View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Motherwell
01-04-2023, 05:06 PM
That midfield was fine away to Celtic but at home to Motherwell it is 2 defensive minded midfielders and a runner in Campbell, none of them a ball player or going to dictate play. Can get away with it if they can feed it wide but we didn't have those options today.
All in all, tactis, shape, personell - probably wouldn't have mattered. When players don't show up like that you aren't coming away with anything. Motherwell wanted it more, ran harder, more aggressive - our home game to get on the coat tails of 3rd and Europe. Blew it.
We simply, still, have a total la k of creativity in that area of the pitch. Totally imbalanced squad. Same problems persist.
For all he has a good number of goals and assists, Campbell isn’t creative. They’ve come across about six games.
StevesFamau5
01-04-2023, 05:09 PM
We badly need Boyle and Youan up front. Should have brought back Griffiths to help in these situations.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
100% agree with the above... Even the Griffiths comment, where is he these days?
RossScott1991
01-04-2023, 05:13 PM
I long for the day we have a totally revamped hibs midfield. I’m tired of how uninspiring it is in there.
Campbell out his depth when needed to be a main man. Good habit of scoring goals but needs better technical players around him.
Doyle-Hayes is simply not good enough. He hasn’t ever been. The fans desperately want him to be a Dylan McGeough but he’s the most vanilla boring midfielder and we will never ever go anywhere further up table with guys like him in the team.
Magennis.. where is he? Waste of a wage.
Midfield is the area of focus that needs rebuilt and has done for quite some time at the club.
01-04-2023, 05:16 PM
100% agree with the above... Even the Griffiths comment, where is he these days?
Non league Aussie football which is pretty much his level these days.
McKirdy looks every inch an English lower league nomad which is exactly what he is.
One volley today is about the sum total of what he has shown for us. Anyone still thinking he will come good is deluded.
I said it when he signed that he's played his whole career in Div 2 and had 1 good season, that's his level.
01-04-2023, 05:29 PM
Fickle - Johnson was a world beater on here 3 weeks ago. Said all season the guy is tactically useless and a complete slaver. We'll never make progress with him.
Nobody has suggested LJ is a world beater. Not even close!! Assuming we’re talking about football management ;)
He had us on a good wee run, nothing else. Most of us can see the problems in the squad and with the manager.
Today was a good example.
Our midfield were getting nothing from the game. We then take a midfielder off and replace him with an ineffectual striker up front, when the two we had there already had barely seen the ball. It made no sense at all.
Anyways, he’s going nowhere, so we just need to suck it up and hope things improve somehow.
jakedance
01-04-2023, 05:31 PM
We were awful today. It’s a per hate of mine but the people shouting “wake up Hibs” were spot on. They looked surprised to be there. Midfielders that can’t pass. Goalkeeper past it. Forwards that can’t get hold of the ball (although service to them was woeful). And the referee? Jeezy peeps man.
01-04-2023, 05:39 PM
Egan Riley Jeggo Hanlon Campbell Marshall and few others were terrible today
01-04-2023, 05:40 PM
You must be joking
Nope!
01-04-2023, 05:41 PM
Mckirdy, the skinny Alan Carr
There was someone nearby that used the word "Jessy" a couple of times. I've not heard that used in a long time!!
What the actual ****? It's not the ****ing 1970s thank god
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 05:43 PM
Nope!
You genuinely thought he made our team better? Did you watch him?
I brought a pal along today who’s not a hibs fan and who isn’t really a Scottish football fan. He couldn’t believe that McKirdy was a professional footballer.
I was hoping it would work for McKirdy but he’s clearly miles off it and shouldn’t be anywhere near our team if we are honest.
01-04-2023, 05:44 PM
I thought McKirdy improved our team today, was willing to run at people and try get in behind.
First time I’ve seen him the flesh today. Before hand I’ve thought he looks decent but just really not had a break since he got here. In real life the lads not got a clue he runs about like a 17 year old dev player. Prob got potential bit he’s 26ish we are prob paying him 3 times as much as a dev player 6 years younger with the same potential. Another File under get rid didn’t expect it to be this tough up in jockland.
