View Full Version : Match Updates St Johnstone v Hibs
22-04-2023, 05:18 PM
Johnson steaming in to the ref on sportsound the now.
22-04-2023, 05:19 PM
Do you remember the one when he ran miles out of his box and handled the ball and got sent off? Can't remember who it was against. He was still a pretty dependable keeper though.
Was against St Johnstone, funnily enough.
22-04-2023, 05:25 PM
John Collins laying into the VAR guy. "Should never work in football again"
NC1875
22-04-2023, 05:26 PM
Exactly...Hopefully the players can show more belief than some on here..Still all to play for :flag:
They players you talk about don’t bother turning up most weeks. Last week has people thinking we’re a good side.
We’ve scraped into the top 6 thanks to the teams around us getting beat. We are garbage most weeks and today was no exception.
We won’t be anywhere near 3rd/4th no matter what some dreamers on here will tell you.
22-04-2023, 05:29 PM
They players you talk about don’t bother turning up most weeks. Last week has people thinking we’re a good side.
We’ve scraped into the top 6 thanks to the teams around us getting beat. We are garbage most weeks and today was no exception.
We won’t be anywhere near 3rd/4th no matter what some dreamers on here will tell you.
We’re top 6 on merit.
I dunno how you can say we’ll be nowhere near 3rd or 4th. There’s 5 games left and we’re only 4 points off 4th for **** sake.
It’s hardly the words of a “dreamer” to say we’re clearly in with a chance.
Trinity Hibee
22-04-2023, 05:30 PM
We’re top 6 on merit.
I dunno how you can say we’ll be nowhere near 3rd or 4th. There’s 5 games left and we’re only 4 points off 4th for **** sake.
Delusional
22-04-2023, 05:33 PM
Delusional
Hardly delusional, back to normal on this board again
Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2023, 05:33 PM
Marciano is a lot better than this version of Marshall for me.
He needs replaced for next season.
Marciano is infinitely better than the Marshall we’ve had this season.
If we go into next season with Marshall as our number one we’ll be mid table again.
Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2023, 05:35 PM
Hardly delusional, back to normal on this board again
It absolutely is delusional.
You have to presume nobody is taking points off the Old Firm so there’s 3 games remaining. We need to make up at least 7 points, possibly even 9 if Aberdeen beat Hearts.
Third is gone.
22-04-2023, 05:37 PM
You have to presume nobody is taking points off the Old Firm so there’s 3 games remaining. We need to make up at least 7 points, possibly even 9 if Aberdeen beat Hearts.
Third is gone.
Motherwell took a point from celtic today,granted it doesn't happen often but can happen,we just beat hearts so could happen again,aberdeen are playing well so who knows, the rangers game not sure and I'd fancy us to beat St mirren
22-04-2023, 05:43 PM
Great point today..well done Lewis Stevenson!! Referre needs sacking...utterly corrupt the lot of them
Greenwich_Hibby
22-04-2023, 05:44 PM
VAR has been dreadful, but let's be honest so have the team performances in most games this season. We are a poor, inconsistent team and I think we need major surgery to improve.
22-04-2023, 05:45 PM
VAR has been dreadful, but let's be honest so have the team performances in most games this season. We are a poor, inconsistent team and I think we need major surgery to improve.
The league table h
DIXIHIBS
22-04-2023, 05:45 PM
Third is gone.
3rd is gone imo but 4th is still achievable. Beat hertz and were 1 point behind. Of course we could just as easy end up 6th but still plenty to play for.
22-04-2023, 05:46 PM
There was definitely a derby hangover. After we scored I really fancied us to go on and win it. The incompetent ref and his VAR mate made that almost impossible.
22-04-2023, 05:48 PM
Alternatively, we're sitting in a European spot, a few points off third despite having Boyle, Nisbet, McGeady, Rocky, McGenniss, Miko & Newell out for most of the season at various points. That's over half our first 11 long term injured this season....and we sold Porto.
Mcbizz1998
22-04-2023, 05:48 PM
We’re top 6 on merit.
But mate, think about it. We are very unlikely to get a win v either of the old firm, that’s 2 games of 5 gone. We most likely need to go to Tynecastle and Pittodrie, 2 places we have horrendous records. But even if we won them both, we still wouldn’t have it in our hands!
It’s also 4 points but with goal difference it’s effectively 5. Not happening I’m afraid.
Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2023, 05:51 PM
Motherwell took a point from celtic today,granted it doesn't happen often but can happen,we just beat hearts so could happen again,aberdeen are playing well so who knows, the rangers game not sure and I'd fancy us to beat St mirren
It’s not impossible. But it is delusional imo. Much like it’s delusional if rangers fans think they can win the league.
22-04-2023, 05:54 PM
It’s not impossible. But it is delusional imo. Much like it’s delusional if rangers fans think they can win the league.
If thats your opinion then no problem, with the way results have went this season anything can happen between now and the end of the season so I'll keep hoping it happens, doesn't mean that it's delusional
NC1875
22-04-2023, 05:54 PM
Alternatively, we're sitting in a European spot, a few points off third despite have Boyle, Nisbet, McGeady, Rocky, McGenniss, Miko & Newell out for most of the season at various points. That's over half our first 11 long term injured this season....and we sold Porto.
And if your auntie had baws….
It is is mathematically possible but let’s not kid ourselves on. This team needed a win today if Livi had won, we never looked like getting one. Bad red card or not. We’re just not very good
Mcbizz1998
22-04-2023, 05:55 PM
She would be a Trans man!!?
22-04-2023, 05:57 PM
It is is mathematically possible but let’s not kid ourselves on. This team needed a win today if Livi had won, we never looked like getting one. Bad red card or not. We’re just not very goodIf livi won today and results were as is Hibs were on the top 6
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
22-04-2023, 05:57 PM
Just back and think, in the circumstances, it’s a decent point. We actually showed a bit character after going behind and then with the red card to dig something out.
Thought we started really poorly but wasn’t surprised by it. Lack of creativity and forward thinking players in our squad for a game like that. We just aimlessly booted the ball away far too often second half, 10 men or not.
