View Full Version : Match Updates Lee Johnson redemption arc v Hearts

Pages : 1 2 [3]

22-01-2023, 02:50 PM
8 mins added

22-01-2023, 02:50 PM
By protesting today your just giving hearts fans an even bigger laugh.

delbert
22-01-2023, 02:51 PM
What about in the months and months of coaching, player acquisition, man management, and tactical planning that has led us to being 6th place (3pts off 8th), and papped out of both cups before they’d really gotten started?

That’s what’s led to today, so I think we’ve every right to judge him on this match.

Said since Johnson arrived, he was the cheap available option, that was his biggest asset, certainly not his record as a coach, done nothing and taking us nowhere. In a sane world, any club with any real ambition wouldn’t even think of employing dross like Johnson, no feel for or. connection to the club and it shows and zero connection or rapport with its support, just another in a long line of disastrous recruitments either on or off the park, journeyman charlatan but of course I await bring shouted down by the blind faith brigade !

Off the bar
8 mins added

Could be 80 and we’d not score

cameronw-hfc
Plays on the right and cuts inside to his weaker foot instead of going to the byline, Hearts have the box packed, cutting in and shooting won't work, too many bodies.

We all seen that the 3/4th time he tried it. Yet he keeps persisting. Talented boy but does my head in with his lack of ability to make the right choice.

22-01-2023, 02:52 PM
Shankland off

Youan is a world class jogger.

red card shankland not that it matters

DinkyTwo
Protesting is a bit melodramatic.

We've not been terrible, certainly better than derby performances under Fenlon, Maloney and Calderwood.

We're missing the quality needed to capitalise when on top. So long as we're looking to rectify that then I don't mind seeing where things go in the summer

Like everyone else, I'm not happy about it, but it is where we are

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

8 mins added

The most pointless 8 minutes in the history of time.

8 minutes added

Finallybsome sensible added time

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

By protesting today you’re just giving hearts fans an even bigger laugh.
A far bigger laugh to be gained from us accepting this ***** stewardship of our club.

If the protest is outside the West we may see the nice paint job hospitality has had though.

Right come on the 10 man special. We always win these.

Shankland off

Haha michael Stewart ragin

22-01-2023, 02:53 PM
Disagree, today hasn’t been a reflection on previous performances. I am not a fan, but I replied to someone saying asking about anyone defending him after this today.

Well, I’m stunned if anyone out there is still defending him anyway - but it’s not unreasonable to suggest that being knocked out of the last remaining competition we had any ‘chance’ with this season, by our rivals, at home, would be the final nail in the coffin for any stragglers

His foots high

Shut yer face Stewart

Imagine that was porteous he'd be labelled stupid

10 men, our favourite!!

We need to at least make a go of this now. But we'll get nothing.

No chance.

Everyone will just slope off home, myself included. We've all been here before.

22-01-2023, 02:54 PM
hibs hit the woodwork again

How has that not gone in?

Can't wait for Youan's highlight reel on instagram.

Imposter.

OtleyHibs
Post again

Not deserved to lose this today

22-01-2023, 02:55 PM
Post again

Doesn't matter. Still have.

****ing ****ing **** **** **** **** **** **** FICK

Off the post

Just incredible

That was the chance

McKIRDY PASSES TO THE KEEPER

oops caps

How has that not gone in?

Because we can't finish, no composure and are just rubbish.

wallpaperman
22-01-2023, 02:56 PM
Nothing wrong with overall performance, other than too ponderous at the vital time, over and over again.

Just_Jimmy
No danger is Campbell the blame,get a grip!I didn't say he was to blame. I said he was garbage.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Off the bar
Could this be the most typical Edinburgh derby of all time.

3-0

i'm so embarrassed

Youans frustrating but the calls about no end product don't stand up to the assist table

He could be better but he's effective

0-3

****ing hell 🤣🤣

Post again

Exactly. If the players show the same desire in every game until the end of the season then we'll win more than we lose.

22-01-2023, 02:57 PM
Protests now anyone?

3-0

i'm so embarrassed

Damn had 3-1. Close.

Hahahahahaha **** right off Lee you useless wee fud

Get ****ed Hibs

Good to know they’d have beaten us a man down too 🤪

10 men. 3-0. Bye Lee & take yer team with ya.

