View Full Version : Jair Tavares

Pages : 1 [2]

05-11-2023, 06:55 PM
The guy deserves great credit for transforming his Hibs career. Long may it continue.

05-11-2023, 07:05 PM
He is doing alright after whatever LJ done to him, will take time but hes a player.

He's here!
05-11-2023, 07:24 PM
He has progressed from dire to way below average.

Not good enough. If Hibs become a successful side in the next couple of years (3rd/4th in the league and winning a cup) Tavares won't be in team. To be fair to him there are numerous other players, particularly in defence, who won't be around either.

I really don't get why some are now positive about Tavares. Have we improved with him in the team. No.

He's much improved. Think he'll continue to get better.

cameronw-hfc
08-11-2023, 10:21 PM
Thought he had their fullback on toast tonight. Really looking more like a player every game, was also there when Joe tapped it in waiting as well. Got into a few good positions off the ball and offers a decent bit defensive protection compared to Youan as well.

08-11-2023, 10:24 PM
When he was named in the team against Celtc I expected him to be the same weak, ineffective player we’d seen previously. He looks totally changed as a player, way more confident, getting stuck in and working hard for the team. Delighted to be proven wrong about him.

08-11-2023, 10:24 PM
Thought he had their fullback on toast tonight. Really looking more like a player every game, was also there when Joe tapped it in waiting as well. Got into a few good positions off the ball and offers a decent bit defensive protection compared to Youan as well.

:agree: One of the first names on the team sheet right now.

TrinityHFC
08-11-2023, 10:25 PM

Big plus for Monty definitely. Much as I quite liked Johnson his usage and treatment of him was terrible. He’s a player I always hoped would come good. Think he could go on to be really, really good.

08-11-2023, 10:25 PM
The more he plays the more of an asset he looks

Keep going Jair

I've been really impressed by his workrate too

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

08-11-2023, 10:27 PM
I thought he was pish and far too lightweight for the Scottish game. Hes been getting better and better in each game, tonight was his best imo. I think there’s more to come from him as well.

08-11-2023, 10:32 PM
He played well tonight. Put a couple right across the 6 yard line after skinning the full back but nobody there for a tap in. What I liked was that, the second time it happened, he went absolutely mental at the rest of them. Thought that was a clear sign his confidence is growing and that he’s not just there to make the numbers up now.

08-11-2023, 10:34 PM
Looks confident and wanted to take on the full back repeatedly. Got several decent crosses in from the byeline. A transformed player. Deserving of his place in the team.

Having said that, Jeggo on for Jair or Youan, rather than Levitt, would likely have seen us get the 3 points.

K-Zazu
08-11-2023, 10:36 PM
Good player

08-11-2023, 10:41 PM
One of the positives for Monty for sure - he has given the lad confidence and improved him no end in a short time. Same for Rocky.

That's one sign of a good manager, to be able to get the best out of and improve players.

He just needs wins now!!!

Mikey_1875
08-11-2023, 11:03 PM
Should have had two assists tonight.

08-11-2023, 11:11 PM
Very good again. Incredible turnaround.

JammyDoidger
09-11-2023, 05:53 AM
Looks one of our better players now tbh. Can go by a man, decent control, unlucky not to get an assist tonight, I've hammered him in the past but delighted for the guy, hopefully keeps improving. Like a new signing.

Paulie Walnuts
09-11-2023, 05:54 AM
:agree: One of the first names on the team sheet right now.

Absolutely. He’s been a massive positive for us recently.

09-11-2023, 06:18 AM
I thought he was pish and far too lightweight for the Scottish game. Hes been getting better and better in each game, tonight was his best imo. I think there’s more to come from him as well.

Kinda where I am although I still think he’s too lightweight to make a meaningful long term contribution to Hibs.

09-11-2023, 06:24 AM
Kinda where I am although I still think he’s too lightweight to make a meaningful long term contribution to Hibs.

That's bizarre. Based on what?

Fergos
09-11-2023, 06:29 AM
Skinned his man twice, easily last night but no takers for his delivery. Played well.

09-11-2023, 06:38 AM
Great to see him playing so well with confidence and a smile on his face. Getting better game by game imo.

09-11-2023, 07:20 AM
I don't think I've ever wanted a player to make it at Hibs as much as I do for Jair.

Not since Alan O'Brien anyway...

