View Full Version : Match Updates Kilmarnock v Hibernian

Pages : 1 [2] 3

CCM4LIFE
16-09-2023, 03:31 PM
So first impressions from me is SPL lets a lot more go in terms of fouls.
I saw someone get rugby tackled and they played on lol

16-09-2023, 03:32 PM
Lost the plot since we conceded.

16-09-2023, 03:32 PM

The referees are a joke.

16-09-2023, 03:33 PM
Killie in control.

We’re giving ourselves problems here.

The referees are a joke.

Cheats

SJNB Hibby
16-09-2023, 03:34 PM
We're falling apart here

GAJLF has been a bit poor.

Weve struggled since Doidge departed. Need to hold onto the ball a bit.
Pitch playing its part. Doidge as you would expect had the measure of it.

DIXIHIBS
16-09-2023, 03:35 PM

Depends entirely on the ref. Some give fouls for nothing...others let a lot go. VERY inconsistent.

16-09-2023, 03:35 PM
Long time to go for killie to be on top

badabing67
16-09-2023, 03:36 PM
Hardlines ALF

16-09-2023, 03:36 PM
We never seem to make it easy for ourselves at times. Need some composure and get the ball to Boyle and Youan to take game to them

16-09-2023, 03:37 PM
Unlucky ALF, corner Hibs

Exuberance1875
16-09-2023, 03:39 PM
Thought the game was done at 2-0…perhaps I was wrong

CL0762
16-09-2023, 03:40 PM
Does this **** forget he has a whistle when Hibs players are being fouled?

16-09-2023, 03:41 PM
probably expected 2-2

USA_Hibee
2-2

Well done Rocky you absolute ****ing clown

Ref is a joke

badabing67
Ffs

FO

2-2

Aw FFS Hibs

Absolutely pathetic defending again.

Ffs

Ffs

JJP
16-09-2023, 03:42 PM
That decision making from Rocky is ridiculous.

HendoDelivered
Rocky you ****ing CLOWN

**** sake

Berwickhibby
Again the defending is awful at crosses

That’s poor.

Sounds like we should’ve been well out of sight

Oh rocky.

The Captain....
Bushiri is absolutely murder..costs us goals consistently

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

semaj64
Still losing goals from corners!!!

timewilltell
16-09-2023, 03:43 PM
Thought the game was done at 2-0…perhaps I was wrong

This is Hibs. How many times have we thrown away situations like this……

stop looking for the foul rocky

Shocking defending. But, mind you, the ref is a clown.

Not watching but is that Rocky x 2 at fsukt for their goals?

Defence needs serious work in January.

7Hero
Rocky had a another mare losing the corner there..

Crichton laughing as she says "total capitulation from Hibs." **** off.

Not been sane since Doidge went off

CL0762
Rocky is a ****ing liability man. Just deal with the ball and get it to **** rather than playing to get a foul. 2 completely avoidable goals.

16-09-2023, 03:44 PM
Time for Harbottle to get a chance?

AL-Qaholik
Insane that we are still stuck with these imposters in defence

Rocky should have had that emptied instead of trying to buy a foul that alone should get him dropped for next week

Not been sane since Doidge went off

Feel like pure **** just want him back x

that all came from Newall messing up yet another pass leads to the goal, Rocky has to do better ffs

Paulie Walnuts
Rocky is absolutely terrible.

As much as folk would try and argue it was a coincidence, the stats with him in the team vs him out the team last season were damning. He’s brutal.

I’ve went full circle with Rocky

Wasn’t keen

Liked him

Not keen again

stop looking for the foul rocky

Tried to do a Porto diving to floor and lino didn't buy it.

Idiot.

Zero composure in the Hibs team. Always going to lose a 2nd.

The Captain....
Rocky is a ****ing liability man. Just deal with the ball and get it to **** rather than playing to get a foul. 2 completely avoidable goals.His decision making, concentration and positioning are all so poor.

16-09-2023, 03:45 PM

Why you saying that? I think ref has been fine overall.

Do we expect anything less from them. I don’t and that’s why I don’t listen to them with their anti Hibs Bias.

NM will today have learnt a few things about certain players

Btw Leanne ****ing who??

Shanksaidno
Defence needs serious work in January.

on positive side, Monty will see where the problems lie

Almost seemed predictable we weren’t going to hold out

Still soft as ****

16-09-2023, 03:46 PM
on positive side, Monty will see where the problems lie

He will certainly be learning fairly quickly about his players.

Jair'll sort it.

