fact we we were more fun to watch under Lee Johnson
SonOfDavidFrancey
04-11-2023, 06:52 PM
It’s a sore one but I will go with Collins - going in the right direction. Just wasn’t to be tonight.
Yes. Absolutely robbed tonight.
richard_pitts
How about having a team that don’t have the worst defensive record and are not boring to watch. This Hibs team is murder in fact we we were more fun to watch under Lee Johnson
Ltyf
Exuberance1875
how about having a team that don’t have the worst defensive record and are not boring to watch. This hibs team is murder in fact we we were more fun to watch under lee johnson
ltyf
04-11-2023, 06:53 PM
Lack of strength in depth is glaring
04-11-2023, 06:54 PM
That was not on the manager tonight.
Not by a million miles.
Come off it. He's been here 8 ****ing weeks.
I don’t care whether he has been here 8 minutes or 8 weeks, he picks the team and we were dreadful again tonight, in fact we have been dreadful since he arrived
Godsahibby
04-11-2023, 06:55 PM
Manager is good enough, I like what he is trying to do the problem is the players he is trying to do it with.
That loss wasn't on the manager the loss was on the players with a lack of cutting edge and a lack of quality in depth. We were trying to pull a game back with two 16 year olds on the park!
Mcbizz1998
Based on what we have seen so far. NO!
ltyf
Okay ya bam
Should be asking if the players are good enough? Some have been at long enough. Played very wide today
I don’t care whether he has been here 8 minutes or 8 weeks, he picks the team and we were dreadful again tonight, in fact we have been dreadful since he arrived
You realise the transfer window isn't open right and he can only pick what's infront of him? Recruitment has been ***** for years. Failure to address key roles and positions time and time again every single window. Giving out long term contracts to guys who are nowhere near good enough. That's on Ben, Ian and co. Ben has largely overseen a ****show on the park and he should be held accountable, if your raging take it out on him and the board who have overseen this nonsense the last few years.
Dreadful my arse. Have a word with yourself.
04-11-2023, 06:58 PM
I'm not trying to be daft but how? That's the line up I would have chosen. I honestly don't see who else should have started.
He is playing 4 attackers every week.
We're trying to pass the ball rather than just lumping it forward. But it's not that easy with the players available to him.
It's clearly not working and jury is very much still out but he needs to get his own players in.
Hibs have been losing games like today for decades. We can't punish him for our generational trauma.
That said, we have the squad to win more games than we have so far. He needs to start picking up some wins and make sure we strengthen in early January (no waiting to the end of the window).
04-11-2023, 06:58 PM
Woeful subs again. Team also didnt know how to play against 10 men. He haa to take some of the blame.
04-11-2023, 06:59 PM
You realise the transfer window isn't open right and he can only pick what's infront of him?
So a manager has to wait until a transfer window? A good manager would organise what he has. At the present moment Montgomery could not organise a piss up in a brewery. I will restate Hibs are dreadful to watch and that’s down to the manager
04-11-2023, 06:59 PM
Woeful subs again. Team also didnt know how to play against 10 men. He haa to take some of the blame.
Last week he shat the bed.
But look at that bench tonight. Honestly, what does he do?
04-11-2023, 07:00 PM
Manager is good enough, I like what he is trying to do the problem is the players he is trying to do it with.
That loss wasn't on the manager the loss was on the players with a lack of cutting edge and a lack of quality in depth. We were trying to pull a game back with two 16 year olds on the park!
That's where I am.
Most people would have bitten your hand off for 0-0, completely bossing the game and the opposition down to 10 men with 20 minutes to go.
The amount of panic and bad decision making amongst the players from that point on was mad. You can point to the 2 young lads as subs but the worst of the lot when it came to bad decisions and bad execution was Josh Campbell who is by any measure an experienced player now.
I'm always mystified when people claim this is a really good squad. It's not and the sooner the finance is there to bring in a higher quality the better. The performance against 10 tonight was worse than what we showed against 10 at Tynecastle last season. We don't have the quality to stay calm, make good decisions and exploit these opportunities. It really makes no difference who is in the dug out when Campbell smashes a ball off a defender when in masses of space, no one is willing to take a shot and we make passes to nowhere in their box and at least 3 players float harmless balls into their keepers arms when there is plenty time to rotate the ball and do the right thing.
04-11-2023, 07:01 PM
So a manager has to wait until a transfer window? A good manager would organise what he has. At the present moment Montgomery could not organise a piss up in a brewery. I will restate Hibs are dreadful to watch and that’s down to the manager
How can you watch that and think we’re not organised?
Aberdeen hardly created a chance until Miller made an individual mistake and they countered us.
You can only do so much as a manager.
04-11-2023, 07:02 PM
If Hibs are dreadful to watch what were Aberdeen tonight? Aberdeen spend more than Hibs. You expecting us to go out there and wipe the floor with them?
Delusional. 8 weeks ffs.
Nah not even worthy of this thread.
We were good today apart from Miller staying on his feet at the goal.
Other than that i think we’ve been the unluckiest club in the country so far since football began.
04-11-2023, 07:03 PM
I'm not trying to be daft but how? That's the line up I would have chosen. I honestly don't see who else should have started.
He is playing 4 attackers every week.
We're trying to pass the ball rather than just lumping it forward. But it's not that easy with the players available to him.
It's clearly not working and jury is very much still out but he needs to get his own players in.
Hibs have been losing games like today for decades. We can't punish him for our generational trauma.
That said, we have the squad to win more games than we have so far. He needs to start picking up some wins and make sure we strengthen in early January (no waiting to the end of the window).
I give up, the manager picks the team, picks the tactics and the players. What’s happened in the past matters **** all. This manager is clueless, mister 442 and nothing else
AL-Qaholik
04-11-2023, 07:04 PM
You realise the transfer window isn't open right and he can only pick what's infront of him? Recruitment has been ***** for years. Failure to address key roles and positions time and time again every single window. Giving out long term contracts to guys who are nowhere near good enough. That's on Ben, Ian and co. Ben has largely overseen a ****show on the park and he should be held accountable, if your raging take it out on him and the board who have overseen this nonsense the last few years.
He was hired as a manager. Not head of recruitment.
His job is to manage the players at his disposal to the best of his abilities and find a way to get the best out of them. Not to recruit a whole new team.
He is, SO FAR, completely failing to effectively manage this squad.
04-11-2023, 07:04 PM
Ridiculous thread, he's been left with a poor squad but still set them up to dominate the game and were a bad refereeing decision or 2 away from a brilliant win.
But his subs....well that's another matter.
McGruber
04-11-2023, 07:05 PM
How can you watch that and think we’re not organised?
Aberdeen hardly created a chance until Miller made an individual mistake and they countered us.
You can only do so much as a manager.
I don't think citing the goal is a great example of highlighting our organisation.
Only way Aberdeen score is on the break and with an extra man we have gave them a run in on goal from the half way line. Miller error or not, Levitt being furthest back and leaving the back door open v 10 was mad
Hibees1973
I'm not going to lose any sleep over this.
It's the same movie, just with different people in it.
I still maintain Hibs are in a mess which is down to the Gordon's & Kensell's incompetence for the last couple of years. It's down to them our bench was dire tonight. So many players bought in the last couple of years and either now out on loan or no longer here.
I'm still 100% with Montgomery, however there are going to be more down's than up's due the squad he has got to work with.
Hibs supporters have always had to be patient. Give Montgomery a couple of transfer windows alongside McDermott and I think we will be much better this time next year.
You can only p*ss with the c*ck you have, definitely not on the manager tonight.
04-11-2023, 07:06 PM
Nah not even worthy of this thread.
We were good today apart from Miller staying on his feet at the goal.
Other than that i think we’ve been the unluckiest club in the country so far since football began.
That's the thing though, it's not luck. We have a mental block, curse or something. The number of bottle jobs in my 30 years following Hibs is statically almost impossible.
It still amazes me we won the SC. That squad truly was something.
04-11-2023, 07:06 PM
His job is to manage the players at his disposal to the best of his abilities and find a way to get the best out of them. Not to recruit a whole new team.
Load of pish. Complete nonsense.
Playing decent football with players who ultimately aren't up to the standard required. ringing in youth, rejuvinating Jair. The squad is pish, not the manager.
Recruitment has a lot to answer for. Long term deals to garbage players, signing dud after dud. That's on the CEO and board.
04-11-2023, 07:07 PM
Is he?
Genuinely pity you with this post:
Hibs were excellent today dominating Aberdeen. Offside goal. Denied a penalty. Far more chances.
If this game did anything it showed me that the manager is decent.
You should be ashamed asking a question like this after such a short managerial reign.
Mark05
04-11-2023, 07:07 PM
There's a lot of people here hurting tonight, me included. But no it wasn't his fault tonight,we need to stick with the manager and give him a chance
04-11-2023, 07:08 PM
2 wins from 8
McGruber
04-11-2023, 07:09 PM
For what it's worth, NM hasn't had a great couple weeks but far too early in his time to be making a judgement - his players/transfer windows chat aside. See what he's made of building us back up after that. Gut feeling is that after this difficult start he will prove to be a good manager for us. Hopefully that process includes learning to be open to different formations and tactics when the occasion suits. 4-4-2 is fine if that's the preference but you play all manner of teams with all manner of in game situations. Has to learn to be flexible
04-11-2023, 07:09 PM
2 wins from 8
including 3 games against Celtic, Hearts, Rangers form which he got 2 draws - including coming back from being 2-0 down.
Make no mistake it's the squad. It's not good enough. It got Johnson punted after losing 3 on the bounce, it got Maloney punted, it got Ross punted. The same tired players with long term contracts.
Crammond Hibee
04-11-2023, 07:10 PM
It was 0-0 when they went down to 10 men. 15 minutes left. We lost. In fact we got worse. No game management again.
Agreed
04-11-2023, 07:11 PM
Genuinely pity you with this post:
Hibs were excellent today dominating Aberdeen. Offside goal. Denied a penalty. Far more chances.
If this game did anything it showed me that the manager is decent.
You should be ashamed asking a question like this after such a short managerial reign.
If you think we were excellent tonight i give up. That was a dreadful performance from our team and manager.
He's hell bent on playing a certain way, I don't think its getting the best out of the team we currently have, I don't know if that's a good thing or not
Playing decent football with players who ultimately aren't up to the standard required. ringing in youth, rejuvinating Jair. The squad is pish, not the manager.
Recruitment has a lot to answer for. Long term deals to garbage players, signing dud after dud. That's on the CEO and board.
This - all day long.
AL-Qaholik
Utter mince.
You reckon he sat in the interviews for this job and said “I can’t get anything out of these awful players you’ve recruited but hire me anyway and I’ll sign a whole new squad then maybe win some games”.
