View Full Version : Melkersen

ChuckNor
23-07-2023, 05:11 PM
By most accounts, he appears to have had a poor pre-season. Not that much action and very little involvement while on the pitch. Seems out of his depth at this level with the likes of Dan Mackay and Rudi Molotnikov attracting more plaudits. Melkersen was signed with big expectations on a large fee. Do we cut our losses or keep him around in the hope he shows more than he is now? Could a loan move to a lower premiership/championship side (admittedly, no sure he’s done enough to get a game at the likes of Livingston etc) where he might get more game time work out?

23-07-2023, 05:19 PM
Melkersen is a really weird one. He's done pretty much nothing in a Hibs shirt and missed a sitter against Dundee Utd under Maloney, but for some reason I can't help but think there's a player there.

20 year old laddie so absolutely still learning the game. Maybe the move just came too early in his career. Also, that loan move absolutely didn't help his development, crazy from both the player and Hibs. Just doesn't seem to have developed physically at all.

Unfortunately it's looking more and more likely he doesn't have a future here.

ChuckNor
23-07-2023, 05:43 PM
Melkersen is a really weird one. He's done pretty much nothing in a Hibs shirt and missed a sitter against Dundee Utd under Maloney, but for some reason I can't help but think there's a player there.

20 year old laddie so absolutely still learning the game. Maybe the move just came too early in his career. Also, that loan move absolutely didn't help his development, crazy from both the player and Hibs. Just doesn't seem to have developed physically at all.

That’s the sad truth. It just isn’t working out. The miss against Dundee United cost us top six as well.

There’s part of me that thinks cut our losses, but given his ages and the length on his contract, I feel like we might as well send him on loan and hope it works out. We won’t recoup the losses on the transfer fee on the wages anyway.

So far, only Mueller has been a bigger disappointment in terms of signings.

23-07-2023, 06:17 PM

I’m the same is you.

Part of the problem imo is his position, he’s never a winger imo which is mainly where he’s played the past year. He needs to get a chance through the middle at some point, however he also needs to take it.

In the league I can’t recall many shots he’s had that he’s managed to either create for himself or one I’ve thought “good strike” outwith the game at Motherwell. Even McKirdy done that a couple of times.

The loan imo was Hibs thinking we may be able to decouple more than we paid for him and don’t blame them for accepting that offer.

Paulie Walnuts
23-07-2023, 06:18 PM
Poor player. If we could get rid it would be best for everybody imo.

23-07-2023, 06:20 PM
By most accounts, he appears to have had a poor pre-season. Not that much action and very little involvement while on the pitch. Seems out of his depth at this level with the likes of Dan Mackay and Rudi Molotnikov attracting more plaudits. Melkersen was signed with big expectations on a large fee. Do we cut our losses or keep him around in the hope he shows more than he is now? Could a loan move to a lower premiership/championship side (admittedly, no sure he’s done enough to get a game at the likes of Livingston etc) where he might get more game time work out?

Not had a poor preseason from what I've seen, looks hungry and has great movement, definitely a player in there

23-07-2023, 06:27 PM
I thought he done well against Groningen, worked his socks off and got stuck in. Give the boy a break ffs, no need to start a thread like this.

23-07-2023, 06:28 PM

lots what the internet was invented for I suppose… how many bites?

23-07-2023, 06:28 PM
Scored as many goals as Alf this preseason.

tonyrougier123
23-07-2023, 06:29 PM
Melkerson has something I think,couple of goals and wee bit confidence there’s a striker more than capable of forcing game time.
Only 20 needs a chance. I think if we sign a striker a loan to another club in the league should be looked at if not championship team.

ErinGoBraghHFC
23-07-2023, 06:29 PM
I reckon he’ll be a good player if given a chance and a bit of time, I understand folk getting agitated that he’s not progressed more than he has so far but it really is indicative of the fast food culture we live in and the desire for immediate gratification. Give him a chance ffs we spent good money on him for a reason

Cammy
23-07-2023, 06:33 PM
I thought he done well against Groningen, worked his socks off and got stuck in. Give the boy a break ffs, no need to start a thread like this.

I thought the same. Also thought he held the ball up well to connect with the midfield. I thought he looked pretty confident on the ball.

23-07-2023, 06:34 PM
I think he has more than decent potential , i think to date he has struggled wth the physicallity of the game in Scotland

23-07-2023, 06:37 PM
Until he starts scoring goals for us he’s of no use. It’s now or never for him at Hibs.

23-07-2023, 06:41 PM
Until he starts scoring goals for us he’s of no use. It’s now or never for him at Hibs.Why is it now or never? He's only 20- lots of time to develop

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

23-07-2023, 06:44 PM
Why is it now or never? He's only 20- lots of time to develop

You only develop if you’re playing. He doesn’t look capable of playing for us at the moment. He needs to start making an impact and he needs to start making it now, IMO. He isn’t really any further forward than this time last year.

23-07-2023, 06:50 PM
I like the look of Melkerson, but to be fair to him he was brought in as a long term project with a view to developing him in the Development squad. That never really happened and he was kinda thrown into the first team squad making bit-part appearances from the bench with a few starts thrown in here and there, coupled with pretty dire service into the box and being played out of his preferred position.
To chuck him back into the development set up now to try and progress him a bit would probably put a dent in his already waining confidence. Hopefully working with LaFondre will benefit him this season. 👍

23-07-2023, 06:53 PM
Last season loan has done nothing to aid his development that’s for sure, perhaps a decent financial outcome for the club but maybe short sighted. He should’ve gone somewhere he’d be assured more minutes.

23-07-2023, 06:56 PM
Been given 0 minutes through the middle during preseason while Doidge who we’ve been trying to punt for over a year has played about 3 hours worth of preseason minutes in his preferred position.

23-07-2023, 06:56 PM
If he’s not going to play every week at Hibs, send to another Scottish team where he’ll play most weeks

23-07-2023, 06:58 PM
If I remember correctly he did miss a few good chances including the Dundee United one that people remember. He was getting into space with good movement though.

Think we all expected more by now even though he did go through a tough period with the concussions.

20 year old is still young in football, I don't know how long he has left at Hibs off the top of my head but maybe a loan move could be worth a shot?

23-07-2023, 07:02 PM
Been given 0 minutes through the middle during preseason while Doidge who we’ve been trying to punt for over a year has played about 3 hours worth of preseason minutes in his preferred position.

Could be completely wrong but Doidge and Melkersen played through the middle when they came on against Groningen on Friday night nah?

23-07-2023, 07:10 PM
Not sure LJs thinking, but he had to be impressed by Melkersen, watched him train and play, and he definitely has something

23-07-2023, 07:14 PM
I don’t think he or hibs know his best position at this point

He’s not a winger, he’s not a number 9

I can see him playing in a 2 with a big type player next to him or I could even see him playing just off a forward as a second supporting forward

Cammy
23-07-2023, 07:28 PM
Could be completely wrong but Doidge and Melkersen played through the middle when they came on against Groningen on Friday night nah?

Yeah, looked like that to me.

Keepthefaith
23-07-2023, 07:32 PM
If you watch him, his movement is very good. Few times against Groningen that none of the midfield matched his vision.

Definitely think there is a good player in there, I'd keep him in the squad and give him a chance. Has a better eye for goal imo than doige

23-07-2023, 07:45 PM

I can see him playing in a 2 with a big type player next to him or I could even see him playing just off a forward as a second supporting forward

Definitely not a winger, doesn’t influence things at all from there.

I don’t think it’s so much not knowing his position. He’s a striker it’s just more a case that they don’t think he’s good enough to play there IMO. These days, if you’re a striker but you can’t play through the middle on your own, you won’t get very far although, FWIW I think he’d stand a better chance playing up there with someone. But that is unlikely to happen.

23-07-2023, 07:46 PM
How has he had a poor preseason? Looked ok so far to me and was one of our better players against Bournemouth although that's not saying much.
I also think he is wasted out wide though and would like to see him get a run through the middle to see what he can do.

23-07-2023, 07:57 PM
I think he has looked fine and at least as good as ALF pre-season. He needs games even if it is from the bench. If LJ doesn't think he will be an option from the bench most games, through the middle, then I would cut our losses. He is a lovely lad too so I hope he manages to force his way into the manager's plans but he hasn't really had that many opportunities

Potty78
23-07-2023, 07:59 PM
If he’s not going to play every week at Hibs, send to another Scottish team where he’ll play most weeks

One tried but wages to high. for what it's worth I like him but he needs to play in a two not either side🤷*♂️

23-07-2023, 08:04 PM

ChuckNor
23-07-2023, 08:11 PM
Reading the comments on this thread opinion seems fairly split. His age gives me hope but he still seems far too slight to be playing at this level. After the Motherwell game when he scored two, I thought we had a star on our hands. Since then I haven’t seen a thing that has suggested he has potential. He’s created very few chances for himself or others. There have been no flashes of skill or game intelligence. He seems very easy to defend against. As it stands, I would rank Dan Mackay ahead of him as at least he has scored goals and contributed at a standard close to the premiership.

ChuckNor
23-07-2023, 08:23 PM
If you watch him, his movement is very good. Few times against Groningen that none of the midfield matched his vision.

