27-08-2023, 12:07 PM
It's time.

27-08-2023, 12:07 PM
More like Roy Keane time, baby!!

27-08-2023, 12:08 PM
Like others, I wouldn’t be surprised if he turned us down, he did knock back Rangers after all.

However, if there is interest from his side, it makes a hell of a lot of sense right now.

TheGog
Give us Del Mac

Exuberance1875
Absolutely not

27-08-2023, 12:09 PM
Nope.

27-08-2023, 12:09 PM
There’s no way McInnes will take it imo.

Might have more chance tempting Robinson.

27-08-2023, 12:10 PM
No current spl manager will take the Hibs job at the moment.

Exuberance1875
27-08-2023, 12:10 PM

McInnes and Robinson would secure us mediocrity. Wouldn’t be able to handle it here. Simple as.

THESHIP
27-08-2023, 12:11 PM
McInnes and Robinson would secure us mediocrity. Wouldn’t be able to handle it here. Simple as.

This. Can’t believe this is what folk are stooping to

27-08-2023, 12:12 PM

:agree: hibs coming across over last few years as trigger happy when it comes to managers.

27-08-2023, 12:13 PM

Robinson just said at his press conference whilst laughing on Friday that he has no sympathy for Hibs - pretty much a direct quote. He’s not interested, thank god as well.

27-08-2023, 12:13 PM
I might be confusing him with somebody else but I recall him saying that he would never manage Hibs.

27-08-2023, 12:14 PM
No thanks. I just couldn't see it working and would only be a few games away from getting toxic.

100% get him in.

He’d make signings straight away that would improve us and he’s be able to improve us defensively almost instantly

Always seen him as more a Hearts type manager than a Hibs one

GreenGray

Robinson yes, McInnes though for mediocrity? Really?

He’s already shown that at a club with a similar budget as ours he can regularly finish 3rd, that’s not mediocrity for us that is the best we’re going to get.

Gordy M
27-08-2023, 12:15 PM
:agree: hibs coming across over last few years as trigger happy when it comes to managers.

Every manager in Scotland apart from old firm and hearts/aberdeen would take the hibs job.......

Not sure we need a new thread for everyone’s pick here…

The time to get McInnes was when he was available twiddling his thumbs. Instead we made the absolutely ridiculous Maloney appointment. We've no chance of getting him now. And it would cost a fortune in compo to Killie.

27-08-2023, 12:16 PM
No thanks. I just couldn't see it working and would only be a few games away from getting toxic.

Let’s be honest - that’s going to be the case whoever the new manager will be.

27-08-2023, 12:17 PM
Every manager in Scotland apart from old firm and hearts/aberdeen would take the hibs job.......

Not nowadays, I don’t think.

Who was the last manager to enhance their reputation at Hibs?

Sioux
27-08-2023, 12:18 PM
100% get him in.

He’d make signings straight away that would improve us and he’s be able to improve us defensively almost instantly

No he won't. More than enough money's been spent already.

Gordy M
27-08-2023, 12:19 PM
Not nowadays, I don’t think.

Who was the last manager to enhance their reputation at Hibs?

Who was the last manager of Hearts or Aberdeen to do that in that case? Every manger believes that they would be the one to turn it around, and if you do, then you WILL get better offers.

Tinnitus
27-08-2023, 12:20 PM
He'd only take the job if he thought he'd get to sign some midfielders and defenders. Otherwise he'd only be left trying to get a tune out of the same old *****.

Paulie Walnuts
27-08-2023, 12:20 PM
An absolute no brainer. If he’s interested it has to be him.

raeburnhibs
27-08-2023, 12:22 PM

says you! Robinson would double his salary, that is a temptation right there

27-08-2023, 12:23 PM
McInnes and Robinson would secure us mediocrity. Wouldn’t be able to handle it here. Simple as.Why wouldn't McInnes be able to handle it?

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

raeburnhibs
He'd only take the job if he thought he'd get to sign some midfielders and defenders. Otherwise he'd only be left trying to get a tune out of the same old *****.

but surely part of being a coach, is you know, coaching, as in, making them better?

1875M
What if McInnes or Robinson don’t want it? Robinson’s already had a dig at Hibs saying he has no sympathy and McInnes seems to be settled and building something decent at Kilmarnock.

27-08-2023, 12:24 PM
Nobody knows who would say yes or no to the job, but FFS Hibs just ask the right man this time.

27-08-2023, 12:24 PM
says you! Robinson would double his salary, that is a temptation right there

I'd guess almost all of them outwith the top 4 sides would jump at the chance to manage hibs

Paulie Walnuts
27-08-2023, 12:25 PM
Nobody knows who would say yes or no to the job, but FFS Hibs just ask the right man this time.

If he says no, he says no.

But we should be on the phone to Kilmarnock today. Nobody else comes close to being such an obvious candidate.

27-08-2023, 12:27 PM
We need a settled period of stability.
McInnes would bring that I think.

27-08-2023, 12:27 PM
What if McInnes or Robinson don’t want it? Robinson’s already had a dig at Hibs saying he has no sympathy and McInnes seems to be settled and building something decent at Kilmarnock.He didn't really

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/in-your-area/renfrewshire/stephen-robinson-little-hibs-sympathy-30780642

GreenPJ
27-08-2023, 12:28 PM
Go foreign - we talk about the need for people understanding Scottish football is key. Our last 3 managers all had varying degrees of knowledge of Scottish Football and none have worked out. Also some of the fan base will never accept certain people due to previous associations with other clubs so they are on a hiding to nothing from before a ball is kicked from a portion of the fan base.

He’s the first guy we ask for me. Find out if he’s interested or not. If not, then start the recruitment process.

If he’s keen, I wouldn’t even be speaking to anyone else.

Rumour about Barry Venison on twitter , knows the Gordons coaching in USA

27-08-2023, 12:29 PM

Think he’d be a bit deer for us.

27-08-2023, 12:29 PM

I think you've been reigned in by that one......

27-08-2023, 12:30 PM
We need a settled period of stability.
McInnes would bring that I think.

If it’s not McInnes, I suspect the same folk who were gutted that we went for Johnson rather than JDT or Roy Keane will gnash and wail until the next man’s gone, even if McInnes tells us firmly to gtf.

Stability is a rather forlorn hope.

I saw that mentioned but got the impression it was a piss take

Whoever the new manager is, if it's not the "fans favourite", I fear it'll just be a repeat again & again. We haven't truly got behind a manager since Lennon.

27-08-2023, 12:31 PM
Yup. If he wants it, pay it. Go and get him.

He’s got a decent midfielder at Killie as well, Kyle Mag something I think it is

👀

27-08-2023, 12:31 PM
It's time.

Hell no! Will last 18 months til we hound him out too and then repeat repeat repeat repeat til the heat death of the universe...

27-08-2023, 12:32 PM
I think Mcinnes will look at our front 3 of Boyle, Vente and Youan, the midfield having Newell and Levitt and then some decent defenders who lack organisation and think there’s a lot to work with there and that he’d be able to improve us quite easily and quickly.

He’d go out and sign a centre mid and centre back instantly I think

27-08-2023, 12:32 PM
Wants to bring in uncle Buck as his assistant.

27-08-2023, 12:33 PM
Is McInnes not from Ayrshire originally? That probably makes it even harder to tempt him, as it's too far to be commuting that every day.

27-08-2023, 12:35 PM
I think Mcinnes will look at our front 3 of Boyle, Vente and Youan, the midfield having Newell and Levitt and then some decent defenders who lack organisation and think there’s a lot to work with there and that he’d be able to improve us quite easily and quickly.

He’d go out and sign a centre mid and centre back instantly I think

There’s an awful lot to work with but equally there are a couple of fatal weaknesses that can sink a team and manager.

I can understand why some managers might be tempted but I think we’re going to be bitterly disappointed by their level.

27-08-2023, 12:36 PM
Is McInnes not from Ayrshire originally? That probably makes it even harder to tempt him, as it's too far to be commuting that every day.

He’s a Paisley boy, who lives in Houston

It’s the logistics of uprooting when he’s probably fairly settled domestically that is the main reason I don’t see him taking it.

Think you’ve missed the joke

K-Zazu
27-08-2023, 12:37 PM
Yes please

big gogs
27-08-2023, 12:38 PM
Money talks.

27-08-2023, 12:41 PM

That would be a meaty appointment! :greengrin

Exuberance1875
27-08-2023, 12:41 PM
Why wouldn't McInnes be able to handle it?