Couldn't watch on my stick but why is Harbottle not getting a chance, not a big fan of Rocky and everyone on here saying its is fault for the 2nd.

maybe the waxing lyrical over a fairly mediocre first half can be calmed now?

plhibs
16-09-2023, 03:47 PM
Nobody working in midfield for us.

HendoDelivered
Youans shoulders goosed, probably out for a while. Coming off

Tavares time

tonyrougier123
Nothing will be done over night with this defence.

Obita and Tavares on

Jair for the winner. NAP

Couldn't watch on my stick but why is Harbottle not getting a chance, not a big fan of Rocky and everyone on here saying its is fault for the 2nd.

The new manager is just in door and we’re moaning about him not giving players chances. Wild.

Got Jair scoring the winner all over it

Also these killie commentators are horrific

Tavares coming on :shocked:

youan off injured

obita for stevenson

Stonewall

Sounds like a fair comment to be fair.

16-09-2023, 03:48 PM
Monty will see that we are a bit like a chocolate bar soft in the middle.

Paulie Walnuts
16-09-2023, 03:48 PM
The new manager is just in door and we’re moaning about him not giving players chances. Wild.

The poster didn’t mention the new manager?

Harbottle hasn’t really had a chance this season, whether that’s under LJ, SDG or NM.

16-09-2023, 03:49 PM
Heaven is missing a winner, Jair.

16-09-2023, 03:49 PM
Sounds as if it’ll be 2 points dropped

16-09-2023, 03:50 PM
What the **** is Marshall doing just kicking the ball out.

Haven't seen anything from Harbottle so far that suggests he should be starting for us IMO.

Marshall is abysmal.

Sick of it.

Nothing to do with Montgomery, he's only just here, Harbottle has hardly been on the pitch all season so far, can't be worse than Rocky.

I’d love to know the game plan behind the goal kicks. Let’s get Rocky to play it short to Marshall so he can boot it up to nae ****. Brilliant.

Rocky and Marshall GTF

Marshall is abysmal.

Sick of it.

Belgrade seems a long long time ago

16-09-2023, 03:51 PM
Rocky and Marshall GTF

Absolutely

16-09-2023, 03:52 PM
boyle yellow card

softiish

16-09-2023, 03:53 PM
It's hard work supporting hibs.....2 up should be done and dusted.

16-09-2023, 03:54 PM
It's hard work supporting hibs.....2 up should be done and dusted.

Hardest scoreline to defend in football apparently.

16-09-2023, 03:55 PM
Reckon this’ll probably show NM how jeckyll and hyde we can be

KM yellow card

nine yellows

We have a midfield that gets outworking, out fought & turned over by Killie Livi St Mirren Motherwell

It's no surprise we lose 2-3 goals per game to those teams

Jimmy Jeggo man of the match by a distance as Doidge only played 45.

16-09-2023, 03:56 PM
Newall is back with the yo yo games.

Killie letting us off there

I hope Montgomery can see the defensive problems, because everyman and his dog can…

We have a midfield that gets outworking, out fought & turned over by Killie Livi St Mirren Motherwell

Rocky gifting goals like he did today is nothing to do with the midfield.

CentreForward
The only possible reason why Tavares was on bench and now come on is the Benfica connection with the new management team!

Hardest scoreline to defend in football apparently.

Hearts managed it today no bother.

I hope Montgomery can see the defensive problems, because everyman and his dog can…

He has to

Aye an who is right in the middle of it.

16-09-2023, 03:57 PM
Reckon this’ll probably show NM how jeckyll and hyde we can be

2 daft mistakes. At 2 nill you just need to work hard at keeping the ball. Harder to do that with the 442 tbf. But you can’t help individual errors.

So did we against Aberdeen. But it is said to be the most difficult in football, it doesn’t mean no one ever does it obviously.

badabing67
Well played Jair hope he is gonna come good

How many managers have we had that don’t seem to see it!

CCM4LIFE
I have to say after watching this match, the only thing that stands out to me being different from the A-League is the physicality.

I'm surprised no one's been sent off from multiple yellows yet.

Well played Jair hope he is gonna come good

Well played?

16-09-2023, 03:58 PM
FT.

Rocky is nowhere near good enough to be playing for Hibs. Harbottle can't be any worse.
Marshall is finished. Done.

Major surgery in defence required in January.

2 daft mistakes. At 2 nill you just need to work hard at keeping the ball. Harder to do that with the 442 tbf. But you can’t help individual errors.

