View Full Version : So the runners and riders are...

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11

24-02-2023, 09:02 AM
truth be told, the SNP is absolutely goosed whoever it chooses.

Zambernardi1875
24-02-2023, 09:02 AM
Humza or nothing for the hierarchy according to this, self destruct button pressed

@Record_Politics
EXCLUSIVE: SNP MSPs are planning to scupper Kate Forbes’ bid to lead the country by refusing to vote for her as First Minister
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/snp-msps-vote-against-kate-29296454

Read it till it said “up to 6” rag

24-02-2023, 09:03 AM
Humza is a sleekit twisty turny type. At least Kate was honest.
And she's done a better job too.

TrumpIsAPeado
24-02-2023, 09:06 AM
truth be told, the SNP is absolutely goosed whoever it chooses.

Seems completely intentional to me. If they were actually serious then they would have held off a bit. Perhaps held a by-election to get a big hitter like Ian Blackford as an MSP and into the leadership contest.

Either the SNP have just given up or they're predicting very rocky economic times ahead and are effectively putting a scape goat in place who can be easily launched and replaced later.

Stairway 2 7
24-02-2023, 09:09 AM
Read it till it said “up to 6” rag

Even 1 voting against would be a big story. I doubt it will get to that as it'll unfortunately be Yousaf until he's booted

24-02-2023, 09:16 AM
Seems completely intentional to me. If they were actually serious then they would have held off a bit. Perhaps held a by-election to get a big hitter like Ian Blackford as an MSP and into the leadership contest.

Either the SNP have just given up or they're predicting very rocky economic times ahead and are effectively putting a scape goat in place who can be easily launched and replaced later.

it's much more straightforward IMO - they've been in power for as long as the youngest voters have been alive, and that is very hard to sustain without infighting and factionalism taking hold. they've also got hardly any runway left for independence in the immediate future, which has been what has held them together for so long - a concrete, common cause.

TrumpIsAPeado
24-02-2023, 09:20 AM
it's much more straightforward IMO - they've been in power for as long as the youngest voters have been alive, and that is very hard to sustain without infighting and factionalism taking hold. they've also got hardly any runway left for independence in the immediate future, which has been what has held them together for so long - a concrete, common cause.

There's certainly an element of that. But looking at who's available in the leadership contest here, I can't take any of it seriously. There's no way that this was the party's top choice for leadership candidates. I reckon the UK economy is heading for catastrophe and I wouldn't be surprised if the tories triggered a general election very soon. The SNP are looking for someone who will take the fall in Scotland imo.

Stairway 2 7
24-02-2023, 09:49 AM
There's certainly an element of that. But looking at who's available in the leadership contest here, I can't take any of it seriously. There's no way that this was the party's top choice for leadership candidates. I reckon the UK economy is heading for catastrophe and I wouldn't be surprised if the tories triggered a general election very soon. The SNP are looking for someone who will take the fall in Scotland imo.

If you feel the uk economy if going for a large catastrophe then you should short the pound. Its going to be bad this year 0.6% fall in gdp then next 1% growth in 24 and 2% the two years after that.

Citi group this week became the latest to say uk inflation will be lower than 2% by the end of this year, it will stay there the next 4 years too. That alone will make the hell of the last few years seem much less. Wages should rise above inflation on average, so a bit rest from the crippling inflation
https://www.bnnbloomberg.ca/uk-inflation-to-fall-to-just-above-2-by-end-of-2023-citi-says-1.1886942#:~:text=(Bloomberg)%20%2D%2D%20The%20UK' s%20inflation,and%20businesses%2C%20according%20to %20Citigroup.

24-02-2023, 09:51 AM
Why not, when his community saw how he voted that could be when the pressure was applied. As far as I know he voted in no further stages, only stage 1.

Does it really matter, you are like a dug with a bone.

James310
24-02-2023, 10:08 AM
Does it really matter, you are like a dug with a bone.

Stop replying to pretty much every single one of my posts then. Stick to the subject if you have something to say than forever having a go at me.

Who do you want to win?

He's here!
24-02-2023, 10:10 AM
Humza or nothing for the hierarchy according to this, self destruct button pressed

@Record_Politics
EXCLUSIVE: SNP MSPs are planning to scupper Kate Forbes’ bid to lead the country by refusing to vote for her as First Minister
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/snp-msps-vote-against-kate-29296454

The more internal chaos the better.

24-02-2023, 10:31 AM

So Party over country?

TrumpIsAPeado
24-02-2023, 10:33 AM
So Party over country?

Not really. If the economy is goosed anyway, then it won't make any difference who the leading face is.

24-02-2023, 10:39 AM

That’s all just a complete load of nonsense. Nobody is lining up scapegoats or sacrificing anything. The FM is standing down and a leadership election is underway. That’s all that’s happening.
The SNP has nearly 100k members. Do you think that someone can control all those members? The members are now in control of things until we pick a leader.
There is no grand puppet master pulling peoples strings. That’s just fantasy by the type of people that think the illuminati run the world.

24-02-2023, 10:40 AM
Not really. If the economy is goosed anyway, then it won't make any difference who the leading face is.

If the Party is intentionally not putting the best talent at Holyrood forward to take on the role of First Minister then they would be putting party before country.
Personally I don’t believe that to be true, this is the best they have. The talent pool really is that shallow.

24-02-2023, 10:44 AM
Stop replying to pretty much every single one of my posts then. Stick to the subject if you have something to say than forever having a go at me.

Who do you want to win?

Every post, don't flatter yourself, I reply when you talk pish.

TBH there's not a lot between the candidates, both have their qualities and both have faults but show me any leader who's perfect. I think Humza has better experience but Forbes is probably more clever. The important thing is they get on with the job as FM and get independence back on track.

Santa Cruz
24-02-2023, 10:45 AM

If you're economy was goosed, you would rebuild it with time and planning, which is what happened in most countries following WW11. Look to Japan if you need an example.

24-02-2023, 10:46 AM

TBH there's not a lot between the candidates, both have their qualities and both have faults but show me any leader who's perfect. I think Humza has better experience but Forbes is probably more clever. The important thing is they get on with the job as FM and get independence back on track.

...but a bigot.

it's mad how people who support her barely even try to deny this. (not saying that you support her - i just don't know how people can see past it when it would be such a terrible precedent)

Sergio sledge
24-02-2023, 10:47 AM
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/82ea5a6c-b3c4-11ed-bc64-f71663a88018?shareToken=df42db307600e077ebaada1532 f6b59c

She's definitely making a concerted push to move the debate onto other issues.

Clearly there will be some who cannot vote for her because of her beliefs and that is a valid stance to take, but there does seem to be a significant proportion of people who are out there to be convinced and stuff like this should help her with that.

It will be interesting to see what happens when the debates start in earnest.

24-02-2023, 10:47 AM
If you're economy was goosed, you would rebuild it with time and planning, which is what happened in most countries following WW11. Look to Japan if you need an example.

christ, how long was i in a coma for? :confused::wink:

James310
24-02-2023, 10:48 AM

How do you know what I said was "pish" unless you know the facts? If it comes out he did deliberately miss the vote it's accurate what I am suggesting.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/82ea5a6c-b3c4-11ed-bc64-f71663a88018?shareToken=df42db307600e077ebaada1532 f6b59c

She's definitely making a concerted push to move the debate onto other issues.

Clearly there will be some who cannot vote for her because of her beliefs and that is a valid stance to take, but there does seem to be a significant proportion of people who are out there to be convinced and stuff like this should help her with that.

It will be interesting to see what happens when the debates start in earnest.

when it does, someone needs to ask her about dinosaurs.

TrumpIsAPeado
That’s all just a complete load of nonsense. Nobody is lining up scapegoats or sacrificing anything. The FM is standing down and a leadership election is underway. That’s all that’s happening.
The SNP has nearly 100k members. Do you think that someone can control all those members? The members are now in control of things until we pick a leader.
There is no grand puppet master pulling peoples strings. That’s just fantasy by the type of people that think the illuminati run the world.

It's very easy to simply write it off as nonsense. But time will tell I guess.

If the Party is intentionally not putting the best talent at Holyrood forward to take on the role of First Minister then they would be putting party before country.
Personally I don’t believe that to be true, this is the best they have. The talent pool really is that shallow.

I don't see how it really benefits the country in any meaningful way to put forward a stronger candidate, when the economic situation is already inevitable. They'd just be wasting a good talent, when they can allow a lesser talent to take the fall.

But time reveals all, so i'll say nothing more on the matter.

24-02-2023, 10:49 AM
...but a bigot.

it's mad how people who support her barely even try to deny this. (not saying that you support her - i just don't know how people can see past it when it would be such a terrible precedent)

While I have problems with the things she said I genuinely don’t think of her as a bigot. I think she articulated her answers appallingly though.

24-02-2023, 11:05 AM
... having an explicit bigot as First Minister.

... there are some red line issues, and bigotry is one of them.

...but a bigot.You keep saying this, but you saying it repeatedly doesn't make it so.

While I have problems with the things she said I genuinely don’t think of her as a bigot. Me neither.

24-02-2023, 11:06 AM
...but a bigot.

I don't know enough about full background but seeing your previous posts, there is an agenda against her from yourself.

24-02-2023, 11:12 AM
How do you know what I said was "pish" unless you know the facts? If it comes out he did deliberately miss the vote it's accurate what I am suggesting.

