View Full Version : Mckirdy

ToulouseHibs
30-10-2022, 07:28 AM
Dropped yesterday but he’s been absent from his beloved social media accounts since the Celtic game. Either he’s in the huff or he’s been rightly told to to his talking on the pitch….. hopefully he can graft a place back into the match squad but he seems a bit far away just now.

30-10-2022, 07:30 AM
LJ said he was injured :confused:

30-10-2022, 07:35 AM
Dropped yesterday but he’s been absent from his beloved social media accounts since the Celtic game. Either he’s in the huff or he’s been rightly told to to his talking on the pitch….. hopefully he can graft a place back into the match squad but he seems a bit far away just now.

He is injured

30-10-2022, 07:40 AM
Maybe take a few weeks off social media and come back when he is scoring.

Last post I saw him off was along lines of might as well f***kin score tomorrow or words to that effect.

Didn’t happen

30-10-2022, 07:41 AM
Maybe take a few weeks off social media and come back when he is scoring.

Last post I saw him off was along lines of might as well f***kin score tomorrow or words to that effect.

Didn’t happen

That was a fake account - see below

https://twitter.com/harrymckirdy/status/1578686813593833473?s=46&t=swGDGton4gMpTh_c7J8Lcw

Did LJ say where Mitchell was yesterday?

30-10-2022, 08:05 AM
Injured, dont think Ive seen him touch a ball or make a tackle since he signed.:confused:

Souter96Mac
30-10-2022, 08:19 AM
He was in the stands yesterday with Magennis and Nisbet, seen them all in the west stand concourse pre match

30-10-2022, 08:21 AM
Change thread title so it seems less a statement of fact?

30-10-2022, 08:23 AM
Injured, dont think Ive seen him touch a ball or make a tackle since he signed.:confused:

Was booked last week for a nothing tackle

Refs in Scotland have marked his card

Needs to keep a low profile as was previously booked for needless back chat

30-10-2022, 08:25 AM
I don't think he does social media .

30-10-2022, 08:26 AM
I don't think he does social media .

He's on Instagram but the Twitter account in his name isn't him.

HendoDelivered
30-10-2022, 08:33 AM
Awol 🤣

HFC93
30-10-2022, 08:38 AM
Missleading thread title. The original poster or admins should change it.

G15 Hibs
30-10-2022, 08:48 AM
Certainly not AWOL. Saw plenty of him on social media yesterday posing for photos with fans before the game.

30-10-2022, 09:02 AM
Certainly not AWOL. Saw plenty of him on social media yesterday posing for photos with fans before the game.

Ken, he was in the Albion bar pre-match. Hardly AWOL.

However talking of AWOL, what's happened to Lewis Miller?

BlackSheep
30-10-2022, 09:05 AM
He was sat a row or two behind me in the west yesterday with Nisbet and Magennis.

30-10-2022, 09:13 AM

He's AWOL.

30-10-2022, 09:13 AM
Ken, he was in the Albion bar pre-match. Hardly AWOL.

Been injured LJ mentioned him being ready to start training again. Also said Nisbet was looking good in training and nearing being ready to be involved

30-10-2022, 09:15 AM
He's AWOL.

Alongside Demetri Mitchell :)

30-10-2022, 09:24 AM
He's AWOL.

Australian With Ongoing Leg-injury? 😉

30-10-2022, 09:44 AM
What a total bollocks thread title.

BlackSheep
30-10-2022, 09:55 AM
He's AWOL.

He was sat in front of McKirdy and the others in the west too.

30-10-2022, 09:58 AM

Very knowledgeable information from this poster.

Wonder what his other 37 posts were like?

30-10-2022, 10:00 AM

Boy comes on, posts unsubstantiated nonsense thread, logs off and it turns into a 10 pager.:rolleyes:

Standard

Sioux
30-10-2022, 10:04 AM

:faf::faf::faf:

:spammy:

30-10-2022, 10:15 AM
Just bin this off straight away please. Before tam McManus writes a tell-all article in the Daily Record.

30-10-2022, 10:21 AM
It’s his Barber 💈 that’s went AWOL 😂

30-10-2022, 11:49 AM
I've been AWOL myself recently due to results so maybe I've missed some info but what is status with, 1) Mitchell, we were told he was tearing it up in training, he came on for about 10 minutes at Celtc and disappeared again, and 2) Jake D-H, IIRC we were told was a 2 or 3 week injury 6 weeks ago.
Any info?

30-10-2022, 12:16 PM
I've been AWOL myself recently due to results so maybe I've missed some info but what is status with, 1) Mitchell, we were told he was tearing it up in training, he came on for about 10 minutes at Celtc and disappeared again, and 2) Jake D-H, IIRC we were told was a 2 or 3 week injury 6 weeks ago.
Any info?

JDH just had an operation.

Not heard anything else mentioned about Mitchell. Doubt we’ll see much of him.

30-10-2022, 12:18 PM

It's clickbait.

30-10-2022, 12:21 PM

Thanks!!

30-10-2022, 12:23 PM

Methinks you are "too loose" with your tongue/keyboard posting bollox like that :wink:

30-10-2022, 01:14 PM
It's clickbait.

It’s like yellow card offence subject to VAR :) who write this nonesense whilst sober

30-10-2022, 02:45 PM
Some folk will start a thread with a title to create drama where there isnt drama! As stated he hasnt gone AWOL!

30-10-2022, 02:50 PM
Some folk will start a thread with a title to create drama where there isnt drama! As stated he hasnt gone AWOL!

Some folk are constant complainers so when we play well and win they need to invent something to complain about.

Victor
30-10-2022, 02:50 PM

Mitchell took part in the open training session, for Hibs Kids, along with Nisbet. They both took part in the full contact training session, so imagine both probably need to build up their stamina, after lengthy lay-offs.

30-10-2022, 03:05 PM

:blah::doh:

cameronw-hfc
30-10-2022, 05:15 PM

He's just back, normal for a wee niggle or two as he's coming back. Imagine he'll be one that we will see here and there for a few weeks as he gets back up to speed.

30-10-2022, 05:26 PM
He's just back, normal for a wee niggle or two as he's coming back. Imagine he'll be one that we will see here and there for a few weeks as he gets back up to speed.

Certainly normal for him. He’s come back to make a wee cameo appearance three times now (Livi last season, St Johnstone first game this then Celtic away) then been out again.

I was surprised we didn’t see a wee bit more of him once he did make it on to the bench given how Johnson had spoken about him. Don’t have much confidence we’ll see him up to speed or on the park regularly at any point soon.

30-10-2022, 06:31 PM
This thread needs deleted or at the very least a new title.

30-10-2022, 06:39 PM
Would have thought that there are a few responses on here from posters a bit long in the tooth to get involved with an OP with 38 posts in 8 years.:greengrin

30-10-2022, 06:45 PM
With much comedic/ sense of irony the OP appears to have gone AWOL him/herself.

Shall the lobbing the grenade the potential “hit and run” merchant be posted back as returned to sender?

30-10-2022, 06:50 PM
Would have thought that there are a few responses on here from posters a bit long in the tooth to get involved with an OP with 38 posts in 8 years.:greengrin

Speaking for my self, it's mostly just a case of 'Grumpy Auld Git Syndrome'.

30-10-2022, 06:52 PM
Speaking for my self, it's mostly just a case of 'Grumpy Auld Git Syndrome'.

I know it well.

30-10-2022, 09:34 PM
Seems Harry couldn’t keep quiet on his social media after all. Comment swiftly deleted and changed once he realised Hibs fans had seen it. Dafty.

https://twitter.com/aiden1875/status/1586841194679730176?s=46&t=btziDTkrWJC-7EY1KI6wNA

30-10-2022, 09:39 PM
Seems Harry couldn’t keep quiet on his social media after all. Comment swiftly deleted and changed once he realised Hibs fans had seen it. Dafty.

https://twitter.com/aiden1875/status/1586841194679730176?s=46&t=btziDTkrWJC-7EY1KI6wNA

Yeah just been sent that, bit silly.

30-10-2022, 09:47 PM
Yeah just been sent that, bit silly.

Posted a photo of him in a Swindon top on Instagram before deleting.

30-10-2022, 09:54 PM
It appears he's a bam, but someone else's bam at heart. We've had characters like that who were all about Hibs, so can hardly moan.

He'll go back down the road upon return of our transfer fee I'd imagine.