The worst refereeing performance I’ve seen in a very long time. Horrible, arrogant little man.
Poor as we are, if you’d told me a few months ago we’d be in a European spot with five games to go and just had to get more points than St Mirren to secure it, I’d have taken it.
That’s the worst referee I’ve seen since Craig Thompson. Ignorant wee scrote looked up at the stand as we were booing him off and was laughing. Incompetent undoubtedly and given what an easy decision VAR would have had to overturn it I can only assume corruption of some sort.
Yup, a shocking ref. A couple of times it felt like he gave decisions against us out of spite because we'd been singing **** the sfa.
raeburnhibs
22-04-2023, 06:01 PM
But mate, think about it. We are very unlikely to get a win v either of the old firm, that’s 2 games of 5 gone. We most likely need to go to Tynecastle and Pittodrie, 2 places we have horrendous records. But even if we won them both, we still wouldn’t have it in our hands!
It’s also 4 points but with goal difference it’s effectively 5. Not happening I’m afraid.
we really need a like button and a give it a ******g rest button
22-04-2023, 06:04 PM
Johnson's post match interview now on the Hibs YouTube channel.
Mcbizz1998
22-04-2023, 06:06 PM
we really need a like button and a give it a ******g rest button
Do we aye?
raeburnhibs
22-04-2023, 06:10 PM
Do we aye?
still here? you need to get out a bit more often
22-04-2023, 06:15 PM
Do we aye?
We definitely do. Aye.
22-04-2023, 06:28 PM
It’s a 4 team shoot out for 3rd. Whoever wins the most will nick it. Why not us? St Mirren and Hibs beat both Hearts and Aberdeen last times out. Both Aberdeen and Hearts are not great. We beat the three of them and we’ve a great chance. Streaky Lee needs to get us a streak.
archie
22-04-2023, 06:28 PM
Johnson's post match interview now on the Hibs YouTube channel.
Doesn't hold back.
Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2023, 06:30 PM
It’s a 4 team shot out for 3rd. Whoever wins the most will nick it. Why not us? St Mirren and Hibs beat both Hearts and Aberdeen last times out. Both Aberdeen and Hearts are not great. We beat the three of them and we’ve a great chance. Streaky Lee needs to get us a streak.
That’s not the case though..
Aberdeen are 6 clear. They could win 2 less than us and still get 3rd. It’s not a case of who wins the most will nick it at all.
Trinity Hibee
22-04-2023, 06:35 PM
It’s a 4 team shot out for 3rd. Whoever wins the most will nick it. Why not us? St Mirren and Hibs beat both Hearts and Aberdeen last times out. Both Aberdeen and Hearts are not great. We beat the three of them and we’ve a great chance. Streaky Lee needs to get us a streak.
How the hell is it a 4 team shoot out? Us and st Mirren are miles behind the other 2. There is only 5 games left (3 games against non old firm to pick up points in) it is done. Stop kidding yourself.
If we manage 5th that will be one European tie which is possibly better than none. The real benefit though is not having to play league cup groups so that’s what we should be aiming for after this seasons debacale in that competition.
3rd was over when we didn’t beat Motherwell or DU.
22-04-2023, 06:35 PM
It was a grim watch on an awful pitch but we did start the second half brightly till the abortion of a red card. The players deserve credit for battling on for a point and Marshall made up for his blunder with 3 excellent saves but the ref has probably scuppered our top four chances. Hopefully we should be capable of picking up more points than St Mirren after the split and secure the last European spot at least.
StockholmHibs
22-04-2023, 06:41 PM
Scraped the top 6th in 5th place, and 6 points behind 3rd.
We’re no great, but utter pish is bollocks.
We could easily have gone on and won that game with 10 men today.
"Easily" but as always didn't!
Mikey_1875
22-04-2023, 06:43 PM
We weren’t at the races first half and the red card was obviously a shocker. I was pretty disappointed by how we played after the red card though. Don’t think we had any intention of going out to win the game and subbing Miller on for Youan was a negative step. We would have been aware of the situation in the other games so I felt it was disappointing we resorted to time wasting against a garbage St Johnstone team.
The main job today was to get into the top 6 though so I am happy we achieved it. I do think third is probably now out of our reach though.
The ref ****ed up our chances of a win today meaning we"ve now only got an outside chance of 4th.
22-04-2023, 06:51 PM
We weren’t at the races first half and the red card was obviously a shocker. I was pretty disappointed by how we played after the red card though. Don’t think we had any intention of going out to win the game and subbing Miller on for Youan was a negative step. We would have been aware of the situation in the other games so I felt it was disappointing we resorted to time wasting against a garbage St Johnstone team.
The main job today was to get into the top 6 though so I am happy we achieved it. I do think third is probably now out of our reach though.
I think the Youan sub was more of a message to Elie than anything else, he wasn't interested towards the end and LJ was going absolutely mental at him for it
22-04-2023, 07:01 PM
It is is mathematically possible but let’s not kid ourselves on. This team needed a win today if Livi had won, we never looked like getting one. Bad red card or not. We’re just not very good
My auntie didn't have baws but had Livi won, we'd still be top 6. Let's not let the facts get in the way of some good old Hibs bashing eh? We're currently sitting in 5th place, which will very likely mean European football, despite a particularly difficult season re injuries and transition. Has it been a good season? No but there are definitely mitigating circumstances and we're nowhere near as bad as some are making out. We've made the top 6, which is not an achievement in itself but it gives us the opportunity to qualify for Europe and an outside chance of 3rd or 4th. If we manage either, that IMHO will be a huge achievement all things considered.
On current budgets, 5th would be a par level season, we're on track for that.
Mcbizz1998
22-04-2023, 07:08 PM
still here? you need to get out a bit more often
Sorry, what’s the problem?
I explained my reasoning for thinking hibs getting 3rd or 4th is extremely unlikely after todays result. Why wouldn’t I still be here?
