View Full Version : **Aberdeen Away - Match Updates**
13-05-2023, 03:48 PM
Score that and get the 3 points, 3rd would’ve very much been on
Am guessing he is our first choice penalty taker after Boyle?
HendoDelivered
Similar game to when McLaren missed a pen up there in the 17/18 season around this time of the season.
jeezo mkirdy lol
13-05-2023, 03:49 PM
Nisbet is a very noble striker and doesn't want to taint his excellent goalscoring record with a penalty unlike that charlatan Shankland.
13-05-2023, 03:49 PM
Nisbet's the striker, he's always going to take it
If the management team can't see that he shouldn't be on them giving his last few then I don't know what to tell you. The half million pound player we just signed permanently should be ahead of him.
Nisbet's the striker, he's always going to take it
Youan also a striker, should've taken it as he's been scoring and on form.
13-05-2023, 03:50 PM
jeezo mkirdy lol
To be fair Nisbet checked his run. The pass was on but it wasn’t well executed but looked worse than it was.
HendoDelivered
13-05-2023, 03:51 PM
Mckirdys took one for the team there tbf
13-05-2023, 03:51 PM
100% should’ve been Youan, chucked it
13-05-2023, 03:52 PM
To be fair Nisbet checked his run. The pass was on but it wasn’t well executed but looked worse than it was.
meant dragging the aberdeen player :greengrin
McKirdy yes a good shot to get the penalty but jeezo man that last bit of football is shocking, a missed volley and than all in wrestling to pull the guy back.
13-05-2023, 03:52 PM
Mckirdys took one for the team there tbf
Yip, a good yellow to get.
13-05-2023, 03:53 PM
corner hibs
just score eh
Wouldn't be even top 6 without his goals so deserves a break, but a big chance missed.
meant dragging the aberdeen player :greengrin
:greengrin:greengrin That was poor. He took far too long to do it.
BegbieHSC
13-05-2023, 03:54 PM
Please Hibs
7 mins added on. Still time. Cmon the **** Hibbies
oooh + 7 mins
13-05-2023, 03:55 PM
Come on. Just do it!
13-05-2023, 03:56 PM
Jeggo 38th yellow card of the season
13-05-2023, 03:57 PM
Nisbet is so frustrating on a number of levels
13-05-2023, 03:58 PM
Nisbet is so frustrating on a number of levels
He's also extremely good and we'll miss him very soon.
LunasBoots
Frustrating not to win this one
2-2 Hearts
Shankland pen
And of course Hearts score their latest ****ty non-penalty.
NC1875
Ridiculous to not leave with 3 points after that performance. So many chances, but so wasteful
Even bigger chance missed now that hearts are 2-2
BegbieHSC
2-2 Hearts
Shankland pen
**** off
13-05-2023, 03:59 PM
Good overall performance but honking decision making in the final 3rd and finishing
what a chance blown
FT
DinkyTwo
As we were then. Gutting to not take advantage today.
Next up Rangers on the 21st May :greengrin
Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
Chance blown
Guttinf
Shows the weakness of the bench that both Nisbet and Youan are completely knackered but still on, maybe Hoppe for Nisbet should've happened.
13-05-2023, 04:00 PM
Even the ref in studio saying Hearts is not a penalty. Our own fault for not taking chances. Very disappointing
DIXIHIBS
Ffs. Hertz crap all day...96minute penalty...draw. Hibs great all day..missed penalty draw...should have been so different.
Could have won two games with the chances we had
He's also extremely good and we'll miss him very soon.
That’s why he’s so frustrating
Hibs all over imho!
Missed chances costing us yet again!
FT 0-0.
2 points dropped with an awful penalty.
Still, I’ll take the point at Pittrodrie. We normally get bugger all there.
BegbieHSC
Well barring 9 points against the OF and Hearts, along with Aberdeen losing the rest of their games, that’s 3rd gone…to a team we beat 6-0. Beyond frustrating.
