View Full Version : Melkersen
Bridge hibs
21-08-2023, 08:23 AM
Looked like he played through the middle in the highlights I watched. Probably change about the front three though like most teams these days.
Good movement and took the goal well.Yeah could have mate, I took that from Livescore
Bad Habits
21-08-2023, 08:30 AM
https://www.godset.no/nyheter/lsk-vant-pa-marienlyst
Link to the highlights there.
Feel sorry for the lad, very similar to his Motherwell goals close to the centre of the goal, inside the 6 yard box. never in a million years a wide forward.
if were going to see the best of him he needs to play through the centre or in a two with a Doidge type.
21-08-2023, 08:46 AM
Feel sorry for the lad, very similar to his Motherwell goals close to the centre of the goal, inside the 6 yard box. never in a million years a wide forward.
if we're going to see the best of him he needs to play through the centre or in a two with a Doidge type.
The problem is these days as no good attacking sides play a front 2. If he needs to play beside a big centre forward he's not gonnae get very far. Genuinely cannot think of a decent example of that type of striker playing at a decent standard anywhere.
I agree he's not right-sided forward. He can definitely do a job on the left.
21-08-2023, 09:09 AM
The problem is these days as no good attacking sides play a front 2. If he needs to play beside a big centre forward he's not gonnae get very far. Genuinely cannot think of a decent example of that type of striker playing at a decent standard anywhere.
Good point
Only one I can think of is Alvarez starting or coming on upfront as a sub to support The Robot
21-08-2023, 09:33 AM
I get what you're saying about the front 2 but we ALWAYS seem to be afflicted by the problem that we don't have anyone who can play up front on their own / the central role in a 3 and I reckon I've seen Hibs attempt and fail to play this way more than any other.
So far this season - ALF looked lost in Andorra (tbf this was early and we shouldn't read too much into it) in the middle of a 3 and has looked excellent in a 2. Doidge always looks better in a 2. Nisbet struggled badly in a 3 most of the time, looked good in a 2. Cummings couldn't play unless he was in a pair, the same is now being said about Melkersen.
The main reason I liked Myko was because he was excellent and comfortable in that central role. Apart from him though, you're probably only talking Leigh Griffiths and Chris Killen who I can ever really recall doing it justice in a Hibs jersey, and I wouldn't want to say that any of those who weren't at their best in that role were necessarily bad players.
Hopefully Vente proves to be the solution.
21-08-2023, 09:47 AM
if were going to see the best of him he needs to play through the centre or in a two with a Doidge type.
Looks a completely different player. Right through the middle, good shots from distance, in the six yard box away from his marker quite a few times during the highlights and a brilliant finish for his goal. Looks like the player we bought not the one we utilised out on the right wing for the majority of his time here. I get the feeling he will score quite a few goals on the loan move. He might just be a lad that does better from home but I still think he never really got a fair crack of the whip with a few starts in a row through the middle.
21-08-2023, 12:26 PM
Who'd have thought playing hom through the middle would ever have been a good idea 😕.
Good point
Only one I can think of is Alvarez starting or coming on upfront as a sub to support The Robot
We played 424 against Luzern and Man C play di.ilar bur you need everyone on their gane to make it work regularly but Man C have world class players.
21-08-2023, 12:41 PM
Looks a completely different player. Right through the middle, good shots from distance, in the six yard box away from his marker quite a few times during the highlights and a brilliant finish for his goal. Looks like the player we bought not the one we utilised out on the right wing for the majority of his time here. I get the feeling he will score quite a few goals on the loan move. He might just be a lad that does better from home but I still think he never really got a fair crack of the whip with a few starts in a row through the middle.
He always needed a loan that had him playing, he wasn't ready to start for us for long spells and the loan to Rotterdam felt like us trying to chase the bag rather than look after his long term development. He should have been away at a Raith etc last year. Still though, glad he's now out on loan playing and we can look again in January at how he's came on.
21-08-2023, 05:42 PM
I get what you're saying about the front 2 but we ALWAYS seem to be afflicted by the problem that we don't have anyone who can play up front on their own / the central role in a 3 and I reckon I've seen Hibs attempt and fail to play this way more than any other.
So far this season - ALF looked lost in Andorra (tbf this was early and we shouldn't read too much into it) in the middle of a 3 and has looked excellent in a 2. Doidge always looks better in a 2. Nisbet struggled badly in a 3 most of the time, looked good in a 2. Cummings couldn't play unless he was in a pair, the same is now being said about Melkersen.
The main reason I liked Myko was because he was excellent and comfortable in that central role. Apart from him though, you're probably only talking Leigh Griffiths and Chris Killen who I can ever really recall doing it justice in a Hibs jersey, and I wouldn't want to say that any of those who weren't at their best in that role were necessarily bad players.
Hopefully Vente proves to be the solution.
The likes of Cummings and MacLaren are classic examples of these types of CF’s, which is why they aren’t playing at a higher level than India and Australia.
I think Doidge does it well. He can hold it and win headers, which is perfect when you’ve got a couple of flyers either side and from what I understand, Vente played without a partner at Roda.
