View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Dundee Utd

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Andymac85
14-01-2023, 03:57 PM
Please get him to extend his contract

At this rate, there will be others looking to buy him before the end of the month.

Torto7
Honking tactics and performance bailed out by a very good striker.

Ray Donovan
is that 7 in 6 now for Nisbet.....

What a player!

sibbald down for at least 2-3 mins, five 2nd half subs= 2 and a half mins

time added just 3 mins

how the **** does that work

Johnson's post match interview will be a Brent-tastic masterpiece after that.

Zambernardi1875
Deserved absolutely nothing but can’t stand Utd so delighted with the late goal

Please get him to extend his contract

No way he is signing.

Great to get a point in the end

I'm. Still. In shock we only got 3.minutes added

That is an absolute joke

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Horrible display again, really need to get some players in soon to improve us, another CH and a couple of midfielders but can't see us signing that many this window

Dreadful once again, Nisbet dragging us out of a deep pit. Please sack Brent.

Cracking goal by Nisbet as I'm in the middle of typing a rant :greengrin

Does this mean Johnson may not be sacked then.

HarpOnHibee
We really are Nisbet FC at the moment

14-01-2023, 03:58 PM
Much better 2nd half. Players showed plenty desire. Deserved at least a draw.

Smokescreen, cracks, partially papered over. We are really poor, yet LJ hangs on to a job he can’t handle.

7 minutes added at half time in the Villa game last night and **** all happened.

2-2.

LJ still needs to be shown the door in the next couple of days.
Might well be the new DoF first task, recruit a new manager.

He's here!
Well done, could be a vital point.
Now we just need to sign 6 or 7 quality match ready players for the derby and we’re sorted.

Yep big point when you look at the other scores.

As you say signings are vital for next week if we're to have any sort of hope.

dmc1875
We’re a shambles that was horrific. Bailed out by a decent striker.

Newell will get the usual pile on, and he was ***** today, but Porteous and Campbell were much worse today

Deserved absolutely nothing but can’t stand Utd so delighted with the late goalOfcourse we deserved a draw

It was bascially defence vs attack the 2nd half

e2los
14-01-2023, 03:59 PM
Doesn't change my mind...

Nisbet hopefully hasn't saved Lee.

Thank goodness he is back on form.

7 goals in 6 games.

Surely it is Johnston's last game in charge!

No Nisbet and we're almost relegation fodder. Nothing else up top of note

Smokescreen, cracks, partially papered over. We are really poor, yet LJ hangs on to a job he can’t handle.

You definitely win an award for most mixed metaphors in a 17 word post :greengrin
I think I agree.

Surely though with some decent coaching and a shape/system these players could at least show a lot more than they are, I just feel Johnson and his 2 right hand men are pish coaches and talk crap.

Maybe but many of the players in the starting 11 played under Jack Ross and Maloney. Both of them were sacked.

Eventually it has to become the players' individual and collective fault. Can talk about tactics and the rest but the way we started this match showed players that just don't have a strong personal drive to grasp the match. There are players playing every week that honestly would be better off running around a park as they have no influence on a football pitch.

Lots of boos at full time, even though it was a draw, still a very poor performance and only got a point due to Nisbet.

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 04:00 PM
Bring on the jambos 😁

Newell will get the usual pile on, and he was ***** today, but Porteous and Campbell were much worse today

Porto plays when he wants to now.

e2los
Cracking goal by Nisbet as I'm in the middle of typing a rant :greengrin

Does this mean Johnson may not be sacked then.

Hope not despite another amazing goal.

14-01-2023, 04:01 PM
This is so draining at the moment.

You keep expecting us to kick on a bit and it’s just not happening.

We’ve been poor all season and yes getting players out is important but we desperately need players in.

Get them in before hearts

hhibs
14-01-2023, 04:02 PM
Fantastic Nisbet effort for Hibs.

