View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Celtic

Pages : 1 2 [3]

norwayhibs
28-12-2022, 09:30 PM
Good Lee Johnson is spot on.

What’s he said?

Silky
28-12-2022, 09:31 PM
Hanlon getting a doing on sky for the 4th goal.

Bushiri not too clever but imo it’s Hanlon going left the gives Kyogo the space to score.

So he should be as well. Totally found out and 100% his fault. Bushiri done nothing wrong for that goal. He tried to get over and cover his partner's chronic defending.

Silky
28-12-2022, 09:32 PM
I’d be delighted if the likes of Cadden and Newell got suspensions. Their selection seems to be bulletproof despite regular poor performances.

I think you can add Hanlon in there as well.

Not about being dirty but being clever, the odd we block, trip etc, just breaks up the play.

Celtic are cleverer. They take quick set pieces constantly.

Good Lee Johnson is spot on.

He did also say Porteous was pulling strings in midfield so it’s fair to say he’s a bit of an idiot.

Trinity Hibee
28-12-2022, 09:34 PM
He did also say Porteous was pulling strings in midfield so it’s fair to say he’s a bit of an idiot.

😂 wow

28-12-2022, 09:34 PM
So he should be as well. Totally found out and 100% his fault. Bushiri done nothing wrong for that goal. He tried to get over and cover his partner's chronic defending.

Similar happened at Celtic Park in January, Rocky got the blame for Hanlon getting dragged out to the left and leaving a big gap in the centre.

28-12-2022, 09:36 PM

I still can't work out what Hanlon is doing. He decides to run with his back to the ball and doesn't check where the attacker is so decides to run towards the wing. Really bizarre.

Hanlon being subbed off a couple of times by Johnson maybe suggests he doesn't like what he is seeing. Wasn't best pleased with his tame headed clearance at Rangers either.

Trinity Hibee
28-12-2022, 09:40 PM
Hibs boss Lee Johnson shows a flair for understatement by saying "it's fair to say the better team won".

"But we really took the game to Celtic in the first 15 minutes. The second 15 minutes, they owned, bossed it on the ball. That's my criticism. Could we have applied more pressure?

"Against a side of that quality, we're just not there yet. I'd like us to have been switched on more for a couple of the goals but we had chances and counter-attacked well.

"We have to keep building and we have to do that over windows and with development. I think there's a lot to be positive about for 2023. We have an opportunity to rejiggle the squad and we have some really good young players coming through. For me, the club is still full of potential.

On the impending derby at Tynecastle, he adds "we haven't won there enough".

"We are going there believing we can win the match and it's important for everyone to know."

28-12-2022, 09:41 PM
What’s he said?

The players are crap and he wants to ship them out and he will do this over the January and summer window, basically righting this season off.

28-12-2022, 09:42 PM
The players are crap and he wants to ship them out and he will do this over the January and summer window, basically righting this season off.

He surely didn't say it like that?

Celtic's recruitment over the last 18 months has been excellent, ours has been awful. That's the main issue here.

Trinity Hibee

Writing off seasons half way through is becoming a bit of a theme

28-12-2022, 09:43 PM

Of course he didn’t. Some ridiculous exaggerating going on.

28-12-2022, 09:43 PM
Oh great. Now Hibs fans are arranging square goes via the internet like 14 year olds 😂😂

Square go's ya dumpling? 🤣

I'm knocking 70 wi incurable cancer. I was hoping to meet up wi a fellow Netter who's more of a torn face count than I am 😪

28-12-2022, 09:44 PM
Celtic's recruitment over the last 18 months has been excellent, ours has been awful. That's the main issue here.

And they have ten times our budget.

Crunchie
Not about being dirty but being clever, the odd we block, trip etc, just breaks up the play.
That's the kind of thinking from a guy who plays FM and gets confused with real life. I do believe you actually think you can do a better job than LJ and previous managers we've had. Mental right enough

Ironically, Celtic’s head of recruitment is the Chairman’s son 😂

28-12-2022, 09:47 PM

Celtic shop in a different place to us though. They buy players for a few million and sell them on for five times that.

28-12-2022, 09:47 PM
Writing off seasons half way through is becoming a bit of a theme

Writing off the season suggests mid table mediocrity. I think we have a relegation battle on our hands and I'm not convinced we have the right players for that. We need some players that are proven at this level with a bit of mental strength in the spine of the team.

28-12-2022, 09:51 PM
Celtic shop in a different place to us though. They buy players for a few million and sell them on for five times that.

Are you seriously suggesting that we couldn't get better players than Henderson, Doyle Hayes, Bojang, McKirdy, Tavares, Miller and Mitchell for the money we are spending?

28-12-2022, 09:52 PM
OK, we got a doing tonight - but I can at least see what Johnson is trying to do now, and have done since the WC break.

I thought we were unlucky v Rangers, would have beaten Livi even 11 v 11, and at least lined up to have a go at Celtic.

I thought we were contenders for the drop pre WC, but regardless of tonights result I think we have a better shape, the return of Nisbet and Magennis has changed how we play.

Yes, we lost some stupid goals tonight and we clearly need cover for Hanlon and Porto if he goes......but dont think things are as bad as some people are painting it.

Celtic are miles ahead of anyone in this league - yes you can park the bus for 90 like Aberdeen did, but who the **** wants to watch that?

If LJ gets some players in Jan in some key areas, I genuinely think (even if we dont win on Monday) that we can have a decent end to the season.

Weird that they simply haven’t wanted to do it for weeks in that case.

Must have wanted last minute winners in a good few of their last few games rather than wanting to rip teams apart.

Did you stay till the end Stubbsy? Row C looked pretty early at the final whistle 😆

Writing off the season suggests mid table mediocrity. I think we have a relegation battle on our hands and I'm not convinced we have the right players for that. We need some players that are proven at this level with a bit of mental strength in the spine of the team.

They don't need to be proven at this level. They just need to be strong and combative and know how to defend and attack.

28-12-2022, 09:54 PM
Square go's ya dumpling? 🤣

I'm knocking 70 wi incurable cancer. I was hoping to meet up wi a fellow Netter who's more of a torn face count than I am 😪

Wow, I'm so sorry. I sincerely hope you are doing as well as possible.

28-12-2022, 10:02 PM
That's the kind of thinking from a guy who plays FM and gets confused with real life. I do believe you actually think you can do a better job than LJ and previous managers we've had. Mental right enough

Give this sheite a ****ing rest, you see players all the time being clever and giving away fouls to break up play, we have moaned for ages about Hearts and Aberdeen players doing this but we have a soft streak and don't do it enough when the chips are down.

Enough with this FM BS, you're sounding like a complete numpty. Erse.

28-12-2022, 10:04 PM

Nope, but that was the jist of it.

28-12-2022, 10:04 PM
Wow, I'm so sorry. I sincerely hope you are doing as well as possible.

I go along to Hibs so they can cheer me up.

Cancer's no biggie. First game 1961 and seen some fantastic matches over the years. In a home crowd like tonight we probably have a few hundred in the same boat as me.

Every day is a gift. Roll on the Derby GGTTH

Silky
28-12-2022, 10:08 PM
They don't need to be proven at this level. They just need to be strong and combative and know how to defend and attack.

We are combative, though. There was a story quoted on here the other day where we were decried as being the dirtiest team in the league! That doesn't happen by being soft.

28-12-2022, 10:09 PM
If we could give Celtic a game we'd be challenging them for the title. We tried hard enough tonight but we're just miles off their quality.

We’ve never challenged Celtic for a title in my lifetime but there’s been plenty of times we’ve been capable of beating them in a one off game. Don’t follow your logic on this one.

Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2022, 10:10 PM
Did you stay till the end Stubbsy? Row C looked pretty early at the final whistle 😆

Till the last kick of the ball 👍🏼

28-12-2022, 10:13 PM
I go along to Hibs so they can cheer me up.

Cancer's no biggie. First game 1961 and seen some fantastic matches over the years. In a home crowd like tonight we probably have a few hundred in the same boat as me.

Every day is a gift. Roll on the Derby GGTTH

Your positivity is very humbling. The very best of luck to you.

PPZPOL
28-12-2022, 10:13 PM
And they have ten times our budget.

But it’s all relative surely? They buy well for the market that they operate in. We buy badly in the market we operate in, hence why we regularly finish in the bottom 6 and below teams who have less budget than us, which again shows how bad we are at recruitment.

28-12-2022, 10:20 PM
Means **** all if you give away free kicks and yellow cards.
There wasn’t a point tonight where I felt the players weren’t trying hard enough.

You genuinely thought we matched Celtic for effort and application tonight?

They’re obviously a far better team but we never laid a glove on them (once the got the lead). We were talking about the bookings thing at the game. It’s a decent sign of how comfortable it was for them.