Never a 3-0 score line. Watch youan when they break. Doesn’t start sprinting until it’s too late.

Our mentality seems to be made of chocolate and marshmallows - maybe with a bit of fudge in there too. Complete - and I mean complete - clear out needed.

Booooooooo

Nothing between the teams though...

I was all for Ron at the start, but this is a f*****g joke now. We need to get these yanks out our club, an utter disgrace! But don't worry we have been the better team.

22-01-2023, 02:58 PM
Get these jokers running OUR club to **** now. ****ing shameful.

We are a banter club. The Boris Johnson of football teams.

Marshalls starting position there is questionable there again for me

Rocky off injured.

wallpaperman
Difference in quality of the finishing for the 3rd just sums up today.

Could be a bad one for Rocky.

Just seen replay landed badly.

Done with this club until changes are made.

Exactly. If the players show the same desire in every game until the end of the season then we'll win more than we lose.

If is doing some ****ing superhuman heavy lifting there...

I ****ing hate the stewardship of this club.

Yup. Hearts boy took a very heavy touch. Marshall should have claimed it.

OtleyHibs
22-01-2023, 02:59 PM
Looks like a bad one for rocky

🤣🤣🤣

That looks a bad one for rocky. Knee caught under him.

Chorley Hibee
3-0.

Are we still the better team?

Marshall is no better than Matt Macey. He's past it thats why he plays for us.

I hope Rocky is okay. One of the very few parts of the current version of Hibs that I actively like. Looks a very sore one.

look at this

Johnson brings ewan henderson on on the 97th minute

**** OFF johnson now

itslegaltender
Rocky hurt showboating at 2-0 down

Done with this club until changes are made.
Yep, if anyone needs me I’ll be watching the local Juniors squad.

This isn’t Hibernian, it’s a rich Americans plaything.

That looks like a terrible one on Rocky's right knee.

We're in an absolutely disgraceful state.

Our derby record is so cringly embarrassing.

We can continue to stick our heads in the sand blame everyone and take comfort we played ok but the buck stops with Manager and number of defeats says it all

hibIBZ
22-01-2023, 03:00 PM
No lack of effort or desire today, just a huge lack of quality and ability

Brings on subs now!

Post again

But we did.

Rocky being stretched off.

Rocky being stretchered off

Johnson's comments, if he makes any after this, will be Brent-tastic.

What could possibly make you think they will after the dross we have witnessed since the season started?

If my sister had baws........

We would still need to be able to defend and score, the former of which we are patently unable to do , the latter only sporadically

Dr_Regal
Now Rockys gonna be out for a while and Porto gone. Fantastic

Good grief, what have we done to deserve this?

Cheer up everyone, Fish and Hanlon for the rest of the season now

There isn’t a player in this squad that I don’t want to see the back of. Even Marshall can go IMO. He’s been another poor signing

gazzag70
We are a shambles. Serious changes are needed at all levels!

look at this

**** OFF johnson now
That's ridiculous

22-01-2023, 03:01 PM
That looks a bad one for rocky. Knee caught under him.
And all from an entirely avoidable position, trying to beat three players in a nowhere spot on the touchline instead of just getting rid

Brings on subs now!

Henderson should have refused to come on, Johnson is an absolute freakin JOKE

Stairway 2 7
Rocky out Ryan away, relegation fodder especially in Nisbet goes.

Rocky hurt showboating at 2-0 down

He was clearing the ball. Idiot.

I’m already angry about it and he hasn’t said anything yet

look at this

**** OFF johnson now

You have got to be ****ing joking?

If is doing some ****ing superhuman heavy lifting there...

I was a wee bit unfortunate with the timing of my post to be fair. 😓

Aye at least we'll get a laugh. It's at our own expense but still.

wallpaperman
Why have they brought Henderson on with seconds left, some sort of appearance bonus thing. Bizarre.

MikeyS
Henderson on to frighten away what's left of the crowd.

Hearts are light years ls ahead of us. That was our best effort and we got scudded 3-0 at home. Pathetic.

22-01-2023, 03:02 PM
What about in the months and months of coaching, player acquisition, man management, and tactical planning that has led us to being 6th place (3pts off 8th), and papped out of both cups before they’d really gotten started?

