View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Celtic
Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2022, 08:19 PM
Not for you. You don't set foot in Easter Road
Season ticket for 25 years but aye, nae bother.
Maybe I should rip the heed off it to how good our catholic brothers are to convince you.
28-12-2022, 08:19 PM
I hope in my lifetime some team out with the 2 arse cheeks stick it to them. I ******g hate Sellick as much as the Huns.
28-12-2022, 08:20 PM
Would be a shame if a very decent performance turns into a drubbing.
I'm. Still no convinced on the pen altho can see why it's given
Anyone who's changes directontion quickly 180 naturally causes the leading arm to come up
I think its harsh to be honest
I'm. Almost certain if celtic got that against rangers they would be talking about natural body movements
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Mckirdy , McGeady both on bench too
This is a pretty exceptional Celtic team we’re watching here, comfortably winning the league without question.
It’s not excusing things, but it’s a factor. That and, as usual, not taking chances presented to us. But it’s hardly been the tummy tickling we got at park head.
We really need a new right back in January.
Would give Miller a chance when he’s back.
Big Rocky has been good for us again. I'd have him as MOTM by a fair way.
28-12-2022, 08:21 PM
4-0
We really need a new right back in January.
I wouldn't go dismantling the team based on a game against a team that's light years infront of everybody else in the country.
Edit: 4-0. I might need to reconsider the above.
ionahibby
Would be a shame if a very decent performance turns into a drubbing.
It’s not been a decent performance unless you count the first 10 mins. Is that what we are rating performances on now??
Paulie Walnuts
This is an abomination.
They're just too good it's fine. We should be happy with how we've played...
GreenGray
Triple change incoming
He loves making loads of changes at a time rather than one or two doesn’t he?
Embarrassing
This is a pretty exceptional Celtic team we’re watching here, comfortably winning the league without question.
It’s not excusing things, but it’s a factor. That and, as usual, not taking chances presented to us. But it’s hardly been the tummy tickling we got at park head.
Nisbet misses a sitter and they go up the park and score again, albeit from a penalty. They are clinical and we need about five chances a game to score most weeks.
This is going to end up six or seven.
28-12-2022, 08:22 PM
What is Hanlon doing there?
ionahibby
Honking
Paul Hanlon went to the shops there [emoji23]
0-4.
Getting silly now.
The first half hour shouldn't excuse what has gone on since. It's not lack of effort, it's a lack of quality. Carbon copy of Ibrox really, started well but totally fell out the game after 30-40 minutes.
The Captain....
Absolutely ****ing embarrassing defending tonight. What the **** do they do in training the useless *****.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
I'm. Still no convinced on the pen altho can see why it's given
Anyone who's changes directontion quickly 180 naturally causes the leading arm to come up
I think its harsh to be honest
I'm. Almost certain if celtic got that against rangers they would be talking about natural body movements
:agree: i thought he was unlucky
anyway
0-4 all our goals from sat wiped out within 63 mins tonight :(
That is absolutely terrible defending.
Could drive a bus between our centre halves there.
Aw naw
Pathetic
Best in the league or not
Mcgregor wins a 50/50 against two hibs players
Embarrassing
Big Rocky has been good for us again. I'd have him as MOTM by a fair way.
Where was he there?
Another class goal.
**** sake 4-0.
Deary me. 0-4
28-12-2022, 08:23 PM
Cadden and Hanlon dreadful for some of these goals. Really bad defensively.
“We’ve learnt our lesson” they were all saying hahaha
****ing embarrassing. All talk.
Get beat from hearts and empty Jonson
GreenGray
Their penalty is so unlucky, the hand ball rule is so ****ing grey. Officiating in this country is enough to put you off the sport all together.
That’s how scunnered I am.
Think this will finish 7-0
I wouldn't go dismantling the team based on a game against a team that's light years infront of everybody else in the country.
Edit: 4-0. I might need to reconsider the above.
Cadden has been s**** for most of the season.
Paulie Walnuts
Another class goal.
You almost can’t hide your delight.
McGruber
That not exactly the same as the pen we didn't get at ibrox?
Seems legit
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Yep.
Handball in box accidental with arm outstretched away from body is a penalty this season with VAR.. except at Ibrox
Regardless - just not good enough
Where was he there?
**Deletes previous post***
Where was he there?
Trying to cover for Hanlon?
Brilliant defending from Hanlon there. ****ing useless
King conrad
Aye quality defending Hanlon
GreenGray
Cadden and Hanlon dreadful for some of these goals. Really bad defensively.
A back 4 of Hanlon Stevenson and Cadden against Celtic what do you expect really? I mean we have no chance.
28-12-2022, 08:24 PM
Think this will finish 7-0
We need to shut up shop now, before it gets worse. Keep the score down and move on.
Ray Donovan
Horrible.
This could be 6 or 7 by the end. Damage limitation needed by LJ so he sticks on Mckirdy and mcGeady ?????
Trying to cover for Hanlon?
Hanlon looked like he was away to try and catch a bus going down Easter Road.
He's here!
This could be a repeat of Celtic's 9-0 scoreline at Tannadice.
LunasBoots
Far to open and done nothing to address it, could get very embarrassing
Where was he there?
