Fish
Obita
Boyle
Newell
Jeggo
Youan
Jair
Vente

Subs: Wollacott, Hanlon, Levitt, Stevenson, ALF, Delferriere, Campbell, Whittaker and Landers.

28-10-2023, 12:47 PM
Did not expect Jair to start that's for sure.

28-10-2023, 12:47 PM
Marshall
Miller
Rocky
Fish
Obita
Boyle
Newell
Jeggo
Youan
Jair
Vente

Is that the team?!?!

28-10-2023, 12:48 PM
Is that the team?!?!

Yep.

28-10-2023, 12:49 PM
Yep.

Wow. Presumably Youan or Boyle up front with Vente...

Wow.

Going for it then .

I have no words

28-10-2023, 12:50 PM
Well, there's definitely going to be goals in this game. None for us though!

28-10-2023, 12:50 PM
Oh god that team is concerning.

28-10-2023, 12:51 PM
Just a wee bit nervous looking at that.

Looks very light in midfield and I'm not sure who naturally drops back from the front 2 to help out in there.

A huge call bring Jair in, I feel for him before a ball has even been kicked because if it goes wrong then that's the decision everyone will point to.

We've been here before though with a team that looks like it will struggle on paper putting in a performance so who knows.

28-10-2023, 12:51 PM
My word Nick has some set off….

Certainly not the team I’d have picked.

…………………..Marshall……….

Miller……Fish…………Rocky….Obita…..

Yoaun……Jeggo…..Newell….Jair….

…………….Boyle…..Vente…….

I thought Jair looked good last week tbf but that was at 3-0, he also scored midweek against Sunderland. But to get chucked in against Celtic is a huge ask.

Could end up good, could be a cricket score.

Don’t back doon, double doon.

28-10-2023, 12:52 PM
Wow.

Going for it then .

I have no words

Well, there's definitely going to be goals in this game. None for us though!

I cant say I'm optimistic but lets's see what happens. Managers live and die with these types of decisions.

Is Doidge injured?

A very interesting selection today, great to see Landers on the Bench.

Is Doidge injured?

Must be

JammyDoidger
28-10-2023, 12:53 PM
I cannot believe that team, that's a sackable offence in itself😂

28-10-2023, 12:53 PM
Jair'll sort it.

28-10-2023, 12:55 PM
Forget any formation chat. Some of the players in that lineup. Cannot believe Jair is playing.

Hope I’m wrong but that lineup is hugely concerning.

28-10-2023, 12:56 PM
Jair 😂

Mikey_1875
28-10-2023, 12:56 PM
Bold. Let’s see what happens.

hibIBZ
28-10-2023, 12:57 PM
That line up is concerning, might be a stroke of genius, but 95% this has got a spanking written all over it.

28-10-2023, 12:57 PM
I cannot believe that team, that's a sackable offence in itself😂

It's exciting and good to have a manager who wants to have a go 😁

28-10-2023, 12:58 PM
Hope Boyle has Scales on toast, bet he’s still having nightmares from playing against Hibs last season
Think he was sent off in the 1st game, and I’m sure he played in the 6-0 game

The Captain....
I fear we'll really struggle today with that lineup. It's either very brave or totally naive..we'll know at FT.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

Jeezy peeps. That team against Celtics 433 is suicide.

28-10-2023, 12:59 PM
To be fair - any team against Celtic will struggle and likely end without us winning.

Why not just complete go for it at home with attacking players, especially when they’re just played a tough game against Atletico.

(Trying to be positive/convince myself here)

28-10-2023, 12:59 PM
This team is ‘Gonna take you high into the Danger Zone’

28-10-2023, 01:00 PM
That line up is concerning, might be a stroke of genius, but 95% this has got a spanking written all over it.

Unfortunately that's how I see it too, hopefully most of the posters on this thread are wrong.

I'm excited 😁

Bit of a headscratcher, don't know why he wouldn't have pushed Obita into midfield and put Lewis at LB

If Youan is up front with Vente, Jair is better at providing cover for the full back from what I’ve seen.

28-10-2023, 01:01 PM
Congrats to Josh Landers on making the bench. Good to see academy players coming through.

1875Sean
28-10-2023, 01:02 PM
If Youan is up front with Vente, Jair is better at providing cover for the full back from what I’ve seen.

Think it will be Boyle up top based on the last few games but I suppose we will find out soon enough

28-10-2023, 01:02 PM
Got to wonder what Gray thinks of this sort of approach/what his input is.

Not criticising Montgomery, just wondering if Gray would say “nope, won’t work, we’ll get battered” or if he just goes along with it

28-10-2023, 01:03 PM

Not criticising Montgomery, just wondering if Gray would say “nope, won’t work, we’ll get battered” or if he just goes along with it

Johnson picked many poorer teams than this with Gray next to him.

28-10-2023, 01:03 PM
Where are all the folk who say they'd rather have a go and lose rather than be stuffy and defensive and lose anyway?

28-10-2023, 01:05 PM
Unfortunately that's how I see it too, hopefully most of the posters on this thread are wrong.

