View Full Version : Hearts v Hibernian, winner takes all match updates
27-05-2023, 01:30 PM
How much injury time?
9 mins
Campbell, Mckirdy, delf, hendo, cabraja and hendo? Have we broke a rule? 6 subs
Surely the 4th official would be able to count? Unless one is a concussion sub or something?
Campbell, Mckirdy, delf, hendo, cabraja and hendo? Have we broke a rule? 6 subs
One must have been for a concussion substitution
We’ve been utter pony today
That teams all over the place
Managers fault. This isn't good enough. This in the context of the game was a HUGE opportunity and it's been and gone it seems and Hibs just going out in a limp.
**** off Cabraja honestly ****ing *****
cameronw-hfc
27-05-2023, 01:31 PM
Hendo twice in your list
Meant devlin
Who?
For hearts (Haring). We get an extra sub as a result.
How comfortable are hearts here
Torto7
It's too easy to time waste in football.
TheCabbage
Absolutely terrible second half
Subs have contributed heehaw
Whether Hibs score in the remaining minutes,they are utterly ****in clueless and it all stems from that prick in the dugout
Players need to take responsibility for playing push and making bad decisions.
27-05-2023, 01:32 PM
Is anyone surprised we've made a pigs arse of this?
Greenio
Team and formation so out of whack.
Just need that one piece of class
Na, we were never winning this
NC1875
Pathetic performance.
If the shoe was on the other foot, we’d be dead and buried by now.
Weak loser mentality from too many players
At least we can stop pretending McKirdy or Henderson will ever contribute anything
Nope ! I called it when they went 1-0 up…
27-05-2023, 01:33 PM
I’m sure Newell’s stats for 2nd half passing will look great but wtf is he doing playing in front of the back four when he should be seizing the game by the scruff of the neck.
Nope ! I called it when they went 1-0 up…
Well done you! You win a prize am sure
This, professional players, paid well, but absolutely clueless
Just shows how bad McKirdy is that we have Mikey Devlin up top.
DaveHFC
Hopeless last ten minutes
Not in the least. If we'd been offered 45 mins at the end of the season against 10 men Hearts to leapfrog them and steal the Euro place. You cannot ask for a better opportunity, expect if you're Hibs.
Enforced substitutions have killed us today, as we just don't have the quality on the bench.
This goes down as the fault of recruitment.
one of our subs subbed, nuff said
Hopeless last ten minutes
Last ten minutes??
This is ****ing torture. Players have chucked it.
Ffs Hibs
27-05-2023, 01:34 PM
A terrible second half of football. Our setup has been mental.
27-05-2023, 01:34 PM
Why didn't we bring Hoppe on?
cameronw-hfc
27-05-2023, 01:35 PM
Why didn't we bring Hoppe on?
He's awful would be my guess
Cabraja goes into the crowd
Any team with ten men are usually holding on at the end. Hearts are chilling
Torto7
Losers. That's the truth of it.
they freakin heartz gimps
not in the slightest.
That was the last chance their, McKirdy chance high over the top
He's awful would be my guess
He has at least scored a goal for us, unlike the forward we did bring on
say yer goodbyes at the end Mckirdy
Greenio
27-05-2023, 01:36 PM
That was McKirdys chance
****ed it
Get the wasters in our squad out. What a drop of in quality with these players...
Utter ****ing guff
Get McKirdy so far to ****. Utterly abysmal footballer.
That was McKirdys chance
****ed it
So much for my 97th minute winner prediction...
27-05-2023, 01:37 PM
Nope. Didn't expect to win before the game started. The red gave us a chance. Don't have the quality when it matters. The players coming on have contributed next to nothing all season. Isn't going to change now.
McKirdy should be shown the door
Chip shop Joe
Ducking amateur hour this!!!!!
Cabraja is a ****ing awful footballer get him to ****
e2los
Crap...
Would have taken the draw tbh before the game.
Big chance lost.
Baws FT
ten men
they only had ten men
Not one of the subs we brought on is good enough for this club. Josh Campbell has reverted back to his usual after a bright first half of the season.
27-05-2023, 01:38 PM
paggering in the dug outs
Thank **** that seasons over
Zero quality, utter ****ing tripe.
Torto7
Dumb low IQ football combined with sh11ting another big game. Too many wasters and the manager makes some weird weird calls.
Well, we need Celtic to beat ICT now !
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Loads of chances can’t score them.
That’s Hibs!!
Has been for a while.
I hear Harry Kane may be available.
Absolute bunch of frauds. Out of the match day squad about 3 quarters can go.
LJ can **** off as well.
Just watch ICT win now.
YES!! The season is finally over!!
Greenio
Kicking off
paggering in the dug outs
Well, at least that's some excitement.
NC1875
****ing losers. And we’ll never win anything with so many with a weak loser mentality.
27-05-2023, 01:39 PM
Gave it a go. Came up short again.
Absolutely pathetic. Massive rebuilding job this summer to clear out all the utter dross and a massive change in mentality or it will be more of the same next season.
Pretty much since all the injuries and subs we looked so naive
Which isn't surprising really as we are short a squad
We also (as I expected) looked shattered with 15 to go
Still a massively frustrating watch with us playing daft 40 yard passes instead of playing through the lines
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
skyehibee
Absolute joke Johnson’s tactics that last 10 mins pathetic
Now get Johnson and half that team out the door. Absolute amateurs the lot of them. Disgraceful performance from every last one of them.
Pathetic.
1-1 at Tynie in October is fine. 1-1 when we need a win and they have 10?
Wouldn't mind if Lee and majority of players binned after that 2nd half. Pathetic.