30-10-2022, 10:14 PM
Did we keep the receipt for him? Maybe a refund in January 😁

JammyDoidger
30-10-2022, 10:25 PM
Just posted something else on his Instagram story, working his ticket by the looks of it, what an absolute tube.

GreenGray
30-10-2022, 10:30 PM
Is it that bad really? When we signed him fans all seemed to love him for his attitude and being a maverick he makes one slightly tongue in cheek comment (possibly self deprecating) and everyone’s up in arms?

JammyDoidger
30-10-2022, 10:32 PM
Is it that bad really? When we signed him fans all seemed to love him for his attitude and being a maverick he makes one slightly tongue in cheek comment (possibly self deprecating) and everyone’s up in arms?

He's replied to a hibs fan with 'tranquillo' after they've told him to get himself back down the road if he doesn't want to be here, the guys no respect, Billy big bawz attitude, he's done nowt worthwhile in his career to carry on like that.

cameronw-hfc
30-10-2022, 10:33 PM
Looks to me like a throwaway comment because things haven't been great so far and he's realised he's made a mistake, deleted it and posted a few hibs pics to cover.

Won't bother me if he gets a run and performs though

Donegal Hibby
30-10-2022, 10:39 PM
Did we keep the receipt for him? Maybe a refund in January 😁
Wouldn't be to pushed about him one way or the other .

30-10-2022, 10:40 PM

As said by GreenCastle on this thread yesterday, @HarryMcKirdy is a fake account. https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?359794-Mckirdy&p=7145031&viewfull=1#post7145031

It has now been deleted.
https://mobile.twitter.com/HarryMckirdy

McKirdy isn't/wasn't on Twitter.

1875Sean
30-10-2022, 10:41 PM
Seems to be the kind of player that throws his toys out of the pram when he doesn’t play

30-10-2022, 10:45 PM
As said by GreenCastle on this thread yesterday, @HarryMcKirdy is a fake account. https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?359794-Mckirdy&p=7145031&viewfull=1#post7145031

It has now been deleted.
https://mobile.twitter.com/HarryMckirdy

McKirdy isn't/wasn't on Twitter.

The screenshot was from Instagram not Twitter and he is on Instagram. You can tell it's him as he's got a blue tick next to his name.

30-10-2022, 10:45 PM
I think folk need to grow up and not react to wee comments on social media.

JammyDoidger
30-10-2022, 10:49 PM

It's Mckirdy that needs to do the growing up for me like, I'm all for being a bit different and saying things for how they are, but have respect for the fans that are paying your wage, comes across as a complete walloper.

30-10-2022, 10:54 PM
It's Mckirdy that needs to do the growing up for me like, I'm all for being a bit different and saying things for how they are, but have respect for the fans that are paying your wage, comes across as a complete walloper.

What's he done exactly that's annoyed you so much?

30-10-2022, 11:18 PM
I can only imagine what some of our more precious fans would be posting if the errrrr "colourful character" Alex Edward's was playing for us today lol.

ToulouseHibs
30-10-2022, 11:22 PM
With much comedic/ sense of irony the OP appears to have gone AWOL him/herself.

Shall the lobbing the grenade the potential “hit and run” merchant be posted back as returned to sender?

Jesus H lads, Apologies if the title seemed « excessive ». Personally I’m gutted the lad hasn’t made an impact. I really thought that he showed some decent touches in the little match time he had. Just found it really strange that before every game since his arrival he was communicating a lot on social media and that just suddenly dropped off after the Celtic game. Didn’t see anywhere mentionnés that he was injured so I thought that I’d brought it up. Finally glad my clickbait title turned some heads cause at least I got reply 😅.

Anyway, hope Harry heals up and we can see the « archer » soon enough. By the way, some bell end comments on here 😂. Get a life lads

ToulouseHibs
30-10-2022, 11:24 PM

Got a life buddy 😂

Donegal Hibby
30-10-2022, 11:49 PM
I can only imagine what some of our more precious fans would be posting if the errrrr "colourful character" Alex Edward's was playing for us today lol.
I haven't been impressed with him to be honest with you , one of the first times I seen him he spent most of the time either complaining or giving out to the referee while he was already on a booking and also offering nothing on the park . It's good to have a characters in the dressing room , Martin Boyle , Boozy , Budgie being examples but this one's got disciplinary issues imo even when we signed him he couldn't play for going mad in referees dressing room maybe I'm being harsh and need to gave him more time but he has to knuckle down too and if it's true what he's at on social media it's poorfor a guy that's just joined a new club .

31-10-2022, 12:26 AM

The fans give him pelters, aye he needs to rise above it and grow up as well but this is a big fuss about nothing, imho.

TheGog
31-10-2022, 04:38 AM
There’s a comment on instagram where he’s tagged by someone and the comment is.

Time to come back now @harrymckirdy

His reply…

Not wrong

31-10-2022, 04:39 AM

McKirdy is on social media openly pining for a move back to his former club because he’s failed to hack it up here so far. Not really what fans want to be seeing from a (supposedly) big money summer signing two months into his contract.

I certainly don’t agree with some of the comments he’s had in response to it though, way too far at times.

31-10-2022, 05:16 AM

Don’t you dare tell me to grow up. I’m raging.

😄

31-10-2022, 05:46 AM
There’s a comment on instagram where he’s tagged by someone and the comment is.

Time to come back now @harrymckirdy

His reply…

Not wrong

He’s not good enough to get a start on current evidence so it might be best for all parties

31-10-2022, 05:47 AM

Absolutely

31-10-2022, 05:54 AM
He’s not good enough to get a start on current evidence so it might be best for all partiesHe's played a grand total of 205 minutes and were writing him off :hilarious

31-10-2022, 05:54 AM
Need to give the guy a break and support him. Obviously having a bit of a difficult time adapting.

31-10-2022, 06:01 AM
Need to give the guy a break and support him. Obviously having a bit of a difficult time adapting.

Yep

31-10-2022, 06:16 AM
If that message is from him, the boy is in the last chance saloon. He’s got to prove he’s willing to be professional and out the work in (in which case he would deserve the support), if not he can get his wish.

We’ve got enough talented youngsters who deserve the time, energy, and support to get into the first team. If he doesn’t want it, they should get it.

31-10-2022, 06:16 AM

What a novel idea. :agree:

31-10-2022, 06:27 AM
Looks to me like a throwaway comment because things haven't been great so far and he's realised he's made a mistake, deleted it and posted a few hibs pics to cover.

Won't bother me if he gets a run and performs though

I think people take too much from daft comments on social media.

31-10-2022, 06:28 AM
He's played a grand total of 205 minutes and were writing him off :hilarious

I’m not writing him off at all. I’m just saying he isn’t good enough to get a start ahead of the current forwards and if he doesn’t want to be here then it might be best for everyone.

I’m basing that on the fact he has only started one game and was hooked at half time.

31-10-2022, 06:28 AM
What a novel idea. :agree:I doubt it will catch on.

31-10-2022, 06:30 AM
He's played a grand total of 205 minutes and were writing him off :hilarious

It looks like he's writing himself off.

duffers
31-10-2022, 06:32 AM
McKirdy’s character was always going to be a hit or miss depending on how he was doing on the park. If he’s banging in the goals, fans will love him and his ‘character’ but when he’s struggling to get going, I can see it turning quite nasty between fans and player. McKirdy has been a little unlucky with game time, as we kept an unchanged winning team for a few weeks, and it can be hard for players to get going with just the odd 20 minutes here or there. He needs to get a run of games, which obviously needs to be earnt, but that sort of post won’t help matters.

31-10-2022, 06:34 AM
It looks like he's writing himself off.He's behind the curve on that one then, it was being done on here well before that.

31-10-2022, 06:35 AM

Literally all lies.

ToulouseHibs
31-10-2022, 06:57 AM
Literally all lies.

It literally isn’t. Obviously I don’t know what the truth is behind Harry’s disappearance from the bench, which is the reason I’m putting the question out there. But you can’t say he hasn’t been hooked…. And you can’t say he hasn’t stopped communicating on social media since the Celtic game.

Again, I’m looking forward to Harry winning his place in the team and getting a run and offering us something different technically and entertainment us at the same time. Apologies again if my post offended you buddy. :not worth

31-10-2022, 07:08 AM
It literally isn’t. Obviously I don’t know what the truth is behind Harry’s disappearance from the bench, which is the reason I’m putting the question out there. But you can’t say he hasn’t been hooked…. And you can’t say he hasn’t stopped communicating on social media since the Celtic game.