That’s what’s led to today, so I think we’ve every right to judge him on this match.
Bang on the money. :top marks

HibeeSince85
Getting beat 3-0 at home in a derby only a short time after losing your previous derby 3-0 means there is no way back for LJ.

He has to go

Henderson on to frighten away what's left of the crowd.

I shouldn't laugh ..

high bee
Johnson has to go.

Get a decent DoF and a proven manager in.

22-01-2023, 03:03 PM
Why have they brought Henderson on with seconds left, some sort of appearance bonus thing. Bizarre.Coz nisbet wanted to come off injured?

Honestly the non thinking coz we lost blows my mind

wallpaperman
There isn’t a player in this squad that I don’t want to see the back of. Even Marshall can go IMO. He’s been another poor signing

Nonsense, he’s not been a poor signing, he just plays in a crap team with a terrible defence.

Dr_Regal
Johnson will get the sack but it’s not all his fault.

The Pointer
Not blaming Johnson. That team could have won earlier as we had most of the pressure, but we have some duff players who aren't of the required quality. That means it's Gordon's son, the quiet man no-one ever hears about who, to me, is at fault. I don't think he has a clue.

Dr_Regal
22-01-2023, 03:04 PM
Marshall is ***** as well

Clinical from hearts. Hibs doing what they've done majority of the season- been the better team & not winning. The next few months are gonna be long...

Getting beat 3-0 at home in a derby only a short time after losing your previous derby 3-0 means there is no way back for LJ.

He has to goI think we played well today overall

But I agree - can't see him surviving 2 3-0 games so close together

Mental how we were a lick of paint away from making it an exciting last 5 mins and in the end lose 3-0 in disgrace

To use a jack Ross expression..... [emoji849]

Henderson's face after he came on says it all, what was the point of that sub.

Johnson has to go now, I don't give a **** if we played decent stuff today getting beat by them like that is just not on. We have no leaders and almost zero composure apart from maybe McGeady.

Dr_Regal
Scoreboards are beauties though

22-01-2023, 03:05 PM
Not blaming Johnson. That team could have won earlier as we had most of the pressure, but we have some duff players who aren't of the required quality. That means it's Gordon's son, the quiet man no-one ever hears about who, to me, is at fault. I don't think he has a clue.

our manager told us he 100% passes off on who comes in, he either lied or he's as bad as ian gordon in finding players

wallpaperman
Coz nisbet wanted to come off injured?

Honestly the non thinking coz we lost blows my mind

Literally seconds, he wasn’t that injured. Henderson’s face said it all.

Glorified giant advertising boards, I’m getting sick of looking at that statues knob every 5 minutes.

Literally seconds, he wasn’t that injured. Henderson’s face said it all.Ask Kevin then

You think it was a tactical change? [emoji23][emoji23]

delbert

Possibly the silliest comment I’ve read on here, desire quite obviously doesn’t win you games, does it ? Scoring goals does and we just don’t do enough of that!

We can continue to stick our heads in the sand blame everyone and take comfort we played ok but the buck stops with Manager and number of defeats says it all

You just don't get it do you? How many managers have we had in the past 10 years? The direction of the club was all wrong before LD was appointed, the direction shifted and was given to the Gordon's, now we are going backwards, not forwards. It stops at the Gordon's door, we could hire a dream team of sir Alex ferguson out of retirement and pep, but it is never going to work. The recruitment is embarrassing, the fact his son is head of recruitment is comical, he's just a less extreme Vlad. "But he paid off our debt" the debt was included in the sale of hibernian, Gordon's GTF

Another derby disaster, coming on top of a poor points tally in the league. It isn't working.

wallpaperman
22-01-2023, 03:06 PM

Smashing hospitality apparently.

Rocky out Ryan away, relegation fodder especially in Nisbet goes.

Still hoping Porto will be with us until the summer.

BuT wE wErE tHe BeTtEr TeAm

Performance was better than expected.

Can't believe I'm saying that on the back of a 3-0 humping at home to them. Guess that's how low we've fallen.

I don't think many of us are too surprised at the way it turned out.