The facts are there that he voted for it in the 1st ballot, its up to you to provide facts proving he lied about the 2nd vote, show me actual facts not speculation.

24-02-2023, 11:14 AM
... show me actual facts not speculation.Are you new here? :greengrin

24-02-2023, 11:14 AM
So Party over country?

Yes, if you take his post's argument at face value.

However the idea that the SNP is or was in any way in a shape that would allow them to conceive, design and execute some kind of fantastically supervillain-clever plan to address "Either the SNP have just given up or they're predicting very rocky economic times ahead and are effectively putting a scape goat in place" by playing three dimensional political chess is just hilarious.

Sturgeon left in a hurry. A very big hurry. Virtually no-one knew in advance. That is not how these things are done unless some kind of critical event is forcing the hand. It would not be unreasonable to have expected her to have a) had another role lined up, b) had a successor lined up c) allowed the party to plan for the succession by announcing that she would depart in, say, a year or six months, d) informed more of the key people of what she was about to do. None of that happened. Instead they were pitched into more or less immediate crisis.

There is nothing about this that is normal and very little about it that is sensible. They're now running a truncated leadership selection process, at no notice, with no obvious successor and a 'talent pool' that looks more like a puddle than a pool.

The past few days isn't even the worst part for them. Very far from it. There is a behind the scenes drama being played out here, largely by proxy, with all the usual players involved and some very familiar issues too. It won't stop after this leadership election is concluded.

The last thing some want is a new party leader whose religious affiliations involve a very strict moral code which doesn't just apply to personal sleeping arrangements but also includes an ultra orthodox approach to absolutely everything else. That is a very significant part of the reason why you are seeing such enthusiastic yellow on yellow action taking place. And BTW, she's not just a bog-standard practising adherent to the Free Church. She was brought up as a child of religious missionary parents in that church. Agree or disagree with her, but there's a zeal and probity there which won't easily compromise on ethical or moral matters of any sort.

Sergio sledge
24-02-2023, 11:18 AM
...but a bigot.

She's my MSP and having had many conversations with her on a broad range of subjects I don't think she is a bigot.

I think she was boxed into a corner and didn't answer very well, but she definitely re-iterated this a few times,

"Ultimately in a pluralistic and a tolerant society my approach is to defend your right to live and to love, and to do so without fear or harassment"

Doesn't really sound like the words of a bigot to me.

Stonewall
24-02-2023, 11:18 AM
He was asked all the same questions but pointed out that he is supportive of gay marriage, voted for gender reform and has no problem with unmarried people having children. I saw him being asked on STV on Tuesday.

Fair points I guess, I just don't think they're drilling down into his beliefs or the tenets of Islam in quite the same way. Probably because of ignorance on the part of the Journos or they're NS client journalists.

Anyway, it's no wonder politicians use weasel words and are evasive and obfuscating if this is where honesty gets you.

Zambernardi1875
24-02-2023, 11:20 AM
Yes, if you take his post's argument at face value.

However the idea that the SNP is or was in any way in a shape that would allow them to conceive, design and execute some kind of fantastically supervillain-clever plan to address "Either the SNP have just given up or they're predicting very rocky economic times ahead and are effectively putting a scape goat in place" by playing three dimensional political chess is just hilarious.

Sturgeon left in a hurry. A very big hurry. Virtually no-one knew in advance. That is not how these things are done unless some kind of critical event is forcing the hand. It would not be unreasonable to have expected her to have a) had another role lined up, b) had a successor lined up c) allowed the party to plan for the succession by announcing that she would depart in, say, a year or six months, d) informed more of the key people of what she was about to do. None of that happened. Instead they were pitched into more or less immediate crisis.

There is nothing about this that is normal and very little about it that is sensible. They're now running a truncated leadership selection process, at no notice, with no obvious successor and a 'talent pool' that looks more like a puddle than a pool.

The past few days isn't even the worst part for them. Very far from it. There is a behind the scenes drama being played out here, largely by proxy, with all the usual players involved and some very familiar issues too. It won't stop after this leadership election is concluded.

The last thing some want is a new party leader whose religious affiliations involve a very strict moral code which doesn't just apply to personal sleeping arrangements but also includes an ultra orthodox approach to absolutely everything else. That is a very significant part of the reason why you are seeing such enthusiastic yellow on yellow action taking place. And BTW, she's not just a bog-standard practising adherent to the Free Church. She was brought up as a child of religious missionary parents in that church. Agree or disagree with her, but there's a zeal and probity there which won't easily compromise on ethical or moral matters of any sort.

There is nothing about this that is normal and very little about it that is sensible”

Unless she is ill.

Santa Cruz
24-02-2023, 11:23 AM

There is nothing about this that is normal and very little about it that is sensible”

Unless she is ill.

I was thinking this, or even a close family member.

James310
24-02-2023, 11:26 AM
The facts are there that he voted for it in the 1st ballot, its up to you to provide facts proving he lied about the 2nd vote, show me actual facts not speculation.

But I was speculating, the facts are he had a very conveniently arranged meeting the same day as the vote. The meeting was in the Parliament building yet he still never voted. If you think that all sounds reasonable you are one of a few, hence the media speculation and articles.

24-02-2023, 11:30 AM
A lot of folk showing blind faith to the Party. I understand that but this is 2023 and there will be massive problems with a First Minister who doesn't agree with gay marriage no matter how competent they are (and she is very competent).

I don't know what Murrell's supposed motives are to encourage Yousef, I'm sure there are hundreds of theories but I don't read Twitter much. He's just not up to it as we will find out.

24-02-2023, 11:35 AM

Unless she is ill.

She may or may not be ill, let's hope not for her sake. But I very much doubt that's the reason she's gone so suddenly. It certainly isn't some clever masterplan though.

24-02-2023, 11:44 AM
A lot of folk showing blind faith to the Party. I understand that but this is 2023 and there will be massive problems with a First Minister who doesn't agree with gay marriage no matter how competent they are (and she is very competent).

I don't know what Murrell's supposed motives are to encourage Yousef, I'm sure there are hundreds of theories but I don't read Twitter much. He's just not up to it as we will find out.

If she's the most competent then what does it matter what her views on gay marriage are? The other 2 candidates might not agree with it either but just don't have the balls to come out and say it .

24-02-2023, 11:54 AM
If she's the most competent then what does it matter what her views on gay marriage are? The other 2 candidates might not agree with it either but just don't have the balls to come out and say it .

It might not matter at all. I think issues like this are far more important to political operators and commentators than they are to ordinary people.
While I don’t agree with Forbes position and she articulated it terribly, if she has the best economic proposals for Scotland then I’ll happily overlook it and vote for her.

24-02-2023, 12:04 PM
Beginning to think it's about time that we, as a country should give a ginger a go 🤣

24-02-2023, 12:13 PM
when it does, someone needs to ask her about dinosaurs.

I bet she has seen more dinosaurs than most on here! 😉

24-02-2023, 12:15 PM
Beginning to think it's about time that we, as a country should give a ginger a go 🤣There are some red line issues, and ginger is one of them.

24-02-2023, 12:17 PM
... this is 2023 and there will be massive problems with a First Minister who doesn't agree with gay marriage ...
Why? When she has said that she will defend someone's right to live and love as they wish, why should her belief be a problem?

24-02-2023, 12:29 PM
https://twitter.com/stvnews/status/1629110746121478144?s=46&t=5MVwNisSS4uqf4weiEBZ0Q

Will be either Humza, Forbes or Regan.

24-02-2023, 12:31 PM
But I was speculating, the facts are he had a very conveniently arranged meeting the same day as the vote. The meeting was in the Parliament building yet he still never voted. If you think that all sounds reasonable you are one of a few, hence the media speculation and articles.

I don't do speculation, 2+2 doesn't make 5, I deal in facts, if and when you come up with some then we'll debate, but when you speculate I'll call you out on it as pish.

James310
24-02-2023, 12:40 PM
I don't do speculation, 2+2 doesn't make 5, I deal in facts, if and when you come up with some then we'll debate, but when you speculate I'll call you out on it as pish.

You just speculated on your previous answer though!

You said "but Forbes is probably more clever" I mean you don't know that for a fact....you are speculating.

Berwickhibby
24-02-2023, 12:52 PM
Beginning to think it's about time that we, as a country should give a ginger a go 🤣

As long as it’s not that wee **** Ross Greer….

24-02-2023, 01:00 PM
You keep saying this, but you saying it repeatedly doesn't make it so.

Me neither.

she doesn't support equal rights for gay people, which is what makes it so.

i'm not saying she's a bad person - I know loads of genuinely salt of the earth, lovely people who hold very reactionary views that you wouldn't expect - it's extremely common in this country, and I don't necessarily judge them for it.

I do, however, think that holding such views disqualifies someone from being fit to hold public office, being putting them in such a position would only serve to normalise and legitimise holding such views. This is the prospect that many people in the LGBTQ community find quite disturbing about Kate Forbes.

24-02-2023, 01:02 PM
https://news.stv.tv/politics/stv-to-host-live-debate-between-snp-candidates-to-become-scotlands-next-first-minister

Live tv debate on 7th March.

24-02-2023, 01:06 PM
I don't know enough about full background but seeing your previous posts, there is an agenda against her from yourself.

My agenda is that I don't want a religious fundamentalist (and quite possibly a creationist - this question needs asked), who has said explicitly that they would vote in parliament according to their faith, as the First Minister of Scotland.

