View Full Version : Kensell Update - DoF Confirmed
12-01-2023, 06:03 PM
Allan burrows just left motherwell do you think he might be in the mix.
Nope and I’m unsure why anyone would think he has the credentials to be a DoF. You’d be as well grabbing a fan from the east stand
12-01-2023, 06:07 PM
A name that was mentioned to me today was Andy Goldie.
Currently at Swansea and previously at Dundee United.
Trinity Hibee
12-01-2023, 06:08 PM
Good shout
LeithMike
12-01-2023, 06:28 PM
Maybe I've missed something, but if we're now going down the road of our mangers not being responsible for who we sign, we're never going to fix the mess we're in.
It's what we've been moaning about for 2 years.
LJs not happy with our squad so that says to me that he wants an input in to who we sign.
If he's still just picking from a list that the new guy has produced instead of a list from Ian Gordon, what's the damn point?!
I agree with this. It’s fairly clear from his selections that the signings are not Lee Johnson’s. If he’d have identified McKirdy then he would be trying to get his own men established. That’s not the case.
If recruitment and team selection are separate then accountability is hugely difficult and you are likely to go through a few “coaches” before identifying problems with the DoF.
That’s why I’d prefer a more powerful manager with the ability to set the tone for everything at the club. Fine, if he moves on, a new manager may see things differently but so what. It’s the way it has always been. Clubs with directors of football don’t have any more success and are more prone to failing to identify the root cause.
if we are sticking with Johnson lets give him what he wants so we can see if he can make a success of it. if not, let's get a strong manager (someone like McInnes) who knows what it takes to run an organisation and bring in one director to help deliver everything for him.
we are going to end up spending more on the boardroom than on the pitch the way it is going.
Jpdhfc
12-01-2023, 06:49 PM
Nope and I’m unsure why anyone would think he has the credentials to be a DoF. You’d be as well grabbing a fan from the east stand
True I agree with you, but you never know with hibs just now
davhibby
12-01-2023, 06:50 PM
^^I don't think that's right.
George Craig for example, took responsibility for everything football related. Youths, injuries, manager recruitment, data analysis etc. Did we not also have scouts reporting into him?
If we're bringing in someone to do the job you're suggesting, that just sounds like a chief scout. No point in that.
Maybe I've missed something, but if we're now going down the road of our mangers not being responsible for who we sign, we're never going to fix the mess we're in.
It's what we've been moaning about for 2 years.
LJs not happy with our squad so that says to me that he wants an input in to who we sign.
If he's still just picking from a list that the new guy has produced instead of a list from Ian Gordon, what's the damn point?!
I’d be surprised if there’s any club in the UK at the level we aspire to be at that gives the manager full autonomy on transfers.
12-01-2023, 07:26 PM
What an insult for fans sitting in the East, of which I’m one of them
Anyone of them could do a better job than IG and BK. Both of them have wasted away my season ticket money for the 2nd season on the trot, yet both are still employed at our club
The interview with BK was so stage managed it was cringeworthy, looks like it was rehearsed about 10 times
12-01-2023, 07:34 PM
He’s never had a job scouting from what I can see? All his roles have been in youth development I think?
12-01-2023, 07:45 PM
Anyone of them could do a better job than IG and BK. Both of them have wasted away my season ticket money for the 2nd season on the trot, yet both are still employed at our club
The interview with BK was so stage managed it was cringeworthy, looks like it was rehearsed about 10 times
It wasn’t a dig at anyone in the East Stand lol
Stage managed.. well prepared IMO but who really cares how the message has been delivered?
I’ve said my piece on the PM board on what BK inherited and if we still had a Yes man CEO then nothing would be changing. He’s not faultless but not the root cause IMO.
12-01-2023, 07:47 PM
It sounds like Ian Gordon is staying in his role going by what LJ said today about those that will be working with the new DOF. Very disappointing.
12-01-2023, 07:52 PM
He’s never had a job scouting from what I can see? All his roles have been in youth development I think?
He was a scout for Middlesbrough for a while.
I think this is the thing with a DoF, a lot (not saying you) appear to think it’s basically in charge of recruitment and they’ll decide who signs.
For example John Park is getting touted about alot by everyone, does he know/would he be any good as a DoF outwith the recruitment side of things?
It will be interesting what blend they go for in terms of scout and any other experience at a football club.
I’ve no idea what they do on a daily basis, we’ll hear a couple of phrases about who they’ll speak to etc but would be really interesting to see what their daily job is.
HendoDelivered
12-01-2023, 07:53 PM
It sounds like Ian Gordon is staying in his role going by what LJ said today about those that will be working with the new DOF. Very disappointing.
Jeez. Hopefully the DOF has full control and everything bas to go by him.
12-01-2023, 08:06 PM
We’d be better with Goldie Hawn.
12-01-2023, 08:11 PM
He may stay still have the title but would expect the DoF to take away some of the responsibility and give direction for what we do recruitment wise.
12-01-2023, 08:16 PM
He was a scout for Middlesbrough for a while.
I think this is the thing with a DoF, a lot (not saying you) appear to think it’s basically in charge of recruitment and they’ll decide who signs.
For example John Park is getting touted about alot by everyone, does he know/would he be any good as a DoF outwith the recruitment side of things?
It will be interesting what blend they go for in terms of scout and any other experience at a football club.
I’ve no idea what they do on a daily basis, we’ll hear a couple of phrases about who they’ll speak to etc but would be really interesting to see what their daily job is.
Did BK not say something along the lines of the person they’re looking for will have a heavy bias in the recruitment part side of it or something?
12-01-2023, 08:20 PM
You do get that people have the capacity to learn and adapt right?
12-01-2023, 08:23 PM
You do get that people have the capacity to learn and adapt right?
You do get that a completely inexperienced, non football man should be nowhere near the head of recruitment job at one of the biggest clubs in Scotland right?
Rumble de Thump
12-01-2023, 08:31 PM
You do get that a completely inexperienced, non football man should be nowhere near the head of recruitment job at one of the biggest clubs in Scotland right?
A lot of people still don't understand what his duties are despite it being explained numerous times. Or they pretend they don't understand.
12-01-2023, 08:35 PM
You really don’t like it under the current regime at all.
12-01-2023, 08:36 PM
You not thinking of Donald Park.?
My recollection was John Park scouted all the golden generation and Donald Park was the youth coach who helped them progress to the first team.
cameronw-hfc
12-01-2023, 08:50 PM
https://associationofsportingdirectors.com/understanding-the-role-of-the-sporting-director/
Good article describing the role of a DoF/Sporting Director for any not sure.
Willis1875
12-01-2023, 09:17 PM
I read Bens statement as the whole recruitment department will be reviewed and Ian just because he’s the owners son won’t get any preferential treatment
cameronw-hfc
12-01-2023, 09:22 PM
I read Bens statement as the whole recruitment department will be reviewed and Ian just because he’s the owners son won’t get any preferential treatment
He's not involved in specifically recruiting anymore. He will probably stay in the role but in more of a corporate sense than actually scouting people I've heard. Also not sure he will be in the role this time next year, the plan has always been for Ian to do a few roles within the club over time.
12-01-2023, 09:59 PM
He's not involved in specifically recruiting anymore. He will probably stay in the role but in more of a corporate sense than actually scouting people I've heard. Also not sure he will be in the role this time next year, the plan has always been for Ian to do a few roles within the club over time.
That makes sense if he is to take over from his father at some point.
13-01-2023, 04:18 AM
I had heard he’d been moved out of recruitment a while ago but then the latest noises made it sound like he was still going to be involved. Hopefully you are correct.
13-01-2023, 05:16 AM
Do we think the DoF will be responsible for who we sign??
I hope not. I want our manager to do that, not anyone else.
We benefitted massively from it with the Scottish cup side. Then we gave control to Lennon and he signed a lot of rubbish.
It's very naive to think the manager should be identifying all players now. Hell, in the 70s and 80s that didn't happen. Taylor told Clough who to sign.
Helensburghhibs
13-01-2023, 06:35 AM
You not thinking of Donald Park.?
No mate ? Why do you say that ?
13-01-2023, 07:48 AM
Good news for him, not great news for Hibs.
13-01-2023, 08:17 AM
Good news for him, not great news for Hibs.
Nonsense. I’ve no issue with him getting experience within different jobs at Hibs, as long as he is working alongside people to learn rather than being the main man himself.
13-01-2023, 08:36 AM
Our issues with recruitment are deeper than simply Ian Gordon’s role and have existed long before he was on the scene. I know he’s the bogeyman for many but the recruitment team needs more than a change of leader to make it fit for purpose.
13-01-2023, 08:54 AM
Our issues with recruitment are deeper than simply Ian Gordon’s role and have existed long before he was on the scene. I know he’s the bogeyman for many but the recruitment team needs more than a change of leader to make it fit for purpose.
Exactly. It’s the way of things though; ignore the structural issues of an organisation and instead focus on personalities.
13-01-2023, 12:05 PM
We benefitted massively from it with the Scottish cup side. Then we gave control to Lennon and he signed a lot of rubbish.
It's very naive to think the manager should be identifying all players now. Hell, in the 70s and 80s that didn't happen. Taylor told Clough who to sign.
I don't think we need the manager to identify the players, nobody has suggested that I don't think?
In the past, we had scouts. I imagine our managers of the time would get reports from them, have the player watched some more, then decide whether to try and sign them or not.
I could be wrong, and I know that sounds fairly simple, but it seems like a logical way of doing things.
When LD brought in George Craig, i don't think for a minute he was going around the country identifying which players Stubbs should sign.
I think he would have been responsible for the 'scouts' / data analysts or whatever they're called these days with LD negotiating the contracts.
Without knowing for sure, I'd bet Stubbs decided whether to sign the players or not. Same with Lennon.
Move forward to Ross, Maloney or LJ, and I have no idea if these guys even had a say in who comes or goes. I suspect not, but that LJ is now beginning to have a voice that is being listened to. Ross was 100% ignored and who really cares about Maloney.
The point I'm making I guess, is that I don't want the new guy coming in and signing players that LJ is not 100% dying to have.
If he has any doubts, or doesn't think they are ready to make an instant impact on our first team, then I want LJ to be able to say 'no thanks, find me someone else'.
I don't think it's an unreasonable position that I'm taking here. It seems like common sense to me and probably what a lot of / most clubs do.