He blew it big style at Aberdeen by playing torturous football. I know a couple Aberdeen fans who have said the same. He didn’t really achieve anything there when they had the biggest budget outside Celtic (considering there was no hibs, hearts or rangers).

There’s a reason he didn’t get a better job than Killie in the championship…

27-08-2023, 12:42 PM
McInnes will want total control of everything football. He’ll want his DOF as well. Went into Killie and got rid of their DOF, Fowler right away, and now brought in his own man

Had a big problem with the Chairman, Cormack at Aberdeen. Said the most important relationship at the club is manager and chairman, and he has this with Billy Bowie at Kilmarnock

So he’d want BM to move on, and he want Ian Gordon not involved at all in recruitment
Can Hibs deliver this, I have my doubts

27-08-2023, 12:45 PM
He blew it big style at Aberdeen by playing torturous football. I know a couple Aberdeen fans who have said the same. He didn’t really achieve anything there when they had the biggest budget outside Celtic (considering there was no hibs, hearts or rangers).

There’s a reason he didn’t get a better job than Killie in the championship…he was offered the rangers job but turned them down so don’t know where you get a better job than killie statement.

27-08-2023, 12:45 PM
McInnes will want total control of everything football. He’ll want his DOF as well. Went into Killie and got rid of their DOF, Fowler right away, and now brought in his own man

Had a big problem with the Chairman, Cormack at Aberdeen. Said the most important relationship at the club is manager and chairman, and he has this with Billy Bowie at Kilmarnock

So he’d want BM to move on, and he want Ian Gordon not involved at all in recruitment

Sounds good to me. What we have isn’t working.

Tinnitus
27-08-2023, 12:47 PM
but surely part of being a coach, is you know, coaching, as in, making them better?

It is part of being a coach. Arguably part of being a "modern" coach is deciding on a system to play, then signing players that fit that system.

From McInnes pov, I'd be worried that I might be subject to silly recruitment.

Exuberance1875
27-08-2023, 12:48 PM
he was offered the rangers job but turned them down so don’t know where you get a better job than killie statement.

Did he manage Rangers? No…

badabing67
27-08-2023, 12:49 PM
Unless the club already have someone lined up I am really concerned right now, the recruitment process took forever to get Johnson in last time round. I feel like I have no idea how this is going to go moving forward. The club have got to get this right. I don't see how they can take their time about it. Personally I wouldn't mind setting the recruitment to be complete by either of the international breaks in September 04-12, 2023 or October 09-17, 2023. In the mean time i would get Lennon back in shot term until we can complete the recruitment process. After all he is looking to get back. It could work both ways and if it doesn't we can still take out time to get the right guy in.

27-08-2023, 12:50 PM

Just till Xmas.

BegbieHSC
27-08-2023, 12:53 PM
Absolutely not McInnes

27-08-2023, 12:54 PM
Unless the club already have someone lined up I am really concerned right now, the recruitment process took forever to get Johnson in last time round. I feel like I have no idea how this is going to go moving forward. The club have got to get this right. I don't see how they can take their time about it. Personally I wouldn't mind setting the recruitment to be complete by either of the international breaks in September 04-12, 2023 or October 09-17, 2023. In the mean time i would get Lennon back in shot term until we can complete the recruitment process. After all he is looking to get back. It could work both ways and if it doesn't we can still take out time to get the right guy in.

We have a Director of Football now, so I’m hoping the process will be a lot better this time.

HarpOnHibee
27-08-2023, 12:57 PM
He's too clever to come here tbh.

27-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Unless the club already have someone lined up I am really concerned right now, the recruitment process took forever to get Johnson in last time round. I feel like I have no idea how this is going to go moving forward. The club have got to get this right. I don't see how they can take their time about it. Personally I wouldn't mind setting the recruitment to be complete by either of the international breaks in September 04-12, 2023 or October 09-17, 2023. In the mean time i would get Lennon back in shot term until we can complete the recruitment process. After all he is looking to get back. It could work both ways and if it doesn't we can still take out time to get the right guy in.Aye, just get Lennon in for a few weeks while we find someone else - sure he will take that no bother

[emoji23]

27-08-2023, 01:03 PM
Just ask him, nae farting about with having a shortlist, just ask him if he wants the job.

27-08-2023, 01:04 PM
He's too clever to come here tbh.

It's a tough one to call.

Will he get a better job offer tha Hibs in the future? He's not going to get the Celtic or Rangers job, he ain't going back to Aberdeen so in Scotland it's Hearts or Hibs. Could he get a move down south? Possibly, but it's further away from home and family, and I'm not sure his stock is high enough now to get a big club to make it worthwhile.

Edit - actually forgot about the Scotland job. I'd imagine he's probably one of the main candidates when Clarke moves on (which will be after the Euros next summer IMO). So I think there's a good chance McInnes might have his eye on that.

27-08-2023, 01:08 PM
It's a tough one to call.

Will he get a better job offer tha Hibs in the future? He's not going to get the Celtic or Rangers job, he ain't going back to Aberdeen so in Scotland it's Hearts or Hibs. Could he get a move down south? Possibly, but it's further away from home and family, and I'm not sure his stock is high enough now to get a big club to make it worthwhile.

Edit - actually forgot about the Scotland job. I'd imagine he's probably one of the main candidates when Clarke moves on (which will be after the Euros next summer. So I think there's a good chance McInnes might have his eye on that.

Steve Clarke got a decent gig after leaving Killie.

27-08-2023, 01:11 PM
Steve Clarke got a decent gig after leaving Killie.

Did he not go directly to Scotland? I think that's probably a route McInnes might be keen on, although Clarke had obviously managed at a higher level.

badabing67
27-08-2023, 01:19 PM
Aye, just get Lennon in for a few weeks while we find someone else - sure he will take that no bother

[emoji23]

Well just give him the job now then

thebausburst
27-08-2023, 01:20 PM
Obvious choice, simply has to be, those saying no are clearly mad or deluded there is anyone realistically better

Cheshire Hibee
27-08-2023, 01:27 PM
It's time.

No thanks, it’s time we were a bit more bold in selecting the next manager and not plump fit someone of the Scottish football managerial merry go round.
We need to uncover another Mowbray or Stubbs

Trinity Hibee
27-08-2023, 01:29 PM
Willie miller on sportsound seems convinced macinnes would take it if offered

andrew70
27-08-2023, 01:32 PM
Willie miller on sportsound seems convinced macinnes would take it if offered

He’s also said that he’s managed a bigger club in Aberdeen, helmet.

27-08-2023, 01:32 PM
Obvious choice, simply has to be, those saying no are clearly mad or deluded there is anyone realistically better

Trying to decide whether to opt for being mad or deluded then!

Bridge hibs
27-08-2023, 01:33 PM
Think he’d be a bit deer for us.

Wouldnt be long before he got the chop

27-08-2023, 01:34 PM
He’s also said that he’s managed a bigger club in Aberdeen, helmet.

Ffs. He's an Aberdeen fan. So what?

Just_Jimmy
27-08-2023, 01:40 PM
McInnes and Robinson would secure us mediocrity. Wouldn’t be able to handle it here. Simple as.If what McInnes did at Aberdeen is mediocre then sign me right up.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

27-08-2023, 01:44 PM
Just ask him, nae farting about with having a shortlist, just ask him if he wants the job.

Exactly right.

2 quick phone calls to sound out McInnes and Lennon. If they're not interested, move on.

If they are, pay what it takes and get them in after the Villa game.

27-08-2023, 01:45 PM
It's time.

he' be mental to even think about it.

h1bs4life
27-08-2023, 01:48 PM

McInnes would be my choice as well , think he has done reasonably well in the jobs he has had, has good experience of the Scottish game .He has Kilmarnock playing to there strengths.
Need someone to make us solid at the back and build from there if we currently have players that can do it good and well , if not needs to bring them in and move others out.