Smashing hospitality apparently.It is and providing us some much needed income

JamesHFC
I don't really know what to say, left a bit speechless by how we didn't get something from that game.

pollution
Boo

Billy McKirdy
22-01-2023, 03:07 PM

They should have just played highlights from the millennium derby, the 6-2 and the 7-0

wallpaperman
22-01-2023, 03:07 PM
Ask Kevin then

You think it was a tactical change? [emoji23][emoji23]

He should have stayed on the pitch for the last 30 seconds, the least he could have done after an abject effort.

22-01-2023, 03:08 PM
Never mind we’re waiting on the quality players at the end of the window. That will make it an exciting relegation battle. The owners and management team have screwed us into the ground. Utterly embarrassing position we’re in with our squad.

I don't really know what to say, left a bit speechless by how we didn't get something from that game.

It ended 3-0 ffs.

Fair enough 1-0 and we could’ve felt a bit hard done by.

Nowhere near good enough and should result in the instant sacking of the manager.

BuT wE wErE tHe BeTtEr TeAm

???

Demoralising result again this season and especially to our rivals not long after a previous 3-0 defeat.

Maybe unlucky with the two efforts off the post but overall no end product again and I think it's harsh to blame LJ for this one.

With what he's got that was probably the best team he could of put out if he didn't want to risk youngsters to start.

22-01-2023, 03:09 PM
Quality > quantity

Club continue to waffle a lot of pish and some fans unfortunately continue to eat it up as gospel

Shower of pish talking ********s.

wallpaperman
It is and providing us some much needed income

It’s great, making a helluva difference.

I agree. You can't ridicule the need to make money on our stadium. We should be opening it all week but thats a whole other topic for another day!

richard_pitts
Johnson will get the sack but it’s not all his fault.

We sacked Jack Ross who got third and a cup final. We have not brought in better. Getting rid of Johnson now will only make things worse because better won't come if we get a reputation for junking managers. The board has failed and they must go

22-01-2023, 03:10 PM
2-0 down and was not one sub warming up .. that told me everything

This is true. Unfortunately it also seems to a gigantic mote in the eye of those who should be giving much more serious focus to the football side. As I have said before, Ron thinks Hibernian is a business. It isn't.

HibeeSince85
I think we played well today overall

Mental how we were a lick of paint away from making it an exciting last 5 mins and in the end lose 3-0 in disgrace

I thought we put in loads of effort but lacked quality all over the park.

The recruitment will have played a massive role in that and hopefully with the DOF joining that area can be ripped apart and those responsible hopefully moved out of the club.

The immediate course of action required though is to remove the manager. We already set the bar when we sacked Maloney after his defeats against them.

Come on. They even scored when they had 10 men. Well and truly pumped.

tonyrougier123

Surprised you feel that way,couldn’t sell the script.

Fuzzywuzzy
Aberdeen could do with a result god they're not coming to Easter road next Saturday....

Greenio
Predicted the score line but I think we played with good intensity which surprised me.

Hate losing to them but they're the better team (not by a whole lot) overall just now.

Rage at the manager or owners if you want tho

We won't and we won't.

It’s great, making a helluva difference.It will

I just wish folk could be like grown adults and realise commercial income plays a role with the first team

We also need to get the football dept right but just greetin like a wee lassie about everything because we lose is childish in the extreme

skyehibee
22-01-2023, 03:11 PM
How did we lose that? Never seen such a one sided 0-3

I thought we put in loads of effort but packed quality all over the park.

The recruitment will have played a massive role in that and hopefully with the DOF joining that area can be ripped apart and those responsible hopefully moved out of the club.

The immediate course of action though required is to remove the manager. We already set the bar when we sacked Maloney after his defeats against them.

To think we might have had Jon Dahl Tommason instead...

I think we played well today overall

I've never seen a team make so many desperately poor decisions during a game and therefore we deserve all we get.

From not playing the right pass, or making the right run or prancing about with the ball, and getting what looks to be a serious injury, on the back of it, we are the worst I've ever seen.

Montford
22-01-2023, 03:12 PM
A blind man could see how that game would pan out after they took the lead
All huff, all puff, and half chances
No midfielders picking up second ball outside their box
Tactics are rotten

chookyembra
Massive clear out required.
We won’t get relegated so bin most of them and let’s get someone in who knows what they are doing.
Gutted, angry, sick fed up of getting beaten by them and sick fed up of LJ’s excuses.

Last three goal win against them over 20 years ago.

They've managed two in a month.

