View Full Version : Is it time to get properly behind Johnson?

Pages : 1 [2]

25-08-2023, 11:38 AM
If we had lost Luzern and then Raith (who we were expected to beat), he'd be gone already. The only credit in the bank he has is the Euro tie and that wont last long. Fail to win on Saturday and the pressure is on. Take doing at Aberdeen the following week and he's a goner for sure. We need points on the board pronto.

If he'd come out at half-time on Wednesday wearing a hun top, Jimmy Savile wig and sing the sash then he'd be gone already. Thankfully he didn't so that's all irrelevant pish.

Skol
25-08-2023, 11:44 AM
Our CEO.

Did he really say that? At best it would be pub talk. In fact if true it’s the fro who should be under pressure.

25-08-2023, 11:47 AM
Did he really say that? At best it would be pub talk. In fact if true it’s the fro who should be under pressure.

Yes. Last week a mate told me he’d been telling fans that while in Luzern, this morning I just spoke to another mate who was actually there and heard it first hand.

25-08-2023, 11:51 AM
Yes. Last week a mate told me he’d been telling fans that while in Luzern, this morning I just spoke to another mate who was actually there and heard it first hand.

Thats just Ben trying to use the same leadership techniques as LJ. Hoping to inspire by criticising in public. :greengrin

25-08-2023, 11:54 AM
Man U lost the first 4 league games last season and finished 3rd.

I've mentioned hertz in 1986 too, only 2 wins in the first 9 with 5 losses.

I don't think Saturday is a must win if we want third, but it's nearly a must win for LJ. If lose, I think he'll get one further game to put things right. Lose again and he'll be gone.

Man U lost their first two league games then won their next four last season. Streaky Eric.

25-08-2023, 11:59 AM
It's the same pattern as we saw with Ross getting sacked, a divided support until he was booted, then Maloney, and history is repeating itself with Johnson.And it will happen to the next guy, a couple of defeats and then the the moving feast of must win games will be started up along with unattributed tales of unrest and out of order behaviour from the manager. We'll be back in the same position again and Johnson will likely go off and do a decent job elsewhere.

Trinity Hibee
25-08-2023, 11:59 AM

I don't think Saturday is a must win if we want third, but it's nearly a must win for LJ. If lose, I think he'll get one further game to put things right. Lose again and he'll be gone.

In that case ETH was just in the door.

Sounds like we agree though if things don’t improve in next couple of games then a change is required

25-08-2023, 12:05 PM

Man Utd are a fairly interesting comparison.

I don't follow English football that closely but from a distance there seems to be permanent drama following Utd, not unlike us. Every time they lose (happens fairly often) they're still in crisis, dire and nowhere near where they need to be. Every time they win (happens fairly often) they're back, manager X is the man to bring back the glory days etc etc. Doesn't seem to be any dull middle ground with them.

25-08-2023, 12:06 PM
And it will happen to the next guy, a couple of defeats and then the the moving feast of must win games will be started up along with unattributed tales of unrest and out of order behaviour from the manager. We'll be back in the same position again and Johnson will likely go off and do a decent job elsewhere.

Johnson isn’t under pressure from the fans due to just a couple of defeats though.

25-08-2023, 12:07 PM
Your pretty relentless I will give you that. Still not going to judge him on the villa game.

LJ is conning you if you think he’s the man for the job. What in earth is it going tot take for you to realise it?

Blindly supporting this fraud of a manager is hurting our club. Eventually you’ll be happy when he’s gone.

25-08-2023, 12:10 PM

Good news.

I’m no fan of Kensall, but if he’s ready to make the change then fair enough. Long overdue.

Bridge hibs
25-08-2023, 12:11 PM
Yes. Last week a mate told me he’d been telling fans that while in Luzern, this morning I just spoke to another mate who was actually there and heard it first hand.I find that hard to believe, I get there would have been chat and I know BK divulged the team news prior to the game, however sacking LJ wouldnt just be an afterthought and would have most likely been planned and discussed at board level a while back, if its been discussed with fans then it certainly wouldnt have been a throw away comment

Why if we lost the Luzern game in particular ? We knew we were going to play Villa with little or no chance of winning, then possibly low morale coupled with low attendance v Livingston. Add to the fact LJ has spent a fair chunk if not all of our budget, most recently with the additions of Vente and Harbottle. This if true doesnt give our new manager much of a chance to recruit his own players with little or no budget with days left of the transfer window

Unless of course our new manager is being recruited within

25-08-2023, 12:11 PM

Whether Ben said this or not I really don’t know. Does he not have previous for it when talking to folk about Maloney at an event at ER though?

25-08-2023, 12:13 PM
And it will happen to the next guy, a couple of defeats and then the the moving feast of must win games will be started up along with unattributed tales of unrest and out of order behaviour from the manager. We'll be back in the same position again and Johnson will likely go off and do a decent job elsewhere.

I don’t think Hibs fans have ever called for a managers head after 2 defeats. This is a huge exaggeration on your part.

If we get the right man in, he’ll have the full support of the fan base, as every other Hibs manager has.

LJ and Maloney only got grief because they are absolutely useless managers.

It’s beyond a joke that anyone is sticking up for LJ anymore.

Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 12:13 PM
Johnson isn’t under pressure from the fans due to just a couple of defeats though.

Aye but if you pretend he is it makes your point better.

LJ won 1 of his first 5 last season in the league and that was on the back of an absolute disastrous league cup campaign where we got put out in a group with Morton, Bonnyrigg and Falkirk.

There was no real shouts to sack him at that point though and the idea that the new guy will be on the brink after a few games is hyperbolic pish.

25-08-2023, 12:15 PM
I find that hard to believe, I get there would have been chat and I know BK divulged the team news prior to the game, however sacking LJ wouldnt just be an afterthought and would have most likely been planned and discussed at board level a while back, if its been discussed with fans then it certainly wouldnt have been a throw away comment

Why if we lost the Luzern game in particular ? We knew we were going to play Villa with little or no chance of winning, then possibly low morale coupled with low attendance v Livingston. Add to the fact LJ has spent a fair chunk if not all of our budget, most recently with the additions of Vente and Harbottle. This if true doesnt give our new manager much of a chance to recruit his own players with little or no budget with days left of the transfer window

Unless of course our new manager is being recruited within

Ben's a blether who loves to talk.

On one level it is endearing, on another it's highly unprofessional.

I don't think anything coming out of his mouth would surprise me.

25-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Man U lost their first two league games then won their next four last season. Streaky Eric.

You're right. I was confusing the 4-0 defeat with the number of losses.

They lost 9 games in total and still ended up third by 4 points. Winning on Saturday isn't a prerequisite for us finishing 3rd, but if we lose the pressure on Johnson will crank up considerably.

It's not going to be easy either. Wednesday will have done a lot of damage to our team both physically and mentally. I just hope they have the strength of character to want to put things right immediately.

25-08-2023, 12:18 PM
LJ is conning you if you think he’s the man for the job. What in earth is it going tot take for you to realise it?

Blindly supporting this fraud of a manager is hurting our club. Eventually you’ll be happy when he’s gone.

Is it blindly supporting him to be fully aware of the smooth that has gone with the rough during his tenure and to simply be in disagreement with those who want change now?

25-08-2023, 12:20 PM

That's an outrageously patronising post.

25-08-2023, 12:24 PM
Don’t care anymore. Any ‘smooth’ has been achieved despite LJ, not because of him.

Enough is enough.

If you’re still backing LJ, you’re harming our club.

If you feel patronised or offended by that, deal with it. We’re all adults, I’m sure you can cope.

I’ve been on the receiving end plenty times myself and survived just fine.

25-08-2023, 12:43 PM
Don’t care anymore. Any ‘smooth’ has been achieved despite LJ, not because of him.

Enough is enough.

If you feel patronised or offended by that, deal with it. We’re all adults, I’m sure you can cope.

I want a change of manager as it happens but why would you blame those who don't for anything?

It's a ludicrous argument.

Skol
25-08-2023, 12:43 PM

Enough is enough.

You equally are farming our fly.

25-08-2023, 12:44 PM

Enough is enough.

That's a bullying attitude there. Not cool.

25-08-2023, 12:46 PM
This is fairly bold talk for someone that usually starts greeting and pleading for courtesy anytime someone has a dig back at their attention-seeking.

Skol
25-08-2023, 12:47 PM
Autocorrect. Pah. You know what I meant

25-08-2023, 12:50 PM

I liked that. Didn’t know what it meant, but it sounded good 🤣

25-08-2023, 01:07 PM

I don’t know what that means.

25-08-2023, 01:08 PM
That's a bullying attitude there. Not cool.

If the admins feel like I’ve over stepped the mark into bullying, I’m sure they will pull me up for it or delete the post.

25-08-2023, 01:12 PM
This is fairly bold talk for someone that usually starts greeting and pleading for courtesy anytime someone has a dig back at their attention-seeking.

Yup, you’re right. fed up pussy footing around others.

If folk can dish it out, then they can take it back.

No more greeting and pleading for courtesy from me.

I’ve never once posted anything to seek attention. That’s just something you’ve made up again, like you do regularly when quoting or responding to me.

I really don’t care what you think about me or any of my posts anymore.

25-08-2023, 01:14 PM

That's so ridiculous it's actually quite funny.

LunasBoots
25-08-2023, 01:14 PM
The fan base is pretty much of the opinion he's not the man, even at the games you can tell he's lost the fans, I hope he can turn it around, I just don't see it though, I look at our fixtures ahead think we'll may pick up around 6 points (again hope I'm wrong), I don't think we'll be relegated but we'll be somewhere down that end, I hope we can get some decent players in before the end of the window.

25-08-2023, 01:16 PM

What do you care, I’m only a fan with an opinion.

25-08-2023, 01:17 PM
Thread has descended into a right mess.

I'm still not sure what "getting properly behind" means without trawling through all the nonsense again. Does it mean posting support for him on here even if you don't actually want him as manager? I'll happily applaud him tomorrow if we win but I'd still like a change.

25-08-2023, 01:17 PM

Is much as I don't agree with it its the exact same comment as some saying a Johnson Out thread was harming our club. Both are just daft.

Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 01:18 PM
Thread has descended into a right mess.

