View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Motherwell
01-04-2023, 03:18 PM
Refs pish
We are pish(er)
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Johnson getting out thought by Kettlewell today, tactics all wrong and nothing being done to change it, brutal.
You get what you deserve. Nowt.
Now they are taking the piss that’s 2 shots at Marshall from half way shows what they think of our goalie
Campbell has wanted way to much time on the ball on every occasion today, continuously got caught on it and looked off the pace
This has been utterly disgraceful today. Marshall’s challenge for the penalty and subsequent attempt to save it sun it up really.
supermcginn
Marshall has been a downgrade on Macey. He's finished
01-04-2023, 03:19 PM
What is Marshall doing? He's going away from goal.
And whoever didn't clear it on the edge of the box.
Crazy challenge to make.
Allyg69
Not impressed with Marshall this season at all. No urgency or creativity in the team today at all either. Missing Youan big time
McGruber
Dainty wee flick edge of our own box just get away with it, dainty wee dribble edge our own box, nothing effort from Marshall in the challenge, dainty wee penalty save effort. Soft as ***** all over the place. Utter gash
01-04-2023, 03:20 PM
hopefully still make top six, a few more batterings but think of all that extra £££ in the coffers
Top 6 will be a struggle based on this.
I've stuck up for Marshall in the past but that was horrendous goalkeeping, giving away the penalty then somehow letting that shot squirm under him.
Cadden summing the game up with that pass.
Wondered why he couldn't get a Scotland cap
No he's not he's Scottish :wink:
Does LJ get another season if we’re bottom 6?
Hooooooooooooffff
01-04-2023, 03:21 PM
Sorry to say that’s game over based on our non performance so far
So Aberdeen and st Mirren will move further in front of us
streaky lee now back on a losing streak
Motherwell have been in decent form but it’s our performance that is so poor
Hibee Daft
01-04-2023, 03:21 PM
This performance reminds me of the Shaun Maloney days, never looked like scoring.
Up-the-slope
01-04-2023, 03:22 PM
and Hearts get a man advantage with what sounds less than nailed on red
Forward players been a disgrace today. 2nd to everything. Nisbet usually saves this type of performance for derbies.
Does LJ get another season if we’re bottom 6?
The winning streaks are too short and the losing streaks are devastating.
If we don't get top six, he doesn't even get the end of the season for me. Other teams have done all they can to make it easy for us to obtain that and we're not taking the opportunity.
Can the 2nd half be any worse?
Yip.
pollution
Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo !
He's here!
01-04-2023, 03:23 PM
Top 6 will be a struggle based on this.
So many dismal defeats at home to teams below us over the last few seasons. The recent resurgence seems a distant memory.
1-2 :cb
Game on. Nisbet.
Campbell needs off here.
Johnson getting out thought by Kettlewell today, tactics all wrong and nothing being done to change it, brutal.
Maybe, but it’s impossible to know what the tactics were today cos the players have failed horribly.
Distribution has been shocking by all of them. Decision making terrible.
Nisbet actually done something. 2-1. Very much undeserved
Goal back! 1-2.
01-04-2023, 03:24 PM
A thing happen
Up-the-slope
thank goodness
Sorry to say that’s game over based on our non performance so far
So Aberdeen and st Mirren will move further in front of us
streaky lee now back on a losing streak
Motherwell have been in decent form but it’s our performance that is so poor
Tempted to put money on Dons beating Hearts to 3rd
one day maybe...
Come on Hibs
AZhibee
Beautiful header
Yess
Nizzy
Back in it
Great ball in by Cadden btw
Newell, Cabraja and Mykola on
Stevenson, cj and Campbell off
A thing happen[emoji16]It'll never catch on
Get Newell on now. Get a bit of momentum.
Great ball and finish.
Cmon Hibs.
Start the game now.
Good ball from Cadden, easy header.
Come on!
01-04-2023, 03:25 PM
stevenson, campbell, egan-riley all subbed
Greenio
Yass. What a ball and a header.
C'mon Hibs. Let's take something from this
We now make a triple sub believe it or not
Wow
Great ball and even better header. Game on. Cmon
The Tubs
Good ball from Cadden. Cmon Hibs.
Makes the changes now he should have done at half time
01-04-2023, 03:26 PM
McKirdy volleys across, kelly helpless but no one gets a touch
01-04-2023, 03:26 PM
How is that not a booking for the tackle on Mckirdy
AZhibee
01-04-2023, 03:27 PM
Nothing for an hour….then…
Right come on now
Maybe, but it’s impossible to know what the tactics were today cos the players have failed horribly.
Distribution has been shocking by all of them. Decision making terrible.
True, I despair at this team at times, show so much then turn in a display like today, so frustrating.
Better Hibs
01-04-2023, 03:28 PM
Ref is a absolute clown man
01-04-2023, 03:28 PM
24+ mins
Up-the-slope
01-04-2023, 03:29 PM
so are we getting more control now?
