View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Villa
23-08-2023, 05:29 PM
New defence 100% required, but we’ve all knew that.
Another recruitment team failing
Can see this finishing with us losing double figures over the two legs.
1875M
Campbell is playing honking. Defence cannot defend crosses.
23-08-2023, 05:30 PM
“Johnson, what’s the score” being sung.”. Do Villa fans have reasonable beef with him?
How much room are they giving Digne.
Like a training match.
O well.
What Lewis done wrong so far this evening??
All 3 crosses and goals from a rookie RB side, I agree with you, this is all down to coaching and shape.
jamie_1875
What Lewis done wrong so far this evening??
Nothing in particular tonight but much as he is a club legend if we are going to compete at a higher level and push for 3rd every year we need better. We seem to fail to do that every year, hence we see what we see.
I am maybe being harsh as their opponents are world class players with World Cup winners and guys that played for Barcelona etc.
Christ this is bad
Complete and utter waste of time
This tie just gives Johnson more breathing room
Not when it ends up 8 or 9 nil on aggregate it won't.
The gulf in class makes me very sad.
23-08-2023, 05:31 PM
Utter shambles of a performance. We went out to try and get a respectable defeat and will get rightly pumped. I'm not a big critic of Johnson but he will lose me quickly with the defeatist approach
It could be worse than 8 or 9
ooft so nearly four
Aggregate? Could be that the night
The gulf in class makes me very sad.
Yep.
zero-seven
23-08-2023, 05:32 PM
All down the right, to the back stick, men against boys
stevenson and hanlon are finished , poor defending yet again, why is he continuing with poor performers?
New defence 100% required, but we’ve all knew that.
Another recruitment team failing
We have been saying this repeatedly for donkeys now, and f*** all done about it
Tie over
Tie was over as soon as the Villa team was announced unfortunately.
This could end in total embarrassment
LunasBoots
Training game
Nothing in particular tonight but much as he is a club legend if we are going to compete at a higher level and push for 3rd every year we need better. We seem to fail to do that every year, hence we see what we see.
I am maybe being harsh as their opponents are world class players with World Cup winners and guys that played for Barcelona etc.
I get that but he put in a superb challenge stopping a chance.
There are 11 players out there and all are culpable this evening.
Miller/Boyle giving Digne the freedom to cross without a challenge FFS
My worst fears realised. They're on such a different level
NC1875
We have been saying this repeatedly for donkeys now, and f*** all done about it
Don’t worry, Captain Paul will be here to lead us into season 2025
23-08-2023, 05:33 PM
🫣
HendoDelivered
23-08-2023, 05:34 PM
Anyone who expected any less than this was in coocoo land imo. But we are playing awful.
OtleyHibs
You can use your teammates ffs Elie
Mikey_1875
Wasn’t expecting much but FFS.
The Captain....
23-08-2023, 05:35 PM
There is obviously a massive gulf in class but the hugely frustrating thing is we've gifted them goals because we continually can't defend cross balls. We never and I mean never win the first ball and then defend the flick ons lazily by losing the runners. 'Kin infuriating week after week.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
Are some folk genuinely booing?
****ing hell we have some muppets in our support
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
“Johnson, what’s the score” being sung.”. Do Villa fans have reasonable beef with him?
Something about him gloating that Bristol City were challenging for top at Christmas. Villa then made the playoffs and Bristol City did their usual slump.
We never had a chance but it's infuriating to see us lose cheap goals again.
This team couldn't keep a clean sheet against Raith and lost 3 to St Mirren so none of this will be a surprise to anyone (except the manager)
supermcginn
A truly depressing thought but wouldn't surprise me. Tonight is another humiliation to add to a list of many including Hanlon.
pollution
Boooooooooo
Well, that was complete pain.
All down the right, to the back stick, men against boys
stevenson and hanlon are finished , poor defending yet again, why is he continuing with poor performers?
What about Fish, Miller, Boyle, Campbell, Newell and the rest. Miller has been woeful with 2 of the goals coming from crosses he stood and watched. You do realise Miller is RB
We understand we need replacements for players but you’ve targeted Lewis this evening for what specific reason. Because it’s Lewis.
sorrow sorrow
Defence and midfield are really poor but everyone of us have known that for 2 seasons but still not been addressed over past 4/5 transfer windows
There is obviously a massive gulf in class but the massively frustrating thing is we've gifted them goals because we continually can't defend cross balls. We never and I mean never win the first ball and then defend the flick ons lazily by losing the runners. 'Kin infuriating week after week.