JamesHFC
22-01-2023, 03:13 PM
Come on. They even scored when they had 10 men. Well and truly pumped.

Counter attack when we had almost every player in their box, hardly a surprise.

22-01-2023, 03:14 PM
Forget protests, they're futile. Changing manager is a sticking plaster.

Season ticket sales is where this Owner will get the message. Loud and clear.

22-01-2023, 03:14 PM

Jesus. Ron and the rest are rightly going to get a lot of anger there way but that is an appalling stat given the similar size of both clubs.

22-01-2023, 03:16 PM
35 shots at goal in two games against Hearts this month and we lose on aggregate 6-0. ****** me. Complete and utter garbage

EGL2000
22-01-2023, 03:18 PM
Predicted the score line but I think we played with good intensity which surprised me.

Hate losing to them but they're the better team (not by a whole lot) overall just now.

They are miles ahead for me personally. They played ***** the day and still beat us 3nil. So much more quality and depth within their squad, just look at the differences in the bench.

HendoDelivered
Forget protests, they're futile. Changing manager is a sticking plaster.

Season ticket sales is where this Owner will get the message. Loud and clear.

Somehow I don’t think that will be enough for him to sell up.

wallpaperman
It will

I just wish folk could be like grown adults and realise commercial income plays a role with the first team

We also need to get the football dept right but just greetin like a wee lassie about everything because we lose is childish in the extreme

It’s lovely of you to reply to almost all my recent posts it really is, but until all this great work off the pitch provides any sort of return on the pitch, I will continue to not get over excited by nice hospitality and state of the art scoreboards. I’m sure it will be a place of joy in hospitality post match today.

tonyrougier123
22-01-2023, 03:19 PM
Get these jokers running OUR club to **** now. ****ing shameful.

Hard to not agree with you. It really is a bigger issue than just the dug out.

MikeyS
22-01-2023, 03:19 PM

Really depressing, that!

We are a very poor side right now so Derby humping aren't a huge surprise but that's not always been the case in last 30 years. Really fail to understand why we are generally so pish in these games despite the hundreds of player changes and manager changes.

22-01-2023, 03:20 PM
Johnson interview coming up!

22-01-2023, 03:20 PM
Lee the slaver up next, should be fun.

22-01-2023, 03:22 PM
Please share what Lee says. Need a laugh.

Chorley Hibee
22-01-2023, 03:22 PM
The desperation of a guy we signed yesterday making the starting line-up today shows us as the joke outfit we are.

Reduced to Stevenson in midfield again too.

I would say laughable, but it's anything but.

22-01-2023, 03:23 PM
Quality > quantity

Club continue to waffle a lot of pish and some fans unfortunately continue to eat it up as gospel

Shower of pish talking ********s.

Very few remaining I'd have thought!

In fairness, t's only taken them 6 months longer than the rest of us to see it :greengrin

22-01-2023, 03:24 PM
The desperation of a guy we signed yesterday making the starting line-up today shows us as the joke outfit we are.

Reduced to Stevenson in midfield again too.

I would say laughable, but it's anything but.Not sure I agree and he played a role in having so much control in game

We were. Ofcourse missing 3 centre midfielders too

That's mental. Wouldn't have thought it was nearly as long ago as that.

We really are crap against them.

This is true. Unfortunately it also seems to a gigantic mote in the eye of those who should be giving much more serious focus to the football side. As I have said before, Ron thinks Hibernian is a business. It isn't.

Yep...and business needs customers. Cant say i am going to be one while they remain....

22-01-2023, 03:25 PM
Is Lee refusing to come out to do a interview?

22-01-2023, 03:26 PM

Hopefully handed in his resignation.

Anyone outside West stand?

Popcorn out

It would appear so.

22-01-2023, 03:27 PM

Hopefully he’s too busy getting the bullet

HarpOnHibee
22-01-2023, 03:27 PM

We had 21 shots on goal, only 6 of them on target with only 2 of those shots on target (the one's that hit the post) really causing them any kind of alarm.

Hearts also only had 6 shots on target, but 3 of them (the goals) were shots taken from ideal areas within our own box with no marking or defenders in the way to block them.

Hearts through bodies in the way whenever we got into those areas in their box, ultimately limiting us to poor chances.

The stats don't really mean anything at the end of the day as a result.