I remember hearing the same argument about LJ’s hibs team though. “Daft mistakes” constantly whereas in reality, we were just a poor team

on that 2nd half showing i don't think we deserved any more than the point

i'm sure most of us had a feeling as soon as the first killie goal went in another would most likely follow

Stupid Hibs.

AZhibee
The only possible reason why Tavares was on bench and now come on is the Benfica connection with the new management team!

Good thing?

Decent first half, bad second, defence is still shocking and costing us too many goals and games

16-09-2023, 03:59 PM
That was a depressing end to the game from 2-0 up

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Paulie Walnuts
I have to say after watching this match, the only thing that stands out to me being different from the A-League is the physicality.

I'm surprised no one's been sent off from multiple yellows yet.

It’s a good bit ahead of the A-League.

Torto7
Moan moan moan. There was the shape of a good football team there I was impressed. As for the ref what a bellend.

He will learn the hard way with regards to bringing Campbell on at 2-1.

2 points dropped.

We need to start taking more of our chances

We have to start defending A LOT better

Trinity Hibee
Very poor to lose a 2-0 lead to a team like that

You know what to do Monty

Disappointing from Newell and Boyle today. Not at the races.

Very disappointing after gaining a deserved lead. These lapses have cost us sorely this season and hopefully it highlights to the new coaching team what needs to be addressed.

Good to see Monty encouraging all the team right towards the away fans. Encouraged by what we saw for the majority of that match, just a shame to throw it away.

And we've managed it before too? Doesn't take away from the fact it's a notoriously dodgy score in football

16-09-2023, 04:00 PM
Our defence is mince. Killie’s defence was the exact opposite. Terrible result. Over to you Monty to get a grip of glaring weaknesses.

McSwanky
He will learn the hard way with regards to bringing Campbell on at 2-1.What did Campbell do wrong?

Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk

Well I suppose with all the comings and goings I would have taken the draw, but as many have said our new manager can see exactly what needs to be done.

Disappointing from Newell and Boyle today. Not at the races.

Very disappointed with Newell

I thought we looked a completely different team once they got one back, second goal could have been dealt with better.

2 points dropped.

16-09-2023, 04:01 PM
Really hope Monty gets that defence sorted

Tables a very depressing look currently

JJP
Before the game you’d have thought it would be a not bad result picking up the point away from home with Killie having a good home record but it’s really disappointing that we chucked a 2 goal lead.

Stupid Hibs.

Well that was disappointing.

Be interesting to see what Montgomery takes from that display and who he thinks is... and isn't... starting material.

HendoDelivered
We’ll get better under Monty, no doubt. Hopefully that’s the last time Rocky starts a game for us. He is horrific.

Am I encouraged? Yes.

Onwards and upwards. We will get there 👍🏼

ElginHibbie
A draw wouldn't have seen as a bad result before kick off, but after being 2-0 pretty shocking

See what Monty takes from this, 3 homes games in a row now starting off with bottom of league next weekend so hopefully can work on stopping the stupid mistakes and get a run going

Feels like a loss. Least NM knows what needs done now

16-09-2023, 04:02 PM

We have more points than we did before the game.

Frustrating draw but loads of time left this season!

16-09-2023, 04:03 PM

We have played 5 games, but it will give you something to whinge about

Before the game you’d have thought it would be a not bad result picking up the point away from home with Killie having a good home record but it’s really disappointing that we chucked a 2 goal lead.

Agree. I predicted 1-1. We score plenty goals but the defending is dreadful. Montgomery will know what the team has to work on at East Mains this week.

I remember hearing the same argument about LJ’s hibs team though. “Daft mistakes” constantly whereas in reality, we were just a poor team

We were much better first half. Lots of positives. Crumbled after the first mistake and then gave them another chance from nothing. If Hanlon is going to be dropped we MUST get a left footed CB to replace. That was an easy clearance for Rocky on his left and instead he tries to hold on and get fouled. Daft daft mistake but its a square peg in a round hole.

FT.

Rocky is nowhere near good enough to be playing for Hibs. Harbottle can't be any worse.
Marshall is finished. Done.

Major surgery in defence required in January.

Ewwwww "Major surgery in defence required in January" going to be a long hard graft until end Jan....shoot me now

16-09-2023, 04:04 PM
What did Campbell do wrong?

Not a single thing.

tamh
16-09-2023, 04:05 PM
Feels like a loss. Least NM knows what needs done now
No problems last week......changed a winning team:confused::confused:

Hasn't taken you long :confused:

AL-Qaholik
Marshall, Rocky, Jeggo, Campbell, Jair, Stevenson.
None of them should be near our first team.
Huge surgery still required.
Best of luck, Monty.

