View Full Version : Sportscene 2023-24

04-09-2023, 07:46 AM
Rubezic’s elbow to Youan’s face not deemed worthy of showing in the recorded highlights or discussion in the Studio?

Brilliant save from Marsh at 0-0

Good to see Eddie May back on the bench

In fairness Neil McCann was full of praise for SDG and the boys

Lots of time spent discussing how The Rangers and Hearts managed to get beat

Deal with it

Hearts v Aberdeen in two weeks time the first El Sackio of the season ?

04-09-2023, 08:22 AM
Rubezic’s elbow to Youan’s face not deemed worthy of showing in the recorded highlights or discussion in the Studio?

Brilliant save from Marsh at 0-0

Good to see Eddie May back on the bench

In fairness Neil McCann was full of praise for SDG and the boys

Lots of time spent discussing how The Rangers and Hearts managed to get beat

Deal with it

Hearts v Aberdeen in two weeks time the first El Sackio of the season ?

No mention of Duks dive either. Do we think it would have been ignored had it been Martin Boyle?

GreenGray
04-09-2023, 08:31 AM
Was awful. A 1-0 Hearts loss on before Hibs vs Aberdeen with 2 goals?

Commentator didn’t want to admit Duk dived, didn’t look at potential red card.

The Jambo producer doesn’t exactly try to hide his leanings

04-09-2023, 08:36 AM
Was awful. A 1-0 Hearts loss on before Hibs vs Aberdeen with 2 goals?

Commentator didn’t want to admit Duk dived, didn’t look at potential red card.

The Jambo producer doesn’t exactly try to hide his leanings

The ref clearly pointed for a goal kick but Jambo fud Mitchell was desperate for it to be a penalty and called it as such saying ref had given.

Never even corrected himself and was gutted it wasn’t given.

He tipifies the Jambo bias on the programme.

Wee McCann made a tit of himself re The The’s disallowed goal and Boyces headlock and drag down on McGinn to get him sent off

04-09-2023, 10:29 AM
I saw Naismith’s post-match interview. What an inspiring character he is.

04-09-2023, 10:31 AM

Dull as dishwater ah and actually comes across as being really thick

04-09-2023, 10:37 AM
Booby Robson was even less inspiring

‘ Don’t worry it’ll be alright ‘

Aye right !

04-09-2023, 11:31 AM
So is he this weeks manager, will it be Frankie boy next week #confused.com

04-09-2023, 11:45 AM

We played pish. We’ve been playing pish most games. We’ve told the players that. They didn’t stop playing pish.

Paraphrasing, but that’s basically what he said on Sportscene. Not his fault, just the players.

04-09-2023, 12:00 PM
Just as **** and lazy as it was last year. And the year before. And the year before.

I know we mocked the big iPad but at least it was an attempt at some actual analysis.

04-09-2023, 12:21 PM
The ref clearly pointed for a goal kick but Jambo fud Mitchell was desperate for it to be a penalty and called it as such saying ref had given.

Wee McCann made a tit of himself re The The’s disallowed goal and Boyces headlock and drag down on McGinn to get him sent off

McCann's take on the disallowed Hun goal was hilarious, a clear foul on the Sellic player and once he had had the rules explained to him then changes his take on it to say he knew the rule that made the challenge a foul, but that he doesn't agree with the rule .. what a tool :greengrin

The commentary on the Motherwell goal was weird as well. Rather than praising VAR I would have been far more concerned that a lino who was dead in line failed to see that the scorer was about a yard onside when the pass was made, but no mention was made of it.

As for not even showing the assault on Youan in the Hibs highlights, just bizarre, it should have been a huge talking point.

Oh, and as for Mulgrew ..... jeezo I've seen dead stuff on the road on my way to work with more personality.

04-09-2023, 03:02 PM

Glad you noticed that re the 'penalty' claim. That idiot Mitchell was the only person who thought the ref pointed to the spot, even as the ref turned away to run up field.

04-09-2023, 03:10 PM
It's bare minimum effort stuff most weeks, it's a very poor advert for the game.

Little wonder that more and more people are turning towards fan-made content like podcasts and YouTube video

Groathillgrump
04-09-2023, 03:33 PM
It's bare minimum effort stuff most weeks, it's a very poor advert for the game.

Little wonder that more and more people are turning towards fan-made content like podcasts and YouTube video

I watched it for the first time in ages last night (just to see Hearts getting gubbed) and it didn't take long for me to remember exactly why I don't watch it.

Terrible commentary and editing of the games, dull and clueless 'pundits' and a general feeling that BBC Scotland are just going through the motions to justify their contract to show highlights on cooncil telly.

BBC Scotland should consider outsourcing the programme to an independent production company who could give it a much needed revamp.

04-09-2023, 03:41 PM

I watched it for the first time in ages last night (just to see Hearts getting gubbed) and it didn't take long for me to remember exactly why I don't watch it.

Terrible commentary and editing of the games, dull and clueless 'pundits' and a general feeling that BBC Scotland are just going through the motions to justify their contract to show highlights on cooncil telly.

BBC Scotland should consider outsourcing the programme to an independent production company who could give it a much needed revamp.If you gave the cash to the various yt podcasters from every club and allowed them to produce a show it would be way better.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Monktonhall 7
04-09-2023, 06:12 PM

BBC Scotland should consider outsourcing the programme to an independent production company who could give it a much needed revamp.

I’m the same. First time I’ve watched the whole programme through for years, really only to see the Huns n Hertz games.😂 What a poor tired show. The overdubbed commentary totally killed any atmosphere from the stadiums, and the presentation and pundits were dire. Another negative is that even though they missed big issues from our match, some of the howlers from the officials in the other games were laughable.

04-09-2023, 06:21 PM
Glad you noticed that re the 'penalty' claim. That idiot Mitchell was the only person who thought the ref pointed to the spot, even as the ref turned away to run up field.

I thought he booked miller at the time? 🤷*♂️

LewysGot2
04-09-2023, 06:57 PM

Then tried to make out this was still the case - daftie doubling down.

That said, his multitudinous pronunciations of Youan were even more ridiculous. Yooo-han. Johan. There's nae h in his name...its like Ewan but with a French accent, it's no hard. Bad as Barrie Wilkins and Delferriere 🙈🤣

04-09-2023, 07:30 PM
If people don't like Sportscene so much then why watch it? Plenty of highlights on YouTube. If viewing figures go down then maybe they will invest more money to improve the product

patlowe
04-09-2023, 10:05 PM
Said it before on here but for me one of the biggest turn offs is the way the sound is so muffled, I'm guessing because they use whatever is recorded at the ground rather than the expense of additional audio recording (I'm not technical 😂). It's quite an achievement to make some of our biggest games sound like they were played underwater with about 10 folk there. Maybe I'm splitting hairs but it takes away from the whole production IMO.

04-09-2023, 10:30 PM
I’m the same. First time I’ve watched the whole programme through for years, really only to see the Huns n Hertz games.😂 What a poor tired show. The overdubbed commentary totally killed any atmosphere from the stadiums, and the presentation and pundits were dire. Another negative is that even though they missed big issues from our match, some of the howlers from the officials in the other games were laughable.

You can't argue with any of this. Hell, even with folk sitting in chairs in a tiny studio taking turn about to talk they still managed to cut to a camera as it was panning for the next shot ... this must be where new guys go to learn the ropes because nobody cares if they screw up.
One thing the show did highlight in stark reality is how the Uglies have absolutely killed their derby stone dead with their spat over away fans ... no matter how unpalatable the pish that fueled it's atmosphere, without it it's just another game no matter how much the programme tried to bum it up.

I can think of at least two You Tubers I watch who do films about Scottish football who have bags of personality and project far more enthusiasm and positivity about our game than 90% of the dolts they have on Sportscene, be that presenters or pundits.
One of them is a Scottish lad and the other a young English guy who lives in Scotland and who seems far more clued in about Scottish football than they appear to be. He can make our game seem more exciting and interesting and makes far more entertaining content than the BBC with nothing more than a mobile phone and production facilities that probably consist of a laptop and a couple of cables.

The only folk I would keep are Michael Stewart ( though even he seems to have been affected by the malaise around the show ) James McFadden, who I quite like on coverage of the championship games and big Marv when they have him on.

But I mean jeezo .. you know it's bad when an American working for a TV channel nobody has ever heard of was a better commentator and more clued in about both teams than what we get on Sportscene's coverage.