They are most of the time 😁

Johnson picked many poorer teams than this with Gray next to him.

Agreed, I’m more just thinking what input Gray has and if he’d be listened to or if he just goes along with the managers ideas

Hibs giving Celtic a spanking hopefully!

28-10-2023, 01:06 PM
Interesting afternoôn ahead.

Tbh I’m not sure anyone is expecting anything from today. Can only hope we can compete and stay in it.

Most concerning for me is Marshall keeping his place in goal!

spudhib
28-10-2023, 01:06 PM
Hope Boyle has Scales on toast, bet he’s still having nightmares from playing against Hibs last season
Think he was sent off in the 1st game, and I’m sure he played in the 6-0 game

He was sent off in the 6-0 game too.

28-10-2023, 01:07 PM

End of the day Montgomery is the boss, I'm sure he solicits advice from others but it's ultimately his call.

He's obviously got his way of playing and it appears he'll go with it regardless of opposition. I respect that, it would have been easy to pack the midfield after getting humped last week. I do think it is naive though and most managers in Scotland soon realise that idealism has to be married with pragmatism. The ones that don't, don't last long (not a suggestion Montys job is or should be in any danger btw).

Mark05
28-10-2023, 01:09 PM
I think we should always have a go at home against the old firm.But I must admit I am a little concerned about the line up.I always hope for the best with hibs so fingers crossed it pays off come on hibs let's win today

28-10-2023, 01:10 PM
Where are all the folk who say they'd rather have a go and lose rather than be stuffy and defensive and lose anyway?

I want us to do have a go. Just don’t think we will be great at it with the personnel that’s been picked

28-10-2023, 01:11 PM
If we get a doing today the manager needs to take heed and adapt for our next game against the OF. Obviously it's an if at this point but that line up looks incredibly open.

I find starting Jair and leaving Levitt on the bench particularly bamboozling.

I might be hailing the manager a genius if we come away with something but another 0-4 or the like and he needs to go back to the drawing board.

28-10-2023, 01:12 PM

I’m here!

Fully expect us to get thumped 3 or 4 nil but would rather we try and have a go at them instead of meekly giving them things on a platter.

Still wouldn’t be starting Jair though. I’d have Campbell or Levitt instead.

I’d also be playing Vente up front with 5 in midfield and Hanlon instead of Rocky.

Don’t think it matters though. Celtic are so far ahead that I can’t see anything other than a defeat for us today.

I just want this one out the way so we can face some easier teams over the next few weeks.

Chorley Hibee
I'm more concerned that Marshall has retained his place than anything else.

It's getting beyond a joke now.

Disappointed that Montgomery hasn't shown more "balls" on this issue.

Brenda has never won at Easter Road!

28-10-2023, 01:13 PM
I think we are in for an interesting season.

Same. Really hoped Wollacott would start today

Surprising, and worrying, but just highlights what Johnson left despite the money he spent. What are the alternatives to Boyle & Youan playing every minute of every game out wide? Stevenson, which means moving your first choice left back, Tavares & maybe shoehorning Campbell out wide to run about.

Marshall seems untouchable regardless of who is in charge.

Much rather we have a go like this and lose then do a JR/LJ and sit off them and get beat comfortably.

ChicoM1875
28-10-2023, 01:14 PM

Right here! Mone the Hibees

28-10-2023, 01:14 PM

There's having a go and then there's 2 midfielders and 4 forwards against the best team in the country.

I have my doubts but will be delighted to admit I'm wrong if we come away with something. The game against Sevco should give the manager some food for thought though.

28-10-2023, 01:17 PM
Marshall
Miller
Rocky
Fish
Obita
Boyle
Newell
Jeggo
Youan
Jair
Vente

Subs: Wollacott, Hanlon, Levitt, Stevenson, ALF, Delferriere, Campbell, Whittaker and Landers.
Jeepers, dot net meltdown incoming.

28-10-2023, 01:19 PM
Miserable ****ers English, Miller, Crichton and co on Sportsound. Hoping we ram it up then today.

Stanton Spence
28-10-2023, 01:20 PM
I got sent the teams from the one football app had to check who Da viega.. was and just found out it’s Jair pretty bold call to say the least

expect a thumping

but i'd take a point right now :greengrin

Miserable ****ers English, Miller, Crichton and co on Sportsound. Hoping we ram it up then today.

English is the worst. Absolute snoozefest.

28-10-2023, 01:21 PM
Marshall
Bushiri
Jair

Am I missing something there

Frankly based on passed managers Gray has served under I think he just goes along with it, a don't rock the boat approach.

In fairness to Marshall/Montgomery, I don’t think Marshall has done much wrong since Monty came in and that’s ultimately what he’ll be getting judged on.

supermcginn
28-10-2023, 01:24 PM
Glad to see rocky In for Hanlon but Marshall starting is very disappointing, worst keeper in the league.

Marshall
Bushiri
Jair

There are another 8.

Wull
I wasn’t feeling very optimistic before, but after seeing the lineup, dear o dear, anyways Cummon the HIBEES

Frankly based on passed managers Gray has served under I think he just goes along with it, a don't rock the boat approach.