Or do you think he might’ve backed himself to be able to manage the players available to him and improve their performances/results?
He is failing to do so. So far…
including 3 games against Celtic, Hearts, Rangers form which he got 2 draws - including coming back from being 2-0 down.
Make no mistake it's the squad. It's not good enough. It got Johnson punted after losing 3 on the bounce, it got Maloney punted, it got Ross punted. The same tired players with long term contracts.
The squad is mostly of a poor standard. The bench today said it all. We have no options in various different positions across the pitch.
04-11-2023, 07:12 PM
Ridiculous thread, he's been left with a poor squad but still set them up to dominate the game and were a bad refereeing decision or 2 away from a brilliant win.
But his subs....well that's another matter.
Pretty much where I’m at. Even taking into consideration the lack of decent options on the bench his subs yet again made us worse.
04-11-2023, 07:14 PM
If you think we were excellent tonight i give up. That was a dreadful performance from our team and manager.
Time to give up the drink pal.
Aye it’s not Monty’s fault his tactics were pish
HendoDelivered
So many folk on this thread only post when we lose 🤣🤣🤣
Utter mince.
You reckon he sat in the interviews for this job and said “I can’t get anything out of these awful players you’ve recruited but hire me anyway and I’ll sign a whole new squad then maybe win some games”.
Or do you think he might’ve backed himself to be able to manage the players available to him and improve their performances/results?
He is failing to do so. So far…
Pep, Klopp and co wouldn't get this team winning games of football every week.
The squad isn't good enough. Years of poor recruitment costing us. Years of sticking with mostly dross. That's not NM's fault.
Last week he shat the bed.
But look at that bench tonight. Honestly, what does he do?
How about NOT take off Vente when we are a man up and desperate for a goal??!!
Hibeewilly
04-11-2023, 07:15 PM
Jair starting who's a waste of a jersey and when we're chasing the game he puts a 16 year old laddie on. His decisions on Tuesday were nothing sort of ridiculous and cost us the game..... Jesus
7Hero
04-11-2023, 07:16 PM
Thought we played well tonight for the team that we are right now.. .
Thought we showed up Aberdeen as a team of cloggers. Some decision making was ropey and final touches / finishes, but that's what you get with the quality of players we have, youan a great example, skins a boy on the half way line = sublime then fails to pass off a simple ball to boyle in space for a great chance. same player gets a great chance form a vente cross balloons it over the bar.
Unlucky for the offside, it's a baw hair of a shoulder at best ...
If it is rangers or celtic that is a penalty no doubt
Aberdeen had 1 chance, they were honking, but we should have been miles in front.
Football is a cruel game.
Id keep the manager, we need better players.
04-11-2023, 07:16 PM
So many folk on this thread only post when we lose 🤣🤣🤣
I certainly don’t. I will support Hibs until my final breath and will be there on Wednesday, BUT this team is horrible to watch and that has to be down to the manager.
7Hero
04-11-2023, 07:17 PM
Jair starting who's a waste of a jersey and when we're chasing the game he puts a 16 year old laddie on. His decisions on Tuesday were nothing sort of ridiculous and cost us the game..... Jesus
Did you see the bench ? the depth in the squad is piss poor.
04-11-2023, 07:19 PM
Bizarre eh. Potentially extra time to come as well.
babahibs
04-11-2023, 07:28 PM
He looked knackered
04-11-2023, 07:30 PM
What difference does Vente make? We had absolutely no clue after the red card. Players just panicked.
04-11-2023, 07:31 PM
He looked knackered
How can a pro footballer not play a full 90? We never made a sub when we won the 1991 cup final now/players cant last for a full game? Our best finisher taken off when we need a goal? Cmon.
04-11-2023, 07:32 PM
I like him, and hope he can build some momentum moving forward.
Kind of already sensing that some are preparing for a “who do we fancy next?”
League Cup is gone and the deflation of succumbing to such a poor side as Aberdeen as a consequence is going to be a cloud over the club if we don’t start winning games soon.
If not, fully expecting the Lennon threads will start to resurface again before Christmas..
Cat Stanton
04-11-2023, 07:34 PM
FFS, give him a chance! Tonight is not on NM!
Exactly, give it a rest. Tiresome *****. He's hardly in the door, it's a million times better than the last clown, and he's not even had a transfer window for the love of Christ.
See the bigger picture.
30 yards away
04-11-2023, 07:40 PM
you on the drink hibs played well tonite and with a rub of the green could have won easily
04-11-2023, 07:41 PM
Exactly, give it a rest. Tiresome *****. He's hardly in the door, it's a million times better than the last clown, and he's not even had a transfer window for the love of Christ.
See the bigger picture.
Its not a million times better though is it!! Whats tiresome is another Hibs failure.
04-11-2023, 07:45 PM
The squad isn't good enough. Years of poor recruitment costing us. Years of sticking with mostly dross. That's not NM's fault.
My take on things too
04-11-2023, 07:48 PM
Aye let’s just sack him then. Nothing else for it. **** sake.
04-11-2023, 07:52 PM
Aye let’s just sack him then. Nothing else for it. **** sake.
I can see why people are pissed off tonight, I'm pissed off tonight.
However it's the same nucleus of a squad that has managed to get 2 and arguably 3 managers the sack. Short of appointing prime Fergie I'm not sure what people are expecting.
We have (another) huge rebuilding job on our hands in January and the summer. At some point we have to accept that this mess isn't a quick fix. If we are in real bother come March or more realistically no better this time next year then by all means sack the manager. I'm going to suggest come August about 5 or 6 players who played tonight won't be near the starting 11 and that should see us improve massively.
Well said
nickwhibs
04-11-2023, 07:56 PM
Thought we played well tonight for the team that we are right now.. .
Thought we showed up Aberdeen as a team of cloggers. Some decision making was ropey and final touches / finishes, but that's what you get with the quality of players we have, youan a great example, skins a boy on the half way line = sublime then fails to pass off a simple ball to boyle in space for a great chance. same player gets a great chance form a vente cross balloons it over the bar.
Unlucky for the offside, it's a baw hair of a shoulder at best ...
If it is rangers or celtic that is a penalty no doubt
Aberdeen had 1 chance, they were honking, but we should have been miles in front.
Football is a cruel game.
Id keep the manager, we need better players.
I’d agree with most of that. We did do well for most of the game and we were undoubtedly the better team. But the game management from the players and Monty (strange suns again) was so poor. We had the momentum but threw it away then got desperate at the ebd. We certainly need a few new players to have a better squad
Annoying to lose that game, another day we comfortably win it.
Frustrating that since he joined we seem to dominate most games but can't take our chances or give away soft goals.
But calling for his head after less than two months is ridiculous.
04-11-2023, 07:58 PM
I can see why people are pissed off tonight, I'm pissed off tonight.
However it's the same nucleus of a squad that has managed to get 2 and arguably 3 managers the sack. Short of appointing prime Fergie I'm not sure what people are expecting.
We have (another) huge rebuilding job on our hands in January and the summer. At some point we have to accept that this mess isn't a quick fix. If we are in real bother come March or more realistically no better than time next year then by all means sack the manager. I'm going to suggest come August about 5 or 6 players who played tonight won't be near the starting 11 and that should see us improve massively.
I just dont see what else the manager can do to win that game. At some stage the players have to take some form of responsibility.
04-11-2023, 07:59 PM
The board could have appointed Guardiola after dismissing LJ. Without giving NM the time or resources to replace the utter dross he has to work with, and what do people really expect?! It's still a LJ squad, to a man. OK, a new manager might get more out of specific players but there's a limit. Definitely not on NM today.
04-11-2023, 08:01 PM
I just dont see what else the manager can do to win that game. At some stage the players have to take some form of responsibility.
Tonight wasn’t on the manager for me. The players blew it.
There are too many players who are at the heart of the problem for multiple managers.
04-11-2023, 08:02 PM
That's it for me.
At 70 minutes tonight everyone is delighted with where we are. They go down to 10 and the players s*** it.
Too many of them have escaped responsibility for years whilst manager after manager has paid the price.
04-11-2023, 08:04 PM
Is he?
Yes
04-11-2023, 08:04 PM
There's definitely enough talent in the squad to be winning games, not having this pep,klopp, etc wouldn't get us winning games.
Managers come in and change the fortunes of underperforming squads all the time, if Montgomery can only get results when he's allowed to bring in players that leaves us scunnered to January at the earliest, never mind if he can get his priority targets.
We're all in agreement there're players that need to move on and we could do with some fresh blood and talent but this team is good enough to be doing much better.
04-11-2023, 08:05 PM
We dominated the game until they got a man sent off and we just kinda lost the plot.
Up to the 70th minute, we looked well in control and all are players were playing well even the much maligned Jair.
They scored a bit of a freak goal and then fell down at every opportunity, we just didn't seem the have guile to break them down. Instead, we tried to walk the ball into the net.
So, for me, NM is doing a good job, I don't think we would have got that performance out of the previous manager.
Still tho, we have "Hibs" fans who are only happy when we lose
04-11-2023, 08:06 PM
That's it for me.
At 70 minutes tonight everyone is delighted with where we are. They go down to 10 and the players s*** it.
Too many of them have escaped responsibility for years whilst manager after manager has paid the price.
The players were pretty ruthless playing against 10 men last season, so what's happened? What's changed?
Hopefully David Gray has his trusted temporary managers kit washed, ironed and ready to put into action in case of emergency.
Not expecting it to have to be utilised this year, but I’m not ruling anything out for early ’24..
Silky
The players were pretty ruthless playing against 10 men last season, so what's happened? What's changed?
The manager?
04-11-2023, 08:08 PM
I think Montgomery is the right man from what I’ve seen so far. Didn’t feel that way about Johnson, Maloney or to a lesser extent Ross.
He’s inherited a squad that’s much better on paper than reality. A new midfielder with drive is badly needed. Newell & Levitt have quality, but they play the same way whether we’re winning or losing. In fact no one in the squad can take a game by the scruff of the neck and change the tempo of the team to match what’s needed.
Jeggo & ALF were big misses tonight. That being said Montgomery should take some blame for letting the last 20 minutes peter out and continue to play slow crab football against 10 men.
I said it when Montgomery was appointed and still say it now. The height of my expectations this season, with what he inherited, is top 6 and blood the youngsters instead of the many players we have making the numbers up in the squad.
04-11-2023, 08:08 PM
Get to your bed man.
04-11-2023, 08:10 PM
The manager?
That's my point. Yes the players deserve stick for not winning the game but they don't look like they believe and that comes from the manager.
I don't think the players really believe in the system and the style of play.
04-11-2023, 08:13 PM
Far too early to say either way.
He’s had a poor start but you can’t say a manager isn’t going to be good enough after such a small sample. Plus, it’s a poor squad. Even the so called attacking players don’t create enough.