This show needs an absolutely massive revamp with new blood, new production facilities and an injection of enthusiasm that doesn't make the show look and sound like an hour long advert for over 50s life cover.

pollution
05-09-2023, 01:54 AM
You can't argue with any of this. Hell, even with folk sitting in chairs in a tiny studio taking turn about to talk they still managed to cut to a camera as it was panning for the next shot ... this must be where new guys go to learn the ropes because nobody cares if they screw up.
One thing the show did highlight in stark reality is how the Uglies have absolutely killed their derby stone dead with their spat over away fans ... no matter how unpalatable the pish that fueled it's atmosphere, without it it's just another game no matter how much the programme tried to bum it up.

I can think of at least two You Tubers I watch who do films about Scottish football who have bags of personality and project far more enthusiasm and positivity about our game than 90% of the dolts they have on Sportscene, be that presenters or pundits.
One of them is a Scottish lad and the other a young English guy who lives in Scotland and who seems far more clued in about Scottish football than they appear to be. He can make our game seem more exciting and interesting and makes far more entertaining content than the BBC with nothing more than a mobile phone and production facilities that probably consist of a laptop and a couple of cables.

The only folk I would keep are Michael Stewart ( though even he seems to have been affected by the malaise around the show ) James McFadden, who I quite like on coverage of the championship games and big Marv when they have him on.

But I mean jeezo .. you know it's bad when an American working for a TV channel nobody has ever heard of was a better commentator and more clued in about both teams than what we get on Sportscene's coverage.

This show needs an absolutely massive revamp with new blood, new production facilities and an injection of enthusiasm that doesn't make the show look and sound like an hour long advert for over 50s life cover.

Dear God, absolutely 100% spot on !

05-09-2023, 06:32 AM
It's an easy retirement home for our of work footballers, managers and agents, part of the Scottish football gravy train, nobody that works on this or Sportsound will want change as they all could lose the easy income. It's lazy and antiquated and isn't interested in doing any decent analysis, with illiterate fools there to balance out the old firm representative. How the likes of Kenny Miller can be put on they tiny wee sofa as some kind of expert is just taking the piss.

It has always felt that neither BBC Weegie or STV took Scottish football seriously, as if it was all some kind of big joke.

05-09-2023, 08:16 AM
It's an easy retirement home for our of work footballers, managers and agents, part of the Scottish football gravy train, nobody that works on this or Sportsound will want change as they all could lose the easy income. It's lazy and antiquated and isn't interested in doing any decent analysis, with illiterate fools there to balance out the old firm representative. How the likes of Kenny Miller can be put on they tiny wee sofa as some kind of expert is just taking the piss.

It has always felt that neither BBC Weegie or STV took Scottish football seriously, as if it was all some kind of big joke.

It’s how they can get so many different “experts” on, all of whom manage to talk without either sounding enthusiastic or add anything worth hearing. There’s zero input that makes you think ‘oh, I never picked up on that’, or analysis that shows you something. It’s all cliches and ‘top top player’ stuff.

Contrast it with MotD for example, the pundits there generally appear like they want to be there and like talking about football, and usually will have at least one bit of analysis per match that demonstrates why a team were successful or indeed unsuccessful - the analysis of Man Utd not feeding the ball to Antony on MotD2 on Sunday evening was insightful about the match and gave indications of how Ten Haag wants to play. Night and day.

05-09-2023, 08:45 AM
I used to prefer listening to journalists like Bob Crampsey or Arthur Montford rather than ex-pros who, by and large, were inarticulate. They're better able to express themselves now like Mikey Stewart but often what comes out is banter and cliched waffle. I am soooo tired of it.

05-09-2023, 09:18 AM
If people don't like Sportscene so much then why watch it? Plenty of highlights on YouTube. If viewing figures go down then maybe they will invest more money to improve the product

I pay for Sportscene. I reserve the right to moan about it.

FWIW I think you're bang on, I just don't think the BBC give much of a **** about it.

pollution
05-09-2023, 09:20 AM
I used to prefer listening to journalists like Bob Crampsey or Arthur Montford rather than ex-pros who, by and large, were inarticulate. They're better able to express themselves now like Mikey Stewart but often what comes out is banter and cliched waffle. I am soooo tired of it.

Mickey ( you know you know you know you know you know ) Stewart is the best they have , that's true.

05-09-2023, 07:43 PM
Haven't watched it for a while and was amazed at how disheveled, in fact downright dirty, they all looked. Are they supposed to be casual?

LewysGot2
05-09-2023, 09:01 PM
Haven't watched it for a while and was amazed at how disheveled, in fact downright dirty, they all looked. Are they supposed to be casual?

Not as grubby as the most recent Open Goal with Mulgrew and Halliday. Gie ye the dry boak

05-09-2023, 09:24 PM

Bring back Crampsey Marjoribanks and Montford with the short back and sides and sports jacket I say

06-09-2023, 02:20 AM
Not as grubby as the most recent Open Goal with Mulgrew and Halliday. Gie ye the dry boak

Ah Halliday , another out of work pro 😆

Cat Stanton
16-09-2023, 09:12 PM
WTF? Hibs on first tonight?

Miscommunication among the Hearts producers..???!!!

17-09-2023, 07:02 AM
Nice assist from young Ryan Strain St Mirren right back grandson of the late great Gerry Baker

The panel highlighted that it was no fluke with two similar assists already this season

One for the notebook

Simon Murray on 🔥 with his ninth goal of the season

17-09-2023, 08:04 AM
WTF? Hibs on first tonight?

Miscommunication among the Hearts producers..???!!!

Not only that but I thought Craigan and McCann where very fair as well. An unusual Sportscene!

17-09-2023, 08:07 AM
Not only that but I thought Craigan and McCann where very fair as well. An unusual Sportscene!

And on Sportsound last night Alex Rae of all people spoke very well of Monty and actually sounded excited about how well we'll do under him.

17-09-2023, 09:51 AM

Their analysis of the St Johnstone v Rangers was woeful. Virtually nothing said about St Johnstone or their penalty claim when Chris Kane was rugby tackled in the box.

17-09-2023, 09:56 AM
Nice assist from young Ryan Strain St Mirren right back grandson of the late great Gerry Baker

The panel highlighted that it was no fluke with two similar assists already this season

One for the notebook

Simon Murray on 🔥 with his ninth goal of the season I still think we should have kept him

ChilliEater
17-09-2023, 10:57 AM
I still think we should have kept him

Come off it, he's been dead for ten years and his brother was much better.

17-09-2023, 10:59 AM

Aye Gogic tae 😀

Stanton Spence
17-09-2023, 02:17 PM
Come off it, he's been dead for ten years and his brother was much better.

Didn’t know Ryan Strain had a brother 😂

tonyrougier123
17-09-2023, 03:16 PM

Under appreciated Murray,i thought he was class. Wasn’t the same player when stokes arrived,seen something missing in his game after that. One player I was disappointed to see leave.

17-09-2023, 04:40 PM
Me to, liked the boy his enthusiasm 👍

17-09-2023, 05:32 PM
Me to, liked the boy his enthusiasm 👍

That early goal against Hearts nutmeg on Soapy Soutar and smashed the ball into the roof of the net

Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray

Love his Mr Angry goal celebrations

17-09-2023, 07:30 PM
That early goal against Hearts nutmeg on Soapy Soutar and smashed the ball into the roof of the net

Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray

Love his Mr Angry goal celebrations

Bang on. I've no bad memories of the boy at all. Or his dad.

17-09-2023, 07:36 PM
And on Sportsound last night Alex Rae of all people spoke very well of Monty and actually sounded excited about how well we'll do under him.

I think Rae was based in Oz for a few years so he’ll be well aware of NM. Nice to hear him talking well about Nick.

23-09-2023, 06:52 PM
Comical defending by Hearts at the goal.

23-09-2023, 06:57 PM
Jeez the st mirren goal was never offside.
Var on hearts side here

23-09-2023, 06:57 PM
Shocker of a VAR decision to not give Saints a 2nd.

bringbackbenny
23-09-2023, 06:58 PM
Var on hearts side here

The VAR line seemed to ignore the Hearts player nearest the goalscorer?

23-09-2023, 07:03 PM
The VAR line seemed to ignore the Hearts player nearest the goalscorer?

Just a mind boggling decision.
Clearly a bias here for whatever reason.

23-09-2023, 07:05 PM
Var on hearts side here

And the other one was never a foul. Should've been 3-0. Nick Walsh was doing his best to keep Hearts in the game.