01-04-2023, 05:49 PM
The whole team looked like they had been at a works do last night. A dreadful performance from start to finish.
01-04-2023, 05:51 PM
Petrie could squeeze a fiver until the Queen’s eyes watered and it showed when we sold Thomson and Brown for example, and replaced them with likes of Joe Keenan and Paddy Cregg.
Some of his cohorts are still in and around the club though and the same attitude of refusing to go big on the team still prevails.
That was utter torture watching that today, or put another way, “pish”.
Don’t think anyone is disputing today’s poor performance. Still doesn’t give you casting up the quality of signings under the old regime an ounce of credibility. As I said, RP didn’t sign anyone himself. Another poster mentioned we’ve spent a fair bit of cash under the new regime. Just not in the best way.
01-04-2023, 05:54 PM
You genuinely thought he made our team better? Did you watch him?
I brought a pal along today who’s not a hibs fan and who isn’t really a Scottish football fan. He couldn’t believe that McKirdy was a professional footballer.
I was hoping it would work for McKirdy but he’s clearly miles off it and shouldn’t be anywhere near our team if we are honest.
Yes I watched him and he added what we missed in the first half, someone up front actually wanting the ball and willing to run at people.
God we missed Youann today
Scotty Leither
01-04-2023, 06:08 PM
Don’t think anyone is disputing today’s poor performance. Still doesn’t give you casting up the quality of signings under the old regime an ounce of credibility. As I said, RP didn’t sign anyone himself. Another poster mentioned we’ve spent a fair bit of cash under the new regime. Just not in the best way.
So where did the buck stop with the guff that we signed then? All on Petrie’s watch, and don’t forget he sold O’Connor the week before the SC semi as well.
His legendary “cautious” approach still lingers at Easter Road; Malcolm MacPherson is back as chairman and didn’t allow any questions on football matters at the recent AGM, only the accounts.
Same old attitudes prevalent at the club, IMO, especially in the area that most of us are bothered about, namely the team on the park.
01-04-2023, 06:09 PM
Yes I watched him and he added what we missed in the first half, someone up front actually wanting the ball and willing to run at people.
I don’t think he was the worst today and he did try, the fact is he’s never done it anytime, he’s not once proven he’s good enough. All players have off days but I’m yet to see him having an on day. He ran about tried to take people on and had a shot that could have troubled the goal, that could be written for every one of his appearances TBH.
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 06:10 PM
Wanting the ball and willing to run and people is all good and well if you can actually beat them, something which he couldn’t do.
NC1875
01-04-2023, 06:12 PM
Hoppe had to be a contender for worst on the park. Absolutely woeful.
His attempt at a stupid flick on the edge of his own box is what led to the penalty. He was so bad I couldn’t believe he stayed on the park until the 80th minute.
01-04-2023, 06:13 PM
I long for the day we have a totally revamped hibs midfield. I’m tired of how uninspiring it is in there.
Campbell out his depth when needed to be a main man. Good habit of scoring goals but needs better technical players around him.
Doyle-Hayes is simply not good enough. He hasn’t ever been. The fans desperately want him to be a Dylan McGeough but he’s the most vanilla boring midfielder and we will never ever go anywhere further up table with guys like him in the team.
Magennis.. where is he? Waste of a wage.
Midfield is the area of focus that needs rebuilt and has done for quite some time at the club.
It’s ridiculous that we still haven’t properly addressed the issues in there.
We’ve signed umpteen players and need to sign umpteen more in the summer. Poor reflection on Johnson we’re still needing completely rebuilt a year in to a rebuild.
Ron D Hibbie
01-04-2023, 06:14 PM
I thought McKirdy improved our team today, was willing to run at people and try get in behind.
No more drink for you.
01-04-2023, 06:17 PM
Hoppe had to be a contender for worst on the park. Absolutely woeful.
His attempt at a stupid flick on the edge of his own box is what led to the penalty. He was so bad I couldn’t believe he stayed on the park until the 80th minute.
