View Full Version : Hibs fans mock Ibrox Disaster
22-10-2023, 11:32 AM
This has got me angrier the more I think about it. 66 football fans died, regardless if their team, that is horrific. To then mock them when the liklihood is that your parents may not even have been born when it happened is a disgrace and if they have any self awareness they will be ashamed of their actions. A very long ban is needed and in all liklihood a court appearance will be on its way and dismissed from their employment. What a lesson to be learnt
It has also made me angry as it allows the hun to take some kind of moral stance that they are the victims when we all know the reality of what has happened for decades with complicit actions from police, football authorities and their own club.
22-10-2023, 11:35 AM
This has got me angrier the more I think about it. 66 football fans died, regardless if their team, that is horrific. To then mock them when the liklihood is that your parents may not even have been born when it happened is a disgrace and if they have any self awareness they will be ashamed of their actions. A very long ban is needed and in all liklihood a court appearance will be on its way and dismissed from their employment. What a lesson to be learnt
It has also made me angry as it allows the hun to take some kind of moral stance that they are the victims when we all know the reality of what has happened for decades with complicit actions from police, football authorities and their own club.
and our own club. Our club do nothing to deal with sectarianism and racism. If they did, Rangers fans would've been banned from Easter Road years ago. Hibs and our owners enable sectarianism.
It has also made me angry as it allows the hun to take some kind of moral stance that they are the victims when we all know the reality of what has happened for decades with complicit actions from police, football authorities and their own club.Absolute numpties and should be f all to do with our club.
Those that can be identified might well end up spending a lot of time looking over their shoulders.
I see Celtic have banned the Green Brigade from their next three away games, including Easter Road. If the Block 7 guys are proven responsible for repeated bad behaviour, the club will be left with no option but to take similar action. It would be a shame, but we can’t tolerate stuff like yesterday.
22-10-2023, 11:41 AM
Just seen the image of the block 7 boy. Surely this puts to bed any relocation of real Hibernian fans who currently sit in the FFL?
It shouldn’t IMO. People seem to think the section was for them, it wasn’t and isn’t, it’s just where they were wanting to sit but it was never exclusively to be there’s or anything like that. Should still be a discussion to be had.
They’ve created a divide between themselves and the wider support though and hopefully, after yesterday, we can get rid of them. They just piss folk off week in, week out at away games.
h1bs4life
22-10-2023, 11:42 AM
He knew what he was doing and what the consequences might be but the hatred towards Hibs fans this morning means there’s a real risk that one or more of the 99% decent fans who are appauled by this behaviour will take a beating in retaliation.
More than likely that will happen , the action of a handful of morons could have serious consequences for others .
No doubt when they were sticking some of the posters on cars there was no one else about.
22-10-2023, 11:46 AM
Could the club ban balaclavas in the stadium? :dunno:
22-10-2023, 11:47 AM
They were banned at an away game last season I’m sure. St Mirren maybe
22-10-2023, 11:49 AM
Please don’t go naming individual fans on here in connection with this. Thanks.
Why not? The guy I named is the leader of Block 7. I didn’t say he was involved yesterday. He is well known and anyone who goes to the games will recognise him with his neck tattoos and flat cap. This guy has questions to answer.
22-10-2023, 11:51 AM
and our own club. Our club do nothing to deal with sectarianism and racism. If they did, Rangers fans would've been banned from Easter Road years ago. Hibs and our owners enable sectarianism.
100% Hibs and every other club who allow them to do what they have always done are guilty by doing nothing. But sadly yesterday isn't about them it's about our own fans. Weed them out and then move onto what the hun, and celtic, followers get up to. At least celtic seem to be doing something about the green brigade fannies
LunasBoots
22-10-2023, 12:06 PM
Moronic behaviour at Ibrox didn't begin yesterday, or with Block7. It's a couple of seasons since I was last there, & there were loads of 66 shouts etc then, many from people well into their 30s at least.
Silly wee boy, been named on some Rangers forums aswell.
mcohibs
22-10-2023, 12:14 PM
The pond life responsible for this should never set foot in a Scottish football stadium for the rest of their lives. That’s not a harsh punishment, it’s the bare minimum. Hope they get an absolute doing.
BobbyT1875
22-10-2023, 12:17 PM
Agreed . And beak up B7. Once again they all seem to get tickets together in their preferred areas . I turned up and were in my seats . Normally ld move them but couldn’t be bothered with hassle yesterday
22-10-2023, 12:17 PM
Two wrongs don’t make a right. Just look at the Middle East
22-10-2023, 12:21 PM
Just seen the image of the block 7 boy. Surely this puts to bed any relocation of real Hibernian fans who currently sit in the FFL?
Nah mate this is the one guy who sits with Block 7, wears Block 7 insignia and claims to be part of Block 7 who isn't actually part of Block 7. False flag mate. Just hingers on trying to tarnish our good reputation. Probably a Hun who somehow bought tickets for the Hibs end. It's a conspiracy. Etc
22-10-2023, 12:29 PM
Agreed . And beak up B7. Once again they all seem to get tickets together in their preferred areas . I turned up and were in my seats . Normally ld move them but couldn’t be bothered with hassle yesterday
Happened to a friend too, went to his seats and they were taken. What gives them the right to sit where they want?
22-10-2023, 12:39 PM
Two wrongs don’t make a right. Just look at the Middle East
Not at all.
Ban the **** Hibs fans from yesterday.
Ban the **** Rangers fans from the last 150 years.
LewysGot2
22-10-2023, 12:43 PM
Nah mate this is the one guy who sits with Block 7, wears Block 7 insignia and claims to be part of Block 7 who isn't actually part of Block 7. False flag mate. Just hingers on trying to tarnish our good reputation. Probably a Hun who somehow bought tickets for the Hibs end. It's a conspiracy. Etc
I've now seen other images of that individual in that area and he's also wearing a B7 jacket. I mean hingers on getting jackets - must've got lucky and just found it, eh?
These dafties - including the 50 year olds hinging about with them - have only made it harder for us all. It's no joy going there at the best of times but these idiots have put a bigger target on all our backs now. They don't care though. They don't care when they take over the seats of other fans and displace them like selfish wee boys. They don't care for the reputation of the club and the wider support. They don't care they've actually made it harder for us to hold the bigotted behemoth to account.
They've been emboldened I think by the club giving them daft opportunities like letting off pyro at training sessions - that was a WTF moment- and them turning a blind eye to the damage at the likes of Motherwell away. Apparently that was hingers on, too.
Hibs fans aren't some homogeneous political entity- there may be some views many folk share but the football isn't the place for playing out these things.
Any adults linked to them need to do the adult bit.
22-10-2023, 12:48 PM
Happened to a friend too, went to his seats and they were taken. What gives them the right to sit where they want?
The club have known about this happening for months and need to look at themselves and what they can do better to address anti social behaviour by the Hangers On club.
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 12:50 PM
Not defending anyone before I get shot down , but can anyone honestly look at themselves and say they haven’t done something wrong in their lives in the past and learnt from it ?
We have all sang songs done stuff we wouldn’t normally do on a day to day basis. Young lads need to be educated and allowed to grow up . We are all to quick nowadays to act on and hound people out because we see ourselves as better or more mature than those that have made a massive mistake time to unite and support educate rather than persecute them . Ggtth 🇳🇬
22-10-2023, 12:52 PM
Not defending anyone before I get shot down , but can anyone honestly look at themselves and say they haven’t done something wrong in their lives in the past and learnt from it ?
We have all sang songs done stuff we wouldn’t normally do on a day to day basis. Young lads need to be educated and allowed to grow up . We are all to quick nowadays to act on and hound people out because we see ourselves as better or more mature than those that have made a massive mistake time to unite and support educate rather than persecute them . Ggtth 🇳🇬
Normally I'd agree with you, but to mock the death of 66 innocent people is hideous behaviour.
They'll be severe consequences for those involved and rightfully so.
BobbyT1875
22-10-2023, 12:54 PM
The club have known about this happening for months and need to look at themselves and what they can do better to address anti social behaviour by the Hangers On club.
Interesting they know. Weird hibs don’t take action. Celtic have banned Green Brigade for next three away games. Hopefully, they won’t be at ER on Saturday. Be interesting if Hibs follow suit,
22-10-2023, 12:54 PM
I’m feeling quite angry this morning that my kids and I are likely to have to find alternative seats from the ones we currently have for this group.
It just doesn’t feel right.
22-10-2023, 12:57 PM
Have I done daft things? Aye a lot of them, however I've never specifically went out my way to get stickers printed to mock dead football fans, there definitely is a perceived "edginess" in the social media age that means folk are going for more shock value and one upmanship, either way at 14 or 44 my dad would hand me my arse for having done something like that
Interesting they know. Weird hibs don’t take action. Celtic have banned Green Brigade for next three away games. Hopefully, they won’t be at ER on Saturday. Be interesting if Hibs follow suit,
Just to make it clear - it’s in regards to seats being taken over, not anything like the subject of this thread.
They were looking to remind groups of acceptable behaviour and to help self policing. It’s clearly not enough.
I'm not certain but I think the GB have official membership and have had a lot of dialogue with the club over the years, they've been going a lot longer than B7. They also have an official section at CP where only GB members are permitted, so Celtic will likely know who they are.
B7 is probably a bit looser an organisation, as far as I know theres not an official membership so banning their "members" on an individual basis is probably harder to do.
22-10-2023, 12:59 PM
I think that's the difference here.
It's not a spur of the moment thing they've done whilst pished which they'd no doubt regret in the morning.
It was premeditated which is why they'll get a life ban IMO. Probably a football banning order too.
The stickers are what will see them get banned for life and what was on their phones that they were showing off as well.
22-10-2023, 01:01 PM
Pre-meditated this one. Thats the difference here. Not some spur of the moment radgeness. Totally inexcusable.
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 01:02 PM
Normally I'd agree with you, but to mock the death of 66 innocent people is hideous behaviour.
They'll be severe consequences for those involved and rightfully so.
Yes I’m not saying let the ones found guilty get away with it quite the opposite but to drag everyone that is in that group into it surely is not what we should be doing? Plenty of mums,dads grandparents take their kids to that section for the atmosphere be a shame for those people to be dragged into a all out ban because of a few people who can’t control themselves
Fanforlife
22-10-2023, 01:03 PM
Agree with these comments. However, it does make me feel uncomfortable Rangers taking the moral high ground when you consider the behaviour of large elements of their support.
This is not my main point though. Behaviour of a significant amount of people among the major SPFL clubs is getting to dire levels.
It's clear that not nearly enough work is being done by the clubs to identify, remove and prosecute these despicable people.Totally agree that it gives the reprehensible club that is the rangers,after donkeys years of revelling in bigotry and hate a platform to take the moral high ground, the dingles in the Hibs support who indulged in this have no idea in regards to this,probably their parents were not born in 1971 never mind them!!Obviously it's time to call a halt to stuff like this,how it happens is the million dollar question though.
