View Full Version : Millwall for Nizzy then…Deal off?
DIXIHIBS
25-01-2023, 08:29 PM
With all the rumours going about the dire morale at the club, then yes I don't blame Nisbet for wanting to go.
However, he is under contract just now and the club decides when and how much he goes for.
Now is not the time.
Maybe Nisbet was responsible for some of the dire morale. He comes across as a wee greetin face tbh. Undoubtedly a goal scorer though.
25-01-2023, 08:29 PM
Marv said on Radio Clyde tonight that Nisbet would be away this window.
They were also banging on about this new striker celtic have signed for £2.5 million.This is for a boy who has spent the last 2 seasons playing in the South Korean 2ND DIVISION. We don't half sell ourselves short when it comes to selling players in Scotland.
Why on earth did we let Melkerson go.
What a shambles.
itslegaltender
25-01-2023, 08:30 PM
We had to sell him.
Look at what he was like when we refused the last big move for him. Not been impressed at his attitude at the club (he was one of the crew drinking in the Weege whilst we played St Johnstone on the opening day). Personally dont think he gives a rats ass about the club. We should end up bringing 5X what we paid for him.
Trinity Hibee
25-01-2023, 08:31 PM
What a shambles.
I really don’t think he’d have made a difference. So far off it bar one game at Motherwell. Just another body not contributing
DIXIHIBS
25-01-2023, 08:32 PM
Look on the bright side. Our huge city rivals are well ahead in 3rd, loadsa money and just knocked us out the cup but....5 of their top 6 threads are about guess who...the hibees. They cant help themselves.
25-01-2023, 08:32 PM
What a shambles.
I think the answer to that question might become apparent at the AGM.
hibbydog
25-01-2023, 08:34 PM
Buying a kid for £250,000 then selling him for 8 times that amount would be brilliant business wise.
Selling our only decent player would be a disaster football wise.
I have a terrible feeling what Ron Gordon and Ben Kensell will choose
25-01-2023, 08:35 PM
What a shambles.
Don’t worry, we’ve got McKirdy. :rolleyes:
Paul1642
25-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Can be done though. Jan 2018 we got rid of Stokes and Simon Murray and replaced them with Kamberi and Jamie McLaren, they worked out okay that season.
Short term that was one of my all time favourite strike forces.
25-01-2023, 08:38 PM
I really don’t think he’d have made a difference. So far off it bar one game at Motherwell. Just another body not contributing
You conveniently forgot to mention the 2 goals he scored last week against Dundee United. They weren't even chances.
Do you really think we are going to replace his quality with the money this window? Our team is full of duds and one of the few with quality we sell at the first opportunity. Total madness and we deserve relegation.
Come on, he is an adult and apparently a hard nosed businessman.
Do you really think he is that thin skinned to be irked by a few jibes at his son (most of which though are justified given his son's incoherent transfer strategy).
Most will know on here I've had serious concerns about the Gordon's for ages.
If they sell Nisbet, which logically they cannot do just now, given the turmoil at the club this will turn even the most placid Hibee against them.
To sell Nisbet now is football suicide. Do the Gordon's want to relegate us?
I'm still prepared to give Ron a chance to turn it round and I think we should sell Nisbet if we get a good offer and can bring someone else in, would also like to see Laidlaw given minutes.
Opinions eh.
Trinity Hibee
Short term that was one of my all time favourite strike forces.
They also had a superb team around them. Currently we do not have that.
How do you mean? Help to our cashflow?
Trinity Hibee
25-01-2023, 08:39 PM
You conveniently forgot to mention the 2 goals he scored last week against Dundee United. They weren't even chances.
Do you really think we are going to replace his quality with the money this window? Our team is full of duds and one of the few with quality we sell at the first opportunity. Total madness and we deserve relegation.
Talking about Melkersen not nisbet
25-01-2023, 08:39 PM
?
£100 says if we sell Nisbet we will still finish outwith relegation and playoff spot.
25-01-2023, 08:42 PM
Talking about Melkersen not nisbet
Apologies. I agree then :greengrin
25-01-2023, 08:43 PM
It’s not the best deal in all honesty with such a large amount going to Dunfermline, it’s also 100% the worst time to sell the only ****ing player that is scoring for us. What a season.
25-01-2023, 08:45 PM
Is Nisbet definitely away to Millwall?
I wouldn't be surprised if Hibs try to stall a bit to either see if they can squeeze a bigger fee fom Millwall or hoping another club come into the equation.
25-01-2023, 08:45 PM
I'm still prepared to give Ron a chance to turn it round and I think we should sell Nisbet if we get a good offer and can bring someone else in, would also like to see Laidlaw given minutes.
Opinions eh.
Laidlaw maybe should get a chance but you can’t hang your season hopes and a possible relegation battle on untried lone rookie kid. You’d be throwing the guy under a bus.
25-01-2023, 08:47 PM
We only deserve relegated if we finish bottom.
Not sure it should be decided by how pissed off you happen to be.
Hibees1973
25-01-2023, 08:49 PM
£100 says if we sell Nisbet we will still finish outwith relegation and playoff spot.
But Ron has been quoted he wanted us to be top 4 and in Europe every season.
Up-the-slope
25-01-2023, 08:52 PM
i see most are giving the club (or its custodians) a kicking...
What if KN has made it clear that if a decent move is blocked again he will do what Porto has done and run down contract so we get nothing or peanuts?
players who are in demand have a decent value hold the cards these days... unless they have 4 year contracts... oh wait a minute... is that not what we have been trying to do? have prospects on longer contracts so club has more control? So far we have not seen fruits of that / or its no gone well (take your pick) but at least it was a different approach to what ive seen in my 40 years of watching us have good players and the mostly go west for poor sums (with a couple of notable exceptions)
25-01-2023, 08:52 PM
Old Rod P would have rebuffed this derisory offer with one dismissive twitch of his tash… Ben K just doesn’t have the facial hair or the acumen. There’s no rush to accept, even if the player is agitating for a move. Shouldn’t even be a conversation until £3m is on offer…
The issue here is that we don't have bodies to play centre forward. There's no other centre forward at the club who is fit.
I think the sale is fine but I would be seriously questioning the timing of this. Surely the value of Nisbet doesn't diminish if we were the wait until the summer - so why now? Have we panicked given the Porteous situation? Have we just capitulated to Nisbet's demand to leave?
Absolutely bizarre timing. Only way it would make sense is that we already have someone lined up to replace him, but given the way the club is being run at the moment I'm guessing not.
Complete shambles.
25-01-2023, 08:57 PM
Clubs a disgrace. An absolute disgrace from top to bottom with the exception of the youth squad.
Best defender away and best striker away in January, after two honking derby defeats and with a manager desperate to be paid off.
What an absolute mess the club is in.
Stokesy's on fire
25-01-2023, 08:57 PM
He means top 4 on trip advisor for events and stuff pay attention.
Of course he wants that. Tony Fitzpatrick wants the same for St Mirren, id think every non OF chair does.
Laidlaw maybe should get a chance but you can’t hang your season hopes and a possible relegation battle on untried lone rookie kid. You’d be throwing the guy under a bus.
Yup, that's why I say to bring in someone else which I'd expect the club to do. Although I'm keen to see what Laidlaw can do.
Clubs a disgrace. An absolute disgrace from top to bottom.