28-12-2022, 10:27 PM
We are combative, though. There was a story quoted on here the other day where we were decried as being the dirtiest team in the league! That doesn't happen by being soft.

I honestly don't think we are. I think the "dirtiest team" in the league is because our midfield and defence are caught ball watching/being lazy and end up having to run towards their own box and make rash decisions. I don't think it is proactively pressing and snapping at ankles. I think it is desperation.

I guess I should've also put brave and having a bit of guile as well. Our midfield cannot turn on the ball and play the ball forward. Campbell passed it back to Cadden without even looking over his shoulder to see if he could clip the ball to Youan or someone else. Cadden had 2 Celtic players within 5 yards of him.

Newell is the master of this as well. Playing silky passes to our defenders while jogging around.

28-12-2022, 10:45 PM
Are you seriously suggesting that we couldn't get better players than Henderson, Doyle Hayes, Bojang, McKirdy, Tavares, Miller and Mitchell for the money we are spending?

A few of the names there we’ve still to really see. I won’t be writing all of them off.

28-12-2022, 10:49 PM
A few of the names there we’ve still to really see. I won’t be writing all of them off.

They're gash. That's why you don't see them. :greengrin

LewysGot2
28-12-2022, 10:53 PM

Who do you think is a hidden talent in that list?

mcfly
28-12-2022, 10:55 PM
The team is soft and has no fight. Easily bullied.

Hanlon, cadden, newell get picked no matter how bad they are.

We have a terrible record at tynecastle and this team have to be up for a fight or hearts will beat them easily.

The Gordon’s have to sort out the recruitment and fast.

paddy1875
28-12-2022, 10:55 PM
We were great tonight for 3 minutes. Played like the offside goal we scored wasn’t chopped off for the rest of the game.

When the manager is quoted pre match saying ‘the games on sky and you don’t want to be embarrassed’ I mean it’s not a good look.

After saying after a previous pumping from them that our psychology from birth needs changed against the old firm. We’re just in a mess right now with a manager akin to David Brent.

28-12-2022, 10:59 PM
Who do you think is a hidden talent in that list?

Tavares, McKirdy and Miller could all come good. Haven’t seen nearly enough of them to write any of them off as “gash”. Daft comment.

He's here!
28-12-2022, 11:00 PM
We’ve never challenged Celtic for a title in my lifetime but there’s been plenty of times we’ve been capable of beating them in a one off game. Don’t follow your logic on this one.

All too often beating them in a one-off game has been followed by a dismal result against a much weaker team. What I mean is that 'giving Celtic a game' is all very well but we need to be able to match their remorselessness against other teams too. If we could do that then 'giving them a game' might actually mean something. It'll never happen though for as long as they operate on a different financial planet.

LewysGot2
28-12-2022, 11:05 PM
Tavares, McKirdy and Miller could all come good. Haven’t seen nearly enough of them to write any of them off as “gash”. Daft comment.

I didn't make it...

Criswell
28-12-2022, 11:21 PM
Sadly the most one-sided game I have seen in many a long year. Getting beat only 0-4 was a relief. Could have easily been double figures. A special mention though for Bushiri. He put in a great individual shift without much help from any others.

29-12-2022, 12:27 AM
Think that's maybe the third time in as many games that Hanlon has been subbed off tonight. Don't think that in itself is an issue, but every time him and LJ have a wee argument about it. How about we just don't start Hanlon if you're not happy with his performance?!

We move Porto back from midfield (never ever his position) when Hanlon goes off. It's all just such a mess.

Celtic are an annoyingly good team. But that's the earliest I've left Easter Road in a very long time tonight.

Why was Newell still on the pitch after HT? He was struggling from about 10 minutes in with a knock.

So so demoralising that.

Victor
29-12-2022, 12:45 AM
Think that's maybe the third time in as many games that Hanlon has been subbed off tonight. Don't think that in itself is an issue, but every time him and LJ have a wee argument about it. How about we just don't start Hanlon if you're not happy with his performance?!

We move Porto back from midfield (never ever his position) when Hanlon goes off. It's all just such a mess.

Celtic are an annoyingly good team. But that's the earliest I've left Easter Road in a very long time tonight.

Why was Newell still on the pitch after HT? He was struggling from about 10 minutes in with a knock.

So so demoralising that.

Because if he played Fish against Celtic, and we lost, the negativity on this site would be remorseless. I think he has now proved the point that Hanlon, and I am sorry to say this, is past it. His positioning and decision making for the fourth goal was indefensible. I think he can now drop Hanlon and no matter what Fish does, we can at least agree that he is a better option to the player he has replaced.

29-12-2022, 01:52 AM
Why does hanlon keep getting a game? He’s done

29-12-2022, 02:13 AM
Get beat the 2nd LJ should be done.

2 wins against 11 men all season is very telling

29-12-2022, 02:26 AM
Sadly the most one-sided game I have seen in many a long year. Getting beat only 0-4 was a relief. Could have easily been double figures. A special mention though for Bushiri. He put in a great individual shift without much help from any others.

We competed for 15 minutes though!?

29-12-2022, 05:07 AM
Get beat the 2nd LJ should be done.

2 wins against 11 men all season is very telling

It's a really huge game for him. At the very least I want to see the team go out and fight. We need to see a side that is organised, passionate and committed.

It's never an easy place to go but we need to be competitive.

For all the fawning over Celtic, I don't think anyone here would suggest Hearts are anything special. Like us they are missing some key players.

If we can't put a team out to compete then he should go, along with a much more serious look at Gordon's reign.

If we play well but lose to a dodgy last minute penalty (or something like that) I think he limps on.

But my gut feeling is that it's a matter of time

Crunchie
29-12-2022, 07:17 AM
Give this sheite a ****ing rest, you see players all the time being clever and giving away fouls to break up play, we have moaned for ages about Hearts and Aberdeen players doing this but we have a soft streak and don't do it enough when the chips are down.

Enough with this FM BS, you're sounding like a complete numpty. Erse.
You brought the FM bs into it a while back and I told you back then it has no meaning in the real world of football. But the likes of yourself actually believe you're a manager on the back of playing some dumb game on a computer.
We're back on the soft streak pish eh? Hibs have committed more fouls across the 42 league clubs at the halfway stage of the season, so that puts to bed your bs theory.

Crunchie
29-12-2022, 07:22 AM
We competed for 15 minutes though!?
I put 15 mins in there for a reason, and you didn't disappoint :faf:, you do realise they scored their first in the 28th minute right?

Up until then we were well in the game and had chances, but the doom and gloom merchants like yourself can't wait to put the boot in.

I have serious reservations about a few so called Hibbies on here who jump on all the negatives.

Trinity Hibee
29-12-2022, 07:26 AM
I put 15 mins in there for a reason, and you didn't disappoint :faf:, you do realise they scored their first in the 28th minute right?

Up until then we were well in the game and had chances, but the doom and gloom merchants like yourself can't wait to put the boot in.

I have serious reservations about a few so called Hibbies on here who jump on all the negatives.

I think the manager has also said we did okay for 10-15 mins. In fact he said the 2nd 15 mins Celtic bossed it

Crunchie
29-12-2022, 07:27 AM
I think the manager has also said we did okay for 10-15 mins. In fact he said the 2nd 15 mins Celtic bossed it
So now you believe the manager?

Trinity Hibee
29-12-2022, 07:28 AM
So now you believe the manager?

No but at least he’s being honest there. Not sure what your argument is here. Just tying yourself in knots

Trinity Hibee
29-12-2022, 07:29 AM
Celtic manager Ange Postecoglou: "We had a feeling Hibs would come at us and the first 10 minutes was a real game. We just stayed really strong and eventually we wore them down.

So ange kindly gave us 10 mins of competing.

Paulie Walnuts
29-12-2022, 07:32 AM

29-12-2022, 07:54 AM
OK, we got a doing tonight - but I can at least see what Johnson is trying to do now, and have done since the WC break.

I thought we were unlucky v Rangers, would have beaten Livi even 11 v 11, and at least lined up to have a go at Celtic.

I thought we were contenders for the drop pre WC, but regardless of tonights result I think we have a better shape, the return of Nisbet and Magennis has changed how we play.

Yes, we lost some stupid goals tonight and we clearly need cover for Hanlon and Porto if he goes......but dont think things are as bad as some people are painting it.

Celtic are miles ahead of anyone in this league - yes you can park the bus for 90 like Aberdeen did, but who the **** wants to watch that?

If LJ gets some players in Jan in some key areas, I genuinely think (even if we dont win on Monday) that we can have a decent end to the season.

It's funny that it's most of the same people who think we should beat teams like Livi or St Johnstone every game because we have a slightly higher budget, then can't apply the same logic when we play a team with a budget multiple times in excess of our own.