LJ is a clueless, useless manager and coach,he needs to go and take his "coaching " team with him.

kentao
Thought we were unlucky today both their goals were in the top bin so marsh no chance, we've had a couple off the woodwork and played ok after a rocky start. Really need to get a new LB CB and desperately need a MF or 2

Well done, could be a vital point.
Now we just need to sign 6 or 7 quality match ready players for the derby and we’re sorted.

Surely 6 or 7 competent enough players is the new benchmark?

Might well be the new DoF first task, recruit a new manager.

Fingers crossed.

We only got a point due to our striker?

Boooo!!

Wasn't there today so can't comment but by all accounts the players should be donating their wages to charities. We're a laughing stock and it ain't funny.

14-01-2023, 04:03 PM
Thank God for Kevin Nisbet returning to fitness.

We would quite possibly be heading down without him.

As it is today's results probably mean we're almost there.

14-01-2023, 04:04 PM
Just looking a TV pictures from ER and can see what folk are saying about the pitch, looks awful.

Wasn't there today so can't comment but by all accounts the players should be donating their wages to charities. We're a laughing stock and it ain't funny.I think the 'all Accounts' are being a tad harsh

We were poor 1st half but dominated the whole 2nd half

A draw is probably fair and we shouldve had atleast another 3 mins to find a winner

Unbeaten in 2, hope we can make it 3 next week

Paulie Walnuts
Thank God for Kevin Nisbet returning to fitness.

We would quite possibly be heading down without him.

As it is today's results probably mean we're almost there.

We would be heading down imo.

HendoDelivered
14-01-2023, 04:05 PM
Just looking a TV pictures from ER and can see what folk are saying about the pitch, looks awful.

Proper tattie field in the middle

14-01-2023, 04:05 PM
If we empty Lee Johnson and go after someone like Martindale then I'm honestly taking a break from Hibs.

This knowledge of Scottish football for a manager is a complete nonsense. Most of the managers in our history have come from Scotland or have come from a background of playing football in Scotland and most, unsurprisingly have failed and been sacked.

If Lee Johnson is to go I hope that we go with a foreign manager with some pedigree. Although it won't matter anyway, we'll need to have a massive clear-out. At least 10 players still need to go.

14-01-2023, 04:06 PM
Porto plays when he wants to now.

When I heard 18764 on the tannoy, I wasn’t sure if they were announcing the attendance, or the number of times Porto gave the ball away

Yorkshire HFC
14-01-2023, 04:06 PM

I'm happy for the team and for LJ. Hibs have been poor for 90% of the +50 years I've been following them - that's Hibs default position. But I like LJ - I hope he turns things around and gets us on a good run. I don't know much about football, but I know that constantly changing the manager and players is not likely to make us any better.

14-01-2023, 04:07 PM

thankfully we've not had a lot of snow

bordergreen
Lots of boos at full time, even though it was a draw, still a very poor performance and only got a point due to Nisbet.

Spot on. Reminds me of the season before relegation, when Griffiths pretty much kept us up single handed. Nisbet is on 🔥. Hope that doesn't stop the management doing what needs to be done. Comedy defending again, mainly down to Johnson's initial team selection. Reminiscent of the Lennon bizarre team selections towards the end of his tenure. Well done Kevin 👏 Cheerio Johnson ☹️

cameronw-hfc
When I heard 18764 on the tannoy, I wasn’t sure if they were announcing the attendance, or the number of times Porto gave the ball away

Besides a few decent games he's been absolutely pants this season.

If we empty Lee Johnson and go after someone like Martindale then I'm honestly taking a break from Hibs.

This knowledge of Scottish football for a manager is a complete nonsense. Most of the managers in our history have come from Scotland or have come from a background of playing football in Scotland and most, unsurprisingly have failed and been sacked.

If Lee Johnson is to go I hope that we go with a foreign manager with some pedigree. Although it won't matter anyway, we'll need to have a massive clear-out. At least 10 players still need to go.

Pep may be available?.

I know we had injuries etc but Porteous should stay centre half, especially how good he was there last week.