23-09-2023, 07:09 PM
How is that a red for Dundee and a yellow for Killie???

23-09-2023, 07:13 PM

Both should be reds IMO, no attempt to play the ball on either.

23-09-2023, 07:16 PM

I think they got it right

23-09-2023, 07:30 PM
Last on again

25-09-2023, 07:35 AM
St Mirren flying some good players

Should have won 3-0 easy

Gogic a standout

Don’t know why the Hearts #2 doesn’t clear the cross into the box for Ryan Strain’s tap in at the far post

Never a foul for the St Mirren second

VAR showed the highest line as maroon which meant the St Mirren scorer onside for the third and it took them 3.40 minutes to arrive at the wrong decision

The game’s a bogey I tell ye !

Renfrew_Hibby
25-09-2023, 07:43 AM
VAR just highlights the utter and total incompetence of our so called officials.
How a team of refs watching various replays can come to those decisions proves my point.

Paulie Walnuts
25-09-2023, 07:47 AM
Thought the offside in the hearts game was difficult to tell from the terrible angle they have but the goal when the guy slips it under the keeper after out muscling the defender is never a foul in a million years.

25-09-2023, 07:47 AM
VAR just highlights the utter and total incompetence of our so called officials.
How a team of refs watching various replays can come to those decisions proves my point.Is incompetence the only conclusion?

Renfrew_Hibby
25-09-2023, 07:52 AM
Is incompetence the only conclusion?

Well yeah that as well.

25-09-2023, 08:22 AM
The Rangers unconvincing in their 1-0 win over Motherwell

Motherwell should have got at least a point

Slattery looked a driving force in midfield

Tavernier outmuscled outside his own box

Verdict: free kick to The Rangers

hibby rae
25-09-2023, 08:25 AM
Thought the offside in the hearts game was difficult to tell from the terrible angle they have but the goal when the guy slips it under the keeper after out muscling the defender is never a foul in a million years.

Agreed. You can see the Hearts players reaction is one of 'I f***ed up'.

For the offside, I fail to see the clear and obvious error for VAR step in

25-09-2023, 08:55 AM
Surprised no one has criticised the Hearts goalie at the goal. Should have done better. Marshall would have been hammered on here.

Maybe Craig Gordon's extra points have begun to hurt them.

25-09-2023, 08:58 AM
St Mirren flying some good players

Should have won 3-0 easy

Gogic a standout

Don’t know why the Hearts #2 doesn’t clear the cross into the box for Ryan Strain’s tap in at the far post

Never a foul for the St Mirren second

VAR showed the highest line as maroon which meant the St Mirren scorer onside for the third and it took them 3.40 minutes to arrive at the wrong decision

The game’s a bogey I tell ye !

The lines are blue and red, they don't change for the teams.

25-09-2023, 08:59 AM
Agreed. You can see the Hearts players reaction is one of 'I f***ed up'.

For the offside, I fail to see the clear and obvious error for VAR step in

Scotland almost needs a different rule for offside. In England - once past the initial 'goal disallowed by a toenail' element of things - offside is cut and dry. Up here the camera angles we're saddled with are so pish that it's fairly common the technology can't give a definitive answer.

25-09-2023, 09:41 AM
Sportsound (Mikey Stewart) especially slating the ref for sending off McInnes and sportscene suggesting the same,WTF?

Are they saying that it’s ok for managers to interfere with play irrespective of whether the ball went out or not? From the footage it was inconclusive whether the ball had crossed the line. The ref had every right to send him off?

25-09-2023, 09:52 AM
Sportsound (Mikey Stewart) especially slating the ref for sending off McInnes and sportscene suggesting the same,WTF?

Are they saying that it’s ok for managers to interfere with play irrespective of whether the ball went out or not? From the footage it was inconclusive whether the ball had crossed the line. The ref had every right to send him off?

I was thinking the exact same, McInnes should know better, ball is live until an official determines otherwise.

25-09-2023, 09:56 AM
The lines are blue and red, they don't change for the teams.

👍

25-09-2023, 10:09 AM

He didn’t have every right. He had to. Thems the laws. He entered the field of play during the game.

Keepthefaith
25-09-2023, 10:59 AM
this is the problem with our current pundits - if that had been Johnson or Monty, pretty sure they would have reframed it as "he should have known better / ref had no option". they're so selective in how they frame incidents. Porto was a prime example, any time he went to ground after being challenged he was accused of diving, if its the rangers, they reframe it as contact was made and he had a right to go down / make the ref make a decision. sickens me!

on the plus side, they were quite complimentary about our attacking play for once!

25-09-2023, 11:21 AM
on the plus side, they were quite complimentary about our attacking play for once!

You could tell they were spewing having to admit it though, esp Thompson

25-09-2023, 11:48 AM
They were complimentary but only after laying a lot of emphasis on what the claimed was poor defending by StJ. "Look how bad they were, look how bad they were, look how bad they were, but Hibs were good.

25-09-2023, 01:27 PM
Thought Lee McCulloch looked and sounded like someone trying hard to seem intelligent.

Unsuccessfully.

25-09-2023, 01:32 PM
Thought Lee McCulloch looked and sounded like someone trying hard to seem intelligent.

Unsuccessfully.

Michael Stewart starting to go that way as well

25-09-2023, 01:34 PM
Michael Stewart starting to go that way as well

Agree Billy. Used to like Michael as a pundit… don’t know if he got bored or it’s the company he keeps on these shows, but now seems to enjoy acting the tit a bit more.

25-09-2023, 04:18 PM
Agree Billy. Used to like Michael as a pundit… don’t know if he got bored or it’s the company he keeps on these shows, but now seems to enjoy acting the tit a bit more.

Stewart's problem is he never admits he's wrong, even when there's outstanding evidence to prove his error. Instead he just keeps on digging and looking like a dick!

25-09-2023, 06:02 PM
Stewart's problem is he never admits he's wrong, even when there's outstanding evidence to prove his error. Instead he just keeps on digging and looking like a dick!

Seems to have had his wings clipped after comments made about The Rangers in a game against his beloved Hearts and is now towing the party line

Cat Stanton
30-09-2023, 09:57 PM
On last again....

30-09-2023, 10:00 PM
On last again....

For once, the result deserves that but, yes, we'd be on last if we'd won 8-0.

Not that I've seen it because it's not on iPlayer yet. Nae rush, BBC Scotland, it's not like it's our national sport or anything.

hibby rae
30-09-2023, 10:00 PM
On last again....

Tbf on this occasion a 0-0 isn't box office

07-10-2023, 06:39 PM
Well from what I’ve read on here and heard on the radio you’d be forgiven for thinking hearts didn’t have a single yellow card in the first half and Hibs were making up the numbers instead of actually having some dangerous attacking moments.

Will fish was booked, totally inconsequential as it stands, and that was highlighted.

07-10-2023, 06:40 PM
Well from what I’ve read on here and heard on the radio you’d be forgiven for thinking hearts didn’t have a single yellow card in the first half and Hibs were making up the numbers instead of actually having some dangerous attacking moments.

Will fish was booked, totally inconsequential as it stands, and that was highlighted.

Absolutely no idea how Vargas wasn't booked. 37 fouls without a booking.

07-10-2023, 06:44 PM
Are they going to show the highlights again at the end of the programme?

LewysGot2
07-10-2023, 08:14 PM
Absolutely no idea how Vargas wasn't booked. 37 fouls without a booking.

Yup, he should have been.

Keepthefaith
07-10-2023, 09:01 PM
they didn't show a really nasty tackle of Joe, didn't show our VAR handball, or a passage in the second half when we had a number of blocked shots and were really pushing. first half we had a few attacks early on where Boyle got in behind also but didn't show it.

really biased once again in the words of Keegan I'll love it, just love it when we beat them!

07-10-2023, 09:07 PM
they didn't show a really nasty tackle of Joe, didn't show our VAR handball, or a passage in the second half when we had a number of blocked shots and were really pushing. first half we had a few attacks early on where Boyle got in behind also but didn't show it.

really biased once again in the words of Keegan I'll love it, just love it when we beat them!