Again, I’m looking forward to Harry winning his place in the team and getting a run and offering us something different technically and entertainment us at the same time. Apologies again if my post offended you buddy. :not worth

He's injured

I'm Spartacus
31-10-2022, 07:17 AM
Boy comes on, posts unsubstantiated nonsense thread, logs off and it turns into a 10 pager.:rolleyes:

Standard

I was genuinely going to reply to you saying something like "Rolls a grenade then ***s off", then your pic caught my eye :)

31-10-2022, 07:24 AM
If anyone spends 5 minutes looking at McKirdys Twitter you realise the kind of character you’re getting. That’s not a media trained robot. I seriously doubt he is ‘angling for a move’ by what he wrote, most of his tweets look like they’ve been written in his native Cockernese off the cuff without much thought. He’s probably pissed off about his game time, I’d be worried if he wasn’t.

31-10-2022, 07:35 AM
I was genuinely going to reply to you saying something like "Rolls a grenade then ***s off", then your pic caught my eye :)

:greengrin:greengrin

31-10-2022, 07:43 AM
If anyone spends 5 minutes looking at McKirdys Twitter you realise the kind of character you’re getting. That’s not a media trained robot. I seriously doubt he is ‘angling for a move’ by what he wrote, most of his tweets look like they’ve been written in his native Cockernese off the cuff without much thought. He’s probably pissed off about his game time, I’d be worried if he wasn’t.
McKirdy's not on Twitter, that account is a fake.

31-10-2022, 07:50 AM

Yep.

You’d think he was online slating everything Hibs with some of the greeting going on online.

I reserve the right to be offended if he gets a story in the press about being willing to walk barefoot over broken glass back to Swindon.

McGruber
31-10-2022, 07:55 AM
He possibly feels he's been thrown under the bus a bit. Itching for a start and not getting a look in as we were winning, all in a period nothing was coming off for Youan. His first decent opportunity other than 5/10 min cameos comes up at Tannadice when he gets 45 mins. He plays well, looks sharp - improved us. Then starts next game away to Celtic, his only start. We get mauled with everyone including Johnson culpable. He's then dropped - others keep there spot. Just think we needed to give him a chance to keep it going, especially next game at home to St J - ironically where we were lacking a spark upfront. Instead he gets 5/10 mins again after the team had run up the white flag.

His time will come again, he'll get a chance and he'll need to take it. No doubt probably be hoping his next start isn't Parkhead!

31-10-2022, 08:04 AM

Exactly.

Some folk just want someone to have a go at - Rocky and Josh Campbell have started playing better so folk need someone else to target. Funny how they have chosen a guy who hasn’t even played more than 45 mins yet in a game!

Give the guy a chance to settle and get a regular run of games.

Mcbizz1998
31-10-2022, 08:08 AM
If he wants away then let him. It was a punt buying him from a diddy club in a diddy league. He has looked well out of his depth so far.

I was quite excited by him when he signed though so if he wants to stick at it then hopefully he can show some form.

31-10-2022, 08:20 AM
If he wants away then let him. It was a punt buying him from a diddy club in a diddy league. He has looked well out of his depth so far.

I was quite excited by him when he signed though so if he wants to stick at it then hopefully he can show some form.

The tone of this post completely turned at the mid point 😂

31-10-2022, 08:25 AM
McKirdy's not on Twitter, that account is a fake.

Didn't realise, thanks.

tonyrougier123
31-10-2022, 08:38 AM
Mckirdy hasn’t come up here for better wages and exposure to Jack it in after a few cameos and one start.he’s a wild boy for sure,don’t think he will be that silly though.

He’s got a great platform now and chances will be abundant in this side.

I think he can be one of these fans favourites if he just bides his time and takes his chances when they come.

Confident lad so I have no worries about that side of it.

Needs to stop hounding Scottish refs though,bad idea that 😏

31-10-2022, 08:38 AM
Seemingly he's already been in trouble for behaviour at a club day out golfing. Boys a bam, you get them (cummings etc) but he needs to screw the nut. We are not some junior outfit where you can piss about all the time, we are professional football club trying to get a 3rd place finish and European football. We can't afford passengers who like to muck about all the time. Based on evidence so far he's nowhere near our level. He needs a goal to get him up and running.

31-10-2022, 08:39 AM
Seemingly he's already been in trouble for behaviour at a club day out golfing. Boys a bam, you get them (cummings etc) but he needs to screw the nut. We are not some junior outfit where you can piss about all the time, we are professional football club trying to get a 3rd place finish and European football. We can't afford passengers who like to muck about all the time. Based on evidence so far he's nowhere near our level. He needs a goal to get him up and running.

What’s the golf day story? The only thing I’ve seen of it was on Twitter, with nae details at all.

31-10-2022, 08:53 AM
What’s the golf day story? The only thing I’ve seen of it was on Twitter, with nae details at all.

I don't know the full story, just heard his behaviour at an exclusive golf club was out of order and he was given a blocking for it.

G15 Hibs
31-10-2022, 09:15 AM
I reckon this current fuss will end up being a storm in a tea cup.

Whether McKirdy goes on to be a decent player for Hibs or not is another matter, but this seems to be a lot of noise about nothing much at all.

31-10-2022, 09:16 AM
I don't know the full story, just heard his behaviour at an exclusive golf club was out of order and he was given a blocking for it.

Yeah that’s what I heard too.

Edinburgh Green
31-10-2022, 09:17 AM

Drank too much and was being a bit disrespectful by using the phone while the presentations were going on.

Greenio
31-10-2022, 09:26 AM
Drank too much and was being a bit disrespectful by using the phone while the presentations were going on.

Down with this sort of thing!

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2022, 09:26 AM
[QUOTE=Edinburgh Green;7146119]Drank too much and was being a bit disrespectful by using the phone while the presentations were going on.[/QUOTE.
Doesn't show him in a very good light either , Glad Youan , Boyle , Merkelson and Kukharevych at less know how to behave . Story is in the papers now ,think we could do without this kinda publicity.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/harry-mckirdy-likes-hibs-exit-28368295

G15 Hibs
31-10-2022, 09:29 AM
[QUOTE=Edinburgh Green;7146119]Drank too much and was being a bit disrespectful by using the phone while the presentations were going on.[/QUOTE.
Doesn't show him in a very good light either , Glad Youan , Boyle , Merkelson and Kukharevych at less know how to behave . Story is in the papers now ,think we could do without this kinda publicity.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/harry-mckirdy-likes-hibs-exit-28368295

Most likely only got noticed by the papers due to Hibs fans wetting themselves about it on Twitter

31-10-2022, 09:37 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/harry-mckirdy-likes-hibs-exit-28368295The same Martin Boyle that got a bollocking for setting off fire extinguishers with Stokes and Swanson when he was McKirdys age [emoji6]

31-10-2022, 09:49 AM
A complete nothing story imo.

He’s hardly had a chance since being here and the only start was against Celtic when the whole team were miles off it.

He’s showed little flashes of ability, once he gets a good run and realised he won’t get fouls every time he falls over I think he’ll come good. Also his form is maybe down to playing him on the left, most of his goals and assists seemed to come from through the middle or wide right

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2022, 09:55 AM
[QUOTE=Donegal Hibby;7146122]The same Martin Boyle that got a bollocking for setting off fire extinguishers with Stokes and Swanson when he was McKirdys age [emoji6]
Didn't know Boyle was involved in that .least he didn't take to social media hinting he wanted a move he knuckled down and work hard , we also have Merkelson , Kukharevych and Youan who are probably younger than Mckirdy and aren't up to the same nonsense he is . Sorry know there's a strong Mckirdy fan club on here but he's not done anything positive as yet rather the opposite actually.

31-10-2022, 09:56 AM
Exactly.

Some folk just want someone to have a go at - Rocky and Josh Campbell have started playing better so folk need someone else to target. Funny how they have chosen a guy who hasn’t even played more than 45 mins yet in a game!

Give the guy a chance to settle and get a regular run of games.

Nah, people don’t want to be having a go at any of our players, that’s a nonsense suggestion and you know it. You’re having a needless dig at fellow supporters.

Campbell and Ricky have improved and are now getting praised.

If McKirdy gets a game and starts banging the goals in, everyone will be full of praise for him too.

31-10-2022, 09:57 AM
A complete nothing story imo.

He’s hardly had a chance since being here and the only start was against Celtic when the whole team were miles off it.