Best defender away and best striker away in January, after two honking derby defeats and with a manager desperate to be paid off.
Except neither are away but both want to by looks of it. Club can't keep players who won't sign a new contract or want away.
Is the sell on to Dunfermline confirmed?
I kinda expected there wouldn't be one considering the size of fee we bought him for.
25-01-2023, 09:07 PM
Except neither are away but both want to by looks of it. Club can't keep players who won't sign a new contract or want away.
Both will be away making the team even worse than it is in the process because one thing is for sure those in charge aren’t signing two better players.
25-01-2023, 09:08 PM
I kinda expected there wouldn't be one considering the size of fee we bought him for.
20% apparently
Both will be away making the team even worse than it is in the process because one thing is for sure those in charge aren’t signing two better players.
Both were much worse when they first kicked a ball at Hibs. Sometimes you sell someone, develop the next one and they turn out better.
Youth players maybe the way to go. For the record, Porto won't leave till the summer.
25-01-2023, 09:30 PM
Its almost impossible to sign better players in January. Unless you have crazy money available. And I don’t mean something you just happen to get in a few days before the window ends.
Up-the-slope
25-01-2023, 09:32 PM
:agree: most seem to be ignoring that fact
25-01-2023, 09:36 PM
Heard it was 20% but Daily Record article confirming we’ve agreed a fee states it’s a 30% sell on for Dunfermline. Decent lump of cash for them.
heid the baw
26-01-2023, 04:16 AM
Heard it was 20% but Daily Record article confirming we’ve agreed a fee states it’s a 30% sell on for Dunfermline. Decent lump of cash for them.
Reads like they get their full dues up front and we've got possible add ons. What you can guarantee though is that the Pars will scout and buy a better player with their 30% than our recruitment team will with our 70%
JamesHFC
26-01-2023, 05:06 AM
Is Nisbet definitely away to Millwall?
I wouldn't be surprised if Hibs try to stall a bit to either see if they can squeeze a bigger fee fom Millwall or hoping another club come into the equation.
You would think their interest would start a bidding war. We should also not be selling him until after this weekend, huge game.
26-01-2023, 05:27 AM
Are we allowed to say that Nisbet has been a massive ****** during his time at hibs?
To want to bolt as soon as the chance comes after being out so long with an ACL injury is a ****ing joke also.
I get the whole might be his big chance and we can’t deny him the opportunity etc etc but the way he’s went about it has been snakey as ****
26-01-2023, 05:28 AM
Reads like they get their full dues up front and we've got possible add ons. What you can guarantee though is that the Pars will scout and buy a better player with their 30% than our recruitment team will with our 70%
Yeah right, course they will🙄
The dalmeny
26-01-2023, 06:02 AM
Are we allowed to say that Nisbet has been a massive ****** during his time at hibs?
To want to bolt as soon as the chance comes after being out so long with an ACL injury is a ****ing joke also.
I get the whole might be his big chance and we can’t deny him the opportunity etc etc but the way he’s went about it has been snakey as ****
how did he do his acl again, was it while playing for hibs?
He’s a massive welt, for sure, and has disrespected the fans almost throughout his time here, but I can’t really blame him for wanting to leave now given that the club is a shambles at best, toxic at worst, he’s playing with a shower of diddies and the manager is prick.
26-01-2023, 06:30 AM
how did he do his acl again, was it while playing for hibs?
It was aye.
26-01-2023, 06:33 AM
Clubs a disgrace. An absolute disgrace from top to bottom with the exception of the youth squad.
Best defender who set the tone with his terrible error?
26-01-2023, 06:52 AM
Best defender who set the tone with his terrible error?Defender makes error shocker
Which was still giving away a free kick 40 odd yards away from goal
Sell the demon!
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
26-01-2023, 06:54 AM
On a simple ££££ basis, if we make a few quid then consider the goals he has scored then he’s been a good signing.
I think we maybe need to have a think about signing this type of character again though, he’s not been easy to love in spite of having some ability.
We’ve had spells in the recent past where we’ve had a solid dressing room and a great bond between the players and fans. I think we’re entitled to ask what has happened to that and what we can do to improve this in future.
26-01-2023, 06:56 AM
Reads like they get their full dues up front and we've got possible add ons. What you can guarantee though is that the Pars will scout and buy a better player with their 30% than our recruitment team will with our 70%Yeah, dunfermline (now L1) recruitment the past few years has been spot on [emoji23][emoji23]
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
26-01-2023, 06:56 AM
On a simple ££££ basis, if we make a few quid then consider the goals he has scored then he’s been a good signing.
I think we maybe need to have a think about signing this type of character again though, he’s not been easy to love in spite of having some ability.
We’ve had spells in the recent past where we’ve had a solid dressing room and a great bond between the players and fans. I think we’re entitled to ask what has happened to that and what we can do to improve this in future.
I’ve not taken to him at all mainly down to his stinking attitude especially after he submitted the transfer request and threw a stop because he didn’t get his move.
He’s not been interested in the club or it’s fan base since he came in the door imo.
Auckland Hibs
26-01-2023, 06:58 AM
Disappointed to see him leave but no surprise - after the past 18 months I wouldn't want to be at the club either.
26-01-2023, 07:01 AM
Porteous has refused to sign a contract for months and wants away so we are cashing in on him this window before we lose him for nothing in the summer providing our best defender Rocky is ok. Our best striker has recent history of demanding a transfer and downing tools when we reject a bid and is out of contract next year. What would you do differently if you were in charge?
Percy Vere
26-01-2023, 07:23 AM
The fee sounds ok and a sell on clause. If he wants to go there’s no point forcing him to stay. Give Ethan and Josh a chance hopefully.
His attitude is mingin but I liked his goals.
I remember his face walking out in the cup final, looked like he had trod in dog ****.
Good luck to him.
26-01-2023, 07:28 AM
Porteous has refused to sign a contract for months and wants away so we are cashing in on him this window before we lose him for nothing in the summer providing our best defender Rocky is ok. Our best striker has recent history of demanding a transfer and downing tools when we reject a bid and is out of contract next year. What would you do differently if you were in charge?
Keep both until the summer. Nisbet will want to get in Scotland squad
26-01-2023, 07:35 AM
After his ACL injury he will want to make more money in case he has a serious injury again.
Obviously doesn’t want to risk missing out on a move to make more money to stay at an unhappy Hibs team.
Will be interesting to see how he does, his recent form has been good but will come up against some good defenders in Championship. Millwall pushing for promotion too so probably create some chances to score for them.
McGruber
26-01-2023, 07:43 AM
The fee sounds ok and a sell on clause. If he wants to go there’s no point forcing him to stay. Give Ethan and Josh a chance hopefully.
I remember his face walking out in the cup final, looked like he had trod in dog ****.
Good luck to him.
Has it been confirmed there is a sell on clause?
Saint Hibee
26-01-2023, 07:46 AM
There seems to be a bit of revisionist history going on in this thread. Yes he might have had ups and downs in his form, but I’ve never seen Nisbet give anything less than 100% effort for Hibs.
Are you saying going to a club challenging for promotion in the Championship (the 6th biggest league in the world, in financial terms) will spoil his chances of getting in the Scotland squad?
26-01-2023, 07:55 AM
In a funny way, this sell-on clause [to another Scottish club] is the perfect model.
It's what we did with St Mirren with John McGinn too.