The tackle on Joe from Shankland should have went to VAR - Shankland is a wee coward of a player and for me that was cynical and to injure JN - Joe should have stayed down but was up on his feet quick. Shankland is a wee coward of a player and refs need to clamp down on him 👍

davym7062
07-10-2023, 10:17 PM
The tackle on Joe from Shankland should have went to VAR - Shankland is a wee coward of a player and for me that was cynical and to injure JN - Joe should have stayed down but was up on his feet quick. Shankland is a wee coward of a player and refs need to clamp down on him ��

was shankland playing today???? cant say i notced the best striker in the world

07-10-2023, 10:57 PM

Dreadful, really dreadful editing of a game. Those yam b#@£&%#s had two yellow cards in the first 10 min of the game, nothing shown by bbc. Would have been good for people like me that weren't at the game to have seen just what was going on. We supposedly had a shout for a penalty, not by the highlights though, showed their shout though. Why was Sibbik not booked for simulation ?
On a second note, we should sign Sibbick, after all, he did set up Youan for 2 goals within 90 seconds, more than any hibs player did.

08-10-2023, 12:39 AM
Dreadful, really dreadful editing of a game. Those yam b#@£&%#s had two yellow cards in the first 10 min of the game, nothing shown by bbc. Would have been good for people like me that weren't at the game to have seen just what was going on. We supposedly had a shout for a penalty, not by the highlights though, showed their shout though. Why was Sibbik not booked for simulation ?
On a second note, we should sign Sibbick, after all, he did set up Youan for 2 goals within 90 seconds, more than any hibs player did.

Very odd highlighting the Fish yellow. Shanklands yellow should have been highlighted as should have both handball claims

08-10-2023, 06:01 AM
Who will finish highest in the League?

‘Hearts’

Neil McCann without hesitation

No surprise there then

I would love it just love it

Don’t know how Vargas never got booked 4 fouls that would normally merit at least a talking to and a card

Showed Fish’s booking ignored Devlin and Shankland’s the penalty claim the stramash in the Hearts box and made us out to be the villains

Joke of a show

Was hoping to see Michael Stewart’s sour pus

Sky Sports missed out big time probably the best game of the day in the UK

08-10-2023, 06:05 AM
was shankland playing today???? cant say i notced the best striker in the world

Noticed him running over to us when Forrest scored. The only hertz player to do so . Tefal heeded pr1ck

08-10-2023, 08:38 AM
The tackle on Joe from Shankland should have went to VAR - Shankland is a wee coward of a player and for me that was cynical and to injure JN - Joe should have stayed down but was up on his feet quick. Shankland is a wee coward of a player and refs need to clamp down on him 👍

It was no more than a yellow and he got that.

08-10-2023, 08:53 AM
Just watched the highlights and, other than not showing a couple of incidents near the start, thought they were fair enough.
All the chat in the studio was pretty balanced too and fairly complimentary to us.

08-10-2023, 09:24 AM
Just caught up on sportsmen, enjoyable highlights.

Watching the celtic killie game now, loads and loads of empty seats at CP. Not a chance there's 58k there or anything near it

08-10-2023, 09:56 AM
Just watched the highlights and, other than not showing a couple of incidents near the start, thought they were fair enough.
All the chat in the studio was pretty balanced too and fairly complimentary to us.

Showed the booking on Fish but not the two earlier ones they received. Never mentioned that the penalty VAR for them was a ridiculous dive and then never showed our penalty VAR which by the sounds of it was a far stronger claim.

08-10-2023, 09:59 AM
Showed the booking on Fish but not the two earlier ones they received. Never mentioned that the penalty VAR for them was a ridiculous dive and then never showed our penalty VAR which by the sounds of it was a far stronger claim.

Never showed Jeggo's handball either.

08-10-2023, 10:14 AM

I disagree. They cut it so it looked like a hearts onslaught until we scored. Never even showed when Boyle was hacked down when through on goal.

Also have you noticed every summary of a hibs goal they talk about the opposition errors and hardly ever mention good play from us.

08-10-2023, 10:15 AM
Never showed Jeggo's handball either. Right enough

He's here!
08-10-2023, 06:18 PM
Just watched it. They seemed to be implying Marshall could have done better with Hearts' first goal? Didn't extend his arms enough?

08-10-2023, 06:20 PM
Just watched it. They seemed to be implying Marshall could have done better with Hearts' first goal? Didn't extend his arms enough?

Yip shudda saved it 😂

08-10-2023, 06:26 PM
Can't believe they didn't show Devlin's foul on Boyle early doors. Prevented a clear opportunity and only 1 covering player prevented a red card.

08-10-2023, 06:29 PM

He should have had arm extensions fitted . Big blunder.

08-10-2023, 06:38 PM
They never even mentioned the crutch being thrown onto the park when the second goal went in

08-10-2023, 06:53 PM

Mr Tickle wouldn’t have got anywhere near that hit and hope.

08-10-2023, 07:08 PM
I disagree. They cut it so it looked like a hearts onslaught until we scored. Never even showed when Boyle was hacked down when through on goal.

Also have you noticed every summary of a hibs goal they talk about the opposition errors and hardly ever mention good play from us.

Selective editing to suit their agenda,
bit like naebadges claiming losing 2 goals was nothing to do with hibs????

PHeffernan
08-10-2023, 07:16 PM
He should have had arm extensions fitted . Big blunder.

:greengrin A cunning plan but they would just end up in the net along with the ball.

08-10-2023, 08:51 PM
Never showed the big stramash in the Hearts box where every Hibs player had a shot on goal and there were Hesrts bodies flying everywhere it was like a pinball machine man 😀

But Hibs were never in it

08-10-2023, 09:02 PM
Never showed the big stramash in the Hearts box where every Hibs player had a shot on goal and there were Hesrts bodies flying everywhere it was like a pinball machine man 😀

But Hibs were never in it

That happened twice, once just before half-time and once not long into the 2nd half.

08-10-2023, 11:37 PM
I’m not blaming Sportscene for this but they said there was 16,800 at Aberdeen today. That’s not possible even counting ST, the place was empty.

08-10-2023, 11:50 PM

Must have watched a different edit to what i watched on sportscene as was very much edited in Hearts favour

09-10-2023, 12:35 AM
Must have watched a different edit to what i watched on sportscene as was very much edited in Hearts favourGot a link to that, chrisski? Ta.

09-10-2023, 05:56 AM
Selective editing to suit their agenda,
bit like naebadges claiming losing 2 goals was nothing to do with hibs????

If their agenda is to keep Budge and Nasal in their jobs, then I'm all for it.

09-10-2023, 06:12 AM

They were taking the piss out of McCann who they implied had said that Marshall could have done better.

09-10-2023, 06:36 AM
Did they even show our penalty claim with the double handball?

09-10-2023, 08:45 AM
Did they even show our penalty claim with the double handball?

No but neither does Hibs TV.

Cat Stanton
03-12-2023, 08:23 PM
There was a moment in the first half today when Miovski - I think it was - somehow failed to score. Think Marshall made a save and maybe Miovski hit the post. Can't remember. And now I'll never know as it wasn't even included in the highlights. It's so mince it's astonishing.

Pete70
03-12-2023, 09:00 PM
There was a moment in the first half today when Miovski - I think it was - somehow failed to score. Think Marshall made a save and maybe Miovski hit the post. Can't remember. And now I'll never know as it wasn't even included in the highlights. It's so mince it's astonishing.

They showed it in the post match analysis

03-12-2023, 09:02 PM
They showed it in the post match analysis
I can’t remember if it was that chance or another golden opportunity but after viewing it I’m certain had they scored it would have been ruled out for offside. It wasn’t highlighted as such just down as a miss.

Edit - it was when he hit the post second half.

03-12-2023, 09:17 PM
it hit the post initially and then Marshall stopped it going in.

03-12-2023, 09:22 PM
Sportscene is a joke

The anti hibs theme on the bbc I know / hope must be rubbish but nothing is ever reported on us in depth or in too much details. Neil McCann talks very well of us last week.

This week when beating the media darlings it’s just portrayed they were unlucky rather than Monty and Hibs doing anything positive

St Mirren and Motherwell always seem to get the love as they seem to punch above their weight card

Hibs on the other hand, card of a big failed club is the portrayal bbc seem to play out. bbc is a joke

03-12-2023, 09:25 PM
I haven’t seen the highlights in full yet, but did see some footage online of the Aberdeen penalty. Was hard to see clearly of the handball so wondering if they had any better angles on Sportscene? Couldn’t really see much of the contact at game either but it was obviously a correct call given the lack of any serious protest from players at time.

03-12-2023, 09:29 PM
Hibs on last again

Shock horror !!

03-12-2023, 09:50 PM
Michael Stewart doesn’t miss Barry Robson or that thug Rubezic 😂

Soft looking pen against Lewis

Where is he supposed to put his arms for balance ?