In correct place. Hanlon created a massive hole by running out to the wing...no idea what he was doing. Wasn't tracking any run. Marking invisible man.
You almost can’t hide your delight.
What should I do? jump up and down and stamp my feet?
28-12-2022, 08:25 PM
No idea what Hanlon was doing there. This is what happens when you try to play the best team in the country at their own game. Nothing learnt from Parkhead.
Where was he there?
Hanlon lost the man.
Or alternatively, Kyogo’s movement was superb.
We canny defend **** all
This could be a repeat of Celtic's 9-0 scoreline at Tannadice.
No it couldn’t.
LJ should’ve gone down the sheep route and stuck the full team on the edge of our own box for 90 minutes. Would’ve had stick but probably kept the score down.
Maybe I should rip the heed off it to how good our catholic brothers are to convince you.
Which stand bud. I'm Section41 in the East. I'll come say hello. I'm a big ugly Proddie so will be easy to spot.
GreenGray
There should be a ****ing enquiry into how we have let our squad get this ***** within such a short space of time. It is truly unbelievable.
28-12-2022, 08:26 PM
Ach, it's Celtic, we've not to bother about getting thumped at home. They're dead good don't you know.
No doubt LJ will take lots of positives from yet another defeat.
Could easily end up 7-0 which would probably mean the sack for LJ.
To be fair it could already be close to that with the misses in 1st half.
This could be 6 or 7 by the end. Damage limitation needed by LJ so he sticks on Mckirdy and mcGeady ?????
He cannae win there.
He goes defensive and he’s get slated too.
Crunchie
In correct place. Hanlon created a massive hole by running out to the wing...no idea what he was doing. Wasn't tracking any run. Marking invisible man.
Invariably, whenever we concede a goal he's either on his arse or posted missing.
If you want anything from Celtc, you have to take your chances,not make any basic mistakes and get a bit of good luck.
Alan Muir was quick spotting that one yet he didn't see the one at Ibrox when he was on Var
Exactly...quick off the mark there....
There isn’t a team in this league - Rangers included - that Celtic couldn’t rip apart when they want to.
Sorry but that's bollocks. They are a good side, I don't go into games against them expecting to win but they are not smashing teams. Check their results. They are on for their biggest win since, guess what, they beat us 6-1.
Livi, Aberdeen, Ross County and Motherwell have lost by a goal against them in recent years games.
Our aggregate is 1-10 with plenty time left in this game. That's ****ing embarrassing.
He's here!
28-12-2022, 08:27 PM
We need to shut up shop now, before it gets worse. Keep the score down and move on.
Yep, with United winning we're very much back in the relegation mix. We'll likely take a pasting in the derby too so it's maybe best just to write these games off and focus on beating the lesser lights to ensure we avoid the drop. The win over Livi showed we can at least do that.
28-12-2022, 08:28 PM
Sorry but that's bollocks. They are a good side, I don't go into games against them expecting to win but they are not smashing teams. Check their results. They are on for their biggest win since, guess what, they beat us 6-1.
Livi, Aberdeen, Ross County and Motherwell have lost by a goal against them in recent years games.
Our aggregate is 1-10. That's ****ing embarrassing.
Guaranteed all of those teams parked the bus and defended for 90 minutes. LJ is too glued to his “philosophy” when it will only end one way against this team and with the players we’ve got.
28-12-2022, 08:28 PM
That’s twice in 3 games that Hanlon has been hooked, his days as a starter must be numbered now.
28-12-2022, 08:29 PM
Far to open and done nothing to address it, could get very embarrassing
We don't have the players. Keep playing like we do and it's no wonder we get pumped most weeks. Johnson is just as much too blame as anyone else at the club.
Paulie Walnuts
Which stand bud. I'm Section41 in the East. I'll come say hello. I'm a big ugly Proddie so will be easy to spot.
Section 40 row C see you soon 👍🏼
ionahibby
Not quite sure why we signed Mckirdy if he can’t get a start.
Crunchie
We came out and had a go, I'd rather see that than the display at Pittodrie by the sheep, on another day we could have scored first and got something out of this. In Johnson I trust.
NC1875
28-12-2022, 08:30 PM
No idea what Hanlon was doing there. This is what happens when you try to play the best team in the country at their own game. Nothing learnt from Parkhead.
He’s ****ing useless and should be nowhere near the starting eleven. One of many problems with this team, and people are only starting to realise. He’s finished
Guaranteed all of those teams parked the bus and defended for 90 minutes. LJ is too glued to his “philosophy” when it will only end one way against this team and with the players we’ve got.
And yet if he sits in and tries to defend we’d definitely lose the game, because we can’t defend, he’d get slated for that.
I’d rather get beat having a go than get beat sitting in and defending like Aberdeen the other night.
That’s twice in 3 games that Hanlon has been hooked, his days as a starter must be numbered now.
Well he will probably start at Tynie as Porto is suspended.
He cannae win there.
Maybe he's just not very good
28-12-2022, 08:31 PM
He cannae win there.
At 4-0 down I think you just take your medicine and try to avoid it getting to 5 or 6. This gets much worse and he's looking at the sack.