Two Rocky mistakes two goals conceded.

Wasn't great. But I'm sure we'll get better.

Until we get that defence sorted , simple football is going to undo us. A no nonsense centre half who can win and clear the ball regularly would walk into our team.

Thankfully, prizes are not given out until next May :wink:.

16-09-2023, 04:08 PM
We’ll get better under Monty, no doubt. Hopefully that’s the last time Rocky starts a game for us. He is horrific.

Am I encouraged? Yes.

Onwards and upwards. We will get there 👍🏼

Rocky's limitations are defintely more exposed on what is a horrific surface.

pollution
16-09-2023, 04:09 PM
A point away from home on a home team biased pitch is ok for me.
Our new man is unbeaten so far.....

2nd top goal scorers and worst in the league for goals against.

Sort the defence out man.

HendoDelivered
Rocky's limitations are defintely more exposed on what is a horrific surface.

Does that include his decision making?

fife hfc
16-09-2023, 04:10 PM

Sent from my YAL-L21 using TapatalkWhat did Campbell do? Came on and done nothing.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Double whammy when as well as chucking the win away it’s only a Hibs that let your coupon down ��

He will learn the hard way with regards to bringing Campbell on at 2-1.

Dear me.

coldingham hibs
Best of luck, Monty.

Jeggo & Stevenson played well. Newell was poor as was Rocky. Campbell playing up front was nonsense.

Until we get that defence sorted , simple football is going to undo us. A no nonsense centre half who can win and clear the ball regularly would walk into our team.

We have one, Harbottle looks like he could do that job needs games of course.

Trinity Hibee
16-09-2023, 04:11 PM

Table looks pish. That is undeniable

16-09-2023, 04:12 PM
Can't be throwing away two goal leads

16-09-2023, 04:12 PM
Best of luck, Monty.

Prob jeggos best game

Donegal Hibby
16-09-2023, 04:13 PM
Disappointing after been 2 up though would have took a draw before it started tbh . Thought Doidge was having a good game before going off . Boyle and Newell poor today . Don't know how many times Newell gave it away and set pieces poor from him also .

He’s also right footed. We needed to get a left footed player in and we never ever do.

coldingham hibs
Prob jeggos best game

Jeggo has played well for about the last 4 games, time for people to stop the witch hunt.

16-09-2023, 04:15 PM
Defend set pieces and we’ve won the game.

Lots of positives. Clear development point.

CL0762
16-09-2023, 04:15 PM
Best of luck, Monty.

Jeggo was Hibs best player ffs 😂 take a day off.

16-09-2023, 04:16 PM
Jeggo has played well for about the last 4 games, time for people to stop the witch hunt.

Agree.

Table looks pish. That is undeniable

Also undeniable that there are people on here that if we won 90-0 they would find something to moan about

He’s also right footed. We needed to get a left footed player in and we never ever do.

He played left CH all last season, a good CH can play either side.

16-09-2023, 04:17 PM
It is gonna take Monty some time to sort out that squad, some worth keeping some have to go.
while playing on that carpet could be said to be the same for both sets of players it is a disgrace that they are allowed to have this mickey mouse surface, a player will get a real bad one some day.
Now after the first mistake joke goal we let in, the capret baggers started playing as we had in the first half and this is 2 points lost for sure.

Also undeniable that there are people on here that if we won 90-0 they would find something to moan about

Took our foot off the pedal in injury time though, didn't we?

The Captain....
My kingdom for a competent centre half. How long has it been blatantly apparent they are all incapable yet we blunder on with them. Rocky especially is dog****..an absolute accident waiting to happen.

1875M
16-09-2023, 04:18 PM
Would have taken a point before the game but going 2-0 up then conceding 2 is disappointing. However, it means NM has now seen our obvious and glaring weaknesses. Thought Jeggo was very good. Some really good football, especially in the first half and looks like the players have bought into/are buying into it. Onward and upwards.

16-09-2023, 04:18 PM
In the grand scheme of things it's an away point, but to get that point after having 3 in the bag is as annoying as ****.

You don't have to be Pep to see where the problem lies by now, we have no bother scoring but can't defend for toffee, no matter who is playing in the defence. That's twice this season already we've lost a goal immediately after scoring and if that doesn't point to a lack of concentration I don't know what does.