22-04-2023, 07:09 PM
If LJ had wanted to be negative he would have made the Yousan / Millar sub much earlier. He didn’t, he put Henderson on to try and keep us on the front foot. By the time Youan went off he was done and it was clear all we needed for top six was a draw. The red card cost us the win.
22-04-2023, 07:22 PM
If LJ had wanted to be negative he would have made the Yousan / Millar sub much earlier. He didn’t, he put Henderson on to try and keep us on the front foot. By the time Youan went off he was done and it was clear all we needed for top six was a draw. The red card cost us the win.
I didn’t think Johnson was negative in the second half. It definitely got to the point where we were under pressure and getting out with a point was decent in the circumstances though. We were solid enough with 10 until later in the game but, even with 10, I thought our use of the ball was really poor at times.
Red card definitely cost us but equally I thought the way we started the game did as well. Battled well enough but still a real lack of quality, particularly middle to front.
Having watched it back on Sportscene I'm even more annoyed about that ridiculous red card. Michael Stewart thinks the Shinnie red furore would have been at the back of the officials' minds and has influenced their decisions.
22-04-2023, 07:24 PM
How the hell is it a 4 team shoot out? Us and st Mirren are miles behind the other 2. There is only 5 games left (3 games against non old firm to pick up points in) it is done. Stop kidding yourself.
If we manage 5th that will be one European tie which is possibly better than none. The real benefit though is not having to play league cup groups so that’s what we should be aiming for after this seasons debacale in that competition.
3rd was over when we didn’t beat Motherwell or DU.
It’s six points. Hearts draw or beat Aberdeen. Hibs and st Mirren beat them both and we beat st Mirren. Everyone loses to the old firm jobs a good un.
Aberdeen 50pts
hearts 48 pts
hibs 44 pts
st Mirren 44 pts
Of course it’s a 4 team shoot out. You just stay in the hoose eh. :flag:
Mikey_1875
22-04-2023, 07:24 PM
If LJ had wanted to be negative he would have made the Youan / Millar sub much earlier. He didn’t, he put Henderson on to try and keep us on the front foot. By the time Youan went off he was done and it was clear all we needed for top six was a draw. The red card cost us the win.
I didn’t think Youan was offering any more or less than others in the team. Even then why not replace with another forward thinking player. It was fairly late in the game though so I suppose it can be discounted but I thought it summed up our attitude after the red card.
Your point about just needing a draw to make top six in the second half is kind of the point I am making. We were in the top 6 regardless of our result due to Livi losing so why not make more of an effort to win the game and not resort to time wasting tactics? Have a go at getting in the mix for third or fourth rather than just settling as it was “job done” for the top 6 which I assume was his ultimate remit. I don’t think we can say we done everything possible post red card to win that game and for me that’s disappointing.
It might have been different if the red card wasn’t given. I didn’t really think we were playing well before it although the goal shook us into life a bit. After the red it was obvious we weren’t going to get anywhere close to winning it though.
Trinity Hibee
22-04-2023, 07:37 PM
It’s six points. Hearts draw or beat Aberdeen. Hibs and st Mirren beat them both and we beat st Mirren. Everyone loses to the old firm jobs a good un.
Aberdeen 50pts
hearts 48 pts
hibs 44 pts
st Mirren 44 pts
I know it probably comes across as offensive (believe me it’s not how I want it to come across) but genuinely cannot believe you think that.
22-04-2023, 07:39 PM
I know it probably comes across as offensive (believe me it’s not how I want it to come across) but genuinely cannot believe you think that.
It’s not in our hands but given how the seasons gone it is not impossible. Come on man BELIEVE.
The Wireless
22-04-2023, 07:40 PM
I think the Youan sub was more of a message to Elie than anything else, he wasn't interested towards the end and LJ was going absolutely mental at him for it
Johnson spends more time moaning at the 3rd official than he does instructing his players.
percy veer
22-04-2023, 07:45 PM
Johnson spends more time moaning at the 3rd official than he does instructing his players.
Yet people. Would slag him if he never complained some of the decisions are terrible not to even talk to the boy after the cj challenge was terrible.
22-04-2023, 07:46 PM
Glass half full approach. Win our games and see what happens.
Silky
22-04-2023, 07:48 PM
Probably indicative of the standard of refereeing he is witnessing, and I have to say I don't blame him. Nobody bothered when Lennon done it. There are more than him in the technical area to instruct the players.
Trinity Hibee
When it comes to Hibs my glass half full approach left years ago.
NC1875
Aberdeen 50pts
hearts 48 pts
hibs 44 pts
st Mirren 44 pts
Early start today ? As someone said earlier, delusional.
We couldn’t beat Motherwell or Dundee Utd recently but we’re now going to make up 6 points on Aberdeen in 3 games effectively. Aye ok.
Folk making out top 6 is some sort of achievement when the teams above us are terrible. Just proves how bad we really are.
Victor
22-04-2023, 07:50 PM
I take it you mean 4th official. Or was he having a go at Dougie Ross and that is what is upsetting you? Either way I think he was doing both i.e. coaching and nipping the official’s heid.
22-04-2023, 07:52 PM
When it comes to Hibs my glass half full approach left years ago.
That’s a shame
22-04-2023, 07:56 PM
We couldn’t beat Motherwell or Dundee Utd recently but we’re now going to make up 6 points on Aberdeen in 3 games effectively. Aye ok.
Folk making out top 6 is some sort of achievement when the teams above us are terrible. Just proves how bad we really are.
We all know we’ve been ***** this season. But for how we’ve been fifth will be respectable and get us in to Europe. I wouldn’t call it successful but it is where we are. It comes to the point, IMO, where there’s no point in moaning about how ***** we’ve been and/or are. We still have an opportunity to get out of the season (some how) with something to show for it and hopefully we can do that before another summer of change.