22-10-2023, 01:04 PM
Yes I’m not saying let the ones found guilty get away with it quite the opposite but to drag everyone that is in that group into it surely is not what we should be doing? Plenty of mums,dads grandparents take their kids to that section for the atmosphere be a shame for those people to be dragged into a all out ban because of a few people who can’t control themselves
Like anything in life they'll likely be a few bad apples who ruin things for the majority. It doesn't mean every member of B7 is a bad person or should be banned from ER.
I'd imagine some though are considering today whether or not they'd like to continue participating in the group.
22-10-2023, 01:07 PM
I'm not certain but I think the GB have official membership and have had a lot of dialogue with the club over the years, they've been going a lot longer than B7. They also have an official section at CP where only GB members are permitted, so Celtic will likely know who they are.
B7 is probably a bit looser an organisation, as far as I know theres not an official membership so banning their "members" on an individual basis is probably harder to do.
There must be some kind of organisation, I know a teenager who took out their mobile phone to take a pic of the game and they were told to **** off to the library as phones are banned in their section. There must be some kind of leadership if decisions are being made to ban phones from ‘their’ section.
Edit - this was Vs Aston Villa at home.
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 01:09 PM
Have I done daft things? Aye a lot of them, however I've never specifically went out my way to get stickers printed to mock dead football fans, there definitely is a perceived "edginess" in the social media age that means folk are going for more shock value and one upmanship, either way at 14 or 44 my dad would hand me my arse for having done something like that
Mine also but unfortunately the world we live in now is far too soft and punishing kids for doing wrong if now a offence, no deterrent now a days . Last thing I want to do is fall out with fellow supporters and do not condone the stickers mocking the people killed, just think we need to come together as a support/ club and encourage and educate that this behaviour is not acceptable
22-10-2023, 01:09 PM
I can confidently say I've never done anything that would see me banned from the football forever. Neither has my dad who has been going for 50 years. Never sung songs about dead opposition fans.
They need to learn there is consequences for their actions. That is a lesson they wont forget.
22-10-2023, 01:10 PM
I think they will get the guys that done it, there's normally cameras trained on our whole support for the duration of the game.
Police detained a few fans after the game, what for I don’t know, police women took one of there phones of them as evidence which I think is out of order.
22-10-2023, 01:11 PM
There must be some kind of organisation, I know a teenager who took out their mobile phone to take a pic of the game and they were told to **** off to the library as phones are banned in their section. There must be some kind of leadership if decisions are being made to ban phones from ‘their’ section.
They'll be definitely be a structure of sorts, but I don't think they have an official membership as such so doing what Celtic have done and not allocate tickets to members of the GB is probably more difficult to do.
I'm not an expert on their setup by any means so could be wrong.
LewysGot2
22-10-2023, 01:11 PM
Like Sam North and other Vloggers getting it tight at Fir Park and from other "ultra groups". The claim is it's about making atmosphere not filming it but the reality is they don't want uncontrolled filming because someone might not have their face covering on and get identified. These groups absolutely love to film themselves in orchestrated footage they can mask identities with...
22-10-2023, 01:13 PM
Bottom line is no section is their section, just a section in the ground that they choose to sit in the same as the rest of us choose to sit where we do. The designated singing section is open to all, not just them. They just have a tendency to do what they want right enough, but I think that will change after yesterday. I don’t think they’ll be tolerated any longer and I if the club have been doing them any favours I think that’ll stop.
22-10-2023, 01:13 PM
Police detained a few fans after the game, what for I don’t know, police women took one of there phones of them as evidence which I think is out of order.
So you don't know what it was for but taking their phone was out of order despite saying it was taken as evidence
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 01:15 PM
I can confidently say I've never done anything that would see me banned from the football forever. Neither has my dad who has been going for 50 years. Never sung songs about dead opposition fans.
They need to learn there is consequences for their actions. That is a lesson they wont forget.
I can say that also but have sang songs that should I say are probably disrespectful to another person’s family, not that I’m proud we don’t really realise until we have lost someone in similar circumstances that it is probably wrong regardless of what they might have done
22-10-2023, 01:19 PM
Yup. Utterly unacceptable behaviour & it's a tiny minority of morons tainting the rest of us. The lack of response from The Rangers & the media/politicians to the ongoing hatred, bigotry & racism which pours out of Ibrox is sickening, but 'our' fans behaviour yesterday was also sickening. We have to be better than that or we lose the right to call out their bile (which our club should be doing to a far greater extent than it has been doing).
22-10-2023, 01:34 PM
There appears, to my inexpert eye, to have been a big shift from Since1875 to Block 7 and not for the better.
Nah Flash, these groups have always had problems wherever they are in the ground and it’s always the same excuse, they are not part of us but hanger ons, the club can’t stop these groups but the club shouldn’t be bending over backwards to help them get tickets or visits to East Mains.
Lendo
22-10-2023, 01:37 PM
Nope, never, but then I’m not a small minded bigoted moron.
22-10-2023, 01:37 PM
Yup. Utterly unacceptable behaviour & it's a tiny minority of morons tainting the rest of us. The lack of response from The Rangers & the media/politicians to the ongoing hatred, bigotry & racism which pours out of Ibrox is sickening, but 'our' fans behaviour yesterday was also sickening. We have to be better than that or we lose the right to call out their bile (which our club should be doing to a far greater extent than it has been doing).
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 01:41 PM
Nope, never, but then I’m not a small minded bigoted moron.
You must be the only saint I know then , I might be taking this wrong but I’m now a bigoted Mormon for being honest and saying I’ve sang a song that I’m not proud of ? Get a grip
22-10-2023, 01:42 PM
Giving the worst football club in Scotland a chance to play the victim and take the moral high ground ... well done morons :aok:
Why don't you just burn down Easter Road, coz that's about all there is left for you to do to damage the club.
22-10-2023, 01:43 PM
You must be the only saint I know then , I might be taking this wrong but I’m now a bigoted Mormon for being honest and saying I’ve sang a song that I’m not proud of ? Get a grip
Have you sung about dead folk?
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 01:45 PM
Yes I’ve sang the mercer song in the past wrong I know but I admit that emphasis on the past
22-10-2023, 01:46 PM
I have, I belted out the Mercer song with gusto along with thousands of other Hibs fans in the past.
I'd say that those who didn't are very much the minority, certainly in the immediate aftermath of his passing.
Just seen the stickers, what idiots they are ffs.
22-10-2023, 01:56 PM
Mercer was never not going to get abused by our support after what he did. It's unsavoury, unpleasant,
and now so many years on it should be put to bed, but he was never going to be respected post '90. Alive or dead. To be honest he forfeited the right to expect respect when he tried to kill our club. I don't know what people really expect when it comes to him. People are human afterall. Forgiveness doesn't come easily or naturally to most people.
The innocents who went to a game at ibrox and never came home ... that's a different situation entirely
22-10-2023, 01:59 PM
There has been a clear change in the young away fan pre covid and post covid period. This definitely includes Hibs. Yes, you still get families and older people going but the singing section has massively changed into what appears to be schoolkids rather than the before 20-25 age bracket.
Aware I will sound like a moaner here, but it seems like 16-20 year olds at the fitba now just don't give a toss about type of chants, stadium facilities, the police, and normal human behaviour on trains etc. Absolute insane behaviour at games all for the sake of social media clout with what seems to be no f's given about what happens after.
When I was going regular to aways, the aim is to have a great day and if Hibs win then even better but you've got in the back of your mind that if you are lifted then it could affect your job/career etc. That's gone out the window now it seems with this bunch.
Twitter has absolutely messed folk up imo and just allows the bams to gravitate towards each other.
Yesterday will hopefully force the club to now step in and ban people who need banning. Big matches coming up, especially the semi final and the last thing we need is more disaster chanting or hundreds strong coked up bams ruining the reputation of the majority of good Hibees.
22-10-2023, 02:03 PM
Mine also but unfortunately the world we live in now is far too soft and punishing kids for doing wrong if now a offence, no deterrent now a days . Last thing I want to do is fall out with fellow supporters and do not condone the stickers mocking the people killed, just think we need to come together as a support/ club and encourage and educate that this behaviour is not acceptable
They know fine well that the behaviour isn't acceptable.
That's why they do it.
22-10-2023, 02:28 PM
So you don't know what it was for but taking their phone was out of order despite saying it was taken as evidence
It seemed that a few folk were filming the incident and not involved but the police got heavy handed and grab one young lad and said they were taking his phone of him as it was now evidence, that’s out of order as you are allowed to film things from a distance, Glasgow polis just being thugs as per.
22-10-2023, 02:53 PM
Violence and exposure to bigotry/neglect at home is what results in this mate. 30/40 years ago when it was legal to smack your kids this behaviour would have barely have made news as it was everywhere. The deterrent is being educated and these kids aren't.
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 03:03 PM
Violence and exposure to bigotry/neglect at home is what results in this mate. 30/40 years ago when it was legal to smack your kids this behaviour would have barely have made news as it was everywhere. The deterrent is being educated and these kids aren't.
Exactly the point I was trying to get across mate and be open and honest about my own personal experience and behaviour. Unfortunately some of our own trying to paint themselves as saints and name call other supporters
Liam6270
22-10-2023, 03:46 PM
Classless, vile, ****my wee neds who have no real idea about anything in the real world. I hope they’re banned for life
22-10-2023, 04:32 PM
Mocking the dead is the lowest of low. Hibs need to get rid of all involved.
Exactly the point I was trying to get across mate and be open and honest about my own personal experience and behaviour. Unfortunately some of our own trying to paint themselves as saints and name call other supporters
There’s sliding scales though, there’s a significant difference between joining in with a song in a drunken/exuberant state, and going out your way to print stickers mocking the victims of a disaster, then deliberately placing those stickers in the place that disaster took place.
And for the record, I’ve never sung a song about anyone dying or being dead, and I never will. I’m sorry if you feel that’s me painting myself as a saint
22-10-2023, 05:03 PM
Anyone who joined in with this should be banned from ER. Not necessarily for life but for a decent amount time that will make them consider their ****ty behaviour.
As for the behavior of our so-called 'Ultras' getting worse? Well you can knock me down with a feather!
The 'Ultras Culture', as I believe they like to call it, matches this stuff exactly; Do as much as you can to annoy, p1ss off and insult the opposition.... without limits or decency.
Oh and they're definitely not all kids.
Liam978
22-10-2023, 05:15 PM
There’s sliding scales though, there’s a significant difference between joining in with a song in a drunken/exuberant state, and going out your way to print stickers mocking the victims of a disaster, then deliberately placing those stickers in the place that disaster took place.
And for the record, I’ve never sung a song about anyone dying or being dead, and I never will. I’m sorry if you feel that’s me painting myself as a saint
No need for retribution whatsoever mate . Our club is being dragged into the gutter by this mob. At the meeting last week we were assured that they do not get any preference ticket wise, believe that if you like. also more or less intimated that the shift to FFL will be going ahead regardless. Only hope that the events of yesterday requires a rethink and weeding out of the trouble makers first.