The Le Fondre signing still baffles me. He’s always needed a partner right through his career and when you play a 2 like that, our best attacking players suffer as they have to play a lot deeper and are less affective as we saw yesterday. We should never be playing a front 2 when we’ve got Boyle and Youan on the wings.
21-08-2023, 05:53 PM
The likes of Cummings and MacLaren are classic examples of these types of CF’s, which is why they aren’t playing at a higher level than India and Australia.
I think Doidge does it well. He can hold it and win headers, which is perfect when you’ve got a couple of flyers either side and from what I understand, Vente played without a partner at Roda.
The Le Fondre signing still baffles me. He’s always needed a partner right through his career and when you play a 2 like that, our best attacking players suffer as they have to play a lot deeper and are less affective as we saw yesterday. We should never be playing a front 2 when we’ve got Boyle and Youan on the wings.
Youan ended up with a goal and assist yesterday, so he wasn’t that ineffective.
Some of the best football we’ve played so far this season has been with a front two.
Could easily point to the St Mirren game where the two of them were totally ineffective and we were then much better when we switched to two up top.
21-08-2023, 06:16 PM
I always thought it was Chris Mueller who hadn’t played on grass or maybe I am just getting confused?
Anyway a goal is progress LJ seems to rate him as he tried to get him involved this season without much success
His cup performance at Motherwell is a vivid memory so not giving up on him just yet
Maybes he can still come good for us
Chris Mueller had never played football on any surface before.
21-08-2023, 07:06 PM
Chris Mueller had never played football on any surface before.
👍
21-08-2023, 07:13 PM
I worried about Alf as well but now I have watched him close up I can see the value
He is tenacious wiry strong on the ball never gives up is street wise the master of winning free kicks and a constant goal threat and a pest to opposition defences has chipped in with goals and assists and quick over short distances
The sort of sub we could have done with at Tiny last
21-08-2023, 07:17 PM
Chris Mueller had never played football before.
Sorted
21-08-2023, 08:21 PM
Youan ended up with a goal and assist yesterday, so he wasn’t that ineffective.
Some of the best football we’ve played so far this season has been with a front two.
Could easily point to the St Mirren game where the two of them were totally ineffective and we were then much better when we switched to two up top.
We were 2 down after 17 minutes and switched Boyle to Wing back after 25. He’s never going to nearly as effective there. We then just proceeded to launch it at Doidge for the rest of the game.
What game was it that we played great football with a front 2?
21-08-2023, 08:30 PM
We were 2 down after 17 minutes and switched Boyle to Wing back after 25. He’s never going to nearly as effective there. We then just proceeded to launch it at Doidge for the rest of the game.
We brought on Le Fondre in the second half of the St Mirren game and scored a good goal with the two up front combining. Then Youan set one up for one of the front two.
We played two up front at home to Luzern in what was our best performance of the season.
Youan also scored a goal and set one up yesterday despite being ‘ineffective’.
21-08-2023, 08:33 PM
Luzern at home
22-08-2023, 05:33 AM
Luzern at home
You must’ve have been at a different game to me mate. I thought we were organised but it certainly wasn’t a good footballing performance. We had 33% possession.
On top of that we played 343 for nearly all of the 2nd half.
22-08-2023, 05:35 AM
I worried about Alf as well but now I have watched him close up I can see the value
He is tenacious wiry strong on the ball never gives up is street wise the master of winning free kicks and a constant goal threat and a pest to opposition defences has chipped in with goals and assists and quick over short distances
The sort of sub we could have done with at Tiny last
I’m not disputing he’s a good player. I just don’t thinking he’s good enough to justify playing our 2 best attackers, Youan and Boyle in a less effective positions to accommodate him.
22-08-2023, 06:25 AM
I’m not disputing he’s a good player. I just don’t thinking he’s good enough to justify playing our 2 best attackers, Youan and Boyle in a less effective positions to accommodate him.
Offers something different brilliant assist for Vente never gave up good link up play with Doidge to score his goal Boyle not firing on all cylinders yet Youan brilliant in flashes with goals and assists but still highly frustrating Doidge has been a revelation got his mojo back
Vente looks like the real deal cool finish on Sunday hope he is available for Villa could be our secret weapon He would be a starter in my eyes Boyle and Youan can sort out where they want to play
22-08-2023, 06:40 AM
You must’ve have been at a different game to me mate. I thought we were organised but it certainly wasn’t a good footballing performance. We had 33% possession.
The shape didn't change when obita came on, was still the 442 until late on
22-08-2023, 07:35 AM
Possession isn’t a measure of footballing performance, it’s simply the amount of passes a team makes as a percentage of total passes in the match. Under Maloney we regularly dominated possession but it rarely reflected a good footballing performance - we were a team who retained possession well but had absolutely zero cutting edge.