As for people saying we dominated today. Ok, we had most of the ball, but we hardly created many clear cut chances.
Team is garbage but not Montgomery fault until he can get rid of the majority of them and replace them with players with a backbone.
04-11-2023, 08:14 PM
That's it for me.
I actually think after the sending of the players became too eager to get the winner. We stopped. Doing what we were doing and started to become sloppy and hurried. I think overall we need to play with a better tempo but we just seemed to get too excited and lost patience on and off the park.
04-11-2023, 08:15 PM
Yes. He is.
04-11-2023, 08:25 PM
From what I’ve witnessed no, another dud who will be gone probably at the end of the season or before next Christmas.
Was sceptical when he was appointed, not sure why so many fans were excited about this guy based on basically nothing??
04-11-2023, 08:26 PM
Not at all, I thought we were fortunate in that game but delighted to get a point having been 2-0 down, but as we've progressed throughout the fixtures since then we've seen performances that aren't really improving.
I wouldn't consider myself to be a pessimist around Hibs but a realist, there's been negatives under Montgomery so far which I think are showing him for what he is, an inexperienced manager who's got a his first job at a big club. Whether or not he'll learn quickly enough or not who knows but he need to earn the time to learn and grow and the way performances and results are going, I'm not sure he will.
A poster on here said about LJ, and managers in general, that you got 2 or 3 really bad results before the fans write you off. Whether people agree with this or not, I think it's valid and in my eyes tonight is number 1, Ibrox will already be 1 for some people. There are more questions coming up about Montgomery than there are reassuring signs imo.
7Hero
04-11-2023, 08:28 PM
I’d agree with most of that. We did do well for most of the game and we were undoubtedly the better team. But the game management from the players and Monty (strange suns again) was so poor. We had the momentum but threw it away then got desperate at the ebd. We certainly need a few new players to have a better squad
The only thing strange about the subs was he made them, the better players were already on the pitch..
Mental that anybody who watched the game today can claim Hibs were excellent
FC1875
04-11-2023, 08:30 PM
No, he isn't good enough.
HFC93
04-11-2023, 08:31 PM
Are things any better than they were under Johnson? I'm starting to question if they are.
supermcginn
04-11-2023, 08:35 PM
Are things any better than they were under Johnson? I'm starting to question if they are.
They aren't, simple connection between the two, the players. They are just not that good. I read on here the last transfer window was the best in our history haha, frightening stuff .
That's it for me.
I must have been in the minority and left on my own because I was nowhere delighted with what I had watched up to that point, it was absolutely dreadful apart from the wee spell start of second half
Manager has to take some responsibility, no doubt. There were decisions to be made when we went a goal down and he weakened the team, and got it wrong.
Even if we had equalised, the team we would have been left with for extra time was weak. Yes the options off the bench weren’t good, so in that case, why make the subs? Taking off Vente at the same time as Boyle went off injured was criminal.
Overall we played quite well, and were certainly the better team. Doesn’t stop the result going on NM’s CV, same is it worked for Ross, Maloney and many others before.
I actually think after the sending of the players became too eager to get the winner. We stopped. Doing what we were doing and started to become sloppy and hurried. I think overall we need to play with a better tempo but we just seemed to get too excited and lost patience on and off the park.
I called it brainless football and I stand by that. We abandoned what had seen us well on top and it all broke down in our hurry to do the wrong thing.
TrinityHFC
04-11-2023, 08:37 PM
They’re not better. Better than the 3 league games we lost but I don’t think that would have continued once Europe was done. But we are worse to watch than last year and we look a bit away from challenging for third which we ultimately did last year.
one day maybe...
04-11-2023, 08:37 PM
Yes
Chorley Hibee
04-11-2023, 08:39 PM
I must have been in the minority and left on my own because I was nowhere delighted with what I had watched up to that point, it was absolutely dreadful apart from the wee spell start of second half
You're not on your own, mate.
Too many folk kidding themselves that was a good performance.
The only thing strange about the subs was he made them, the better players were already on the pitch..
Who else does he bring on? he can only play with the hand he’s been dealt, he’s no brought any of these guys to the club, Tuesday it’s weird campbells been overlooked for delf now we know it’s over when Campbell comes on, weeks fowk been moaning about Marshall then Tuesday nobody can believe he’s dropped marsh and unsettled the back line, need to get levitt in the team…where the f’s Jeggo, brutal man guy Cannae win
This squad of players is rotten 3 managers have lost their jobs with this lot it well before time they where looked at rather than the buck stopping with the manager
04-11-2023, 08:42 PM
No, he isn't good enough.
So we sack another manager after a couple of months and magically hope that this squad of players decide they want to show up?
JimboHibs
04-11-2023, 08:43 PM
They’re not better. Better than the 3 league games we lost but I don’t think that would have continued once Europe was done. But we are worse to watch than last year and we look a bit away from challenging for third which we ultimately did last year.
Challenging for 3rd like that's some sort of achievement.The SPL is stinking there's not been a decent team out with Celtic/Rangers over the past 25 years and that'll continue with the current set up.10 pish teams trying for 3rd place every year is laughable.
This stage last year we looked way off challenging for 3rd as well, hearts where about 18pts ahead let’s no make it sound like LJ had us any better we where rotten then as well and this guys having to attempt to mould LJ’s team into his own , he’s had 9 games far too early to be calling the guy out
coldingham hibs
04-11-2023, 08:45 PM
Down to 10 men, so we take off a centre forward then end up playing with a centre back as a forward (Rocky). Classic.
04-11-2023, 08:47 PM
This stage last year we looked way off challenging for 3rd as well, hearts where about 18pts ahead let’s no make it sound like LJ had us any better we where rotten then as well and this guys having to attempt to mould LJ’s team into his own , he’s had 9 games far too early to be calling the guy out
People saw through Maloney very quickly and they're seeing through Montgomery too.
FC1875
04-11-2023, 08:47 PM
So we sack another manager after a couple of months and magically hope that this squad of players decide they want to show up?
It's not just the manager to be fair but this manager lost it for me on Tuesday with his subs. Today was a disgrace. It's all about winning semi finals, couldnt care about the performance.
It's pretty clear he wont make it for us.
04-11-2023, 08:48 PM
Looked at the stats from the internet
Had Aberdeen at 52% possession, us 48%.
Aberdeen 3 shots on target, us 2.
What I find very concerning is that yet again a midfield managed to win ( what I thought ) more second balls.
Aberdeen had 5 in midfield to our 4 and out of those 4, 2 were playing out wide which left a lot for the guys in the middle to deal with.
Taking our main striker off when chasing a goal. If he was knackered like another poster said then I thought he ran off when subbed, so couldn’t be that knackered.
Monty has got a hard job with the players he has and I think he needs time, which I will give him but if he persists with this 4-4-2 and isn’t getting wins, then how many are going to turn on him?
I thought we were slightly better than Aberdeen, but they’ve got a final to look forward too and I’ll have a free weekend and that is the most annoying stat of the evening for me.
04-11-2023, 08:49 PM
We dominated the game until they got a man sent off and we just kinda lost the plot.
Up to the 70th minute, we looked well in control and all are players were playing well even the much maligned Jair.
They scored a bit of a freak goal and then fell down at every opportunity, we just didn't seem the have guile to break them down. Instead, we tried to walk the ball into the net.
So, for me, NM is doing a good job, I don't think we would have got that performance out of the previous manager.
Still tho, we have "Hibs" fans who are only happy when we lose
But when you are on top you have to score and we didn’t They took a break away chance when down to 10 men
But agree once they scored we didn’t look like getting an equaliser
Hugely Disappointing yet agsin
04-11-2023, 08:49 PM
You're not on your own, mate.
Too many folk kidding themselves that was a good performance.
I was far from delighted and it wasn’t brilliant but we were well in control of the game then absolutely chucked it after the sending off.
Key players let down numerous managers and, tonight, they’ve got another one to add to the list.
FC1875
04-11-2023, 08:53 PM
What I find very concerning is that yet again a midfield managed to win ( what I thought ) more second balls.
Aberdeen had 5 in midfield to our 4 and out of those 4, 2 were playing out wide which left a lot for the guys in the middle to deal with.
Taking our main striker off when chasing a goal. If he was knackered like another poster said then I thought he ran off when subbed, so couldn’t be that knackered.
Monty has got a hard job with the players he has and I think he needs time, which I will give him but if he persists with this 4-4-2 and isn’t getting wins, then how many are going to turn on him?
I thought we were slightly better than Aberdeen, but they’ve got a final to look forward too and I’ll have a free weekend and that is the most annoying stat of the evening for me.
Stats don't matter in a Semi Final. Winning is all that matters.
Nobody can say today was a good performance. It was aimless pedestrian Football.
04-11-2023, 08:53 PM
Very selective stats.
We had 10 in total to their 6.
3 (Tavares x 2 and Vente were at the very least going on target if not the back of the net)
We had 10 corners to their 1.
I thought, especially considering our formation we dominated them. You would never know they were playing 4 centre mids against our 2.
04-11-2023, 08:57 PM
People saw through Maloney very quickly and they're seeing through Montgomery too.
I will always give Hibs managers a chance but being honest I have been so underwhelmed about all of the last three appointments when made and so far, unfortunately, my gut has been right.:boo hoo::boo hoo:
Aye ur right mate let’s sack him, 9 games and no opportunity to bring in his own players is more than enough time, bring on the next chump
sean04
04-11-2023, 09:01 PM
100% good enough, no even had a transfer window. Ridiculous questioning the manager
LeithMike
04-11-2023, 09:08 PM
Not posted in a long time. I didn’t want NM (wanted McInnes) and while I am pretty gutted about today, I really like him and think he’ll really push us on next season. We’re just going to have to be patient.
While I get the comparisons with Maloney and get a bit frustrated with the constant passing back, you can start to see good movement from our players. I just wish we were a bit quicker as we make it hard on ourselves and let the opposition get set in defence by the time we get the ball forward which I think is why we are struggling to win games.
Aside from that, he’s improved many players already. He’s seen Rocky’s strengths and selected him when many had written him off and got him defending really well; Miller has been transformed; Fish is defending well again; Levitt looks a different player to the one who looked stifled and lost under Johnson; Youan is far more of a team player and lifting his head and Jair is starting to contribute.
I think he’s a proper manager/coach and he’s improving us individually. The last two games have been a big set back and I think we do need to move the ball quicker but I think he’ll realise that too.
Priority for me - again - would be a more industrious midfielder. We seemed to lack someone to thrust us forward when we lost our way.
04-11-2023, 09:09 PM
The subs were weird. Putting x16 year olds on - really not sure that was a good idea.
If we were going to cross the ball - why not have Doidge on earlier.
If we wanted to cross it then Hanlon also decent with his head.
