View Full Version : Scotland National Team double headers
11-06-2023, 12:59 PM
2 massive games for the National Team in the next week or so. This Saturday away to Norway, 5pm KO and at home to Georgia on Tuesday at Hampden 7.45pm KO
We’ve started the group fantastically with 6 points from the 1st 2 games, and top the group. However we have 6 games still to play
Norway who we presumed were be our nearest competitors for 2nd spot have 1 point from 2 games. Norway however have 3 home games in a row. Home to Scotland and Cyprus in June, and home to Georgia in September
Scotland games
Norway away 17/6
Georgia home 20/6
Cyprus away 8/9
Spain away 12/10
Georgia away 16/11
Norway home 19/11
Looks like the 2 games against Norway will be the crucial games
We’re in good shape but need to keep it going
Massive prize at stake, Euros in Germany next June
11-06-2023, 01:34 PM
Indeed, Billy
We have had an incredible start to the campaign and opened that gap between ,who many consider,our nearest rival for 2nd place.
Lets just go and win the group,eh?
Why not ?! Just love Scott McTominay:greengrin
11-06-2023, 01:40 PM
Just hope that Haaland is still pished from celebrating last night, and that Nizzy can bang one or two in for us.
11-06-2023, 02:37 PM
Win on Saturday and we’ll be at the Euro’s next year.
Trinity Hibee
11-06-2023, 03:23 PM
Have to agree although a win will be tough. A draw would still be a very good result the way things stand.
Georgia at home simply has to be a win otherwise the win against Spain is cancelled out.
We have a very good squad now and I do feel pretty confident we’ll finish 2nd but we’ve all seen this movie before so can’t count our chickens yet.
PHeffernan
11-06-2023, 10:04 PM
Two concerns.
Missing our best striker Che Adams and potentially centre half John Souttar on top of the already missing Grant Hanley.
Fingers crossed Nisbet plays well and scores goals. He is certainly a much stronger player than he was pre injury so fingers crossed.
Bottom line is we must beat Georgia at home on Tuesday.
11-06-2023, 10:13 PM
Two concerns.
Missing our best striker Che Adams and potentially centre half John Souttar on top of the already missing Grant Hanley.
Fingers crossed Nisbet plays well and scores goals. He is certainly a much stronger player than he was pre injury so fingers crossed.
Bottom line is we must beat Georgia at home on Tuesday.
Third concern - Scotland games are not the easiest to watch now they are on Viaplay. Don’t think it’s on terrestrial or even Sky or BT which most pubs would have?
12-06-2023, 12:55 AM
As bold as that is I think you are right.
Caveat it with this is Scotland and we’ve all been here before.
12-06-2023, 06:24 AM
Georgia are a very decent side also. Nothing for granted there especially in the away game as we already know. Still all to play for but will be in a strong position if take care of Georgia at home and Cyprus away. Saturday is massive and stopping them winning will be huge.
13-06-2023, 12:29 PM
Some tickets available for Georgia game on 20th
Newcastlehibby
13-06-2023, 01:31 PM
Third concern - Scotland games are not the easiest to watch now they are on Viaplay. Don’t think it’s on terrestrial or even Sky or BT which most pubs would have?
Viaplay have an offer until 20th June of £59.00 for a years subscription. This will include the Scottish Cup and any Scotland friendlies. League Cup groups seem to feature as well, not sure about the knockout stages. Mulling it over.
13-06-2023, 01:47 PM
Viaplay have an offer until 20th June of £59.00 for a years subscription. This will include the Scottish Cup and any Scotland friendlies. League Cup groups seem to feature as well, not sure about the knockout stages. Mulling it over.
That's a decent deal. They show plenty Spanish fitba too.
13-06-2023, 01:50 PM
[QUOTE=Billy Whizz;7369790
Scotland games
Norway away 17/6
Georgia home 20/6
Cyprus away 8/9
Spain away 12/10
Georgia away 16/11
Norway home 19/11
[/QUOTE]
Those are very generous odds...which bookie are you getting them from ? :greengrin
Trinity Hibee
13-06-2023, 02:20 PM
Are you sure? I thought it was more focussed on NHL so thought it might only be a specific channel which might not necessarily show football
13-06-2023, 02:43 PM
Are you sure? I thought it was more focussed on NHL so thought it might only be a specific channel which might not necessarily show football
Once you pay the £59 you have access to all their channels
13-06-2023, 02:54 PM
Firestick £100 every game you could possibly want.
13-06-2023, 03:21 PM
Just a word of warning for anyone hoping to use this with their app on a Firestick... unless it has improved significantly since it rebranded from Premier Sports, the app is very user unfriendly. Stuff stretched out, difficult to select stuff, etc.
Newcastlehibby
13-06-2023, 04:25 PM
Once you pay the £59 you have access to all their channels
Just sports channels.
