View Full Version : Goalkeeper

Pages : 1 [2]

04-04-2023, 07:40 PM
Excellent keepers don’t make that many mistakes surely?

He was once an excellent keeper. He hasn’t been that at Hibs, not even close imo.

He has made mistakes recently however has been consistently good this season. Doesn’t make him a bad keeper.

04-04-2023, 07:40 PM
By what measure?

Ability what else

13-04-2023, 10:35 PM
Rocky in the squad for a europa league quarter final the night.

Which his team won...

JamesHFC
13-04-2023, 11:11 PM
Rcky in the squad for a europa league quarter final the night.

Which his team won...

He will win the Eredivisie this season. Great move for him, fantastic goalkeeper.

Paulie Walnuts
14-04-2023, 05:56 AM
He will win the Eredivisie this season. Great move for him, fantastic goalkeeper.

Aye but he’s not as good as Tony Caig mind.

14-04-2023, 06:10 AM
If Marciano was an option id get him in pronto for next season. Even once LJ has departed.

21-05-2023, 11:45 AM
That’s the straw that breaks the camel’s back for me.

I’ve defended him all season but in a huge game for us where we’re up against it we need to be fairly immaculate.

Fair enough if we make them work hard for their goals but that was a disgrace, the sort of thing we got used to with Simon Brown and Zibi.

I don’t trust him. Replacement required.

21-05-2023, 11:47 AM
Far too many mistakes that have cost us goals.

Need a new number one as a priority.

21-05-2023, 11:51 AM
It’s like when you go to see a charity legends game, and at that pace you look at a player and think “He could still do a job, you know”. If they were to try, you’d see that they wouldn’t.

Marshall is at that stage. Been a good goalie in his career but can’t move his body quickly enough to play at a competitive level.

tamh
21-05-2023, 11:51 AM
A position that needs addressed, again, this summer.

Discuss.
Captain as well....... Joke:confused:

21-05-2023, 11:52 AM
If Marciano was an option id get him in pronto for next season. Even once LJ has departed.

Is LJ away in the summer?

21-05-2023, 11:55 AM
It's not as if he never knew how good Tavernier is at free kicks. No 1 priority is a new keeper, he's done.

21-05-2023, 11:55 AM
Priority IMO

21-05-2023, 11:58 AM
That's another howler. I really like Marshall but can't have a keeper making these mistakes. That was Zibi like against Hearts

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 11:59 AM
Never seen a goalie make as many mistakes over a season for us.

Dreadful and needs replaced as a priority.

KiddA
Rumors going around that Rocky is in the stand today. Hopefully to sign. Marshall is a bomb scare and has made too many mistakes this season.

Paulie Walnuts
Rumors going around that Rocky is in the stand today. Hopefully to sign. Marshall is a bomb scare and has made too many mistakes this season.

Please be true.

21-05-2023, 12:00 PM
Shades of Simon Brown vs Charlie Adam. Poor stuff. Tavernier must love playing us - minus Stokes. We must have made up a very generous portion of his goals tally over the years.

21-05-2023, 12:05 PM
He must be thinking about calling it a day himself. He's already well down the road with his plans for his post football (playing) life and these ever more frequent errors must be getting embarrassing for him.

Berwickhibby
21-05-2023, 12:14 PM
Pish poor defending

21-05-2023, 12:18 PM
Goalkeeper must be top priority after another mistake by marshall

21-05-2023, 12:28 PM
Is he injured, maybe something going on in his personal life or just a dreadful, prolonged lapse in form? Marshall must be embarrassed and reassessing his future at this rate. To only have a teenager as back up is extraordinarily bad planning…

21-05-2023, 12:31 PM
Is he injured, maybe something going on in his personal life or just a dreadful, prolonged lapse in form? Marshall must be embarrassed and reassessing his future at this rate. To only have a teenager as back up is extraordinarily bad planning…

Why would him being a teenager matter? Didn't teenage Marshall keep out Barcelona? Get the young lad in.

21-05-2023, 12:45 PM
If he doesn’t retire this summer, I’ll be going from pity to sheer dislike of him. If he doesn’t realise that his time is up, then it’ll be one of the rare occasions that the accusation of wage thief is valid.

21-05-2023, 12:47 PM
Surely the end of the road now for Marshal cost us dearly againl

Berwickhibby
21-05-2023, 12:47 PM
Marshall can GTF absolutely gash

21-05-2023, 12:57 PM
Start Johnson against Celtic and Hearts. Something is wrong with Marshall.

cameronw-hfc
21-05-2023, 01:03 PM
We were crap, but take away Marshalls two howlers and that finishes 1-1. Consistently costing us points. He doesn't just make mistakes when a few goals down, he's cost us so many points.