01-04-2023, 03:29 PM
Ref is doing his bit to get an atmosphere going here. Everything he does raises the noise levels.
sorrow sorrow
01-04-2023, 03:30 PM
Jeggo has made what was already a poor midfield even poorer
01-04-2023, 03:30 PM
No surprise Newell comes on and we look better.
01-04-2023, 03:31 PM
Jeggo has made what was already a poor midfield even poorerYou mean he came in and we started winning?
Can't agree with you
01-04-2023, 03:32 PM
Newell is getting **** done.
01-04-2023, 03:32 PM
Absolute nonsense.
Up-the-slope
01-04-2023, 03:33 PM
im watching BBC ticker on sportscene results and almost every second score is wrong :rolleyes: score 1-0 and then lists 3 scorers for example
01-04-2023, 03:33 PM
Stupid from McKirdy.
01-04-2023, 03:34 PM
Newell has made a huge difference since coming on. Passing with a bit purpose and showing for the ball.
01-04-2023, 03:35 PM
Looks like the Hearts goalie picks the ball up outside the box, VAR swiftly moves on.
1875Sean
Hoppe hasn’t done much all game, surely taveres gets some time on the left
No surprise Newell comes on and we look better.
He's the most complete player we have. Said it before and I'll say it again. Should be captain. Unlike most he's more often better than he is poor.
We've looked much more positive since the goal and changes as you'd expect.
01-04-2023, 03:36 PM
He’s been subbed had he not?
01-04-2023, 03:37 PM
Surely he's not still on the park!? Haven't seen or heard him mentioned in ages
1875Sean
01-04-2023, 03:38 PM
He’s been subbed had he not?
Still on, playing on the left
Up-the-slope
01-04-2023, 03:39 PM
Still on, playing on the left
you would think we agreed playing minutes as part of loan.... otherwise surely give someone else a chance a to show more
01-04-2023, 03:39 PM
This Motherwell commentator is very annoying, that’s my moan for the day.
01-04-2023, 03:40 PM
Aany chance of McKirdy contributing when he comes on.
Throws his arms about something daft and rarely does anything with the ball
Can this ref please get Kelly booked.time wasting is off the scale and he knows he is getting away with it.
McSwanky
Looks like the Hearts goalie picks the ball up outside the box, VAR swiftly moves on.Can VAR do anything about that? Is it a red card offence?
Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk
01-04-2023, 03:41 PM
Can VAR do anything about that? Is it a red card offence?
Sent from my YAL-L21 using Tapatalk
VAR did have a look at it.
This is a hard watch, must do better here.
ErinGoBraghHFC
Worst take of the day imo
VAR did have a look at it.Did Hearts get their penalty as a result?
01-04-2023, 03:42 PM
Henderson on for Hoppe
3-1 easy peasy
Paulie Walnuts
Get Marshall out that ****ing team.
Oh well.
It was exciting whilst it lasted.
3 goals from 3 set pieces. Pish.
Ffs!
01-04-2023, 03:43 PM
Hendersoooooooooonnnnnnnn!!! :grr:
Pish.
That’ll be the start of another streak for Lee then.
Did that take a deflection?
what a thoroughly embarrassing result
Ah well
The build up for some of the goals and what’s lead to them has been brutal.
Yeah, I think Marshall might be dreadful.
Desperately miss Marciano.
01-04-2023, 03:44 PM
Game over. 1-3
Omg😲
Did Marshall slip maybe?
Looked very poor bit noticed a divot by where his feet were plantes
Only keeper in the league that doesn't save that.
Marshall’s side, had to do better there I’d say.
Disgraceful goalkeeping
Paulie Walnuts
Yeah, I think Marshall might be dreadful.
Desperately miss Marciano.
Laughable that folk claim he’s better.
Marciano back in the summer please.
Oh well.
It was exciting whilst it lasted.
3 goals from 3 set pieces. Pish.
Yip short and sweet 😂
supermcginn
Marshall is so bad it's unreal. Hopefully his last game.
That was shocking by Marshall. Never a free kick in the first place though.
Up-the-slope
3 set pieces ....
Allyg69
Get Marshall out that ****ing team.
Have to agree sadly
This has been one of the worst performances in a very long time
Murray Johnson can't be worse than this.
01-04-2023, 03:45 PM
£430 a year lmao
The three things guaranteed in life death, taxation and Hibs always give you a boot in the baws when you least expect it
Had to be 3 points today. Got to win these home games.
3rd is gone.
Paulie Walnuts
£430 a year lmao
Is that Marshall’s wage? If not it should be.
01-04-2023, 03:46 PM
Get Marshall out of this team. Awful
01-04-2023, 03:46 PM
3rd is gone.
Top six might be gone. Looking like a couple of defeats has us a basket case again.
Defended Marshall all season but awful today. As the whole team has been.
Up-the-slope
01-04-2023, 03:47 PM
St J's scoring now is most likely way of putting a very little gloss on today
01-04-2023, 03:47 PM
3rd is gone.