Just get the players off the pitch, ****ing embarrassing
HendoDelivered
So predictable we wouldn’t win this game. Far too many losers at Hibs that need to GTF
JamesHFC
Nasimtih really is an arse 😂
Fuzzywuzzy
What kicked off the hand bags?
More fight at the end than most of the game. LJ needs to ship out a lot of players. If he doesn't then he'll be the one to go.
27-05-2023, 01:40 PM
That was McKirdys chance
****ed it
Clowns will still defend him.
Dire team effort in the circumstances, nowhere near good enough.
We didn’t give it a go though. That was horrific.
Chip shop Joe
Wish we had shown that much fight during the game!!!
Helensburghhibs
Sums up this squad today. No depth and our best sub arguably the guy who hasn't been near the club all year and the biggest fight shown by cj, a man City loan player not involved in the game today
sorrow sorrow
McKirdy henderson cabraja offer absolutely nothing
You couldn’t have asked for a better opportunity in such a scenario.
Hibs eh.
e2los
Just get the players off the pitch, ****ing embarrassing
Yeah doesn't look good.
You’d think Hearts had just won the league. Have been third most of the season and finish two points above us.
They need to grow up.
Who’s that woman in the thick of things?
27-05-2023, 01:41 PM
Zero quality. Zero leaders on the park.
Manager like a rabbit in the headlights today.
supermcginn
Not one of the subs we brought on is good enough for this club. Josh Campbell has reverted back to his usual after a bright first half of the season.
A poster on here reckons he's the best player in the squad, genuinely frightening. He's so poor.
HarpOnHibee
Well, we've basically handed them 4th place there. Not a clue what we were doing the whole game. Who was the English lad on the commentary? The first person we've had on in years who actually know's what they're talking about.
jakedance
Well that was pish. Let’s never speak of this season again.
unless through an injury how low must a players confidence be getting subbed off after getting subbed on
Sack him. Changes that needed to be made were obvious, but he sends out his wee experiment at half time. 5th and garbage in the cup is a sacking.
27-05-2023, 01:42 PM
We can put out an ok-ish 11 but as soon as you dip into the squad you turn up nothing but dross.
NC1875
Newell mr anonymous when it matters again.
So many losers in that team. Been the same for as long as I remember.
Us fans deserve so much better and they let us down time and time again.
Pissed off is an understatement
Serial losers
If we can't beat that 💩 then forget it umpteen chances to score 😔
Get him gone.
Get rid of the absolute pish in this squad
Zero quality off the bench
Well, we've basically handed them 4th place there. Not a clue what we were doing the whole game. Who was the English lad on the commentary? The first person we've had on in years who actually know's what they're talking about.
Stuart Lovell ex Hibs
stuart lovell ?
HarpOnHibee
You’d think Hearts had just won the league. Have been third most of the season and finish two points above us.
They need to grow up.
They won't care. They've finished above us, with our own help today!
Sack him. Changes that needed to be made were obvious, but he sends out his wee experiment at half time. 5th and garbage in the cup is a sacking.Jesus Christ [emoji1787][emoji1787]
What experiment?
Henderson and mckirdy?
We then lost JDH and our main threat cadden thro injury (as well as Miller also)
JamesHFC
27-05-2023, 01:43 PM
Should have won. Battered them again today. It wasn't a defeat though and once Celtic win the cup it means an extra away day for us in Europe.
A lot of dross needs to go in the summer though and if we replace them with better quality, 3rd is ours next season.
They need to grow up.
Austin McPhee?
seanshow
Wtf, We did a nice job playing for the draw there!
Absolute pathetic, clueless, hot potato footballers.
Apart from Youan and Nisbet give the rest of the team free transfers, awful.:sairhead::sairhead::sairhead:
Sack him. Changes that needed to be made were obvious, but he sends out his wee experiment at half time. 5th and garbage in the cup is a sacking.
Has to be done. He’s never taking us forward.
HarpOnHibee
Stuart Lovell ex Hibs
stuart lovell ?
Cheers! Could have done with his mind on the field today.
NC1875
Apart from Youan and Nisbet give the rest of the team free transfers, awful.:sairhead::sairhead::sairhead:
Youan was one of the worst today.
A lack of missed chances, some good saves, the woodwork and more importantly a lack of quality at times especially when it matters and also trying to break teams down.
A big summer ahead if Johnson wants to be successful at Hibs.
cameronw-hfc
27-05-2023, 01:44 PM
Thought he was horrific. A chore to listen to, spoke for 90 minutes straight.
He talks a lot of sense
So predictable we wouldn’t win this game. Far too many losers at Hibs that need to GTF
Predictable is losing that game. We didn’t.
The ***** is not beating Dundee Utd in three chances. Home defeats against St Johnstone, Motherwell and Livvy that’s where we need to improve.
We had one job to do and were served up the easiest opportunity to accomplish it today, yet still failed. Very disappointing.
sauzeelegod
Stuart Lovell
Thought Youan was Hearts best player
I see we are back to sack the manager who lost ONE game in the top 6
I do wonder what the expectation was back when the top 6 started
I'm pretty sure I read a few posts claiming we will get 0 points
Still, I'm outaged , disgrace, sack everyone etc
Apart from the fact he did take us forward you are correct
Greenio
Fell just short on the day.
Can't really slate the team too much. Injuries played a massive part. Players out of position, against a flat 6. Not normal. Keeper played a blinder too.
5th this year....8th last. If you want progress, than this is what is looks like
Let's hope Celtic do what they should and we get European football. (Not that I think 5th place should get it)
TheCabbage
Henderson. Mckirdy. Cabraja. All done
Questions about campbell today. No composure on the ball
Marshall can go
Such an unbalanced squad
Decision making second half was awful
Miller and Cadden going off and the righ hand side was non existent
churchie16
27-05-2023, 01:45 PM
How anyone on this planet believes that Campbell or jeggo are anywhere close enough to being good enough at this level needs there brains examined absolutely 2 of the worst footballers out there, horrific players.