21-05-2023, 01:18 PM
Should never have let Macey go, far superior to the David Marshall of today.

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 01:19 PM
We were crap, but take away Marshalls two howlers and that finishes 1-1. Consistently costing us points. He doesn't just make mistakes when a few goals down, he's cost us so many points.

That was the main excuse for him recently was that at least his mistakes were when we were already getting beat which is a bizarre way to justify his terrible performances anyway. But he chucked that today in what was a huge game.

ehf
21-05-2023, 01:24 PM

:agree: First goal was vital today and Marshall basically chucked it in his own net.

21-05-2023, 01:30 PM
New goalkeeper has surely jumped to near the top of the priority list now. Cost us yet again.

21-05-2023, 01:31 PM
He has to go, shame, but all players have a shelf life (even Lewey) and he has passed his.

21-05-2023, 01:46 PM

I’ve no seen anything back but what goal was he at fault for other than the first?

Second I didn’t think he could do anything about and third just looked unlucky the way the ball bounced about.

That’s no a defence of him by the way. He’s had some dreadful errors leading directly to goals in the las 6-8 weeks. I just didn’t think, at the time, he was at fault for goals 2 or 3.

cameronw-hfc
21-05-2023, 01:56 PM
I’ve no seen anything back but what goal was he at fault for other than the first?

Second I didn’t think he could do anything about and third just looked unlucky the way the ball bounced about.

That’s no a defence of him by the way. He’s had some dreadful errors leading directly to goals in the las 6-8 weeks. I just didn’t think, at the time, he was at fault for goals 2 or 3.

Third goal he's so slow. Swipe the ball away with his leg, poke it away with his toe, or, since he's a keeper and should be agile enough readjust and get it.

He just let's it hit off of his foot. Its not easy, but it's not as hard as it seems to shift your feet out the way and get to it instead of just letting it bounce.

As I said on another thread, I've one knee, never made it past u16 pro youth and good boys club level in my day and more the shape of a football than a footballer now and even I'm faster at getting down and reacting than Marshall is these days.

And thats not bigging myself up as I'm about as agile as a dead cat now.

Hibees1973
21-05-2023, 01:57 PM
Cannot be relied on.

Replace.

21-05-2023, 02:02 PM
Third goal he's so slow. Swipe the ball away with his leg, poke it away with his toe, or, since he's a keeper and should be agile enough readjust and get it.

He just let's it hit off of his foot. Its not easy, but it's not as hard as it seems to shift your feet out the way and get to it instead of just letting it bounce.

As I said on another thread, I've one knee, never made it past u16 pro youth and good boys club level in my day and more the shape of a football than a footballer now and even I'm faster at getting down and reacting than Marshall is these days.

And thats not bigging myself up as I'm about as agile as a dead cat now.

Amazing that you dont have a job as a professional coach with such knowledge, the third wasn't a howler at all

cameronw-hfc
21-05-2023, 02:06 PM
Amazing that you dont have a job as a professional coach with such knowledge, the third wasn't a howler at all

Never claimed to know more than anyone else, all my own opinion 👍 agree to disagree then

gaz1875
21-05-2023, 02:07 PM
Was signed to give us some security at the back and he's been a total flump. He's probably chucked more into the net than kept out the net, get rid, no better than some of the so called hopeless keepers we've had in the past

21-05-2023, 02:12 PM
New keeper required for next season, hopeless.

Criswell
21-05-2023, 02:20 PM
Another goalkeeping horror-show, sadly by no means the first. Do we really have no-one else?

21-05-2023, 02:36 PM
Bring Marciano back. Move Marshall on couple of half decent saves doesn’t make up for the amount of soft goals he has let in over a season now.

21-05-2023, 02:40 PM
Is he contracted for next season ?

21-05-2023, 02:41 PM
Marshall has lost his agility it happens with keepers of his age. Need to get a younger keeper in for next season.

21-05-2023, 02:47 PM
With our other goalie going on loan to QOS next season , presumably we`re already looking for at least one experienced goalie anyway . Will need a new captain too .

madsen5
21-05-2023, 02:59 PM
New goalkeeper has surely jumped to near the top of the priority list now. Cost us yet again.

Marciano was at the game , source big Daz.

21-05-2023, 03:03 PM
Marciano was at the game , source big Daz.he was on the bench for Feyenoord this afternoon .

madsen5
21-05-2023, 03:23 PM
he was on the bench for Feyenoord this afternoon .

Daz definitely said he was there today after the game. Must have been stirring

21-05-2023, 03:45 PM
Marshall has to go

Rocky was on the bench today in Holland

New goalkeeper needed

21-05-2023, 03:49 PM
The annoying thing for me is that we should have been able to rely on him for at least another season and focus our money and attention on the other glaring deficiencies in our squad this summer.