It's incredible given our run how intouch we still are with Aberdeen etc
Mental really
Ray Donovan
And yet if he sits in and tries to defend we’d definitely lose the game, because we can’t defend, he’d get slated for that.
I’d rather get beat having a go than get beat sitting in and defending like Aberdeen the other night.
I agree but it doesn't make watching it any easier.
Section 40 row C see you soon 👍🏼
Oh great. Now Hibs fans are arranging square goes via the internet like 14 year olds 😂😂
28-12-2022, 08:32 PM
Not quite sure why we signed Mckirdy if he can’t get a start.
Doesn't do much apart from throw his arms up in the air.
Crunchie
At 4-0 down I think you just take your medicine and try to avoid it getting to 5 or 6. This gets much worse and he's looking at the sack.
The sack? this place is mental at times.
I agree but it doesn't make watching it any easier.
Maybe not but a bit of subjectivity required. If it’s that painful turn off the telly.
Oh great. Now Hibs fans are arranging square goes via the internet like 14 year olds 😂😂
Aye, let's have none of that.
28-12-2022, 08:33 PM
Aye, let's have none of that.
Either that or film it and give us all a laugh.
**** me, 8th defeat in 10....we're no very good....big hearts required next few games
The Captain....
Maybe he's just not very goodNo maybe about it.
Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk
I'll say it again - that's 1-10 against them over 2 games, with time left to make it worse.
Surely losing by 1 goal means you are much more in the game and likely to nick something than us losing by 4?
We can't keep getting gubbed and saying it's OK cause we had a go. The scorelines don't show that's the case.
They have walked this one - we were never in it and if he keeps setting us up this way his job will be in serious danger.
Hector Mudflap
Our aggregate is 1-10. That's ****ing embarrassing.
No midfield -
Why bring on Mckirdy when we are four down? Should have been all defenders and midfielders. Johnstone just seems to be baffling.
Bridge hibs
28-12-2022, 08:34 PM
Maybe they are arranging a date
Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2022, 08:34 PM
He said he’d come say hi, I gave him where I’m sitting. You’re the only one that’s suggesting a fight.
28-12-2022, 08:35 PM
It's incredible given our run how intouch we still are with Aberdeen etc
Mental really
They are 2 points above us and doing awful and about to sack Goodwin.
Unlucky Joe.
Nice pass back there from Newell! Crying out for a bit of power there!
We have a squad of players who are only capable of playing decent for around 25 mins in each game, unfortunately they play that 25 mins at different times of the game, too many disappear when the 1st goal goes in against us, very little fight or spirit, we need to be more ugly when playing, too nice and polite.
Ray Donovan
28-12-2022, 08:36 PM
Maybe not but a bit of subjectivity required. If it’s that painful turn off the telly.
8th defeat in 10 games and a trip to Tynecastle up next
28-12-2022, 08:36 PM
You don't think more of a humping here, an 8th defeat in 10 games would have LJ in trouble?
I'm sure it would at least provoke a moment of consideration in the boardroom.
Managers don't often survive runs like this.
28-12-2022, 08:37 PM
You don't think more of a humping here, an 8th defeat in 10 games would have LJ in trouble?
We lose on Monday and he will be gone.
Celtic passing the ball around the box and youan just walking around like a lost toddler :hilarious
He said he’d come say hi, I gave him where I’m sitting. You’re the only one that’s suggesting a fight.
Just you make sure your hand bag is polished and ready.
Coach Jon
He’s ****ing useless and should be nowhere near the starting eleven. One of many problems with this team, and people are only starting to realise. He’s finished
He has always been average at best in his whole career, only at Hibs would he make a living out of it.
Good save Marshall.
Panic over, Hendersons on.
Either way it’s f***ing cringe mate.
LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 08:38 PM
We lose on Monday and he will be gone.
Think he'll be given until the end of January, loses both derbies he'll be given his marching orders
Hibees1973
It is patronising to say we were good for the 1st 10 mins.
We lack organisation again defensively. Very poor.
Hanlon honking again...needs dropped now.
Unlucky Joe.
I look forward to it featuring as a stat in the age old Newell/midfield debates. Most likely with it showing that statistically we actually have a good midfield.
28-12-2022, 08:39 PM
McGeady is still class.
A serious question but has McKirdy touched the ball?
Hibees1973
My night is complete.
A puff of wind could knock this snowflake over.
Crunchie
We've given it a go tonight, I'm sure the place would be in meltdown if we'd done an Aberdeen. It's a bad run so what, you can't keep sacking managers because they have a bad run. Johnson's shown enough for me to be given at least 2 or 3 years.
I'll say it again - that's 1-10 against them over 2 games, with time left to make it worse.
Surely losing by 1 goal means you are much more in the game and likely to nick something than us losing by 4?
We can't keep getting gubbed and saying it's OK cause we had a go. The scorelines don't show that's the case.
They have walked this one - we were never in it and if he keeps setting us up this way his job will be in serious danger.
Right so let’s sit in and lose by 2. Happy now?
Oh and by the way we didn’t even cross the half way line because we were so madly defensive.
28-12-2022, 08:40 PM
Sat against 10 was the outlier result, tonight shows our level.
It is patronising to say we were good for the 1st 10 mins.