HFC93
Because that's going to happen right enough.
Juice-Terry
Not enough football intelligence on the pitch today. SO many stupid decisions. (Just ask Stuart Lovell.)
HarpOnHibee
Should have won. Battered them again today.
We really didn't though. We "applied pressure", then utterly wasted it with the most dumbfounded decision making. Lovell was bang on in his commentary.
WTF is Newell doing there?
This is ****ing brainless, idiotic football.
Lack of footballing IQ
At least we can stop pretending that McKirdy will come good, try punt him back down south
But they have to have a game plan Ian he`s sent them out after half time and at least 4 of them dont have a clue what they are supposed to be doing .
How can so many players get it wrong again and again and again theres no logic to it they dont have a clue where to press and how to use the one man advantage its farcical, if thats whats passing as a professional footballer at ER gawd help us gee gods the SPL is bad enough but surely professionalism has a standard FFS Hanlons and others have launched the ball since half time to no **** ,how do you train for that , where else in the UK do teams play against 10 men and make it ****in easier for them, thats why the prick in the dug outs accountable
cameronw-hfc
Newell mr anonymous when it matters again.
So many losers in that team. Been the same for as long as I remember.
Us fans deserve so much better and they let us down time and time again.
Pissed off is an understatement
Serial losers
He was injured. Has been for weeks, won't hold this against him given he more than likely had injections yet again just to play.
27-05-2023, 01:46 PM
Injuries really hampered us. Were playing very well and creating so much at the end of the first half.
JDH, Miller and Cadden were huge losses, and really broke up the good rhythm that we had.
Thank **** season is over.
Thegreenside
Would have been better not fielding a sub than Henderson. The lad just does not have it
Because that's going to happen right enough.
I know, he is safe. Doesn’t mean it shouldn’t though.
27-05-2023, 01:47 PM
Here he comes. You’re probably happy with that today
HarpOnHibee
Are you the other boy who always sounds pished? He was absolutely bang on with his comments on the team.
i don’t think he should be sacked just yet, but why would you only judge him on the last 5 games?
What kicked off the hand bags?
LJ stormed to the hertz dugout and it kicked off from there.
27-05-2023, 01:48 PM
5th in the league.
Punted out the League Cup first time of asking
Punted out of the Scottish Cup first time of asking
If your happy with that crack on mate. It's nowhere near good enough.
sauzeelegod
Absolutely raging with that 2nd half. These players are ****ing clueless. Let down after let down.
broondog
Sorry but sick of seeing the same old ***** on here, this is Johnson’s team, his signings and they were woeful. Lucky to be in the top 6, served up the easiest of opportunities today and we came nowhere near it, against a very poor 10 men Hearts side. If you think Johnson can take this club forward you’ve not got a clue. He’s nowhere near the level of manager we need to push us back where we belong. Time for him to go, get someone decent in and it’s a rebuild in the summer again. Best to act now than wait till it’s gone 8-9 games into next season
I know, he is safe. Doesn’t mean it shouldn’t though.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNo chance he should be sacked
Mental we are even having that talk on here to be honest
Come next week we will be back in Europe and really our form for most of the 2 nd half of the season has been pretty decent
We have deficiencies of course and we need stronger recruitment - that will come im pretty sure of that
I’m sure Newell’s stats for 2nd half passing will look great but wtf is he doing playing in front of the back four when he should be seizing the game by the scruff of the neck.
He was the English Pirlo there today, a masterclass of prodding and probing the ball into dangerous areas, how did you miss it?
Today was his chance to show us what people keep telling me what hes good at, do it.
Failed again.:rolleyes:
He was injured. Has been for weeks, won't hold this against him given he more than likely had injections yet again just to play.
He’s been ***** for years so I’m not sure that’s much excuse.
27-05-2023, 01:49 PM
Stuart Lovell
He’s a very good commentator.
He passed to them often enough
cameronw-hfc
Are you the other boy who always sounds pished? He was absolutely bang on with his comments on the team.
What you on about?
They need to grow up.
Blonde needs questioned by the polis.
He was pretty spot on though. Needed to be braver on the ball no composure. Strange having McKirdy central dropping deep for the ball. Hugely frustrating. Launching long balls Hanlon and Devlin up front really. Too many subs. Appreciate the loss of Doyle Hayes and Cadden was big.
27-05-2023, 01:50 PM
At least we can stop pretending that McKirdy will come good, try punt him back down south
About 12 or 13 of that match day squad could never play for Hibs again and I wouldn't be fussed.
We have some rebuilding job coming up.
Should be looking to bring in around 10 players.
hhibs
27-05-2023, 01:50 PM
LJ responsible for that piss,clearly had no idea how to set up the team to take advantage of the situation and,mind blowing substitutions.
He just reverts to type and never seems to learn from his many nistakes and,it be will the same thing next season !:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
raeburnhibs
27-05-2023, 01:51 PM
The daft reactionaries are back I see
high bee
As raging as I am, we lost a lot when JDH went off and the game was over as soon as Cadden went off. Campbell was poor from the off then really struggled out wide, looked so uncomfortable. Bringing Cabraja on ruined the left hand side too which meant we lost all our width.
We still should’ve won that game but when we’re relying on fringe players like Delferrie it’s hardly a surprise.
Let’s hope for once we can build on this, trim the squad a bit and have a squad of players all good enough to play.
Agree smart guy knows what he is talking about.
