View Full Version : Women’s World Cup

Pages : 1 [2] 3

16-08-2023, 11:51 AM
Get Hemp signed

16-08-2023, 11:59 AM
The Matildas journey is over.

England just had too much quality, although it was disappointing we conceded a couple of preventable goals.

A cracker from Kerr, but sadly it wasn’t enough.

Still, the Matildas took the whole country on an incredible journey, and really put football on the map.

Good luck Spain.😂

He's here!
16-08-2023, 12:06 PM
England have once again been excellent. Walsh is superb. Millie Bright shouldn’t have been backing off Kerr like that though. Really enjoyed the whole tournament actually hope England win the whole thing and James gets her comeback.Yep, deserved winners in the end. Credit to them. Wiegman's a great manager. As you say the whole tournament has been hugely enjoyable. And as somebody else has said, if the Lionesses follow up their Euros win by lifting the World Cup it can only be great for the women's/girls game in this country.

16-08-2023, 12:08 PM
Yep, deserved winners in the end. Credit to them. Wiegman's a great manager. As you say the whole tournament has been hugely enjoyable. And as somebody else has said, if the Lionesses follow up their Euros win by lifting the World Cup it can only be great for the women's/girls game in this country.

Won’t do anything for this country.I’m afraid. Just like the men’s game

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-08-2023, 12:12 PM

Not sure about that, look at the response to England winning the WC in 1966 (sorry for bringing it up I know they’re only to keen to do that on their own) up here. We went on to have decades of consistently churning out world class footballers as we tried to do the same, qualifying for every World Cup between 1974 and 1990, only missing out on one World Cup in 24 years isn’t bad.

16-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Not sure about that, look at the response to England winning the WC in 1966 (sorry for bringing it up I know they’re only to keen to do that on their own) up here. We went on to have decades of consistently churning out world class footballers as we tried to do the same, qualifying for every World Cup between 1974 and 1990, only missing out on one World Cup in 24 years isn’t bad.

Its done nothing in our country. And this will do nothing either. Unfortunately our strategy in Scotland is still about getting more kids involved rather than building elite performance players. We are falling further behind every year.

He's here!
16-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Not sure about that, look at the response to England winning the WC in 1966 (sorry for bringing it up I know they’re only to keen to do that on their own) up here. We went on to have decades of consistently churning out world class footballers as we tried to do the same, qualifying for every World Cup between 1974 and 1990, only missing out on one World Cup in 24 years isn’t bad. Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWith women's football I think it's more the case that the England/Scotland rivalry doesn't really cloud the thinking so much. The upsurge in girls playing football across the UK in recent years and the massive increase in coverage the women's game gets can only be healthy. Anyone watching today's game would be hard pressed to deny the quality of the football on show.

16-08-2023, 12:17 PM

Not sure how you reach that conclusion. It will have an impact on the womens game in the UK undoubtedly.

Really good match, England deserved the win. Aus and NZ been fantastic hosts.

andrew70
16-08-2023, 12:20 PM
Wiegman’s only lost 12 games in her international managerial career. Astounding.

The management of our game both male and female is unfortunately a different matter altogether.

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-08-2023, 12:22 PM
Wiegman’s only lost 12 games in her international managerial career. Astounding.

The management of our game both male and female is unfortunately a different matter altogether.

Yep incredible record, how far away are we from having a female manager of an SPFL club?

andrew70
16-08-2023, 12:22 PM
Yep incredible record, how far away are we from having a female manager of an SPFL club?

I wouldn’t be against her or Hayes getting a gig.

16-08-2023, 12:58 PM
Not sure how you reach that conclusion. It will have an impact on the womens game in the UK undoubtedly.Really good match, England deserved the win. Aus and NZ been fantastic hosts.If Englands men’s team were to win the World Cup do you really think that would benefit the game up here? The better players (as they have done since the women’s game upturn) will disappear over the border at a greater rate.

ErinGoBraghHFC
16-08-2023, 12:59 PM
If Englands men’s team were to win the World Cup do you really think that would benefit the game up here? The better players (as they have done since the women’s game upturn) will disappear over the border at a greater rate.

The better Scottish womens players playing in England can only be good for the national team, surely?

He's here!
16-08-2023, 01:05 PM
If Englands men’s team were to win the World Cup do you really think that would benefit the game up here? The better players (as they have done since the women’s game upturn) will disappear over the border at a greater rate.You could argue that the fact there are a number of players in the men's Scottish team playing consistently at a high level in England has boosted the national team's profile and success in recent years. No reason to think that wouldn't happen in the women's game, plus the more young girls see Scottish women playing at that level the more they'll be inspired to follow suit.

16-08-2023, 01:05 PM
Not sure about that, look at the response to England winning the WC in 1966 (sorry for bringing it up I know they’re only to keen to do that on their own) up here. We went on to have decades of consistently churning out world class footballers as we tried to do the same, qualifying for every World Cup between 1974 and 1990, only missing out on one World Cup in 24 years isn’t bad. Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI’m not so sure that was a response to the England win to be honest. Money and pulling power has far more to do with the games demise here as players go south for the big bucks. It’s already happening in the women’s game. The women’s game will grow even further down south on the back of an England women’s win and hasten the gap. It’s not that long ago in the men’s game where players couldn’t be arsed to play fir their country up here although our mini revival seems to have somewhat turned that round.

itslegaltender
16-08-2023, 01:06 PM
I want England to lose at tiddlywinks, don’t get me wrong. But I can’t help but think if they do win it it’ll do womens and girls football the world of good in the whole of the UK. My wee niece is just starting to get into football and I have to say the accessibility is much better for her than it was for my cousins etc 15-20 years ago. Can only be a good thing if they do go on to win it (even if I have to hold my nose when I say that!)Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalkproblem is that the gulf in money being ploughed into English womans football to the rest in UK is huge.

16-08-2023, 01:08 PM
The better Scottish womens players playing in England can only be good for the national team, surely?Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI would agree with that but the domestic game will ,as has the man’s game, suffer greatly and that’s from a less than great level to start with. The game up here would IMO suffer as a result.

16-08-2023, 01:24 PM
You could argue that the fact there are a number of players in the men's Scottish team playing consistently at a high level in England has boosted the national team's profile and success in recent years. No reason to think that wouldn't happen in the women's game, plus the more young girls see Scottish women playing at that level the more they'll be inspired to follow suit.

There will be a lot less Scottish players in the top English teams over the next few years. Watson probably the only one very soon. The Scottish game is going backwards. If we don't actually invest in elite performance academies in Scotland we will develop even less top class talent. Needs to be done by the SFA and not left to clubs.

Cuikyhibs
16-08-2023, 01:45 PM
I wouldn’t be against her or Hayes getting a gig.either would be a good appointment

Gus
16-08-2023, 02:02 PM
Hemp has been superb today!Her pass for the third goal. Tremendous IT'S COMING HOME

16-08-2023, 02:31 PM
Scotland play England next month in the North of England. Could we have a repeat of 1967?

16-08-2023, 02:37 PM
Its done nothing in our country. And this will do nothing either. Unfortunately our strategy in Scotland is still about getting more kids involved rather than building elite performance players. We are falling further behind every year.Surely both are positive?More players = more chance of Elite players?Also it's just nonsense to say England doing well won't help Scotland. The SWPL is much better than it used to be and the Scotland national team has also improved (though failed making recent tournaments).Scotland / Scottish FA / Old Firm is an altogether different issue.England doing well will inspire Scottish young girls and others so surely that's a positive. The SWPL needs more money fairly distributed though if it's to progress. More sponsors etc also.

16-08-2023, 02:39 PM
There will be a lot less Scottish players in the top English teams over the next few years. Watson probably the only one very soon. The Scottish game is going backwards. If we don't actually invest in elite performance academies in Scotland we will develop even less top class talent. Needs to be done by the SFA and not left to clubs.

Definitely.

The growth in mass participation in the girls game is amazing and unprecedented when you think back only 15-20 years. Like boys there has to be a vehicle for girls to get into the game at an early age and also somewhere to play for those who are of a level at which amateur football is their ceiling. I think more clubs springing up at that level is to be welcomed regardless of the standard.

What we don't have is somewhere for those girls who show exceptional talent to really flourish and that will hold us back. I'm not holding my breath that it will be resolved anytime soon, it took decades for us to find the right path in the men's game (and we arguably aren't even there yet).