22-01-2023, 03:30 PM
We had 21 shots on goal, only 6 of them on target with only 2 of those shots on target (the one's that hit the post) really causing them any kind of alarm.

Hearts also only had 6 shots on target, but 3 of them (the goals) were shots taken from ideal areas within our own box with no marking or defenders in the way to block them.

Hearts through bodies in the way whenever we got into those areas in their box, ultimately limiting us to poor chances.

Aye unfortunately being the “better team” doesn’t mean progression in the club or 3rd place finishes.

The biggest mess we’ve been in since Butcher.

22-01-2023, 03:31 PM
To think we might have had Jon Dahl Tommason instead...

We never had a hope once an English team showed interest.

22-01-2023, 03:31 PM
The final result is what many of us expected sadly.

22-01-2023, 03:34 PM
His interview has me ****ing raging.

Absolute imposter.

22-01-2023, 03:35 PM

Absolute imposter.

Yep !! He needs to go !

22-01-2023, 03:36 PM

Absolute imposter.

What did he say?

22-01-2023, 03:36 PM
We never had a hope once an English team showed interest.

We never had a hope in the first place, they didn't want a guy who knew his own mind and would call it like it is.

Rick Rude
22-01-2023, 03:41 PM
Can't much fault the effort of the players. Given how much we dominated don't think the tactics were wrong. Only leaves one thing which is quality. Too many players trying their best today but don't have the ability and shouldn't be playing for Hibs.

22-01-2023, 03:42 PM

Absolute imposter.

What did he say that got you raging?

jakedance
22-01-2023, 03:43 PM
Just looking at this game I thought we played well with some good individual performances and a makeshift midfield. Doesn’t disguise the fact we’re a total mess that needs changes thorought the club.

22-01-2023, 03:43 PM

Absolute imposter.

What p*** did he come out with?

22-01-2023, 03:44 PM
What p*** did he come out with?

I’d guess he’ll lead with being unlucky because we hit the woodwork a couple of times.

22-01-2023, 03:44 PM
Just looking at this game I thought we played well with some good individual performances and a makeshift midfield. Doesn’t disguise the fact we’re a total mess that needs changes thorought the club.

How the **** can we have a makeshift midfield after signing so many players in the last few windows?

22-01-2023, 03:46 PM
Essentially, 'yes we're out of the cup and that hurts but we needed to focus now on getting to third or fourth place in the league'.

Completely detached from reality.

yerauldda
Box entries replaced football IQ in the drivel bingo today. I honestly don’t care if he stays or goes.

Campbell is the best example of this. Not only one but best show of gross mismanagement. He looks like a decent hardworking Championship midfielder but got a lengthy contract under Jack Ross for doing very little. Now a mainstay.

Cadden and Newell both given extensions and neither been exceptional.

How the **** can we have a makeshift midfield after signing so many players in the last few windows?Poor recruitment as pointed out and admitted a few times

Have 3 centre mids out injured wouldn't have helped

22-01-2023, 03:47 PM
Did we miss Joe Newell though?

22-01-2023, 03:47 PM

If I'm not mistaken, hitting the woodwork does NOT count as a shot on target.

22-01-2023, 03:48 PM

No. He's average but people make him out to be Zidane.

22-01-2023, 03:49 PM

Donegal Hibby
22-01-2023, 03:52 PM
Yes agree totally it was such a one sided game , thought we played well and were miles better than hertz apart from the scoreline of course , they were just clinical with the two chances they got for there goals , third was just a sucker punch as we had so many men forward and rocky injured . Real sore one to take today but there was plenty of positives to take from it also .

22-01-2023, 03:53 PM

Nope but he's still our best midfielder. New guy might have something to say about that mind... Beat 3-0 with him. Beat 3-0 without.

HarpOnHibee
22-01-2023, 03:53 PM
If I'm not mistaken, hitting the woodwork does NOT count as a shot on target.

In that case, we had 6 shots on target that didn't really trouble them, along with 15 shots off target. It's a sign of a team that's not only lacking where strikers are concerned, but also a lacklustre attacking midfield that isn't setting up good enough chances for those strikers. Our attacks often looked very laboured, as if we were trying to score goals the difficult way, rather than simplifying things like Hearts did.