Greenio
Lovell talks absolutely sense. He just talks way too much of it!
Like I said...a lot more insight than the other ones theyve had in over the season.
high bee
27-05-2023, 01:52 PM
Stuart Lovell I think, needs to be part of our coaching staff IMO, he talks a very good game.
27-05-2023, 01:52 PM
No chance he should be sacked
Mental we are even having that talk on here to be honest
Come next week we will be back in Europe and really our form for most of the 2 nd half of the season has been pretty decent
We have deficiencies of course and we need stronger recruitment - that will come im pretty sure of that
I know. Season over, let’s look forward to Europe, avoiding the League Cup group stages and some new signings coming in.
Who honestly thought we’d beat a Hearts team (who had to avoid defeat) at Tynecastle?
Should be raging at the Dundee Utd, Livingston and Motherwell results.
27-05-2023, 01:53 PM
i don’t think he should be sacked just yet, but why would you only judge him on the last 5 games?Because this is the board is in a nut shell
We are ***** we will never get top 6, sack him we we dont
Ah, we got top 6- we were lucky
Ita probably a bad thing as we won't win a game
8 points later it's back to sacking him
Folk are just big bairns who throw hissy fits when things don't go exactly as they want
I was screaming for us to calm down and still play so it's disappointing ending today but it's hardly worth screaming about his ***** the whole club is etc etc
I actually had little hope today as I thought we would be knackered after midweek and we had key players either out injured or carrying an injury
It's an opportunity missed but end of the day we will more than likely be in Europe again
27-05-2023, 01:54 PM
Cabraja goes into the crowd
He got punched 👊
What a ridiculous comment.
I think I need to go do some gardening and let things simmer down.
He got punched 👊
I thought I saw that. Should be an open and shut case for the Polis.
Can’t go hitting players. Bunch of scaffs.
27-05-2023, 01:55 PM
Well, we need Celtic to beat ICT now !
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Celtc will put at least 5 past ICT. Same scenario as 2018, we need Celtc to win the cup to get into Europe.
27-05-2023, 01:55 PM
I know. Season over, let’s look forward to Europe, avoiding the League Cup group stages and some new signings coming in.
Who honestly thought we’d beat a Hearts team (who had to avoid defeat) at Tynecastle?
1-1 against a 10 man Hearts with 60 mins left in a game we have to win? Sorry but no excuses.
Our record against them is a disgrace and we need to get a manager and players that will change that.
I'm just so sick of us coming up short time and time again.
Donegal Hibby
27-05-2023, 01:56 PM
Agree gave it a go , couple of good saves by hertz keeper , one of the post which was unlucky . Injuries didn't help . Players looked abit tired towards the end of the game understandably.
He got punched [emoji109]Yep, 100 percent took a punch
A much worse one that we have to there goalie that time
cameronw-hfc
Because this is the board is in a nut shell
Folk are just big bairns who throw hissy fits when things don't go exactly as they want
I was screaming for us to calm down and still play so it's disappointing ending today but it's hardly worth screaming about his ***** the whole club is etc etc
I actually had little hope today as I thought we would be knackered after the weekend dand we had key players either tour injured or carrying an injury
It's an opportunity missed but end of the day we will more than likely be in Europe again
I'm fuming at the result and performance but our fans are so unbelievably toxic at times. If we were offered 5th in January we'd have taken it.
Crap but as long as celtic do what they should we will get Europe and have finished higher than last year.
I love having somewhere to talk to fellow Hibs fans on here, but it can be depressing after games like this. Too many folk resort to abuse
GreenGray
27-05-2023, 01:58 PM
I did when they went down to 10 men after 30 minutes.
Can be raging at both, incredibly frustrating.
cameronw-hfc
1-1 against a 10 man Hearts with 60 mins left in a game we have to win? Sorry but no excuses.
Our record against them is a disgrace and we need to get a manager and players that will change that.
I'm just so sick of us coming up short time and time again.
We also had to make multiple subs due to injuries and had a player playing what must be only his second or third ever game for us. No fit right back, Newell playing injured, JDH injured, not all that surprising tbf.
If we got the win folk would be praising Lee for still getting a win with a depleted squad.
I'm fuming at the result and performance but our fans are so unbelievably toxic at times. If we were offered 5th in January we'd have taken it.
Crap but as long as celtic do what they should we will get Europe and have finished higher than last year.
I love having somewhere to talk to fellow Hibs fans on here, but it can be depressing after games like this. Too many folk resort to abuseYep, agree. This place can be incredibly draining at times due to the total negative slant that gets trotted out time and time again - it's blinkered
Shame really
27-05-2023, 01:59 PM
5th in the league.
Punted out the League Cup first time of asking
Punted out of the Scottish Cup first time of asking
If your happy with that crack on mate. It's nowhere near good enough.
the cup exits were disappointing.
The top 5 are probably what they should be. Us, hearts and aberdeen should always be fighting amongst ourselves for 3rd, 4th and 5th and that’s how it turned out.
it’s a marginal improvement on last season. Next season I’ll expect another improvement on this one.
He's here!
Absolutely raging with that 2nd half. These players are ****ing clueless. Let down after let down.
Hardly a let down. We're a long way from being a great Hibs side but we were the only team trying to win it and anyone knows that the opposition going down to ten men is not some sort of free pass to victory.
Unlucky not to edge it I thought and in all honesty, given the way things were looking not so long ago, I'm content with a fifth place finish and a place in Europe.
killie-hibby
My rage is directed towards VAR decisions at Rugby Park and Dingwall.
Johnny Clash
27-05-2023, 02:00 PM
I like Campbell but he’s sadly not got the quality we need
HIBS NUTS
27-05-2023, 02:00 PM
We have had a very good end to the season
Beating hearts. celtic, and st mirren
Drawing with hearts and aberdeen away,
and Hopefully Qualifying for Europe.