Aye this is where I’m at
Wasn’t expecting anything but ffs the 3 goals we’ve least are the same goals we’ve lost all season so far.
leithsansiro
Need to bin the chat about how rubbish Hibs are in comparison to Villa here though. We’re not exactly comparing like for like are we? Obviously there’s weaknesses being exposed, but they have a fair smattering of genuinely top world class players.
This game, regardless of the outcome, isn’t a stick to beat anyone with. Villa would turn over any SPFL side, OF included.
Hanlon, muller, Stevenson, Fish and Campbell would have been as well staying at home. Johnson is a clown.
23-08-2023, 05:36 PM
I’m not really sure what anyone expected tbh.
Already is.
This will need to be a hell of a half time team talk Lee.
A welcome advert to all opponents - if you want to beat Hibs, just play it into our box. 50/50 you score.
Liam6270
Time for LJ to get the boot
sauzeelegod
Much better team than us, but the 3 goals we’ve lost have all been caused by pony defending.
Utterly predictable.
To now allow them free headers in our box and at least challenge them in the air?
23-08-2023, 05:37 PM
There is obviously a massive gulf in class but the hugely frustrating thing is we've gifted them goals because we continually can't defend cross balls. We never and I mean never win the first ball and then defend the flick ons lazily by losing the runners. 'Kin infuriating week after week.
We are playing narrow but allowing Digne all the time in the world to put a cross in, we know can't defend crossed and should be out there blocking the thing. We have got the set up wrong.
Still the second leg and the second half
🫠
They are miles better than us but we’ve gifted them goals, free headers and no pressure on the crosses. Poor
Hibs4185
I feel we’ve competed well now and again. Had a couple of half chances but the gulf in quality is there for all to see.
3 crosses, 3 goals.
Woeful defending.
No one in midfield able to show a bit of bravery and composure. Every ball is backwards.
If it wasn’t for Youan, who hardly gets pass marks, and Boyle, we’d be relegation fodder
What the actual **** was Johnson’s game plan here? Invite one of the best teams in England to play on to us in the last third all game? Absolute ****ing idiot. GTF asap.
Realistically, this game is the equivalent of Hearts v Brora except that Villa are doing what Hearts failed miserably to do.
We were always going to struggle tonight but the fact that it’s been stupid mistakes from us makes it harder to take.
We just can't defend crosses or corners.
Can we withdraw from this tie just now and reduce the embarassment
Berwickhibby
Poor poor defending…just about every cross that’s come in looks like Villa will score
Learning to deal with crosses would be a start. And I don't just mean this game - it's been a huge weakness for ages.
Don't worry the same team will play against Livingston on Saturday 🙄
They haven't had to do anything special to score, 3 balls into the box and goal, shocking defending
23-08-2023, 05:38 PM
Tie was over as soon as the Villa team was announced unfortunately.
Yes. But anyone that’s watched Match of the a Day more than once knows a centre half at right back means Digne bombing on and we do nothing about it…
Campbell was the wrong choice in a central two but would it really make any difference who we put in there from the options we have…
My worst fears realised. They're on such a different level
Yeah, but we are literally inviting them to do what they want.
Hibdan12
Do folk realise who we are playing [emoji23]
Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk
Hibs play Man City. They score one of the best team goals ever seen in football. The goal is preserved in FIFA headquarters as an example of a complete footballing performance; brilliance beyond compare.
hibs.net: "****in ***** defending, can't defend a cross again. Hanlon is pish"
Helensburghhibs
They are running rings around us but the frustrating thing is how cheap we are giving it back. The hanlon one before the goal is a howler. Also if we are gona play the long ball it needs overhit, every one has been short so far
They haven't had to do anything special yo score, 3 balls into the box and goal, shocking defending
Exactly. You could accept it if we were being done in by great play but we’ve made it so easy for them for all three goals.
HerbDailly
A really tough watch, they declined to play into our low press and killed the pace of the game.
Sitting off sitting off. Can’t defend corners or crosses.
What was the tactic here?
It was never going to happen but at least make them work hard for it. Disappointing
snedzuk
My mum used to always say it was a sign of good luck if a bird crapped on you :)
Is she friendly with Gary Locke
A team that’s scored three goals for free by punting it into the box?
23-08-2023, 05:39 PM
This will need to be a hell of a half time team talk Lee.
keep it tight at the back
that's half the battle
And nobody to put a foot on the ball and pass it, we had a chance late on with Vente ready to receive a pass into feet and the ball went all the way back to Marshall.
I had mixed feelings about these games for this very reason. There was always the chance we could get an almighty battering and how does that help anyone (apart from a few quid in the club’s account)
Ray Donovan
Disgraceful defending. Every game we concede at least 2 goals. Johnson should have sorted this out.