Why is it a good thing?
Because it should allow us to be successful in doing the thing our current clueless recruitment department have stopped doing....
...Sign the best players from other Scottish clubs,
...it improves our team (now, not in 2029), AND
...we can show we are a more effective shop window that improves their player's value (so the sell on clause is a carrot for a Dunfermline, a St Mirren, a Dundee United, a Motherwell, a Livi etc to sell to us).
Nisbet and SJM both going for around 10 times what we bought them for is an incentive for the other Scottish clubs to work with Hibs
And boy do we need players (especially in the middle of defence and middle of the park) who can play at Scottish Premiership level already, before we then start improving the player further
So - well done the Pars and Hibs on the Nisbet one - we need a LOT more of this kind of thing (IMO)
GreenPJ
26-01-2023, 07:58 AM
There seems to be a bit of revisionist history going on in this thread. Yes he might have had ups and downs in his form, but I’ve never seen Nisbet give anything less than 100% effort for Hibs.
There was a number of games before his injury where the effort was not 100%. People speculated as to whether that was down to not getting the move, his Dad passing away, maybe a niggling injury - doesn't matter though, there was definitely a number of games where he gave us nothing, Ross tried to protect him from criticism but if memory serves me right he did end up getting dropped for a few games because of the form/attitude.
Percy Vere
26-01-2023, 08:03 AM
Has it been confirmed there is a sell on clause?
I’ve read it’s a fee add ons and sell on.
But I’ve not spoken to Lee or Kev about it.
26-01-2023, 08:11 AM
Disappointed to see him leave but no surprise - after the past 18 months I wouldn't want to be at the club either.
That’s the spirit
Guy doesn’t want to be here as he spat out the dummie and downed tools the last time we knocked back an offer.
Goodbye and thanks for the cash.
26-01-2023, 08:14 AM
I’ve not taken to him at all mainly down to his stinking attitude especially after he submitted the transfer request and threw a stop because he didn’t get his move.
He’s not been interested in the club or it’s fan base since he came in the door imo.
Shame hes going now not summer and cant blame him. Club is a mess and moral will be low. Opportunity to earn much more down south with a new challenge for him. I dont think he will set the heather on fire at Millwall but hopefully Hibs have a on fee added to the deal incase he does move to a higher club than Millwall
26-01-2023, 08:15 AM
Right well if you're going go now so we have a fighting chance of bringing someone in to replace you.
Same goes for Porteous.
McGruber
26-01-2023, 08:28 AM
That’s the spirit
Guy doesn’t want to be here as he spat out the dummie and downed tools the last time we knocked back an offer.
Goodbye and thanks for the cash.
That's the upside, we could be the richest team in the Championship
heid the baw
26-01-2023, 08:42 AM
Right well if you're going go now so we have a fighting chance of bringing someone in to replace you.
Same goes for Porteous.
Luckily we've got Doige and Melkerson for emergency cover.
Oh wait we loaned them out
26-01-2023, 08:47 AM
Shame hes going now not summer and cant blame him. Club is a mess and moral will be low. Opportunity to earn much more down south with a new challenge for him. I dont he will set the heather on fire at Millwall but hopefully Hibs have a on fee added to the deal incase he does move to a higher club than Millwall
One of the reasons we are in such a mess is filling the team with players like Nisbet who have absolutely no affection or real commitment to the club.
Nutmegged
26-01-2023, 08:51 AM
Folk having a go at Nisbet for 'downing tools' the last time we knocked a bid back is some laugh, can you imagine how you would feel if your current employer somehow blocked you from going to another job for about five times the wages plus a huge signing on bonus? Weather it's intentional or subconsciously, it's not hard to understand why you'd be a bit miffed at tour current employers.
Then there's folk that complain we looked after him throughout a serious injury, he got injured playing for Hibs, injury is an occupational hazard, we can't moan that we looked after someone we kept against their will then got injured while playing for us.
I liked Nisbet, I never felt like he was truly Hibs but Hibs never really felt like truly Hibs during his time, he's a prototype of the kind of business we should be doing though, buy the best young talent in Scotland before Celtic/Huns/England get a hold of them then sell him on for 10x that amount 2/3 years down the line.
Charlie McCann left the huns the other day for £300k to Forest Green, that's the type of deal we shouldn't be letting go without a fight, Dylan Reid at St Mirren is another, Celtic wanted him, West Ham are sniffing about, we should give him a clear 2/3 plan and give him examples of how we work (McGinn/Nisbet) these aren't USP's specific to Hibs but we absolutely should be using it to our advantage.
timewilltell
26-01-2023, 08:53 AM
Not happening mate.
timewilltell
26-01-2023, 08:57 AM
Come on, he is an adult and apparently a hard nosed businessman.
Do you really think he is that thin skinned to be irked by a few jibes at his son (most of which though are justified given his son's incoherent transfer strategy).
Most will know on here I've had serious concerns about the Gordon's for ages.
If they sell Nisbet, which logically they cannot do just now, given the turmoil at the club this will turn even the most placid Hibee against them.
To sell Nisbet now is football suicide. Do the Gordon's want to relegate us?
You don't get it. Nisbet DOESN'T WANT TO BE HERE!
McGruber
26-01-2023, 09:19 AM
I get he doesn't want to be here. I don't want to be at my work today either but here I am.
He downed tools before with 3 and half years left on contract and time on his side.
He might have ran about after this window with his face tripping him but down tools again? Not only Scotland squad to get into but his goals and performances he would know determine the money and offers he would get in the summer.
It's by the by and he is away. What is important now is who comes in. We can't be a side that can go on a run of 2 wins in 11, be what 6 or 7 points off play off spot then sell our main striker, only source of regular goals, main defender and biggest leader and expect to be exempt from getting dragged down the league into trouble.
So players need to come in. Proven quality players in the next 5 days. Will see how we are placed at the end of the window. I have no faith in our recruitment but really hope to be pleasantly surprised.
26-01-2023, 09:30 AM
:agree: Agreed. Perhaps symbollic of the current apathy amongst the Hibs support that we are so complacent about losing an outstanding striker, international and our prized asset so easily.
Scorer of some excellent goals, memorable and important. Always looked a player and His all round play even when not scoring is the best we have in a forward area.
Current perceived logic for not being bothered about losing him cheaply is he went off the boil a bit before his injury and you don’t want to keep an unhappy player.
Every striker has periods off the boil but class is permanent and form is temporary.. As for unhappy, I’m confident he would be professional enough, especially to a club who have nursed him through his injury superbly, to wait until the summer and get his big move.
26-01-2023, 10:04 AM
I think Nisbet might have stayed till the end of the season, if we had been on a more stable footing than we are at present. He has to think of number one and the present is probably the time for him to move on. We’ll probably soon be managerless and could be floundering around near the foot of the table. It works both ways and it might be that this is possibly the best time to cash in on him.
26-01-2023, 10:08 AM
I think Nisbet might have stayed till the end of the season, if we had been on a more stable footing than we are at present. He has to think of number one and the present is probably the time for him to move on. We’ll probably soon be managerless and could be floundering around near the foot of the table. It works both ways and it might be that this is possibly the best time to cash in on him.
We were on a stable footing 6 months after he signed his contract but he put in a transfer request and went in the huff when it was refused.
He wants to get rich as quickly as possible.