I suppose if you wan't to pick out a positive, this is the first time Monty has seen them play in the flesh and it will give him a better idea of their strengths and weaknesses, perhaps a snatching a draw from the jaws of victory type game will be more value to him going forward than a 3 - 0 win that somewhat disguised where things need sorted out.

As usual you can soften the blow a bit by saying if we had got 4 points from our last two games by drawing at Aberdeen and winning at Killie there wouldn't be a lot to complain about.

16-09-2023, 04:19 PM

Definitely. Embarrassing if you need to be left footed to play well at left CB.

You can't go on about a number six needing to be able to do more than just break up play then insist a LCB needs to be left footed.

Victor
16-09-2023, 04:19 PM
Moan moan moan. There was the shape of a good football team there I was impressed. As for the ref what a bellend.

[emoji106]that and the god awful pitch are what done for us. Kevin Harper on Hibs TV said that it was moving under him when he walked across it. Must be awful to play on, when you are constantly trying to keep your balance.

16-09-2023, 04:20 PM
Wanted to say this after a win but that isn't a proper football on that pitch.
Doesn't excuse our frailties but still horrific to watch and no doubt to to play on.

16-09-2023, 04:20 PM
My kingdom for a competent centre half. How long has it been blatantly apparent they are all incapable yet we blunder on with them. Rocky especially is dog****..an absolute accident waiting to happen.

He was at fault but put in a poor place by crap from Newall and with a goalie who would drop the waterbottle if thrown at him, but I do think Monty will sort it out this is just the start, and we are unbeaten up to now.

16-09-2023, 04:21 PM

poor st johnstone without a win

oh oh

16-09-2023, 04:22 PM
Does that include his decision making?

16-09-2023, 04:23 PM

oh oh

It's okay, it's not like they love a win against Hibs

Oh oh.

Paulie Walnuts
16-09-2023, 04:24 PM

He played it last season and we were ****ing shocking when he did.

Hopefully a full week to work with the players will result in a difference next Saturday.

Wanted to say this after a win but that isn't a proper football on that pitch.
Doesn't excuse our frailties but still horrific to watch and no doubt to to play on.

Just said the same to a mate who supports Killie, TBF, he says it’s like that most weeks. I personally would struggle to watch that every second week. Neither side could barely string two passes together. That's one of the worst games I've seen in a long time.

16-09-2023, 04:25 PM
Very disappointed with Newell

Yep gave the ball away so many times in the second half.

16-09-2023, 04:26 PM

oh oh

Dinnae ... just dinnae :confused:

He's here!
16-09-2023, 04:27 PM
Not too despondent. I'd have taken a point before the game at a really tricky venue. Obviously frustrating not to win from 2-0 up but it might not be the worst thing for the new manager to be so quickly appraised of our most glaring weaknesses.

16-09-2023, 04:27 PM
Yep gave the ball away so many times in the second half.

Worst he has played for weeks, not helped by Rocky and a poor goalie who must go soon.

16-09-2023, 04:30 PM
One of the biggest complaints under Johnson was no clear way of playing. Not an issue today.

Going to be up and down between now and January until he has a chance to address the defence.

Positive signs but players are going to need to get fitter to play his way.

16-09-2023, 04:30 PM
Worst he has played for weeks, not helped by Rocky and a poor goalie who must go soon.

Don't think Marshall did too much wrong today? Definitely not at fault for either goal. Both are down to mistakes from Rocky unfortunately. No idea why he is where he is for the first and the second is just lazy and looking for a foul that never was.

16-09-2023, 04:32 PM

Did you see him at Blackpool? He didn't look like that there.

JammyDoidger
16-09-2023, 04:32 PM
Same problem as it's always been and will continue to be until we bring in new defenders, the ones we have are single fish.

AL-Qaholik
16-09-2023, 04:33 PM
Jeggo was Hibs best player ffs 😂 take a day off.

He’s nowhere near the level we need to take us forward, but you already knew that.

Wouldn’t get near another top 5 club’s team.

Daily Hibs
16-09-2023, 04:34 PM
Pleased Hanlon was dropped today. Stevenson should be nowhere near the starting lineup either.

I really hope this manager doesn't make the same mistakes as his predecessors by thinking he can rely on certain players.

Some get shot down on here for saying the squad needs an overhaul, lets hope the new manager sees that too.

16-09-2023, 04:36 PM
Pleased Hanlon was dropped today. Stevrnson should be nowhere near the starting lineup either.