We lack organisation again defensively. Very poor.
Hanlon honking again...needs dropped now.
Fish starts for me on Monday over Hanlon.
Hector Mudflap
incredible .
Paulie Walnuts
Near enough all our wins have been against 10. Our record against 11 is a disgrace.
LunasBoots
We've given it a go tonight, I'm sure the place would be in meltdown if we'd done an Aberdeen. It's a bad run so what, you can't keep sacking managers because they have a bad run. Johnson's shown enough for me to be given at least 2 or 3 years.
We've tried this in most of the big games this season, it hasn't worked time and time again
Yes
I look forward to it featuring as a stat in the age old Newell/midfield debates. Most likely with it showing that statistically we actually have a good midfield.
Well he has had our only shot on target tonight, it was a shot right?
Scrap that, Hendo's had a raker just kept out by Hart.
28-12-2022, 08:41 PM
Name a team in this league who aren’t a mile behind Celtic.
I’ll wait.
WTF. 2 or 3 years ? Assume you mean jail time ?
No. He has the physical presence of Casper the friendly ghost. Can see him being punted in January.
My night is complete.
A puff of wind could knock this snowflake over.
Is there any need to be so nasty?
Oh good, we're missing his strength and powerful midfield runs.
28-12-2022, 08:42 PM
I’ll wait.
Hibs, we are 5 or 6 miles behind them.
Fish starts for me on Monday over Hanlon.
Wouldn’t surprise me if Paul gets a new deal 😂 that’s how bad we are at present.
Only sentiment is keeping him at Hibs
Trinity Hibee
I’ll wait.
All are way behind Celtic but most can be compact and make it a game. Our ***** have collapsed twice this season against without putting up any kind of fight
Crunchie
We've tried this in most of the big games this season, it hasn't worked time and time again
Nisbet and Magennis will be the difference, give them time.
28-12-2022, 08:43 PM
It isn't good enough in this league. He will need a few wins very soon.
All are way behind Celtic but most can be compact and make it a game. Our ***** have collapsed twice this season against without putting up any kind of fight
If Rangers lose by as many next week nobody would bat an eyelid.
Youan hasn’t put a foot wrong tonight, he takes that in to the derby he will score.
2 or 3 years ?!!
He will be lucky to get another week if he loses the derby.
The club is still a mess - lack of spine from the top down through management and into the team.
It damn well should.
It's ridiculous he's not under huge pressure already. His record is worse than Maloney's with absolutely nothing to suggest things will improve.
Have we ever been on a worse run? Maybe our worst manager ever?
Donegal Hibby
I'm glad someone else has noticed this as well 😂
LunasBoots
28-12-2022, 08:44 PM
Hope so mate, can't help but think we need some decent signings in a hard January window, I'm hoping Lee has something decent lined up to address the same issues
Crunchie
28-12-2022, 08:44 PM
2 or 3 years ?!!
He will be lucky to get another week if he loses the derby.
The club is still a mess - lack of spine from the top down through management and into the team.
The lack of spine is coming from a few on this board wanting him gone.
Trinity Hibee
28-12-2022, 08:45 PM
Rangers will be 2nd in the league by a mile. We are dropping like a stone. You seem happy to ignore the last 10/11 games. Derby is the final straw to be honest. A defeat there and the season is over.
I didn’t expect much tonight but the way it’s unfolded has left a very bad taste in the mouth.
Donegal Hibby
28-12-2022, 08:45 PM
That is very likely to happen as well imo
****ing mental :faf::faf:
28-12-2022, 08:46 PM
What a ****ing beautiful intercept by Rocky
Paulie Walnuts
Yeah, he put it out trying to pass to Youan infront of me.
supermcginn
He's absolutely dreadful. He's never been a good player but he's a liability now.
Ray Donovan
It damn well should.
It's ridiculous he's not under huge pressure already. His record is worse than Maloney's with absolutely nothing to suggest things will improve.
I think the only reason Ron Gordon won't sack him is because he's sacked 2 in just over 12 months and by sacking a third it's basically admitting he's made an absolute shambolic mess of it.
28-12-2022, 08:47 PM
He's won 7 games in the league. 5 of those came against sides who went down to 10 men. Most early in the game. So only 2 wins against sides that managed to keep 11 on the park.
I've defended LJ long enough in that I've spent most of my time blaming recruitment and upper management. However his non reaction to Rangers turning things around last week had alarm bells ringing. If he fails to get a result against Hearts then I'd struggle to find any reason to keep him on. If he goes then others need to also.
It damn well should.
😂😂 Quite incredible, the run of results before the World Cup break fair enough, but two losses against Rangers and a dominant Celtic side aren’t a fair judgment of a manager.
Weve been on worse runs and he’s not even in the bottom ten Hibs managers. Possibly not even twenty.
We were always getting humped tonight. This team are a country mile ahead of anyone else in the league. You could put together the best eleven players from the other eleven teams in the league and they’d struggle.
I’ll wait.
10-1 aggregate score says it all.
That is very likely to happen as well imo
This Celtic team are every bit as good or better than Rodgers team. Different level to even Rangers.
Crunchie
Hibs teams in the 70s regularly conceded 4, 5 or 6 to this mob, and we were a good team back then. **** happens people.