Sat back and allowed them to play, no aggression or closing down, not even getting into their faces, too much respect.
Campbell has been brutal and is not good enough for Hibs and LJ and his coaches need to be questioned, basic defending on a weekly basis has been terrible, what do they do in training.
Already is.
One of their players basically won Messi a World Cup half a year ago and got the golden glove in the process. Another has just signed for £51,900,000 and is playing through the middle. Chuck in another couple of Europa League winners (including a manager who’s won it 4 times and got to the Champions League Semi Final about 2 years ago)…aye it’s embarrassing eh? Get a grip.
Yep, looks like it…already 3 down at home….maybe they’ll show mercy as they’ve bigger fish to fry.
If they go for it, we’re going to take a doing.
The gulf is huge.
I think it's more frustration at the goals we've lost. Exact same thing every time.
It's clear that we can't defend crosses, but it's been so easy for them. After the first goal, it should have been clear that we should be trying to prevent as many crosses as possible and making sure they're man marked in the box.
What the actual **** was Johnson’s game plan here? Invite one of the best teams in England to play on to us in the last third all game? Absolute ****ing idiot. GTF asap.Jesus wept
Some take by the way
Tell us what your master plan would be?
23-08-2023, 05:40 PM
Don't worry the same team will play against Livingston on Saturday 🙄
There is a bit of a difference between Villa and Livi like
jws1875
Need to bin the chat about how rubbish Hibs are in comparison to Villa here though. We’re not exactly comparing like for like are we? Obviously there’s weaknesses being exposed, but they have a fair smattering of genuinely top world class players.
This game, regardless of the outcome, isn’t a stick to beat anyone with. Villa would turn over any SPFL side, OF included.
Like City did to Celtic in 2016? Twice
Different colour strip?
They are on a completely different level but for the life of me I cannot understand why we never attempt to stop crosses coming in in any game when we are hopeless at defending crosses
Totally different if we were dominant in the air in central defence but we are horrible there
**** tactics I am afraid to not have addressed this a long long time ago
StevieHendo
I dont mind losing, but make them beat us. we're gifting goals we cant defend simples crosses, were constantly offside, no one showing any composure and not even a big tackle to try get something going just powderpuff totally outclassed yes, but there is a way to lose and conduct yourself
23-08-2023, 05:41 PM
They are running rings around us but the frustrating thing is how cheap we are giving it back. The hanlon one before the goal is a howler. Also if we are gona play the long ball it needs overhit, every one has been short so far
Those three goals are the way a team like Airdrie would try to score against us. We had little chance and we seem to have gone out if our way to remove even that small possibility.
Fortunately they are only playing at a training pace.
The bottom line is we shouldn't really be competing at this level especially without a midfield to speak of .
We will be struggling to compete at home with this squad.
Playing too narrow. Boyle needed to be doing the job that he did under Lennon supporting the full back. Marshalls position at the 3rd goal criminal. Defend crosses ffs.
You can’t be too critical tonight in isolation given it’s a full strength Villa. You can criticise seeing the same consistent failings as last season though as well as a number of the same players as last season making the same mistakes. That and Stevenson playing midfield in 2023.
Helensburghhibs
23-08-2023, 05:42 PM
Jesus wept
Some take by the way
Tell us what your master plan would be?
😂😂 But why are we not playing tika taka. If we dont give yhem the ball they cant score
This Villa team could be 3-0 up or more against any team in this country including Celtic and Rangers. I don't know what people were expecting.
LunasBoots
Playing too narrow. Boyle needed to be doing the job that he did under Lennon supporting the full back. Marshalls position at the 3rd goal criminal. Defend crosses ffs.
Looks like they've been told to play that way for whatever reason, inviting crosses into the box, we've just been able to defend those crosses.
Chorley Hibee
23-08-2023, 05:43 PM
**** goalkeeper, **** full backs and **** centre halves.
Probably buy another centre forward next week.
If we could defend a simple ball into the box I’d no be too disappointed just now.
Games went as expected. The team who are a million miles better have had all the ball. In terms of clear cut chances, we’ve restricted them…except when a ball gets swung in, we turn into statues.
I’m not convinced Johnson had a better option for us from this squad, ability wise tonight. Maybe JDH or Jeggo would’ve been better than Campbell. What else?
Get a ****ing centre half signed. Fish needs to get his finger oot tae.
Wait till next week when they make 11 changes. Historic victory at villa park incoming.
And we'll still lose 2-3 goals.
Match day plus 45 minutes not going so well.
Green forever
Jeggo coming on
leithsansiro
23-08-2023, 05:44 PM
Like City did to Celtic in 2016? Twice
Who’s talking about Man City? You really think it’s embarrassing that we’re losing to a team who get paid about 20 times more?