He's here!
24-02-2023, 01:07 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-64757594

Regan opens her campaign by questioning Peter Murrell's role...that's tomorrow's front pages written.

More fuel for the SNP bonfire. Keep it coming I say.

24-02-2023, 01:21 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-64757594

Regan opens her campaign by questioning Peter Murrell's role...that's tomorrow's front pages written.

More fuel for the SNP bonfire. Keep it coming I say.

Good, get it all out there before being rejected by the members and then move on to Alba.[emoji106]

24-02-2023, 01:24 PM
Good, get it all out there before being rejected by the members and then move on to Alba.[emoji106]

She’s right though.

He's here!
24-02-2023, 01:29 PM
That’s not really what she said is it?

She’s by far the most politically competent candidate of the three. If she can move this on to other issues she can still win this. I’m no SNP supporter but for Scotland’s sake I hope she does.

I see this claim quite often but am unclear what it's based on. She seems quite inexperienced. Yousef has had significantly more ministerial experience in arguably more challenging roles ie the ones which attract the greatest flak - and he has certainly attracted plenty of flak but who would have done a better job? The talent pool, as I think you said in another post (apologies if it wasn't you), seems extremely shallow post-Sturgeon.

He's here!
24-02-2023, 01:31 PM

I'd be surprised if a lot of members don't agree with her about Murrell.

G15 Hibs
24-02-2023, 01:34 PM
https://news.stv.tv/politics/stv-to-host-live-debate-between-snp-candidates-to-become-scotlands-next-first-minister

Live tv debate on 7th March.

*insert image of a bin on fire here*

24-02-2023, 01:35 PM
*insert image of a bin on fire here*

Bin? Vast lake of petrol more like.

24-02-2023, 01:36 PM

Maybe, maybe not but I suspect it will be even further down the priority list than gender reform when people actually vote.
Plans for the economy will swing many more voters.

James310
24-02-2023, 01:38 PM

It's odd and terrible optics having a husband and wife team running the country and the countries largest party. It's strange he is staying on as well, why would he?

Remember a previous Treasurer resigned as he wasn't allowed to see the books, just as Murrell lent the party over £100K.

24-02-2023, 01:38 PM
I see this claim quite often but am unclear what it's based on. She seems quite inexperienced. Yousef has had significantly more ministerial experience in arguably more challenging roles ie the ones which attract the greatest flak - and he has certainly attracted plenty of flak but who would have done a better job? The talent pool, as I think you said in another post (apologies if it wasn't you), seems extremely shallow post-Sturgeon.

this is how i see it too - i think people are seeing what they want to see in her.

24-02-2023, 01:41 PM
this is how i see it too - i think people are seeing what they want to see in her.

I’m being patient to wait and hear from them both.

24-02-2023, 01:47 PM

I think it is based on little more than her being an articulate, well-spoken, attractive and well-dressed woman, who currently holds the title of a very senior post and who has risen to prominence quickly which has meant little time either beforehand or in post to leave behind hostages to fortune. None of those things mean she would necessarily be a particularly good or bad First Minister but they do mean that she appears convincing.

But the SNP is all sorts of seismically ****ed up and has been since the fall out between Salmond and Sturgeon which, ultimately, is what lies behind virtually everything we are seeing now and will see next. Some people thought that the end of the parliamentary enquiry was the end of that deep, deep cupboard of skeletons and the well of poison that went with it. No chance.

24-02-2023, 01:50 PM

I said the most politically competent of those three. It’s not exactly high praise. :greengrin

24-02-2023, 01:53 PM
Mhairi Black has spoken out against Kate Forbes. Her candidacy is finished, I think. Either that, or SNP is split beyond repair.
Unionists will be dancing in the streets of Raith tonight.

24-02-2023, 02:04 PM

Alex Neil seems to have a clear recollection of what happened.

24-02-2023, 02:07 PM
Mhairi Black has spoken out against Kate Forbes. Her candidacy is finished, I think. Either that, or SNP is split beyond repair.

I doubt that hurts as much as some people think.

24-02-2023, 02:17 PM
I doubt that hurts as much as some people think.

I dunno, they’ve a lot of potholes there too.

James310
24-02-2023, 02:20 PM
https://twitter.com/KennyFarq/status/1629110771463475201?t=NHssw4YeT4gmkN9DWGptHw&s=19

"A reminder that generally speaking there are no social, economic or moral values intrinsic to nationalism. It’s usually whatever the leader of a nationalist movement believes."

24-02-2023, 02:20 PM
I dunno, they’ve a lot of potholes there too.

And I agree with Black. Forbes needs to take it on board.

24-02-2023, 02:21 PM
Why? When she has said that she will defend someone's right to live and love as they wish, why should her belief be a problem?

We've got civil partnerships. What's the difference?

24-02-2023, 02:23 PM
https://twitter.com/KennyFarq/status/1629110771463475201?t=NHssw4YeT4gmkN9DWGptHw&s=19

"A reminder that generally speaking there are no social, economic or moral values intrinsic to nationalism. It’s usually whatever the leader of a nationalist movement believes."

Kenny Farq there, being his usual stupid self.

24-02-2023, 02:24 PM
And I agree with Black. Forbes needs to take it on board.

I don’t disagree Oz. I was just meaning the people hurting their feet in Raith 😁

archie
24-02-2023, 02:26 PM

Just out of interest, can you spell out what is 'stupid'?

24-02-2023, 02:27 PM
Just out of interest, can you spell out what is 'stupid'?

I think the successful candidate will be the one who adapt most to what the members want rather than the other way round.

Skol
24-02-2023, 02:28 PM
I think that all religion is a load of cobblers. Am I a bigot?

James310
24-02-2023, 02:28 PM

He is right though, and it's playing out in front of us for everyone to see.

As I say how can Kate Forbes and Patrick Harvie be in the same government when their views are so far apart.

24-02-2023, 02:30 PM

There are probably more Dunfermline fans in Kirkcaldy than there are Unionists.

It'll be like Monday night at the Cavendish.

24-02-2023, 02:31 PM

You're being offensive to all shoemakers. Do one.

:cb

Skol
24-02-2023, 02:34 PM
There are probably more Dunfermline fans in Kirkcaldy than there are Unionists.

It'll be like Monday night at the Cavendish.

More loons than yoons.

Oddly when I typed yoon my phone suggested I meant too small.

24-02-2023, 02:38 PM
More loons than yoons.

Oddly when I typed yoon my phone suggested I meant too small.

...too small, too stupid, too genetically whatever.

Yup, that's your average Par.

24-02-2023, 02:51 PM
Wish I'd never mentioned Raith tbh.

The Tubs
24-02-2023, 03:16 PM
As someone in favour of independence, I'm actually thinking this shake-up is well timed. Brexit made the argument for independence much more complicated and we've seen that the SNP has been unable to make it work. The UK is going down the drains and will end up begging to get back in the EU at some point in the future. However, before that happens, the UK will be a relatively poorer nation with a weaker economy, currency and negotiating position and an even more divided society than before its exit. Hopefully, the independence movement will have got its shop in order by this point and will be wholly justified in arguing that Westminister cannot make responsible decisions, works against the best interests of the people that it is supposed to represent and could easily commit the same type of self-harm at some point in the future. At this point, we'll start to see a real change in Scotland's attitude towards the UK. So, while Brexit has favoured independence in the long-term, it's set back its occurence by at least 10 years.

24-02-2023, 03:21 PM
Regan proposing scrapping the gender recognition bill, slowing down the move away from oil and gas and accelerating road building schemes. Any one of those things on their own will see the Greens resign from Government. So not all bad. :greengrin

Berwickhibby
24-02-2023, 03:22 PM

Kelty actually but close enough :faf::faf::faf::

James310
24-02-2023, 03:26 PM
Regan proposing scrapping the gender recognition bill, slowing down the move away from oil and gas and accelerating road building schemes. Any one of those things on their own will see the Greens resign from Government. So not all bad. :greengrin

Her Indy plans are mental though. If you are serious about Independence I don't see how you can support her.

24-02-2023, 03:28 PM
I don't trust Regan or Cherry at all.

24-02-2023, 03:30 PM

They are also directly opposed to each other on sex-worker rights.

24-02-2023, 03:32 PM
Her Indy plans are mental though. If you are serious about Independence I don't see how you can support her.

I’d argue all of her stated aims will meet with strong opposition within her party.
Her Indy plans will appeal to the large number of party members who want Indy implemented yesterday.

24-02-2023, 03:33 PM
They are also directly opposed to each other on sex-worker rights.

So she’s not exactly dripping subtle hints to them then. :greengrin

24-02-2023, 03:36 PM
So she’s not exactly dripping subtle hints to them then. :greengrin

.... dripping poison into their ears :greengrin

Stairway 2 7
24-02-2023, 03:36 PM
Can see certain issues splitting the snp. I saw a poll that said snp voters thought GRA and the environment were way in front of what they thought the government's priorities were. But to the voters themselves they were way low down on priorities, cost of living and the NHS were way out in front.

NS seemed to keep all the factions together bar this year. Gender debate will still roll for another year. NS should have stuck it out a year in that time GRA would have am answer, inflation will go from 10% to 2%, the economy will go from contracting to growth. She should have took a year for the team then a new person could have an easier ride. Whoever gets it has no chance

James310
24-02-2023, 03:38 PM
I’d argue all of her stated aims will meet with strong opposition within her party.
Her Indy plans will appeal to the large number of party members who want Indy implemented yesterday.