It's not within his remit to pick the team though. If the manager asks him he will provide thoughts, but why should the manager ask him - the manager is paid to select the starting eleven.

Stairway 2 7
28-10-2023, 01:31 PM
Looking at the team I'll go 2 nil Hibernian

28-10-2023, 01:32 PM
Is Josh Landers a striker?

28-10-2023, 01:35 PM

There are another 8.

Fair play 👍🏻🤣

28-10-2023, 01:35 PM
Marshall
Bushiri
Jair

Is that a haiku?

28-10-2023, 01:36 PM
Is Josh Landers a striker? Yes

28-10-2023, 01:37 PM
English is the worst. Absolute snoozefest.

Feels like he may read .net given his comments 😁

28-10-2023, 01:38 PM
I think this might be one of those days where I’ll have to avoid the meltdown on here for the rest of the day !

28-10-2023, 01:44 PM
It's not within his remit to pick the team though. If the manager asks him he will provide thoughts, but why should the manager ask him - the manager is paid to select the starting eleven.
So he is just ignored?

Curried
28-10-2023, 01:45 PM
Message to HibsTV....get Brown TF.

expresso
28-10-2023, 01:47 PM
In fairness to Marshall/Montgomery, I don’t think Marshall has done much wrong since Monty came in and that’s ultimately what he’ll be getting judged on.

Seriously?
Practically any shot on target is a goal

28-10-2023, 01:49 PM
Message to HibsTV....get Brown TF.How come?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
28-10-2023, 01:52 PM
Hoping for the best though think we will get thumped today seeing the team . Can't believe Jair is starting in a game like this when he's offered so little in games so far . Probably score now 🤞

28-10-2023, 01:53 PM
Who is in the West Upper?

About 8 or 9 camera all focussed up there taking pictures.

28-10-2023, 01:54 PM

I don’t understand how you’ve worked that out based on previous managers?

28-10-2023, 01:54 PM
That midfield will get the runaround, Jair jeeses christ and Wallacott must be humpty if that clown is still getting a game?:sofa:

28-10-2023, 01:55 PM
Green Brigade in situ. So much for the ban.

28-10-2023, 01:59 PM
Cannae believe Tavares is playing.

Hibees1973
28-10-2023, 02:00 PM
Just taking my seat in the East.
That team :confused:

Hope I'm not away too early.

28-10-2023, 02:00 PM
I guessing out of possession we revert to a 4-5-1 with Boyle working back

28-10-2023, 02:02 PM
Tavares starting is just baffling. He needs to have a good game now. Hope I'm very wrong but not sure that's a good idea...

28-10-2023, 02:03 PM
Yes

ta:aok:

Crunchie
28-10-2023, 02:04 PM
To be fair - any team against Celtic will struggle and likely end without us winning.

Why not just complete go for it at home with attacking players, especially when they’re just played a tough game against Atletico.

(Trying to be positive/convince myself here)

Curried
28-10-2023, 02:05 PM
How come?

Talking fish.

28-10-2023, 02:05 PM
So he is just ignored?

What do you mean he is just ignored? He is a coach. He doesn't pick the team.

28-10-2023, 02:10 PM
What do you mean he is just ignored? He is a coach. He doesn't pick the team.
So no input?
Just puts the cones out?

28-10-2023, 02:11 PM
Doing okay so far.

C’mon the Hibs. :flag:

Crunchie
28-10-2023, 02:12 PM
Hoping for the best though think we will get thumped today seeing the team . Can't believe Jair is starting in a game like this when he's offered so little in games so far . Probably score now 🤞
You thought we'd get thumped before the team was picked. Didn't you predict 1-5

Message to HibsTV....get Brown TF.

I’m not getting any volume

The Captain....
Quite a flat feeling in the stadium for a game against Celtic.

28-10-2023, 02:13 PM
Doing okay so far.

C’mon the Hibs. :flag:

According to Kris Boyd (I know) says it’s started as expected, all Celtic
Tho Hibs have tightened up after last week!

Hibees1973
28-10-2023, 02:14 PM
Furuhashi should have been booked there.

We won't get the ball much but Celtic do have a habit of these tactical fouls when we try and counter attack.

28-10-2023, 02:14 PM
Jesus martin! So poor there

28-10-2023, 02:15 PM
Furuhashi should have been booked there.

We won't get the ball much but Celtic do have a habit of these tactical fouls when we try and counter attack.I agree actually and thought the ref came across as someone meeting a tourist in Edinburgh and being extra helpful with directions

28-10-2023, 02:16 PM
That doesn't look good for Newell.

So no input?
Just puts the cones out?

Have you worked in an organisation with hierarchies? Of course he has influence to things and an input, but the big decisions fall to the person in charge of the team.

What do you expect him to do when Monty pins his team up on the board? Pull him up and demand changes if Gray doesn't like it??

Oh dear, Newell down with a muscle/knee injury

Wull
28-10-2023, 02:17 PM
The Celtic RB Johnson is very good, maybe we should put Jair in there just to shadow him, cause he’s no gonna beat him

That looked like Newell was done there. Surprised he's up and moving.