He’s showed little flashes of ability, once he gets a good run and realised he won’t get fouls every time he falls over I think he’ll come good. Also his form is maybe down to playing him on the left, most of his goals and assists seemed to come from through the middle or wide right

Young footballer acts a bit daft. It’s hardly news.

31-10-2022, 09:59 AM

That cannae be the extent of it?

Guy uses phone at a *****y golf day thing.

WestStandWillie
31-10-2022, 10:04 AM
He needs to realise that he’s no longer the big fish in a small pond. Can’t just rock up and expect to start. Has tae prove himself.

Social media breeds some absolute mutants and there’s an element that just want tae write players off before they’ve actually played a few games

31-10-2022, 10:05 AM
[QUOTE=Donegal Hibby;7146122]The same Martin Boyle that got a bollocking for setting off fire extinguishers with Stokes and Swanson when he was McKirdys age [emoji6]

Naw, a different one.

GreenPJ
31-10-2022, 10:06 AM
Young footballer acts a bit daft. It’s hardly news.

He's 25 - have to admit I didn't realise that until now but forgetting his temperament for a second - at 25 he needs to be showing a lot more to get game time and clearly he isn't.

31-10-2022, 10:11 AM
That cannae be the extent of it?

Guy uses phone at a *****y golf day thing.

Depends how bad it was. Assume some of our sponsors would have been there and may have been embarrassing for the club. In the grand scheme of things not a huge deal agree. Apologise and move on..

Greenio
31-10-2022, 10:23 AM

What a stretch of a story that is eh, even for a tabloid.

31-10-2022, 10:24 AM
Said as soon as he signed he'd be a player who was a 'character' or had 'swagger' if he was banging the goals in but also very easy for people to criticise if he didn't hit the ground running.

I don't know if there's anything in the misbehaviour at the golf day nor do I really care but stuff like that does annoy me. Everyone seemed to find the picture doing the rounds before he signed of him turning up at a black tie event in a bucket hat and trainers hilarious. I don't really get that, if there's a dress code is it that big a deal to make an effort? Same with not using a phone when there's a presentation going on, I'd expect it from a 15 years schoolboy not a grown adult. That's not really aimed at McKirdy, more just a general gripe of mine.

Fwiw I'm not convinced he'll make it here if we are determined to make him a left winger. Playing through the middle just off a big striker I think he has goals in him, out wide I think he'll get lost on the periphery of games. He's been a bit of a nomad in recent seasons, we're his 4th club in 4 seasons, he probably needs to get the head down and get settled somewhere for a while at this stage of his career. Hopefully he kicks on and it's here that he does that.

31-10-2022, 10:34 AM
Nah, people don’t want to be having a go at any of our players, that’s a nonsense suggestion and you know it. You’re having a needless dig at fellow supporters.

I'm not sure you're right about that.

I was in the West lower on Saturday and there was a bloke behind me who said nothing other than to criticise at every opportunity he got. It was as if he really disliked the Hibs players because no-one was spared his castigation and that was with us winning comfortably.

You might argue that he doesn't want to be so critical, but there must be some sort of, at least, subconscious satisfaction that he gets from his behaviour.

I would say that the same applies to the posters on here who behave in a similar manner, if they really are Hibs supporters, of course.

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2022, 10:35 AM
He needs to realise that he’s no longer the big fish in a small pond. Can’t just rock up and expect to start. Has tae prove himself.

Social media breeds some absolute mutants and there’s an element that just want tae write players off before they’ve actually played a few games
Why's he go on it then and dig himself into a hole ? We have had two incidents with him now and he's only in the door .Some say he's just young and been a bit daft ? He's 25 year old . Think he's been disrespectful to club and the fans that pay his wages even the brief time he's been on the pitch I don't think his attitude has been right . I still gave him a chance though but he needs to start to knuckle down . He's done nothing positive at the club yet in fact quite the opposite.

31-10-2022, 10:42 AM
He possibly feels he's been thrown under the bus a bit. Itching for a start and not getting a look in as we were winning, all in a period nothing was coming off for Youan. His first decent opportunity other than 5/10 min cameos comes up at Tannadice when he gets 45 mins. He plays well, looks sharp - improved us. Then starts next game away to Celtic, his only start. We get mauled with everyone including Johnson culpable. He's then dropped - others keep there spot. Just think we needed to give him a chance to keep it going, especially next game at home to St J - ironically where we were lacking a spark upfront. Instead he gets 5/10 mins again after the team had run up the white flag.

His time will come again, he'll get a chance and he'll need to take it. No doubt probably be hoping his next start isn't Parkhead!

He got about 40 minutes in dingwall as well and was awful there too.

HIBS NUTS
31-10-2022, 10:46 AM
[QUOTE=Donegal Hibby;7146122]

Possibly the biggest non story i’ve ever seen written in a papers sports section.
HE LIKED A COMMENT.!
Utter nonsense

31-10-2022, 10:48 AM
He got about 40 minutes in dingwall as well and was awful there too.

He wasn’t awful in Dingwall.

31-10-2022, 10:52 AM

Yep certainly wasnt awful.

Give the guy time however there is no doubt we have a fair number of attacking options especially when Nisbet returns

31-10-2022, 10:55 AM
I thought his second half against Dundee United was the best he’s played . Looked lively and contributed well .

31-10-2022, 11:00 AM

If McKirdy gets a game and starts banging the goals in, everyone will be full of praise for him too.

Folk have clearly written him off already.

He’s being played out of position and the Celtic game isn’t exactly a good measure of his talents.

A game like Sunday when 3-0 would have been good to bring him on if he was available.

If Boyle is out we may see more of him - he can score goals just needs the ball and freedom to play.

31-10-2022, 11:05 AM
I thought his second half against Dundee United was the best he’s played . Looked lovely and contributed well .

Agree thought he looked good in that match. Assume it is lively not lovely :greengrin

31-10-2022, 11:07 AM
Agree thought he looked good in that match. Assume it is lively not lovely :greengrin

Hahaha. Yeah :). Lovely too !

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2022, 11:08 AM

Yeah your not wrong though only one person responsible for it though imo

31-10-2022, 11:18 AM

I'd have to agree to disagree there. Got about 40 minutes, didn't touch the ball for the first 25, and contributed nil in the last 15.

Though it was quite a few weeks ago, so maybe I'm not remembering it correctly.

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2022, 11:37 AM
Hahaha. Yeah :). Lovely too !
Must be the hairstyle you both like :greengrin

31-10-2022, 11:38 AM
Folk have clearly written him off already.

He’s being played out of position and the Celtic game isn’t exactly a good measure of his talents.

A game like Sunday when 3-0 would have been good to bring him on if he was available.

If Boyle is out we may see more of him - he can score goals just needs the ball and freedom to play.

I like him and am 100% behind the lad.

I want players with a bit of swagger about them and would like to see him as part of a front 2 with Myko.

31-10-2022, 11:39 AM

They absolutely do. Obviously a small minority but there are people on certain players cases from the minute a match kicks off.
I have always believed that its an attempt to compensate for their own failings.

31-10-2022, 11:45 AM
They absolutely do. Obviously a small minority but there are people on certain players cases from the minute a match kicks off.
I have always believed that its an attempt to compensate for their own failings.

Donegal Hibby
31-10-2022, 11:48 AM
It's in football Scotland now too.Even though it's disappointing from the player I hardly think it's that big of a story.
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/harry-mckirdy-incurs-hibs-fan-25396134

LK1
31-10-2022, 11:53 AM
Daft thing to do but it really is a non-story. It just shows the need for the psychologist that Johnson was considering if Harry is thinking of throwing in the towel after 2 months.

31-10-2022, 12:43 PM
McKirdy is a player I was pleased we had signed because he ticked all the boxes, more than a goal every 2 games in 40 appearances for Swindon, apparently a bit of an entertainer on the pitch and a 'character' off it and a player fans of his previous club were by all accounts sorry to lose. But a wee read of Wikipedia ( I know, I know ) seems to indicate that his attitude isn't the least of the reasons for the number of clubs he has under his belt at 25 years of age.

I've only seen him play at ER so that's all I have to go on and like everybody else I'm not going to judge him on the Celtic game where nobody covered themselves in glory. But based on his ER appearances I can't say I've seen much to enthuse me, just a player who seems surprised it's not as easy to waltz past defenders in this league as he might have been lead to believe and someone who still needs to learn that refs up here don't respond to having their decisions questioned with a quiet word in yer ear.

