View Full Version : Match Updates St Mirren v Hibs
04-02-2023, 03:55 PM
Yaaass!!
Makes up a touch from being robbed mid week.
Well done Hibs [emoji736][emoji736]
Great result :flag:
Great three points. Wasn’t expecting that one.
e2los
Great result also nice to see Hendo giving a good performance.
Considering the Buddies before today had yet to lose a game in Paisley, this is a massive result.
Bravo.
SON OF PADDY
Anyone elses feed awful and looks likes it's filmed on a Nokia 3310?
All good in Gran Canaria 👍🏻
How have Hoppe and Egan-Riley looked?
Hoppe's not done much. Was hoping (god damnit) that he would hold the ball up and bring others in to play but it's not stuck at all. His 1st game and thrown in sooner than expected so not going to give him too much grief.
Been quite happy with Egan-Riley. Moved about well and was perhaps a bit cautious at times but has gotten forward a bit more this 2nd half.
Boom. Happy with the 3 points. Persistence from Youan as he was getting in to good positions but was flying solo a lot of the times with not much help.
HendoDelivered
Top result that
Boring game but stuck with it and scored a great goal, well done the Hibees
Thats a cracking result with a wafer thin squad. Well done Hibs :aok:
Good to get the clean sheet with Lewy Paul and the young guys next to them
DIXIHIBS
Well done hibees. Great result....and correct score in predictor...happy days😃😃
Great result against one of our opponents for top 6 👍
04-02-2023, 03:56 PM
Superb result.
CJs inexperience shone through! :wink:
Crunchie
Different class Hibs, delighted for LJ in particular, onwards and upwards.
Trinity Hibee
Considering the Buddies before today had yet to lose a game in Paisley, this is a massive result.
Bravo.
Had they not lost at home this season?
Ray Donovan
Brilliant win!
04-02-2023, 03:57 PM
Good result. More of a gritty performance than free-flowing but the belief is growing.
What a result
Genuinely could be a turning poin
Just unfortunate about McKirdy and Newell getting injured
Vital 3 points there with the other results.
Overall was a very dull and scrappy performance from both sides but that bit of quality with the pass from Henderson and finish from Youan was the difference.
3 points and a clean sheet 👏
Cheshire Hibby
Well done Hibs - good away win for 3 more points. :flag::flag:
Massive massive result. Puts to bed any risks of being dragged into relegation fight and gives us a real chance of top 4 now.
04-02-2023, 03:58 PM
****ing brilliant win that!! Deserved as well on the balance of play.
Stuarty1875
Big 3 points :flag:
A very decent 3 points with a weakened team, we need more results like this.
Well Hendo played pretty decent, contributed nicely :flag:
Aye mate, but that's a view of how we should perform as a club in general, a view I agree with. But you also need to look at individual games in the moment and given our current woes and injury problems a point at a venue where few teams have drawn, never mind won, this season has to be considered a decent result.
That's fair enough but at some point attitudes need to change or we'll just continue to go in circles wondering why we constantly underachieve.
pollution
Well played Hibs
Great win today. Youan starting to put decent numbers up now. Jeggo seems to have added a bit of decent protection for the back four.
Some signs of life at last.
04-02-2023, 03:59 PM
70% of Earth is covered by water.
The rest is covered by Jimmy Jeggo
04-02-2023, 04:00 PM
Big win
King Cosell
Yaaass!!
Makes up a touch from being robbed mid week.
Well done Hibs [emoji736][emoji736]
And, you could argue, 3 clean sheets.
Crunchie
Vital 3 points there with the other results.
Overall was a very dull and scrappy performance from both sides but that bit of quality with the pass from Henderson and finish from Youan was the difference.
3 points and a clean sheet 👏
It's pretty difficult to play a passing game in blustery conditions and the rain pissing down. We battled to a well deserved win.
What is this unfamiliar weird feeling of optimism and happiness?
JamesHFC
04-02-2023, 04:01 PM
Bloody brilliant win.
Bring on Killie.
SON OF PADDY
04-02-2023, 04:03 PM
Great result also nice to see Hendo giving a good performance.
I've been a critic of Hendo this season but fair play to the lad, came on with a point to prove and had a decent game.
Nice assist for the goal,keep up the good work. 👏🏼👏🏼
04-02-2023, 04:03 PM
Also special mention to Egan Riley, Fish and Hanlon who were absolutely solid today.
Henderson was much much better when he came on and got a very good assist.