09-11-2023, 08:58 AM
I don't think I've ever wanted a player to make it at Hibs as much as I do for Jair.

Not since Alan O'Brien anyway...

I'm the same. He has really grasped his chance after hardly getting any opportunity. I'm delighted to be being proved wrong as he doesn't look lightweight now and his attitude is brilliant on the pitch. I'm hoping Melkerson could be a similar story when he comes back.

MKHIBEE
09-11-2023, 09:29 AM
I’m really pleased for the lad. He is improving with every game, hopefully he keeps on doing so, helps us to be competing at the top end of the table and gets a decent move for decent money

richard_pitts
09-11-2023, 09:44 AM
I’m really pleased for the lad. He is improving with every game, hopefully he keeps on doing so, helps us to be competing at the top end of the table and gets a decent move for decent money

I was in hospitality (I work for Digby Brown) and the St Mirren fans were talking about Jair and Campbell as our best players. I have confidence in NM to get more out of what we have. Whilst the present situation is frustrating, we were not in a position to see out games under the Johnson.

Keepthefaith
09-11-2023, 10:07 AM

I think he's basing it on trying to be proved right for having slagged him of so harshly. so many posters on here absolutely ripped Jair to threads and when he came back in were unwilling to see any of the positives in his game. folk have the right to express an opinion for sure but I worry that this polarised view of he's ***** /never make it is expressed so quickly and so unequivocally the there is the danger we chase potential good talent out of our club.

it's one thing to come back and say I was wrong but maybe folk can take a pause and be a bit more measured in their responses? can't imagine what its been like for Jair if he's heard or seen half of what has been posted about him. says a huge amount for the laddie that he's persevered and shown huge resilience. he's a player and will go on to be a very good player for us, one that we won't be able to hold on to for long if he keeps improving. he has potential to be a more rounded player than You, and I'm a big fan of youan!

09-11-2023, 10:08 AM
We need Vente in the box more often. Could Jair do the second striker / no.10 thing with Boyle and Youan wide - or is he too lightweight to be in the middle of the park?

His passing isn't anywhere near good enough for that.

09-11-2023, 10:25 AM
He's improved a lot. I said on the "Gaffer" thread that one of the positives of Montgomery has been how he has improved/instilled confidence in Jair. I think it is more confidence actually. He is more willing to take a player on. He clearly didn't get on with Johnson and I think having a Portuguese coach that he's worked with before helps massively.

He offers something a bit different on the wing compared to Boyle and Youan too. Pace is the big asset of both of them (not saying they aren't skilful too, particularly Youan). Jair doesn't look quite as quick as either of them but uses his skill to get past a man. There's less of the "oh I've beaten a man, lets go back and do it three times" that you get from Youan too.

He is still very lightweight, though and easily pushed off the ball. I'm not sure if bulking up at the gym would even improve that... I kind of think that's just the way he's built.

09-11-2023, 11:09 AM
His passing isn't anywhere near good enough for that.

Thought Jair's passing last night was very good to be fair. In particular his long range cross field to Vente then a clever pass on the left wing to Campbell.

09-11-2023, 11:30 AM
I think he's basing it on trying to be proved right for having slagged him of so harshly. so many posters on here absolutely ripped Jair to threads and when he came back in were unwilling to see any of the positives in his game. folk have the right to express an opinion for sure but I worry that this polarised view of he's ***** /never make it is expressed so quickly and so unequivocally the there is the danger we chase potential good talent out of our club.

it's one thing to come back and say I was wrong but maybe folk can take a pause and be a bit more measured in their responses? can't imagine what its been like for Jair if he's heard or seen half of what has been posted about him. says a huge amount for the laddie that he's persevered and shown huge resilience. he's a player and will go on to be a very good player for us, one that we won't be able to hold on to for long if he keeps improving. he has potential to be a more rounded player than You, and I'm a big fan of youan!

Yep, some excellent points there.

09-11-2023, 11:45 AM

Too many folk on here have played Football Manager and think they know how to manage a real team.

As I said further up the thread, if Jair's good enough for NM, he's good enough for me

09-11-2023, 12:11 PM
Shown a huge deal of footballing maturity for me.

Quick becoming a very important player for us.

Can hold the ball, can beat a man and importantly you can see him thinking.

