View Full Version : Match Updates Rangers v Hibs

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

15-12-2022, 09:04 PM
Probably been said but playing porto as a holding midfielder tonight was madness. He offered nothing and was totally wasted. Also helped to expose hanlon and cadden at the same time. Just ****ing baffling from LJ.

15-12-2022, 09:04 PM
Youan
Bojang
Melkerson
Henderson

Absolute huddies

Add McKirdy, Mueller, Jasper, Tavares……….etc.

We played ok at times tonight but the many many fringe players brought in over the past 2 seasons are really not up to it. Could have been worse I suppose but I think coat peg isn’t fully secure for the manager.

15-12-2022, 09:05 PM
First half really good. Second half, except the first five minutes was terrible. Sat off, gave up. And Johnson far too late with subs.

Missed opportunity.

JJP
15-12-2022, 09:06 PM
That second half was so unprofessional. Absolutely dreadful stuff.

Am I the only one that thought Cabraja was decent? Second half everything came down his side and he had little support.

Worst I’ve seen Newell. I can accept a poor performance in terms of quality but he just seemed miles off it. No niggly tackles, not in anyones face and nothing on the ball whatsoever.

Yes he is absolutely f’in awful, terrible

Can’t defend worth a damn

Slow ponderous uncoordinated panic merchant with the concentration span of a gnat

Possibly the worst left back since the Duffy days

I'm not going to jump on the bandwagon of criticising everyone. I think k we know we need better across the team. But I'll make an exception for Youan. He was a man short the entire game and wandered about ball watching, leaving his man, losing the ball, not looking interested. Really really poor player

The Baldmans Comb
15-12-2022, 09:07 PM
That wide-0 just froze and he had no idea how to approach the 2nd half and just allowed the team to be completely steam rolled over.

3-2 down away from home after 65 minute and it takes him until the 86th minute when he thinks it might be an idea to bring on the remaining subs in scattergun fashion.

His slavering used car salesman post match interview should be well worth a listen as he patronises the support and looks down on Scottish football from his usual lofty peak as its a script well written.

Hopefully for the last time though I fear he will get the Livi game and both derbys.

God help us.

Green Reaper
That second half was so unprofessional. Absolutely dreadful stuff.

Why wait for so long to make changes

H18S NX
I hope I never see Youan in a Hibs jersey ever again. He’s utter pish. Still can’t believe there was a thread earlier in the season suggesting we make his loan permanent before another team came in for him....totally agree m8

Mental change from the first to the second. That rangers team were there for the taking.

Alarm bells starting to ring about LJ for me. Can’t motivate the team. Bizarre substitutions which usually come too late.

His starting 11 is a complete lottery nearly every week.

Starting to ring? We’ve spent a fortune, we still have no midfield, we’re gutless and we play with the hearts of mice. If he hasn’t lost that dressing room already he will do soon.

There will be someone on in a bit telling us Newell is the least of our worries.

I honestly can't recall seeing a midfielder with so few touches of the ball in a game. With about 15 minutes to go he finally appeared, turned well and passed it straight to a hun player. And that was that. Dreadful attitude.

Victor
15-12-2022, 09:08 PM
I would keep Marshall and………………………………………………ehm………………………………………………………

Only Hibs can make a 3-2 at Ibrox seem so anti-climatic... It wasn't the hiding so many of us feared but to take the lead twice against a defence that was all over the shop and take nothing is frustrating. We were really quite pathetic in the second half.
Minutes for Nisbet (and a nice goal), Magennis and McGeady are positive, we really need that trio to get fitter and have a prolonged run, but Magennis wide right and Porto in centre-mid is not a long-term solution.

He's here!
I'm as negative as they come about Hibs right now but we were not 'shambolic from start to finish'. I was pleasantly surprised by the first half as I anticipated a doing.

Sure, if we lose to Livi then any glimmer of optimism will be snuffed right out but I thought we played well compared to before the WC break.

15-12-2022, 09:09 PM
We were absolutely fine in the first half.

Unfortunately football is a 90 minute game.