However, now we genuinely need to consider if budget should be spent on a new goalkeeper too

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

21-05-2023, 03:50 PM
Yet another shocker from Marshall, seems like a good guy but I'd be absolutely gutted if he's our starting keeper next year.

If there's a chance of getting Marciano back it's a total no brainer. I want my keeper to keep the ball out the net.

Paulie Walnuts
21-05-2023, 03:53 PM
Yet another shocker from Marshall, seems like a good guy but I'd be absolutely gutted if he's our starting keeper next year.

If there's a chance of getting Marciano back it's a total no brainer. I want my keeper to keep the ball out the net.

Your last sentence is spot on. The only argument against Marciano is his distribution isn’t amazing. But as you say, I want my keeper to be able to keep the ball out the net first and foremost.

We’re not going to get a keeper who can do both exceptionally well given our place in the food chain, so let’s focus on the important part.

21-05-2023, 05:56 PM
The annoying thing for me is that we should have been able to rely on him for at least another season and focus our money and attention on the other glaring deficiencies in our squad this summer.

However, now we genuinely need to consider if budget should be spent on a new goalkeeper too

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

There is nothing to consider. It’s too important a position

I’ve been really disappointed by Marshall. In the last couple of months I can think of numerous goals he’s cost us. Penalties or not he should have saved them against Celtic and Motherwell. The one against Motherwell was his fault for conceding in the first place. The free kick v Motherwell. The free kick today. The goal at St Johnstone which was similar to the two penalties. Just not been good enough.

jakeshibs
21-05-2023, 05:58 PM
He has cost us all season,

21-05-2023, 06:05 PM
He has cost us all season,

Every match? Bollocks!

21-05-2023, 06:23 PM
I can see Marshall announcing his retirement after the hearts game.

21-05-2023, 06:27 PM
I can see Marshall announcing his retirement after the hearts game.

1 year into a 2 year contract…..yeah ok😂

21-05-2023, 06:28 PM
1 year into a 2 year contract…..yeah ok😂

He doesn’t strike me as a mercenary after cash. Can’t see him being short of a bob or two or happy with his contribution.

Bridge hibs
21-05-2023, 06:30 PM
He doesn’t strike me as a mercenary after cash. Can’t see him being short of a bob or two or happy with his contribution.Do we have a goalkeeping coach ?

21-05-2023, 06:30 PM
Do we have a goalkeeping coach ?

Yes, whose contract is up in the summer.

21-05-2023, 07:07 PM
Unfortunately I guess we are seeing why he only played 11 league games the two seasons prior to joining us.

I’d love him to have a couple of good games in the next two and get back close to his best but I just don’t see it. I think we need a new keeper that will provide proper competition for him.

21-05-2023, 07:18 PM
I wonder if we might look to bring in a keeper on loan and keep Marshall as back up with a view to bringing Johnson back as number 1 the following season (depending on his loan going well of course).

21-05-2023, 07:21 PM
What I find scary is how lacking in confidence he seems to be for such an experienced player.

He’s petrified of crosses and his much vaunted distribution is now below average when it was definitely excellent in the first few games.

Throw in the fact he’s not saving much and it’s a pretty grim situation.

It’s not what we need from our goalie and especially our captain who we’re wanting to be assertive and brave.

Aberdeen are pretty average but have a really good keeper and you can see the difference.

21-05-2023, 07:25 PM
Yup, new one needed, he's had his day in the sun. That first goal was Sunday league level goalkeeping

21-05-2023, 07:44 PM

Your last sentence is spot on. The only argument against Marciano is his distribution isn’t amazing. But as you say, I want my keeper to be able to keep the ball out the net first and foremost.

We’re not going to get a keeper who can do both exceptionally well given our place in the food chain, so let’s focus on the important part.

Even Marshall’s saving grace of good distribution has gone. It has been absolutely stinking for weeks now.

21-05-2023, 07:46 PM
Even Marshall’s saving grace of good distribution has gone. It has been absolutely stinking for weeks now.

Yup. Seems reluctant to try it these days.

21-05-2023, 08:26 PM
Apparently he's conceded 10 goals above his xga.

In other words, we've conceded 10 goals more than we should have.

That's shambolic.

21-05-2023, 08:27 PM
A transfer gamble in January not to bring a short term keeper in. One of which that is coming back to bite us. We have Johnson on the bench but no matter how bad Marshall’s form gets Johnson isn’t yet a viable alternative despite being on the bench every week.

We did the same with CB. Sold Porteous, knew Rocky was injured, signed Devlin but without any actual intention of playing him and crosses our fingers neither Hanlon or Fish got injured or suspended.

21-05-2023, 09:33 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230521/ec748513750dc0620356e5820351f7d5.jpg

That Laidlaw looks decent [emoji102]

21-05-2023, 09:45 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230521/ec748513750dc0620356e5820351f7d5.jpg

That Laidlaw looks decent [emoji102]

Craig Gordon's let in more goals per game than all the others. 🤔

22-05-2023, 05:02 AM
A transfer gamble in January not to bring a short term keeper in. One of which that is coming back to bite us. We have Johnson on the bench but no matter how bad Marshall’s form gets Johnson isn’t yet a viable alternative despite being on the bench every week.

We did the same with CB. Sold Porteous, knew Rocky was injured, signed Devlin but without any actual intention of playing him and crosses our fingers neither Hanlon or Fish got injured or suspended.

Hang on! So we didn't bring in experience for the goalie position but we did for the central defence! 😁

22-05-2023, 06:02 AM
Hang on! So we didn't bring in experience for the goalie position but we did for the central defence! 😁

We didn't really bring in a CB.

We have offered a CB a glorified extended trial. We played 2 inexperienced CBs together at Tannadice, something Johnson bemoaned extensively in his post match interview, whilst the experienced CB we supposedly signed as cover was sat on the bench. There's clearly no intention to ever play him this season so he's not added anything to the squad in terms of depth or options on the park.

22-05-2023, 07:39 AM
I still think that although we need a replacement goalie, I’ll be very surprised if we go for an experienced option. IMO it will be someone young looking to break into first team football, on loan would be my guess.

I think someone at a similar background and stage of their career as Matt Macey.

If the goalie coach was just a short term deal it makes complete sense imo for Marshall to take over goalie coaching duties whilst being back up and providing competition to a younger goalie.

I actually wonder if we have over played Marshall this season and it’s lead to him running out of legs at the end. Some younger proper competition would probably do him some good.

22-05-2023, 11:52 AM
We didn't really bring in a CB.

We have offered a CB a glorified extended trial. We played 2 inexperienced CBs together at Tannadice, something Johnson bemoaned extensively in his post match interview, whilst the experienced CB we supposedly signed as cover was sat on the bench. There's clearly no intention to ever play him this season so he's not added anything to the squad in terms of depth or options on the park.

We did bring him in though 😁

22-05-2023, 12:28 PM
If Marshall ends up as Goalie coach I hope he gets a bit advice before hand on how to position a goalkeeper at freekicks from outside the box.

22-05-2023, 01:30 PM
Keep him on as goalie coach.

22-05-2023, 01:35 PM
Keep him on as goalie coach.

So he can teach other goalies how to let in goals?

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 02:15 PM
So he can teach other goalies how to let in goals?

Yeah I don’t get the idea he should be staying on as goalkeeper coach. Has he ever done any coaching before?

22-05-2023, 02:17 PM
Yup, new one needed, he's had his day in the sun. That first goal was Sunday league level goalkeeping
Apparently over in Keekback, its Cup semi goalkeeping???
As for a new keeper, Livvie keeper looks promising, maybe worth a punt???

Chorley Hibee
22-05-2023, 02:20 PM
Yeah I don’t get the idea he should be staying on as goalkeeper coach. Has he ever done any coaching before?

Many seem to have an obsession with giving players coaching roles based on pretty much nothing.

22-05-2023, 02:23 PM

Never mind coaching, is he up for doubling up as a scout whilst living in his car? That's still the key component of being a goalkeeping coach, right?

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 02:25 PM
Never mind coaching, is he up for doubling up as a scout whilst living in his car? That's still the key component of being a goalkeeping coach, right?

What was that boys name again? :faf:

22-05-2023, 02:30 PM
What was that boys name again? :faf:

Chicken Tikka Masala

Or Steve Marsella to give his Sunday name.

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2023, 02:31 PM
Chicken Tikka Masala

Or Steve Marsella to give his Sunday name.

Some boy.

I’ll be honest and say I was buzzing he was coming here as I thought he’d unearth us the next Tudor Jones.

Instead we got the actual Tudor Jones.

22-05-2023, 02:52 PM
Replacing the goalkeeper is a priority for me, going into next season with Marshall as number one is intolerable, we need a goalie that wins us points, not costs us them.

22-05-2023, 02:56 PM
Apparently over in Keekback, its Cup semi goalkeeping???
As for a new keeper, Livvie keeper looks promising, maybe worth a punt???

Personally don't rate George from Livi think he is shakey as

22-05-2023, 02:59 PM
Replacing the goalkeeper is a priority for me, going into next season with Marshall as number one is intolerable, we need a goalie that wins us points, not costs us them.

There are a lot of positions to fill for next season, but I agree, get the keeper sorted as a priority.

He’s meant to be a safe pair of hands. He’s meant to be a leader. His heads down and he’s fumbling and making mistakes week in week out.

I really hope we can come to some kind of agreement in the summer where he leaves. He’s got another year, but hopefully there’s interest from elsewhere. I’ve no idea of his wage, but it’ll be too much for us to be wasting on a sub keeper.

22-05-2023, 03:03 PM
There are a lot of positions to fill for next season, but I agree, get the keeper sorted as a priority.

He’s meant to get a safe pair of hands. He’s meant to be a leader. His heads down and he’s fumbling and making mistakes week in week out.

I really hope we can come to some kind of agreement in the summer where he leaves. He’s got another year, but hopefully there’s interest from elsewhere. I’ve no idea of his wage, but it’ll be too much for us to be wasting on a sub keeper.

Hopefully he's realised he's done and chooses to retire at the end of this season.

22-05-2023, 03:41 PM
Marshall looks like pre-Hibs Jim Leighton.

I'm not convinced he's finished but I'm not convinced he's going to find better form with us.

The mistakes are naive, stupid and costly and we can't afford them.

22-05-2023, 03:48 PM
Goalies by save % this season

Kelle Roos 75.8%
Ross Laidlaw 71.2%
Mark Birighitti 71.1%
Joe Hart 70.5%
Craig Gordon 70.4%
Sam Walker 69.0%
Zander Clark 68.2%
Trevor Carson 66.4%
Liam Kelly 65.9%
Shamal George 65.8%
Remi Matthews 63.8%
David Marshall 62.7%
Allan McGregor 59.3%

McGregor is being binned by Rangers and it's clear why. We need to do the same.

We'd be better bringing Laidlaw back rather than Shamal George.

Silky
22-05-2023, 04:56 PM
Goalies by save % this season

Kelle Roos 75.8%
Ross Laidlaw 71.2%
Mark Birighitti 71.1%
Joe Hart 70.5%
Craig Gordon 70.4%
Sam Walker 69.0%
Zander Clark 68.2%
Trevor Carson 66.4%
Liam Kelly 65.9%
Shamal George 65.8%
Remi Matthews 63.8%
David Marshall 62.7%
Allan McGregor 59.3%

McGregor is being binned by Rangers and it's clear why. We need to do the same.

We'd be better bringing Laidlaw back rather than Shamal George.

Birighitti is third? Wow. He's an absolute liability.

22-05-2023, 04:58 PM
Hopefully he's realised he's done and chooses to retire at the end of this season.

After falling on his sword and being carried out on his shield after a glorious victory at Tiny

22-05-2023, 05:06 PM
Personally don't rate George from Livi think he is shakey as

Always likely to have a bungle

GreenPJ
22-05-2023, 07:54 PM
It was an error no doubt about it but Tavernier has scored against just about everyone with his free kicks and he had scored against us at Ibrox from a similar angle but into the far corner. I wonder if this was on Marshalls mins and he was too far over for the to his left.

22-05-2023, 08:16 PM
It was an error no doubt about it but Tavernier has scored against just about everyone with his free kicks and he had scored against us at Ibrox from a similar angle but into the far corner. I wonder if this was on Marshalls mins and he was too far over for the to his left.

He wasn’t too far over. His position was fine. He’s in the middle of the goals when the balls hit. He just made an arse of it.

Maybe scared of bashing into the post.

Newcastlehibby
22-05-2023, 08:19 PM

He’s quite zippy across the 6 yard box though.

22-05-2023, 08:22 PM
I wonder if we'd be interested in a loan deal for James Trafford who was on loan at Bolton from Man City. He played 52 times for Bolton last season and 33 games with Acrington Stanley/Bolton the season before that. He's still only 20 .

cameronw-hfc
22-05-2023, 08:26 PM
I wonder if we'd be interested in a loan deal for James Trafford who was on loan at Bolton from Man City. He played 52 times for Bolton last season and 33 games with Acrington Stanley/Bolton the season before that. He's still only 20 .

If we went for him we'd need to deal with that Thogden coming to our games as they've got a strange wee friendship. For that reason alone I'd say no😂

22-05-2023, 08:56 PM
That’s the straw that breaks the camel’s back for me.

I’ve defended him all season but in a huge game for us where we’re up against it we need to be fairly immaculate.

Fair enough if we make them work hard for their goals but that was a disgrace, the sort of thing we got used to with Simon Brown and Zibi.

I don’t trust him. Replacement required.

Exactly the same for me. Made a couple of posts during the week saying that I’d made my peace with the numerous mistakes that he’s made this season, but yesterday crossed a threshold, I just couldn’t believe what I was seeing with the first goal.