It shouldn't ne a comparison but with Youann, there is something missing when he gets the ball. He just tries to do his tricks and not consider the consequences. Often, like last night, with catastrophic results.

Not sure he should start until he can be trusted to concentrate.

09-11-2023, 12:26 PM
His passing isn't anywhere near good enough for that. His passing is better than Campbell who was very effective last night offensively

09-11-2023, 12:32 PM
Five year contract looking a good investment now Days a lot about L J that he couldn’t get this level of performance from him . Although L J was the one that pushed to get him having scouted him for a few years so maybe he has done us a favour
If Monty can improve Youan s decision making he will add extra value to a player that has talent but needs more consistency in his game

EVENTUALLY
09-11-2023, 01:11 PM
His passing is better than Campbell who was very effective last night offensively

Until he had the simple task of taking the ball round the saints keeper and passing into an empty net to finish the game.

09-11-2023, 01:46 PM
Until he had the simple task of taking the ball round the saints keeper and passing into an empty net to finish the game.

Keeper did well to be fair.

09-11-2023, 01:48 PM
His passing is better than Campbell who was very effective last night offensively

I'm talking long term, though. Neither of them are great passers imo.

09-11-2023, 01:53 PM

Exactly. It’s a complete nonsense point to begin with.

But we’re always being told Campbell isn’t capable of playing in a midfield two, can’t pass the ball, and needs to be the furthest forward of a midfield 3, or behind the striker. Now Tavares can’t play that position because of his passing..

09-11-2023, 02:04 PM
Exactly. It’s a complete nonsense point to begin with.

But we’re always being told Campbell isn’t capable of playing in a midfield two, can’t pass the ball, and needs to be the furthest forward of a midfield 3, or behind the striker. Now Tavares can’t play that position because of his passing..

I don't think Tavares is a particularly good, creative passer, to play in a role that needs those things. I don't think Campbell is either. Why does that upset you so much?

I think Campbell can play many positions and roles. I don't think he is at all suited to playing central in a 442.

You're not being told anything. I give my opinion, same as anyone else. What is your opinion?

09-11-2023, 03:43 PM
Another decent performance from Jair, not afraid to show for the ball in tight spaces with some nice skill.

He will be judged on goals and assists in the long run but no doubt has shown improvement, such a shame on the wasted year for him.

Looked delighted with the Newell goal.

09-11-2023, 03:55 PM
Based on what I’m seeing however bizarre you might think that is.

11-11-2023, 03:59 PM
Feared the worst when he gave the ball away 3 times in the first 15 mins but really came into the game and thought he was our best player today, well done

11-11-2023, 04:06 PM
Absolutely baffling that he was cast out to the development team by the previous regime.

Another very good performance from Jair, who continues to show us what we were missing.

Up-the-slope
11-11-2023, 04:10 PM
I think he is definitely one of those players who love to be loved... but will go into his shell if being abused.. you can see when he is doing well and fans respond he is more relaxed and plays better

11-11-2023, 04:11 PM
He was broken last 20 mins. We are struggling for fit players.

11-11-2023, 04:13 PM
Killie were using every trick in the book to physically dominate us. By the end of the 90, Jair had them sussed. A big game for him, he'll have learned a lot.

11-11-2023, 04:13 PM
I think he is definitely one of those players who love to be loved... but will go into his shell if being abused.. you can see when he is doing well and fans respond he is more relaxed and plays betterTotally agree, in fact there's a few players I feel play much better when they're being supported as opposed to when they're being abused (that's too strong a word but hopefully you know what I mean!)

11-11-2023, 04:16 PM
I'm really happy for him. He looks the part, has nice feet, and seems to be grabbing his opportunity with both hands.

We need to look into why such a decent young player was hung out to dry so badly to the point where he didn't even make the pre season training squad and learn from it.

11-11-2023, 04:19 PM
I'm really happy for him. He looks the part, has nice feet, and seems to be grabbing his opportunity with both hands.

We need to look into why such a decent young player was hung out to dry so badly to the point where he didn't even make the pre season training squad and learn from it.He actually looks like he's coping physically much better now too

Look, it's early but he's now showing signs of being a good attacking threat for us

JammyDoidger
11-11-2023, 04:23 PM
I like him, he's tidy on the ball.

Willis1875
11-11-2023, 04:25 PM
I like him, he's tidy on the ball.