22-08-2023, 07:50 AM
Offers something different brilliant assist for Vente never gave up good link up play with Doidge to score his goal Boyle not firing on all cylinders yet Youan brilliant in flashes with goals and assists but still highly frustrating Doidge has been a revelation got his mojo back
Vente looks like the real deal cool finish on Sunday hope he is available for Villa could be our secret weapon He would be a starter in my eyes Boyle and Youan can sort out where they want to play
Not to turn this into a Doidge thread, but he's had 1 decent game so far this season and hasn't really made much of an impact in the others bar Inter Escaldes. He needs to try matching the levels he showed against St Mirren consistently.
22-08-2023, 07:54 AM
Not to turn this into a Doidge thread, but he's had 1 decent game so far this season and hasn't really made much of an impact in the others bar Inter Escaldes. He needs to try matching the levels he showed against St Mirren consistently.
Agree needs to keep it going
His drag backs and ball retention on Sunday were a delight
Never gave up
Needs team mates to anticipate his wee flicks no one in our squad offers that probably why teams are queuing up to sign him
Has only started two games since St Mirren Motherwell and Raith and must have did ok as wasn’t hooked in these days of five subs
He also hit the post versus Luzern at home so unlucky
22-08-2023, 07:54 AM
Possession isn’t a measure of footballing performance, it’s simply the amount of passes a team makes as a percentage of total passes in the match. Under Maloney we regularly dominated possession but it rarely reflected a good footballing performance - we were a team who retained possession well but had absolutely zero cutting edge.
Agreed. Whereas against Luzern we scored some superb goals over the two legs with limited possession. I know what I prefer.
22-08-2023, 08:42 AM
Agreed. Whereas against Luzern we scored some superb goals over the two legs with limited possession. I know what I prefer.
Which?
22-08-2023, 08:54 AM
Agree needs to keep it going
His drag backs and ball retention on Sunday were a delight
Never gave up
Needs team mates to anticipate his wee flicks no one in our squad offers that probably why teams are queuing up to sign him
Has only started two games since St Mirren Motherwell and Raith and must have did ok as wasn’t hooked in these days of five subs
He also hit the post versus Luzern at home so unlucky
You're all forgetting his crowning glory, that step-over and shot against Bournemouth in pre-season. It was a fantastic bit of skill.
ChuckNor
23-09-2023, 10:54 PM
Any updates on how he is getting on? While I’ve not been impressed with him this far, he is another one who gets a clean slate when he returns. Had read some good reviews of his performances from Norwegian twitter.
24-09-2023, 12:54 AM
Any updates on how he is getting on? While I’ve not been impressed with him this far, he is another one who gets a clean slate when he returns. Had read some good reviews of his performances from Norwegian twitter.
He's started all 3 games it seems since he's went there and scored 1 so far.
I think by my count he has 9 games left of the season so hopefully bags a few more to keep himself starting and playing every game and comes back a bit more ready to go.
tonyrougier123
24-09-2023, 03:43 PM
On scoresheet today.
24-09-2023, 04:11 PM
On scoresheet today.
Against Molde as well no less.
24-09-2023, 04:20 PM
On scoresheet today.
Fantastic stuff.
24-09-2023, 04:21 PM
Superb goal too
24-09-2023, 04:34 PM
He might not want to come back! Must be loving being back home and playing football again.
ElginHibbie
24-09-2023, 04:35 PM
Superb goal too
https://x.com/FootballReprt/status/1705965868893552846?s=20 (https://x.com/FootballReprt/status/1705965868893552846?s=20)
24-09-2023, 04:35 PM
Just seen the goal. Some finish. I still think he will play for us at some point
24-09-2023, 04:37 PM
Ewan Henderson scoring again today also
24-09-2023, 04:43 PM
https://x.com/FootballReprt/status/1705965868893552846?s=20 (https://x.com/FootballReprt/status/1705965868893552846?s=20)
Good movement, good finish. That's the stuff son :aok:
24-09-2023, 04:44 PM
Just been subbed after 82 minutes . Fantastic goal - left footed . Unsaveable . Not sure he had the confidence to try that shot when with us .
Up-the-slope
24-09-2023, 04:46 PM
Good movement, good finish. That's the stuff son :aok:
:agree: it was
fife hfc
24-09-2023, 04:48 PM
Everybody deserves a fresh start under Montgomery and nobody has doubted that both Melkersen and Henderson have something and maybe we now have manager to get the best out of them.
Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk
24-09-2023, 04:53 PM
Everybody deserves a fresh start under Montgomery and nobody has doubted that both Melkersen and Henderson have something and maybe we now have manager to get the best out of them.
Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk
Nobody? Post #5 perhaps?
Stairway 2 7
24-09-2023, 05:31 PM
He's 20 a bairn. Of all the bizarre shouts I've seen on here is loads of people saying he's crap. I put up posts of Riordan getting sent to Cowdenbeath after not scoring in a number of games for hibs, but the reply was nah Riordan is class Melkerson crap.
I'm not saying Melkerson will be anything and certainly not saying he'll be a deek, but he's a kid and who knows.
24-09-2023, 06:40 PM
He's 20 a bairn. Of all the bizarre shouts I've seen on here is loads of people saying he's crap. I put up posts of Riordan getting sent to Cowdenbeath after not scoring in a number of games for hibs, but the reply was nah Riordan is class Melkerson crap.