28-12-2022, 08:48 PM
He's absolutely dreadful. He's never been a good player but he's a liability now.
😂😂
Laughable. Absolutely laughable.
Magennis needs to be in the middle
Youan hasn’t put a foot wrong tonight, he takes that in to the derby he will score.
😂 wow.
Right so let’s sit in and lose by 2. Happy now?
Oh and by the way we didn’t even cross the half way line because we were so madly defensive.
It doesn't work though. What's the definition of insanity again? Oh yeah, setting your team out for these games in the same way time and time again, getting cuffed and expecting things to magically change next time.
There is a balance to be found against the OF. Its not easy but we can't keep losing to them by 4, 5 or 6 goals and expect to keep fans happy.
28-12-2022, 08:49 PM
10-1 aggregate score says it all.
Says what? That a team with 20 times our budget score 10 times more goals than us?
Clear the whole ****ing club out, owner, c/e, scouting, manager, coaching and start again pleae.
We could with a Home Bargains version of Calum McGregor.
Keeps everything alive for them and moves the ball back into an attacking position when it breaks down.
You mean that you've never liked him as a player.
Daft exaggeration doesn't help your point.
The lack of spine is coming from a few on this board wanting him gone.
Keep LJ and lowest ST sales in a long time next season unless we seriously improve which isn’t looking likely.
Johnson is too nice. Players don’t respect him and the team is poorly set out and with a soft spine.
We are awful and the occasional win against 10 players won’t change my mind.
Crunchie
****ing mental :faf::faf:
Away play your football managers game.
28-12-2022, 08:50 PM
Says what? That a team with 20 times our budget score 10 times more goals than us?
They had 10 times our budget when they couldn't beat us at ER in the league for years as well.
No one disputing how good Celtic are but our regression in the last couple of years is frightening.
supermcginn
28-12-2022, 08:51 PM
You mean that you've never liked him as a player.
Daft exaggeration doesn't help your point.
It's not an exaggeration. He's rotten and always has been.
We’re absolutely ****ing awful
So’s the manager
So’s the players
supermcginn
😂😂
Laughable. Absolutely laughable.
Yes he is.
It doesn't work though. What's the definition of insanity again? Oh yeah, setting your team out for these games in the same way time and time again, getting cuffed and expecting things to magically change next time.
There is a balance to be found against the OF. Its not easy but we can't keep losing to them by 4, 5 or 6 goals and expect to keep fans happy.
Twice is not repeatedly. Twice is not a pattern. We played a different formation tonight to the team that played at Celtic Park for starters.
The day we conduct ourselves like Goodwins Aberdeen is the day I turn off to Hibs altogether.
28-12-2022, 08:52 PM
Who in their right mind thought Henderson was good enough to play for us?:confused:
Rocky, Youan and Marshall did ok.
Everyone else - lol
Seen Celtic come to ER with some proper top players and they’ve always been given a game. We’ve always been competitive.
This lot let this Celtic team run round them. No attempt to make it difficult for them. No fight. No desire. No belief. No anything. No even a yellow card because we can’t actually get close enough to foul.
Who in their right mind thought Henderson was good enough to play for us?:confused:
Shaun Maloney.
Keep LJ and lowest ST sales in a long time next season unless we seriously improve which isn’t looking likely.
Johnson is too nice. Players don’t respect him and the team is poorly set out and with a soft spine.
We are awful and the occasional win against 10 players won’t change my mind.
Too nice ? The guy is an utter prick who’d eat himself if he was made of chocolate.
28-12-2022, 08:53 PM
Yes he is.
I hope you get a wee ping of regret every time you see him holding the Scottish cup.
Yeah, but they are not on a terrible run of something like 8 defeats in the last 10.
Donegal Hibby
This Celtic team are every bit as good or better than Rodgers team. Different level to even Rangers.
Agree , Ange postecoglou has build a outstanding team . Think we have looked ok at times and won't be up against this kind of opposition every week.
Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2022, 08:54 PM
So’s the manager
So’s the players
Aye but if you asked celtic they’d say we were the best team they’ve played apparently :faf:
28-12-2022, 08:54 PM
They had 10 times our budget when they couldn't beat us at ER in the league for years as well.
No one disputing how good Celtic are but our regression in the last couple of years is frightening.
This Celtic side would pump that Celtic side IMO, and we also had an exceptional side in that period, especially in the midfield.
Regression, no one would deny that in fairness.
28-12-2022, 08:55 PM
You can't come on and say this place is mental then go on to say LJ should be given 2 to 3 years. I'd love for you to explain what he's shown that makes you think this.
7 league wins, 5 against 10 men. Pumped out the league cup against lower league teams. He's got a ***** record. Loses against Hearts which seems inevitable and he'll be gone. Only thing keeping him in a job at the minute is the fact that Ron will have to accept that he and his son have made an arse of things also. Can't be having that so best to hide away whilst they **** about in the background. That poster saying there was changes happening at that level is the only positive thing I've heard about the club in months.
28-12-2022, 08:55 PM
Too nice ? The guy is an utter prick who’d eat himself if he was made of chocolate.
Ffs.
Celtic have won 18 of their 19 games this season.