Anyway, 15 mins in and I think our shape has been pretty good

Celtic without a shot I don't think?

holding his left knee

28-10-2023, 02:18 PM
That looked like Newell was done there. Surprised he's up and moving.Yeah wasnt his hammy , maybe a tweak is his knee?

We aren't good enough to play like this from the back v Celtic.

Twice we have done it, twice we have payed right into trouble. That should have been a goal there.

Make that 3 times......

Aside from that we have been very good.

Rocky isn’t very good.

28-10-2023, 02:19 PM

Twice we have done it, twice we have payed right into trouble. That should have been a goal there.

Make that 3 times......

Yeah, it's weird. Don't get it.

looks ok

That looked a sore one to say the least. You heard the impact.

28-10-2023, 02:20 PM
slack from rocky

Up-the-slope
28-10-2023, 02:20 PM
Did I hear right - Marshall not taking kicks but Rocky is (badly)... :confused: surely not at this level. Just asking for pressure

28-10-2023, 02:21 PM

Make that 3 times......

Aside from that we have been very good.

I said it was a problem following Ibrox and people bizarrely thought it wasn't. You are as well lumping it than giving it away inside the Celtic Final third.

28-10-2023, 02:21 PM
That looked a sore one to say the least. You heard the impact.Absolutely blootered in the face there

Jair mightn't be able to beat him but Rocky might've..... [emoji6]

Hibees1973
28-10-2023, 02:22 PM
The Celtic RB Johnson is very good, maybe we should put Jair in there just to shadow him, cause he’s no gonna beat him

Kind of says it all.

Our winger trying mark their RB out of the game.

Rocky isn’t very good.

He's got all the right attributes. Needs to be more assured on the ball and use his physicality when under pressure instead of just lumping it away.

Need Jeggo more mobile in possesion. Only Newell as an outball in the centre of midifield for the defence.

Kind of says it all.

Our winger trying mark their RB out of the game.I don't think either of our wingers are trying to do that - well, they will but that's not there only job

28-10-2023, 02:24 PM
Kind of says it all.

Our winger trying mark their RB out of the game.

Looks like he succeeded. The guy's done.

Mad that Johnson came back on there. Guy doesn't know what day of the week it is.

Things going okay so far.

This thread would have twice as many pages if Celtic were 1 up.

Nae news is gid news.

28-10-2023, 02:25 PM
Johnson falls over after coming back on obviously concussed

28-10-2023, 02:26 PM
Ralston for Johnson - a significant downgrade at RB - Elie should get some joy if he's sharp

28-10-2023, 02:27 PM
Does Jair know we are in green?:rolleyes:

Dmas
28-10-2023, 02:28 PM
Football is in a place with head knocks some teams use it to break up play IMO and then situations like that where he should be off and getting checked right away he comes back on

28-10-2023, 02:28 PM

Genuinely can't fault his effort. Almost every time he has lost it he has chased it down and won it back a few times but it's just not happening for him on the ball.

And again with the goal kick. Suicidal stuff.

Up-the-slope
28-10-2023, 02:29 PM
Mad that Johnson came back on there. Guy doesn't know what day of the week it is.

does seem poor from doc.. hope hes OK. defo not worth risk

Dalkeith Boy
28-10-2023, 02:30 PM

I absolutely do not see what NM sees in Jair.

28-10-2023, 02:31 PM
Jair's looked fine.

28-10-2023, 02:32 PM

Nae news is gid news.
Don't worry, fingers will be poised over keyboards, just waiting.

Up-the-slope

Nae news is gid news.

These ****ing goal kicks man. Every single one is a **** show. ****ing stop it.

What are we doing with goal kicks?

28-10-2023, 02:33 PM
**** sake Marshall

Enough of this passing it out the box *****

Fuzzywuzzy
**** me gently

Jeezy peeps man

[emoji23]

Gives me the fear

Jair's looked fine.
Just goes to show, 3 posts re Jair everyone different.

Off the bar
It’d be better to concede a corner that get a goal kick if we keep up at this.

It's a disc race !!!!!!!

Note - jair passed to a green shirt there

Genuinely can't fault his effort. Almost every time he has lost it he has chased it down and won it back a few times but it's just not happening for him on the ball.

And again with the goal kick. Suicidal stuff.
Effort should be a given, but jeesus christ we play in green, if he's not being brushed off the ball easily, he's giving the ball away when its an easy pass to one of our players. :confused:

28-10-2023, 02:34 PM
Note - hair passed to a green shirt there

Can this be his new nickname

28-10-2023, 02:35 PM
Great to see Monty want to play it out of the back but only when he has players capable of doing it in tight situation, apart from that we've done quite well and our defensive shape is good, Celtic only having shots from distance so far.

Fuzzywuzzy
Jair had some good passes and some bad ones. He lost the ball and won it back a couple of seconds later. Youan lost the ball and just stopped doing anytthing

Dalkeith Boy
Marshall should substitute himself. NOW!

CL0762
Genuinely think some around me are going to burst blood vessels if we do that goal kick routine again.