A lot more controlled and composed with the ball than Youan.
His passes have a bit of zip and a purpose to them

LewysGot2
11-11-2023, 04:26 PM
I think he is definitely one of those players who love to be loved... but will go into his shell if being abused.. you can see when he is doing well and fans respond he is more relaxed and plays better

The guy in front of me left him nameless throughout the game. Angry old man who needs to calm down before he hurts himself.

11-11-2023, 04:26 PM
Take a bow Jair ! I hope he writes a book one day just about his Hibs experience !

JammyDoidger
11-11-2023, 04:27 PM
A lot more controlled and composed with the ball than Youan.
His passes have a bit of zip and a purpose to them

Aye think he will chip in with a few goals too, what a turnaround, buzzing for the boy.

11-11-2023, 04:28 PM
I'd have given him away for nothing last season, said so many times here.

Just goes to sho, you shouldnt listen to muppets like me.

11-11-2023, 04:32 PM

We all get it wrong at times but not all of us are big enough to admit it 👍

JammyDoidger
11-11-2023, 04:36 PM

Also goes to show you shouldn't always just trust your managers judgement, im beginning to wonder what other players Johnson ruined, hopefully Melkersen and the likes can make as much of an impact as Jair has.

Dmas
11-11-2023, 04:40 PM
Can see the confidence growing in the guy quite right too he’s getting better every game imo I think he’s be well suited to a no.10 role rather than a wide player maybe even the deeper of a 2 in the system NM is playing but having said that he’s probably our most inform winger out the 3 just now

11-11-2023, 04:42 PM
Also goes to show you shouldn't always just trust your managers judgement, im beginning to wonder what other players Johnson ruined, hopefully Melkersen and the likes can make as much of an impact as Jair has.

Add Kenneh to that list.

11-11-2023, 04:44 PM
He looked delighted at full time again, gave the east a big applause.

supermcginn
11-11-2023, 05:10 PM
Most talented player in the squad, Johnson was an absolute fanny

USA_Hibee
11-11-2023, 05:13 PM
Really happy for him. Well done to Monty and the team. Can't wait to see how he works with the others that Johnson wrote off.

Hibs4185
11-11-2023, 05:13 PM
The boy beside us was desperate to give him abuse for any mistake.

At the end of the game he said “Tavares is my man of the match”

Deservedly so

11-11-2023, 05:18 PM
He’s going to be a POTY contender imo.

11-11-2023, 05:21 PM
Another great performance from Jair and could have easily had two goals today. Probably our most fouled player today, Killie just resorted to grabbing him.

Great to see him get a good ovation coming off, I wonder who the boo-boys will pick on now

11-11-2023, 05:21 PM
He’s going to be a POTY contender imo.

A bit OTT in my opinion but everybody to their own.

supermcginn
11-11-2023, 05:23 PM
He's plenty of ability, I enjoy watching him

11-11-2023, 05:45 PM

I agree Scoopyboy. He had an good 60 mins, then due to various reasons he kept giving the ball away repeatedly

11-11-2023, 05:54 PM
I agree Scoopyboy. He had an good 60 mins, then due to various reasons he kept giving the ball away repeatedly

Can think of one really silly one just before he was hooked but others were far far more culpable.

Another fine game and he'll improve.

11-11-2023, 05:58 PM
The turnaround in Tavares is basically a life-affirming thing. Knowing that you don’t know everything and that life can sometimes surprise you is being a well-adjusted fan :greengrin

11-11-2023, 06:09 PM
Surely won't be long until the 'Jair' is in Fifa as a skill move. That's every game he's done the defender by the slightest wee touch round them and he's gone.

Really like him and impressed with the improvement so far.

Well done young man.

cameronw-hfc
11-11-2023, 06:15 PM
That's Rocky and Jair now with two incredible turnarounds in their Hibs career.

Goes to show, sometimes players do need time to adjust and I couldn't be happier for them. Jair especially, hopefully a similar impact with Mckirdy as well when he's back.

11-11-2023, 06:15 PM
Tavares would actually make a solid attacking centre mid.

JammyDoidger
11-11-2023, 06:18 PM
Imagine if they were white and ‘home grown’

Don't get that comment?

11-11-2023, 06:19 PM

Come on, we've won let's not get into that crap.