Newcastlehibby
13-06-2023, 04:29 PM
Uefa have a contract with them to show all the Euro championship matches, as have the SFA for the Scottish Cup and Viaplay( League) Cup.
13-06-2023, 04:41 PM
Those are very generous odds...which bookie are you getting them from ? :greengrin
:greengrin I did a double take when i first read it.
Then it dawned it was dates.
We are off to a flyer,though.
Brummie_Hibs
13-06-2023, 05:01 PM
We've screwed 2 previous campaigns with Georgia being our downfall. We cannot let that happen again.
I feel confident with Norway - a draw and I'll be happy. I'm hoping Haaland has been drinking what Grealish has - it seems both of them have been on the razz non-stop since their win.
Talking of which, I'm catching a 19hr ferry from Copenhagen to Oslo to arrive for the game on match day. Scorchio weather, duty free booze and karaoke!
13-06-2023, 06:14 PM
Just sports channels.
Full package including films etc. Normally £179.88/£14.99pm. Now available at £59 for the year if paid upfront
13-06-2023, 10:18 PM
Full package including films etc. Normally £179.88/£14.99pm. Now available at £59 for the year if paid upfront
I never knew they did films too, I thought purely just sports like what premier sports offered? I seen the offer today and thought might be worth going for. If done through sky it’ll give me access to some films too?
13-06-2023, 11:11 PM
I never knew they did films too, I thought purely just sports like what premier sports offered? I seen the offer today and thought might be worth going for. If done through sky it’ll give me access to some films too?
Aye they do films and some series etc. Never watched anything other than football on it so not sure what quality the other stuff is
Auckland Hibs
13-06-2023, 11:12 PM
We've screwed 2 previous campaigns with Georgia being our downfall. We cannot let that happen again.
I feel confident with Norway - a draw and I'll be happy. I'm hoping Haaland has been drinking what Grealish has - it seems both of them have been on the razz non-stop since their win.
Talking of which, I'm catching a 19hr ferry from Copenhagen to Oslo to arrive for the game on match day. Scorchio weather, duty free booze and karaoke!
19 hours?! Is it a rowing boat? 🚣*♂️
Frogga
14-06-2023, 11:32 AM
Just a word of warning for anyone hoping to use this with their app on a Firestick... unless it has improved significantly since it rebranded from Premier Sports, the app is very user unfriendly. Stuff stretched out, difficult to select stuff, etc.In fairness I've found the chromecast service a lot better since it became Viaplay [emoji108]
Sent from my SM-A336B using Tapatalk
14-06-2023, 11:41 AM
Aye they do films and some series etc. Never watched anything other than football on it so not sure what quality the other stuff is
Cheers 👍
14-06-2023, 11:57 AM
4 points would be great.
14-06-2023, 02:43 PM
I think it is mostly Scandi stuff they do.
LewysGot2
14-06-2023, 06:41 PM
Haaland gone off to Ibiza :greengrin
14-06-2023, 08:28 PM
Haaland gone off to Ibiza :greengrin
Is he not playing Saturday?
He only went for less than 24 hours and was back for bus parade.
14-06-2023, 08:59 PM
He only went for less than 24 hours and was back for bus parade.
He’s teetotal. Only us lot could hopes he’s to hungover to play well.
Newcastlehibby
16-06-2023, 03:33 PM
It wasn’t clear about the films etc but I have subscribed and you are indeed correct. Bargain.
16-06-2023, 03:34 PM
He’s teetotal.
Good. Hope that sets the standard for young players especially up here.
17-06-2023, 11:44 AM
What does everyone think the line up and system will be tonight
See the BBC posting they think the fans want the 433 with Hickey, Hendry, Tierney and Robertson as the back 4
I’m be surprised if it’s not a 3 with Porteous playing?
Think we’re going to Oslo to try and win tonight, why not we’re in good form as a team!
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65938376
17-06-2023, 02:08 PM
Niklas Gunnarson on Sky Sports News.
17-06-2023, 02:15 PM
Niklas Gunnarson on Sky Sports News.
Luke Shanley enjoyed saying 'he won the Scottish Cup with Hibernian in 2016'. 🙂👍
17-06-2023, 02:47 PM
Porteous starts in a 3 at the back
17-06-2023, 02:54 PM
Porteous starts in a 3 at the back
Get Porto to mark Haaland.
17-06-2023, 03:48 PM
mon Scotland lets be havin yi :saltireflag:saltireflag:saltireflag
17-06-2023, 05:52 PM
Time to book flights.
17-06-2023, 06:07 PM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/news/scottish-fa-to-host-saltire-square-fan-zone-before-scotland-v-georgia/
Scotland supporters attending next week’s crucial Scotland Men’s National team match against Georgia will have extra entertainment to warm up for the big event at the first Saltire Square fan zone.