28-10-2023, 02:36 PM

We somehow got away with it last week ( seems strange to say despite losing 4 nowt) Manager has to put a stop to it.

Genuinely think some around me are going to burst blood vessels if we do that goal kick routine again.

No lies detected.

Playing well otherwise though.

Genuinely think some around me are going to burst blood vessels if we do that goal kick routine again.I enjoy it

Better to work on it and get better than just start blootering it

Oh I know. Hopefully the game doesn’t get to the stage where we’re welcoming the usual suspects 👍

Getting to half time would be a starter.

What on earth! Don't play out from the back Hibs. You are not Man City!

There goes the myth that Sunday lunch time KOs affect the crowd, there must only be about 16 or 17 thousand here today.

Hibs playing no bad but some silly mistakes being made. But today is tough without that kind of nonsense

No sure if the celtic fans have sung an actual football song yet.

28-10-2023, 02:37 PM
Jair finds himself in some really good positions, just a bit slow/not sharp sometimes.

Prefer him off the left, think he looks a lot more comfortable

Marshall should substitute himself. NOW!

He, like David Gray, doesn’t make those decisions.

We somehow got away with it last week ( seems strange to say despite losing 4 nowt) Manager has to put a stop to it.No he doesn't and he won't

It's how he wants us to play and he won't change that

It's up to them and the coaching staff to make us better at it

There goes the myth that Sunday lunch time KOs affect the crowd, there must only be about 16 or 17 thousand here today.

Hibs playing no bad but some silly mistakes being made. But today is tough without that kind of nonsense

They don’t do football songs

I’m no sure they’ve got any?!

Up-the-slope
28-10-2023, 02:38 PM
Effort should be a given, but jeesus christ we play in green, if he's not being brushed off the ball easily, he's giving the ball away when its an easy pass to one of our players. :confused:
Exactly the same things were said about Yohan in his first 10/12 games..... we recruit at a level where players need time to bed in and get up to speed...

Presumably the manager is seeing enough in training to justify his inclusion?

Crap game so far with very little happening at either end.

Hibees1973
That was absolutely disgraceful from that kick out. Bushiri taps it to Marshall then a total sh*t storm.

Almost gave a goal away then Bushiri high fives Marshall.

Embarrassing stuff from a coaching point of view.

Not good enough, from our coaches and the players we have available.

Suicidal stuff.

28-10-2023, 02:39 PM
He, like David Gray, doesn’t make those decisions.

28-10-2023, 02:40 PM
That was absolutely disgraceful from that kick out. Bushiri taps it to Marshall then a total sh*t storm.

Almost gave a goal away then Bushiri high fives Marshall.

Embarrassing stuff from a coaching point of view.

Not good enough, from our coaches and the players we have available.

Suicidal stuff.Cannie believe rocky didn't give marsh the full blown Porto treatment

That would've helped

We somehow got away with it last week ( seems strange to say despite losing 4 nowt) Manager has to put a stop to it.

If it's the way the manager wants to play then you have to persevere.

If you stop anything adventurous because it's risky then you'll never form a play style.

No he doesn't and he won't

It's how he wants us to play and he won't change that

It's up to them and the coaching staff to make us better at it

No issue with him using it most weeks. But against Rangers and Celtic it's madness, particularly when your goalie has slippers on his feet.

cubehindthegoal
It's exciting and good to have a manager who wants to have a go 😁

Agree … and also … I’m not too worried about what formation he feels is the best … put it this way, I don’t think it would weaken Celtic’s chances of winning the match if they played 4-4-2.

it’s the quality of players and coaching of their roles that count, and I think our manager has the latter … he maybe doesn’t have the former yet though, as this is an inherited squad … let him replace players over the next year or two, then judge.

Meantime I’ll enjoy watching what he is trying to do with players that he has here, and how it develops as he signs new ones and moves others on. And hopefully now we might find out over the coming year if we actually do have some players in development that are capable of being good enough, as he seems to look at every player and formation to back the first team.

28-10-2023, 02:42 PM
If it's the way the manager wants to play then you have to persevere.

If you stop anything adventurous because it's risky then you'll never form a play style.

It's more important to recognise that we are playing ourselves into trouble than stick with an ideology that isn't working "just because."

28-10-2023, 02:42 PM
Cannie believe rocky didn't give marsh the full blown Porto treatment

That would've helped

The other problem with that is Porto made more mistakes than most so ended up looking like a clown when doing so.

28-10-2023, 02:43 PM
Take 0-0 at HT. Keep it tight.

28-10-2023, 02:43 PM
The two sides of David Marshall

badabing67
28-10-2023, 02:44 PM
Marshall does my nut in

28-10-2023, 02:45 PM
The other problem with that is Porto made more mistakes than most so ended up looking like a clown when doing so.Rocky though....lol

28-10-2023, 02:45 PM
marshall makes up for his fumble

28-10-2023, 02:46 PM
Marshal done terrific there to be fair

I thought he mucked it up initially but replay shows he done very well

Hibees1973
28-10-2023, 02:46 PM
How come none of our defenders can control a ball and pick out a player.