MikeyS
I wondered about that. He does it every cross and corner, it’s almost like he has been told to.
There's not a goalie in Britain that comes out and claims crosses anymore! They are more happy to piss around playing sweeper and let the defenders deal with high balls. Just a shame out CHs dinnae like heading balls!
This Villa team could be 3-0 up or more against any team in this country including Celtic and Rangers. I don't know what people were expecting.
Are you actually reading peoples posts though?
Of course no-one expected a result tonight but 3 free header in our box and 3 uncontested crosses resulting in 3 goals is poor. It’s been our downfall all season so far whether it’s been villa, st mirren or motherwell
They score 2, we will score 3 football economics could be exciting.
One of their players basically won Messi a World Cup half a year ago and got the golden glove in the process. Another has just signed for £51,900,000 and is playing through the middle. Chuck in another couple of Europa League winners (including a manager who’s won it 4 times and got to the Champions League Semi Final about 2 years ago)…aye it’s embarrassing eh? Get a grip.
That first player you mention is a cheating ****. Just saying.
pollution
23-08-2023, 05:45 PM
My deep concern is that we do not have a solution to our defense problem. None whatsoever.
Up front, not one shot in 48 minutes.
Jeggo coming on
That will help us score 4 goals 😁
[emoji23][emoji23] But why are we not playing tika taka. If we dont give yhem the ball they cant scoreNow you've said it, it's pretty obvious [emoji23]
Cannie believe Johnson couldn't see that
Green forever
23-08-2023, 05:46 PM
That will help us score 4 goals 😁
A game changer 🙈😁
The masterplan! 🤣
In an ideal world they'd have had to work for all 3 of their goals.
Scoring against us is a simple case of fire a cross into the box and get a head on it
23-08-2023, 05:47 PM
Defending at crosses is our problem but let’s face it, they’re on a completely different level, they’d find a way to be 3 up at half time.
They’ve got a boy in midfield who cost as much money as Hibs as an entire entity take three years to make in turnover as a club. Perspective required I think.
This game is all about trying now to keep the score down, but, the way they are playing us, slow and passing through us with ease.
I just can't see how we can stem the tide, midfield needs to tighten up defense needs to look after Digne on the left, or we will shift an embarrassing amount of goals!!!
We expect them to make it hard and not gift them simple goals.
Donegal Hibby
Some of the posts on here are crazy. A team that can spend £50 million on 1 player compared to one that's spend under 2 million on there entire team . Some folk need to stop living in a fantasy world and realise the reality of playing a team like Villa .
23-08-2023, 05:48 PM
Jeggo for Obita.
Why is Campbell still on??
The first goal just looked like a quality cross and brilliant movement from the striker. I’d have to see it again.
2nd and 3rd goals were a shambles.
We can only control what we can control and our own performance and application has been sorely lacking at times.
Weak goals to concede
Ah, the help save my job substitution.
Jeggo on for Obita. Odd choice for who gets hooked. I'd have taken Campbell off
23-08-2023, 05:49 PM
Some of the posts on here are crazy. A team that can spend £50 million on 1 player compared to one that's spend under 2 million on there entire team . Some folk need to stop living in a fantasy world and realise the reality of playing a team like Villa .
Or maybe we are just noting that Hibs are failing tondo the basics such as cut out crosses, pass the ball and the likes? We have made it far too easy for them, however much they cost.
Could we try defending now please.
Jeggo coming on
Phew! We'll be fine now.
Ah, the help save my job substitution.
His jobs no under threat on tonight’s result.
Jeggo for Obita.
He'll have dirty snaps of Johnson. His main attribute is/was hustle, determination/stamina.
Little of that on show.
Or Youan...
And yet cup shocks still happen in England
DaveHFC
23-08-2023, 05:50 PM
Those three goals are the way a team like Airdrie would try to score against us. We had little chance and we seem to have gone out if our way to remove even that small possibility.
Airdrie could try but the quality on display for the 1st and 3rd. Disappointing but lets not ignore the class Villa have
change in goal for Villa
they've chosen to play without one and added another outfield player instead
Wasn’t expecting much but FFS.
Sums it up!
Can we change our keeper too 🤣
Hibee Daft
23-08-2023, 05:51 PM
People need to wake up, this Aston Villa team have spent about 100 million this season.
Im expecting the result only to get worse as our players are going to get tired.
23-08-2023, 05:51 PM
Or Youan...
Youan frustrating though he may be can produce moments of magic
23-08-2023, 05:52 PM
unlucky Elie
Couldn’t agree more, keeper running around like a headless chicken, centre-half that's lost the ability to jump etc etc
Wow!