16-08-2023, 02:45 PM
'Here We Go!' was its name and ran from 1987 until...basically the internet took our lives over completely .

I left as a 23 year old in 1974 when Turnbull's Tornadoes were the soup of the day, but always, and I mean always. supported HIbs from afar...some of the stories about how we got the results....óne ring means we have lost the league Cup final, two rings we have won it' ...and the steady airmailed stream of pink news and press cuttings seem like a generation ago...which they were.

Wouldn't say I had a passion for Aussie sporting teams....Aussie Rules, Rugby League are the big sports here, and I have zero interest in them.

Its different in regards to fitba, and I played, coached and even commented and wrote about it here...avidly support the Socceroos when they play and would marry all and every one of the Matildas!

For all of that,, unlike most I have never taken out Australian citizenship and still consider myself Scottish...not British though....but Scottish

If I seem defensive of Oz fitba.....its probably because there is a bit of arrogance on display when fitba players here or their abilities are mentioned ..football snobbery if you like...where because a player was playing in Australia he is automatically assumed as being likely to be of a lesser standard than if he was Scottish...the most recent example being the signing of Alfie...who many on here had him written off before he kicked a ball because well he was 36 and playing in yon A League!!

Probably how you guys feel when the English talk about Sottish teams and players...a kind of uninformed bias if you like.

There are good players here..as everywhere..and there are average and pish players too...just as thereare in Scotland

I laugh a bit when someone comments that they have watched an A League game and it was pish so Australian fitba is pish in general........I went to bed at 2 am on Monday morning hoping nobody else here tuned in for the first time to HIbs TV to watch us at Motherwell or they would think the same about Scottish fitba.

Just as I may seem defensive at times of Australian fitba, I am equally defensive here of Scottish fitba ...you may or may not be surprised to know that most locals dismiss the SPL as a 'pub league' down here, in the same way that in Scotland the A League is thought of.

To answer your question though...even if I have lived here for 49 years I don't see myself, or I don't think anyone else out here who meets me, sees me as being anything other than Scottish.

That said, for me the best thing I did though was jump on that Assisted Passage Qantas Jet back in 74....and I have never regretted it ......guess I did a Jason Cummings.

Yes, but can you work a BBQ yet? [emoji23]

16-08-2023, 02:52 PM
Surely both are positive?More players = more chance of Elite players?Also it's just nonsense to say England doing well won't help Scotland. The SWPL is much better than it used to be and the Scotland national team has also improved (though failed making recent tournaments).Scotland / Scottish FA / Old Firm is an altogether different issue.England doing well will inspire Scottish young girls and others so surely that's a positive. The SWPL needs more money fairly distributed though if it's to progress. More sponsors etc also.

More players dooesn't mean more Elite players unfortunately. As someone that's watched youth football in this country for the last 12 years I can assure you the level is going backwards. We have failed to invest after the success of our own womans team and there still isn't enough quality youth players breaking through. You should go an watch the 18s Performance games in Scotland. They are by and large awful, much worse than 5 years ago. Far too many players being put into performance teams when they are nowhere near that level which in turns affects training and the development of top players. Too many teams, not enough good coaches. We urgently need 2 Performances schools for girls football.

Hillsidehibby
16-08-2023, 03:44 PM
'Here We Go!' was its name and ran from 1987 until...basically the internet took our lives over completely .I left as a 23 year old in 1974 when Turnbull's Tornadoes were the soup of the day, but always, and I mean always. supported HIbs from afar...some of the stories about how we got the results....óne ring means we have lost the league Cup final, two rings we have won it' ...and the steady airmailed stream of pink news and press cuttings seem like a generation ago...which they were.Wouldn't say I had a passion for Aussie sporting teams....Aussie Rules, Rugby League are the big sports here, and I have zero interest in them.Its different in regards to fitba, and I played, coached and even commented and wrote about it here...avidly support the Socceroos when they play and would marry all and every one of the Matildas!For all of that,, unlike most I have never taken out Australian citizenship and still consider myself Scottish...not British though....but ScottishIf I seem defensive of Oz fitba.....its probably because there is a bit of arrogance on display when fitba players here or their abilities are mentioned ..football snobbery if you like...where because a player was playing in Australia he is automatically assumed as being likely to be of a lesser standard than if he was Scottish...the most recent example being the signing of Alfie...who many on here had him written off before he kicked a ball because well he was 36 and playing in yon A League!!Probably how you guys feel when the English talk about Sottish teams and players...a kind of uninformed bias if you like.There are good players here..as everywhere..and there are average and pish players too...just as thereare in ScotlandI laugh a bit when someone comments that they have watched an A League game and it was pish so Australian fitba is pish in general........I went to bed at 2 am on Monday morning hoping nobody else here tuned in for the first time to HIbs TV to watch us at Motherwell or they would think the same about Scottish fitba.Just as I may seem defensive at times of Australian fitba, I am equally defensive here of Scottish fitba ...you may or may not be surprised to know that most locals dismiss the SPL as a 'pub league' down here, in the same way that in Scotland the A League is thought of.To answer your question though...even if I have lived here for 49 years I don't see myself, or I don't think anyone else out here who meets me, sees me as being anything other than Scottish.That said, for me the best thing I did though was jump on that Assisted Passage Qantas Jet back in 74....and I have never regretted it ......guess I did a Jason Cummings.I get your sentiments Fred. I was one of the last Assisted Passage Poms back in 1982 and it was a culture shock to see that "soccer" hardly got a mention in the newspapers or on TV. Phoning a number on a Sunday morning at a dollar a minute to hear Hibs had been gubbed again was quite expensive as you had to listen to all the English leagues first! Although the hilarious pronunciations of some of the English teams made it a bit less painful.I was very arrogant about their football teams and wouldn't accept that they were anything near our standards but Australia always seems to adapt and improve at everything as they have.I could go on but returned in 89 due to family matters and never went back although have visited a few times, using my Aussie passport!

16-08-2023, 03:53 PM
If Englands men’s team were to win the World Cup do you really think that would benefit the game up here? The better players (as they have done since the women’s game upturn) will disappear over the border at a greater rate.

It's not the men's game your were referring to though, its the womens. Completely different scenario. Saying England winning the World Cup won't impact on the game played at all is quite a stretch.

16-08-2023, 04:22 PM
Scotland play England next month in the North of England. Could we have a repeat of 1967?

Surprised they didn't schedule it for Wembley for a glorious homecoming.

16-08-2023, 05:31 PM
It's not the men's game your were referring to though, its the womens. Completely different scenario. Saying England winning the World Cup won't impact on the game played at all is quite a stretch.They’re not different scenarios at all. I implied it would be negative on the game here and quantified it by asking the question if Englands men’s team were to win the World Cup would it be a positive for the game up here. It would be eventually be exactly the same outcome. It will impact it up here but will ultimately be negative. Not a stretch at all.

16-08-2023, 06:16 PM
They’re not different scenarios at all. I implied it would be negative on the game here and quantified it by asking the question if Englands men’s team were to win the World Cup would it be a positive for the game up here. It would be eventually be exactly the same outcome. It will impact it up here but will ultimately be negative.

It's a completely different scenario. Unless you think the womens game is in the same place as the mens?

16-08-2023, 06:28 PM
It's a completely different scenario. Unless you think the womens game is in the same place as the mens?

It’s exactly the same scenario. Neighbouring country with a better funded league with more momentum and attracting their neighbours better players with more cash and better conditions etc. That’s what is already happening and will accelerate. I really don’t see any long term benefit on the women’s game up here. Might be a bit more interest to be fair but overall it would affect it in the same way as if the men were to win it. That was my point. I’m not sure what’s so hard to imagine to be honest. It might prick interest for a bit but overall IMO it would actually be a negative for Scottish football particularly the “fledgling “ women’s game.

16-08-2023, 06:42 PM
It all comes down to money as ever. Im English and have to admit to only watching part of one game England v Colombia last weekend (had to leave at HT to meet the lads before watching Chesterfield play).
The English womens team is very accomplished in the womens game but so it should be with the amount of investment and indeed coverage given over to it. Its for that exact reason the US ruled the roost for so long and the same as why Team GB for example has suddenly in recent years won so many Olympic medals. Investment not suddenly becoming a nation of superhumans. Not that i subscribe to GB being a nation but you know what I mean.