11-11-2023, 06:20 PM
One of our few players that wants to go forward with the ball when he gets it. Means he’ll lose it a few times but he is a good attacking threat.

11-11-2023, 06:21 PM
Very very good in long spells today. I lost count the number of times he drew 3 Killie players away out of position.

Hibs4185
11-11-2023, 06:23 PM
Come on, we've won let's not get into that crap.

Bushiri has been a far better prospect than Hanlon for a while.

Efe was different class, yet labelled a ‘bombscare’

Bushiri is a ‘bombscare’.

Both are cracking players, coincidence maybe

Hibs4185
11-11-2023, 06:24 PM
Bushiri today was brilliant

11-11-2023, 06:27 PM
Tavares would actually make a solid attacking centre mid.

Agreed, def potential there.

11-11-2023, 06:29 PM

Bushiri is 10 years younger than Hanlon, of course he’s the better prospect…

He’s playing well but he’s nowhere near Efe Ambrose level, yet.

Your previous point about skin colour is just embarrassing nonsense.

11-11-2023, 06:31 PM

The stats just didn't bear that out at all regarding Rocky and Hanlon.

However, with the exceptionally dynamic approach to defending we are playing under Monty, we need his athleticism and he has really stepped up.

Efe also earned that reputation after some horror shows at Celtic.

11-11-2023, 06:31 PM

How do you explain the collective want for Jair to succeed? People were rightly critical about his performances before this season, but I've always felt the sentiment that he was well liked despite that.

It's such a 2023 tangent to take this thread on.

11-11-2023, 06:34 PM
How do you explain the collective want for Jair to succeed? People were rightly critical about his performances before this season, but I've always got the sentiment that he was well liked despite that.

Jair seems about the most popular player in the team right now. Great reception for him from the East pre match and against when he won a throw in late on. There seems a real collective desire for jim to do well.

Same is true of Rocky really. He got a lot of stock towards the end of his loan spell but after it came out that the criticism really got to him there was a real rallying around him and people wanting him to do well.

11-11-2023, 06:34 PM
imagine if they were white and ‘home grown’

wtf

11-11-2023, 06:35 PM
I have been vocal regarding tavares, just didn't see what he added, but he seems to be getting better, wasn't great in the last 20 today but he had another solid game, fingers crossed he keeps continuing

Paulie Walnuts
11-11-2023, 06:36 PM

Porteous was a bombscare as well. So is David Marshall.

11-11-2023, 06:38 PM
Porteous was a bombscare as well. So is David Marshall.

Imagine they were black

11-11-2023, 06:39 PM
I have been vocal regarding tavares, just didn't see what he added, but he seems to be getting better, wasn't great in the last 20 today but he had another solid game, fingers crossed he keeps continuing

All about confidence and trust for me. He’s a really good player technically and with each game you see his body language improving. Very young guy, cast out by an imbecile manager, possibly homesick, gets a good man manager who gives him a chance and a metaphorical cuddle - it’s like a new signing.

11-11-2023, 06:40 PM
Imagine they were black

Wtf?

11-11-2023, 06:41 PM
Though some opposition fans mock us for talking about Hibs and flair football , Jair is just the sort of player I want to see in a Hibs team . A player who entertains even if results aren`t always great . 2 great shots today , one with either foot - how many players have we had since Riordan who could shoot well with both feet ? Now he`s confident he`s opening up spaces for others in team too .

Paul1642
11-11-2023, 06:42 PM

🙄

11-11-2023, 06:42 PM
He actually looks like he's coping physically much better now too

Look, it's early but he's now showing signs of being a good attacking threat for us

Exactly what I was thinking, it is noticeable that he's learning how not to get brushed off the ball so easily. When you think about it, he's only had a handful of starts so he's learning it quite quickly.

11-11-2023, 06:46 PM
The boy is a box of tricks, only way they could stop him some of the time was to drag hin down rugby style, usual McIness type instructions to his team.
He ran out of steam a bit towards the end but I like him, he can develop so much more.

kentao
11-11-2023, 06:47 PM
Watched him in the Dev game down at Dunbar where he played ok, Missed a penalty and was hot a cold going past the full back, Then his first couple of games for the 1st team he looked miles off it, When you did notice him it was usually because he had just passed the ball to the opposition. The transformation since the Celtic game has been unreal. He looks such a gifted and composed player that puts in a shift every time hes on the pitch, The way he comes short for the ball and then turns his man every time is unbelievable, It offers us a safe out ball and could become the trigger for our counter attacks.