Her approach is similar to what Nicola Sturgeon was proposing though. Say there was a de facto referendum and the SNP got 50.1% then so what? The question nobody could answer was what it actually meant and what happens next.

Looks like Ash Regan has no answer as well.

https://twitter.com/HTScotPol/status/1629099812506271747?t=EKzPEwbebksNAmpGuchGBw&s=19

"Asked what would happen if the UK Government refused to negotiate, she said: “Next question.”

Regan says election majority would be a 'declaration' of independence"

Stonewall
24-02-2023, 03:49 PM
Christ all Yusuf has to do is keep his mouth shut and not fall over the furniture here.

24-02-2023, 03:51 PM
Christ all Yusuf has to do is keep his mouth shut and not fall over the furniture here.

... and, if he does fall over and hurt himself, not to go to A&E.

James310
24-02-2023, 03:52 PM

https://twitter.com/GlennBBC/status/1438471391343427584?t=HHtQy9hI_Yo8X8NbQGsdCQ&s=19

James310
24-02-2023, 03:56 PM

https://twitter.com/AlexNeilSNP/status/1629152662460502018?t=lkR-KOxRLb1lqAhS0-m7Nw&s=19

Alex Neil says he is lying, as the Minister responsible for the Bill at the time I reckon he knows more than most.

Someone is lying.

Andy Bee
24-02-2023, 03:56 PM

No idea what Purple Friday is or who LGBT Youth Scotland are but this doesn't look good if true.

https://twitter.com/wundt_vil/status/1629074690382696452

24-02-2023, 03:58 PM

Out of curiosity, what if one of the candidates came out and said the were an atheist, I'd certainly vote for them.😁

24-02-2023, 03:58 PM
Feel free to interpret this however you want, but....

I'd rather the party leader was not encumbered by their religious beliefs, or by pressure from those within the same religious group.

I don't really care which religion that is, it shouldn't interfere in any way with the decisions the party leader needs to make... or cause them to miss what they see as controversial votes in parliament by deliberately arranging meetings at the same time.

Stairway 2 7
24-02-2023, 04:03 PM
No idea what Purple Friday is or who LGBT Youth Scotland are but this doesn't look good if true.

A thread explaining LGBTYS scandal, pretty brutal stuff

https://mobile.twitter.com/wundt_vil/status/1605185309435891712

The replies on the thread from victims shocking too

24-02-2023, 04:07 PM
... and, if he does fall over and hurt himself, not to go to A&E.

24-02-2023, 04:09 PM
https://twitter.com/AlexNeilSNP/status/1629152662460502018?t=lkR-KOxRLb1lqAhS0-m7Nw&s=19

Alex Neil says he is lying, as the Minister responsible for the Bill at the time I reckon he knows more than most.

Someone is lying.
And I say Alex Neil is lying, prove me wrong.

Does it really matter if he missed the next vote, he'd already voted on the 1st ballot and so what if he had pressure put on him, the bill was always getting passed. Humza has stated and has reiterate his stance on this that his religion will not interfere with politics.

24-02-2023, 04:12 PM

I've looked for news on this and there isn't any!! Guess that twitter is false.

24-02-2023, 04:14 PM
https://twitter.com/TheFigen_/status/1627374275559653376?t=zSZuMSm1iAiZZRGHGYoaAQ&s=19

I know how it feels. 😁

James310
24-02-2023, 04:14 PM
And I say Alex Neil is lying, prove me wrong.

Does it really matter if he missed the next vote, he'd already voted on the 1st ballot and so what if he had pressure put on him, the bill was always getting passed. Humza has stated and has reiterate his stance on this that his religion will not interfere with politics.

Where are your facts Alex Neil is lying, seeing as you don't deal in speculation?

What does Alex Neil to gain from lying? Humza has lots to gain from lying, Alex nothing at all from what I can see.

James310
24-02-2023, 04:15 PM

There is plenty. Where did you look?

Their own website?

https://www.lgbtyouth.org.uk/news/2022/statement-from-lgbt-youth-scotland/

24-02-2023, 04:17 PM
There is plenty. Where did you look?

Their own website?

https://www.lgbtyouth.org.uk/news/2022/statement-from-lgbt-youth-scotland/

I searched for purple Friday as that is what he said he was supporting!!?

James310
24-02-2023, 04:19 PM
I searched for purple Friday as that is what he said he was supporting!!?

Read it again.

24-02-2023, 04:22 PM
Read it again.

I’m supporting @LGBTYS #PurpleFriday. A day to build a better future for LGBTI young people.

Equality and the protection of rights are at the very core of my being. I'll fight to protect everyone's rights.

👩*💻 For more information on #PurpleFriday: lgbtyouth.org.uk/purplefriday

On Purple Friday amazing people all over Scotland make lots of purple noise to show that they support and care for LGBTI young people

Why purple? Good question! The purple stripe on the Pride flag stands for ‘spirit’; The spirit of the LGBT+ community and its allies. So we created a day to celebrate that spirit and bring people together to build a better Scotland for LGBTI young people.

Why LGBTI young people? Young people are the future of Scotland, but it’s not always easy to be young, and LGBTI young people face unique and additional barriers and that is why we exist; to break down those barriers and create a Scotland where all young people can thrive and flourish.

How you can help? We can’t do this alone. We need to harness the spirit of all our allies, in all your perfect purpleness, to raise vital funds to keep this essential work going and send a strong message of support to LGBTI young people all across the country, letting them know they are loved, valued and supported.

Join us on February 24th 2023 for Purple Friday – fundraise or donate and by doing so we can turn Scotland purple

24-02-2023, 04:22 PM

It's not false, but it's important to be aware of the actual facts around the case.

In 2009, the (now) former head of LGBT Youth Scotland was jointly convicted of sexual abuse and of grooming under-age males. I think he was jailed for nine years.

What he did is quite hideous but does it mean the organization itself should be condemned for eternity, and is not worthy of support?

James310
24-02-2023, 04:27 PM
I’m supporting @LGBTYS #PurpleFriday. A day to build a better future for LGBTI young people.

Equality and the protection of rights are at the very core of my being. I'll fight to protect everyone's rights.

👩*💻 For more information on #PurpleFriday: lgbtyouth.org.uk/purplefriday

On Purple Friday amazing people all over Scotland make lots of purple noise to show that they support and care for LGBTI young people

Why purple? Good question! The purple stripe on the Pride flag stands for ‘spirit’; The spirit of the LGBT+ community and its allies. So we created a day to celebrate that spirit and bring people together to build a better Scotland for LGBTI young people.

Why LGBTI young people? Young people are the future of Scotland, but it’s not always easy to be young, and LGBTI young people face unique and additional barriers and that is why we exist; to break down those barriers and create a Scotland where all young people can thrive and flourish.

How you can help? We can’t do this alone. We need to harness the spirit of all our allies, in all your perfect purpleness, to raise vital funds to keep this essential work going and send a strong message of support to LGBTI young people all across the country, letting them know they are loved, valued and supported.

Join us on February 24th 2023 for Purple Friday – fundraise or donate and by doing so we can turn Scotland purple

Yes exactly, who is the organisation running it? The one under investigation.

24-02-2023, 04:33 PM
It's not false, but it's important to be aware of the actual facts around the case.

In 2009, the (now) former head of LGBT Youth Scotland was jointly convicted of sexual abuse and of grooming under-age males. I think he was jailed for nine years.

What he did is quite hideous but does it mean the organization itself should be condemned for eternity, and is not worthy of support?

Thanks. 👍

24-02-2023, 04:36 PM
Where are your facts Alex Neil is lying, seeing as you don't deal in speculation?

What does Alex Neil to gain from lying? Humza has lots to gain from lying, Alex nothing at all from what I can see.

There are no facts, just like there are no facts he's telling the truth, it's all conjecture, Neil is no longer an MSP and may have an axe to grind, who knows. What does Neil have to gain, who knows, maybe get in touch and ask him yourself instead of trying to guess why he's saying what he has.

24-02-2023, 04:46 PM
I.sometimes despair at organisations being under investigation after the wrongdoings of individuals.I understand the need for the process but it’s like whole swathes of society almost paralysed by the reaction to individuals as the organisation is tainted. It’s everywhere. In fact it was the main driver in the gender recognition debate. Not what good it could do but giving opportunity to predators who will be predators no matter what.
I’ll add religious organisations to that. The vast majority doing good things in the community but tainted by individual actions and bias. Catholicism, Islam, Boy Scout movement etc etc. what a world we live in.
It’s driving political debate and shaping who will undoubtably be our first minister. Not policies or whatever but a sideshow if you like. Never been so disengaged with politics as I am right now. We are going down the cludgie at a rate of knots and nobody is addressing what needs to be done and would rather squabble and petty points score by party or individual.

24-02-2023, 04:57 PM

That was my take on it. It’s like condemning somebody for supporting the Scouts or the Catholic Church.

24-02-2023, 04:59 PM
Out of curiosity, what if one of the candidates came out and said the were an atheist, I'd certainly vote for them.[emoji16]

Why? Even if they were useless? I’m an atheist but I would be terrible at being FM.
The religion people follow doesn’t really interest me.