And some hibs fans want the manager sacked, and all the players are rubbish .
Mabye some, should go and support Manchester City.
I don’t think hibs are good fit, for what you are looking for in supporting a football team.
27-05-2023, 02:01 PM
Here he comes. You’re probably happy with that todayI'm delighted I'll have the chance to follow hibs in Europe
Infact I'm about to open a beer and sit in the sun in my garden witmy family and dog
You still raging though?
27-05-2023, 02:01 PM
I'm astounded at the substitutions he made today, most of them made no sense whatsoever and just looked like blind panic and football bingo.
ElginHibbie
27-05-2023, 02:02 PM
A team we all knew were lacking in depth struggled due to a lack of depth
Frustrating but remaining optimistic. Think we seemed to show we learned from previous transfer mistakes in January so hopefully can get rid of some of the dross and get that depth that we need to continue improving
I love having somewhere to talk to fellow Hibs fans on here, but it can be depressing after games like this. Too many folk resort to abuse
Stupid thing to say if we were offered 5th in January. We had a chance to finish 4th and rub it in on our rivals yet AGAIN we failed to do so. A new way of letting the fans down today and it never changes
Silky
I actually had little hope today as I thought we would be knackered after midweek and we had key players either out injured or carrying an injury
Excellent post. Nail on head.
leith lynx
27-05-2023, 02:03 PM
The top 5 are probably what they should be. Us, hearts and aberdeen should always be fighting amongst ourselves for 3rd, 4th and 5th and that’s how it turned out.
it’s a marginal improvement on last season. Next season I’ll expect another improvement on this one.
Good balanced comment, most people will agree after they have cooled down a bit. As you say further progress required next season.
HarpOnHibee
I'm astounded at the substitutions he made today, most of them made no sense whatsoever and just looked like blind panic and football bingo.
Yep. I was gobsmacked at the HT substitutions. There was no need to change anything at that point and it clearly impacted the overall balance of the team.
pollution
Yep, agree. This place can be incredibly draining at times due to the total negative slant that gets trotted out time and time again - it's blinkered
Shame really
Sometimes it seems that the abuse on this site is for abuse's sake only and only vaguely related to the game we've just seen.
Silky
27-05-2023, 02:04 PM
Stupid thing to say if we were offered 5th in January. We had a chance to finish 4th and rub it in on our rivals yet AGAIN we failed to do so. A new way of letting the fans down today and it never changes
Rubbing it in. Wow. How old are we? We're two derbies unbeaten, not had that for a while. That's something to "rub in".
27-05-2023, 02:04 PM
Yep. I was gobsmacked at the HT substitutions. There was no need to change anything at that point and it clearly impacted the overall balance of the team.
Yes there was, we needed to attack, so why have a DM like jeggo on the park?
27-05-2023, 02:05 PM
Sometimes it seems that the abuse on this site is for abuse's sake only and only vaguely related to the game we've just seen.
sauzeelegod
27-05-2023, 02:05 PM
Yeah agreed
But they have to have a game plan Ian he`s sent them out after half time and at least 4 of them dont have a clue what they are supposed to be doing .
How can so many players get it wrong again and again and again theres no logic to it they dont have a clue where to press and how to use the one man advantage its farcical, if thats whats passing as a professional footballer at ER gawd help us gee gods the SPL is bad enough but surely professionalism has a standard FFS Hanlons and others have launched the ball since half time to no **** ,how do you train for that , where else in the UK do teams play against 10 men and make it ****in easier for them, thats why the prick in the dug outs accountable
Nail on head.
27-05-2023, 02:06 PM
Second point is fair and I do agree, we just never seem to have that extra edge and more times than not miss opportunities like this one.
27-05-2023, 02:07 PM
Sometimes it seems that the abuse on this site is for abuse's sake only and only vaguely related to the game we've just seen.I thought going more attacking made sense and how the game panned out jeggo would've been a useless extra dm there
I had no issues when I seen the subs so im not going to criticize there with hindsight
losing jdh and cadden really impacted us though and probably when the game slipped away from us (although we still managed to hit the post and had chances to win it)
Donegal Hibby
Good post :top marksand spot on :agree:
Rubbing it in. Wow. How old are we? We're two derbies unbeaten, not had that for a while. That's something to "rub in".
For a team that were 11 points clear in third. Roles reversed, we’d have lost that
Henderson. Mckirdy. Cabraja. All done
Questions about campbell today. No composure on the ball
Marshall can go
Such an unbalanced squad
Decision making second half was awful
Miller and Cadden going off and the righ hand side was non existent
Dumped out of both cups and 5th in a poor league says it all.
Mediocre manager, terrible recruitment and every likelihood of losing our only remaining player that's worth money. The leftovers are ... just that. Hanlon and Stevenson will have combined age of 175 next season but still better than any of the frauds we've brought in.
And maybe now we can finally put to bed any remaining fantasy about McKirdy actually doing anything productive in a Hibs shirt. Rarely has so much be written about a player that's done so little.
27-05-2023, 02:08 PM
Would probably rather have left Jeggo on if it avoided Newell sitting between our centre backs thinking he’s some incredible playmaker. 66 touches of the ball, only Fish had more in the match, and he did the square root of f*** all with it.
sauzeelegod
Hardly a let down. We're a long way from being a great Hibs side but we were the only team trying to win it and anyone knows that the opposition going down to ten men is not some sort of free pass to victory.
Unlucky not to edge it I thought and in all honesty, given the way things were looking not so long ago, I'm content with a fifth place finish and a place in Europe.