22-04-2023, 08:00 PM
If we get out of this season with European football gained for next season then we have won a watch. Its not been a great season , far from it if truth be told , but hopefully its the start of us improving. The good thing for us , is that 5th place will enter europa conference league qualifying 2nd round which is only one round before the 4th place team will (obviously assuming one of the old firm win the cup) .. Id have bitten ur hand off for that at xmas time .. Be good to look forward to next season with a little positivity, and hopefully we will have improved our first team squad and have chopped a lot of the dead wood. Obviously i want 3rd or 4th this season , but a 5th place finish will be a decent return from what looked like a finished season by new year
22-04-2023, 08:04 PM
FFS stay away from sharp things. I’m beginning to wish we were 7th. 👍😂😂
22-04-2023, 08:05 PM
We all know we’ve been ***** this season. But for how we’ve been fifth will be respectable and get us in to Europe. I wouldn’t call it successful but it is where we are. It comes to the point, IMO, where there’s no point in moaning about how ***** we’ve been and/or are. We still have an opportunity to get out of the season (some how) with something to show for it and hopefully we can do that before another summer of change.
This. I just want to get on a plane and I don’t care if it’s to Dublin or Cardiff just a bloody plane with the Hibs.
22-04-2023, 08:11 PM
Anyone know the latest odds on us to get relegated?
[emoji6]
Paulie Walnuts
22-04-2023, 08:44 PM
Half full? It’s a glass is completely overflowing approach to think we can get third.
22-04-2023, 08:45 PM
Half full? It’s a glass is completely overflowing approach to think we can get third.
Ok
RossScott1991
22-04-2023, 09:06 PM
Everyone is going to hide behind the red card decision today. But before it I thought it was another awful performance. The hard workers in midfield are exactly that. Hard workers. But devoid of any composure or qualities to get their foot on the ball. It was all rash and treating it like a hot tattie.
Such poor use of the ball , which summaries the season that we fought for a turgid draw. St Johnstone are absolutely rubbish and we’ve only beat them once in 3 meetings this season. I honestly even down to 10 men thought there is no way they are a good enough team to suddenly just have no attempt at going forward to get a winner ourselves.
I’m maybe just cranky as it’s felt like a very long long season with few enjoyable games. But it was just another game I came away praying for some new midfielders next year. And for us to stop blocking pathway for younger players of our own by playing pointless guys like Hoppe.
22-04-2023, 09:14 PM
Everyone is going to hide behind the red card decision today. But before it I thought it was another awful performance. The hard workers in midfield are exactly that. Hard workers. But devoid of any composure or qualities to get their foot on the ball. It was all rash and treating it like a hot tattie.
Such poor use of the ball , which summaries the season that we fought for a turgid draw. St Johnstone are absolutely rubbish and we’ve only beat them once in 3 meetings this season. I honestly even down to 10 men thought there is no way they are a good enough team to suddenly just have no attempt at going forward to get a winner ourselves.
I’m maybe just cranky as it’s felt like a very long long season with few enjoyable games. But it was just another game I came away praying for some new midfielders next year. And for us to stop blocking pathway for younger players of our own by playing pointless guys like Hoppe.
I don’t think it’s a case of hiding behind it, I fancied us to win the game second half. Wed got control in the last 20 of the first half and I just think the momentum would have taken us on.
I do agree about large parts of the performance though. We started dreadfully. I wasn’t overly surprised by it. We were really good last week but it was a different kind of game today and we don’t have enough players who are capable of doing something going forward. That said, the red was a big factor in us not getting a result.
22-04-2023, 09:15 PM
Fortunate to leave with a point.
22-04-2023, 09:21 PM
Agree with most of this but can’t solely blame the midfield first half. Defenders panicking, nothing sticking up front. Not excusing the midfield completely but they were no more or no less to blame than the rest
Silky
22-04-2023, 09:26 PM
That happens. Often happens against us as well. Nice to get a wee bit fortune when things seem to be stacked against us.
22-04-2023, 09:34 PM
Been several times this season when we should have walked away with at least a point, and our opponents walked away with all 3 instead.
We were fortunate to nick a point, but when you play for almost the entire 2nd half with only 10 men and when a referee gives you nothing, picking up a point feels like a win given the circumstances.
We play that 2nd half with 11 men and I think we walk out of there with 3 points today.
22-04-2023, 09:36 PM
Certainly a poor first half but we'll never know how the second half might have panned out without the red card.
If you ignore the red card that wasn't even a foul.
JammyDoidger
22-04-2023, 09:46 PM
That happens. Often happens against us as well. Nice to get a wee bit fortune when things seem to be stacked against us.
What was stacked against us in the first half? We are nothing short of embarrassing the whole 90 mins. That ain't a team pushing for Europe we don't deserve it.
22-04-2023, 09:48 PM
What was stacked against us in the first half? We are nothing short of embarrassing the whole 90 mins. That ain't a team pushing for Europe we don't deserve it.
Embarrassing? Have a word.
JammyDoidger
22-04-2023, 10:01 PM
Embarrassing? Have a word.
The footballs been rotten all season barring a couple of games, celebrating too 6 essentially and singing about Europe which was always third, we are squeezing in the back door potentially due to other teams mishaps, not good enough for a club like Hibs. Loser mentality. Hardly think Aberdeen and hearts would be behaving like us today if the shoe was on the other foot, the gaffer should have put 2 forwards on in the closing minutes and went for it.
23-04-2023, 05:28 AM
the gaffer should have put 2 forwards on in the closing minutes and went for it.
He did.
23-04-2023, 05:51 AM
The footballs been rotten all season barring a couple of games, celebrating too 6 essentially and singing about Europe which was always third, we are squeezing in the back door potentially due to other teams mishaps, not good enough for a club like Hibs. Loser mentality. Hardly think Aberdeen and hearts would be behaving like us today if the shoe was on the other foot, the gaffer should have put 2 forwards on in the closing minutes and went for it.
Must have imagined seeing hoppe and Nisbet on the park
23-04-2023, 06:57 AM
Delusional
In what way we have beaten Aberdeen twice this season, beat Hearts last week and beat St Mirren last two times. Think you are the one that is delusional to think we have no chance. The draw won't have helped that is for sure though and we are up against it. Not getting players sent off didiculously would help also.