BobbyT1875
22-10-2023, 05:20 PM
No need for retribution whatsoever mate . Our club is being dragged into the gutter by this mob. At the meeting last week we were assured that they do not get any preference ticket wise, believe that if you like. also more or less intimated that the shift to FFL will be going ahead regardless. Only hope that the events of yesterday requires a rethink and weeding out of the trouble makers first.
What meeting was this ? Anyone ask why B7 always get a block
Of seats , we know they take seats off hibs fans
22-10-2023, 05:21 PM
What meeting?
22-10-2023, 05:33 PM
There's no denying that they create a better atmosphere at games when they stick to Hibs songs. They got involved in the Ron Gordon challenge and did a collection for the Community Foundation before a recent home game which is good.
But.....their behaviour at away league games this season has been atrocious. Destroying seats at Motherwell, fighting with coppers at Killie, destroying property at tynie and now this despicable behaviour at Ibrox.
If they don't get preference when it comes to tickets then they are just suiting themselves where they sit....in other folks seats.
Some of them will rightly get life banning orders but they need to have a serious word with themselves.
He's here!
22-10-2023, 05:38 PM
I don't think it gives the huns any moral stance - or at least not their more knuckle-dragging element. I met a good number of decent Rangers supporters when I worked in Glasgow and I feel embarrassed that they would associate yesterday's moronic behaviour with Hibs, but by and large Rangers don't have much moral leeway. What it does do is drag us down to a level I didn't imagine we could reach and while it's a minority of 'fans' it's still despicable. If there's any footage/documentaries about the Ibrox disaster and the impact it had on scores of families, these idiots should be made to watch it. Ditto anyone who behaves in a similar fashion re Hillsborough/Munich etc. It's basically like celebrating a horrific and unnecessary loss of life like Piper Alpha, which nobody would ever do, but the football element to these disasters makes far too many eejits think it's fair game.
22-10-2023, 05:40 PM
What meeting?
The consultation meeting that isn’t really a consultation.
22-10-2023, 05:44 PM
There's no denying that they create a better atmosphere at games when they stick to Hibs songs. They got involved in the Ron Gordon challenge and did a collection for the Community Foundation before a recent home game which is good.
But.....their behaviour at away league games this season has been atrocious. Destroying seats at Motherwell, fighting with coppers at Killie, destroying property at tynie and now this despicable behaviour at Ibrox.
If they don't get preference when it comes to tickets then they are just suiting themselves where they sit....in other folks seats.
Some of them will rightly get life banning orders but they need to have a serious word with themselves.
Their behaviour last weekend at Tynie was despicable too - waving anti loyalist flags, flares and smoke bombs on the concourse, and wading into the lower section meaning folk had to stand on the exit gangways meaning genuine fans couldn’t see the game if they were seated in the ‘lower’ section of the upper section. Disabled fans couldn’t see the game as a result - I agree, they add(ed) to the atmosphere at home, but their behaviour away from home is atrocious and they’re fuelled on cheap booze and lines - sad thing is that there’s fathers and sons that lead them which is depressing. Fortunately some are banned already 👍 it’s a quite pathetic ‘badge of honour’ to wear.
Yesterdays actions by some, pre planned and premeditated, were absolutely disgusting and they should be utterly ashamed as human beings.
22-10-2023, 05:45 PM
There has been a clear change in the young away fan pre covid and post covid period. This definitely includes Hibs. Yes, you still get families and older people going but the singing section has massively changed into what appears to be schoolkids rather than the before 20-25 age bracket.
Aware I will sound like a moaner here, but it seems like 16-20 year olds at the fitba now just don't give a toss about type of chants, stadium facilities, the police, and normal human behaviour on trains etc. Absolute insane behaviour at games all for the sake of social media clout with what seems to be no f's given about what happens after.
When I was going regular to aways, the aim is to have a great day and if Hibs win then even better but you've got in the back of your mind that if you are lifted then it could affect your job/career etc. That's gone out the window now it seems with this bunch.
Twitter has absolutely messed folk up imo and just allows the bams to gravitate towards each other.
Yesterday will hopefully force the club to now step in and ban people who need banning. Big matches coming up, especially the semi final and the last thing we need is more disaster chanting or hundreds strong coked up bams ruining the reputation of the majority of good Hibees.
Spot on with all of this and in particular your final sentence - in my view drugs are now a bigger part of attending football than they’ve ever been before. And don’t try and tell me it’s a victimless crime - in this context the rest of us have to put up with their actions and the consequences of their actions, including the tarnishing of the reputation of the club.
22-10-2023, 05:47 PM
I'm the same. I've never sung the Mercer song, I don't think I even know the words, and although I didn't boo during the minute's silence at Tynecastle although I did turn my back.
I will admit to enjoy hearing Elvis Costello singing Tramp the Dirt Down which he sang for the first time just after her death but I didn't celebrate it as such.
Liam978
22-10-2023, 05:54 PM
What meeting?
meeting with FFL season ticket holders block 7 and the exec. On the 10 oct, with a follow up online one the following evening.
22-10-2023, 05:59 PM
This is a very sophisticated point to make on a football supporters’ forum.
I like :aok:
22-10-2023, 06:00 PM
Their behaviour last weekend at Tynie was despicable too - waving anti loyalist flags, flares and smoke bombs on the concourse, and wading into the lower section meaning folk had to stand on the exit gangways meaning genuine fans couldn’t see the game if they were seated in the ‘lower’ section of the upper section. Disabled fans couldn’t see the game as a result - I agree, they add(ed) to the atmosphere at home, but their behaviour away from home is atrocious and they’re fuelled on cheap booze and lines - sad thing is that there’s fathers and sons that lead them which is depressing. Fortunately some are banned already 👍 it’s a quite pathetic ‘badge of honour’ to wear.
Yesterdays actions by some, pre planned and premeditated, were absolutely disgusting and they should be utterly ashamed as human beings.
Waving 'anti loyalist flags' not sure what the flags were but sounds a strange thing to get worked up about given the other issues.
BobbyT1875
22-10-2023, 06:18 PM
meeting with FFL season ticket holders block 7 and the exec. On the 10 oct, with a follow up online one the following evening.
B7 seem to have about 50 max
Members . Had about 20 and ibrox and Aberdeen. Non existent in euro away games. The importance attached or the air time they get is interesting. At the euro games this season they filled a few rows of a section. Who are the executives? Are you able to share what was discussed?
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 06:29 PM
Not looking for an argument like some people so I will tone down my reply , as you will see my saint comment wasn’t directed at you unless I’m mistaken? It was to another person who like you was looking for a reaction or argument. As for never singing about dead people ect or being disrespectful good on you I just hope you can educate everyone to be as perfect as you , no argument wanton here but if you feel the need drop me a pm and will be happy to explain any grievances you have
LewysGot2
22-10-2023, 06:30 PM
Members . Had about 20 and ibrox and Aberdeen. Non existent in euro away games. The importance attached or the air time they get is interesting. At the euro games this season they filled a few rows of a section. Who are the executives? Are you able to share what was discussed?
Not non existent at Euro away games?
Definitely at Andorra in small numbers as they were behind the goals in their summer attire of white tees. Drum went but was soon not in use by half time.
They obviously travelled in or out via Toulouse. I travelled in via Carcassonne but back via Toulouse. I found the local McDonald's by following a trail of B7 stickers plastered on every second traffic light or lamppost. They'd clearly been there before us whether it was before the game or on the way back. Some were in Luzern, too.
22-10-2023, 06:33 PM
Not looking for an argument like some people so I will tone down my reply , as you will see my saint comment wasn’t directed at you unless I’m mistaken? It was to another person who like you was looking for a reaction or argument. As for never singing about dead people ect or being disrespectful good on you I just hope you can educate everyone to be as perfect as you , no argument wanton here but if you feel the need drop me a pm and will be happy to explain any grievances you have
You do understand that you don't have to be a saint or even perfect not to sing songs mocking the dead from a football disaster? Just pointing it so as to assist with your education.
Drop me a PM, dearie me.
BobbyT1875
22-10-2023, 06:37 PM
Definitely at Andorra in small numbers as they were behind the goals in their summer attire of white tees. Drum went but was soon not in use by half time.
They obviously travelled in or out via Toulouse. I travelled in via Carcassonne but back via Toulouse. I found the local McDonald's by following a trail of B7 stickers plastered on every second traffic light or lamppost. They'd clearly been there before us whether it was before the game or on the way back. Some were in Luzern, too.
In terms of numbers non existent. Very low turnout. Luzern lucky if double figures. For me the benefit they bring is overplayed. More negatives than positives. I’m not interested in politics at football’s, B7 had a Palestine flag at ibrox. Feels like a Poundland green brigade. It they want to be at games and sing hibs songs without the baggage, then FairPlay.
Liam978
22-10-2023, 06:38 PM
Sorry Bobby i didn't attend the meeting but seemingly pointed out at the said meeting that it was open to anyone, Ben Kensell chaired the meeting but the girl in charge of the ticket office had the biggest input. Only going by discussions with people who were in attendance. Still never got to the bottom of why most of block 7 were rounded up and refused entry to Villa Park. A few suggestions were put forward, but really only hearsay, unless someone knows different.
biggie1875
22-10-2023, 06:40 PM
You do understand that you don't have to be a saint or even perfect not sing songs mocking the dead from a football disaster? Just pointing it so as to assist with your education.
Drop me a PM, dearie me.
Have you even read any of my posts ffs the saint thing has nothing to do with singing songs about the disaster if you are going to come on and have a go at least get your facts correct
DIXIHIBS
22-10-2023, 06:44 PM
Sorry Bobby i didn't attend the meeting but seemingly pointed out at the said meeting that it was open to anyone, Ben Kensell chaired the meeting but the girl in charge of the ticket office had the biggest input. Only going by discussions with people who were in attendance. Still never got to the bottom of why most of block 7 were rounded up and refused entry to Villa Park. A few suggestions were put forward, but really only hearsay, unless someone knows different.
RE B7 not getting in at villa. When i arrived at stadium B7 were just ahead of me and it looked like police tried to take their drum away followed by a bit of pushing/shoving/shouting and the police herded them up up and took them away from stadium. Dont think there was more to it than that tbh.
22-10-2023, 06:45 PM
Thanks.
22-10-2023, 06:47 PM
I'm the same. I've never sung the Mercer song, I don't think I even know the words, and although I didn't boo during the minute's silence at Tynecastle although I did turn my back.
I will admit to enjoy hearing Elvis Costello singing Tramp the Dirt Down which he sang for the first time just after her death but I didn't celebrate it as such.
I nearly put a post up saying exactly the same thing including the Costello reference. Men of a certain age. :greengrin
22-10-2023, 06:53 PM
Waving 'anti loyalist flags' not sure what the flags were but sounds a strange thing to get worked up about given the other issues.