Being a ball playing centre mid and ball playing centre back are two entirely different things

Surely 6 or 7 competent enough players is the new benchmark?

‘Six or Seven Players Wanted. Looking for competence in a range of basic tasks. Only occasionally crap, mostly mediocre will also be considered subject to negotiation’

14-01-2023, 04:08 PM

Porteous is a defender stuck in midfield , Campbell a midfielder stuck in defence . Newell....

14-01-2023, 04:09 PM
Porteous is a defender stuck in midfield , Campbell a midfielder stuck in defence . Newell....Newell..... Got an assist today [emoji108][emoji6]

14-01-2023, 04:09 PM
Porteous is a defender stuck in midfield , Campbell a midfielder stuck in defence . Newell....

A cyclist stuck jogging?

Edit: Originally put "running" but thought that was inaccurate.

darwenhibby
14-01-2023, 04:10 PM
Pep may be available?.

More so Klopp

14-01-2023, 04:10 PM
No way he is signing.

Great to get a point in the end
Can’t see it either, but the real issue will be will the owner take the money if a bid comes in this window as without his five goals in last two games we would be in real troubles d no way can we replace him

Billy McKirdy
14-01-2023, 04:11 PM
That wasn’t pretty but it was a deserved draw.
Nisbet is like a new signing and it’s a joy watching him on form and on fire, it’s an important result, should have been 3 points but we didn’t deserve to win that.
I would have liked to have seen McKirdy come on sooner as I felt we looked better once he came on.

Who’s our midfield for the derby if we don’t play Porto? Campbell and Doyle Hayes against the hearts midfield? I can’t believe I spent £28 on a ticket, I can’t see how we can win, I just can’t.

your exaggerating, it was 18,676

which is still an exaggeration tbf

Great point in the end but see when a manager quotes “football IQ” and plays his best centre half in midfield and arguably our most competent midfielder at full back, I’m out 👎

Thank god Kevin’s come back hungrier and stronger - terrific striker, great finishes. More of that next week Kevin (and less of the managers IQ 🙂)

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 04:12 PM
Nizzy won't sign a new contract who can blame him, good player who deserves better in his career

OldEast
14-01-2023, 04:13 PM
Controversial opinion, but I’ve not been all that impressed with Marshall. Decent and a definite improvement on Macey but not as good as I’d hoped he would be.

I agree

NC1875
Papered over the cracks. We are absolutely garbage. Throwing on striker after striker. Johnson is clueless, get him and half that team to France.

Not wanting to point the finger but Hanlon was invisible.......

‘Six or Seven Players Wanted. Looking for competence in a range of basic tasks. Only occasionally crap, mostly mediocre will also be considered subject to negotiation’

Current first team starters need not apply*

*Exemptions available, particularly if a strong pedigree of persistent injuries can be demonstrated.

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 04:14 PM
Who’s our midfield for the derby if we don’t play Porto? Campbell and Doyle Hayes against the hearts midfield? I can’t believe I spent £28 on a ticket, I can’t see how we can win, I just can’t.

Same, no Newell, light weight midfield against a bunch of clogged, what can possibly go wrong, I'll enjoy before and after in the pub but dreading the game ad we are defensively a shambles

14-01-2023, 04:15 PM

To be fair, Porteous is a CB thrown in there to make up for the failings of the likes of Newell & Campbell.

As an aside, is it in Newells contract that he can’t be dropped and had to play the full game every week?

14-01-2023, 04:17 PM
so

the league head-to-head with Dundee Utd remains the same

Hibs wins- 62
Dundee Utd wins- 66

poor poor stuff

14-01-2023, 04:17 PM
To be fair, Porteous is a CB thrown in there to make up for the failings of the likes of Newell & Campbell.

As an aside, is it in Newells contract that he can’t be dropped and had to play the full game every week?

It doesnae matter where Porteous was playing, he gave the ball away constantly.