It's early days though and a bit soon to be writing the guy off. The opportunity is there for any player to force their way into this team, especially on the left side of our attack, on that basis what I'm not willing to hear is stuff about a lack of attitude. This is a player with 115 senior appearances under his belt before joining us, he isn't some untried kid and his experience and alleged quality should make him a front runner for a place in the team, it's up to him to grab it and if he can't in the next few months perhaps then we can say we made a mistake.

31-10-2022, 12:46 PM
McKirdy is a player I was pleased we had signed because he ticked all the boxes, more than a goal every 2 games in 40 appearances for Swindon, apparently a bit of an entertainer on the pitch and a 'character' off it and a player fans of his previous club were by all accounts sorry to lose. But a wee read of Wikipedia ( I know, I know ) seems to indicate that his attitude isn't the least of the reasons for the number of clubs he has under his belt at 25 years of age.

I've only seen him play at ER so that's all I have to go on and like everybody else I'm not going to judge him on the Celtic game where nobody covered themselves in glory. But based on his ER appearances I can't say I've seen much to enthuse me, just a player who seems surprised it's not as easy to waltz past defenders in this league as he might have been lead to believe and someone who still needs to learn that refs up here don't respond to having their decisions questioned with a quiet word in yer ear.

It's early days though and a bit soon to be writing the guy off. The opportunity is there for any player to force their way into this team, especially on the left side of our attack, on that basis what I'm not willing to hear is stuff about a lack of attitude. This is a player with 115 senior appearances under his belt before joining us, he isn't some untried kid and his experience and alleged quality should make him a front runner for a place in the team, it's up to him to grab it and if he can't in the next few months perhaps then we can say we made a mistake.He looked really lively up at tannadice, was quite impressed with his performance when he came on for second half.

31-10-2022, 12:47 PM

It's really hard to conceive just how much the DR HATES Hibs - such is the negativity that spews forth whenever they can bring themselves to mention our name!

Notable that the feckless hacks couldn't get their facts straight - claiming McKirdy has been dropped when Johnson has stated he is injured - pathetic welts that they are!

31-10-2022, 12:48 PM

You genuinely think people go to ER with the intention of slagging off our own players?

I’ve never known anyone like that but I guess you might be right. Can’t see it though.

I think we go to the games because we support Hibs and want the best for our club.

Some fans will shout some ridiculous things throughout the game but that’s just passion being shown.

It shouldn’t be taken literally.

Same as folk who scream at their own TV during a game. Of course it’s daft and doesn’t make sense but it doesn’t mean they have a problem or need help or are compensating for anything!!

31-10-2022, 12:50 PM
Re Harry McK - Hibbies should lay off him and allow him to settle. Harry should lay off the social media - we have eyes and ears everywhere like the Stasi!

31-10-2022, 12:59 PM
Daft thing to do but it really is a non-story. It just shows the need for the psychologist that Johnson was considering if Harry is thinking of throwing in the towel after 2 months.

He maybe has had a homesick moment when posting that comment.
He played his best football/goalscoring at Swindon and won awards.So he would have felt great when there !
He was, i think,told down there to lay of the social media stuff,as he would get ratty/respond to and at negative comments. .
Maybe that is getting to him again.
Best he should "check out" of that stuff for a bit and as we say up here... "get the heid doon"

31-10-2022, 01:02 PM
He should knuckle down and try and get into the team, because on his first showings he has shown the big level up he's came to and has looked really poor. If he wants to go back to a lower pis*y league and have it easy then let him have it. Let's see what he's made of because he's certain not the main striker we signed in January 🇺🇦

31-10-2022, 01:07 PM

It's really hard to conceive just how much the DR HATES Hibs - such is the negativity that spews forth whenever they can bring themselves to mention our name!

Notable that the feckless hacks couldn't get their facts straight - claiming McKirdy has been dropped when Johnson has stated he is injured - pathetic welts that they are!

They also got the score on Saturday wrong as well. Useless is one word for the “reporter”

JamesHFC
31-10-2022, 01:27 PM

Pouring pints over himself. He's quite the character.

31-10-2022, 01:32 PM
You genuinely think people go to ER with the intention of slagging off our own players?

I’ve never known anyone like that but I guess you might be right. Can’t see it though.

I think we go to the games because we support Hibs and want the best for our club.

Some fans will shout some ridiculous things throughout the game but that’s just passion being shown.

It shouldn’t be taken literally.

Same as folk who scream at their own TV during a game. Of course it’s daft and doesn’t make sense but it doesn’t mean they have a problem or need help or are compensating for anything!!

Yes, 100%, I have sat near people at ER that will shout nothing but things like "you are a joke" "you are *****" "**** off back to xxxx place", i'd hardly call that passion for the club.

31-10-2022, 01:39 PM

Absolutely are people like that.

OldEast
31-10-2022, 02:26 PM
Absolutely are people like that.

In my 50 odd years going to games I've seen and heard plenty. To pay good money then shout and moan for 90 minutes suggests something isnae right.

McGruber
31-10-2022, 03:01 PM
May well have been said but he obviously has a rapport with the Swindon fans and is an avid user of social media. Is it really that far out of the realms to think that the like is just an appreciation of him being well thought of/nice comment rather than suggesting he wants to entertain moving back.

31-10-2022, 03:06 PM
The only thing I've known McKirdy to have done is score a consolation to make it 1-3 against Man City and the stadium went wild.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xWy-G4cNQWk

That level and backdrop is a long way from where he is now at Hibs expected to realistically compete in one-off games and for trophies against OF teams who are currently both playing in the champions league whatever you want to say about that.

Understand he'd be pissed at the current situation can't imagine Hibs signed him to sit on the bench either, but you're going to need to fix the attitude, work for it and offer alot more than we've seen Harry or you'll be finished here sharpish.

Mcbizz1998
31-10-2022, 03:13 PM
The tone of this post completely turned at the mid point [emoji23]

Haha, yeah it did a bit.

I suppose what I meant is if he wants to be here then I obviously am behind him and hope he kicks on. But if he wants away as his Instagram post suggests then it’s not great loss based on what we have seen from him so far.

31-10-2022, 03:20 PM
Kind of middle ground on this

Player should know better

Not worthy of a witch hunt.

31-10-2022, 03:30 PM
The only thing I've known McKirdy to have done is score a consolation to make it 1-3 against Man City and the stadium went wild.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xWy-G4cNQWk

That level and backdrop is a long way from where he is now at Hibs expected to realistically compete in one-off games and for trophies against OF teams who are currently both playing in the champions league whatever you want to say about that.

Understand he'd be pissed at the current situation can't imagine Hibs signed him to sit on the bench either, but you're going to need to fix the attitude, work for it and offer alot more than we've seen Harry or you'll be finished here sharpish.

That level and backdrop was a complete one off and his week to week was spent in League 2 visiting horrible wee grounds. He's now playing his home games in a much bigger stadium with a much larger home crowd. Training in facilities that will be levels above, and has a carrot in front of his nose of playing on the European stage next season. All these things are not on offer in League 2.

If he doesn't stick it out and ends up back there then he wasn't ready or good enough in both attitude and ability, for the step up.

31-10-2022, 03:43 PM
As has been mentioned, he's now 25 and no youngster, he's spent all his career either on loan or playing in League 2 in England which is probably a similar level to our Championship. We have 2 players on loan there who are younger, Tait and Mackay who we didn't think were ready, McKirdy needs to knuckle down and prove his worth to the team and possibly keep away from social media for a bit, even though there wasn't much in him just liking a post.

31-10-2022, 03:52 PM
I am sure he will prove a good player once he settles in, Edinburgh is a big move for many so I am happy to give the guy time, I know what it is like moving to live and work someplace else it is not easy.

31-10-2022, 03:53 PM
That level and backdrop was a complete one off and his week to week was spent in League 2 visiting horrible wee grounds. He's now playing his home games in a much bigger stadium with a much larger home crowd. Training in facilities that will be levels above, and has a carrot in front of his nose of playing on the European stage next season. All these things are not on offer in League 2.

If he doesn't stick it out and ends up back there then he wasn't ready or good enough in both attitude and ability, for the step up.
yes that's exactly what I was getting at :aok: much higher expectation levels here

31-10-2022, 04:04 PM
Yes, 100%, I have sat near people at ER that will shout nothing but things like "you are a joke" "you are *****" "**** off back to xxxx place", i'd hardly call that passion for the club.

Yeah but they didn't go to the game with that as their intentions, they went to support their team, same as you.

Of course it's passion. If they didn't care they probably wouldn't go. I'll bet they cheered loudly when we scored.