23-04-2023, 07:06 AM
Bit harsh to have a go at the block seven boys who were singing “were on our way”. They are too young to have gone on a proper euro trip with their pals and will be buzzing for that. It’s not that they have a loser mentality they’re just a group of young lads excited about getting their passports out.
23-04-2023, 07:06 AM
A point wasn't a bad result after the sending off but we were very poor up to that point, for me we just don't have enough naturally offensive players on the pitch, not helped by having Hoppe, Tavares, Henderson and Mckirdy as the options from the bench who have collectively offered hee haw
23-04-2023, 07:27 AM
A point wasn't a bad result after the sending off but we were very poor up to that point, for me we just don't have enough naturally offensive players on the pitch, not helped by having Hoppe, Tavares, Henderson and Mckirdy as the options from the bench who have collectively offered hee haw
Sums it up for me. You’ve got three midfielders in there who have 1 goal in the league between them all season. You look at the full backs (I know Stevenson scored a very good goal yesterday) but he has 1 goal and Cabraja has 1 assist all season. Cadden slightly better but still not great for the number of games he’s played and the amount of the ball he sees.
Boyle and McGeady would make an obvious difference if available but the team is too reliant on our forwards for goals. I don’t think anyone was entirely surprised by how the game started yesterday. We’ve just not got the attack minded players to go out and win those types of games regularly.
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 07:27 AM
In what way we have beaten Aberdeen twice this season, beat Hearts last week and beat St Mirren last two times. Think you are the one that is delusional to think we have no chance. The draw won't have helped that is for sure though and we are up against it. Not getting players sent off didiculously would help also.
We need literally every result to go our way in games not involving the Old Firm including the games we’re not involved in.
To think there’s much of a chance of that happening, or thinking it’s a ‘4 way shootout’ as it was described is pretty delusional imo.
23-04-2023, 07:29 AM
We need literally every result to go our way pretty much including the games we’re not involved in.
To think there’s much of a chance of that happening is pretty delusional imo.
Not really. Win the key head to heads and well in it.
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 07:31 AM
Not really. Win the key head to heads and well in it.
And also hope that Hearts and Aberdeen gather next to no points. We’re at the point of needing every top 6 result if you discount the old firm games to go our way.
To suggest that it’s now a 4 way shootout when that’s what we need is dilusional imo.
23-04-2023, 07:31 AM
We need literally every result to go our way in games not involving the Old Firm including the games we’re not involved in.
To think there’s much of a chance of that happening, or thinking it’s a ‘4 way shootout’ as it was described is pretty delusional imo.
It really isn’t.
adjective
characterized by or holding false beliefs or judgements about external reality that are held despite incontrovertible evidence to the contrary, typically as a symptom of a mental condition.
"hospitalization for schizophrenia and delusional paranoia"
I’d say we have about a 20%-30% chance of achieving 3rd. Some other people suggest we have a lower or higher chance than that, based on their relative levels of optimism in our team from what they’ve seen so far. That’s all.
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 07:33 AM
It really isn’t.
adjective
characterized by or holding false beliefs or judgements about external reality that are held despite incontrovertible evidence to the contrary, typically as a symptom of a mental condition.
I’d say we have about a 20%-30% chance of achieving 3rd. Some people have a lower or higher chance than that, based on their relative levels of optimism in our team from what they’ve seen so far.
I’d say thinking we have a 30% chance of 3rd place when we need to make up at least 7 points in realistically a 3 game period is delusional.
23-04-2023, 07:33 AM
And also hope that Hearts and Aberdeen don’t gather another win. We’re at the point of needing every top 6 result if you discount the old firm games to go our way.
To suggest that it’s now a 4 way shootout when that’s what we need is dilusional imo.
No one is saying it is a 4 way shootout however to say we have no chance of catching a team 4 points ahead when we still have to play them is a bit of a nonsense. Of course the ones ahead are favourites.
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 07:36 AM
No one is saying it is a 4 way shootout however to say we have no chance of catching a team 4 points ahead when we still have to play them is a bit of a nonsense. Of course the ones ahead are favourites.
It’s been described on this thread as a 4 way shootout for third.
I never said we don’t have a chance of catching Hearts. We have no chance of catching third though imo. We would need far too many results to go our way including numerous results in games we’re not even involved in.
23-04-2023, 07:37 AM
It’s been described on this thread as a 4 way shootout for third.
I never said we don’t have a chance of catching Hearts. We have no chance of catching third though imo. We would need far too many results to go our way including numerous results in games we’re not even involved in.
Tend to agree about third.
23-04-2023, 07:39 AM
I’d say thinking we have a 30% chance of 3rd place when we need to make up at least 7 points in realistically a 3 game period is delusional.
You can keep saying that all you want, all you are doing is showing you are misusing the word.
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 07:41 AM
You can keep saying that all you want, all you are doing is showing you are misusing the word.
Not really. Thinking we have a 30% chance of 3rd is a false belief as defined in your post. Analysis of statistics that would deliver each teams chances of 3rd in a percentage form would show you that.
23-04-2023, 07:46 AM
Not really. Thinking we have a 30% chance of 3rd is a false belief as defined in your post.
Some people might think 5%, some 20%, some 30%, it’s based on an objective assessment of sporting ability, that’s not delusional though.
I’m just baffled that you care enough to argue the toss with someone that is happily optimistic about their Hibs supporting life :faf: Let him be ‘delusional’, why even care? We’ll find out soon enough. Then you can bump this post if you like in a spirit of rubbing folks noses in it if you’re so inclined.
RossScott1991
23-04-2023, 07:50 AM
Yep, far too many average offensive qualities throughout the team. I have no doubt they give their all every week but we have some poor footballers and I’m not overly convinced we’d have won the game yesterday to how we were playing.
Midfielders who don’t create or score has been our problem for about 3 seasons now
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 07:51 AM
Some people might think 5%, some 20%, some 30%, it’s based on an objective assessment of sporting ability, that’s not delusional though.
I’m just baffled that you care enough to argue the toss with someone that is happily optimistic about their Hibs supporting life :faf: Let him be ‘delusional’, why even care? We’ll find out soon enough. Then you can bump this post if you like in a spirit of rubbing folks noses in it if you’re so inclined.
And someone could think Hibs have a 99% chance of winning the league next season. It would be delusional to actually think that though, much like it’s delusional to think we have a 30% chance of third at this point in the season with the gap we have to make up.
Just because it pisses on your chips it doesn’t mean my opinion shouldn’t be posted.
DIXIHIBS
23-04-2023, 08:03 AM
Didnt play well...maybe, but embarrassing? If we get enough points to get into europe then we deserve it, simple really.
It really isn’t.
adjective
I’d say we have about a 20%-30% chance of achieving 3rd. Some other people suggest we have a lower or higher chance than that, based on their relative levels of optimism in our team from what they’ve seen so far. That’s all.
Bookies' odds are between 16/1 and 11/1 which is roughly a 6%-9% chance. The true odds will be higher than that which means we've got even less of a chance than 6%-9%.
https://i.ibb.co/Gp7zKhn/Screenshot-20230423-085954-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/XLXchwj)
DIXIHIBS
23-04-2023, 08:18 AM
Bookies' odds are between 16/1 and 11/1 which is roughly a 6%-9% chance. The true odds will be higher than that which means we've got even less of a chance than 6%-9%.
https://i.ibb.co/Gp7zKhn/Screenshot-20230423-085954-Chrome.jpg (https://ibb.co/XLXchwj)
Out of curiosity whats our odds of 4th?
23-04-2023, 08:21 AM
Great to get top 6 but still overall frustration from me
Ignoring the pitch and win there wasn't the same intensity or energy from last weekends Derby. It's another streaky period with 1 win in 6 and when you look at our past 4 fixtures, 3 points is a very poor return
23-04-2023, 08:30 AM
Nobody is celebrating finishing top 6. Most will be happy we achieved it though as it gives us the opportunity to challenge for third and fourth. At the risk of repeating myself, we have the 5th biggest budget in the league, therefor to finish 5th should be considered a par level season. We are currently 5th......this, despite having arguably 5 or 6 of our best players out injured for months. In Boyle, nobody can argue that our best player has hardly kicked a ball. Has it been great viewing every week? No but due to said injuries, we have been ever so slightly handicapped. Surely you accept that? Was the league cup campaign a shocker? Yes it was but this is the first time in many years we've gone out the cups early. I suspect every non OF club has suffered similar in the time since we last did. That's football, it happens from time to time. Do I hope for better? Always but to say we've been embarrassing is well, embarrassing IMHO. As for singing about Europe, we are currently sitting in a European qualifying position.
Oh and he did have 2 forwards on for the closing minutes.....
23-04-2023, 08:33 AM
Great to get top 6 but still overall frustration from me
Ignoring the pitch and win there wasn't the same intensity or energy from last weekends Derby. It's another streaky period with 1 win in 6 and when you look at our past 4 fixtures, 3 points is a very poor return
4 points but totally agree
DIXIHIBS
23-04-2023, 08:33 AM
Nobody is celebrating finishing top 6. Most will be happy we achieved it though as it gives us the opportunity to challenge for third and fourth. At the risk of repeating myself, we have the 5th biggest budget in the league, therefor to finish 5th should be considered a par level season. We are currently 5th......this, despite having arguably 5 or 6 of our best players out injured for months. In Boyle, nobody can argue that our best player has hardly kicked a ball. Has it been great viewing every week? No but due to said injuries, we have been ever so slightly handicapped. Surely you accept that? Was the league cup campaign a shocker? Yes it was but this is the first time in many years we've gone out the cups early. I suspect every non OF club has suffered similar in the time since we last did. That's football, it happens from time to time. Do I hope for better? Always but to say we've been embarrassing is well, embarrassing IMHO. As for singing about Europe, we are currently sitting in a European qualifying position.
Sums it up quite well.
23-04-2023, 08:36 AM
Good summary
23-04-2023, 08:49 AM
Well said that man.
We shouldn't be scraping 5th by others slipping up, yes we have a chance of 4th but our complete inconsistency makes it a lot harder. The dropped points to Dundee U and yesterday will bite us the bum.
23-04-2023, 08:53 AM
We shouldn't be scraping 5th by others slipping up, yes we have a chance of 4th but our complete inconsistency makes it a lot harder. The dropped points to Dundee U and yesterday will bite us the bum.
We are sitting fifth because we have the fifth most points over the course of the season not just because Utd beat Livi.
Sorry for not getting excited about getting 5th by only being 2 points better than Livingston.
23-04-2023, 09:33 AM
Sorry for not getting excited about getting 5th by only being 2 points better than Livingston.
You do know the season isn't finished yet, we could be in Europe at the end of the season, guaranteed won't see all the usual doom and gloomers then
23-04-2023, 09:35 AM
You do know the season isn't finished yet, we could be in Europe at the end of the season, guaranteed won't see all the usual doom and gloomers then
Aye but if we don’t finish at least 25 points ahead of the team below us I will be raging
He's here!
23-04-2023, 09:38 AM
It wouldn't have been a surprise to see us fluff our lines again yesterday after the high of the derby win, so credit to Hibs for digging out what turned out to be a crucial point in tricky circumstances following the ridiculous red card. Not pretty I agree, but given how inconsistent, and often downright awful, we've been for most of the season finishing 5th would be a reasonable achievement.
23-04-2023, 10:06 AM
You don’t have to be excited, I don’t think anyone is. But you can accept a fact when it hits you in the face once in a while.
This is almost bad as you not giving Youan the assist yesterday because the pass was apparently not worthy.
23-04-2023, 10:06 AM
Aye but if we don’t finish at least 20 points ahead of the team below us I will be raging
25 surely
23-04-2023, 10:08 AM
25 surely
That’s what I said 👀
You don’t have to be excited, I don’t think anyone is. But you can accept a fact when it hits you in the face once in a while.
This is almost bad as you not giving Youan the assist yesterday because the pass was apparently not worthy.