Regarding BM and Ian Gordon was invited to Pioneers hospitality 1st time ever been to hospitality at Easter Road yesterday which was excellent . Got the stadium tour 1st with Barrie the announcer and Ian Gordon was referred to as the owner so I would assume he is no longer part of recruitment if he ever had a major part to start with. After seeing what the Gordon’s had done behind the scenes so far, how busy various parts of hospitality was and mention of the plans for the future there appears a determination at the moment to see Ron’s plans through.
I would expect the Chief Executive and Director of football to play a major part in the next managers appointment rather than the Gordon’s

27-08-2023, 01:49 PM
In our setup, does the Head Coach technically report into the Director or Football?

subcom mixu
27-08-2023, 01:52 PM
Someone with class, steel, passion and real vision. A natural inspirer of men with proven success. No diddlysquat wanna be's. Hibs need to invest in someone who'll bring the hoards to ER and never again accept anything but success. Utterly bored of the continual mediocre pish. Think big Hibs! Do something remarkable with our club!

RMQ1967
27-08-2023, 01:56 PM
I've been listening to my Killie supporting mate slaughtering McInnes for most of the last 18 months.

One win against a poor Huns Huns side & one against a poor selik side & suddenly the man who dwindled the Dons support with his eye bleeding style of football is the best thing since sliced bread 🙄

Be careful what you wish for.

DIXIHIBS
27-08-2023, 01:56 PM
Someone with class, steel, passion and real vision. A natural inspirer of men with proven success. No diddlysquat wanna be's. Hibs need to invest in someone who'll bring the hoards to ER and never again accept anything but success. Utterly bored of the continual mediocre pish. Think big Hibs! Do something remarkable with our club!

Not hoping for much then😁

LewysGot2
27-08-2023, 01:57 PM
I've been listening to my Killie supporting mate slaughtering McInnes for most of the last 18 months.

One win against a poor Huns Huns side & one against a poor selik side & suddenly the man who dwindled the Dons support with his eye bleeding style of football is the best thing since sliced bread 🙄

Aberdeen 1 whoever 0

Much more of the same but throw in that horrendous pitch to counter the lower budget.

Not for me but will get behind whoever we appoint

27-08-2023, 01:59 PM

Exactly this. Aberdeen emptied him after a run of 9 games with 1 goal scored. He'd get 3 here.

27-08-2023, 02:05 PM
Exactly this. Aberdeen emptied him after a run of 9 games with 1 goal scored. He'd get 3 here.

Just about every manager gets binned eventually, he achieved so much with Aberdeen.

27-08-2023, 02:22 PM
Aberdeen 1 whoever 0

Much more of the same but throw in that horrendous pitch to counter the lower budget.

Not for me but will get behind whoever we appoint

Aberdeen out scored the rest of the league (apart from Celtic/Sevco) those seasons so that is just not true.

h1bs4life
27-08-2023, 02:22 PM

Agree with some of the points being made but he had been Aberdeen manager since 2013 and was sacked in 2021 probably been there to long .Think average times manager is in charge these days is about 2-3 years or 6 months for a Hibs manager .
Sure before he was manager Aberdeen were near the bottom of league for a few seasons.
2014 Aberdeen won the league cup and got to Europe for the 1st time since 2009.
Also had European run and 3 in a row 2nd places albeit without Hibs , Hearts and the Huns.
Not sure if there were complaints from the sheep around that time.

He took over Kilmarnock with the main aim to get them promoted which he achieved and has started this season well.

Wouldn’t be the perfect manager but looking at what he has achieved and how long recent Hibs managers have had well worth keeping him in mind IMHO

Daily Hibs
27-08-2023, 03:26 PM
Has to be McInness!

27-08-2023, 03:28 PM
He must on the shortlist. I’d be willing to give him a go.

27-08-2023, 03:30 PM
McInnes for me as well. Big challenge though for any new manager given our league position and upcoming fixtures

27-08-2023, 03:32 PM
McInnes would do in all honesty. Not exciting but solid enough and would surely get a tune out of this squad. He’ll definitely come if asked.

27-08-2023, 04:51 PM
Whoever next manager is he will get my backing as a Hibs supporter, as long as he can get some decent results for us.
No really kean on McInnes.

27-08-2023, 05:10 PM

Excellent post. Struggling to see why he'd move.

27-08-2023, 05:13 PM
Aberdeen out scored the rest of the league (apart from Celtic/Sevco) those seasons so that is just not true.

Precisely. Any time McInnes’ name is mentioned there will be several posters who just lazily perpetuate myths about him, which are easily disproved with only a few minutes of research.

Besides, even if the quoted poster was being truthful when they claimed that Aberdeen always won 1-0, one nil wins aren’t necessarily boring. Just like we have learned in the last two home games that 3-2 games aren’t always thrillers, and are often both boring and depressing.

27-08-2023, 05:18 PM
I might be confusing him with somebody else but I recall him saying that he would never manage Hibs.

That’s was Stuart McCall according to one of our previous managers. For some reason he thought it was quite a toxic environment to work in - can’t think why.

27-08-2023, 05:25 PM
McInnes is a manger that you give time. He's got a track record of showing improvement then maintenance. His time at Aberdeen didn't end well but for much of his 7 years there they were consistently where we claim to want to be. Top 4, scoring 60+ goals, winning 20+ games, in semi finals and finals......

I know he isn't going to be everyone's cup of tea but if we want a manager with extensive knowledge of the game here he in a league of his own; streets ahead of Robinson (who I like).

I don't think he'd come but I'd like us to ask the question. I'm not sure he's the type that the current decision makers at Hibs will go for though, my gut instinct is it will be another manager from the Johnson mould.

The Hibee Harp
27-08-2023, 05:27 PM
I’d love us to go get McInnes. Proven at this level with a number of clubs, he would sort out our defence and doesn’t seem to take any nonsense. Add to that players appear to love playing for him.

badabing67
27-08-2023, 05:30 PM

I wish for Lenny

27-08-2023, 05:32 PM

Hibs are a massive attraction.

raeburnhibs
27-08-2023, 05:36 PM
The Jambos loved Johnson, because he was so flakey and we were so inconsistent, they wouldn't like McInnes to say yes, precisely because he is not a typical Hibs manager. He would get us organised, more difficult to beat, more consistent, punch our weight

big gogs
27-08-2023, 05:37 PM
Wants to bring in uncle Buck as his assistant.
He would be good company on a stag night.I was offered eight legs of venison for £40,was that two deer.

27-08-2023, 05:37 PM
Precisely. Any time McInnes’ name is mentioned there will be several posters who just lazily perpetuate myths about him, which are easily disproved with only a few minutes of research.

Can we not rely on what we saw with our own eyes?

They were horrendous at times.

I've also said before that there is no way any Hibs side gets away with what Aberdeen did under DM. Stevie May's kung fu kick being the most memorable but not the most annoying. That would be getting away 6 or 8 fouls and never getting booked.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

27-08-2023, 05:43 PM

I've also said before that there is no way any Hibs side gets away with what Aberdeen did under DM. Stevie May's kung fu kick being the most memorable but not the most annoying. That would be getting away 6 or 8 fouls and never getting booked.

I think it’s easy to dislike or put his teams down when they’re getting the better of you. Everyone hated Shinnie but you know for a fact if he was in a Hibs top they’d love him, same for most their players.

I hear a lot about us playing good football etc, there’s probably been about 4/5 years of my life where we’ve played genuinely good football. Vast majority of it had been garbage and far worse than anything Mcinnes has produced

27-08-2023, 05:43 PM

You mean in away performances at ER, when they went ahead and shut the game down and often came away with the points? I’d take a Hibs side doing that away from home, no bother at all.

Unless you watched Aberdeen every week at home, comments on his apparent style aren’t especially valid. Especially when it’s clear that in the vast majority of his time that they won loads of games and scored a lot of goals.

27-08-2023, 05:48 PM
we missed our chance to go for McInnes IMO. He's exactly what we need, but people have been too wedded to the notion that his football is eye bleeding. What he delivered at Aberdeen is the absolute best that can be achieved by any manager outside the OF in Scottish football. Minimum top 4 finishes, regular semi-finals and performances in europe that at the very least maintain dignity. No idea who else is out there that would be able to provide us with the same.

27-08-2023, 05:54 PM
Where do people get some of the stuff about McInnes from.

He didn't drive away fans at Aberdeen and see dwindling crowds. In the 3 seasons before he arrived Aberdeen's average attendance was:

9615 (McInnes in charge for final 6 games)

In his full seasons there it was:

Now I'm no expert but that looks quite the opposite of driving fans away.

27-08-2023, 06:00 PM
Hibs are a massive attraction.

We're attractively unattractive.