Hopefully he continues to grow with confidence and manages to chip in with some more goals and assists but the biggest quality for me is his fight and determination to make a career with Hibs is truly admirable.

Clarence
11-11-2023, 06:50 PM
The boy beside us was desperate to give him abuse for any mistake.

At the end of the game he said “Tavares is my man of the match”

Deservedly so

This reminds me of the last fight in Rocky IV.

11-11-2023, 07:03 PM
This reminds me of the last fight in Rocky IV.

Guy behind us kept calling him Milli Vanilli. He was also continually slagging Monty and screaming that Lee Johnson should return. I despair.

LunasBoots
11-11-2023, 07:05 PM
Tavares was a player we where developing and to me he is developing well, some fans just don't like Silky players

11-11-2023, 07:07 PM
Tavares was a player we where developing and to me he is developing well, some fans just don't like Silky players

What fans don’t like silky players?

11-11-2023, 07:08 PM
Bushiri today was brilliant

He was excellent on Wednesday too.

11-11-2023, 07:11 PM
imagine if they were white and ‘home grown’

wtaf?

11-11-2023, 07:23 PM
Absolutely baffling that he was cast out to the development team by the previous regime.

Another very good performance from Jair, who continues to show us what we were missing.

Say more about the previous regime than Jair and others.
The more time goes on you do scratch your head at what they did exactly…

11-11-2023, 07:30 PM

Aye its all been a bit fishy, the scale of which we may never find out about, Fleetwood may find out more.

11-11-2023, 07:31 PM

Than man management of Tavares previously was bizarre.

So much hype when he signed, Johnson boasting about how many teams we beat to get him, the pressure of giving him the number 10 shirt, started the opening game of last season then was quite quickly cast into the wilderness with no real plan to integrate him before he was ostracised altogether.

Montgomery has rehabilitated him in about half a dozen games which suggests there was always something there to work with.

11-11-2023, 07:32 PM
Guy behind us kept calling him Milli Vanilli. He was also continually slagging Monty and screaming that Lee Johnson should return. I despair.

Screaming for a manager back who texted players after games telling them how poor they were - I’d move seats CA before it gets ugly 😂

Anyone wanting Johnson back needs sectioned.

LunasBoots
11-11-2023, 07:32 PM

Sometimes we do other times when things go bad they seem to turn into the scapegoat

11-11-2023, 07:50 PM
He’s going to turn in to a bit of a cult hero I think.

The crowd are willing him to do well. And I think he loves it. Hope he keeps improving, think there’s more to come.

HendoDelivered
11-11-2023, 08:01 PM
Clearly and arm around thr shoulder player. Will he a baller for us.

11-11-2023, 08:01 PM
Than man management of Tavares previously was bizarre.

So much hype when he signed, Johnson boasting about how many teams we beat to get him, the pressure of giving him the number 10 shirt, started the opening game of last season then was quite quickly cast into the wilderness with no real plan to integrate him before he was ostracised altogether.

Montgomery has rehabilitated him in about half a dozen games which suggests there was always something there to work with.

Jair - in fairness understood the importance of the 10 shirt and didn’t feel ready.

In time hope he goes on to become our Portuguese Starman

https://youtu.be/spctmJo9BPg?feature=shared (https://youtu.be/spctmJo9BPg?feature=shared)

11-11-2023, 08:08 PM
Some really good play again by Jair today, some bits where it looks like he gives it away cheap but he also needs to take the risk at times.

The most annoying thing is when he tends to absolutely skin someone, they foul him with no attempt to play the ball.

Think he’ll score a decent amount over a season. Could have tapped one in midweek and then has a decent strike on him from distance, the left footed one today was a great strike.

11-11-2023, 08:15 PM

There was a "fan" near the top of the executive seats who was giving dog's abuse to everyone on the team. Luckily he's so far away from the field of play that they won't hear him.