26-01-2023, 10:19 AM
We were on a stable footing 6 months after he signed his contract but he put in a transfer request and went in the huff when it was refused.
He wants to get rich as quickly as possible.
Don’t we all
26-01-2023, 10:27 AM
Luckily we've got Doige and Melkerson for emergency cover.
Oh wait we loaned them out
This is convincing me we have literally zero strategy, I said it earlier in this window Nisbet would be away if the right offer came in. Then we sent Melkersen out on loan, showed no signs of bringing someone in and have now left it to the final week of the window to let two guaranteed starters leave.
26-01-2023, 10:34 AM
There was a number of games before his injury where the effort was not 100%. People speculated as to whether that was down to not getting the move, his Dad passing away, maybe a niggling injury - doesn't matter though, there was definitely a number of games where he gave us nothing, Ross tried to protect him from criticism but if memory serves me right he did end up getting dropped for a few games because of the form/attitude.
Pretty much how I remember it.
26-01-2023, 10:37 AM
:agree: Agreed. Perhaps symbollic of the current apathy amongst the Hibs support that we are so complacent about losing an outstanding striker, international and our prized asset so easily.
Scorer of some excellent goals, memorable and important. Always looked a player and His all round play even when not scoring is the best we have in a forward area.
Current perceived logic for not being bothered about losing him cheaply is he went off the boil a bit before his injury and you don’t want to keep an unhappy player.
Every striker has periods off the boil but class is permanent and form is temporary.. As for unhappy, I’m confident he would be professional enough, especially to a club who have nursed him through his injury superbly, to wait until the summer and get his big move.
A bit!!!? Jeezo!
McGruber
26-01-2023, 10:38 AM
Totally agree
26-01-2023, 10:43 AM
Same goes for Porteous.
Is Porto being loaned back to us for rest of season, or is he down in London to just sign a pre contract.
26-01-2023, 10:45 AM
Is Porto being loaned back to us for rest of season, or is he down in London to just sign a pre contract.
Neither, looks like he's signing for Watford.
ozwoody
26-01-2023, 10:50 AM
Good move for KN and Hibs.
He gets a move, increased wages, a chance in England and we get some cash.
When we signed him, we knew he would move on, that's why we agreed to selling on fee with Dunfermline, I'm ok with that.
I'm also OK with him submitting transfer request after we blocked his move to Birmingham last year.
He was offered more money and anyone else in his shoes would be upset if our employer blocked that.
He got injury, recovered and scored 7 in 7 , gaining a move that will test him further.
He's done ok by us and we have done ok with him
Numptie
26-01-2023, 10:52 AM
Is Doidge still on loan or was it only for 6 months. Not thinking he is the answer but what other options do we have apart from O'Connor and Laidlaw.
GreenPJ
26-01-2023, 10:59 AM
Is Doidge still on loan or was it only for 6 months. Not thinking he is the answer but what other options do we have apart from O'Connor and Laidlaw.
O'Connor and Laidlaw may not be the answer but we will never know without giving them an opportunity. Doidge (and I like him) is not the solution now or going forward. I would rather we try with the youngsters (and potentially fail) than resort to someone whose career sadly has been on a rapid decline since his injury.
26-01-2023, 10:59 AM
Nothing against Nisbet or Porteous leaving. It’s in the trajectory of both those players careers to eventually escape the relative backwater of Scottish football. Let’s face it, anyone who wants to stay here would lack ambition, and I include the OF mercenaries hoovering up the pre paid trophies before their annual spanking in Europe.
Porto has added reasons to wish to leave, having fallen foul of the Huns and their typewriter hitting and black clad representatives in the sports media and refs dressing rooms.
My bugbear is that I have absolutely no confidence in the board/management that their is any viable succession plan to replace these players.
26-01-2023, 11:01 AM
O'Connor and Laidlaw may not be the answer but we will never know without giving them an opportunity. Doidge (and I like him) is not the solution now or going forward. I would rather we try with the youngsters (and potentially fail) than resort to someone whose career sadly has been on a rapid decline since his injury.
Have to agree with this
26-01-2023, 11:13 AM
Nothing against Nisbet or Porteous leaving. It’s in the trajectory of both those players careers to eventually escape the relative backwater of Scottish football. Let’s face it, anyone who wants to stay here would lack ambition, and I include the OF mercenaries hoovering up the pre paid trophies before their annual spanking in Europe.
Porto has added reasons to wish to leave, having fallen foul of the Huns and their typewriter hitting and black clad representatives in the sports media and refs dressing rooms.
My bugbear is that I have absolutely no confidence in the board/management that their is any viable succession plan to replace these players.
I doubt that the people currently in charge of our club could spell succession plan even if you gave them the requisite vowels and consonants. And a dictionary. And then spelled it out for them.
26-01-2023, 11:28 AM
Are you saying going to a club challenging for promotion in the Championship (the 6th biggest league in the world, in financial terms) will spoil his chances of getting in the Scotland squad?
No I am saying make the decision based on what is best for Hibs. Unlikely to down tools here if trying to get in Scotland squad
26-01-2023, 11:31 AM
One of the reasons we are in such a mess is filling the team with players like Nisbet who have absolutely no affection or real commitment to the club.
Problem is more like not having more players of the same quality as him
ozwoody
26-01-2023, 11:40 AM
Ryan was with us for 11 years and he's left.
The reason we are in such a mess is that the recruitment has been horrendous for the past 2 years.
We have a week of the transfer window left, 8 players have moved/moving on, have injuries all over the shop, and have brought in 1 player
OstKurve Hibs
26-01-2023, 11:49 AM
Problem is more like not having more players of the same quality as him
100% this. If he had better quality round him hed have more goals, hed be goin to a better club than millwall, and wed be gettin more money for him or able to hold onto him longer as wed pushin for trophies and 3rd if we weren't complete dross.
26-01-2023, 11:52 AM
I’m guessing we won’t be getting a friendly as part of this deal. :greengrin
26-01-2023, 12:04 PM
I’m guessing we won’t be getting a friendly as part of this deal. :greengrin
Lol. I still remember every part of that 'friendly' day even though it was over 30 years ago.
snedzuk
26-01-2023, 12:15 PM
From the official site Aberdeen preview!
"One man in form is Hibs striker Kevin Nisbet, who has scored five goals in his last three games for the Club. Since his return from an ACL injury back in February 2022, Nizzy has managed seven goals and an assist in his last seven games."
HIBS NUTS
26-01-2023, 12:22 PM
Lol. I still remember every part of that 'friendly' day even though it was over 30 years ago.
I was there with my hands off hibs tee- shirt, i turned a corner and i was met with a wall of bald angry men signing Engaland Engaland, thankfully i could run in they days. 😄
26-01-2023, 12:24 PM
From the official site Aberdeen preview!
"One man in form is Hibs striker Kevin Nisbet, who has scored five goals in his last three games for the Club. Since his return from an ACL injury back in February 2022, Nizzy has managed seven goals and an assist in his last seven games."
Aberdeen reminding us how difficult it will be to replace him.
26-01-2023, 12:25 PM
Aberdeen reminding us how difficult it will be to replace him.