Landers and Whittaker just looked way off it - not their fault due to age but a serious lack of goals from the bench came back to bite us.
Unless Vente was injured he had to stay on.
04-11-2023, 09:09 PM
100% good enough, no even had a transfer window. Ridiculous questioning the manager
100%
Thank you for restoring some faith of mine in this forum.
04-11-2023, 09:10 PM
Very selective stats.
3 (Tavares x 2 and Vente were at the very least going on target if not the back of the net)
I thought, especially considering our formation we dominated them. You would never know they were playing 4 centre mids against our 2.
Selective stats they may be, yes we got 10 corners and didn’t look like scoring once from any off them unless I missed it, but as I said it’s the last one that concerns me the most.
TrinityHFC
04-11-2023, 09:12 PM
100%
People were pretty sure the previous manager was to blame and that we’d had a pretty good transfer window. Not sure any manager can just get a free ride until he chooses the players. This is a pretty decent squad with some specific strengths.
Selective stats they may be, yes we got 10 corners and didn’t look like scoring once from any off them unless I missed it, but as I said it’s the last one that concerns me the most.
Agree the corners never appeared overly dangerous. The one for Newell to hit on the volley particularly annoyed me as it’s not like he is known for scoring wonder goals…
But it shows we had a lot of pressure in their final third and limited them
You dont know if he is good enough. It might be ridiculous to say he should be sacked just now, but its equally as ridiculous to suggest that he shouldn't be questioned given the way his tenure has started.
04-11-2023, 09:15 PM
Heard his interview, he was correct about disallowed goal and penalty claim, however, for me we never created that many chances, felt we were slow and ponderous at times.
Disappointed in that Today.
04-11-2023, 09:15 PM
People were pretty sure the previous manager was to blame and that we’d had a pretty good transfer window. Not sure any manager can just get a free ride until he chooses the players. This is a pretty decent squad with some specific strengths.
I agree it was a decent transfer window, but the squad overall still isn’t brilliant.
We imo needed another winger, a ‘number 10’ and left sided centre half.
The bench today shows just how far off our squad is, especially compared to aberdeens.
I actually think our squad is probably best suited to a 442. I don’t think we have the number 10/creative midfielder needed to play a 451/433.
Agree he shouldn’t get a free ride, I just see alot of positives - especially today. One mistake by Miller won’t influence what I saw the 70 minutes before it
04-11-2023, 09:19 PM
We also switched off defensively against a pretty clinical finisher.
It comes down to mentality when they went to 10 - every player looked scared to give ball away or take a risk.
04-11-2023, 09:21 PM
I never liked Lee and wanted him out a lot sooner.
I was excited by Montgomery when he was appointed.
I’d think he’s still a better choice, but when pondering would Lee have had a markedly worse set of results, my answer is probably not…
Monty needs to deliver some wins pronto.
04-11-2023, 09:22 PM
You dont know if he is good enough. It might be ridiculous to say he should be sacked just now, but its equally as ridiculous to suggest that he shouldn't be questioned given the way his tenure has started.
It’s impossible to say either way whether he’s good enough, whatever that actually means.
I think we need to remember just how bad these players were leading up to the last manager getting the sack. Some of the early season performances, in Andorra, at Motherwell and at home to Livingston were absolutely shocking.
Until he can change the squad (how often do we say that) he’s snookered.
Absolutely he needs results, quickly, but there seems to be a keenness from some to completely write him off already.
I thought we had an all right 11 but that’s not even looking to be the case now. You look at that bench tonight and the team that finished the game. Bloody grim.
K-Zazu
04-11-2023, 09:24 PM
Heard his interview, he was correct about disallowed goal and penalty claim, however, for me we never created that many chances, felt we were slow and ponderous at times.
It’s becoming a bit of a worrying trend not creating chances.
04-11-2023, 09:25 PM
It’s impossible to say either way whether he’s good enough, whatever that actually means.
I think we need to remember just how bad these players were leading up to the last manager getting the sack. Some of the early season performances, in Andorra, at Motherwell and at home to Livingston were absolutely shocking.
Until he can change the squad (how often do we say that) he’s snookered.
Absolutely he needs results, quickly, but there seems to be a keenness from some to completely write him off already.
I thought we had an all right 11 but that’s not even looking to be the case now. You look at that bench tonight and the team that finished the game. Bloody grim.
Yeah there probably are - but then are also people who were overly excited to get him in and were proclaiming him as the next messiah after a win against St Johnstone. As usual the truth is somewhere in the middle, and as you say its not clear which way it will lean...
snedzuk
04-11-2023, 09:37 PM
Bizarre eh. Potentially extra time to come as well.
Vente has no more than 60 minutes running in him, which might well be why he is here.
04-11-2023, 09:49 PM
It would be nice if our keeper could keep us in a game for once.
04-11-2023, 09:49 PM
Vente has no more than 60 minutes running in him, which might well be why he is here.
You'll turn that into a hibs.net myth.
Pro footballers can play for 90 minutes no problem.
04-11-2023, 09:54 PM
We created more than them.
04-11-2023, 10:00 PM
Did we? I must have been asleep at the time as we are so slow and ponderous
04-11-2023, 10:00 PM
100%
This place has a number of decent posters but it's becoming a basket place of a site.
04-11-2023, 10:07 PM
Yeah there probably are - but then are also people who were overly excited to get him in and were proclaiming him as the next messiah after a win against St Johnstone. As usual the truth is somewhere in the middle, and as you say its not clear which way it will lean...
I just find myself feeling really pissed off with the players tonight. They had the game there to win and they blew it. Again.
The one thing that gives me a bit of hope with Montgomery is that I think he’ll be quite ruthless when the window(s) comes round. He already looks like he’s going to be the guy that comes in and ends Hanlon and Stevenson’s playing days with us so I don’t think he’s going to be bothered about making potentially unpopular decisions. I think we need that because I just feel at times that I’m watching the same players doing the same things leading to the same outcome in games like tonight.
Just needs some wins quickly though. Tonight was a huge missed opportunity and it would have bought him a bit of patience as well.
04-11-2023, 10:08 PM
So they had 2 or 3, we had 3 or 4. Nothing especially clear cut from memory, certainly not enough
Logie Green
04-11-2023, 10:10 PM
You may be right but I’d prefer if he spent more time closer to the opponents goals instead of ‘tracking back’ and spending an inordinate amount of time in our half.
Perhaps if he didn’t have to do all the running about he’d last longer in games, be sharp towards the end of games and therefore give him more chance to do what he seems to be good at which is scoring goals.
I just find myself feeling really pissed off with the players tonight. They had the game there to win and they blew it. Again.
The one thing that gives me a bit of hope with Montgomery is that I think he’ll be quite ruthless when the window(s) comes round. He already looks like he’s going to be the guy that comes in and ends Hanlon and Stevenson’s playing days with us so I don’t think he’s going to be bothered about making potentially unpopular decisions. I think we need that because I just feel at times that I’m watching the same players doing the same things leading to the same outcome in games like tonight.
Just needs some wins quickly though. Tonight was a huge missed opportunity and it would have bought him a bit of patience as well.
Could do with winning Wednesday and Saturday, big games
So they had 2 or 3, we had 3 or 4. Nothing especially clear cut from memory, certainly not enough
Big chances for a Jair and Vente second half. It was up the other end but I thought a Youan should have scored first half. Tried to smash the ball when he just needed to pass it in.
04-11-2023, 10:11 PM
Montgomery will have until the end of the season to show that he's the man we want in charge when the big money arrives.
If he doesn't, then we'll use some of the investment to replace him with someone better.
OstKurve Hibs
04-11-2023, 10:16 PM
He's the man for job, I've no doubt about that, but he needs 4 transfer windows at least to sort this effin joke of a team,
4 mangers In 4 years now, same mistakes happen constantly,
Players are so soft it's unreal, bunch of wimps, we should start the ladies team against St mirren on Wednesday.
04-11-2023, 10:17 PM
This place has a number of decent posters but it's becoming a basket place of a site.
So do you think that 2 wins out of 8 is acceptable? Or 2 draws and 2 defeats against our nearest rivals which includes a defeat in a semi final? I am sorry but our results are dreadful. The manager plays the same turgid football every week . It’s not working and I fear for our future if we carry on like this
04-11-2023, 10:21 PM
So do you think that 2 wins out of 8 is acceptable? Or 2 draws and 2 defeats against our nearest rivals which includes a defeat in a semi final? I am sorry but our results are dreadful. The manager plays the same turgid football every week . It’s not working and I fear for our future if we carry on like this
So we sack another manager after not even giving him the chance to sign any players?
6-2MAGIC
04-11-2023, 10:23 PM
For me, reflecting on Neil Montgomery’s short time as manager so far I am not convinced at all yet. 2 wins from 8 as someone’s mentioned isn’t amazing. However, based on the fact that he’s not had a transfer window yet it’s unfair to make a verdict on him fully yet. Maybe the players he has inherited just don’t fit his style of play at all. Who knows? So far though, I’m not convinced at all… not my first or second choice manager anyway
04-11-2023, 10:23 PM
You'll turn that into a hibs.net myth.
Pro footballers can play for 90 minutes no problem.
I just posted the same, and then thought **** it, It was the same nonsense with Daryl Horgan. Can people really believe that kind of rubbish? You just don’t get to be a pro player by only being able to play for an hour.
On Montgomery routinely substituting him won’t be pleasing. But for me unless he is injured, he shouldn’t be going off today . Jury’s out on Vente, it’s not working for him recently but he’s still going to offer more goal threat than young Landers or whatever his name is.
I’m not hugely impressed by Monty so far. I don’t like the tactics or the subs. I’m also wondering why he’s bringing on these laddies, who are not ready to play 1st team football.
Playing Boyle through the middle is also poor. That eliminates one of our most potent threats at a stroke, he barely kicked a ball today.
Can’t imagine potential investor can be too impressed either.
Montgomery needs wins, not sure how he finds them just now. The current approach, it’s not working.
Certainly gone down hill over the last couple of years.
04-11-2023, 10:26 PM
Your first question is absurd, no real Hibs fan thinks it's great but those who can think logically know that he needs a minimum of two windows to rebuild. Anything less then we will be repeating our M.O. of recent years. Again.
04-11-2023, 10:27 PM
Very selective stats.
The only stat that really matters is Aberdeen 1 Hibs 0. Not winning games is becoming a serious concern. We even rested players on Tuesday and played 24 hours before Aberdeen. Still can't win. I just wish we'd find a way to grind a result out. He's getting gifts and not taking them.
04-11-2023, 10:29 PM
I just posted the same, and then thought **** it, It was the same nonsense with Daryl Horgan. Can people really believe that kind of rubbish? You just don’t get to be a pro player by only being able to play for an hour.