Hibees1973
31-10-2022, 05:46 PM
I just don't like him.

If he were to leave in January, fine with me as he has contributed nowt so far. Another one off our huge squad and has been a waste of money.

There are likely to be quite a few others going with him.

31-10-2022, 06:09 PM
He needs to knuckle down and focus on improving as a player, and giving his all when he gets his chance, which might be soon if Boyle is injured.

If he is that unhappy then he can request to leave in January.

31-10-2022, 06:11 PM
I quite like him, needs to be given a chance but also needs to appreciate the level of scrutiny he is under. I’d expect players like Newell that struggled at first will be trying to help him screw the nut.

31-10-2022, 06:48 PM
I just don't like him.

If he were to leave in January, fine with me as he has contributed nowt so far. Another one off our huge squad and has been a waste of money.

hes played under 2.5 games.

Clarence
31-10-2022, 06:54 PM
I just don't like him.

Tell us what you really think 🤔

Clarence
31-10-2022, 06:56 PM
He has a touch of the Sam Morrows about him. Probably a player in there somewhere but he needs to be smarter with the ball and probably bulk up a bit. I’m sure he can finish given the chance but his chances will have a much narrower window in this league than he’s used to and he needs to adapt quickly.

31-10-2022, 07:13 PM
I just don't like him.

Hard to argue with such powerful and insightful opinions as that.

31-10-2022, 09:35 PM
I just don't like him.

Don't like him based on starting one game :greengrin

31-10-2022, 09:59 PM
Very silly comment from McKirdy on Instagram - he needs to learn that us Hibs fans are like the Stasi - we have eyes and ears everywhere and will pick up on every word said. And that's even MORE the case for the Daily Record if there's the slightest suggestion of a negative angle re Hibs for them to gloat over!
It's a throw away comment but he's just given the elements of our support that somehow always need a scape goat within the side to fling pelters at an excuse to target him. Here's hoping he bangs away some goals in quick order and consigns this nonsense to the past pronto before the boo boys get up a head of steam.

31-10-2022, 10:03 PM
I just don't like him.

You are a slaver of the highest order. We’ve seen virtually nothing of the guy yet. Some ridiculous comments on this thread.

31-10-2022, 10:07 PM
He has a touch of the Sam Morrows about him. Probably a player in there somewhere but he needs to be smarter with the ball and probably bulk up a bit. I’m sure he can finish given the chance but his chances will have a much narrower window in this league than he’s used to and he needs to adapt quickly.

Bit of a difference in that Morrow was an Ipswich youth player and still in his teens when he signed for us. If my memory’s correct. I liked him as a player but he was battling for a place with some top drawer competition in that squad.

31-10-2022, 10:42 PM

Total non story. Only thing that matters is whether he’s going to push himself to prove he deserves a place in the team or not.

01-11-2022, 09:05 AM
I just don't like him.

That's the spirit.

01-11-2022, 09:20 AM
Is it clear yet what role we bought him for? Out wide? Through the middle? Partner for someone like Big Mike?

Different stages in their careers, but I can’t shake the feeling like Melkerson that we’ve signed good individual players but without buying them for clearly defined roles. I can see him “doing a job” in various positions but never fully convincing before he moves on again in a season or two.

Halmyre Hibee
01-11-2022, 09:39 AM
As long as he wants to be a Hibs player McKirdy will get my support. We’ve all said & done daft things when we were younger but hopefully he will knuckle down, work hard & be the player we all want him to be.

Paulie Walnuts
01-11-2022, 12:52 PM
Is it clear yet what role we bought him for? Out wide? Through the middle? Partner for someone like Big Mike?

Different stages in their careers, but I can’t shake the feeling like Melkerson that we’ve signed good individual players but without buying them for clearly defined roles. I can see him “doing a job” in various positions but never fully convincing before he moves on again in a season or two.

That’s what I’m not sure about on him. I can’t really see where he fits in from what we’ve seen so far.

He definitely doesn’t look like he belongs out wide but I’d be surprised if he could play up top on his own.

Hibees1973
01-11-2022, 03:25 PM
You are a slaver of the highest order. We’ve seen virtually nothing of the guy yet. Some ridiculous comments on this thread.

Thanks for that, nicest thing someone has said to me in a long time. :aok:

01-11-2022, 03:30 PM
Thanks for that, nicest thing someone has said to me in a long time. :aok:

If the way you act in your actual life is the same as how you act on here I’m not surprised.

Hibees1973
01-11-2022, 03:42 PM
If the way you act in your actual life is the same as how you act on here I’m not surprised.

Tbh I'm a fairly quiet bloke.

Hibs seem to bring out the worst in me. My opinions about Hibs are black or white and understand that a few posters will disagree with my comments which is fair enough.

With regards to McKirdy, I reckon he will never cut it with us. Never.

LeithMike
01-11-2022, 03:44 PM
That’s what I’m not sure about on him. I can’t really see where he fits in from what we’ve seen so far.

He definitely doesn’t look like he belongs out wide but I’d be surprised if he could play up top on his own.

Agree. He looks like a proper poacher who’ll run in behind rather than drop off and hold the ball up. I know LJ is playing 3-5-2 at the moment but he is on the record saying that his preferred formation is 4-3-3 and I just don’t see how McKirdy fits into that. I think he’ll do well if given a run in the team but we’d need to get him the ball in the box. I don’t think he’s going to contribute a whole lot to the build up.

Doesn’t seem like part of a coordinated plan and I don’t think McKirdy has come to warm the bench or play out wide.

01-11-2022, 03:48 PM
Agree. He looks like a proper poacher who’ll run in behind rather than drop off and hold the ball up. I know LJ is playing 3-5-2 at the moment but he is on the record saying that his preferred formation is 4-3-3 and I just don’t see how McKirdy fits into that. I think he’ll do well if given a run in the team but we’d need to get him the ball in the box. I don’t think he’s going to contribute a whole lot to the build up.

Doesn’t seem like part of a coordinated plan and I don’t think McKirdy has come to warm the bench or play out wide.

Sure he has played wide at Swindon also

Donegal Hibby
01-11-2022, 07:08 PM
Seems Lee Johnson Has spoken with Harry Mckirdy about his conduct .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/harry-mckirdy-reprimanded-by-hibs-after-misconstrued-swindon-town-social-media-post-3901982

01-11-2022, 08:01 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/harry-mckirdy-reprimanded-by-hibs-after-misconstrued-swindon-town-social-media-post-3901982

said that he only meant he would like to return to the County Ground at some stage of his career.

Aye ok, we believe you :greengrin

01-11-2022, 08:04 PM
Tbh I'm a fairly quiet bloke.

Hibs seem to bring out the worst in me. My opinions about Hibs are black or white and understand that a few posters will disagree with my comments which is fair enough.

With regards to McKirdy, I reckon he will never cut it with us. Never.

Might only be one middling word, but the final 'Never' really changes that from a fair and acceptable opinion into something more unpleasant and obnoxious.

01-11-2022, 08:13 PM
said that he only meant he would like to return to the County Ground at some stage of his career.

Aye ok, we believe you :greengrin

Aye, that’s the sound of rapid back peddling going on there.

ToulouseHibs
01-11-2022, 08:24 PM
Does anybody know what kind of role he had at Swindon? Harry gained a decent support there so he was doing something recent in a system that suited him apparently.

01-11-2022, 08:41 PM

"and quickly became a cult hero"

Sorry have I missed something, the only discussion being held around McKirdy since he joined us is can he make it or have we signed a dud? Nae offence tae the guy, but as things stand he's about as far from being a cult hero at Easter Road as Rudi f'ing Skacel ... where does the Scotsman get this pish from!!!

Donegal Hibby
01-11-2022, 09:22 PM

Sorry have I missed something, the only discussion being held around McKirdy since he joined us is can he make it or have we signed a dud? Nae offence tae the guy, but as things stand he's about as far from being a cult hero at Easter Road as Rudi f'ing Skacel ... where does the Scotsman get this pish from!!!
That bit had me baffled as well , bad journalism again .

01-11-2022, 09:36 PM

I think every player gets described as an "ace", "hero" or "star" nowadays by the tabloids. Journalism and accuracy are old fashioned concepts in the rush to get clicks.

01-11-2022, 09:37 PM
Does anybody know what kind of role he had at Swindon? Harry gained a decent support there so he was doing something recent in a system that suited him apparently.