Mcbizz1998
03-12-2023, 09:52 PM
They barely mentioned Hibs. Spent the whole dissecting the sheep, who btw for avoidance of doubt, are absolutely *****!

03-12-2023, 10:05 PM
They barely mentioned Hibs. Spent the whole dissecting the sheep, who btw for avoidance of doubt, are absolutely *****!

It’s understandable that they want to dwell on Aberdeen just now, as chances are they might not feature much on next season’s schedule. If only:greengrin,

03-12-2023, 10:16 PM
I’ve not seen the highlights but I can just imagine how one sided they made it look

We had great chances with

Boyle
Fish
Jair
The one where we were lining up at the edge of the box etc
Plus the 2 actual goals
Hopefully they show them all

03-12-2023, 10:36 PM
Yup, said he had one foot off the ground so an outstretched arm was a natural position for balance.

Which is true but it’s also true that it was a clear penalty.

Thought the coverage was actually OK tonight and while I’d have liked a bit more analysis of the shape / style that we play it was also fun listening to Mikey ripping the Aberdeen defender [emoji1787]

vuefrom1875
03-12-2023, 10:36 PM
Sportscene is a joke

The anti hibs theme on the bbc I know / hope must be rubbish but nothing is ever reported on us in depth or in too much details. Neil McCann talks very well of us last week.

This week when beating the media darlings it’s just portrayed they were unlucky rather than Monty and Hibs doing anything positive

St Mirren and Motherwell always seem to get the love as they seem to punch above their weight card

Hibs on the other hand, card of a big failed club is the portrayal bbc seem to play out. bbc is a joke
Stopped watching it years ago, big love in wi the tramps and sheep..the pundits,oh dear embarrassing incoherence bunch who can barely string a sentence of note, inarticulate third raters.

04-12-2023, 05:55 AM
I’ve not seen the highlights but I can just imagine how one sided they made it look

Boyle
Fish
Jair
Plus the 2 actual goals

All included 👍🏼

04-12-2023, 06:58 AM
Are we certain it hit Lewis btw? The ball didn't seem to change trajectory or spin or anything

I know we aren't blessed with lots of angles but wasn't obvious it hit him on the replay

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

04-12-2023, 07:08 AM
Are we certain it hit Lewis btw? The ball didn't seem to change trajectory or spin or anything

I know we aren't blessed with lots of angles but wasn't obvious it hit him on the replay

There wasn’t much protest so it’s safe to assume it did.

Paulie Walnuts
04-12-2023, 07:11 AM
Which is true but it’s also true that it was a clear penalty.

Thought the coverage was actually OK tonight and while I’d have liked a bit more analysis of the shape / style that we play it was also fun listening to Mikey ripping the Aberdeen defender [emoji1787]

It was a clear pen imo.

Rumble de Thump
04-12-2023, 07:21 AM
Referees tend to believe that arms being in a natural position always means they should be tucked in at the body, which is obviously not the case. Referees don't display enough thought or understanding in this regard, but you could say that about Scottish referees in general. If they don't understand how to apply the handball rule properly they shouldn't even be refereeing amatuer games.

04-12-2023, 07:21 AM
On Sportsound Willie Miller was talking about how St Mirren were doing really well to be where they are given that the big 3 outside the Old Firm were in the bottom six.

No William, it's your darlings that are in the bottom six and almost in the playoff place.

04-12-2023, 07:38 AM
Having watched our first quite a few times I think we are doing the management team and players a disservice here. I think they’ve done their homework on the Aberdeen CH’s. Watch Vente’s run. He’s initially on the halfway line and just prior to Marshall kicking it he turns and makes a run away from Martin. The Aberdeen player follows him leaving Martin one on one.

This wasn’t the first time we had tried this with Martin being unlucky a short time earlier with a similar move.

As for Robson. What a bitter prick of a man

Bushwoof
04-12-2023, 09:28 AM

Boyle
Fish
Jair
Plus the 2 actual goals

Actually, from the highlights you'd have thought we dominated the game! Didn't even show the pinball event in the 1st half until the later discussion.

04-12-2023, 04:42 PM
Actually, from the highlights you'd have thought we dominated the game! Didn't even show the pinball event in the 1st half until the later discussion.

This is the problem - as a highlights show its pretty desultory to the whole league. Basically the show is not long enough and the highlights too brief for EVERY game - such that you can pretty much guarantee major incidents will be missed in all but the most boring 0-0 games.

04-12-2023, 04:47 PM
This is the problem - as a highlights show its pretty desultory to the whole league. Basically the show is not long enough and the highlights too brief for EVERY game - such that you can pretty much guarantee major incidents will be missed in all but the most boring 0-0 games.

Yes the highlights are pretty poor and old firm games apart very short and don’t tend to give you a decent insight to the game imo. The fact the programme goes out at 7 sometimes only a couple of hours after the game also lends itself to the view it is rushed and not enough appropriate care and thought given to the production.

04-12-2023, 05:36 PM
Giving more air time to dull men talking in cliches about football to actual football highlights is a bit of a head scratcher to me.

Is this really what viewers want? With cameras at every game in top flight, why not offer more highlights from each game and forget about half - interested pundits droning on stating the obvious.

Might get more folk deciding to tune in.

04-12-2023, 07:08 PM
Presumably the BBC contracts to show a certain amount of highlights and to show more would cost more. I don’t know who actually owns the the rights-which companies do the televising-it’s certainly not the BBC.

04-12-2023, 07:48 PM
Presumably the BBC contracts to show a certain amount of highlights and to show more would cost more. I don’t know who actually owns the the rights-which companies do the televising-it’s certainly not the BBC.

That’s a possibility right enough.

That said, who else is showing highlights from all those games they are filming in their entirety? Feels like a lot of effort to go to in order to just show two or three minutes of footage. Sky show even less.

04-12-2023, 09:12 PM
That’s a possibility right enough.

That said, who else is showing highlights from all those games they are filming in their entirety? Feels like a lot of effort to go to in order to just show two or three minutes of footage. Sky show even less.

Pals in Australia see quite a bit of Scottish football. Live if you want to go without sleep. You would think filming every match to show such a limited highlights coverage here isn’t exactly a money spinner but it must be.

09-12-2023, 08:09 PM
Has this been on tonight?

King Cosell
09-12-2023, 08:27 PM
Stunned that both McFadden & McCann thought that was a pen for Livi.

09-12-2023, 08:28 PM

And no highlights of the stonewall red that went to VAR for Obileye?!

09-12-2023, 08:32 PM
Has this been on tonight?

Aye, it's on the iPlayer.

LewysGot2
09-12-2023, 09:04 PM
Paul Mitchell doing the adding a non-existent H to Youan. :rolleyes:

09-12-2023, 09:37 PM

Did they think he was onside?

gaz1875
09-12-2023, 09:39 PM

Incredible, two ex professionals, advocating cheating.

Dmas
09-12-2023, 09:42 PM
And no highlights of the stonewall red that went to VAR for Obileye?!

Possibility of 3 red cards for them today probably not even a discussion point on that programme, it holds no purpose other than seeing the goals

09-12-2023, 09:43 PM
Did they think he was onside?

Assume they are thinking the one in the first half when Newell tackled Guthrie I think

09-12-2023, 09:58 PM
Shankland is carrying a lot of extra timber. Hearts fans commentating on it but he was blowing out his arse midweek and today by all accounts.

09-12-2023, 11:45 PM
Assume they are thinking the one in the first half when Newell tackled Guthrie I think

Yeah that’s the one they were talking about. I can see why they thought it was a penalty.

The offside one they both said they could see it was clearly offside straight away and were baffled by it going to screen for review (one of them suggesting it was to buy VAR time to draw offside lines)

10-12-2023, 03:25 AM
Shankland is carrying a lot of extra timber. Hearts fans commentating on it but he was blowing out his arse midweek and today by all accounts.

10 other players is a hell of a lot to carry

I agree

10-12-2023, 04:02 AM
10 other players is a hell of a lot to carry

I agree

Do they still have that forklift they used for Nade?

Bridge hibs
10-12-2023, 06:09 AM
Shankland is carrying a lot of extra timber. Hearts fans commentating on it but he was blowing out his arse midweek and today by all accounts.I noticed that when they played the rangers, won the ball deep in the rangers half and went on a “run” towards their goal, I went to take the dog out for a walk, came back, made a coffee and noticed Shankheid had covered about 6 yards, ****ing podgy massive heided ****

I suppose all this the rangers talk they would need another podgy striker to replace Morelos

10-12-2023, 06:22 AM
Penalty to Rangers

10-12-2023, 09:24 AM
Do they still have that forklift they used for Nade?