16-08-2023, 07:14 PM
It’s exactly the same scenario. Neighbouring country with a better funded league with more momentum and attracting their neighbours better players with more cash and better conditions etc. That’s what is already happening and will accelerate. I really don’t see any long term benefit on the women’s game up here. Might be a bit more interest to be fair but overall it would affect it in the same way as if the men were to win it. That was my point. I’m not sure what’s so hard to imagine to be honest. It might prick interest for a bit but overall IMO it would actually be a negative for Scottish football particularly the “fledgling “ women’s game.

English players coming to play in the Scottish league is improving the standard of the Scottish league - surely better players makes more people want to watch it ?

I think the long term benefits are that people take the game more seriously and Scottish teams will keep trying to drive standards at domestic and national level.

If England were awful and their league was awful the Scottish league would be worse.

It does come down to money and sadly Scotland and lack of money at men and women’s game limits whats produced / supported.

England have chucked a load of money at their set up including paying the coach the highest salary in the world.

It’s not by chance they won the Euros and highly possible they win the World Cup too.

He's here!
16-08-2023, 07:24 PM
It all comes down to money as ever. Im English and have to admit to only watching part of one game England v Colombia last weekend (had to leave at HT to meet the lads before watching Chesterfield play).The English womens team is very accomplished in the womens game but so it should be with the amount of investment and indeed coverage given over to it. Its for that exact reason the US ruled the roost for so long and the same as why Team GB for example has suddenly in recent years won so many Olympic medals. Investment not suddenly becoming a nation of superhumans. Not that i subscribe to GB being a nation but you know what I mean.The women's game in the US is an interesting one as it kind of got off the ground and flourished in its own right, with very few clubs affiliated to men's clubs. In the UK and and other nations with longer football histories I'd imagine most leading women's clubs are linked to the men's team (Glasgow City being the obvious exception in Scotland). The Team GB funding from UK Sport is a bit of a feast or famine scenario with sports like cycling securing enormous grants which enable them to remain highly competitive, but this comes at the expense of many other sports who receive next to no funding at all.

16-08-2023, 08:14 PM
The women's game in the US is an interesting one as it kind of got off the ground and flourished in its own right, with very few clubs affiliated to men's clubs. In the UK and and other nations with longer football histories I'd imagine most leading women's clubs are linked to the men's team (Glasgow City being the obvious exception in Scotland). The Team GB funding from UK Sport is a bit of a feast or famine scenario with sports like cycling securing enormous grants which enable them to remain highly competitive, but this comes at the expense of many other sports who receive next to no funding at all.I'm in the US at the moment, and heard part of a radio programme about this the other day. They were putting the early success of women's football here down to a gender equality bill in the 70s, which obliged collegiate sport to build their women's sport spending and profile, and as a result, organised football at that level built the women's game and made the national team successful.Apparently that hasn't carried over to the professional game, where they've struggled to maintain a structure and identity, compared with European countries.

16-08-2023, 10:44 PM
I am finding the orgasming commentary on England in this tournament particularly irritating. I actually find the female commentators even more annoying than their male counterparts and that’s really saying something. I may just be a curmudgeon but they found so completely over the top. TBF though I’m finding the whole tournament a bit meh.

17-08-2023, 01:46 AM
I'm in the US at the moment, and heard part of a radio programme about this the other day. They were putting the early success of women's football here down to a gender equality bill in the 70s, which obliged collegiate sport to build their women's sport spending and profile, and as a result, organised football at that level built the women's game and made the national team successful.Apparently that hasn't carried over to the professional game, where they've struggled to maintain a structure and identity, compared with European countries.

Title IX :agree:

It certainly has helped, they had the most female players playing as well.

Now that the women's game has opened up in europe/South America with the culture surrounding the sport, the US will struggle to replicate the same success, numbers or not, especially as the focus is still on "bigger, stronger, faster" than technical skill.

The Women's league here was once the only one in the world. The teams have very little connection with communities, change name and identity all the time.

With established men's teams in Europe (and elsewhere) adding a women's team makes it easier for women, girls and men to take an interest because they already have a connection!

17-08-2023, 03:46 AM
Yes, but can you work a BBQ yet? [emoji23]

Well, I seem to recall you trying to light mine once and you set it on fire!

Thought I was going to have to call the local bush fire brigade😂

17-08-2023, 03:50 AM
I get your sentiments Fred. I was one of the last Assisted Passage Poms back in 1982 and it was a culture shock to see that "soccer" hardly got a mention in the newspapers or on TV. Phoning a number on a Sunday morning at a dollar a minute to hear Hibs had been gubbed again was quite expensive as you had to listen to all the English leagues first! Although the hilarious pronunciations of some of the English teams made it a bit less painful.I was very arrogant about their football teams and wouldn't accept that they were anything near our standards but Australia always seems to adapt and improve at everything as they have.I could go on but returned in 89 due to family matters and never went back although have visited a few times, using my Aussie passport!

Should have done what a few others did on a Sunday morning……they knew I would have the result so they made a local call to me to get it!

Saved them a fortune

17-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Title IX :agree:It certainly has helped, they had the most female players playing as well.Now that the women's game has opened up in europe/South America with the culture surrounding the sport, the US will struggle to replicate the same success, numbers or not, especially as the focus is still on "bigger, stronger, faster" than technical skill.The Women's league here was once the only one in the world. The teams have very little connection with communities, change name and identity all the time.With established men's teams in Europe (and elsewhere) adding a women's team makes it easier for women, girls and men to take an interest because they already have a connection!👍

17-08-2023, 01:07 PM
I am finding the orgasming commentary on England in this tournament particularly irritating. I actually find the female commentators even more annoying than their male counterparts and that’s really saying something. I may just be a curmudgeon but they found so completely over the top. TBF though I’m finding the whole tournament a bit meh.

Vicki Sparks on Five Live, good god almighty. Unlistenable.

Think there's a bit of an agenda to push the quality of the games, and also to really emphasise the England players and make them household names - don't think you get as many full name references from commentators in the men's game.

Working to be fair - from half an hour of the Australia game I'd comfortable named the cast majority of the England team, and I could barely do that with the men.

17-08-2023, 01:09 PM
Surprised they didn't schedule it for Wembley for a glorious homecoming.

Watch this space 🙄

19-08-2023, 08:32 AM
Third Place Play Off

Sweden 1 v 0 Australia

19-08-2023, 08:52 AM
I actually want England to win it tomorrow, and that's probably the first time I've ever wanted them to win anything. The English players just seem like a great bunch, the videos of Ella Toone and Alessia Russo together are brilliant on YouTube.

They just seem like normal people absolutely living the dream, when let's be honest a huge proportion of top male players just seem like entitled ********s.

Maybe it's because they aren't paid the money the men are, and that might change over time, but for the moment it's genuinely heartwarming to watch them live their dream.

19-08-2023, 09:00 AM
I actually want England to win it tomorrow, and that's probably the first time I've ever wanted them to win anything. The English players just seem like a great bunch, the videos of Ella Toone and Alessio Russo together are brilliant on YouTube.

They just seem like normal people absolutely living the dream, when let's be honest a huge proportion of top male players just seem like entitled ********s.

Maybe it's because they aren't paid the money the men are, and that might change over time, but for the moment it's genuinely heartwarming to watch them live their dream.

I want them to win it as well.

Tbh when it comes to sport it's only really men's football and rugby union that I really always want England to lose. Even then it's just because the media make both those teams wholly unlikeable. I generally like seeing English athletes, tennis players, boxers and whatever doing well, support them at cricket, like their rugby league team etc etc.

I'll be watching it in the pub before the Hibs game tomorrow and I'll be delighted if they win it.

19-08-2023, 12:53 PM
I want them to win it as well.

Tbh when it comes to sport it's only really men's football and rugby union that I really always want England to lose. Even then it's just because the media make both those teams wholly unlikeable. I generally like seeing English athletes, tennis players, boxers and whatever doing well, support them at cricket, like their rugby league team etc etc.

I'll be watching it in the pub before the Hibs game tomorrow and I'll be delighted if they win it.

All about opinions of course. I'm not gender specific, I don't want England to win the Womens World Cup any more that I want their men. They've had a pretty easy ride in this tournament in my opinion, playing a lot of much lower ranked teams and not being that impressive against them either apart from China who were really poor. Sweden have just comfortably beaten Australia by the way for 3rd place. England probably will win it but I certainly won't be cheering if they do.