On Montgomery routinely substituting him won’t be pleasing. But for me unless he is injured, he shouldn’t be going off today . Jury’s out on Vente, it’s not working for him recently but he’s still going to offer more goal threat than young Landers or whatever his name is.
I’m not hugely impressed by Monty so far. I don’t like the tactics or the subs. I’m also wondering why he’s bringing on these laddies, who are not ready to play 1st team football.
Playing Boyle through the middle is also poor. That eliminates one of our most potent threats at a stroke, he barely kicked a ball today.
Can’t imagine potential investor can be too impressed either.
Montgomery needs wins, not sure how he finds them just now. The current approach, it’s not working.
agree with all that mate :agree:
TrinityHFC
04-11-2023, 10:31 PM
Your first question is absurd, no real Hibs fan thinks it's great but those who can think logically know that he needs a minimum of two windows to rebuild. Anything less then we will be repeating our M.O. of recent years. Again.
Not sure why we changed manager at all then?
04-11-2023, 10:31 PM
We’re getting into the territory now where he’s going to be judged on results rather than general performance/signs of potential.
We’ve got a trip to Paisley and a home game against Kilmarnock next week. It’s not unreasonable expectations to looking for a couple of wins.
Failure to do so and the unfortunate scenario would be that we have a manager under pressure, as ludicrous as that would sound so early in his tenure.
It’s a results based industry and he’s now needing positive results. Pretty quickly if he’s to be held to the same standards as the previous incumbents.
04-11-2023, 10:32 PM
We need to see more from the team between now and January. If Montgomery isn't getting better performances and results then I'd be considering how we move forward.
If his style of play only works by signing a whole new team that's a red flag for me.
January is a difficult time to do business and what will the rest of the season look like if we don't get his priority targets?
If we do get players he wants in and they get injured/suspended/sold in future are we back to being terrible on the park because he can only get a tune out of a certain type of player in the system he plays?
If we bring in a tonne of new starters for a particular managers philosophy and it doesn't go to plan and the manager needs to move on ala heckinbottom what's the plan then? We are stuck in same position we are in now.
04-11-2023, 10:39 PM
We’re getting into the territory now where he’s going to be judged on results rather than general performance/signs of potential.
We’ve got a trip to Paisley and a home game against Kilmarnock next week. It’s not unreasonable expectations to looking for a couple of wins.
Failure to do so and the unfortunate scenario would be that we have a manager under pressure, as ludicrous as that would sound so early in his tenure.
It’s a results based industry and he’s now needing positive results. Pretty quickly if he’s to be held to the same standards as the previous incumbents.
We need to pick up 4 points minimum from these two games.
Tuesday and tonight has me concerned. Tuesday I thought was down to him and his silly subs and complacency. Tonight was on the players for me.
Either way, we simply don’t have enough good players. Aberdeen got exactly what they came for tonight. Set up defensively, clean sheet and nick one on the break. That’s what we need to do on Tuesday, we need to make it as basic as possible for the players and forget about trying to play a set way until we have the players to do it.
davym7062
04-11-2023, 10:39 PM
hes ready to take vente off,ok then boyle gets injured and he still takes vente off..... surely u dont take off 2 off ur biggest goal threats iat the same time
04-11-2023, 10:44 PM
Put it down to past recruitment but the changes made towards the end left us with a team that didn't have a chance of killing it in extra time.
04-11-2023, 10:51 PM
We need to pick up 4 points minimum from these two games.
Tuesday and tonight has me concerned. Tuesday I thought was down to him and his silly subs and complacency. Tonight was on the players for me.
Either way, we simply don’t have enough good players. Aberdeen got exactly what they came for tonight. Set up defensively, clean sheet and nick one on the break. That’s what we need to do on Tuesday, we need to make it as basic as possible for the players and forget about trying to play a set way until we have the players to do it.
How have we got to a situation where this is the mindset ahead of a trip to Paisley? (And I’m pretty much agreeing with you here)
Just seen Barry Robson's interview after the game where he says his team have played 4 games in 9 days and we have only played 2 in that time. We still got beat off of 10 men. We are miles off it and this season so far has been nothing short of a disaster. Under Lee Johnson we were inconsistent but now we just consistently do not win games. People can slag off the players but everyone seemed pretty happy with the transfer window a few months ago. I believe we have good enough players to compete in this league but the manager is just not getting the best out of them at all in my opinion.
Mikey_1875
04-11-2023, 10:52 PM
Too early to tell either way. It’s not good enough at the moment but there are a lot of mitigating factors. He needs time to grow into the job and make adjustments as he goes, hopefully with steady improvement.
04-11-2023, 11:01 PM
[/I][/B]
How have we got to a situation where this is the mindset ahead of a trip to Paisley? (And I’m pretty much agreeing with you here)
Because we’ve been mismanaged for a number of years. I think the standard of player we have, relative to the money we’ve spent at our level, is dire. We are just lacking in so many ways. Said on another thread that, individually, cases will be made for almost every player being good. How often do you read that someone is the least of our problems?
There is a thread somewhere about Rocky and Jeggo and how important they are. That for me says quite a lot. That’s just an example of the top off my head and I’d expect many people would comment that they are good players and are the least of our problems. But then that goes for a lot of them.
The only way to balance the squad properly and change the mentality within it will involve making some unpopular decisions IMO. I don’t actually know what they are but there are players in there that have been in this movie before multiple times and there comes a point where you can’t just keep doing the same things.
thebausburst
04-11-2023, 11:03 PM
The club had the chance to recruit a Robinson or a McInness but decided to go down the left field root again, whilst it’s not been a great start we’ve got no choice (again) but to back the manager and hope for a better outcome.
04-11-2023, 11:05 PM
**** him off, his football is as boring as ****! Weird substitutions almost every game.
We have a great knack of selecting absolute fuds
04-11-2023, 11:07 PM
Montgomery record so far:
Played: 9
Win: 2
Draw: 5
Loss: 2
Scored: 12
Conceded: 13
Not the disaster we'd make it out to be.
FC1875
04-11-2023, 11:12 PM
Montgomery record so far:
Played: 9
Win: 2
Draw: 5
Loss: 2
Scored: 12
Conceded: 13
Not the disaster we'd make it out to be.
2 wins from 9 isn't good for a club our size whatever way we look at it.
I just dont see anything from him that we will be decent under him.
04-11-2023, 11:13 PM
I like him and am still behind him, but the bottom line is the results aren’t good enough and they need to improve quickly or patience will run thin.
Stokesy's on fire
04-11-2023, 11:21 PM
Not good enough. But he isnt to blame for AbVARdeen game
Paul1642
04-11-2023, 11:40 PM
We were the better team last night by a country mile. The manger got the selection and the tactics spot on IMO. Unfortunately the manager can’t put the ball in the net. Some things come down to the players alone / luck.
That’s not to mention poor refs.
2 wins from 9 looks poor but we generally do not win against the the old firm and away to Hearts. 2 points from these 3 games is pretty good.
Disregard these three games and it’s 2 wins from 5. Still not great but the performances have been better than the results show.
The signs are generally promising so far IMO.
Crunchie
04-11-2023, 11:41 PM
We were the better team last night by a country mile. The manger got the selection and the tactics spot on IMO. Unfortunately the manager can’t put the ball in the net. Some things come down to the players alone / luck.
That’s not to mention poor refs.
04-11-2023, 11:53 PM
NM is going to have to prove himself and very fast. After the first set of fixtures we are 1 point off 2nd bottom. Whilst he can't be blamed for our first 3 losses, performances and results have to get better. The January transfer window will be huge for him.
Paul1642
04-11-2023, 11:59 PM
NM is going to have to prove himself and very fast. After the first set of fixtures we are 1 point off 2nd bottom. Whilst he can't be blamed for our first 3 losses, performances and results have to get better. The January transfer window will be huge for him.
Or if the glass is half full we are 5 points behind 4th (and we have a game in hand) with 27 games still to play.
The performances suggest to me that results will come. 3rd is easily achievable unless St Mirren can keep up their form which is possible but I don’t expect them to.
The Baldmans Comb
05-11-2023, 12:40 AM
He is a complete rookie and it showed today as once the Aberdeen player was sent off the play for the next 10 minutes was to keep the shape and probe and probe and it didn't matter a jot if the game went to extra time as they were never going to score.
No instruction reached the players as the manager couldn't think on his feet probably because he has never been in that position before and instead the shape was lost;players lost their discipline Miller especially and his falling over was caused by being so far out of position that he couldn't adjust his shape.
Finishing the game with Campbell left wing, Rocky right wing, Doidge and a 16 year old charging about just summed up that when push comes to shove Montgomery didn't have much of a clue.
Fair play to him before that though as for 70 minutes Hibs were the better team, defensively strong and created the better chances and adapted to the loss of Jeggo and Alf with a decent team selection.
sorrow sorrow
05-11-2023, 01:46 AM
Ffs if anyone thinks Montgomery is the answer to our problems get a **** grip.
we where absolutely abysmal today.
everything about today is what is wrong with us as a club,brutal performance from a really poor team.
just start being honest ffs this is a really poor team and squad we have.
JammyDoidger
05-11-2023, 02:41 AM
Jason Cummings made him. Mad.
CCM4LIFE
05-11-2023, 02:42 AM
C'mon lads, give him a transfer window at the very least.
If not, the Mariners will take him back I'm sure.
JammyDoidger
05-11-2023, 02:44 AM
Give him hee haw. Clown man.
05-11-2023, 03:23 AM
everything about today is what is wrong with us as a club,brutal performance from a really poor team.
It’s a really poor team/squad but we should go and get another manager in who will also fail to make them perform? Sounds like a plan.
05-11-2023, 05:29 AM
We've regressed massively from last season and people weren't particularly happy then either. Can't blame Montgomery for the first three league games but there's barely been any improvement since he arrived and he doesn't have the excuse of midweek European games and settling in new players.
05-11-2023, 05:40 AM
I think it's too soon to be asking this type of question, but if this season is to mean anything we need to start winning games. There have been far too many mishaps poor performances and team selections. He will get time to bring his own guys in but it might be too late by then for this season.
05-11-2023, 05:47 AM
I can see what he's trying to do, and I think that if he can get it to work we'll be a really exciting team to watch.
That said, he needs to start picking up wins between now and January.
I'm also not sure how much budget is available. Realistically, how many players are we going to bring in and how quickly?
The facts are he needs to get more out of this squad. We've been the better team in most games we've played, so it's not as simple as saying the players aren't good enough. But that's where his skills as a manager need to come in - can he improve the mentality of the players?
05-11-2023, 05:50 AM
Oh dear me. I realise that all of us have as many qualifications as the hearts manger but really? None of us are experts. Are we genuinely hearing that lazy and insulting term “clueless” already?
Monty is as likely to be the next Alex Ferguson as he is to be the equivalent of the hearts manager.