The scores as they stand today is a good indication of how the top six will finish. We will be 6th.
3rd is gone.
Frankly it never was on.
01-04-2023, 03:48 PM
When it comes to Marshall I hate to say I told you so but.......
It maybe takes a couple of real howlers to show it but a day like this has been coming. He's been shaky for weeks.
01-04-2023, 03:49 PM
£430 a year lmao
Away you go with that pish.
01-04-2023, 03:49 PM
Well beaten. ☹️
01-04-2023, 03:50 PM
Very disappointing today. Let's just hope that's not us on another long run of poor results.
Worst showing of the season. Disgraceful.
It probably wouldn’t of made that much difference given how we are playing but how can Miller not get a game after his performance at Celtic Park
01-04-2023, 03:51 PM
There’s no way Tavares would do worse or contribute less than McKirdy.
absolute pish.
Paulie Walnuts
When it comes to Marshall I hate to say I told you so but.......
It maybe takes a couple of real howlers to show it but a day like this has been coming. He's been shaky for weeks.
He’s not been good enough. It’s that simple.
Paulie Walnuts
Miles out his depth
That is a terrible pass from McKirdy that ends up with a foul for Motherwell
01-04-2023, 03:52 PM
I find it really difficult to believe McKirdy is a professional footballer
Not the problem today, but almost every time he is on the park he contributes nothing
Waste of a shirt every time I've seen him.
Frankly it never was on.
That’s just not true.
If we’d won today we’d be 2 points off 3rd, with Hearts losing at Killie.
It’s been a disgrace of a performance today
Greenio
Why have so many of our passes been short
Im not one for singling out players, but i've actually yet to see Harry McKirdy do anything good.
How many chances do we give Mckirdy, sorry but no thanks, remember the hype waiting for him to sign, :confused:
01-04-2023, 03:53 PM
That is a terrible pass from McKirdy that ends up with a foul for Motherwell
McKirdy looks every inch an English lower league nomad which is exactly what he is.
One volley today is about the sum total of what he has shown for us. Anyone still thinking he will come good is deluded.
Even without marshalls's errors we've been well beaten today.
Aberdeen are 4 points ahead. Battle on with us, st mirren and livi for top 6
The Tubs
Despite the three goals, Hanlon and Fish have been solid again.
6+ mins
Hibee Daft
Waste of a shirt every time I've seen him.
But but... he runs on his toes and tucks his hands into his sleeves he must be good 🤡
01-04-2023, 03:54 PM
At least bottom six means we can start to play the U19s and rekindle some semblance of interest in another forgettable season.
Torto7
I know it doesnt matter and I'll sound like Rodri but six minutes injury time is a joke. The time wasting and lack of ball in play time is shocking in Scotland.
Jesus ****ing Christ.
That pass from Jeggo really sums up his performance today
01-04-2023, 03:55 PM
McKirdy is infuriating. Couldn't score in a month of Sundays, lightweight, poor ability, and an absolutely honking attitude. Got a silly haircut though so some will keep arguing that we should give him a chance, where it's obvious that he's not of the talent for this level or even probably the Scottish Championship either.
Up-the-slope
Shinnie off for Dons - that could be cruicial for them next couple of games
Despite the three goals, Hanlon and Fish have been solid again.
Fish has had a couple of shaky moments for me today
It's like we would have more chance of getting third or fourth place if it was almost impossible, rather than achievable. Expectations rise slightly and we fold like a cheap deckchair.
cameronw-hfc
Wonder if we are allowed to criticise Marshall yet or are we still wrong and he's been brilliant? Every week I hope to be proven wrong, time and time again he's soft at best for goals we concede.
Marshall is so bad it's unreal. Hopefully his last game.
Yet there's still some that think he can do no wrong. 🤔
Torto7
01-04-2023, 03:56 PM
Hanlon's been *****, his passing or lack of it to the fore again.
Paulie Walnuts
McKirdy is infuriating. Couldn't score in a month of Sundays, lightweight, poor ability, and an absolutely honking attitude. Got a silly haircut though so some will keep arguing that we should give him a chance, where it's obvious that he's talentless.
Needs a run of starts.
I think that’s what we’re supposed to say anyway.
looking like a best result for Motherwell at ER since 2008 0-2
3rd? Let's concentrate on getting 6th, utterly woeful performance all round.
Mcbizz1998
I’m sorry but I can’t for the life of me figure out what LJ’s plan was today. Baffling selection, even worse subs.
Marshall is finished btw.
1875Sean
01-04-2023, 03:57 PM
At least bottom six means we can start to play the U19s and rekindle some semblance of interest in another forgettable season.
Bit early saying we will get bottom 6, been terrible today but st mirren are not great away and they have 2 games next on the bounce
GreenGray
Team selection let us down today, even despite Marshall’s errors
£430 a year lmao
That seems fair to me.