Its from our own official site. :greengrin
26-01-2023, 12:30 PM
Its from our own official site. :greengrin
Oh, I misread that and thought it was odd the Aberdeen website called him Nizzy :greengrin
It should read "Nizzy, who by saturday will be playing for Milwall, will be replaced by a cardboard cut out of Christian Doidge with £2.4m sellotaped to it"
leith lynx
26-01-2023, 12:34 PM
The most unfriendliest friendly ever! yours truly, a survivor.
26-01-2023, 12:53 PM
I was there with my hands off hibs tee- shirt, i turned a corner and i was met with a wall of bald angry men signing Engaland Engaland, thankfully i could run in they days. 😄
"Hands off Hibs? we're going to give you some Millwall filth"! Gulp. 😀
26-01-2023, 01:25 PM
Well he should have thought about that before signing his contract with us.
Right now I’d tell him he’s going nowhere. If he “downs tools” I doubt many other clubs will be in for him in the summer.
He’s got a few months to bang in some goals and secure his dream move away from us.
Until then I don’t give a damn what he wants. It’s about Hibs for once.
26-01-2023, 01:36 PM
I think bringing in Laidlaw or O'Connor could be dodgy for them just now - our crowd isn't exactly going to be sympathetic if they struggle, given we could quickly get sucked into a play-off fight. Huge amount of pressure to put on their shoulders. I'd rather see Doidge come back and take the flack for our being hopeless, then once (if) we're clear of relegation and the season officially has no stakes (or meaning), we let the youngsters come in.
No I am saying make the decision based on what is best for Hibs. Unlikely to down tools here if trying to get in Scotland squad
Fair enough. Still think if a player is determined to leave then we shouldn't stop them. They could still be contributing to disharmony in the dressing room whilst banging in the goals on the pitch.
Hibees1973
26-01-2023, 01:44 PM
Right now I’d tell him he’s going nowhere. If he “downs tools” I doubt many other clubs will be in for him in the summer.
He’s got a few months to bang in some goals and secure his dream move away from us.
Agree 100%.
This 'He doesn't want to be here' is nonsense. He's only just back from injury and scored 7 goals for us.
He is under contract to Hibs. If he doesn't want to be here he still seems to be banging in the goals.
Fine, he wants to move but he can wait until the summer. The timing of selling Nisbet now is shocking.
Now is a bad time to sell and with Ron's son still signing the players, god knows who we are going to get in. Ron's son, since he became Head of Recruitment is burning cash on wages & transfer fees signing duds.
Can only see us dropping down the table, nearer the relegation spots if Nisbet & Porteous are sold.
Hibs were always a stepping stone for him
26-01-2023, 01:50 PM
Agree 100%.
This 'He doesn't want to be here' is nonsense. He's only just back from injury and scored 7 goals for us.
He is under contract to Hibs. If he doesn't want to be here he still seems to be banging in the goals.
Fine, he wants to move but he can wait until the summer. The timing of selling Nisbet now is shocking.
Now is a bad time to sell and with Ron's son still signing the players, god knows who we are going to get in. Ron's son, since he became Head of Recruitment is burning cash on wages & transfer fees signing duds.
Can only see us dropping down the table, nearer the relegation spots if Nisbet & Porteous are sold.
A lot of players seem to hit form, try a little harder when they want a move or know transfer windows are open.
26-01-2023, 01:51 PM
I’d rather we played both the youngsters than Doidge, who was honking for us after his covid and don’t think he has even scored for Killie.
HIBS NUTS
26-01-2023, 02:13 PM
"Hands off Hibs? we're going to give you some Millwall filth"! Gulp. 😀
Just as well , i had you to back me up.😁
CiscoKid
26-01-2023, 02:46 PM
I think selling him now is about Hibs, I think the transfer fee we get in the summer with only a year to go is less and will continue to go down.
Don't see him downing tools as he is effectively playing for a new contract but he already knows that his next contract is not with us and not within our means. I just hope (but doubt) that we are planning for adequate replacements.
loanheadhibby
26-01-2023, 02:48 PM
Good luck to him.
Yes I agree good luck to him.
Missed a great chance to become a hero when missing the pen v Hearts in the cup semi.
26-01-2023, 02:49 PM
26-01-2023, 03:28 PM
Hibs were always a stepping stone for him
Yeah of course. But one that lasts the length of his contract.
H
H
Sorry that's naive, there is not a club in the country that could enforcement that without damaging themselves.
Hibees1973
26-01-2023, 03:52 PM
Sorry that's naive, there is not a club in the country that could enforcement that without damaging themselves.
And this is the key point.
Selling Nisbet, with the goals he is scoring just now is going to leave a huge chasm in the team.
Surely it is less damaging to the club to keep him until the end or the season then sell him on even if it's a lower fee. The possibility of relegation is compounded if Nisbet is sold now.
We are limiting the damage by keeping him until the summer.
Unless we have a significant signing lined up, selling Nizzy at this point is suicide.
When Boyle got injured I thought mid-table obscurity would have been an achievement as didn't see where the goals were going to come from.
Nizzy banging them in since his return gave me hope but if he goes I have that same feeling again. Especially with Porto away that's two massive elements of our team this season gone.
Hibiza
26-01-2023, 04:28 PM
Goodbye Kevin , was great having you when
you felt like playing . All the best.
cammy1969
26-01-2023, 04:33 PM
H
Then he would leave for free that not good business
26-01-2023, 04:34 PM
Unless we have a significant signing lined up, selling Nizzy at this point is suicide.
When Boyle got injured I thought mid-table obscurity would have been an achievement as didn't see where the goals were going to come from.
Nizzy banging them in since his return gave me hope but if he goes I have that same feeling again. Especially with Porto away that's two massive elements of our team this season gone.
Mid table obscurity is where we have got with Nisbet’s goals. I fear it will be far worse without them.
26-01-2023, 04:35 PM
Goodbye Kevin , was great having you when
you felt like playing . All the best.
It’s annoying as he hasn’t really kicked a ball for us since January 2021, with him going in the huff for more than a year and being out injured for most of the next. So 7 good games in 2 years and if reports are to believed he’s looking for a transfer again with 18 months left on his contract. Great servant 😳
26-01-2023, 04:47 PM
Mid table obscurity is where we have got with Nisbet’s goals. I fear it will be far worse without them.
Same here, Porteous just makes it worse.
seanshow
26-01-2023, 04:55 PM
If Porteous follows Nisbet and Rocky out for the season, we are going to need a busy week, it would be miracle if its quality replacements over football mercenaries.
26-01-2023, 05:03 PM
Maybe this gives the impetus on McKirdy and Youan to step up and start scoring. I’d like to see McKirdy play in Nisbets role to see what he’s got.
26-01-2023, 05:33 PM
If Porteous follows Nisbet and Rocky out for the season, we are going to need a busy week, it would be miracle if its quality replacements over football mercenaries.
There's Zero chance in a Jan window of replacing Nisbet and Porteous with anyone who is not inferior. We will need to get to the end of season with a weaker side than what we have watched to date, a frightening prospect.
26-01-2023, 05:40 PM
Has a friendly with Millwall been arranged? :big grin:
26-01-2023, 05:41 PM
Although I couldn't be mean spirited to wish failure on anyone, I also couldn't really care less if he was to have a torrid time of it down south.
Six months into signing a contract with us and was angling to move. A handful of games after returning from injury which we've paid him through and facilitated his return into the team, he's off.
Suspect he'll do well down there but if he doesn't, I wouldn't welcome him back.