Kettlewell, Robinson and McInnes are three the vast majority wouldn't have wanted, but over 2023 have got their teams on far lesser budgets doing various things that Hibs look a long way off doing. There's a lot to be said for working pragmatically and patiently with those clubs where it is really about organisation first and foremost, rather than pretty strict supporter demands for top three and entertainment.

Maybe I'm just scarred by Butcher, as McInnes would do me in the vein that he can get a defence and midfield do it's job, and that's pretty much what we're crying out for. For some reason though the greater resources you get at Hibs don't seem a guarantee that you get the same commendable set-up just with better players and therefore more achievements - it's a pretty hideous squad that's going to take time to sort out, which is something in greater supply at other SPFL jobs.

27-08-2023, 06:05 PM

He didn't drive away fans at Aberdeen and see dwindling crowds. In the 3 seasons before he arrived Aberdeen's average attendance was:

A lot of myths about McInnes on this board are generated purely from a place of Hun hatred. Nothing wrong with that, but let’s not cut off our (blue) nose to spite our face here.

badabing67
27-08-2023, 06:45 PM
The Jambos loved Johnson, because he was so flakey and we were so inconsistent, they wouldn't like McInnes to say yes, precisely because he is not a typical Hibs manager. He would get us organised, more difficult to beat, more consistent, punch our weight

I don't care what they think, I hated watching his football at ER and generally thought Lenny out played him. I just don't want McInnes, the sheep got rid for a reason. Personally I think he will end up at Hearts or head south if he can keep his little run going at Killie.

hibee316
27-08-2023, 06:54 PM
McInnessball is absolutely awful to watch.

Aberdeen fans hated him.

He got results (in a league without Hibs, Hearts and Rangers for a while mind!) but it was absolutely brutal.

I'm just reiterating what some are saying, but the fans would be on McInnes back within a couple of months.

27-08-2023, 06:59 PM

Aberdeen fans hated him.

He got results (in a league without Hibs, Hearts and Rangers for a while mind!) but it was absolutely brutal.

I'm just reiterating what some are saying, but the fans would be on McInnes back within a couple of months.Are you sure years 1-5 were "brutal"

I don't think that was the case at all

27-08-2023, 07:01 PM
Robinson just said at his press conference whilst laughing on Friday that he has no sympathy for Hibs - pretty much a direct quote. He’s not interested, thank god as well.

27-08-2023, 07:11 PM
In terms of SPL experience and track record, McIness is probably as good a Manager as we could get.

Just not sure he would be the right fit for us. I think he will feel that way as well. I don't think he'd be interested for that reason.

Paulie Walnuts
27-08-2023, 07:15 PM

Every negative perception of McInnes that I’ve read on here has been nothing short of lazy.

Every single piece of statistical evidence shows a manager who’s not the negative, boring, anti football manager some folk make him out to be.

He’s a succesful, attacking, high goal scoring manager.

It would even be fairly easily disproved by going back to 2017 or so and looking at the Aberdeen forums to find posts calling for his head, but it doesn’t really exist.

My cousin is an Aberdeen fan. He wanted him gone when he left. For every season previous thought, he thought he was the bees knees, much like the overwhelming majority of Aberdeen fans.

27-08-2023, 07:16 PM

Aberdeen fans hated him.

I'm just reiterating what some are saying, but the fans would be on McInnes back within a couple of months.
No they didn't. Most of my family are Aberdeen fans and were sorry to see him go.

hibee316
27-08-2023, 07:18 PM
Are you sure years 1-5 were "brutal"

I don't think that was the case at all

So, are you agreeing that the last few years of McInnes at Aberdeen, they were a brutal watch?

To be honest I can't remember what the footy was like for them early in his tenure.

27-08-2023, 07:20 PM
So, are you agreeing that the last few years of McInnes at Aberdeen, they were a brutal watch?

To be honest I can't remember what the footy was like for them early in his tenure.I think the season he was left they were poor yes

But that was year 7

What we would give for a manager to be very good for 5 Years

27-08-2023, 07:24 PM

Aberdeen fans hated him.

If we're regularly winning games, something this team actively tries to avoid, I couldn't care less what the football looks like.

27-08-2023, 07:24 PM
I actually think when Mcinnes left Aberdeen they were probably playing better football but not as effective as a team.

They had hedges and Wright playing narrow and behind the striker and played some brilliant stuff.

What also can’t be overlooked is his ability to get the player he wanted. Countless players have said when they speak to him they feel wanted and desperate to play for him.

Then there’s the quality of players he gets, even at killie I look at their team and think it’s very decent

hibee316
27-08-2023, 07:27 PM
No they didn't. Most of my family are Aberdeen fans and were sorry to see him go.

I can only go on what I saw on their fans forums for the last few years, and I would look in sporadically. It was pretty negative on the whole regards him.

Paulie Walnuts
27-08-2023, 07:28 PM
I can only go on what I saw on their fans forums for the last few years, and I would look in sporadically. It was pretty negative on the whole regards him.

I’d be interested to see some links to that pre summer 2020.

27-08-2023, 07:33 PM
I actually think when Mcinnes left Aberdeen they were probably playing better football but not as effective as a team.

They had hedges and Wright playing narrow and behind the striker and played some brilliant stuff.

What also can’t be overlooked is his ability to get the player he wanted. Countless players have said when they speak to him they feel wanted and desperate to play for him.

Then there’s the quality of players he gets, even at killie I look at their team and think it’s very decent

Hedges goal today for Blackburn v Watford was lovely

hibee316
27-08-2023, 07:34 PM
I’d be interested to see some links to that pre summer 2020.

Can't say I would find it that interesting, but let us know how you get on looking for them.

USA_Hibee
27-08-2023, 07:36 PM
I think we need to get a manager who could come in and provide stability ASAP. On top of this it's essential we get a manager who can stay for a few years. I think McInnes could do this.

However, I'll support whoever we go for.

27-08-2023, 07:44 PM
Like others, I wouldn’t be surprised if he turned us down, he did knock back Rangers after all.

However, if there is interest from his side, it makes a hell of a lot of sense right now.

I think he'd be guaranteed to knock us back. It would be a huge surprise to me if he left Killie at this stage to come here. Not to say he absolutely won't, but it would have to be some offer from Hibs to tempt him. I can't see it happening.

Rumble de Thump
27-08-2023, 07:46 PM
He did quite well in the league when Sevco, Hibs and Hearts were a mess, and not in the league for a few years. His Aberdeen side were, to put it politely, overly physical, with little emphasis on actually playing football. Everyone seemed to be able to acknowledge that at the time, having watched Aberdeen play.

h1bs4life
27-08-2023, 07:48 PM
Every negative perception of McInnes that I’ve read on here has been nothing short of lazy.

Every single piece of statistical evidence shows a manager who’s not the negative, boring, anti football manager some folk make him out to be.

He’s a succesful, attacking, high goal scoring manager.

It would even be fairly easily disproved by going back to 2017 or so and looking at the Aberdeen forums to find posts calling for his head, but it doesn’t really exist.

My cousin is an Aberdeen fan. He wanted him gone when he left. For every season previous thought, he thought he was the bees knees, much like the overwhelming majority of Aberdeen fans.

I would say most Hibs fans perception of McInnes’s style of football is based on watching his teams come to Easter Road battle like hell with players like Shinnie in the refs face moaning , we would be on top but they would score shut up shop and disappear back up north with 3 points in the bag.
For a home fan not good to watch you were aware if they scored game over , for an away fan professional away performance.
Home game wise his team scored goals won games crowds seemed to go up season on season
until towards the end of his tenure when he was probably past his self life and he got the boot.
We should certainly be asking him if he is interested.

Skol
27-08-2023, 07:48 PM
Mcinnes would divide the support and have people calling for his head after every defeat.

27-08-2023, 08:19 PM
Mcinnes would divide the support and have people calling for his head after every defeat.Welcome to Hibs.net

[emoji23][emoji6]

27-08-2023, 08:28 PM
He did quite well in the league when Sevco, Hibs and Hearts were a mess, and not in the league for a few years. His Aberdeen side were, to put it politely, overly physical, with little emphasis on actually playing football. Everyone seemed to be able to acknowledge that at the time, having watched Aberdeen play.

He finished 2nd with Hearts and Rangers in the league and 2nd again with those 2 and us in the league. It was more than quite well when we weren't in the league. It was consistently top 4 for 7 years with 4 2nd place finishes. 2 I think weren't totally unexpected but still the best anyone out with Celtic could achieve, another 2 that were far from guaranteed. Worth remembering that the season we all wax lyrical about under Lennon saw Aberdeen finish with 6 more points, 4 more wins and a goal difference that was 3 better.