I'm not saying Melkerson will be anything and certainly not saying he'll be a deek, but he's a kid and who knows.
Said similar, time is absolutely on his side and these loan moves may actually pay off if he comes back to a supportive manager who is prepared to work with him.
24-09-2023, 06:47 PM
Said similar, time is absolutely on his side and these loan moves may actually pay off if he comes back to a supportive manager who is prepared to work with him.
And play him in the right position.
24-09-2023, 06:52 PM
And play him in the right position.
Yeah, that as well!!
24-09-2023, 06:56 PM
A cracking finish. A fresh start under the new manager and I sure we’ll see a different Melkerson when he returns.
24-09-2023, 06:57 PM
Now that Johnson is away I think all our loan players will come back delighted and raring to go 👍
Donegal Hibby
24-09-2023, 07:15 PM
I like him and think there's a player there . His movement is good imo and I don't think it was easy for him moving to us at his age either. We haven't exactly helped him in his development I feel , playing him as a lone striker or putting out wide right didn't suit him . The first loan move was disappointing in he didn't get enough game time like this one seems to be giving him either. Thought it was a strange one tbh .
I'd like to see him come back and get another chance, at his age why not ? . With us playing two strikers I think that would suit him and a manager like Monty and Sergio who have a good history of developing young players might get the best out of him too .
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2023, 07:17 PM
And for every Riordan there’s a Cummings, Griffiths, O’Connor or Stokes who had started producing by 20.
If you look at the succesfull strikers we’ve had, they’ve generally delivered the goods by 20 years old. Riordan is the exception rather than the rule and even then Riordan had a better record than Melkersen.
I’ve no issue with him being given another chance, but I don’t think people are wrong for having made a judgement on what they’ve seen of him so far. He’s had plenty minutes and offered absolutely nothing.
Stairway 2 7
24-09-2023, 07:52 PM
And for every Riordan there’s a Cummings, Griffiths, O’Connor or Stokes who had started producing by 20.
I’ve no issue with him being given another chance, but I don’t think people are wrong for having made a judgement on what they’ve seen of him so far.
If you look at the succesfull strikers we’ve had, they’ve generally delivered the goods by 20 years old. Riordan is the exception rather than the rule and even then Riordan had a better record than Melkersen.
If you were to judge every striker by putting them up against 3 of our best strikers in a quarter century then they've no chance, although to be fair Cummings had only played in the championship at 20.
Stephen Dobbie would have been in the footballing bin only scoring a couple at age 23, Grant Holt non league at 22, at 22 Youans only top league games were 6 games and 0 goals, Darren Jackson was kicking about Meadowbank at 21, Doidge never got his move to league 2 until 23. Kevin Nisbet scored 0 goals in 17 spl games over 3 season it was when he was 22 he started banging them in league 1 with Raith
To say someone should be scoring regularly at just turned 20 is mental. Were not expecting him to be one of the modern greats like Griffiths but he could be a solid player like Nisbet, he's certainly ahead of where Nisbet was at 20. The chances are like most young players he won't make the top but its a lottery so hopefully he gets the patience needed
Paulie Walnuts
24-09-2023, 08:03 PM
If you were to judge every striker by putting them up against 3 of our best strikers in a quarter century then they've no chance, although to be fair Cummings had only played in the championship at 20.
Stephen Dobbie would have been in the footballing bin only scoring a couple at age 23, Grant Holt non league at 22, at 22 Youans only top league games were 6 games and 0 goals, Darren Jackson was kicking about Meadowbank at 21, Doidge never got his move to league 2 until 23. Kevin Nisbet scored 0 goals in 17 spl games over 3 season it was when he was 22 he started banging them in league 1 with Raith
To say someone should be scoring regularly at just turned 20 is mental. Were not expecting him to be one of the modern greats like Griffiths but he could be a solid player like Nisbet, he's certainly ahead of where Nisbet was at 20. The chances are like most young players he won't make the top but its a lottery so hopefully he gets the patience needed
Nobody said he should be scoring regularly by 20. He should be at least posing some semblance of a threat though, something which over a 32 game period at Hibs he has only managed in his debut.
Even Nisbet who you’ve used as an example was only a few months older than Melkersen is now when he scored nearly a goal a game for Raith Rovers. Could you really see Melkersen doing that?
Like I said, I’ve no issue with him being given another chance, but the idea that one of the most bizarre shouts ever seen on here is that Melkersen is crap when we’ve watched him play for Hibs 32 times and offer so little doesn’t really add up to me. His time at Hibs has been crap and his performances have more often than not been crap. He might get the chance to change that but it’s hardly crazy that people have come to that conclusion about him based on what we’ve seen.
tonyrougier123
24-09-2023, 08:15 PM
There’s definitely a player in melkerson. Needs confidence games and played in his preferred position. If he was out on loan at stenhousemuir banging them in we’d be raving about the future. The level he is going out on loan is way above that,Dutch loan didn’t work but he’s regular starter for stromgodset. With hopefully a better set up and an arm around him, and as Montgomery wants from his players hard work melkerson will come good.