My Brother was late in yesterday due to the queues and when he came in I said that I was worried about Marshall - he had a bad kick out very early on, and at the two corners that they nearly scored from in the first five mins, he looked all over the place.

That said, the mistake, when it came, was just staggering. Was an absolute scunner at a point where we had a decent grip on the game, and we never really recovered from it. That level of keeping is just too poor, and at this stage of the season, is just too costly. Replacement definitely required.

Annoyingly, McCrorie looked as much of a basket case for Rangers as Marshall did for us - things were bouncing off him all day, but he was lucky enough to get away with it.

22-05-2023, 11:37 PM
He wasn’t too far over. His position was fine. He’s in the middle of the goals when the balls hit. He just made an arse of it.

Maybe scared of bashing into the post.

Cant agree with that mate, he left far too big a gap at near post IMO - was right inline behind Tavernier and I couldn't believe Marshall wasn't positioned closer to the near post, especially given Taverniers history with free kicks.

23-05-2023, 07:28 AM

He’s quite zippy across the 6 yard box though.

Jut googled Rainbow, for old time's sake, and learned that Geoffrey Hayes, the presenter, spent time in Dundee as an actor and became a fan of Dundee United. And that, boys and girls, is why Zippy is orange.:cb

23-05-2023, 08:07 AM
Cant agree with that mate, he left far too big a gap at near post IMO - was right inline behind Tavernier and I couldn't believe Marshall wasn't positioned closer to the near post, especially given Taverniers history with free kicks.

I'm not convinced he has left too big a gap. It was a step and a half from centre and he made up the ground to get across comfortably, it wasn't like he got nowhere near it because of his positioning. He's just made a complete arse of actually getting a dive away and then getting hands on the ball; whether that is because he has seen the post and worried he is going to collide with it or whether he just completely misjudged where he was in relation to the target I don't know. The ball wasn't struck ferociously and I'd expect a decent keeper at League 2 level, possibly even below, to have been able to get across 2 or 3 yards in the time the ball was in the air and make that save comfortably. I'd probably have lined up in broadly the same place Marshall did and I'd have been cringing if I lost that goal. I always say there are 2 types of goalkeeping error, the howler and the one where deep down you know yourself you could have done better. This one was definitely the former.

I started this thread some time ago now, ironically enough after a poor kick out from Marshall cost us a goal in another defeat to Rangers, and it's interesting to see how the mood has changed. It's gone from general disagreement and 'we are lucky to have him' to broad agreement that it's a position that needs urgently addressed in the summer. The warning signs have been there for some time even if they weren't always costing us goals. He looks totally bereft of confidence and that's when keepers start doing silly things as indecisiveness impacts decision making (the penalty concession v Motherwell instantly springs to mind). You can see the hesitancy in his distribution as well now which wasn't there at the start of the season.

We have 2 huge games coming up and if we had a real alternative in the squad then I would be making the switch. Tbh I'd still be tempted but my worry would be it's one game where we will likely be under a lot of pressure at home and another with an intimidating atmosphere away where Hearts fans would be baying for a young goalies blood. If he didn't handle it well it could really set young Murray Johnson back and may unfairly cast early question marks over him among the support. Of course the flip side is he could thrive. If Marshall makes another error then it would be costly for us but he's at the end of his career so would be less potentially devastating for his entire career.

Weighing it up if I were the gaffer I'd be brave and start Johnson on Wednesday but that's easy to say when it's hypothetical and my standing with the support isn't on the line.

23-05-2023, 10:41 AM
Weighing it up if I were the gaffer I'd be brave and start Johnson on Wednesday but that's easy to say when it's hypothetical and my standing with the support isn't on the line.

I'd have dropped him a couple of weeks back simply to get Johnson some game time. Marshall couldn't have complained. He'll know himself he's chucked a few in. However a debut versus Celtic is a gamble. Not because I don't rate him but if he has a nightmare then we've got an unreliable goalie or a bag of nerves at Tynie in a game we want to win whether that secures Europe or not.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

23-05-2023, 12:55 PM
Marciano has reached out to Hibs but has had no reply, according to his Mrs.

Allan McGregor released by huns, wonder if he will keep playing.

23-05-2023, 01:42 PM
I like Big Marsh

I'm sure it's coincidence but IMO he's never been the same since going on Sky Sports News as a pundit.

And it might (might) be time to be doing that gig full time.

If so, hope he goes out on a high.

He'll know himself - a lot of old pros say the same.

If he is feeling like the last game of the season (a derby, at a sold out ground) gives him the same feeling as his first ever games (Camp Nou) then he's got more to give.

If the thrill has gone though, for a derby finale, then he'll know what to do this summer...

23-05-2023, 01:49 PM
Marciano has reached out to Hibs but has had no reply, according to his Mrs.