Can’t defend worth a dam

Slow ponderous uncoordinated panic merchant with the concentration span if a gnat

That's my view too. How Lewis is sub is beyond me. For all he got booked and never contributed tonight he looked like he cared and wanted to battle. That is more than pretty much every other player in that second half

Cadden gets away with murder for me.

Just allows his man to put cross after cross in the box with no pressure

15-12-2022, 09:11 PM

Can’t defend worth a dam

Slow ponderous uncoordinated panic merchant with the concentration span of a gnat

That's a massive leap.

He had a mad 5 or 10 minutes tonight where nothing he did went right but he wasn't as bad as some are saying

Cadden gets away with murder for me.

Just allows his man to put cross after cross in the box with no pressure

Agree with that

Master of running up blind alleys as well

That's my view too. How Lewis is sub is beyond me. For all he got booked and never contributed tonight he looked like he cared and wanted to battle. That is more than pretty much every other player in that second half

He came on with 5 minutes to go, what do you want him to do to contribute?

15-12-2022, 09:12 PM
I hope you're all ready for... The Hyperbole Squad™!!!

Ron D Hibbie
Am I the only one that thought Cabraja was decent? Second half everything came down his side and he had little support.

Worst I’ve seen Newell. I can accept a poor performance in terms of quality but he just seemed miles off it. No niggly tackles, not in anyones face and nothing on the ball whatsoever.

Yes he was hopeless.

There will be someone on in a bit telling us Newell is the least of our worries.

Yep.

He’s the epitome of all that’s wrong in our midfield/team

For me as the season goes on, more and more of the players look worse/expendable.

Cadden, Cabraja, Porto, Hanlon, Newell. Just so poor

Dobosz83
Unfortunately, it will become apparent, likely around the end of January, that Lee Johnson and his coaching staff were the wrong appointment for the club by a team of people who appointed Maloney not so long ago.

I appreciate he’s been hampered beyond belief by the utterly appalling recruitment that’s taken place, but there is plenty of evidence of his inability to manage games based on his time at Bristol City and Sunderland. Lee appears to talk a good game, but delivering isn’t his strong suit.

Tonight will be pitched as a win as it wasn’t 6-1 and we lead at half time. However, the second half and his subs were telling.

Livi, Celtic and a couple of games against Hearts are on the agenda to save his job…

All the best Lee.

15-12-2022, 09:13 PM
He came on with 5 minutes to go, what do you want him to do to contribute? I wasn't criticising him.

I thought Cabraja looked really wobbly at the start of the second half as we shrank back.

Good at other times.

That's a massive leap.

He had a mad 5 or 10 minutes tonight where nothing he did went right but he wasn't as bad as some are saying

Agree.

When you have nothing in front and Hanlon to the side you don’t have much help.

There was a few occasions Cabraja done well to create a yard of space and there was 0 movement either in front of him or sideways. The centre mids never wanted it and it was that or a punt.

I wasn't criticising him.

Good :greengrin

That's a massive leap.

It’s more than that he looks okay-ish going forward but is really really dreadful defensively

Even when he is in position to make a tackle he miss kicks it or dallies too long and is dispossessed.

Never looked comfortable from minute one.

CL0762
15-12-2022, 09:14 PM

The statpadders will be creaming at him getting an assist.

15-12-2022, 09:15 PM
That's my view too. How Lewis is sub is beyond me. For all he got booked and never contributed tonight he looked like he cared and wanted to battle. That is more than pretty much every other player in that second halfAll Lewis done was ended up wasting time by giving away needless fouls

Silly for such a experienced player

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Victor
Agree.

There was a few occasions Cabraja done well to create a yard of space and there was 0 movement either in front of him or sideways. The centre mids never wanted it and it was that or a punt.

This. We get to the half way line and then nothing. We have no one capable of carrying the ball and no one looking to take it on. Toothless.

Ross got sacked and had plenty proof he could have us playing good football and get us to semis in cup. LJ has showed nowt

Livi must win if not get him gone

CL0762
15-12-2022, 09:16 PM
Agree with that

Master of running up blind alleys as well

One of the only players that gets slower running with the ball than without.

15-12-2022, 09:17 PM
Nisbet was a big positive tonight

Such a clever player

Hopefully mykola is back soon to add to that threat

Nice to see nisbet, mcgeady and Magennis in the same squad

Agree.