29-12-2022, 08:02 AM
Can someone confirm that 99 got injured in the warm up and we brought in another goalkeeper instead. That surely didn’t happen.

Celtic manager Ange Postecoglou: "We had a feeling Hibs would come at us and the first 10 minutes was a real game. We just stayed really strong and eventually we wore them down.

So ange kindly gave us 10 mins of competing.

A lot of teams know Hibs will start fast but run out of ideas or burn out - so weather the storm and then pick us off.

The fame happened the Mueller goal derby - Hibs fast start score - Then Hearts came into it and dominated us.

Hanlon being subbed and not looking happy again is an interesting one. Part of me thinks Hanlon as club captain (Marshall is pitch captain when plying) has a lot of influence in the dressing room and won’t be happy with what is going on.

Not saying Hanlon will get LJ sacked but I’m sure there has been previous of Hibs captains raising issues with staff if they are unhappy with the manager (player power).

Trinity Hibee

It's funny that it's most of the same people who think we should beat teams like Livi or St Johnstone every game because we have a slightly higher budget, then can't apply the same logic when we play a team with a budget multiple times in excess of our own.

But we don’t beat those other teams regularly do we. Therein lies the problem.

Folk want us to at least make it difficult for the Celtic. We have not done that against Celtic at all.

29-12-2022, 08:03 AM
Can someone confirm that 99 got injured in the warm up and we brought in another goalkeeper instead. That surely didn’t happen.

No we brought in Demetri Mitchell.

29-12-2022, 08:08 AM
A lot of teams know Hibs will start fast but run out of ideas or burn out - so weather the storm and then pick us off.

The fame happened the Mueller goal derby - Hibs fast start score - Then Hearts came into it and dominated us.

Hanlon being subbed and not looking happy again is an interesting one. Part of me thinks Hanlon as club captain (Marshall is pitch captain when plying) has a lot of influence in the dressing room and won’t be happy with what is going on.

Not saying Hanlon will get LJ sacked but I’m sure there has been previous of Hibs captains raising issues with staff if they are unhappy with the manager (player power).

I’d expect Hanlon to carry a bit of clout but I don’t think he’d be able to influence much if his main gripe is being repeatedly substituted whilst on an iffy run of form.

If there were wider issues amongst the squad then I’m sure he’d be able to manipulate that, and a few social media bits and pieces from the likes of McKirdy and Mitchell might suggest a bit of underlying disquiet.

Pretty sure he’s not that sort of character though.

29-12-2022, 08:09 AM

Not a single youth player in the squad then? It’s very disappointing

29-12-2022, 08:11 AM

Energy doesn’t cost much. We’ve a squad full of unfit players with limited ability.

29-12-2022, 08:16 AM

So Kukarevich got injured in the warm up. Oh joy got to ask why he was gambled on with the Derby a few days away

29-12-2022, 08:17 AM
But we don’t beat those other teams regularly do we. Therein lies the problem.

Folk want us to at least make it difficult for the Celtic. We have not done that against Celtic at all.

I rest my case.

29-12-2022, 10:04 AM
You brought the FM bs into it a while back and I told you back then it has no meaning in the real world of football. But the likes of yourself actually believe you're a manager on the back of playing some dumb game on a computer.
We're back on the soft streak pish eh? Hibs have committed more fouls across the 42 league clubs at the halfway stage of the season, so that puts to bed your bs theory.

As I said watching Hibs for nigh on 55 years allows me to give my opinion, so you can take your FM nonsense and shove it up your erse. Every man and his dog knos FM and games like that are fantasy and bear no resemblance to real life, so go **** yourself. You have been reported and I'm putting you on ignore, so I don't read any more of your p ish.

29-12-2022, 10:11 AM
Just watched the highlights online and my word, the defending is worse than I thought at the game. Really really worrying.

29-12-2022, 10:15 AM
Because if he played Fish against Celtic, and we lost, the negativity on this site would be remorseless. I think he has now proved the point that Hanlon, and I am sorry to say this, is past it. His positioning and decision making for the fourth goal was indefensible. I think he can now drop Hanlon and no matter what Fish does, we can at least agree that he is a better option to the player he has replaced.

If LJ is picking his team based on what fans post on here, he should be binned immediately!!

29-12-2022, 12:32 PM
Not a single youth player in the squad then? It’s very disappointing

There’s a few that must be on fringes rather they were given a chance than some off late

29-12-2022, 01:00 PM
If LJ is picking his team based on what fans post on here, he should be binned immediately!!

Can't disagree with that