:nade:

Arch Stanton
10-12-2023, 09:50 AM
Yeah that’s the one they were talking about. I can see why they thought it was a penalty.

The offside one they both said they could see it was clearly offside straight away and were baffled by it going to screen for review (one of them suggesting it was to buy VAR time to draw offside lines)

For the life of me I can't. All I can see is Guthrie doing the tripping.

Anyway, they didn't actually say why they thought it was a penalty, just declared that it was.

Skol
10-12-2023, 09:52 AM

Anyway, they didn't actually say why they thought it was a penalty, just declared that it was.

I agree, it was never a penalty. Well unless you are rangers of course. The forward made the contact and went down.

10-12-2023, 09:52 AM

Me too. It’s Guthrie that initiates the contact as he sticks his leg out.

10-12-2023, 10:00 AM
Me too. It’s Guthrie that initiates the contact as he sticks his leg out.Yeah, I thought lovell called it spot on

Guthrie just threw his leg into Newell

10-12-2023, 10:08 AM
Yeah, I thought lovell called it spot on

Well he certainly fooled me if that was the case because I thought it was a stonewalller. I'll try to find the highlights and look again.

10-12-2023, 10:10 AM
Me too. It’s Guthrie that initiates the contact as he sticks his leg out.

He throws himself towards Newell.

If Boyle done that or Porteous previously they'd be getting slated.

linlithgowhibbie
10-12-2023, 10:40 AM
Yeah, I thought lovell called it spot on

I would love it if Lovell could get a coaching spot at Hibs, everything he said yesterday made 100% sense .:thumbsup:

expresso
10-12-2023, 11:28 AM
Never a penalty embarrassed for the ‘experts’ calling it as such.
Clearly an attempt to cheat

HarpOnHibee
10-12-2023, 12:17 PM
Never a penalty. If players got awarded penalties every time they stuck the leg in and threw themselves to the ground, then all the teams in the league would have a penalty record up there with The Rangers.

10-12-2023, 12:46 PM
Watched it back closely.

Livi player just chucks his legs into newell

Nothing newell could do

Never a penalty

10-12-2023, 12:53 PM
Watched the programme this morning. "faddy" reckons he's trying to change directing and get in front. No idea what he's looking at as he makes no moves to go left other than flinging his left leg out to make contact.

At the game, just looked like he'd thrown himself forward looking for a Pen.

Pete70
10-12-2023, 01:09 PM
Funny how they didn’t show the last man foul on Boyle or the elbow by Devlin. Both could’ve even reds. Not sure if they were checked by VAR.

10-12-2023, 01:22 PM
Funny you say that just watched the highlights and it struck me he certainly seems to be overweight.

10-12-2023, 01:22 PM
Funny how they didn’t show the last man foul on Boyle or the elbow by Devlin. Both could’ve even reds. Not sure if they were checked by VAR.

The one on Boyle was a correct yellow. He was running across the pitch rather than through in goal.

10-12-2023, 02:08 PM
Funny you say that just watched the highlights and it struck me he certainly seems to be overweight.

It certainly appeared that way as he ran away to celebrate his goal.

10-12-2023, 04:03 PM
The one on Boyle was a correct yellow. He was running across the pitch rather than through in goal.The ball was running through towards goal wasn't it?

An easy red card that one

10-12-2023, 05:00 PM

Devlin challenge was very poor

10-12-2023, 05:02 PM
It certainly appeared that way as he ran away to celebrate his goal.

I noticed it there too. Also because apart from that you never saw him in the highlights :greengrin

16-12-2023, 10:07 PM
Shankland unmarked at the back post in acres of space to pick his spot with a free header

Decent free kick from Kingsley to make it two

Celtic all over the shop

Second consecutive league defeat for Celtic

Brenda has got his work cut out

Paulie Walnuts
16-12-2023, 10:11 PM
Shankland unmarked at the back post in acres of space to pick his spot with a free header

Decent free kick from Kingsley to make it two

Celtic all over the shop

Second consecutive league defeat for Celtic

Brenda has got his work cut out

Wouldn’t be surprised if Rodgers is gone next season.

16-12-2023, 10:15 PM
Levitt’s pass :confused:

Dearie me

Argylehibby
16-12-2023, 10:50 PM
Amazing how the presenters think it’s funny that the saints player tried to get Vente sent off rather than call it out as cheating. Martin Boyle gets slaughtered for diving unless they can see a potential leg break tackle on him yet the saints player “did his best to get him the red card, even had a wee look up to see ha ha ha ha” Absolutely pathetic and unprofessional!

16-12-2023, 10:50 PM
Derek Adams

17-12-2023, 12:50 AM
Derek Adams

A proper Kevin Keegan moment there :greengrin

Incredible interview.

17-12-2023, 04:23 AM
A proper Kevin Keegan moment there :greengrin

Incredible interview.

Not so sure, he was obviously unhappy at losing the game but I won't be shocked if he repeats the negative comments about the standard of football in Scotland. He isn't wrong either, it's rotten for the most part and I imagine he'll be back down south as soon as he can, he'll get the hell out of dodge as quickly as he can I suspect.

17-12-2023, 05:57 AM
Not so sure, he was obviously unhappy at losing the game but I won't be shocked if he repeats the negative comments about the standard of football in Scotland. He isn't wrong either, it's rotten for the most part and I imagine he'll be back down south as soon as he can, he'll get the hell out of dodge as quickly as he can I suspect.

He’s bound to have known what he was letting himself in for though, it’s not as if he’s a stranger to Scottish football or Ross County.

A strange man and one who I’m glad never graduated into being our manager as was once the intention

17-12-2023, 07:22 AM
As the pundits pointed out standard might not be great but this crap league’s teams defeated Feyenoord Real Betis and Eintracht Frankfurt all teams that do not lose often within the last 7 days and one of them reached the last 16 of the Europa League after topping it’s section

Starting to warm to Neil McCann always liked Faddy ever since that night in Paris

Looking forward to today’s League Cup Final as a neutral

17-12-2023, 08:30 AM
Amazing how the presenters think it’s funny that the saints player tried to get Vente sent off rather than call it out as cheating. Martin Boyle gets slaughtered for diving unless they can see a potential leg break tackle on him yet the saints player “did his best to get him the red card, even had a wee look up to see ha ha ha ha” Absolutely pathetic and unprofessional!

Yep Gordon should be getting hammered for that the worst form of cheating. You can be assured no way on earth they would be laughing if against either old firm teams.

17-12-2023, 09:31 AM

He didn’t need to come back up here. If he is that desperate to get back down the road he should have just stayed there

24-12-2023, 08:55 AM
The Foreheid looking dangerous with an excellent well taken double

Need to mark him tight on Wednesday

Without Shankland they are nothing

24-12-2023, 09:17 AM
Two excellent assists from Danny Armstrong ( Killie ) who looked on fire providing drive and creativity

👀

leith lynx
24-12-2023, 09:58 AM
Two excellent assists from Danny Armstrong ( Killie ) who looked on fire providing drive and creativity

👀

Incoming?

28-12-2023, 09:07 AM
Neil McCann spot on regarding Tavares saw a lot of the ball but should have done more with it always looking to take the easy option

Wasted opportunities

Summed him up all night

Rocky should do better heads the ball off Shankland a tired attempt at a clearance

Shankland still has work to do and Fish should put in more of a challenge?

Armstrong once again looking good for Killie

Murdo Macleod on the Edinburgh Derby

‘ Once it goes down to 100 mph you might start to see some quality’

31-12-2023, 09:29 AM
Brilliant advert for Scottish football with some brilliant games and superb individual performances

**** got beat Sheep got beat Hearts drop two points what’s not to like ?

BBCiPlayer

03-01-2024, 08:21 AM
Shock ! Horror !

The Rangers concede first penalty in the League since 18-01-2022 ( Pittodrie )

75 games. :confused:

The last time they conceded a penalty in the League at Ibrox was against Celtic 18-9-2019

03-01-2024, 08:34 AM
Trolling from the Jambo producers again. 17,000 at the game but they put the team lines up over the half empty (and damaged) south stand.

03-01-2024, 08:35 AM
Shock ! Horror !