13-01-2023, 02:49 PM
I don't think we need the manager to identify the players, nobody has suggested that I don't think?
In the past, we had scouts. I imagine our managers of the time would get reports from them, have the player watched some more, then decide whether to try and sign them or not.
I could be wrong, and I know that sounds fairly simple, but it seems like a logical way of doing things.
When LD brought in George Craig, i don't think for a minute he was going around the country identifying which players Stubbs should sign.
I think he would have been responsible for the 'scouts' / data analysts or whatever they're called these days with LD negotiating the contracts.
Without knowing for sure, I'd bet Stubbs decided whether to sign the players or not. Same with Lennon.
Move forward to Ross, Maloney or LJ, and I have no idea if these guys even had a say in who comes or goes. I suspect not, but that LJ is now beginning to have a voice that is being listened to. Ross was 100% ignored and who really cares about Maloney.
The point I'm making I guess, is that I don't want the new guy coming in and signing players that LJ is not 100% dying to have.
If he has any doubts, or doesn't think they are ready to make an instant impact on our first team, then I want LJ to be able to say 'no thanks, find me someone else'.
I don't think it's an unreasonable position that I'm taking here. It seems like common sense to me and probably what a lot of / most clubs do.
I think you’re way wide of the mark with some of your assumptions. You think JR had no say in the signings of McGinn and Magennis for starters? Them being the two obvious examples.
13-01-2023, 03:04 PM
McGinn fair enough.
Magennis i think fitted the bill of being one of the best young Scottish players at a club we could get him from. I think we'd probably have been in for him whoever our manager was but yeah, it prob helped with it being JR.
I'm maybe thinking of the summer window when we had our Euro game. From memory, JR, and most of us on here, wee saying all we need is a decent striker and central midfielder.
We all expected these to happen and were hugely frustrated / angry when we realised we were going into the season with what we had. Nathan Wood was never going to be the answer.
Fast forward to now, and up until a week ago I don't think anything was any better.
I'm hoping that with a DoF coming in, and the couple of players being released already, that it's a sign that things are changing more to the way I described in my post.
13-01-2023, 03:10 PM
My recollection was John Park scouted all the golden generation and Donald Park was the youth coach who helped them progress to the first team.
He didn’t scout Deek’s or Gaz.
13-01-2023, 03:12 PM
No mate ? Why do you say that ?
It was Martin Ferguson who scouted Deek’s and Gaz.
13-01-2023, 03:33 PM
Thanks for sharing that. Interesting piece of history [emoji106]
McGinn fair enough.
Magennis i think fitted the bill of being one of the best young Scottish players at a club we could get him from. I think we'd probably have been in for him whoever our manager was but yeah, it prob helped with it being JR.
I'm maybe thinking of the summer window when we had our Euro game. From memory, JR, and most of us on here, wee saying all we need is a decent striker and central midfielder.
We all expected these to happen and were hugely frustrated / angry when we realised we were going into the season with what we had. Nathan Wood was never going to be the answer.
Fast forward to now, and up until a week ago I don't think anything was any better.
I'm hoping that with a DoF coming in, and the couple of players being released already, that it's a sign that things are changing more to the way I described in my post.
that summer I think the club was expecting one of Porto, Boyle, nisbet or doig to be sold, and we’re holding off on signing players in the hope that we’d be shopping in a better market, but nothing happened (possible that Mathie played chicken with a club interested in Doig and lost out). There were strong rumours of a Scandinavian (Norwegian?) left sided defender we’d earmarked as a replacement for doig if he went
Scotty Leither
13-01-2023, 05:35 PM
Burrows is stepping down at Motherwell. He’ll work on until they find a replacement, apparently.
Apologies if this is mentioned in other threads.
13-01-2023, 05:47 PM
Burrows is stepping down at Motherwell. He’ll work on until they find a replacement, apparently.
Apologies if this is mentioned in other threads.
He’s a CEO, the position of DoF would be a step backwards, unless it’s a move he wants to make.
13-01-2023, 06:02 PM
He’s a CEO, the position of DoF would be a step backwards, unless it’s a move he wants to make.
Not to mention a job he would be totally unsuitable for.
13-01-2023, 06:12 PM
Reading this thread I think a starting point might be clear definitions and job descriptions of what a CEO is and does and what DoF is and does. Seems to be a variance of thought on the matter. We all have our opinions but opinion is a different animal to fact although I understand the internet does a good job of blurring this.
cameronw-hfc
13-01-2023, 06:13 PM
Reading this thread I think a starting point might be clear definitions and job descriptions of what a CEO is and does and what DoF is and does. Seems to be a variance of thought on the matter. We all have our opinions but opinion is a different animal to fact although I understand the internet does a good job of blurring this.
I shared a good article a few posts back on this thread(I think, might be another thread) explaining the role of a DoF/Sporting Director. I'll look it out again
Here it is
https://associationofsportingdirectors.com/understanding-the-role-of-the-sporting-director/
Good article describing the role of a DoF/Sporting Director for any not sure.
As he's never filled that role in the past
13-01-2023, 08:24 PM
I don't think it's an unreasonable position that I'm taking here. It seems like common sense to me and probably what a lot of / most clubs do.Sorry , don`t know how to highlight parts of texts . What do you mean by " Ross was 100% ignored and who really cares about Maloney ? " . I suppose we didn`t sign every player Ross wanted but to say he was 100% ignored seems exaggerated to say the least and as for Maloney why would any Hibs fan care less about him than other ex Hibs managers ? He deserved the same backing from club and fans as any of our managers , surely ? We`ve all got different opinions on past , present and potential future managers and those opinions often change with time . I personally think Maloney was a good appointment ( though not at the ideal time perhaps ) who was very unlucky with injuries , Boyle departure etc and that replacing him was a mistake . Anyway I realise this is not a thread comparing past and present managers but found " who really cares about Maloney " comment strange .
Helensburghhibs
14-01-2023, 09:58 AM
John Park was chief scout. Any scouting would have went through him. Don't doubt your man was probably the one who flagged them up though
I think the point I was trying to make is that he has vast experience both in recruitment and player development pathway.
14-01-2023, 10:43 AM
Not disagreeing with you but are his credentials not broadly similar to George Craig’s? I’m sure George Craig did a stint at Falkirk, possibly in a couple of different roles, after having been appointed to some sort of fan’s role?
Are they both not more organisers and oversee-ers with experience in football being mainly from a fan’s perspective rather than either of them being “fitba fowk”?
14-01-2023, 12:44 PM
He is an easy target for a good wine, sorry I mean whine, for some 😁
15-01-2023, 12:54 AM
I see David Moyes coat st West Ham is on a shoogly peg and it seems inevitable he will be sacked soon. No, I’m not suggesting him however I would imagine that would mean Mark Warburton would be out of work soon too if that happens.
Imo that would be an excellent appointment. He would meet the criteria BK spoke about, timescales would seem to work out too if we are waiting until either the end of the season or he becomes available.
If it was John Park we’re going for we should be able to approach and appoint him now.
Scotty Leither
15-01-2023, 07:20 AM
He was probably prepped by Forsyth, who I notice is still hinging about the Boardroom.
delbert
15-01-2023, 07:28 PM
He is an easy target for a good wine, sorry I mean whine, for some 😁
We need a lot more than just a DOF, the malaise runs far deeper than that. I saw our U12 side utterly dismantled by Carlisle United at HTC yesterday, and having watched many games there over many years, I despair at what has happened to our youth scouting system, it was painful to watch. Something very wrong at HTC right now and part of that was Jack Ross’s absurd decision to sideline the guy who ran things, Eddie May, and there are a few chickens coming home to roost now, truly worrying.
15-01-2023, 07:35 PM
We need a lot more than just a DOF, the malaise runs far deeper than that. I saw our U12 side utterly dismantled by Carlisle United at HTC yesterday, and having watched many games there over many years, I despair at what has happened to our youth scouting system, it was painful to watch. Something very wrong at HTC right now and part of that was Jack Ross’s absurd decision to sideline the guy who ran things, Eddie May, and there are a few chickens coming home to roost now, truly worrying.
I really would not be reading anything at all in to the result of an Under 12s game. They’re only children.
I really would not be reading anything at all in to the result of an Under 12s game. They’re children.
exactly what I thought
15-01-2023, 07:47 PM
Come on now, under 12??
delbert
15-01-2023, 09:32 PM
Come on now, under 12??
Sorry but I’m afraid you’re missing the point, five or six years ago the U12/U13 teams back then had young, confident players who regularly ripped opposition teams to shreds, they were brilliant to watch and we clearly had scouted some of the top young players around. Having watched these games for years, there were few if any of these players who would have got anywhere near the same team just a few years ago. This is about the structure of our scouting of the best young talent around and after what I saw yesterday, I wonder if we actually have a youth scouting system at all. Interesting to see how many games at younger youth level the people who commented have seen, I have literally seen hundreds and the drop in standard was, and is, stark !
15-01-2023, 09:35 PM
Sorry but I’m afraid you’re missing the point, five or six years ago the U12/U13 teams back then had young, confident players who regularly ripped opposition teams to shreds, they were brilliant to watch and we clearly had scouted some of the top young players around. Having watched these games for years, there were few if any of these players who would have got anywhere near the same team just a few years ago. This is about the structure of our scouting of the best young talent around and after what I saw yesterday, I wonder if we actually have a youth scouting system at all. Interesting to see how many games at younger youth level the people who commented have seen, I have literally seen hundreds and the drop in standard was, and is, stark !
And yet 6 years later none of these players are close to getting a game in an absolutely terrible Hibs team.
delbert
15-01-2023, 09:53 PM
And yet 6 years later none of these players are close to getting a game in an absolutely terrible Hibs team.
Ah you mean roughly the same group of lads who are about to take on Borussia Dortmund ? Yeh you’re right, your logic has defeated me, everything is just fine !
15-01-2023, 10:07 PM
So the under 12 team from 6 years ago has resulted in zero first team players to date, but we should worry about the current under 12 team 🙄
15-01-2023, 10:13 PM
Ah you mean roughly the same group of lads who are about to take on Borussia Dortmund ? Yeh you’re right, your logic has defeated me, everything is just fine !
Yeah the same ones, it’s a big step up from playing against other kids to adult football. None of them have managed it yet.
Helensburghhibs
15-01-2023, 10:53 PM
I really would not be reading anything at all in to the result of an Under 12s game. They’re only children.