TheCabbage
22-01-2023, 03:59 PM
I thought we were very slack with a lot of wrong decision making
Porteous should have meted the ball into the stand instead of fannying about
Why can we defend balls into the box?
Campbell should have just halved sibbick and started heading for the tunnel.
And David marshall - past it now as well. Penalty saves apart against Celtic everything seems to fly right by him

22-01-2023, 04:00 PM
The final result is what many of us expected sadly.

Exactly. The only surprise is that Hibs appear to have made a decent fist of it. Every indicator had Hearts winning this easy and that’s how it turned out. Not sure why there is such rage about LJ.

22-01-2023, 04:00 PM
No. He's average but people make him out to be Zidane.

No one does that. He's clearly a far superior central midfielder to Lewis, and I say that as the chairman of Stevenson's fan club.

22-01-2023, 04:01 PM
Yes agree totally it was such a one sided game , thought we played well and were miles better than hertz apart from the scoreline of course , they were just clinical with the two chances they got for there goals , third was just a sucker punch as we had so many men forward and rocky injured . Real sore one to take today but there was plenty of positives to take from it also .

How many defeats are we in the last 14 or so now? I think it's just 4 wins in 16 games. This was a Scottish Cup game, so no win and you're out.

We can have all the possession we like and we can look for all the positives we like but there's literally nothing I can see on the park that looks like we are slowly but surely improving to a plan. Instead we look like a roll of the dice. Every. Single. Game.

jakedance
22-01-2023, 04:04 PM
How the **** can we have a makeshift midfield after signing so many players in the last few windows?

You make a good point. I was meaning Newell and McGinnis being out, who would probably start.

22-01-2023, 04:09 PM
How many defeats are we in the last 14 or so now? I think it's just 4 wins in 16 games. This was a Scottish Cup game, so no win and you're out.

We can have all the possession we like and we can look for all the positives we like but there's literally nothing I can see on the park that looks like we are slowly but surely improving to a plan. Instead we look like a roll of the dice. Every. Single. Game.

MinceAndTatties
22-01-2023, 04:14 PM
They are miles ahead for me personally. They played ***** the day and still beat us 3nil. So much more quality and depth within their squad, just look at the differences in the bench.

The Wireless
22-01-2023, 04:19 PM
In that case, we had 6 shots on target that didn't really trouble them, along with 15 shots off target. It's a sign of a team that's not only lacking where strikers are concerned, but also a lacklustre attacking midfield that isn't setting up good enough chances for those strikers. Our attacks often looked very laboured, as if we were trying to score goals the difficult way, rather than simplifying things like Hearts did.
And when you talk about the midfield I wonder who decided Dylan McGeoch wasn’t now good enough for it?

22-01-2023, 04:26 PM
Wouldn't fault the effort today, but the lack of quality is clear for all to see. Hearts were poor today, but won by a bigger score than most Hibs fans at the game will ever have seen Hibs win a derby by, and for second time in a fortnight. Lack of quality, and no squad, the 'options' from the bench embarrassing. Club is a real mess at the moment, with no turning point in sight. Things are likely to get a lot worse before they get better. Never felt so disillusioned with the club to be honest.

Donegal Hibby
22-01-2023, 05:07 PM

I suppose we all see it from a different point of view , mine is we totally dominated that game today and played well . Youan's being heavily criticised and yet I thought he had a fine game and was skinning Cochrane most of the game , along with Mcgeady and rocky who I thought were excellent . Free kick for there first goal was soft enough imo and landed just right for them , Devlin fouled Youan also leading to a goal as well fine margins I know but important decision that went against us as well as being unlucky too. We had more possession as you say and we had more shots too . I just felt we were the better team today who didn't get the rub of the green against a team that was poor but got the breaks at the right time .

Trinity Hibee
22-01-2023, 05:08 PM
Hibernian manager Lee Johnson: "Obviously we're disappointed and the boys have worked their socks off, but we've conceded three and not scored. We had good efforts on goal but they've been more clinical and defensively more stout. Both boxes were the key today.

"They're frustrated and hurting. People give each other home truths which is the right thing to do. It's my job to keep believing in these lads."