24-09-2023, 08:20 PM
Of all the players who could get a fresh start, I think Melkersson is one who could really turn it around. Now we play 2 up front then he might be able to get more game time.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk
Keepthefaith
24-09-2023, 08:49 PM
That's some strike! I too have faith he might yet make it given the right support, coaching and management...
That is top top striking, looking forward to seeing him back
24-09-2023, 10:48 PM
Plastic pitch by the looks of it.
25-09-2023, 12:02 AM
Plastic pitch by the looks of it.
Majority of pitches are in Norway
Stairway 2 7
25-09-2023, 04:25 AM
Nobody said he should be scoring regularly by 20. He should be at least posing some semblance of a threat though, something which over a 32 game period at Hibs he has only managed in his debut.
Even Nisbet who you’ve used as an example was only a few months older than Melkersen is now when he scored nearly a goal a game for Raith Rovers. Could you really see Melkersen doing that?
Like I said, I’ve no issue with him being given another chance, but the idea that one of the most bizarre shouts ever seen on here is that Melkersen is crap when we’ve watched him play for Hibs 32 times and offer so little doesn’t really add up to me. His time at Hibs has been crap and his performances have more often than not been crap. He might get the chance to change that but it’s hardly crazy that people have come to that conclusion about him based on what we’ve seen.
Nisbet was doing it in league one from 21 but had done nothing previous, hed have been written off by the experts at the age Melkersen is. Melkersen has done similar in the Norwegian championship 2 years younger, hes also played at all the Norwegian youth levels and just scored 2 in 4 in the Norwegian Premier. He's 20..
Youth players develop at different rates and as I say he might not make it but hopefully he keeps up his improvement and there is a chance
25-09-2023, 08:33 AM
Melkerson's last game over there is early December, hopefully back to us and ready to play in January.
At least he seems to be a starter in this loan and has played a lot of minutes already
25-09-2023, 08:35 AM
Yes, but wasn't his unfamiliarity with grass pitches cited as the reason for his poor performances for us?
If that's true, will he be any better prepared when he returns? :dunno:
25-09-2023, 08:55 AM
That can't be right, Norway is tiny.
25-09-2023, 09:00 AM
That can't be right, Norway is tiny.
Good spot!
25-09-2023, 09:04 AM
Yes, but wasn't his unfamiliarity with grass pitches cited as the reason for his poor performances for us?
If that's true, will he be any better prepared when he returns? :dunno:
I don't think it was cited as the reason, I think it was mentioned as a possible contributing factor.
Playing and scoring is likely to be beneficial regardless of the surface.
25-09-2023, 09:13 AM
I don't think it was cited as the reason, I think it was mentioned as a possible contributing factor.
Playing and scoring is likely to be beneficial regardless of the surface.
Yes, I should have said "one of the reasons" although I can't remember any others being offered.
Seafield Scott
25-09-2023, 09:13 AM
I still believe there is a good player in Melkersen. I think some of the expectations on him being an instant goal machine as slightly unrealsitic imo. Down South they run U23 teams as they realise players can take time to develop - some come good by 16/17yrs and others don't. Personally I am happy to persevere with him as he develops.
nickwhibs
25-09-2023, 10:53 AM
I just hope he makes it so the Melkerson song (Bella ciao) gets a regular airing
tonyrougier123
29-10-2023, 05:13 PM
Scored in 1-0 win against Viking today.
4goals in 8 apps
29-10-2023, 05:15 PM
Scored in 1-0 win against Viking today.
Excellent. Would love to see him back. Monty will give him a fair hearing.
29-10-2023, 07:43 PM
Goal here - https://x.com/tv2sport/status/1718668009748025833?s=46&t=brEurjABCqnZmqhpqvZvEA
29-10-2023, 07:46 PM
Really excited to see him when he comes back in January.
The lad clearly has talent but, imo, was never a winger/ left or right of a front 3.
Playing 2 up front should suit him perfectly.
He’ll come back confident from his loan and I dare say Montgomery will put an arm round him and get him feeling wanted.
4 in 8 is impressive, especially for a mid table team
Do they not have an option to buy?
29-10-2023, 08:01 PM
Was nothing mentioned in the article when we announced he was going to them.
29-10-2023, 08:05 PM
That was the team he was on loan at last season that had the option.
Then the Belgian team have an option to buy Henderson.
Nothing for Melkersen in this loan.
29-10-2023, 09:24 PM
Wonder what Melkerson and Vente would be like up front
Up-the-slope
29-10-2023, 09:57 PM
Wonder what Melkerson and Vente would be like up front
:agree: thats what I want to see... with Alf as the Parent slotting in to School them when needed
30-10-2023, 02:24 AM
That was the team he was on loan at last season that had the option.
Then the Belgian team have an option to buy Henderson.
Nothing for Melkersen in this loan.
Off topic but anyone know how Henderson is doing?
30-10-2023, 06:49 AM
Off topic but anyone know how Henderson is doing?