All very good and accurate, but he is a defender first and foremost in a back four and cannot defend for the life of him.

One of the only players that gets slower running with the ball than without.
Surley everyone is slower running with the ball?

thebausburst
15-12-2022, 09:18 PM
2nd half performance was as bad as first half was good. Players looked exhausted in 2nd half, Youhan barely gets into a jog, look at Cabraja for the 3rd he just gives up. LJ a dead man walking, no way this team getting anything against Celtic or away at Tynie, makes Livi game massive.

Nisbet was a big positive tonight

Such a clever player

Hopefully mykola is back soon to add to that threat

Nice to see nisbet, mcgeady and Magennis in the same squad

Agreed getting Nisbet back is a big boost

Hibees1973
Must admit the 1st half surprised me. The 2nd half didn't.

Anyone with some knowledge of Scottish Football would have known the Hun would have a right go in the second half. Even with a lead this Hibs team were not willing to fight and even dig out a draw.

Livingston game is huge.

A reckon we are going to be in the bottom 2 come season end.

15-12-2022, 09:19 PM
Cabraja had a bad game, but it must be about his first

Hanlon needs replaced. Pronto

Midfield was anonymous 2nd half.

Youan is woeful. Utterly, utterly so. Could've had us 3-1 up but scuffed it straight at the rage machine.

Subs

Like jojo said, too little, too late.

cameronw-hfc
15-12-2022, 09:20 PM

Youan is woeful. Utterly, utterly so. Could've had us 3-1 up but scuffed it straight at the rage machine.

Subs

Youan confuses me. First half he looked like a good footballer with shocking decision making. Second he looked like an amateur.

15-12-2022, 09:21 PM
Can you add Newell to the list please - the boy plays with pampers on, always ***** the bed in games. Awful player and he's the first I'd be placing on the transfer list. How anyone can defend him or even begin the claim he's the 'best midfielder at the club' is beyond me. Heart of a pea, be great at hide and seek though :aok:

As for Hanlon - enough is enough Hibs :aok:

Couldn't agree more

15-12-2022, 09:21 PM
The time we gave them to get crosses into the box was criminal. How many times they were 2 on 1 with our full backs is deeply worrying. Total lack of any game plan going by the performance and Hanlon just woeful once more. What did they say at half time? Decent to disastrous in the blink of an eye.

15-12-2022, 09:22 PM
All very good and accurate, but he is a defender first and foremost in a back four and cannot defend for the life of him.

Fair enough, all about opinions but I never thought he defended poorly at all.

He at least went to meet his opponent unlike Cadden who left the winger or full back to everyone else

15-12-2022, 09:22 PM

Subs

Cabraja has been really poor for a while now. He's not showing as an upgrade on Doig, or even a better alternative than a 35 year old Lewis Stevenson. One to move on.

Paul was terrible tonight, complicit in all three goals and his all round performance was really poor. He's not been great this season and should be another one who's place at the club is under threat.

The Captain....
15-12-2022, 09:23 PM
Any crumbs of comfort from a bright and encouraging first half cancelled out by an all too familiar capitulation from a bunch of players who cannot win games.

Subs were ****ing depressing..like watching U11 school kids scampering about the park to no effect at all.

Recruitment has been ****ing criminal.

Sent from my SM-S906B using Tapatalk

15-12-2022, 09:24 PM
"An excellent performance" says Johnson....

The poorest for me is Youan.

Not just his decision making, just his ability.

He really struggles to control the ball

Oh WoW this interview ….

15-12-2022, 09:25 PM

I get what he’s saying, he always can’t tear into a team on a 4 game losing run

chasitup

You're joking? Did he really say that?

Fair enough, all about opinions but I never thought he defended poorly at all.

He at least went to meet his opponent unlike Cadden who left the winger or full back to everyone else

His composure went, he was panicking, and I thought that transmitted to other players.

He was decent at other times though and I like him as a player so will give him a certain benefit of the doubt.

Unfortunately, it will become apparent, likely around the end of January, that Lee Johnson and his coaching staff were the wrong appointment for the club by a team of people who appointed Maloney not so long ago.