Everything that is wrong with youth football in Scotland,,, who cares about the score between 11 year old laddies. It should be about individual development. Not team results
cameronw-hfc
16-01-2023, 12:20 AM
The 10 year olds I teach smashed a team 14-2 then lost to the exact same team 8-3 a few weeks later. Literally means nothing. As others have said, they're children, chances are it was an off day.
16-01-2023, 12:31 AM
John Park was chief scout. Any scouting would have went through him. Don't doubt your man was probably the one who flagged them up though
I think the point I was trying to make is that he has vast experience both in recruitment and player development pathway.
Park came when Mcleish came to the club, Deek & Gaz had being scouted long before that.
16-01-2023, 01:06 AM
Park came when Mcleish came to the club, Deek & Gaz had being scouted long before that.
Hope we're scouting Deeks wee boy, scored a cracker the other day
16-01-2023, 08:32 AM
The 10 year olds I teach smashed a team 14-2 then lost to the exact same team 8-3 a few weeks later. Literally means nothing. As others have said, they're children, chances are it was an off day.
How have you not been sacked yet? :wink:
16-01-2023, 09:05 AM
Why are 12 year olds playing Carlisle?? Ffs go and play Leith / Lochend etc.
Helensburghhibs
16-01-2023, 09:06 AM
Sorry mate your wrong. 1998 garry was still at salveson. Not as sure about deeks as I don't know him so well but I'm pretty sure they joined hibs at the same time and he would have still been at hutchy Vale. John Park joined with mcleish and brought a lot of motherwells youth setup with him . In our team alone at least 60 percent were lads from the west. (Including Steven fletcher)
16-01-2023, 09:15 AM
Why are 12 year olds playing Carlisle?? Ffs go and play Leith / Lochend etc.
I think all the age groups were playing them this weekend, the 2012s and 13s were playing them too.
In fairness they do still play local boys clubs as well, (not Lochend though 😜) the 2012s we’re playing Mussleburgh windsor and Carlisle yesterday
I'm Spartacus
16-01-2023, 09:31 AM
I'm just going to keep a counter on how many days we go until we appoint someone, I've a fear when the **** is hitting the fan he will hide and trot out the "We've assessed the footballing department and are mid-way through a rigorous recruitment process"
So: 6 days
16-01-2023, 10:17 AM
Saw a Hibs fan on Twitter mention Frank McParland for DoF.
No idea if it’s who he wants or who he has heard.
His CV certainly looks impressive
2003-07: Liverpool, chief scout
2007: Bolton Wanderers, general manager
2008-09: Watford, director of football
2009-13: Liverpool, academy director
2013-15: Brentford, director of football
2015: Burnley, sporting director
2015-17: Rangers, director of recruitment
2017: Nottingham Forest, director of football
Looks like he’s not had a job since the end of 2017 though - edit: he’s been working as an independent sports consultant by the looks of it
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/frank-mcparland/profil/trainer/3664
16-01-2023, 10:36 AM
Geeze you teach football poor kids 😂😝
Greenworld
16-01-2023, 10:45 AM
Saw a Hibs fan on Twitter mention Frank McParland for DoF.
No idea if it’s who he wants or who he has heard.
His CV certainly looks impressive
2003-07: Liverpool, chief scout
2007: Bolton Wanderers, general manager
2008-09: Watford, director of football
2009-13: Liverpool, academy director
2013-15: Brentford, director of football
2015: Burnley, sporting director
2015-17: Rangers, director of recruitment
2017: Nottingham Forest, director of football
Looks like he’s not had a job since the end of 2017 though - edit: he’s been working as an independent sports consultant by the looks of it
https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/frank-mcparland/profil/trainer/3664Does not exactly meet the spec of knowledge of scottish football
Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk
Paulie Walnuts
16-01-2023, 10:50 AM
Does not exactly meet the spec of knowledge of scottish football
Two years at rangers when they were crap isn’t a ringing endorsement. The rest of it is pretty impressive though.
16-01-2023, 10:52 AM
Three years at the hun where building that knowledge is exactly what he did every day.
He looks a pretty good candidate to me.
Greenworld
16-01-2023, 10:53 AM
Two years at rangers when they were crap isn’t a ringing endorsement. The rest of it is pretty impressive though.Yes but again most of his time is with Liverpool and short spells elsewhere
16-01-2023, 11:05 AM
I reckon his time at rangers and being based in Britain his entire career would give him a good knowledge.
Rangers being championship maybe makes it better as he’ll realise the difficulty and competitiveness of the leagues as opposed to being there when they’re competing for leagues and looking down on the rest.
Edit - https://www.followfollow.com/forum/threads/frank-mcparland-to-newcastle.180405/
Going by this maybe he’s garbage? 😅 Rangers fans seem to hate him and blame him for their shocking signings
16-01-2023, 11:11 AM
Yes but again most of his time is with Liverpool and short spells elsewhere
I dont think Gordon ever said we were now looking at the Scottish market exclusively, we're still looking for a DoF that has knowledge of wider afield as well.
16-01-2023, 11:32 AM
Strong sources suggest Hibs are in final discussions with ex-Liverpool recruitment guru Frank McParland to take on as our new Director of Football.
McParland, who also spent time at Rangers and Nottingham Forest as chief scout & DoF respectively, is very highly regarded in the football world with Newcastle also interested in his services.
🟢[emoji836]️
Stolen From FB
Not sure what strong sources are
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
16-01-2023, 11:45 AM
Strong sources suggest Hibs are in final discussions with ex-Liverpool recruitment guru Frank McParland to take on as our new Director of Football.
McParland, who also spent time at Rangers and Nottingham Forest as chief scout & DoF respectively, is very highly regarded in the football world with Newcastle also interested in his services.
🟢[emoji836]️
Stolen From FB
Not sure what strong sources are
Same boy who posted it on twitter and can't see anyone else reporting it? He also says Newcastle are also interested in him. Hibs or Newcastle?
Hard choice right enough 😂
I'm Spartacus
16-01-2023, 03:26 PM
That's him announced.
Beni Kenzalli.
Zambernardi1875
16-01-2023, 03:33 PM
That's him announced.
Beni Kenzalli.
😂😂
16-01-2023, 04:12 PM
That's him announced.
Beni Kenzalli.
Should've gone for Jan Gore-Dun. Loads of experience with Bordeaux apparently.
16-01-2023, 08:11 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/jack-ross-offers-hibs-director-28970791
Jack Ross throwing his weight behind the Director of football role.
Him and RG apparently kissed and made up, wonder if JR would be considered for our director of football position?
Paloschi
16-01-2023, 08:27 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/jack-ross-offers-hibs-director-28970791
Him and RG apparently kissed and made up, wonder if JR would be considered for our director of football position?
He is apparently one we have spoken to.
16-01-2023, 08:32 PM
That would be an odd appointment
16-01-2023, 08:33 PM
He is apparently one we have spoken to.
Great, someone with zero experience in the role.
GreenGray
16-01-2023, 08:42 PM
I just read the article, apparently his degree will help him out [emoji23]
We could have had him doing a DoF role instead of paying him off, like Hearts did with Levein. Then if he @rsed up as DoF we could have moved him to a youth development/head of medical dept role.
16-01-2023, 08:46 PM
He’s trying too hard with that LinkedIn post, in fairness he probably wasn’t expecting it to be published in the paper but it’s a lot of words without saying a huge amount
16-01-2023, 08:50 PM
He’s trying too hard with that LinkedIn post, in fairness he probably wasn’t expecting it to be published in the paper but it’s a lot of words without saying a huge amount
Was a tough read eh.
Try to be open minded about him as I do recognise on paper he did a good job for us, the man bores me to tears though.
Wouldn’t be against him in a director of football role, he’s clearly an intelligent football guy, I think he’d be better suited to that role than as a manager.
HairyMM
16-01-2023, 08:59 PM
That would be a horrendous appointment and therefore so very Hibs 😡
16-01-2023, 09:04 PM
Tony Mowbray and Alan Stubbs both had zero experience of being a football manager when we appointed them and they both did well.
It’s not unthinkable that someone might have the right skills and the right potential but needs to do the job to get experience.
My issue with our playing punts / projects aren’t so much that they lack the experience but that right now too many of them lack the required ability.
So we could have an ex manager interfering in the new managers role, brilliant no tension there then eh?
Sioux
16-01-2023, 09:07 PM
I think its fairly obvious that there are not enough experienced directors of football, or whatever other name is preferred for this role, to satisfy the potential vacancies.
There are quite a lot of companies offering educational courses on the role, and that signifies that there is more demand than supply.
One company I looked at were charging only £300 for their course, see link;
https://ipsofootball.com/course/technical-directors-course/
So, spend £300 and earn £150,00 a year doing something you know FA about :greengrin
16-01-2023, 09:10 PM
So we could have an ex manager interfering in the new managers role, brilliant no tension there then eh?
That seems to be the point JR is addressing in that article 😜
I think he wants the job and is letting it be known publicly, he wouldn’t be stepping on LJ’s toes.
Appreciate that’s a lot of reading between the lines but he’s well media trained, I don’t think it’s a coincidence he’s coming out with this kind of thing now.
I think he wants the job and is letting it be known publicly, he wouldn’t be stepping on LJ’s toes.
Appreciate that’s a lot of reading between the lines but he’s well media trained, I don’t think it’s a coincidence he’s coming out with this kind of thing now.
Does Ross really think he'll be able to look at the job objectively and not put his twopence worth in, his mind set is as a manager, he didn't have a great record signings wise either, still couldn't get the midfield right.
16-01-2023, 09:20 PM
I think he’d be a good shout for the post. He’s clearly not daft and the role has way more to it than just the practical football elements, that he could adapt to.
hes also realised there is probably more job security in that position.
16-01-2023, 09:28 PM
If we employ Jack Ross as DOF I reckon this site will combust.
16-01-2023, 09:29 PM
Hope we're scouting Deeks wee boy, scored a cracker the other day
Got player of the year bud, he is only 7 and several clubs trying to sign him up.
16-01-2023, 09:32 PM
Got player of the year bud, he is only 7 and several clubs trying to sign him up.
Saw that. Hopefully see another Riordan in the Green in the future
16-01-2023, 09:36 PM
Sorry mate your wrong. 1998 garry was still at salveson. Not as sure about deeks as I don't know him so well but I'm pretty sure they joined hibs at the same time and he would have still been at hutchy Vale. John Park joined with mcleish and brought a lot of motherwells youth setup with him . In our team alone at least 60 percent were lads from the west. (Including Steven fletcher)
I’m not wrong and I know who I spoke with, they were scouted by Hibs long before DP arrived at the club, and they didn’t join at the same time, Derek was brought in to Hibs in January as that’s when he left school and the club sorted him out with expenses to look after him, never once did I see DP at the parks scouting players, MF DP and chap called Ricky were doing all the scouting,
16-01-2023, 09:36 PM
With Lennon as manager keeping LJ as an assistant then Maloney as Head of recruitment.
Keep everyone happy..
Surely Jack Ross won’t be the DOF.
That would be an odd appointment
Odd, it would be absolutely underwhelming.
16-01-2023, 09:41 PM
Saw that. Hopefully see another Riordan in the Green in the future
Fingers crossed for that, hoping to take him to his 1st Derby this weekend, at his age he is miles ahead of his Dad was at that age, Deek wasn’t even playing football. :thumbsup:
16-01-2023, 09:43 PM
I wouldn’t be against Jack Ross getting the DoF role. I don’t think he’ll get it though, too soon from his sacking but i could understand why we’d consider him
Helensburghhibs
16-01-2023, 09:43 PM
I’m not wrong and I know who I spoke with, they were scouted by Hibs long before DP arrived at the club, and they didn’t join at the same time, Derek was brought in to Hibs in January as that’s when he left school and the club sorted him out with expenses to look after him, never once did I see DP at the parks scouting players, MF DP and chap called Ricky were doing all the scouting,
OK mate,, why you referring to dp? You spoke to someone who told you someone told them something. I'll stick to my first hand account and we move on :)
16-01-2023, 09:46 PM
Fingers crossed for that, hoping to take him to his 1st Derby this weekend, at his age he is miles ahead of his Dad was at that age, Deek wasn’t even playing football. :thumbsup:
Great to hear pal
16-01-2023, 10:28 PM
OK mate,, why you referring to dp? You spoke to someone who told you someone told them something. I'll stick to my first hand account and we move on :)
No problem, Deek’s and Gaz were being watched by Hibs scouts when they played together at Granton boys club, believe me when I say I will know more about Derek than most on here.
16-01-2023, 10:45 PM
believe me when I say I will know more about Derek than most on here.
16-01-2023, 10:51 PM
No problem, Deek’s and Gaz were being watched by Hibs scouts when they played together at Granton boys club, believe me when I say I will know more about Derek than most on here.
Aye well what’s his favourite colour?
17-01-2023, 01:03 AM
Aye well what’s his favourite colour?
That’s an easy one, Green. :thumbsup:
17-01-2023, 06:59 AM
Which would be weird. Folk don’t fully understand the role of a DOF. All the reasons that led to him leaving the managers job are mostly irrelevant when assessing him for this.
This is an administrative post for a pragmatic, level headed, organised person with a good knowledge of the game north and south of the border…
Could be perfect for him. He’s the kinda guy that would bring a level of respect and most importantly some stability.
17-01-2023, 07:16 AM
Which would be weird. Folk don’t fully understand the role of a DOF. All the reasons that led to him leaving the managers job are mostly irrelevant when assessing him for this.
This is an administrative post for a pragmatic, level headed, organised person with a good knowledge of the game north and south of the border…
Could be perfect for him. He’s the kinda guy that would bring a level of respect and most importantly some stability.
I'd tend to agree. I've got a fairly open mind when it comes to this post and could be convinced of the merits of many different people from many different backgrounds.
Although, I remember my brother talking about working for a major media organisation. Through the various levels of power above him (and he held a fairly important job himself at this point) there were several people who had done his job before him and who were known to be pretty formidable characters, leading right up to a very important character at the top of the organisation. Might something similar be a bit imposing for Johnson? I mean, having Kean AND Ross in the building? Gray and McGregor on the backroom staff, Ian Gordon and Ben Kensall in some sort of role up from there and then Ron Gordon right at the top?
Maybe it's good to have lots of strong characters around but it might leave Johnson feeling like he's in an exposed position.
Maybe that's no bad thing.
17-01-2023, 08:43 AM
I agree with your description of the job, and JR might well be a good fit, but I'm still hoping it'll be Park because of his scouting prowess.
17-01-2023, 08:51 AM
That’s an easy one, Green. :thumbsup:
I thought it would have been maroon. I can’t believe he was 40 yesterday - what a way to make you feel old 😂
17-01-2023, 08:54 AM
Your description of the job misses out the most important part which was mentioned by BK. The candidate needs to have a recruitment bias. They are going to be tasked with reviewing and hopefully overhauling a modern scouting team. What are Jack Ross’s credentials for conducting such a review? It should be someone with extensive scouting experience, not someone who is learning on the job.
Greenworld
17-01-2023, 09:48 AM
Your description of the job misses out the most important part which was mentioned by BK. The candidate needs to have a recruitment bias. They are going to be tasked with reviewing and hopefully overhauling a modern scouting team. What are Jack Ross’s credentials for conducting such a review? It should be someone with extensive scouting experience, not someone who is learning on the job.Correct and the appointment should have been made by now. Not everything needs to take an age to sort out.
Hibs are in a incredibly fragile position right now . Shedding players left right and centre.A manager who in the face of it is hanging on by a thread.
If porteous and nisbett go now as well I don't think I will have ever seen the likes in my 61 years of life .
This is looking like a reset of all resets which ironically can also be quite exciting .
17-01-2023, 10:02 AM
Correct and the appointment should have been made by now. Not everything needs to take an age to sort out.
Hibs are in a incredibly fragile position right now . Shedding players left right and centre.A manager who in the face of it is hanging on by a thread.
If porteous and nisbett go now as well I don't think I will have ever seen the likes in my 61 years of life .
This is looking like a reset of all resets which ironically can also be quite exciting .
It could be that our new DoF is currently in a job and needs to work his notice. :dunno:
SickBoy32
17-01-2023, 10:20 AM
It could be that our new DoF is currently in a job and needs to work his notice. :dunno:
Should this not have been sorted during the WC hiatus? I mean, it was fairly clear the recruitment had failed (again) by Oct / Nov time.
Or did we only decide on a restructure when the heat was being turned up on the board by fans after the derby ?
17-01-2023, 10:23 AM
Chorley Hibee
17-01-2023, 10:32 AM
Should this not have been sorted during the WC hiatus? I mean, it was fairly clear the recruitment had failed (again) by Oct / Nov time.
Or did we only decide on a restructure when the heat was being turned up on the board by fans after the derby ?
My thoughts as well.
I think it was a reaction to the derby defeat rather than any strategic review.
Flying by the seat of their pants once again.
17-01-2023, 10:33 AM
I have no idea when it actually started, but it was definitely being planned well before the derby.
Maybe we've tried to headhunt people but were unsuccessful.
Maybe the rumours of Ron being unwell are true and progress on this was delayed.
Recruiting for roles like DoF is not as simple as putting an advert in the post office window for a cleaner.
This will be a very important appointment so it's vital that due consideration is given to the process.
SickBoy32
17-01-2023, 10:44 AM
I have no idea when it actually started, but it was definitely being planned well before the derby.
Maybe the rumours of Ron being unwell are true and progress on this was delayed.
Recruiting for roles like DoF is not as simple as putting an advert in the post office window for a cleaner.
This will be a very important appointment so it's vital that due consideration is given to the process.
Lot of conjecture there imo - what we know for sure is that this is the latest example of poor planning by the club to not have this ready to go for January, resulting in us going the transfer window rudderless / on the verge of writing the season off
I absolutely agree on the importance of getting the appt correct - don't have any faith in those tasked with this however, given the success of their previous appointments
17-01-2023, 11:01 AM
Lot of conjecture there imo - what we know for sure is that this is the latest example of poor planning by the club to not have this ready to go for January, resulting in us going the transfer window rudderless / on the verge of writing the season off
I absolutely agree on the importance of getting the appt correct - don't have any faith in those tasked with this however, given the success of their previous appointments
There's no conjecture. I was offering other possibilities to your negative one that the DoF was a kneejerk reaction to the derby loss.
However, your point about it being poor planning is stated as fact but it's a guess i.e. conjecture. We have no idea why the process has not been completed yet.
FWIW, the first rumours about changing structure began to surface on the PM board in mid-December. Clearly the planning for it will have started well before that.
SickBoy32
17-01-2023, 12:24 PM
There's no conjecture. I was offering other possibilities to your negative one that the DoF was a kneejerk reaction to the derby loss.
However, your point about it being poor planning is stated as fact but it's a guess i.e. conjecture. We have no idea why the process has not been completed yet.
FWIW, the first rumours about changing structure began to surface on the PM board in mid-December. Clearly the planning for it will have started well before that.
Surely if the DoF arrives only after the transfer window is closed, that absolutely consitutes poor planning at the exec level ?
To be fair, even if he was in situ today - that's still not giving them much chance to rectify our many issues.
As it stands, it feels like we are a cup defeat away from just writing off another season - but i guess as long as our CEO / owner are learning then that's the main thing, who cares about Euro group stages or cup success :rolleyes:
Out of interest, do you have faith in BK to appoint the right man?
17-01-2023, 12:28 PM
Your description of the job misses out the most important part which was mentioned by BK. The candidate needs to have a recruitment bias. They are going to be tasked with reviewing and hopefully overhauling a modern scouting team. What are Jack Ross’s credentials for conducting such a review? It should be someone with extensive scouting experience, not someone who is learning on the job.
We may be struggling to lure a senior DOF from their job. Ross certainly has the knowledge to create and style a modern scouting team.
Someone interviewing for the post and just saying “yeah I’ve got great connections all over the uk” doesn’t really wash with me. That can only take you so far we need an infrastructure built/rebuilt. That can addd value long after the next DOF has been and gone.
17-01-2023, 12:37 PM
We may be struggling to lure a senior DOF from their job. Ross certainly has the knowledge to create and style a modern scouting team.
Someone interviewing for the post and just saying “yeah I’ve got great connections all over the uk” doesn’t really wash with me. That can only take you so far we need an infrastructure built/rebuilt. That can addd value long after the next DOF has been and gone.
What evidence is there that Ross has the knowledge required?
17-01-2023, 12:57 PM
What evidence is there that Ross has the knowledge required?