Trinity Hibee
27-08-2023, 08:31 PM
He finished 2nd with Hearts and Rangers in the league and 2nd again with those 2 and us in the league. It was more than quite well when we weren't in the league. It was consistently top 4 for 7 years with 4 2nd place finishes. 2 I think weren't totally unexpected but still the best anyone out with Celtic could achieve, another 2 that were far from guaranteed. Worth remembering that the season we all wax lyrical about under Lennon saw Aberdeen finish with 6 more points, 4 more wins and a goal difference that was 3 better.

Add in that if it was us in the SPL without Aberdeen, hearts and rangers does anyone seriously think we’d have got 2nd 4 years in a row? Not a chance in hell

27-08-2023, 08:34 PM

Prior to his last season, in which Aberdeen still finished fourth, Derek stabilised a club that has a bigger budget than ours but had finished in the following positions before he arrived: 9;9;8.

In his first full season they finished 3rd and won the league cup, scoring more goals than 8 other teams in the division. He followed that up with:

2nd (though there were no Hibs, Hearts or Rangers in the division) - 57 goals scored, 3rd on goals scored behind Celtic and DU
2nd (no Hibs or Rangers) - 62 goals scored, 2nd to Celtic.
2nd (no Hibs) - 74 scored, 2nd to Celtic
2nd - 56 goals scored, 4th behind Celtic, Rangers and Hibs
4th - 57 goals scored, 3rd behind Celtic and Rangers
4th - when he was sacked
That is a phenomenal record of consistency which we could benefit from immensely.

27-08-2023, 08:38 PM
Mcinnes would divide the support and have people calling for his head after every defeat.

We could appoint Pep and that would be the case. Might take two weeks longer than usual but it would still happen.

27-08-2023, 08:43 PM

We’re all behind the bluenose **** c*** 😀

27-08-2023, 08:50 PM
DM was my choice last time round and is the only one from the usual names that I would consider again.

His track record of consistency with Aberdeen was impressive. I'd have confidence he would make us tougher to beat - the number of times he came and done a job on us at ER during that time. You often feel too often over the years that so called lesser teams, physical and well organised know how to beat us. These are the games that the third place side win consistently. We've lost three already.

I think he does a good interview too. I feel like we would have an idea of what he is trying to do and get behind it.

Trinity Hibee
27-08-2023, 08:52 PM
Prior to his last season, in which Aberdeen still finished fourth, Derek stabilised a club that has a bigger budget than ours but had finished in the following positions before he arrived: 9;9;8.

In his first full season they finished 3rd and won the league cup, scoring more goals than 8 other teams in the division. He followed that up with:

2nd (though there were no Hibs, Hearts or Rangers in the division) - 57 goals scored, 3rd on goals scored behind Celtic and DU
4th - when he was sacked
That is a phenomenal record of consistency which we could benefit from immensely.

That is a pretty impressive list of finishes

27-08-2023, 08:58 PM
I hate the “x team finished X but X weren’t in the league at that time” chat.

We weren’t in the league because we were relegated, we were the worst team.

To suggest or imply us being in the league would have caused any difference to what Mcinnes or any other team achieved is wrong imo.

Daily Hibs
27-08-2023, 09:01 PM

4th - when he was sacked

That's an incredible record. Hibs have got to appoint him!

27-08-2023, 09:04 PM
DM was my choice last time round and is the only one from the usual names that I would consider again.

His track record of consistency with Aberdeen was impressive. I'd have confidence he would make us tougher to beat - the number of times he came and done a job on us at ER during that time. You often feel too often over the years that so called lesser teams, physical and well organised know how to beat us. These are the games that the third place side win consistently. We've lost three already.

I think he does a good interview too. I feel like we would have an idea of what he is trying to do and get behind it.

He’s definitely a Sportsound darling. We might get some good publicity if he’s appointed.

27-08-2023, 09:04 PM

4th - when he was sacked

Brilliant stats. Love an informative post!

Thank you

Definatley want mcinnes. Any doubters, what are you after, more risk?

27-08-2023, 09:06 PM

If that’s what he wants then fair enough. Top clubs are structured specifically to avoid that amount of control in one man’s hands. He wouldn’t get it at us or even hearts for that matter. He’ll be stuck at Killie until he retires then, or booted after 10 years of only being able to get them 4/5th every year.

27-08-2023, 09:07 PM

Its says more about us than him though.

There's a current trend amongst our wildly critical fans to tell us that the one's who "accept mediocrity" are "damaging the club". I think it might be more the ones who want to hound managers out of jobs every time they lose a couple that can sometime be the problem. The Hibs manager just seems under unbearable pressure from day 1 -hard to imagine that's ideal.

27-08-2023, 09:18 PM
I'd absolutely take McInnes but I agree with those who think he'd knock us back.

I just don't see him leaving Kili right now to come to us, particularly given our apparent addiction to sacking managers these days. But also because of the timing of the sacking, we're days away from the window closing so whoever comes in will not have a transfer window. Not a great time to hire a new manager.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

badabing67
27-08-2023, 09:24 PM
If we're regularly winning games, something this team actively tries to avoid, I couldn't care less what the football looks like.

We were winning regularly and finished 3rd when Jack Ross was here. But he has gone because his brand of football was to boring. Personally I would rather watch a Jack Ross side than a McInnes side. So you might not care less what the football looks like, but there will be plenty on here do.

Trinity Hibee
27-08-2023, 09:25 PM
We were winning regularly and finished 3rd when Jack Ross was here. But he has gone because his brand of football was to boring. Personally I would rather watch a Jack Ross side than a McInnes side. So you might not care less what the football looks like, but there will be plenty on here do.

Jack Ross was sacked because he was on a terrible run

cameronw-hfc
27-08-2023, 10:04 PM
I wouldn't hate Mcinnes getting it, but I do realise his brand of football(for the most part) would turn people off a lot faster than other managers.

For that reason I'm not sure it would work here

27-08-2023, 10:14 PM
Where are people getting the idea that any success he had at Aberdeen was only down to boring 1-0 wins?
McInnes' brand of football included games like these:

JammyDoidger
27-08-2023, 10:17 PM
Mciness would make sure players were running through brick walls, we would be no pushovers under him, and I genuinely believe most fans would back that, its not like he plays hoofball all the time, it's a myth his teams don't play, his Aberdeen sides had some right good players, he will have us scoring goals, but games like Tynie, Aberdeen away we will be hard to beat and I'd be more than happy with that, Lennon done it at Tynie set up basically not to lose and managed to come away with a 0-0 I like that, a good manager and team should be able to play different ways.

27-08-2023, 10:18 PM
Are Killie not a decent watch this season ? The little I’ve seen I thought they were.

Daily Hibs
27-08-2023, 10:18 PM
Where are people getting the idea that any success he had at Aberdeen was only down to boring 1-0 wins?

Some folk are ridiculous taking that point of view.

With Aberdeen he finished in the top 4 in 7 straight seasons, finishing 2nd 4 times.

That is absolutely the type of football I want at Hibs.

First job though - get the dead wood out!

27-08-2023, 10:19 PM
Are Killie not a decent watch this season ? The little I’ve seen I thought they were.

Agree, they've looked really good so far this season.

27-08-2023, 10:21 PM
Would happily take him and would weaken Kilmarnock too.

It makes sense - he was the right choice last time- surely this time Hibs don’t go with another high risk candidate ?

27-08-2023, 10:23 PM
He could prioritise the signing of Magennis since he’s proven fit now

The goal scoring midfielder we’ve missed since Pat mcginlay

😀

27-08-2023, 10:36 PM
I hated watching us against his Aberdeen, but maybe he was just doing what he needed to do to neutralise us. It certainly worked.

Alex Miller, once we weren't a basket case, did the same thing. Boring draw one week, 2+ the next when we could go for it

Paulie Walnuts
27-08-2023, 10:40 PM

Yup. They scored a barrel load of goals.

Paulie Walnuts
27-08-2023, 10:42 PM
Can't say I would find it that interesting, but let us know how you get on looking for them.

It would be easier to just say you can’t provide them because they don’t exist tbh.

27-08-2023, 10:45 PM

To suggest or imply us being in the league would have caused any difference to what Mcinnes or any other team achieved is wrong imo.