He's here!
19-08-2023, 01:41 PM
I actually want England to win it tomorrow, and that's probably the first time I've ever wanted them to win anything. The English players just seem like a great bunch, the videos of Ella Toone and Alessia Russo together are brilliant on YouTube.

Agree with all that, though I'd say it's men's English club football that I find distasteful nowadays for the reasons you mention rather than the men's international team. I like the job Southgate has done there and they generally seem a modest bunch with plenty of terrific young players. It tends to be the media who hype them up rather than the players/management.

He's here!
19-08-2023, 01:49 PM
All about opinions of course. I'm not gender specific, I don't want England to win the Womens World Cup any more that I want their men. They've had a pretty easy ride in this tournament in my opinion, playing a lot of much lower ranked teams and not being that impressive against them either apart from China who were really poor. Sweden have just comfortably beaten Australia by the way for 3rd place. England probably will win it but I certainly won't be cheering if they do.

Big difference playing a third-place play-off to a semi-final. The Aussies would have been pretty deflated after the highs they hit en route to the last four. Personally I'd do away with these games as they mean very little.

As you say all about opinions but I've watched as much of England as I've been able and I thought they were terrific in the semi-final. Blew hot and cold in the earlier games but dug deep when required, the sign of strong side. They also have a really top-class manager.

Spain will be tough but I'd like to see England win. That would be some achievement to back up their Euros win.

Overall been a really refreshing and enjoyable tournament to watch whoever wins it.

20-08-2023, 02:31 AM
The final between England and Spain takes place later tonight, but while the Matildas campaign is over....they are anything but losers.

They may have been beaten in the 3rd place playoff yesterday, but The Matildas have won the hearts and minds of the Australian public that most commentators agree, will change society as we know it.

You really had to be here to see the effect the Matildas campaign had on the nation...whether it be the record tv ratings....the Matildas v England semi was the most watched TV programme - sport or otherwise - in the history of television, the crowds that came to see them ...10 years ago the biggest crowd they got in Sydney was 15,000....now it is nearly 76,000....and would have been more if the stadiums were bigger...and the promises of $200 million dollars in funding by the Prime Minister for women's sport in general.
Not to mention the statue the Queensland government is going to build a statue to them outside Lang Park(Suncorp Stadium) in Briabane....previously a rugby league stronghold.

For a non football country and a general 'blokey' one at that, the attitudinal changes have been huge.

I don't think there is anybody in Australia's 26 million population who if asked, doesn't know the name of at least one of the players.

At the start of the world cup the team said they wanted to unite the nation and leave a legacy ...well, they have certainly done that, and in a way nobody thought was possible.

On the field the athleticism of Sweden against a tired and emotionally exhausted Matildas side was clear to see...so we have a bit to go playing wise still......but this world cup has been almost like the Oz equivalent of the 2016 cup final win in Edinburgh.

There simply aren't going to be enough parks to cope with the influx of young girls teams next season throughout Australia who have been inspired to take up the game by the Matildas.

20-08-2023, 04:44 AM
Great story about the Matildas.

20-08-2023, 07:33 AM
I really hope England win today. I see a lot of the UKIP types on social media are already giving it “the hype is too much, nobody I know is talking about it, I wish theyd shut up about it” in relation to the Women’s team and it’s nice to know they’re experiencing how the rest of us feel about the England men’s team for once.

The longer it continues, the better.

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 07:47 AM
Great story about the Matildas.

Yup. This WC will be doing for young Aussie girls what they are seeing down south with the Lionesses. If you can't see it you can't be it. The more kids playing the game the better in terms of the long term product and the quality- more people playing means more chance of developing better players.

There will be young girls up here also seeing this competition and being positively impacted by it. It's a shame they all have to leave to progress - something our best young players are doing earlier and earlier in their career. Emma Watson just left Rangers on a professional contract at the age of 18 to sign for Man U
It will help Scotlands national team but does nothing for our domestic product to lose our very best young players so early.

Whether folk like it or not, England have been the most professional and impressive team for a few years now. Wiegman is an impressive head coach - her grounding as a coach in the Dutch Men's Eredivisie and her back story generally puts her in a class above.

I think they'll win but Spain ran them close recently. Fair play to them. They have got the rewards for their investment in the game and I think they will be at the top of the heap for some time.

20-08-2023, 08:08 AM
This World Cup Final looks a tough one to call

Any predictions as a lot of tempting offers out there ?

20-08-2023, 08:22 AM
Is it just me or does the English commentator sound like Dawn French doing an impersonation of John Motson?

20-08-2023, 08:51 AM
C’mon England , really hope they do it today, would be another tremendous boost for the women’s game on these islands.

He's here!
20-08-2023, 08:55 AM
The final between England and Spain takes place later tonight, but while the Matildas campaign is over....they are anything but losers.

They may have been beaten in the 3rd place playoff yesterday, but The Matildas have won the hearts and minds of the Australian public that most commentators agree, will change society as we know it.

You really had to be here to see the effect the Matildas campaign had on the nation...whether it be the record tv ratings....the Matildas v England semi was the most watched TV programme - sport or otherwise - in the history of television, the crowds that came to see them ...10 years ago the biggest crowd they got in Sydney was 15,000....now it is nearly 76,000....and would have been more if the stadiums were bigger...and the promises of $200 million dollars in funding by the Prime Minister for women's sport in general.
Not to mention the statue the Queensland government is going to build to them outside Lang Park(Suncorp Stadium) in Briabane....previously a rugby league stronghold.

For a non football country and a general 'blokey' one at that, the attitudinal changes have been huge.

I don't think there is anybody in Australia's 26 million population who if asked, doesn't know the name of at least one of the players.

At the start of the world cup the team said they wanted to unite the nation and leave a legacy ...well, they have certainly done that, and in a way nobody thought was possible.

On the field the athleticism of Sweden against a tired and emotionally exhausted Matildas side was clear to see...so we have a bit to go playing wise still......but this world cup has been almost like the Oz equivalent of the 2016 cup final win in Edinburgh.

There simply aren't going to be enough parks to cope with the influx of young girls teams next season throughout Australia who have been inspired to take up the game by the Matildas.

Great to hear all that.

20-08-2023, 08:57 AM
Is it just me or does the English commentator sound like Dawn French doing an impersonation of John Motson?

The commentators are really off putting, I find them much worse than their male counterparts. The other thing I just noticed today is how white that England team/squad is. If that was the male team it would be a big issue surely?

He's here!
20-08-2023, 09:08 AM

There's been some off-field discord between the Spanish players and their coach in the build-up to the tournament but it clearly hasn't affected their. Two very strong sides but hopefully England can edge it.

20-08-2023, 09:17 AM

Quite surprised that England are as big as 17/10 to win in 90 minutes. Spain looked vulnerable on the break when they got gubbed by Japan and I'd imagine England will look to take a similar game plan.

I've gone a bet builder. England to score in 90 mins, win the trophy, both teams 1+ card in 90 mins. 16/5

20-08-2023, 09:18 AM
The commentators are really off putting, I find them much worse than their male counterparts. The other thing I just noticed today is how white that England team/squad is. If that was the male team it would be a big issue surely?

It’s the best squad available.

20-08-2023, 09:39 AM
It’s the best squad available.

It may well be but it would still be causing major debate if the male squad was as white as this women’s one. I don’t understand how that gets a pass in all the coverage. At the very least you’d think there would be a major debate about why black women are so under represented and what active steps need to be taken to remedy that. As far as I’ve seen it’s been tumbleweed which seems very strange.

20-08-2023, 09:43 AM
Flicking through the channels this morning, didn't even know when the game was being played. If it was the real World Cup I'd be wanting England to get pumped but given I've not watched a single minute of this, couldn't care less tbh.

HarpOnHibee
20-08-2023, 09:47 AM
Wouldn't mind England winning this if it wasn't for the sheer cringe factor leading up to it. Which will be dialled up 100 fold should they win it.

20-08-2023, 09:50 AM
Flicking through the channels this morning, didn't even know when the game was being played. If it was the real World Cup I'd be wanting England to get pumped but given I've not watched a single minute of this, couldn't care less tbh.

I’m loving the build up. And it’s just as real as the men’s World Cup. Here’s hoping we get a great game.

20-08-2023, 09:54 AM
It may well be but it would still be causing major debate if the male squad was as white as this women’s one. I don’t understand how that gets a pass in all the coverage. At the very least you’d think there would be a major debate about why black women are so under represented and what active steps need to be taken to remedy that. As far as I’ve seen it’s been tumbleweed which seems very strange.