He’s been a manager for 8 years so he’ll have relationships with loads of scouts and agents. You can’t do a managers job without those relationships.
From a scouting perspective I can’t see how much more experience would be needed. He’d presumably need to build on those relationships but that’s not exactly going to be difficult to do I wouldn’t have thought if he’s already got the knowledge of how a football clubs recruitment departments works.
We’re not asking someone to reinvent the wheel here and what we’re asking for isn’t something that would be particularly difficult for someone with industry experience and knowledge. Anyone involved in football the way he has been with a brain in their heid should be able to do this job without it being too testing for them.
I’m neither here nor there about Ross being considered for it, I think his skill set is likely to be better suited to a DoF role than a manager and the fact he’s got experience buying players for our club and at our level would probably give him a head start on other candidates.
17-01-2023, 01:13 PM
He’s been a manager for 8 years so he’ll have relationships with loads of scouts and agents. You can’t do a managers job without those relationships.
From a scouting perspective I can’t see how much more experience would be needed. He’d presumably need to build on those relationships but that’s not exactly going to be difficult to do I wouldn’t have thought if he’s already got the knowledge of how a football clubs recruitment departments works.
We’re not asking someone to reinvent the wheel here and what we’re asking for isn’t something that would be particularly difficult for someone with industry experience and knowledge. Anyone involved in football the way he has been with a brain in their heid should be able to do this job without it being too testing for them.
I’m neither here nor there about Ross being considered for it, I think his skill set is likely to be better suited to a DoF role than a manager and the fact he’s got experience buying players for our club and at our level would probably give him a head start on other candidates.
Thanks but it didn’t really answer my question. What you’ve said essentially boils down to he’s worked as a football manager for 8 years so what more experience does he need.
17-01-2023, 01:21 PM
Thanks but it didn’t really answer my question. What you’ve said essentially boils down to he’s worked as a football manager for 8 years so what more experience does he need.
I’m saying the skills and contacts are transferable as he’ll have done most of the stuff required for a DoF as a manager anyway.
What skills do you think a DoF will have that an experienced manager won’t have or can’t do?
17-01-2023, 01:44 PM
My big worry is who's appointing this new Dof, we've seen Ron sack Ross and admit he was too hasty. We've seen Ron appoint Maloney and look how that went, and we've seen Ron appoint LJ, look how that's going.
And couple that with a policy of buying for the future, that clearly didn't work, now that we are getting rid of those we spent good money on doing so.
I know we have no other option to trust the owner and those under him, but if this new philosophy does not work, then we really are screwed, and going by Ron's recent history, I'm not confident at all he will.
17-01-2023, 01:58 PM
I’m saying the skills and contacts are transferable as he’ll have done most of the stuff required for a DoF as a manager anyway.
What skills do you think a DoF will have that an experienced manager won’t have or can’t do?
My question was about experience not transferable skills. There will be plenty candidates with transferable skills. However, without a demonstrable track record of successfully performing in a similar role to back them up we’d simply be taking a punt and hoping they can learn on the job. We wouldn’t consider filling a vacant manager’s position by hiring a Director of Football with no managerial experience so I don’t know why we’d consider doing it the other way.
17-01-2023, 02:11 PM
My question was about experience not transferable skills. There will be plenty candidates with transferable skills. However, without a demonstrable track record of successfully performing in a similar role to back them up we’d simply be taking a punt and hoping they can learn on the job. We wouldn’t consider filling a vacant manager’s position by hiring a Director of Football with no managerial experience so I don’t know why we’d consider doing it the other way.
Because it’s a very similar job without the matches at the weekend.
You can’t just dismiss the transferable skills from doing a similar job as that’s hugely relevant.
A director of football at two different clubs could be two entirely different jobs. What’s important is the skills they’ve learned in their career, not what job title they’ve had.
If Jack Ross has done everything a director of football has done but never had the title of director of football, would that mean he’s not had the experience required?
Scotty Leither
17-01-2023, 02:23 PM
He took a punt on his laddie learning on the job.
See how that’s worked out.
I think Gordon’s getting fed up that his master plan of mining unknown players from around the world that’ll come in and tear up the league and be sold on for $$$$ has failed miserably and this is a last chuck of the dice for him.
The lack of urgency with getting players in to try and win this Derby tells you all you need to know. Suspect he’ll no bother his sweet pippy if we get beat either.
I’m scunnered with all his experimenting with OUR football club, to be honest.
I'm Spartacus
17-01-2023, 02:28 PM
Jack Ross cannot be a serious option, or is it because we're still paying off his contract that it means we get something out of him?
What a shambles if this is even being considered.
17-01-2023, 02:33 PM
Because it’s a very similar job without the matches at the weekend.
You can’t just dismiss the transferable skills from doing a similar job as that’s hugely relevant.
A director of football at two different clubs could be two entirely different jobs. What’s important is the skills they’ve learned in their career, not what job title they’ve had.
If Jack Ross has done everything a director of football has done but never had the title of director of football, would that mean he’s not had the experience required?
You believe the DoF role is similar to the managers role except they don’t have matches at the weekend, is that right?
17-01-2023, 02:35 PM
Jack Ross cannot be a serious option, or is it because we're still paying off his contract that it means we get something out of him?
We stopped paying his contract as soon as he became an employee of Dun Utd (if not before).
17-01-2023, 02:43 PM
You believe the DoF role is similar to the managers role except they don’t have matches at the weekend, is that right?
Nah, to be honest, that was stupid and I didn’t mean that (I know thats what I said but I’m trying to work and prioritise Hibs.net at the same time)
I think there’s similarities though. It’s clearly not the same thing but the ability to build a squad, maintain relationships, build a network of trusted scouts and agents, ability to judge a player, to oversee the whole club to know what youth is breaking through and what’s working behind the scenes and what’s not…… you get the jist.
It’s not the same as taking an accountant with no experience in football and dropping them in at a club and learning the ropes as someone like Jack Ross who’s never had a director of football title but will know what one does inside out already.
Just to clarify though, I’m not saying I want him to get the job, I’m not dead against it though. I think his skill set would suit being a director of football.
cameronw-hfc
17-01-2023, 03:02 PM
Surely if the DoF arrives only after the transfer window is closed, that absolutely consitutes poor planning at the exec level ?
To be fair, even if he was in situ today - that's still not giving them much chance to rectify our many issues.
As it stands, it feels like we are a cup defeat away from just writing off another season - but i guess as long as our CEO / owner is learning then that's the main thing, who cares about Euro group stages or cup success :rolleyes:
Out of interest, do you have faith in BK to appoint the right man?
As one of the 2(?) people who posted about the structure weeks before the derby on the PM board, it was being planned for a while and was due to be concluded towards the end of the season from what I've heard, however the Derby loss pushed them to try accelerate things and get it done this month if possible.
It's something the club have done right, admitting their mistake and getting a football man in, as well as trying their best to get it sorted during this window when it was meant to be a lengthy process. Could they have done it sooner? Maybe, but at least they're doing something.
17-01-2023, 03:27 PM
Why not? People were mentioning John Collins and Gordon Strachan. I'd rather have Ross than both of them.
17-01-2023, 03:30 PM
Why not? People were mentioning John Collins and Gordon Strachan. I'd rather have Ross than both of them.
Are those the only 3 options?
Just_Jimmy
17-01-2023, 08:20 PM
He took a punt on his laddie learning on the job.
See how that’s worked out.
I think Gordon’s getting fed up that his master plan of mining unknown players from around the world that’ll come in and tear up the league and be sold on for $$$$ has failed miserably and this is a last chuck of the dice for him.
The lack of urgency with getting players in to try and win this Derby tells you all you need to know. Suspect he’ll no bother his sweet pippy if we get beat either.
I’m scunnered with all his experimenting with OUR football club, to be honest.One of my non supporting mates stated early on, that Gordon's tenure at hibs had similarities to that of Ashley's early years at Newcastle. Hard to disagree, it just seems like mistake after mistake and being advised by non football or poor football minds.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
CB Hibs 68
17-01-2023, 10:11 PM
Who in there right mind thinks Ross will be appointed as DOF .Even that football imbecile and his son want be that stupid.Give me a break some folk on here really need to take a look at themselves.
17-01-2023, 10:21 PM
I believe it will be one of the following four (listed in no particular order).
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
17-01-2023, 10:23 PM
Who in there right mind thinks Ross will be appointed as DOF .Even that football imbecile and his son want be that stupid.Give me a break some folk on here really need to take a look at themselves.Yeah, they do
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-01-2023, 10:23 PM
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
Lambert or Park - fine.
McKay - hahahahah nah
May - meh.
17-01-2023, 10:25 PM
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
Intersting list and no Steve Kean?
Malky McKay is certainly an interesting one
My list in order would be
Park
Mckay
Lambert
May
I actually think lambert might be decent and no idea why I think McKay would be better suited for it
Eddie may I just don't see at that level
17-01-2023, 10:28 PM
Lambert or Park - fine.
McKay - hahahahah nah
May - meh.
Out of the four I think Eddie May would be the easy option / fall back option if favoured candidates turn it down.
If it was solely down to on the field football matters I think McKay would be a fair shout but I think he has blotted his copybook off the field of play. He has been employed by the SFA and Ross County since but I don't think all is forgiven.
HendoDelivered
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
John Park is the only name of interest on that list for me. Other 3 would be a bit underwhelming, which also why it wouldn’t be much of a surprise either…
ErinGoBraghHFC
Doubt we’ll still be paying his contract, he’s been at Dundee Utd and been sacked since then. Surely he won’t have been getting a wage from them and us at the same time?
17-01-2023, 10:30 PM
Intersting list and no Steve Kean?
Malky McKay is certainly an interesting one
My list in order would be
Park
Mckay
Lambert
May
I actually think lambert might be decent and no idea why I think McKay would be better suited for it
Eddie may I just don't see at that level
I think if Steve Kean was going to get it he would have had it by now.
Could Kean be the next manager working with the DOF?
HibeeSince85
17-01-2023, 10:31 PM
It has to be given to John Park if he wants it. He ticks all the boxes.
No thanks on the rest.
17-01-2023, 10:31 PM
Doubt we’ll still be paying his contract, he’s been at Dundee Utd and been sacked since then. Surely he won’t have been getting a wage from them and us at the same time?
I would have thought we stopped paying him when he took the Dundee Utd job.