Playing 60 mins against 10 men and pumping long balls and not winning isn’t a letdown? Win and we go above them. If that’s not a letdown then what is?
HarpOnHibee
Attacking doesn't automatically equate to simply throwing more attacking players on the pitch. It was efficiency that we needed. A way to break Hearts down and create clear cut opportunities. Putting more attacking players on the pitch allowed us to apply more pressure, but because the balance of the team was disrupted, the pressure was ultimately wasteful as the players couldn't click.
DinkyTwo
We had one job to do and were served up the easiest opportunity to accomplish it today, yet still failed. Very disappointing.I think it seems easy on paper. But a game against Hearts where they scored first and only had to scrape a draw to succeed is never going to be easy. 10 men or not.
Time wasting and up to their shenanigans from the 10th minute.
I am so frustrated that we didn't get our foot on the ball more and try to play, but I'll get over it.
Can't emphasise just how much I hate Hearts and the way they play every derby.
Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
NC1875
He was the English Pirlo there today, a masterclass of prodding and probing the ball into dangerous areas, how did you miss it?
Today was his chance to show us what people keep telling me what hes good at, do it.
Failed again.:rolleyes:
He’s been injured for weeks apparently. Always an excuse
Really disappointed with that, disappointed and angry. We let them off the hook with some awful performances from some players that have shown over the course of this season that they're not at our level and should be moved on.
Our best players didn't turn up, the decision making was awful and the heads went with twenty minutes to go.
Fifth is about where were deserved to end up, a bit more quality in the team and we'd have challenged for third. There's nothing really between us, Aberdeen and Hearts.
Next season has to be better.
27-05-2023, 02:09 PM
Attacking doesn't automatically equate to simply throwing more attacking players on the pitch. It was efficiency that we needed. A way to break Hearts down and create clear cut opportunities. Putting more attacking players on the pitch allowed us to apply more pressure, but because the balance of the team was disrupted, the pressure was ultimately wasteful as the players couldn't click.We were doing just that until jdh and cadden went off
sauzeelegod
Exactly. Well said mate.
Really disappointed with that, disappointed and angry. We let them off the hook with some awful performances from some players that have shown over the course of this season that they're not at our level and should be moved on.
Our best players didn't turn up, the decision making was awful and the heads went with twenty minutes to go.
Fifth is about where were deserved to end up, a bit more quality in the team and we'd have challenged for third. There's nothing really between us, Aberdeen and Hearts.
Next season has to be better.
Win at Aberdeen and today and we’d have been 3rd
27-05-2023, 02:10 PM
Absolute joke Johnson’s tactics that last 10 mins pathetic
That second half was atrocious. Johnson blew it. Also players that came in nowhere good enough. Henderson the subbed sub, get in the sea!!!
DinkyTwo
Attacking doesn't automatically equate to simply throwing more attacking players on the pitch. It was efficiency that we needed. A way to break Hearts down and create clear cut opportunities. Putting more attacking players on the pitch allowed us to apply more pressure, but because the balance of the team was disrupted, the pressure was ultimately wasteful as the players couldn't click.Agree. We took way too long to start every attack. Hearts had everyone back and it made the game a battle that played into their gameplan
gaz1875
Yep, agree. This place can be incredibly draining at times due to the total negative slant that gets trotted out time and time again - it's blinkered
Shame really
Some of the comments are absolutely pathetic. We were all out attack and 3 of our better players today, were subbed due to injury. We finished with 4 of our fringe players who have had barley any first team game time, and now everyone should be sacked!! FFS get a grip, we have the 5th biggest budget in the league, and were unbeaten against 3 of the top 4 biggest budgets in the last set of matches.
We all want better quality, but unless we get an Anderson type investment, our signing will be more hit or miss, the same as the majority of every single league team in the world.
He's here!
27-05-2023, 02:14 PM
Only lost one of the four league derbies. Also lost just one of the post-split fixtures and came close to winning four out of five. I've been as critical of this Hibs team as anyone but I feel they're due a bit of credit for showing more dig than I expected to finish in a European spot. Relegation looked more likely at one point.
I think fifth is probably the best we could have hoped for so there are positives to be drawn. Folk are frustrated we couldn't get the goal we needed today but being realistic a draw at Tynecastle is something I think the majority of fans would take in normal circumstances.
Because we don't have any players in our squad who could actually do what was required and he was the best of the bad fits we had to choose from?
I'm finding it hard to be pissed off about today. Johnson's wrung just about every last drop out of that squad and a squad we all knew was deficient fell just short in a game that was set up to show the deficiencies.
Over to the recruitment team, but rashness regarding the manager here would be stark raving bonkers...
I think it seems easy on paper. But a game against Hearts where they scored first and only had to scrape a draw to succeed is never going to be easy. 10 men or not.
Time wasting and up to their shenanigans from the 10th minute.
I am so frustrated that we didn't get our foot on the ball more and try to play, but I'll get over it.
Can't emphasise just how much I hate Hearts and the way they play every derby.
Agree, people going on as if Hearts weren’t there, ten men or not. They love to beat us. It’s the sole bit of joy they get. It’s never easy at Tynecastle. And we went 1-0 down early doors. Again a film I’ve seen so many times before.
People need to crack a beer open and enjoy the sunshine. Europe round the corner.
27-05-2023, 02:15 PM
Only lost one of the four league derbies. Also lost just one of the post-split fixtures and came close to winning four out of five. I've been as critical of this Hibs team as anyone but I feel they're due a bit of credit for showing a bit of dig to finish in a European spot. Relegation looked more likely at one point.
I think fifth is probably the best we could have hoped for so there are positives to be drawn. Folk are frustrated we couldn't get the goal we needed today but being realistic a draw at Tynecastle is something I think the majority of fans would take in normal circumstances.