05-11-2023, 06:05 AM
People are saying Monty needs to be judged after a transfer window which of course I understand.
We have a recruitment team in place, and the manager has a part to play in it. But what worries me is this: how does a guy who has come from the (no disrepect but some disrepect) A League attract really good players? What contacts does he have in the recruitment area?
It's one of the major gambles you take by getting someone from a smaller league. I hope im proven wrong on this but surely a bit of a concern?
05-11-2023, 06:12 AM
People are saying Monty needs to be judged after a transfer window which of course I understand.
We have a recruitment team in place, and the manager has a part to play in it. But what worries me is this: how does a guy who has come from the (no disrepect but some disrepect) A League attract really good players? What contacts does he have in the recruitment area?
It's one of the major gambles you take by getting someone from a smaller league. I hope im proven wrong on this but surely a bit of a concern?
That doesn’t bother me in the slightest, in Brian McDermott we have an experienced DoF with a good reputation. I’d argue the players we brought in this summer (that have seen game time) have all been good additions.
What does Barry Robson or Naismith, managers of our two biggest rivals, have that gives them an advantage over Monty ?
andrew70
05-11-2023, 06:16 AM
That doesn’t bother me in the slightest, in Brian McDermott we have an experienced DoF with a good reputation. I’d argue the players we brought in this summer (that have seen game time) have all been good additions.
What does Barry Robson or Naismith, managers of our two biggest rivals, have that gives them an advantage over Monty ?
They play long ball, no risk football. Whilst Montgomery is trying to implement his style. It’ll come good. There’s an obvious set up at least.
05-11-2023, 06:17 AM
We've regressed massively from last season and people weren't particularly happy then either. Can't blame Montgomery for the first three league games but there's barely been any improvement since he arrived and he doesn't have the excuse of midweek European games and settling in new players.
There has been improvement.
But you couldn’t wait for a bad result to stick the knife I .
05-11-2023, 06:20 AM
Fair points:agree:
May21/05/216
05-11-2023, 06:28 AM
There has been improvement.
But you couldn’t wait for a bad result to stick the knife I .Agree with your post
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
05-11-2023, 06:30 AM
The subs during every game now it feels isn’t helping himself
05-11-2023, 06:45 AM
Because we’ve been mismanaged for a number of years. I think the standard of player we have, relative to the money we’ve spent at our level, is dire. We are just lacking in so many ways. Said on another thread that, individually, cases will be made for almost every player being good. How often do you read that someone is the least of our problems?
There is a thread somewhere about Rocky and Jeggo and how important they are. That for me says quite a lot. That’s just an example of the top off my head and I’d expect many people would comment that they are good players and are the least of our problems. But then that goes for a lot of them.
The only way to balance the squad properly and change the mentality within it will involve making some unpopular decisions IMO. I don’t actually know what they are but there are players in there that have been in this movie before multiple times and there comes a point where you can’t just keep doing the same things.
For me some of the unpopular decisions are, new keeper. Replace Newell with a different kind of midfielder (one with drive) and quite possibly a second midfielder as not convinced Levitt or Jeggo are the answer despite cases for both (and Newell) being easy to make individually. A new winger to replace Boyle, just don’t think he’s the player he was, which in fairness was a talisman. Now he’s more of a good player on his day type, and a striker to compliment and get the best out of Vente.
05-11-2023, 06:51 AM
If you think we were abysmal then I think you didn’t watch the game
In fact, you probably don’t watch Hibs much at all
05-11-2023, 06:53 AM
Good, can you check. Think he might be out of his depth here! Needs to learn quickly or he may be back sooner than you think
05-11-2023, 06:55 AM
No idea what game you were watxhing but the one I was watching had our team all over dons more shots more posession better play and passing before their goal. Manager had it spot on,if this same Hibs team turn up like they did last night, third spot will be a walk in the park. Manager or the team was not the problem last night. 5hite decision making by var was that spent hours trying to find a way to chalk off that goal, and yes I do believe that they want an Aberdeen v buns final.
05-11-2023, 07:04 AM
No idea what game you were watxhing but the one I was watching had our team all over dons more shots more posession better play and passing before their goal. Manager had it spot on,if this same Hibs team turn up like they did last night, third spot will be a walk in the park. Manager or the team was not the problem last night. 5hite decision making by var was that spent hours trying to find a way to chalk off that goal, and yes I do believe that they want an Aberdeen v buns final.
We can’t pin all our failings on the VAR call. We made plenty of our own ***** decisions. We let 10 men wander up the park and score a goal. We failed to make the most of numerous good positions and 2 or 3 really good clear cut chances. We’re not a good team who managed to lose to one who was even worse.
hibee19
05-11-2023, 07:07 AM
Are people genuinely calling for the club to sack our second manager before Christmas?
05-11-2023, 07:15 AM
Give him hee haw. Clown man.
Stay off the drink
05-11-2023, 07:15 AM
Are people genuinely calling for the club to sack our second manager before Christmas?
“People” are idiots
scm70nyd1973
05-11-2023, 07:18 AM
If you think we were abysmal then I think you didn’t watch the game
In fact, you probably don’t watch Hibs much at all
I just don’t understand where the clueless, abysmal stuff comes from.
We were the better team and at times played some neat football that led to things - just couldn’t score - it happens - okay too often for us but I’ve seen countless worse performances from us at Hampden.
If we had binned the team (as some probably wanted at the time) for their performance against RC in the LCF in 2016 we would never have won the SCF.
Time for calm and patience but that just doesn’t seem to exist anymore.
No I’m not a Jambo or a happy clapper in anticipation of the usual responses.
RossScott1991
05-11-2023, 07:21 AM
Do folk realise not every single defeat has to be the managers fault?
1st half. Pretty even Hibs had the better half chance in it.
2nd half. Played with more tempo and had Aberdeen stuck inside their own half for pretty much all of it.
The sending off happens and then Miller does a ridiculous error in giving it away falling to the ground easy.
We then forced issue and composure , stunned at the goal.
Not to mention offside looked onside and we should have had a penalty.
Fine margins not going our way in a 50/50 cup tie.
Not everything needs a big reaction and constantly calling out sackings.
Miller is to largely to blame for last night unfortunately.
05-11-2023, 07:24 AM
Do folk realise not every single defeat has to be the managers fault?
1st half. Pretty even Hibs had the better half chance in it.
2nd half. Played with more tempo and had Aberdeen stuck inside their own half for pretty much all of it.
The sending off happens and then Miller does a ridiculous error in giving it away falling to the ground easy.
We then forced issue and composure , stunned at the goal.
Not to mention offside looked onside and we should have had a penalty.
Fine margins not going our way in a 50/50 cup tie.
Not everything needs a big reaction and constantly calling out sackings.
Miller is to largely to blame for last night unfortunately.
I’m definitely not one for wanting the manager sacked after last night. Just wish some of these fine ****ing margins would fall for us in that stadium for a change. Make your own luck sometimes.
LeithMike
05-11-2023, 07:47 AM
I get the disappointment from yesterday but if Hibs had won that 1-0 which was the least we deserved then the narrrative would be completely different.
I get that the result is all important (and there is a concern about all this possession being turned into goals) but in terms of measuring progress we are better to look at these questions-
Are we playing with more purpose and direction than previous manager?
Are players working harder?
Has Youan adapted his game to play for the team?
Has Rocky improved?
Has Miller improved?
Has Jeggo improved?
Has Jair improved?
Has Obita improved?
Has Levitt improved?
I think there is a clear answer yes to all of these questions so Montgomery clearly has something about him.
He’s clearly working on the players control and passing in training so let’s see if, in time -and through a couple of additions we can turn this into a more rapid and penetrative game.
It’s not guaranteed, but we could be on the verge of something very special. Let’s lose the knee jerk reactions and give him time and support. Good managers are like gold dust and we may just have one.
05-11-2023, 07:50 AM
I get the disappointment from yesterday but if Hibs had won that 1-0 which was the least we deserved then the narrrative would be completely different.
I get that the result is all important (and there is a concern about all this possession being turned into goals) but in terms of measuring progress we are better to look at these questions-
Has Rocky improved?
Has Miller improved?
Has Jeggo improved?
Has Jair improved?
Has Obita improved?
Has Levitt improved?
I think there is a clear answer yes to all of these questions so Montgomery clearly has something about him.
He’s clearly working on the players control and passing in training so let’s see if, in time -and through a couple of additions we can turn this into a more rapid and penetrative game.
It’s not guaranteed, but we could be on the verge of something very special. Let’s lose the knee jerk reactions and give him time and support. Good managers are like gold dust and we may just have one.
I think he's improved a few players but it's a stretch to say we are on the verge of something very special.
05-11-2023, 08:05 AM
His subs are confusing and this keeping the ball at the back is a recipe for disaster with the players we have.
05-11-2023, 08:18 AM
His subs are confusing and this keeping the ball at the back is a recipe for disaster with the players we have.
We will lose goals playing it out from the back, and I’m sure we already have, but Aberdeens approach was the opposite of ours. Their keeper repeatedly shelling it out for a throw in or Obita and Rocky comfortably dealing with the long balls.
There’s definitely a lot of refinement needed, we move it too slowly, there’s not enough movement off the ball and some players (Newell) are still too negative when they receive it. However I think it’s the correct approach. There’s much more purpose to it than Aberdeens approach last night, or Johnson’s hoofball this season IMO.
05-11-2023, 08:22 AM
Has Rocky improved?
Has Miller improved?
Has Jeggo improved?
Has Jair improved?
Has Obita improved?
Has Levitt improved?
I’m really not seeing anything that remotely suggests we’re on the verge of something special. We don’t even look like we’re on the verge of something half decent right now
We will lose goals playing it out from the back, and I’m sure we already have, but Aberdeens approach was the opposite of ours. Their keeper repeatedly shelling it out for a throw in or Obita and Rocky comfortably dealing with the long balls.
There’s definitely a lot of refinement needed, we move it too slowly, there’s not enough movement off the ball and some players (Newell) are still too negative when they receive it. However I think it’s the correct approach. There’s much more purpose to it than Aberdeens approach last night, or Johnson’s hoofball this season IMO.
I agree. I don't think our players are good enough for it though.
Horses for courses and that.
I just don’t understand where the clueless, abysmal stuff comes from.
We were the better team and at times played some neat football that led to things - just couldn’t score - it happens - okay too often for us but I’ve seen countless worse performances from us at Hampden.
If we had binned the team (as some probably wanted at the time) for their performance against RC in the LCF in 2016 we would never have won the SCF.
Time for calm and patience but that just doesn’t seem to exist anymore.
No I’m not a Jambo or a happy clapper in anticipation of the usual responses.