Definitely think there is a good player in there, I'd keep him in the squad and give him a chance. Has a better eye for goal imo than doige

He hasn’t scored a single league goal since we signed him. I can’t even think of a chance he’s created or had since the miss against Dundee United. In that time Doidge scored and assisted for a struggling Kilmarnock side. I know who I’d rather lead the line next season.

23-07-2023, 08:25 PM
So the “everyone starts with a clean slate” lasted a few nanoseconds for some folks then… :)

HIBS NUTS
23-07-2023, 08:41 PM
I think he has looked fine and at least as good as ALF pre-season. He needs games even if it is from the bench. If LJ doesn't think he will be an option from the bench most games, through the middle, then I would cut our losses. He is a lovely lad too so I hope he manages to force his way into the manager's plans but he hasn't really had that many opportunities
I actually think he got a lot of chances last season, before he went on loan.
I think he needs a loan to a team in the championship, somewhere he will get some game experience.

Potty78
23-07-2023, 08:42 PM
He hasn’t scored a single league goal since we signed him. I can’t even think of a chance he’s created or had since the miss against Dundee United. In that time Doidge scored and assisted for a struggling Kilmarnock side. I know who I’d rather lead the line next season.

Not saying you're wrong but Doidge scored 3 in 27 games with killie. I'd bet Melkerson would score more playing through the middle🤷*♂️

cameronw-hfc
23-07-2023, 08:46 PM
Think the issue with Melk is we can all see he's a talented boy. It's just how we get it out of him and get him going is the issue. Can't seem to find a position that suits him

23-07-2023, 08:48 PM
Not saying you're wrong but Doidge scored 3 in 27 games with killie. I'd bet Melkerson would score more playing through the middle🤷*♂️

This is what I think.

Bruce Anderson at Aberdeen looked miles off it and much worse than Melkersen, couple of loans and now he’s a decent SPFL striker and one I’ve seen numerous people say we should sign.

If melk played week in week out for Livi I could see him scoring a decent smoker.

Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 08:50 PM
I thought it was said on here that LJ was impressed with him pre season and in training? . Personally think there's a player there .

Alf's experience could be a great help in melkersen development if he stays though if not I'd like to see a loan to another
Scottish club that will give him some game time .

The loan move to Sparta Rotterdam I still can't get my head around as I think it was a absolute disaster in helping him to develop. He's only 20 year old and I think we should give him more time and as fans show some patience before condemning him after a couple of pre season games tbh .

1875Sean
23-07-2023, 09:05 PM
I thought it was said on here that LJ was impressed with him pre season and in training? . Personally think there's a player there .

Alf's experience could be a great help in melkersen development if he stays though if not I'd like to see a loan to another

The loan move to Sparta Rotterdam I still can't get my head around as I think it was a absolute disaster in helping him to develop. He's only 20 year old and I think we should give him more time and as fans show some patience before condemning him after a couple of pre season games tbh .

I think the loan move was more around hoping to punt him rather than any development

Clarence
23-07-2023, 09:11 PM
He needs game time at a lower level. He gets pushed off the ball really easily and I think that’s more about him wising up than bulking up and that only comes with experience. He should go to a championship team for a year.

23-07-2023, 09:27 PM
I think the last eighteen months just goes to show the level of responsibility that a club has not only to itself, but to the player when it comes to scouting.

Elias appears to be a really nice lad with a good attitude and unless he has a very good season this year, will have had most if not all of the buzz about him killed off by a bad move.

I do think he could do well at the right club in the right league, but Scottish football is very fast paced and physical and I don’t think that’s his game.

It’s a mistake we made with Mueller, Hauge, Henderson, Cabraja, and a few others and if we’re going to ship young lads out of their home country and across to Scotland, I hope we put in a bit more work to make sure they’re better suited to the league here.

Obviously I hope it clicks with him this season and he bags a sackful of goals, but if it doesn’t I’ll wish him well, not be surprised if he finds his feet in a more technical league
, but ultimately feel that his career will have been set back by the move here.

random sub
23-07-2023, 09:33 PM
Agree that he seems a good lad.

I know he hasn’t scored a goal but equally worrying is that he doesn’t seem to get on the ball much either.

Easy to criticise but I think we are best to cut our losses and allow him an opportunity to play elsewhere.

Donegal Hibby
23-07-2023, 09:36 PM
I think the loan move was more around hoping to punt him rather than any development
If it was for that reason mate it's been to no benefit for both the club and the player as he hardly played and was probably not going to seal a move at a fairly big club like that anyway. Strange , strange loan move imo .

I still think Melkersen could come good , he's young enough and imo has something about him Don't think it suits him playing wide , think he needs to play more central imo . Some of the goals he scored at his previous club shows a strikers instinct .
https://youtu.be/EmgO1gUAfO8

Pickle
23-07-2023, 09:51 PM
I’m sure Jason Cummings played 18 games as our main striker without scoring in a horrendous season but turned out no bad. I’d think given the same opportunity he’d beat that and flourish. However that being said we are looking for a Nisbet replacement and it’s difficult afford the same game time. We all have aspirations of finishing 3rd which rarely happens so we are expecting that striker that can contribute to us reaching that goal.

Musselbound
23-07-2023, 09:59 PM
Thought he did ok as a sub v Groningen. I'd keep him till later in the window and see if he can make an impact early in the season. If not then maybe a loan to the Championship. Don't think we should sell him yet (still young) and unlikely to go for much of a fee right now.

SON OF PADDY
23-07-2023, 10:15 PM

I concur,give laddie a break ffs!

Malonga's Cat
23-07-2023, 10:19 PM
I think he's a young lad with obvious talent who has struggled to adapt to the game in Scotland. A wee bit of time and experience in Scottish football and he might come good (can't get my head around the loan we sent him out on). Can't fault his effort but my worry is, he just doesn't fit our system. Can't play on his own up front or wide. Ideally, needs a partner to play off.

Malonga's Cat
23-07-2023, 10:21 PM
I concur,give laddie a break ffs!

100%

Any player who is struggling... why get on their case?! It's not going to help matters.

23-07-2023, 10:31 PM
I think he's a young lad with obvious talent who has struggled to adapt to the game in Scotland. A wee bit of time and experience in Scottish football and he might come good (can't get my head around the loan we sent him out on). Can't fault his effort but my worry is, he just doesn't fit our system. Can't play on his own up front or wide. Ideally, needs a partner to play off.

That’s going to give him a big problem in his career because he’ll do well to find a team, at a decent level, who will play with two up top.

A year ago I was excited about Melkersen but last season was a complete write off and I don’t think he’s any closer to regularly contributing (not necessarily all down to him). Just think there’s only so long his talent can be spoken about without him actually showing anything.

24-07-2023, 05:54 AM
Agree that he seems a good lad.

I know he hasn’t scored a goal but equally worrying is that he doesn’t seem to get on the ball much either.

Easy to criticise but I think we are best to cut our losses and allow him an opportunity to play elsewhere.

He scored against Edinburgh City. I’d give him a chance in the league cup to see if he can make an impact, especially with decent players around him.

Paulie Walnuts
24-07-2023, 06:16 AM

This is where I am.

He doesn’t just not score when he comes up against teams at our level, he doesn’t even threaten to.

At this point in time he’s absolutely miles off it. If we can cut our losses I’d do it, if not then I’d be trying to get him out on loan.

24-07-2023, 06:34 AM
He scored against Edinburgh City. I’d give him a chance in the league cup to see if he can make an impact, especially with decent players around him.

With the best will in the world we will be entering the League Cup at the last 16 stage and it's one of two trophies we have any chance of winning and a good run is also crucial to a payday for the club.

At that stage it's not a competition to be 'giving people a chance' in. We should be playing our strongest available team and winning the 2 games required to get to Hampden. If Melkerson forces his way into the discussion about being a regular starter then great, if he doesn't then he can get his chance when he earns it.

24-07-2023, 07:15 AM

The loan move was a really good piece of business from Hibs at the time and the only way it could have failed is if he got injured, which he unfortunately did.

I really like him and want him to do well for us. He needs to produce this season though, I think once he gets one he'll score a heap of goals for us.

24-07-2023, 07:16 AM
With the best will in the world we will be entering the League Cup at the last 16 stage and it's one of two trophies we have any chance of winning and a good run is also crucial to a payday for the club.

At that stage it's not a competition to be 'giving people a chance' in. We should be playing our strongest available team and winning the 2 games required to get to Hampden. If Melkerson forces his way into the discussion about being a regular starter then great, if he doesn't then he can get his chance when he earns it.

He'll probably get the games in any case.

We are thin for a squad trying to compete in Europe and in the league and cups. We're going to have to use everybody to have any manner of success.

I don't see it so much as giving him a chance as getting a tune out of him - because we need to.

HerbDailly
24-07-2023, 08:00 AM
If it was for that reason mate it's been to no benefit for both the club and the player as he hardly played and was probably not going to seal a move at a fairly big club like that anyway. Strange , strange loan move imo .

I still think Melkersen could come good , he's young enough and imo has something about him Don't think it suits him playing wide , think he needs to play more central imo . Some of the goals he scored at his previous club shows a strikers instinct .
https://youtu.be/EmgO1gUAfO8I don't know about a fairly big club, their stadium holds about 11,000

24-07-2023, 08:30 AM
The laddie needs a run of games, coming off the bench for 15 minutes in games is pointless for everybody.

Dunfermline are absolutely desperate for a striker at the moment, somewhere like that I think would be a great move for him to get regular games at a good level where the club are expecting/hoping to do well.