The pilot fan zone event will be located in the ‘Purple Car Park’ opposite Toryglen Regional Football Centre on Aitkenhead Road and will feature catering provided by The Big Feed, a travelling street food collective with weekly, family friendly events across Glasgow. Offerings ahead of the Georgia match include drinks, ice cream, stone baked pizzas, a variety of hot dogs and bao buns.
Saltire Square will also feature live entertainment in the build up to the evening’s game, with host Lewis Irons welcoming a special guest for a Q&A. Keep your eyes
peeled across social media for guest announcements – including a very special guest DJ.
Saltire Square will be open from 4.30pm on Tuesday, 20 June. Please note that as this is a pilot event, entry numbers are limited to 500 people. It is hoped that we will be in a position to increase capacity at the fan zone in future.
17-06-2023, 06:17 PM
Needs followed up with 3 points midweek
17-06-2023, 06:25 PM
What does tonight’s result mean for qualification? How many more points are we likely to need for guaranteed qualification?
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-06-2023, 06:28 PM
What does tonight’s result mean for qualification? How many more points are we likely to need for guaranteed qualification?
If we beat Georgia that’s 12 points out of a possible 24, if Cyprus draw with Georgia tonight then that’d leave us 10 points clear of 3rd place with the top 2 qualifying automatically. So before the Georgia game, if results go our way we could be two points off qualification… I think. I was ***** at maths.
17-06-2023, 06:29 PM
We’ll know a bit more after Tuesdays games
Each team play 8 games so 24 is the max points any team can get
As it stands Norway can only get to 16
17-06-2023, 06:31 PM
group winner and runner-up qualify
Scotland 9 points from three games
Spain 3 points from two games
Georgia 1 point from one game
Norway 1 point from three games
Cyprus 0 points from one game
17-06-2023, 06:35 PM
be great if Cyprus can at least get a point at home to Georgia tonight
17-06-2023, 06:37 PM
need 8pts from last 5 games to finish 2nd norway can only get 16pts if they win all of their games
3 of our games are against the lower seeds in group what can go wrong :greengrin
17-06-2023, 06:39 PM
need 8pts from last 5 games to finish 2nd norway can only get 16pts if they win all of their games
3 of our games are against the lower seeds in group what can go wrong :greengrin"What can go wrong" :-)
Urgh!
THIS time however I'm confident (again)
17-06-2023, 06:45 PM
H v Georgia Tuesday
A- Cyprus 8th Sept
A- Spain 8th OCT
A- Georgia 16th Nov
H- Norway 19th Nov
17-06-2023, 06:49 PM
H v Georgia Tuesday
A- Cyprus 8th Sept
A- Spain 8th OCT
A- Georgia 16th Nov
H- Norway 19th Nov
Ah right, that’s not great reading to be honest. We need to win on Tuesday, the four games after that are very losable games.
17-06-2023, 06:53 PM
Ah right, that’s not great reading to be honest. We need to win on Tuesday, the four games after that are very losable games.
Georgia are no mugs, they have some super dude that plays for Napoli, then again Norway have a super dude that plays for man city :)
17-06-2023, 06:55 PM
But that's assuming Norway win all their games , ( Which they won't )
Chill man we are going to the Euros next summer :cb
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-06-2023, 06:55 PM
Cyprus away should be straight forward enough, should be beating Georgia home and away with or without Kvaratshkelia
17-06-2023, 06:57 PM
Scotland, best team ITW.
HibeeSince85
17-06-2023, 06:59 PM
We've qualified now. The side is settled and there's no chance they're throwing it away. Quite the turnaround from where we were. Looking forward to next summer.
17-06-2023, 07:05 PM
Hampden sold out for Tuesday just Hospitality available
Silversand
17-06-2023, 07:07 PM
Just back to hotel from the match, what a game, incredible [emoji50]
Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk
17-06-2023, 07:16 PM
bad mistake Cyprus 0 Georgia 1
arrrgh Gogic slipped jeezo
17-06-2023, 07:17 PM
bad mistake Cyprus 0 Georgia 1
Is that a bad or a good thing for us?
17-06-2023, 07:18 PM
i'd prefer Cyprus to win here as i think Georgia are a decent side
JamesHFC
17-06-2023, 07:19 PM
Won't really matter as long as they get beat on Tuesday tbh. If they win on Tuesday though then it brings them right into it.
17-06-2023, 07:25 PM
Penalty, Cyprus 1 Georgia 1
Hibs4185
17-06-2023, 07:29 PM
Who’s got a fiver on Georgia pumping us?? I def have, it’s the scottish way
18-06-2023, 12:29 AM
Last Euros, Wales qualified with the lowest points total of 14. I recon a win on Tuesday and a win in Cyprus and we're there. I think we will also pick up at least a point home to Norway and a point away to Georgia. Hopefully we'll be home and hosed long before we go to Tbilisi..
Paul1642
18-06-2023, 02:03 AM
Not only are we doing a great job of getting into euro 2024 but we are also creeping up the rankings which should help give us a good chance of being a pot 2 team going into the next word cup qualifiers.