22-01-2023, 05:11 PM
I suppose we all see it from a different point of view , mine is we totally dominated that game today and played well . Youan's being heavily criticised and yet I thought he had a fine game and was skinning Cochrane most of the game , along with Mcgeady and rocky who I thought were excellent . Free kick for there first goal was soft enough imo and landed just right for them , Devlin fouled Youan also leading to a goal as well fine margins I know but important decision that went against us as well as being unlucky too. We had more possession as you say and we had more shots too . I just felt we were the better team today who didn't get the rub of the green against a team that was poor but got the breaks at the right time .

Admire your optimism mate but Youan is a joke of a player

He should have had us in front early on but for the 2nd derby in a month he failed to even get a shot away. Gets in front of the last defender and he’s heading towards goal, the worst he should achieve is a penalty.

He’s totally clueless

22-01-2023, 05:21 PM
So once again we win the plaudits for nearly scoring in the first half but actually doing nothing in front of goal and Hearts go up the park and score with half the number of shots on goal that they had.

Similar story 3 weeks ago, 2-0 down at half time after a crap start but then getting plaudits for playing quite well in the second half when the game was done and dusted.

The reality is that Hearts know how to win games of football, they know how to win derbies and that ability is sorely lacking with us.

22-01-2023, 05:24 PM
Can't much fault the effort of the players. Given how much we dominated don't think the tactics were wrong. Only leaves one thing which is quality. Too many players trying their best today but don't have the ability and shouldn't be playing for Hibs.

A fair summary. A lack of quality throughout

Those that do have the quality are either past it (McGeady and Marshall) or have questionable motivation/attitude (Nisbet).

Doubt there are too many of the squad who will be that gutted tonight.

Mutu
22-01-2023, 05:26 PM
Thought Youan gave one of his better performances but he would be a nightmare to play with. Never released when he should.

Everything has already been said about the performance but one thing which pissed me off was post-mtach.

You've just lost two derbies in two week - LJ should be showing leadership and getting the boys to applaud the fans. Instead he was nowhere. Credit to Campbell who took the initiative resulting in a few others to follow suit.

Not good enough. I don't think LJs heart is not in this and for that reason I think he's got to go

MikeyS
22-01-2023, 05:30 PM

He should have had us in front early on but for the 2nd derby in a month he failed to even get a shot away. Gets in front of the last defender and he’s heading towards goal, the worst he should achieve is a penalty.

He’s totally clueless

Very low football IQ, to quote a particular manager.

22-01-2023, 05:58 PM
Hibernian manager Lee Johnson: "Obviously we're disappointed and the boys have worked their socks off, but we've conceded three and not scored. We had good efforts on goal but they've been more clinical and defensively more stout. Both boxes were the key today.

"They're frustrated and hurting. People give each other home truths which is the right thing to do. It's my job to keep believing in these lads."

I read that....the one that needs to start with home truths is the manager. Our results are really not improving and the buck stops with him.

22-01-2023, 06:21 PM
Very low football IQ, to quote a particular manager.Funnily enough Roy Keane talked about football intelligence at half time today

Guess that rules him out of the enzt manager thread [emoji23]

Martymck
22-01-2023, 07:39 PM

NC1875
22-01-2023, 07:43 PM

They’re hurting ? What about the ****ing fans. We can’t influence what happens on the pitch. That bunch of imposters can and we’ve been hammered again by our biggest rivals.

We are an absolute ****show of a football club and the sooner Ron Gordon, Ben Kensell and Lee Johnson are gone the better. And as for the “players”, an absolute embarassment. Hearts celebrating on your own pitch like they did while they sulk in the dressing room. Absolute ****ing shambles

22-01-2023, 08:27 PM
Just seen the 2nd goal. That ****ing defending, wow. Walks past them

Potty78
22-01-2023, 08:42 PM

He’s totally clueless
That's why hearts took off there fullback eh🤦*♂️ ridiculous post

Trinity Hibee
22-01-2023, 08:45 PM
They’re hurting ? What about the ****ing fans. We can’t influence what happens on the pitch. That bunch of imposters can and we’ve been hammered again by our biggest rivals.

We are an absolute ****show of a football club and the sooner Ron Gordon, Ben Kensell and Lee Johnson are gone the better. And as for the “players”, an absolute embarassment. Hearts celebrating on your own pitch like they did while they sulk in the dressing room. Absolute ****ing shambles

The last line of his interview is what worried me