I'm still not sure what "getting properly behind" means without trawling through all the nonsense again. Does it mean posting support for him on here even if you don't actually want him as manager?

Essentially, yes. It means that even if you don’t want him you should publicly back him and pretend you don’t think the way you do.

Skol
25-08-2023, 01:21 PM
I don’t know what that means.

Harming our club.

25-08-2023, 01:21 PM
Essentially, yes. It means that even if you don’t want him you should publicly back him and pretend you don’t think the way you do.

Amazing.

Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 01:24 PM
Amazing.

“Is it time now for us as a support to lower the pressure on the team by not putting the manager's head on the block with each next result, accept that he's here for the foreseeable and focus on backing him and the team?”

That’s exactly what you were asking. For fans to stop saying they think he should be sacked if we don’t win etc and to suck it up and not request his removal.

25-08-2023, 01:26 PM
“Is it time now for us as a support to lower the pressure on the team by not putting the manager's head on the block with each next result, accept that he's here for the foreseeable and focus on backing him and the team?”

That’s exactly what you were asking. For fans to stop saying they think he should be sacked if we don’t win etc and to suck it up and not request his removal.

For me that means not posting anything about him on here basically.

25-08-2023, 01:26 PM

So nothing about pretending everything is ok?

I've explained in the thread what I meant on more than one occasion. I can't help you if you can't understand it after that.

Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 01:27 PM
So nothing about pretending everything is ok?

If we’re just to ‘accept he’s here for the foreseeable’ and to ‘back him and the team’ then that’s exactly what we’d be doing.

25-08-2023, 01:28 PM
If we’re just to ‘accept he’s here for the foreseeable’ and to ‘back him and the team’ then that’s exactly what we’d be doing.

Tedious.

25-08-2023, 01:28 PM
Harming our club.

If we’re 11th or 12th in the league in a few months, I’ll sleep soundly knowing I wasn’t complicit in keeping LJ in post.

He’s ruining our club. I can see it clearly and am not afraid to say it.

Supporting him helps keep him in place, it’s the last thing any Hibs fan should be doing.

We should all be demanding change.

Paulie Walnuts
25-08-2023, 01:30 PM
Tedious.

Aye ok. :faf:

Skol
25-08-2023, 01:30 PM
If we’re 11th or 12th in the league in a few months, I’ll sleep soundly knowing I wasn’t complicit in keeping LJ in post.

Supporting him helps keep him in place, it’s the last thing any Hibs fan should be doing.

Other opinions are available. And they are also valid.

Jay
25-08-2023, 01:33 PM
Can we please discuss things on this thread without accusations and bickering before it descends even further into a mess and gets closed.

Basildon Hibs
The fan base is pretty much of the opinion he's not the man, even at the games you can tell he's lost the fans, I hope he can turn it around, I just don't see it though, I look at our fixtures ahead think we'll may pick up around 6 points (again hope I'm wrong), I don't think we'll be relegated but we'll be somewhere down that end, I hope we can get some decent players in before the end of the window.

Well if LJ is buying them, then there's no much chance of 'decent' players coming in. 🤣

Can we please discuss things on this thread without accusations and bickering before it descends even further into a mess and gets closed.

25-08-2023, 01:34 PM
Fine.

Let’s see how the rest of the crowd feel if we lose on Saturday.

Let’s also see how many songs are sung in support of LJ if we’re winning, or at any time during the game.

Basildon Hibs
25-08-2023, 01:36 PM

👍👍👍

25-08-2023, 01:38 PM
Lets all go for a nice walk.

25-08-2023, 01:40 PM
Lets all go for a nice walk.

Aye, we're all friends here. Calm down everyone.

Skol
25-08-2023, 01:58 PM
I am sure we can all agree we want hibs to win on Saturday whether or not we support Johnson want him out or are somewhere on the fence.

I wouldn’t consider myself a Johnson supporter but neither do I think there is a case for him to go. However I can see that there are a set of circumstances that Could lead there.

25-08-2023, 02:03 PM
Aye, we're all friends here. Calm down everyone.

Maybe we just need to accept that the answer to the question you posed in the OP is "perhaps not"?

Gus
25-08-2023, 02:11 PM
Kensall can talk to fans about LJ's position but deary me that's embarrassing (if true)

Personally if LJ goes than so should Ben

25-08-2023, 02:37 PM
Maybe we just need to accept that the answer to the question you posed in the OP is "perhaps not"?

It would be good if folk remembered it was a question rather than any sort of demand, as well.

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 02:40 PM
Kensall can talk to fans about LJ's position but deary me that's embarrassing (if true)

Personally if LJ goes than so should Ben
Doesn't say a lot for the owners of HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB if there allowing our CEO to act in such a unprofessional manner either . Really is totally amateur stuff and he should be sacked if it's true ! .

25-08-2023, 02:54 PM
Just putting it out there but... is it possible our results will start to improve when we no longer have to focus on midweek games in Europe?

I think we pretty much all agree that our current squad struggles with switching between the Thursday and Sunday, with not much in the way of quality backup we can introduce to see us through in the domestic matches.

Daily Hibs
25-08-2023, 03:05 PM
Are fans expectations too high for where we should be? 2 cups in 20 years, countless opportunities missed in finals that on paper we should have won

Fan expectations arent too high. We have been let down by countless managers and untouchables time and time again, often in derbies and at Hampden.

We have underacheived big time in the last 20 years. We could easily have won 5/6 cups in that time.

Daily Hibs
25-08-2023, 03:07 PM
I don’t think any single game is a must win, but the culmination of what has been a **** start to the season domestically, the defeat away in Andorra and a poor performance against Raith in the cup has to be taken in to account.

There’s a tipping point and we are getting closer and closer to it.

No single game is a must win? I'm not sure I understand that. We have had plenty of must win games in the last 5/6 years.

Up there with Hanlons "a derby semi final is just another game" chat. If that's the club captain saying that then what chance do we have.

25-08-2023, 03:07 PM
Fan expectations arent too high. We have been let down my countless managers and untouchables time and time again, often in derbies and at Hampden.

We have underacheived big time in the last 20 years. We could easily have won 5/6 cups in that time.

:agree: Our late owner set expectations with his “best of the rest” ambitions.

25-08-2023, 03:10 PM
:agree: Our late owner set expectations with his “best of the rest” ambitions.

Didn't it start with Alex Miller?

25-08-2023, 03:13 PM
Doesn't say a lot for the owners of HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB if there allowing our CEO to act in such a unprofessional manner either . Really is totally amateur stuff and he should be sacked if it's true ! .

No idea if its true or not but he does have previous do not gonna dismiss it.

25-08-2023, 03:13 PM
Just putting it out there but... is it possible our results will start to improve when we no longer have to focus on midweek games in Europe?

I think we pretty much all agree that our current squad struggles with switching between the Thursday and Sunday, with not much in the way of quality backup we can introduce to see us through in the domestic matches.

Is that no a wee bit like Butcher, saying dont worry about losing the first goal as that removes that worry or some other rubbish like that.
It has to be the ambition of any player to be playing in Europe midweek.

Daily Hibs
25-08-2023, 03:15 PM
Is that no a wee bit like Butcher, saying dont worry about losing the first goal as that removes that worry or some other rubbish like that.

Certainly should be the ambition of the club and the players fully understand the potential demands.

Blaming league results on being in europe is a comfort blanket.

HNA2
25-08-2023, 03:29 PM
Disappointing to see people continue to have a go at other posters after being asked to calm it down. Ive deleted posts , some from folk who have been around long enough to know better. Please keep it civil so we dont have to intervene

Fuzzywuzzy
25-08-2023, 03:34 PM
I can't believe he was complaining about emerys feet being outside the bench box. Pretty sure we had bigger issues

25-08-2023, 03:39 PM
C’mon Jim, it’s not based on the start of this season alone. It’s because it’s a repeat of much of what we saw last season. Good performances, then absolute hopeless ones with bizarre tactics and selections and nothing in between. That’s been him throughout his managerial career. There is nothing to suggest that will ever change.

I get that and definitely have concerns especially around the hoofball at particularly Motherwell just think too early in the season.

25-08-2023, 03:43 PM
Jim this is really head in the sand stuff from you. Any Hibs manager (infact any manager) who has lost their first 3-4 games of a league season at a club who are aiming for top 4 is likely to be gone.

Can I ask why you think he should stay if he was to lose at the weekend? We are losing games to teams with significantly less budget than us which is the comfort blanket when we lose games to teams with bigger budgets than us.

The proof is in the results here. Add to that performance have generally been poor.

Maybe explains why we haven't been as successful as we might have been if we think it is acceptable to sack a manager after 4 losses.

25-08-2023, 03:50 PM

Definitely have concerns just think it is too soon. He has been up and down including in the few games this season however it does take time for new players to settle for example. Appreciate you wanted him sacked before his first game so you have never really given him a chance.

25-08-2023, 03:52 PM

Enough is enough.

What a crock that is.

25-08-2023, 03:57 PM

Why would we be 11th or 12th when same manager got us 5th and Europe last season.

25-08-2023, 03:58 PM
Why would we be 11th or 12th when same manager got us 5th and Europe last season.

Celtic got us Europe by winning the Scottish cup.

25-08-2023, 04:04 PM
Definitely have concerns just think it is too soon. He has been up and down including in the few games this season however it does take time for new players to settle for example. Appreciate you wanted him sacked before his first game so you have never really given him a chance.

IMO, it’s not down to players needing to settle. There is nothing for them to settle in to on the park. They’re not going to settle when we’re making multiple changes most games, the making multiple changes once games have started. It’s very difficult to see what kind of team he’s trying to build or what roles certain players have been brought in for. We just look like a collection of players rather than a team.

25-08-2023, 04:05 PM

Absolute clown.

We're back to square one here. Johnson could go and we'd still have the same 'leader' at the top of the club with all of the management and appointment consequences that will have. It's been a long time since I felt quite this pessimistic about the direction we are headed.

25-08-2023, 04:09 PM
IMO, it’s not down to players needing to settle. There is nothing for them to settle in to on the park. They’re not going to settle when we’re making multiple changes most games, the making multiple changes once games have started. It’s very difficult to see what kind of team he’s trying to build or what roles certain players have been brought in for. We just look like a collection of players rather than a team.