We only just made pot 3 for the World Cup 2022 qualifiers ranked 28th in Europe. We are currently sat 19th which would have us just making pot 2 under the old format and comfortably making it under the new format.
To qualify: 17 points would guarantee it.
In reality if all games go to plan/form:
Win v Georgia Tue H
Win v Cyprus Sep A
Lose v Spain Oct A
16th Oct - Spain win or draw v Norway would guarantee qualification.
And before we have Georgia A and Norway H in Nov
Not only are we doing a great job of getting into euro 2024 but we are also creeping up the rankings which should help give us a good chance of being a pot 2 team going into the next word cup qualifiers.
We only just made pot 3 for the World Cup 2022 qualifiers ranked 28th in Europe. We are currently sat 19th which would have us just making pot 2 under the old format and comfortably making it under the new format.
EEN ran a story a few days ago saying if we continue our current form and finish first then we could be a top seed in Euros. Imagine!
18-06-2023, 09:17 AM
To qualify: 17 points would guarantee it.
In reality if all games go to plan/form:
Win v Georgia Tue H
Win v Cyprus Sep A
Lose v Spain Oct A
16th Oct - Spain win or draw v Norway would guarantee qualification.
And before we have Georgia A and Norway H in Nov
If we win the next 2 Georgia lose to Spain in September then draw with Norway while we are pumping England we will qualify that night! How good would that be!
18-06-2023, 02:16 PM
That second Scotland goal was just like watching Brazil
18-06-2023, 02:48 PM
Forget every other permutation, if we win on Tuesday we've qualified. There's no way either Georgia or Norway are closing that gap. We'd have to lose pretty much every game after that.
18-06-2023, 02:52 PM
Forget every other permutation, if we win on Tuesday we've qualified. There's no way either Georgia or Norway are closing that gap. We'd have to lose pretty much every game after that.
We’ve qualified. Can’t see us bottling it.
18-06-2023, 03:02 PM
Correct
Yip and the euros in Germany next summer ! Brilliant !
18-06-2023, 03:05 PM
And they win just about every game.
18-06-2023, 03:10 PM
Win on Tuesday and I'll be picking a few days and booking flights to go over to Germany. With the top 2 qualifying then we'd have to lose almost every game and one of Norway or Georgia would have to win out for us not to make it. Even with our record of glorious failure, I just can't see it.
18-06-2023, 03:15 PM
Does finishing top or 2nd in the group make any difference to the seeding for the actual tournament?
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 03:17 PM
Does finishing top or 2nd in the group make any difference to the seeding for the actual tournament?
It could put us higher in the European rankings to finish 1st which I’m sure is how the seeding is done for European championships, other than that no I don’t think so
18-06-2023, 05:25 PM
Have we not got a nations league play off spot anyway? Never managed to work out what that was all about.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 05:28 PM
Have we not got a nations league play off spot anyway? Never managed to work out what that was all about.
Yes we do
18-06-2023, 05:30 PM
Yes we do
Thanks.
This campaign looks like being our 2016.
Trinity Hibee
18-06-2023, 05:36 PM
Have not stopped watching the goals.
Was in a bar in albufeira old town yesterday which was full of Scots. Absolute pandemonium in the last few mins. Incredible end to the game.
ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 05:36 PM
Thanks.
This campaign looks like being our 2016.
My liver couldn’t hack Scotland getting to a euro semi
19-06-2023, 10:06 AM
Cyprus away should be straight forward enough, should be beating Georgia home and away with or without Kvaratshkelia
This. We should be beating them.
3 more wins will do it.
They should come against Georgia x 2 and Cyprus A.
Let’s get the three points tonight. Early goal, let’s not be chasing the game.
On paper they are worse than Norway and Spain who we’ve beaten. So need to go out and perform.
Paul1642
19-06-2023, 10:07 AM
3 more wins will do it.
On paper they are worse than Norway and Spain who we’ve beaten. So need to go out and perform.
Hope you haven’t made any plans to watch the game tonight :)
Trinity Hibee
19-06-2023, 10:09 AM
3 more wins will do it.
Think 2 more wins will get us there. Hopefully that’s tomorrow and Cyprus away. Incredible to even be typing this after 3 games 😂
Paulie Walnuts
19-06-2023, 10:51 AM
3 more wins will do it.
2 wins will be enough imo. They should come in our next 2 fixtures.
Paul1642
19-06-2023, 11:05 AM
2 wins will be enough imo. They should come in our next 2 fixtures.
They really should get the 2 wins, thought of Scotland going 5 wins from 5 vital games is a concept my brain won’t accept. Our last two results have been priceless.
19-06-2023, 11:19 AM
Hope you haven’t made any plans to watch the game tonight :)
Haha, getting there early for the donner kebab pies.
patlowe
19-06-2023, 11:45 AM
They really should get the 2 wins, thought of Scotland going 5 wins from 5 vital games is a concept my brain won’t accept. Our last two results have been priceless.