I really hope this manager doesn't make the same mistakes as his predecessors by thinking he can rely on certain players.

Some get shot down on here for saying the squad needs an overhaul, lets hope the new manager sees that too.

What was your thoughts on Stevenson today? How did he play? Unfortunately I couldn't make today's game so just wondering what you thought.

Pleased Hanlon was dropped today. Stevrnson should be nowhere near the starting lineup either.

You can't be pleased that Rocky played ahead of Hanlon surely?

Don't think Marshall did too much wrong today? Definitely not at fault for either goal. Both are down to mistakes from Rocky unfortunately. No idea why he is where he is for the first and the second is just lazy and looking for a foul that never was.

Marsh to me just does not inspire much confidence in the defense, he slows it up then ends up kicking the ball out of play or up into no where land.
Rocky as I have said was at fault but not on his own, dont know how many time Newall misplaced passes and then non tackles put the defense under pressure, must do better and sure we will over time.

16-09-2023, 04:37 PM

There hasn't been a witch hunt against him, he had a very poor start to the season.

He has however been much better in the last 3 games (def not 4, he was poor v Livvy). Hopefully he keeps it up.

16-09-2023, 04:37 PM

He wasn’t playing for us last season.

16-09-2023, 04:38 PM

I’ve had plenty to whinge about so far. But under the new manager not so much.

The tables a depressing look just now regardless, that’s just a fact

16-09-2023, 04:39 PM
Did you see him at Blackpool? He didn't look like that there.

I said he needs games, we dont have the luxury of having great players who can just fit into the defense and be stars overnight.

16-09-2023, 04:39 PM
Thankfully, prizes are not given out until next May :wink:.

That’s why I said currently chief

16-09-2023, 04:40 PM

We want 100

Victor
16-09-2023, 04:40 PM
What was your thoughts on Stevenson today? How did he play? Unfortunately I couldn't make today's game so just wondering what you thought.

Stevenson was neither up nor down. Definitely think the pitch had a lot to do with it. Newell on the other hand wasn’t at the races. Don’t know if being Captain affected that! [emoji3]

16-09-2023, 04:41 PM
It's okay, it's not like they love a win against Hibs

Oh oh.

Dinnae ... just dinnae :confused:

Mmm after another look, BBC updated that table at 5pm the points total is ok for five games but they haven't updated todays W L D column for todays results yet, but as they say in Ulan Bator it's the points column that counts

I’ve had plenty to whinge about so far. But under the new manager not so much.

The tables a depressing look just now regardless, that’s just a fact

Lol. We’ve had one game under the new manager - so you’re 100% with the moans. What a daft comment.

He certainly didn't play left CH all last season, nowhere near it.

tamh
16-09-2023, 04:42 PM
Pleased Hanlon was dropped today. Stevenson should be nowhere near the starting lineup either.

They done alright last week...... Clean sheet aswell......

Tully
16-09-2023, 04:43 PM
Thought game changed when doidge had to be subbed why no booking for the challenge, and when we inadvertently took of vente, we had no one to hold the ball up as Campbell was useless, Montgomery has seen the good and bad of his side which is a blessing in disguise, but rocky gives me the fear constantly when in team, he tried to do a porteous and buy a foul when they got corner leading to goal, one thing the manager will have noticed is that we could be fitter and that will be addressed, let’s be honest the surface is a disgrace and didn’t help either

16-09-2023, 04:44 PM
Lol. We’ve had one game under the new manager - so you’re 100% with the moans. What a daft comment.

I’ve liked what I’ve seen so far from him and conducts himself a lot better than LJ ever did.

He’s definitely going to improve us.

Unreal how a comment about how poor the league table looks has triggered so many, ffs. It’s no that deep, it’s just looking poor currently. That’s not on NM

16-09-2023, 04:44 PM
Thought there were plenty positives to take from it but poor defending cost us again, Rocky especially.

Daily Hibs
16-09-2023, 04:45 PM
I think the club needs to move on from Hanlon, its evident after his start to this season. So, yes I was pleased, you cant predict how Rocky is going to play. We didnt get beat at a difficult venue with a difficult pitch.

16-09-2023, 04:45 PM

That was a positive for me today. I'm glad he didn't start Hanlon but he's been lumbered with a crap defence. We have a top 4 attack and bottom 4 defence and it's always going to be our Achilles Heel no matter who we start. In the games we haven't won we've scored a total of 7 goals in 4 games. Easy to see where the problem is. Needs sorted in January.