I appreciate he’s been hampered beyond belief by the utterly appalling recruitment that’s taken place, but there is plenty of evidence of his inability to manage games based on his time at Bristol City and Sunderland. Lee appears to talk a good game, but delivering isn’t his strong suit.

Tonight will be pitched as a win as it wasn’t 6-1 and we lead at half time. However, the second half and his subs were telling.

Livi, Celtic and a couple of games against Hearts are on the agenda to save his job…

All the best Lee.

Correct as good at times we were 1st half - 2nd half was a horror show - huns were awful but was a training game 2nd half for them.

Porto in midfield shows how bad our recruitment has been.

Centre back x2
Centre midfield x2
right back

all needed ASAP

ErinGoBraghHFC
15-12-2022, 09:26 PM
Where is Bojang? [emoji23]

I’ve heard Bojang is actually taking hibs to court over the accommodation they’ve put him up in, not sure how true that is though [emoji23] ****in shambles at the minute

1 shot in the second half, that being Henderson’s long range ‘attempt’ (?)

Excellent 😆

You're joking? Did he really say that?

He did indeed. Not an excellent first half but an excellent performance. Used the lack of fitness of key players as an excuse.

Ross got sacked and had plenty proof he could have us playing good football and get us to semis in cup. LJ has showed nowt

Livi must win if not get him gone

Next manager will go same way unless we fix recruitment.

I always thought to have a successful team you build a strong core and then build from that. The middle of our team is weak. No mobility and no drive.

Lee Johnson going won't fix that. He deserves huge criticism but we need a clear out at multiple levels of the club. Not just players and manager.

Porteous' celebration says everything for me. Scoring a free header against Rangers, gives it the big yin by running all the way to the Hibs fans. Outcome of match? A loss, Ryan, a loss. Pretty sure he thinks he's Maldini and doing us a favour.

Think we're full of players who think they are better than Hibs and/or are squad fillers who we'll never see.

So as to not pick solely on Porteous, Newell, jeez, most overrated midfielder I've seen at Hibs for a long long time. Genuinely think Hallberg is a better midfielder. He runs, puts tackles in and moves. Newell and Youan could've stayed in at half time and I wouldn't have noticed a difference.

The statpadders will be creaming at him getting an assist.

Best midfielder we have apparently :faf: he sums up what Hibs are - soft, easy to play against, heads in the sand, leaderless, poor mentality and attitude. Don't think I have ever seen him change a game, lead by example, grab the game by the scruff of the neck - just lets the game pass him by and doesn't ever look like a defeat affects him. Would love to see his stats and how much ground he covers in games, I'd wager he's at the lower end of ground covered in a game. Lazy player and one who I can't wait to see leave the club.

Scotty Leither
15-12-2022, 09:27 PM
How the laddie Youan got the full 90 minutes is utterly beyond me. He loses the ball for the equaliser trying to take his man on instead of taking the ball in, and then basically gives up and lets the boy run away from him.

The guy Cabraja is targeted by every team and tonight was no different, but he got zero protection from Youan in front of him.

2nd half was a joke after we lost the 3rd goal, we basically didn’t see the ball again, then Johnson caps it off with his usual tombola substitutions, who gave us the sum total of nowt beyond Henderson’s pass back.

Not good enough, but hey we didn’t get disgraced and we were plucky losers which will be Johnson’s banal reaction to the loss.

15-12-2022, 09:27 PM
Surley everyone is slower running with the ball?

Apart from Mbappe

AL-Qaholik
15-12-2022, 09:28 PM
If he genuinely thinks that was “excellent”, we might as well give up and accept relegation now.
An utterly pathetic second half and one of the worst runs of form we’ve ever been on.

chasitup
15-12-2022, 09:28 PM
He did indeed. Not an excellent first half but an excellent performance. Used the lack of fitness of key players as an excuse.
Brilliant, another excellent wind bag this inept owner and and board have appointed. This is only going one way.....

Zambernardi1875
15-12-2022, 09:29 PM
Next manager will go same way unless we fix recruitment.

I always thought to have a successful team you build a strong core and then build from that. The middle of our team is weak. No mobility and no drive.