26-01-2023, 05:43 PM
There's Zero chance in a Jan window of replacing Nisbet and Porteous with anyone who is not inferior. We will need to get to the end of season with a weaker side than what we have watched to date, a frightening prospect.
I think with regards to Nisbet, my hope is we can replace him with goals from elsewhere.
We’re far too reliant on him for goals. If we can bring in a new forward plus an attacking midfielder that offers a goal threat we will be a better team for it, even if the new forward isn’t as good as Nisbet.
26-01-2023, 05:44 PM
Anyone going to the friendly we aranged away with that Rainbow mob, when we signed the fire starter?
26-01-2023, 06:12 PM
Then he would leave for free that not good business
I've no problem with a player leaving us for free at the end of his contract. We know what we're getting when we enter a deal. If we're relying on a future sell-on fee, that's crap business.
Both sides should be prepared to see out a contract when it's signed. No point otherwise. It's not naive to think this.
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-01-2023, 06:22 PM
Has a friendly with Millwall been arranged? :big grin:
Would certainly attract a particular clientele, that [emoji1787]
26-01-2023, 06:23 PM
I've no problem with a player leaving us for free at the end of his contract. We know what we're getting when we enter a deal. If we're relying on a future sell-on fee, that's crap business.
Both sides should be prepared to see out a contract when it's signed. No point otherwise. It's not naive to think this. we can’t afford to let decent players leave for nothing. Jeez that’s just crazy thinking.
26-01-2023, 06:27 PM
Both sides should be prepared to see out a contract when it's signed. No point otherwise. It's not naive to think this.
This notion belongs in Narnia. Footballers have always been bought and sold as commodities. With the advent of the Bosman ruling the players got a huge amount of power and they are quite within their rights to go hunting for more money if circumstances allow. Hibs have shown in this window that if you're not deemed good enough you get emptied, under contract or not.
26-01-2023, 06:35 PM
This notion belongs in Narnia. Footballers have always been bought and sold as commodities. With the advent of the Bosman ruling the players got a huge amount of power and they are quite within their rights to go hunting for more money if circumstances allow. Hibs have shown in this window that if you're not deemed good enough you get emptied, under contract or not.
BY getting emptied you mean still getting all your wages and still having a contract that guarantees them for the duration of that contract?
Football is a job to players, of course they will be motivated by getting the best out of a short and perilous career. However, they still can't just do whatever they want, as Nisbet found out when Birmingham tried to buy him before.
26-01-2023, 06:36 PM
Nah, you're wrong. It protects both sides.
They can hunt all they like and chuck as many toys as they want, it means nowt.
There's nothing a player can do about it if the cub wants them to see out their contract. Nothing.
26-01-2023, 06:37 PM
BY getting emptied you mean still getting all your wages and still having a contract that guarantees them for the duration of that contract?
Football is a job to players, of course they will be motivated by getting the best out of a short and perilous career. However, they still can't just do whatever they want, as Nisbet found out when Birmingham tried to buy him before.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding but do you think that Mitchell (for example) is now getting paid by Hibs and Exeter?
26-01-2023, 06:39 PM
Nah, you're wrong. It protects both sides.
They can hunt all they like and chuck as many toys as they want, it means nowt.
There's nothing a player can do about it if the cub wants them to see out their contract. Nothing.
They can down tools, just like Nisbet did. They can cause disruption in the dressing room. We know this and it's why clubs hardly ever hang on to unhappy players.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding but do you think that Mitchell (for example) is now getting paid by Hibs and Exeter?
Do you think he hasn't found a new employer?
I would imagine that the move suited both parties, otherwise Mitchell would have stayed.
we can’t afford to let decent players leave for nothing. Jeez that’s just crazy thinking.
Why?
It's been the way for years. We hardly ever get a fee, never mind a decent one, when players leave. It's why we can remember every player we've sold for over £500k! It happens so rarely.
If we sign a player for 4 years, and get 4 years service out of him, that's it. We don't deserve anything more.
If it's in the club's and player's best interest to sell him on before that, all well and good. But we absolutely should not be relying on that.
We used to take the piss out of Rangers for needing to sell players each year to stay afloat. Rightly so.
26-01-2023, 06:42 PM
Nope.
If Exeter didn't come in for him, he has the protection of knowing he has a wage coming in from Hibs. He has that protection in the form of his contract.
Same with Nisbett.
He had the protection of his contract for the time he was injured. We didn't, and couldn't, just go, "sod you, we don't want you to be here anymore"!
It works both ways.
£2.4m for Nizzy. £0.4m for Porto. £3m for Doig.
That’s quite a war chest for a Director of Football.
He’d better be good as I wouldn’t let our current stooges spend the cash.
And this is the key point.
Selling Nisbet, with the goals he is scoring just now is going to leave a huge chasm in the team.
Surely it is less damaging to the club to keep him until the end or the season then sell him on even if it's a lower fee. The possibility of relegation is compounded if Nisbet is sold now.
We are limiting the damage by keeping him until the summer.
No bargains to be had in January. Any purchase would be a panic buy.
Frankly, I’ve written this season off.
26-01-2023, 06:51 PM
Nope.
If Exeter didn't come in for him, he has the protection of knowing he has a wage coming in from Hibs. He has that protection in the form of his contract.
Same with Nisbett.
He had the protection of his contract for the time he was injured. We didn't, and couldn't, just go, "sod you, we don't want you to be here anymore"!
It works both ways.
Of course they have protection, who said otherwise? In spite of that however, once a player is told he is free to find a new club, or if the player hands in a transfer request, they rarely hang around, and that's always been the way.
That's commercial suicide
ErinGoBraghHFC
26-01-2023, 06:52 PM
£2.4m for Nish. £0.4m for Porto. £3m for Doig.
Nish? Is this 2010?
26-01-2023, 07:02 PM
You're contradicting yourself here. On the one hand players have a huge amount of power , on the other they get emptied contact or not
Of course they have protection, who said otherwise? In spite of that however, once a player is told he is free to find a new club, or if the player hands in a transfer request, they rarely hang around, and that's always been the way.
So, getting emptied whilst under contract actually means you find another club, if the deal suits you and your current club.
Too many folk just giving it all the get rid, emptied nonsense, it's not quite that simple.
26-01-2023, 07:03 PM
Thats just absolute bull****.
26-01-2023, 07:07 PM
Nisbet's fee is initially £2M, with 30% of that going to Dunfermline... so £1.4M to Hibs.
26-01-2023, 07:10 PM
That's commercial suicide
Yet, we're still here?!
We spend way more bringing players in than we get for players leaving.
How you can even begin to budget for anything if you're relying on 'x' coming in from sales? That sounds like a sure fire way to administration.
26-01-2023, 07:11 PM
Whatever. I'm out.
26-01-2023, 07:11 PM
Have Hibs confirmed the bid has been accepted? I know it's been reported in the press.
26-01-2023, 07:18 PM
That’s just nonsense. That maybe true of EPL but not at this level. We’re not looking to sign Ronaldo. Just decent players that can play in Scottish Premiership. We don’t even need to buy them, a loan would be just as good.
26-01-2023, 07:20 PM
Anyone going to the friendly we aranged away with that Rainbow mob, when we signed the fire starter?We might be bringing him back at this rate.
snedzuk
26-01-2023, 07:23 PM
We might be bringing him back at this rate.