14-01-2023, 04:18 PM
Same, no Newell, light weight midfield against a bunch of clogged, what can possibly go wrong, I'll enjoy before and after in the pub but dreading the game ad we are defensively a shambles

You’re lucky, I’m doing dry January. So I have to watch it sober, possibly for the first time in my adult life

14-01-2023, 04:18 PM
Our midfield is a defensive shambles.

HendoDelivered
14-01-2023, 04:19 PM
More so Klopp

Neither of them could get a tune out of these donkeys 🤣

14-01-2023, 04:21 PM

I think Porto HAS to play there, I don’t see another
option. Stevenson? Kevin Bacon?

14-01-2023, 04:22 PM
Our midfield is a defensive shambles.

As is our defence. We’re all over the place, all over the pitch.

14-01-2023, 04:23 PM
so

the league head-to-head with Dundee Utd remains the same

Hibs wins- 62
Dundee Utd wins- 66

poor poor stuff

Not a dig but how many Utd wins during the 1979-1987 period - just curious, as they had an unbelievable side back then and I’d imagine we took a few sore ones off them back in that era.

14-01-2023, 04:23 PM
Papered over the cracks. We are absolutely garbage. Throwing on striker after striker. Johnson is clueless, get him and half that team to France.But we got the draw in the end? So throwing striker after stoker worked?

14-01-2023, 04:25 PM
Don't want to upset anyone so prob best i stay quiet :greengrin

LunasBoots
14-01-2023, 04:28 PM
I think Porto HAS to play there, I don’t see another
option. Stevenson? Kevin Bacon?

Exactly, what can possibly go wrong

14-01-2023, 04:32 PM
Thought mckirdy looked lively today. Unlucky not to score.

14-01-2023, 04:37 PM
Not a dig but how many Utd wins during the 1979-1987 period - just curious, as they had an unbelievable side back then and I’d imagine we took a few sore ones off them back in that era.

Hibs wins- 3
Draws- 7
Dundee Utd wins- 18

we're 9-3 ahead in LC wins and 6-4 ahead in SC wins

overall, including today

Hibs- 77 Wins
Draws- 66
Dundee Utd wins- 73 wins

14-01-2023, 04:38 PM
Thought mckirdy looked lively today. Unlucky not to score.It was a good effort although var would've ruled it out for offside against Youan

Thought he done OK when he came on to be honest

14-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Hibs wins- 3
Draws- 7
Dundee Utd wins- 18

we're 9-3 ahead in LC wins and 6-4 ahead in SC wins

👍 cheers buddy - that period they were very dominant.

Silky
14-01-2023, 04:54 PM
No problem just what's going round the stands, reason why Hanlon isn't in the squad

He's been keech?

14-01-2023, 05:02 PM
When their player went down second half, when we were pressing them, and they’d just cleared the ball out for a Hibs throw…and the ref stopped the play and gave them the drop ball…that was a shambles.

And their keeper should’ve been booked for time wasting today

Trinity Hibee
14-01-2023, 05:18 PM
Thought Youan played well today. Worked hard, made tackles, came and took the ball in well. Just needs to learn that once he’s beaten a man he doesn’t need to do it again. Just get a shot away or a cross in

14-01-2023, 05:24 PM
Thought Youan played well today. Worked hard, made tackles, came and took the ball in well. Just needs to learn that once he’s beaten a man he doesn’t need to do it again. Just get a shot away or a cross in

Youan has been a strong addition to the team . Young , with lots of football to learn ..but we should be delighted with what he brings . People should lay off him and let him grow ..has the potential to be a good player. Hope we sign him in a perm deal

14-01-2023, 05:25 PM
Honking tactics and performance bailed out by a very good striker.

Sums it up for me.

14-01-2023, 05:31 PM
Not wanting to point the finger but Hanlon was invisible.......

Any news why he wasn’t in the squad?

14-01-2023, 05:31 PM

Come on guys, he was awful

McGeady gave him a perfectly good pass to play him in first half and he was nowhere. He was terrible today

14-01-2023, 05:34 PM

I think Campbell is absolved of blame given he played RB, right wing back and also midfield.

The players are poor collectively but the manager is making things harder for them.

Cadden missing today and he decides to change 4 players position to cope with that. Rather than play a young RB. Johnson is a clown

14-01-2023, 05:37 PM

McGeady gave him a perfectly good pass to play him in first half and he was nowhere. He was terrible today

I thought he was hopeless tae.

That scissor kick was a farce.

Minimum effort put in throughout the game, if he gets something for his highlight reel he’ll be delighted, no arsed about working for the team

14-01-2023, 05:38 PM
2-2 against a ***** dundee utd team really isn’t great

14-01-2023, 05:40 PM
I think Campbell is absolved of blame given he played RB, right wing back and also midfield.

The players are poor collectively but the manager is making things harder for them.

Cadden missing today and he decides to change 4 players position to cope with that. Rather than play a young RB. Johnson is a clown

I think it’s too easy to absolve his performance by saying he was out of position. He was terrible in the air throughout, and he gave the ball away constantly. He’s just no a good footballer.

14-01-2023, 05:41 PM

He had a better 2nd half but I thought he was all over the shop.

I’d made a comment about Johnson’s “football IQ” comments - today I thought it looked like you had players like McGeady who knew what they were doing, made look awful by having to try to be on the same wavelength as Youan, who was wired to the moon.

It might have suited him a bit more when United sat back, meaning we could get the ball to his feet a bit easier, without him having to engage his brain in a way that he had to figure out positionally where to be in order to get on the ball.

He (along with Newell) probably contributed to making Lewis Stevenson look as poor as he did.

Got the odd touch for the Monday Instagram reel though so job done, I guess.

supermcginn
14-01-2023, 05:42 PM
He's been keech?

Dropped for being extremely poor this season?

gaz1875
14-01-2023, 05:44 PM

McGeady gave him 3 terrible passes and gave Youan daggers

14-01-2023, 05:45 PM
Youan has been a strong addition to the team . Young , with lots of football to learn ..but we should be delighted with what he brings . People should lay off him and let him grow ..has the potential to be a good player. Hope we sign him in a perm deal

I think strong addition is pushing it. Flashes of quality but the majority of games have resulted in nothing. There is ability there but we need more from him.

Silky
14-01-2023, 05:50 PM
Dropped for being extremely poor this season?

Probably. Mind you, that could have been the case for any of his team mates.

14-01-2023, 05:51 PM
I think strong addition is pushing it. Flashes of quality but the majority of games have resulted in nothing. There is ability there but we need more from him.

Pushing it is being kind!
He's been better than some, and some flashes have hinted at possibly more to come, but nothing more. The attempted scissor kick right in front of us at least provided some light relief today.

CL0762
14-01-2023, 05:55 PM
LJ for me is showing a real lack of respect for the league.

Last season in the 3-0 game at home, they came out at us from the traps and put us on the back foot straight away.

They done the exact same thing today and we weren’t prepared for it.

mcfly
14-01-2023, 05:56 PM
It’s clear after today that the lack of quality we have is so obvious.

We are a bottom 6 side with a bottom 6 manager.

The empty stands next week will let the board, manager and chief exec know they are failing the support.

Sad times

14-01-2023, 05:59 PM
Pushing it is being kind!
He's been better than some, and some flashes have hinted at possibly more to come, but nothing more. The attempted scissor kick right in front of us at least provided some light relief today.

Needs to chose the simple option more often . and as a consequence his end product is nowhere near good enough.. Lots of skills , tricks etc but nowhere near clinical enough.

14-01-2023, 06:03 PM
We may just have deserved a point today but for periods in that game particularly teh first 10 minutes that is as bad as I have seen us for years. Ridiculous team selection again and some really honking performances. I think Nisbet was the most obvious MOTM ever and probably the only player who got pass marks. Youan so wasteful again, McGeady was terrible, Newell in the first half looked disinterested, Rocky had his worse game for ages and the rest were very poor. Fish looks a nervous wreck and Porteous a bomb scare in midfield. There is only so much a manager can do with poor players but the two most obvious, be organised and get 100% effort, are completely absent in this team. We are all over the shop and players are simply not giving a proper shift.

14-01-2023, 06:07 PM
We may just have deserved a point today but for periods in that game particularly teh first 10 minutes that is as bad as I have seen us for years. Ridiculous team selection again and some really honking performances. I think Nisbet was the most obvious MOTM ever and probably the only player who got pass marks. Youan so wasteful again, McGeady was terrible, Newell in the first half looked disinterested, Rocky had his worse game for ages and the rest were very poor. Fish looks a nervous wreck and Porteous a bomb scare in midfield. There is only so much a manager can do with poor players but the two most obvious, be organised and get 100% effort, are completely absent in this team. We are all over the shop and players are simply not giving a proper shift.

The way we started the game was a disgrace. Absolutely no intent with or without the ball.

gaz1875
14-01-2023, 06:10 PM
The way we started the game was a disgrace. Absolutely no intent with or without the ball.

Right from the ridiculous way we start a kick off!!! ****in schoolboy stuff.

Willis1875
14-01-2023, 06:11 PM
Right from the ridiculous way we start a kick off!!! ****in schoolboy stuff.

This also does my head in

14-01-2023, 06:13 PM

No coincidence though that (excepting Newell) all those players were playing slightly different roles from last week.

Porto into CM where he’s lost. Rocky moves to left CB to accommodate Fish. Badly at fault at first goal

McGeady played mainly centrally despite it never looking like working. Youan starts left but then up top for spells. Add in Campbell playing RB despite giving away a goal last week.

All this is the coach’s decisions. The alternative was to play the same personnel and shape that started well at Motherwell but put Megwa in as a direct replacement for Cadden

Absolute shocking management today by Lee Johnson. Making average players look much much worse

gaz1875
14-01-2023, 06:13 PM
This also does my head in

It shows the lack of confidence that we get a free pass and hoof it up the pitch like a rugby kick off.

Willis1875
14-01-2023, 06:14 PM
No coincidence though that (excepting Newell) all those players were playing slightly different roles from last week.

Porto into CM where he’s lost. Rocky moves to left CB to accommodate Fish. Badly at fault at first goal

McGeady played mainly centrally despite it never looking like working. Youan starts left but then up top for spells. Add in Campbell playing RB despite giving away a goal last week.

All this is the coach’s decisions. The alternative was to play the same personnel and shape that started well at Motherwell but out Megwa in as a direct replacement for Cadden

Absolute shocking management today by Lee Johnson. Making average players look much much worse

He could have even turned to Mitchell to play Right Back today if he didn’t want to throw young Megwa in

14-01-2023, 06:15 PM
He could have even turned to Mitchell to play Right Back today if he didn’t want to throw young Megwa in

Aye for 5-10 mins before Mitchell went off injured

14-01-2023, 06:19 PM

All this is the coach’s decisions. The alternative was to play the same personnel and shape that started well at Motherwell but put Megwa in as a direct replacement for Cadden

This. Trying to square peg round hole it rarely ever works. Campbell in fairness has managed two assists on the right but defensively he's an easy target. Just get Megwa in or play Hanlon and Porteous at CB and move Rocky to RB. That allows Newell, JDH, Campbell in the Middle with McGeady on the left and Youan on the right. Nisbet up front of course.

We set up poorly most weeks and waste time trying to rectify it in a game when it becomes apparent that we're struggling.

We're lacking in quality but there's no need to make it harder than it needs to be.

15-01-2023, 02:29 PM

Great post. Yesterday was the tipping point for me. LJ has lost the plot.

Skol
15-01-2023, 02:34 PM
Solving the right back problem is not as easy as people think.

Megwa has no experience and it would. Be a big risk to throw him in. Miller has been unfit and looked unconvincing when played. Cadden does well but we know is not great defensively.