24-02-2023, 05:17 PM

The organisation is not under investigation. People who were involved with it are.

LGBT Scotland themselves reported them to the police.

Stairway 2 7
24-02-2023, 05:25 PM
The organisation is not under investigation. People who were involved with it are.

LGBT Scotland themselves reported them to the police.

This lad is accusing a cover up and him being dismissed by LGBTYS, but that's not proven I suppose. In the thread there are more people being accused and not just Rennie. Although even if multiple predators worked for the company that also I don't think be on the company

https://mobile.twitter.com/wundt_vil/status/1605185309435891712

24-02-2023, 05:32 PM
Why? Even if they were useless? I’m an atheist but I would be terrible at being FM.
The religion people follow doesn’t really interest me.

Lots of talk on their religious beliefs, my point was does it matter as long as they're a capable FM.

24-02-2023, 05:46 PM
This gay marriage thing has taken over the whole campaign. It's absurd.

Listen to the folk on 26 bus. They're not talking about gay marriage. It's the economy stoopid!

24-02-2023, 05:47 PM

Listen to the folk on 26 bus. They're not talking about gay marriage. It's the economy stoopid!

Sick saying it. If Forbes wins then the political class is going to be looking around wondering what happened.

24-02-2023, 05:57 PM

Big ask. Big, big ask.

24-02-2023, 06:06 PM

Is this the cool folk fi Clerrie, or the jakies fi Joppa?

24-02-2023, 06:07 PM
Is this the cool folk fi Clerrie, or the jakies fi Joppa?Jakies in Joppa? Aye right.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

He's here!
24-02-2023, 06:11 PM
https://www.spectator.co.uk/article/civil-war-engulfs-the-snp/

24-02-2023, 06:16 PM
Is the following true?

Yousaf arranged a meeting that he absolutely HAD to be at to discuss a death sentence. The meeting was on the same day and time as the equal marriage vote. So he couldn't vote for the final passing of the Bill into law. Except the death sentence he HAD to discuss wasn't passed until the 26th January - about ten days after the equal marriage parliamentary vote took place.

Is he psychic?

James310
24-02-2023, 06:17 PM
Is the following true?

Yousaf arranged a meeting that he absolutely HAD to be at to discuss a death sentence. The meeting was on the same day and time as the equal marriage vote. So he couldn't vote for the final passing of the Bill into law. Except the death sentence he HAD to discuss wasn't passed until the 26th January - about ten days after the equal marriage parliamentary vote took place.

Is he psychic?

I will speculate he is absolutely lying.

It's the cover up that always gets them.

He's here!
24-02-2023, 06:21 PM

Folk reckoned the gender reform shenanigans were of little interest to the public yet they sparked a backlash which played a big part in Sturgeon's downfall.

The most recent poll was taken from people who voted SNP in the last election, not necessarily the party membership, so it remains to be seen how much of an impact this issue has on the vote. Mind you, the combined efforts of the three candidates appear to be causing fresh ructions across the party every day so I wouldn't be too surprised if the same-sex marriage headlines will seem a distant memory once we've been through a few more bouts of mudslinging prior to the whole calamitous process coming to an end.

He's here!
24-02-2023, 06:25 PM
I will speculate he is absolutely lying.

It's the cover up that always gets them.

Perhaps, but Alex Neil is a poisonous sort.

Either way, the way this is all going it'll be interesting to see what's left of the SNP once they clamber out of the bomb crater-sized hole that this leadership election is creating for the party.

24-02-2023, 06:26 PM
Folk reckoned the gender reform shenanigans were of little interest to the public yet they sparked a backlash which played a big part in Sturgeon's downfall.

A backlash from whom?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

24-02-2023, 06:40 PM
Jesus, that Ash Regan interview on Radio Scotland this afternoon. What a ****ing multiple motorway pile up that was.

I'm beginning to think you couldn't make one decent leadership candidate out of the best composite parts of all three of them.

24-02-2023, 06:50 PM
I'm beginning to think you couldn't make one decent leadership candidate out of the best composite parts of all three of them.

Stairway 2 7
24-02-2023, 06:54 PM
Jesus, that Ash Regan interview on Radio Scotland this afternoon. What a ****ing multiple motorway pile up that was.

Brilliant

24-02-2023, 07:05 PM

While that might be true, you'd no think there was a decent candidate in an SNP election anyway!

24-02-2023, 07:09 PM
It might not matter at all. I think issues like this are far more important to political operators and commentators than they are to ordinary people.

Yup, issues like gay marriage will neither win nor lose many votes.

But the SNP loves the progressive, 'woke' (sorry, i used that word, nut you know what i mean!), stuff.

Hopefully it will be put to bed and they will concentrate on the economy, NHS, crime etc in future.

24-02-2023, 07:36 PM
Yup, issues like gay marriage will neither win nor lose many votes.

But the SNP loves the progressive, 'woke' (sorry, i used that word, nut you know what i mean!), stuff.

Hopefully it will be put to bed and they will concentrate on the economy, NHS, crime etc in future.

That’s my hope.[emoji1696]

24-02-2023, 07:45 PM
Is this the cool folk fi Clerrie, or the jakies fi Joppa?The man on the clerwood omnibus

24-02-2023, 07:52 PM
The man on the clerwood omnibus

24-02-2023, 08:37 PM
Is this the cool folk fi Clerrie, or the jakies fi Joppa?

Jakies called Tarquin and Ramsay :greengrin

James310
24-02-2023, 10:55 PM
Listen to this car crash.

https://twitter.com/ConnorGillies/status/1629125522100826113?t=XzEEQlqdWIdsYNapLhNmPw&s=19

How did she become a Minister?

24-02-2023, 11:44 PM
While that might be true, you'd no think there was a decent candidate in an SNP election anyway!

TBF, you’re not far wrong there.

25-02-2023, 08:32 AM
Time for Alex Salmond to be brought back into the fold?

:duck:

25-02-2023, 08:46 AM
Time for Alex Salmond to be brought back into the fold?

:duck:

All that has to happen is Regan wins.

25-02-2023, 08:56 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230225/53ccc3c728d79b4edf62772dfa031b9c.jpg

Despicable.

TrumpIsAPeado
25-02-2023, 09:39 AM

Despicable.

I wonder if he realizes that it's a non-elected protestant royal family that holds supreme power in the UK. I would hazard a bet that he does, but it doesn't suit his narrative to mention it.

25-02-2023, 09:43 AM

Despicable.

I normally hate the phrase "needs a punch in the puss" but there are the odd exceptions.

archie
25-02-2023, 09:50 AM

Despicable.

I haven’t read the piece. Care to say why?

He's here!
25-02-2023, 10:14 AM
I haven’t read the piece. Care to say why?

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2023/02/23/protestants-now-hounded-politics-kate-forbes-has-shown/

archie
25-02-2023, 10:20 AM
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2023/02/23/protestants-now-hounded-politics-kate-forbes-has-shown/

Thanks. I've some thoughts on the article (and the headline)! But I'd be interested to hear a critique from those criticising it.

He's here!
25-02-2023, 10:31 AM
Thanks. I've some thoughts on the article (and the headline)! But I'd be interested to hear a critique from those criticising it.

Headline strikes me as a tad dramatic, even misleading when you actually read the article.

Skol
25-02-2023, 10:39 AM
It really is quite an impossible situation the snp find themselves in

Regan has no chance unless yousaf and Forbes completely blow their bids. Which remains possible. The prospect of a bombastic udi decalring Regan probably unifies most of Scotland

Forbes appears the most competent but has been honest in her outdated views

Yousaf appears to be the establishment choice but hasn’t covered himself in glory and in fact holds the same outdated views as Forbes. He just hasn’t been as open as Forbes

I saw black having a go at Forbes, but conveniently forgetting yousaf privately holds similar views.

Out of three bad choices in am still with Forbes. I think she is most likely to be the best for Scotland, but I also think she will be the one most likely to advance independence so it’s a catch 22.

James310
25-02-2023, 10:45 AM
How does the voting work, if people put first and second preference choices does that lead to a potential unexpected result?

25-02-2023, 10:47 AM
It really is quite an impossible situation the snp find themselves in

Regan has no chance unless yousaf and Forbes completely blow their bids. Which remains possible. The prospect of a bombastic udi decalring Regan probably unifies most of Scotland

Forbes appears the most competent but has been honest in her outdated views

Yousaf appears to be the establishment choice but hasn’t covered himself in glory and in fact holds the same outdated views as Forbes. He just hasn’t been as open as Forbes

I saw black having a go at Forbes, but conveniently forgetting yousaf privately holds similar views.

Out of three bad choices in am still with Forbes. I think she is most likely to be the best for Scotland, but I also think she will be the one most likely to advance independence so it’s a catch 22.

I’m miles away from choosing but my number 1 criteria will be an understanding of the economy and an ability to finally articulate the economic advantages of Indy.
I suspect that is going to be Forbes but we haven’t heard any of that from any of them yet.

archie
25-02-2023, 10:58 AM
Headline strikes me as a tad dramatic, even misleading when you actually read the article.

I think the headline is pretty provocative. Maybe that's what's putting people's backs up?

Skol
25-02-2023, 11:11 AM
I’m miles away from choosing but my number 1 criteria will be an understanding of the economy and an ability to finally articulate the economic advantages of Indy.
I suspect that is going to be Forbes but we haven’t heard any of that from any of them yet.