Lee Johnson going won't fix that. He deserves huge criticism but we need a clear out at multiple levels of the club. Not just players and manager.

Porteous' celebration says everything for me. Scoring a free header against Rangers, gives it the big yin by running all the way to the Hibs fans. Outcome of match? A loss, Ryan, a loss. Pretty sure he thinks he's Maldini and doing us a favour.

Think we're full of players who think they are better than Hibs and/or are squad fillers who we'll never see.

So to not pick solely on Porteous, Newell, jeez, most overrated midfielder I've seen at Hibs for a long long time. Genuinely think Hallberg is a better midfielder. He runs, puts tackles in and moves. Newell and Youan could've stayed in at half time and I wouldn't have noticed a difference.

i thought porto was just copying the sauzee celebration. he was the least of our worries tonight

Sounds like a manager who doesn’t have long left

2-1 up and sat back says it all you have to go for the third disappointing

15-12-2022, 09:30 PM
I’ve seen this movie before and I didn’t like the ending

First half certainly was, second half was absolutely horrific though and totally negates any positives from the first half.

Hibs were decent enough going forward in the first half, but they were absolutely woeful out of possession the entire 90 mins. Lazy, slow and not tracking players.

Apart from a few exceptions, the quality is rank rotten. We're in big trouble.

buktapurple79
15-12-2022, 09:32 PM
Agreed getting Nisbet back is a big boost

Massive. Kicking oan fae here. Will be a few red pusses among the negatives. Will do yams, point against the tic and Livi the hardest yin.

2-1 up and sat back says it all you have to go for the third disappointing

The second half was always going to be a case of rangers coming out all guns blazing meaning we’d have to drop slightly

What Johnson can’t account for is the poor defending for the goals and some of the composure, or lack of on the ball when we won it back

Massive. Kicking oan fae here. Will be a few red pusses among the negatives. Will do yams, point against the tic and Livi the hardest yin.

What a lot of pish this is.

15-12-2022, 09:33 PM
i thought porto was just copying the sauzee celebration. he was the least of our worries tonight

Pity he isn't nearly as good as Sauzee was. Least of our worries? Probably not but if he isn't signing a contract I'd get rid sooner rather than later. Our squad is garbage and a guy who has essentially said I'm bigger than Hibs isn't a great thing now. If we were near the top of the league it's a different story. In freefall and players like that are not good to have around.

There’s also a difference to being tired and being lazy

Basildon Hibs
Brilliant, another excellent wind bag this inept owner and and board have appointed. This is only going one way.....

I've said it before about LJ - he's the Swiss Tony of Scottish fitba.😉

ErinGoBraghHFC
To think we were all creaming our collective skiffs over Youann only a few months ago, couldn’t score in a brothel

15-12-2022, 09:34 PM
The score line, yes, but I don’t think the score reflects out garbage performance in the second half. They took us to the cleaners, should have scored a few more and we are a team with major problems on and off the field.

Not sure they created much more than they got. A decent defence keeps them out

buktapurple79
15-12-2022, 09:35 PM

Total. Any born & bred Hibee would dae the same eftir piling in a heider at Ibrox opening the scoring. He’s no going to calm down just in case it’s no gonnae end up a win. Was 3-2 FFS

15-12-2022, 09:37 PM
There’s also a difference to being tired and being lazy

We were knackered second half. First half was so frantic that some had ran themselves out.

Johnson has had a shocker with his use of subs. We said it standing there at 2-1, needed to be pro active. Then it goes 2-2 and he doesn’t react. Waits until it’s too late. By contrast, as soon as Rangers get to 3-2, change made and totally control the remainder of the game.

15-12-2022, 09:46 PM
We were knackered second half. First half was so frantic that some had ran themselves out.

Johnson has had a shocker with his use of subs. We said it standing there at 2-1, needed to be pro active. Then it goes 2-2 and he doesn’t react. Waits until it’s too late. By contrast, as soon as Rangers get to 3-2, change made and totally control the remainder of the game.

He was brilliantly proactive earlier in the season against Rangers so it was disappointing that he left us to fall out of the game so quickly when it was clear that we hard started to toil quite badly.