16-09-2023, 04:50 PM
If Hanlon played in front of Rocky we would be sitting with another 3 points

16-09-2023, 04:50 PM
I think the club needs to move on from Hanlon, its evident after his start to this season. So, yes I was pleased, you cant predict how Rocky is going to play. We didnt get beat at a difficult venue with a difficult pitch.

Hanlon played very well at Aberdeen as did the whole defence.

I can only assume he was injured as after keeping a clean sheet for the first time this season the defence shouldn't have been changed.

I agree he needs to be replaced at some point going forward.

AZhibee
16-09-2023, 04:54 PM

90-0, playing in the wrong league!

16-09-2023, 04:57 PM
Rocky shouldn't be anywhere near our starting line up.

fife hfc
16-09-2023, 04:59 PM
If Hanlon played in front of Rocky we would be sitting with another 3 pointsTotally agree. Hanlon was part of a solid defence at Pittodrie and is far better than Rocky. Strange switch to me as NM couldn't have seen much of Rocky as he was away on international duty.

USA_Hibee
16-09-2023, 05:01 PM
Glad Monty got a good look at the team. Disappointed to lose our lead. Some favourable fixtures (on paper) coming up so hopefully we can build some momentum.

16-09-2023, 05:07 PM

Harbottle wasn't here last season, he was on loan at Mansfield Town.

HendoDelivered
16-09-2023, 05:08 PM
Totally agree. Hanlon was part of a solid defence at Pittodrie and is far better than Rocky. Strange switch to me as NM couldn't have seen much of Rocky as he was away on international duty.

Hanlons got a slight knock thats why he never started, wasn’t risked on the pitch

16-09-2023, 05:10 PM
He certainly didn't play left CH all last season, nowhere near it.

When he signed it was mentioned that he played LCH for the majority of the season, I can't be arsed looking up the thread and who said it but I can only go by what others post on here as I'd never heard of the lad before he signed.

16-09-2023, 05:11 PM

Oops, I thought you were referring to Rocky:greengrin

16-09-2023, 05:13 PM
Oops, I thought you were referring to Rocky:greengrin

:aok: No probs Scoop

16-09-2023, 05:15 PM
Rocky is murder. Hopefully Hanlon back next week. Harbottle maybe had a poor game at Blackpool but he had a good game against Raith. I’d be playing him before Rocky

16-09-2023, 05:17 PM
Not rated from the off

Can the experiment end now.

16-09-2023, 05:18 PM
Thought Rocky was ok first half. No idea what he was doing for the corner however no way the Killie guy should be getting a free header.

fife hfc
16-09-2023, 05:19 PM
Hanlons got a slight knock thats why he never started, wasn’t risked on the pitchHopefully back for next week as definitely better option than Rocky.

16-09-2023, 05:20 PM
Thought Rocky was ok first half. No idea what he was doing for the corner however no way the Killie guy should be getting a free header.

16-09-2023, 05:20 PM

Remove wrong from you sentence.

16-09-2023, 05:24 PM
Glad Monty got a good look at the team. Disappointed to lose our lead. Some favourable fixtures (on paper) coming up so hopefully we can build some momentum.

You would think Monty watched plenty of footage of us playing so should know what we are about.

Doesn’t need weeks to figure out what we all know in certain areas.

16-09-2023, 05:30 PM
https://youtu.be/DJSWT6ijt0w?si=nIfPSJTwtE4LAhtF

Post game interview.

Praising Jair too

16-09-2023, 05:36 PM

Why? When did it become mandatory to have a left footed centre back?

babahibs
16-09-2023, 05:43 PM

You're pleased Rocky started in front of Hanlon, after Rocky's mistakes cost us points.
Seriously?

Paul1642
16-09-2023, 05:48 PM
You're pleased Rocky started in front of Hanlon, after Rocky's mistakes cost us points.
Seriously?

This argument goes round in circles. Our defence have cost us stupid goals in every game this season near enough. None are exempt unfortunately.

calumb
16-09-2023, 05:51 PM
New management team needs to get them to defend the back post at corners, Johnson did nothing about it despite us continuously struggling there, goal lost today could have been prevented

babahibs
16-09-2023, 05:51 PM
This argument goes round in circles. Our defence have cost us stupid goals in every game this season near enough. None are exempt unfortunately.

Depressingly true.

16-09-2023, 06:04 PM
Why? When did it become mandatory to have a left footed centre back?

Mandatory no, preferable without doubt though.

Recall an interview with Pep where he stated that and if it's good enough for Pep.......................