Just the way I was brought up mate, no place at football games for all that utter ***** ! You’re right, it’s not the main issue here but for me I go to games to watch Hibs and all the nonsense around upholding bigotry deserves to be called out 👍 I just find it very bizarre anyone bringing those sorts of flags to a football game - as I say, it was the way I was brought up. My mates are a perfect blend of all walks of life and religions but not once have I ever thought to bring anything to a game of football to try and goad and incite on the basis of religion 😊 I was merely commenting on their behaviour last weekend - this weekend they surpassed that in sickening fashion.
22-10-2023, 07:00 PM
Yes I’ve sang the mercer song in the past wrong I know but I admit that emphasis on the past
If that's something you are/were into then fair enough, personally wouldn't sing songs about anyone that's passed away but each to their own
22-10-2023, 07:15 PM
I might have sung some dodgy songs in the past, I might not have. I might have called rangers fans all sorts of questionable names (despite having many friends & family who are their fans), I might not have. I might have had the odd punch up here and there, I might not have. I know fof a fact that I've never looked for pictures of the ibrox disaster and printed them off to take with me to post all over the stadium and on cars outside the stadium. Might be me but I just can't get my head around it or those who are comparing it to singing dodgy songs. For me it's a whole different level.
22-10-2023, 07:24 PM
I nearly put a post up saying exactly the same thing including the Costello reference. Men of a certain age. :greengrin
😊
hibstag
22-10-2023, 08:27 PM
This. As has been said already this is an organised well planned incident, young people who like singing songs and banging a drum kidding on their some sort of ultra don't suddenly flip into this horrible, nasty stuff without guidance, I would and this is overkill a bit I'll admit ban or disband this section for a few weeks, send a message to the group, send a message to those trying to manipulate the group, send a message to those thinking about similar about what is actually acceptable
Potty78
22-10-2023, 08:28 PM
I have, I belted out the Mercer song with gusto along with thousands of other Hibs fans in the past.
I'd say that those who didn't are very much the minority, certainly in the immediate aftermath of his passing.
I was at the first derby after his death, I turned my back. No one should sing about anyone dying with this disgusting disease.
22-10-2023, 08:35 PM
They had 20 max in Andorra (via Toulouse as you rightly say), 2 or 3 in Luzern and got refused entry to Villa Park.
Torto7
22-10-2023, 09:01 PM
Interesting reading this thread. I'd missed this news after going away in the huff and avoiding Hibs news for 24 hours.
The wee f@nnies who did it are a great representation of the ned epidemic the entire country faces. They aren't however in anyway representative of the Hibs support at large just a tiny sour pimple on the arse end of it.
I refuse to join in with the weegie bigots in another attack on the wider Hibs support as they've so enjoyed doing in the past. Some on here may want to consider this as it seems from reading the thread to be an excuse for many to get their own 'issues' out and join in with the condemning with glee.
I enjoy the bouncing radges and their drums. At times they'll over step the mark but then we all did that as bairns.
What I won't take part in is helping sectarian bigots attack our beautiful club.
I have no problem with Palestinian flags nor Israeli ones. If you allow one countries flag you may as well allow all of them.
22-10-2023, 09:10 PM
I already said what I had to say on the subject, but Im still very much pi55ed at this. So excuse me for posting again. As another supporter has said were not all angels but theres places and lines you dont go to or cross Trying to get a rise from The Rangers fans using dead football supporters is scraping the barrel, it's despicable.
Most of us have a hatred for their bigot supporters, their club and the media that turn a blind eye to it, but now for us, the Hibees family a line has been crossed. Its not acceptable, its up to us to back up our fellow supporters when this nonsense arises and take on these @@@@@. If Im there you will be backed up.
22-10-2023, 09:19 PM
Interesting reading this thread. I'd missed this news after going away in the huff and avoiding Hibs news for 24 hours.
The wee f@nnies who did it are a great representation of the ned epidemic the entire country faces. They aren't however in anyway representative of the Hibs support at large just a tiny sour pimple on the arse end of it.
I refuse to join in with the weegie bigots in another attack on the wider Hibs support as they've so enjoyed doing in the past. Some on here may want to consider this as it seems from reading the thread to be an excuse for many to get their own 'issues' out and join in with the condemning with glee.
I enjoy the bouncing radges and their drums. At times they'll over step the mark but then we all did that as bairns.
What I won't take part in is helping sectarian bigots attack our beautiful club.
I have no problem with Palestinian flags nor Israeli ones. If you allow one countries flag you may as well allow all of them.
You were doing okayish until about half way through. It’s not about helping anyone attack the club, or anyone condemning with glee. The thread is exactly how I would expect and hope it would be, apart from the very odd post or two defending or encouraging what took place yesterday.
We all love Hibs and want to defend what’s good about it. That’s why we’re annoyed and condemning the actions. Like any normal human being would.
22-10-2023, 09:31 PM
‘Over stepping the mark’ 😳 it was a pre planned premeditated attempt to ‘glorify’ folk dying at a football match - that’s not over stepping the mark, that’s disgusting despicable behaviour and has no place in society let alone a game of football. As for flags, what the hell has the Gaza conflict got to do with a football game in Scotland ? They wouldn’t be able to point to Livingston on a map let alone Jerusalem mate.
I can’t stand The Rangers, but on this occasion they’re absolutely right to be outraged. It was disgusting from a very small minded minority of our ‘support’ - I hope they get identified and banned.
22-10-2023, 10:14 PM
Bizarre.
SON OF PADDY
22-10-2023, 10:40 PM
You do understand that you don't have to be a saint or even perfect not to sing songs mocking the dead from a football disaster? Just pointing it so as to assist with your education.
Drop me a PM, dearie me.
Well said 👏🏼 👏🏼
SON OF PADDY
22-10-2023, 10:46 PM
I was at the first derby after his death, I turned my back. No one should sing about anyone dying with this disgusting disease.
Well said mate, I hate the song!
SON OF PADDY
22-10-2023, 10:57 PM
‘Over stepping the mark’ 😳 it was a pre planned premeditated attempt to ‘glorify’ folk dying at a football match - that’s not over stepping the mark, that’s disgusting despicable behaviour and has no place in society let alone a game of football. As for flags, what the hell has the Gaza conflict got to do with a football game in Scotland ? They wouldn’t be able to point to Livingston on a map let alone Jerusalem mate.
I can’t stand The Rangers, but on this occasion they’re absolutely right to be outraged. It was disgusting from a very small minded minority of our ‘support’ - I hope they get identified and banned.
Excellent reply mate, I wholeheartedly agree!
22-10-2023, 11:08 PM
100% out of order behaviour from the fandans in the Hibs support.
But I refuse to take lessons in outrage and good taste from fans of Rangers. Whose fans are regularly “up to their knees in fenian blood”.
Remember I can be outraged with our fans AND the majority of Rangers fans. The two aren’t mutually exclusive, before the inevitable “whataboutary” is levelled at us.
The whole thing has to be seen in context. Scauminess on the small Hibs in the balance of the constant sectarian singing of the huge majority of Rangers fans for decades. (Heard it with my own ears back in 1994 at my first Rangers v Hibs game and every game since).
j'adorehibs
23-10-2023, 08:48 AM
Thanks.
The very meeting where Ben Kensell had his arms around the shoulders of the "grandad ultra " and the megaphone lad when they arrived having words in their ear. It was highlighted they have regular meetings between block 7 and club and that they have a strict membership policy and levels of membership through the ranks with strict rule that they are representing the club!
I'll be interested to see how Hibs manage this as clearly that isnt working.
Not looking for an argument but having a go at people? Can you point to where I’ve claimed to be perfect?
By the way, I didn’t use the word disrespectful, you’re the one who’s brought it up.
Drop me a PM, dearie me.
Thanks for making my point :aok:
You were doing okayish until about half way through. It’s not about helping anyone attack the club, or anyone condemning with glee. The thread is exactly how I would expect and hope it would be, apart from the very odd post or two defending or encouraging what took place yesterday.
We all love Hibs and want to defend what’s good about it. That’s why we’re annoyed and condemning the actions. Like any normal human being would.
Last paragraph nails it
Langlee Hibs
23-10-2023, 10:57 AM
This Green Brigade Lite nonsense has been doing my nut in for ages. It's cringey as hell and an embarrassment to the Club. B7's benefits to atmosphere etc are hyped up way too much imo. Be interesting to see the Clubs response on this. Personally I'd get them as far away from ER as possible.
23-10-2023, 11:12 AM
100% out of order behaviour from the fandans in the Hibs support.
But I refuse to take lessons in outrage and good taste from fans of Rangers. Whose fans are regularly “up to their knees in fenian blood”.
Remember I can be outraged with our fans AND the majority of Rangers fans. The two aren’t mutually exclusive, before the inevitable “whataboutary” is levelled at us.
The whole thing has to be seen in context. Scauminess on the small Hibs in the balance of the constant sectarian singing of the huge majority of Rangers fans for decades. (Heard it with my own ears back in 1994 at my first Rangers v Hibs game and every game since).
Agree
23-10-2023, 11:31 AM
Ignored this thread as I know I'd be upset what I would read. I just can't understand why anyone would want to disrespect any human being who has passed away.
I can't understand why football fans think it's acceptable behaviour. I see that Manchester City have vowed to ban for life fans who sang sick chants about Sir Bobby Charlton following his passing. City have appealed to their fans for information after some supporters were overheard singing offensive songs about the Manchester United legend during their 2-1 win over Brighton on Saturday.
Sadly it happens at all football clubs.
The Hibee Harp
23-10-2023, 12:12 PM
Why are we tolerating this Block 7 nonsense. This season alone - when they are pushing for behind the goals and should be on their best behaviour to influence the club - they have dragged our name through the mud by trashing seats at Fir Park and now this nonsense at Ibrox. Add to this the consistent negative feedback of Hibs fans when interacting or sitting near them on matchdays and you have to wonder why the club are even entertaining them.
Hibees1973
23-10-2023, 12:36 PM
Why are we tolerating this Block 7 nonsense. This season alone - when they are pushing for behind the goals and should be on their best behaviour to influence the club - they have dragged our name through the mud by trashing seats at Fir Park and now this nonsense at Ibrox. Add to this the consistent negative feedback of Hibs fans when interacting or sitting near them on matchdays and you have to wonder why the club are even entertaining them.
The general consensus from most posts is that Block 7 is a problem for Hibs and it's getting worse.
I looked at the Hibs website just now and there is nothing on the front page relating to the problems highlighted on Saturday. Maybe there is something on the website, but a bit of searching is required.
From previous posts on here and elsewhere (not sure if they are all fact), Block 7 get preferential treatment with regards tickets, meetings with Ben Kensall, etc. They also seem to have licence to muscle in and take over seats already allocated to other people at away games. I expect there are things happening with the Hibs/Rangers/Police after Saturday, but would have hoped Hibs to have given it more coverage on their website to weed this sc*m out, whether they are Block 7 or not.
Anyway there seems to be a hell of a lot of negative noise around Block 7. Have Hibs allowed them too much influence and are real fans and the club starting to pay the price for it.
Anytime I've come across this Block 7 mob at games, I keep out of their way. I cross the road to avoid them.