ErinGoBraghHFC
17-01-2023, 10:32 PM
Out of the four I think Eddie May would be the easy option / fall back option if favoured candidates turn it down.
If it was solely down to on the field football matters I think McKay would be a fair shout but I think he has blotted his copybook off the field of play. He has been employed by the SFA and Ross County since but I don't think all is forgiven.
It’s not all forgiven, shouldn’t have been given an SFA role and shouldn’t be near a club of Hibs’ size. Regardless of his abilities, I wouldn’t want John Terry either, especially considering how Hibernian FC was founded as the early years, it’d be a slap in the face.
17-01-2023, 10:32 PM
It has to be given to John Park if he wants it. He ticks all the boxes.
No thanks on the rest.
He would be my choice as well.
17-01-2023, 10:38 PM
It’s not all forgiven, shouldn’t have been given an SFA role and shouldn’t be near a club of Hibs’ size. Regardless of his abilities, I wouldn’t want John Terry either, especially considering how Hibernian FC was founded as the early years, it’d be a slap in the face.
It's obviously been forgiven by the SFA and Ross County otherwise they wouldn't have employed him.
I wouldn't want him but he would possibly be capable of doing the job.
John Terry got a job at Villa as number two and I used to study him in live televised games, he never gave any input that I saw and just stood like a dummy.
17-01-2023, 10:39 PM
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
Park hopefully.
cameronw-hfc
17-01-2023, 10:45 PM
It's obviously been forgiven by the SFA and Ross County otherwise they wouldn't have employed him.
I wouldn't want him but he would possibly be capable of doing the job.
John Terry got a job at Villa as number two and I used to study him in live televised games, he never gave any input that I saw and just stood like a dummy.
If we employ Mackay I'd truly be at a loss with Hibs entirely.
17-01-2023, 10:47 PM
And that's why I think he wouldn't get the job, too many people would be against it.
cameronw-hfc
17-01-2023, 10:48 PM
And that's why I think he wouldn't get the job, too many people would be against it.
We would ruin any community work done by those in the club doing well, and tar any done for considerable time in the future. Anyone that can dare send those texts just is not a good person, no number of courses vs discrimination would change that.
17-01-2023, 10:49 PM
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
Only park appealing to me out of that list
17-01-2023, 10:50 PM
Just out of curiosity how do you think Hibs fans would feel if McKay got the job and was a rip roaring success?
Newcastle got bought by a dodgy lot by all accounts yet their fans seem ecstatic about it.
Can success on the pitch outweigh morals?
Similarly Abramovich at Chelsea.
17-01-2023, 10:53 PM
Just out of curiosity how do you think Hibs fans would feel if McKay got the job and was a rip roaring success?
Newcastle got bought by a dodgy lot by all accounts yet their fans seem ecstatic about it.
Yes it generally does.
cameronw-hfc
17-01-2023, 10:56 PM
Just out of curiosity how do you think Hibs fans would feel if McKay got the job and was a rip-roaring success?
For me? Nah. I love Hibs, I always will, but if he got the job it wouldn't feel like Hibs. It wouldn't feel like the club I grew up loving, it would feel like it had been infested by some morally wrong virus.Currently it's not amazing, but we still do good community work and still at least don't employ a man like that.
It would most likely deter me and many others from going back until he's gone. There's lines I would never want a club to cross, and employing someone like that for the potential of a few years winning a few games more just isn't a good trade for the moral side of it.
Greenio
17-01-2023, 10:56 PM
Reading that article about Ross' views on a DF and you come to this...
'He took his Hibs to a third place finish plus a League Cup and Scottish Cup final during his time in charge of the Easter Road club
Just underlines how kneejerk his sacking was and how kneejerk fans are across football in general, including the ones calling for LJ to go now - which are prob the same ones that were pitchforking for Ross to be booted
cameronw-hfc
17-01-2023, 10:59 PM
Reading that article about Ross' views on a DF and you come to this...
'He took his Hibs to a third place finish plus a League Cup and Scottish Cup final during his time in charge of the Easter Road club
Just underlines how kneejerk his sacking was and how kneejerk fans are across football in general, including the ones calling for LJ to go now - which are prob the same ones that were pitchforking for Ross to be booted
Not really. The run he was on would get most sacked, we finished third in one of the worst SPL seasons in recent memory, bottled almost every big game we played, and lost a final to St Johnstone. It's easy to make it seem a lot better than it was, but even when we were third a lot just didn't trust us to do the right thing on the pitch. The football was for the most part just sit in and give it to Boyle, Nisbet or Doidge and hope they do something.
the_ginger_hibee
17-01-2023, 11:03 PM
For me? Nah. I love Hibs, I always will, but if he got the job it wouldn't feel like Hibs. It wouldn't feel like the club I grew up loving, it would feel like it had been infested by some morally wrong virus.Currently it's not amazing, but we still do good community work and still at least don't employ a man like that.
It would most likely deter me and many others from going back until he's gone. There's lines I would never want a club to cross, and employing someone like that for the potential of a few years winning a few games more just isn't a good trade for the moral side of it.
We employ convicted drunk drivers who commited the crime while employed by us. A few private texts, albeit very poor ones, doesn't seem in the same ballpark as driving drunk in terms of risks to others? Both wrong but I see that as very inconsistent if you hold such strong views on MM.
cameronw-hfc
17-01-2023, 11:06 PM
We employ convicted drunk drivers who commited the crime while employed by us. A few private texts, albeit very poor ones, doesn't seem in the same ballpark as driving drunk in terms of risks to others? Both wrong but I see that as very inconsistent if you hold such strong views on MM.
Both are wrong, and if it was one solitary text then fair enough, but it's atrocious. If any of the players we have had multiple drink driving offenses(if they do I didn't realize) then id say the same about them, idiots that belong nowhere near the club. Im willing to put one incident down as a mistake, and everyone makes them, however Mackay sent so many texts, offending multiple different groups in each text, that's no mistake or learning curve, it's the sign of a crappy person, and no FA course will change who they are as a person.
JamesHFC
17-01-2023, 11:26 PM
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
Park has to be the outstanding candidate from that list.
Lambert would have very good connections I expect.
Malky seems to have a very good eye for signings and seemed to have done a decent job in his role in the Scotland national team.
Eddie May would seem like a gamble I feel, if he was to get it then hopefully he turns out to be great.
18-01-2023, 05:03 AM
If that’s the list of names it simply has to be John Park.
OldEast
18-01-2023, 05:36 AM
Park has to be the outstanding candidate from that list.
Lambert would have very good connections I expect.
Malky seems to have a very good eye for signings and seemed to have done a decent job in his role in the Scotland national team.
Eddie May would seem like a gamble I feel, if he was to get it then hopefully he turns out to be great.
You don't seem to have anything negative to say about any of them. This whole story is confusing me as I'm not sure how much influence a DOF will have in the Ron Gordon regime. Can you explain to me why Park should get the job over the others? Not having a pop I assure you, just confused.
18-01-2023, 05:43 AM
Are we basing 65 year old John Parks credentials to become our DoF based on youth development work he did at Hibs 25 years ago? Why not just get big Eck in as our manager and we'll go back to the Sauzee days. This is why fans shouldn't run football clubs.
18-01-2023, 05:48 AM
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
Is that an educated guess, ITK or a list considered by you to be suitable candidates
18-01-2023, 05:51 AM
Are we basing 65 year old John Parks credentials to become our DoF based on youth development work he did at Hibs 25 years ago? Why not just get big Eck in as our manager and we'll go back to the Sauzee days. This is why fans shouldn't run football clubs.
Don’t know about anyone else but I’m basing it on the tremendous job he did at Celtc finding them players along with the various other roles he’s excelled at throughout his career.
He’s certainly got more relevant experience than Paul Lambert ffs
Greenio
18-01-2023, 05:51 AM
Not really. The run he was on would get most sacked, we finished third in one of the worst SPL seasons in recent memory, bottled almost every big game we played, and lost a final to St Johnstone. It's easy to make it seem a lot better than it was, but even when we were third a lot just didn't trust us to do the right thing on the pitch. The football was for the most part just sit in and give it to Boyle, Nisbet or Doidge and hope they do something.
It was a bad run of results yeah. Don't agree it was a particularly poor league - plus you can only beat whats in front of you. Yeah we lost games, some big ones, rather lose them than lose games that should be a guaranteed win. Don't agree with your analysis of the tactics either but hey ho. Opinions eh
JamesHFC
18-01-2023, 05:55 AM
You don't seem to have anything negative to say about any of them. This whole story is confusing me as I'm not sure how much influence a DOF will have in the Ron Gordon regime. Can you explain to me why Park should get the job over the others? Not having a pop I assure you, just confused.
Just wanted to focus on the positives to keep the topic upbeat rather than be too critical before they even come in the door. Although I probably could have been a bit kore upbeat about Eddie 😅
John understands the club and has a great track record of seeing something in players that others don't. He was the man behind Forster, Van Dijk, Wanyama etc at Celtic too.
Rangers & Celtic wouldn't hire him as a chief scout or whatever if he had nothing about him. Night and day compared to what we currently have. A massive improvement.
18-01-2023, 06:04 AM
It was a bad run of results yeah. Don't agree it was a particularly poor league - plus you can only beat whats in front of you. Yeah we lost games, some big ones, rather lose them than lose games that should be a guaranteed win. Don't agree with your analysis of the tactics either but hey ho. Opinions eh
Tend to agree personally think the standard is pretty good and strong than many other years. Killie and Ross county and an improving United all decent on their day. Too easy to say standard is terrible just to try and emphasise a point Hibs are doing poorly which we are.
18-01-2023, 06:08 AM
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
Is this based on what you think or something you’ve heard?
18-01-2023, 06:10 AM
It would appear so, people will quickly mention Van Dijk at Celtic too but never tell you about his failed signings.
Not saying he would be bad or good, but there needs to be far more to it than hi I’m helping bring through some of the golden generation
18-01-2023, 06:16 AM
Is that an educated guess, ITK or a list considered by you to be suitable candidates
Names I was told.
18-01-2023, 06:20 AM
Experience is not the crucial point IMO. Look at someone like David Weir, who is now the technical director at Brighton.
Not that I’m expecting anyone to agree here but I’d rather see someone like Steven Naismith than some of the names listed. Someone with a particular ethos who has ideas on how to help shape the club.
Not Naismith specifically (obviously hated him during latter playing days) but someone of that generation who isn’t that long retired from playing/coaching.