What’s wrong with people. It wasn’t normal circumstances
e2los
Great post, far too many negative comments today.
Would have been great to have beaten Celtic and Hearts in the same week, but at least we didn't lose.
Win at Aberdeen and today and we’d have been 3rd
Right enough. It’s all Nissys fault.
27-05-2023, 02:16 PM
Right enough. It’s all Nissys fault.
JSack him IMO
[emoji38]
27-05-2023, 02:16 PM
I'm not quite sure what we expected. It's Hearts. Their sole purpose is to beat us at everything hence why they celebrated it like a win.
Don't like it? Start pressuring our club to take it seriously as they do or stop getting pissed when your latest 3-0 Hibs prediction inevitably turns out to be bollocks.
It was clear as day what was going to happen from the minute we equalised, the only surprise about it was that most people on this board were duped again.
27-05-2023, 02:17 PM
Because we don't have any players in our squad who could actually do what was required and he was the best of the bad fits we had to choose from?
I'm finding it hard to be pissed off about today. Johnson's wrung just about every last drop out of that squad and a squad we all knew was deficient fell just short in a game that was set up to show the deficiencies.
Over to the recruitment team, but rashness regarding the manager here would be stark raving bonkers...
Well said.
supermcginn
27-05-2023, 02:18 PM
Great post, far too many negative comments today.
Would have been great to have beaten Celtic and Hearts in the same week, but at least we didn't lose.
It was a must win game against a team who had ten men for a huge chunk of the game! At least we didn't lose is the kind of attitude that's led to us having a shocking derby record .
27-05-2023, 02:18 PM
LJ responsible for that piss,clearly had no idea how to set up the team to take advantage of the situation and,mind blowing substitutions.
He just reverts to type and never seems to learn from his many nistakes and,it be will the same thing next season !:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
Yet showed against Aberdeen earlier in the season just how to play against 10 men?
high bee
27-05-2023, 02:19 PM
Some of the comments are absolutely pathetic. We were all out attack and 3 of our better players today, were subbed due to injury. We finished with 4 of our fringe players who have had barley any first team game time, and now everyone should be sacked!! FFS get a grip, we have the 5th biggest budget in the league, and were unbeaten against 3 of the top 4 biggest budgets in the last set of matches.
We all want better quality, but unless we get an Anderson type investment, our signing will be more hit or miss, the same as the majority of every single league team in the world.
Good point, the top 5 probably finished in the exact order of their budget. Hearts and Aberdeen may be in the wrong order but we’re surely 5th so we’ve not underperformed, technically anyway.
On the flip side we could’ve so easily been 3rd if we spent more wisely as we’ve got a lot of players that just aren’t good enough for this level.
27-05-2023, 02:20 PM
It’s been a very poor season. Only 2 big results of note in amongst a load of shockers. Johnson blew it today with those subs.
Beat of every team in the league
No win against relegated side
Blew it today
Out league cup first round
Out Scottish cup first round
3-0 x2
6 away to Celtic
4 away to Aberdeen
Ross county at home
Numerous games v 10 men
He’s been very lucky the league is as bad as it is
27-05-2023, 02:23 PM
Yet showed against Aberdeen earlier in the season just how to play against 10 men?
Have we not won loads of games this season against 10 men. It became a bit of a speciality.
gaz1875
27-05-2023, 02:26 PM
Good point, the top 5 probably finished in the exact order of their budget. Hearts and Aberdeen may be in the wrong order but we’re surely 5th so we’ve not underperformed, technically anyway.
On the flip side we could’ve so easily been 3rd if we spent more wisely as we’ve got a lot of players that just aren’t good enough for this level.
We probably would have finished 3rd had Boyle been fit given the league ending, but its all ifs and butts, and every team would have similar thoughts. We made some poor or unlucky signing signings whatever way you look at it. And still in the end we missed 3rd place by only 5 points!!
The past two years outside rangers and Celtic have been an extremely poor league.
This year I see improvement but there is no getting away from the fact it’s been largely very disappointing one.
Early cup exits, very little to shout about, poor performances… I don’t see it all as negative but I’m certainly happy the season is over and big changes has to happen….GGTTH
27-05-2023, 02:31 PM
He was terrible second half gave the ball away all the time.
27-05-2023, 02:32 PM
How many times have we coulda, woulda, shoulda over the years? But this time we really should've finished them off.
e2los
27-05-2023, 02:35 PM
It was a must win game against a team who had ten men for a huge chunk of the game! At least we didn't lose is the kind of attitude that's led to us having a shocking derby record .
I totally get where you are coming from, but don't want to spend the rest of the weekend angry or depressed.
If we had lost to a ten man hearts team today it would have been really grim.
Despite spending more Hearts aren't any better than us and we just need consistency to put us in a less stressful situation next season.
Obviously it wasn't a good result, but we will have Boyler back and Youan is looking quite promising.
Anyway have a chilled out weekend... I'm doing the beer in the garden thing and relaxing in the sunshine.
gaz1875
27-05-2023, 02:38 PM
The past two years outside rangers and Celtic have been an extremely poor league.
This year I see improvement but there is no getting away from the fact it’s been largely very disappointing one.
Early cup exits, very little to shout about, poor performances… I don’t see it all as negative but I’m certainly happy the season is over and big changes has to happen….GGTTH
The early League cup exit was a sore one, all down to Johnson's casual approach which continued the most part of the early season.
CL0762
27-05-2023, 02:40 PM
Some folk on here actually put money on us finishing in the playoffs if you remember 😂
That’s where our form was at the time though. I never believed that would be the case but for that part of the season it was dreadful and has undoubtedly had consequences on our finishing place.