Is this because some people within the club are attempting to pull off a half-assed McMoneyball approach? :dunno:

25-08-2023, 04:09 PM

No our league position did. Jeezo

25-08-2023, 04:11 PM
Absolute clown.

We're back to square one here. Johnson could go and we'd still have the same 'leader' at the top of the club with all of the management and appointment consequences that will have. It's been a long time since I felt quite this pessimistic about the direction we are headed.

I don’t think we are tbh. BK shouldn’t be saying these things I agree, but in a way I like his honesty with fans and in BM and IG I think we have good people looking after the football side of things.

25-08-2023, 04:13 PM
I don’t think we are tbh. BK shouldn’t be saying these things I agree, but in a way I like his honesty with fans and in BM and IG I think we have good people looking after the football side of things.

I love openness and honesty with fans but there's a point beyond which you shouldn't go. It's unprofessional and unfair to do so. I think he's overstepped the mark once or twice.

25-08-2023, 04:15 PM
No our league position did. Jeezo

Not a guaranteed European position, which is what we should be aiming for.

If ICT had won the cup, then we wouldn't have been in Europe.

Celtic winning the Scottish Cup got us our place in Europe, it wasn't in our hands as soon as we finished fifth.

25-08-2023, 04:16 PM

It's utterly unprofessional, sends a terrible signal to both potential replacements and current employees within the club and - depending upon what has been said to who and who witnessed it - potentially has financial consequences. I think it suggests someone completely out of their depth.

I'll believe we have good people looking after the football side of things once I see good things happening on the football side.

Skol
25-08-2023, 04:25 PM
It smacks of someone thinking they are down the pub with their mates rather than in an official capacity.

I also think it might just be a bit of saying what people want to hear

Imagine a noisy group hassling you and you just want to enjoy a beer. And announce the team. Do to keep them happy you say yeah we are aware and considering options.

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 04:43 PM
If this is true about Ben kensell then it's a serious matter and is totally unprofessional and he needs to either resign or be sacked. If he's not then it's a sad reflection on the people like Ian Gordon that's running our Club and I have no faith in them if this is true and they do nothing about it . It's unprofessional and totally amateurish from our CEO when we had a big game .

25-08-2023, 04:44 PM
If this is true about Ben kensell then it's a serious matter and is totally unprofessional and he needs to either resign or be sacked. If he's not then it's a sad reflection on the people like Ian Gordon that's running our Club and I have no faith in them if this is true and they do nothing about it . It's unprofessional and totally amateurish from our CEO when we had a big game .

He definitely told people the team in Switzerland, but I've no idea if it's true or not about the LJ chat.

He also has previous for saying things at functions/events that he probably shouldn't have.

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 04:52 PM
He definitely told people the team in Switzerland, but I've no idea if it's true or not about the LJ chat.

He also has previous for saying things at functions/events that he probably shouldn't have.

If it's true he simply has to go imo . We are an absolute Joke if he doesn't for such unprofessionalism.

Chorley Hibee
25-08-2023, 05:10 PM
If it's true he simply has to go imo . We are an absolute Joke if he doesn't for such unprofessionalism.

I was in the pub in Luzern when he told people the team.

Quite incredible how unprofessional he is.

His posturing and desperation to be loved/feel important is embarrassing.

I've got no doubt he's been shooting his mouth off again.

Him, and the lack of direction from the top, are as big a problem as Johnson.

25-08-2023, 05:15 PM

We're 11th now. We'll still be down here if we don't pick up points. I think that's more likely that going on a winning run.

That some of you thought a manager who goes on wining and losing runs was acceptable is mental to me. 'Streaky lee' being some kind of fun nickname. It should have sent alarm bells ringing.

I've zero confidence in him, and yeah you're right, I said that since the day he was rumoured to be joining us.

I thought it was a joke then and nothing has happened to change my mind. It gets worse each week.

He was another who came here with nothing to lose.

With a 4 year contract he'll leave ER having probably earned over £1m. You think he cares whether he's here for 4 months or 4 years??

The Hibs job is a pay cheque to him, nothing more.

As soon as he goes back down down south we'll be quickly forgotten and he'll tell everyone how crap Scottish football is and that Hibs don't know what they're doing.

It will 100% be our fault that he failed.

Screw that. Get rid now and make it clear that we expect far better from any potential manager.

25-08-2023, 05:31 PM
No single game is a must win? I'm not sure I understand that. We have had plenty of must win games in the last 5/6 years.

Up there with Hanlons "a derby semi final is just another game" chat. If that's the club captain saying that then what chance do we have.

Well I’m not the club captain luckily for you.

What “must win” games have we had that would have determined the state of the manager?

25-08-2023, 05:32 PM
We're 11th now. We'll still be down here if we don't pick up points. I think that's more likely that going on a winning run.

That some of you thought a manager who goes on wining and losing runs was acceptable is mental to me. 'Streaky lee' being some kind of fun nickname. It should have sent alarm bells ringing.

I've zero confidence in him, and yeah you're right, I said that since the day he was rumoured to be joining us.

I thought it was a joke then and nothing has happened to change my mind. It gets worse each week.

With a 4 year contract he'll leave ER having probably earned over £1m. You think he cares whether he's here for 4 months or 4 years??

As soon as he goes back down down south we'll be quickly forgotten and he'll tell everyone how crap Scottish football is and that Hibs don't know what they're doing.

Screw that. Get rid now and make it clear that we expect far better from any potential manager.

“In your opinion”

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 05:32 PM
I was in the pub in Luzern when he told people the team.

Quite incredible how unprofessional he is.

His posturing and desperation to be loved/feel important is embarrassing.

I've got no doubt he's been shooting his mouth off again.

Him, and the lack of direction from the top, are as big a problem as Johnson.

Well if it's true what a mess we are in ! And there should really be a " Ben kensell out " thread in all . Owners need to deal with this issue pronto .

25-08-2023, 05:35 PM
Well if it's true what a mess we are in ! And there should really be a " Ben kensell out " thread in all . Owners need to deal with this issue pronto .

It passed off with minimum comment in the wake of the excellent result in Luzern but it was a pretty serious matter tbh.

Had we lost in Luzern then I think more would have been made of it (whilst not saying it would have been his fault at all, the reaction and the "joining of the dots" would have been different.)

I don't think there should be a "Kensall out" thread, mainly because I'm a bit bemused by the levels of seethe on here currently. We were beaten as expected on Wednesday and our previous two games were a progression in a domestic cup competition and an excellent progression in a European competition. Our last stinker was the best part of a fortnight and 3 games ago so I don't know why there should be so much aggro flying around today.

5pm tomorrow if we don't win, I could quite understand...

25-08-2023, 05:42 PM
Seems like a bit of an overreaction to me, maybe it’s just me. Yeah Kensell shouldn’t have said what he did. Is it the end of the world ? Does it change anything ? I’m more concerned he sat through 7 hours listening to Johnson and thought he was the man for us, than being candid with fans who had travelled hundreds of miles to follow the team. By all accounts he came over to speak to one’s who’d travelled to Andorra to apologise for the performance. He’s open, yeah too open at times, but I’d prefer that to someone who treats fans as no more than customers.

25-08-2023, 05:46 PM
“In your opinion”

Do we all need to state this on each of our posts, or we can take it as a given?!

25-08-2023, 05:46 PM
Seems like a bit of an overreaction to me, maybe it’s just me. Yeah Kensell shouldn’t have said what he did. Is it the end of the world ? Does it change anything ? I’m more concerned he sat through 7 hours listening to Johnson and thought he was the man for us, than being candid with fans who had travelled hundreds of miles to follow the team. By all accounts he came over to speak to one’s who’d travelled to Andorra to apologise for the performance. He’s open, yeah too open at times, but I’d prefer that to someone who treats fans as no more than customers.

Agree with this.

25-08-2023, 05:49 PM
Do we all need to state this on each of our posts, or we can take it as a given?!

You make some pretty bold claims in your post. That Johnson is only here for a paycheque for one which I think is probably a stretch too far.

Even if you don’t like the guy, which is patently obvious, making insulting comments to try and strengthen your argument further is just pish.

It’s like me saying I don’t like Steven Naismith, and he’s a bad parent.

I don’t know that, how could I? I just say it to try and put more weight behind my point.

25-08-2023, 05:57 PM

Even accepting much of this as being true (which I don't) Johnson and his future career prospects will not be helped by having a failure at Hibs on his CV, so whilst you can throw any number of accusations at him or hold any number of justifiable opinions regarding his competence and suitability to be manager of our club, I think much of this is grossly unfair.

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 06:13 PM
It passed off with minimum comment in the wake of the excellent result in Luzern but it was a pretty serious matter tbh.

Had we lost in Luzern then I think more would have been made of it (whilst not saying it would have been his fault at all, the reaction and the "joining of the dots" would have been different.)

I don't think there should be a "Kensall out" thread, mainly because I'm a bit bemused by the levels of seethe on here currently. We were beaten as expected on Wednesday and our previous two games were a progression in a domestic cup competition and an excellent progression in a European competition. Our last stinker was the best part of a fortnight and 3 games ago so I don't know why there should be so much aggro flying around today.

5pm tomorrow if we don't win, I could quite understand...

Results are irrelevant as far as I'm concerned on this , it's already been acknowledged that Kinsell told folk what our team was going to be and now he's been telling folk the manager's position which was totally unprofessional . I think it was also unfair and disrespectful to our current manager on something that shouldn't have been made public either.

Its clear this guy can't be trusted with stuff going on at the club . He's totally out of order and not for the first time either . For me it's grounds for dismissal and if the Owners don't act and get rid off him I lost all respect for them in the way there running our club .
BEN KINSELL GTF .

25-08-2023, 06:19 PM
Kensell looks a right poser with fake tan and fancy suits etc not my cup of tea

Maybe it’s best if the lads all went Johnson and co and get hibs minded people at board level and next coaching staff

25-08-2023, 06:50 PM
Admin can you undelete a deleted message.

25-08-2023, 06:59 PM

Aye, let's no bother trying to qualify for Europe anymore 🙃

25-08-2023, 07:04 PM

Enough is enough.

Someone not getting enough attention at home? Everyone has a right to their opinion but you're just looking for a rise.

25-08-2023, 07:20 PM

No, if we'd finished 6th we'd not be getting skelpt by Villa and embarrased by the minnows from Andorra.