15-12-2022, 09:54 PM

Clown ….. get shot now. I don’t usually shout for a manager to be sacked but I am really nervous about this guy.

15-12-2022, 10:00 PM
Truly abysmal second half, manager is on his way out, and good riddance. But the club's problems run far deeper, really fear for rest of season and where we are going as a club.

15-12-2022, 10:06 PM
Get Jack back

15-12-2022, 10:08 PM

This. And he blames mental toughness. Fud

15-12-2022, 10:14 PM
Nice assist today for Newell [emoji13]

First on the transfer list?

Specsavers

Assist, it was a bloody corner not a defence splitting pass ffs.

mcfly
15-12-2022, 10:19 PM
So obvious our recruitment has been utterly abysmal.

Yes we were good first half, but second half we were a total
Joke.

Losing is becoming a bad habit for us and we are in a relegation battle.

Worrying times as I have zero confidence in the manager and board to sort it

15-12-2022, 10:26 PM
Assist, it was a bloody corner not a defence splitting pass ffs.

OK …now we’re not even giving him credit for hitting a decent corner that results in a goal ? It’s an assist..knock him for what he does wrong , not what he does right

15-12-2022, 10:32 PM
There are some good things to recognise tonight . We created some decent chances in the first half . Nisbet’s performance was highly encouraging . Magennis and McGeady getting game time . A decent and surprising set up in the first half worked .
Two good goals too . Competed well

We were poor second half . Faded badly ..and were as bad in the second as we were good competing in the first …thought we could have made earlier changes . So a lot of improvement required too . But with all the doom and gloom pre match - I’d say there were some elements that were better then expected to give us some hope for improved results in the near future .

15-12-2022, 10:34 PM
OK …now we’re not even giving him credit for hitting a decent corner that results in a goal ? It’s an assist..knock him for what he does wrong , not what he does right

Decent corner that should be there or there abouts every time, the goal was created by Porteous's excellent movement to lose his marker.

15-12-2022, 10:41 PM
Decent corner that should be there or there abouts every time, the goal was created by Porteous's excellent movement to lose his marker.

Up there with one of the best parody posts I’ve read on here …brilliant [emoji106]

15-12-2022, 11:11 PM
Pish. Lost 7 in 8. LJ takes somes credit for how we started but his inability to see it was falling apart at the end of the 1st half tells me all I need to know. Failed to do anything about it at half time. Let it go as is despite more of the same at the start of the 2nd half. Could see a goal was coming and boom. Failed to do anything about that and boom again. ****ing hopeless manager. Finally makes changes and they're all nonsensical. He can **** off along with the Gordon's.

I missed the first 25 or so minutes. Arrived in the pub and we were 2-1 up and seemed to be playing to a system that was working - very narrow allowing the Orcs width but defending deep with two rows of four and then playing quick balls out to Nisbet. But it was clear Rangers were applying more and more pressure and doing nothing at half time wasn't an option. Rangers had us sussed and without changing something either at half time or around the 50th minute when it was absolutely clear how the game was going to end was bizarre. It was almost championship manager stuff when you decide you will only make a sub on the hour mark as it's weak to do it earlier.

Johnson gets credit for the first 35 minutes or so - but that's it. He's another Heckingbottom/Ross bull**** merchant. We have to break the cycle of binning managers every half season or so then recruiting new players for the new guy who then gets binned as they fail to meet basic expectations (top six - not being in a relegation battle). But it's difficult to say persist with Johnson for continuity when it's becoming clearer he's a chancer with no discernable management style or motivational ability. We need mangers/coachers with less dress sense and more passion and knowledge.

God knows where we go from here but it's not going to be pretty.

15-12-2022, 11:16 PM
I missed the first 25 or so minutes. Arrived in the pub and we were 2-1 up and seemed to be playing to a system that was working - very narrow allowing the Orcs width but defending deep with two rows of four and then playing quick balls out to Nisbet. But it was clear Rangers were applying more and more pressure and doing nothing at half time wasn't an option. Rangers had us sussed and without changing something either at half time or around the 50th minute when it was absolutely clear how the game was going to end was bizarre. It was almost championship manager stuff when you decide you will only make a sub on the hour mark as it's weak to do it earlier.