27-05-2023, 02:47 PM
Ultimately we managed to blow both cups horribly and in fact the league too. Not just today, though that outcome was very poor. This season confirms everything we already knew - we’re patchy at best, have a massively ordinary squad, a weak midfield and a first team that’s paper thin for first picks.
Johnson will start next season but if we don’t gut that squad and add four or five first team signings then he’s utterly ****ed because we’ll know early on whether it’s the same streaky ‘nearly men’ diet ahead.
27-05-2023, 02:53 PM
Finishing Fifth is where I expected us to finish given our erratic season But forget no beating dons recently and not taking more points from a poor Dundee United
Today we were presented with a great chance to finish fourth and win back to back derbies and second half we failed miserably
The quality of the subs probably cost us as our shape went the more subs we had to make
Youans decision making was awful second half as well
We couldn’t use the width as game progressed and really lost the man advantage by pumping in long balls that they dealt with
We made it way too easy for them to hold out for the draw
That second half was atrocious. Johnson blew it. Also players that came in nowhere good enough. Henderson the subbed sub, get in the sea!!!
Total lack of quality in that team.:confused: How can we get rid of them. 2 and 3 year deals
27-05-2023, 03:10 PM
Ultimately we managed to blow both cups horribly and in fact the league too. Not just today, though that outcome was very poor. This season confirms everything we already knew - we’re patchy at best, have a massively ordinary squad, a weak midfield and a first team that’s paper thin for first picks.
Johnson will start next season but if we don’t gut that squad and add four or five first team signings then he’s utterly ****ed because we’ll know early on whether it’s the same streaky ‘nearly men’ diet ahead.
Definitely some improvement though but you are right need to strengthen the squad.
27-05-2023, 03:12 PM
The problem with today's result is that it's not just a one off - we as fans feel the weight of our rubbish record against them.
We have had so many chances over the years to get one over on them and bottled time and time again. That's why today is so frustrating. They have beaten us 0-3 twice this season and put us out of the cup.
We couldn't have asked for a better chance to get one over on them today. And we are sitting at 1-1, them down to 10 men with an hour to play. But of course it's Hibs so we can't do it. If the shoe was on the other foot you can bet they would have won by 2 or 3.
We need to change our mentality for these games. We always have excuses about injuries, dodgy refs, tiredness etc but at the end of the day I've seen too many of these games go there way for me to conclude they are better organised and want it more.
Maybe LJ is the one to fix this but today so was ****ing predictable.
darwenhibby
27-05-2023, 03:15 PM
Christ !!
Remember when they played us 19 years ago
Brebner gets sent off
Did we get a draw that day??
Their shambles got a draw and celebrated
Slating Campbell??
The guy had to go right back!!
Not his natural position
They kicked our right backs off the park
We are not in as bad a position as some would say on here
A few weeks ago we won’t get top 6
We won’t get a point in the top 6
We got 8 out of 15
Beat the lower teams we should beat I think next season will push us on
Glory to the Great Hibees 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
27-05-2023, 03:16 PM
4 or 5 won't be enough imo. We have a number of loanees going back, and very likely to lose Nisbet.
For me we need the following:
GK
LB
CB
DM/CM
Attacking midfielder
Winger
Striker x2.
That's 8 players. And I honestly don't think I'm being outlandish.
That will be very hard to do with the best recruitment team in the world. Hopefully McDermott can fix work some magic but it's a big ask.
Donegal Hibby
27-05-2023, 03:19 PM
Last year we finished 8th . This year we have finished 5th and will more than likely be in Europe. Last year in the bottom 6th our last 5 games were : St mirren 1-0 win (A). Livingston 1-0 loss (A) . Aberdeen 1-1 draw (H) . Dundee 3-1 loss (A) . St Johnstone 4-0 win (H) = 7 POINTS.
WE HAVE TAKEN 8 POINTS FROM St mirren , Sevco, Aberdeen, Celtic and hertz only losing once .
Talk of sacking manager and blaming player's like Newell and even Campbell I think is a totally OTT reaction . There's definitely been improvement from last year and the manager just needs the summer to improve the team .As for our Player's like Newell today who's carrying a injury and Campbell Playing out of position I think it's harsh .
It's been a tough run of 5 games in 20 days or so were they have gave us absolutely 100% effort and commitment in them games . There keeper had a few good saves and we hit the post . With injuries and lack of options from the bench we sadly just ran out of steam. I'm certain we will be back stronger next year . Keep the faith.🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Couldn't see the game on my stick so worked and listened to radio between jobs.sounded all Hibs in the 2nd half but just had zero composure when needed, which sounds ike a lot of our performances. The only way to win these games us getting shot of a) the driss abd b) some under performing high waged venerated players who gave underperformed for almost 3 seasons now.
Will we scrap 10-13 players from this squad, probably not but we should.
27-05-2023, 03:44 PM
That was a chance to batter them in their own stinking toilet. Had we played for an hour with ten men, you can be sure they would have taken advantage. We are still too nice; it feels like a big chance got away from us.
He's here!
27-05-2023, 03:45 PM
Lee Johnson's Edinburgh Derby Reaction | Hearts 1 Hibs 1 | cinch Premiership - YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7mPl1EHYGFA)
LJ pays tribute to the fans.
27-05-2023, 04:08 PM
Cadden suspected ruptured Achilles, JDH dislocated shoulder. Egan-Riley out for 3-4 months.
aljo7-0
27-05-2023, 04:20 PM
Cadden suspected ruptured Achilles, JDH dislocated shoulder. Egan-Riley out for 3-4 months.
FFS, lucky white heather anyone?