We qualified on our own right.

Basildon Hibs
25-08-2023, 07:25 PM
Kensell looks a right poser with fake tan and fancy suits etc not my cup of tea

Maybe it’s best if the lads all went Johnson and co and get hibs minded people at board level and next coaching staff

Kensell can be 'Swiss Tony' to LJ's 'David Brent'.
😁😉

25-08-2023, 07:32 PM

Guys I was speaking to in Luzern were in the pub with him on Thursday afternoon and said he did reveal the team. They also said they asked him about Johnson getting sacked, but he refused to get drawn on that - which of course would be the professional thing to do.

Not saying your mates story didn't happen, but seems a bit strange that he would reveal to some and not others.

25-08-2023, 07:45 PM
Guys I was speaking to in Luzern were in the pub with him on Thursday afternoon and said he did reveal the team. They also said they asked him about Johnson getting sacked, but he refused to get drawn on that - which of course would be the professional thing to do.

Not saying your mates story didn't happen, but seems a bit strange that he would reveal to some and not others.

Maybe more drink had flowed by then….

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 07:47 PM
Maybe more drink had flowed by then….

If that's the case then he should definitely be sacked for being unprofessional.

25-08-2023, 07:59 PM
Results are irrelevant as far as I'm concerned on this , it's already been acknowledged that Kinsell told folk what our team was going to be and now he's been telling folk the manager's position which was totally unprofessional . I think it was also unfair and disrespectful to our current manager on something that shouldn't have been made public either.

Its clear this guy can't be trusted with stuff going on at the club . He's totally out of order and not for the first time either . For me it's grounds for dismissal and if the Owners don't act and get rid off him I lost all respect for them in the way there running our club .
BEN KINSELL GTF .

Funny how when Jeffers mate tells him negative things about Lee Johnson you refuse to believe them, they’re not true etc.

When Jeffers mate tells him something negative about the CEO (towards Johnson) it’s all true and the CEO should GTF.

25-08-2023, 08:05 PM
FWIW when I was over there he’d definitely shared the team. Everybody knew it about 4 o’clock. Never heard anything about LJ though and I’m pretty sure that would have spread round quite quickly.

25-08-2023, 08:13 PM
FWIW when I was over there he’d definitely shared the team. Everybody knew it about 4 o’clock. Never heard anything about LJ though and I’m pretty sure that would have spread round quite quickly.

This definitely :agree:. Was there as well when he mouthed off about the team. Never heard him say anything about LJ though. Thats not to say he never mind you.

25-08-2023, 08:18 PM
Don’t forget if LJ was sacked Ben would know the pressure would be on him too for another failed manager.

They are both in a situation where LJ is getting paid a comfortable wage and Ben is taking home a massive wage.

LJ is going to have to go on an absolutely awful run to get sacked - sadly things have to get a lot worse before they get better.

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 08:23 PM
Funny how when Jeffers mate tells him negative things about Lee Johnson you refuse to believe them, they’re not true etc.

When Jeffers mate tells him something negative about the CEO (towards Johnson) it’s all true and the CEO should GTF.

Other folk on here have said that Kinsell had told folk our team and said there's been other issues as well apart from Jeffers ! Haven't seen or heard as many on about LJ throwing players under the bus . Certainly not seen any evidence of it!.

I don't really know if Kinsell has spoke about the manager position to folk though if he has he's undermined the manager and been totally unprofessional.

Don't know what's your gripe with me though I never said " IT WAS TRUE " as I've used " IF IT IS " more than once .

25-08-2023, 08:26 PM
Other folk on here have said that Kinsell had told folk our team and said there's been other issues as well apart from Jeffers ! Haven't seen or heard as many on about LJ throwing players under the bus . Certainly not seen any evidence of it!.

I don't really know if Kinsell has spoke about the manager position to folk though if he has he's undermined the manager and been totally unprofessional.

Don't know what's your gripe with me though I never said " IT WAS TRUE " as I've used " IF IT IS " more than once .

Coming out and saying a player only ran at 83% and doing that in public is chucking a player under the bus. But plenty on here want the manager to do that. It will only build resentment. Also his comment “I’ll be fine at Villa I hope the boys will be “ paraphrased obv. But it’s poor.

LewysGot2
25-08-2023, 08:28 PM

Likewise. The person who told me I believe 100% They were there. It's not good patter.

I noted SJM made a very deliberate reference to how things have changed at the club since Leeann stepped away. And he wasn't implying it was for the better. Very clearly mentioning her - there's no doubt his brothers will have their own take on their time at the club that he will be aware of.

Bridge hibs
25-08-2023, 08:35 PM
Coming out and saying a player only ran at 83% and doing that in public is chucking a player under the bus. But plenty on here want the manager to do that. It will only build resentment. Also his comment “I’ll be fine at Villa I hope the boys will be “ paraphrased obv. But it’s poor.Oh come on, throwing him under a bus, this is what he said, hardly a bloody hanging offence is it ?

"I looked on the GPS because I'm psychotic like that and he ran at 82 per cent of his maximum. So I asked him if a lion had been behind him, how much of his maximum would he have gone and he said 103 per cent, which I thought was quite funny.

"But it proves you have to do the work early and honestly. Will's one of the most honest players we've got, he's never shirked anything, but on that occasion he's either underestimated the opponent's opportunity and thought he could amble in or fatigue's stopped him going as fast as he can.

"It's about motivation and how much you want to get there. I don't do it to dig anyone out and punish them. We have to learn from this.

Donegal Hibby
25-08-2023, 08:39 PM
Oh come on, throwing him under a bus, this is what he said, hardly a bloody hanging offence is it ?

"I looked on the GPS because I'm psychotic like that and he ran at 82 per cent of his maximum. So I asked him if a lion had been behind him, how much of his maximum would he have gone and he said 103 per cent, which I thought was quite funny.

"But it proves you have to do the work early and honestly. Will's one of the most honest players we've got, he's never shirked anything, but on that occasion he's either underestimated the opponent's opportunity and thought he could amble in or fatigue's stopped him going as fast as he can.

"It's about motivation and how much you want to get there. I don't do it to dig anyone out and punish them. We have to learn from this.

Thanks mate for saving me the bother of posting this ! . 👍

25-08-2023, 08:44 PM
Oh come on, throwing him under a bus, this is what he said, hardly a bloody hanging offence is it ?

He’s questioning the player’s desire, after previously saying he didn’t know if fatigue stopped him. Hanging offence no, but his comments in public aren’t good management. Not just me that thinks that, the players were not impressed either.

Bridge hibs
25-08-2023, 08:49 PM
He’s questioning the player’s desire, after previously saying he didn’t know if fatigue stopped him. Hanging offence no, but his comments in public aren’t good management. Not just me that thinks that, the players were not impressed either.He also praised Fish, that seems to have been lost in amongst all the teeth gnashing though it appears

If that was an isolated result and we had been playing well prior to that you can bet your arse there wouldnt have been an eye batted

Oh and for the record, Im not an LJ fan either by the way

25-08-2023, 08:59 PM
He also praised Fish, that seems to have been lost in amongst all the teeth gnashing though it appears

If that was an isolated result and we had been playing well prior to that you can bet your arse there wouldnt have been an eye batted

My teeth are perfectly fine. He can praise him all he wants but he’s still questioning the player’s character and desire. If you think it’s good management fair enough, but like I said the players weren’t happy with it either so they must have missed the praise too…..

7Hero
25-08-2023, 09:02 PM
I'm not getting behind him, end of..

h1bs4life
25-08-2023, 09:06 PM
Thought a good appointment to start with changed my mind couple of times now in the get rid ASAP camp.
He doesn’t have a clue , no idea what his best team is , bizarre team selections substitutions and a slaver.
Was back last Wednesday after the game watching Sky Sports news when his interview come on .
‘ Tie is over but now want to see my players play with a football arrogance next week , I am used to Villa Park as a player / manager want to see what the boys can do ‘
Cringed when. I heard him even the presenters had a look of disbelief with his comments .
Must be popular with the press as they barely have to ask him a question before he havers on .
Latest is defeats hurts Lee Johnson more than anybody , can assure you that not the case ya slaver
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66620080

25-08-2023, 09:07 PM

Totally agree. This is one of the worst examples of throwing someone under a bus I've ever seen. Absolutely nothing wrong with it.

25-08-2023, 09:13 PM
Totally agree. This is one of the worst examples of throwing someone under a bus I've ever seen. Absolutely nothing wrong with it.

Must be our Johnson agenda that makes us think it was throwing Fish under the bus. I guess the players must have an agenda too.

25-08-2023, 09:13 PM
He also praised Fish, that seems to have been lost in amongst all the teeth gnashing though it appears

So do it behind close doors. None of us need to know that. Deal with it behind close doors.

25-08-2023, 09:17 PM

Loads wrong with it. You do it in private. You don’t say a player didn’t work hard enough to the press. You and me do not need to know what % he ran at. We lose goals due to him pressing the whole team up the pitch. Not because a CB ran back at 83%.

25-08-2023, 09:24 PM
Must be our Johnson agenda that makes us think it was throwing Fish under the bus. I guess the players must have an agenda too.

Who said anything about an agenda? Are you ok? Genuine question - you seem completely unable to cope with anyone disagreeing, like you're taking this very, very personally.

Did ALL the players think he threw him under the bus? And for those that do think that, to what extent?

25-08-2023, 09:26 PM
Loads wrong with it. You do it in private. You don’t say a player didn’t work hard enough to the press. You and me do not need to know what % he ran at. We lose goals due to him pressing the whole team up the pitch. Not because a CB ran back at 83%.

Have to say I agreed with Matty and I didn’t think there was a hell of a lot wrong with what he said. You do make a good point though, knowing what football fans are like, publicly telling everyone one of our players didn’t try probably didn’t do the player any favours.

I know the counter argument would be the player should have ran at 100% but I doubt he made the conscious decision to do that, I think that was pretty much LJ’s point but he probably shouldn’t have used specific names and there probably wasn’t the need to go into such detail in hindsight.

All a bit of a moot point really though, what folk think of these quotes won’t make any difference, performances and results will keep LJ in a job, not what he says in an interview.

25-08-2023, 09:28 PM

When you read the whole quote in context he's not digging him out though, it's just an example, he's already done the private bit with Fish.