What black players do you think should be in the squad?

20-08-2023, 09:55 AM
I’m loving the build up. And it’s just as real as the men’s World Cup. Here’s hoping we get a great game.

Fair enough. I'm sure it'll be on the news later on if they win. 🤣

Peanut Shaz
20-08-2023, 09:56 AM
Really hope they can do this. Manager and the squad seem genuinely nice and humble. Wonderful advert for the women's game.

HarpOnHibee
20-08-2023, 09:59 AM

I'd like to think that the squad is made up of women who are there on merit, as opposed to their skin colour. If that means the current squad are overwhelmingly white, it really shouldn't matter. If that squad is the best they've got right now, then it's the correct squad.

20-08-2023, 09:59 AM

Are you misinterpreting what I’m saying by mistake or deliberately?

He's here!
20-08-2023, 10:00 AM

Simply not true to say there's been no debate around it, and also wrong to imply it's not something they want to improve. Like the men's team, though, it takes time. A significant issue is accessibility/affordability for inner city kids (not just non-white) due to the fact the women's clubs affiliated to the big men's clubs have training facilities in more rural parts of the country where you're struggling if you don't have access to a car.

Now that there's so much more money coming into English women's football we'll see more investment in this area and to be fair English football does a better job than most sports when it comes to inclusivity in national teams around the UK.

20-08-2023, 10:01 AM
Really hope they can do this. Manager and the squad seem genuinely nice and humble. Wonderful advert for the women's game.

It’s been a major debate already. Elidh Barbour got lynched on Twitter for suggesting it. The problem is why it can go from 40% in the u17 to less than 10% in senior squad. Many reason why those players haven’t developed to the top level.

I take the comment to mean that there's presumably a fundamental reason/issue that black girls aren't taking up the game in the same way white girls are, or black men who seem to be better represented in the men's team.

20-08-2023, 10:02 AM
I'd like to think that the squad is made up of women who are there on merit, as opposed to their skin colour. If that means the current squad are overwhelmingly white, it really shouldn't matter. If that squad is the best they've got right now, then it's the correct squad.

Maybe it is, IDK. Isn’t that the same argument generally used for a very long time about eg the overwhelming number of men on boards and in positions of authority - especially in the private sector - compared to women?

20-08-2023, 10:04 AM

Fair play for enjoying it but it really isn't.

20-08-2023, 10:04 AM
Maybe it is, IDK. Isn’t that the same argument generally used for a very long time about eg the overwhelming number of men on boards and in positions of authority - especially in the private sector - compared to women?

So games kicked off… who do you think is gonna win? :greengrin

20-08-2023, 10:07 AM
Simply not true to say there's been no debate around it, and also wrong to imply it's not something they want to improve. Like the men's team, though, it takes time. A significant issue is accessibility/affordability for inner city kids (not just non-white) due to the fact the women's clubs affiliated to the big men's clubs have training facilities in more rural parts of the country where you're struggling if you don't have access to a car.

Now that there's so much more money coming into English women's football we'll see more investment in this area and to be fair English football does a better job than most sports when it comes to inclusivity in national teams around the UK.

Precisely why I started with “As far as I’ve seen”. Nonetheless I think this is absolutely getting a pass in relative terms both in terms of volume of coverage and depth of analysis. Social media appears to have barely batted an eyelid. I just think it’s very, very curious compared to other sports.

HarpOnHibee
20-08-2023, 10:10 AM

If men on a whole have a more authoritative nature, then it stands to reason that more men would be in a position of authority. Positions like that are not simply handed over, they're taken by those with dominating characteristics. This is a debate for another section of the forum though.

Best of luck to both teams.

20-08-2023, 10:11 AM
So games kicked off… who do you think is gonna win? :greengrin

It’s a meh from me. I’d like Spain to shut the commentators up and somehow I can’t get behind the England women this time in a way that I can for the men’s team who I always want to do well. I have watched exactly no games at all. TBH honest I’m more concerned about my use of an apostrophe in ‘men’s’ there. Did I get that right?

20-08-2023, 10:11 AM
if men on a whole have a more authoritative nature, then it stands to reason that more men would be in a position of authority. Positions like that are not simply handed over, they're taken by those with dominating characteristics. This is a debate for another section of the forum though.

Best of luck to both teams.

wtaf?

20-08-2023, 10:17 AM
It’s a meh from me. I’d like Spain to shut the commentators up and somehow I can’t get behind the England women this time in a way that I can for the men’s team who I always want to do well. I have watched exactly no games at all. TBH honest I’m more concerned about my use of an apostrophe in ‘men’s’ there. Did I get that right?

Excellent apostrophe use.

However, the use of "TBH honest" and the missing comma after it, is cause for concern.

20-08-2023, 10:19 AM
Big chances for both team early doors. No sitting in or sizing each other up, both teams going out to win it.

20-08-2023, 10:21 AM
Excellent apostrophe use.

However, the use of "TBH honest" and the missing comma after it, is cause for concern.

Ah merde. Marinello’s intervention has got me watching the final now though :-(

20-08-2023, 10:24 AM
Ah merde. Marinello’s intervention has got me watching the final now though :-(

Same here! I hadn't even switched it on!

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 10:30 AM
1-0/Spain :thumbsup:

Curried
20-08-2023, 10:33 AM
Get in :-)

HarpOnHibee
20-08-2023, 10:33 AM
Apologies, didn't mean for this thread to go off on a tangent. Good goal for Spain.

20-08-2023, 10:34 AM
Cracking goal.

Great crossfield pass then a nice move down the left and a clinical finish into the far corner.

Spain been the better team, better technically against England's hammer throwers, must admit England's players look slow and very unfit compared to the Spanish.

First one of their games I’ve seen this WC, Spain a really good watch.

20-08-2023, 10:36 AM
First one of their games I’ve seen this WC, Spain a really good watch.

Snap, only watching as it's a Sunday and bugger all else to watch.

20-08-2023, 10:40 AM
Snap, only watching as it's a Sunday and bugger all else to watch.

Or just watching it coz it’s a good game of football?

20-08-2023, 10:43 AM
We should see Lauren James on early 2nd half.

20-08-2023, 10:43 AM
Think England might revert to a back 4 for 2nd half. They’re struggling to get any decent possession or turn the Spanish.

Get James on

Paulie Walnuts
20-08-2023, 10:46 AM
England have looked pretty poor.

Who was favourites at the start of the tournament?

20-08-2023, 10:47 AM

I'm not 100% certain, but I think it was Spain.

Just_Jimmy
20-08-2023, 10:49 AM

Who was favourites at the start of the tournament?England in England

Spain to anyone who follows woman's football.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

20-08-2023, 10:53 AM
England in England

Spain to anyone who follows woman's football.

The favourites were actually USA.

20-08-2023, 10:56 AM

2 very good teams but Spain look a bit more dynamic today.

20-08-2023, 10:57 AM
Spain are excellent ball manipulators, to quote LJ.

20-08-2023, 11:00 AM
Spain are excellent ball manipulators, to quote LJ.

Well they are all lionesses too.

He's here!
20-08-2023, 11:03 AM
Precisely why I started with “As far as I’ve seen”. Nonetheless I think this is absolutely getting a pass in relative terms both in terms of volume of coverage and depth of analysis. Social media appears to have barely batted an eyelid. I just think it’s very, very curious compared to other sports.

You convey a very authoritative tone on all this for someone who admits they haven't watched a single game in the tournament. A simple Google search will give you plenty of feedback on some the reasons for the drop-off in ethnic diversity as girls get older.

Seems like more of a contrived stick to beat them with rather than just admit you don't want them to win.

He's here!
20-08-2023, 11:05 AM
The favourites were actually USA.

Spain were the pre-tournament favourites. England second favourites.

20-08-2023, 11:09 AM
Spain were the pre-tournament favourites. England second favourites.

https://www.standard.co.uk/sport/women-world-cup-2023-odds-favourite-win-usa-england-b1095332.html

He's here!
20-08-2023, 11:10 AM
It’s been a major debate already. Elidh Barbour got lynched on Twitter for suggesting it. The problem is why it can go from 40% in the u17 to less than 10% in senior squad. Many reason why those players haven’t developed to the top level.

Indeed. It will happen tho.

Still a long way to go in most sports but I like to think we've moved on significantly from the day in the mid-80s when a former Scotland international visited our school and got asked why there were no Asian players in the team and he replied 'P***s dinnae really like fitba son'.

20-08-2023, 11:23 AM
Thats a stonewaller

20-08-2023, 11:23 AM
Thats a stonewaller

20-08-2023, 11:24 AM
Aye you allowed to say GIRUY?

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 11:25 AM
VAR says yes :agree:

20-08-2023, 11:26 AM
England tears please.

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 11:27 AM
Earps saves after gamesmanship extreme by Bronze and Co

HarpOnHibee
20-08-2023, 11:28 AM
"If it takes that long to determine that it's a penalty, then that suggests to me that it's not a penalty."

Erm no, that's not how it works.

Good save tbf but Spain are by far the better team.

Way off her line when she took it.

England tears please.

SteveHFC tears instead. :tee hee:

Thought the exact same

Paulie Walnuts

Thought the same. Surprised it’s not been retaken.

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 11:29 AM
"If it takes that long to determine that it's a penalty, then that suggests to me that it's not a penalty."

If they'd given it quickly it would have been "you can't make rash decisions in a WC Final. ':rolleyes::wink:

Was about to post the same. Is that rule no longer being enforced ?

It was whether the defender made a movement towards the ball, which she did, only slightly but still movement.

20-08-2023, 11:30 AM

There has been some absolute drivel spouted by the co-comms.

I detest that kind of cheating. No different from the Argie keeper in the World Cup final. She should have been booked and then sent off for persisting. Loathesome.

To be fair why did it take over 5 mins to give that, one view send ref over. Should have been a minute max.

20-08-2023, 11:31 AM
There has been some absolute drivel spouted by the co-comms.

I'm watching with the sound off for that very reason.

Didn't look at the reply TBF but it was a poor penalty anyway.

LewysGot2
I detest that kind of cheating. No different from the Argie keeper in the World Cup final. She should have been booked and then sent off for persisting. Loathesome.

They'll praise her for it though. Guaranteed

20-08-2023, 11:32 AM
You convey a very authoritative tone on all this for someone who admits they haven't watched a single game in the tournament. A simple Google search will give you plenty of feedback on some the reasons for the drop-off in ethnic diversity as girls get older.

Seems like more of a contrived stick to beat them with rather than just admit you don't want them to win.

Stop talking ***** mate.

20-08-2023, 11:32 AM
England are pretty poor

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-08-2023, 11:33 AM
Been a pretty decent game this

England are pretty poor

We were poor on Thursday...

LewysGot2
England are pretty poor

Weight of expectation seems to be playing out

20-08-2023, 11:34 AM

Aye but we were not in a World Cup final !

GRA
20-08-2023, 11:35 AM
After that missed penalty you just know England will go on to win with a couple of spammy goals...

I detest that kind of cheating. No different from the Argie keeper in the World Cup final. She should have been booked and then sent off for persisting. Loathesome.Just partaking in some the dark arts mate

When it's england doing it

[emoji23]

Can't mind the commentary team being quite as chill when it was Columbia in the men's WC

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Didn't look at the reply TBF but it was a poor penalty anyway.

So what, make them retake it anyway.

20-08-2023, 11:36 AM

What you talking about? If hibs we scored twice away at a tricky ground, got a draw and progressed in a difficult tie.

Way more important than this game!

20-08-2023, 11:37 AM
I'm watching with the sound off for that very reason.

Aye but we were not in a World Cup final !

I have no idea what relevance that has to the point. :hilarious

However, as poor as England might be, they're not out of it yet and there's probably the best part of 20 minutes left, if not more.

Thicko England fans waving a Union Jack..................

Trinity Hibee
Spain playing some lovely passing football with a purpose

20-08-2023, 11:38 AM
Just partaking in some the dark arts mate

When it's england doing it

[emoji23]

Can't mind the commentary team being quite as chill when it was Columbia in the men's WC

Yup. Ours are just as bad when it suits. Do not understand why referees let players away with it. Ultimately in my view that was what settled the World Cup final, which is a complete travesty.

20-08-2023, 11:38 AM
So what, make them retake it anyway.

I agree if she's off her line then it should be taken again, at the time I posted saying good save I hadn't looked at the replay so missed the fact she was off her line.

20-08-2023, 11:39 AM
What you talking about? If hibs we scored twice away at a tricky ground, got a draw and progressed in a difficult tie.

Way more important than this game!

It's far more important, I agree.

The point is we were poor, but we scored twice and got through. England may be poor but they are still in with a chance.

Nasty one for the England CB. Knee to the head.

If they feel English and British then it’s entirely reasonable.

Curried
20-08-2023, 11:40 AM
Some tube waving butchers apron.LOL. Mabee a Sevco fan on a day pass.

And singing GSTK which is the UK national anthem.

Can you look “lucid” ?

20-08-2023, 11:41 AM
I agree if she's off her line then it should be taken again, at the time I posted saying good save I hadn't looked at the replay so missed the fact she was off her line.
No, what i'm saying is even if she was on her line, i'd still make them retake it, just because. :)

20-08-2023, 11:41 AM
Can you look “lucid” ?

20-08-2023, 11:42 AM
No, what i'm saying is even if she was on her line, i'd still make them retake it, just because. :)

Oh! Hahaha I get you know, whooosh!

20-08-2023, 11:42 AM
If they feel English and British then it’s entirely reasonable.

Would anyone wave a Union Jack at a Scotland match?

20-08-2023, 11:43 AM

Never heard in used in that context. Sounding it yeah but not looking it.

20-08-2023, 11:43 AM

Depends how staunch they are…

20-08-2023, 11:44 AM
Never heard in used in that context. Sounding it yeah but not looking it.

Me neither, but I looked it up and it can mean bright.

Every day's a school day.

20-08-2023, 11:45 AM
There's going to be a lot of injury time.

I'm guessing 12 minutes.

20-08-2023, 11:45 AM
Me neither, but I looked it up and it can mean bright.

Every day's a school day.

That’ll be why no one has ever said it to me 🤣

20-08-2023, 11:47 AM
That’ll be why no one has ever said it to me 🤣

Ha ha.

20-08-2023, 11:47 AM
Refs been pretty poor tbh. Zero consistency throughout.

20-08-2023, 11:49 AM
There's going to be a lot of injury time.

I'm guessing 12 minutes.
Miles out.

20-08-2023, 11:49 AM
Miles out.

😃

LewysGot2
20-08-2023, 11:51 AM
Refs been pretty poor tbh. Zero consistency throughout.

Think she's on it only because Spain are there. The best referee is unfortunately Spanish - real shame for her.

20-08-2023, 11:52 AM
Miles out.

Like the goalie

20-08-2023, 11:54 AM
Have England had a shot since the pen miss?

They are pretty poor and deserve to lose.

Think she's on it only because Spain are there. The best referee is unfortunately Spanish - real shame for her.

Never realised that. Regardless though not booking players for pulling players back, kicking the ball away etc is basics. Even at the penalty she was right in line and not far away.

Spain been far the better team and deserve to be winning

Who is the bbc co-commentator? She’s horrendously biased

20-08-2023, 11:55 AM
I watched a tiny wee bit of the Euros when England won and this is the 1st game of this tournament as I'm working when the games are played, is it just me who doesn't get the hype surrounding this England team.

20-08-2023, 11:56 AM
Who is the bbc co-commentator? She’s horrendously biased

I'm watching STV for that reason, switched over early 1st half.

Curried
20-08-2023, 11:58 AM
Spain by far the better team. England shown up for the soft run they got.

20-08-2023, 11:58 AM
England will score and after a tedious extra time will win on pens.

20-08-2023, 11:59 AM

If they felt Scottish and British. You don’t get to dictate people’s identities to them.

England will score and after a tedious extra time will win on pens.

No chance. England can't even get near their box never mind creating a chance to score.

20-08-2023, 12:00 PM
And singing GSTK which is the UK national anthem.

Is England not part of the U.K.?

20-08-2023, 12:01 PM
Oh great, politics

Well at least some degree of equality has been achieved in English women’s football - the female commentators are just as whiny and awful as the male ones.

First game of WC I've watched and got to say it's been utterly magnificent 😉

20-08-2023, 12:02 PM
Well at least some degree of equality has been achieved in English women’s football - the female commentators are just as whiny and awful as the male ones.