I don’t envy you and it’s going to be a very tough choice

Did I read there is a televised debate being arranged. That will be an interesting watch. Is it like a leaders debate when they try to run each other down whilst inadvertently causing harm to their own party.

25-02-2023, 11:12 AM
I don’t envy you and it’s going to be a very tough choice

Did I read there is a televised debate being arranged. That will be an interesting watch. Is it like a leaders debate when they try to run each other down whilst inadvertently causing harm to their own party.

There is a debate on STV. Not sure of the format.

Berwickhibby
25-02-2023, 11:39 AM
Back to the popcorn 🍿🍿🍿🍿🍿 watching the three stooges trying to bluster there way into Scotland’s top political job… although it’s going to be entertaining it’s frightening that this is the best talent the SNP have to offer.

25-02-2023, 11:53 AM
Back to the popcorn [emoji897][emoji897][emoji897][emoji897][emoji897] watching the three stooges trying to bluster there way into Scotland’s top political job… although it’s going to be entertaining it’s frightening that this is the best talent the SNP have to offer.

And we’ll still win the next election. Doesn’t say much for your guys.

Hibs4185
25-02-2023, 11:53 AM
Back to the popcorn 🍿🍿🍿🍿🍿 watching the three stooges trying to bluster there way into Scotland’s top political job… although it’s going to be entertaining it’s frightening that this is the best talent the SNP have to offer.

The best the Tory’s have is Douglas Ross, that’s far worse

James310
25-02-2023, 11:55 AM
The 3 candidates have had it easy up to now in terms of real political questions being asked of them. They all won their seats at the first time of asking and rode the wave of SNP success, let's be honest in many areas in Scotland you could stick a chimpanzee up with a SNP rosette and it would be elected. So it's a new territory for them, actually being asked what they believe in and how they would deliver it. Doing proper politics for the first time. The stock answer of blaming Westminster isn't enough anymore and they can't just shout Independence if things get difficult.

If Forbes wins it's going to be a disaster for the party, she might not even get the votes to be FM and might struggle to build a government. I can't see the likes of Mhairi Black staying in the SNP if she wins as well, it will lead to full on civil war.

Regan is the Alba extremist candidate and seems quite dim. There was someone who worked for her saying she never understood the differences between devolved and reserved powers and didn't have a clue what the European Parliament did.

That's why the Sturgeon loyalists will want Humza. With Peter Murrell in charge of counting the votes let's hope it's open and transparent.

25-02-2023, 11:58 AM
The 3 candidates have had it easy up to now in terms of real political questions being asked of them. They all won their seats at the first time of asking and rode the wave of SNP success, let's be honest in many areas in Scotland you could stick a chimpanzee up with a SNP rosette and it would be elected. So it's a new territory for them, actually being asked what they believe in and how they would deliver it. Doing proper politics for the first time. The stock answer of blaming Westminster isn't enough anymore and they can't just shout Independence if things get difficult.

If Forbes wins it's going to be a disaster for the party, she might not even get the votes to be FM and might struggle to build a government. I can't see the likes of Mhairi Black staying in the SNP if she wins as well, it will lead to full on civil war.

Regan is tbe Alba extremist candidate and seems quite dim. There was someone who worked for her saying she never understood the differences between devolved and reserved powers and didn't have a clue what the European Parliament did.

That's why the Sturgeon loyalists will want Humza. With Peter Murrell in charge of counting the votes let's hope it's open and transparent.

Fair cheered me up on a grey day.

Whatever you're being paid, it's not enough. :greengrin:greengrin

James310
25-02-2023, 12:00 PM
Fair cheered me up on a grey day.

Whatever you're being paid, it's not enough. :greengrin:greengrin

At this rate I am going to be unemployed. My job will be done. 🤣

25-02-2023, 12:01 PM
At this rate I am going to be unemployed. My job will be done. 🤣

Aw dinny.... I would miss you too much.

25-02-2023, 12:03 PM

Regan is the Alba extremist candidate and seems quite dim. There was someone who worked for her saying she never understood the differences between devolved and reserved powers and didn't have a clue what the European Parliament did.

I’m just disappointed that it’s too late for the chimpanzee to stand for leader.

Probably the only one in the SNP that won’t end up alienating large swathes of the country when they inevitably end up with their foot in their mouth.

25-02-2023, 12:06 PM
I’m just disappointed that it’s too late for the chimpanzee to stand for leader.

Probably the only one in the SNP that won’t end up alienating large swathes of the country when they inevitably end up with their foot in their mouth.

Is this a proddy or a pape chimp? And what gender does it identify as?

Skol
25-02-2023, 12:09 PM
There are reasons that could see any of the three Candidates withdrawing from the selection process. Unlikely I know but there could end up only being one person left and that person could be the one least likely to actually command the support of the party.

Berwickhibby
25-02-2023, 12:22 PM
The best the Tory’s have is Douglas Ross, that’s far worse

And why would I care about him I despise the Tories as much as the Tartan Tories

Zambernardi1875
25-02-2023, 12:23 PM
And why would I care about him I despise the Tories as much as the Tartan Tories

😂😂😂😂😂

archie
25-02-2023, 12:28 PM
Is this a proddy or a pape chimp? And what gender does it identify as?

Why are you excluding other religions than Christianity?

25-02-2023, 01:19 PM
And we’ll still win the next election. Doesn’t say much for your guys.

Oh at this point I think that’s far from a certainty for a whole variety of political, economic and financial reasons.

25-02-2023, 01:26 PM

You must really struggle at election time with the other option being the red Tories!!

25-02-2023, 01:29 PM

Ash Regan’s recent interview was similar to Liz Truss’s after her mini budget.

Rabbit / headlights.

I’d never heard her speak before. I’d never actually heard of her before. But that one interview is enough to tell me that she hasn’t got a clue.

Happy to see which of the other two it ends up being. Either way, Holyrood will look very different after the next election and if that means lots of new faces across the parties, I’m all for it.

allmodcons
25-02-2023, 07:12 PM

Quality. The fully paid up BritNat Unionist who knows everything about the mechanics of the SNP. You’re like a twitter bot.

James310
25-02-2023, 07:15 PM
Quality. The fully paid up BritNat Unionist who knows everything about the mechanics of the SNP. You’re like a twitter bot.

BritNat? Not sure that's appropriate language for here, might want to delete that.

Which bit do you disagree with? Who do you want to win?

P.S. if you have to resort to personal abuse you are losing.

allmodcons
25-02-2023, 07:22 PM
BritNat? Not sure that's appropriate language for here, might want to delete that.

Which bit do you disagree with? Who do you want to win?

What’s wrong with calling you or anyone else a British Nationalist?

Scot Nat is ok presumably?

Don’t get me started on your understanding of what is going on internally within the SNP. Everything you post is written in the vain hope that the party will implode during the leadership contest. You’re virtually wetting yourself just now.

James310
25-02-2023, 07:29 PM
What’s wrong with calling you or anyone else a British Nationalist?

Scot Nat is ok presumably?

Don’t get me started on your understanding of what is going on internally within the SNP. Everything you post is written in the vain hope that the party will implode during the leadership contest. You’re virtually wetting yourself just now.

A lot of people find British Nationalist offensive, I think you should delete it. Sounds like BNP.

I still don't know who you want to win and why?

allmodcons
25-02-2023, 07:35 PM
A lot of people find British Nationalist offensive, I think you should delete it. Sounds like BNP.

Christ you’re so easily offended.

How is the term Brit Nat any different to Scot Nat?

Read the thread

Frankly, I don’t give a toss of what you think about the SNP leadership contest. You’re so entrenched it wouldn’t matter who stood you’d still find them unworthy. Don’t fret though, I’m not one for double standards and freely admit I’d be where you are if it were a Tory leadership contest, just not quite so engaged.

James310
25-02-2023, 07:39 PM

Read the thread

Just better if you don't call people that, but the Admins can judge that.

So who do you want to win?

allmodcons
25-02-2023, 07:50 PM
Just better if you don't call people that, but the Admins can judge that.

So who do you want to win?

Let the Admins judge 🙈

I’ve no issue being called a Scottish Nationalist but you, as an extremely vocal Unionist and supporter of the UK, are offended by the term British Nationalist.

What would you prefer I call you politically a Tory, an International Socialist?

James310
25-02-2023, 07:50 PM

Read the thread

Frankly, I don’t give a toss of what you think about the SNP leadership contest. You’re so entrenched it wouldn’t matter who stood you’d still find them unworthy. Don’t fret though, I’m not one for double standards and freely admit I’d be where you are if it were a Tory leadership contest, just not quite so engaged.

You don't care what I think but care enough to post a number of times about erm..what I think.

allmodcons
25-02-2023, 08:03 PM
You don't care what I think but care enough to post a number of times about erm..what I think.

I think you’ll find my initial post tonight was a clear indication that I don’t care what you think about the SNP leadership contest.

James310
25-02-2023, 08:13 PM
I think you’ll find my initial post tonight was a clear indication that I don’t care what you think about the SNP leadership contest.

I think you do otherwise you wouldn't have posted. Or you cared enough to post that you didn't care, not sure which.

Anyway....who do you want to win?

25-02-2023, 08:51 PM
Crikey, this turned aggressive pretty quickly!

What's the point that's being argued?

archie
25-02-2023, 08:55 PM
I think the discussion on here has been pretty respectful. Let's keep it that way.