How is Jeggo still on the park, should have been hooked ages ago
FT booooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Referee has had more touches the last 10 mins than our mid field
Mcbizz1998
01-04-2023, 03:58 PM
Even without marshalls's errors we've been well beaten today.
Aberdeen are 4 points ahead. Battle on with us, st mirren and livi for top 6
Well, not really. Without his errors it’s 1-1.
That’s just not true.
If we’d won today we’d be 2 points off 3rd, with Hearts losing at Killie.
It’s been a disgrace of a performance today
Lot of "if" there and based on hibs season to date 3rd was never on, be touch and go for top 6,only a point ahead of livie
01-04-2023, 03:59 PM
McKirdy looks every inch an English lower league nomad which is exactly what he is.
One volley today is about the sum total of what he has shown for us. Anyone still thinking he will come good is deluded.
Agree PB, would be better off giving O’Connor a chance until end of the season, it’s Groundhog Day with McKirdy, poor every time he plays, drop him and give a young lad a chance.
McGruber
9 losses out 11 and 2 humpings from Hearts
Johnson out
Good run of form and results
Johnson in.
Think I'll leave it to see how the rest of the season goes.
If we end up bottom 6 and out both cups 1st time of asking then there's no debate needed
LJ needs to make sure this doesn't turn into another losing streak as if it does, he needs to go. Can't be so inconsistent through the season.
Well, not really. Without his errors it’s 1-1.
Motherwell battered us. They'd have won with or without the help of Marshall
Up-the-slope
01-04-2023, 04:00 PM
sounds like Dons were appalling too but manage to get a result somehow... getting points when we are poor is not something we seem capable of
Curried
01-04-2023, 04:00 PM
I'd be very happy if I never see Hoppe in a Hibs shirt again.
Mcbizz1998
01-04-2023, 04:01 PM
Really? I can’t recall Marshall making a single save. They create nothing from open play.
Terrible result
We always go **** yo massive chances to get close to 3rd
Disgraceful performance. Not one of that starting 11 could complain if they are dropped.Worst performance in a Hibs shirt by Jeggo and Marshall. Big opportunity missed.
01-04-2023, 04:02 PM
I find it really difficult to believe McKirdy is a professional footballer
Not the problem today, but almost every time he is on the park he contributes nothing
He will be punted in the summer, no use to us whatsoever
That third goal for them isn’t even a good freekick.
Nae professional goalkeeper should be beat by that.
Another massive opportunity messed up.
Hearts lose and we can’t gain ground.
Really really poor.
If we don’t make top 6 he deserves to go.
It’s between Hibs, Livi and St Mirren for the 2 final spots with 3 games to go.
01-04-2023, 04:03 PM
Streaky Lee they call him, should be streaky pish.
01-04-2023, 04:03 PM
I disagreed with the team selection before we kicked a ball. I said it looked like we had changed shape to try and shoe horn players in.
I stand by that.
But the players today were absolutely terrible, take tactics out of it they never done the basis all day.
The touch and passing was horrendous for the majority of players, some of it was comical.
Motherwell ran harder than us today, played with a better tempo, stretched the game and looked after the ball.
They were much much better than us.
Marshall was brutal for the second, first for giving away the pen and then not for saving it. I get pens are hard but if you guess the right way then the dynamic changes, that’s two in two games he’s guessed right but the shot has went through him.
Third he should be saving.
Today was a day of really not doing the basics.
The Tubs
01-04-2023, 04:04 PM
Dunno about that. Maybe VAR could have given a penalty when Van Veen was through in the first half, but his wee push ultimately put him off. The free kick he gave for the third was nothing. The rest of the time, we hardly saw Van Veen.
Our biggest failing was that it looked like we set out the team to play Celtic away rather than Motherwell at home.
That third goal for them isn’t even a good freekick.
Nae professional goalkeeper should be beat by that.
He did a Stealers wheel stuck in the middle
To be fair, that’s about as bad as I’ve seen this team play. That was just awful. I can’t think of one player who you could point to and say they played quite well. Need to improve big time next week.
I’m not sure that’s true.
Think they had one decent chance outwith their pen and 2 free kick goals?
01-04-2023, 04:05 PM
Poor. Very poor.
01-04-2023, 04:06 PM
Hanlon's been *****, his passing or lack of it to the fore again.
Please God, don't offer him a new contract 🤞
Guff that team selection was bizzare
Hardly saw Van Veen 2 goals
Hardly saw Nisbet 1 goal
Is that not what most strikers are like.
01-04-2023, 04:09 PM
Hanlon is the one player I’d wouldn’t criticise today, probably our best player (not saying much however).
He was the one at times dipping his shoulder and going past players to try and take a player out the game.