20-08-2023, 12:03 PM
Oh great, politics

Eh?

Thank god for that.

Vamos

Spain deserved winners. A good advert for women's football.

Only watched the 2nd half, but how unlucky were England? :)

20-08-2023, 12:04 PM
Best team won, but that was a tense final minute.

If they felt Scottish and British. You don’t get to dictate people’s identities to them.

Sure they would. For about 10 seconds.

Ah now that’s a pity, a last minute equaliser would have been funny as ****. Didn’t like the cut of the Spanish jib much.

Spain deserved the win, thoroughly enjoy this competition, the first time I have really watched women’s football.

Curried
20-08-2023, 12:05 PM
Dry your tears Poms.

Is England not part of the U.K.?

The other 3 nations all have their own national anthem, GSTK is the anthem of the UK which is sung during things like the Olympics etc. England actually sings Jerusalem during the Commonwealth games, it used to be Land of Hope and Glory until 20110.

Spain looked really good.

He's here!
Well done to Spain. Better team on the day. Big ask for England to follow up the Euros with a World Cup win but it's been a fabulous tournament and another terrific shot in the arm for women’s football.

so, thought i would watch the last 25 mins of this to go along with watching several minutes of the opening game

good game good game

20-08-2023, 12:06 PM
The other 3 nations all have their own national anthem, GSTK is the anthem of the UK which is sung during things like the Olympics etc. England actually sings Jerusalem during the Commonwealth games, it used to be Land of Hope and Glory until 20110.

Always sung at England games, get over it.

Spain well deserved winners, technically far superior.

Spain deserved the win, thoroughly enjoy this competition, the first time I have really watched women’s football.

It has been quite good, hasn't it.

Although England will be disappointed, they can be proud of how well they've done

20-08-2023, 12:07 PM
Always sung at England games, get over it.

Doesn't bother me, just find it a bit weird.

20-08-2023, 12:09 PM
Well done Spain.

Penalty should definitely have been retaken……the keeper was well off the line when the kick was taken.

Donegal Hibby
20-08-2023, 12:10 PM
Spain the better team and deserved to win .
Delighted they won :greengrin

20-08-2023, 12:11 PM
For me the game was won in midfield, Spain's midfield, particularly Bonmati, were far better.

He's here!
20-08-2023, 12:13 PM
I watched a tiny wee bit of the Euros when England won and this is the 1st game of this tournament as I'm working when the games are played, is it just me who doesn't get the hype surrounding this England team.

Maybe if you watched more than a 'tiny bit' of their games you'd be better placed to ask that.

They're a good side. Spain were stronger today tho.

He's here!
20-08-2023, 12:15 PM
For me the game was won in midfield, Spain's midfield, particularly Bonmati, were far better.

Spot-on. In hindsight James should probably have been on from the start but I can understand why England went with that line-up.

20-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Feel sorry for the England players who are a really good side but Im delighted Spain won. It would have been intolerable TV and another endless playing of Sweet Caroline wherever you go for at least the next year. For putting a stop to that ####### song alone, thank you Spain 🇪🇸

Greenio
20-08-2023, 12:16 PM
Good final.

Great tournament overall. Honestly never watched a women's football game before, but watched plenty over the last 4 weeks, even went to 2 of them live, and i've really enjoyed it.

Congrats Spain!

20-08-2023, 12:18 PM
Pretty one sided game although I’m sure the ‘UK’ media will be giving it the ‘brave lionesses’ nonsense for some time to come.

20-08-2023, 12:23 PM

Be a bit weird to wave it at a Scotland match.

England get to as they know England = Britain. As the dominant partner they are allowed to do that.

It’s why they don’t have their own anthem. Britain = England.

They interchange Britishness with Englishness.

20-08-2023, 12:23 PM
Well and truly deserved Spain , go on !!

20-08-2023, 12:24 PM
Feel sorry for the England players who are a really good side but Im delighted Spain won. It would have been intolerable TV and another endless playing of Sweet Caroline wherever you go for at least the next year. For putting a stop to that ####### song alone, thank you Spain 🇪🇸

Thank Christ for that.

20-08-2023, 12:30 PM
how unlucky were England? :)

Never watched any of it but, very, hopefully.

20-08-2023, 12:30 PM
I would say the England keeper was excellent throughout the tournament, glad she got an award at the end. The future looks rosey for women's football, you would have to think the USA, the Netherlands, Germany etc will all strengthen up significantly, so looks like there could be some great tournaments in the near future.

20-08-2023, 12:32 PM
Hibs' second half first Luzern leg side still in with a shout for SPOTY team of the year.

Just_Jimmy
20-08-2023, 12:35 PM
The favourites were actually USA.Maybe by the bookies etc. But anyone who knows woman's football knows that Spain were the pick. The talent pool they have is outrageous and they're missing around 10 players.

20-08-2023, 12:37 PM
Fabulous tournament

Brilliant crowds, record tv viewers, and boost to the economy to boot.

Women’s football has come a long way.

It’s going to take a while to get used to getting up in the morning and something other than football leading the morning news.

20-08-2023, 12:41 PM
Be a bit weird to wave it at a Scotland match.

England get to as they know England = Britain. As the dominant partner they are allowed to do that.

It’s why they don’t have their own anthem. Britain = England.

They interchange Britishness with Englishness.

Freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeedom!!!!!!!!!

Spain streets ahead today and worthy winners. 1-0 flattered England a bit.

Very good tournament and a really good final.

I mean, that is a fair point.

20-08-2023, 12:53 PM
What a shame…

Nah, GIRUY

Hannah_hfc
20-08-2023, 12:55 PM
Very telling that the Spanish team and coaches celebrated at opposite ends of the pitch at the full time whistle. Even more remarkable that the Spanish team won the World Cup with all the coaching drama towards the end of last year.

I feel sorry for the England players but they were outclassed the whole game by Spain.

The dalmeny
20-08-2023, 02:18 PM
Spain streets ahead today and worthy winners. 1-0 flattered England a bit.

Very good tournament and a really good final.

Significant improvement In goalkeeping across the board this time round

He's here!
20-08-2023, 02:24 PM
Maybe by the bookies etc. But anyone who knows woman's football knows that Spain were the pick. The talent pool they have is outrageous and they're missing around 10 players.

Yeh I got that wrong earlier. I'd been looking at the odds post-USA exit.

You're right, if you follow women's football at all closely Spain are the top dogs. England will get stronger tho as they have some excellent younger players on the fringes. The USA have been on the slide for a wee while and are beset with in-fighting. Their exit wasn't as big a shock as was being made out.

20-08-2023, 03:25 PM
Significant improvement In goalkeeping across the board this time round

Yup, been an achilles heel for the women's game for a very long time but I'd love to see a showreel of the best saves at this World Cup; so many seriously top class saves
across most of the teams.
Hard lines the 'Lionesses' (which emoji is the Ironic one?) but class beats grit most times & Spain had the class.

20-08-2023, 04:05 PM
England have developed into a robust professional cynical team.Spain, with the core of the team from Barcelona, play the Barcelona way. Think they would give the Hibs men team a good game.

20-08-2023, 04:22 PM

You're right, if you follow women's football at all closely Spain are the top dogs. England will get stronger tho as they have some excellent younger players on the fringes. The USA have been on the slide for a wee while and are beset with in-fighting. Their exit wasn't as big a shock as was being made out.

Their exit was only a shock to Americans. Anyone else could see the gap closing and fast!

20-08-2023, 04:40 PM
Still showing them singing GSTK on Sky sports news 🤔😆

20-08-2023, 04:53 PM

How are Spain the top dogs when they never won the Euros and we're horsed 4 0 in the group stage by Japan. Months ago they were a complete shambles with fall outs. The job their coach had done has been amazing in the tournament. Deserved winners today but wouldn't have been favourites at the start of the tournament.

He's here!
20-08-2023, 05:31 PM
How are Spain the top dogs when they never won the Euros and we're horsed 4 0 in the group stage by Japan. Months ago they were a complete shambles with fall outs. The job their coach had done has been amazing in the tournament. Deserved winners today but wouldn't have been favourites at the start of the tournament.

Domestically they're very strong with the establishment of Liga F attracting serious broadcasting money - probably got an even stronger base than England to build from there and despite the fallout re their coach you can see what a talented side they are. We'll almost certainly see them become established at the top of the women's game. As someone else pointed out that wasn't even their full strength squad by any means. Japan result was a surprise for sure but a lot of the big teams toiled earlier in the tournament and they clearly responded strongly.