He was basically playing anywhere across a front three and scoring goals for fun. Definitely a lower level than SPL but not all that lower - average wage dwarfing that of the Scottish Championship for example. He will have to dig deep but I reckon he can make an impact yet. Needs to realise this IS a step up from where he's made his name so far

Donegal Hibby
01-11-2022, 11:31 PM
He was basically playing anywhere across a front three and scoring goals for fun. Definitely a lower level than SPL but not all that lower - average wage dwarfing that of the Scottish Championship for example. He will have to dig deep but I reckon he can make an impact yet. Needs to realise this IS a step up from where he's made his name so far
Agree with you on this bh .My biggest concern has been his temperament and attitude which up to now imo has been very poor .I'm really hoping after meeting our manager he stays off social media for a while and gets the head down and works hard and shows us just the player I think he can be ,you don't score goals the way he has without being good player . As to another post that he's been getting abuse from the stands I don't get that or about our team for that matter , they know when they have played badly and probably feel like sh**e anyhow and hurling abuse doesn't help anyone except making the one or ones doing it feel superior and justified in there actions . We are on a mission to try and get into Europe and don't need any disruptions in what's a very tight league . So no more screw ups Harry! Let's wipe the slate clean and move on . GGTTH :scarf:

02-11-2022, 09:32 AM
McKirdy wont make it at Hibs, I think he thought it was a good move but Hibs have higher standards and he doesnt come close, we need tae shift him in the next window and get players that are not afraid of a challenge.

02-11-2022, 09:35 AM
McKirdy wont make it at Hibs, I think he thought it was a good move but Hibs have higher standards and he doesnt come close, we need tae shift him in the next window and get players that are not afraid of a challenge.

Pure fiction.

02-11-2022, 09:41 AM
No just my opinion, but you dont have tonagree with it, hes not good enough and wont make the step up.

02-11-2022, 09:43 AM

I have my doubts to be honest. Runs about a bit and throws his arms up in the air in frustration a lot. But as someone who has just been saying Rocky has proved people wrong i'm not wanting to write him off just yet. Need to see a bit more of him and not going to judge him on Celtic away. Undoubtedly a big step up for him coming to Hibs.

02-11-2022, 09:48 AM
I've only the video that was on youtube to really go on, but i'm still very hopeful he will go on and show what he did in those clips.

What i will say though, is he needs to stop moaning to the ref whenever he gets a chance in the team, am i right in saying he's been booked 3 times so far?

Not sure about that, but he seems to get booked a lot for moaning, that has to be the easiest thing to sort, and i did read he's only played 205 minutes so far.

Like any player, he will need a run of games before we see if he's good enough or not, but i do understand he will need to show a bit more when he does get that chance.

02-11-2022, 10:17 AM

He had one hot season. His talent had been massively over played unfortunately. Hopefully he can make an impact but I’m not fussed about him either way.

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2022, 10:30 AM
I've only the video that was on youtube to really go on, but i'm still very hopeful he will go on and show what he did in those clips.

What i will say though, is he needs to stop moaning to the ref whenever he gets a chance in the team, am i right in saying he's been booked 3 times so far?

Not sure about that, but he seems to get booked a lot for moaning, that has to be the easiest thing to sort, and i did read he's only played 205 minutes so far.

Like any player, he will need a run of games before we see if he's good enough or not, but i do understand he will need to show a bit more when he does get that chance.
I make it two bookings so far in Johnstone and Motherwell games , one of them he was booked in he kept at the referee even though he already had been given a yellow , I honestly thought he was going to get sent off .Seems to have had discipline problems at previous club . Hopefully he gets the head down and cuts out the nonsense.Everything he's done up now hasn't shown him in a very good light ,from turning up to sign dressed the way he was to the other situations he's been involved in .

02-11-2022, 10:45 AM

The excitement around his signing suggests McKirdy could become a totemic figure here.

But yeah, it’s The Scotsman - sadly a pale shadow of its former self these days.

02-11-2022, 10:48 AM
I make it two bookings so far in Johnstone and Motherwell games , one of them he was booked in he kept at the referee even though he already had been given a yellow , I honestly thought he was going to get sent off .Seems to have had discipline problems at previous club . Hopefully he gets the head down and cuts out the nonsense.Everything he's done up now hasn't shown him in a very good light ,from turning up to sign dressed the way he was to the other situations he's been involved in .
I think that’s my fear, he’s not a youngster anymore in footballing terms, he’s 25 and unless he matures he’s in danger of pissing a great opportunity to the wall to progress his career and play at a higher level.

He really should have learned that by now, but that’s not to say that he won’t learn it soon when he’s here. I fear he may learn the hard way though.

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2022, 11:42 AM
I think that’s my fear, he’s not a youngster anymore in footballing terms, he’s 25 and unless he matures he’s in danger of pissing a great opportunity to the wall to progress his career and play at a higher level.

He really should have learned that by now, but that’s not to say that he won’t learn it soon when he’s here. I fear he may learn the hard way though.
I'm hoping he will get the head down and work hard , your right it's a great opportunity for him ,it's up to him to take it,, so far there's been 3 issues that hasn't impressed me with him , folk on here have been on about the colourful character he is , so far that's been the case in a negative way . I remember he missed a penalty in the play off shoot out against Port vale and infuriated the Swindon fans for laughing after he missed it ,some have said on here he's only a young player ,he's not , he's 25 ,coming 26 .Time he grew up and make a success of his career. He definitely deserves a chance and fans should give him one as the club will but neither will accept him repeatedly messing up either .

02-11-2022, 11:54 AM

My concerns are that it looked like we pushed the boat out to get this boy and we were obviously eager given all the last-minute deadlines hooh-hah. I thought that he would be close to a first pick, not based on the level that he was at, but his potential to step up. Not much that he can do to get game time, other than impress the manager. Not sure that I would pick him in a front three when Nisbet gets over his injuries though.

02-11-2022, 12:53 PM

That could well be part of his problem. There's little doubt that there's a wide perception in England that a move from EFL 1 or 2 to the Scottish premiership is at best a sideways move, at worst a step down, you only have to check out the comments from some Swindon fans to see that. If part of the problem is he has bought into that mindset he has to change it quick smart.

The truth is that at best any player coming here from those leagues will be faced with challenges every bit as tough as the ones they have moved from and a host of different ones. What they don't face in these leagues is playing in front of 4,000 fans one week and 50 or 60 thousand the week after against teams with stratospherically bigger budgets and the players to reflect that.

For the likes of Swindon or Crewe or Plymouth Argyle or Portsmouth etc,etc the chance of European qualification are at best dependent on being bought by Saudi Arabia at worst an impossible dream. In this league at least 7 of the 10 non OF clubs see European qualification as a possibility and in the case of a club like Hibs its seen as a realistic target every season, that is a pressure, not to mention an expectation, he will never have faced at any of the clubs he has played for.

The same goes for the cup competitions. Clubs like Hibs, Hearts, Aberdeen and Dundee United do not expect to get pumped out of either cup at the first time of asking and doing so is viewed as failure, as it was with our League cup campaign this season ... here a realistic ambition is at least one semi final a season.

That's the difference between what he has left and what he has come to. The expectations of professionalism and dedication at Hibs and our direct competitors are every bit as high, if not higher, than the EFL, especially because on field success is a massive part of our earning potential compared to what we earn from the TV and other outside sources .... making the Scottish cup semis can be worth up to half a million quid, a huge amount for any club in this league.

That's what he has joined, not some bog standard EFL club playing year in year out with only the possibility of a shot at a 3rd place playoff in front of 40,000 at Wembley as the measure of success. I don't doubt he has the ability, but it needs more than that to succeed here.

OldEast
02-11-2022, 03:02 PM

Wouldn't it be great if he turned into a penalty box, poaching goal machine? Don't see it though. I think he is one of the players LJ will try to move on asap.

02-11-2022, 03:18 PM
Just seen the original reply, guy says "time to come back now" his reply was "not wrong".

No wonder Johnston hauled him into the office to give him a bollocking.

GreenPJ
02-11-2022, 03:26 PM
Having watched his goals on Youtube for last season I was surprised that a lot of them were 6-12 yards out and fairly central. I had thought of him more as a wide player cutting in. His problem is he isn't going to displace Myko or Nisbet (when he is back) from that central position so he needs to learn to be effective from the channels

02-11-2022, 03:29 PM
Wouldn't it be great if he turned into a penalty box, poaching goal machine? Don't see it though. I think he is one of the players LJ will try to move on asap.