Yep it is absolutely bizarre a new manager needs time and the extreme reactions to a defeat I don't get. The sub decisions have been a little odd in the last two games for sure but thought we played well yesterday and should have won. The game management after the red card was chronic however imo that is way much more down to the players imo.
05-11-2023, 08:24 AM
I’m really not seeing anything that remotely suggests we’re on the verge of something special. We don’t even look like we’re on the verge of something half decent right now
Agree with this. We’ve signed about 40 players in the last couple of years and I’m still sitting here thinking we need a complete overhaul.
05-11-2023, 08:32 AM
Is the manager good enough?
Already? **** me.
05-11-2023, 08:39 AM
For me, the signs I see are:
A manager who has a clear set up and style of play. It’s easy to describe what he wants from a team. Certainly not the case with Johnson, Maloney and latter half of Ross.
His first decisions were to drop Stevenson, Hanlon & Campbell. Something his predecessors failed to do to their cost. Suggesting he is ruthless and sees what we all see as well.
For the first time, since potentially Mowbray, we have a manager genuinely serious about bringing youngsters through.
He has already improved a number of players, as mentioned previously.
There’s still lots of valid criticisms/questions, but I see him being able tobuild something we can understand and buy into in over the next couple of windows. It feels like the early, and slightly rocky, days of the start of an upward trajectory IMO.
Proof will be in the pudding over the mid-long term, but he’s inherited a squad that got the last 3 managers sacked. That contains some good individual players, and fewer good players that help to make a team more than the sum of its parts.
05-11-2023, 08:43 AM
We weren't dreadful.
If Beaton gives us a clear penalty, we likely win and we would all be buzzing.
05-11-2023, 08:47 AM
We weren't dreadful.
If Beaton gives us a clear penalty, we likely win and we would all be buzzing.
Probably. But that doesn’t account for our inability to defend or put the ball in the net when we had the chance.
05-11-2023, 08:54 AM
This site never fails to amaze. NM has been here for what, 7 weeks and already people are calling for him to be emptied or that it’s the worst Hibs team they’ve seen!!
Give him a two transfer windows (Jan is a notoriously difficult window) and then reassess. He is trying to retro fit this team into a formation he truly believes in. Once he has the players he believes that can adopt and thrive in his system then we’ll see whether he is good enough or not.
He’s certainly giving the current players every chance to buy into his system but we’re seeing the effects of that retro fitting.
05-11-2023, 08:57 AM
Has Rocky improved?
Has Miller improved?
Has Jeggo improved?
Has Jair improved?
Has Obita improved?
Has Levitt improved?
But we lost and have won 1 league and 1 cup game since he arrived
sauzeelegod
05-11-2023, 08:59 AM
He's the man for job, I've no doubt about that, but he needs 4 transfer windows at least to sort this effin joke of a team,
4 mangers In 4 years now, same mistakes happen constantly,
Players are so soft it's unreal, bunch of wimps, we should start the ladies team against St mirren on Wednesday.
4 transfer windows? 🙈 he’s not gonna get 4 transfer windows mate.
If results are bad he’ll be gone.
1875M
05-11-2023, 09:01 AM
This site never fails to amaze. NM has been here for what, 7 weeks and already people are calling for him to be emptied or that it’s the worst Hibs team they’ve seen!!
Give him a two transfer windows (Jan is a notoriously difficult window) and then reassess. He is trying to retro fit this team into a formation he truly believes in. Once he has the players he believes that can adopt and thrive in his system then we’ll see whether he is good enough or not.
He’s certainly giving the current players every chance to buy into his system but we’re seeing the effects of that retro fitting.
Agree, 100%. I don’t think you can fully judge a manager until he brings in his own players. Of course, you would like to see improvements over that space of time, but to fully judge a manager without at least a few transfer windows isn’t fair. From what I’ve heard (family friend is a relative), the players like NM and his coaching staff and their firm but fair approach.
05-11-2023, 09:02 AM
For me, the signs I see are:
A manager who has a clear set up and style of play. It’s easy to describe what he wants from a team. Certainly not the case with Johnson, Maloney and latter half of Ross.
His first decisions were to drop Stevenson, Hanlon & Campbell. Something his predecessors failed to do to their cost. Suggesting he is ruthless and sees what we all see as well.
For the first time, since potentially Mowbray, we have a manager genuinely serious about bringing youngsters through.
He has already improved a number of players, as mentioned previously.
There’s still lots of valid criticisms/questions, but I see him being able tobuild something we can understand and buy into in over the next couple of windows. It feels like the early, and slightly rocky, days of the start of an upward trajectory IMO.
Proof will be in the pudding over the mid-long term, but he’s inherited a squad that got the last 3 managers sacked. That contains some good individual players, and fewer good players that help to make a team more than the sum of its parts.
This is where I am at also - could see 100% the plan yesterday the way we played. At times it was really good slick football being switched around the pitch using width - counter attacks and nice build up. It was risky some of the playing out the back especially Marshall into Levitt centrally. Marshall isn't good enough with ball at feet to play sweeper keeper though.
After the red card - we lost the plot as a team but still nearly scored. I've posted on several threads about x16 year olds coming on wasn't a good idea. If you are a Dons player and you see kids coming on you feel like the game is won. Shinnie and his experience against a 16 year old with 4 mins experience and another with less than 90 mins experience. It's madness.
It's a shame he didn't get a win yesterday as many of these posts wouldn't have been posted but he will come in from scrutiny when he loses important games.
Weir07
05-11-2023, 09:04 AM
I was away for the St Johnstone and Dundee games, so only seen St Mirren, Celtic, Ross County and the game last night. Overall I think the team looks well coached, so Montgomery gets a big tick for that, subs for St Mirren , County and Aberdeen were questionable, so that's a negative. A squad with Alf, Boyle, Vente and Youan should have goals but that's not really proved to be the case, whether that's down to the players or the manager, I don't know. The squad is thin and that was apparent last night. We do have to give Monty time but pressure will build if we don't start winning games, St Mirren and Kilmarnock are looking like hugely significant games, I'm not feeling confident about either to be honest.
Manxhibs
05-11-2023, 09:06 AM
Genuinely baffled that “fans” are calling for him to be sacked already. None of these players were brought to the club by him and many have shown they’re not good enough for Hibs.
The defence - Who believed that he could turn round an ageing Hanlon and Rocky? He needs a CB as number 1 priority in Jan. Miller and Obita are good full backs.
The midfield - we don’t have a good balance in there, Levitt is clearly very talented but you then can’t play both Newell and Jeggo, without changing formation - which we know he won’t do.
Attack - Boyle is having to play up top because he leaves our full back too exposed and the same can be said with Youan to be honest. Vente who is clearly a finisher is now having to drop deep to cover and we are losing our fire power.
Nick can’t legislate for slackness and sloppiness, the amount of times I’ve seen this hibs team carelessly give away the ball is scary.
Give him 2 windows and I firmly believe we will be in the place we need to be.
05-11-2023, 09:08 AM
I don't think his subs were confusing yesterday. Boyle was injured, Jair was one foul away from a red, Vente struggles to play full 90 and Miller had a howler.
05-11-2023, 09:08 AM
Agree, 100%. I don’t think you can fully judge a manager until he brings in his own players. Of course, you would like to see improvements over that space of time, but to fully judge a manager without at least a few transfer windows isn’t fair. From what I’ve heard (family friend is a relative), the players like NM and his coaching staff and their firm but fair approach.
I don't understand this rhetoric.
If NM had won every game so far we'd all be saying he's a great manager but if he's not getting results he needs his own players?
Good managers can get a tune out of a team, they don't need a whole team built for them to get results.
05-11-2023, 09:20 AM
This is where I am at also - could see 100% the plan yesterday the way we played.
After the red card - we lost the plot as a team but still nearly scored. I've posted on several threads about x16 year olds coming on wasn't a good idea.
It's a shame he didn't get a win yesterday as many of these posts wouldn't have been posted but he will come in from scrutiny when he loses important games.
My view is that he has a system and he is going to stick with it. I doubt that will see anything resembling mediocrity in the medium term. He'll either get the right players in and drill the competent ones we have to play it properly and it will be successful or it will fall down on the recruitment and it will end up as a bit of a disaster as we continue with square pegs in round holes. It's been said a million times in recent years but January and the summer are huge for us.
When it comes to the squad I'd break it down quickly as below:
Goalkeeper - It's time to make the change and give either Wollacott or Boruc a run. Likely the former. Marshall has had a season and a half without any real threat to his position. You can't judge JW on one game.
RB - Miller is fine. Megwa is going well at Airdrie and we have Cadden to come back.
CB - We need to add one. Hanlon is done as a starter. I think Fish has been better in recent weeks but you can see why he is on loan in the Scottish Premiership and not a higher level down south. As it stands he has a very obvious ceiling. I like Rocky, he has his faults but he has a lot of natural attributes you can't coach. It would be him and another from here in in for me.
LB - Obita has been a decent acquisition. LS is ok as back up this season but time to look elsewhere in the summer.
Levitt - In the 3 or 4 games he has played I'm convinced he is the best midfielder at the club.
Jeggo - Much improved and plays an important role for us.
Newell - I like Joe as much as anyone bit yesterday was another game in which he talked a lot before it then didn't really take the game by the scruff of the neck when we needed a player like him to do so.
JDH - Totally unreliable. A wage that we should be looking to utilise elsewhere.
Campbell - Talk of 7 figure fees and Serie A were fanciful. Time to move on and another place in the squad that could be better utilised.
Youan - Frustrating but bags of potential. Needs to kick on but he can be coached into something special.
Vente - Works his arse off, we need to find a way to get him into dangerous positions albeit he has played a role for the team in games and is clearly playing to instruction when dropping deep.
Boyle - Probably the most controversial of the lot but I'm not convinced we are getting enough from him since he came back. I said at the time it was a risk bringing him back on a hefty wage albeit one we had to take. Are age and injuries starting to catch up with him? Guys who are very reliant on pace tend to age quicker unless they adapt their game.
Jair - Worth persisting with albeit not convinced we won't be able to bring in better in the next 2 windows. I'm willing him to do well though.
Doidge/ALF - Both offer something but neither are options beyond this season really. We should be looking to upgrade.
People may well disagree with all or some of what I have said above but almost all will have their own perceived areas of weakness and I think that highlights the job NM has inherited. It doesn't totally absolve him of blame but I don't agree that we have a squad that should 'easily be competing for 3rd' as some have argued. Our results and form under 2 different managers suggest I'm correct.
05-11-2023, 09:30 AM
My view is that he has a system and he is going to stick with it. I doubt that will see anything resembling mediocrity in the medium term. He'll either get the right players in and drill the competent ones we have to play it properly and it will be successful or it will fall down on the recruitment and it will end up as a bit of a disaster as we continue with square pegs in round holes. It's been said a million times in recent years but January and the summer are huge for us.