24-07-2023, 08:30 AM
Why do people still talk about Melkersen playing as a winger, we play when everyone is fit a 433, that's usually with 3 forwards, Youan isn't a winger but a left sided forward who cuts onto his stronger foot. LJ will be looking at all forwards being interchangeable to make us more fluid and flexible.

Donegal Hibby
24-07-2023, 08:51 AM
The loan move was a really good piece of business from Hibs at the time and the only way it could have failed is if he got injured, which he unfortunately did.

I really like him and want him to do well for us. He needs to produce this season though, I think once he gets one he'll score a heap of goals for us.
The only positive thing I see about the loan move is it got him of the wage bill though it done nothing for the players development or to get him used to our league that he was struggling to adapt to since we signed him and now he's back after a loan move that was absolutely no benefit to the player or his current club. Still think it was a disaster of a decision tbh .

Donegal Hibby
24-07-2023, 09:01 AM
I don't know about a fairly big club, their stadium holds about 11,000
Our squad is valued at just over 11 million , Sparta Rotterdam have a squad valued at over 26 million with attacking players in it like Tobias lauritsen ,Vito Van Crooij and Koki Saito all valued at over 3 million which is why I think they are a fairly big club tbh .

24-07-2023, 09:07 AM
Why do people still talk about Melkersen playing as a winger, we play when everyone is fit a 433, that's usually with 3 forwards, Youan isn't a winger but a left sided forward who cuts onto his stronger foot. LJ will be looking at all forwards being interchangeable to make us more fluid and flexible.

Ok, he’s not a wide forward then, in the same way that Myko and Nisbet weren’t wide forwards either.

24-07-2023, 09:10 AM

Extremely pedantic.

I think most that refer to him as a winger will know it’s right/left of a front 3 and it’s just how they refer to it.

Stick Nisbet, Kuharevych, Doidge or ALF out on the right/left and see what happens. Same with playing Boyle through the middle as the centre forward.

Completely different positions.

24-07-2023, 09:13 AM
Melks is a player with great technique but, as already pointed out, is too easily brushed off the ball. Doidge is the opposite really with limited technique, but, with superior strength on the ball and match cannyness, is currently streets ahead of Melks as a central striker.
I do believe Melks will wise up and bulk up sufficiently to close that gap - question is when?

24-07-2023, 09:35 AM
Melks is a player with great technique but, as already pointed out, is too easily brushed off the ball. Doidge is the opposite really with limited technique, but, with superior strength on the ball and match cannyness, is currently streets ahead of Melks as a central striker.
I do believe Melks will wise up and bulk up sufficiently to close that gap - question is when?

I remember waiting for Danny Handling to do likewise but it never happened. That was a shame because like Melkerson, Handling had talent.

24-07-2023, 01:13 PM

Boyle and Youan are wide players.

24-07-2023, 01:17 PM
I want to see some return for Melkersen this season. Guy cost half a million quid. Huge money for us. Yes he's young but if you come with that price tag you need to deliver. Can't live off two goals against Motherwell forever. Right now it's looking like awful business and that's the harsh reality.

24-07-2023, 01:40 PM
I want to see some return for Melkersen this season. Guy cost half a million quid. Huge money for us. Yes he's young but if you come with that price tag you need to deliver. Can't live off two goals against Motherwell forever. Right now it's looking like awful business and that's the harsh reality.

Aye so he did.

HIBS NUTS
24-07-2023, 01:49 PM
At the moment, i am not seeing anything, that makes me think, he’s going to score, he needs loaned out.

24-07-2023, 01:50 PM

No he didnt.

Potty78
24-07-2023, 01:53 PM

While I agree, it's been proven they can both score goals playing through the middle👍

SickBoy32
24-07-2023, 01:53 PM
Aye so he did.

Pretty sure it was on excess of £300k tbh, based on what was reported at the time

24-07-2023, 01:56 PM
While I agree, it's been proven they can both score goals playing through the middle👍

As lone central strikers like we play now? Don't think it has. Maybe in a 2, but would would be wasted central now.

24-07-2023, 01:58 PM
I think you knew he'd be a bit crap when we signed him and didn't play him for weeks when we had loads of forwards injured. Great debut but he's done nothing since.

If we trust him and want to keep him, he must play games and be given chances to make mistakes and learn.

24-07-2023, 01:58 PM
Pretty sure it was on excess of £400k tbh, based on what was reported at the time

Transfer Market have it at 400,000 euros which is £345k in todays money.

I've seen it quoted at £250,000.

So realistically its somewhere in between there.

24-07-2023, 02:00 PM
Transfer Market have it at 400,000 euros which is £345k in todays money.

I've seen it quoted at £250,000.

So realistically its somewhere in between there.

How would Transfermarkt know? They don’t have access to any more information than we do.

24-07-2023, 02:02 PM
How would Transfermarkt know? They don’t have access to any more information than we do.

Yeah they can't even afford two letter E's

24-07-2023, 02:10 PM

Well heres the Daily Record saying it was £325,000 which isn't a million miles off.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/elias-melkerson-completes-hibs-transfer-25860821

Other articles are £350,000, I'm sure Patrick Mcpartland said it was £250,000.

24-07-2023, 02:25 PM
I’d love to see him having a pop at goal more than drifting off defender and playing it out wide

24-07-2023, 03:14 PM

Pop Melkersen in the middle of them and let's see what the boy can do.

HIBS NUTS
24-07-2023, 04:04 PM
Pop Melkersen in the middle of them and let's see what the boy can do.

Let’s sign a proven youngish, goal scorer and see what he can do.😳

24-07-2023, 04:11 PM
Well heres the Daily Record saying it was £325,000 which isn't a million miles off.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/elias-melkerson-completes-hibs-transfer-25860821

Other articles are £350,000, I'm sure Patrick Mcpartland said it was £250,000.

So based on that, absolutely no one knows.

24-07-2023, 06:18 PM
So based on that, absolutely no one knows.

I think based on that we can safely say it was not “in excess of £400,000” as the previous poster suggested.

Victor
24-07-2023, 06:55 PM
I may be bucking the trend here and I know it sounds crazy, but I think I’ll wait to see how he does in some competitive matches before I condemn him or try to sell him on. He was highly rated when we bought him, so I’m hoping he will come good.

Potty78
24-07-2023, 08:39 PM
He's only 20 and was bought with the intention of selling for bigger money in years to come. Cracking debut and we all thought brilliant (or I did). Not been played through the middle enough for me. A loan to another spl club would be perfect but I know hibs want all the wages paid for at this time which rules that out. Just hope he improves asap with more game time obviously

ChuckNor
25-07-2023, 10:25 AM
Verdict from this thread seems to be patience is wearing thin. Probably a case of give him until January and if he can't cut it then ship out.

25-07-2023, 10:39 AM
He's only 20 and was bought with the intention of selling for bigger money in years to come. Cracking debut and we all thought brilliant (or I did). Not been played through the middle enough for me. A loan to another spl club would be perfect but I know hibs want all the wages paid for at this time which rules that out. Just hope he improves asap with more game time obviously

I think it was easier to blood young strikers back in the day when teams played with 2 up front. There was less pressure and the added value of a playing partner to help them settle. Trying to get a young guy like Melkerson to play the centre forward role comfortably isn’t easy, no one has the luxury to keep playing if they don’t improve. He maybe deserves a shot through the middle but he doesn’t appear to me like lone striker material in this league.

25-07-2023, 10:39 AM
Might come good, might not. One things for sure, the loan for the second half of last season was a terrible move. Nae football for 6 months isn't helping any young player, he could've got that here. He wasn't deemed good enough to be playing before the loan, he's barely kicked a ball since. Unlikely he's developed much as a player after it.

Get him out on loan. I think I'd prefer him to be playing every week in the Championship for a team that's scoring goals, than away on loan at a poor SPL team that creates nae chances.

25-07-2023, 12:27 PM
Age is on his side. I wouldn't want to write a 20 year old off, I am more than happy for the club to take advantage of his long contract and give him every chance to succeed.

darwenhibby
25-07-2023, 01:09 PM
Play him on Saturday at Blackpool and at Easter Road next week if the tie is safe
Let’s see what he can do under no pressure

25-07-2023, 01:17 PM
Might come good, might not. One things for sure, the loan for the second half of last season was a terrible move. Nae football for 6 months isn't helping any young player, he could've got that here. He wasn't deemed good enough to be playing before the loan, he's barely kicked a ball since. Unlikely he's developed much as a player after it.

Get him out on loan. I think I'd prefer him to be playing every week in the Championship for a team that's scoring goals, than away on loan at a poor SPL team that creates nae chances.

This is where I am with Melk, a loan to Dunfermline would be good and I might get the chance to observe his progress.

25-07-2023, 01:49 PM
He simply has to be playing every week. That won’t happen at hibs.

25-07-2023, 03:17 PM
Dunfermline has been mentioned a couple of times on here, I think that's a great shout and one the club should absolutely be pursuing. They're in need of a striker and Melkersen needs game time not just for his progression but also for us to assess him properly.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

HIBS NUTS
25-07-2023, 05:46 PM
I dont see a player that’s going to score a substantial amount of goals with either mckirdy, or Melkerson, for hibs first team.
Loan out Meilkerson, get rid of mckirdy.
Let’s move on.