Great win at a very tough venue against tough opposition
04-02-2023, 04:04 PM
wed 15th Motherwell v St mirren, be nice if motherwell win that one
sat 18th
Hibs v Killie
Livingston v Sevco
04-02-2023, 04:04 PM
We are now in joint 3rd place in the form guide last 6
11 points and +5gd with Hearts
Interestingly we are in 4th place if looked at over 10 games
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
04-02-2023, 04:06 PM
Nice win, I hope it gives Ron a wee smile
04-02-2023, 04:08 PM
Very happy with that away win. A wee bit of form now, which has massively relieved the stress of supporting Hibs. The league table looks much better than it did just a few weeks ago.
I'm still unconvinced by the manager, but he's getting a few wins now.
McGruber
Great result. Needed with the Livi win and overtaking St Mirren.
Pity about Hearts - VAR decisions again no doubt
Great 3 points.
H18S NX
04-02-2023, 04:09 PM
The rest is covered by Jimmy Jeggo....Like it
04-02-2023, 04:10 PM
Well done Hibs, you just might just be starting to change my mind about you. :top marks
Massive win. Good effort grinding it out.
04-02-2023, 04:11 PM
Please scrape a scrappy 1-0 win Hibs.
Your prayer was answered 007...
A day for focusing on a clean sheet and not taking too many risks in our own territory.
Pleased for the defence, particularly Stevenson on his 450th appearance.
A very good result, given St Mirren's excellent home record this season.
04-02-2023, 04:15 PM
Didn’t see that coming second half, goal came from nowhere although we were never in any trouble at the other end.
Will take that all day long.
Youan the one Hibs player on the pitch trying to be positive and it paid off.
The Captain....
04-02-2023, 04:18 PM
Jeggo and Egan-Riley look good additions. Fish is dependable in his natural position.
Difficult to come on for Hoppe and get up to speed and thought he looked pretty rusty. Easily pushed off the ball but hopefully the mins will benefit him.
Thought we were the better side but it took a bit of individual brilliance from Youan who is playing with plenty confidence. Was a good ball from Henderson too, he did very well when he came on I thought.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
HarpOnHibee
04-02-2023, 04:19 PM
Hard earned 3 points today. Never looked like a game that had a goal in it, but then pops up Youan. Get this lad signed up now.
It's pretty difficult to play a passing game in blustery conditions and the rain pissing down. We battled to a well deserved win.
Yes weather was a problem that shouldn't be ignored.
Hibees1973
04-02-2023, 04:25 PM
Excellent 3 points today.
Well done Hibs.
04-02-2023, 04:30 PM
Given our injury woes that is a great 3 points today against a team with a really good home record. Onwards and upwards.
04-02-2023, 04:31 PM
Fantastic result get in
Superfurry72
04-02-2023, 04:35 PM
That’s 11 points from the last 15. In the first round of games this season we got 17 points, then only 9 in the second round. We’ve only played three teams in the third round, but have seven points already - but for an appalling VAR decision we’d have already equalled our tally over the second round of matches. Very encouraging form.
04-02-2023, 04:36 PM
The rest is covered by Jimmy Jeggo
04-02-2023, 04:40 PM
Great win for us today. Looked solid throughout the team today. Well done Lee and the staff also. Enjoy your night.
inglisavhibs
04-02-2023, 04:43 PM
Aberdeen game papering over the cracks big time.
You think beating St Mirren is just a given. They have beaten better teams than us at home and were on a 10 game unbeaten home run. The criticism on here is way over the top. Great result in terrible conditions against a form team.
04-02-2023, 04:43 PM
Hard earned 3 points today. Never looked like a game that had a goal in it, but then pops up Youan. Get this lad signed up now.
Read that we have him on loan with an option to buy. Usually when this is the case, the buying price has been agreed so if we want to buy there is no haggling (the same as with Melkersen). Has this been confirmed?
If he keeps his form it's a no brainer for me.
04-02-2023, 04:44 PM
[/B]
Read that we have him on loan with an option to buy. Usually when this is the case, the buying price has been agreed so if we want to buy there is no haggling (the same as with Melkersen). Has this been confirmed?
If he keeps his form it's a no brainer for me.
You also need the player to want to be here.
K-Zazu
04-02-2023, 04:44 PM
How much to buy Youan?
04-02-2023, 04:49 PM
Never saw any of the game. Looking forward to the highlights. Well done lads. Well done Lee Johnson. Terrific result.
CL0762
04-02-2023, 05:05 PM
Never saw any of the game. Looking forward to the highlights. Well done lads. Well done Lee Johnson. Terrific result.
No point watching the highlights, no much happened other than Youan’s goal 😂
No one for the end of season reel but Christ what an important 3 points that could turn out to be.