Very few people will have experience as a DOF anyway. For me Park is too far removed from many of the responsibilities mentioned in recent years, as far as I can tell
18-01-2023, 06:25 AM
Both are wrong, and if it was one solitary text then fair enough, but it's atrocious. If any of the players we have had multiple drink driving offenses(if they do I didn't realize) then id say the same about them, idiots that belong nowhere near the club. Im willing to put one incident down as a mistake, and everyone makes them, however Mackay sent so many texts, offending multiple different groups in each text, that's no mistake or learning curve, it's the sign of a crappy person, and no FA course will change who they are as a person.
Am sure all the families who have lost loved ones were comforted by the protestations of the drunk driver that they had only done it the once.
Drunk driving is far worse than sending a few dodgy jokes in what's meant to be a private conversation.
JamesHFC
18-01-2023, 06:27 AM
It would appear so, people will quickly mention Van Dijk at Celtic too but never tell you about his failed signings.
Not saying he would be bad or good, but there needs to be far more to it than hi I’m helping bring through some of the golden generation
Spotted a player who would later go on to make Celtic millions and become one of the best defenders in the world but you prefer to focus on the signings which didn't live up to expectation? Every single club, manager, Dof whatever will always bring in players that don't work out, that's football.
John has already been instrumental in bringing through some of the best players this club has seen in decades. We are a mid table Scottish Premiership club, who are you expecting us to bring in? 😂
18-01-2023, 06:32 AM
I think the fans would go into melt down if it was Mackay or May. Lambert will surely want a decent wage. I have a feeling it’s none of those 4.
18-01-2023, 06:34 AM
Spotted a player who would later go on to make Celtic millions and become one of the best defenders in the world but you prefer to focus on the signings which didn't live up to expectation? Every single club, manager, Dof whatever will always bring in players that don't work out, that's football.
John has already been instrumental in bringing through some of the best players this club has seen in decades. We are a mid table Scottish Premiership club, who are you expecting us to bring in? 😂
No i completely appreciate that and am not underselling his achievements in the slightest, I just mean I hope it’s a more thorough process than who he has either brought through or been involved in his team signing
Undeniably a good scout but they’ll need to explore all potential roles involved to see if he would be a good DoF.
I think sport science etc was mentioned, what is his knowledge of that and how does he plan on improving it etc.
Questions that will be asked of all candidates, it’s just that parks name seems to be mentioned more than most
Mikey_1875
18-01-2023, 07:01 AM
I’ll get my knickers in a twist early and say that if it’s Eddie May then the whole thing has a been a pointless exercise.
Not a major dig at Eddie but his responsibilities here appear to have diminished over time. What would make anyone at the club think he is going to bring any fresh ideas to a DOF role?
18-01-2023, 07:02 AM
I’d rather get a DoF who has the experience and capability of doing the role rather than an ex manager or “name”
How many on here could make the Aberdeen DOF, however the structure and implementation of it is absolutely key to success. Paul Lambert and co are football coaches, not guys who create a football vision right across the club.
https://www.afc.co.uk/2021/05/20/dons-appoint-director-of-football/
18-01-2023, 07:17 AM
I’d rather get a DoF who has the experience and capability of doing the role rather than an ex manager or “name”
How many on here could make the Aberdeen DOF, however the structure and implementation of it is absolutely key to success. Paul Lambert and co are football coaches, not guys who create a football vision right across the club.
I wonder if he is the reason they are two points ahead of us in the league right now.:wink:
18-01-2023, 07:19 AM
I don’t think he’s director of football there but same applies to Savage at Hearts.
I think if it was going to be Park, it would have been a pretty swift appointment. It was discussed on the PM board that the recruitment process has been going on a lot longer than when BK announced it.
I think the guys we’ve heard of and are household names to the average football fan who have experience doing this job will likely be better off and with less hassle working on a consultancy basis. See John Park, Frank McPartland and that ex Celtic guy I posted about earlier on the thread.
I suspect we’ll appoint someone very few people have heard of. If we appoint a former manager, like Ross or Lambert, it’s only going to add to the cloud having over LJ and the club just now. I think the club is keen to make this appointment as a way of sort of clearing the air.
18-01-2023, 07:40 AM
I don’t think he’s director of football there but same applies to Savage at Hearts.
I think if it was going to be Park, it would have been a pretty swift appointment. It was discussed on the PM board that the recruitment process has been going on a lot longer than when BK announced it.
I think the guys we’ve heard of and are household names to the average football fan who have experience doing this job will likely be better off and with less hassle working on a consultancy basis. See John Park, Frank McPartland and that ex Celtic guy I posted about earlier on the thread.
I suspect we’ll appoint someone very few people have heard of. If we appoint a former manager, like Ross or Lambert, it’s only going to add to the cloud having over LJ and the club just now. I think the club is keen to make this appointment as a way of sort of clearing the air.
I believe the recruitment process will go on for some time yet. It’s not necessarily that that has been holding things back, but rather that BK has been trying to get the idea accepted in a way that will enable the new DoF to do their job successfully without any possibility of being undermined for example.
The next aspect is the recruitment itself, but this will take a while yet. Certainly after the window.
18-01-2023, 07:47 AM
Names I was told.
Cheers mate. Thought that with your good track record.
John Park for me if we can get him
18-01-2023, 08:10 AM
Cheers mate. Thought that with your good track record.
John Park for me if we can get him
Not convinced the four names will provide the person who gets the job but they could all be in with a shout.
John Park I would go for but glad the appointment is not my call.
It's one the club need to get right, but there are no guarantees.
18-01-2023, 08:17 AM
Paul Lambert
John Park
Malky McKay
Eddie May
It's hard to imagine any of those old school football guys giving the kind of PowerPoint presentation full of meaningless jargon that would impress our current regime.
Paulie Walnuts
18-01-2023, 08:29 AM
John Park is the only name of interest on that list for me. Other 3 would be a bit underwhelming, which also why it wouldn’t be much of a surprise either…
Likewise.
18-01-2023, 08:59 AM
It's hard to imagine any of those old school football guys giving the kind of PowerPoint presentation full of meaningless jargon that would impress our current regime.
Well, surely they wouldn't be expecting it based on scouting a player 10 years ago either. Times change. People mocked Heckys style here. He's clearly a good manager doing an excellent job at SU. Old school does very little for me now. Hibs fans need to move on.
18-01-2023, 09:02 AM
Well, surely they wouldn't be expecting it based on scouting a player 10 years ago either. Times change. People mocked Heckys style here. He's clearly a good manager doing an excellent job at SU. Old school does very little for me now. Hibs fans need to move on.Exactly-look at the doco on sky Deadline Day
I imagine some folk on here screaming at the telly about the use of stats [emoji23]
18-01-2023, 09:11 AM
I actually don’t mind the thought of lambert or Mackay.
Both have loads of experience in football in different positions and levels.
There’s something I quite like about the guy that gets the job knowing the size of the club and what a manager needs to help him. It would (you’d imagine) all be focussed on what the team actually needs.
If the manager wanted a centre mid I reckon both would acknowledge that’s a problem position and do their most to try and solve it. They won’t think we’ll he’s older and not much sell on value so no..
hibeesjoe
18-01-2023, 09:12 AM
I wonder if this weekends game might speed the process up. There might be a DOF waiting in the wings already and even a new manager if we get beat. You would expect Hibs to have a contingency plan. They could spin the DOF appointment positively win or lose, but a loss would surely spell the end for Johnsson.
Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk
18-01-2023, 09:16 AM
Exactly-look at the doco on sky Deadline Day
I imagine some folk on here screaming at the telly about the use of stats [emoji23]
There’s absolutely nothing wrong with using stats, the difficulty is knowing how to use them in a way that compliments traditional scouting as opposed to replacing it. At the moment we have a recruitment team made up solely of performance analysts with no real scouting experience to guide them. What that results in is a load of signings who show up great in analysis but who are wholly unsuited for the Scottish game.
I’d also contest anyone calling John Park “old school”, he was one of the pioneers in Scottish Football for using data analysis as part of the scouting process. Just because someone is older, it doesn’t mean they can’t still be progressive or an innovator in their field.
18-01-2023, 09:29 AM
There’s absolutely nothing wrong with using stats, the difficulty is knowing how to use them in a way that compliments traditional scouting as opposed to replacing it. At the moment we have a recruitment team made up solely of performance analysts with no real scouting experience to guide them. What that results in is a load of signings who show up great in analysis but who are wholly unsuited for the Scottish game.
I’d also contest anyone calling John Park “old school”, he was one of the pioneers in Scottish Football for using data analysis as part of the scouting process. Just because someone is older, it doesn’t mean they can’t still be progressive or an innovator in their field.
"The Scottish game"
What is that exactly? Surely not some complex thing. Lot of punting, time wasting and set piece goals really. Nothing that complex. Some dreadful footballers play in the SPL for their entire careers.
Didn't mean that about Park at all. I actually know very little about him.
18-01-2023, 09:41 AM
"The Scottish game"
What is that exactly? Surely not some complex thing. Lot of punting, time wasting and set piece goals really. Nothing that complex. Some dreadful footballers play in the SPL for their entire careers.
Didn't mean that about Park at all. I actually know very little about him.
Do you think all leagues are homogenous?
The fact you acknowledge that some dreadful players can make a career here while others who have excelled elsewhere have struggled probably answers that question for you.
18-01-2023, 09:45 AM
I think the fans would go into melt down if it was Mackay or May. Lambert will surely want a decent wage. I have a feeling it’s none of those 4.
Was Lambert at Norwich when Kensell was there? Maybe there's a connection?
JamesHFC
18-01-2023, 10:20 AM
Was Lambert at Norwich when Kensell was there? Maybe there's a connection?
Lambert & Steve Kean get along well apparently. Both roughly the same age from Glasgow & managed in the Prem at the same time so makes sense they will know one another quite well.
JamesHFC
18-01-2023, 10:22 AM
Am sure all the families who have lost loved ones were comforted by the protestations of the drunk driver that they had only done it the once.
Drunk driving is far worse than sending a few dodgy jokes in what's meant to be a private conversation.
Steve Kean was also convicted of drink driving and banned from driving for 18 months.
18-01-2023, 10:25 AM
Do you think all leagues are homogenous?
The fact you acknowledge that some dreadful players can make a career here while others who have excelled elsewhere have struggled probably answers that question for you.