They're playing in their own league.
You're the one coming out with ridiculous statements saying 2-3 years, what exactly are you seeing from Johnson that makes you think he has the ability to turn this around and make us a team capable of challenging for 3rd and even making the games against the OF at least competitive.
You do realise FM isn't real life and is a computer game, lets say I've been watching football for over 55 years, enough time to gauge what a good player or manager looks like.
28-12-2022, 08:57 PM
It’s hard to judge against this Celtic side but we are not very good. We could do with a proper right back along with a decent centre half, centre mid, a striker, another Boyle etc.
Basildon Hibs
28-12-2022, 08:58 PM
So’s the manager
So’s the players
👍😃
He's here!
28-12-2022, 08:58 PM
Seen Celtic come to ER with some proper top players and they’ve always been given a game. We’ve always been competitive.
This lot let this Celtic team run round them. No attempt to make it difficult for them. No fight. No desire. No belief. No anything. No even a yellow card because we can’t actually get close enough to foul.
We've suffered plenty of heavy defeats at ER to Celtic, even when we've been a better team. The reason we didn't make it difficult tonight for Celtic isn't because we didn't try. We're just not good enough and the scoreline was simply an accurate reflection of the gulf between the sides.
Our focus for the rest of this season is staying above the relegation zone, not challenging Celtic.
28-12-2022, 08:59 PM
Hibs teams in the 70s regularly conceded 4, 5 or 6 to this mob, and we were a good team back then. **** happens people.
It’s nearly 2023.
Like it or not Hibs have a generation of fans who don’t like the we are just Hibs it’s happened before accept it.
Football is expensive and fans put a lot of £ into the club.
They don’t expect to win every game but compete to a certain level.
Tonight we looked like a Championship side playing a Premier league side.
We have some really poor players who simply aren’t good enough.
28-12-2022, 09:01 PM
Yep.
I’ve no idea what people were expecting. Plenty teams taken far worse thrashings from them this season and plenty more will.
28-12-2022, 09:02 PM
Yep.
I’ve no idea what people were expecting. Plenty teams taken far worse thrashings from them this season and plenty more will.
This is the bar now. How low can we go?
It's not an exaggeration. He's rotten and always has been.
Total bollocks, and not much further argument needed.
Absolutely not disputing that we need better of course.
Silky
Yeah, but they are not on a terrible run of something like 8 defeats in the last 10.
Ahh, the old "yeah, but" response. He has a point to be fair. It may not fit the narrative, but he makes a reasonable point.
Crunchie
You're the one coming out with ridiculous statements saying 2-3 years, what exactly are you seeing from Johnson that makes you think he has the ability to turn this around and make us a team capable of challenging for 3rd and even making the games against the OF at least competitive.
You do realise FM isn't real life and is a computer game, lets say I've been watching football for over 55 years, enough time to gauge what a good player or manager looks like.
You're the one who compared a Hibs players rating on FM a while back to his form in real life. I don't play silly computer games, and at your age I'd suggest you shouldn't either.
loanheadhibby
I hope you get a wee ping of regret every time you see him holding the Scottish cup.
That was 6 years ago .
It's sad watching him now, he's been a great Hibs servant.
28-12-2022, 09:03 PM
I thought we played okay first half. It was so difficult to compete, however, and the some of the defending was very poor. We are amidst a very tough sequence of games, so there is mitigation for the manager, but eight defeats in ten games doesn't cut it. We need to find a few wins.
Trinity Hibee
28-12-2022, 09:03 PM
Yep.
People are expecting us to compete, make it difficult like many teams in the league have done. We’ve lost 10-1 on agg over 2 games. Pish!
28-12-2022, 09:04 PM
Could’ve at least gave them a game
Chorley Hibee
28-12-2022, 09:04 PM
This Celtic team aren't anywhere near as good as an O'Neill side, a Rodgers side or even some of Lennon's teams.
You only need to see their pathetic performances in Europe to see that.
People cracking one off to this lot are oblivious to how chronic the rest of this league is, probably the worst standard this century outside Celtic.
I'd expect most teams to beat Hibs unfortunately, we rarely beat anyone unless we get a favourable sending off in our favour.
Monday will be yet another spineless capitulation too.
28-12-2022, 09:05 PM
People are expecting us to compete, make it difficult like many teams in the league have done. We’ve lost 10-1 on agg over 2 games. Pish!
People are delusional if they think we can compete with Celtic outwith them having a terrible day at the office.
loanheadhibby
Here’s a thought, we’ll likely be relying on him, Campbell and Newell in a relegation dogfight.
Mcbizz1998
Meh. We had a go but ultimately they are light years ahead of every team in this league bar the Huns, who they are still miles ahead of.
More important games to come.
Crunchie
We did give them a game, wtf were you watching the first 15 minures. I thought we were unlucky early doors, once they score it becomes difficult.
Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2022, 09:07 PM
Yep.
No, plenty teams haven’t. Only Kilmarnock and Dundee United have managed worse than that. Oh, and us on a seperate occasion.
loanheadhibby
People are delusional if they think we can compete with Celtic outwith them having a terrible day at the office.