Was that not Campbell?
I can't believe how bad some players were today. A good few had some standout moments where they should be pretty ashamed of themselves - can think of Campbell, Jeggo, Marshall, Hanlon and Nisbet all having periods of play that were downright pish. Hardly anyone was ever in control of the ball, and when they were they did terrible things with it. Not helped by what was really an embarrassing lack of movement in forward areas.
01-04-2023, 06:23 PM
No more drink for you.
Was sober at the game, not my fault you guys can't be objective and see that he made us better than that first half performance
Gave us an out ball we didn't have and we needed to get the ball quicker to him than we did
01-04-2023, 06:26 PM
Was sober at the game, not my fault you guys can't be objective and see that he made us better than that first half performance
Gave us an out ball we didn't have and we needed to get the ball quicker to him than we did
A spaniel chasing the ball up the right wing would have improved us and probably would have made much the same impact.
01-04-2023, 06:28 PM
A spaniel chasing the ball up the right wing would have improved us and probably would have made much the same impact.
And he did improve us!
01-04-2023, 06:34 PM
And he did improve us!
He looked like he had more energy and desire but he was hopeless, I wonder what Martin Boyle, Mickey Weir etc think when they watch him, plus all the half decent players we’ve let go.
01-04-2023, 06:48 PM
He looked like he had more energy and desire but he was hopeless, I wonder what Martin Boyle, Mickey Weir etc think when they watch him, plus all the half decent players we’ve let go.
Which ones have we let go?
01-04-2023, 06:49 PM
Not good enough on the day all over the pitch and at times we made it so easy for Motherwell, that first 60 minutes was the worst I've seen this season and even after the goal we never looked much better.
There was a few players who should of been long subbed before they was onto Tannadice we go.
Donegal Hibby
01-04-2023, 07:00 PM
I thought Mckirdy wasn't bad when he came on and give us a different option , he was making a lot of good runs and always looking for the ball which he was rarely given and that wasn't his fault . He was also very unlucky with a good shot that went narrowly wide . He wasn't nearly as bad as some are making out he was , btw I'm sober too :greengrin
01-04-2023, 09:58 PM
So where did the buck stop with the guff that we signed then? All on Petrie’s watch, and don’t forget he sold O’Connor the week before the SC semi as well.
His legendary “cautious” approach still lingers at Easter Road; Malcolm MacPherson is back as chairman and didn’t allow any questions on football matters at the recent AGM, only the accounts.
Same old attitudes prevalent at the club, IMO, especially in the area that most of us are bothered about, namely the team on the park.
A pretty crass comment about the AGM. It was understandable - to me at least - how it panned out how it did. You’re really scraping the barrel now going back neatly 20 years to the GOC transfer 🙄
01-04-2023, 10:06 PM
A pretty crass comment about the AGM. It was understandable - to me at least - how it panned out how it did. You’re really scraping the barrel now going back neatly 20 years to the GOC transfer 🙄
I think it was strange the board gave a weeks notice for the AGM and then didn't answer questions about the only thing that really matters and that we really care about.
No one thinks we're failing off the pitch. Its on it. Ron Gordon was failing to get a good side on the park and I don't think his son will do any better tbh.
Scotty Leither
01-04-2023, 10:27 PM
What’s “crass” about a factual comment? You never get to question the Board or manager about the team, they’re not interested in debating it, all you get is anodyne interviews on Hibs TV.
The supporters showed great respect and continue to do so to the Gordons over the sad events of the last month; but that shouldn’t stop discussions about the team and how every transfer window we have seems to be all about addressing the shortcomings of the one that preceded it.
Yet we still don’t have a midfield player that has got a decent penetrating pass on him.
If that can’t be discussed respectfully and robustly at an AGM, where can it be discussed?
01-04-2023, 11:41 PM
What’s “crass” about a factual comment? You never get to question the Board or manager about the team, they’re not interested in debating it, all you get is anodyne interviews on Hibs TV.
The supporters showed great respect and continue to do so to the Gordons over the sad events of the last month; but that shouldn’t stop discussions about the team and how every transfer window we have seems to be all about addressing the shortcomings of the one that preceded it.