Exactly. We couldn’t get above Falkirk but somehow we would have been above Aberdeen.[emoji23]

GreenGray
27-08-2023, 10:50 PM
It’s a quite frustrating thought that he’s probably the perfect man for the job but it wouldn’t work here because of this false pre conceived narrative that hibs fans have.

Admittedly I thought the same when he was linked before but the stats don’t lie.

cubehindthegoal
27-08-2023, 10:52 PM

I think there are a few who absolutely would. What manager wouldn’t want to move to a club with a bigger fan base and potential, for a likely larger salary, and would back himself to turn things around … if they wouldn’t believe in themselves, then wouldn’t want them here anyway.

In saying that, I’m not sure there are any I would particularly want at Hibs.

Gordy M
27-08-2023, 10:53 PM
There was a thread on the AFC forum from 2015 wanting McInnes sacked. Havent read it all, it hundreds of pages, but it seems we have a fonder memory of his time there than the Aberdeen fans do.

Rumble de Thump
27-08-2023, 10:59 PM

Having to compete against the wealthiest teams in the country should obviously make a difference. That he wasn't having to do that for some seasons made his job easier. Finishing second in the top flight was as easy as it is likely to ever be for Aberdeen. The league was particularly weak.

cubehindthegoal
27-08-2023, 11:03 PM
I hated watching us against his Aberdeen, but maybe he was just doing what he needed to do to neutralise us. It certainly worked.

Alex Miller, once we weren't a basket case, did the same thing. Boring draw one week, 2+ the next when we could go for it

Hibs were a dire watch under Miller, I remember the fans time and time again wishing him gone, and wanting someone come in and bring an attractive type of play … and … ehm … Jim Duffy anyone 🙄😆

27-08-2023, 11:08 PM
There was a thread on the AFC forum from 2015 wanting McInnes sacked. Havent read it all, it hundreds of pages, but it seems we have a fonder memory of his time there than the Aberdeen fans do.

I'm no thumping a tub for the boy, but that lot still think they are just a good manager away from repeating the early 80s. Even more deluded than our poor cohab EH11 unfortunates.

davhibby
27-08-2023, 11:10 PM
He had the second best team in the country for years yet managed 1 trophy. The football would be awful and he’d be hounded out after playing about 10 defenders against one of the old firm

27-08-2023, 11:11 PM
He had the second best team in the country for years yet managed 1 trophy. The football would be awful and he’d be hounded out after playing about 10 defenders against one of the old firm

And that's very fair, too.

28-08-2023, 12:42 AM

In the four seasons before McInnes arrived, Aberdeen had finished 9th three seasons running, and then 8th. In his first season, they finished 3rd, two points off second and ten clear of 4th. They also won their first trophy in 19 years.

In 2014-15 they finished 2nd, ten clear of third place. And Aberdeen fans wanted him sacked? If that thread does indeed exist, all it would prove is that there are some spectacularly stupid Aberdeen fans.

He continued to deliver in the league pretty much every year after that, and were still well clear in 4th spot the season he was sacked.

When those Aberdeen fans finally got their wish, they finished 10th the season immediately after he left, and sacked the two managers appointed after him.

tonyrougier123
28-08-2023, 01:32 AM

Probably a fair portion just don’t like his rangers past and couldn’t take to that.

He put some strong hibs teams to the sword in his time as sheep gaffer.

tonyrougier123
28-08-2023, 01:33 AM

I thought they were terrific against rangers,I also thought looking in he used the summer transfer window well.

28-08-2023, 04:52 AM

He finished 2nd with all 3 in the league.

Trinity Hibee
28-08-2023, 06:05 AM
Say what you like about mcinnes but the league finishes and number of goals his team scored are the only stats that really count. Style of football is subjective. I’d take efficient football getting wins all day long.

It’s very easy to jump on the “the football was dire” train but that’s an easy cop out and in no way paints the whole picture. He likes to play with wingers, combative midfield, organised defence.

DM would give us stability and I truly believe he would get a lot more out of the players we have.

Skol
28-08-2023, 06:10 AM
I didn’t enjoy watching Aberdeen under mcinnes at Easter road. I thought the tactics employed were very negative. He also seemed to some significant leeway applied from referees and that is leeway I don’t think would be given to hibs.

Granted I didn’t see much of Aberdeen outwith that but I read enough about unhappy Aberdeen fans to be wary that he isn’t the messiah he is believed to be.

If it’s mcinnes I will get behind him though as I did with Ross Maloney and Johnson and all the previous managers going back to turnbull who was in charge when I started going.

28-08-2023, 06:15 AM
Can't believe I'm saying this after being against him so much in the past but I'd welcome him with open arms compared to some of the complete nutters we're being linked with who are obviously pals of McDermott.

Crunchie
28-08-2023, 06:16 AM
The time to get McInnes was when he was available twiddling his thumbs. Instead we made the absolutely ridiculous Maloney appointment. We've no chance of getting him now. And it would cost a fortune in compo to Killie.

28-08-2023, 06:30 AM
McInnes signed a new 3.5 year deal at Killie in Sep 22 which will keep him at Rugby park until 2026. So unless he has a rediculous release clause or he resigns Hibs I'd imagine would have to stump up a fair amount of cash. That's even if Killie give him permission to talk to Hibs if we are interested. I'm thinking it may not be McInnes.

Trinity Hibee
28-08-2023, 06:31 AM
McInnes signed a new 3.5 year deal at Killie in Sep 22 which will keep him at Rugby park until 2026. So unless he has a rediculous release clause or he resigns Hibs I'd imagine would have to stump up a fair amount of cash. That's even if Killie give him permission to talk to Hibs if we are interested. I'm thinking it may not be McInnes.

We either pay money to get him or we’ll pay more money releasing our next manager when it doesn’t work out again

KanyeWestLower
28-08-2023, 06:34 AM
McInnes and Robinson would secure us mediocrity. Wouldn’t be able to handle it here. Simple as.Time to wake up. We are bottom of the league.

7Hero
28-08-2023, 06:52 AM
I'd welcome him with open arms compared to some of the complete nutters we're being linked with who are obviously pals of McDermott.

My fear also..

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 07:03 AM
Absolutely not.

This love in with McInnes, Lennon, Robinson is ****in dreadful. Deary me.

KanyeWestLower
28-08-2023, 07:11 AM
In the past I've been anti McInnes but it's time now. Can't afford to get this appointment wrong.

Everyone who is saying that his football is dull etc what has Johnson's stuff been like?

28-08-2023, 08:28 AM
Absolutely not.

So what's your better suggestion then?

28-08-2023, 08:29 AM
McInnes was given huge amounts of money to build a new squad at Dons post-secco meltdown, often outbidding Hibs and Hearts for key targets. For a few season they were a very decent outfit that proved hard to beat but also had a winning mentality (if you ignore silverware). They just went stale. Few managers can survive longer than 4 or 5 season with any club.

He'd be our modern day Bobby Williamson :greengrin

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 08:46 AM
So what's your better suggestion then?

I'd upset the National team and get Steve Clarke. Takes no **** and can set a team up properly.

28-08-2023, 08:49 AM
I'd upset the National team and get Steve Clarke. Takes no **** and can set a team up properly.

You seriously think Clarke leaves that job for Hibs?

Hedlund12
28-08-2023, 08:50 AM
Absolutely not.

I'm with you WSW... and before anyone asks, I have no alternatives to throw in the hat.

There are elements of managers I admire, if we could take the best bits from them all and mash up a new manager - I'd be a happy camper!

I'm also not buying this "has to be someone who knows the Scottish game!" IMO that knowledge can come from resources within the club... we are due a good manager who will be a great fit for our club... hopefully the powers that be will cast the net far and wide and we'll hit gold!! 💚🤞

(We do run a risk of not attracting potentials based on the managerial revolving door!!)

28-08-2023, 08:50 AM

At least come up with something realistic:hilarious Deary, deary me

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 08:52 AM

Who knows. Certainly better than dredging up the same old crap that appear every time we punt a manager

heid the baw
28-08-2023, 08:55 AM
I wanted McInnes when Ross was sacked and he was sitting on his hoop doing nothing.
By the time of Maloney's sacking he had got Killie promoted but very much still available. In the time that Johnson lasted, he has consolidated Killie in the.league and made them competitive and hard to beat. All with a fraction of the budget.
It's about organisation, cutting out the stupid errors and communicating with and managing the squad.
Malky McKay is unpopular but offers the same. He understands the Scottish game
Lennon would be my preferred option currently because he has a point to prove.