Add the Ukraine results (home win, 'away' draw) in the Nations League preceding it and it really is an incredible run in meaningful fixtures.
Trinity Hibee
20-06-2023, 07:12 AM
Fingers crossed for a win tonight. Hampden should be bouncing
wazoo1875
20-06-2023, 08:21 AM
Anyone going to try and get into that saltire square, looks pretty decent but limited to 500. Probably head to church on the hill again. The scran is pretty decent in there and usually pretty quick service at the bar.
Trinity Hibee
20-06-2023, 08:23 AM
Anyone going to try and get into that saltire square, looks pretty decent but limited to 500. Probably head to church on the hill again. The scran is pretty decent in there and usually pretty quick service at the bar.
Should be good but doubt I’ll get in by time I get through. Think our bus has somewhere booked through there
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-06-2023, 08:27 AM
Can’t beat church on the hill imo cracking place
wazoo1875
20-06-2023, 08:34 AM
Can’t beat church on the hill imo cracking place
Aye it’s always been a good boozer, drank in there in the mid 90’s when I lived there and still go now when through.
EGL2000
20-06-2023, 08:42 AM
Think tonight will be a tough game obviously very winnable but Georgia are also in great form, unbeaten in their last 10 games.
20-06-2023, 08:43 AM
Dreamed Georgia beat us 2-0 last night.
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-06-2023, 08:51 AM
What’d you do that for?
20-06-2023, 08:53 AM
Worried about tonight.
Certainly don't think we'll blow them anyway, so you're looking at a pretty stuffy game where you'd hope we'd get over the line.
That said, these have been great results over the past few months. Logic suggests there's a bad result to be had somewhere.
We've been good enough to provide a bit of a safety net, but just one more win at this stage would make an amazing position even better.
20-06-2023, 09:01 AM
Worried about tonight.
Certainly don't think we'll blow them anyway, so you're looking at a pretty stuffy game where you'd hope we'd get over the line.
That said, these have been great results over the past few months. Logic suggests there's a bad result to be had somewhere.
We've been good enough to provide a bit of a safety net, but just one more win at this stage would make an amazing position even better.
Not at worried stage myself (partly due to the cushion you’ve alluded to) but agree it’s no foregone conclusion.
However I think we’re bound to play better than we did against Norway and be on top for most of it. Actually fairly confident of another win.. that’s what this team and the form has done for us!
We’re a really good team just now and solid at home. Really looking forward to the game and hopefully there’ll be a few Scottish flights to Germany being booked in a matter of hours.
20-06-2023, 09:15 AM
Looks good but the weather looks terrible.
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-06-2023, 09:18 AM
Looks good but the weather looks terrible.
Wee bit overcast at my bit but sun poking through the clouds, forecast to rain between midday and 2, and then again between 4 and 5 but after that the suns to come back out again. Only about 7 miles or so south of Hampden as the bird flies so I’d imagine it’ll be a similar story up there. Hope this helps anyone planning on going [emoji2528]
20-06-2023, 10:20 AM
Why are the pubs around hampden closed after games (night). After the Spain game Montford and International both closed. Couldn't get a beer until getting back into city centre.
20-06-2023, 10:21 AM
I've got tickets to see Tim Minchin tonight so I won't see the game.
Does it get replayed on Viaplay later?
20-06-2023, 12:02 PM
I've got tickets to see Tim Minchin tonight so I won't see the game.
Does it get replayed on Viaplay later?
Tomorrow night 7pm on viaplay extra I think, Reg, if any good to you. Incidentally that channel is free on sky too which might be of interest to others.. (assuming you’re not using through sky otherwise you’d just be recording the game, and clearly you have via sports already 😁)
Not sure if you can watch games on demand on their website?
20-06-2023, 12:49 PM
Some seats are available in I6 if you are very quick
20-06-2023, 03:27 PM
Get this Jambo launched pronto
20-06-2023, 03:43 PM
Get this Jambo launched pronto
:furious:
20-06-2023, 03:52 PM
If anybody can do it, Scotland can. Our record in this tournament speaks for itself.
20-06-2023, 04:29 PM
Scotland never make it easy for us. Never.
I'm desperately hoping for a win tonight, but I think it'll be a draw.
20-06-2023, 05:33 PM
One change from the weekend, Gilmour in for Christie
20-06-2023, 05:33 PM
One change from the weekend, Gilmour in for Christie
Good call from Clarke I think, wasn't that impressed with Christie at the weekend
20-06-2023, 05:47 PM
Good call from Clarke I think, wasn't that impressed with Christie at the weekend
He'll have done that so McGinn can be pushed forward from the start. Gilmour will lie deeper than Christie who I thought worked very hard.
20-06-2023, 06:07 PM
Scotland HT/FT
don't let me down chaps
20-06-2023, 06:10 PM
I thought McGreggor might have dropped out. Cracking player but he looked shattered on Saturday.