Called the team a bunch of clowns about 10 seconds before we scored, did that stop him for the rest of the game.......answers on a postcard please

Keepthefaith
11-11-2023, 08:17 PM

maybe a lot of those on here who slated him for being too lightweight for the Scottish league? think they might have preferred some of the kill players who seem to be getting praised for such a great performance today!!

this is my point - you could see the guy had skill and was low on confidence yet folk saying he should be nowhere near the first team. by having a manager brave enough to give him his backing, and a run in the team we now see the player we all hoped he will be. he'll never be the most physical but he already looks better equipped for tackles and tracking back than both youan and Boyle, and I'm a big fan of both.

here's hoping the backing continues and he's not scapegoated when he does have a bad pass / poor game.

Skol
11-11-2023, 08:18 PM
There was a "fan" near the top of the executive seats who was giving dog's abuse to everyone on the team. Luckily he's so far away from the field of play that they won't hear him.

Called the team a bunch of clowns about 10 seconds before we scored, did that stop him for the rest of the game.......answers on a postcard please

There are too many of these fans. Calling for World Cup, passes they see from high up in the stand. Then when one is tried and fails are straight on the back of players for stupid passes.

11-11-2023, 09:32 PM
He looked lost when he arrived. I had major doubts he'd make the grade (even though that's not a high bar :wink:). Works his socks off now, and his confidence has grown. A lot more to come from him

:top marksToday!

11-11-2023, 09:35 PM
What a turn around.

He's still got a fair bit to go but showed some lovely touches today and worked hard.

Both him and Youan need to be a bit more consistent but Jair has shown a real mental toughness to work his way back into the team and has been our most creative outlet the last few games.

11-11-2023, 09:36 PM
He's went from a total lost cause to a vital player, only in my opinion BTW.
And that's why I sit in the east and not the dugout

11-11-2023, 09:40 PM
There are too many of these fans. Calling for World Cup, passes they see from high up in the stand. Then when one is tried and fails are straight on the back of players for stupid passes.

I was in front of two kids who tried to out-compete each other as to who could shout the loudest and with the most tactical complexity. Breath of fresh air tbh.

Mutu
11-11-2023, 10:22 PM

honking patter this

11-11-2023, 10:36 PM
All about confidence and trust for me. He’s a really good player technically and with each game you see his body language improving. Very young guy, cast out by an imbecile manager, possibly homesick, gets a good man manager who gives him a chance and a metaphorical cuddle - it’s like a new signing.

Great to see and agree, getting better game by game

Musselbound
11-11-2023, 10:59 PM
Amazing turnaround in this player. Can we also put to bed the growing trend he is called Ja-ir? Anyone ever heard of a player called Ja-ir-zinho? No didn't think so.

11-11-2023, 11:05 PM

He will be up there come the end of the season, who has risen from squad outcast to first name on the team sheet as quickly as Jair before?

In my opinion anyway 😂

HFC93
11-11-2023, 11:09 PM
I think Tavares deserves a lot of credit for how he has bounced back. I thought he was a complete dud but he has shut up a lot of people like me. Fair play to him.

Clarence
12-11-2023, 06:30 AM

Was Lee Johnson’s dad sitting behind you?

12-11-2023, 06:37 AM
Amazing turnaround in this player. Can we also put to bed the growing trend he is called Ja-ir? Anyone ever heard of a player called Ja-ir-zinho? No didn't think so.

That’s his name. You can hear the players shouting at him during the game.

leithsansiro
12-11-2023, 09:12 AM
I must admit that I’d written him off asa flop, based on the assumption that he must be rubbish if he’d been discarded into the development team. Suggests either a lack of judgement on Lee’s part or, potentially worse, a massive personal grudge. Makes you wonder about what goes on behind the scenes at times. When you watch Jair on the pitch, his teammates certainly don’t seem to think he’s rubbish.
Fingers crossed that both Melkerson and McKirdy demonstrate similar upturns in form when they return, as they seem to have been handled in the same way by LJ.

I’m a massive believer in players feeling the love. As someone else said earlier on the thread, Jair definitely responds noticeably better with the crowd on his side and looks as if he goes into his shell if folk are on his back.

Can never understand why a fan would actively do something to make a player feel worse about themselves. I’d hate to go into work and be told repeatedly I was rubbish.

12-11-2023, 09:19 AM
I think Tavares deserves a lot of credit for how he has bounced back. I thought he was a complete dud but he has shut up a lot of people like me. Fair play to him.