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/ewan-henderson/leistungsdaten/spieler/447066
Shows minutes played, not sure how he's performing but definitely getting game time.
30-10-2023, 10:15 AM
Great to hear Melks is getting a game and on the scoresheet on his loan this time round. I've always thought he looked a right tidy player that just needed to up the game in terms of street smarts and strength on the ball. This loan spell will boost his confidence and hopefully soon we have a first team regular on our hands.
Those writing him off at 20 years old need their bumps felt.
Cat Stanton
30-10-2023, 10:22 AM
Goal here - https://x.com/tv2sport/status/1718668009748025833?s=46&t=brEurjABCqnZmqhpqvZvEA
The old Scotsport cameras at work there - highlighting the player who didn't score.
30-10-2023, 10:34 AM
If we get a decent offer for him, I’d take it. We’re seeing from him what we seen in the videos before he joined, and maybe the Norwegian leagues suit him better.
No hard feelings, but it’s best for his career.
30-10-2023, 10:49 AM
If we get a decent offer for him, I’d take it. We’re seeing from him what we seen in the videos before he joined, and maybe the Norwegian leagues suit him better.
The videos before he joined were goals scored in the lower leagues, he’s now scoring goals against decent teams in the Norwegian top flight.
Donegal Hibby
30-10-2023, 11:07 AM
I think melkersen has potential and would like to see him back , think he could improve under Monty and the way he plays two upfront , got to remember that the guys about two years younger than Jair aswell , plenty of time for him to come good yet .
30-10-2023, 11:19 AM
Or we're seeing what we hoped to see from a loan deal. That he can get the minutes and score match winning goals. What is best for hibs is the main concern. Can only imagine that would involve Monty getting a very good look at him.
richard_pitts
30-10-2023, 12:09 PM
Or we're seeing what we hoped to see from a loan deal. That he can get the minutes and score match winning goals. What is best for Hibs is the main concern. Can only imagine that would involve Monty getting a very good look at him.
This is a young guy in a foreign country who will have struggled to develop / adapt his game as on top of that, frankly Hibs have been a bin fire for a significant chunk of his time here. Monty seems capable of developing players based on what we've seen so far. There is a player there methinks, ditto Harry McKirdy.
Mcbizz1998
30-10-2023, 12:53 PM
I still have hopes for him tbh. Bring him back in January and get him working with Vente and ALF, playing 2 up top. He is still young and will benefit hugely from that. Not to mention Monty seems to be a good man manager and can hopefully get the best out of him.
Far too young to write him off imo.
30-10-2023, 12:55 PM
Would he want to come back? For all things might be a bit more friendly and enjoyable round the place now, his time here must've been pretty miserable. Whatever the arguments over whether Hibs might be a more attractive club than most Norwegian sides, being home, playing and scoring could be something he's pretty loathe to give up.
Mcbizz1998
30-10-2023, 12:59 PM
Would he want to come back? For all things might be a bit more friendly and enjoyable round the place now, his time here must've been pretty miserable. Whatever the arguments over whether Hibs might be a more attractive club than most Norwegian sides, being home, playing and scoring could be something he's pretty loathe to give up.
When is he under contract with us until? Doesn't really matter what he wants, if he is our player then he will be coming back when Hibs tell him to.
Stairway 2 7
30-10-2023, 01:04 PM
In the videos before he wasn't scoring against Viking and Molde who just pumped Aberdeens victors Hacken.
20 year old written off when he's on 4 in 8 in the Norwegian top league is a wild shout. He's still got years of development
Donegal Hibby
30-10-2023, 01:09 PM
When is he under contract with us until? Doesn't really matter what he wants, if he is our player then he will be coming back when Hibs tell him to.
I hope it doesn't just come down to him being under contract, hopefully he wants to comeback. You are right in it doesn't really matter want he wants though the flip side to that is I don't think if he wanted to stay bringing back a unhappy player does anyone any good either .
30-10-2023, 01:14 PM
Think the same. I'm sure he'll be loving this loan move. The thought of coming back here might not be something he's looking forward to.
Definitely a place for him up top in a two though. So hope he comes back and thrives in January.
hhibs
30-10-2023, 01:35 PM
Think the same. I'm sure he'll be loving this loan move. The thought of coming back here might not be something he's looking forward to.
Definitely a place for him up top in a two though. So hope he comes back and thrives in January.
Something at the back of my mind says there is a right to buy on this loan,anyone able to shed light on this?
30-10-2023, 01:43 PM
In the videos before he wasn't scoring against Viking and Molde who just pumped Aberdeens victors Hacken.
20 year old written off when he's on 4 in 8 in the Norwegian top league is a wild shout. He's still got years of development
I’m just not convinced he’s got the strength and pace to play in this league, much in the same way that Cabraja was a good footballer but not suited to the pace and physicality here.
Not doubting that he’s got potential to be a good footballer, I just don’t think this league where he’ll get kicked about and outmuscled is the one for him.
Paulie Walnuts
30-10-2023, 01:50 PM
I’m just not convinced he’s got the strength and pace to play in this league, much in the same way that Cabraja was a good footballer but not suited to the pace and physicality here.