20-06-2023, 06:20 PM
20 minute (minus ad breaks and national anthems) pre match coverage is a bit pish. Same as Saturday. And both days they've had re-runs on beforehand.
The country is buzzing, maximise the pre match coverage
20-06-2023, 06:21 PM
Absolutely hammering down. Looks grim
20-06-2023, 06:22 PM
Absolutely hammering down. Looks grim
Luckily just got into Hampden before it started :greengrin
20-06-2023, 06:22 PM
Luckily just got into Hampden before it started :greengrin
Very jealous, enjoy the game Steve.
20-06-2023, 06:24 PM
damn rain
20-06-2023, 06:25 PM
You’d think they’d never seen rain before.
20-06-2023, 06:25 PM
Very jealous, enjoy the game Steve.
Going to 100% regret wearing shorts later.
AugustaHibs
20-06-2023, 06:34 PM
Anyone able to PM me a link for the game?
20-06-2023, 06:37 PM
pitch inspection
Ref happy with it :)
20-06-2023, 06:45 PM
minute applause for Gordon McQueen
20-06-2023, 06:45 PM
Doesn’t look like a night for silky football
20-06-2023, 06:46 PM
Got to be a worry that if the rain keeps up the pitch becomes unplayable no?
20-06-2023, 06:47 PM
wow that water splashing up just the cameramen walking off
20-06-2023, 06:48 PM
That ball's not moving, this game's getting abandoned.
If the ball holds up and / or it gets dangerous then the ref may have to call it off. Hopefully the rain eases up
This will be abandoned
That pitch surely isn't playable
SJNB Hibby
20-06-2023, 06:49 PM
That ball's not moving, this game's getting abandoned.
Agree
hope this doesn't get abandoned :confused:
Pitch must be very close to unplayable
This will be abandoned
100% This is nowhere near playable
skyehibee
20-06-2023, 06:50 PM
Shouldn’t be playing on this
20-06-2023, 06:50 PM
This is a joke.
20-06-2023, 06:51 PM
Farce
JammyDoidger
How's that allowed? Bloody dangerous playing on that!
both managers not happy
Stop the game. The water nearly sent that in.
Georgia want the match abandoned
That pitch surely isn't playable
They should take the players off for 20 mins, and sweep it off
Rain is due to go off soon
20-06-2023, 06:52 PM
yasssssssssssss :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
20-06-2023, 06:52 PM
Pitch is fine!!!😃
JammyDoidger
20-06-2023, 06:53 PM
How's that allowed? Bloody dangerous playing on that!
I mean it's not that bad..
We still need to stop this. This is dangerous.
ref checking VAR :rolleyes:
actually talking about the pitch
20-06-2023, 06:54 PM
That's not a VAR check is it? :confused:
20-06-2023, 06:54 PM
if they were going to abandon it i was hoping they would do it before either side scored
20-06-2023, 06:55 PM
goal stands
Georgia will want it stopped
20-06-2023, 06:56 PM
It’s rain.
Get the game played.
20-06-2023, 06:56 PM
Robertson is actioning sweeping the pitch to the georgian player
20-06-2023, 06:57 PM
Correct decision.
20-06-2023, 06:57 PM
there's not enough staff/mops to sweep the whole lot of that pitch
20-06-2023, 06:58 PM
It’s rain.
Get the game played.
It's not the stuff falling from the sky right now that's the issue, it's the stuff standing on the ground making it unplayable that's the issue
20-06-2023, 06:59 PM
20 mins
Half a dozen sweeping up. :faf:
The goal was a farce, players sliding everywhere in the box. If they start it again from 0-0 in a couple days then there can be no complaints.
dmc1875
20-06-2023, 07:00 PM
Half a dozen sweeping up. :faf:
Get some fans on to help haha
20-06-2023, 07:00 PM
The goal was a farce, players sliding everywhere in the box. If they start it again from 0-0 in a couple days then there can be no complaints.
I think it’ll start again in 20 mins. Shouldn’t have kicked off in that condition but there we go.
20-06-2023, 07:01 PM
mon the weegie squeegies
20-06-2023, 07:01 PM
Need to get the Fire Brigade in, water is precious just now
20-06-2023, 07:03 PM
Why is the pitch so bad? No one has played on it. Why only twenty could give it an hour or so especially if rain eases.
Tully
20-06-2023, 07:05 PM
Minds me when hibs played an intertoto game at easter road in these conditions
20-06-2023, 07:08 PM
mon the weegie squeegies
Half of them just having a chat
Green Reaper
20-06-2023, 07:08 PM
Minds me when hibs played an intertoto game at easter road in these conditions
Remember that well, thunder and lightning as well. When I got in the ground someone asked me if I had fallen in to The Water of Leith
Steven79
20-06-2023, 07:10 PM
The goal was a farce, players sliding everywhere in the box. If they start it again from 0-0 in a couple days then there can be no complaints.Both teams were playing in the same conditions...