Hibs need to sort this problem out sharp. If not, more fans will stay away.
23-10-2023, 02:07 PM
I agree. Now.
That probably reinforces the point about how most people evolve as they grow up. I was 19 when Mercer died and my whole life was getting to the weekend to get out of it and act a bit daft at the football with my mates. 17 years later I'm a respectable sort with 2 kids and would be a total hypocrite and tell them off for doing half of what I thought was great fun :greengrin
The Mercer song is one I'm uncomfortable with now but at the time it was sung by plenty in the Roseburn Bar, at Tynecastle and elsewhere. I'm sure many will say they weren't one of them and I'm not going to doubt them but if it was a minority on derby days then it was a very sizable one.
That song was wrong and what happened at the weekend was wrong; I'm not trying to argue otherwise but equally I'm loathe to go down the route of calling for lifetime bans and believing people can't or won't change. I'd be quite happy to see those identified banned for a couple of years and invited to actually learn about what happened at Ibrox that day. The guys who have it in them to change will learn from that, the ones who don't will end up doing something else stupid and if they are banned sine die at that point then I'll not be arguing it isn't deserved.
It's not about making excuses for people, all of those involved will know what they were involved in was wrong and the premeditated nature of it makes it worse. I'm no lover of Block 7 after a run in I had with them in Blackpool so I've no blind spot where they are concerned either. I was an ******** at times when I was younger though and needed 2nd chances, I'm sure many others are the same if they are being honest with themselves.
23-10-2023, 02:09 PM
It feels like a bit of over reaction to all things Block 7 is on the go. I make no excuses for ibrox, but let's be clear it was not all of them. This incident is probably down to a handful.
Young guys creating a bit of havoc at Hibs games has been going on as far as I can remember (1970s), we have always had a ned element to our support and a hand wringing middle aged tut tut brigade. Also there will always be a problem with young guys and authorities, in this case the club. I don't like the drum and can't be bothered with the smoke, but I also remember in my day as a teenager the stuff we got up to.
Do I think they are wee w***s, of course I do, but mainly because I'm a 60 year old guy. I think some of them crossed a line for sure, but at the same time f*** the huns and their faux outrage given the silence on their own fans behaviour.
I agree. Now.
That probably reinforces the point about how most people evolve as they grow up. I was 19 when Mercer died and my whole life was getting to the weekend to get out of it and act a bit daft at the football with my mates. 17 years later I'm a respectable sort with 2 kids and would be a total hypocrite and tell them off for doing half of what I thought was great fun :greengrin
The Mercer song is one I'm uncomfortable with now but at the time it was sung by plenty in the Roseburn Bar, at Tynecastle and elsewhere. I'm sure many will say they weren't one of them and I'm not going to doubt them but if it was a minority on derby days then it was a very sizable one.
That song was wrong and what happened at the weekend was wrong; I'm not trying to argue otherwise but equally I'm loathe to go down the route of calling for lifetime bans and believing people can't or won't change. I'd be quite happy to see those identified banned for a couple of years and invited to actually learn about what happened at Ibrox that day. The guys who have it in them to change will learn from that, the ones who don't will end up doing something else stupid and if they are banned sine die at that point then I'll not be arguing it isn't deserved.
It's not about making excuses for people, all of those involved will know what they were involved in was wrong and the premeditated nature of it makes it worse. I'm no lover of Block 7 after a run in I had with them in Blackpool so I've no blind spot where they are concerned either. I was an ******** at times when I was younger though and needed 2nd chances, I'm sure many others are the same if they are being honest with themselves.
I am a good bit older than you and was about 23/24 at the time of the attempted takeover. I had no time for mercer, but I made a decision to just do nothing at tynecastle. No matter how i felt there would have been a wife, children and probably grandchildren left behind and quite possibly at the game. It didn’t seem right to do anything In that knowledge. I cannot recall but think there was an applause. I am pretty sure I just stood quietly. Some turned their back some made noise. The mercer song was sung a lot that day, not by everyone but by a sizeable number. Whether it was more than half I don’t know.
23-10-2023, 04:01 PM
Plenty room for discussing behavior of other teams' fans on another thread; can the whataboutery please.
If you can't discuss your own fans' actions without excusing them on the premise that someone else is worse then you're part of the problem.
23-10-2023, 04:30 PM
Not forgetting threatening fans to move their backside out of seats so they can take over certain areas at away games.
biggie1875
23-10-2023, 04:48 PM
I agree. Now.
Agree with you 100% just the point I’ve been trying to make
23-10-2023, 04:56 PM
one fan banned by the club, so far
Hibs fan ‘banned’ over sick Rangers Ibrox abuse mocking as they vow to identify others - Football Scotland (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/hibs-fan-banned-over-sick-27968409?fbclid=IwAR2RKvSMwEtN2yoi9aEW4sgdAsvTXMjL Qx6mO9ath0RE-H7npPwLvr2sLZI)
23-10-2023, 05:04 PM
Plenty room for discussing behavior of other teams' fans on another thread; can the whataboutery please.
If you can't discuss your own fans' actions without excusing them on the premise that someone else is worse then you're part of the problem.
Can we discuss the fact that Hibs hierarchy are (rightly so) quick enough to deal with our own fans but they won't call out call out the travelling bigots?
23-10-2023, 05:07 PM
Can we discuss the fact that Hibs hierarchy are (rightly so) quick enough to deal with our own fans but they won't call out call out the travelling bigots?
Yeh hibs come out with zero tolerance pish at every home game and we have to listen to that lot spouting hate when they come thru. I’ve emailed hibs regarding this and they replied with a standard statement saying it’s a Scottish problem. In other words just suck it up.
23-10-2023, 05:09 PM
Yeh hibs come out with zero tolerance pish at every home game and we have to listen to that lot spouting hate when they come thru. I’ve emailed hibs regarding this and they replied with a standard statement saying it’s a Scottish problem. In other words just suck it up.
Another Ben Kensell masterclass
23-10-2023, 05:13 PM
And we will get another song book of hate on Saturday from the away end
Chorley Hibee
23-10-2023, 05:14 PM
We should be, and we should be all over the next (guaranteed) indiscretion by Rangers fans at ER.
We won't though, we'll just meekly accept it, just like we did when our player was assaulted at Tynecastle too.
For the avoidance of doubt, I'm disgusted by the actions of the brain dead ********s who brought shame on the club at the weekend, and I'm growing tired of all the bull**** surrounding Block Seven, but I'm equally tired of our spineless board doing **** all when it comes to, not just calling out others, but defending the interests of their own support too.
23-10-2023, 05:27 PM
We’re taking responsibility for the actions of a minority in our support. That should be commended.
If others adopt the same mindset then slowly those we don’t wish to see in our football stadiums will start to recede.
The difficulty is, some clubs have bigger numbers of problematic supporters than others.
It could take a long time.
23-10-2023, 05:56 PM
I still don't get why we are comparing what a section of our fans done to other fans singing dodgy songs whither its the bigots, yams or us. For me its not the same, nowhere near it.
23-10-2023, 06:08 PM
I still don't get why we are comparing what a section of our fans done to other fans singing dodgy songs whither its the bigots, yams or us. For me its not the same, nowhere near it.we are not comparing dodgy songs against what was done on Saturday which was way out of order. We are saying hibs have zero tolerance at Easter road but it’s just lip service when that lot come thru from Glasgow. Hibs talk tough but it’s just a load o pish, if they really mean it then start by not giving that lot a full away end.
Hibees1973
23-10-2023, 06:14 PM
In the past Hibs have called out travelling bigots. The thing is what good does it do. We don't need to provide evidence of sectarianism/bigotry, everyone can see and hear it. Rangers provided evidence of deplorable behaviour by some people in the Hibs section at the weekend and Hibs have and are acting on it. I contacted the club this afternoon and was advised there are going to be several arrests and people banned from attending Hibs games.
I'm pleased one person (not fan) has been identified already. There will be more sc*m identified in the coming days.
If Rangers or any other club decide not to punish/challenge their own supporters regarding bigotry/sectarianism, or anything else, Hibs have zero control over this. As Rangers don't act it's shows them up for what they are.
All we can do is get our own house in order. I would like to see all flags (displayed to cause offence) and all other stuff removed by security at games.
As others have said Saturday was a dark day for the club. Whether we like it or not a few people got tickets for our section and tarnished the name of the club.
23-10-2023, 06:15 PM
we are not comparing dodgy songs against what was done on Saturday which was way out of order. We are saying hibs have zero tolerance at Easter road but it’s just lip service when that lot come thru from Glasgow. Hibs talk tough but it’s just a load o pish, if they really mean it then start by not giving that lot a full away end.
Okay. But what’s the relevance?
Even the fact that people in our support have done something causing some people to compare hibs supporters’ behaviour to the weirdos in Glasgow in itself is pretty depressing.
23-10-2023, 06:19 PM
Suck it up because what more can Hibs do? They can’t order the police in to make arrests, they can’t stop playing every time they sing one of their daft ditties.
Short of recording and releasing footage of every song I really don’t think this is a Hibs problem. We get our own house in order.
I don’t like hearing any of their bile but I’m very much immune to it as it’s literally nothing to do with me.
The appetite for change has to come from the clubs themselves, and they do not give a **** because it sells shirts and stokes the fires of hatred to keep things exciting for their fans. Imagine how dull the fans would find it if they didn’t have their hatred of one another to build on?
Donegal Hibby
23-10-2023, 06:21 PM
Both old firm clubs have built there's into the monsters they are on sectarian stuff for years and years , we genuinely have a good club with good fans though what's happened at Ibrox isn't acceptable , there's a bad element creeping into our club the last while which need dealt with . I'd rather we sorted our own house out before trying to fix everyone else's!
23-10-2023, 06:31 PM
Suck it up because what more can Hibs do? They can’t order the police in to make arrests, they can’t stop playing every time they sing one of their daft ditties.
Short of recording and releasing footage of every song I really don’t think this is a Hibs problem. We get our own house in order.
I don’t like hearing any of their bile but I’m very much immune to it as it’s literally nothing to do with me.
The appetite for change has to come from the clubs themselves, and they do not give a **** because it sells shirts and stokes the fires of hatred to keep things exciting for their fans. Imagine how dull the fans would find it if they didn’t have their hatred of one another to build on?
Hibs could call it out forcefully though. There were plenty people calling for it after the last game v Rangers at Easter Road, they were as bad as I have heard them in years that day. Yet, as always, there was radio silence from within Easter Road. Why?
We can't force the police to make arrests, the media to acknowledge it or Rangers to act but we can draw attention to their actions and flag the hypocrisy if they fail to condemn their own fans. Hibs have issued one lifetime ban with more to follow and there is likely going to be police involvement after Saturday's events at least in part because Rangers immediately drew public attention to the actions of a section of the Hibs support. The same happened with the Glenn Kamara racism incident, Rangers drew attention to it and everyone came out in support. Rangers were absolutely correct on both occasions btw but when they pitch up and sing anti Catholic and anti Irish bile at Easter Road we should just stay quiet like good, subservient wee boys because what can we do?
Not buying it. Rangers were spot on to call out the Hibs supporters on Saturday, Hibs were spot on to act on it. I'm not accepting that we just say nothing going forward though; clubs should have been calling them out years ago but what they do is just a bizarrely accepted part of Scottish culture that is more to be laughed at and enjoyed rather than called out for what it is. If the argument is that we can't say anything until we get our own house in order then why were Rangers in a position to say anything on Saturday? Their house is far less in order than ours.
23-10-2023, 06:36 PM
When Hibs have had the south stand smashed up, overcrowding from them forcing their way in, plus the sectarian singing, that is our problem when it’s in our stadium. Things do need called out, Rangers calling our support out immediately on Saturday is what has prompted action against the idiots who thought it was a good idea to do what they did.
Chorley Hibee
23-10-2023, 06:37 PM
Zero tolerance is the phrase Hibs like to band about. So if that's true, I expect that to apply to everyone in ER, not just the Hibs support.
We don't need police action to withdraw their ticket allocation either.
We're not just talking about sectarianism here, they frequently force entry and overcrowd the away end at ER, yet Hibs, and Rangers, remain silent on the matter.
Horribly ironic of Rangers too, given these incidents could result in a similar scenario to the disaster we're talking about now.
23-10-2023, 06:39 PM
Hibs could call it out forcefully though. There were plenty people calling for it after the last game v Rangers at Easter Road, they were as bad as I have heard them in years that day. Yet, as always, there was radio silence from within Easter Road. Why?
We can't force the police to make arrests, the media to acknowledge it or Rangers to act but we can draw attention to their actions and flag the hypocrisy if they fail to condemn their own fans. Hibs have issued one lifetime ban with more to follow and there is likely going to be police involvement after Saturday's events at least in part because Rangers immediately drew public attention to the actions of a section of the Hibs support. The same happened with the Glenn Kamara racism incident, Rangers drew attention to it and everyone came out in support. Rangers were absolutely correct on both occasions btw but when they pitch up and sing anti Catholic and anti Irish bile at Easter Road we should just stay quiet like good, subservient wee boys because what can we do?
Not buying it. Rangers were spot on to call out the Hibs supporters on Saturday, Hibs were spot on to act on it. I'm not accepting that we just say nothing going forward though; clubs should have been calling them out years ago but what they do is just a bizarrely accepted part of Scottish culture that is more to be laughed at and enjoyed rather than called out for what it is. If the argument is that we can't say anything until we get our own house in order then why were Rangers in a position to say anything on Saturday? Their house is far less in order than ours.
That’s exactly how i see it.
I have no issue with Rangers calling us out for that behaviour on Saturday other than they sit in silence at their own fans. But when they called it out, Hibs response was good and we’ve acted on it.
Hibs need to stop thinking “we need to get our own house in order” and being scared to call out the bigotry, grow a pair, and start the statements going out after the sectarianism is seen and heard again at Easter Rd.
Make Rangers be the ones with the footnote on an article saying they’ll take action and then call them out when **** all happens. Then do it again. And again. And again. Until something happens.
andyf5
23-10-2023, 06:49 PM
The thread has been hijacked with the "whataboutery". It is not acceptable behaviour.
23-10-2023, 07:11 PM
one fan banned by the club, so far
Hibs fan ‘banned’ over sick Rangers Ibrox abuse mocking as they vow to identify others - Football Scotland (https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/hibs-fan-banned-over-sick-27968409?fbclid=IwAR2RKvSMwEtN2yoi9aEW4sgdAsvTXMjL Qx6mO9ath0RE-H7npPwLvr2sLZI)
Good to see they've identified the first guy and taken action.
Hopefully more to follow.
23-10-2023, 07:19 PM
Block Seven speak:
https://twitter.com/blocksevenhibs/status/1716532231781466592?t=U1IMo2DGE7ftNVgTZDeQZg&s=19
Interestingly they confirm they are allocated a section for every away match after such claims were denied by various people at the club recently.
23-10-2023, 07:20 PM
Block 7 have denied the stickers and graffiti is anything to do with them. They have also confirmed the member who was caught mocking the disaster on his phone has been removed from the group.
Also interesting to note that they say “the club allocate us a section of the away end for every match”
BobbyT1875
23-10-2023, 07:24 PM
Block 7 have denied the stickers and graffiti is anything to do with them. They have also confirmed the member who was caught mocking the disaster on his phone has been removed from the group.
Also interesting to note that they say “the club allocate us a section of the away end for every match”
Interesting , was it a club employee that said they don’t get allocated tickets / areas ? Also, at hibs first launch meeting they said they don’t get allocations
BobbyT1875
23-10-2023, 07:25 PM
Block Seven speak:
https://twitter.com/blocksevenhibs/status/1716532231781466592?t=U1IMo2DGE7ftNVgTZDeQZg&s=19
Interestingly they confirm they are allocated a section for every away match after such claims were denied by various people at the club recently.
Ben Kensell needs to come out and explain himself and why B7 get priority
23-10-2023, 07:25 PM
Yes. In another thread. There's plenty.
23-10-2023, 07:27 PM
The thread has been hijacked with the "whataboutery". It is not acceptable behaviour.
Sorry but I disagree.
Whataboutery is when people raise the words or actions of others in an effort to excuse their own behaviour (or those they are associated with)
Almost every single post I've read on here that has criticised Ranger bigotry and hypocrisy, has unequivocally condemned the behaviour of the idiots in our support at the weekend.
23-10-2023, 07:29 PM
Block Seven speak:
Yet Hermit Crab got it tight for saying it was true
Trinity Hibee
23-10-2023, 07:30 PM
Block Seven speak:
That absolutely needs to be addressed. There will be hundreds, if not thousands, of Hibs fans not able to get tickets for big games (Tynie being one) who have been following Hibs before these kids were born. Completely wrong for them to be allocated sections for games.
23-10-2023, 07:30 PM
Block Seven speak:
How bizarre. It wasn’t us, but it was one of us, and now he’s not one of us…?
23-10-2023, 07:32 PM
Yep.
23-10-2023, 07:33 PM
Was confirmed they paid £50 like Hibs First and get allocation. Weird how the club have contradicted that though. They’ve dug a hole for themselves here!
BobbyT1875
Very . None of it makes sense . It feels like they have something over Ben K. I
Saying they get allocation, why the need to move others from their seats then?
23-10-2023, 07:35 PM
Very . None of it makes sense . It feels like they have something over Ben K. I
It makes sense that they have denied the graffiti and the stickers was anything to do with them however the guy with his phone out was. And has now been removed. (Would be hard for them to deny that one due to the guy wearing B7 gear)
23-10-2023, 07:36 PM
On that I totally agreed with him, it was obvious they were getting priority.
23-10-2023, 07:37 PM
Wasn’t us, nothing to do with us, the one of us in the photographs that was one of us is no longer one of us.
Lets move good family supporters from the FFL to accommodate this lot. Utterly deflating.
Hibees1973
23-10-2023, 07:38 PM
Block Seven speak:
The damaged seats at Motherwell. From TV footage was this not where Block 7 were located?
23-10-2023, 07:39 PM
The damaged seats at Motherwell. From TV footage was this not where Block 7 were located?
There is a pic of block 7 folks holding the blinking broken seats.
23-10-2023, 07:39 PM
But Hibs denied that. Not a great look. All very poor
23-10-2023, 07:40 PM
Aye, but it won't be them mister.
BobbyT1875
23-10-2023, 07:40 PM
It makes sense that they have denied the graffiti and the stickers was anything to do with them however the guy with his phone out was. And has now been removed. (Would be hard for them to deny that one due to the guy wearing B7 gear)
Not sure if you were at ibrox and your seats were down the front ? Mines were , hence it doesn’t make sense . Also , why didn’t the deny this two days ago
23-10-2023, 07:41 PM
Block Seven speak:
So it wasn't them even though one of their members has already been identified. And the club have confirmed it wasn't them? How is that even possible at this stage? They don't exactly condemn the actions of those responsible either. They've hung he club spokesman who told us there was no special treatment for them at away games.
23-10-2023, 07:41 PM
And the Block 7 stickers on the seats wouldn’t have been them
23-10-2023, 07:42 PM
Not sure if you were at ibrox and your seats were down the front ? Mines were , hence it doesn’t make sense . Also , why didn’t the deny this two days ago
What doesn’t make sense?
23-10-2023, 07:42 PM
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?363524-FAO-Fans-Rep-RE-Ticketing-(Villa-Away)&highlight=hermit+crab+block+seven+priority
The fans rep here saying that no fans group get priority unless they're a member of Hibs First.
Trying to figure out if the two statements can both be correct.
23-10-2023, 07:43 PM
https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?363524-FAO-Fans-Rep-RE-Ticketing-(Villa-Away)&highlight=hermit+crab+block+seven+priority
The fans rep here saying that no fans group get priority unless they're a member of Hibs First.
Surely if joining the group and they make it a requirement you sign up to Hibs first then yes they can?
23-10-2023, 07:44 PM
So it wasn't them even though one of their members has already been identified. And the club have confirmed it wasn't them? How is that even possible at this stage? They don't exactly condemn the actions of those responsible either. They've hung he club spokesman who told us there was no special treatment for them at away games.
I assume the person identified was the one with his phone on display. They are denying the stickers and graffiti was anything to do with them
And the Block 7 stickers on the seats wouldn’t have been them
I don’t feel as if we are all collectively buttoned up the back or thick, it is actually offensive that they act like we are.
But Hibs denied that. Not a great look. All very poor
Aye, somebody took the decision to reward these guys and then lie about it. Poor indeed.
Surely if joining the group and they make it a requirement you sign up to Hibs first then yes they can?
Would you still be able to get your seats together in that respect though?
23-10-2023, 07:45 PM
He’s clearly not a fan’s rep if he is knowingly part of this clear attempt to mislead fans.
23-10-2023, 07:45 PM
Does anybody believe a word that lot says?
BobbyT1875
23-10-2023, 07:46 PM
He’s clearly not a fan’s rep if he is knowingly part of this clear attempt to mislead fans.
As l understand it the chap is a paid employee of the club
Tweet now deleted.
Block Seven speak:
they've deleted the post
Lendo
23-10-2023, 07:47 PM
Block Seven speak:
It wasnae us, but the person that was caught was us, but now isnae with us any more.
Genuinely one of the worst statements I’ve ever read.
Also, it’s ‘mainstream’ not ‘main stream’.
What a bunch of morons.
I think that’s the catch, B7 have paid multiple £50s and are treated like HF members.
Pete70
Block Seven speak:
Looks like the post has been deleted.
23-10-2023, 07:48 PM
I hope he’s not deliberately misleading us. I voted for him as part of the previous set up. I’d feel regretful if we are now being lied to.
DinkyTwo
23-10-2023, 07:49 PM
The thread has been hijacked with the "whataboutery". It is not acceptable behaviour.It's not whataboutery, there's nobody (bar maybe one) dismissing what happened here.
It's just a tough ****ing pill to swallow.
We're very likely going to end up with a handful of teenagers arrested and they'll have the book thrown at them. Whilst the media, first minister and Hibs keep quiet every time Rangers fans step out of line - which by the way, also includes the en masse mocking of tragedies and the death of people connected to Hibs, past or present.
They are a ****-stain on Scottish society and it's one rule for them and another for the rest of us. I understand why people are frustrated.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Hibees1973
23-10-2023, 07:49 PM
Will be very interesting to see if Block 7 are still in their current format come Saturday.
Surely not.
23-10-2023, 07:51 PM
I think that’s the catch, B7 have paid multiple £50s and are treated like HF members.
Could easily be that. Say they have 50 Hibs First memberships and get their tickets that way
Benefit of the doubt here, maybe he was mislead himself.
https://i.ibb.co/R2vb0vM/5e6d74d5-c7ec-4bc8-a705-0886090a7b95.jpg (https://ibb.co/p20wz0s)
23-10-2023, 07:52 PM
They can delete the tweet all the want they have said they get allocated tickets for all away games and by deleting the tweet makes it look like it’s true
Benefit of the doubt here, maybe he was mislead himself.
Which is course is very possible. If it was me I’d be resigning if that was the case.
Could easily be that. Say they have 50 Hibs First memberships and get their tickets that way
Could be, but there are more than 50. Is that why they take over other's seats?
23-10-2023, 07:53 PM
Both old firm clubs have built there's into the monsters they are on sectarian stuff for years and years , we genuinely have a good club with good fans though what's happened at Ibrox isn't acceptable , there's a bad element creeping into our club the last while which need dealt with . I'd rather we sorted our own house out before trying to fix everyone else's!
Hate to say it but we have had a bad element in our support for the past 30 years, the CCS were no angels and this group are just a continuation of these guys, we seem to be always saying we need to get our house in order while we let other clubs come to ER and treat it like they can do anything they want as security and police do not want a hard time, but if a Hibs fan puts up a banner saying “Petrie Out” they are pounced on straight away, we will deal with any bams from the weekend, but we need to start being vocal about sectarian singing at our ground.
If that is the case then it seems fair enough, the scheme is ultimately pay for priority and aimed at the regular away travellers. If they have paid their cash then there is no issue. It makes all the contradictory statements and evasion all the harder to understand though.
I daresay someone from Hibs has been behind that statement being pulled though whilst they try to sort this all out.
Were they sat in their designated section at the weekend?
23-10-2023, 07:54 PM
Possibly. The ones with the allocated tickets maybe sit in their seats and then the others all want to be beside them, hence other folk getting forced out their seats.
50 was just a random number as well, they could have any amount
23-10-2023, 07:58 PM
Regardless of what the “official line” was it was blatantly obvious they were getting seats kept aside for away games.
Also, regarding the guy with the phone graphic - it was said he wasn’t a B7 member despite being festooned in the group uniform. Now they tell us he’s effectively had his membership revoked. Make your mind up..
And they then expect us to buy their “it wasn’t us” line for the graffiti and stickers?
Wouldn’t be surprised if it was Kensell himself who told them they’d be better taking down the statement to save a few club blushes.
Chorley Hibee
Yet we have club employees lying to us on here, as I suspected all along.
As someone just said, it's fairly obvious they're being given preference over other fans.
A mess of Hibs' own making it would seem.
Were they sat in their designated section at the weekend?
There were some sat in my mate's seats, he ended up moving elsewhere
Chorley Hibee
23-10-2023, 08:00 PM
Wasn't them though, it was someone else, repeat ad infinitum every away game.
Mikey_1875
23-10-2023, 08:01 PM
Does anybody believe a word that lot says?
That’s where I am with it. They are completely unreliable.
On the subject of seat allocations i’ve seen them take time at away games discussing what section to pick before they go into it. Why bother if it is already allocated.
andyf5
23-10-2023, 08:04 PM
Sorry but I disagree.
Whataboutery is when people raise the words or actions of others in an effort to excuse their own behaviour (or those they are associated with)
Almost every single post I've read on here that has criticised Ranger bigotry and hypocrisy, has unequivocally condemned the behaviour of the idiots in our support at the weekend.
Agree with your last paragraph.I understood Whataboutery to also be raising a different issue into the conversation that deflects attention from the original topic.
23-10-2023, 08:07 PM
I hope he’s not deliberately misleading us. I voted for him as part of the previous set up. I’d feel regretful if we are now being lied to.
We are being lied to. It’s that simple.
23-10-2023, 08:08 PM
We are being lied to. It’s that simple.
Genuinely, we may not be. If they've all bought Hibs First memberships, then they do get priority access to away tickets.
I do just wonder if they get their own section. It's probably worth letting Kieran put his tuppence in on it. Unfortunately that thread is locked so hopefully he's able to respond.
23-10-2023, 08:08 PM
It's not whataboutery, there's nobody (bar maybe one) dismissing what happened here.
It's just a tough ****ing pill to swallow.
We're very likely going to end up with a handful of teenagers arrested and they'll have the book thrown at them. Whilst the media, first minister and Hibs keep quiet every time Rangers fans step out of line - which by the way, also includes the en masse mocking of tragedies and the death of people connected to Hibs, past or present.
They are a ****-stain on Scottish society and it's one rule for them and another for the rest of us. I understand why people are frustrated.
What can they be arrested for and what would the charge be if it goes that far.
23-10-2023, 08:10 PM
It wasnae us, but the person that was caught was us, but now isnae with us any more.
Genuinely one of the worst statements I’ve ever read.
Also, it’s ‘mainstream’ not ‘main stream’.
What a bunch of morons.
some may well be morons but they're just young laddies
23-10-2023, 08:12 PM
Probably under the Hate Crime and Public Order (Scotland) Act 2021
23-10-2023, 08:13 PM
Hate crime and public order Scotland. Act I’d imagine
Might try and argue Crime was motivated by prejudice so it can be treated more seriously.
DinkyTwo
23-10-2023, 08:17 PM
What can they be arrested for and what would the charge be if it goes that far.Vandalism and hate crime, I guess.
Goes to show what trouble serious misbehaviour at the football can get you into.
23-10-2023, 08:18 PM
Some are young laddies, others are grown men.
23-10-2023, 08:18 PM
Their not all young though.
Paulie Walnuts
23-10-2023, 08:20 PM
There’s surely not actually adult members of block 7?
23-10-2023, 08:22 PM
Was Hibs First not restricted in numbers though? If they got 50 of them, were they given priority for them?
23-10-2023, 08:24 PM
Ben Kensell needs to come out and explain himself and why B7 get priority
I don't see anything that proves they get higher priority than other Hibs First members/ST holders, though it's blinding obvious that they get their seats allocated together in a specific area, which isn't really a problem to me, but the logistics of how that works have never been explained.
23-10-2023, 08:24 PM
Was Hibs First not restricted in numbers though? If they got 50 of them, were they given priority for them?
Was capped at 500 and from memory they never went straight away. It’s not totally unreasonable that they get an allocation based on the number of Hibs First memberships they have I wouldn’t say.
BobbyT1875
23-10-2023, 08:25 PM
There’s surely not actually adult members of block 7?
I’m guessing you go to games. The leader is like age 50. If you see a pic of the away end on Saturday, the chap is front right. Wears a flat cap
23-10-2023, 08:26 PM
Only 500 hibs first memberships
23-10-2023, 08:27 PM
As someone who knows him personally outwith his role with Hibs and has done for over 10 years I can say he would never knowingly mislead anyone or outright lie
23-10-2023, 08:28 PM
As someone who knows him personally outwith his role with Hibs and has done for over 10 years I can say he would never knowingly mislead anyone or outright lie
Glad to hear this. Makes it worse that he’s been misled.
23-10-2023, 08:30 PM
It's been clear that Hibs facilitate B7, even after the issues and concerns, other fans have had/voiced after various away fixtures.
Simply made a rod for their own back here. Piss poor
23-10-2023, 08:30 PM
Is he?
He wasn't paid when he was on the Board, and I don't see why that would change now.
23-10-2023, 08:31 PM
Almost as bizarre as congratulating the odious little cretins. Whoever they do or don’t belong to.
23-10-2023, 08:35 PM
Some are young laddies, others are grown men.
Their not all young though.
i'm thinking the older ones are maybe taking a back seat then in regards to that statement, i was only wanting to address the posters claim that they're all morons, i doubt the whole group are morons but it's the whole group that are under attack at the moment because of several halfwits and they're not sure how to defend themselves, i'm sure their are some that will be quite angry at the actions of said halfwits.
BobbyT1875
23-10-2023, 08:36 PM
Is he?
He wasn't paid when he was on the Board, and I don't see why that would change now.
Different and extend role . Part time employee l believe
Chorley Hibee
23-10-2023, 08:40 PM
Exactly!
Amazing how, once again, so many of them managed to get in something that was supposedly over subscribed.
The club are taking the piss expecting us to believe this.
23-10-2023, 08:45 PM
It's been clear that Hibs facilitate B7, even after the issues and concerns, other fans have had/voiced after various away fixtures.
Simply made a rod for their own back here. Piss poor
23-10-2023, 08:47 PM
Do you think the club still think that Block 7 are appropriate role models to grow a new section behind the goals? At 75% of this season league games there has been criminality. Not sure who flung the pyro into the Hearts end but it may well be 100% of away games.
23-10-2023, 08:51 PM
Do you think the club still think that Block 7 are appropriate role models to grow a new section behind the goals? At 75% of this season league games there has been criminality. Not sure who flung the pyro into the Hearts end but it may well be 100% of away games.
Yes, they appear untouchable
23-10-2023, 08:52 PM
The disgraceful actions at ibrox and a few other places by a group of fannies doesn't change the fact that something needs to be done with the FFL. It's not working as it is.
23-10-2023, 08:53 PM
Yes, they appear untouchable
My kids are not getting anywhere near them. I know my nephews and nieces also are not going anywhere near them.
23-10-2023, 08:53 PM
It blows a lot of the "family friendly club" argument out of the window with the family section being moved out of there.
23-10-2023, 08:54 PM
The disgraceful actions at ibrox and a few other places by a group of fannies doesn't change the fact that something needs to be done with the FFL. It's not working as it is.
Maybe time to focus attention on growing the FFL in a different way from what is currently there. Block 7 should not be anywhere near that area.
Trinity Hibee
23-10-2023, 09:03 PM
Actually agree with this. Whether it’s B7 or something else there needs to be some change to FFL to improve the atmosphere/numbers behind the goal we always shoot towards in the 2nd half of games.
Hibees1973
23-10-2023, 09:08 PM
It blows a lot of the "family friendly club" argument out of the window with the family section being moved out of there.
Going by the posts on here it appears Ben Kensell has encouraged and nurtured Block 7.
I reckon Block 7 needs to be eliminated by Ben before any more reputational damage is done to Hibs by them.
Supporting Hibs home & away would be a more pleasant experience without this mob.