The Rangers concede first penalty in the League since 18-01-2022 ( Pittodrie )

75 games. :confused:

The last time they conceded a penalty in the League at Ibrox was against Celtic 18-9-2019

And it was never a pen, in my opinion.

03-01-2024, 08:40 AM
And it was never a pen, in my opinion.

Yip The Rangers Manager was spot on where was he supposed to put his hands ?

Seemed like a natural position for someone falling and trying to retain their balance in preparation for breaking their fall

They had it coming though 😂

Quite like the new The Rangers Manager seems like a proper football man and seems to know his stuff

20-01-2024, 10:10 PM
‘ Hibs think they are still in Dubai ! ‘

Brilliant clearance off the line and winning back header from Doidge to save the day

Revenge is sweet for Partick Thistle up at Ross County

Derek Adams having second thoughts about taking the job :rolleyes:

Shudda done his due diligence

Dearie me !

20-01-2024, 10:17 PM
Good to see Archie back on it. Him and McCann are a really good pairing.

GreenGray
20-01-2024, 10:22 PM
Good to see Archie back on it. Him and McCann are a really good pairing.

He is streets ahead some of the “pundits” they have on.

20-01-2024, 10:28 PM
Did I see right - sportscene had Wollacott starting in midfield instead of Jeggo, on the lineup graphic before the highlights?

Did strike me as a bold move.

Green Man
20-01-2024, 10:28 PM
Did I see right - sportscene had Wollacott starting in midfield instead of Jeggo, on the lineup graphic before the highlights?

Yeah they did, I had to rewind it to check I wasn’t going mad.

20-01-2024, 10:29 PM
Yeah they did, I had to rewind it to check I wasn’t going mad.

👍 I knew I hadn’t drank that much

20-01-2024, 10:51 PM

Did strike me as a bold move.Monty out

Jojo was anonymous

MartinfaePorty
20-01-2024, 10:52 PM

Not sure why it's upside down LoL. Although I've been on the bevy since getting back from Forfar!

20-01-2024, 10:54 PM
‘ Hibs think they are still in Dubai ! ‘

Brilliant clearance off the line and winning back header from Doidge to save the day

Revenge is sweet for Partick Thistle up at Ross County

Derek Adams having second thoughts about taking the job :rolleyes:

Shudda done his due diligence

Dearie me !

Derek Adams surely on a sticky wicket with his mental comments

Near enough saying he wouldn't have taken the job if he knows how big it was - straight after being pumped out the cup by a team in the league below

Can't imagine that will go down too well with the fans or the board

On our game i expected much more chances for forfar based on what I read earlier

20-01-2024, 11:00 PM

Near enough saying he wouldn't have taken the job if he knows how big it was - straight after being pumped out the cup by a team in the league below

On our game i expected much more chances for forfar based on what I read earlier

Cannot see him lasting much longer

The standard up here is obviously higher than he thought getting pumped 0-3 by a lower league side that might even give Morecambe a game

Victor
21-01-2024, 02:22 AM

Saw that too. Had to rewind twice to make sure I had seen it. Anyone who doesn’t believe that the BBC don’t like Hibs should look at this and the graphic on the other post that confirms that I was not hallucinating. (Unfortunately the aforementioned graphic might only be visible to posters who live in Oz or NZ)

Crunchie
21-01-2024, 06:40 AM
Saw that too. Had to rewind twice to make sure I had seen it. Anyone who doesn’t believe that the BBC don’t like Hibs should look at this and the graphic on the other post that confirms that I was not hallucinating. (Unfortunately the aforementioned graphic might only be visible to posters who live in Oz or NZ)

I don't think there's an anti Hibs agenda at all, standards across the board in the BBC have plummeted in recent years. I've seen some brutally amateur reporting in the political and sporting world, gone are the days when you needed the qualifications for a post.

21-01-2024, 07:13 AM

They only had 2 shots on target. You wouldn’t know that by some of the comments on here. Mainly from people who weren’t at the game mind you.

21-01-2024, 07:23 AM

Did strike me as a bold move.Monty's got to stop playing folk upside down as well. Never works in a 442. All the blood rushes to their head.

I'm surprised none of the experts on sportscene never had a go at Hibs for allowing this to happen.

NC1875
21-01-2024, 08:08 AM
Monty's got to stop playing folk upside down as well. Never works in a 442. All the blood rushes to their head.

I'm surprised none of the experts on sportscene never had a go at Hibs for allowing this to happen.

That’s what happens when you come here from Oz

21-01-2024, 08:14 AM
That’s what happens when you come here from OzYep, another poor decision, if we are going to play upside down we really need to switch continent, even I know that.

I do think playing a keeper upside down in midfield will improve us there though so maybe the sportscene experts are trying to help us for once?

21-01-2024, 08:50 AM
I don't think there's an anti Hibs agenda at all, standards across the board in the BBC have plummeted in recent years. I've seen some brutally amateur reporting in the political and sporting world, gone are the days when you needed the qualifications for a post.

Ever since journalists started trying to drive the news rather than report it. Same applies to game commentary. Tell us what’s happening and stop trying to to be pseudo coaching experts

Crunchie
21-01-2024, 08:51 AM
Ever since journalists started trying to drive the news rather than report it. Same applies to game commentary. Tell us what’s happening and stop trying to to be pseudo coaching experts

21-01-2024, 09:08 AM
Just watched it - it's funny that two of the pundits (the non Hibs ones) seem to think we were lucky to get through. the team who needed an injury time winner were described as "always going to win the tie"

As for the Hibs Team line up graphic, how utterly poor was that

21-01-2024, 09:22 AM
Just watched it - it's funny that two of the pundits (the non Hibs ones) seem to think we were lucky to get through. the team who needed an injury time winner were described as "always going to win the tie"

As for the Hibs Team line up graphic, how utterly poor was that

All the game highlights are usually available to watch on the iplayer. I just choose what one I want to watch without the uninvited slavers.

Sportscene is more pundit than match action (or it was the last time I watched a long time ago). Quite why we need someone to hold our hand after the game and tell us what we have just watched is always a mystery to me.

Cut back on pundits and show more football. A host and highlights reels is all anyone really needs.

21-01-2024, 10:19 AM
All the game highlights are usually available to watch on the iplayer. I just choose what one I want to watch without the uninvited slavers.

Sportscene is more pundit than match action (or it was the last time I watched a long time ago). Quite why we need someone to hold our hand after the game and tell us what we have just watched is always a mystery to me.

Cut back on pundits and show more football. A host and highlights reels is all anyone really needs.Simply fills more of the schedule just like MOTD. There's the same amount of analysis/informed opinion/****** as match action. The difference in quality matches the difference in investment. Far more freelancers working for the beeb and no time for an editor to check the team lines before broadcast in a rush to match SKY with the goal action.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

21-01-2024, 10:58 AM

We are an anti-establishment clubs formed by left-leaning immigrants. The BBC is the mouthpiece of the establishment and is chaired by a major Tory party funder and the son of a Baron

Why is anyone surprised?

Hibs are us, the BBC is them. Wear it proudly!

xbar81
21-01-2024, 11:41 AM

Cut back on pundits and show more football. A host and highlights reels is all anyone really needs.

Dougie Donnaly or Richard Gordon were the best days.

Scotsport before the ballsed it up was good. Jim Whyte and one guest was all that was needed.

21-01-2024, 12:58 PM

That's exactly what I've just done, thought Stuart Lovell summed up the Hibs performance very well, unlike some of the hysterical comments on.net.

malcolm
21-01-2024, 05:53 PM

Almost as weird as bbc listing Jair in the online lineups as ‘da Veiga Vieira Tavares’ presumably the only footballer they know of with middle names. I suspect they either populate online and highlights using really crap software that poorly sources resources … or someone is having a laugh.

21-01-2024, 06:02 PM

Scotsport before the ballsed it up was good. Jim Whyte and one guest was all that was needed.
Maybe I am re-writing history and getting nostalgic already I don't know, but I never minded Richard Gordon bar a few comments on Hibs that may have irked me. His will be the voice that sticks with me anyway.

How much of a downgrade now to "I shouldn't mention VAR haha lol, lets talk about VAR, VAR VAR VAR - as we said earlier in the programme, and we'll see this later on the programme, coming up on the programme, a million filler words to get to the point without saying much at all Kenny M".