Agree somewhat but they go to Livi, Aberdeen, Tynie and they get a real tough game. They come to Easter Road and it’s a canter at worst. They don’t even get out of 3rd gear.
Silky
Like Goodwin's Aberdeen? Total defensive anti-football? That's pish. And I hope I never, ever, see a Hibs team play like that.
An element of misfortune with the first three goals - break of the ball falls perfectly plum for a Celtic strike from relative close range, slip from Cadden for second to start the (admittedly uncontested) run before finishing and the penalty a deflected ball which unfortunately resulted in Stevenson handling. The fourth was basically the kind of goal you lose when 3 down.
A bright and very encouraging start though, but ultimately a bit of a mismatch when Celtic are handed goals on a plate and they gather momentum that is unassailable for our level.
Didn’t expect to win, and won’t lose a whole lot of sleep over it. Derby a million times more important so we need to quickly forget about this one and focus on putting things right against a side much closer to our level.
Abysmyl Maeda had a free hold on left disappointing after Saturday
Paulie Walnuts
We did give them a game, wtf were you watching the first 15 minures. I thought we were unlucky early doors, once they score it becomes difficult.
Remind me how long the game lasts?
28-12-2022, 09:08 PM
We didnt. Playing ok for 15 minutes, isn’t giving a team a game 😂
Mcbizz1998
28-12-2022, 09:09 PM
This Celtic team aren't anywhere near as good as an O'Neill side, a Rodgers side or even some of Lennon's teams.
You only need to see their pathetic performances in Europe to see that.
People cracking one off to this lot are oblivious to how chronic the rest of this league is, probably the worst standard this century outside Celtic.
I'd expect most teams to beat Hibs unfortunately, we rarely beat anyone unless we get a favourable sending off in our favour.
Monday will be yet another spineless capitulation too.
Maybe they aren’t as good as the teams mentioned but the gap between them and the rest of the teams is just as big, if not bigger.
There is nothing between us and 10 other teams in, we are way off rangers and even further off Celtic.
Crunchie
28-12-2022, 09:10 PM
Remind me how long the game lasts?
We score first which we should have done it's a different game. I'll let you lot post how shire we are though, you seem to get a kick out of it.
Trinity Hibee
Like Goodwin's Aberdeen? Total defensive anti-football? That's pish. And I hope I never, ever, see a Hibs team play like that.
Is there not a horses for courses element? We couldn’t defend if our lives depended on it so sitting in wouldn’t make a blind bit of difference.
A result against Celtic isn’t going to define a season on its own but we are being hammered which isn’t far off what happens to teams that get relegated. Not that I’m saying we will be relegated but we are so far off where we should be it’s unreal. A defeat in the derby ends of European ambitions and a defeat in the cup to the will spell the end for LJ. We are such a state it’s unreal
Looks like we tried?
Good start then Celtic's quality took over. We missed a sitter to make it 2-1 and were then punished.
He's here!
We didnt. Playing ok for 15 minutes, isn’t giving a team a game 😂
If we could give Celtic a game we'd be challenging them for the title. We tried hard enough tonight but we're just miles off their quality.
You're the one who compared a Hibs players rating on FM a while back to his form in real life. I don't play silly computer games, and at your age I'd suggest you shouldn't either.
What the actual **** are you talking about? So is playing a football simulation game now limited to age, when did that happen?
Being my age I'll do what the **** I want to do without comments from someone on a message board with a fake name like Crunchie ffs.
Trinity Hibee
28-12-2022, 09:12 PM
We score first which we should have done it's a different game. I'll let you lot post how shire we are though, you seem to get a kick out of it.
Wtf? We didn’t score first, we didn’t give them a game and we have now lost 8 out of 10 of whatever it is. How can that be defended?
28-12-2022, 09:12 PM
I’d honestly rather watch us play an entertaining brand of football in the championship than watch us play anti football to grind out results for survival in the manner of Goodwin in the SPL.
Shouldn’t come to that if we stick to our guns and persevere with a positive philosophy. Football should always win in the end.
The Baldmans Comb
28-12-2022, 09:13 PM
It was a free hit against a vastly superior team so a defeat was more or less inevitable though the Wideo didn't help our cause much by bumming Celtic up pre match as world beaters but other than that and not changing anything at half time there was no way to avoid that outcome.
He is one heavy defeat or 2/3 more bad results from the sack as the decision will then have to be made as to whether a used car salesman can fight and win a relegation battle.
I have long thought he can't and hopefully Ron and his laddie think similar as well as looking deeply at themselves in the mirror.
Hanlon getting a doing on sky for the 4th goal.
Bushiri not too clever but imo it’s Hanlon going left the gives Kyogo the space to score.
Paulie Walnuts
That’s about the most meaningless post I’ve ever seen. If we scored 2nd, 3rd or 4th it’s a different game as well. We didn’t though. Using imaginary scenarios to defend the indefensible is nonsense.
Tommy75
Yep.
Other than Dundee Utd who has taken a far worse thrashing?
Trinity Hibee
28-12-2022, 09:14 PM
That’s about the most meaningless post I’ve ever seen. If we scored 2nd, 3rd or 4th it’s a different game as well. We didn’t though. Using imaginary scenarios to defend the indefensible is nonsense.