James310
25-02-2023, 08:57 PM
Crikey, this turned aggressive pretty quickly!

What's the point that's being argued?

Beats me, I just posted an opinion on topic. People always seem to want an argument though.

25-02-2023, 09:19 PM
I see a common theme.

James310
25-02-2023, 09:25 PM
I see a common theme.

Yep some people are obviously angry, but so much better if we stick to the topic which is what I do, until someone wants to divert away from it. In this case I made a post about the leadership race for the SNP, weird eh cause that's what the topic of the thread is.

Who do you want to win?

25-02-2023, 09:41 PM
Yep some people are obviously angry, but so much better if we stick to the topic which is what I do, until someone wants to divert away from it. In this case I made a post about the leadership race for the SNP, weird eh cause that's what the topic of the thread is.

Who do you want to win?

It's a Saturday night James and you're still on here absolutely peltering the thread.

Get a hobby or something.

James310
25-02-2023, 09:45 PM
It's a Saturday night James and you're still on here absolutely peltering the thread.

Get a hobbie or something.

My last post was at 1255 on topic, a fan decided to write though.

I would prefer if people just stuck to the topic, it's surely not that hard?

I seem to attract the angry ones.

Who do you want to win?

25-02-2023, 09:47 PM
My last post was at 1255 on topic, a fan decided to write though.

I would prefer if people just stuck to the topic, it's surely not that hard?

I seem to attract the angry ones.

Who do you want to win?

Have a good weekend mate, maybe take a break from this, genuinely.

James310
25-02-2023, 09:48 PM
Have a good weekend mate, maybe take a break from this, genuinely.

I am good, you have a wee break and a nice night. Genuinely.

25-02-2023, 10:10 PM
I see a common theme.

I’m only seeing half of it but I can imagine.[emoji849] Same every time.

James310
25-02-2023, 10:36 PM

I know there are many Yes voters angry and confused at the moment but I just posted on topic, that was all, nothing too exciting. But I will give back as good as I get. It is like the school playground at times but it's always best to stand up to the bullies I feel.

I am more than happy to stay on topic and I wish everyone else would as well.

25-02-2023, 11:10 PM
I had a look the other day at what I think is the current SNP constitution. If I've read it right, the leader and depute leader both have to submit themselves for re-election each year at the party conference.

Party conference is in early October usually. Any candidates need at least one hundred members to nominate them and they must be spread over 20 branches minimum. If there are no other candidates the incumbents automatically stay in, without a vote.

Will it still be the case this year? A new leader elected at the end of March but possibly challengeable six months later?

Also, it reads like Keith Brown stays on until the autumn at least but is he vulnerable? I don't know much about him, assumed he was a Sturgeon loyalist, but he's ruled out endorsing any candidate.

25-02-2023, 11:11 PM
https://twitter.com/alliehbnews/status/1629615447212433415?s=46&t=3O4nt_suyMcDXJ48JYKyAA

Forbes plans to scrap the deposit return scheme and the proposed alcohol advertising ban.

25-02-2023, 11:33 PM
https://twitter.com/alliehbnews/status/1629615447212433415?s=46&t=3O4nt_suyMcDXJ48JYKyAA

Forbes plans to scrap the deposit return scheme and the proposed alcohol advertising ban.

Good to see some policies discussed.

Shame they are basically Tory policies.

25-02-2023, 11:49 PM

Who do you want to win?

What do you find so offensive about the term Brit Nat that you appear to be making a bit of a song and dance about? Why on earth would such a term need to be deleted and require admin intervention? What a strange reaction.

Santa Cruz
26-02-2023, 12:12 AM
Good to see some policies discussed.

Shame they are basically Tory policies.

Reported in a Tory rag :rolleyes: Could only read the headline, doubt the bottle return policy will be scrapped but sensible changes made to the policy and timetable.

Skol
26-02-2023, 06:12 AM
What do you find so offensive about the term Brit Nat that you appear to be making a bit of a song and dance about? Why on earth would such a term need to be deleted and require admin intervention? What a strange reaction.

I don’t find it offensive. It’s just wrong and clearly an attempt to provoke a fight. If that’s the level of debate we are at then it’s pretty sad.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 06:24 AM
A second poll finds both snp and non snp voters prefer Kate Forbes for FM.

"When asked to rate their performance as government ministers, 31 per cent said that Forbes had done a good job while 17 per cent said she did a bad job, giving her a positive approval rating of 14. Regan is on 3 and Yousaf lags far behind both on minus 16."

Looks like the public and SNP voters could favour Forbes, but it will be 100k SNP members who will decide which mandate and FM we get. There needs to be an immediate Scottish election as their mandates are so different

https://archive.ph/p8kEF

Skol
26-02-2023, 06:50 AM
A second poll finds both snp and non snp voters prefer Kate Forbes for FM.

"When asked to rate their performance as government ministers, 31 per cent said that Forbes had done a good job while 17 per cent said she did a bad job, giving her a positive approval rating of 14. Regan is on 3 and Yousaf lags far behind both on minus 16."

Looks like the public and SNP voters could favour Forbes, but it will be 100k SNP members who will decide which mandate and FM we get. There needs to be an immediate Scottish election as their mandates are so different

https://archive.ph/p8kEF

It does look like Forbes is the popular choice. The snp establishment though are pushing yousaf. We know the snp members by and large fall into line behind the party

26-02-2023, 07:21 AM
It does look like Forbes is the popular choice. The snp establishment though are pushing yousaf. We know the snp members by and large fall into line behind the party

I would say that we don’t know much at all about the SNP members? All we really know is that they don’t kick up much of a fuss normally but it’s a long time since they were asked to vote on something. They may surprise.

26-02-2023, 07:24 AM

26-02-2023, 07:49 AM
Reported in a Tory rag :rolleyes: Could only read the headline, doubt the bottle return policy will be scrapped but sensible changes made to the policy and timetable.

Just back from shop and I saw the Mail headline "Kate to scrap Sturgeon's bottle policy". I honestly thought the Mail were referring to the Princess of Wales!

An SNP politician backed by the Mail...now that's a first. Bit of food for thought...

Santa Cruz
26-02-2023, 07:54 AM
Just back from shop and I saw the Mail headline "Kate to scrap Sturgeon's bottle policy". I honestly thought the Mail were referring to the Princess of Wales!

An SNP politician backed by the Mail...now that's a first. Bit of food for thought...

In what way, what are you thinking? Never gave it much thought personally other than the DM not being a credible source re: the headline on the u-turn re: the policy.

OldEast
26-02-2023, 07:58 AM

Despite knowing I'll shake my head within seconds and shut it down I still read this thread. "Sounds like" So you want it deleted or admins to intervene. Or maybe just grow up eh?

Stonewall
26-02-2023, 08:09 AM

Read the thread

You’re pretty entrenched yourself.

26-02-2023, 08:19 AM
In what way, what are you thinking? Never gave it much thought personally other than the DM not being a credible source re: the headline on the u-turn re: the policy.

Because it's a first as far as I'm aware. The far right Mail praising an SNP candidate. Just thought it was very strange as they usually go with some extreme anti-SNP or pro-Tory made up nonsense.

Although I only see the headlines, obviously I don't read it.

26-02-2023, 08:27 AM
Brit Nat is quite funny. I’ve never heard any normal member of the public use the term but some Nationalists have been trying to make it a thing for literally decades. It’s a bit like weirdos who would obsessively write Liebour or Tony Bliar. Just odd. I don’t find it particularly offensive though. I had thought ‘Yoon’ was the go to.

On SNP internal affairs it’s not particularly difficult to be informed these days, the whole organisation is leaking like a sieve. The contest is a proxy Sturgeon v Salmond fight with Ash Regan grinding her own hair raising axe too. Yousaf has most of the usual Sturgeon suspects backing him plus he got the nod from her the other day. Forbes now has Alex Neil effectively managing her campaign and Salmond’s former press officer running her Comms. Who are those two close to again?

Santa Cruz
26-02-2023, 08:29 AM
Because it's a first as far as I'm aware. The far right Mail praising an SNP candidate. Just thought it was very strange as they usually go with some extreme anti-SNP or pro-Tory made up nonsense.

That's interesting. Don't know what to make of it, but doubt many SNP members read it anyway, so can't see it having much influence on where they place their vote.

26-02-2023, 08:31 AM
Just watched Yousaf being interviewed on Sky News, thought he came across well.

26-02-2023, 08:47 AM

It's been discussed before and the admins requested the term not be used as previously it resulted in the thread being closed.

British Nationalist is too close to the BNP and is totally uncalled for when it's being directed against anyone that isn't in favour of Indy.

It's being used as a personal insult and there's absolutely no need for it. The discussion on here the last few pages was perfectly civil until that term reappeared.

You might not like some of the articles getting posted on here recently, but that shouldn't result in the person posting them being picked on.

He's here!
26-02-2023, 08:55 AM

She's the equivalent of the 'Tory' candidate in the leadership election.

26-02-2023, 08:57 AM
She's the equivalent of the 'Tory' candidate in the leadership election.In what way?

He's here!
26-02-2023, 09:00 AM
It's been discussed before and the admins requested the term not be used as previously it resulted in the thread being closed.

British Nationalist is too close to the BNP and is totally uncalled for when it's being directed against anyone that isn't in favour of Indy.