His problem is that we have so many forward options, plus Nisbet due to come back. Maybe send Tavares on loan.

We will surely try to get out of the Bojang loan, little point him being here if he’s not in the picture.

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2022, 04:51 PM
Just seen the original reply, guy says "time to come back now" his reply was "not wrong".

No wonder Johnston hauled him into the office to give him a bollocking.
Wasn't the smartest thing to do ,he does seem to have this maverick attitude that he's going to do whatever he wants to do !

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2022, 05:29 PM
Another Story on Mckirdy
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/harry-mckirdy-feels-unloved-hibs-25417140

02-11-2022, 05:30 PM
Our last signing from Swindon was disappointing hope
Mckirdy knuckles down

02-11-2022, 05:31 PM
Another Story on Mckirdy
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/harry-mckirdy-feels-unloved-hibs-25417140

Comical journalism that. Referring to him as the "Aston Villa" 😅

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2022, 05:46 PM
Comical journalism that. Referring to him as the "Aston Villa" 😅
Yeah your not wrong journalism is certainly going to the " wolves " 😆

02-11-2022, 06:51 PM
Hopefully the Aston Villa can come back from his knock and hit the ground running after the world cup.

BS44
02-11-2022, 06:57 PM
His problem is that we have so many forward options, plus Nisbet due to come back. Maybe send Tavares on loan.

We will surely try to get out of the Bojang loan, little point him being here if he’s not in the picture.

Bojang is injured, went for a unauthorized run and done himself no good!

Clarence
02-11-2022, 07:13 PM
Bojang is injured, went for a unauthorized run and done himself no good!

No good ever comes of unauthorised runs.

02-11-2022, 08:35 PM
Still young, one of those players who developed late similar to Stephen Dobbie who went down the divisions and rediscovered his career.

I'm confident that if he gets a run in the team after Jan he'll be an absolute fan favourite as well as being hated by the opposition.

'mon the McKirdy

02-11-2022, 08:37 PM
Still young, one of those players who developed late similar to Stephen Dobbie who went down the divisions and rediscovered his career.

I'm confident that if he gets a run in the team after Jan he'll be an absolute fan favourite as well as being hated by the opposition.

'mon the McKirdy

I thought he was 25?
Hardly young in football terms

Edit: Dobbie LEFT Hibs at 23

02-11-2022, 10:18 PM

'mon the McKirdy

He needs a run soon, as when Whizbit, Bojangles and Mr Gready are back he will have even less chance of a start.

Sorry hadn't read that he had picked up an injury!

02-11-2022, 10:20 PM

Only thing worse is an unauthorised nun

02-11-2022, 11:19 PM

His career has hit the skids.

Donegal Hibby
02-11-2022, 11:34 PM
Now that's below the belt !

02-11-2022, 11:54 PM
Now that's below the belt !

Or "In to the Valley" maybe.....

03-11-2022, 09:12 AM
I thought he was 25?
Hardly young in football terms

Edit: Dobbie LEFT Hibs at 23

A player i really liked at Hibs and was disappointed when he left. Went on to have a very good career.

03-11-2022, 09:22 AM
A player i really liked at Hibs and was disappointed when he left. Went on to have a very good career.dobbie was mince with us , he was overweight but got his career back on track.

heid the baw
03-11-2022, 01:01 PM
Melkersen is already a far better player than Mckirdy IMO
I would pap him back to Swindon in January as surplus to requirements

Billy McKirdy
03-11-2022, 01:05 PM
I’m hoping he’ll make it, my whole family is behind him 😉

03-11-2022, 01:32 PM

after 200 minutes :rolleyes:

03-11-2022, 01:34 PM
Desperately hope he doesn't take these horrible comments to heart. Some "supporters" need to Google what that word means.

03-11-2022, 01:38 PM

the baw heid

FTFY

03-11-2022, 02:04 PM
I’m hoping he’ll make it, my whole family is behind him 😉

Let's hope so Billy.

03-11-2022, 02:57 PM
Mental the amount of folk that appear to be writing him off after a couple of sub appearances and 1 start against Celtic.

I think he’s looked decent at times, just needs a settled run.

You’d think people would learn after Doidge, Newell, Rocky etc

JammyDoidger
03-11-2022, 09:16 PM
Posted a photo of naingolan on his story who is currently suspended at Antwerp for smoking on the bench, he's a cryptic boy, think hibs have suspended him and are making out he's injured?

AugustaHibs
03-11-2022, 09:26 PM
Posted a photo of naingolan on his story who is currently suspended at Antwerp for smoking on the bench, he's a cryptic boy, think hibs have suspended him and are making out he's injured?

I think he’s shaved his head like naingolan

03-11-2022, 09:30 PM

🙄 ****ty puns as usual..

😁

Billy McKirdy
04-11-2022, 12:09 PM
Let's hope so Billy.

He will come good, he just needs minutes on the park.

04-11-2022, 01:02 PM

Vaping tbf. An incident that is helping to derail a very promising start to the season for RAFC.

If McKirdy had a 10th of Naingolan's talent, he'd be tearing up this league!

04-11-2022, 01:10 PM

Amazing the lengths our own fans will go to just to get some controversy to talk about

04-11-2022, 01:22 PM

😂😂

I'm Spartacus
04-11-2022, 01:56 PM
How do I find him on Insta?

Spudster
04-11-2022, 02:23 PM
https://www.instagram.com/harrymckirdy/?hl=en

I'm Spartacus
04-11-2022, 02:32 PM
https://www.instagram.com/harrymckirdy/?hl=en

Thanks, I spelt his name wrong! Doh.

04-11-2022, 02:34 PM
Vaping tbf. An incident that is helping to derail a very promising start to the season for RAFC.

If McKirdy had a 10th of Naingolan's talent, he'd be tearing up this league!

Vaping on the bench?!? What a f***ing idiot.

04-11-2022, 02:38 PM
He needs a run soon, as when Whizbit, Bojangles and Mr Gready are back he will have even less chance of a start.

Sorry hadn't read that he had picked up an injury!

Nisbet will defo up the ante for up front places. McGeady for wide berths. Bojang has little chance of being used as anything but an impact sub imo - and only then if he learns and learns very fast!

04-11-2022, 04:02 PM
Amazing the lengths our own fans will go to just to get some controversy to talk about
Yip haven't learned a thing following the Rocky situation

JJP
12-11-2022, 06:20 PM
Probably one of the only bright spots in on otherwise miserable afternoon. Hopefully we see more of him after the World Cup break.

HibeeHibernia
12-11-2022, 06:22 PM
Probably one of the only bright spots in on otherwise miserable afternoon. Hopefully we see more of him after the World Cup break.

he has quality i reckon he'll come good once we start playing him in his actual position mate no too sure about that mohawk though haha :flag:

12-11-2022, 06:32 PM

Yep, looked pretty lively to me.

Not much comfort to cling to today but it would very welcome if he were to emerge fully once the WC is over.

12-11-2022, 06:32 PM
Thought he looked sharp when he came on, unlucky with his shot that went over after beating a couple of players

12-11-2022, 11:31 PM
He looked a lot better today than I previously believed he would be. Gives me some hope.

12-11-2022, 11:32 PM
He looked a lot better today than I previously believed he would be. Gives me some hope.

Definitely, in a game where there's really nothing to write home about actually thought McKirdy wasn't bad.

#2 Double Tap
13-11-2022, 01:46 AM
Great hair, needs to paint it green tho.

Had good energy about him today. Seen something, hopefully improves more.

13-11-2022, 08:12 AM
Thought he looked sharp when he came on, unlucky with his shot that went over after beating a couple of players

Agree looked one of the few determined to try and do something about it including getting on the officials case which to many appear not to even question. Showed good ability on the ball and was unlucky not to create a goal. Was promising for me. Hopefully he stays fit and starts to contribute

13-11-2022, 08:13 AM
Agree looked one of the few determined to try and do something about it including getting on the officials case which to many appear not to even question. Showed good ability on the ball and was unlucky not to create a goal. Was promising for me. Hopefully he stays fit and starts to contribute

Started to count six seconds at the Tory bar steward linesman every time the goalie was time wasting. Liked it.

13-11-2022, 08:19 AM

I thought the same

Donegal Hibby
04-12-2022, 09:33 AM
Interesting article on Harry Mckirdy
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-harry-mckirdy-opens-up-on-being-a-maverick-standing-out-in-scotland-social-media-storm-and-what-he-needs-when-season-resumes-3940799