I thought it was interesting, I even thought the lion question - as daft as it was - was a good way to make the point.

I would genuinely be questioning the character of any players who get Johnson overstepped the mark with what was a totally harmless comment.

25-08-2023, 09:35 PM
Coming out and saying a player only ran at 83% and doing that in public is chucking a player under the bus. But plenty on here want the manager to do that. It will only build resentment. Also his comment “I’ll be fine at Villa I hope the boys will be “ paraphrased obv. But it’s poor.

He said he knew Villa park and hoped players would cope not that he would be fine at Villa. Just making it up now

25-08-2023, 09:36 PM
Who said anything about an agenda? Are you ok? Genuine question - you seem completely unable to cope with anyone disagreeing, like you're taking this very, very personally.

Did ALL the players think he threw him under the bus? And for those that do think that, to what extent?

:faf: Unable to cope ? Tell me you are not being serious. We are having a discussion, toing and froing, the standard answer when someone says anything negative about Johnson is we must have an agenda, maybe you’ve missed that ? Still you can determine someone’s state of mind from posts on a message board. Maybe your next podcast can be a medical one.

Johnson’s comments caused a rift. Direct from the same person who told the fans the team news in Luzern.

25-08-2023, 09:36 PM
Have to say I agreed with Matty and I didn’t think there was a hell of a lot wrong with what he said. You do make a good point though, knowing what football fans are like, publicly telling everyone one of our players didn’t try probably didn’t do the player any favours.

I know the counter argument would be the player should have ran at 100% but I doubt he made the conscious decision to do that, I think that was pretty much LJ’s point but he probably shouldn’t have used specific names and there probably wasn’t the need to go into such detail in hindsight.

All a bit of a moot point really though, what folk think of these quotes won’t make any difference, performances and results will keep LJ in a job, not what he says in an interview.

He didn’t say he didn’t try just that he could have tried harder.

Bridge hibs
25-08-2023, 09:38 PM
My teeth are perfectly fine. He can praise him all he wants but he’s still questioning the player’s character and desire. If you think it’s good management fair enough, but like I said the players weren’t happy with it either so they must have missed the praise too…..

I never said it was good management, I said its hardly throwing the laddie under a bus which folk seem to be getting worked up about

25-08-2023, 09:43 PM
:faf: Unable to cope ? Tell me you are not being serious. We are having a discussion, toing and froing, the standard answer when someone says anything negative about Johnson is we must have an agenda, maybe you’ve missed that ? Still you can determine someone’s state of mind from posts on a message board. Maybe your next podcast can be a medical one.

Johnson’s comments caused a rift. Direct from the same person who told the fans the team news in Luzern.

I didn't determine anything, just asked if you were ok and explained why. I'm glad you're ok.

Why not just say Kensell told you?

Chorley Hibee
25-08-2023, 09:45 PM
Don’t forget if LJ was sacked Ben would know the pressure would be on him too for another failed manager.

They are both in a situation where LJ is getting paid a comfortable wage and Ben is taking home a massive wage.

LJ is going to have to go on an absolutely awful run to get sacked - sadly things have to get a lot worse before they get better.

That's my worry too.

25-08-2023, 09:46 PM
I didn't determine anything, just asked if you were ok and explained why. I'm glad you're ok.

Why not just say Kensell told you?

I’m absolutely fine. All I’m doing is the same as you do countless times, responding to posts you don’t agree with.

Does it really matter ? Did you find it difficult to work out who I meant ? Are you OK ? Genuine question.

25-08-2023, 09:47 PM
I'm at the stage now where i'm too stubborn to want him to stay, even if we came back and won 6-5 against Villa, then went on a run that won us the treble, i'd still want him out.

25-08-2023, 09:48 PM
I'm at the stage now where i'm too stubborn to want him to stay, even if we came back and won 6-5 against Villa, then went on a run that won us the treble, i'd still want him out.

25-08-2023, 09:53 PM
I never said it was good management, I said its hardly throwing the laddie under a bus which folk seem to be getting worked up about

I’m not in any way getting worked up. I think he’s a poor man manager. And I know loads of managers do it. I think more will come out in time.

25-08-2023, 09:53 PM
I’m absolutely fine. All I’m doing is the same as you do countless times, responding to posts you don’t agree with.

Does it really matter ? Did you find it difficult to work out who I meant ? Are you OK ? Genuine question.

Now, we know that's not a genuine question but I'll humour it and say yes, I'm fine thank you for asking.

25-08-2023, 09:54 PM
I’m not in any way getting worked up. I think he’s a poor man manager. And I know loads of managers do it. I think more will come out in time.

I think you're probably right, but I think that specific example isn't an issue.

25-08-2023, 09:54 PM
Now, we know that's not a genuine question but I'll humour it and say yes, I'm fine thank you for asking.

Of course it wasn’t. I was being a dick, but c’mon Matty I’m not doing anything posting wise I don’t always do am I ?

25-08-2023, 10:02 PM
I think you're probably right, but I think that specific example isn't an issue.

Turn it into a business world. Everyone goes to a townhall. The ceo gets a guy on stage and say we won’t be getting a bonus coz this guy only worked at 83% so we lost a deal.

I wouldn’t be surprised if Fish moved on in January

Bridge hibs
25-08-2023, 10:02 PM
I’m not in any way getting worked up. I think he’s a poor man manager. And I know loads of managers do it. I think more will come out in time.Yeah, loads of managers do it the length and breadth of the country at all levels, however when LJ says anything it seems to be magnified ten fold, not just “throwing a player under a bus” but it seems everytime he says something he is jumped upon and folk seem to take things as gospel and hammer him for it

I find some of his stuff mildly amusing, he frustrates me as a manager but Im not going to get worked up about what he says nor sit behind a keyboard and act like a 5 year old and call him names

Bridge hibs
25-08-2023, 10:03 PM
Turn it into a business world. Everyone goes to a townhall. The ceo gets a guy on stage and say we won’t be getting a bonus coz this guy only worked at 83% so we lost a deal.

Isnt Fish only here until January anyway ?

25-08-2023, 10:07 PM

The loan will be reviewed in January.

25-08-2023, 10:09 PM

For a number of reasons, that comparison doesn't work.

If he'd said "we conceded that goal because Will Fish didn't run hard enough and that's the sole reason we lost" then you can compare, and I'd also agree that it would be throwing him under the bus.

What he actually said is tantamount to him saying Fish made a mistake and then he goes on to give some mitigation for it. There's a big difference between the two scenarios.

25-08-2023, 10:12 PM
Yeah, loads of managers do it the length and breadth of the country at all levels, however when LJ says anything it seems to be magnified ten fold, not just “throwing a player under a bus” but it seems everytime he says something he is jumped upon and folk seem to take things as gospel and hammer him for it

I find some of his stuff mildly amusing, he frustrates me as a manager but Im not going to get worked up about what he says nor sit behind a keyboard and act like a 5 year old and call him names

Genuinely I can’t remember a manager who does it as often. Maybe that’s age catching up on me though.

I think you are reading too much into folk getting worked up. The point was well made by Bingo. He’s questioned the player’s desire, his character and done so in public, which could end with some fans thinking that Fish is a lazy bassa. Any praise he made did get lost when he’s calling the player out for basically not trying. It’s even worse for me that he goes on to admit he didn’t know if it was fatigue that was responsible.

25-08-2023, 10:16 PM
If the players have more of a problem with what Johnson has said there than they have with a player not giving 100% to get back and try to prevent us losing an important, late goal in an important game then the whole shower of them can gtf.

25-08-2023, 10:19 PM
If the players have more of a problem with what Johnson has said there than they have with a player not giving 100% to get back and try to prevent us losing an important, late goal in an important game then the whole shower of them can gtf.

This is also a good point.

25-08-2023, 10:20 PM
Genuinely I can’t remember a manager who does it as often. Maybe that’s age catching up on me though.

I think you are reading too much into folk getting worked up. The point was well made by Bingo. He’s questioned the player’s desire, his character and done so in public, which could end with some fans thinking that Fish is a lazy bassa. Any praise he made did get lost when he’s calling the player out for basically not trying. It’s even worse for me that he goes on to admit he didn’t know if it was fatigue that was responsible.

What part of this questions his desire or character?

25-08-2023, 10:28 PM
What part of this questions his desire or character?

Well we will no doubt disagree but “it’s about motivation and how much you want to get there” I interpret as questioning his desire. And at the risk of repeating myself he’s making these comments while saying possibly fatigue’s stopped him going as fast as he can. Given his preseason that’s entirely possible.

If he wants to say this in private fine. I really don’t see what doing so in public achieves.

uwxm07
25-08-2023, 10:31 PM
In my 57 years on this planet I've come to realise that many Hibs fans just go to watch Hibs to moan and only support the team when they're winning, even then some still bump their gums about every mistake no matter how small that some players make.

Some of the negative comments are laughable and ridiculous and I genuinely ask myself if there are fans of other clubs up to skulduggery amongst the moaners. Being a Hibs fan is always going to be a roller coaster ride, either enjoy the ups and downs or find another team or hobby because the chances are high that the next management team can only piss with the cock they have too.

25-08-2023, 10:34 PM
Well we will no doubt disagree but “it’s about motivation and how much you want to get there” I interpret as questioning his desire. And at the risk of repeating myself he’s making these comments while saying possibly fatigue’s stopped him going as fast as he can. Given his preseason that’s entirely possible.

If he wants to say this in private fine. I really don’t see what doing so in public achieves.

When he's framed that with "Will's one of the most honest players we've got, he's never shirked anything.." and then put it down to an error of judgment or fatigue, it's about as far away as you can get from questioning his character.

Context is important, it's not fair to pick out one bit but ignore the part that literally changes the point being made.

25-08-2023, 10:44 PM
When he's framed that with "Will's one of the most honest players we've got, he's never shirked anything.." and then put it down to an error of judgment or fatigue, it's about as far away as you can get from questioning his character.

Context is important, it's not fair to pick out one bit but ignore the part that literally changes the point being made.

��Isn’t that exactly what you’ve just done by ignoring the part about motivation and how much you want to get there ? If you only reference the bit above I agree with you, but the motivation part absolutely changes the context.