That was worryingly bad, even when we where struggling before Jan it wasn’t that bad be interesting to hear what LJ says after that, think we should be doing our upmost to move on McKirdy as well for the next window he’s never going to cut it up here probably have to take a sizeable hit to get shot of him unfortunately
01-04-2023, 04:09 PM
Dundee utd bottom of the league desperate for a win next week, Mmmmmm
Greenwich_Hibby
01-04-2023, 04:10 PM
Fickle - Johnson was a world beater on here 3 weeks ago. Said all season the guy is tactically useless and a complete slaver. We'll never make progress with him.
01-04-2023, 04:12 PM
Fickle - Johnson was a world beater on here 3 weeks ago. Said all season the guy is tactically useless and a complete slaver. We'll never make progress with him.
If he doesn’t get top 6 then he should go as his record in both cups was shocking as well.
Torto7
01-04-2023, 04:12 PM
Hanlon is the one player I’d wouldn’t criticise today, probably our best player (not saying much however).
He was the one at times dipping his shoulder and going past players to try and take a player out the game.
How many times did he miss Campbell on the half turn and just pass straight to the Motherwell guy for a counter attack. Both he and Fish got rag dolled by VV too many times. Paul still has the same shortcomings he's always had.
Hibees1973
01-04-2023, 04:13 PM
Big home support, expectation of 3rd/4th piace up in smoke now. I posted earlier in the week that today was a must win to even get into the top 6.
What a massive let down today. Up there with similar home performances we have had against St Johnstone & Ross County this season.
Teams between 3rd - 10th in the league much about the same. A booty of at least around £3m available and trips abroad for the supporters and Hibs bottle it again.
Not surprised and a throughly depressing watch today.
01-04-2023, 04:14 PM
What the **** is Marshall doing conceding the penalty? I’m no man’s land
Hibees1973
01-04-2023, 04:14 PM
If he doesn’t get top 6 then he should go as his record in both cups was shocking as well.
This 100%.
01-04-2023, 04:17 PM
All very hibs sadly
LJ in the paper talking about Europe
Hibs tweeting saying let’s make 3/3 against Motherwell
Expecting crowd
Performance - disgrace
Seen it far to many times under LJ
Will be gone if we don’t get top 6 and even then there’s still doubts for me if we scraped 5th for Europe
01-04-2023, 04:19 PM
We still have too much crap and too many similar players in the middle of the park.
LJ really hasn’t built anything since coming in. Most of that team probably won’t be there next season and we’ll be signing another dozen in the summer.
Scotty Leither
01-04-2023, 04:19 PM
How is Jeggo still on the park, should have been hooked ages ago
I don’t think I’ve seen this guy hit a forward pass more than ten yards in all the games he’s played. And why the **** Johnson continually plays two holding midfield players at home against any team other than the Glasgow two is beyond me.
01-04-2023, 04:20 PM
41 points
St Mirren
A-Hearts
A-Rangers
H-Kilmarnock
40 Points
Hibs
A-Dundee utd
H-Hearts
A- St johnstone
39 points
A- Motherwell
H- St Johnstone
A- Dundee utd
I don’t think I’ve seen this guy hit a forward pass more than ten yards in all the games he’s played. And why the **** Johnson continually plays two holding midfield players at home against any team other than the Glasgow two is beyond me.
Because it’s been working?
NC1875
Worst performance I’ve seen in a long time. Yet again, Hibs **** the bed when 3rd place is there to play for.
Too many players now where near the level they need to be.
The referee was an absolute joke as well but we deserved nothing.
Ray Donovan
01-04-2023, 04:21 PM
Wasn't at the game today but I agree with this.
All very hibs sadly
LJ in the paper talking about Europe
Hibs tweeting saying let’s make 3/3 against Motherwell
Expecting crowd
Performance - disgrace
Seen it far to many times under LJ
Will be gone if we don’t get top 6 and even then there’s still doubts for me.
If he failed to even make top six he should be away but I don’t think he will be.
We’re a poor side in a league of poor sides.
Bit early saying we will get bottom 6, been terrible today but st mirren are not great away and they have 2 games next on the bounce
Quite possibly, but success is defined by how much less crap you are in relation to the other non old firm teams. 3rd used to mean you had a good team you could enjoy for a small while before it was broken up. Now it just means you’re crap, but less so than 9 others.
Short of the U19s getting a fair chance there’s not much in this Hibs team or this season (and her one before that, and the one before that etc) to feel much affinity to IMO.
01-04-2023, 04:22 PM
41 points
St Mirren
A-Hearts
A-Rangers
H-Kilmarnock
40 Points
Hibs
A-Dundee utd
H-Hearts
A- St johnstone
39 points
A- Motherwell
H- St Johnstone
A- Dundee utd
Tough, but 6/9 will see us take a top 6 place and 9/9 opens up third place for everyone.
01-04-2023, 04:23 PM
Gogic immense again today for st. mirren, he kept Cyprus in at at Hampden last week until they subbed him, then they lost another two goals
#gethimback :agree:
01-04-2023, 04:27 PM
Not seen it mentioned yet, but how much did we miss Youan today.
Shows how important he is for us.