Allan McGregor released by huns, wonder if he will keep playing.

https://twitter.com/chriswood1875x/status/1660977539244867585?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

That’s not really what was said in his Mrs response. There’s nothing there about being offered to Hibs, just that we haven’t been in touch.

Going to be a lot of disappointed people this summer imo, I just really can’t see us paying for 2 experienced, senior goalies demanding big wages.

It’ll be a young up and coming goalie with minimal experience, hoping to break into regular first team football. Will be someone currently 3rd or 4th choice at a big club down south imo.

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2023, 01:53 PM
https://twitter.com/chriswood1875x/status/1660977539244867585?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

That’s not really what was said in his Mrs response. There’s nothing there about being offered to Hibs, just that we haven’t been in touch.

Going to be a lot of disappointed people this summer imo, I just really can’t see us paying for 2 experienced, senior goalies demanding big wages.

It’ll be a young up and coming goalie with minimal experience, hoping to break into regular first team football. Will be someone currently 3rd or 4th choice at a big club down south imo.

If that’s the route we go down then we’re unlikely to improve our league placing next season imo.

A good goalie is a huge part of the team. Sticking with Marshall or going for an untried goalie is a gamble we simply shouldn’t be taking imo.

23-05-2023, 01:58 PM

Fair point, it's open to interpretation for sure.

23-05-2023, 02:04 PM
If that’s the route we go down then we’re unlikely to improve our league placing next season imo.

A good goalie is a huge part of the team. Sticking with Marshall or going for an untried goalie is a gamble we simply shouldn’t be taking imo.

I disagree. We signed an experienced goalie last year and it’s not done us much good this season.

It’s not as black and white as experienced goalie = good, young goalie = bad. There’ll be loads of good young goalies available to us, many will have decent first team experience out on loan. They’ll all be a lot cheaper than an experienced international with hundreds of games under their belt.

23-05-2023, 02:05 PM

I don't think it means totally untried but rather someone working their way through the loan cycle at a big club.

I'd point to someone like Nathan Baxter at Hull on loan from Chelsea. He's done the Southern League to National league to Scottish Premiership (Ross County) to League One and then to Championship.

By the time he arrived at County he had played over 100 games albeit at a fairly low level. If we can get someone on that kind of journey then it arguably makes more sense than shelling out a lot of money on someone who may be little more than a block to promoting one of our own in a years time.

23-05-2023, 02:17 PM
I don't think it means totally untried but rather someone working their way through the loan cycle at a big club.

I'd point to someone like Nathan Baxter at Hull on loan from Chelsea. He's done the Southern League to National league to Scottish Premiership (Ross County) to League One and then to Championship.

By the time he arrived at County he had played over 100 games albeit at a fairly low level. If we can get someone on that kind of journey then it arguably makes more sense than shelling out a lot of money on someone who may be little more than a block to promoting one of our own in a years time.

I’ve been quite enjoying being a sad ******* and working my way through transfermarkt looking at keepers who may fit the bill. Few possibilities so far listed below:-

Arthur Okonkwo- mentioned him earlier but don’t care, saying his name again. Had a howler against us in pre-season but had a couple of good loan spells since then, just recently won the Austrian cup with Sturm Graz.

Nicky Hogarth- Scottish under 21 international, impressed on loan at Falkirk in the first half of the season apparently, don’t know if that’s true or not, read it on Twitter so I assume so. Just left Nottingham Forest today.

Nathan Bishop- Young Man Utd goalie, done well out on loan, never going to play first team at Man Utd. Fish having a good loan with us may work in our favour.

Got a bit bored looking after that.

23-05-2023, 04:06 PM
Marshall started to go off a bit after he was put into the back of the net at Ross County.

23-05-2023, 05:37 PM
Fair point, it's open to interpretation for sure.

Which part of what Shelley has said are you interpreting as "Marciano has reached out to Hibs"?

25-05-2023, 01:47 PM
See Remi Matthew’s is leaving St Johnstone to go back to his parent club, Crystal Palace.

I’ve never really noticed him but St Johnstone fans on Twitter appear to love him. No chance of him playing for Crystal Palace and would be a cheap, experienced option, without being too old.

Anybody know if he’s any good or likely to be one we would be interested in?

25-05-2023, 02:24 PM
Marsh was very comfortable yesterday.

25-05-2023, 02:47 PM
See Remi Matthew’s is leaving St Johnstone to go back to his parent club, Crystal Palace.

I’ve never really noticed him but St Johnstone fans on Twitter appear to love him. No chance of him playing for Crystal Palace and would be a cheap, experienced option, without being too old.

Anybody know if he’s any good or likely to be one we would be interested in?