Bushiri again, passing the ball out of the park.

Celtic very poor today, but I still have little hope we will even get a point.

28-10-2023, 02:47 PM
Cannie believe rocky didn't give marsh the full blown Porto treatment

That would've helped

You love a sarcastic dig at fellow fans eh.

Poster was just sharing his thoughts ffs.

1875M
28-10-2023, 02:47 PM
He’s clearly got a system of playing (442) and a way of playing out from the back that he wants. He’s not going to change. Not saying I agree with it, but he won’t change. He’s trying to get the players to buy into a system and way of playing and if he suddenly goes 2 months in ‘by the way, when we play the more difficult teams, we actually don’t do this anymore’, he looks silly to the players. He’s got a way of playing and he’s clearly going to live or die by it.

28-10-2023, 02:48 PM
Exactly the same things were said about Yohan in his first 10/12 games..... we recruit at a level where players need time to bed in and get up to speed...

Presumably the manager is seeing enough in training to justify his inclusion?

Hope you are right, but dont see it myself.

Rocky though....lol

I mean yeah... In fariness though I'd argue Porto was making more mistakes than Rocky for a spell before he eventually left.

Am I the only one that thinks we’re playing pretty well?

Putting ourselves in trouble by playing out but other than that I think it’s been a good first half and we look alot more compact/organised in our 442.

28-10-2023, 02:49 PM
A bit more compact than last week, but Marshall passing out the back is not inspiring confidence.

Crunchie
28-10-2023, 02:50 PM
Ain't that the truth :agree:

Dmas
How did ralston not get booked there? Sold himself and pulled the man down

That's twice we've tried to break from midfiled with a player getting taken out with no booking. Get ready for a yellow for the same thing when we do it.

28-10-2023, 02:51 PM

Putting ourselves in trouble by playing out but other than that I think it’s been a good first half and we look alot more compact/organised in our 442.Yep, see through the next 2 mins at 0-0 HT and who can argue with that

Given the shock with the starting 11 we have hardly given a chance to Celtic

even sellick commentator is wondering why that wasn't a booking for ralston

He’s clearly got a system of playing (442) and a way of playing out from the back that he wants. He’s not going to change. Not saying I agree with it, but he won’t change. He’s trying to get the players to buy into a system and way of playing and if he suddenly goes 2 months in ‘by the way, when we play the more difficult teams, we actually don’t do this anymore’, he looks silly to the players. He’s got a way of playing and he’s clearly going to live or die by it.

He's not going to look silly to the players for employing slightly different tactics against the two best teams in the league.

badabing67

Putting ourselves in trouble by playing out but other than that I think it’s been a good first half and we look alot more compact/organised in our 442.

No I think we have been doing ok so far, getting a bit concerned about the lack of chances we have been creating in the last couple of games

Two high quality footballing sides just cancelling each other out.

Think we have been pretty good.

Shape is decent, work rate is good and Celtic created nothing of real note themselves until the last couple of minutes of the half (normal time). We have had a couple of half chances without looking really threatening.

We have gifted them chances though by trying to do things that are beyond our ability. No one wants to see aimless punts but triangles in your own box is for the games where we are the dominant side, being forced into a rushed pass or aimless lob into the centre of the park 30 yards from goal is suicide v Celtic. The few times we did it was like Tranmere doing it v Man City. Once we parked it and started knocking a pass 40 or 50 yards from the dead ball we actually created 2 half decent opportunities.

We are well worthy of being level though and you always feel you will get a chance against this Celtic team. They are ropey at the back.

28-10-2023, 02:52 PM
You love a sarcastic dig at fellow fans eh.

Poster was just sharing his thoughts ffs.What are you talking about?

Calling them a disgrace is hardly reasonable lol

Up-the-slope
28-10-2023, 02:52 PM
Hope you are right, but dont see it myself.

I don't have a crystal ball and don't know if he will cut it.... but judging after 2/3 games has been shown with others players to be incorrect so i'm prepared to be a bit more patient

28-10-2023, 02:53 PM
even sellick commentator is wondering why that wasn't a booking for ralstonIt's 2 counter attacks he stopped with fouls too

An easy booking and it puts him on a knife edge for the rest of the game

It's more important to recognise that we are playing ourselves into trouble than stick with an ideology that isn't working "just because."

Not sure I agree.

Like Ange speaks about, he wants his players to be brave and doesn't care if they make mistakes that lose goals. Have to be give trust and let your players make mistakes. Prefer that to the team playing within themselves and never taking risks even if it does cause us to look dodgy at times.

Ht 0-0

Hibees1973
How did ralston not get booked there? Sold himself and pulled the man down

100%. Shocking.

It's happened 2 or 3 times with Hibs on the counter attack.

We ain't getting nothing here today.

Even if it's 0-0 with 10 mins to go would put my mortgage on them getting a pen.

28-10-2023, 02:54 PM
Doing all right.
Couple of shaky moments but still in it.
Good to see Jair getting stuck in.
Vente with some great touches.

28-10-2023, 02:54 PM
Not sure I agree.