When it comes to the squad I'd break it down quickly as below:
Goalkeeper - It's time to make the change and give either Wollacott or Boruc a run. Likely the former. Marshall has had a season and a half without any real threat to his position. You can't judge JW on one game.
RB - Miller is fine. Megwa is going well at Airdrie and we have Cadden to come back.
CB - We need to add one. Hanlon is done as a starter. I think Fish has been better in recent weeks but you can see why he is on loan in the Scottish Premiership and not a higher level down south. As it stands he has a very obvious ceiling. I like Rocky, he has his faults but he has a lot of natural attributes you can't coach. It would be him and another from here in in for me.
LB - Obita has been a decent acquisition. LS is ok as back up this season but time to look elsewhere in the summer.
Levitt - In the 3 or 4 games he has played I'm convinced he is the best midfielder at the club.
Jeggo - Much improved and plays an important role for us.
Newell - I like Joe as much as anyone bit yesterday was another game in which he talked a lot before it then didn't really take the game by the scruff of the neck when we needed a player like him to do so.
JDH - Totally unreliable. A wage that we should be looking to utilise elsewhere.
Campbell - Talk of 7 figure fees and Serie A were fanciful. Time to move on and another place in the squad that could be better utilised.
Youan - Frustrating but bags of potential. Needs to kick on but he can be coached into something special.
Vente - Works his arse off, we need to find a way to get him into dangerous positions albeit he has played a role for the team in games and is clearly playing to instruction when dropping deep.
Boyle - Probably the most controversial of the lot but I'm not convinced we are getting enough from him since he came back. I said at the time it was a risk bringing him back on a hefty wage albeit one we had to take. Are age and injuries starting to catch up with him? Guys who are very reliant on pace tend to age quicker unless they adapt their game.
Jair - Worth persisting with albeit not convinced we won't be able to bring in better in the next 2 windows. I'm willing him to do well though.
Doidge/ALF - Both offer something but neither are options beyond this season really. We should be looking to upgrade.
People may well disagree with all or some of what I have said above but almost all will have their own perceived areas of weakness and I think that highlights the job NM has inherited. It doesn't totally absolve him of blame but I don't agree that we have a squad that should 'easily be competing for 3rd' as some have argued. Our results and form under 2 different managers suggest I'm correct.
Agree and it comes down to the spine of the team and depth / quality.
A new keeper / Number 1 was needed in summer but we used 3 keepers for various reasons this season. Marshall has the Hampden experience yesterday but he's been at fault for several goals yesterday. Even the last semi final against Hearts think about Criag Gordon basically pulling off wonder saves to win them the game. When was the last time our keeper did that?
Left footed centre back been needed for a while - also a back up left back or starter at left back.
Centre midfield is still a major issue for me. Newell and Levitt can play with the ball but in 2 off the ball we need more and we need goals from central midfield.
Would be good to see Boyle back on the right and another striker come in with speed and who can finish. A Shankland type finisher for example I reckon would have had a goal yesterday if he was in the Hibs team.
We know January we won't change much but if we can add a couple more it will really help. We have JDH and Cadden coming back from injuries but like Doidge could take a season to get anywhere near to where they were.
05-11-2023, 09:32 AM
I don't understand this rhetoric.
If NM had won every game so far we'd all be saying he's a great manager but if he's not getting results he needs his own players?
Good managers can get a tune out of a team, they don't need a whole team built for them to get results.
Don’t think it’s that straightforward. I think any manager would struggle to get much out of this squad. It’s poor and imbalanced. Klopp is an example when he went in to Liverpool, he had 3/4 of the season and only managed to get them to 8th. It was only when he got to the following summer and started getting some of his players in that he he really started to improve them. Pep went in to Man City and won nothing in his first season and had some early cup exits.
Montgomery has a pretty clear idea what he wants to do. Whether it ends up working or not who knows, but unless we are finding ourselves in serious trouble he’s going to need to be given an opportunity to implement that and it is going to include getting his own players in.
Short term he needs some results, that’s obvious. And it needs to be this week or discontent is just going to grow and grow going in to the international break.
05-11-2023, 09:39 AM
Next 4 games are really important as we play teams around us in the table. 2 home games (Aberdeen and Killie ) and 2 away games (St Mirren and Dundee)
We play St Mirren away on Wednesday.
7 points behind them already - they have a game in hand also.
We really need to get a win.
Lose that and the pressure will increase.
We are playing catch up in the league - we haven't won 2 games in a row yet in the league.
05-11-2023, 09:52 AM
Agree with this. We’ve signed about 40 players in the last couple of years and I’m still sitting here thinking we need a complete overhaul.
Be lucky if we could name 5 or 6 that have been successful or better than those they replaced.
Recruitment really has been awful.
As for NM, still too early to tell if he'll be successful with us. I think he's a bit naive and his inexperience at this level shows. Hopefully things start to improve quickly.
HendoDelivered
05-11-2023, 09:53 AM
For me, reflecting on Neil Montgomery’s short time as manager so far I am not convinced at all yet. 2 wins from 8 as someone’s mentioned isn’t amazing. However, based on the fact that he’s not had a transfer window yet it’s unfair to make a verdict on him fully yet. Maybe the players he has inherited just don’t fit his style of play at all. Who knows? So far though, I’m not convinced at all… not my first or second choice manager anyway
Don’t think we have a manager called that :greengrin
05-11-2023, 10:00 AM
Don’t think it’s that straightforward. I think any manager would struggle to get much out of this squad. It’s poor and imbalanced. Klopp is an example when he went in to Liverpool, he had 3/4 of the season and only managed to get them to 8th. It was only when he got to the following summer and started getting some of his players in that he he really started to improve them. Pep went in to Man City and won nothing in his first season and had some early cup exits.
Montgomery has a pretty clear idea what he wants to do. Whether it ends up working or not who knows, but unless we are finding ourselves in serious trouble he’s going to need to be given an opportunity to implement that and it is going to include getting his own players in.
Short term he needs some results, that’s obvious. And it needs to be this week or discontent is just going to grow and grow going in to the international break.
I disagree in part. I think there's enough quality and talent in the squad for results to have been better.
Yes any manager will likely do better if backed with a chequebook as klopp and pep have been, who knows if Montgomery will, maybe in relative terms but he's also coming in only having managed Mariners (well, it must be said). Where as klopp and pep has outstanding CVs. They also showed enough progress in their first seasons to build faith in their canvases by getting more wins than draws and losses.
Totally agree that results are needed. If he can't win games he won't last long. I think it's naive to come to a new club and expect the playing squad to adapt to how you want to play seamlessly, from both management and supporters perspective, but it's worrying we can't get wins in games we should and that there's no plan B for when things go against us.
05-11-2023, 10:04 AM
I disagree in part. I think there's enough quality and talent in the squad for results to have been better.
Yes any manager will likely do better if backed with a chequebook as klopp and pep have been, who knows if Montgomery will, maybe in relative terms but he's also coming in only having managed Mariners (well, it must be said). Where as klopp and pep has outstanding CVs. They also showed enough progress in their first seasons to build faith in their canvases by getting more wins than draws and losses.
Totally agree that results are needed. If he can't win games he won't last long. I think it's naive to come to a new club and expect the playing squad to adapt to how you want to play seamlessly, from both management and supporters perspective, but it's worrying we can't get wins in games we should and that there's no plan B for when things go against us.
Most of the teams in the league would bite your hand off for our squad.
05-11-2023, 10:06 AM
Maybe not the squad but some of our players definitely. Some of them they're welcome to.
He's here!
05-11-2023, 10:07 AM
Based on what we have seen so far. NO!
The general reaction after his first couple of games was one of delight and excitement at the feelgood factor he'd quickly instilled.
That appears to have rapidly dropped off a cliff now we've started losing.
I don't blame the manager. The players just aren't very good.
05-11-2023, 10:09 AM
I generally agree about the lack of plan B with him but I had some sympathy for him last night. When you look at that bench, there was very little he was able to do. I didn’t quite get the substitution of Vente for Landers but otherwise, there was very little we could change.
Individually I think we have the talent but collectively, they rarely seem to play well together whoever the manager. Think some of them have got away with murder this season with the focus being so much on the managers.
He's here!
05-11-2023, 10:09 AM
I doubt it.
05-11-2023, 10:14 AM
I generally agree about the lack of plan B with him but I had some sympathy for him last night. When you look at that bench, there was very little he was able to do. I didn’t quite get the substitution of Vente for Landers but otherwise, there was very little we could change.
Individually I think we have the talent but collectively, they rarely seem to play well together whoever the manager. Think some of them have got away with murder this season with the focus being so much on the managers.
I thought once adversity set in we were beaten last night even though there was time on the clock with a man advantage. That falls at the managers door for me, we panicked at a man advantage and then conceding we looked shell shock. We needed leadership.
There was inconsistency under the last manager but no doubt some good performances, some very good too, also some very poor and a lot in-between.
The last manager paid for this with his job. That'll happen with the current one if he can't get better performances and ergo results.
05-11-2023, 10:14 AM
The general reaction after his first couple of games was one of delight and excitement at the feelgood factor he'd quickly instilled.
That appears to have rapidly dropped off a cliff now we've started losing.
I don't blame the manager. The players just aren't very good.
Now we’ve started losing????? Rangers beat us at Ibrox and we lost a semi final where we were clearly the better team. I think fans need to calm the **** down and put a bit perspective on where we are in his tenure.
Hibees1973
05-11-2023, 10:17 AM
For the wages we are playing these players we should in no way be in the bottom half of the table. That's down to shocking recruitment.
Montgomery has no responsibility for the players who are here. I'm pleased he has marginalised Hanlon & Stevenson. They both went stale a good few years ago, yet the board kept handing them new contracts. Ludicrous.
He can only work with what he has and we are still paying the price for Ian Gordon's recruitment strategy prior to McDermott coming in.
I won't judge Montgomery until all the dross currently in the squad and out on loan are off the wage bill. This will take at least another 2 transfer windows.
Then once Montgomery has the players he wants, this time next year will be the time to judge him.
May21/05/216
05-11-2023, 10:18 AM
Yes he is
Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
05-11-2023, 10:23 AM
I thought once adversity set in we were beaten last night even though there was time on the clock with a man advantage. That falls at the managers door for me, we panicked at a man advantage and then conceding we looked shell shock. We needed leadership.
There was inconsistency under the last manager but no doubt some good performances, some very good too, also some very poor and a lot in-between.
The last manager paid for this with his job. That'll happen with the current one if he can't get better performances and ergo results.
For me, the way we played after the red card was more down to the players. You look at the goal, they were all over the place. I think the leadership needed to come on the park at that point. Where did the two in the middle of the park disappear to, one of which is a senior player and captain. I don’t think the manager could influence much at that point.