Bingo. All of buts and maybes. About as bad as referring to this expected goals stat to prove a point. If you don’t score, compete or win games everything else is irrelevant
Chorley Hibee
28-12-2022, 09:15 PM
Maybe they aren’t as good as the teams mentioned but the gap between them and the rest of the teams is just as big, if not bigger.
There is nothing between us and 10 other teams in, we are way off rangers and even further off Celtic.
I agree, as I said, the standard of the other ten is abysmal, yet Hibs still can't put together a team even remotely capable of dispensing with the dross that populates our league.
The standards at the club are a joke.
I don't care how ****ing good Celtic are, when you watch players walk 30/40 yards without challenging them, or repeatedly fail to close down crosses into the box, then it's no surprise we're regularly handed our arse on a plate.
Like many of our support though, we just seem to accept it.
28-12-2022, 09:16 PM
Don’t forgot Goodwins awful team beat us in the last game we played 4-1.
Ok we beat them at ER but they had 10 men.
28-12-2022, 09:17 PM
There isn’t a team in this league - Rangers included - that Celtic couldn’t rip apart when they want to.
Absolutely. Too many fantasists on here tonight failing to recognise that very obvious fact. Lets rip into our own club in any case.
Paulie Walnuts
28-12-2022, 09:18 PM
Absolutely. Too many fantasists on here tonight failing to recognise that very obvious fact. Lets rip into our own club in any case.
Weird that they simply haven’t wanted to do it for weeks in that case.
Must have wanted last minute winners in a good few of their last few games rather than wanting to rip teams apart.
Trinity Hibee
Again, I think most would accept we won’t beat Celtic often but the 2 games this season we may as well not have turned up we’ve been beaten so badly. You can choose to ignore that if you want buts it’s a fact
LunasBoots
LJ putting pressure on the owners with his comments a bit there
28-12-2022, 09:20 PM
Now Boyd lays in to us for not getting bookings?
What did he say?
We haven’t always got the recruitment right.
Trinity Hibee
LJ appears very good at the talk but not the walk
28-12-2022, 09:21 PM
We haven’t always got the recruitment right.
Well, he's 100% right on that.
Ray Donovan
Can't believe I largely agree with Kris Boyd.
Why does he speak so fast all the time though? Like he’s constantly coked out his fat tits..
LunasBoots
What did he say?
Recruitment's not right and he needs his own players
Now Boyd lays in to us for not getting bookings?
It’s a decent point from the fat hun
He was spot on about the recruitment side of the club.
We could with a Home Bargains version of Calum McGregor.
Keeps everything alive for them and moves the ball back into an attacking position when it breaks down.
You know that “Rolls Royce of a player” phrase that gets bandied around? It refers to players like him, not Joe ****ing Newell.
They’re a good side and they played well tonight but they’re not 1970 Brazil.
I think Calum McGregor is a pretty special player though, and criminally underrated.
Trinity Hibee
28-12-2022, 09:22 PM
Recruitment's not right and he needs his own players
What was the summer then if they aren’t his own players?
Kris Boyd is even sticking up for fans saying we deserve better.
It’s a decent point from the fat hun
Why?
What would bookings have achieved tonight?
And quite rightly too, he wants to play a certain way and the players he has are simply not good enough, too many players here since Ross was here, time to be cruel and cut a few loose. I still feel he could and should get more out of these players, yes Celtic are miles ahead every other club but we just capitulated once again when the pressure was on.
28-12-2022, 09:23 PM
What was the summer then if they aren’t his own players?
His point was some players have seen off 3 or 4 managers and they need players to suit the play style.
28-12-2022, 09:23 PM
Why?
It would mean we got close enough to them to at least put a challenge in
Why?
Broken up play and stopped their constant attacks.
28-12-2022, 09:24 PM
It would mean we got close enough to them to at least put a challenge in
Means **** all if you give away free kicks and yellow cards.
There wasn’t a point tonight where I felt the players weren’t trying hard enough.
Ray Donovan
Why does he speak so fast all the time though? Like he’s constantly coked out his fat tits..
Trinity Hibee
His point was some players have seen off 3 or 4 managers and they need players to suit the play style.
That’s fair enough but a fair amount came in over the summer who haven’t had a look in so what does that say about them? He’s presumably okayed their arrival
28-12-2022, 09:25 PM
Broken up play and stopped their constant attacks.
And get suspensions and potential red cards?
Abysmyl Maeda had a free hold on left disappointing after Saturday
Cadden is not even Scottish Championship level.
Newell anonymous again.
Porto in the wrong position (for his last game).
Grim.
He was spot on about the recruitment side of the club.
Leann clearly had Gordon Sussed and left on her own accordance after scottish cup win and since Lennon the feel good factor has gone
28-12-2022, 09:26 PM
Ah sorry, we gave them a game for 15 minutes of 90 then got beat 4-0. Apologies.
Not about being dirty but being clever, the odd we block, trip etc, just breaks up the play.
28-12-2022, 09:29 PM
I’d be delighted if the likes of Cadden and Newell got suspensions. Their selection seems to be bulletproof despite regular poor performances.
Stokesy's on fire
28-12-2022, 09:29 PM
Good Lee Johnson is spot on.