Not doubting that he’s got potential to be a good footballer, I just don’t think this league where he’ll get kicked about and outmuscled is the one for him.
I’m not sure it’s as bad a shout as others are making out.
He’s been woeful at Hibs. There’s no getting away from that. He’s done well in this loan spell, but if we got a decent offer for him then like you I’d be inclined to take it rather than hoping something just clicks when he comes back here. He done absolutely nothing when he went on loan to the Netherlands as well. I’m not sure I’d be letting 4 goals in 8 games have us turn down a decent bid if it was me making the decision. That being said, if any offers are for next to nothing then I’d bring him back and have a look.
It may well just be that he isn’t suited to Scottish football.
30-10-2023, 01:52 PM
Scottish football is football. Plenty smaller guys than Melkersen have done well here.
Donegal Hibby
30-10-2023, 02:11 PM
Don't think it helped playing him out of position or the first loan move was anyway beneficial to melkersen or Hibs either.
30-10-2023, 02:13 PM
He needed to go somewhere and play, 5 minutes here and there was no good for him or us.
He will come back and either sink or swim, but he will get a chance under Monty.
30-10-2023, 02:14 PM
Where does he fit in the pecking order when all our front two options, including loanees, are fit and well?
Vente
Alf
Doidge
McKirdy
Melko
O'Connor
Landers now in the mix?
And throw in the option of Boyle playing front two if others are out.
If he is 5th/6th in the pecking order has he shown enough to be kept? Doubt it - as things stand currently.
If he is kept I'd like to see how he does on loan at a decent Championship club before deciding if he can hack it here and is worth keeping.
Stairway 2 7
30-10-2023, 02:25 PM
At the same age Derek Riordan was at Cowdenbeath after no scoring in 10 games for hibs. He was skinny and no the fastest yet, he developed quite a bit after coming back from Cowden 👀
Not in anyway saying Melkersen will do the same but 4 in 8 in the top league in Norway scoring against Molde. If we don't take a chance there will be a queue to do so
30-10-2023, 02:28 PM
Where does he fit in the pecking order when all our front two options, including loanees, are fit and well?
Vente
Alf
Doidge
McKirdy
Melko
O'Connor
Landers now in the mix?
If he is 5th/6th in the pecking order has he shown enough to be kept? Doubt it - as things stand currently.
If he is kept I'd like to see how he does on loan at a decent Championship club before deciding if he can hack it here and is worth keeping.
I don't see how he's 5th or 6th. He's matchday squad looking for more minutes than he's been getting. ALF is useful but he's not starting and giving 70 mins every week.
Then with niggles to Doidge or Vente then who do we turn to really?
I don’t think a loan to the championship will tell us anything that a shed load of goals at Roda or his current scoring exploits, already tell us.
All we need to know is can Monty get more out of him than Lee Johnson could.
30-10-2023, 03:01 PM
Vente
Alf
Doidge
McKirdy
Melko
O'Connor
Landers now in the mix?
With the greatest respect to the Championship, the boy is doing it at a better level than that already over Norway imo. The laddie clearly has talent and a knack for goalscoring when given service and balls into the box to feed off, certainly now he's out playing weekly.
In regards to the pecking order question I would have it as more a Vente rotating with Melkersen and ALF/Doidge rotating. A goalscoring type poacher beside the fodder target man like Doidge or ALF.
Josh O'Connor is now struggling to get serious minutes in the Championship and hasn't scored at all in the league yet, it would be hard to look at him as a serious option in our team if he were coming back in January, or even next season if he can't kick on the second half of the year should he stay. If we still have our Edinburgh City connection it might be better for him to go there from January instead.
30-10-2023, 03:08 PM
I don't see how he's 5th or 6th. He's matchday squad looking for more minutes than he's been getting. ALF is useful but he's not starting and giving 70 mins every week.
I don’t think a loan to the championship will tell us anything that a shed load of goals at Roda or his current scoring exploits, already tell us.
Was it Johnson that was problem ?
30-10-2023, 03:16 PM
It could be argued that he apparently was with Lewis Miller no?
30-10-2023, 03:26 PM
I'd give Monty a couple of months working with Melks and let's find out :-)
30-10-2023, 03:40 PM
With the greatest respect to the Championship, the boy is doing it at a better level than that already over Norway imo. The laddie clearly has talent and a knack for goalscoring when given service and balls into the box to feed off, certainly now he's out playing weekly.
In regards to the pecking order question I would have it as more a Vente rotating with Melkersen and ALF/Doidge rotating. A goalscoring type poacher beside the fodder target man like Doidge or ALF.
Josh O'Connor is now struggling to get serious minutes in the Championship and hasn't scored at all in the league yet, it would be hard to look at him as a serious option in our team if he were coming back in January, or even next season if he can't kick on the second half of the year should he stay. If we still have our Edinburgh City connection it might be better for him to go there from January instead.