Hibees1973
25-07-2023, 06:06 PM
I dont see a player that’s going to score a substantial amount of goals with either mckirdy, or Melkerson, for hibs first team.
Let’s move on.

I remember when Melkersen was signed, someone on here posted a YouTube video of all his goals. They were going in from everywhere. However, they were scored in the Norwegian second division, mostly on astroturf pitches and in front of very low crowds. A low level.

Apart from his game against Motherwell in the cup he has shown hee-haw.

From what he has done so far he is not robust enough for the game in Scotland and I'm not even sure what his best position is. He has no pace to play out wide and is small with little strength so almost impossible to play up front in the middle in the SPFL.

The YouTube video of his goals were when he was out on loan from Bodo Glimt. The level he was signed from wasn't a good enough barometer to determine if he could cut it at Hibs. Fee was rumoured to be £300k......pffft. We have or had better players in our development team than Melkersen.

The time and money invested in Melkersen should have been put into Ethan Laidlaw.

HIBS NUTS
25-07-2023, 06:15 PM
I remember when Melkersen was signed, someone on here posted a YouTube video of all his goals. They were going in from everywhere. However, they were scored in the Norwegian second division, mostly on astroturf pitches and in front of very low crowds. A low level.

Apart from his game against Motherwell in the cup he has shown hee-haw.

From what he has done so far he is not robust enough for the game in Scotland and I'm not even sure what his best position is. He has no pace to play out wide and is small with little strength so almost impossible to play up front in the middle in the SPFL.

The YouTube video of his goals were when he was out on loan with Bodo Glimt. The level he was signed from wasn't a good enough barometer to determine if he could cut it at Hibs. Fee was rumoured to be £300k......pffft. We have or had better players in our development team than Melkersen.

The time and money invested in Melkersen should have been put into Ethan Laidlaw.
I’ve never seen a UTUBE video of any player , that was bad.
Both players arnt good enough.
Laidlaw has more potential than the both put together.
Fed up hearing they might come good.
Both are not good enough.

25-07-2023, 06:16 PM
Let’s move on.

Let’s just sack a player with a medical condition that prevents him from playing

HIBS NUTS
25-07-2023, 06:35 PM
Let’s just sack a player with a medical condition that prevents him from playing
What a rubbish statement, he will either stay or go, he has every right to see out his contract,
He wasent very good when he was fully fit, and let’s hope he gets over his current problems.
However i don’t think he’s very good.

Donegal Hibby
25-07-2023, 07:36 PM
What a rubbish statement, he will either stay or go, he has every right to see out his contract,
He wasent very good when he was fully fit, and let’s hope he gets over his current problems.
However i don’t think he’s very good.
Only thing that matters now is Mckirdy health and giving him as much help and support as we can . Wrong time to be discussing wither the guy should go or stay or anything else for that matter . Let's give the guy a break. As for the other one he's only 20.

HIBS NUTS
25-07-2023, 07:54 PM
Only thing that matters now is Mckirdy health and giving him as much help and support as we can . Wrong time to be discussing wither the guy should go or stay or anything else for that matter . Let's give the guy a break. As for the other one he's only 20.

I agree that he should receive everyone’s support, however for some reason, it was suggested that i said he should be sacked, i didn’t say anything of the sort, i said he wasent very good , again i will say i hope nothing but the best for him.

HIBS NUTS
25-07-2023, 07:55 PM
I agree that he should receive everyone’s support, however for some reason, it was suggested that i said he should be sacked, i didn’t say anything of the sort, i said he wasent very good , again i will say i hope nothing but the best for him.

And you are right i shouldn’t have discussed mckirdy.👍🏻

27-07-2023, 05:27 PM
Can't believe we spent a considerable amount of money on him. He isn't delivering. Needs to go.

27-07-2023, 05:29 PM
Get rid of this guy ASAP, it’s now starting to become embarrassing. He’s no where near the level required!

ChuckNor
27-07-2023, 05:30 PM
Times up. That was dreadful.

HIBS NUTS
27-07-2023, 05:35 PM
He is terrible.
young but awful.
If he had came up from our youth team, he woudnt be playing.

Paulie Walnuts
27-07-2023, 07:42 PM
He is truly dreadful. He has absolutely no redeeming features.

Technically average at best, physically atrocious. Slow as a week in the jail and weak as ****.

27-07-2023, 07:45 PM
I once recall reading The Pink after a match and they referred to the "woefully inadequate David Fellinger". Seems a perfect term to describe Melkerson.

JammyDoidger
27-07-2023, 07:46 PM
No wonder Laidlaw left us, was desperate for Melkerson to do well but he's had his chances now. Brutal.

Potty78
27-07-2023, 07:48 PM
More worrying for me, clubs have been told he is available yet he starts today's game? I find that bizarre

HIBS NUTS
27-07-2023, 07:56 PM
More worrying for me, clubs have been told he is available yet he starts today's game? I find that bizarre

Should have been Mackay chance, it was his normal position.

27-07-2023, 08:21 PM
He is truly dreadful. He has absolutely no redeeming features.

Technically average at best, physically atrocious. Slow as a week in the jail and weak as ****.

You’ve summed him up perfectly. This guy wouldn’t get a start for the likes of Stenhousemuir. He’s simply just not got it at all.

27-07-2023, 08:30 PM
It hasn't worked out unfortunately and no one is going to feel worse about it than him.

27-07-2023, 09:33 PM
We would have been better keeping Gullan.

ChuckNor
27-07-2023, 09:36 PM
Today was a huge opportunity for him. He blew it. I don’t think he’s get a game for a championship side.

Stokesy's on fire
27-07-2023, 09:37 PM
One great performance V Motherwell i left motherwell that day thinking that EM was going to go from strength to strength.

27-07-2023, 09:47 PM
Was really poor today.

When we broke through after what looked like a foul in the middle of the pitch was particularly bad. He was through, kinda panicked then neither hit a shot or pass and then pointed back at the middle. Play to the whistle man.

27-07-2023, 09:49 PM
He’s so far out of his depth. Being played out of position doesn’t excuse him not being able to do the most basic aspects of the game. A very expensive mistake.

27-07-2023, 09:58 PM
It's hard to articulate how poor he was

To be fair, most of the team was. ALF done nothing either other than Flash a great ball across goal in the 2nd half

Keep willing him on hoping it'll come good. But we need to be ruthless. Get him gone

27-07-2023, 09:58 PM
There's no way we're recouping the money we bought him for never mind making a profit on him. Need to write it off as an expensive mistake and offload him.

27-07-2023, 10:00 PM
At least he can improve slightly. ALF makes Doidge look like Pele. Dreadful.

27-07-2023, 10:04 PM
There's no way we're recouping the money we bought him for never mind making a profit on him. Need to write it off as an expensive mistake and offload him.

Signed as a striker through the middle, never played there and we play him out wide. I like him, needs a loan in Scotland, but think he will come good. Always played out of position is not helping his development. He's a 9.

27-07-2023, 10:10 PM
Signed as a striker through the middle, never played there and we play him out wide. I like him, needs a loan in Scotland, but think he will come good. Always played out of position is not helping his development. He's a 9.

When he got moved to his best position today he looked worse. He has absolutely none of the attributes needed to be a decent number 9 and his attempt when he got a half sniff at goal was atrocious.

We'd all love for him to be the answer but he's not. He's several levels below what we're looking for. One day he might come good, I have my doubts, but as for right now he's not going to make a positive contribution for us in any position.

I used to think he needed a year in the Championship, I now think he needs to prepare for a career as a part-time footballer.

27-07-2023, 10:11 PM

That's an exaggeration. He has played there. Admittedly mainly under Maloney so not sure how much that counts. But he played there against Groningen second half.

Even out wide you'd hope there was something there that you could go 'he'd be fine through the middle' but there just isn't. Can't hold the ball up, isn't quick, doesn't look great at linking play up and hasn't scored in a competitive game since Motherwell.

20 so plenty time to improve. But it won't be at Hibs.

27-07-2023, 10:12 PM
At least he can improve slightly. ALF makes Doidge look like Pele. Dreadful.

Yeah, I was quite surprised at how bad ALF was.

27-07-2023, 10:18 PM
I’d swap him for Jamie Gullan

27-07-2023, 10:19 PM
Ineffective any time he plays. Wanted him to turn it around but theres a limit to it and it's becoming to the detriment of the team. Another that we need to cut our losses on unfortunately.

Just find it staggering that someone watched guys like him (and others) and concluded they would be good signings for our league. Absolutely astounding.

27-07-2023, 10:20 PM

I'm not.

27-07-2023, 10:24 PM
Ineffective any time he plays. Wanted him to turn it around but theres a limit to it and it's becoming to the detriment of the team. Another that we need to cut our losses on unfortunately.

Just find it staggering that someone watched guys like him (and others) and concluded they would be good signings for our league. Absolutely astounding.

He is a bit like Shankland - drifted around and eventually found a club and scored goals - a loan in this country I think would benefit him. Needs to be played as a striker as that's clearly where he's been coached to play.

27-07-2023, 10:26 PM
When he got moved to his best position today he looked worse. He has absolutely none of the attributes needed to be a decent number 9 and his attempt when he got a half sniff at goal was atrocious.

We'd all love for him to be the answer but he's not. He's several levels below what we're looking for. One day he might come good, I have my doubts, but as for right now he's not going to make a positive contribution for us in any position.