About as realistic as thinking Dyche would come. Or Pep for that matter. Just not happening.

WestStandWillie
At least come up with something realistic:hilarious Deary, deary me

You asked for a suggestion, i've given you one that isn't completely out the question. Better than harping on about Neil ****in Lennon every time we enter our biannual transitional period.

28-08-2023, 08:57 AM
We're attractively unattractive.

Kettlewell, Robinson and McInnes are three the vast majority wouldn't have wanted, but over 2023 have got their teams on far lesser budgets doing various things that Hibs look a long way off doing. There's a lot to be said for working pragmatically and patiently with those clubs where it is really about organisation first and foremost, rather than pretty strict supporter demands for top three and entertainment.

Maybe I'm just scarred by Butcher, as McInnes would do me in the vein that he can get a defence and midfield do it's job, and that's pretty much what we're crying out for. For some reason though the greater resources you get at Hibs don't seem a guarantee that you get the same commendable set-up just with better players and therefore more achievements - it's a pretty hideous squad that's going to take time to sort out, which is something in greater supply at other SPFL jobs.

I am too, I've never detested a manager in the way I have Terry Butcher.

When all is said and done I think we had a record of making some pretty **** signings back in those days. Ryan McGivern still gives me the heebie-jeebies.

Our squad is in much better shape now than it was then and it just wants someone wo knows what they're doing to steady the ship and get some points on the board.

28-08-2023, 08:58 AM

:faf::faf::faf:

28-08-2023, 08:59 AM
You asked for a suggestion, i've given you one that isn't completely out the question. Better than harping on about Neil ****in Lennon every time we enter our biannual transitional period.

It is. It really is.

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 09:02 AM
It is. It really is.

28-08-2023, 09:03 AM

If you don’t think Steve Clarke is out the question then maybe the question isn’t for you

28-08-2023, 09:11 AM

People are talking about Lennon, McInnes and Robinson as they are realistic options. Thats why people are "harping" on about them. You are making out they are daft suggestions.

But then you suggested Clarke, whose stock has never been higher and is on the brink of taking Scotland to the Euros. I mean come on pal.

28-08-2023, 09:12 AM

Personally I'd prefer Klopp.

28-08-2023, 09:14 AM

Could he realistically do both?

Of course it's out of the question. He's going to the Euros next summer with Scotland, you think there's any chance at all he'd give that up to manage Hibs side out of Europe and currently bottom of the league?

Madness.

WestStandWillie
People are talking about Lennon, McInnes and Robinson as they are realistic options. Thats why people are "harping" on about them. You are making out they are daft suggestions.

But then you suggested Clarke, whose stock has never been higher and is on the brink of taking Scotland to the Euros. I mean come on pal.

Never thought we'd splash 700K on a striker so what's to stop us approaching him? He could tell us to foxtrot oscar but where's the harm in asking?

28-08-2023, 09:17 AM
Never thought we'd splash 700K on a striker so what's to stop us approaching him? He could tell us to foxtrot oscar but where's the harm in asking?

We've paid £700k for a striker because we are hoping to recoup 4 or 5 times that on future transfer fee, speculate to accumulate. You cannot do that with a manager, you don't sell them.

Totally different situations.

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 09:19 AM
We've paid £700k for a striker because we are hoping to recoup 4 or 5 times that on future transfer fee, speculate to accumulate. You cannot do that with a manager, you don't sell them.

Totally different situations.

Okay boss, wind yer neck in :aok:

28-08-2023, 09:20 AM
Okay boss, wind yer neck in :aok:

If you're going to come up with silly statements and double down on them, don't be offended when people pull you up on it.

Steve Clarke FFS 🤣

28-08-2023, 09:23 AM

Hahaha not in 1 million millenia is Clarke leaving Scotland for Hibs.

Who's his assistant going to be? Pep Guardiola?

Rumble de Thump
28-08-2023, 09:24 AM
I hope the Hibs board members aren't sitting about thinking they better not approach anyone decent because they might say no.

28-08-2023, 09:28 AM
I hope the Hibs board members aren't sitting about thinking they better not approach anyone decent because they might say no.

I also hope they don't waste too much time chasing candidates who would never, ever in a million years have an interest in taking the job meaning that it takes longer than necessary to get the next person in.

Silky
28-08-2023, 09:31 AM
Could he realistically do both?

Possibly, if he wanted to. I think I read somewhere though that he enjoys the National manager role and the fact that he's not in the high pressure, day to day environment. I also think he is very family orientated and lives in England, so not sure he would give that up.

Rumble de Thump
28-08-2023, 09:33 AM
I also hope they don't waste too much time chasing candidates who would never, ever in a million years have an interest in taking the job meaning that it takes longer than necessary to get the next person in.

I hope we won't rule out anyone by presuming they won't be interested rather than simply asking them.

timewilltell
28-08-2023, 09:35 AM
Absolutely not.

Who would be your choice?

28-08-2023, 09:35 AM
I hope we won't rule out anyone by presuming they won't be interested rather than simply asking them.

I'd like to see us atleast sound out big Ange.

He might want to get back up the road to Scotland, we won't know unless we atleast ask the question.

Be disappointed if we don't tbh.

timewilltell
28-08-2023, 09:36 AM

🙄🙄🙄🙄🙄

28-08-2023, 09:41 AM
McInnes is the total opposite of how I want us to play football. Negative dull football that despite relative success had large numbers of sheep wanting him out for years and a cheating, diving, time-wasting culture that he set. People will argue they were successful but he's not for me.

I dont believe in going back so wouldn't want Lennon or Stubbs and none of those with Hibs connections are tried or tested enough for me. Robinsons my choice out of the potential available candidates. Tried and tested SPFL manager who did well with well and with St Mirren. Some people will have issues with his off-field behaviour and alleged football allegiances but others mentioned like Martindale and McKay also have skeletons in their closets.

28-08-2023, 09:49 AM
We’re all behind the bluenose **** c*** 😀

To the tune of Yellow Submarine?!

28-08-2023, 10:11 AM

Yeah but there's a limit.

Imagine it got in to the press that Hibs had approached Clarke, we would be a laughing stock.

28-08-2023, 10:17 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/derek-mcinnes-would-take-hibs-27606716
Auld Willie miller saying mcinnes has already managed a bigger club in Aberdeen

How this dinosaur is still on the radio sums up the bbc Scotland football

Miserable

Trinity Hibee
28-08-2023, 10:18 AM
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/derek-mcinnes-would-take-hibs-27606716

Miserable

He was half joking as he said it. He was pretty balanced about it all when I was listening yesterday.

28-08-2023, 10:21 AM
He was half joking as he said it. He was pretty balanced about it all when I was listening yesterday.

Fair play obviously I’ve seen the written article of the convo

Still think he’s past it though.

Rumble de Thump
28-08-2023, 10:22 AM
Yeah but there's a limit.

Imagine it got in to the press that Hibs had approached Clarke, we would be a laughing stock.

If we try to get the best head coach we possibly can then we will be far from a laughing stock. If we make contact with some people and they don't fancy the job then so be it. If the press find out we're not even bothering to do that then we would be in the realms of laughing stock.

Donegal Hibby
28-08-2023, 10:24 AM
McInnes is the total opposite of how I want us to play football. Negative dull football that despite relative success had large numbers of sheep wanting him out for years and a cheating, diving, time-wasting culture that he set. People will argue they were successful but he's not for me.

I dont believe in going back so wouldn't want Lennon or Stubbs and none of those with Hibs connections are tried or tested enough for me. Robinsons my choice out of the potential available candidates. Tried and tested SPFL manager who did well with well and with St Mirren. Some people will have issues with his off-field behaviour and alleged football allegiances but others mentioned like Martindale and McKay also have skeletons in their closets.

I have much the same views about McInnes style of football . Always found watching Aberdeen bored me to death under McInnes. Think a good number of fans would turn on him after awhile too . Though if he became Hibs manager I'd certainly support him even though I think the football would be *****.

Id be totally against Mackay , Martindale and Robinson getting it ! Thinking about any of them being the next Hibs Manager makes me feel abit sick tbh .I'd probably be wanting them sacked early doors in truth !

Stokesy's on fire
28-08-2023, 10:59 AM

Miserable

Typical Aberdeen attitude they do suffer from small club syndrome.