Davy Mac
21-01-2024, 06:13 PM
The game wil be on around 20.25 as per so dont panic :-)

21-01-2024, 06:16 PM
The game wil be on around 20.25 as per so dont panic :-)
On second last night. :greengrin

Davy Mac
21-01-2024, 06:32 PM
On second last night. :greengrin

Were they, lol, obviously they enjoyed highlighting how pash we are :-)

21-01-2024, 06:46 PM
Were they, lol, obviously they enjoyed highlighting how pash we are :-):greengrin probably.

Davy Mac
21-01-2024, 06:51 PM
:greengrin probably.

McFadden - a professional performance from Hearts - jeez/lol

21-01-2024, 07:02 PM
Obviously on the funny fags. :greengrin

21-01-2024, 08:05 PM
The Hearts love in and anti anything Hibs is why i never watch it anymore.

21-01-2024, 08:06 PM

Yes didn’t quite get that comment

Crunchie
22-01-2024, 07:13 AM
We are an anti-establishment clubs formed by left-leaning immigrants. The BBC is the mouthpiece of the establishment and is chaired by a major Tory party funder and the son of a Baron

Why is anyone surprised?

Hibs are us, the BBC is them. Wear it proudly!
I'm surprised anyone would think we're an anti-establishment club, do you think the owners and board will go along with that statement? I think not.
That kind of mindset is best left to the Green Brigade who some think Palestine is some kind of play dough.

22-01-2024, 07:28 AM
I'm surprised anyone would think we're an anti-establishment club, do you think the owners and board will go along with that statement? I think not.
That kind of mindset is best left to the Green Brigade who some think Palestine is some kind of play dough.

It's nothing to do with how our owners, board or fans perceive ourselves, it's others perceptions of us. The leader of the BNP recently claimed we were all IRA supporting sc@m. Fans of the Rangers have been known to have similar views, given their insistence that they wish to wade in our "fenian" blood.

The BBC in Scotland showed us all what they think of us when we beat the Rangers in the 2016 Cup Final.

Crunchie
22-01-2024, 07:32 AM
It's nothing to do with how our owners, board or fans perceive ourselves, it's others perceptions of us. The leader of the BNP recently claimed we were all IRA supporting sc@m. Fans of the Rangers have been known to have similar views, given their insistence that they wish to wade in our "fenian" blood.

The BBC in Scotland showed us all what they think of us when we beat the Rangers in the 2016 Cup Final.

Such a funny response. What did they show us exactly? I remember they showed us the game did I miss something?

scm70nyd1973
22-01-2024, 07:32 AM

Politics - yawn yawn - I agree wholeheartedly with you on this Crunchie

22-01-2024, 09:12 AM
This like MOTD is recorded and all the sheite inbetween the highlights are fast forwarded.

killie-hibby
22-01-2024, 09:22 AM
Such a funny response. What did they show us exactly? I remember they showed us the game did I miss something?

BBC Scotland missed something, ie our victory parade. Yet a few weeks earlier they showed Ross County parading the league cup in front of a pipe band and a few hundred locals .

22-01-2024, 09:32 AM
I watched it for the first time in ages yesterday in order to catch the draw

I couldn't believe how amateur it was. It might be that the in-depth analysis came on Saturday night but Sunday's show was pathetic - Where's the video analysis or break down of moves that led to goals or chances? Embarrassing

As for the draw, again technology - they insist on using numbers but we're all left at home sitting wondering who we're facing as, at a maximum we retained knowledge of the numbers of maybe 4 or 5 teams (ourselves plus the 3 teams we really didn't want to face. Where's the vidiprinter showing teams and numbers or the teams already drawn?

We do ourselves no favours when we refuse to modernise our shows

22-01-2024, 09:47 AM
Confined to barracks on Saturday I listened to the radio all afternoon.
Off the Ball and Sports Sound.
I've given up yearning for Bob Crampsey or even Archie McPherson on the football front. It's about entertainment now i.e. banter between guys in an attempt to recreate a sort of pub session. Indeed, some of the participants on Sportsound had had a couple. I'm sure of it as the atmosphere got increasingly manic as the afternoon went on.
The BBC has decided to go in this direction and given the poor quality of football north of the border you can't blame them. You'd cry if you didn't laugh.
Frankly, I didn't hear any Hibs bias although we can safely assume Preston wants us to lose. He's a Hearts man. Get over it! Actually, he was at least reporting the action in some detail.

hhibs
22-01-2024, 09:52 AM

Why is anyone surprised?

Hibs are us, the BBC is them. Wear it proudly!ful

Fair point,certainly historically, Hibernian and the supporters have been viewed as anti-establishment and treated accordingly by those in powerful positions.

As for BBC Scotland it has the lowest satisfaction levels of all the "nations".

Not sure how comparing your views to the Green Brigade and Celtic bear any kind of scrutiny.

Apart from all that,Sportscene is really dire but Sportsound is just beyond even that.

killie-hibby
22-01-2024, 09:52 AM

Best days for me was Arthur Montford and Bob Crampsey.

xbar81
22-01-2024, 10:14 AM
Maybe I am re-writing history and getting nostalgic already I don't know, but I never minded Richard Gordon bar a few comments on Hibs that may have irked me. His will be the voice that sticks with me anyway.

How much of a downgrade now to "I shouldn't mention VAR haha lol, lets talk about VAR, VAR VAR VAR - as we said earlier in the programme, and we'll see this later on the programme, coming up on the programme, a million filler words to get to the point without saying much at all Kenny M".

I had it wrong. It was Jim Delahunt that did the Sunday just himself and one other guest and that was quite good.

The Jim Whyte was before that and that had Gerry Mcknee and Paul somebody, they ended the show with a phone in.

Saturday night only showed some games but the Sunday had it all.

22-01-2024, 10:52 AM
I watched it for the first time in ages yesterday in order to catch the draw

I couldn't believe how amateur it was. It might be that the in-depth analysis came on Saturday night but Sunday's show was pathetic - Where's the video analysis or break down of moves that led to goals or chances? Embarrassing

As for the draw, again technology - they insist on using numbers but we're all left at home sitting wondering who we're facing as, at a maximum we retained knowledge of the numbers of maybe 4 or 5 teams (ourselves plus the 3 teams we really didn't want to face. Where's the vidiprinter showing teams and numbers or the teams already drawn?

We do ourselves no favours when we refuse to modernise our shows

We knew right away we were facing ICT (and the fact they’d won it in 2015) as they were out the hat first followed by number 9.

22-01-2024, 10:52 AM

Hear Hear! Load of fantastical nonsense.

22-01-2024, 10:56 AM
Confined to barracks on Saturday I listened to the radio all afternoon.
Off the Ball and Sports Sound.
I've given up yearning for Bob Crampsey or even Archie McPherson on the football front. It's about entertainment now i.e. banter between guys in an attempt to recreate a sort of pub session. Indeed, some of the participants on Sportsound had had a couple. I'm sure of it as the atmosphere got increasingly manic as the afternoon went on.
The BBC has decided to go in this direction and given the poor quality of football north of the border you can't blame them. You'd cry if you didn't laugh.
Frankly, I didn't hear any Hibs bias although we can safely assume Preston wants us to lose. He's a Hearts man. Get over it! Actually, he was at least reporting the action in some detail.

There was very little action detail from Preston. Hibs all over the place. They can’t defend. All that despite the Sportscene highlights showing us defending set pieces and one break away. Followed by Hibs have upped it in the second half. It really is very poor.,

Chipper1875
22-01-2024, 11:51 AM
There was very little action detail from Preston. Hibs all over the place. They can’t defend. All that despite the Sportscene highlights showing us defending set pieces and one break away. Followed by Hibs have upped it in the second half. It really is very poor.,

We were terrible defending balls into box. First six balls we lost five

xbar81
22-01-2024, 01:02 PM

banana skin avoided. Not uncommon in this round by any means, and we're not the only one.

On to the next round

22-01-2024, 01:06 PM

Whilst pretty poor presumably we handled the second ball?

Chipper1875
22-01-2024, 01:35 PM
Whilst pretty poor presumably we handled the second ball?

What did you think watching second half?

22-01-2024, 01:42 PM
What did you think watching second half?
Wasn’t there and hate forming an opinion on so called highlights. From said highlights once we had our better players on the pitch it was more or less one way traffic and only a matter of time before we scored and went through.

22-01-2024, 01:51 PM
BBC Scotland missed something, ie our victory parade. Yet a few weeks earlier they showed Ross County parading the league cup in front of a pipe band and a few hundred locals .Reporting Scotland were too busy pushing the Rangers line that "every Rangers player was assaulted" to show any of our celebrations, which is what I was referring to above.