Better explain to him that 'Johnson out' wasn't an instruction!
26-01-2023, 07:25 PM
Better explain to him that 'Johnson out' wasn't an instruction!
Now, that would be protest :greengrin
Donegal Hibby
26-01-2023, 07:27 PM
We might be bringing him back at this rate.
It will be curtains for him if he does come back after what he said !
26-01-2023, 07:27 PM
Better explain to him that 'Johnson out' wasn't an instruction![emoji23]
Nisbet's fee is initially £2M, with 30% of that going to Dunfermline... so £1.4M to Hibs.
Has this 30% been confirmed anywhere? I can't imagine us giving Dunfermline such a big transfer fee AND a selling on fee like that.
26-01-2023, 07:32 PM
It could be argued that Watford and Millwall have been bagging themselves some decent bargains?
Possibly Exeter too if Mitchell can stay fit although that probably stretches the credibility of the point a bit.
Where is your source for 30%, when I've also seen 20% reported!!
26-01-2023, 08:07 PM
Scary stuff indeed.
26-01-2023, 08:35 PM
Where is your source for 30%, when I've also seen 20% reported!!
30% from a very reliable source.
26-01-2023, 08:48 PM
30% from a very reliable source.
Daily Mail journalist Stephen McGowan says it was 20%. Says he checked this. So presumably either with Hibs or Dunfermline.
Chorley Hibee
26-01-2023, 08:56 PM
My worry is that the money will be used to plug a lot of holes in the accounts.
No inside info, just a hunch given our early cup exits and considerable outlay in fees and wages over the past year or so.
We won't see those accounts for at least a year so someone would need to ask about it at the AGM. Not sure they'd go into much detail about the current season's finances though.
26-01-2023, 09:04 PM
I’d be interested to see what holes these are. Our turnover is up, we’ve brought in big fees for Doig, Nisbet and now Porto. I’d imagine we’re up on the Boyle deal as well.
JamesHFC
26-01-2023, 09:06 PM
I'm genuinely bewildered as to why we aren't keeping Nisbet for the game on Saturday, Millwall aren't even playing for another 9 days.
26-01-2023, 09:07 PM
I'm genuinely bewildered as to why we aren't keeping Nisbet for the game on Saturday, Millwall aren't even playing for another 9 days.
Maybe we are, I'm not sure he'll be focused on the game though
26-01-2023, 09:07 PM
Nisbet is desperate to go.
26-01-2023, 09:09 PM
I’d wager that will be down to the player not wanting to risk injury.
JamesHFC
26-01-2023, 09:10 PM
Seems that it's more likely to be him refusing to play. Wanted out the door after 6 months and now can't even give us 90 more minutes after helping him with his rehabilitation the past year as well as previous personal issues. Says a lot about the lad imo.
26-01-2023, 09:12 PM
Daily Mail journalist Stephen McGowan says it was 20%. Says he checked this. So presumably either with Hibs or Dunfermline.
I would suggest he's wrong.
Chorley Hibee
26-01-2023, 09:13 PM
I’d be interested to see what holes these are. Our turnover is up, we’ve brought in big fees for Doig, Nisbet and now Porto. I’d imagine we’re up on the Boyle deal as well.
You're right, but likewise we've wasted a huge amount on dross in the past year or so, and first round exits in both cups must have made a dent in any projected figures too.
The problem is, we're going to have to spend our way out of this hole we're currently in, but this time on the right bloody players.
26-01-2023, 09:13 PM
Hi
No he’s not.
26-01-2023, 09:15 PM
Hi
No he’s not.
Judging from his behaviour with the Birmingham bid, I believe he is.
26-01-2023, 09:21 PM
This thread is going to look awful daft if he doesn't go this window. The chat about him and Porto reads like they've already gone, and for publicly-announced fees.
Might well come to pass but, come on, let's no jump the gun.
26-01-2023, 09:21 PM
Writing of the season would be a positive as we will have gained enough points to avoid the playoffs
26-01-2023, 09:22 PM
This thread is going to look awful daft if he doesn't go this window. The chat about him and Porto reads like they've already gone, and for publicly-announced fees.
They are going, no-ones jumping the gun
JamesHFC
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/kevin-nisbet-ryan-porteous-set-29061997
Kano Kirsty
Hi
No he’s not.
I believe he is. If that’s the case, take the money and invest it.
26-01-2023, 09:23 PM
Hi
No he’s not.
You are very much wrong.
26-01-2023, 09:25 PM
Judging from his behaviour with the Birmingham bid, I believe he is.
Like everybody else on this thread I have no idea what Nisbet thinks about anything. However I thought I’d just make up something.
26-01-2023, 09:30 PM
Like everybody else on this thread I have no idea what Nisbet thinks about anything. However I thought I’d just make up something.
Alright then, good for you.
26-01-2023, 09:30 PM
I’m just surprised that a Daily Mail journalist has claimed to check the facts before publishing.
Victor
26-01-2023, 09:37 PM
I’m just surprised that a Daily Mail journalist has claimed to check the facts before publishing.
[emoji2]
Hi
No he’s not.
Well he's not rushing to sign a new contract, is he?
26-01-2023, 10:47 PM
Its nonsense and nothing more than wild speculation. I suspect these holes don’t exist and folks hunches on here are based on nothing.
26-01-2023, 10:50 PM
Although he works for that rag he is a top sports journalist.
26-01-2023, 10:51 PM
Well he's not rushing to sign a new contract, is he?
He’s got 18 months left. Have we offered him an improved contract?
26-01-2023, 10:54 PM
He'll defo go was desperate the last time to a team bottom championship looks like agent player or Hibs are hoping Huns or tic offer a few more quid for him.
26-01-2023, 11:44 PM
How do we know that?
It looks like our club have accepted a bid for him and told him to talk terms. It’s hardly telling the player we value him and want him to stay.
How do we know that?
It looks like our club have accepted a bid for him and told him to talk terms. It’s hardly telling the player we value him and want him to stay.
Do you think transfers really work that way? Clubs agree the deal before the buying club talks to the player's agent?
That may be how it is supposed to work but most people realise that most of the time agents will have already been given a reasonable idea of terms and confirm the player is interested before the club will put in a bid.
27-01-2023, 05:40 AM
Its nonsense and nothing more than wild speculation. I suspect these holes don’t exist and folks hunches on here are based on nothing.
Exactly. Add to that, turnover was up significantly up.
27-01-2023, 05:46 AM
Seems that it's more likely to be him refusing to play. Wanted out the door after 6 months and now can't even give us 90 more minutes after helping him with his rehabilitation the past year as well as previous personal issues. Says a lot about the lad imo.
Your hypothetical scenario doesn’t say anything about him whatsoever.
27-01-2023, 05:47 AM
Do you know this or are you just upset nobody is slagging the lad for his ability/form now?
27-01-2023, 05:56 AM
OldEast
27-01-2023, 05:57 AM
"Welcome to Millwall Kevin, we read online you were desperate to leave Hibs, what was the problem?"
"2 and a half years I was there and they still couldn't spell my name, **** them!"
27-01-2023, 06:04 AM
Your hypothetical scenario doesn’t say anything about him whatsoever.
It doesn’t, but it’s accurate.
27-01-2023, 07:39 AM
He’s got 18 months left. Have we offered him an improved contract?