Scotty Leither
01-04-2023, 04:27 PM
Because it’s been working?
I don’t enjoy watching my team labour along with workaday ordinary players like Jeggo, JDH, Henderson, Hoppe, Cabraja, and McKirdy in and around the team.
They’re not good enough for Hibernian FC and it’s a continuation of the revolving door of Petrie’s no marks that were foisted on us.
We need to buy decent, proven players in the summer and ship out all the dross masquerading as Hibs players, instead of this rinse and repeat of the last 6-8 transfer windows.
He's here!
01-04-2023, 04:28 PM
Quite possibly, but success is defined by how much less crap you are in relation to the other non old firm teams. 3rd used to mean you had a good team you could enjoy for a small while before it was broken up. Now it just means you’re crap, but less so than 9 others.
Short of the U19s getting a fair chance there’s not much in this Hibs team or this season (and her one before that, and the one before that etc) to feel much affinity to IMO.
Agreed. Just a bit less crap than the rest is what we're at these days when it comes to the quality of teams outwith the big two and who ends up in third.
It's usually the national team which sparks debate around its lack of quality but Scottish domestic football is in a grim place right now. Really, really poor.
01-04-2023, 04:29 PM
I don’t enjoy watching my team labour along with workaday ordinary players like Jeggo, JDH, Henderson, Hoppe, Cabraja, and McKirdy in and around the team.
They’re not good enough for Hibernian FC and it’s a continuation of the revolving door of Petrie’s no marks that were foisted on us.
We need to buy decent, proven players in the summer and ship out all the dross masquerading as Hibs players, instead of this rinse and repeat of the last 6-8 transfer windows.
Sensationalist *****.
Petries no marks? Wtf does that even mean?
01-04-2023, 04:29 PM
41 points
St Mirren
A-Hearts
A-Rangers
H-Kilmarnock
40 Points
Hibs
A-Dundee utd
H-Hearts
A- St johnstone
39 points
A- Motherwell
H- St Johnstone
A- Dundee utd
It's gonna go right to the wire for top 6. Todays result is so much more annoying as 3rd place is still up for grabs. Whoever finishes 3rd and get that guaranteed group stage spot is literally gonna crawl over the line.
Scotty Leither
01-04-2023, 04:31 PM
Sensationalist *****.
Petries no marks? Wtf does that even mean?
How long have you got? Rowan Vine, David Elliot , Kevin McBride, Paul Tosh, Jamie McQuilken…
percy veer
01-04-2023, 04:32 PM
It's gonna go right to the wire for top 6. Todays result is so much more annoying as 3rd place is still up for grabs. Whoever finishes 3rd and get that guaranteed group stage spot is literally gonna crawl over the line.
Heart will finish 3rd , we will miss out on top 6 by a point no doubt.
01-04-2023, 04:32 PM
Gogic immense again today for st. mirren, he kept Cyprus in at at Hampden last week until they subbed him, then they lost another two goals
I wouldn’t be against that tbh.
01-04-2023, 04:33 PM
Tough, but 6/9 will see us take a top 6 place and 9/9 opens up third place for everyone.
my expert predictions
st mirren 44
Hibs 45
Livingston 41
01-04-2023, 04:34 PM
How long have you got? Rowan Vine, David Elliot , Kevin McBride, Paul Tosh, Jamie McQuilken…
Jesus, really seriously stuck in the past eh?
Comparing any of those players to Rowan ****ing Vine though?
Every single one of them has done more in a Hibs shirt than that no mark.
01-04-2023, 04:35 PM
Marshall looks as though he was useless today
Donegal Hibby
01-04-2023, 04:37 PM
If he failed to even make top six he should be away but I don’t think he will be.
We’re a poor side in a league of poor sides.
We were very poor today there's no doubt about it, more on the players not performing than the manager today for me , hard for any team or manager when you have 3 of your wide player's out who are your best players as well . Think I will stick with the manager whatever happens and let him have the summer transfer window.
cameronw-hfc
01-04-2023, 04:38 PM
Bit shan to bring Petrie into it when he's long gone tbf. The man had his faults but he went some time without a wage from the club in order to keep us balanced, and whilst some of the players in this squad aren't good enough, they're all better than the ones mentioned, by some margin.
Anyone seen the reply of the 3rd? Did Marshall slip or just go temporarily blind
cameronw-hfc
Anyone seen the reply of the 3rd? Did Marshall slip or just go temporarily blind
Yeah, took a step to the wall side and it cost him.
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 04:40 PM
Just watched back the penalty, what was he thinking????
Bronson
01-04-2023, 04:40 PM
Marshall was an absolute calamity today. Poppadom hands had to double check jamie langfield hadn’t sneaked on in his place
SickBoy32
01-04-2023, 04:41 PM
Would agree with this, not been impressed with Jeggo at all to be honest - gogic a more effective player in there
01-04-2023, 04:42 PM
One of the poorest performances for a long time. Far too many players off it right from the start today. Some of the passing was worse than schoolboy stuff. How Jeggo stayed on for the full game I have no idea. Marshall very poor at the third goal and didn’t look great for the pen. Subs made a difference with Joe Newell looking good but why Egan-Riley was taken off instead of Jeggo was pretty hard to understand. A very “bad day at the office” and will be good to have Youan back as we missed him terribly today.