Johnson gets credit for the first 35 minutes or so - but that's it. He's another Heckingbottom/Ross bull**** merchant. We have to break the cycle of binning managers every half season or so then recruiting new players for the new guy who then gets binned as they fail to meet basic expectations (top six - not being in a relegation battle). But it's difficult to say persist with Johnson for continuity when it's becoming clearer he's a chancer with no discernable management style or motivational ability. We need mangers/coachers with less dress sense and more passion and knowledge.

God knows where we go from here but it's not going to be pretty.

Ive seen a few posts tonight calling Johnson a fraud or a chancer

No manager has 400+ games under there belt without knowing what they are doing and having an indepth knowledge about the game

Im sure its not going exactly to plan for Lee but I don't see the need for petty name calling

15-12-2022, 11:29 PM
Ive seen a few posts tonight calling Johnson a fraud or a chancer

No manager has 400+ games under there belt without knowing what they are doing and having an indepth knowledge about the game

Im sure its not going exactly to plan for Lee but I don't see the need for petty name calling

Ross has 300 games as a manager and Heckingbottom 400. There's a whole circuit of average managers who keep getting gigs - sometime it works and sometimes it doesn't - but there's always someone who will employ them because they once managed a big club or went on good run once or twice or saved a club from relegation. There are always far more Sam Allerdices than Brian Cloughs.

Under Leeann Dempster the strategy was to avoid the merry go round of mediocrity by establishing a football department with a distinct style and continuity and appoint coaches who would go along with it - it was the right way to do it and we need to go back to it to avoid the constant chop and change every three quarters of a season when we bin the latest hapless manager.

Rob
15-12-2022, 11:32 PM
First half certainly was, second half was absolutely horrific though and totally negates any positives from the first half.
I agree, plenty to be positive about in the first half, but Rangers sussed us out and changed things around in the second half, and we weren't able to adjust.

15-12-2022, 11:40 PM
Ross has 300 games as a manager and Heckingbottom 400. There's a whole circuit of average managers who keep getting gigs - sometime it works and sometimes it doesn't - but there's always someone who will employ them because they once managed a big club or went on good run once or twice or saved a club from relegation. There are always far more Sam Allerdices than Brian Cloughs.

Under Leeann Dempster the strategy was to avoid the merry go round of mediocrity by establishing a football department with a distinct style and continuity and appoint coaches who would go along with it - it was the right way to do it and we need to go back to it to avoid the constant chop and change every three quarters of a season when we bin the latest hapless manager.Heckingbottom has sheff utd 2nd in the championship?

Point stands tho, all managers amassing that level of games will all have an in depth knowledge of the game

16-12-2022, 07:16 AM
Get Ross back for the weekend please. We can only dream of 3rd place and reaching every semi.

the_ginger_hibee
16-12-2022, 07:38 AM
Get Ross back for the weekend please. We can only dream of 3rd place and reaching every semi.

Yeah, cause his last game managing us against Livi went really well...

Paulie Walnuts
16-12-2022, 07:41 AM

To be fair, Ross managed us for the majority of his first season and managed to take us from 8th when he took over to 7th. Then he left us in 8th place at about this time of the season, exactly where we are now. It wasn’t all 3rd place finishes etc under JR.

16-12-2022, 07:54 AM

He got totally shown up at United. One good season at Hibs (no fans massively helped) with two ***** ones either side. No thanks.

16-12-2022, 08:09 AM

What will that do exactly? People are just posting nonsense now, must be all the mulled wine. 🤣

16-12-2022, 08:10 AM
What will that do exactly? People are just posting nonsense now, must be all the mulled wine. 🤣

Keep fans away in their droves, just like his last few months. What a depressing thought.

16-12-2022, 08:14 AM
Keep fans away in their droves, just like his last few months. What a depressing thought.

I mean is Mixu available, Yogi, Pat Stanton, what's Bobby Williamson up to? 🤣

16-12-2022, 08:26 AM
Hibs were tremendous first half. Let's try and bottle that and make it last a bit longer!