Problem is though, that they seem to have been provided with a fair degree of power and influence. How difficult will it be to nullify them and would they just re-emerge under a different guise.
18Craig75
23-10-2023, 09:39 PM
I wonder how many tickets actually go on sale to your average fan for the likes of Tynecastle. Hibs First, Block 7, Edinburgh Suite/Corporate Sponsors etc (non Hibs First), Players allocation. How do you join block 7? Seems a much easier way to get tickets to the big games than fighting it out on the website, trying to second guess what time the que will let you in.
the_ginger_hibee
23-10-2023, 09:53 PM
Another sorry episode in the Hibs & Block 7 cluster******.
The club really should be stopping any partnership or relationship with them now. To hear they get any kind of preferential treatment for tickets is shocking. Even if it's a set block at the same time as Hibs First, it's not fair or transparent.
Anyone that has had to deal with them or spend anytime around them would agree the club will only continue to be tarnished by their behavior. And of course they'll deny the Ibrox mess was them...but take a look at the pictures, the stickers happen to be about 3 seats to the right of the area they sat - even they aren't going to graffiti or sticker those types of messages in exactly the seats they were allocated/pushed fans out of. Everytime they get caught it's the same 'Hangers on / no us' excuse.
A sorry state for the club to get itself in. They are risking long-standing fans respect and loyalty with each B7 misstep.
23-10-2023, 10:01 PM
I wonder how many tickets actually go on sale to your average fan for the likes of Tynecastle. Hibs First, Block 7, Edinburgh Suite/Corporate Sponsors etc (non Hibs First), Players allocation. How do you join block 7? Seems a much easier way to get tickets to the big games than fighting it out on the website, trying to second guess what time the que will let you in.
I’ve argued before that I’d like Hibs to reveal exactly how many tickets are for sale for away matches.
The away leg at Villa didn’t feel quite right. It was more than just demand outstripping supply. The last derby another where the tickets sold out a lot quicker than might reasonably be expected for the allocation that we receive.
For both of those games, I reckon we were competing with fellow fans for barely 1000 tickets. If that’s nonsense, then it can easily be debunked and clarifying in advance how many are going to be available to buy.
That said, there’s no guarantees we’d get told the truth.
23-10-2023, 10:03 PM
That’s exactly how i see it.
I have no issue with Rangers calling us out for that behaviour on Saturday other than they sit in silence at their own fans. But when they called it out, Hibs response was good and we’ve acted on it.
Hibs need to stop thinking “we need to get our own house in order” and being scared to call out the bigotry, grow a pair, and start the statements going out after the sectarianism is seen and heard again at Easter Rd.
Make Rangers be the ones with the footnote on an article saying they’ll take action and then call them out when **** all happens. Then do it again. And again. And again. Until something happens.
Agree with every word
skankomcphee
23-10-2023, 10:05 PM
The very meeting where Ben Kensell had his arms around the shoulders of the "grandad ultra " and the megaphone lad when they arrived having words in their ear. It was highlighted they have regular meetings between block 7 and club and that they have a strict membership policy and levels of membership through the ranks with strict rule that they are representing the club!
I'll be interested to see how Hibs manage this as clearly that isnt working.
Sorry, just been a wee bit sick in my mouth.
Steven79
23-10-2023, 10:19 PM
I’ve argued before that I’d like Hibs to reveal exactly how many tickets are for sale for away matches.
The away leg at Villa didn’t feel quite right. It was more than just demand outstripping supply. The last derby another where the tickets sold out a lot quicker than might reasonably be expected for the allocation that we receive.
For both of those games, I reckon we were competing with fellow fans for barely 1000 tickets. If that’s nonsense, then it can easily be debunked and clarifying in advance how many are going to be available to buy.
That said, there’s no guarantees we’d get told the truth.The SFA tell Scotland fans exactly how many tickets are available for purchase before they go on sale.
No reason why Hibs can't do the same...
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
23-10-2023, 10:52 PM
Trying to figure out if the two statements can both be correct. When I read that the first time it seemed to me that BlockSeven had bought the HibsFirst membership for x amount of members. They then place that order for the away games and the club allocate those tickets together. So not really priority as they are getting the same as other Hibs First members and I think efforts are made for them to sit together if they are in groups too. I don't see much of an issue with that and I think Kieran was telling the truth and that both things can be true.
The issue is that if they have 50 and another 50 of them have bought tickets out with Hibs First then they will gravitate towards the group and then displace fans saying that is where their allocation is. The club clearly think they are a good thing, frankly I can't see it. However they do their bit for the Community Foundation which is very much to their credit.
wee hay
24-10-2023, 12:51 AM
At the meeting last year my understanding was there was a link between B7 & Ben Kensell which was admitted & the tickets that were being allocated were more to do with police Scotland & ensuring they were placed in certain areas as recommended by the police . I think it was confirmed they were paying the same as Hibs First members but from my recollection there was minimal representation of B7 at this meeting, it would Be interesting to know how many tickets they are being allocated but it does seem they are being prioritised in some way. The meeting we had last year I do add was prior to the additions so it’s possible the uplift to 500 have been taken from the group. I genuinely believe they have separate communication from Hibs First but these guys have had communication back to the away season tickets days which is fair enough. After Saturday this needs to be reviewed & the tickets they are handing out need to be properly managed with proper due diligence . They do bring atmosphere and support but that is being tarnished due to events like Sat. Hibs have got to take action here & explain exactly what they plan to ensure other supporters aren’t punished.
24-10-2023, 05:02 AM
Trying to paint KP as dishonest or a liar is pretty low IMO. Don't know the guy personally but he's always come across as one of the good guys. I remember when he was up for nomination and we had lots of prominent members on here saying they knew him and he was a stand up guy.
There is no evidence whatsoever he has lied to the support yet some people want to pile in. Out of order IMO.
24-10-2023, 06:10 AM
Trying to paint KP as dishonest or a liar is pretty low IMO. Don't know the guy personally but he's always come across as one of the good guys. I remember when he was up for nomination and we had lots of prominent members on here saying they knew him and he was a stand up guy.
There is no evidence whatsoever he has lied to the support yet some people want to pile in. Out of order IMO.
Well said.👍👍👍
24-10-2023, 06:24 AM
Yeah bit unfortunate the way this discussion has turned.
24-10-2023, 06:25 AM
Block 7 have X amount of Hibs first memberships, so they get no more priority than others. Hibs allocate them a section for them to purchase tickets so they are grouped together. Which is hardly the huge issue some on here are desperate it to make it.
24-10-2023, 06:30 AM
When I read that the first time it seemed to me that BlockSeven had bought the HibsFirst membership for x amount of members. They then place that order for the away games and the club allocate those tickets together. So not really priority as they are getting the same as other Hibs First members and I think efforts are made for them to sit together if they are in groups too. I don't see much of an issue with that and I think Kieran was telling the truth and that both things can be true.
The issue is that if they have 50 and another 50 of them have bought tickets out with Hibs First then they will gravitate towards the group and then displace fans saying that is where their allocation is. The club clearly think they are a good thing, frankly I can't see it. However they do their bit for the Community Foundation which is very much to their credit.
Think that is probably it they took up a few Hibs first so a core will go to games however they will also attract others to congregate near them who won't sit in their allocated seats hence the issue with some sitting anywhere and annoying other fans. Not great.
24-10-2023, 06:31 AM
Block 7 have X amount of Hibs first memberships, so they get no more priority than others. Hibs allocate them a section for them to purchase tickets so they are grouped together. Which is hardly the huge issue some on here are desperate it to make it.
The issue is more what they do when they get to those seats.
24-10-2023, 06:32 AM
Agree totally
Hate crime and public order Scotland. Act I’d imagine
Might try and argue Crime was motivated by prejudice so it can be treated more seriously.
You will struggle to prove a hate crime tbh and more than likely a Breach of Peace would be more apt. Won’t be vandalism as the sticker and writing will wash off without damage.
I’d be surprised if the Police got involved following discussion with then and the club have started the ball rolling with ban with hopefully more to follow.
24-10-2023, 07:11 AM
Block 7 or an associate were absolutely 100% involved in the Ibrox disaster disgrace. To say otherwise is just ridiculous.
SON OF PADDY
24-10-2023, 07:32 AM
Well said 👏🏼 👏🏼
HFC93
24-10-2023, 07:36 AM
Have Block 7 issued a statement since Saturday?
24-10-2023, 07:37 AM
I have no doubt that KP has relayed the information he has been given to us truthfully and in good faith.
24-10-2023, 08:12 AM
There is no evidence whatsoever he has lied to the support yet some people want to pile in. Out of order IMO.I do know him personally, he's one of us and one of the good guys is exactly what he is.
Taken on what was always going to be a thankless task and if the bunch of numpties we are talking about have been treated as something more important than the vast majority of our support I strongly suspect the reasons for it lie deeper within, and higher up the club hierarchy.
24-10-2023, 08:16 AM
They did, and it was swiftly deleted.
Stanton Spence
24-10-2023, 08:23 AM
I do know him personally, he's one of us and one of the good guys is exactly what he is.
Taken on what was always going to be a thankless task and if the bunch of numpties we are talking about have been treated as something more important than the vast majority of our support I strongly suspect the reasons for it lie deeper within, and higher up the club hierarchy.
Well said mate I can also vouch for KP he is a stand up guy
24-10-2023, 08:29 AM
I don’t disagree with a single word tbf, do the club have the stomach for it? I’m not so sure, we’ve had ample opportunity over the years and done **** all.
I think I’m very jaded to it all and it’s just background noise to me but I’m not someone who is affected by any sectarianism.
Mcbizz1998
24-10-2023, 08:51 AM
Haven’t seen one. Whoever writes them is barely literate anyway, probably best they don’t bother.
24-10-2023, 08:52 AM
There's a screenshot of the deleted statement earlier in this thread.
24-10-2023, 09:03 AM
I don’t disagree with a single word tbf, do the club have the stomach for it? I’m not so sure, we’ve had ample opportunity over the years and done **** all.
I think I’m very jaded to it all and it’s just background noise to me but I’m not someone who is affected by any sectarianism.
I get it, but just because you are not affected is a poor excuse to do nothing.
I’d imagine you aren’t affected by racism, like me you are likely a white male. But I would absolutely call it out.
Hibs should be making a point about every piece of bigoted nonsense from the OF and putting it on a Monday show reel tagging Police Scotland, and every other club should do likewise.
Mcbizz1998
24-10-2023, 09:06 AM
There's a screenshot of the deleted statement earlier in this thread.
Just read it. Sorry, but I simply don't believe them. Who else would be organised enough to have these stickers pre-printed? We know that B7 print stickers, you can see them all over Leith. Add to that their previous behaviour and the one identifiable cretin so far is wearing a B7 scarf and it all becomes pretty clear who is responsible.
They can claim it didn't happen in their block of tickets but we all know they sit wherever they want anyway.
He's here!
24-10-2023, 09:33 AM
They did, and it was swiftly deleted.
Why was it deleted?