So many mediocre players
Scotty Leither
Jesus, really seriously stuck in the past eh?
Comparing any of those players to Rowan ****ing Vine though?
Every single one of them has done more in a Hibs shirt than that no mark.
You asked for examples, I gave you them. The comparison I’m making is that they’ve made **** all impact since signing, similar to Petrie’s tenure of cheap is best when it really wasn’t, it was just a Chartered Accountant’s way of running a football club.
If we continue to sign players hoping they’re going to be decent Hibs players that we can identify with and look like they can play a bit, then we’ll wait a long time unless we show a bit intent by at least looking at getting guys in that I’ll separate us from the rest of the dross in this league.
Judging by the manager’s comments re the impending summer window it looks like more of the same though, but what do we ken? We’re just the mugs that are asked to pay top dollar for season tickets and hospitality and endure the same under achievement that we’ve always done.
SickBoy32
01-04-2023, 04:43 PM
Not a good hibs team, and I don’t think any of us are really too surprised at the result today, says it all
Couple of decent players but on the whole *****
Hillsidehibby
01-04-2023, 04:43 PM
One word. Abject.
01-04-2023, 04:44 PM
Would agree with this, not been impressed with Jeggo at all to be honest - gogic a more effective player in there
Jeggo is fine - as long as we’re not relying on him to pass the ball.
01-04-2023, 04:44 PM
Marshall - Cost us two goals
Jeggo - didn’t find a forward pass all game
JDH - really good at passing the ball back from where it came, hid behind his marker most of the game. Still don’t know what he brings to the team.
Hoppe- Useless. Looked like he had been pulled from the crowd
Mckirdy - Haircuts match his ability, send him back to Swindon since they love him so much.
Don’t mind so much getting beat if you can look at it and say the other team just played really well. That was embarrassing today. Players didn’t look interested in the slightest and made Motherwell look like Man City. A lot of players in that squad that I wouldn’t care less if I never seen them again.
01-04-2023, 04:45 PM
You are on the wind up 🤣
01-04-2023, 04:46 PM
I thought McKirdy improved our team today, was willing to run at people and try get in behind.
01-04-2023, 04:47 PM
You asked for examples, I gave you them. The comparison I’m making is that they’ve made **** all impact since signing, similar to Petrie’s tenure of cheap is best when it really wasn’t, it was just a Chartered Accountant’s way of running a football club.
If we continue to sign players hoping they’re going to be decent Hibs players that we can identify with and look like they can play a bit, then we’ll wait a long time unless we show a bit intent by at least looking at getting guys in that I’ll separate us from the rest of the dross in this league.
Judging by the manager’s comments re the impending summer window it looks like more of the same though, but what do we ken? We’re just the mugs that are asked to pay top dollar for season tickets and hospitality and endure the same under achievement that we’ve always done.
Whilst I agree about loads of the players being pish, you always talk about them being cheap which I just don’t get.
McKirdy has been a brutal signing. But we paid a six figure fee for him.
We’ve spent money, we’ve just not spent it well. Same with the likes of Melkersen. Tavares isn’t here on £800 a week. The likes of Lewis Miller won’t have moved to the other side of the world for crap money.
01-04-2023, 04:47 PM
I thought McKirdy improved our team today, was willing to run at people and try get in behind.
He’s good at running. If he starts running down the M6 now he might make it back to Swindon in time for their game next week.
01-04-2023, 04:48 PM
Not seen it mentioned yet, but how much did we miss Youan today.
Shows how important he is for us.
Without a focal point, you get focal points.
ShadesLongThrow
01-04-2023, 04:48 PM
A special shout out to the referee today who was completely abject. No control over the players, allowed a shocking amount of timewasting particularly from their keeper, blew every time there was any sort of physical contact and managed to get in the way of the ball twice because he couldn’t read the game.
We were terrible but referees like that shouldn’t be in charge of top level games.
01-04-2023, 04:49 PM
One of the poorest performances for a long time. Far too many players off it right from the start today. Some of the passing was worse than schoolboy stuff. How Jeggo stayed on for the full game I have no idea. Marshall very poor at the third goal and didn’t look great for the pen. Subs made a difference with Joe Newell looking good but why Egan-Riley was taken off instead of Jeggo was pretty hard to understand. A very “bad day at the office” and will be good to have Youan back as we missed him terribly today.
We were back to playing with no midfield again today and yes Jeggo should have been subbed along with Doyle hays, Egan-Riley should have moved to midfield way before he was. Our forwards were hopeless today, couldn’t hold the ball up when they did get the chance. The whole load of them were terrible and McKirdy will never make it at Hibs. It was as poor a performance I’ve seen in a long time, and there’s been a few., so disappointing.