No, but I don't think many players fail at Hibs because of the Scottish game being difficult.
18-01-2023, 10:34 AM
No, but I don't think many players fail at Hibs because of the Scottish game being difficult.
I agree with you.
I am delighted we are looking for a director of football but I disagree it needs to be someone with significant Scottish football experience. There’s a whole world of football out there with many countries doing it significantly better than us. I don’t see why we should limit our search to this country.
Queens Park have brought in a Dutch guy who seems to be doing a great job. We don’t need the DoF to play centre midfield, we just need them to be good at what they do.
18-01-2023, 10:35 AM
Lambert & Steve Kean get along well apparently. Both roughly the same age from Glasgow & managed in the Prem at the same time so makes sense they will know one another quite well.
So we reckon Paul Lambert will get the job?
He’s also without a club so makes it easier to start sooner.
He’s also brought players in as a manager and sold on got ££ so that will keep Ben and Ron happy.
18-01-2023, 10:41 AM
I didn’t say it was difficult but it is different.
andrew70
18-01-2023, 10:42 AM
I agree with you.
I am delighted we are looking for a director of football but I disagree it needs to be someone with significant Scottish football experience. There’s a whole world of football out there with many countries doing it significantly better than us. I don’t see why we should limit our search to this country.
Queens Park have brought in a Dutch guy who seems to be doing a great job. We don’t need the DoF to play centre midfield, we just need them to be good at what they do.
You can bankroll a team through the lower reaches of the SPFL no problem at all.
Beuker hasn’t really had any challenges in terms of recruitment so far, be time to judge them if they get promoted to the Prem.
18-01-2023, 10:48 AM
I disagree tbh. I reckon a lot of players come here and get found out due to the pace of the game here. The games played at a much higher pace here than down south for example.
Trinity Hibee
18-01-2023, 11:00 AM
I disagree tbh. I reckon a lot of players come here and get found out due to the pace of the game here. The games played at a much higher pace here than down south for example.
Agree with this and think the proof is shown in the players who have come up from premierships teams and failed/struggled with the OF. If you play for them then league games should be quite straightforward yet Duffy, Barton, Ramsey haven’t managed it
Sioux
18-01-2023, 11:36 AM
You can bankroll a team through the lower reaches of the SPFL no problem at all.
Beuker hasn’t really had any challenges in terms of recruitment so far, be time to judge them if they get promoted to the Prem.
Money will be the issue for QP. Money gets you better players, no matter how good a DoF might be.
andrew70
18-01-2023, 11:39 AM
Money will be the issue for QP. Money gets you better players, no matter how good a DoF might be.
Not always as straightforward as that. You only have to look at Hibs. Spent a relative fortune and still have many complaining.
Harpandcastle
18-01-2023, 12:13 PM
How many texts did he send?
I was always of the understanding he received the vast majority of the texts that were printed and he sent 3.
18-01-2023, 12:31 PM
Is it? What leagues down south? Certainly not the top one. Probably not the championship either.
18-01-2023, 01:10 PM
You are right that both are wrong.
However, would you be more disappointed/angry to learn that a friend was involved in the regular exchange of inappropriate, even offensive, jokes in a private conversation.. or that he had been driving his car around town steaming?
I also fundamentally disagree with your assertion that people cannot change for the better through education.
18-01-2023, 01:34 PM
He’s also brought players in as a manager and sold on got ££ so that will keep Ben and Ron happy.
John Park according to the Glasgow papers
Hibiza
18-01-2023, 05:00 PM
Ben , announce your own dismissal , you've overseen a totally shambles on the field. That's the main thing , is it not ?
Helensburghhibs
18-01-2023, 06:33 PM
You are right that both are wrong.
However, would you be more disappointed/angry to learn that a friend was involved in the regular exchange of inappropriate, even offensive, jokes in a private conversation.. or that he had been driving his car around town steaming?
I also fundamentally disagree with your assertion that people cannot change for the better through education.
This is where I am. Drink driving is the lowest of the low and does not discriminate in choosing its victims.
Is it? What leagues down south? Certainly not the top one. Probably not the championship either.
Agree
MagicSwirlingShip
18-01-2023, 07:57 PM
Out of interest, what players? Not followed his career that much since he left Livi?
19-01-2023, 06:06 AM
Ben , announce your own dismissal , you've overseen a totally shambles on the field. That's the main thing , is it not ?
No, his boss has overseen the shambles.
19-01-2023, 10:21 AM
Yeh. Rangers ran Liverpool ragged at Ibrox.:greengrin
20-01-2023, 11:24 AM
C’mon Hibs, what is taking so long here and is this going to be the excuse why we don’t sign any decent players this window, LJ can’t be happy that he hasn’t signed any players and should be saying something in his press conference about the lack of signings or is he feared to upset Ian.
20-01-2023, 11:27 AM
C’mon Hibs, what is taking so long here and is this going to be the excuse why we don’t sign any decent players this window, LJ can’t be happy that he hasn’t signed any players and should be saying something in his press conference about the lack of signings or is he feared to upset Ian.I think called our the recruitment mistakes answers your last question
Greenworld
20-01-2023, 11:53 AM
C’mon Hibs, what is taking so long here and is this going to be the excuse why we don’t sign any decent players this window, LJ can’t be happy that he hasn’t signed any players and should be saying something in his press conference about the lack of signings or is he feared to upset Ian.I suspect we have seen this before Starve the manager of money . Followed by sacked after next game I'm starting to think nothing is happening until Monday.
20-01-2023, 01:45 PM
I suspect we have seen this before Starve the manager of money . Followed by sacked after next game I'm starting to think nothing is happening until Monday.
I tend to agree, manager sacked whether we win or not on Monday..
Poor, inherits a team of crap, with long contracts, a bunch of unknown kid signings and hit with a horrendous injury list of our best players, barr Porteous. He's on a hiding to nothing.
I tend to agree, manager sacked whether we win or not on Monday..
Poor, inherits a team of crap, with long contracts, a bunch of unknown kid signings and hit with a horrendous injury list of our best players, barr Porteous. He's on a hiding to nothing.
I think they'll stick wih LJ until the split, whilst we're still with a chance of top 6. It'll be the same as last season, anyone making top 6 is in with a chance of Europe.
20-01-2023, 02:01 PM
I think they'll stick wih LJ until the split, whilst we're still with a chance of top 6. It'll be the same as last season, anyone making top 6 is in with a chance of Europe.
I’m not a big fan of LJ and I’m not convinced he’ll turn it around however the fact of the matter is if we win our next two games we will be through in the cup and probably a good chance of being 4th in the league I think?
As I say, I don’t think he will turn it around however when we are as close as that I can understand why the board are giving him every chance of succeeding before pulling the trigger.
20-01-2023, 02:49 PM
I’m not a big fan of LJ and I’m not convinced he’ll turn it around however the fact of the matter is if we win our next two games we will be through in the cup and probably a good chance of being 4th in the league I think?
As I say, I don’t think he will turn it around however when we are as close as that I can understand why the board are giving him every chance of succeeding before pulling the trigger.
Yet they did it with Jack Ross. I think attendances will have a bearing on what what happens going forward. Having said that Ron Gordon is on record as saying he regretted pulling the trigger on Ross too early. Possibly because he got it so wrong with his replacement to be fair.
20-01-2023, 08:30 PM
https://twitter.com/StMirrenDaft/status/1616201432864006145?t=qtFcOMYGN2Yp93xkxC90Nw&s=19
Keep an eye out for any potential DoF candidates in the crowd today and post them on here please. 👍
22-01-2023, 05:38 PM
Just put this on the Porteous thread, probably better here:
John Collins on the radio was an interesting one today. He relentlessly talked the performance up and even more so Lee Johnson. Just a hunch but he came across to me as someone with a vested interest in something - more than just a punditry opinion. He’s been interviewed for the DoF role in my humble opinion.
22-01-2023, 05:39 PM
John Collins on the radio was an interesting one today. He relentlessly talked the performance up and even more so Lee Johnson. Just a hunch but he came across to me as someone with a vested interest in something - more than just a punditry opinion. He’s been interviewed for the DoF role in my humble opinion.
Blue
Well I’d have him. He’s got unfinished business with Hibs and his suit collection is fantastic.
Oh aye, and a cup winner.
22-01-2023, 05:41 PM
Come on, the day is bad enough without giving me more nightmares like that. 😁
22-01-2023, 05:42 PM
He has been bigging Hibs up alot recently tbf
22-01-2023, 05:43 PM
Anyone who things LJ is the right man for the job isn’t the man for me.
AugustaHibs
22-01-2023, 05:44 PM
Kensell can get to ****.
22-01-2023, 05:47 PM
Come on, the day is bad enough without giving me more nightmares like that. 😁
Apologies ha ha. Honestly though, even Neil McCann joked “John is having none of this” when they were discussing the Hibs performance re converting chances.
22-01-2023, 05:47 PM
Keep an eye out for any potential DoF candidates in the crowd today and post them on here please. 👍
Mixu was there today 👍😜
22-01-2023, 05:50 PM
Mixu was there today 👍😜
That’s me Finnish if so lol
22-01-2023, 05:54 PM
That’s me Finnish if so lol
The big fella will be hurting like the rest of us mate - oh to have a player with his guts and steel in the side and that dressing room.
22-01-2023, 05:59 PM
I think he’s just a blether to be honest
He thought we were the better team at Tynie aswell
22-01-2023, 06:02 PM
The thought of BK and IG recruiting a DoF fills me with fear. Get shot of the both of them
22-01-2023, 06:10 PM
The big fella will be hurting like the rest of us mate - oh to have a player with his guts and steel in the side and that dressing room.
He is a legend the big man agree
Greenwich_Hibby
22-01-2023, 06:23 PM
The Gordons and Kensell are simply deferring sacking The Slaver until the DOF is in place, so he can take the flack for doing so.
22-01-2023, 06:25 PM
The Gordons and Kensell are simply deferring sacking The Slaver until the DOF is in place, so he can take the flack for doing so.
Nail on head 👍
22-01-2023, 06:29 PM
Problem is who is appointing the DOF. No confidence in anyone at the club to get it right.
22-01-2023, 06:44 PM
Alan Stubbs as D of F,
24-01-2023, 05:12 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10113511/rangers-transfer-john-park-hibs-director-of-football/
Park on shortlist but would take a significant offer