Started better this half.
random sub
Surely it’s about strengthening the midfield? Campbell and Newell really stretched
23-08-2023, 05:53 PM
Exactly. Gnashing of teeth at how we are doing here is laughable. We are a mediocre team, possibly worse, at the moment, in a league miles behind the EPL.
Started better this half.
Spoke too soon 0-4
23-08-2023, 05:54 PM
Urhgghhghgggggggggg
easy peasy
VAR gives a goal. Looked offside to me in the East.
1875M
Don’t think folk realise how good Villa are. They have some genuine top level talent. I also don’t think people realise how bad we are. We’d be mid table league 1 at best. With this team, possibly lower. Have some perspective.
easy peasy
Cross from the right yet again.
23-08-2023, 05:55 PM
A cross and a goal.
They are miles ahead, we all know that. We need to learn the lessons from tonight though and that means going all out to strengthen the defence. Fail to do so and we'll achieve little this season.
stop the crosses/passes coming in and that would be kool
Digne must be having the time of his life, completely unmarked for an entire game
Still letting Digne run at our raw right-back… Nothing learned.
23-08-2023, 05:56 PM
Bye bye Johnson
Don’t think folk realise how good Villa are. They have some genuine top level talent. I also don’t think people realise how bad we are. We’d be mid table league 1 at best. With this team, possibly lower. Have some perspective.
League 1 in England is terrible.
A cross from the right - surely not!?
Chorley Hibee
Digne the freedom of Leith to put another cross in.
Actually ridiculous the amount of room we give teams to hurt us with crosses.
And it doesn't matter who the opposition is, we do it against everyone.
londonhibby
Jeggo for Obita.
Because Johnson's a complete f****wit.
Another cross 😂
****ing hell
Exactly. Gnashing of teeth at how we are doing here is laughable. We are a mediocre team, possibly worse, at the moment, in a league miles behind the EPL.
All fair enough, but capitulation isn’t on!
LunasBoots
A wee jog through the centre of our defence
Torto7
23-08-2023, 05:57 PM
This is like Liverpool vs the huns. The gap is even bigger than I thought it was due to dirty money and sky creating the modern EPL.
CathroMustStay
As are we.
Great opportunity for Villa to surpass Malmo's 7-0.
HendoDelivered
4 crosses 4 goals scary
please no more than :7:
Let's not kid ourselves, so are we.
Liam6270
****** off Johnson, seriously he’s like Cathro in disguise
It’s thoroughly depressing that in the tie we’re not even at half time yet.
I thought it would be a gulf in class but we’ve not helped ourselves.
hibee316
I honestly don't understand the majority of folk in here.
Like, what were you expecting?
A team of their quality was going to have no problem exploiting our weakness.
Fair enough be annoyed about losing league games. But annoyed at this? Baffling.
Any team with a squad worth 100s of millions, you would absolutely expect to be scudding a team with our resources.
To talk about "not learning lessons" and "bad tactics" is frankly stupid with regards to this game. Do you not follow football at all?!
Granted if Johnson does not get it sorted very, very quickly in the league games he will.be quickly gone!
londonhibby
23-08-2023, 05:58 PM
Because Johnson's a complete f****wit.
And we have owners who are not prepared to spend the money required on defenders who can actually defend.
1875M
23-08-2023, 05:58 PM
So are we. We’d fit in perfectly.
Donegal Hibby
23-08-2023, 05:59 PM
Can we change our keeper too 🤣
The sub keeper Villa have put on cost more than we spent this year btw .
Bye bye Johnson
If your seriously want to get rid of Johnson because of this your ****ing off your head. There's an ocean of class between our teams.
They've spent the better part of £100 million on this team. We've spent maybe £5 million if you're lucky.
1875Sean
Miller getting exposed badly in this game
hibee316
23-08-2023, 06:00 PM
And we have owners who are not prepared to spend the money required on defenders who can actually defend.
Jesus Christ. Our owners have spent more on transfers than at any other time in our history.
Right, I'm logging out!
Andymac85
23-08-2023, 06:00 PM
He’d better not just come out and talk about the disparity in finances. If we had played well in all other games this season that’s a fair excuse. Same trends we are seeing every game.
23-08-2023, 06:01 PM
We could be 4-0 down to a team of superhuman quasi-dimensional demigods created specifically to play football and people on here would still say it wasn't good enough.
Fair enough be annoyed about losing league games. But annoyed at this? Baffling.
Any team with a squad worth 100s of millions, you would absolutely expect to be scudding a team with our resources.
To talk about "not learning lessons" and "bad tactics" is frankly stupid with regards to this game. Do you not follow football at all?!