I used to think he needed a year in the Championship, I now think he needs to prepare for xa career as a part-time footballer.

I agree, how long do you give a player. Any striker be it right left or through the middle will have a preferred position but good strikers will prevail wherever they’re positioned. Imagine Leigh Griffiths given the choice of right side, left side or centre, yes he’d have a preference but he’d definitely make the most of wherever he was. Melkerson either takes the chance he’s been given or moves on.

JammyDoidger
28-07-2023, 12:45 AM

Paatalainen was a 9, Steven Fletcher was a 9, Even Doidge is a 9, Melkerson is as far from a 9 as he is anything else, Christ knows what he is but he's not good enough to lead the line for Hibs unfortunately, I'm all for sending him on loan to see if he can hit some kind of form in some sort of position, but right now he's not good enough to play for this club. Melkerson from what I've seen of him probably needs to play in a 2, and play off someone, if he's got any chance of making it at a decent level.

28-07-2023, 03:32 AM
Paatalainen was a 9, Steven Fletcher was a 9, Even Doidge is a 9, Melkerson is as far from a 9 as he is anything else, Christ knows what he is but he's not good enough to lead the line for Hibs unfortunately, I'm all for sending him on loan to see if he can hit some kind of form in some sort of position, but right now he's not good enough to play for this club. Melkerson from what I've seen of him probably needs to play in a 2, and play off someone, if he's got any chance of making it at a decent level.Funnily enough wasn't Fletcher initially played wide when he first broke through?

28-07-2023, 05:35 AM
I’d swap him for Jamie Gullan

I'd swap him for a Mars bar and a can of coke.

28-07-2023, 07:18 AM
He still young but he's shown very little during his time at Hibs. If we could sell him I would, but mostly likely another loan. I doubt he’ll ever be good enough for even this appalling Hibs team.

28-07-2023, 02:54 PM
Showed his potential at Motherwell unfortunately never found that since

28-07-2023, 03:02 PM
Funnily enough wasn't Fletcher initially played wide when he first broke through?

He was.

When Hibs unveiled Melkersen it was in the first few sentences, that "he can play anywhere across the front 3".

Playing on the right is not an excuse for what he contributed yesterday.

28-07-2023, 03:04 PM
Showed his potential at Motherwell unfortunately never found that since

Motherwell is starting to look more like a fluke each time I see him.

Hibees1973
28-07-2023, 03:16 PM

True.

The concerning thing is that this has our new DOF (McDermott's) finger prints all over it. ALF played for him before.

ALF looks slow, stiff, lacks strength, poor control. Way off it.

Is 36 and best days years in the past.

Still to see a fair number of our new signings, particularly those from the English lower leagues but the signs don't look too good.

ChuckNor
11-08-2023, 12:01 AM
The only real negative from a really good day was his poor performance when he came on. Almost felt sorry for him he’s so far off it physically and technically. Really hope we can punt him to Scottish championship side to toughen him up and get him playing every week. Hopefully can reignite whatever it was Ben Kensell or Ian Gordon seen in him.

11-08-2023, 12:24 AM
The only real negative from a really good day was his poor performance when he came on. Almost felt sorry for him he’s so far off it physically and technically. Really hope we can punt him to Scottish championship side to toughen him up and get him playing every week. Hopefully can reignite whatever it was Ben Kensell or Ian Gordon seen in him.

No need. Don't think he did anything wrong when he came on and done what was asked from him. Really think need to lay off when you consider his age compared to a lot of the youth players who get an easier ride because of their age.

pollution
11-08-2023, 12:31 AM
No need. Don't think he did anything wrong when he came on and done what was asked from him. Really think need to lay off when you consider his age compared to a lot of the youth players who get an easier ride because of their age.

I really do want to like him.. he's just so out of the required level, at the moment.How long does he need ?

11-08-2023, 12:45 AM

I genuinely don’t think he kept the ball once when he came on.

Looked miles off the pace - which in fairness, is sort of understandable given he’s not played in a couple of weeks and then the pace and intensity of the game.

I keep saying he just “needs a goal” but he never even looks close to getting one.

ALF, Doidge and Vente have both scored in the last couple of days and none have been absolute screamers (ALF a very decent finish in fairness) but they get in the right positions to score, something Melkersen never does. It never seems to drop to him.

I do think his confidence is completely shot though.

11-08-2023, 06:25 AM

I know there are many that will give excuses about his general play, but the text highlighted is a good summary of his time at Hibernian FC, apart from the Motherwell game when he scored two goals.

With perm any three of ALF, Doidge and Vente, I think we're well covered in the forward positions, especially with Boyle and Youan also capable of playing in the front two. Do we need Melkerson too? I'd still keep him as back-up, but he's got to start doing more when he gets his few minutes on the pitch.

He had a chance with his shot that was blocked, though at the time I thought he could have brought it down and ran into the box to get a better opportunity.

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-08-2023, 06:33 AM
I know there are many that will give excuses about his general play, but the text highlighted is a good summary of his time at Hibernian FC, apart from the Motherwell game when he scored two goals.

With perm any three of ALF, Doidge and Vente, I think we're well covered in the forward positions, especially with Boyle and Youan also capable of playing in the front two. Do we need Melkerson too? I'd still keep him as back-up, but he's got to start doing more when he gets his few minutes on the pitch.

He had a chance with his shot that was blocked, though at the time I thought he could have brought it down and ran into the box to get a better opportunity.

I’m by no means a striker but I thought he done well to take that early and he fair caught hold of it, if he takes that down then he’s just slowing himself down and allowing the defender to get set imo. That said he was pretty poor again last night I think, doesn’t have enough physicality to play centrally at this level and he just looks toothless on the wing.

11-08-2023, 06:40 AM
True.

The concerning thing is that this has our new DOF (McDermott's) finger prints all over it. ALF played for him before.

Still to see a fair number of our new signings, particularly those from the English lower leagues but the signs don't look too good.
I wasn't too impressed with his performance in Andorra either but I've got to say I thought he was terrific last night.

11-08-2023, 06:46 AM
Any need? He’s not just going to suddenly get stronger and be able to handle the physical side of the game.

I thought he stuck to his task last night, to buzz around, be nuisance and hassle them and hold on to the lead. Job done.

11-08-2023, 06:46 AM
I wasn't too impressed with his performance in Andorra either but I've got to say I thought he was terrific last night.

Was also very good on Sunday very good addition to the squad. To be fair Messi could have played up front away to Andorra and looked bad given the appalling service he got. :greengrin

11-08-2023, 06:49 AM
Have to admit Alf has been a revelation

Far from being slow stiff lacking strength poor control and way off it

Maybes only get one season out of him but retains possession well holds up the ball brings others into play strong and wiry sublime touch and scores goals

What’s not to like?

Old gits rule !

Craig Brewster played to a ripe old age and maybe he can pass on some pointers to the Hoff who looks as though he needs all the help he can get

11-08-2023, 06:49 AM
True.

This lasted well. :greengrin

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 07:08 AM

Absolutely awful.

Having watched him last night I’m genuinely not sure he’d even make it in the Championship.

11-08-2023, 07:11 AM
Would have been better with Rudi tbh and he’s not even a striker. But he’d have ran himself into the ground for 20 mins.

11-08-2023, 07:20 AM
Yeah only really negative thing from last night. Campbell shoulda came on instead.

Not sure what the rules are with subs after you fill in the form for the fourth official, as his was clearly planned when the game was 1-1. Vente scored got subbed and we were 2-1 up.

11-08-2023, 07:27 AM
I genuinely don't see the need in these posts. I saw a boy chasing things down and running into corners. You might disagree and that's your right but to single him out and say he was the only negative is poor. There are no negatives from last night IMO.

11-08-2023, 07:28 AM
I genuinely don't see the need in these posts. I saw a boy chasing things down and running into corners. You might disagree and that's your right but to single him out and say he was the only negative is poor. There are no negatives from last night IMO.

Spot on

11-08-2023, 07:36 AM

Totally agree. He ran his socks off when came on. No need to criticise that. Not easy to come on to a frantic game and get up to speed right away especially when he hasn't played for a while. He did a job in a great win.

11-08-2023, 07:37 AM
Actually didn't think he was as bad as some make out, gave the ball away at the edge of the box yes but he didn't do much else wrong, was brought on to press players late on and done that, was unlucky with his volley also.

11-08-2023, 07:45 AM
I liked the fact whe he lost the ball in their half he chased the boy back about 40 yds and helped get the ball back, that shows a willingness to get stuck in for the cause. Will he make it? I'm not sure but if we persist with 2 up top he'll get a chance.

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 07:47 AM

Just because we won it doesn’t mean we need to pretend absolutely everything was perfect.

Youan for example was a negative. Melkersen was as well imo. Done a lot of running about but that’s the minimum you expect. Technically he was desperately poor imo.

11-08-2023, 07:58 AM

I genuinely struggle with posts like yours as well.

Is it the main point or something to labour over, no. But surely even after a good win there can be space to identify and discuss the bits of the team that maybe didn’t function as well as the result.

Melks was poor when he came on. He was unable to keep possession or win possession and still looks weak compared to others.

But oddly I felt more sorry for him than angry at him as he appears to be giving it his all and wanting to do well.

The problem is he arrived at the club very very very raw and while he might be worth the development time I’d suggest a proper loan where he gets game time would be best for all parties.