Like Ange speaks about, he wants his players to be brave and doesn't care if they make mistakes that lose goals. Have to be give trust and let your players make mistakes. Prefer that to the team playing within themselves and never taking risks even if it does cause us to look dodgy at times.

If your team are winning every week then that's fair enough.

28-10-2023, 02:55 PM
It's 2 counter attacks he stopped with fouls too

An easy booking and it puts him on a knife edge for the rest of the game

he's still got a couple of more warnings to get before it comes to the seriousness of a booking

28-10-2023, 02:55 PM
I’m actually really looking forward to see what Montgomery can do with his own players in.

I see a lot of positives about what we do, just needs to click a bit more and have some players more suited.

Think Obita is having a good game.

28-10-2023, 02:56 PM

We’ve been fine. They’ve barley ripped us to pieces and nearly every chance has been as a result of trying to give them the ball in our own box.

The Captain....
Pretty poor first half generally but we've been well organised. Celtic look most dangerous when we shoot ourselves in both feet trying to pass out from the back with players who just aren't capable of it.

If your team are winning every week then that's fair enough.

Which the Celtic team weren’t doing when he first went in playing his style, but they learned

A good shape and making it hard for Celtic, Rodgers will want them to up to the tempo a bit in the second half.

will need to play like that again second half and hopefully a little more going forward.

Think we have been pretty good.

Shape is decent, work rate is good and Celtic created nothing of real note themselves until the last couple of minutes of the half (normal time). We have had a couple of half chances without looking really threatening.

We have gifted them chances though by trying to do things that are beyond our ability. No one wants to see aimless punts but triangles in your own box is for the games where we are the dominant side, being forced into a rushed pass or aimless lob into the centre of the park 30 yards from goal is suicide v Celtic. The few times we did it was like Tranmere doing it v Man City. Once we parked it and started knocking a pass 40 or 50 yards from the dead ball we actually created 2 half decent opportunities.

We are well worthy of being level though and you always feel you will get a chance against this Celtic team. They are ropey at the back.
Could it be that the work Montgomery & his coaches are doing on the training ground is starting to bear fruit.

28-10-2023, 02:57 PM
If your team are winning every week then that's fair enough.Ange was starting to be labelled a dud about 5 or 6 games into the season - but his team learned

As we will, hopefully

28-10-2023, 02:57 PM
Kept our shape well and kept Celtic at bay for the most part. Would like to see us string a few more passes together with better decision making up top. Marshall and Rocky have looked pretty clumsy at times with a few too many misplaced passes. Most of it coming from trying to play out from the back. However they've looked alright defensively as a unit when dealing with Celtics attacks.

Feel like Vente is going to have to drop back a little to lay the ball off to Boyle or Youan if we're going to get anything form this outside the run of play.

Would be looking to bring Levitt aty some point.

Dmas
28-10-2023, 02:58 PM
He's not going to look silly to the players for employing slightly different tactics against the two best teams in the league.

It’s got to be flexible as well they are pressing the goal kick because they know it’s going short each time, we have to have another option for it

Crunchie
I’m actually really looking forward to see what Montgomery can do with his own players in.

I see a lot of positives about what we do, just needs to click a bit more and have some players more suited.

Think Obita is having a good game.
Me too, Miller is having a good game as well.

be nice if Brendan Rodgers record at ER remains intact at the end of this :cb

28-10-2023, 02:59 PM
That's twice we've tried to break from midfiled with a player getting taken out with no booking. Get ready for a yellow for the same thing when we do it.

Yup, exactly what I was thinking.

CathroMustStay
28-10-2023, 02:59 PM

Based on the 1st half, Hibs fans don't do any songs.

Terrible atmosphere from our point of view.

28-10-2023, 03:00 PM
Which the Celtic team weren’t doing when he first went in playing his style, but they learned

More to do with the fact they out spent the rest of the league by millions and had by far and away the best players in the league.

28-10-2023, 03:01 PM
Take-aways from the 1st half... Jair's 'dummy' with only Hart in front of him, and no Hibs player behind him... and having to mute the sound because the constant dirge from the sellick fans is giving me a headache

28-10-2023, 03:01 PM
Playing ok, if I was going to change anything it would be taking jair off, get Boyle out wide and bring le fondre on

Up-the-slope
28-10-2023, 03:02 PM
Must be first time We have played Celtic in an age where McGregor has not totally run the game in the middle - what do folks think. Is he having an off day or is our shape and organisation denying him the space?

28-10-2023, 03:02 PM
Not an overly bad first half from a Hibs point of view.

28-10-2023, 03:03 PM
Is that right, Celtic 7 fouls?

0 bookings ofcourse

Coach Jon
Celtic have looked very leggy, not much enthusiasm to play a high press, any chances they have had have been down to silly mistakes and gifts from us.
A good chance to get a result, but we are rarely getting forward, Vente and Youan have hardly touched the ball.

Ange was starting to be labelled a dud about 5 or 6 games into the season - but his team learned

As we will, hopefully

See my post above.