Granted if Johnson does not get it sorted very, very quickly in the league games he will.be quickly gone!
I thought we'd get beat, and fairly comfortably, but I naively thought we'd atleast make it fairly uncomfortable at times for Villa.
They've turned up in 2nd gear and strolled the game.
Not tonight he’s not, get a grip of yourself.
Liam6270
If your seriously want to get rid of Johnson because of this your ****ing off your head. There's an ocean of class between our teams.
They've spent the better part of £100 million on this team. We've spent maybe £5 million if you're lucky.
It’s not because of this, it’s because of the horror shows we’ve endured this season and the end of last season. Defending crosses is basic, his tactics are woeful, his subs are baffling and with him at the helm we’re facing a relegation battle
LunasBoots
Lol, we've spent a fair bit, you can't just build/buy a whole new team overnight, takes time
Miller getting exposed badly in this game
Hardly. He's good against teams of a similar level to us. Think most would struggle against this Villa team
At what score is it acceptable to leave in disgust?
23-08-2023, 06:02 PM
If this was a boxing match the fight would have been stopped, we are chasing shadows.
i,like others will have made a few quid after tonight but i'm sure none of us want to accuse those that thought/hoped it would be tighter they mustn't follow football
agree with the rest :)|
Andymac85
They are good and cost lots, we are really bad, both can be true.
scm70nyd1973
Totally agree - my only gripe though is that the Manager doesn’t seem to have addressed the ongoing danger from the left flank - reminds me of when the Huns took us apart at ER from the left wing.
Theres a massive disparity between the SPL and the EPL finacially obviously but there is that between the EPL and virtually every league. If Villa were away in say Finland, Albania, Bosnia etc etc would they be strolling around 4-0 in 50 minutes? I doubt it. Our deficiences have been highlighted by a good team that hasnt even got out of second gear.
Another poster who’s not actually reading what peoples gripe is
4 uncontested crosses is peoples issue, not the fact we’re losing
1875Sean
23-08-2023, 06:03 PM
Hardly. He's good against teams of a similar level to us. Think most would struggle against this Villa team
He has good games but still been very raw in Hibs games against other teams at our level, he isn’t closing down quick enough
He’d better not just come out and talk about the disparity in finances. If we had played well in all other games this season that’s a fair excuse. Same trends we are seeing every game.
Why not? There’s a huge disparity in finances. The Rangers and Celtic beat us 9 games out of 10 so why be so surprised tonight? Villa would pummel both the Glasgow two.
Our bread and butter, yes, you can argue with, but not tonight.
Im not surprised they are winning.play in a superior league with far better players and a world class manager! Livi game is massive!
23-08-2023, 06:04 PM
Tbh, I didn’t fancy the tie in the first place
I would’ve much rathered a tie that gave us the best chance to progress.
This was never going any other way and can only be damaging for the player’s confidence. There’s literally 0 good that comes from a tie against villa apart from the clubs finances
If we get beat 12-0 it will still be less embarrassing than some of the comments on here. England might be our next door neighbours but the English top flight is light years ahead of ours and that's what we're witnessing now.
Torto7
Villa have probably spent more this summer than the last ten years of the spls entire spend.
Hanlon will get pelters, but Fish has been abysmal.
Seriously don't know what people expect - Villa spent over £50 MILLION on Diaby, £33 MILLION on Torres. That's more than Hibs have spent in our entire history plus probably the next 100 years added in too.
that was close to a 5th
Jesus Christ. Our owners have spent more on transfers than at any other time in our history.
Right, I'm logging out!
Just because this was always going to be a near impossible task doesn’t hide that as of late, there’s something badly wrong at the club. Not one of the four goals has been a goal that any SPFL couldn’t score - whip the ball into the box, runner into the box, free header.
Similarly we’ve spent a lot of money and brought a lot of players in and are now desperately trying to offload them to anyone who would take them as the majority have been mince.
Aston Villa are a professional football outfit. We’re masquerading as one and on the pitch, off the pitch, we need to learn from their professionalism.
Andymac85
23-08-2023, 06:05 PM
See all the folk talking about disparity in class and finance, did Hearts not get beat by 1 goal over 2 legs against Liverpool not that long ago? This isn’t just because of the cost of the 2 teams.
OtleyHibs
that was close to a 5th
Good block by Stevenson. He's put in a couple of good ones tonight
Why not? There’s a huge disparity in finances. The Rangers and Celtic beat us 9 games out of 10 so why be so surprised tonight? Villa would pummel both the Glasgow two.
Our bread and butter, yes, you can argue with, but not tonight.
Villa would not pummell Celtic and Rangers in European competition. They have more than held there own against similar opposition.