Fuzzywuzzy
01-04-2023, 04:50 PM
Not entirely sure why jeggo got 90 minutes on the pitch. I thought he was brutal. Knew JDH was likely to be hooked.
Our passing (or lack of it) was nothing short of embarrassing.
The referee, I actually have one word - inept. Couldn't fathom some of the decisions. Kelly could have been booked multiple times for time wasting
SickBoy32
Jeggo is fine - as long as we’re not relying on him to pass the ball.
😂😂 the guy plays football ffs
No good enough
What a load of nonsense. “Petrie’s no marks”. 😂 Did Rod sign them all himself? Every manager was pretty well backed in the transfer market under RP and STF. To blame them for the poor quality of some of the signings is a desperate clutching at straws. But when it comes to the old regime, you really just can’t help yourself. Utter pish as always 🙄
cameronw-hfc
01-04-2023, 04:51 PM
Don't think he's as bad as people making out. Thought his pace gave us something different and we looked a bit more dangerous for 10/15 until they scored again.
It might be because I've seen a decent amount of him before Hibs but I just think there's still more to come from him. He's just not been able to get going at all, he's doing simple things he wasn't doing last season poorly, not because of the level but just rotten form.
Last season at Swindon he was basically as direct as he gets. Lost the ball more often than not but would straight line towards a defender every single time. He just looks hesitant atm.
Could be that I'm too optimistic but I still have a nagging feeling there's at least a useful squad player in there somewhere, just need him to find it.
SickBoy32
01-04-2023, 04:51 PM
Spot on
01-04-2023, 04:52 PM
A special shout out to the referee today who was completely abject. No control over the players, allowed a shocking amount of timewasting particularly from their keeper, blew every time there was any sort of physical contact and managed to get in the way of the ball twice because he couldn’t read the game.
We were terrible but referees like that shouldn’t be in charge of top level games.
The ref done his job brilliantly I thought, he came to give Hibs nothing, let Motherwell away with everything and 100% succeeded in his task.
01-04-2023, 04:56 PM
The idea that we are signing players on the cheap is just nonsense. Utter nonsense.
Scotty Leither
01-04-2023, 04:58 PM
What a load of nonsense. “Petrie’s no marks”. 😂 Did Rod sign them all himself? Every manager was pretty well backed in the transfer market under RP and STF. To blame them for the poor quality of some of the signings is a desperate clutching at straws. But when it comes to the old regime, you really just can’t help yourself. Utter pish as always 🙄
Petrie could squeeze a fiver until the Queen’s eyes watered and it showed when we sold Thomson and Brown for example, and replaced them with likes of Joe Keenan and Paddy Cregg.
Some of his cohorts are still in and around the club though and the same attitude of refusing to go big on the team still prevails.
That was utter torture watching that today, or put another way, “pish”.
GreenGray
01-04-2023, 04:59 PM
You must be joking
01-04-2023, 04:59 PM
Don't think he's as bad as people making out. Thought his pace gave us something different and we looked a bit more dangerous for 10/15 until they scored again.
It might be because I've seen a decent amount of him before Hibs but I just think there's still more to come from him. He's just not been able to get going at all, he's doing simple things he wasn't doing last season poorly, not because of the level but just rotten form.
Last season at Swindon he was basically as direct as he gets. Lost the ball more often than not but would straight line towards a defender every single time. He just looks hesitant atm.
Could be that I'm too optimistic but I still have a nagging feeling there's at least a useful squad player in there somewhere, just need him to find it.
8 games to go of the season and he’s no scored a goal yet.
Big fee paid for him. Been a disaster of a signing so far. Like too many of them.
McGruber
01-04-2023, 05:00 PM
That midfield was fine away to Celtic but at home to Motherwell it is 2 defensive minded midfielders and a runner in Campbell, none of them a ball player or going to dictate play. Can get away with it if they can feed it wide but we didn't have those options today.
All in all, tactis, shape, personell - probably wouldn't have mattered. When players don't show up like that you aren't coming away with anything. Motherwell wanted it more, ran harder, more aggressive - our home game to get on the coat tails of 3rd and Europe. Blew it.
Fuzzywuzzy
01-04-2023, 05:03 PM
Mckirdy, the skinny Alan Carr
There was someone nearby that used the word "Jessy" a couple of times. I've not heard that used in a long time!!
01-04-2023, 05:04 PM
We badly need Boyle and Youan up front. Should have brought back Griffiths to help in these situations.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
McGruber
01-04-2023, 05:04 PM
He was better than Jeggo, Campbell, Hoppe, Marshall amongst a few others, but he gets it in the neck I think because there was expectation when we signed him.
01-04-2023, 05:05 PM
We badly need Boyle and Youan up front. Should have brought back Griffiths to help in these situations.
Sent from my SM-A426U1 using Tapatalk
:faf: stop it