But the point is, he bounced back. People bounce back. Dennis Hopper, Rolf Harris... There are others

12-11-2023, 09:25 AM
But the point is, he bounced back. People bounce back. Dennis Hopper, Rolf Harris... There are others

Zebedee

Lewis1981
12-11-2023, 09:57 AM

Alan Partridge

12-11-2023, 10:22 AM
Alan Partridge

😂😂

12-11-2023, 12:07 PM
I certainly judged him too quickly. But now you can see he has attributes both going forward and when off the ball. My judgement was wrong about Jair but it was far worse when it came to our previous manager. An asset like Jair playing with reserves and not even stripped is a massive dereliction of duty and his current and future employers should take note

leith lynx
12-11-2023, 01:16 PM
Alan Partridge

Back of the net!

12-11-2023, 01:24 PM

What a really stupid post. Disgusting patter.

12-11-2023, 02:23 PM
Great to see the turn around in Jair. I sit near the front of the East and you literally see the confidence growing in him. His body language, his engagement with the fans, his encouraging of other players was in stark contrast to what we saw a few games ago. You have to question WTF was going on previously. It can’t be as simple as having a coach who speaks his language can it?

12-11-2023, 03:44 PM
Jair's growing into the first team, works hard and is clearly a passionate laddie.

It must be very hard to compete with the physicality of our league, just the sheer strength required to stay on the ball and resist the challenge when it comes.

He's a creative player, I'm so pleased for him that he's earned a chance and has grasped the nettle.

12-11-2023, 03:51 PM
Great to see the turn around in Jair. I sit near the front of the East and you literally see the confidence growing in him. His body language, his engagement with the fans, his encouraging of other players was in stark contrast to what we saw a few games ago. You have to question WTF was going on previously. It can’t be as simple as having a coach who speaks his language can it?

Maybe it's as simple as having coaches that can explain to players what their roles are and how they fit into the team formation and tactics. LJ did slaver a load of p1sh most of the time.

chippy
12-11-2023, 04:40 PM
Maybe it's as simple as having coaches that can explain to players what their roles are and how they fit into the team formation and tactics. LJ did slaver a load of p1sh most of the time.
Heard he didn’t appear much coaching at EM, left that to his team. He was the tactical maestro

12-11-2023, 05:44 PM
Heard he didn’t appear much coaching at EM, left that to his team. He was the tactical maestro

That explains a lot! :greengrin

Sweet Left Peg
12-11-2023, 09:32 PM
Alan Partridge

"I stand corrected" - said the man in the orthopedic shoes

13-11-2023, 06:38 AM

Agree it cant only be that though obviously it would help. Assume the biggest difference is he has been given an opportunity and encouragement and has taken it with both hands.

13-11-2023, 08:36 AM
https://youtu.be/FFNYj0r16AE?feature=shared

Think we are beginning to see the player from these clips now.
Quite excited as there is surely a lot more to come.

13-11-2023, 08:45 AM
Some of his skill/turns are brilliant.

His one in the third minute of the Killie hame was sublime. Turned the boy in one touch, left him for dead before getting a shot away.

The issue is that won’t come off every time, when it doesn’t everyone will say “keep it simple”, “too weak” etc. But there needs to be that element of risk to his game, same with Youan.

I actually feel for him still as in the past month I think he’s done the same turn (back to goal, receives it with a defender right behind him and he takes it with the outside of his right foot and spins the defender in touch) and every time he’s gone it he gets mauled down the one time he doesn’t it is going to make for some brilliant play and hopefully a goal.

He’s also brave, some of his touches under real pressure were brilliant and really helped the team get up the park.

13-11-2023, 09:05 AM
Some of his skill/turns are brilliant.

His one in the third minute of the Killie hame was sublime. Turned the boy in one touch, left him for dead before getting a shot away.

The issue is that won’t come off every time, when it doesn’t everyone will say “keep it simple”, “too weak” etc. But there needs to be that element of risk to his game, same with Youan.

I actually feel for him still as in the past month I think he’s done the same turn (back to goal, receives it with a defender right behind him and he takes it with the outside of his right foot and spins the defender in touch) and every time he’s gone it he gets mauled down the one time he doesn’t it is going to make for some brilliant play and hopefully a goal.

He’s also brave, some of his touches under real pressure were brilliant and really helped the team get up the park.

You have to be brave as unfortunately most refs don't punish blatant foul play enough as Saturday showed.