13-05-2023, 04:01 PM
To be honest I thought we really good
Disappointing as we should have won that by a few goals but can't really fault the team too much
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Frustrating draw. Should have won. Annoying.
OtleyHibs
13-05-2023, 04:02 PM
Opportunity missed, disappointing
Played well, better than I expected to be honest and would probably have taken a point before kick off
swin82
13-05-2023, 04:02 PM
Best performance at pittodrie in a long time! Deserved to win, thought youan was superb all game
13-05-2023, 04:03 PM
Nisbet and Youan not clinical enough today, huge missed opportunity.:boo hoo:
NC1875
13-05-2023, 04:03 PM
To be honest I thought we really good
Disappointing as we should have won that by a few goals but can't really fault the team too much
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
Can’t fault the team. Apart from not taking there chances. Typical Hibs.
The Wireless
13-05-2023, 04:04 PM
Hibs allow Aberdeen to become the 3rd best team in Scotland this season. How they have manageD that I’ll never know. 5th/6th in this league is for me failure. I know others will think differently.
Well barring 9 points against the OF and Hearts, along with Aberdeen losing the rest of their games, that’s 3rd gone…to a team we beat 6-0. Beyond frustrating.
Third was blown when we lost at home to St Johnstone, Ross County, Motherwell and away to Dundee Utd x 2, Kilmarnock, and the likes.
Those games make up 18 points. Easy third.
Just seen Hearts drew today also.
2-2 Hearts
Shankland pen
Ironic given folk are slagging off him for scoring so many penalties, yet our top goalscorer misses a penalty.
13-05-2023, 04:05 PM
Hibs allow Aberdeen to become the 3rd best team in Scotland this season. How they have manageD that I’ll never know. 5th/6th in this league is for me failure. I know others will think differently.
Yep. It was Hibs fault and Hibs fault alone
#2 Double Tap
13-05-2023, 04:05 PM
feeling proper dissappointed today!
The Tubs
13-05-2023, 04:06 PM
We played well and I was very pleased with the application of the players. Thought Henderson was handy off the bench.
Bridge hibs
If we had beaten them today they would still have been 3rd so how is it hibs fault ?
Hearts have done us a favour. Can’t see St Mirren picking up 4/9 with two games against the old firm.
Ironic given folk are slagging off him for scoring so many penalties, yet our top goalscorer misses a penalty.
He's a great penalty taker. Been posted missing for months in open play.
That’s a kick in the baws. Should’ve been an easy win but too many missed chances. Should be at least 5th secured hopefully.
Corstorphine Hibby
We're only 6 points behind Aberdeen so 2 wins from our last 3 games may be enough, probably not, but maybe.
JamesHFC
13-05-2023, 04:07 PM
That was a tough one to take, reminded me of the game when we went up there with Lennon with another penalty miss.
3rd is now out the question so I hope Aberdeen do Hearts next week. St Mirren not getting 3 points is probably a good thing for us.
Feel for LJ after that, let down by poor finishing today.
We're only 6 points behind Aberdeen so 2 wins from our last 3 games may be enough, probably not, but maybe.
Rangers game is massive.
The split is proving it’s worth this year
DIXIHIBS
Have hibs not taken 7 points off aberdeen....
#2 Double Tap
sure his record at pens is honking, some boy told me he has 16 misses outa 20, if thats true why does the manager allow him to take them......need those stats fact checked.
Donegal Hibby
13-05-2023, 04:08 PM
By far the better team and unlucky not to win that one .
What a chance, missed once more by a team that just is no good enough, all over the sheep and still no score, that is not just bad luck.
To rub it in that bawbag wi the giant foreheed goes and sinks a very dodgy pen for the manky ones.
Hibs FFS
DIXIHIBS
Needed a win today imho. Should have done it as well.
Felt like 2 points dropped with the missed pen and the chances we had.
We played well but ultimately didn't put the ball in the net.
Onto the old firm double header.