20-08-2023, 05:41 PM
How are Spain the top dogs when they never won the Euros and we're horsed 4 0 in the group stage by Japan. Months ago they were a complete shambles with fall outs. The job their coach had done has been amazing in the tournament. Deserved winners today but wouldn't have been favourites at the start of the tournament.Legend has it that utterly shambolic embarrassing 4-0 defeat against Japan is still being talked about on Espana.net

[emoji6]

20-08-2023, 05:46 PM
Watching the news and the scenes from Spain look brilliant. Tbf the coverage has been really measured, a magnanimous 'the better team won' and a bit of refelction on what was still a great achievement and will have a huge legacy.

20-08-2023, 05:46 PM
They’re going on about the brilliant penalty save giving them hope of overturning the score line, which thankfully they were unable to do, as the keeper was miles off her line and, why the penalty was not retaken, was a refereeing disgrace.

20-08-2023, 05:48 PM
England have developed into a robust professional cynical team.Spain, with the core of the team from Barcelona, play the Barcelona way. Think they would give the Hibs men team a good game.

He's here!
20-08-2023, 06:41 PM
Watching the news and the scenes from Spain look brilliant. Tbf the coverage has been really measured, a magnanimous 'the better team won' and a bit of refelction on what was still a great achievement and will have a huge legacy.

Definitely. Women's football in general is more magnanimous in my experience.

Not surprised to see the scenes in Spain. We watched the Barcelona women's team last year (not long after Keira Walsh had joined them from Man City) and it was a proper 'event'.

Anyone who heard Walsh talking about Spain before the final would see England knew they were in for their toughest test.

20-08-2023, 07:26 PM

Not to mention the statue the Queensland government is going to build a statue to them outside Lang Park(Suncorp Stadium) in Briabane....previously a rugby league stronghold.

This is actually really nice to read, and at least for me, part of the beauty and galvanising power of sport. Sometimes the team or person who doesn’t win it all makes the longest lasting impression, and has a much deeper impact than just winning in that moment.

It’s quite heartwarming to hear that the Matilda’s have had such a positive affect on the nation

gaz1875
20-08-2023, 07:30 PM
They’re going on about the brilliant penalty save giving them hope of overturning the score line, which thankfully they were unable to do, as the keeper was miles off her line and, why the penalty was not retaken, was a refereeing disgrace.

Couldn't believe that wasn't a retake, she was diving off the line before the kick was taken. The behaviour of the engerland player before the penalty was very poor, and yellow cards should have been given.

20-08-2023, 07:32 PM
Never watched much but have always been aware that the womens game is a marketing persons dream with the other half of the planet as potential sales, it is only going to grow, even if the standard is no that good really.
Have to add that just as happy that the englander did not win, male or female they are just as arrogant and insufferable when sport is on.

cubehindthegoal
20-08-2023, 08:05 PM

The last sentence is exactly it 👍 let people make their own choices, you wouldn’t want them to make yours. Identity ain’t simple, and we probably all get it wrong tbh.

20-08-2023, 09:11 PM
The lassie that scored the winner for Spain, her dad died after the game, htf do you compute that?

20-08-2023, 09:15 PM
The lassie that scored the winner for Spain, her dad died after the game, htf do you compute that?

Bloody hell that's brutal.

20-08-2023, 09:18 PM

he actually died on friday, she was only told about it after the game as they didn't want it to affect her frame of mind

must be horrible for her after that

20-08-2023, 10:04 PM
he actually died on friday, she was only told about it after the game as they didn't want it to affect her frame of mind

must be horrible for her after thatI'm really conflicted by that.

On one hand, they kept the news from her so she could enjoy a, pretty much, once in a lifetime experience, cynically it also let Spain put their first choice team on the park.

On the other, if it was me, I'd really want to have known and then make my own decision to play (for my dad) or not... I'd feel the choice had been taken from me.

cubehindthegoal
20-08-2023, 10:07 PM

That’s about as sad as can be. How hard must it have been for the family to have to make that decision too. Either telling her before or after, there was no right or wrong choice, just an awful choice to make.

21-08-2023, 01:16 AM
I'm really conflicted by that.

On one hand, they kept the news from her so she could enjoy a, pretty much, once in a lifetime experience, cynically it also let Spain put their first choice team on the park.

On the other, if it was me, I'd really want to have known and then make my own decision to play (for my dad) or not... I'd feel the choice had been taken from me.

this is it really, we can only go by how we would feel ourselves if told before quite possibly the only chance we could have of winning a WC winners medal, personally obviously i would just have been so devastated i just simply wouldn't have had a clear mind, i wouldn't have listened to the coach telling me what the tactics were, but, i know finding out after the final what had happened it would have been praying on my mind that all the time i was enjoying the occasion my father was dead, as the post below says it's so difficult there's no right or wrong choice, in decades to come she will not only remember her WC winning goal but it's also a reminder of events straight after winning it, personally my sister and i are reminded every xmas day is the day our father died :( the part in bold is also a fair point

That’s about as sad as can be. How hard must it have been for the family to have to make that decision too. Either telling her before or after, there was no right or wrong choice, just an awful choice to make.

21-08-2023, 01:48 AM
wtf was all that tongue hanging out by the Engerland keeper and yelling **** off, freakin weirdo behaviour man

21-08-2023, 02:03 AM
I'm really conflicted by that.

Awful choice to have to make, and there's no answer that would be the right one for everyone. I wonder if her dad was well enough to know that she was in the World Cup final, and what he would have chosen. In his position, I'd be mega-proud and desperate for her to make the best of her big moment, without being burdened by the choice or the knowledge (and I'd also be cursing my timing!) I think I'd be gutted if it took this huge opportunity away from her, or spoiled it.
I can see why that wouldn't be everyone's choice, though.

21-08-2023, 06:27 AM

Wow a very difficult decision to make that and actually think that she should have been told.

21-08-2023, 06:31 AM
wtf was all that tongue hanging out by the Engerland keeper and yelling **** off, freakin weirdo behaviour man

Yep that behaviour as well as Lucy Bronze before the penalty was pretty despicable and the weak as a kitten referee pathetically did nothing. Obviously not called out by the ludicrously biased commentary. They are all likeable role models though.

Re the penalty goalie clearly off the line however assume her foot has to be touching or behind the line when kick taken as looked like it might be above the line e.g. Foot in the air

He's here!
21-08-2023, 06:31 AM
Wow a very difficult decision to make that and actually think that she should have been told.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66566564

Judging by her comments she seems OK with the way it was handled. Given that he'd been so ill for so long and that her whole family were at the game you wonder if she maybe already suspected he'd passed away.

21-08-2023, 06:33 AM
It must have been a family decision rather than the organisation.
It couldn’t have been their FA.
So sad.

Probably right

21-08-2023, 06:34 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/66566564

Judging by her comments she seems OK with the way it was handled. Given thar he'd been so ill for so long and that her whole family were at the game you wonder if she maybe already suspected he'd passed away.

Maybe so and obviously the context that he had been very ill rather than suddenly passing next to be taken into account.

He's here!
21-08-2023, 06:42 AM
This is actually really nice to read, and at least for me, part of the beauty and galvanising power of sport. Sometimes the team or person who doesn’t win it all makes the longest lasting impression, and has a much deeper impact than just winning in that moment.

It’s quite heartwarming to hear that the Matilda’s have had such a positive affect on the nation

As someone else mentioned the scenes of celebration in Spain were great to see too. The whole event has been such a brilliant boost for women's football. I hadn't thought about it but I read that with the nature of the KO times there was a big school-age audience here watching the games in the mornings during the summer holidays. Will hopefully inspire a few more wannabe girl footballers.

Spain are now reigning world champions at senior, under-20 and under-17 level. I imagine the head coach will be safe in his job.

21-08-2023, 07:24 AM
Probably right

I'd say certainly rather than probably. The idea a FA would keep something like that to themselves to field a stronger team is absurd.

The family would also be in direct contact with the player through all the normal channels.

21-08-2023, 07:29 AM

Disgusting. I hope Hibs never draft in an overweight keeper who hasn't played in a while as an emergency signing who then goes on to indulge in a bit of sledging when facing a penalty or 2, I'd be appalled and suggest we forfeit the game for being so unsporting.

We'd never stand for it and no way would such a player attain legendary status.