28-08-2023, 01:32 PM
Hibs would be the biggest club McInnes has managed in Scotland if he were to take it.

He wouldn't impress the "Hibs way" purists. We'd be more similar to Jack Ross's Hibs than Tony Mowbray's. As long as it got results i wouldn't care.

28-08-2023, 02:01 PM
Hibs would be the biggest club McInnes has managed in Scotland if he were to take it.

He wouldn't impress the "Hibs way" purists. We'd be more similar to Jack Ross's Hibs than Tony Mowbray's. As long as it got results i wouldn't care.

I suspect I’m one of the “Hibs way purists”, though as long as it’s a broad brush and it encompasses all kinds of preferred styles and not just the “Brazil 1970” cliche that doesn’t actually reflect anyone in reality, then I’m fine being classed a Hibs purist.

I’d rather go watch a flawed Mowbray team than a clinical and more consistent Ross team all things being equal. I enjoy watching more of an energetic pressing team (which, granted, is out of fashion) where midfielders drive forward with the ball and players run ahead of the ball. Generally I’d sacrifice a league place or two for that as, for example I look back on Lennon’s 4th a lot more fondly than Ross’ 3rd.

I am happy for someone like McInnes to come in, steady the ship, sign players to make the defence and midfield more functional and more than the sum of its parts. As well as signing a Stubbs like core of a squad that doesn’t need rebuilt each summer. That might be at the expense of the kind of football I would like to see but pragmatically accept it’s what’s needed in the short to mid term. Then in 3 or 4 years I might start to look for a change in style with the foundations already there. McInnes’ Aberdeen of his first 5 years or so would be perfect. His Aberdeen of his last couple of seasons, a means to an end.

28-08-2023, 02:03 PM

Miserable

I don’t mind Willie Miller. I don’t mind pundits having a declared favourite team. The issue is that Hibs don’t really have anyone in a high profile media role fighting our corner.

jakedance
28-08-2023, 02:07 PM
I suspect I’m one of the “Hibs way purists”, though as long as it’s a broad brush and it encompasses all kinds of preferred styles and not just the “Brazil 1970” cliche that doesn’t actually reflect anyone in reality, then I’m fine being classed a Hibs purist.

I’d rather go watch a flawed Mowbray team than a clinical and more consistent Ross team all things being equal. I enjoy watching more of an energetic pressing team (which, granted, is out of fashion) where midfielders drive forward with the ball and players run ahead of the ball. Generally I’d sacrifice a league place or two for that as, for example I look back on Lennon’s 4th a lot more fondly than Ross’ 3rd.

I am happy for someone like McInnes to come in, steady the ship, sign players to make the defence and midfield more functional and more than the sum of its parts. As well as signing a Stubbs like core of a squad that doesn’t need rebuilt each summer. That might be at the expense of the kind of football I would like to see but pragmatically accept it’s what’s needed in the short to mid term. Then in 3 or 4 years I might start to look for a change in style with the foundations already there. McInnes’ Aberdeen of his first 5 years or so would be perfect. His Aberdeen of his last couple of seasons, a means to an end.

This is where I’m at too. Every team must look forward to playing us just now.

28-08-2023, 02:13 PM
If we try to get the best head coach we possibly can then we will be far from a laughing stock. If we make contact with some people and they don't fancy the job then so be it. If the press find out we're not even bothering to do that then we would be in the realms of laughing stock.

Apparently Pep fancies the gig, but Lee Johnson isn’t giving anyone at Hibs his phone number.

28-08-2023, 02:14 PM

Miserable

Taken out of context. He was saying we were a huge club and mcinnees would take the job.

Johnny Clash
28-08-2023, 02:17 PM
I don’t mind Willie Miller. I don’t mind pundits having a declared favourite team. The issue is that Hibs don’t really have anyone in a high profile media role fighting our corner.

Pete Nevin always impresses me. I’m not saying he should be our next manager but I think it would be great if he had some formal role in our club.

raeburnhibs
28-08-2023, 02:21 PM

Agree with your pragmatism. Above all else, I prefer to see Hibs win games, as many games as possible. I like a good goal as much as anyone but a sclaff after a rammy from a Miller bullet throw will do me

badabing67
28-08-2023, 02:23 PM

Yeah you could tell even on the radio it was tongue in check, he must of got some looks cause he did chuckle

28-08-2023, 02:25 PM
Pete Nevin always impresses me. I’m not saying he should be our next manager but I think it would be great if he had some formal role in our club.

I'd prefer we got his brother Pat.

hibee316
28-08-2023, 02:29 PM
It would be easier to just say you can’t provide them because they don’t exist tbh.

Okay.

I personally don't have the time to dig through forums from over 3 years ago, I'm just going on my memory that for a few years Aberdeen played rubbish football and that Aberdeen fans were not keen on it either.

Do you have links to Aberdeen fans singing up his praises from that time?

Really can't see it being mcinnes, when was the last time we went for a manager already in a job? Would like to see it but it will likely be someone unemployed I'd imagine

Paloschi
If you want it Hibs and if you want it Derek then please make it happen. It’s time.

28-08-2023, 02:33 PM
Really can't see it being mcinnes, when was the last time we went for a manager already in a job? Would like to see it but it will likely be someone unemployed I'd imagine

What decent managers are out there who have recently lost their job though? I'm sure there are plenty but can't think of any of the top of my head who have been unemployed for 6 months or so and that would be attractive to Hibs or we would be attractive to them?

Darren Moore is one but his Wednesday side weren't a good watch. Even then I'm not sure he'd fancy us.

28-08-2023, 02:35 PM
What decent managers are out there who have recently lost their job though? I'm sure there are plenty but can't think of any of the top of my head who have been unemployed for 6 months or so and that would be attractive to Hibs or we would be attractive to them?

Darren Moore is one but his Wednesday side weren't a good watch. Even then I'm not sure he'd fancy us.

There will be hundreds of managers out there, that's why we have a DOF, he will be dealing with that now

28-08-2023, 03:16 PM

Mowbray had the Golden Generation, Jack Ross had Jack ****. Cannot compare the two.

Given the mess we're in, think most Hibs fans would accept a period of stability where results become a bit more predictable. For month now, we had no idea what Hibs team would turn up. McInnes might produce football that is more dour than we'd want but if it was winning football, that would be a nice change :aok: At least for while.

subcom mixu
28-08-2023, 05:15 PM
Not hoping for much then😁

i'm inclining toward lenny today :cb

28-08-2023, 05:21 PM
I dont see McInnes or any other current spl manager leaving their current clubs for us at this moment. Esp robinson

28-08-2023, 05:23 PM
I dont see McInnes or any other current spl manager leaving their current clubs for us at this moment. Esp robinson

I couldn't disagree more.

28-08-2023, 05:24 PM

We are a huge attraction for prospective managers. They'd all be desperate to talk to us.

28-08-2023, 05:29 PM

Mowbray had the Golden Generation, Jack Ross had Jack ****. Cannot compare the two.

Given the mess we're in, think most Hibs fans would accept a period of stability where results become a bit more predictable. For month now, we had no idea what Hibs team would turn up. McInnes might produce football that is more dour than we'd want but if it was winning football, that would be a nice change :aok: At least for while.

It’s interesting. At the start of JR’s last season we looked much better and we’re scoring goals. But then Magennis got injured and we went on a bit of slide… except the league cup of course.

hhibs
28-08-2023, 05:30 PM

Could it be James McPake. Or Bradley over in Ireland

28-08-2023, 05:31 PM
We are a huge attraction for prospective managers. They'd all be desperate to talk to us.

If youre McInnes & you back yourself to bring organisation to the defence & midfield, the question becomes "do I fancy working with Hibs £2.5m forward line this year, or with the lads at Killie / Saints"

You're surely after a shot at working with a peak Martin Boyle & an ambitious Vente & Youan

Johnny Clash
28-08-2023, 06:19 PM
Ooops - damn typo!

Cabbage-Patch
28-08-2023, 07:18 PM

Really don't understand large sections of our support clamouring for "attractive football" we are not Real Madrid. We are, despite the delusions of grandeur of some supporters
A very average mid table team and have been for years sadly. I will happily settle for "ugly" football if we regularly finish third and get European group stage football
Which is what McInnes did at Aberdeen with a budget similar to what we have now. Stability is what we need not more experiments with English lower league managers and up and comers.