11-08-2023, 07:59 AM
Just because we won it doesn’t mean we need to pretend absolutely everything was perfect.

Youan for example was a negative. Melkersen was as well imo. Done a lot of running about but that’s the minimum you expect. Technically he was desperately poor imo.

I'm not pretending anything and you've kinda proven my point. Why are folk having a go at the boy saying he was the only negative from last night when like you said, Youan was very poor. Where is the thread having digs at Youan? There isn't one and Melkersen is an easy target and is this years whipping boy by the looks of it.

11-08-2023, 08:02 AM

Is it the main point or something to labour over, no. But surely even after a good win there can be space to identify and discuss the bits of the team that maybe didn’t function as well as the result.

Melks was poor when he came on. He was unable to keep possession or win possession and still looks weak compared to others.

But oddly I felt more sorry for him than angry at him as he appears to be giving it his all and wanting to do well.

The problem is he arrived at the club very very very raw and while he might be worth the development time I’d suggest a proper loan where he gets game time would be best for all parties.

I just don't see the need. I could list a few things from last night which weren't great and Melkersen performance wouldn't be on it.

11-08-2023, 08:06 AM

Just seems a bit pointless when there was so much good to like and focus on about the performance.

Walter
11-08-2023, 08:07 AM
I thought his attitude was excellent, how can we expect him to develop when he has had no game time. There is something there but I reckon he needs to study and spend time with someone like ALF to help him with his positioning

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 08:15 AM
I'm not pretending anything and you've kinda proven my point. Why are folk having a go at the boy saying he was the only negative from last night when like you said, Youan was very poor. Where is the thread having digs at Youan? There isn't one and Melkersen is an easy target and is this years whipping boy by the looks of it.

The difference is that Youan has generally been very good for us and had a poor performance. Melkersen has generally been very poor for us and there’s been a lot of talk about how we should move him on because he’s not been good enough.

There was also posts on the match thread saying how poor Youan had been so it’s not like he hasn’t had some criticism as well -

“He’s having a stinker”

“Youan off, no shock.”

“Youan needs to step up, offering nothing…”

“Youan disappointing so far”

“Youan not at the races”

Are just a few of the posts on the match thread.

GreenPJ
11-08-2023, 08:23 AM
I really would like Melkerson to work out but he added nothing last night. Yes he ran about but not effectively. The lad knew it himself as at full time you could tell his body language was he was really disappointed in his own performance. For me McDermott's priority this week is to get him out on loan at least until January if not the full season and at a team where he will get meaningful game time.

11-08-2023, 08:25 AM
He almost cost us at the end when he was brushed aside with ease about 30 yards from our goal.

I'm sure he's a nice guy and works hard and whatever but he's never going to cut it here. Nowhere close physically and it's not something that has improved at all in the time he has been here. We had 3 other strikers on the park last night who were streets ahead of him in various aspects of the game.

A punt that hasn't worked out and time for both parties to move on.

11-08-2023, 08:27 AM
In Melkersens defence we were winning when he came on and weren't really attacking as much by that point, so it doesn't really play into an attackers strengths. He was probably told to get on, close down and chase everything, and he did that.

Really needs to work on his hold up play and close control though.

Mainstandman
11-08-2023, 08:31 AM
after seeing him last light its feels like its aggression and grit he is missing, he's big enough physically. he had about 7 attempts at tackling one of their players and didn't get the ball or push them back once then lost it the one time he had it. I still think he could be a good player, that strike he had looked good just blocked but he just lacks that bite at the ball. Prob do well at the MLS.

11-08-2023, 08:34 AM
I thought he looked fairly hopeless last night, he barely looks fit, blowing out his arse at about the same top speed as me!

We should be getting him out somewhere on loan pronto. There must be a championship team who'll take him?

I've got massive doubts he'd do particularly well in that league though, but maybe the lack of games in the last year has taken it's toll. Regular games needed. Not at Hibs.

11-08-2023, 08:39 AM
I think he’s a lovely lad, but at the moment I don’t see him getting much game time because of where he is in the pecking order.

There is no doubt he needs games to hone his skills and get used to the physicality of the Scottish game.

A loan move where he is more likely to get time on the field as opposed to the bench would seem, to me at least, to be the best option for all.

11-08-2023, 08:41 AM
I think it’s fairest to the kid to tell him he’s free to find a new club.

He’s not strong, quick, or technical enough to make it in this league and every month he spends with us sets his career back further.

11-08-2023, 08:48 AM
I think it’s fairest to the kid to tell him he’s free to find a new club.

He’s not strong, quick, or technical enough to make it in this league and every month he spends with us sets his career back further.

He's one who I think would go with most fans best wishes as well. It also wouldn't surprise me if he went to a league that isn't as intensely fast as the Scottish Premiership and scored a fair few goals as well.

He's not failed here because of lack of effort on his part, he's taken the loan move on the chin but you can see he's not enjoying his football. He looked frustrated last night and at the end when the other players were celebrating he was standing with his head down and then walked off alone. Compare that to Doidge who looks delighted to be back here, is playing with a smile on his face and celebrated Obita's goal last night like a fan.

I don't believe there is any real malice in the criticism of him. It's just an honest assessment that he is a player who doesn't look remotely suited to the game here.

11-08-2023, 09:28 AM
He's one who I think would go with most fans best wishes as well. It also wouldn't surprise me if he went to a league that isn't as intensely fast as the Scottish Premiership and scored a fair few goals as well.

He's not failed here because of lack of effort on his part, he's taken the loan move on the chin but you can see he's not enjoying his football. He looked frustrated last night and at the end when the other players were celebrating he was standing with his head down and then walked off alone. Compare that to Doidge who looks delighted to be back here, is playing with a smile on his face and celebrated Obita's goal last night like a fan.

I don't believe there is any real malice in the criticism of him. It's just an honest assessment that he is a player who doesn't look remotely suited to the game here.

Very true. I think it might have been yourself who said that Cabraja was a perfect example of a decent player who’d been badly scouted. Melkersen is another - in the right league and team I have no doubt he’d score plenty.

The likes of Tavares and Henderson may be more troublesome to shift as I don’t see much potential in either quite frankly.

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 09:31 AM
Very true. I think it might have been yourself who said that Cabraja was a perfect example of a decent player who’d been badly scouted. Melkersen is another - in the right league and team I have no doubt he’d score plenty.

The likes of Tavares and Henderson may be more troublesome to shift as I don’t see much potential in either quite frankly.

Part of you has to wonder if having never played on grass until he was 19 or whatever it was has scunnered him.

He just looks woefully unequipped. Makes you wonder if he looked a completely different player playing on astro.

11-08-2023, 09:38 AM
Part of you has to wonder if having never played on grass until he was 19 or whatever it was has scunnered him.

He just looks woefully unequipped. Makes you wonder if he looked a completely different player playing on astro.

I have a feeling that pre Brian McD we’d be the ideal customer for an agent. Play up that there’s some hype about them, a few clubs around Europe are sniffing around, angle for a decent wage and long contract and bobs your uncle, you’ve got Jair on a five year deal.

This window looks far more promising.

11-08-2023, 10:24 AM
I don't think he was poor last night but you could tell he needs to play consistently and bulk up to compete at this level. I think a loan in Scotland to someone who will play him will do him the world of good. He's still a young man at a very crucial point of his development. We need to do what is best for him in the long term and sitting getting cameos at right wing is not it.

I still have faith there's a footballer in there, we just need to find the route to unlocking it.

percy veer
11-08-2023, 10:39 AM
Think he is a waste of a jersey, nice lad probably but it's not about that , couldn't even make a foul right last night offered nothing give another young lad a chance.

11-08-2023, 10:46 AM
A goal or two and we’ll see how good he can be.
Deserves a chance.

11-08-2023, 10:47 AM
I don't think he was poor last night but you could tell he needs to play consistently and bulk up to compete at this level. I think a loan in Scotland to someone who will play him will do him the world of good. He's still a young man at a very crucial point of his development. We need to do what is best for him in the long term and sitting getting cameos at right wing is not it.

I still have faith there's a footballer in there, we just need to find the route to unlocking it.

He definitely was poor last night.

GreenPJ
11-08-2023, 10:51 AM
A goal or two and we’ll see how good he can be.
Deserves a chance.

He might deserve a chance once he has been out on loan and had some meaningful game time but his game awareness, positional awareness and confidence are all lacking at the moment - he won't get a chance at Hibs at the moment based on these issues and he shouldn't get a chance because there would be others more deserving of an opportunity (e.g. Rudy) at this moment in time. He needs a loan with game time and then he deserves a chance to see if he has it.

11-08-2023, 10:58 AM
May or may not happen for him yet. I’ve seen similar said about plenty players in the past (particularly younger ones) who have come good.. Campbell a recent example. Majority of us thought Doidge wouldn’t play another part for us and now after a couple of games it’s ‘criminal’ if we let him go anywhere.

I think he’s got something to offer and hopefully a goal means he can start to show it. It might suit his development, if he gets a few chances, to be in amongst and in reserve for the fairly strong attacking options we now have.

I’m not saying he’s going to turn into a superstar but having him about as a progressing youngster rather than pinning our hopes on him might be no bad thing.