We are never going to agree on this which is perfectly fine. I’ve no wish to continue to labour the point ‘cos I’m only repeating what I’ve said 2 or 3 times now regarding this. Ultimately it doesn’t matter whether I think it’s bad management or you think it’s good. What matters is how the players respond to it and as I’ve said the comments caused a rift.

uwxm07
25-08-2023, 10:48 PM
Managing people to motivate and improve performance is a complex process . Feedback it the critical bit -three positives before you give a negative in a constructive manner -otherwise you simply destroy individual confidence.
You also need to understand the individual and how they will respond to the feedback and adjust accordingly,with the balance of positive and advice for constructive improvement .
Doing this via the “ Hibs Positive Scottish Media” is frankly a no win situation.
The player generally speak positively about LJ, however he wears dodgy footwear and has dubious fashion sense according to some.

He has improved Hibs results on the whole -it’s not perfect and there is lots to still improve - but while disappointed our result b Luzern was more important than anything we did against Villa .
Focus on the rest of the season and get behind the team

25-08-2023, 10:50 PM

He’s not ruining our club, he’s just not good enough to make it better. If we hadn’t punted out two previous managers like we did, he’d be gone already

25-08-2023, 10:52 PM
🤷 Isn’t that exactly what you’ve just done by ignoring the part about motivation and how much you want to get there ? If you only reference the bit above I agree with you, but the motivation part absolutely changes the context.

No, it's not because I'm acknowledging it's there by saying it's been framed by the bit I quoted.

The whole quote shows that Johnson goes out his way to reinforce that he's not questioning Fish's character. He specifically days he's one of the most honest and never shirks anything.

How you can read that whole quote and draw the conclusion that Johnson is questioning his character blows my mind.

Ship of Hope
25-08-2023, 10:57 PM
Ok guys go easy on me it’s my first ever post!
Think we all need to get behind the team, the manager and the coaching staff.

Last season for sure had it’s ups and downs but the end result was we finished where our budget said we should. This season so far, yes the result in Andorra was poor.. embarrassed yes.. by our fans reaction not the team! Lucerne we punched above our weight and if the second leg jad been at home would have merited an SOL. Anyone that suggests the players do not try is way off the mark. We are hibs.. if your only gratification is winning every week then go support Celtic. My son was recently a mascot at the hearts game last year and you could see in every player how much they were up for it. I will never doubt there commitment to the club. like every profession you have your good days and bad days. Some you win and some you lose. I am thankful when I was in my twenties every time I made a mistake 10,000 people booed.

LG seems to be highly regarded in the football world, except for the hibs support that obviously are more tactically aware with a better football acumen. We had poor luck with injuries last season, our two best players missing most, yet narrowly missed out on 3rd. His first transfer window at christmas seemed positive with the introduction of jeggo, fish and cj. The post split points haul was the most I can remember. We beat hearts, celtic, aberdeen 6-0, lucerne. Think we meed to give the guy a break.

my first game was pat stantons testimonial, I am old but hopefully around for a while yet. We demand so much from the players and staff and harp on about hibs class. Yet we abuse the players and staff, boo at half time coz we are 1-0 down, walk out with 20 mins to go coz we are 4-0 down to AV.. we need to lean how to win together and lose together… I cant help but feel we are driving the negative press we are getting. We are being let down by individual errors and in particular crosses into the box.. centre half need to wake up.. not a LG issue IMO.

personally I stay to the end no matter the score and clap the players off the park. Is tuat not what a supporter does? The season has only just begun, lets see where we are at christmas. It’s going to be another close league where everyone goes on bad runs. Lets get right behind the team and management and maximise our potential.

25-08-2023, 11:00 PM
No, it's not because I'm acknowledging it's there by saying it's been framed by the bit I quoted.

The whole quote shows that Johnson goes out his way to reinforce that he's not questioning Fish's character. He specifically days he's one of the most honest and never shirks anything.

How you can read that whole quote and draw the conclusion that Johnson is questioning his character blows my mind.

He’s praised him and also had a go at him. Don’t expect you to agree with my take it on but my conclusion blowing your mind is a strange one.

uwxm07
25-08-2023, 11:00 PM
He’s not ruining our club, he’s just not good enough to make it better. If we hadn’t punted out two previous managers like we did, he’d be gone already

Punting the managers repeatedly without 2-3years to turn the ship around is pointless-set a vision a plan and provide the resource to deliver is a pointless waste of time and money.
As per the “Bread Man’sSong” he’d need a f… in wand

Key West
25-08-2023, 11:08 PM

25-08-2023, 11:09 PM
He’s praised him and also had a go at him. Don’t expect you to agree with my take it on but my conclusion blowing your mind is a strange one.

It's not strange to wonder how you could read all that and come to the conclusion that he's questioned Will Fish's motivation and his character.

Motivation, you could maybe at a stretch make a case for because of the lion question and answer, but what he actually puts it down to isn't motivation or character, it's judgement or fatigue.

25-08-2023, 11:13 PM

On current form is it a bad thing? Hanlon has been poor but would argue Fish has been worse.

25-08-2023, 11:16 PM
Ok guys go easy on me it’s my first ever post!
Think we all need to get behind the team, the manager and the coaching staff.

Last season for sure had it’s ups and downs but the end result was we finished where our budget said we should. This season so far, yes the result in Andorra was poor.. embarrassed yes.. by our fans reaction not the team! Lucerne we punched above our weight and if the second leg jad been at home would have merited an SOL. Anyone that suggests the players do not try is way off the mark. We are hibs.. if your only gratification is winning every week then go support Celtic. My son was recently a mascot at the hearts game last year and you could see in every player how much they were up for it. I will never doubt there commitment to the club. like every profession you have your good days and bad days. Some you win and some you lose. I am thankful when I was in my twenties every time I made a mistake 10,000 people booed.

LG seems to be highly regarded in the football world, except for the hibs support that obviously are more tactically aware with a better football acumen. We had poor luck with injuries last season, our two best players missing most, yet narrowly missed out on 3rd. His first transfer window at christmas seemed positive with the introduction of jeggo, fish and cj. The post split points haul was the most I can remember. We beat hearts, celtic, aberdeen 6-0, lucerne. Think we meed to give the guy a break.

my first game was pat stantons testimonial, I am old but hopefully around for a while yet. We demand so much from the players and staff and harp on about hibs class. Yet we abuse the players and staff, boo at half time coz we are 1-0 down, walk out with 20 mins to go coz we are 4-0 down to AV.. we need to lean how to win together and lose together… I cant help but feel we are driving the negative press we are getting. We are being let down by individual errors and in particular crosses into the box.. centre half need to wake up.. not a LG issue IMO.

personally I stay to the end no matter the score and clap the players off the park. Is tuat not what a supporter does? The season has only just begun, lets see where we are at christmas. It’s going to be another close league where everyone goes on bad runs. Lets get right behind the team and management and maximise our potential.

Welcome to the forum SoH and I agree with what you say. 👍

25-08-2023, 11:18 PM
Thing is, we could beat Livi 2-1. My problem is that by doing so Johnson gets until Christmas even if we lose the majority of the other games.

25-08-2023, 11:20 PM
Thing is, we could beat Livi 2-1. My problem is that by doing so Johnson gets until Christmas even if we lose the majority of the other games.

Would you rather we lost to Livi if it got Johnson closer to the exit door?

25-08-2023, 11:20 PM
It's not strange to wonder how you could read all that and come to the conclusion that he's questioned Will Fish's motivation and his character.

Motivation, you could maybe at a stretch make a case for because of the lion question and answer, but what he actually puts it down to isn't motivation or character, it's judgement or fatigue.

I feel like I’m on holiday and I’m having a conversation with someone and we speak different languages.

I’m not alone in thinking his comments were questioning Fish.

I will leave it there.

uwxm07
25-08-2023, 11:26 PM
Welcome to the forum SoH and I agree with what you say. 👍

👍

uwxm07
25-08-2023, 11:33 PM
On current form is it a bad thing? Hanlon has been poor but would argue Fish has been worse.

So how do you develop a promising 20 year old ? Constructive feedback or a good slating about how bad he’s been ?
( he’s been fine by the way -slightly down on his end of season performances but we only just kicked off)

25-08-2023, 11:36 PM

You'd rather Hibs lost so we could replace our manager. I think that's vindictive and reprehensible.

You're not the only one to think that way though, but at least you're honest.

25-08-2023, 11:59 PM
I feel like I’m on holiday and I’m having a conversation with someone and we speak different languages.

I’m not alone in thinking his comments were questioning Fish.

I will leave it there.

No worries, but just because I'm bored and it's late - here's chat gpt's explanation of the quote:

The soccer manager is emphasizing the importance of putting in effort and being sincere from the start. He mentions that Will Fish, the player in question, is generally hardworking and truthful. However, in a specific instance, the manager believes that Will might have either underestimated the opponent's chance or his own fatigue hindered his speed. The manager is discussing the role of motivation and determination in reaching goals. He clarifies that his intention isn't to criticize or penalize anyone, but rather to extract a lesson for the team to learn from this situation. It doesn't seem like the manager is questioning Will's character; rather, he's using this as a learning opportunity for the team as a whole.

uwxm07
25-08-2023, 11:59 PM
You'd rather Hibs lost so we could replace our manager. I think that's vindictive and reprehensible.

“Manchester United manager Erik ten Hag has accused his players of not running enough in their defeat at Tottenham.”
Has he been picking up tips from LJ ?

26-08-2023, 12:03 AM

It's vindictive like cutting off a finger to save the arm.

LJ 's time here has been a constant struggle to keep his job, missing important targets and returning less than our investment. That's not good for the rest of the body of the club.

Donegal Hibby
26-08-2023, 12:20 AM
https://www.espn.co.uk/football/story/_/id/38257879/ten-hag-manchester-united-players-stopped-running-spurs-loss

Donegal Hibby
26-08-2023, 12:32 AM

LJ 's time here has been a constant struggle to keep his job, missing important targets and returning less than our investment. That's not good for the rest of the body of the club.

I think one of our targets last year was to qualify for Europe which we did ! I also think we have done about as good as we could in Europe considering we got Aston Villa . Hopefully it's made the club a bit of cash as well 😉

uwxm07
26-08-2023, 12:34 AM
I think one of our targets last year was to qualify for Europe which we did ! I also think we have done about as good as we could in Europe considering we got Aston Villa . Hopefully it's made the club a bit of cash as well 😉

So meeting the short term objectives in my book

uwxm07
26-08-2023, 12:35 AM

What were the objectives he missed ?