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Assume that they haven't been watering it the last few weeks and its just dry and solid underneath.
20-06-2023, 07:12 PM
Assume that they haven't been watering it the last few weeks and its just dry and solid underneath.
Aye, either that or just a **** load eh rain.
20-06-2023, 07:14 PM
Not one player on their arse?
plhibs
Had it been raining for a long time, looks like a heck of a lot of water.
Steven79
Rain has stopped so pretty confident it will continue as long as they remove the water from the pitch.
Norway 1 Cyprus 0
20-06-2023, 07:16 PM
So does this get replayed at 1-0??
20-06-2023, 07:16 PM
So does this get replayed at 1-0??
Believe so and from 6th minute
20-06-2023, 07:17 PM
game would be moved to Paisley tomorrow night if abandoned
20-06-2023, 07:18 PM
Why the **** would they move it to St Mirren???
20-06-2023, 07:19 PM
Why the **** would they move it to St Mirren???
Maybe everyone else is getting their pitch sorted for next season
20-06-2023, 07:20 PM
Rain has stopped so pretty confident it will continue as long as they remove the water from the pitch.
Is that why the presenters have umbrellas up?????????????
20-06-2023, 07:20 PM
Another pitch inspection at 8.35 apparently
20-06-2023, 07:21 PM
St mirren ?! St mirren !???
20-06-2023, 07:22 PM
Cant see this going ahead, theres only 6 squeedgies getting used, some are putting more effort in than others, and its still soaking wet.
20-06-2023, 07:23 PM
Umbrellas gone now. Rain looks to have stopped. Get the players on the pitch with a ball and see what it's like from there
20-06-2023, 07:24 PM
St mirren ?! St mirren !???
How do they work out who gets tickets for that then?
Cant see this going ahead, theres only 6 squeedgies getting used, some are putting more effort in than others, and its still soaking wet.
Nope, SFA going to lose a bit of money on this game.
20-06-2023, 07:26 PM
Whoever sweeps the fastest and more water gets selected ?
Bridge hibs
20-06-2023, 07:27 PM
Why the **** would they move it to St Mirren???Probably the only pitch not having an overhaul
20-06-2023, 07:28 PM
Could possibly be without fans
20-06-2023, 07:29 PM
Probably the only pitch not having an overhaul
It’s the back up park in case of a cancellation
20-06-2023, 07:33 PM
Why have they not got a ball?
20-06-2023, 07:34 PM
Can’t see it going ahead now.
ref trying a couple of balls on the pitch :(
Apparently it would be at Hampden tomorrow and if not playable then St Mirren
SFA need to invest in some more squeegees.
20-06-2023, 07:35 PM
Can’t see it going ahead now.
Yeah, a formality I suspect if they've not brought out a ball for the inspection
20-06-2023, 07:37 PM
looks like ref wants more work done
20-06-2023, 07:38 PM
did those in charge at Hampden check up to date weather forecasts, just incase likes
20-06-2023, 07:40 PM
I think there is half a chance this might still go ahead. Ball was moving ok and if the rain stays off the drainage and work on the pitch should see the surface water clear pretty quickly.
There are large areas that seem ok whilst others are throwing up a whole lot more water. UEFA will want this played as well if at all possible.
rain starting again
just go do one you rain you
If it’s up to both captains they’d be as well calling it off now.
20-06-2023, 07:43 PM
If it’s up to both captains they’d be as well calling it off now.
What I was thinking! Surely ref decides not captains with an agenda
20-06-2023, 07:44 PM
Anyone else shouting abuse at some of the horrendous sweeping techniques on show from the Hampden ground staff? Or is it just me 😂😂😂
20-06-2023, 07:47 PM
nah no way
call it off now and let the fans get home
How are they going to fit 52,000 fans in St Mirren Park which has a capacity of 8023??
Some yamanomics there
20-06-2023, 07:49 PM
Hope the fans can get home OK if it's only going to finish after 2230?
20-06-2023, 07:50 PM
Anyone else shouting abuse at some of the horrendous sweeping techniques on show from the Hampden ground staff? Or is it just me 😂😂😂
Plenty of cheers around me mate 🤣
20-06-2023, 07:51 PM
No guarantees this is going ahead
20-06-2023, 07:51 PM
How are they going to fit 52,000 fans in St Mirren Park which has a capacity of 8023??
Some yamanomics there
They aren't. Big refunds pending for the SFA here
20-06-2023, 07:52 PM
i imagine the SFA will have insurance for any losses
20-06-2023, 07:52 PM
What I was thinking! Surely ref decides not captains with an agenda
I'm not sure Scotland will want this continuing tonight either tbh. Even with a lead.
The crucial slip or ball sticking in a puddle could just as easily cost us as Georgia. Ref should be taking control, deeming it uplayable and we go again tomorrow.