HendoDelivered
11-08-2023, 11:01 AM
Would of been interesting to see what would of happened to his volley that got blocked. That looked like it could have been going in

11-08-2023, 11:05 AM
Think he is a waste of a jersey, nice lad probably but it's not about that , couldn't even make a foul right last night offered nothing give another young lad a chance.
Hmmmm. The reality is there were more negatives in his performance than positives. I honestly thought at the time when he was chasing the boy back having lost possession further up the pitch that he wasn't busting a gut. It was like he thought it was enough to be a couple of yards behind the boy.
I accept he can improve with more game time, but he should be getting that in less important games or when we have more of a lead. If his main role when coming on for the last 10+ was to chase and harry we'd have been better with Landers who has real pace and even at 16 already looks more physical than Melkerson.

11-08-2023, 11:07 AM
He needs to go out on loan.

I’m still convinced there is potential there, but he won’t fulfil it by playing 10-20 minutes at the end of a game.

A loan to another Scottish side, championship level or above would benefit him massively.

Sheffhibee
11-08-2023, 11:09 AM
I think the best thing for him is to stay here and see if he can pick up something from ALF, give it till Christmas and if things not working out get him out on loan to a championship side. Feel sorry for the lad, his confidence must be absolutely shot and deserves a chance

Just_Jimmy
11-08-2023, 11:17 AM
Get him out to Raith or Dunfermline. Tell him to go away and play and score goals. He'll benefit physically and mentally from winning and scoring hopefully.

My major concern is he looks lost in games. Cummings, O'Connor, riordan and Fletcher etc all got game time as young players but they all had something, they didn't look lost like he does even though they were clearly still developing.

That's my concern. Bulk up and play somewhere then let's see.

11-08-2023, 11:22 AM
Get him out to Raith or Dunfermline. Tell him to go away and play and score goals. He'll benefit physically and mentally from winning and scoring hopefully.

My major concern is he looks lost in games. Cummings, O'Connor, riordan and Fletcher etc all got game time as young players but they all had something, they didn't look lost like he does even though they were clearly still developing.

I take your point, Jimmy, but I think in fairness O’Connor would likely have looked lost playing wide right too. Not a criticism of the manager but I suspect Melks would look more assured and comfortable playing up front with one of the experienced lads.

It’s maybe just not happening for him right now. And maybe he’s not ready/cut-out for this level but I retain some hope!

11-08-2023, 11:26 AM

Absolutely :agree:

He's going to be 4th choice striker in this current team, I have to admit I was surprised he even came on last night. As you said, he needs to go to a championship club and discover his scoring touch ... maybe Marv would like him at QOTS he's used to playing on artificial pitches, which are common in Norway as I understand and if anybody can toughen him up it's big Marv :greengrin

Edit. Just remembered QOTS aren't in the championship .. doh !!!

11-08-2023, 11:31 AM
Thought he was doing fine while through the middle. Things started going wrong when he replaced Boyle on the right wing and at that point the whole team was so deep that he was essentially receiving the ball in the right wing position and being swarmed by Luzern players.

It was good to see ALF having a long chat with him at full time as he was obviously unhappy himself with how the final 10 minutes went.

11-08-2023, 11:40 AM
Folk need to remember he us only 20. To put it into prospective Josh Campbell is 3 years older than him. Even the likes of Delferriere and Harbottle are older than him. He still has time on his side, especially with someone like ALF to guide him.

11-08-2023, 12:39 PM
I really hoped he would do well. He is such a nice lad so you just want to wish him success. He looks like he is completely out of confidence though and he needs to get away and score some goals. He lost the ball nearly every time he got it last night. He never hid and got himself into positions but he looks like he is freezing when in possession and defenders are just swamping him and taking possession away. If a loan isn't on then we need to get him minutes somewhere and at the moment that probably isn't in the first 11.

11-08-2023, 12:42 PM
He has to go on loan. Even if only to prove he can handle it in Scotland.

11-08-2023, 02:08 PM

Genuinely not sure he would start for those teams. Would get more game time though

Paulie Walnuts
11-08-2023, 03:48 PM
Genuinely not sure he would start for those teams. Would get more game time though

I don’t think he would, hence why I suggested League One.

I don’t think we’ll learn much if he’s slogging it out at a relegation threatened team who are creating nothing and that’s probably about the level he’s at in terms of the Championship.

I’d rather see him go to a team looking to win League One and try to get 20 goals and come back brimming with confidence.

11-08-2023, 03:51 PM
I don’t think he would, hence why I suggested League One.

I don’t think we’ll learn much if he’s slogging it out at a relegation threatened team who are creating nothing and that’s probably about the level he’s at in terms of the Championship.

I’d rather see him go to a team looking to win League One and try to get 20 goals and come back brimming with confidence.

Fair point

11-08-2023, 04:13 PM
This lasted well. :greengrin

Classic hibs.net early write-off assessment. Ludicrous.

Just_Jimmy
11-08-2023, 04:22 PM
Absolutely :agree:

He's going to be 4th choice striker in this current team, I have to admit I was surprised he even came on last night. As you said, he needs to go to a championship club and discover his scoring touch ... maybe Marv would like him at QOTS he's used to playing on artificial pitches, which are common in Norway as I understand and if anybody can toughen him up it's big Marv :greengrin

Edit. Just remembered QOTS aren't in the championship .. doh !!!That's not a bad shout. It's not really his ability that's in question, it's his physicality. Even that level would do well to toughen him up.

11-08-2023, 08:46 PM
Think he'll go out on loan but not while we're playing Thursday/Sunday, particularly if we're going to continue playing 2 strikers.

11-08-2023, 09:04 PM
He tried a one two with Doidge that was neat, but doidge opened his body up and went the other way otherwise he was clear down the line so the notion that he gave the ball away with every touch just isn't true

Would love for him to come good but does look a bit lost. A Falkirk/dunfermline type loan as mentioned above, maybe even Edinburgh City? Would do him good

12-08-2023, 01:55 PM
The lad needs to be playing regularly somewhere, anywhere! His lack of game over the past year or so, for someone at such a crucial stage of his career, is concerning. The loan abroad might’ve made financial sense to Hibs but to what benefit for him or even us as our investment🤷🏼

12-08-2023, 09:31 PM
Someone on twitter saying he's away.

13-08-2023, 08:02 AM
Someone on twitter saying he's away.

Stromsgodset seemingly.

13-08-2023, 08:06 AM
Wish him all the best. To my eye always gave his all despite clearly not being at the level required. No shame in that, hope he can have a defence career back in Norway.

13-08-2023, 08:07 AM
Hopefully we can recoup some money on him and get another addition or two to the squad.

13-08-2023, 08:07 AM
Permanent or on loan?

13-08-2023, 08:09 AM
Permanent or on loan?

Think it really needs to be permanent so we can recoup some of the money we spent on him.

Bridge hibs
13-08-2023, 08:10 AM
Elias Hoff Melkersen will probably replace Jonatan Braut Brunes

More..

As reported by Foot Mercato, newly-promoted Ligue 1 side Le Havre are targeting the signing of Jonatan Braut Brunes, who happens to be the cousin of Manchester City striker Erling Haaland.

Also a Norwegian striker, the 6’2 23-year-old Brunes is currently playing for Stromsgodset in Norway, who currently sit in midtable of the Eliteserien, Norway’s top flight. Despite his club’s middling form, Brunes has contributed 11 goals and three assists over 20 games in all competitions this season

13-08-2023, 08:23 AM
I like the laddie but he's not going to cut it for us, would love to be wrong but can't see it.

Best for everyone if a permanent transfer to Norway can happen.

13-08-2023, 08:25 AM
Think it really needs to be permanent so we can recoup some of the money we spent on him.

I’d be astonished if we are getting any folding for him.

13-08-2023, 08:26 AM
Hope it works out for him, I really thought we had a player on our hands. Hope he goes on to have a great career.

Bridge hibs
13-08-2023, 08:34 AM
I’d be astonished if we are getting any folding for him.Not sure of their finances but they signed forward Mehnert from Ranheim for around 400,000 euros and forward Anderson on a free from Molde as well as a midfielder and a left back on a free

They however did bring in 3.3m euro from the sales of two players

13-08-2023, 09:12 AM
He might come good with a fresh start. Giving him a free transfer but with a hefty cut of any future sell on may not be a bad idea.

13-08-2023, 09:34 AM
They want him because they are selling their star striker to a Belgian club for about 3 million so we might get a wee fee.

bordergreen
13-08-2023, 09:38 AM
He might come good with a fresh start. Giving him a free transfer but with a hefty cut of any future sell on may not be a bad idea.

Probably the best we can hope for. Going home he might get it together and get a good move for decent money. Free transfer, 50% sell on? Always hoped he would make it with us.

Hibees1973
13-08-2023, 09:38 AM
Permanent or on loan?

Please not another loan. He will continue to be a burden on the club regarding wages.

Including wages this has been an outlay of around £500k on him. Sums up the lamentable previous transfer windows that so many players have either been moved on or loaned out who were only signed in the last 2 years.

13-08-2023, 11:44 AM
Jostein Flo sporting director like Melkerson hope he stays but could be a good move for him

13-08-2023, 11:47 AM
Please not another loan. He will continue to be a burden on the club regarding wages.

Including wages this has been an outlay of around £500k on him. Sums up the lamentable previous transfer windows that so many players have either been moved on or loaned out who were only signed in the last 2 years.