Donegal Hibby
26-08-2023, 12:41 AM
So meeting the short term objectives in my book

And mine too mate 👍

26-08-2023, 02:48 AM

Sounds like a roundabout way of saying you'd accept a loss or two to get rid of LJ.

I agree it's vindictive but I don't thing we agree on what vindictive means. Do you mean vindicated?

Skol
26-08-2023, 05:54 AM
It isn’t physically possible to run at 100% for 90 minutes. I would guess 200 metres is about as far as you could hold your max effort. 83% is probably pretty good. I doubt any gps is accurate enough to measure over the short distsnce

Tinnitus
26-08-2023, 06:02 AM
No worries, but just because I'm bored and it's late - here's chat gpt's explanation of the quote:

The soccer manager is emphasizing the importance of putting in effort and being sincere from the start. He mentions that Will Fish, the player in question, is generally hardworking and truthful. However, in a specific instance, the manager believes that Will might have either underestimated the opponent's chance or his own fatigue hindered his speed. The manager is discussing the role of motivation and determination in reaching goals. He clarifies that his intention isn't to criticize or penalize anyone, but rather to extract a lesson for the team to learn from this situation. It doesn't seem like the manager is questioning Will's character; rather, he's using this as a learning opportunity for the team as a whole.

It's amazing how clear and concise ChatGPT is. While an actual human would tend to veer into talking nonsense about lions or F1 cars.

I wonder if ChatGPT could maybe advise on some suitable defenders and midfielders.

26-08-2023, 06:27 AM
Thought a good appointment to start with changed my mind couple of times now in the get rid ASAP camp.
He doesn’t have a clue , no idea what his best team is , bizarre team selections substitutions and a slaver.
Was back last Wednesday after the game watching Sky Sports news when his interview come on .
‘ Tie is over but now want to see my players play with a football arrogance next week , I am used to Villa Park as a player / manager want to see what the boys can do ‘
Cringed when. I heard him even the presenters had a look of disbelief with his comments .
Must be popular with the press as they barely have to ask him a question before he havers on .
Latest is defeats hurts Lee Johnson more than anybody , can assure you that not the case ya slaver
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66620080

Well, going by what he said in that article, we're screwed today. Not only do our players lack football intelligence, they don't have the required mental capacity to cope!

"The mental capacity required to play in these games can often affect the physical. And clearly that affected us at Motherwell. The performance we put in three days earlier [against Luzern] cost us.

"We have to find the balance on Saturday between refreshing the energy with the team but still having the threats as much as possible and protecting those threats to allow us to have energy in key moments and that's going to be important.

26-08-2023, 07:11 AM

League Cup certainly I’d have thought?

26-08-2023, 07:20 AM
It's amazing how clear and concise ChatGPT is. While an actual human would tend to veer into talking nonsense about lions or F1 cars.

I wonder if ChatGPT could maybe advise on some suitable defenders and midfielders.

Great idea! :faf:

At the very least it could do the interviews!

26-08-2023, 07:24 AM
Managing people to motivate and improve performance is a complex process . Feedback it the critical bit -three positives before you give a negative in a constructive manner -otherwise you simply destroy individual confidence.
You also need to understand the individual and how they will respond to the feedback and adjust accordingly,with the balance of positive and advice for constructive improvement .
Doing this via the “ Hibs Positive Scottish Media” is frankly a no win situation.
The player generally speak positively about LJ, however he wears dodgy footwear and has dubious fashion sense according to some.

He has improved Hibs results on the whole -it’s not perfect and there is lots to still improve - but while disappointed our result b Luzern was more important than anything we did against Villa .

26-08-2023, 07:29 AM
It isn’t physically possible to run at 100% for 90 minutes. I would guess 200 metres is about as far as you could hold your max effort. 83% is probably pretty good. I doubt any gps is accurate enough to measure over the short distsnce

What point are you trying to make? Do you think LJ was suggesting Fish should be running at 100% for 90 minutes?

26-08-2023, 07:36 AM

Were the points Lee Johnson was making difficult for you to understand?

26-08-2023, 07:38 AM
What point are you trying to make? Do you think LJ was suggesting Fish should be running at 100% for 90 minutes?

His point was that fish could have tried harder to run back. I’d love to know the science behind. What if he only had 83% left in the tank. Either way. Just don’t talk about faults / limitations in staff in public.

26-08-2023, 07:40 AM
His point was that fish could have tried harder to run back. I’d love to know the science behind. What if he only had 83% left in the tank. Either way. Just don’t talk about faults / limitations in staff in public.

Would include self-criticism or is that allowed?

26-08-2023, 07:45 AM

I was asking what point the poster was trying to make not what point LJ was making. Was that not clear from my post?

26-08-2023, 07:48 AM
Would include self-criticism or is that allowed?

Leaders carry the responsibility. Even if it’s staff that screw up. The leader takes the criticism and deflects it away from his staff. Oh and no one needs to post up examples of other managers doing it. So don’t bother firing up Google Donegal. I’m well aware. I don’t like it and it’s a failure of a manager.

If a leader did it to me I’d be off. And I’ve never done it with anyone that’s worked with me.

26-08-2023, 07:48 AM
I was asking what point the poster was trying to make not what point LJ was making. Was that not clear from my post?

Apologies Commander Bond. Carry on.

26-08-2023, 07:51 AM
League Cup certainly I’d have thought?

Certainly at least one half decent cup run assume would expect a quarter final place unless get a shocking draw

26-08-2023, 07:57 AM

Too sensible by far

26-08-2023, 08:07 AM

He suggested that it might have been the case that he only had 83% left in the tank. You just need to read what he said and not just the headline bit.

26-08-2023, 08:07 AM
Apologies Commander Bond. Carry on.

👍

26-08-2023, 08:09 AM
I thought for the first time since he arrived Lee looked really uncomfortable in his Livi pre game interview. I think he's now feeling the pressure. I find him really likeable so never nice to see but we do need a win today or that's just going to increase.

26-08-2023, 08:09 AM
He suggested that it might have been the case that he only had 83% left in the tank. You just need to read what he said and not just the headline bit.

My inherent agenda against him stops me actually reading or listening to any of his interviews Matty. I’ve maybe not been clear on that yet. 😂

26-08-2023, 08:13 AM
Leaders carry the responsibility. Even if it’s staff that screw up. The leader takes the criticism and deflects it away from his staff. Oh and no one needs to post up examples of other managers doing it. So don’t bother firing up Google Donegal. I’m well aware. I don’t like it and it’s a failure of a manager.

If a leader did it to me I’d be off. And I’ve never done it with anyone that’s worked with me.

The principle here is spot on - good leaders take the blame for failures and give credit for successes.

Johnson isn't really doing either here, he's not blaming Fish for anything but using it as an example of where the team needs to be better.

When you read the whole quote, you'd have to be a really sensitive person to be upset by it.

26-08-2023, 08:13 AM
My inherent agenda against him stops me actually reading or listening to any of his interviews Matty. I’ve maybe not been clear on that yet. 😂

Haha!! :faf: very good point!!

26-08-2023, 08:46 AM
“Manchester United manager Erik ten Hag has accused his players of not running enough in their defeat at Tottenham.”

What player did ETH single out?

26-08-2023, 08:50 AM

The cup runs, I expect we'd have targeted 4th for prize money and Europe rather than hoping we got there via the cup winners already being in Europe.

I expect he also has a target of how many minutes should be played by young players, and I doubt he has hit that unless we're including Campbell who was introduced under Lennon and Ross.

Skol
26-08-2023, 08:51 AM

Point is that the stat I reckon is pretty meaningless.

26-08-2023, 08:55 AM

Does that just mean you post constantly without actually knowing anything about what you post about? :greengrin

26-08-2023, 08:56 AM
Point is that the stat I reckon is pretty meaningless.

I guess the only folk who will know how meaningful or meaningless it is are those who have worked in data analysis at a professional football club? It certainly means nothing to me, and I’m at the mercy of someone like Johnson making a compelling case that 83% in a situation like that is unacceptable.

Football’s meant to be like interval training, isn’t it? Bursts at 100% (presumably there’s a big workload for a CH who is chasing back as the opposition beaks when they’ve been up for a corner) with numerous breathers and jogs interspersed throughout the short burst where running full pelt is required?

26-08-2023, 08:58 AM
HR said accepting a loss against Livi to get rid of LJ is vindictive. I disagree - cutting off a finger to save the arm isn't vindictive, it's unpleasant bit necessary for the greater good. Its a euphemism. Do you know what euphemism means?

Or we win then he is sacked during international break if club consider it appropriate.

Anyone genuinely wanting us to lose really need to gtf

26-08-2023, 08:59 AM
Does that just mean you post constantly without actually knowing anything about what you post about? :greengrin

Unless it’s tactics. I’ve read all the books on that. 😂

26-08-2023, 08:59 AM

That applies to pretty much all of us!!

Skol
26-08-2023, 09:01 AM
I guess the only folk who will know how meaningful or meaningless it is are those who have worked in data analysis at a professional football club? It certainly means nothing to me, and I’m at the mercy of someone like Johnson making a compelling case that 83% in a situation like that is unacceptable.

Football’s meant to be like interval training, isn’t it? Bursts at 100% (presumably there’s a big workload for a CH who is chasing back as the opposition beaks when they’ve been up for a corner) with numerous breathers and jogs interspersed throughout the short burst where running full pelt is required?

It’s not even in the data analysis. If we are talking about a very short sprint and messing he only ran at 83% capacity, I do not believe the technology can accurately manage that. It could over a longer distance get some reasonable da5e but that’s measuring something different.

If you have ever worn a gps watch and zoomed in on the trace, it only gets you within about 10m of where you actually are. A run along the canal towpath will record lots of running in the water or on the other side of the water. Granted the kit hibs use might be better quality but I don’t think it can be as accurate as that

Skol
26-08-2023, 09:03 AM
The other bit of date they will use is heart rate and it will take time for the heart to start to work harder. In a short sprint the heart rate spike is likely to be after the sprint has finished.