16-12-2022, 08:30 AM

You have gone completely. It happens to some posters and it's sad to see.
I guess I might be the same under the circumstances.

16-12-2022, 08:36 AM
You have gone completely. It happens to some posters and it's sad to see.
I guess I might be the same under the circumstances.

Better clothes better chat. Get him back please.

16-12-2022, 08:39 AM
Hibs were tremendous first half. Let's try and bottle that and make it last a bit longer!

Do you actually think that. Its was like 5 a sides. Rangers had about 8 chances to score. We just created some chances too. Unlike the second half.

16-12-2022, 09:12 AM

Dear God

We were so open defensively it was unreal

Apparently we have been working on defensive structures according to that slavering-arse Johnson

We must be digging moats at East Mains as we are doing nothing on the pitch that makes us look like we have a clue

We never stop crosses and our idea of defending is throwing ourselves at shots we have been too poorly positioned to block.

We are an utter shambles and every single player with the possible exception of Josh Campbell has regressed massively under Johnson

16-12-2022, 09:16 AM
Not sure they created much more than they got. A decent defence keeps them out

Just a competent left centre half and we'd have won last night.

16-12-2022, 09:18 AM

Never trust a man that wears white trainers to work

16-12-2022, 09:18 AM

Would definitely have helped, but I think you need to add two full backs to your list for us to have won.

Who would ever have thought a year ago that Rocky would be the least of our worries in defence?

16-12-2022, 09:23 AM

I’d add a combative midfielder in there. They were absolutely woeful in the 2nd half

16-12-2022, 09:26 AM

I'd love that but I think we all know what will happen when we play Livi. Lots of possession, "chances", but nothing clear-cut, they will have 1 or 2 shots at goal and we will either draw 0-0 or lose 0-1.

16-12-2022, 09:28 AM
Never trust a man that wears white trainers to work

That was the start of his downfall. The stats prove it.

16-12-2022, 09:29 AM

Hanlon was poor last night. But Rangers basically camped out in our box in the second half. We could have had Maldini and we'd still have lost.

16-12-2022, 09:52 AM

His chat was brutal.

16-12-2022, 09:54 AM
Hanlon was poor last night. But Rangers basically camped out in our box in the second half. We could have had Maldini and we'd still have lost.

Na, weak header weak defending, he does his job properly and they dont score any of their goals.

16-12-2022, 09:54 AM

I have always been a great admirer of Paul Hanlon and have never thought he deserved a lot of the criticism he got, but sadly he is absolutely done.

Last night he was as his critics have always claimed soft and weak.

His header for the first goal was pitiful, he was outmuscled for the 2nd and in a position he should never have been and, as for the third......

He wasn't helped by his colleagues but poor is a massive understatement of his performance

the_ginger_hibee
16-12-2022, 10:18 AM
I have always been a great admirer of Paul Hanlon and have never thought he deserved a lot of the criticism he got, but sadly he is absolutely done.

Last night he was as his critics have always claimed soft and weak.

His header for the first goal was pitiful, he was outmuscled for the 2nd and in a position he should never have been and, as for the third......

He wasn't helped by his colleagues but poor is a massive understatement of his performance

All I think of with Hanlon now is being absolutely bullied. By Simms at the 3-1 game at Tynie to last night. And plenty in between. He's done at this level.

16-12-2022, 11:49 AM
Back to the dreary reality of Scottish football, 2 clubs with season ticket sales of 40k to 50k versus the rest who are there purely as the supporting cast.

16-12-2022, 12:17 PM

I am utterly sick of his excuses.

He's not the problem though - its the 'team' who thought Maloney and LJ were the best we could get.

Nothing will change if LJ goes

16-12-2022, 12:58 PM
Back to the dreary reality of Scottish football, 2 clubs with season ticket sales of 40k to 50k versus the rest who are there purely as the supporting cast.

Yet despite that, we missed a hell of a chance to beat them last night.

It didn’t feel very dreary last night until we completely folded and stopped playing.

16-12-2022, 01:14 PM

We should have won last night. Could easily had another couple of goals in first half. Its the 2nd half performance that's the worrying thing and the real worry about it is that it had duck all to do with rangers.