Worst thing is that he’ll be one of the easier ones to move on. How do we solve a problem like Tavares who is a year into a five year contract, is likely on a decent wage, and is barely development squad quality?

13-08-2023, 12:04 PM
No problems with signings like Melkerson in general, but only if they are signed as part of a coherent strategy. We generally play one up front, yet decided to spend big money on Melkerson for a striker not suited to playing on his own nor suited to playing out wide. What was our plan for him? Other than signing a promising player in isolation, and then hope he can somehow find a position.

13-08-2023, 01:20 PM
No problems with signings like Melkerson in general, but only if they are signed as part of a coherent strategy. We generally play one up front, yet decided to spend big money on Melkerson for a striker not suited to playing on his own nor suited to playing out wide. What was our plan for him? Other than signing a promising player in isolation, and then hope he can somehow find a position.

It’s a good question, although given we go through a manager a year, how on earth would anyone know what our formation might be? :wink:

In all seriousness, it’s a question for Melkerson as to what kind of player he is. Maybe, like with Joelinton at Newcastle, we can reinvent him as a midfielder.

There’s something about the player I like and I hope he comes good.

RCNG
19-08-2023, 12:26 PM
Admins, I know the poster in question is a bit of a sad sack and won’t be missed but it’s disappointing to see posts deleted that could see Dnipro Kids lose out on £200. Can CapitalGreen confirm he will hold his side of the bet? A bets a bet after all.

ChuckNor
19-08-2023, 02:08 PM
Admins, I know the poster in question is a bit of a sad sack and won’t be missed but it’s disappointing to see posts deleted that could see Dnipro Kids lose out on £200. Can CapitalGreen confirm he will hold his side of the bet? A bets a bet after all.

What happened?

19-08-2023, 03:22 PM

I didn’t see what was posted as messages were deleted before I saw them however Dnipro Kids weren’t at risk of losing out on anything from me - the bet was due to run to the end of 2023.

However as that’s Elias now away on loan until January it’s safe to say he won’t be scoring anymore goals for Hibs before 2024 so there’s £200 on its way to Dnipro Kids.

19-08-2023, 03:34 PM
I didn’t see what was posted as messages were deleted before I saw them however Dnipro Kids weren’t at risk of losing out on anything from me - the bet was due to run to the end of 2023.

However as that’s Elias now away on loan until January it’s safe to say he won’t be scoring anymore goals for Hibs before 2024 so there’s £200 on its way to Dnipro Kids.

What a man 👍🏻

Paulie Walnuts
19-08-2023, 03:38 PM

Fair play :aok:

19-08-2023, 03:39 PM

Hats off to you, well done. :thumbsup:

19-08-2023, 03:40 PM

Well done you CG, although I’ve no idea what this is all about!

RCNG
19-08-2023, 03:48 PM

Well played. That money will go a long way I'm sure

19-08-2023, 03:57 PM

Top man.

Very well done indeed.

ChuckNor
19-08-2023, 05:30 PM

Wow, top man. 🇺🇦

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 08:34 AM

Great cause, well played.

20-08-2023, 07:01 PM
Has just scored on his Stromgodset debut.

shamo9
20-08-2023, 07:04 PM

Good news. Thanks for sharing :aok:

20-08-2023, 07:05 PM

Yassss!! Chuffed at that. Kick on, Melks and come back January a better player. Come on!

20-08-2023, 07:43 PM
Yassss!! Chuffed at that. Kick on, Melks and come back January a better player. Come on!

I really hope so as I believe he could be a guid player for us.

Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2023, 08:24 PM

Genuine question (that nobody may know the answer to), was it on astro?

There’s a part of me wonders if he’s simply too far gone in terms of where he was in his footballing life to suddenly pick up learning to play on grass.

20-08-2023, 08:51 PM

There’s a part of me wonders if he’s simply too far gone in terms of where he was in his footballing life to suddenly pick up learning to play on grass.

He's only 20.

Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2023, 08:52 PM
He's only 20.

He is, but he played up until about 19 years old without ever playing football on the surface the vast majority of football teams play on. He’s playing against guys who have spent their whole life playing on grass, racking up hundreds of thousands of hours of playing time on it.

20-08-2023, 08:53 PM

Would you not think given the unnatural aspect of Astro if he could master playing on that grass would be easier in comparison?

Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2023, 08:56 PM
Would you not think given the unnatural aspect of Astro if he could master playing on that grass would be easier in comparison?

Suppose it’s hard to say. Would the astro not be what is natural to him?

The ball moves much quicker on a grass pitch. If you’ve never learned to play like that until you’re 19 or so I’m not sure you’re going to pick it up in the same way folk that have played tens/hundreds of thousands of hours on grass will.

20-08-2023, 09:27 PM
Suppose it’s hard to say. Would the astro not be what is natural to him?

The ball moves much quicker on a grass pitch. If you’ve never learned to play like that until you’re 19 or so I’m not sure you’re going to pick it up in the same way folk that have played tens/hundreds of thousands of hours on grass will.

Was it not just that he'd not played competitively at a high level on grass? Are there no grass pitches at any level anywhere in Norway?

Even in his back garden and that, the idea that he's never actually played any football on grass is mental.

Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2023, 09:33 PM
Was it not just that he'd not played competitively at a high level on grass? Are there no grass pitches at any level anywhere in Norway?

Even in his back garden and that, the idea that he's never actually played any football on grass is mental.

We were told he hadn’t played on a grass pitch. That statement on the face of it would suggest he hadn’t played a game of football on grass ever.

Whether that’s the case or not I suppose none of us know, but it’s what’s was reported at the time. I can’t see Maloney lying about it so I’m presuming it’s true.

20-08-2023, 10:09 PM
We were told he hadn’t played on a grass pitch. That statement on the face of it would suggest he hadn’t played a game of football on grass ever.

Whether that’s the case or not I suppose none of us know, but it’s what’s was reported at the time. I can’t see Maloney lying about it so I’m presuming it’s true.

Did you take it literally, as in he's never kicked a football on grass until he came to Scotland?

Paulie Walnuts
21-08-2023, 05:14 AM
Did you take it literally, as in he's never kicked a football on grass until he came to Scotland?

I took it to mean he’s never played a game of football (as in a match) on grass. It’s what the statement says. Yes he may have kicked a ball, on a grass surface in his garden, but it’s not quite the same as playing a game.

Nobody has ever came out and refuted the statement, and I’d imagine it would be fairly easily refuted, so I’ve no reason to believe it isn’t the case.

21-08-2023, 05:53 AM
I took it to mean he’s never played a game of football (as in a match) on grass. It’s what the statement says. Yes he may have kicked a ball, on a grass surface in his garden, but it’s not quite the same as playing a game.

Nobody has ever came out and refuted the statement, and I’d imagine it would be fairly easily refuted, so I’ve no reason to believe it isn’t the case.

maybe they couldn’t be arsed or don’t know? Doesn’t mean anything either way. Did they catch the aliens attacking that village in Peru? :)

21-08-2023, 06:20 AM
He is, but he played up until about 19 years old without ever playing football on the surface the vast majority of football teams play on. He’s playing against guys who have spent their whole life playing on grass, racking up hundreds of thousands of hours of playing time on it.

Was that a fact he had never played in grass! Find that a little difficult to believe did he not play for Norway age group national squads

Paulie Walnuts
21-08-2023, 06:26 AM
Was that a fact he had never played in grass! Find that a little difficult to believe did he not play for Norway age group national squads

"When he signed he had just played a full season in Norway, he’s young – just turned 19 – it’s a new league, a new country, and he’d also never played on a grass pitch before.”

21-08-2023, 06:26 AM
I always thought it was Chris Mueller who hadn’t played on grass or maybe I am just getting confused?

Anyway a goal is progress LJ seems to rate him as he tried to get him involved this season without much success

His cup performance at Motherwell is a vivid memory so not giving up on him just yet

Maybes he can still come good for us

21-08-2023, 06:30 AM
"When he signed he had just played a full season in Norway, he’s young – just turned 19 – it’s a new league, a new country, and he’d also never played on a grass pitch before.”

Quick Google check - 11 out of 16 pitches at Pro clubs are artificial, so he either didn't play on the other 5 or the quote was nonsense, he has also played for his national team(not first team) so again guessing they weren't all at home

Paulie Walnuts
21-08-2023, 06:37 AM
Quick Google check - 11 out of 16 pitches at Pro clubs are artificial, so he either didn't play on the other 5 or the quote was nonsense, he has also played for his national team(not first team) so again guessing they weren't all at home

When you say pro clubs do you mean the top tier? He didn’t play in the top tier at any point.

Regardless, whether the quote is completely correct or whether Maloney has exaggerated it a bit, even if he’s rarely played on grass, the point still stands. I wonder if having spent the vast, vast majority of his formative years playing on artificial surfaces has left him with way too much to do in terms of getting used to playing on grass as an adult playing at first team level against guys who have spent the vast majority of their life playing on grass.

21-08-2023, 07:51 AM
Was his goal at the weekend on grass or plastic?

Bridge hibs
21-08-2023, 08:05 AM
Was his goal at the weekend on grass or plastic?Artificial pitch

3-4-3 and looks like he played on the left of the three

21-08-2023, 08:10 AM
Artificial pitch

3-4-3 and looks like he played on the left of the three

Looked like he played through the middle in the highlights I watched. Probably change about the front three though like most teams these days.

Good movement and took the goal well.