Hibees
Willis1875
04-02-2023, 05:19 PM
No point watching the highlights, no much happened other than Youan’s goal 😂
No one for the end of season reel but Christ what an important 3 points that could turn out to be.
Hibees
As you say it was a pretty dreadful game due to the conditions but that one feels like our best result of the season so far
04-02-2023, 05:21 PM
Great win Hibs, well done LJ. Good to see positive contributions from the new players.
Donegal Hibby
04-02-2023, 05:28 PM
Great 3 points against a at mirren team that's hard to beat on there own patch.
LJ happy too :greengrin.
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/johnson-it-was-a-fantastic-win
04-02-2023, 05:38 PM
Very happy with that away win. A wee bit of form now, which has massively relieved the stress of supporting Hibs. The league table looks much better than it did just a few weeks ago.
I'm still unconvinced by the manager, but he's getting a few wins now.
Yup, same thoughts here really.
If LJ can keep this form going I’ll be happy. Better late than never I suppose!
04-02-2023, 06:11 PM
I wasn't being critical if you thought so, was just giving my thoughts on the match.
As you said a well deserved battling performance.
Jeggo covered a lot of ground and Campbell worked hard, defensive was solid and CJ could be a right back version of Lewis.
Youan worked his socks off today and deserved goal. What about the girl trying to get the selfie 🤳 😆
04-02-2023, 06:15 PM
I wasn't being critical if you thought so, was just giving my thoughts on the match.
Jeggo covered a lot of ground and Campbell worked hard, defensive was solid and CJ could be a right back version of Lewis.
Youan worked his socks off today and deserved goal. What about the girl trying to get the selfie 🤳 😆
She got it :thumbsup:
Crunchie
04-02-2023, 06:16 PM
05-02-2023, 08:49 AM
First away game of the season Great Atmosphere and great three points given there home record
Not the best game but just now with injuries we have it’s win as many games as we can doing whatever it takes to do that
Donegal Hibby
05-02-2023, 09:52 AM
Some pictures at the game here .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/gallery-youan-goal-stevensons-450-more
05-02-2023, 10:30 AM
You think beating St Mirren is just a given. They have beaten better teams than us at home and were on a 10 game unbeaten home run. The criticism on here is way over the top. Great result in terrible conditions against a form team.
The commentators said they were 12 unbeaten at home. That's some run to have brought an end to.
Edit: They were unbeaten at home all season!
05-02-2023, 10:40 AM
The commentators said they were 12 unbeaten at home. That's some run to have brought an end to.
Edit: They were unbeaten at home all season!
Think they lost to Motherwell in their first home game of the season.
05-02-2023, 10:43 AM
Think they lost to Motherwell in their first home game of the season.
Ah, I misunderstood the Hibs report. Thanks.
Donegal Hibby
05-02-2023, 11:05 AM
Outside the old firm there's not many teams that will go there and pick up full points . Really good result for us yesterday .
Great result yesterday. A great support from us once again.
How good was the noise in Central Station when the 1st train from St James arrived after the game. Hundreds of hibbies arriving into Glasgow singing like mad much to the bemusement of the locals and the rangers stragglers 😄🇳🇬
05-02-2023, 01:10 PM
How good was the noise in Central Station when the 1st train from St James arrived after the game. Hundreds of hibbies arriving into Glasgow singing like mad much to the bemusement of the locals and the rangers stragglers 😄🇳🇬
It’s interesting how many fans we have in the 16-24 category now. Must be miles higher than in previous years
This surely must be incremental fans for the club.
06-02-2023, 10:08 AM
That's where I change trains, and part company with the rest of the support, and I get loads of questions from bemused locals wondering who the hell all those people are.
Here's a summary of a conversation with some Jaikey in the Q for the train to Newton after Saturday's match.
Jaikey: "Ah thought ra Sellik gem is ra morra?"
Me: "It is"
Jaikey: "Then who are all thae folk wi green scarfs and stuff"
Me: "Oh, that's a much higher class of football fan than the lowlife that follow Celtic"
Jaikey: "Oi, enough o' yir cheek, Ahm a Sellik Fan!"
Me: "Yeah mate, I had that sussed with one look"
06-02-2023, 10:22 AM
Mondays are great after a win
06-02-2023, 10:52 AM
Mondays are great after a winMine's gone flat as our resident Saints fan is off sick .... after giving it tight for a bit but going much quieter last week after our Aberdeen game!
06-02-2023, 12:41 PM
Some pictures at the game here .
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/gallery-youan-goal-stevensons-450-more
Great photos :thumbsup: