View Full Version : Kensell Update - DoF Confirmed
24-01-2023, 05:15 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10113511/rangers-transfer-john-park-hibs-director-of-football/
Park on shortlist but would take a significant offer
They only know one name on a shortlist?
24-01-2023, 06:48 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10113511/rangers-transfer-john-park-hibs-director-of-football/
Park on shortlist but would take a significant offer
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfer-latest-no-contact-with-returning-director-of-football-candidate-scotland-defender-not-on-clubs-radar-ryan-porteous-update-3999156
EEN saying he’s not being considered for it.
24-01-2023, 07:19 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-transfer-latest-no-contact-with-returning-director-of-football-candidate-scotland-defender-not-on-clubs-radar-ryan-porteous-update-3999156
EEN saying he’s not being considered for it.
Disappointing a chat hasn’t even been had.
Hopefully we get in in soon
I'm Spartacus
25-01-2023, 01:51 PM
I'm just going to keep a counter on how many days we go until we appoint someone, I've a fear when the **** is hitting the fan he will hide and trot out the "We've assessed the footballing department and are mid-way through a rigorous recruitment process"
So: 6 days
15 days now since they decided to hide behind this announcement.
Chorley Hibee
25-01-2023, 02:35 PM
15 days now since they decided to hide behind this announcement.
Thought at the time it was bull**** to hide behind after the defeat at Tynecastle.
Nothing has changed my mind.
They're a bunch of chancers.
25-01-2023, 03:26 PM
Could really do with this appointment being made in the next half an hour and saving our window
mcfly
25-01-2023, 03:49 PM
Thought at the time it was bull**** to hide behind after the defeat at Tynecastle.
Nothing has changed my mind.
They're a bunch of chancers.
They had the whole World Cup break to sort this mess out and have their transfer targets lined up.
Other clubs got their business done early. We are obviously skint and selling our best players.
Players want out out now for a reason. It’s clearly an unhappy place to work.
Sad times
25-01-2023, 03:56 PM
They had the whole World Cup break to sort this mess out and have their transfer targets lined up.
Other clubs got their business done early. We are obviously skint and selling our best players.
Players want out out now for a reason. It’s clearly an unhappy place to work.
Sad times
Feels like time to give the young team their chance..and I'd strongly suggest we include dropping Marshall for Murray Johnston.
Murray has a huge future in the game - we need to give him his shot or we will lose him to a Leeds United or so.
The two forwards Laidlaw and O'Connor are more likely to score a league goal in the next 6 months than Melkersen & McKirdy showed in the previous 6 months.
Megwa at right back, the Macintyres.
The way to lift the doom & gloom is through these guys (imo) as the supposedly experienced pros are not taking us up the table any time soon
Scotty Leither
25-01-2023, 04:15 PM
Feels like time to give the young team their chance..and I'd strongly suggest we include dropping Marshall for Murray Johnston.
Murray has a huge future in the game - we need to give him his shot or we will lose him to a Leeds United or so.
The two forwards Laidlaw and O'Connor are more likely to score a league goal in the next 6 months than Melkersen & McKirdy showed in the previous 6 months.
Megwa at right back, the Macintyres.
The way to lift the doom & gloom is through these guys (imo) as the supposedly experienced pros are not taking us up the table any time soon
The perverse thing is if they blooded at least ONE of the young team who turns into the next Doig, then they’re the ones that’ll make them a few quid in transfer fees, and not the ones brought in from all corners all the globe that are now being moved on in jig time.
Who’d have thought the answer could be right on our doorstep, and not on Ian Gordon’s stats spreadsheet?
25-01-2023, 04:20 PM
Kensell can get to ****.
25-01-2023, 04:26 PM
The perverse thing is if they blooded at least ONE of the young team who turns into the next Doig, then they’re the ones that’ll make them a few quid in transfer fees, and not the ones brought in from all corners all the globe that are now being moved on in jig time.
Who’d have thought the answer could be right on our doorstep, and not on Ian Gordon’s stats spreadsheet?
It could be on the spreadsheets.
25-01-2023, 05:40 PM
This DoF better be a ****ing miracle worker because the mess he has to sort out gets bigger by the day.
25-01-2023, 05:43 PM
Would you want this job?
25-01-2023, 08:17 PM
Yet they did it with Jack Ross. I think attendances will have a bearing on what what happens going forward. Having said that Ron Gordon is on record as saying he regretted pulling the trigger on Ross too early. Possibly because he got it so wrong with his replacement to be fair.
Wrong Gordon is compounding his errors; Ross - Maloney - Johnson… what’s next…
25-01-2023, 09:08 PM
When can we expect Bens resignation?
25-01-2023, 09:23 PM
When can we expect Bens resignation?
what for?
25-01-2023, 09:24 PM
Would you want this job?
As a DoF? absolutely
club being decried as a shambles - chance to rebuilt the football dept - a small improvement will look like a miracle
If that doesn't excite someone then they must be in the wrong line of work
25-01-2023, 09:26 PM
what for?
He’s in charge day to day of this mess.
I'm Spartacus
31-01-2023, 03:33 PM
I'm just going to keep a counter on how many days we go until we appoint someone, I've a fear when the **** is hitting the fan he will hide and trot out the "We've assessed the footballing department and are mid-way through a rigorous recruitment process"
So: 6 days
21 days
LustForLeith
31-01-2023, 07:49 PM
What’s the rush for appointing a DoF?
scott_hfc1875
01-02-2023, 07:10 AM
surely the focus was on the window, now attention can be turned to hiring for this position?
01-02-2023, 07:26 AM
There isn't a rush now, the windows closed.
01-02-2023, 07:28 AM
surely the focus was on the window, now attention can be turned to hiring for this position?
It is possible surely, even for this clown car shower, to do two things at the same time?
AugustaHibs
01-02-2023, 07:37 AM
Aye they mustve been run off their feet trying to get the two centre halves we needed. Thankfully they got it over the line.
In kensell we trust eh.
**** off Ben.
NC1875
01-02-2023, 10:10 AM
🤣🤣🤣
01-02-2023, 11:54 AM
There isn't a rush now, the windows closed.
So they only work during the transfer windows?
I'm Spartacus
01-02-2023, 01:46 PM
The rush is highlighting how BK tried to distract attention away from himself after the Derby results with a statement about a change in structure. Something he should have been arranging months ago, but the panic in having to be seen to doing something, and then nothing happens, I just want to make sure we don't get treated like bairns.
01-02-2023, 01:49 PM
There isn't a rush now, the windows closed.I disagree. There should be a hell of a rush. Whoever gets the gig will have to get their feet under the table and work out what in gods name has been going on, before the transfer window opens again in four months' time.
Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk
01-02-2023, 01:51 PM
The rush is highlighting how BK tried to distract attention away from himself after the Derby results with a statement about a change in structure. Something he should have been arranging months ago, but the panic in having to be seen to doing something, and then nothing happens, I just want to make sure we don't get treated like bairns.
This change has been in the works since before the World Cup break.
01-02-2023, 02:01 PM
The change has been in the offing for months.
I agree that the announcement was a reaction to tynie.
However it has been discussed on this board since December that it was happening.
01-02-2023, 02:16 PM
I see Kenny Shiels has resigned from his job as Norn Ireland woman’s team manager.
Has he not done a director of football type job before somewhere? Couldn’t see it on his wiki page but sure he had done.
Knows Hibs, knows Scottish football, would he be someone that would be considered?
01-02-2023, 03:44 PM
I see Kenny Shiels has resigned from his job as Norn Ireland woman’s team manager.
Has he not done a director of football type job before somewhere? Couldn’t see it on his wiki page but sure he had done.
Knows Hibs, knows Scottish football, would he be someone that would be considered?
No
01-02-2023, 06:13 PM
It'll be someone like Joe Savage or George Craig I'd imagine. Not a prominent ex player or manager. We'll probably not have heard of them before.
To quote a certain tennis player, you cannot be serious
hibsdaft
01-02-2023, 06:50 PM
Good one. You nearly had me there.
02-02-2023, 09:37 AM
Was there not talk of a Scandinavian being linked for DOF
02-02-2023, 09:38 AM
Gunnarsson
02-02-2023, 09:39 AM
Yeah, that got ruled out though I think when BK was very specific in wanting someone with a good knowledge of Scottish football.
02-02-2023, 11:48 AM
Andy Webster?
https://twitter.com/snsgroup/status/1621125601494179840?s=46&t=B7sjnGZb7ppe-SdOMLAr0g
https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrew-webster-msc-5a011669
Learning to be a sporting director….
02-02-2023, 11:53 AM
Andy Webster?
https://twitter.com/snsgroup/status/1621125601494179840?s=46&t=B7sjnGZb7ppe-SdOMLAr0g
https://www.linkedin.com/in/andrew-webster-msc-5a011669
Learning to be a sporting director….
Dear god no
02-02-2023, 12:13 PM
He played with Lee and Jamie both at Hearts and Bristol City. Hopefully just pals, but he shouldn’t be at HTC on press day in that case.
08-02-2023, 09:06 AM
Aberdeen appoint Allan Burrows as CEO
We can this morning confirm we have appointed Alan Burrows as chief executive.
We look forward to welcoming Alan to Pittodrie.
08-02-2023, 09:09 AM
Quite happy with that. Leaves Motherwell bottom of the league and facing their first relegation in 36 years.
08-02-2023, 09:10 AM
Hmm, I'm not sure I'd be over the moon with that. He's left Motherwell in quite a state.
08-02-2023, 09:10 AM
shame it wasnt to announce his dismissal
Bloody hell
08-02-2023, 10:47 AM
Genuine question, why is it fans seem to rate burrows so highly?
Is it because he responds to fans on Twitter? As that’s largely what I hear about when his name is mentioned.
McGruber
08-02-2023, 10:51 AM
Almost forgot about us looking for a Director of football
08-02-2023, 12:55 PM
Sure Frank McParland that was at Rangers previously was mentioned as a possibility. He’s just joined Birmingham as their head of recruitment.
GreenGray
08-02-2023, 01:22 PM
Genuine question, why is it fans seem to rate burrows so highly?
Is it because he responds to fans on Twitter? As that’s largely what I hear about when his name is mentioned.
Motherwell fans rate him obviously cause he’s a fan, was very honest and always willing to front up. Doesn’t exactly translate into that he’s good at his job however, although they wouldn’t like him if he wasn’t.
08-02-2023, 06:28 PM
Burrows to Aberdeen.
Bartley hinting heavily that he chose them over us.
Lol , bit behind
08-02-2023, 06:31 PM
Burrows to Aberdeen.
Lol , bit behind
What role exactly was he wanted for with us?
08-02-2023, 06:32 PM
Burrows to Aberdeen.
Lol , bit behind
We've already got a CEO though. Would Burrows have been suitable for the DoF role? Can't see what he's done that would suggest he would.
08-02-2023, 06:33 PM
Pendants of the world untie!
can we change the misleading heading please it’s getting on my thrupnies…
08-02-2023, 06:35 PM
What role exactly was he wanted for with us?
I don't know. Bartley never said:-)
08-02-2023, 06:35 PM
Burrows to Aberdeen.
Lol , bit behind
Doesn’t every Aberdeen signing choose them over us? It’s just a standard go to headline.
08-02-2023, 06:45 PM
Burrows to Aberdeen.
Lol , bit behind
DoF or CEO? Easy decision. Kensell is our CEO and will be our new DoF's boss.
08-02-2023, 06:50 PM
Burrows to Aberdeen.
Lol , bit behind
I didnt hear what Marvin said, and I love the big guy, but that sounds like drivel - he has joined Aberdeen as CEO, not DoF..................
08-02-2023, 06:53 PM
I didnt hear what Marvin said, and I love the big guy, but that sounds like drivel - he has joined Aberdeen as CEO, not DoF..................
Yup, there is not a chance Burrows would be under consideration as a DoF, he is a communication officer turned CEO.
09-02-2023, 08:18 AM
Yup, there is not a chance Burrows would be under consideration as a DoF, he is a communication officer turned CEO.
https://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2023/02/09/update-from-the-chairman-2/
09-02-2023, 08:31 AM
https://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2023/02/09/update-from-the-chairman-2/
Yup, nothing there about him being considered for the DoF role.
09-02-2023, 08:34 AM
Yup, nothing there about him being considered for the DoF role.
Yeah but Motherwell saying he spoke to a few clubs
09-02-2023, 08:53 AM
Boardroom resignations
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/davies-goba-depart-hibs-board?fbclid=IwAR3OCHRJITx_VopYl3wykLzBKnhZtlC2qVz JE8gPr3IhzX6AFu57UXRDKEs
No DOF news yet.
09-02-2023, 09:06 AM
Boardroom resignations
https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/article/davies-goba-depart-hibs-board?fbclid=IwAR3OCHRJITx_VopYl3wykLzBKnhZtlC2qVz JE8gPr3IhzX6AFu57UXRDKEs
No DOF news yet.
All seems very amicable with the two directors leaving but anything to be concerned about that two want to leave at the same time?
09-02-2023, 10:22 AM
Think Burrows does just about everything at Fir Park, partly due to personality and partly lack of other staff. The DoF guy at Aberdeen, Steven Gunn, was arranging flights and accommodation not so long ago. His apparent lack of credentials has been a source of ire for fans, while they also have a head of recruitment - Tony Mowbray’s brother.
Hope Hibs have a clear vision for DoF position…
09-02-2023, 10:37 AM
Think Burrows does just about everything at Fir Park, partly due to personality and partly lack of other staff. The DoF guy at Aberdeen, Steven Gunn, was arranging flights and accommodation not so long ago. His apparent lack of credentials has been a source of ire for fans, while they also have a head of recruitment - Tony Mowbray’s brother.
I’ve been a bit bored this morning so been going down a a few rabbit holes as to possible options.
Would Mark Lawwell be a possibility? Head of recruitment at Celtic currently, would a more senior role as Director of Football position for Hibs be seen as a step up in his career or would moving to a smaller club be a step down?
I always assumed he was involved at Celtic due to his dad but he’s got an impressive CV in his own right.
Tommy Johnson? Apparently close to getting the job at Aberdeen not too long ago, was doing a head of recruitment job at Blackpool.
Ian Moody? Was involved with Malky Mackay during the racism text scandal, has a good reputation (for his work, dare say his off field reputation has been dented a bit) and been involved with a few big clubs since that incident. No direct experience of Scottish football but may have contacts up here due to Mackay who he is close with.
09-02-2023, 10:44 AM
All seems very amicable with the two directors leaving but anything to be concerned about that two want to leave at the same time?
Both stating family commitments and need to travel, may well be that they both agreed to step down a while ago and that's the club now confirming it
09-02-2023, 10:45 AM
He even drives the minibus to Motherwell development games😀
09-02-2023, 10:50 AM
Boardroom resignations
No DOF news yet.
Maybe we can appoint a Non-exec in charge of grammar.
Gorrdin oot....
:cb
hibsforeurope
09-02-2023, 11:08 AM
I’ve been a bit bored this morning so been going down a a few rabbit holes as to possible options.
Would Mark Lawwell be a possibility? Head of recruitment at Celtic currently, would a more senior role as Director of Football position for Hibs be seen as a step up in his career or would moving to a smaller club be a step down?
I always assumed he was involved at Celtic due to his dad but he’s got an impressive CV in his own right.
Tommy Johnson? Apparently close to getting the job at Aberdeen not too long ago, was doing a head of recruitment job at Blackpool.
Ian Moody? Was involved with Malky Mackay during the racism text scandal, has a good reputation (for his work, dare say his off field reputation has been dented a bit) and been involved with a few big clubs since that incident. No direct experience of Scottish football but may have contacts up here due to Mackay who he is close with.
If we're letting this go now, why not go after Malky Mackay himself? think he would be a excellent candidate, for his football credentials, headed up project brave and seems to be doing a decent job identifying players at county.
09-02-2023, 11:17 AM
If we're letting this go now, why not go after Malky Mackay himself? think he would be a excellent candidate, for his football credentials, headed up project brave and seems to be doing a decent job identifying players at county.
At the risk of opening up a can of worms, I’ve disagreed with people before on this. I’d have no problem with Malky Mackay being employed by the club if he was the right person for the job.
He made a mistake, he’s owned it and he’s done his best to make up for it. I personally don’t think he should be punished for life for it.
Pendants of the world untie!
can we change the misleading heading please it’s getting on my thrupnies…
You’re not getting my pendant.
09-02-2023, 04:46 PM
You’re not getting my pendant.
I had a really beautiful and expensive Parker ballpoint, but it had a little crater knocked into it, just under the "waist band".
Turned out it was a pendent.
10-02-2023, 06:15 AM
I had a really beautiful and expensive Parker ballpoint, but it had a little crater knocked into it, just under the "waist band".
Turned out it was a pendent.
I had a similar issue with a bash in a lovely Le Creuset griddle pan...
hibsforeurope
10-02-2023, 08:58 AM
Boardroom resignations
No DOF news yet.
Strange timing with an AGM in a few weeks.
10-02-2023, 09:04 AM
They are non-exec.
10-02-2023, 10:43 AM
That's a month now since 'We are defo getting a DoF' was whispered, not long after losing 3-0 at the 60's dome and when there were just 21 days of what turned out to be not that eventful a transfer window left to go.
Assuming that the idea hadn't just been cooked up at the last minute in the intervening period between the defeat and the weirdly funereal 'interview', how long does it/should it take to appoint someone?
I ask because the next transfer window is likely to open in about 15 weeks time, we may have European football to plan for, we are likely to want to move on more of the current squad, we will need to appraise what is missing and what needs strengthened during that window, we will need to identify targets, we will need to plan carefully about what we will be able to afford both as we are and after others go and, of course the 'DoF' needs time to build a relationship with the manager and other key personnel if this is to work.
And we do not want to be leaving our activity to the last minute in that window, we need players in early so that they can knit into the squad, into training, into the manager's plans and our playing style and - most importantly - be bedded in and ready to go in any European campaign plus League Cup and early league games.
So I'm thinking that we need to be making that appointment within probably the next three weeks if this person is to be given even just three months to be able to meet all those targets. After all, if we've really decided that a DoF is something critical enough to need then surely we want them in sooner rather than later?
10-02-2023, 10:46 AM
At the risk of opening up a can of worms, I’ve disagreed with people before on this. I’d have no problem with Malky Mackay being employed by the club if he was the right person for the job.
He made a mistake, he’s owned it and he’s done his best to make up for it. I personally don’t think he should be punished for life for it.
Where and how did he own it?
10-02-2023, 10:47 AM
That's a month now since 'We are defo getting a DoF' was whispered, not long after losing 3-0 at the 60's dome and when there were just 21 days of what turned out to be not that eventful a transfer window left to go.
Assuming that the idea hadn't just been cooked up at the last minute in the intervening period between the defeat and the weirdly funereal 'interview', how long does it/should it take to appoint someone?
I ask because the next transfer window is likely to open in about 15 weeks time, we may have European football to plan for, we are likely to want to move on more of the current squad, we will need to appraise what is missing and what needs strengthened during that window, we will need to identify targets, we will need to plan carefully about what we will be able to afford both as we are and after others go and, of course the 'DoF' needs time to build a relationship with the manager and other key personnel if this is to work.
And we do not want to be leaving our activity to the last minute in that window, we need players in early so that they can knit into the squad, into training, into the manager's plans and our playing style and - most importantly - be bedded in and ready to go in any European campaign plus League Cup and early league games.
So I'm thinking that we need to be making that appointment within probably the next three weeks if this person is to be given even just three months to be able to meet all those targets. After all, if we've really decided that a DoF is something critical enough to need then surely we want them in sooner rather than later?
I know Ben Kensell is having a half hour each with the Down the Slope and Strong Opinion Hibs podcasts on Monday so hopefully we hear about some progress on the DoF front then.
Monktonhall 7
10-02-2023, 10:52 AM
Has the AGM date been confirmed yet?
10-02-2023, 11:02 AM
Has the AGM date been confirmed yet?
Just that it'll be in March.
chippy
10-02-2023, 11:02 AM
I know Ben Kensell is having a half hour each with the Down the Slope and Strong Opinion Hibs podcasts on Monday so hopefully we hear about some progress on the DoF front then.
Maybe progress is dependant on how well Ron is. One would think that may be a factor.
10-02-2023, 11:07 AM
Where and how did he own it?
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/show-racism-red-card-back-malky-mackay-hiring-1460200
If it’s good enough for them, it’s good enough for me.
hibsforeurope
10-02-2023, 11:27 AM
Having watched that Deadline Day documentary on Sky. i know it's way above our level, but Edu was interviewed and said he plans his windows at least 12 month in advance. He will know now who Arsenal will go after in Feb 24. this is far from the impression I get from Hibs' transfer windows.
10-02-2023, 11:42 AM
Maybe progress is dependant on how well Ron is. One would think that may be a factor.
It really shouldn't be.
I absolutely have every sympathy for Ron. However if the ability of the club to do day to day business (which this is now that a decision has supposedly been taken to employ a DoF) is restricted by Ron's position then what on earth is Ben Kensell for?
10-02-2023, 01:34 PM
It really shouldn't be.
I absolutely have every sympathy for Ron. However if the ability of the club to do day to day business (which this is now that a decision has supposedly been taken to employ a DoF) is restricted by Ron's position then what on earth is Ben Kensell for?
The answer is of course that we don’t know if the ability of the club to do business is impacted by Ron’s illness. No doubt it will shortly be a Hibs.net fact.
Hibiza
10-02-2023, 06:04 PM
Spot on Sur .
10-02-2023, 06:25 PM
Having watched that Deadline Day documentary on Sky. i know it's way above our level, but Edu was interviewed and said he plans his windows at least 12 month in advance. He will know now who Arsenal will go after in Feb 24. this is far from the impression I get from Hibs' transfer windows.
Their activity in January certainly didn’t look like the result of 12 months planning. They missed out on their top target (Mudryk) who they had been working on signing since the summer. Trossard was an opportunistic alternative that arose after he chucked his toys out the pram post World Cup. They then spent the last days of the window making ever more desperate bids for Caicedo despite Brighton repeatedly saying he wasn’t for sale in January before they eventually gave up at the 12th hour and signed a 31 year old that their city rivals no longer wanted. It’s easy to talk a good game beforehand on TV saying you’ve done this and that, actually doing it when you’re dealing/competing with other clubs for players is a lot harder.
10-02-2023, 06:28 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/show-racism-red-card-back-malky-mackay-hiring-1460200
If it’s good enough for them, it’s good enough for me.
Fair enough.
10-02-2023, 06:50 PM
It’s exactly the impression I get from the Hibs transfer windows.
The problem is when a new manager comes in, he is presented with targets the previous manager requested.
He has to work with them and get the blame if they don’t work out.
I also think we lose our bearings due to certain departures/ unexpected arrivals.
The arrival of Boyle threw us a bit last summer. The summer before we might have expected any of Porto, Nisbet or Doig to leave then none did. These issues have affected our available budget and subsequent targets imo.
We need a decent DoF in place, to have a proper recruitment strategy and a longer term plan regarding who plays for Hibs. For a while we've looked reactive, to be on the back foot and it has led to a deterioration in the playing squad over time.
Having said all of that I do still think we have a core of good players and I liked the look a few of the young lads against Dortmund the other night. We seem to still be that consistent 2 or 3 players short of a good squad and it will likely continue to be so (or worse) as our better players leave and some excellent servants age.
11-02-2023, 03:02 PM
Does this mean that that LBs are now “personas non-grata”?
14-02-2023, 09:04 AM
Mixu being linked with the DoF job in the papers today.
Was at the young teams game against Dortmund the other day, not sure if that lends any weight to the rumour or not.
Not been a successful manager recently but we probably need to remember this isn’t the managers job he’s applying for.
14-02-2023, 10:33 AM
Does this mean that that LBs are now “personas non-grata”?
Not at all, we respectfully declined the invitation this time. It was initially meant to be all the podcasts on a zoom again and from previous experiences and feedback we didn’t think we’d be able to deliver what listeners wanted in that format.
By the time it switched to 30 minute appointments, we’d committed to appear on the Open Goal podcast which was recorded last night and while we could have done it, we didn’t think we’d add anything in the half hour or so that the other podcasts hadn't already covered very well.
14-02-2023, 10:44 AM
Was at the young teams game against Dortmund the other day, not sure if that lends any weight to the rumour or not.
Not been a successful manager recently but we probably need to remember this isn’t the managers job he’s applying for.
Agreed but what are his credentials for a DoF job? Has he done a similar role? I genuinely don't know.
14-02-2023, 10:56 AM
Agreed but what are his credentials for a DoF job? Has he done a similar role? I genuinely don't know.
Not sure either to be honest.
I don’t think having experience of performing a director of football role before needs to be a prerequisite of this appointment though. I think it’s entirely possible to have picked up the skills and contacts needed whilst performing other roles within a club, that could have been working within a recruitment department or as a manager.
Mixu will have contacts all over the world, if that I’ve got no doubt, I’d like to think the recruitment process will dig a bit deeper than that though.
14-02-2023, 11:09 AM
Not sure Mixu ticks all of these boxes?
Knowledge of Scottish football
Experience of working at a senior level at a high performing club
Extensive contacts within the game
A strong background in implementing strategy and bringing sporting success
14-02-2023, 11:18 AM
Naw, but he was "at the Dortmund match" so the Daily Heil ran a story which the Record has just repeated.
Hes a shoe in, imho
14-02-2023, 11:24 AM
I’ll be disappointed if we don’t get someone in who’s actually been a sporting director.
14-02-2023, 11:28 AM
He’s managed a couple of international teams. It’s entirely possible he was involved in implementing a strategy for them.
I tend to think with international jobs there’s a bigger picture he’d have been involved with and not just the match day stuff and build up to the match.
No idea how good, bad or indifferent he was at those things but it’s entirely possible he was better at that side of it than the day to day management.
14-02-2023, 11:32 AM
I’ll be disappointed if we don’t get someone in who’s actually been a sporting director.
What if they’ve been a sporting director somewhere with a completely different remit to what we are looking for now? Sporting director somewhere else might have had a bigger focus on the youth set up than recruitment for example.
I’m really open minded as to who we appoint. I don’t necessarily think their cv that we can pick up from Wikipedia will tell us a great deal as no two director of football positions will be the same.
14-02-2023, 11:49 AM
I think to be a DoF it’s a masters or something you can do and is something alot of ex players are now doing.
I’m sure Jamie Murphy is currently doing his.
As for Mixu, for some reason he doesn’t strike me as someone that would have loads of good contacts. Just from the clubs he’s been manager and where he’s been, I’m not sure how many of those would benefit Hibs. Now that’s pure speculation on my part so could be miles off it.
But I think key for this sort of role is being a likeable guy that can pull different departments together, really help the manager without stepping on his toes and having good contacts.
The issue with some ex managers that want the role is they might try and influence the manager or not agree with their style.
Big decision to make, hopefully we get it right.
On a side note I’d love to see someone like Daz go and do his masters in it, learn the trade, work his way up and end up a DoF at Hibs.
14-02-2023, 11:51 AM
I think to be a DoF it’s a masters or something you can do and is something alot of ex players are now doing.
I’m sure Jamie Murphy is currently doing his.
As for Mixu, for some reason he doesn’t strike me as someone that would have loads of good contacts. Just from the clubs he’s been manager and where he’s been, I’m not sure how many of those would benefit Hibs. Now that’s pure speculation on my part so could be miles off it.
But I think key for this sort of role is being a likeable guy that can pull different departments together, really help the manager without stepping on his toes and having good contacts.
The issue with some ex managers that want the role is they might try and influence the manager or not agree with their style.
Big decision to make, hopefully we get it right.
On a side note I’d love to see someone like Daz go and do his masters in it, learn the trade, work his way up and end up a DoF at Hibs.
Yeah, jack Ross has spoken about it a couple of times recently and he seems to view the role as a sort of mentor for a manager to provide guidance and support.
In some cases that would be a great fit I’m sure, in other cases with an experienced manager already in that wouldn’t work.
14-02-2023, 12:05 PM
Not for me, thanks.
(Just wanted to be the first).
14-02-2023, 12:13 PM
What if they’ve been a sporting director somewhere with a completely different remit to what we are looking for now? Sporting director somewhere else might have had a bigger focus on the youth set up than recruitment for example.
I’m really open minded as to who we appoint. I don’t necessarily think their cv that we can pick up from Wikipedia will tell us a great deal as no two director of football positions will be the same.
Let me put it another way. Ignore the title. I want us to hire someone who has experience of carrying out the same duties we require at our club. I don't think anyone has actually be clear on what those duties are. If its just a head of recruitment, then that is very different to the Sporting Director type role that Jack and others talk about on socials.
Donegal Hibby
14-02-2023, 12:30 PM
I'd Imagine Mixu has picked plenty of contacts in football having been in Thailand, England, Latvia , china , Finland, Scotland and France over the years. Though I'd be surprised if it was him , did they not say they were looking for somebody with experience of the job ?
Who ever it is I can guarantee that the announcement will be met with dismay by a section of the support.
14-02-2023, 12:39 PM
Who ever it is I can guarantee that the announcement will be met with dismay by a section of the support.
I'm already underwhelmed.
14-02-2023, 12:40 PM
I suspect it’ll be a nerd most people haven’t heard of but been working away in the background at a big club down south recently.
14-02-2023, 01:01 PM
I'm already underwhelmed.
I'm already livid. Sharpening my pitchfork as we speak.
In all seriousness it'll be someone we've likely never heard of. Another Joe Savage type. Being a big name doesn't mean you're going to be good at the job.
14-02-2023, 01:02 PM
I suspect it’ll be a nerd most people haven’t heard of but been working away in the background at a big club down south recently.
That would do me in the role. Someone who is experienced and has a good track record as opposed to someone who just passed their exams ten minutes earlier. The Leanne Dempster equivalent DoF.
Bobby Moore
14-02-2023, 05:31 PM
STV sports news saying Mixu has applied for the role.
#2 Double Tap
15-02-2023, 07:45 AM
Class!
leith lynx
15-02-2023, 07:52 AM
Now there's a man that gets Hibs!
15-02-2023, 10:06 AM
Now there's a man that gets Hibs!
I think he ticks a lot of boxes
Managed at local and International level too
15-02-2023, 01:13 PM
Nick Hammond could be a shout. Formerly of Celtic most recently Newcastle. Doesn't appear to be at a club at the moment.
15-02-2023, 07:05 PM
Nick Hammond could be a shout. Formerly of Celtic most recently Newcastle. Doesn't appear to be at a club at the moment.
Mentioned him early on in this thread. He has his own successful consultancy business now I think and suspect he would be out of our reach.
Another name to throw out there is Steve Walsh. No experience of Scottish football which was on BK’s criteria which may mean he’s a non starter. He has been involved with MLS club Charlotte FC recently though which is relatively close to Charleston so will be well known to the Gordon’s i would have thought.
It wasn’t long ago he was very highly regarded in England and was credited as one of the reasons Leicester won the league. Reputation dive bombed after a spell at Everton but recent stories suggest he wasn’t listened to there and his signing targets were ignored.
Probably a non starter but would be an ambitious appointment who currently isn’t at a club any bigger than ours.
15-02-2023, 08:21 PM
Mentioned him early on in this thread. He has his own successful consultancy business now I think and suspect he would be out of our reach.
Another name to throw out there is Steve Walsh. No experience of Scottish football which was on BK’s criteria which may mean he’s a non starter. He has been involved with MLS club Charlotte FC recently though which is relatively close to Charleston so will be well known to the Gordon’s i would have thought.
It wasn’t long ago he was very highly regarded in England and was credited as one of the reasons Leicester won the league. Reputation dive bombed after a spell at Everton but recent stories suggest he wasn’t listened to there and his signing targets were ignored.
Probably a non starter but would be an ambitious appointment who currently isn’t at a club any bigger than ours.
Fire that into BK Bingo. Good shout haha
15-02-2023, 08:46 PM
Still holding out hope I might get the job to be honest so I’ll no be firing any suggestions into BK.
15-02-2023, 09:35 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-director-of-football-latest-as-key-easter-road-figure-explains-timing-of-announcement-4027425
Wee update from BK on the criteria for the role.
Quotes from him in there suggest that the criteria could be flexible and may not need the Scottish football experience if they have other experience and strengths that outweigh that.
I’m encouraged by that as there’s bound to be great candidates from all over the world, including England, to rule anybody out who hasn’t been involved in Scottish football before would be crazy IMO.
16-02-2023, 08:58 AM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-director-of-football-latest-as-key-easter-road-figure-explains-timing-of-announcement-4027425
Wee update from BK on the criteria for the role.
Quotes from him in there suggest that the criteria could be flexible and may not need the Scottish football experience if they have other experience and strengths that outweigh that.
I’m encouraged by that as there’s bound to be great candidates from all over the world, including England, to rule anybody out who hasn’t been involved in Scottish football before would be crazy IMO.
I agree. A Hibs connection or experience of Scottish football wouldn't be on my list of requirements at all to be honest. It's maybe an added bonus but not the be all and end all. Scottish football isn't a different sport. Anybody worth their salt should be aware of Scottish football and Hibs anyway. Like you say, there will be some fantastic candidates regardless and in a DoF role they'll be intelligent and diligent enough to have done their research. Actually intrigued about who we bring in.
hhibs
16-02-2023, 04:06 PM
I think he ticks a lot of boxes
Managed at local and International level too
"
Not to mention his work with UEFA or was it FiFA as Observer so knows the "Halls of Power"
Hibees1973
16-02-2023, 04:42 PM
Sorry Mixu is not for me.
He has no experience as a DOF. Hope this is not a way for Ben and the rest of them to appoint someone with some kind of sentimental attachment to Hibs. I don't want someone who just because he has played with us, could have a cozy relationship with the players/board/suuport.
What we need is an experienced, firm and focused DOF who can weed out all the chaff who are at Hibs. This is not just players, but also the clowns who have recruited a whole load below average players. I understand that we have got rid of some players, but loads of money and time has been wasted over the last couple of years.
There has been a lax and unprofessional approach to many things at Hibs. I'm no fan of Johnson, but even he has eluded to this recently.
It's up to Ben and Ron, if he is able to, to get someone who stops us from making more aberrations.
16-02-2023, 04:57 PM
Mixu just looking for another pay day, not for me.
16-02-2023, 05:27 PM
Surely it’s going to be Steve Kean?
HendoDelivered
16-02-2023, 05:35 PM
Nah. Would of been announced by now if it was IMO.
16-02-2023, 05:38 PM
Actually thought it was going to be Jack Ross with him making noises about being a DOF and being complimentary about Hibs recently. Probably still looking to get into management at his young age though.
19-02-2023, 07:42 PM
Brendan MacFarlane, worked at Brentford in recruitment and was Head of Recruitment at Toulouse for two years. Just left.
Connected with Kensell on LinkedIn.
Bit of guesswork but we know the success of the Brentford model and it is similar in terms of what we were trying to achieve with the development team.
A lot of out of contract candidates so perhaps we are waiting for the right one to become available.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230219/be55b3745ae364fcbbb525b7c617374c.png
19-02-2023, 07:45 PM
Brendan MacFarlane, worked at Brentford in recruitment and was Head of Recruitment at Toulouse for two years. Just left.
Bit of guesswork but we know the success of the Brentford model and it is similar in terms of what we were trying to achieve with the development team.
A lot of out of contract candidates so perhaps we are waiting for the right one to become available.
Brilliant, excellent detective work.
Well done, love posts like this
19-02-2023, 08:24 PM
Searching his name on Twitter it looks like he’s joining Man City.
Not confirmed anywhere so might not be true, certainly seems to have been a popular figure at Toulouse though.
19-02-2023, 08:50 PM
Searching his name on Twitter it looks like he’s joining Man City.
Not confirmed anywhere so might not be true, certainly seems to have been a popular figure at Toulouse though.
Awww well, thought I may have been on to something.
I was thinking he may have seen DoF as a step up from Head of Recruitment. From the club side someone with an excellent recruitment background would be gold dust.
More interesting than the usual suspects anyway [emoji23]
Reminds me of the post that an ex player was coming back on a flight to Edinburgh cos he was sitting on a plane to Edinburgh with the sun rising on the left rather than the right or something like that
BoyledEgg
19-02-2023, 09:28 PM
Reminds me of the post that an ex player was coming back on a flight to Edinburgh cos he was sitting on a plane to Edinburgh with the sun rising on the left rather than the right or something like that
Omeonga, and he signed
21-02-2023, 10:16 AM
Awww well, thought I may have been on to something.
I was thinking he may have seen DoF as a step up from Head of Recruitment. From the club side someone with an excellent recruitment background would be gold dust.
More interesting than the usual suspects anyway [emoji23]
Brian Marwood, Managing Director of the Global City football group visited East Mains twice in recent months. For me the only obvious explanation is that the City group are buying Hibs and then recruiting this Brendan chap from Toulouse to be Director of football here.
Not interested in any other suggestions or explanations, I’m just running with that one.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/its-like-popcorn-why-lee-johnson-didnt-call-on-hibs-kids-during-bad-run-and-how-they-stand-to-benefit-from-january-rejig-4034646
21-02-2023, 10:20 AM
Brian Marwood, Managing Director of the Global City football group visited East Mains twice in recent months. For me the only obvious explanation is that the City group are buying Hibs and then recruiting this Brendan chap from Toulouse to be Director of football here.
Not interested in any other suggestions or explanations, I’m just running with that one.
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/its-like-popcorn-why-lee-johnson-didnt-call-on-hibs-kids-during-bad-run-and-how-they-stand-to-benefit-from-january-rejig-4034646
You beat me to it!
21-02-2023, 12:11 PM
I played against Brian Marwood in a pre season friendly, cant remember if it was Aldershot or Barnet he was playing for.
He had a run in with the ref a few times during the game, and afterwards in the bar, there were a few of us talking to him and some of the other players and the ref came in, and Marwood spotted him, his exact words to the ref were, you are a see you next tuesday, not fit to run a bath, nevermind a football match, effin useless see you next tuesday.
I think he might have been a tad upset. :faf:
He was reported to the Hertfordshire FA, I never found out what the outcome was?:greengrin
leith lynx
21-02-2023, 12:11 PM
Honestly would not rule this scenario out, would be an interesting proposition.
21-02-2023, 12:15 PM
Honestly would not rule this scenario out, would be an interesting proposition.
You would not rule out the city group wanting to buy hibs?
With Ron's now known health issues, I can see this happening. I feel RG wants to be more hands on which he can't do, he'll also see us a business and will do what he feels is right if he can't put his whole heart into it.
21-02-2023, 12:22 PM
Better call Saul
21-02-2023, 12:25 PM
With Ron's now known health issues, I can see this happening. I feel RG wants to be more hands on which he can't do, he'll also see us a business and will do what he feels is right if he can't put his whole heart into it.
You can see us being bought but the City group? Are the City group really going to care 2 hoots about Scottish football?
21-02-2023, 12:27 PM
You can see us being bought but the City group? Are the City group really going to care 2 hoots about Scottish football?
I love the fact my made up rumour is getting traction and joking aside I disagree with the poster that says they can see it happening, they do however have clubs in countries worse than Scotland.
Think they own Mumbai City? A club in the Belgian second division as well I think?
21-02-2023, 12:30 PM
I love the fact my made up rumour is getting traction and joking aside I disagree with the poster that says they can see it happening, they do however have clubs in countries worse than Scotland.
Think they own Mumbai City? A club in the Belgian second division as well I think?
Haha I also cannot see this happening remotely.
The guy was here to see Kuka. Surely
21-02-2023, 12:32 PM
Edinburgh is a city, so why not?
leith lynx
21-02-2023, 12:33 PM
You would not rule out the city group wanting to buy hibs?
Why not? For example don't think Troyes are any bigger than Hibs, similar in ground capacity with an average attendance of around 12k.
21-02-2023, 12:40 PM
Do we lose all our titles when they get investigated?
21-02-2023, 12:44 PM
Do we lose all our titles when they get investigated?
I don't know about that, but some folk have lost their minds on this thread, though.
21-02-2023, 12:47 PM
Why not? For example don't think Troyes are any bigger than Hibs, similar in ground capacity with an average attendance of around 12k.
Aye I’ve just done some research on them. Probably not beyond the realms of possibility.
However a guy visiting us twice does not a buyout make.
21-02-2023, 12:56 PM
I don't know about that, but some folk have lost their minds on this thread, though.
If that’s aimed at me and I kind of hope it is, I’ll have you know I lost my mind a long time before this thread thank you very much.
A certain Dylan Bikey can take the credit for that.
TBH it was a post based on what Bingo posted, if not the City group then maybe someone else, we still have no clue as to how serious his health issues are.
21-02-2023, 01:00 PM
TBH it was a post based on what Bingo posted, if not the City group then maybe someone else, we still have no clue as to how serious his health issues are.
Dinnae bring me into this.
21-02-2023, 01:00 PM
If that’s aimed at me and I kind of hope it is, I’ll have you know I lost my mind a long time before this thread thank you very much.
A certain Dylan Bikey can take the credit for that.
Nah, you started the rumour a mere 2 minutes before me (I took the time to get it corroborated, obviously).
I'm talking about the folk who are buying it! :greengrin
21-02-2023, 01:33 PM
its always ****** Bingo tbh. I wish they'd keep him busier at work.
GreenGray
21-02-2023, 01:49 PM
Hope not! Everything that’s wrong with modern football right there
ErinGoBraghHFC
21-02-2023, 01:52 PM
Hope not! Everything that’s wrong with modern football right there
I’ll abandon my morals for a league win, not gonna lie
21-02-2023, 01:58 PM
its always ****** Bingo tbh. I wish they'd keep him busier at work.
I’ll see the funny side in most things but don’t even joke about that please.
GreenGray
21-02-2023, 01:59 PM
I’ll abandon my morals for a league win, not gonna lie
No guarantee of that, in fact would still be highly doubtful.
If fans feel “disconnected” now just wait until you’re just a small part of a massive corporate wheel and our badge is rebranded to look like every other clubs of the city groups
Dinnae bring me into this.
Too late you brought yerself into it :greengrin
21-02-2023, 02:08 PM
Mixu just looking for another pay day, not for me.
What other reason is there to work?
28-02-2023, 09:40 PM
Tony Ashgar?🤣
I jest, but it’s worth remembering a DoF isn’t a guaranteed good thing
Albeit he seems to have gotten a bit of a tough ride from an outside looking in.
28-02-2023, 09:47 PM
Tony Ashgar?🤣
I jest, but it’s worth remembering a DoF isn’t a guaranteed good thing
Albeit he seems to have gotten a bit of a tough ride from an outside looking in.
Local journalist in Dundee making the point he’s had 3 good seasons and one atrocious one.
If he’s getting the blame for this one he should get the credit for previous ones.
Don’t think for a second he’ll be in contention for the job at Hibs though.
28-02-2023, 09:55 PM
Local journalist in Dundee making the point he’s had 3 good seasons and one atrocious one.
If he’s getting the blame for this one he should get the credit for previous ones.
Don’t think for a second he’ll be in contention for the job at Hibs though.
This is where I’m at.
Courts was ultimately a good appointment and got them European football and then left to better his own career.
Ross came in and was considered a very good appointment and appeared to have recruited well. After winning the first leg in Europe 1-0 no one would have thought the results they had would follow.
Fox was a strange appointment however could be one based on low budget/hoping for another Tam Courts.
Like you say if you criticise someone you need to praise them when they do well.
Their signings like Fletcher, Middleton, Sibbald, McGrath, Levitt and Beziz are all good. If they had a keeper capable of not costing them a goal a game they’d be much better off
11-03-2023, 02:18 PM
Anyone heard anything about the new DoF? All seems to have gone a bit quiet on that front. Obviously everything would have been put on hold during recent events but I thought I would take it upon myself to throw a random name out there to get the chat going again.
Former Celtic scout Neil Maguiness being linked with a head of recruitment position at Southampton. One of a number of names being considered thought so not certain he’s going there. Also not sure how a DoF position would compare with a head of recruitment role down south? Would a more senior position at a club like Hibs be a step up to a recruitment only role at a higher level?
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/former-celtic-talent-spotter-who-29428954.amp
This guy would appear to tick a lot of boxes for us if he was an option.
Liam978
11-03-2023, 05:13 PM
[QUOTE=bingo70;7305883]Anyone heard anything about the new DoF? All seems to have gone a bit quiet on that front. Obviously everything would have been put on hold during recent events but I thought I would take it upon myself to throw a random name out there to get the chat going again.
Former Celtic scout Neil Maguiness being linked with a head of recruitment position at Southampton. One of a number of names being considered thought so not certain he’s going there. Also not sure how a DoF position would compare with a head of recruitment role down south? Would a more senior position at a club like Hibs be a step up to a recruitment only role at a higher level?
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/former-celtic-talent-spotter-who-29428954.amp
This guy would appear to tick a lot of boxes for us if he was an option.
Most are still in mourning. Try again next week.
Hibs4185
15-03-2023, 07:00 AM
I may have missed this, probably have, but I’ve just came across a Derek White on Linkedin who’s title is Head of football operations at Hibernian Football Club.
It’s a name I’ve never heard of before and wondered if it’s a new appointment?
15-03-2023, 07:04 AM
I may have missed this, probably have, but I’ve just came across a Derek White on Linkedin who’s title is Head of football operations at Hibernian Football Club.
Been at the club for a while, about a year I think.
leith lynx
15-03-2023, 09:26 AM
Was he not the guy who cocked up the league Cup registration farce thing?
hibsforeurope
15-03-2023, 10:01 AM
He was definitely in post when this happened.
15-03-2023, 10:32 AM
He only joined a month before this, and the position had been vacant for a bit
Yes a mistake, but whoever was caretaking it, is probably as much to blame too