I would see it similar. Melkerson and Vente in a similar mould and then Doidge and ALF the wiser/older heads. It would be interesting to see Melkerson through the middle as part of a pair in a team that creates opportunities. I think he would do well.
I watched Josh a few times this year and he is miles away from our level. He might get there but he is in teh right place at the moment if he can get back in the side.
30-10-2023, 03:45 PM
He played about 10 minutes at Roda. An entirely useless loan spell for everyone concerned.
Still think he could have a role to play in 2 up top.
Everyone gets a clean slate, LJ judgement on players isn't to be trusted in the slightest.
30-10-2023, 03:50 PM
He played about 10 minutes at Roda. An entirely useless loan spell for everyone concerned.
Still think he could have a role to play in 2 up top.
Everyone gets a clean slate, LJ judgement on players isn't to be trusted in the slightest.
Sorry. Meant Ranheim. 17 goals in 26 according to wiki.
30-10-2023, 03:55 PM
My point, maybe not made clearly, was can he hack it here in Scotland, not just from the playing pov but just living here? My impression from previous comments from others going way back is that he was homesick and not a happy bunny in Scotland. If he is currently performing well at a better level than our Championship, as you say he is, then he should be a stand-out if on loan in that division, can prove he can hack the lifestyle here, and get a huge boost by banging in a fair amount of goals.
30-10-2023, 04:14 PM
It could be argued that he apparently was with Lewis Miller no?
I was an advocate for giving Johnson time to get it right though it was clear there were issues towards the inevitable, and his dismissal was the right decision.
I think there’s good evidence to suggest that Johnson certainly was an issue when it comes to certain players, and that’s why I’m happy that Montgomery has seen something in these guys to play them.
30-10-2023, 05:54 PM
I've been critical of Melkersen but he's now doing exactly what he was needing to do all along - play regularly and score.
His move to Holland was a nonsense and will have stalled his progress.
I have no issue with him coming back fitter, more confident and more experienced and potentially being able to offer something we haven't seen enough of from him in a Hibs shirt up until now.
King Cosell
30-10-2023, 06:27 PM
Stromsgodset have got 4 league games left, the last on Dec 3rd. We've got a busy schedule in Dec, he'll probably be needed. Will he be coming straight back? Straight into the sqaud?
Vente
Alf
Doidge
McKirdy
Melko
O'Connor
Landers now in the mix?
Doidge will be away at some point, O'Connor isn't exactly doing the business at Airdrie, McKirdy isn't a striker in any shape and Melkersen is scoring goals in a league similar level to ours, I'd say he'll be in the matchday squad looking for one of the 2 starting slots if he keeps up his good form and development.
Stromsgodset have got 4 league games left, the last on Dec 3rd. We've got a busy schedule in Dec, he'll probably be needed. Will he be coming straight back? Straight into the sqaud?
Won't be able to play until January when the window opens again.
30-10-2023, 06:49 PM
I like him, he is a very technically good footballer and seems a good character. However when watching him I always feel like he is being reactive to things happening and not anticipating or taking the gamble that something may happen. It feels a bit like watching Van Der Beek at Man U, good technical player in a technical league, but a bit like a little boy lost in the madness and pace of British football.
Can Melkersen adapt?
Paulie Walnuts
30-10-2023, 07:15 PM
I’d imagine he’ll be straight back and straight into training but he can’t play until our window opens.
30-10-2023, 07:43 PM
I still have hopes for him tbh. Bring him back in January and get him working with Vente and ALF, playing 2 up top. He is still young and will benefit hugely from that. Not to mention Monty seems to be a good man manager and can hopefully get the best out of him.
Far too young to write him off imo.
They’re never too young for the mob on here.
30-10-2023, 09:14 PM
My point, maybe not made clearly, was can he hack it here in Scotland, not just from the playing pov but just living here? My impression from previous comments from others going way back is that he was homesick and not a happy bunny in Scotland. If he is currently performing well at a better level than our Championship, as you say he is, then he should be a stand-out if on loan in that division, can prove he can hack the lifestyle here, and get a huge boost by banging in a fair amount of goals.
I see the point your making now and wouldn’t disagree with the logic on it. However in my mind it might be better to utilise the laddies momentum from his loan and some maybe even a wee bit time with family to see if we can get it out of him and relieve some pressure off Vente for the business end.
30-10-2023, 10:13 PM
I like him, he is a very technically good footballer and seems a good character. However when watching him I always feel like he is being reactive to things happening and not anticipating or taking the gamble that something may happen. It feels a bit like watching Van Der Beek at Man U, good technical player in a technical league, but a bit like a little boy lost in the madness and pace of British football.
Can Melkersen adapt?
Whaaaat? He's a Viking not Dutch. Probably set fire to his boat when he arrived.
31-10-2023, 12:21 AM
Whaaaat? He's a Viking not Dutch. Probably set fire to his boat when he arrived.
Huh?
Paul1642
31-10-2023, 08:09 PM
Hopefully watching Jair and Doidge get their chances and take them will be filling Melkersen with a bit of confidence about his return. Monty is willing to give everyone a chance and I have a feeling Melkerson will take it this time around.