IIRC Lennon said as much in an interview whilst our manager

16-09-2023, 06:27 PM
Rocky is murder. Hopefully Hanlon back next week. Harbottle maybe had a poor game at Blackpool but he had a good game against Raith. I’d be playing him before Rocky

Happily, for the next few weeks at least, we don't have to worry about who plays, who doesn't and what formation suits us best. This problem falls squarely with on the shoulders of NM. Today, he'll have learned more about the club, players and team than all the videos and chats to date.

Today was so typically Hibs and it's great than NM saw it in all it's gory detail. How he goes about solving this long-established conundrum will determine his success and longevity at ER.

16-09-2023, 06:32 PM
Remove wrong from you sentence.

The manager positively name checked him for "a good shift".

16-09-2023, 07:37 PM
They done alright last week...... Clean sheet aswell......

Whats your point? Did your choice of manager nit get the job?! Aberdeen are awful at the moment, Killie a much stronger team.

Paulie Walnuts
16-09-2023, 07:45 PM

Apologies, like scoopyboy I thought we were discussing rocky. Looking back I’ve no idea how I thought that :greengrin

16-09-2023, 08:19 PM
Apologies, like scoopyboy I thought we were discussing rocky. Looking back I’ve no idea how I thought that :greengrin

snedzuk
16-09-2023, 08:40 PM
I’d love to know the game plan behind the goal kicks. Let’s get Rocky to play it short to Marshall so he can boot it up to nae ****. Brilliant.

Just back - this - wtf was that all about.

Donegal Hibby
16-09-2023, 09:29 PM
Thought Rocky was ok first half . First Killie goal maybe he could have done more though think the midfield could have provided more covered too when Rocky was out wide covering . 2nd Killie goal I don't see how it's Rocky's fault tbh .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/12963006/kilmarnock-2-2-hibernian-scottish-premiership-highlights

HendoDelivered
16-09-2023, 09:36 PM
Thought Rocky was ok first half . First Killie goal maybe he could have done more though think the midfield could have provided more covered too when Rocky was out wide covering . 2nd Killie goal I don't see how it's Rocky's fault tbh .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/12963006/kilmarnock-2-2-hibernian-scottish-premiership-highlights

He tried to be clever and win a foul instead of putting it out for a throw or up the park, which then lead to him conceding a corner of which we conceded our goal from. Horrendous decision making.

16-09-2023, 09:37 PM

Look at him conceding the corner. It's embarrassing. OK Miller didn't pick the man up but that wasn't the main error.

First goal was as bad, he totally switched off.

16-09-2023, 09:38 PM

Root cause of both goals is Rocky's poor defending. Don't see how anyone can't see that.

I like Rocky, always have. Was buzzing the other day he got his first cap and have always said he has all the attributes to be a top player at this level. But both goals today were awful. He'll absolutely learn from it though.

16-09-2023, 09:44 PM

A very good CH can play either side. There are very few of them. Right footers playing LCB struggle if they aren’t handy with their left foot. He was exposed on his left side totally due to him being so right sided. This isn’t a new idea and it’s why good LCB are a huge commodity. The second goal is easily dealt with by a simple clearance up the line but he gets himself in a tangle trying to do that and then tries to get a foul against him. I’m not blaming him but he will always struggle to play that side. We must make a LCB the no1 signing priority very soon.

Mikey_1875
16-09-2023, 09:45 PM
Didn’t see it at the time but that is poor from Rocky for the first. Fart in a trance springs to mind. He has a lot of developing to do to be successful in a two man defence I think.

Second one I feel a bit bad for him. You see it every week, unfortunately he wasn’t very good at it. The error then compounded by poor marking from LM.

16-09-2023, 09:48 PM

Hanlons start to the season is better than Fish. I’m all for getting better but we don’t have it in our squad right now.

Donegal Hibby
16-09-2023, 09:54 PM
Root cause of both goals is Rocky's poor defending. Don't see how anyone can't see that.

I like Rocky, always have. Was buzzing the other day he got his first cap and have always said he has all the attributes to be a top player at this level. But both goals today were awful. He'll absolutely learn from it though.

I get he gave away the corner though he was marking a man in the box at the 2nd goal and imo it was bad defending from other Hibs players who were beat at the near post . We can blame Rocky for giving away the corner but cmon now we have to defend better than that .

16-09-2023, 10:00 PM
I said he needs games, we dont have the luxury of having great players who can just fit into the defense and be stars overnight.

But if he hasnt looked good enough, why give him games???!