It's being used as a personal insult and there's absolutely no need for it. The discussion on here the last few pages was perfectly civil until that term reappeared.

You might not like some of the articles getting posted on here recently, but that shouldn't result in the person posting them being picked on.

Good post.

26-02-2023, 09:27 AM
Scottish Nationalist Party

As consistent reffered to in the house of commons

[emoji3166]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

He's here!
26-02-2023, 09:44 AM
In what way?

Pro-business at the expense of environmental and public health policies, while her personal background is quite posh, staunch church-going and (while admittedly it was Cameron's government which legalised same-sex marriage) with views on gay marriage, gender reform, abortion etc that tick a lot of boxes with those of a more conventional right-leaning persuasion. In short, if she was standing for selection as a Tory candidate in a constituency she'd probably be in with a good shout. She's also pursuing an 'independence lite' strategy (ie kicking the can down the road while attempting to build bridges with Westminster) so will be banking on appealing at the ballot box to softer no voters who see her a less abrasive, disruptive personality than Sturgeon.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 09:59 AM
Pro-business at the expense of environmental and public health policies, while her personal background is quite posh, staunch church-going and (while admittedly it was Cameron's government which legalised same-sex marriage) with views on gay marriage, gender reform, abortion etc that tick a lot of boxes with those of a more conventional right-leaning persuasion. In short, if she was standing for selection as a Tory candidate in a constituency she'd probably be in with a good shout. She's also pursuing an 'independence lite' strategy (ie kicking the can down the road while attempting to build bridges with Westminster) so will be banking on appealing at the ballot box to softer no voters who see her a less abrasive, disruptive personality than Sturgeon.

She wants independence, a high top tax rate and to rejoin the EU as soon as possible, pretty huge red lines for tories. You also say she would be the Tory choice due to being posh, she went to state school whilst Humza's school was 13k per year.

Box fitting

He's here!
26-02-2023, 10:09 AM
She wants independence, a high top tax rate and to rejoin the EU as soon as possible, pretty huge red lines for tories. You also say she would be the Tory choice due to being posh, she went to state school whilst Humza's school was 13k per year.

Box fitting

When I saw her interviewed she said she went to an 'international school' in the Himalayas for much of her childhood?

26-02-2023, 10:09 AM

That’s fair enough. Didn’t know the history as only been dipping in and out of the thread. Thanks.

26-02-2023, 10:19 AM
When I saw her interviewed she said she went to an 'international school' in the Himalayas for much of her childhood?She was at dingwall academy as well,.from what I remember reading.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 10:23 AM
When I saw her interviewed she said she went to an 'international school' in the Himalayas for much of her childhood?

Her family worked for a charity in India giving health care to people that couldn't pay. It was through their church, for a few years when she was in primary. Her secondary schooling was mostly at state school Dingwall academy

James310
26-02-2023, 10:54 AM
EXCLUSIVE. Approval ratings for SNP contenders from latest @Panelbase poll of voters in Scotland. Forbes: +14. Regan: +3. Yousaf: minus 16.

https://twitter.com/SundayTimesSco/status/1629792244109651968?t=7XmDnHjUfFdbDrH7Q7qU8w&s=19

Skol
26-02-2023, 11:12 AM
Scottish Nationalist Party

As consistent reffered to in the house of commons

[emoji3166]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

That is also uncalled for and clearly boris at the attempted wind up.

Skol
26-02-2023, 11:13 AM

When I saw her before which I think was a pre holyrood debate she came across as equally if not more abrasive, although she did show a softer side when she spoke warmly about having worked with Willie rennie on something.

26-02-2023, 11:26 AM

Cameron's government did not legalise same sex marriage in Scotland.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 11:27 AM
Trans issues will follow Humza as it appears here again today that he doesn't believe in self ID

https://mobile.twitter.com/RidgeOnSunday/status/1629788203694563328

@RidgeOnSunday
"I don't believe Isla Bryson is truly, and genuinely, a trans woman".

SNP's
@HumzaYousaf
is asked about the transgender woman who was last month convicted of rape and held in a women's prison before being transferred to a men's estate

26-02-2023, 12:16 PM
Trans issues will follow Humza as it appears here again today that he doesn't believe in self ID

@RidgeOnSunday

SNP's
@HumzaYousaf
is asked about the transgender woman who was last month convicted of rape and held in a women's prison before being transferred to a men's estate

I saw the interview, he said Bryson was a chancer. He didn't really say anything different to what Mark Francois or David Lammy said on the same programme.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 12:26 PM
I saw the interview, he said Bryson was a chancer. He didn't really say anything different to what Mark Francois or David Lammy said on the same programme.

Yep but that is totally against the principle of self ID, if you identify as a female you literally are. Not that it matters as Bryson is just a horrible beast and zero reflection on others trans women

He's here!
26-02-2023, 12:26 PM
Cameron's government did not legalise same sex marriage in Scotland.

Yes, Salmond let Cameron clear the path on that one (while he let the furore around Brian Soutar's Clause 28 'pretenerendum' die down) before following suit in Scotland. But that's irrelevant. I was just pointing out that the Tories led the way on this which doesn't square with Forbes's personal views (though these will still square with certain right-leaning voters).

26-02-2023, 12:27 PM
Yep but that is totally against the principle of self ID, if you identify as a female you literally are. Not that it matters as Bryson is just a horrible beast and zero reflection on others trans women

Not yet you can't. 😉

He's here!
26-02-2023, 12:28 PM

@RidgeOnSunday

SNP's
@HumzaYousaf

None of the candidates believe in it in that case.

HNA12
26-02-2023, 01:14 PM
It’s only a minority of posters doing it but can we remind you all to stick to debating rather than taking personal digs at other posters.

archie
26-02-2023, 01:19 PM
It’s only a minority of posters doing it but can we remind you all to stick to debating rather than taking personal digs at other posters.

TBH as someone who is probably on the minority here,I've found debate robust but not personal.

26-02-2023, 01:23 PM
None of the candidates believe in it in that case.

Yousaf believes that the 99.9% of transgender people living in Scotland have the right to equality and acceptance. How much clearer can he be about "believing in it"?

26-02-2023, 01:27 PM
Yousaf believes that the 99.9% of transgender people living in Scotland have the right to equality and acceptance. How much clearer can he be about "believing in it"?

He says that but does he actually believe it

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 01:29 PM

He doesn't believe in self ID for everyone. You can't say I believe in it, unless they are done with rape. Self ID is front and center to the debate.

Maybe we need to introduce polygraph tests in any leadership debate.

I think that he would make a dreadful First Minister but I don’t doubt at all that he believes it.

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 01:30 PM
Maybe we need to introduce polygraph tests in any leadership debate.

I think Humza is wanting polygraph instead of self ID for trans

26-02-2023, 01:34 PM
He doesn't believe in self ID for everyone. You can't say I believe in it, unless they are done with rape. Self ID is front and center to the debate.

He believes in Self ID for the 99.9% of transgender folk who want to Self ID. He said Bryson was an exception and that exceptions like him should be evaluated in custody (not female custody) before being transferred to the appropriate incarceration facility. What's so controversial about that and why isn't it controversial when it comes from Mark Francois and David Lammy?

Stairway 2 7
26-02-2023, 01:43 PM
He believes in Self ID for the 99.9% of transgender folk who want to Self ID. He said Bryson was an exception and that exceptions like him should be evaluated in custody (not female custody) before being transferred to the appropriate incarceration facility. What's so controversial about that and why isn't it controversial when it comes from Mark Francois and David Lammy?

It makes zero sense. You either take people's rights to self ID or you don't. Francois and Lammy obviously don't believe in self ID either

26-02-2023, 01:48 PM
It makes zero sense. You either take people's rights to self ID or you don't. Francois and Lammy obviously don't believe in self ID either

It makes perfect sense.

27-02-2023, 04:16 PM
Still not feeling particularly inspired by the candidates.

27-02-2023, 04:24 PM
Still not feeling particularly inspired by the candidates.

Tend to agree thought Angus Robertson might have put his hat in the ring.

27-02-2023, 05:08 PM
https://twitter.com/_kateforbes/status/1630265100387975173?s=46&t=dQIw62orf6VS2x_Pd3Mjig

Forbes going heavy on competence.

28-02-2023, 12:27 AM
https://twitter.com/c4ciaran/status/1630188188823089152?s=46&t=xYRfRnQgTjAaG6f3d9u_0A

28-02-2023, 09:11 AM
The idea that a potential leader's suitability could in some way be defined by their take on gender recognition is laughable when placed against the wider context of cost of living crisis, a failing Scottish NHS. failing education system and failing health and social care systems.

28-02-2023, 09:36 AM
The idea that a potential leader's suitability could in some way be defined by their take on gender recognition is laughable when placed against the wider context of cost of living crisis, a failing Scottish NHS. failing education system and failing health and social care systems.

It will have a lot of people who have no intention of ever voting for them whipping themselves into a frenzy over it though.

Santa Cruz
28-02-2023, 09:43 AM
It will have a lot of people who have no intention of ever voting for them whipping themselves into a frenzy over it though.

I've no intention of voting for them, but recognise it's in my best interests to have a capable FM who prioritises the day to day issues that impact people's lives. Maybe then that could change some peoples voting intentions. Tbh I doubt it would change mine though.

28-02-2023, 10:21 AM

I think my point is that the SNP have lost sight of the bigger issues.