Doesn't really matter now as we couldn't match what they're paying him or give him the massive signing on fee.
27-01-2023, 11:44 AM
BBC reporting c.£2m accepted by Hibs and Nesbit is away for a midecal.
Had a look to see when Millwall play Watford but unfortunately the have played each other twice already. Porto v Nizzy will have to wait until next season - if they are both still in the same league.
27-01-2023, 11:59 AM
Had a look to see when Millwall play Watford but unfortunately the have played each other twice already. Porto v Nizzy will have to wait until next season - if they are both still in the same league.
Unless they meet in the playoffs.
27-01-2023, 12:12 PM
Unless they meet in the playoffs.
I'm Spartacus
27-01-2023, 12:19 PM
Given Porto has a head like a Faberge egg, there's only ever one winner in that contest.
Looks like it's going through as £2m offer has been accepted and he's going through a medical
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64428133
:bitchy:
27-01-2023, 12:58 PM
Looks like it's going through as £2m offer has been accepted and he's going through a medical
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64428133
:bitchy:
https://twitter.com/richcawleyslp/status/1618969001270595585?s=46&t=sYprUbAPNx3b05syb5pnqQ
Maybe not though.
27-01-2023, 01:08 PM
Failed medical?
JamesHFC
Get him back up the road for tomorrow.
LunasBoots
Failed medical?
Was holding his hammy at the Gunts game
raeburnhibs
27-01-2023, 01:10 PM
maybe Celtic have matched the offer or something similar, I mean, clearly he would go there rather than Millwall
27-01-2023, 01:11 PM
https://twitter.com/richcawleyslp/status/1618969001270595585?s=46&t=sYprUbAPNx3b05syb5pnqQ
Maybe not though.
Straight in the team for tomorrow.
JamesHFC
27-01-2023, 01:11 PM
Hopefully a transfer tug of war sees us get more cash out of it.
27-01-2023, 01:18 PM
Guaranteed his a55hole agent has got wind of a better offer.
Thegreenside
27-01-2023, 01:18 PM
If a team in the same league what him they pay a premium. Simple.
27-01-2023, 01:19 PM
That's his job, though.
27-01-2023, 01:20 PM
Was holding his hammy at the Gunts game
That wouldn’t stop the signing. I don’t think anyway, more likely celtc have made a move probably.
27-01-2023, 01:20 PM
Hopefully benefits him and us.
27-01-2023, 01:22 PM
That wouldn’t stop the signing. I don’t think anyway, more likely celtc have made a move probably.
Silver, do you think Celtic need another striker, just signed a new one yesterday
27-01-2023, 01:22 PM
I can’t see them needing another striker. Probably another championship club offering him more cash.
27-01-2023, 01:23 PM
Hopefully benefits him and us.
Not if it’s left until last minute
27-01-2023, 01:27 PM
Sounds like he doesn't fancy it. Nothing to do with a failed medical. I'd expect him to start against Aberdeen tomorrow.
27-01-2023, 01:30 PM
Sounds like he doesn't fancy it. Nothing to do with a failed medical. I'd expect him to start against Aberdeen tomorrow.
More inclined to believe he’s got another offer. The club don’t want to sell him this window.
27-01-2023, 01:31 PM
More inclined to believe he’s got another offer. The club don’t want to sell him this window.
It’s the only thing that makes sense imo. Couldn’t see him turning down the cash for any other reason.
MelbourneHibees
27-01-2023, 01:32 PM
He isn't walking away from at least trebling his wages to stay with a sinking ship.
JamesHFC
27-01-2023, 01:33 PM
A spokesperson for the frontman's representatives, Quanic Sports, said: "Kevin has thought long and hard about this move but remains unsure about making it right now. He’d rather focus on Hibs for the time being."
27-01-2023, 01:34 PM
Can’t see it.
It’ll be the “isn’t in the right head space excuse” for keeping him fit for another move
LunasBoots
27-01-2023, 01:34 PM
A spokesperson for the frontman's representatives, Quanic Sports, said: "Kevin has thought long and hard about this move but remains unsure about making it right now. He’d rather focus on Hibs for the time being."
Better deal in the summer then. Waiting out for that move west. If it doesn't come we lose him in January for peanuts.
McGruber
27-01-2023, 01:36 PM
Get back up the road for tomorrow Kev and bang some goals in, we were all just saying we were missing your smiley face
Interesting times, let's see if he plays tomorrow, that will tell us a lot.
27-01-2023, 01:36 PM
That’s a mental U-turn. I’m struggling to see it
27-01-2023, 01:37 PM
Turn round.
27-01-2023, 01:38 PM
I reckon that's because he might have to play tomorrow.
27-01-2023, 01:39 PM
I’m getting ****ed right off with him. We need to plan a squad and get a replacement in if he’s going.
Either sod off down south or stick with Hibs for a while. None of this bag of sweeties pish.
Torto7062
27-01-2023, 01:40 PM
Apparently to concentrate on Hibs for now,
I'd be saying sign this extension or gtf
Silver, do you think Celtic need another striker, just signed a new one yesterday
Celtc will lose a few players in the summer Billy, maybe their hand has been forced to get him in now rather than lose out on him.
No doubt we will find out in the next few days.
LunasBoots
I’m getting ****ed right off with him. We need to plan a squad and get a replacement in if he’s going.
Either sod off down south or stick with Hibs for a while. None of this bag of sweeties pish.
He'll refuse to leave until he gets his move west, probably lose him for peanuts next January
Up-the-slope
27-01-2023, 01:41 PM
Bbc breaking news saying deal with Milwall OFF
27-01-2023, 01:41 PM
Yes I am sure he got there and thought "wow I really miss hibs, back I go!"
27-01-2023, 01:42 PM
Wonder if there is a thread this could go in
27-01-2023, 01:42 PM
Feels like a new signing - genius work Hibs well done.
27-01-2023, 01:43 PM
Wants to stay in Scotland…
https://t.co/T7KVX8Qud4
one day maybe...
27-01-2023, 01:43 PM
Maybe got wind the der hun want him
27-01-2023, 01:44 PM
If that was the case it would have been kept quiet and just been turned down at the first time of asking, got to be another club in for him, now twice he has wanted away from Hibs, the fans won’t forget that.
Rangers or Celtic it is.
Do you ever say anything positive about Hibs?
27-01-2023, 01:45 PM
Aww **** off Nisbet man.
Chorley Hibee
27-01-2023, 01:45 PM
So it's one of two clubs then.
Looks like we're about to get shafted in terms of a decent fee.
He's a ****ing snake and hope he doesn't pull on the shirt again.
27-01-2023, 01:46 PM
Solves our centre back problem for Saturday 👍
tonyrougier123
Maybe got wind the der hun want him
100% ☝🏻
That's not a quote from Nisbet.
I think they just mean he wants to stay here in the meantime rather than move to England.
27-01-2023, 01:47 PM
If that was the case it would have been kept quiet and just been turned down at the first time of asking, got to be another club in for him, now twice he has wanted away from Hibs, the fans won’t forget that.
It’s professional football. When did Hibs last hang onto a top player?
ElginHibbie
27-01-2023, 01:47 PM
That's not a quote from Nisbet.
I think they just mean he wants to stay here in the meantime rather than move to England.
No it's all some big conspiracy that big bad Nisbet wants to screw us over for some reason