Rangers drew with PSV last night, are folk actually claiming Villa would pap aside PSV like they're nothing?
There can be a massive gap between the teams and a pitful performance at the same time. That is tonight.
If we'd put in the exact same performance with Neil Lennon in charge (and they did happen) there wouldn't be a ****in' word on here.
That's bollox
23-08-2023, 06:06 PM
4 uncontested crosses is peoples issue, not the fact we’re losingI tend to agree, expected nothing from tonight but wholehearted effort but long after this game is over we will still be asking ourselves why we give away so many cheap goals from crosses into the middle, and it won't always be teams like villa who are knocking in the free headers....
As an Everton fan as well, I’ve had enough of Villa this week 😡
Good block by Stevenson. He's put in a couple of good ones tonight
twice denied what would almost certainly have been goals
Hanlon will get pelters, but Fish has been abysmal.
Fish has been poor for most of the season so far. Hopefully the January cancellation clause is a two way thing and we can cancel it.
Hanlon has been poor too though.
23-08-2023, 06:07 PM
The defeat is as painful as it was expected but we have learned nothing in the last year.
We make the same mistakes now as we always do only this time we are being punished by far superior opponents
We are far too passive in defence can’t press in midfield
Can’t stop crosses coming in and can’t defend them when they do
These aren’t new issues they are long-standing ones
I love Stevenson & Hanlon and I don’t blame them for much of this evening but it’s time they were phased out
Tbh I would accept what comes to see something different
Miller isn’t up too much either and Fish will never ever make it at Man Utd
Tbh, I didn’t fancy the tie in the first place
I would’ve much rathered a tie that gave us the best chance to progress.
This was never going any other way and can only be damaging for the player’s confidence. There’s literally 0 good that comes from a tie against villa apart from the clubs finances
Getting through regardless of our opponents in this tie would have be more of a curse than a blessing. This squad would not be able to handle Thursday-Sunday games until Xmas without seriously hurting our league position.
luzern would have got much of the same
23-08-2023, 06:08 PM
Aye right. It wouldn't matter a toss how 4 goals were conceded, the usual trolls would still be lining up to tell us Johnson, Hanlon etc etc etc are s****
Villa would not pummell Celtic and Rangers in European competition. They have more than held there own against similar opposition.
Rangers drew with PSV last night, are folk actually claiming Villa would pap aside PSV like they're nothing?
There can be a massive gap between the teams and a pitful performance at the same time. That is tonight.
The gap between The Rangers and PSV is far closer than Hibs and Aston Villa.
We’ve competed and showed determination, that was as much as I could have hoped for.
Come on Hibs give us a goal.
A cross and a goal.
They are miles ahead, we all know that. We need to learn the lessons from tonight though and that means going all out to strengthen the defence. Fail to do so and we'll achieve little this season.
It was only ever going one way tonight. We’ve been defending like this against teams of our own level and below so far this season so it’s not much of a surprise. As you say we definitely need reinforcements back there but I doubt we’ll get them.
LunasBoots
23-08-2023, 06:09 PM
That's just good on Villa's part, done there homework on what was weak and has been for long enough, we all know that should of been addressed
The gap between The Rangers and PSV is far closer than Hibs and Aston Villa.
We’ve competed and showed determination, that was as much as I could have hoped for.
We've not competed. We've been absolutely ragdolled.
londonhibby
That's bollox
Explain... rather than proffering an off-the-cuff, evidence-free comment.
Aye right. It wouldn't matter a toss how 4 goals were conceded, the usual trolls would still be lining up to tell us Johnson, Hanlon etc etc etc are s****
Is calling hanlon and johnson ***** genuine trolling though?
I reckon there’s some truth to it, especially Johnson
Chorley Hibee
When this defence are still losing soft goals to Livingston, St Johnstone, Ross County, Motherwell etc week in and week out, I wonder if someone might finally see the need to change it.
We'll achieve nothing with it.
Donegal Hibby
First one was contested it was just a cross that was perfect of the highest quality from a side on a totally different scale to ours . Though people with gripes can't see the reality unfortunately.
23-08-2023, 06:10 PM
If we'd put in the exact same performance with Neil Lennon in charge (and they did happen) there wouldn't be a ****in' word on here.
you’re having a laugh. Loads on here hate lennon
Torto7
Liverpool smashed Rangers. Celtic are gash in Europe. The gaps enormous.
When this defence are still losing soft goals to Livingston, St Johnstone, Ross County, Motherwell etc week in and week out, I wonder if someone might finally see the need to change it.
We'll achieve nothing with it.[emoji106]
First one was contested it was just a cross that was perfect of the highest quality from a side on a totally different scale to ours . Though people with gripes can't see the reality unfortunately.
People with gripes are seeing the reality though because they’re also pointing out we’re losing these kind of goals most weeks against the ***** in our league as well?
23-08-2023, 06:11 PM
could do with a goal here to get back in it
Liam6270
you’re having a laugh. Loads on here hate lennon
Prob fannies like Flo who don’t like old school management
We'll achieve nothing with it.
Seems like the fans are the only ones that see this
could do with a goal here to get back in it
Think a goal would just make things a little more respectable
First one was contested it was just a cross that was perfect of the highest quality from a side on a totally different scale to ours . Though people with gripes can't see the reality unfortunately.It's as if one Cross is like another
There's movement and working the ball creating space
We are chasing shadows the whole game against players that are about 20 levels above us
They've just brought on Tielmans FFS
Explain... rather than proffering an off-the-cuff, evidence-free comment.
Ok where is your proof they haven't got the cash or offered the cash to spend on defenders who defend? We brought Fish back who we all wanted back after his performances last season where he could clearly defend, we signed Harbottle who in his one game so far can clearly defend, they have spent on these defenders so what you claimed is simply bollox.
Chorley Hibee
The defeat is as painful as it was expected but we have learned nothing in the last year.
We make the same mistakes now as we always do only this time we are being punished by far superior opponents
We are far too passive in defence can’t press in midfield
Can’t stop crosses coming in and can’t defend them when they do
These aren’t new issues they are long-standing ones
I love Stevenson & Hanlon and I don’t blame them for much of this evening but it’s time they were phased out
Tbh I would accept what comes to see something different
Miller isn’t up too much either and Fish will never ever make it at Man Utd
A great assessment and one I'm in total agreement with.
hibee316
23-08-2023, 06:12 PM
I've read the gripe. I just don't get how people think that was going to change from 4 days ago?
We have struggled this season with that. Of course Villa would exploit that.
Have we even had a chance? How can that be called competing when we've not had a proper chance at home.
Go on Doidge **** 'em
23-08-2023, 06:13 PM
The people with gripes are actually at the game. We’re allowed to moan about it.
Sitting at home telling us we’re doing it wrong? Go do one.
I've read the gripe. I just don't get how people think that was going to change from 4 days ago?
No. Our defenders should’ve realised they’re playing a really good team and suddenly gained 30x the ability they had last week.
Doidge to score 4 😁
I think everyone on here can see the big difference in class, it's the fact we've made it far too easy for them and they've not had to work hard to score 4 goals, 3 of these goals could easily have been dealt with as it was down to poor defending and not down to Villa being better.
23-08-2023, 06:14 PM
If the opposition left back is rampaging forward every few minutes, you protect your right-back who has limited experience… The massive gulf in resources has nothing to do with that lack of basic awareness.
Andymac85
I think everyone on here can see the big difference in class, it's the fact we've made it far too easy for them and they've not had to work hard to score 4 goals, 3 of these goals could easily have been dealt with as it was down to poor defending and not down to Villa being better.
Exactly
Aye but that’s peoples point though and they’re unhappy cause it still remains unaddressed by LJ or the recruitment team
Doige on for Vente? I never heard his name mentioned in 68 minutes???
scm70nyd1973
23-08-2023, 06:15 PM
Hoofball ahead now that the subs have been made - mibbies a good tactic 🫢
Btw Rocky and Fish in defence. Ooft
Hanlon's last game?
they're even winning the foul count :I'm waiti
23-08-2023, 06:16 PM
Hanson's last game?
Its not Liverpool????
Hanson's last game?
When was his first?
hibee316
If the opposition left back is rampaging forward every few minutes, you protect your right-back who has limited experience… The massive gulf in resources has nothing to do with that lack of basic awareness.
So you are suggesting putting another player on the pitch??
If you move players over there, then Villa would just exploit the space we left at the other side.
The people with gripes are actually at the game. We’re allowed to moan about it.
Sitting at home telling us we’re doing it wrong? Go do one.
eh?
23-08-2023, 06:17 PM
Doige on for Vente? I never heard his name mentioned in 68 minutes???
Looked like he was playing quite deep, kinda false nine at times
eh?
Eh indeed! 🤷*♂️
Penalty
Traore sent him to the shops
23-08-2023, 06:18 PM
oh lewey
Awww Lewis
Donegal Hibby
People with gripes are seeing the reality though because they’re also pointing out we’re losing these kind of goals most weeks against the ***** in our league as well?
We have only played 2 league games for heaven's sake and if you think St mirren and Motherwell away are ***** then your definitely not looking at things with any reality mate .