Campbell is arguably the best of a series of bad options. People who think this is easy to solve are very mistaken.

15-01-2023, 02:40 PM

Megwa has no experience and it would. Be a big risk to throw him in. Miller has been unfit and looked unconvincing when played. Cadden does well but we know is not great defensively.

Campbell is arguably the best of a series of bad options. People who think this is easy to solve are very mistaken.

Here’s a quick fix, don’t play 4 at the back.

Skol
15-01-2023, 02:41 PM
Here’s a quick fix, don’t play 4 at the back.

Yeah we did that yesterday and scored almost immediately.

15-01-2023, 05:22 PM

I think it's fair criticism re the square pegs round holes and the buck stops squarely at Johson's feet for this. It cost us big time against the JTs when a certain inexperienced centre back was made to look like a Fish out of water (pun fully merited and intended) at Right Back, and we looked disjointed for much of the game vs Dundee Utd with too many players looking less than comfortable. In LJ's defence his only other option at RB was an even more inexperienced Megwa who it's apparent he doesn't see as ready to start a game. It's a shame that Miller is only coming back to fitness right now as he would be the obvious stand in for Cadden - even if he still has it all to prove at this stage. Much criticism is made re our recruitment and for me one big error was letting Paul McGinn go when he had fully earned an extension to his contract - Paul would have solved a lot of defensive problems for us this season had we not let him go. Would have been fine if we were signing someone of equivalent or better quality - Miller is a long way from proving he is that man.

15-01-2023, 05:27 PM

:top markssumming up my own feelings as expressed above. The Porto in midfield ploy is a separate matter - worked quite well vs Motherwell but not at all yesterday. Too many square pegs in round holes leads to disjointed performances and that's exactly what we got on Sat.

15-01-2023, 05:36 PM

Campbell at right back last week didn’t work and add into the mix he is sorely missed in the midfield it’s a double whammy. You have to put Megwa in at sone point. Why not Dundee Utd at ER? Miller is a right back even if he had an hour in him still better than the starting line up. Either has to be a better option to try than something that didn’t work just a week previous. I don’t know what he was thinking. If it happens again he should be sacked before the final whistle.

Jay
15-01-2023, 06:02 PM
Campbell at right back last week didn’t work and add into the mix he is sorely missed in the midfield it’s a double whammy. You have to put Megwa in at sone point. Why not Dundee Utd at ER? Miller is a right back even if he had an hour in him still better than the starting line up. Either has to be a better option to try than something that didn’t work just a week previous. I don’t know what he was thinking. If it happens again he should be sacked before the final whistle.

15-01-2023, 06:13 PM

It really isn’t that complicated. Conventional right sided centre backs regularly fill in at right back in a 4, all over the world at any level!

Arsenal have Ben White at RB. John Stones regularly fills in for Man City. Darren McGregor played RB a lot for Rangers and on occasion for Hibs.

The easy option yesterday if he didn’t want to risk Megwa, was to put Fish/Rocky/Porto into RB.

It’s poor decision making

15-01-2023, 06:52 PM
It really isn’t that complicated. Conventional right sided centre backs regularly fill in at right back in a 4, all over the world at any level!

Arsenal have Ben White at RB. John Stones regularly fills in for Man City. Darren McGregor played RB a lot for Rangers and on occasion for Hibs.

The easy option yesterday if he didn’t want to risk Megwa, was to put Fish/Rocky/Porto into RB.

Fish started at RB against the Yams last time and cost us the opening goal - it's a specialist position and needs certain attributes - among them pace which Fish does not appear to have much of. Campbell remains a better option there for me at the present time due to superior engine and experience. Would certainly prefer to see an actual Right Back there mind. I mentioned Allan Deleferrier in another post - anyone know what's happened to him?

Skol
15-01-2023, 07:00 PM

Not really the answer though. The thought of fish, rocky or porteous at right back are equally scary.

Most right backs tend to have started out life as midfielders, or even wingers, and then learn the defensive side of the role.