LJ had him at Sunderland but I think Matthews made quite a few mistakes during that time so unsure how keen he’d be to bring him here

cameronw-hfc
25-05-2023, 05:31 PM
Marsh was very comfortable yesterday.

Besides one save he pushed right to Abada, he was fine yesterday. Don't think even a motm performance vs Hearts would change my mind tho, he's too far gone

Paulie Walnuts
25-05-2023, 05:34 PM
Besides one save he pushed right to Abada, he was fine yesterday. Don't think even a motm performance vs Hearts would change my mind tho, he's too far gone

Without sounding overly negative I’d also argue he didn’t have anything to do that I wouldn’t expect a competent keeper to manage.

Had no chance with the goals and had a couple of decent saves but saves you’d be disappointed if he didn’t make. You can’t ask for much more than that from him but it wasn’t a performance to make you change opinion on him.

25-05-2023, 05:50 PM
Which part of what Shelley has said are you interpreting as "Marciano has reached out to Hibs"?

Really?

She said "we never heard from Hibs"

That could mean Marciano enquired and never heard back. Or it could just mean they never got a call from Hibs. Either are possible.

25-05-2023, 06:45 PM
Really?

She said "we never heard from Hibs"

That could mean Marciano enquired and never heard back. Or it could just mean they never got a call from Hibs. Either are possible.

So why did you say "Marciano has reached out to Hibs" if he maybe did or he maybe didn't?

cameronw-hfc
25-05-2023, 07:03 PM
So why did you say "Marciano has reached out to Hibs" if he maybe did or he maybe didn't?

Was that not a direct quote from the tweet? I'm assuming it's from the tweet as the boy who messaged her tweeted something along those lines and assumed it was from there.

25-05-2023, 07:27 PM

Because thats what the tweet said as Cameron pointed out. Then I said fair enough it could be interpreted either way:aok:

No need to get so excited pal ��

27-05-2023, 06:59 PM
Thought he was slow down to the ball for their goal again today.

Not sure he's saved a shot on target by a hearts player when he's been our keeper.

27-05-2023, 07:01 PM

Not sure he's saved a shot on target by a hearts player when he's been our keeper.

Definitely made some saves in the first derby at ER to keep us in the game after HT.

I thought he was a bit slow going down today as well, but maybe unsighted until late.

27-05-2023, 07:01 PM

I thought he should have saved it, but wondered if I was being harsh. Not exactly a howler, but another saveable effort that’s ended up in our net.

Paulie Walnuts
27-05-2023, 07:03 PM
The better goalies in our league don’t let that one in imo.

Not a howler but should do better.

27-05-2023, 07:38 PM
I thought he should have saved it, but wondered if I was being harsh. Not exactly a howler, but another saveable effort that’s ended up in our net.

I would blame Youan far more than Marshall for their goal. His positioning was appalling. I think Marsh was unsighted and it came through Lewis' legs and possibly Newells too. He has been at fault for a few but not sure I would blame him much for that one

27-05-2023, 07:42 PM
I would blame Youan far more than Marshall for their goal. His positioning was appalling. I think Marsh was unsighted and it came through Lewis' legs and possibly Newells too. He has been at fault for a few but not sure I would blame him much for that one

Youann switched off, definitely.

Personally didn't think newell needed to put the balm out for a throw in, in the first place. Had easy passes on.

Marshall must have seen him hit it though and there was only one place it was going. Not an outright howler, but should've done better.

27-05-2023, 07:51 PM
I would only blame the keeper outright if the rest of the players were blameless. The Hearts boy was first to the second ball and that gave him the opportunity.

27-05-2023, 07:54 PM
I'm as big a critic of Marshall as anyone but I'm not blaming him for that.

A well struck shot with a decent amount of power behind it. Low and came through bodies meaning he both saw it late and couldn't react to it until it had cleared that crowd. Very harsh to point the finger at him for that one.

27-05-2023, 07:56 PM

A well struck shot with a decent amount of power behind it. Low and came through bodies meaning he both saw it late and couldn't react to it until it had cleared that crowd. Very harsh to point the finger at him for that one.
Well said

cameronw-hfc
27-05-2023, 10:54 PM
It wasn't a shocker, but a good keeper saves that

27-05-2023, 11:02 PM

I'm not convinced it had that much power on it and although it went through players, I think it was at least 6 yards if not, 8 yards out before he could see it.

Where else was it going when he hit it?

28-05-2023, 08:08 AM

Don't think he had a chance of it.

28-05-2023, 09:15 AM
No fault for the goal yesterday IMO. I was right behind it and it came through a lot of bodies, he’d have seen it really late and it was a pretty clean strike.

Youan the one to blame for sleeping and letting Oda on to the second ball.