Yet we still don’t have a midfield player that has got a decent penetrating pass on him.
If that can’t be discussed respectfully and robustly at an AGM, where can it be discussed?
Certainly not on here!
02-04-2023, 06:38 AM
Yesterday was a generally awful experience for going to a game from my perspective, I usually just go with my dad but had my two brothers and a nephew with us. First of all the pre match experience going to ER has deteriorated a bit and there's not many places to go or visit within the area of the stadium leaving us wandering around aimlessly until the turnstiles opened, just about every pub or resteraunt we tried to enter either weren't accepting football colours or didn't want kids - this is a bit weird to me as one of my favourite experieces growing up was going to the pub with my dad before a game.
The game its self was an utter bore fest from a hibs fan point of view, ***** football, poor atmosphere, bitter cold and we ended up dipping early to avoid the traffic.
02-04-2023, 07:11 AM
Yesterday was a generally awful experience for going to a game from my perspective, I usually just go with my dad but had my two brothers and a nephew with us. First of all the pre match experience going to ER has deteriorated a bit and there's not many places to go or visit within the area of the stadium leaving us wandering around aimlessly until the turnstiles opened, just about every pub or resteraunt we tried to enter either weren't accepting football colours or didn't want kids - this is a bit weird to me as one of my favourite experieces growing up was going to the pub with my dad before a game.
The game its self was an utter bore fest from a hibs fan point of view, ***** football, poor atmosphere, bitter cold and we ended up dipping early to avoid the traffic.
Increasing numbers of pubs around Easter Road are actively anti-football and the ones that are still Hibs pubs are so full you can barely move.
The sooner Hibs open up new fan bars the better.
Bridge hibs
02-04-2023, 07:13 AM
The game its self was an utter bore fest from a hibs fan point of view, ***** football, poor atmosphere, bitter cold and we ended up dipping early to avoid the traffic.Quite sad that with regards the pubs, going back many years the pub before the game on a Saturday was always first on the list, it was the done thing and the only real time to catch up with mates (no mobile phones in those days) the football was never great but I suppose the beers and bants from the mates sorta softened the blow, that was the match day experience though
Grounds are so ****ing sterile now, all seated plastic and concrete, expensive and mostly crap food/beverages on offer, all in an expensively **** day on offer these days
Rip the seats oot, ban the drums, reduce the prices, football colours back in the boozers, ban mobile phones and get the guys back walking around the track selling macaroon bars 😀
02-04-2023, 07:52 AM
I think it was strange the board gave a weeks notice for the AGM and then didn't answer questions about the only thing that really matters and that we really care about.
No one thinks we're failing off the pitch. Its on it. Ron Gordon was failing to get a good side on the park and I don't think his son will do any better tbh.
Yet we have been on a decent run recently
02-04-2023, 07:55 AM
The whole team looked like they had been at a works do last night. A dreadful performance from start to finish.
Genuinely did look like that. Both Egan Riey and Cadden looked knackered after about an hour. Why so?
02-04-2023, 09:00 AM
Yet we have been on a decent run recently
Indeed. 3 games, 3 defeats. Tremendous.
We're now on a bad run and next week, which should be a victory, is looking like a tough game.
02-04-2023, 09:01 AM
Indeed. 3 games, 3 defeats. Tremendous.
We're now on a bad run and next week, which should be a victory, is looking like a tough game.
churchie16
02-04-2023, 09:16 AM
Think Egan Riley has done enough to suggest he could be a player or develop into one, as for the other 4 above and throw in Cadden and Stevenson into that mix is exactly what hibs is a very mediocre bottom 6 team, how people actually suggest Campbell could be the next captain is laughable, I’m guessing cause you run about and make silly challenges means you don’t need any technical ability to be a midfielder? Just because you run about doesn’t mean your actually good enough to play at that level absolutely Rubbish player never good enough if we want to get better never mind captain, as for the others they should be up there with who’s the first to get moved in the summer total rebuild required again.