26-08-2023, 09:04 AM
It’s not even in the data analysis. If we are talking about a very short sprint and messing he only ran at 83% capacity, I do not believe the technology can accurately manage that. It could over a longer distance get some reasonable da5e but that’s measuring something different.

If you have ever worn a gps watch and zoomed in on the trace, it only gets you within about 10m of where you actually are. A run along the canal towpath will record lots of running in the water or on the other side of the water. Granted the kit hibs use might be better quality but I don’t think it can be as accurate as that

Are these not the numbers those sports bra things the players wear will generate though?

I’d expect them to be pretty accurate.

I think you know more about this sort of stuff than me though…

26-08-2023, 09:06 AM
Or we win then he is sacked during international break if club consider it appropriate.

Anyone genuinely wanting us to lose really need to gtf

I've deleted it now because I was being torn faced (and said euphemism rather than analogy). However the analogy stands. Wouldn't willingly lose a finger, but would accept it to stop the spread of the gangrene.

Paulie Walnuts
26-08-2023, 09:09 AM
Are these not the numbers those sports bra things the players wear will generate though?

I’d hazard a guess it’ll be max heart rate/heart rate at that point in the match.

If that’s the case then it wouldn’t consider muscle fatigue etc though so it’s fairly meaningless.

26-08-2023, 09:13 AM
Get behind LJ. It's early days.

Skol
26-08-2023, 09:16 AM

I don’t have experience of the sports bra kit, but from the kit I have used extensively for running then the stats are good for longer term trends but very variable at shorter distances. They are also quite unreliable around tall buildings as the satellite reception gets confused. The stands around the pitch will bring in inaccuracies in the data.

Also, what is someone’s maximum effort. I could run a mile in around 5:30 flat out. That would see my heart rate get to the low 170s. For a 5k I would be about. 6 mins per mile and a similar heart rate. Take it to half marathon distance and add on another 30 seconds per mile but the heart rate will be a few beats lower. For a marathon it’s another 30 seconds a mile and the heart rate will be about 10 lower.

Even looking at a mile I did on a track so I knew it was accurate. The gps had me running at about 5:30 pace but my time was 5:44 as the gps didn’t get me on the bends well. In a football game of twisting and turning then it’s even harder to get good data.

26-08-2023, 09:36 AM
I’ll never get behind the manager. No matter who it is.

Am I doing this right?

26-08-2023, 09:43 AM
That applies to pretty much all of us!!

Generally speaking I tend to read something before I post rubbish about it. Maybe I’m just a bit old fashioned though.

Skol
26-08-2023, 09:45 AM
I’ll never get behind the manager. No matter who it is.

Am I doing this right?

That is a good point. If we sack Johnson, there are some managers out there that some of the support wouldn’t get behind. Martindale, mackay etc. in fact some wouldn’t even fancy mcinnes. I know I don’t think he would be the right man for hibs, but if appointed I would give him a chance and back hi. 100% in the same way I did with Lennon.

26-08-2023, 10:21 AM
I’d hazard a guess it’ll be max heart rate/heart rate at that point in the match.

If that’s the case then it wouldn’t consider muscle fatigue etc though so it’s fairly meaningless.

That's why, you'd think, it's important that if the manager was quoting the figure that he might add some context to it - for example saying it could be down to fatigue or mis-judging the situation.

26-08-2023, 10:23 AM
Generally speaking I tend to read something before I post rubbish about it. Maybe I’m just a bit old fashioned though.

Sorry, I wasn't being serious with it, but U don't think that's old-fashioned, your absolutely right to get the full context wherever possible so you don't jump to conclusions that area demonstrably wrong.

I am fully onboard with your approach.

26-08-2023, 10:26 AM
That is a good point. If we sack Johnson, there are some managers out there that some of the support wouldn’t get behind. Martindale, mackay etc. in fact some wouldn’t even fancy mcinnes. I know I don’t think he would be the right man for hibs, but if appointed I would give him a chance and back hi. 100% in the same way I did with Lennon.

That's another good approach. I support the team and my default position is to back them, including the manager. I want them all to succeed and do well. I'm happy to criticise and say where I think they've gone wrong while still wanting them to succeed. Backing them, while still being able to give an honest opinion when things go wrong, if you like.

26-08-2023, 10:28 AM

There must have been a few busses driving past Old Trafford and he seized the opportunity. :wink:

26-08-2023, 10:33 AM

Will you be actively shouting for Livingston this afternoon or just stiting on your hands in the Hibs end?

I can understand people wanting a change of manager, but actually wanting Hibs to lose to enable that change is despicable.

26-08-2023, 10:46 AM
What player did ETH single out?

LJ talked about Fish once, in what I thought was a balanced and objective way and I thought his lion analogy got the point across very well. The player conceded that he could have put more effort into getting back so message understood.

I thought Matty's Chatgpt explanation was brilliant, by the way.

Does LJ regularly single players out for criticism? I haven't been aware of him doing that, but I could have missed those comments. :dunno:

26-08-2023, 11:07 AM
That's why, you'd think, it's important that if the manager was quoting the figure that he might add some context to it - for example saying it could be down to fatigue or mis-judging the situation.

The sports science people wouldn't use the technology unless it gave them meaningful insights. 100% of a player's capacity at the end of a game will presumably be less than it was at the start, no?

I took it to mean that the 83% was of his capacity at that time in the game.

And remember, the player did say that there were circumstances under which he could have run faster. 🦁

26-08-2023, 11:14 AM
The sports science people wouldn't use the technology unless it gave them meaningful insights. 100% of a player's capacity at the end of a game will presumably be less than it was at the start, no?

And remember, the player did say that there were circumstances under which he could have run faster. 🦁

You'd like to think the data was meaningful enough to be useful for those that use it!

Skol
26-08-2023, 11:18 AM
You'd like to think the data was meaningful enough to be useful for those that use it!

My point is that the data is not precise enough for a very short period of time but looked at in the context of 90 minutes it is.

Johnson picked a bit of data and raised it. Fish made funny comment. O big deal

uwxm07
26-08-2023, 01:28 PM
My point is that the data is not precise enough for a very short period of time but looked at in the context of 90 minutes it is.

Johnson picked a bit of data and raised it. Fish made funny comment. O big deal

As per my previous post -Whatever he says in a short comment to the Hibs”positive at all times “ Scottish media , is highly unlikely to reflect anything about how he speaks to the individual players or the team as a whole.

26-08-2023, 04:09 PM
Today wasn't pretty. The first half was up there as one of the worst halves of football we've seen - marginally better than the 90 minutes at Motherwell last week and 70 minutes of the St Mirren game the week before.

The second half was better, the introduction of Joe Newell turned the game in our favour and we deserved the win in the end, and as with Thursday night, it was job done.

A few of us on here had pegged this week - just as we had the home tie v Inter d'Escalades - as make or break for Johnson.

It *could* have been a disastrous week for LJ and the team, but instead it's been a successful one.

Is it time now for us as a support to lower the pressure on the team by not putting the manager's head on the block with each next result, accept that he's here for the foreseeable and focus on backing him and the team?

Shut up ya gimp.

paddy1875
26-08-2023, 04:10 PM
Shut up ya gimp.

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Bridge hibs
26-08-2023, 04:10 PM
Shut up ya gimp.

****ing slaver 🤣

26-08-2023, 04:11 PM
:top marks:greengrin:thumbsup:

26-08-2023, 04:12 PM
He has to go and anyone that has supported his football is gone at the game. Get Jack back

TrumpIsAPeado
26-08-2023, 04:14 PM
I'll get properly behind him.

As I shove him into the taxi and slam the door shut.

tonyrougier123
26-08-2023, 04:15 PM
Shut up ya gimp.

Don’t worry that’s the expressions of hibs fan on a week to week basis.😂

The thing now is the cracks are so big and obvious it’s hard to take any positives from another bad appointment. We need to be Swift here to salvage the season already.

26-08-2023, 04:17 PM
It's time for everyone to demand change if it isn't forthcoming.

supermcginn
26-08-2023, 04:20 PM
He has to go and anyone that has supported his football is gone at the game. Get Jack back

Livingston finished Ross off aswell, his next act was to get two of Dundee utds worst results in their history and he was only there 5 minutes. LJ must go but Ross can stay down south.

26-08-2023, 04:29 PM
We have zero structure. That’s all down to him.

26-08-2023, 04:30 PM
I’ve been reluctant to join the demands for change simply as a result of growing weary of managerial change. I like LJ and want him to do well, but while there has been some good spells and enjoyable games, when it goes bad it’s proper bad. There always comes a point where you simply can’t argue against a dismissal, and that’s now come for me. Three dreadful league performances against teams we should be confident of beating in what was the most generous run of fixtures to start a league campaign we could ask for, and we’ve lost the lot and find ourselves rooted to bottom of table on zero points.

I didn’t join in with chants or boo, but accept that it’s game over,

26-08-2023, 04:30 PM

It should be more than a Lion chasing some of them, more like all the bloody animals in Jumanji chasing him down the road.

26-08-2023, 04:32 PM
I'd only currently be up for getting behind LJ if it was to forcibly assist with his ejection out the front door.

Getting behind the team from the stands, absolutely.

26-08-2023, 05:16 PM
This thread was never going to age well.

26-08-2023, 05:43 PM
If johnson is no gonna go, then I will and remove my business from my club until he is gone.
If enough poeple do same then he is not going to be in the job for much longer.

26-08-2023, 05:46 PM
Has today changed anything for those who have been vocal in their support of Johnson? If not, what is it they see as the positive case for Johnson continuing to be the best man for the job?

26-08-2023, 05:51 PM
Has today changed anything for those who have been vocal in their support of Johnson? If not, what is it they see as the positive case for Johnson continuing to be the best man for the job?

I wasn't particularly vocal supporting him but I was behind him . Our defence is rank rotten and today Livi exposed the fact that its not getting any better , if anything it's getting worse with each game .
It also looks like he's losing the dressing room , the fans that pay the money have turned on him . It's over . There's no way back for him now

Paulie Walnuts
26-08-2023, 05:57 PM
In answer to the OP. Naw.

chookyembra
26-08-2023, 10:03 PM
I will gladly get behind him and boot his fat arse down Easter Road

26-08-2023, 10:53 PM
So that’s 3 games now! Zero points.