I hate how the use of the word assist gets used for every pass leading to a goal. Lewis won the header at the halfway line and yes Youan did take it up the wing and cut the ball back to Lewis on the 18yd line but it was the 1st touch and quick strike that made that goal, not a defence splitting pass or a pin point cross. For me all credit for that goal goes to Stevenson.
Yes facts are we are 5th but I can't get excited about being 5th. We've had a very poor season, out of both cups early and getting humped off Hearts and the OF all too often, if we manage to get 4th/3rd after all that I'll be lot happier but this inconsistent team doesn't fill me with confidence.
McGruber
23-04-2023, 10:44 AM
Agree with most. 5th budget, 5th par for the course. Does it mean 5th is our maximum. If Hearts and Aberdeen have seasons where their managers are sacked for horrific results and performances. Aberdeen a complete car crash for over half the season. Should we be content with 5th this season?
9 loses in 11 and the current run and majority of season has been rubbish from this Hibs team. Boyle injured, terrible injuries yes - also signed about 20 players.
We are 5th in a season when every club outwith the old firm have been mostly inconsistent/poor. So have we been. Poor. Johnson lucky to be in the job still.
All that said, happy to be top six, still in the mix and what's gone before is done. Johnson has now met the minimum criteria so he gets next season for me regardless of 3rd- 6th finish now
23-04-2023, 10:59 AM
I hate how the use of the word assist gets used for every pass leading to a goal. Lewis won the header at the halfway line and yes Youan did take it up the wing and cut the ball back to Lewis on the 18yd line but it was the 1st touch and quick strike that made that goal, not a defence splitting pass or a pin point cross. For me all credit for that goal goes to Stevenson.
Yes facts are we are 5th but I can't get excited about being 5th. We've had a very poor season, out of both cups early and getting humped off Hearts and the OF all too often, if we manage to get 4th/3rd after all that I'll be lot happier but this inconsistent team doesn't fill me with confidence.
That’s why Stevenson gets credited with the GOAL.
As I said I’m not asking you to get excited but we are 5th on merit (good or bad) and you suggested we were 5th because other teams did us a favour. That’s how a league table works. Celtic are top because Rangers have done them loads of favours by getting beat and drawing early in the season.
sauzeelegod
23-04-2023, 11:09 AM
Reading through this thread, it’s depressing how many Hibs fans think this is acceptable. Call me a bed wetter all you want. Hibs should never ever accept scraping into top 6 on last game before the split. We’ve lost about 15 games out of 33. That’s very close to half the games we’ve played we’ve lost.
To me that will never be good enough. Don’t care about injury’s etc. every other team has had them too.
Players at Hibs should be good enough to step in.
3rd is gone.
4th is a stretch but doable I suppose.
I reckon we will battle St Mirren for 5th.
I have no confidence in these players or manger getting us any higher.
23-04-2023, 11:12 AM
That's literally what an assist is though. Someone passed to a player and that player scored. So you assisted with the goal.
Would Lewie have scored if Ellie didn't pass it to him?
23-04-2023, 11:20 AM
Reading through this thread, it’s depressing how many Hibs fans think this is acceptable. Call me a bed wetter all you want. Hibs should never ever accept scraping into top 6 on last game before the split. We’ve lost about 15 games out of 33. That’s very close to half the games we’ve played we’ve lost.
To me that will never be good enough. Don’t care about injury’s etc. every other team has had them too.
3rd is gone.
I’ve not seen anybody say that we’ve been good this season.
We are where we are having been how we’ve been though. It’s not that often Hibs qualify for Europe, with 5 games to go we really should achieve that.
It comes to a point where there is little point in being pissed off with what has happened earlier in the season IMO. Finish the season with something to show for for it, move on, and hope that we don’t make such a mess of things this summer as we did last.
23-04-2023, 11:23 AM
3rd is gone.
How do i go about not accepting it?:confused:
3rd is gone.
We had a manager who took us to third and also regular hampden appearances. We sacked him because that wasn’t good enough.
23-04-2023, 12:01 PM
That's literally what an assist is though. Someone passed to a player and that player scored. So you assisted with the goal.
Would Lewie have scored if Ellie didn't pass it to him?
Fighting a losing battle with some I'm afraid
23-04-2023, 12:05 PM
We had a manager who took us to third and also regular hampden appearances. We sacked him because that wasn’t good enough.
Exactly, and he worked under an owner who had a philosophy of spending squillions on punts, punts that couldnt get in the first team.
We sacked Ross and brought in Maloney, we still had the same scenario going on, he's sacked and LJ is brought in.
We've had to have a complete rethink for things to get slightly better, hopefully this carrys on and we progress again next season.
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 12:12 PM
No, we didn’t. We sacked him cause he was on a horrific run that he didn’t look like improving. A run that even Maloney and Johnson haven’t managed to match. It’s absolute nonsense to suggest Hibs sacked him because 3rd place and Hampden wasn’t good enough. If that was the case he’d have been gone summer 2021.
If he continued with 3rd place finishes or looked likely to get 3rd place that season he wouldn’t have been sacked.
23-04-2023, 12:16 PM
3rd is gone.
Which other teams have had players as good as Boyle, Nisbet, Mcgeady etc out for majority of the season?
SickBoy32
23-04-2023, 12:22 PM
No, we didn’t. We sacked him cause he was on a horrific run that he didn’t look like improving. A run that even Maloney and Johnson haven’t managed to match. It’s absolute nonsense to suggest Hibs sacked him because 3rd place and Hampden wasn’t good enough. If that was the case he’d have been gone summer 2021.
If he continued with 3rd place finishes or looked likely to get 3rd place that season he wouldn’t have been sacked.
JR ****ged your bird nap :greengrin
Like a dug wi a bone
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 12:26 PM
Like a dug wi a bone
I just enjoy debunking the ridiculous often repeated myth that he was sacked because 3rd place and Hampden wasn’t good enough.
Weird that when we got 3rd place and Hampden he wasn’t sacked in that case but was sacked with us in the bottom 6.
23-04-2023, 12:26 PM
Do you think sacking him has worked out well for us?