13-05-2023, 04:09 PM
We played well which I'm happy with, disappointing and annoyed at Nisbet but after losing to Dundee utd / Motherwell, 4th was always the target in my mind and not much changes here. Hopefully can get a few points in the next 2 games and beat Hearts to end the season on a high.
13-05-2023, 04:09 PM
sure his record at pens is honking, some boy told me he has 16 misses outa 20, if thats true why does the manager allow him to take them......need those stats fact checked.
Scored 13 missed 3 I think. 2 of the 3 being absolutely devastating for the support.
DIXIHIBS
13-05-2023, 04:10 PM
That was a tough one to take, reminded me of the game when we went up there with Lennon with another penalty miss.
3rd is now out the question so I hope Aberdeen do Hearts next week. St Mirren not getting 3 points is probably a good thing for us.
That hertz draw might just help us. Keeps st mirren off our tails.
Who the **** told you that? You think any professional footballer would miss 16 out of 20 :faf:
#2 Double Tap
Scored 13 missed 3 I think. 2 of the 3 being absolutely devastating for the support.
good man! thought those stats were wrong ;), i really should stop listening to slavers ha
hhibs
Agree ,poor season,when there is a need for bottle,we consistently fail.
JamesHFC
13-05-2023, 04:11 PM
That hertz draw might just help us. Keeps st mirren off our tails.
Absolutely. As long as they don't beat Aberdeen next week then our game against them will be a decider for 4th I expect.
#2 Double Tap
13-05-2023, 04:11 PM
Who the **** told you that? You think any professional footballer would miss 16 out of 20 :faf:
haha. thats why i asked for the fact check ;)
We played well and I was very pleased with the application of the players. Thought Henderson was handy off the bench.
Loads of shots, plenty chances. No goals.
Same old, same old.
Bunch of fan dancers, really.
NC1875
13-05-2023, 04:12 PM
Absolutely. As long as they don't beat Aberdeen next week then our game against them will be a decider for 4th I expect.
Yeah and we all know what will happen there. We can never just grab the opportunities presented to us. So frustrating
13-05-2023, 04:13 PM
He's pish at penalty's.
JamesHFC
13-05-2023, 04:14 PM
Yeah and we all know what will happen there. We can never just grab the opportunities presented to us. So frustrating
We have a habit for it unfortunately. Hopefully we can take something from the OF now their seasons are pretty much over.
I thought Hibs were very good today. We definitely deserved to win, but that's football sometimes.
If we recruit well and replace Nisbet, next season might be exciting.
Just checking in so someone's probably said this, but that was just like chasing the positions up there in 2018. I'm preparing myself for the same disappointment. We should have won that.
McKirdy should have taken the pen. Feel for him. That shot was the goal that changed the story.
one win in ten for aberdeen at tinycastle, it will be one in eleven after next week
13-05-2023, 04:16 PM
Needed a win today imho. Should have done it as well.
We definitely needed to not lose. With St Mirren drawing 4th is in our own hands. Albeit we have both OF and Hearts away to secure it.
Celtic on the beach and Huns on the back of job done for their fans. Who knows. Take points there and we may not need to beat Hearts.
Bridge hibs
13-05-2023, 04:16 PM
He's pish at penalty's.
I cant stand Shankland but even at that I will back him up 🤣
13-05-2023, 04:17 PM
A supremely unlucky day for us. Happy with the performance.
We'll try our best in the two free shots at the OF and hopefully we'll go into the derby with something to play for.
He's pish at penalty's.
I think you need to read the conversation and try again.
JamesHFC
one win in ten for aberdeen at tinycastle, it will be one in eleven after next week
Any chance on sharing tonight's lottery numbers whilst you are at it?
HarpOnHibee
13-05-2023, 04:18 PM
Thought Youan should have taken the penalty. Nisbet never really looked like scoring up to that point, while Youan could have easily bagged a few. I reckon he would have burst the net with that. But it's all ifs and buts now.
13-05-2023, 04:19 PM
He's pish at penalty's.