No one here is labelling Monty a dud either. Just concerned about using these tactics against clearly superior teams. We have played well apart from that today,

Must be first time We have played Celtic in an age where McGregor has not totally run the game in the middle - what do folks think. Is he having an off day or is our shape and organisation denying him the space?

Probably more of the latter IMO.

Hibees1973
No doubt Celtic are poor today.

However, most shots they have had on goal are a result of us phannying about at the back.

It concerns me long term if Montgomery continues with this. I can understand him doing this, but only after recruiting calmer defenders able to control the ball in tight areas and pick out a player with an accurate pass.

All our defenders today have been caught in possession and put us under pressure. Clear as well that even when they have time of the ball they still cannot pick out a player. In the 1st half Bushiri has done this at least 3 times and Obita a couple of times.

Montgomery must see things that most of us don't.

28-10-2023, 03:04 PM
Playing quite well, keeping our shape and giving them a game, far better than last week, so far so good.

28-10-2023, 03:05 PM
I think our shape has been largely excellent

Just goes to show that you can play with alot of attacking players but if they follow the game plan can still form a decent off the ball defensive shape

The struggle is how we get better with the ball

HarpOnHibee
28-10-2023, 03:05 PM
Not nearly as poor as the previous game. Not sure how much of that is down to us or Celtic just being lacklustre in attack. We really need to cut out the nonsense at the back though. We're not going to score a 50 pass master class goal against Celtic, a few passes up to the other end of the field on the break will do.

Donegal Hibby
28-10-2023, 03:07 PM
You thought we'd get thumped before the team was picked. Didn't you predict 1-5

Yeah I did mate TBF I did think we would get thumped. Pleasantly surprised with us in the first half . Been much better than the last game . Hopefully more of the same 2nd half 🤞

cubehindthegoal
28-10-2023, 03:08 PM

This is it … as you can see at Spurs, his style is creating the wins, and not the other way about.

28-10-2023, 03:09 PM
We need to get Levitt on in that midfield.

28-10-2023, 03:10 PM
This is it … as you can see at Spurs, his style is creating the wins, and not the other way about.

Oh come on the comparisons with Ange are laughable. We have no idea if Monty is going to come good or not yet. If he does then there might ne some validity in mentioning Ange.

Green Reaper
28-10-2023, 03:12 PM
Maybe Levitt at some point to try and make a defence splitting pass?

Crunchie
We need to get Levitt on in that midfield.
We're doing fine in midfield atm

That ball to Miler is on every time for Marshall and he's finding it as well.

cubehindthegoal
28-10-2023, 03:13 PM
I think our shape has been largely excellent

Just goes to show that you can play with alot of attacking players but if they follow the game plan can still form a decent off the ball defensive shape

The struggle is how we get better with the ball

That’s all true. And I think that struggle is the part where we need to be patient … some players in, some out, and some youth players getting a chance over the coming year or two…

cubehindthegoal
28-10-2023, 03:15 PM
Oh come on the comparisons with Ange are laughable. We have no idea if Monty is going to come good or not yet. If he does then there might ne some validity in mentioning Ange.

It’s not a comparison, it’s a recognition that a style can work in time, given changes of players, and quite simply, practice.

28-10-2023, 03:15 PM
Great ball by Obita. Boyles unlucky, just half a yard too far ahead of him. Said it though we will get chances. That Scales is a huddy.

28-10-2023, 03:16 PM
Boyle has to finish that, what a ball in

Dmas
28-10-2023, 03:16 PM
What a ball in from obita that was

28-10-2023, 03:17 PM
Unlucky Boyle.

HarpOnHibee
28-10-2023, 03:17 PM
Cracking ball in. Boyle just needs to open his body up and it's in the net.

Hibees1973
28-10-2023, 03:18 PM
Boyle WTF.

Games turn on moments like that.

28-10-2023, 03:19 PM
It’s not a comparison, it’s a recognition that a style can work in time, given changes of players, and quite simply, practice.

So why bring Ange in to it? Just because it worked for Ange with huge transfer budgets doesn't mean it will necessarily work for us.

It's like me bringing in another different manager who stubbornly persisted with a style of play that never worked.

cubehindthegoal
28-10-2023, 03:20 PM
Unlucky Boyle, good football.

28-10-2023, 03:21 PM
turnbull & Forrest coming on for the visitors

cubehindthegoal
28-10-2023, 03:22 PM
So why bring Ange in to it? Just because it worked for Ange with huge transfer budgets doesn't mean it will necessarily work for us.

It's like me bringing in another different manager who stubbornly persisted with a style of play that never worked.

The point is the style creates the wins … to say it’s ok playing that style when you’re winning makes no sense. The managers teams style comes first, not the wins.

28-10-2023, 03:23 PM
We seem to be playing a higher line the last few minutes. Not sure on the wisdom of that with Kyogo's pace but we'll see.

28-10-2023, 03:25 PM
We're doing fine in midfield atm

I'd like us to do a bit more than fine, thats why i want Levitt on.

Up-the-slope
28-10-2023, 03:26 PM
our subs will be key... as will be pressuring the Celtic FB's who are on Yellows with pace

28-10-2023, 03:27 PM
We're playing pretty damn good!