23-04-2023, 12:27 PM
Like a dug wi a bone
So are the folk that keep banging on about JR.
Think it's about time we get over sacking Jack ****ing Ross. Had a shocker after he left us and is still unemployed.
The football on show yesterday was dreadful. I don't remember us having decent possession in their half at any stage. Not really interested in hearing about the pitch - yes if might have limited what we could do but better sides than us wouldn't result to launching it into the sky the way we did.
At the end of the day finish top 5 we can still achieve our league objective of European football, and that would be a good return in the circumstances with the way our recruitment has been and key injuries we have suffered.
I just felt disappointed more than anything at full time that our first half performance didn't seem like a team with ultimate ambitions to finish 3rd, flying high after last week and backed by a large support.
Given the abject disaster the last eighteen months have been, I'm quite happy with a top six finish.
Questions should still be asked if we finish below St Mitten though.
23-04-2023, 12:30 PM
So are the folk that keep banging on about JR.
Think it's about time we get over sacking Jack ****ing Ross. Had a shocker after he left us and is still unemployed.
He's at Newcastle training coaches. Probably getting 5k a week. Wish I was so unemployed..
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 12:31 PM
Do you think sacking him has worked out well for us?
Well he left us in the bottom 6 (which he had also lead us to previously as well) and we’re now in the top 6. So yes, I think it’s worked out better than it would have had we kept him on.
23-04-2023, 12:33 PM
He's at Newcastle training coaches. Probably getting 5k a week. Wish I was so unemployed..
Aye, I quite clearly forgot about that 😂
23-04-2023, 12:39 PM
Well he left us in the bottom 6 (which he had also lead us to previously as well) and we’re now in the top 6. So yes, I think it’s worked out better than it would have had we kept him on.
That's certainly one way to look at it.
Jack Ross had us 6th when the season was stopped in 2020. He had lead us to 6th.
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 12:45 PM
That's certainly one way to look at it.
Jack Ross had us 6th when the season was stopped in 2020. He had lead us to 6th.
We finished 7th. As a club we even voted for it being the fairest way to finish the season. Therefore he lead us to 7th that season. Just because we were 6th at one point doesn’t mean he lead us to 6th that season.
Claiming we actually didn’t finish in the position we did is all a bit Hearts, unfair expulsion type patter.
23-04-2023, 12:47 PM
We finished 7th. As a club we even voted for it being the fairest way to finish the season. Therefore he lead us to 7th that season. Just because we were 6th at one point doesn’t mean he lead us to 6th that season.
Claiming we actually didn’t finish in the position we did is all a bit Hearts, unfair expulsion type patter.
Hearts were bottom when the league finished. Hibernian were 6th.
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 12:48 PM
Hearts were bottom when the league finished. Hibernian were 6th.
The league finished when the PPG was applied. We were 7th.
How do i go about not accepting it?:confused:
Whinge on a fans' forum seems to be the way.
23-04-2023, 12:58 PM
The league finished when the PPG was applied. We were 7th.
Next you'll be giving it the "he only got 3rd because hearts weren't in the league" chat.
Genuinely, between us, why do you hate him so much?
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 01:02 PM
Next you'll be giving it the "he only got 3rd because hearts weren't in the league" chat.
Genuinely, between us, why do you hate him so much?
I’ve never said that. So you don’t have to worry about that.
I don’t hate him. Again, I’ve never said I hate him, I’ve never said anything particularly damning about him. I simply don’t think he was the messiah he’s made out to be by a handful of posters and I think the often peddled nonsense that he was sacked for getting to Hampden and finishing third is laughable when you consider he wasn’t sacked after doing that.
I did think his teams were absolutely chronic to watch though.
23-04-2023, 01:04 PM
I’ve never said that. So you don’t have to worry about that.
I don’t hate him. Again, I’ve never said I hate him, I’ve never said anything particularly damning about him. I simply don’t think he was the messiah he’s made out to be by a handful of posters.
No one claims he's the messiah, though. But he did a well above average job at Hibs. We've had 2 poorer managers since, and his only bad run having 1 less draw doesn't change that.
Out of curiosity whats our odds of 4th?
Unfortunately Oddchecker didn't show the odds for 4th place.
23-04-2023, 01:28 PM
Head to head this season between the 4 teams going for 3rd, after 9 games against each other...........
Hibs 16pts
St Mirren 13pts
Aberdeen 12pts
Hearts 11pts
23-04-2023, 01:38 PM
No one claims he's the messiah, though. But he did a well above average job at Hibs. We've had 2 poorer managers since, and his only bad run having 1 less draw doesn't change that.
Totally agree. He got us to 3rd place, something very few Hibs managers have managed in the last 50 years. Let that sink in.
23-04-2023, 01:38 PM
Youan got the ball just in the St J, skinned the first player making a challenge and passed the ball just in line with the 18 yard box
Scott Allan would have his own thread for doing something similar [emoji1787][emoji1787]
Paulie Walnuts
23-04-2023, 03:34 PM
Totally agree. He got us to 3rd place, something very few Hibs managers have managed in the last 50 years. Let that sink in.
And he left us in the bottom 6. Something plenty Hibs managers have been sacked for in the last 50 years. This wasn’t something exclusive to JR.
23-04-2023, 05:18 PM
The year is 2045. Hibs have just drawn away to Queens Park. The match day thread has 50 pages. The last 30 pages are people arguing about Jack Ross.
JamesHFC
23-04-2023, 05:20 PM
The year is 2045. Hibs have just drawn away to Queens Park. The match day thread has 50 pages. The last 30 pages are people arguing about Jack Ross.
23-04-2023, 05:22 PM
I hope whoever is in charge is sacked for such a result.
23-04-2023, 05:37 PM
I hope whoever is in charge is sacked for such a result.
No chance Lewis gets sacked, he's tougher than that
23-04-2023, 05:41 PM
Harry McKirdy still hasn’t scored for Hibs.
23-04-2023, 05:41 PM
Yip, and we go on a bad run and its get him out, even after getting us to another final, remember them?