Shankland is not pish at penalties unfortunately - he has an above average scoring rate from them.
Scotty Leither
13-05-2023, 04:20 PM
I appreciate Nisbet’s talents as a player, but I’m sorry I think he plays for himself. Took the selfish option again today and had a shot when he could have rolled it to Youan who was on his shoulder and was the better option. So frustrating.
HarpOnHibee
13-05-2023, 04:20 PM
Shankland is not pish at penalties unfortunately - he has an above average scoring rate from them.
Yep, they have a 100% conversion rate from a whopping 11 pens this season. (Most of them controversial awards to say the least).
hhibs
13-05-2023, 04:22 PM
FFS the reference is to Nisbet record !!!
13-05-2023, 04:26 PM
Why? The conversation wasn't about Nisbet.
Yep, they have a 100% conversion rate from a whopping 11 pens this season. (Most of them controversial awards to say the least).
Shankland 27 taken in career, 3 misses & 24 scored (89%)
Nisbet 17 taken, 4 misses 13 scored (76%)
85% of pens taken in football are scored on average.
Ionastreethibs
Bah! Should've won
Hibee Daft
13-05-2023, 04:27 PM
St Mirren would need 4 points to get 5th now and cant see that happening with there next 3 games. So pretty much guaranteed europe next season which is what the club should be doing at the very minimum each season.
Hopefully we can stay within 1 or 2 points of Hearts and take 4th from them on the last day.
13-05-2023, 04:27 PM
FFS maybe you should read it again pal :wink:
13-05-2023, 04:31 PM
St Mirren would need 4 points to get 5th now and cant see that happening with there next 3 games. So pretty much guaranteed europe next season which is what the club should be doing at the very minimum each season.
Hopefully we can stay within 1 or 2 points of Hearts and take 4th from them on the last day.
Awe the usual ifs an buts, we do make things difficult and even then done get over the line much.
We need much better players, better quality to compliment the few quality players that we do have.
A supremely unlucky day for us. Happy with the performance.
We'll try our best in the two free shots at the OF and hopefully we'll go into the derby with something to play for.
Can't be unlucky when we miss a pen and butcher some other chances
Bridge hibs
Ffs its about Shankland, try reading the thread from this post .. MWHIBBIES:
🤣
hhibs
FFS maybe you should read it again pal :wink:
After you .
DIXIHIBS
Thats how i see it. If we had (deservedly) won a st mirren win was best result. With us only getting a point a draw is realistically better as it makes 5th more likely.
13-05-2023, 04:33 PM
Gutted with that. Thought we played really well from first to last.
But get what you deserve for not scoring.
One positive is that results about guarantee fifth IMO.
13-05-2023, 04:35 PM
It's so hard to figure out how this is going to go .... 4 points from our first two games is a return most of us would have been ok with when the last 5 fixtures started, it could come down to who can take something from their two games against the Uglies.
We are the only team still to play both ugly sisters and realistically we would have to find a way to beat one of them to have any hope of 3rd. Even if we do more realistically it looks like a battle for 4th and that could come down to who wins at Tynecastle on the final day .... I would take a shot at Hertz with the prospect of overtaking them in the league on the final day. There was a point in the season where such a prospect looked near on impossible, to do it at their place on the final day to finish 4th would be almost as good as finishing 3rd.
In the end with 3 games to go and it looking like Hibs, Aberdeen, St Mirren and Hearts are all capable of beating each other on any given day, it's still practically impossible to say what the final placings will be.
Just checking in so someone's probably said this, but that was just like chasing the positions up there in 2018. I'm preparing myself for the same disappointment. We should have won that.
McKirdy should have taken the pen. Feel for him. That shot was the goal that changed the story.
The same McKirdy who has basically done nothing for Hibs
After you .
That's it, don't back down DOUBLE down:hilarious
As others have pointed out the conversation was about Shankland :brickwall
I accept your apology though.
Tully
13-05-2023, 04:38 PM
Anyone think pen should have been retaken, the one Aberdeen got up there earlier in the season was similar
13-05-2023, 04:38 PM
Feels like a loss.
Only caught the first half but gutting to miss so many chances and a penalty
13-05-2023, 04:40 PM
Feels like a loss.
Only caught the first half but gutting to miss so many chances and a penalty
Yep.
Think Nisbet is regressing to the version of himself that makes bad decisions and is too quick to throw his arms about and blame people. Needs to do better.
Decent result, pity about penalty miss.
13-05-2023, 04:42 PM
Anyone who doesn’t have the confidence and ball striking ability to smash a penalty into a chosen corner shouldn’t be on penalties, end off.
LEaston87
13-05-2023, 04:43 PM
Yep.
Think Nisbet is regressing to the version of himself that makes bad decisions and is too quick to throw his arms about and blame people. Needs to do better.
Calm down. He scored the winner against hearts and everyone was praising him to high heavens. He hit the target and the keeper was off his line. We should have won by more than a penalty goal
13-05-2023, 04:43 PM
Yep.
He was fine today
hhibs
13-05-2023, 04:55 PM
That's it, don't back down DOUBLE down:hilarious
As others have pointed out the conversation was about Shankland :brickwall
I accept your apology though.
However Blackpool hibs was in my view referencing Nisbet.
AS for an apology ,,aye right ,I owe YOU an apology........................
13-05-2023, 04:58 PM
He was, but it's fair to point out that he is missing penalties; yes we should have already had the game done and dusted and yes it sounded as if he had a good game
but stats don't lie - Shankland won the Jambos a point because he put away his penalty, something he usually always does; Kevin missed his and we
lost the chance to move in front of Hearts. Maybe someone else should be taking thee penalties? that's not an unreasonable question to ask given his conversion percentage.
Overall, if I'd been told before the game that Hibs would play Aberdeen off the park today I would have been happy with that, just a bugger not to get the win we needed.
13-05-2023, 05:04 PM
Normally a point at Aberdeen would be good but it's very frustrating on this occasion.
Good old Hibs!
HIBS NUTS
13-05-2023, 05:12 PM
Aberdeen have won 7 out of their last 8 games, we outplay them away, we should be very happy with today’s performance.
A draw was a good result in the st mirren game. 👍🏻
The Tubs
13-05-2023, 05:12 PM
He was, but it's fair to point out that he is missing penalties; yes we should have already had the game done and dusted and yes it sounded as if he had a good game
but stats don't lie - Shankland won the Jambos a point because he put away his penalty, something he usually always does; Kevin missed his and we
lost the chance to move in front of Hearts. Maybe someone else should be taking thee penalties? that's not an unreasonable question to ask given his conversion percentage.
Overall, if I'd been told before the game that Hibs would play Aberdeen off the park today I would have been happy with that, just a bugger not to get the win we needed.
I think Campbell would've taken it had he been on as he scored our last one. I'd have given it to Youan or McKirdy.
HarpOnHibee
13-05-2023, 05:14 PM
A draw was a good result in the st mirren game.
It is if we're settling for 5th. But I think we're better than that.
HIBS NUTS
13-05-2023, 05:14 PM
Nisbet for some reason, is poor at penalties, someone else should take them .
HIBS NUTS
13-05-2023, 05:15 PM
It is if we're settling for 5th. But I think we're better than that.
Don’t you think we can beat hearts, in the last game, i do.
HIBS NUTS
13-05-2023, 05:17 PM
I love european games, guarantee 5th beat hearts in last game, absolutely perfect
13-05-2023, 05:17 PM
Don’t you think we can beat hearts, in the last game, i do.
All to play for all in think we take something off at least one of the old firm
1875M
13-05-2023, 05:20 PM
Just back on bus home now. Thoughts on the game:
1) Hibs fans were class - well done.
2) We played pretty well. Decent football at times but also done the nitty gritty stuff well.
3) CJ and Will Fish are very good. Not sure what’s happening with them next season but would try everything to get them again.
4) need a touch more quality up front - hopefully with Boyle back next season, this will happen but would be looking for another quality player in the attacking areas to compete for a starting place.
5) I’ll admit I wasn’t a fan at the start but LJ is growing on me. I think with time and now with what seems to be a good DoF in place, we can add 3 or 4 quality additions and really kick on to challenge for 3rd next season.
13-05-2023, 05:20 PM
Third was blown when we lost at home to St Johnstone, Ross County, Motherwell and away to Dundee Utd x 2, Kilmarnock, and the likes.
Those games make up 18 points. Easy third.
Just seen Hearts drew today also.
Yip. Nothing to do with today. All to do with losing games to every single team in the league this season - even the ones that could barely buy a win.
13-05-2023, 05:23 PM
2) We played pretty well. Decent football at times but also done the nitty gritty stuff well.
3) CJ and Will Fish are very good. Not sure what’s happening with them next season but would try everything to get them again.
4) need a touch more quality up front - hopefully with Boyle back next season, this will happen but would be looking for another quality player in the attacking areas to compete for a starting place.
5) I’ll admit I wasn’t a fan at the start but LJ is growing on me. I think with time and now with what seems to be a good DoF in place, we can add 3 or 4 quality additions and really kick on to challenge for 3rd next season.
Agree
13-05-2023, 05:30 PM
Nisbet for some reason, is poor at penalties, someone else should take them .
Kenny Miller syndrome. Great instincts but give him time to think and he chokes.
Stokesy's on fire
13-05-2023, 05:37 PM
We are a far better football team than Aberdeen I honestly think they Will struggle with that squad next season they are honking bad.
Stokesy's on fire
13-05-2023, 05:39 PM
Thought Youan should have taken the penalty. Nisbet never really looked like scoring up to that point, while Youan could have easily bagged a few. I reckon he would have burst the net with that. But it's all ifs and buts now.
Aberdeens 27 spent the whole game fouling Nisbet and got let off with it all game...
13-05-2023, 05:46 PM
I think Campbell would've taken it had he been on as he scored our last one. I'd have given it to Youan or McKirdy.
I think Nisbet is poor at pens but he’s probably the one I’d still have been confident to score the most.
I wouldn’t be confident st all with Youan and McKirdy……LJ would get dogs abuse if he took one and missed when he’s not even scored yet this season
Henderson or Hanlon would be the next two I’d say but when you’ve a goalscorer as good as Nisbet he’s always going to grab it
13-05-2023, 05:48 PM
I think Nisbet is poor at pens but he’s probably the one I’d still have been confident to score the most.
I wouldn’t be confident st all with Youan and McKirdy……LJ would get dogs abuse if he took one and missed when he’s not even scored yet this season
Henderson or Hanlon would be the next two I’d say but when you’ve a goalscorer as good as Nisbet he’s always going to grab it
Agree
13-05-2023, 05:49 PM
Well said
13-05-2023, 05:56 PM
I am a Nisbet fan, we've helped him a lot along the way to his next (and possibly last) big money move, but by SPFL standards he is a terrific instinctive striker, giving him time to think about it and the opposition the chance to put a bit pressure on him doesn't help.
13-05-2023, 05:59 PM
As good a footballing performance as we’ve given for a good while - controlled the game.
How on earth do we not win it though?
13-05-2023, 06:01 PM
As good a footballing performance as we’ve given for a good while - controlled the game.
How on earth do we not win it though?We are Hibs?
All part of the wonderful frustrating roller coaster [emoji16]
13-05-2023, 06:08 PM
The same McKirdy who has basically done nothing for Hibs
He scored the winner until the Aberdeen boy introduced his arm. That interception, and the resulting penalty miss, might cost us a five figure sum.
13-05-2023, 06:09 PM
The frustrating thing with Nisbets penalties is his first few for us were brilliant, unsavable. One through at Killie the week before that dreaded semi final was the perfect penalty. Then he hit the crossbar the wkend after in extra time and they’ve been terrible since. I really didn’t want him hitting that one today but knew he would when it was given
13-05-2023, 06:13 PM
Yip. Nothing to do with today. All to do with losing games to every single team in the league this season - even the ones that could barely buy a win.
I agree with this. We've squandered so many chances this season to bank points that would have seen us either comfortably in third or competing far more seriously for that spot. That's down to squad weakness and a mental weakness too.
We're nearly quite a good team, but only nearly. We lack enough quality up front, in midfield and to a lesser degree in defence. I still don't know if LJ is the answer but this summer's window and what he makes of the first half of next season will tell us.
13-05-2023, 06:48 PM
He scored the winner until the Aberdeen boy introduced his arm. That interception, and the resulting penalty miss, might cost us a five figure sum.
He hasn't played though and no way is he going to be on a penalty
13-05-2023, 06:58 PM
He hasn't played though and no way is he going to be on a penaltyYou're right, but the more I look at Nisbet's alleged penalty the more I wished McKirdy had been given the chance to smack it in....
'mon the beers
13-05-2023, 07:02 PM
We were decent today and should have won. I can see us beating one of the OF at home and Hearts away with the commitment and quality of play today.
13-05-2023, 07:08 PM
You're right, but the more I look at Nisbet's alleged penalty the more I wished McKirdy had been given the chance to smack it in....
It was a terrible penalty for sure. Put your foot through it ffs
13-05-2023, 07:12 PM
It was a terrible penalty for sure. Put your foot through it ffsAlright, I'll give it a go[emoji16][emoji106]
LewysGot2
13-05-2023, 07:50 PM
Sooner Boyler is back the better! Then these things are easy re penalties
JammyDoidger
13-05-2023, 07:53 PM
Btw Hibs were superb today. Only thing missing was the goal and nisbet has to take full responsibility for that, fair play to Harry Mckirdy for coming on, should have created the winner.
13-05-2023, 08:34 PM
Police have been called to Aberdeen city centre following fights involving rival football fans.
Two officers could be seen pinning one man to the ground while handcuffing him in the middle of Market Street while cars drove past.
Video footage seen by the Press & Journal shows a large group of about 10 males scrapping outside Sports Direct while the arrest is taking place.
Punches and kicks can be seen to be thrown while the rival sets of supporters pushed and pulled each other.
One shopper can be seen running out of the way while one of the men is pushed to the ground.
The fights took place at the corner of Union Street and Market Street at about 1.30pm today, less than two hours before Aberdeen and Hibernian kicked-off at Pittodrie.
Some of the men could be heard singing songs of the Edinburgh club.
Police have been contacted to comment about today’s disturbance
Fights again today, sorry if already mentioned.
13-05-2023, 08:46 PM
"Men" 😂
GreenGray
13-05-2023, 08:49 PM
So frustrating, don’t really care how well we played at the end of the day we didn’t win
13-05-2023, 08:59 PM
i only just caught a tiny part of off the ball today and was positive they mentioned their guest as daughter of Charlie Reid :greengrin i'm sure you can listen to previous shows on the BBC site
(3) BBC Off The Ball on Twitter: "��Roseanne Reid, daughter of Proclaimers very own Craig Reid, must have received many pieces of good fatherly advice in her time... We would like to know any pieces of advice, good or bad, that you have received from your own fathers...��" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/offtheballbbc/status/1657344593040424961)
link: BBC Radio Scotland - Off the Ball, 13/05/2023 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m001lx80)
'mon the beers
13-05-2023, 09:19 PM
Police have been called to Aberdeen city centre following fights involving rival football fans.
Two officers could be seen pinning one man to the ground while handcuffing him in the middle of Market Street while cars drove past.
Video footage seen by the Press & Journal shows a large group of about 10 males scrapping outside Sports Direct while the arrest is taking place.
Punches and kicks can be seen to be thrown while the rival sets of supporters pushed and pulled each other.
One shopper can be seen running out of the way while one of the men is pushed to the ground.
The fights took place at the corner of Union Street and Market Street at about 1.30pm today, less than two hours before Aberdeen and Hibernian kicked-off at Pittodrie.
Some of the men could be heard singing songs of the Edinburgh club.
Police have been contacted to comment about today’s disturbance
Fights again today, sorry if already mentioned.
Having been up there today I didn’t see any fighting. No doubt there were some “get the badge in heroes” on both sides though
13-05-2023, 10:09 PM
Having been up there today I didn’t see any fighting. No doubt there were some “get the badge in heroes” on both sides though
Sounds like sports direct was the spot for pavement dancers!
'mon the beers
13-05-2023, 10:43 PM
Sounds like sports direct was the spot for pavement dancers!
That’s why I missed it!!! 😂
14-05-2023, 08:10 AM
However Blackpool hibs was in my view referencing Nisbet.
AS for an apology ,,aye right ,I owe YOU an apology........................
MWHibbie's post was quite clearly about Shankland, nonsensical for the response to be about Nisbet.
So yeah, for your bizarre ranting FFS post at me when actually you clearly hadn't been paying attention to the thread properly. It's ok to admit you are wrong sometimes pal:aok:
14-05-2023, 08:16 AM
Just saw highlights for first time and we were excellent.
On another day we win that by 2 or 3.
If we keep that level up for remaining games we have a chance to finish 4th which would be pretty good all things considered.
14-05-2023, 08:27 AM
Just saw highlights for first time and we were excellent.
On another day we win that by 2 or 3.
If we keep that level up for remaining games we have a chance to finish 4th which would be pretty good all things considered.
I thought we later better than when we beat them 6-0, certainly felt like we created more chances but instead of nearly everything going in as it did that day, nothing went in. Fine margins, etc.
I think the ref got the big calls right as well, thought at first Campbell could have been sent off, but the yellow was probably right, the penalty is a penalty - could question if it’s a red card as well, I suppose. The keeper has one foot on the line when the penalty is struck so i think the ref was right not to order aa retake as well, unfortunately.
Donegal Hibby
14-05-2023, 08:29 AM
You're right, but the more I look at Nisbet's alleged penalty the more I wished McKirdy had been given the chance to smack it in....
I'd have let lewy take it , read on another thread he can score them blindfolded 😉
14-05-2023, 08:35 AM
I'd have let lewy take it , read on another thread he can score them blindfolded [emoji6][emoji23]
Actually in that moment I'm confident he'd have buried it.
14-05-2023, 08:48 AM
i only just caught a tiny part of off the ball today and was positive they mentioned their guest as daughter of Charlie Reid :greengrin i'm sure you can listen to previous shows on the BBC site
(3) BBC Off The Ball on Twitter: "��Roseanne Reid, daughter of Proclaimers very own Craig Reid, must have received many pieces of good fatherly advice in her time... We would like to know any pieces of advice, good or bad, that you have received from your own fathers...��" / Twitter (https://twitter.com/offtheballbbc/status/1657344593040424961)
link: BBC Radio Scotland - Off the Ball, 13/05/2023 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m001lx80)
She's Craig's daughter.
Seeing her next month supporting Steve Earle.
14-05-2023, 08:57 AM
I thought we later better than when we beat them 6-0, certainly felt like we created more chances but instead of nearly everything going in as it did that day, nothing went in. Fine margins, etc.
I think the ref got the big calls right as well, thought at first Campbell could have been sent off, but the yellow was probably right, the penalty is a penalty - could question if it’s a red card as well, I suppose. The keeper has one foot on the line when the penalty is struck so i think the ref was right not to order aa retake as well, unfortunately.
Would have been perfect if McKirdys volley had got past the defender as it was 100% beating the keeper.
Fine margins and all that......
GreenGray
14-05-2023, 09:17 AM
Went and put myself through the highlights, how did we not win that game? So frustrating.