20-06-2023, 07:53 PM
No guarantees this is going ahead
I think it's been obvious since about minute 3 that this game is a goner
20-06-2023, 07:53 PM
Some yamanomics there
If you have a balcony in Bulgaria you’re guaranteed a ticket.
20-06-2023, 07:54 PM
I think it's been obvious since about minute 3 that this game is a goner
Pitch looks alright in the main, the goalmouth is problematic though
So will it continue from minute 6 with Scotland 1 up tomorrow or back to start?
20-06-2023, 07:57 PM
So will it continue from minute 6 with Scotland 1 up tomorrow or back to start?
I thought so but Mikey Stewart keeps saying will restart at 0-0?
20-06-2023, 07:57 PM
How the **** do you reach your teenage years and still not know how to push a broom. My 3 year old knows how to do that ffs
Some yamanomics there
Think it's Hampden first choice tomorrow if not playable the onto Paisley.
20-06-2023, 07:58 PM
An empty st mirren Park will play in to Georgia's hands
20-06-2023, 07:59 PM
If this was 7.35 and ten minutes before kick off, can't think the game would be in any danger. Should be at least giving it a go.
Norway 2 Cyprus 0, pen Haaland
Steven79
Some yamanomics thereProbably the only ground that isn't getting renewed during the close season.
This is becoming a shambles.
Silversand
How the **** do you reach your teenage years and still not know how to push a broom. My 3 year old knows how to do that ffsHaha [emoji1]
Sent from my SM-S911B using Tapatalk
Officials off, players called in. Must be game over surely.
20-06-2023, 08:01 PM
Officials off, players called in. Must be game over surely.
It's oan
20-06-2023, 08:02 PM
9.15 restart if rain stays off
What a farce
20-06-2023, 08:03 PM
they're giving it every chance possible
anyway Norway 3 Cyprus 0
9.15pm restart.
Heaven help those on public transport.
Last train to Edinburgh leaves when?
Get on the park and get on with it. What a lot of ****ing about. Rains off, park dry enough and will continue to dry out.
20-06-2023, 08:04 PM
9.15pm restart.
Normally half 11ish I think
SFA should've moved to Murrayfield a few years back when they had the chance. Glasgow has about twice the rainfall of Edinbrgh.
20-06-2023, 08:04 PM
9.15pm restart.
Sure it's about 11.50. Then you are relying on the Citylink at back of 1 and back of 3. Nightmare now for any fans not Glasgow based.
20-06-2023, 08:05 PM
9.15pm restart.
Just before midnight from Queen At.
20-06-2023, 08:07 PM
Plenty of cheers around me mate 🤣
From my couch!! 😂
KazHibby
20-06-2023, 08:08 PM
Hampden apologists! Worse stadiums since ma 1st visit in 1972, worst location for fans ootside weegies, worst owners noo!
Hope Clarke gives them a good mouthful if this game is suspended!!
Get rid
HibeeSince85
20-06-2023, 08:09 PM
For the Scotland squad, this is the last game of their season. I wonder if any of them are booked to fly out on their holidays tomorrow. Do they break up pretty much immediately on international duty after the final game? Just a random thought whilst waiting to see if this restarts, would be a right pain in the arse.
KazHibby
20-06-2023, 08:09 PM
Hampden apologists! Worse stadiums since ma 1st visit in 1972, worst location for fans ootside weegies, worst owners noo!
Get rid of the f in stadium!
20-06-2023, 08:10 PM
Get rid of the f in stadium!
We heard you the first time
20-06-2023, 08:10 PM
An empty st mirren Park will play in to Georgia's hands
Why empty, just have it PATG?
20-06-2023, 08:11 PM
and have huge amount of fans outside after not getting in ?
players back on ;) warming up
That's never going to happen, you'd have thousands outside who couldn't get in.
20-06-2023, 08:13 PM
For the Scotland squad, this is the last game of their season. I wonder if any of them are booked to fly out on their holidays tomorrow. Do they break up pretty much immediately on international duty after the final game? Just a random thought whilst waiting to see if this restarts, would be a right pain in the arse.
I’m sure the SFA will compensate them for the odd day missed hol.
My brother in law works in the city and his firm insisted he came in on his holiday. They just said we will pay for a rearranged holiday.
20-06-2023, 08:14 PM
Georgians don't want to play
of course they would feel the same way if leading 1-0
20-06-2023, 08:14 PM
and have huge amount of fans outside after not getting in ?
They would go home once the gates close.
No way it should be empty. Like said, plays into the Georgians hands.
20-06-2023, 08:15 PM
Georgians don't want to play
of course they would feel the same way if leading 1-0
They should be told to get out or it’s a forfeit.
20-06-2023, 08:15 PM
They would go home once the gates close.
No way it should be empty. Like said, plays into the Georgians hands.
and feel pleased they will have spent a lot of money and time getting there and not getting in ?
think we should maybe abandon this idea of PATG :wink: