View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v St Johnstone (VAR launch)
Lee Marvin
21-10-2022, 08:56 PM
Not a Farmer apologist, but tell me what's improved since he has gone?
Anyway, I'm off for a beer before a flight tomorrow.
Enjoy justifying the 'progress' and let's see where we are in the new year.
Live music before game and at half time
Doom and gloom fan base out again to tell we are all doomed :rolleyes:
Sometimes, criticism is merited. After how we performed at Dundee, Glasgow and again tonight....its merited.
No one saying we're "doomed"....just not performing to standard expected.
21-10-2022, 08:57 PM
The subs ruined things, not the sending off.
Made zero sense taking Myko off for Youen, totally crap decision.
Youem can’t score. We know that after the last 11 games.
Why sign McKirdy? Why not play Melkerson? Why persist with Boyle as a striker?
We got what we deserved and there were was nothing to suggest that things are going to improve. It’s been the same in practically every game this season.
We were winning that game with eleven on the park. Easily. Sending off definitely the main issue.
Donegal Hibby
21-10-2022, 08:58 PM
The position of the arms, given they are not a ‘playable’ part of the body, are not taken, or shouldn’t be anyway, taken into account when judging offside.
Only parts of the body with which the ball can be legally played.
Having said that, there wasn’t much in it, but you are either onside or offside, there is no tolerance built in.
Yeah realise that now ,think Melbourne Hibby has it sorted Var ruled it offside is why linesman flagged
Lee Marvin
21-10-2022, 08:58 PM
We absolutely bottled it after the sending off. Absolutely pathetic stuff.
hibeerealist
21-10-2022, 08:59 PM
Reminded me of how we folded up at Aberdeen after going down to ten men and being a goal up.
You watch so many sides go down to ten and make it as difficult as possible, Hibs on the other hand - well the evidence is there tonight.
Prior to the sending off, tempo was all wrong from the start of the second half. Newell and Campbell resorted to the usual sideways/backwards pass when there was acres of space to attack, and Hibs continually gifting St Johnstone room to play right across the middle.
Still miles short of the quality required at this club.
More than anything, I'm utterly pissed off at our fantastic support being let down once again.
Spot on CH, manager AND players NEED A GOOD BOOT UP THE A RSE.
Clearly Johnsons go at them for the shambles last week was like water of the ducks back
21-10-2022, 08:59 PM
I'm not getting the abuse that Magennis and Porto or anyone else is getting to be honest. 11 v 11 only one winner. Complete control and never in danger. I think Clancy has sent off Kyle for two nothing challenges. Kyle was having a good game. We should have been further ahead and you are always open to losing when you don't convert all the chances and half chances we are creating
As for VAR. Get it to ****. Clear as day that there were no issues with the goals but we have to wait till Willie ****ing Collum checks replays!! The bigger need is competent referees
Mcbizz1998
21-10-2022, 09:00 PM
The subs ruined things, not the sending off.
Made zero sense taking Myko off for Youen, totally crap decision.
Youem can’t score. We know that after the last 11 games.
Why sign McKirdy? Why not play Melkerson? Why persist with Boyle as a striker?
We got what we deserved and there were was nothing to suggest that things are going to improve. It’s been the same in practically every game this season.
If Myko went off as a tactical change then it makes me extremely worried about our managers decision making.
Surely it was an injury? If not then what the actual ****, Lee!??
GreenGray
21-10-2022, 09:01 PM
We also have a habit of starting the game well and attacking quickly but this seems to last a grand total of three minutes before everything slows down.
Live music before game and at half time
Wtf was that about??!!
”Tonight our violinist is David”….
Like it’s a regular thing.
Going from Born Slippy to that was surreal!!
Tactics all wrong tonight. Rocky did fine but going to a back 3 just encouraged slow passing and does nothing for Newell or Campbell.
To then change to a 4-4-1 but stick with same personnel for 10/15 mins was mad. Porto playing as a right back when down to 10 didn’t help him for the second goal.
Just stick with the flat back 4 which has largely worked so well. Last week was the time for the 3 at back, not against a defensive St Johnstone
Embarrassing defeat
NC1875
21-10-2022, 09:02 PM
If Myko went off as a tactical change then it makes me extremely worried about our managers decision making.
Surely it was an injury? If not then what the actual ****, Lee!??
He would have been sent off, that was clear as day. Instead Clancy books Magennis for nothing then sends him off for what should be his first yellow.
dmc1875
21-10-2022, 09:02 PM
I'm not getting the abuse that Magennis and Porto or anyone else is getting to be honest. 11 v 11 only one winner. Complete control and never in danger. I think Clancy has sent off Kyle for two nothing challenges. Kyle was having a good game. We should have been further ahead and you are always open to losing when you don't convert all the chances and half chances we are creating
As for VAR. Get it to ****. Clear as day that there were no issues with the goals but we have to wait till Willie ****ing Collum checks replays!! The bigger need is competent referees
My opinion?
Don’t agree with most of that.
Magennis was an idiot and got himself stupidly sent off.
Boyle was poor as he has been for weeks now. Our talisman hasn’t been seen really for weeks?
Porteous was at fault for both goals.
We were idiots and therefore deserved to lose the game.
21-10-2022, 09:03 PM
Doom and gloom fan base out again to tell we are all doomed :rolleyes:
Do you think we should be happy with the way we played and that performance tonight ? To me that performance was flat from the off.
Playing against such a brutal team as St Johnstone they were dreadful and still managed to get a win against us tonight. Jesus I see the same posters defending the same dross we see every week on here. Clap away mate clap away :rolleyes:
Magennis second challenge could have been a red on its own. Mindless stuff but he should have been subbed before then
Seekyit
We were winning that game with eleven on the park. Easily. Sending off definitely the main issue.
I think so too. Simple as that.
percy veer
Thought clancy was terrible tonight ,got all his decisions in that var cannot affect booked people for persistent fouling after 2 fouls gave them everything and us nowt. How st j got away with some of those challenges after mcgennus got a soft first yellow is beyond me , but this will happen every week.
21-10-2022, 09:04 PM
Tactics all wrong tonight. Rocky did fine but going to a back 3 just encouraged slow passing and does nothing for Newell or Campbell.
To then change to a 4-4-1 but stick with same personnel for 10/15 mins was mad. Porto playing as a right back when down to 10 didn’t help him for the second goal.
Just stick with the flat back 4 which has largely worked so well. Last week was the time for the 3 at back, not against a defensive St Johnstone
Embarrassing defeat
Have just posted similar on the Johnson thread. I don’t get why he’s decided to muck about the defence. The back four were settled and doing well then he changes one at Parkhead and changes totally today.
Scotty Leither
Not a Farmer apologist, but tell me what's improved since he has gone?
Enjoy justifying the 'progress' and let's see where we are in the new year.
Farmer and his factor, Petrie, simply would NOT have sanctioned the spend on the gutting of the West Stand and the magnificent facilities that are there now.
HOWEVER, the team are still short of a playmaker, a left winger who can actually cross a ball and a penalty-box striker whose only task should be to put the ball in the net, and the long-standing deficiencies in the team are still there, the major one being we look like we’ve only got one goal in us per game.
A 20k attendance tonight even with the reduced prices shows the massive potential of this club, we should by now be approaching a point where we’re seeing off crap teams like them routinely and really kicking on under the (now not so “new” owner.
Love what you’ve done with stadium, Ron, now FFS give us a decent team go with it, will you?
Magennis’ First booking was a joke, he’s done everything he could not to foul the boy but Clancy couldn’t wait to get his cards out, which was the story of his night.
You’re not getting 2 players getting stick, one who stupidly got himself sent off and the other who lost his man for the 2 goals?
21-10-2022, 09:05 PM
Surely it was an injury? If not then what the actual ****, Lee!??he was taken off as he had just committed a foul and was already on a yellow card , it’s just a pity he didn’t sub magenniss as well.
Zambernardi1875
21-10-2022, 09:06 PM
Magennis’ First booking was a joke, he’s done everything he could not to foul the boy but Clancy couldn’t wait to get his cards out, which was the story of his night.
Which baffles me even more that the players didn’t think, right it’s Clancy and Collum on the first VAR tonight let’s do nothing stupid.
21-10-2022, 09:06 PM
You’re not getting 2 players getting stick, one who stupidly got himself sent off and the other who lost his man for the 2 goals?
There is no way on earth that Kyle's 2 bookings were yellow cards. Losing 2 goals when down to 19 men. We've seen it all season. Teams lose shape
21-10-2022, 09:07 PM
Hopefully last we’ll see of Cabraja in a Hibs shirt, utter garbage
LOL!
They still try, don’t they!
21-10-2022, 09:08 PM
Disagree, our discipline was poor all night and Magennis should be apologising to all his team mates. I was hoping he'd get subbed after the first one then I saw Campbell giving the ball away for the umpteenth time. But Hendo did the very same at Tannadice I suppose.
We should still have seen it out, Porto of all people beaten in the air twice.
The way we folded after the red underlines what Johnson said about our mentality.
Our passing was backwards or sideways with Newell the biggest culprit again, slows the game down all the time. Porteous was brutal and getting beat by 2 headers like that is just not on for a defender if he's so called quality.
Back 3 didn't work, the players that's been brought in suit 433, play them that way.
Paulie Walnuts
21-10-2022, 09:10 PM
Nowhere near it imo.
Both his tackles were bookings all day and he’s sold the jerseys.
Struggling to understand why there a mass exodus with ten minutes to go? It’s as if some folk are waiting for an excuse to leave. Fickle as **** but hardly a surprise with how entitled some of our fairweather support are. Never mind we’ll maybe be back at Hampden in April for your annual day out on the skite.
Literally thousands up and leaving soon as the second went in, you’d have thought it was the last kick of the ball that they scored with. I don’t imagine it’s that much of an inspiring sight for the players. Bizarre
[QUOTE=Greenwich_Hibby;7136781]Not a Farmer apologist, but tell me what's improved since he has gone?
Enjoy justifying the 'progress' and let's see where we are in the new year.[/
Good try.
Lee Marvin
21-10-2022, 09:11 PM
Struggling to understand why there a mass exodus with ten minutes to go? It’s as if some folk are waiting for an excuse to leave. Fickle as **** but hardly a surprise with how entitled some of our fairweather support are. Never mind we’ll maybe be back at Hampden in April for your annual day out on the skite.
Literally thousands up and leaving soon as the second went in, you’d have thought it was the last kick of the ball that they scored with. I don’t imagine it’s that much of an inspiring sight for the players. Bizarre
Fans fault alert
21-10-2022, 09:11 PM
Creating good chances and not taking enough of them tonight and pretty much every game so far this season. Hopefully mcgeady and nisbett will help change that when they are back fit. We arent great , but better than last season.. Need to get a win next week to keep us in the hunt for top 4
21-10-2022, 09:12 PM
Fans fault alert
Never once said it was the fans fault. I commented on how bizarre I found it.
franck sauzee
21-10-2022, 09:13 PM
Did anybody actually believe McGirdy and Tavares would change anything?
Bit harsh on Tavares when he's made a tremendous run that's from one angle a bawhair offside. Does anyone know how many camera angles var have to look at in Scotland?
21-10-2022, 09:14 PM
Thought clancy was terrible tonight ,got all his decisions in that var cannot affect booked people for persistent fouling after 2 fouls gave them everything and us nowt. How st j got away with some of those challenges after mcgennus got a soft first yellow is beyond me , but this will happen every week.
Yep, every game we lose is the fault of the referee.
We are soft.
Soft with a capital S, and need to mentally toughen up.
Scotty Leither
21-10-2022, 09:15 PM
Never once said it was the fans fault. I commented on how bizarre I found it.
So did I. You’d think St Johnstone had scored their fourth or fifth goal or something.
JamesHFC
21-10-2022, 09:18 PM
Newell still getting a lot of stick but I think him & Rocky were very good tonight as they have been majority of the times they have played this season.
Clancy just could not wait to book Hibs players tonight in a game that showed no amount of VAR is a cure for pish reffing. 6 cards to St Johnstone's 1 speaks volumes. There wasn't a dirty challenge in the game that I can remember.
Still we showed no resilience after going down to 10 which was disappointing. Even at 1-1 I thought we had the players on the park to win the game but it just didn't look like the players shared that belief.
Perhaps they was just so pissed off with Hibs, or just wanted to get on the road before the rest of the crowd.
There is no way on earth that Kyle's 2 bookings were yellow cards. Losing 2 goals when down to 19 men. We've seen it all season. Teams lose shape
The second one most certainly WAS a yellow card.
Most people would expect that a professional football player, already sitting on a yellow card, would NOT make such a needless, utterly stupid late tackle.
In fact I ‘m not sure if Maggenis made a ‘late’ tackle, or was just early for the next one.
21-10-2022, 09:19 PM
[QUOTE=Greenwich_Hibby;7136781]Not a Farmer apologist, but tell me what's improved since he has gone?
Good try.
Nice screens? :dunno: I haven’t checked the actual fixtures, but Aberdeen, St Mirren, Livingston and Hearts have two games in hand over us, which, if we keep throwing games away, gives them the opportunity to leapfrog us, leaving us stranded in 8th or 9th place in the league. Shocking for a team lying in clear third place.
I think so too. Simple as that.
Or the mentality of the players. Looked deflated at 1-0. Only 20 mins to go against a very poor side including:
Hallberg
Murphy
McGowan
Considine
Drey Wright
We lost to that
I thought his first one was harsh because he tried to pull out of it. His second is utter stupidity, in a nothing area of the pitch. He knew it himself as soon as he did it.
21-10-2022, 09:20 PM
Newell still getting a lot of stick but I think him & Rocky were very good tonight as they have been majority of the times they have played this season.
He played well 2nd half with one particularly great ball to Boyle. But first half he had reverted to sitting on top of the back 3. It was like a Maloney team at times IMO, far too slow and deliberate.
We need to get back to 4-3-3 asap.
Greenwich_Hibby
21-10-2022, 09:20 PM
Good try.
???????
21-10-2022, 09:21 PM
It was anything but the fans fault tonight. Not that bizarre.
Many have reasons to leave..like travel etc.
Maybe even the fact losing 2-1 to a diddy team once again isn’t acceptable. Even a draw was a crap result - 10 or 11 players.
21-10-2022, 09:22 PM
Perhaps they was just so pissed off with Hibs, or just wanted to get on the road before the rest of the crowd.
😂 Harry Lauder must’ve been rammed at quarter past nine then in that case, 5000 folk trying to beat the traffic. It’s pish whatever way you try and dress it up.
Trinity Hibee
21-10-2022, 09:22 PM
It was anything but the fans fault tonight.
Maybe even the fact losing 2-1 to a diddy team once again isn’t acceptable. Even a draw was a crap result - 10 or 11 players.
Bang on the money. Yet again the fans turn up but the team don’t. Against absolute ***** like St Johnstone too. That was a disgrace tonight
21-10-2022, 09:23 PM
Clancy just could not wait to book Hibs players tonight in a game that showed no amount of VAR is a cure for pish reffing. 6 cards to St Johnstone's 1 speaks volumes. There wasn't a dirty challenge in the game that I can remember.
Still we showed no resilience after going down to 10 which was disappointing. Even at 1-1 I thought we had the players on the park to win the game but it just didn't look like the players shared that belief.
I thought Magennis’ first yellow was harsh, but other than that I don’t have any issues with the ref booking our players when he did.
Greenwich_Hibby
21-10-2022, 09:23 PM
[QUOTE=Forza Fred;7136853]
Nice screens? :dunno: I haven’t checked the actual fixtures, but Aberdeen, St Mirren, Livingston and Hearts have two games in hand over us, which, if we keep throwing games away, gives them the opportunity to leapfrog us, leaving us stranded in 8th or 9th place in the league. Shocking for a team lying in clear third place.
Rather see a team on the park than fluff. Maybe I'm a dinosaur who enjoys football, rather than facilities. Jim Duffy had us top of the league until he was caught out.
21-10-2022, 09:25 PM
Or the mentality of the players. Looked deflated at 1-0. Only 20 mins to go against a very poor side including:
Hallberg
Murphy
McGowan
Considine
Drey Wright
We lost to that
Sadly I doubt even Johnson knew they contained several ex Hibs players trying to get one over us.
We need to recruit in January - central midfield still an issue and a proper right back.
paddy1875
21-10-2022, 09:26 PM
I left because the manager and team chucked it.
From 60 mins onwards we were sloppy. Giving away possession. Campbell and magennis both booked and tiring. Both left on the park.
Magennis gets the second yellow and within 2-3 mins we concede. After watching hibs at home this season play against ten men more often than not we’ve struggled at times.
These just pump to balls into the box and are winning 2-1.
That was avoidable tonight but we left it happen. If they Chuck it why can’t I?
Trinity Hibee
21-10-2022, 09:26 PM
Sadly I doubt even Johnson knew they contained several ex Hibs players trying to get one over us.
We need to recruit in January - central midfield still an issue and a proper right back.
3 players who couldn’t get into a rotten Hibs team over the past 18 months and 2 players who must be verging on retirement
Seekyit
21-10-2022, 09:27 PM
Hallberg
Murphy
McGowan
Considine
Drey Wright
We lost to that
True, we were lost when down to 10 which isn’t good but I think until then we were comfortable and would’ve gone on to take 3 points.
Trinity Hibee
From 60 mins onwards we were sloppy. Giving away possession. Campbell and magennis both booked and tiring. Both left on the park.
Magennis gets the second yellow and within 2-3 mins we concede. After watching hibs at home this season play against ten men more often than not we’ve struggled at times.
Can’t argue with any of that
It was anything but the fans fault tonight. Not that bizarre.
I’ll repeat myself. I never once said it was the fans fault? Merely asked why 1/3 of the stadium emoted on 80 minutes.
2-1 to a diddy team, what does that make us every time they’ve pumped us over the last few years then. Apologies I’m forgetting we’ve got a god given right to beat them eh. Surely dubiously going down to ten men should have folk staying and rallying behind them nah, no sloping off soon as we went behind. I get some folk leaving early to beat traffic but literally thousands? Nah. Pish
Trinity Hibee
21-10-2022, 09:29 PM
I’ll repeat myself. I never once said it was the fans fault? Merely asked why 1/3 of the stadium emoted on 80 minutes.
2-1 to a diddy team, what does that make us every time they’ve pumped us over the last few years then. Apologies I’m forgetting we’ve got a god given right to beat them eh. Surely dubiously going down to ten men should have folk staying and rallying behind them nah, no sloping off soon as we went behind. I get some folk leaving early to beat traffic but literally thousands? Nah. Pish
Seriously? Any fan would be hacked off with how that turned out tonight. Having a go at other fans is completely pointless. The team/manager shat it
Scotty Leither
21-10-2022, 09:29 PM
We continually see teams wasting time against us when they go a goal up. We lack experience and nous and a couple of chancers in our team that can give it back in situations like we found ourselves in tonight.
21-10-2022, 09:31 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI totally understand the frustration and how pissed off you were at the time, I felt the same but were we seriously out it at that point in the game? Looking back we obviously were as we got beat but we did score at home last minute fairly recently against Hearts and Rangers so you’d have thought that might have been on the minds of some folk 😂
21-10-2022, 09:32 PM
😂 Harry Lauder must’ve been rammed at quarter past nine then in that case, 5000 folk trying to beat the traffic. It’s pish whatever way you try and dress it up.
Nothing wrong wi the crowd tonight, they turned up in huge numbers, the team never turned up 2nd half. Only thing pish was the team.
21-10-2022, 09:34 PM
True, we were lost when down to 10 which isn’t good but I think until then we were comfortable and would’ve gone on to take 3 points.
I never felt fully comfortable at 1-0. They were always going to create something.
Our midfield went missing - gave ball away - didn’t win enough tackles and left runners. Annoyingly the way we set up and how we didn’t make changes came back to bite us badly. Surprised it took them so long to score 2nd.
Donegal Hibby
21-10-2022, 09:35 PM
Do you think we should be happy with the way we played and that performance tonight ? To me that performance was flat from the off.
Playing against such a brutal team as St Johnstone they were dreadful and still managed to get a win against us tonight. Jesus I see the same posters defending the same dross we see every week on here. Clap away mate clap away :rolleyes:
Can't see how you thought it was flat from the off ,we had two shots right at the start . Only one team in the game until Mcgennis was sent off . That was a complete fluke of a result they had against us and to say we are dross every week is a complete OTT reaction to a bad result .Were we dross against rangers , hearts , Ross county , Aberdeen and Motherwell ? You say the same posters defend against it every week ? Main problem on here is when we win a game 'we have the best squad , manager , chairman and recruitment team ' with a blink of a eye in losing a game it's a melt down here normally squads s***e and it's Ian Gordans fault or some else's . Find it all pant wetting at it's very finest.As to me clapping away I'm not doing that tonight I can assure you I'm very disappointed but I like to back my team when they hit a bad patch as well as to when they are winning . It's a lot better than trying to put the boot in at the first available chance
21-10-2022, 09:36 PM
I never felt fully comfortable at 1-0. They were always going to create something.
Our midfield went missing - gave ball away - didn’t win enough tackles and left runners. Annoyingly the way we set up and how we didn’t make changes came back to bite us badly. Surprised it took them so long to score 2nd.
After squandering so many chances to get a 2nd you seen a goal from them coming a mile off.
RossScott1991
21-10-2022, 09:39 PM
I’m not totally convinced about Cabraja some of his crosses and distribution is poor. Aswell as just not really looking like an athlete
Donegal Hibby
21-10-2022, 09:40 PM
Totally agree ,first booking was ridiculous ,never a booking .If it was a booking in Clancys eyes ,he didn't half let them away with a fair few in all.
21-10-2022, 09:43 PM
I thought Magennis’ first yellow was harsh, but other than that I don’t have any issues with the ref booking our players when he did.
Do you consider then that St Johnstone only merited one card? I mean going by the same standards?
For me he was totaly inconsistent and it favoured St J. Like when St Johnstone were awarded a foul in midfield for fouling big Myko. He strongly rode the challenge - result: free kick to St Js. Or booking Boyle for supposedly diving then ignoring a St Js player for what looked a clearer attempt at deception.
NB - could you illuminate me as to what McKirdy was booked for?
paddy1875
21-10-2022, 09:46 PM
I totally understand the frustration and how pissed off you were at the time, I felt the same but were we seriously out it at that point in the game? Looking back we obviously were as we got beat but we did score at home last minute fairly recently against Hearts and Rangers so you’d have thought that might have been on the minds of some folk [emoji23]
Na we chucked it mate. Deflated
21-10-2022, 09:47 PM
So did I. You’d think St Johnstone had scored their fourth or fifth goal or something.
To be honest, i left not long after their 2nd goal. Just wanted to get the car out rather than getting stuck in the traffic and was feeling like id seen enough, to be fair ive not missed a game home or away so far this season , so i wouldnt read too much into it. Ur grafting all day , then take the kids to the game , back up early for work tomorrow , people leaving early is their choice mate
hfcok
21-10-2022, 09:48 PM
Yohan, shocking,not interested when he came on, must be in the huff as he’s not starting
21-10-2022, 09:50 PM
Do you consider then that St Johnstone only merited one card? I mean going by the same standards?
For me he was totaly inconsistent and it favoured St J. Like when St Johnstone were awarded a foul in midfield for fouling big Myko. He strongly rode the challenge - result: free kick to St Js. Or booking Boyle for supposedly diving then ignoring a St Js player for what looked a clearer attempt at deception.
Clancy was at it tonight as he usually does against us.
Kaiser_Sauzee
21-10-2022, 09:50 PM
Tell me you didn’t once shout how ****e we were at the players tonight and you can have this one.
21-10-2022, 09:52 PM
After squandering so many chances to get a 2nd you seen a goal from them coming a mile off.
The one main positive is that we are creating chances. Other problems for sure , but at least we are coming away pissed off at not taking our chances as opposed to going home having watched us create hardly anything
21-10-2022, 09:53 PM
I actually cannae remember what he got booked for, but I dinnae remember thinking it was harsh.
I’m no saying I think the ref had a good game. I don’t think he did, but it was only the first yellow for Magennis that I remember being pissed off with. The others seemed fair enough to me.
I think they could have had more bookings too, but that makes nae difference to our ones.
21-10-2022, 09:55 PM
I actually cannae remember what he got booked for, but I dinnae remember thinking it was harsh.
I’m no saying I think the ref had a good game. I don’t think he did, but it was only the first yellow for Magennis that I remember being pissed off with. The others seemed fair enough to me.
I think they could have had more bookings too, but that makes nae difference to our ones.
Its one of they games where you come away wondering how the hell the ref managed to send someone off. Lets be honest , there was hardly anything in most of the fouls , soft refereeing..
McKirdy must have more yellows per minutes on the park than any player in the country. Came on,fell down,lay there while game goes on,gets up,needless foul, yellow carded-brings nothing.
No way in this world did the Clancy man play fair to both sides, but he was not the reason we got beat, we just aint good enough.
Mcbizz1998
21-10-2022, 10:00 PM
McKirdy must have more yellows per minutes on the park than any player in the country. Came on,fell down,lay there while game goes on,gets up,needless foul, yellow carded-brings nothing.
He looks like a wee boy.
21-10-2022, 10:08 PM
Anyone else think that Marshall could have done better wi the first St Johnston header it was straight at him?
Paulie Walnuts
21-10-2022, 10:08 PM
He has looked desperately poor so far.
21-10-2022, 10:11 PM
Yep he clearly pulled out the challenge. Seemed like every hibs foul was a yellow. The booking of Boyle set the tone. Hates us for some reason imo
Trinity Hibee
21-10-2022, 10:14 PM
They didn’t really miss anything though, so, maybe they will be saying they are struggling to understand why people stayed to the end?
It’s a choice.
Who cares?
At least they turned up.
Can only assume these fans leaving early were standing on the stairs and blocking Sean’s view otherwise not sure what his point is. Just someone else looking for an argument with fellow fans. Will put it down to frustration on tonight’s showing
I'm Spartacus
21-10-2022, 10:22 PM
Porteous cost us both goals for them. Horrific defending.
Why can't he just defend like he can as opposed to trying to get himself on the floor as a top priority? He is a great player when he plays but he can be as equally as pish.
21-10-2022, 10:22 PM
Clancy was at it tonight as he usually does against us.
Says it all that callum davidson said in his post match interview that he thought the referee had done really well tonight. I thought he gave fouls for next to nothing, and giving yellows that a free kick would have sufficed
21-10-2022, 10:25 PM
For 70 minutes St J never laid a glove on us. I couldn't contempate them scoring nevermind winning that game. Then MacGennis got sent off and we colaapsed.
thebausburst
21-10-2022, 10:28 PM
Even worse than Tavares and that’s saying something as he’s appalling
21-10-2022, 10:29 PM
Total understatement. Looks like a wee laddie down the park.
WeWant7
21-10-2022, 10:29 PM
Was he booked?
21-10-2022, 10:35 PM
LJ saying the sending off had nothing to do with the goals we lost.
Also saying Porteous was excellent.
21-10-2022, 10:42 PM
That’s a manager still hoping a player will re-sign.
21-10-2022, 10:43 PM
That has to be pish. We capitulated after the sending off, absolutely awful after it. We lost the game after we went down to 10 men. Nah, that's pish.
21-10-2022, 10:43 PM
Mental. He was at fault for both goals.
cameronw-hfc
21-10-2022, 10:44 PM
That’s a manager still hoping a player will re-sign.
Or a manager protecting his player from the media, especially one that gets the level of stick Porto does.
I'm Spartacus
21-10-2022, 10:46 PM
Was he booked?
Aye for pulling a boy back late on that turned him, he comes on with the socks down a tiny shin pads, thinks he's a player but has done nothing to back that up in any way. Complete wage thief so far.
Scotty Leither
21-10-2022, 10:47 PM
Tavares and Bojang and Miller are the type of signings that really grind my gears, TBH. They are simply not good enough for Hibernian football club, and can be filed under the likes of Rowan Vine and Chris Dagnall. Utter punts dressed up as the next big thing.
This is the mentality that need to change at Hibs…dinnae sign half a dozen “prospects”, sign some players we can readily identify with and look like proper Hibs’ players.
They’ll certainly not bring regular European football at Easter Road, that’s for sure.
21-10-2022, 10:48 PM
you don't go clattering into a player when the ball is miles away, especially when he had more than enough time to realise Duh...the balls away up the park so why am i going to carry on and clatter him, it was stupid and i said so at the time, whether a yellow or not ;(But he didn't go 'clattering into' anyone for his first booking
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Chorley Hibee
21-10-2022, 10:52 PM
Tavares and Bojang and Miller are the type of signings that really grind my gears, TBH. They are simply not good enough for Hibernian football club, and can be filed under the likes of Rowan Vine and Chris Dagnall. Utter punts dressed up as the next big thing.
This is the mentality that need to change at Hibs…dinnae sign half a dozen “prospects”, sign some players we can readily identify with and look like proper Hibs’ players.
They’ll certainly not bring regular European football at Easter Road, that’s for sure.
18 signings this summer and you're lucky if 2/3 are making any sort of positive impact.
Dreadful.
Chorley Hibee
21-10-2022, 10:54 PM
But he didn't go 'clattering into' anyone for his first booking
Agreed, thought it was very soft.
Seemed every Hibs foul resulted in a yellow card.
21-10-2022, 11:05 PM
18 signings this summer and you're lucky if 2/3 are making any sort of positive impact.
Dreadful.
Marshall and Boyle are a cut above the majority of the league's standard and Kukharevych looks decent as well but as you say I am struggling to think of too many others that I would say have been good acquistions so far.
I looked at the bench tonight and I was really struggling to think of anyone who might come on and make a positive impact.
21-10-2022, 11:11 PM
Trying to protect Porteous but he was honking for both goals tonight.
21-10-2022, 11:13 PM
Dreadful.
It’s not 18 first team signings though? If you’re going to throw numbers about at least be accurate with it.
21-10-2022, 11:18 PM
Of the signings we've made this season, would say:
Boyle, Marshall have been good
Bushiri, Cabraja, Kenneh, Kuharevich have been ok
Fish, McClelland, McGeady, Schofield have barely played/been injured
McKirdy, Youan haven't impressed
Bojang, Henderson, Miller, Tavares are nowhere near the standard required
That isn't good enough. Tavares was signed on a four year contract, hailed as a marquee signing, and looks like a Scottish Championship player at best. Henderson is 21 and has nowhere near the required physicality and is here for three. Miller managed 45 minutes against Morton, was ripped apart, and has been barely heard from since despite Cadden underperforming. He's here for three years too. There's no way we'll shift these players any time soon because they won't get wages anywhere near what we're paying, and if Gordon isn't getting a return on his investment he can pull the plug whenever.
Recruitment has been deeply concerning and I still don't blame Johnson for most of it tbh.
Helensburghhibs
21-10-2022, 11:20 PM
Just home, why we changed formation i have no idea, it just didnt work for me at all, newell doesnt suit being deep amd porto struggled in the 3. Rockys head went 2nd half. At the game it fely like one of the worst performances to watch this season. Cant believe we went to parkhead with a front 3 and went woth so many defensive players against st johnstone at home. All seemed very knee jerk.
21-10-2022, 11:20 PM
That isn't good enough. Tavares was signed on a four year contract, hailed as a marquee signing, and looks like a Scottish Championship player at best. Henderson is 21 and has nowhere near the required physicality and is here for three. Miller managed 45 minutes against Morton, was ripped apart, and has been barely heard from since despite Cadden underperforming. He's here for three years too. There's no way we'll shift these players any time soon because they won't get wages anywhere near what we're paying, and if Gordon isn't getting a return on his investment he can pull the plug whenever.
Recruitment has been deeply concerning and I still don't blame Johnson for most of it tbh.
Of the last catagory I don’t think anyone apart from Henderson has looked at all not good enough. They’ve barely been on the park.
I’m far more pissed off at the money we paid for McKirdy than anything those 4 have contributed in all honestly.
21-10-2022, 11:48 PM
I was at the game and some might have a different view of course, but I thought for most of the game our best 3 players were Newall, Rocky and Magennis. I thought for the most part Rocky was pretty solid at the back, and in the 1st half particularly Newall was excellent. IMO we should've been out of sight but there was some poor finishing, although I was really pleased that our striker got his 1st goal for us. I also thought that after St Johnstone scored their first goal Hibs seemed to down tools a bit and backed off far too much instead of really trying for a 2nd goal. I also thought when Youan came on he was far too casual, as if he really wasn't that bothered, instead of trying to make an impression but that is purely an opinion.
22-10-2022, 03:55 AM
Won five lost five. Won three on the bounce then lost the next three. The teams below us have games in hand. We are mid-table SPL team; other than the Old Firm we can beat any team or lose to any team. The last three games have been a real downer, but we have also shown we can put a wee run of wins together. I can see the rest of the season continuing like this and Hibs finishing right in the middle of the table.
22-10-2022, 04:13 AM
Same old problem of not getting enough goals when we’re on top. Stupid from Magennis to get sent off though. After that, the defending for the goals was poor. It’s all been said before but the scattergun approach to signings has proven to be a ridiculous strategy. One proven striker instead of 4 duds and we’d easily be third.
On a more positive note, Rocky was excellent and deserved his MoM award.
22-10-2022, 05:33 AM
And there are some folk who tell me he doesn't talk sheite? :faf:
22-10-2022, 06:06 AM
Dunno about the others, but I think you are making a hasty comment about Miller.
He’s hardly played but was close to MOM against Norwich in the friendly, and when he came on against Rangers, only a super save from McLaughlan prevented him from scoring at the back post.
Think a bit longer in the jury room is appropriate.
22-10-2022, 06:09 AM
Dunno about the others, but I think you are making a hasty comment about Miller.
He’s hardly played but was close to MOM against Norwich in the friendly, and when he came on against Rangers, only a super save from McLaughlan prevented him from scoring at the back post.
I totally agree Fred.
Miller definitely has something to offer and I'm sure he'll develop into an important player for us.
22-10-2022, 07:43 AM
Harsh.
I’d give it
Good: Boyle Marshall Bushiri
OK: Kenneh Youan Cabraja
Not good enough: Henderson, Jair
Injured, mixed or not enough minutes to really judge: All the others.
22-10-2022, 08:12 AM
Can't help thinking last night was a huge opportunity missed. We had a big crowd and the chance to put on a display to attract some of them back on a more regular basis - and we blow it.
So disappointed with the result, the performance of some of the players, and with Johnson's failure to sub Magennis even though it was clear he was struggling and in obvious danger of getting that 2nd yellow.
Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2022, 08:16 AM
Harsh.
I’d give it
Good: Boyle Marshall Bushiri
OK: Kenneh Youan Cabraja
Not good enough: Henderson, Jair
Injured, mixed or not enough minutes to really judge: All the others.
Probably about where I am although I’d have Bushiri down as ok as well. All in all though, that’s a really poor return from the amount of players we signed
22-10-2022, 08:24 AM
I totally understand the frustration and how pissed off you were at the time, I felt the same but were we seriously out it at that point in the game? Looking back we obviously were as we got beat but we did score at home last minute fairly recently against Hearts and Rangers so you’d have thought that might have been on the minds of some folk 😂
Yes we were seriously out of it at that point of the game, we have ALL seen it over the last few years, its the same team, hardly changed nae guts. As for the subs just wtf was McKirdy goin tae do, absolute mince that boy. Theres nae stamina or bollox in this team. Its a shame we should have walked all over them and beat them atleast 3_0. They are brutal.
22-10-2022, 08:25 AM
Can't help thinking last night was a huge opportunity missed. We had a big crowd and the chance to put on a display to attract some of them back on a more regular basis - and we blow it.
So disappointed with the result, the performance of some of the players, and with Johnson's failure to sub Magennis even though it was clear he was struggling and in obvious danger of getting that 2nd yellow.
Agree with the rest of your post, but Why did you think Magennis was struggling? He was my MOTM at that point. Was he tiring?
A back 3 means you don't need a sitting midfielder, yet Newell played most of the hame just in front of them playing sideways or back passes, slowing the game down. Poor tactics and poor performance.
22-10-2022, 08:28 AM
Probably about where I am although I’d have Bushiri down as ok as well. All in all though, that’s a really poor return from the amount of players we signed
We signed a lot of players, that’s true, and some of them are for the future and some of them are speculation to make money. That might still happen. I think the signings quality have been about average, some hits, some misses.
22-10-2022, 08:32 AM
Agree with the rest of your post, but Why did you think Magennis was struggling? He was my MOTM at that point. Was he tiring?
Same for me. It was a stupid tackle, but he didn’t look tired at that point to me.
Key West
22-10-2022, 08:37 AM
We've neither been overly impressive or bad against our nearest competitors and there has been some progress in my opinion from what we were previously watching.
22-10-2022, 08:40 AM
I totally agree Fred.
Miller definitely has something to offer and I'm sure he'll develop into an important player for us.
Problem for Miller is that there isn’t a pathway in to the team. Cadden is miles in front of him (and I’m not even Cadden’s biggest fan) and Miller isn’t going to displace him any time soon.
22-10-2022, 08:43 AM
Same for me. It was a stupid tackle, but he didn’t look tired at that point to me.
The boy made a daft mistake but I was massively impressed by him last night. Winning back the ball, using his obvious strength but also the range of passing the speed around the park and especially runs off the ball always wanting it. Him Rocky and Cadden were the standouts. We desperately need something to click for the strikers, Boyle looks off it.
Paulie Walnuts
22-10-2022, 08:45 AM
The boy made a daft mistake but I was massively impressed by him last night. Winning back the ball, using his obvious strength but also the range of passing the speed around the park and especially runs off the ball always wanting it. Him Rocky and Cadden were the standouts. We desperately need something to click for the strikers, Boyle looks off it.
Agree with Magennis, thought he done well up until his red.
22-10-2022, 08:45 AM
A back 3 means you don't need a sitting midfielder, yet Newell played most of the hame just in front of them playing sideways or back passes, slowing the game down. Poor tactics and poor performance.
In the 2nd half, I felt Newell was in the back 3 as Porto kept marauding up field?
We were in the lead so did not need to take chances at the back, but too often he went chasing up field when not required, and was partly to blame for the sending off as he was missing in action at the back?
I love the fact he's able to get up in support, but when you're in the lead it's not always required!
22-10-2022, 08:50 AM
Problem for Miller is that there isn’t a pathway in to the team. Cadden is miles in front of him (and I’m not even Cadden’s biggest fan) and Miller isn’t going to displace him any time soon.
The right hand side has been the source of a lot of our concessions. Maybe Miller deserves a chance to see if he can improve that?
I like Cadden, but we could do with more robust defensive work in his position.
22-10-2022, 08:54 AM
I agree with you on that, but thought Newell had done well until the sending off.
22-10-2022, 09:07 AM
So what are the current owner and manager doing that is so much better than Farmer and say Stubbs? Nowt, we are back in the freefall of Fenlon, Caldwerwood and Butcher.
Freefall.
Still think this way after a bit of a sleep?
22-10-2022, 09:18 AM
You've said this before but I don't think it's necessarily true. Some of our most succesful Hibs teams in modern times have used 3 at the back with a sitting midfielder ( i.e. Matty Jack and Marvin Bartley). Antonio Conte's succesful teams over the years for example also regularly played with 3 at the back and a sitting midfielder.
22-10-2022, 09:19 AM
You've said this before but I don't think it's necessarily true. Some of our most succesful Hibs teams in modern times have used 3 at the back with a sitting midfielder ( i.e. Matty Jack and Marvin Bartley). Antonio Conte's succesful teams over the years for example also regularly played with 3 at the back and a sitting midfielder.
Kenneh coming on when we were 1 up and down to ten would imo have made sense.
22-10-2022, 09:22 AM
Thought Magennis was excellent last night and wouldn't have considered taking him off. One of these things imo. Thought we lost our way when Kukarevich was subbed.
22-10-2022, 09:28 AM
Few things there last night that were really concerning. As soon as the sending off happened it was like there was just an acceptance from the players that we were done. We were a goal up and there was 20 minutes to play against a pish team. It wasn’t some kind of impossible task to see that out, far from it.
I thought we showed a lack of grit, determination and organisation. Nobody wanted to stand up and drag the rest of them through.
Didn’t think Johnson reorganised us well enough. Porteous at RB and Boyle left wing was poor IMO. Should have reverted to the back four who had been performing well and built up a bit of a relationship and stuck Kenneh on in front of them for me.
22-10-2022, 09:35 AM
You're right - wrong choice of word. I meant it looked like he was struggling late on through tiredness,after making his first start in over a year.
Chorley Hibee
22-10-2022, 09:47 AM
Few things there last night that were really concerning. As soon as the sending off happened it was like there was just an acceptance from the players that we were done. We were a goal up and there was 20 minutes to play against a pish team. It wasn’t some kind of impossible task to see that out, far from it.
I thought we showed a lack of grit, determination and organisation. Nobody wanted to stand up and drag the rest of them through.
Didn’t think Johnson reorganised us well enough. Porteous at RB and Boyle left wing was poor IMO. Should have reverted to the back four who had been performing well and built up a bit of a relationship and stuck Kenneh on in front of them for me.
Said that at the game, the reaction to the red card from the players was atrocious.
Collectively downed tools, and not for the first time when being reduced to ten either.
Very reminiscent of the collapse up at Aberdeen after being reduced to ten.
22-10-2022, 09:54 AM
Said that at the game, the reaction to the red card from the players was atrocious.
Collectively downed tools, and not for the first time when being reduced to ten either.
Very reminiscent of the collapse up at Aberdeen after being reduced to ten.
Agree. I thought early in the season we had a bit more about us when we were scoring late on in games. Last night was a huge step back the way and showed up quite a few of our issues (before the red card as well).
Daydreamer
22-10-2022, 10:26 AM
I said at half time last night that the biggest problem was that 3 Hibs players had been booked before the break last night. Kukharevych after his first foul 10 minutes into the second half had to come off because he just could'nt stop fouling people. That was a big loss and my comments were proved to be right after Magennis was sent off. Two also dreadful performances from Cabrija and Porteous didnt help as well
22-10-2022, 10:27 AM
Agree personally thought he looked excellent in the Portuguese training games however fair to say he hasn't looked as good in the earlier games. Seems like he is injured at the moment but hopefully he can get back as think we could do with a right back especially defensively.
22-10-2022, 10:31 AM
What a ****ing sorry state this forum is after defeats.
22-10-2022, 10:48 AM
I know, perhaps if we won more often it might change.
22-10-2022, 11:01 AM
Looking back at the decisions made I think the ref got the major decisions correct. The second booking was correct and the offside was correct (if thats how they intend to judge them) the question now is consistancy, it needs to be like that all the time. Hibs blew it last night, a great opportunity to get some new fans on board but we didn't perform.
22-10-2022, 11:14 AM
Normally I'd agree with you but this was a bad one.
percy veer
22-10-2022, 12:10 PM
Looking back at the decisions made I think the ref got the major decisions correct. The second booking was correct and the offside was correct (if thats how they intend to judge them) the question now is consistancy, it needs to be like that all the time. Hibs blew it last night, a great opportunity to get some new fans on board but we didn't perform.
They will get you with the non fouls they give to break up play and give out loads of yellow cards nothing that var can do about that.
22-10-2022, 12:11 PM
Looking back at the decisions made I think the ref got the major decisions correct. The second booking was correct and the offside was correct (if thats how they intend to judge them) the question now is consistancy, it needs to be like that all the time. Hibs blew it last night, a great opportunity to get some new fans on board but we didn't perform.Your right on consistency although I hope they are trying to copy England on offsides
England started offside that were far too harsh but I believe amended it to thicker lines to basically make very tight calls go in favor of the attacking team
When I seen the lines on our offside I thought it was gonna be called on
22-10-2022, 12:21 PM
In my humble you can only say this if the ref treats both sides the same. yer Clancy man did nothing of the sort.
Steven1985
22-10-2022, 04:05 PM
Goodness me, there's some right angry, bitter people on here. I'm starting to think I shouldn't have signed up.
Steven1985
22-10-2022, 04:06 PM
I know, perhaps if we won more often it might change. Well, yes! lol
22-10-2022, 04:08 PM
Goodness me, there's some right angry, bitter people on here. I'm starting to think I shouldn't have signed up.
This site should come with a Government health warning when you sign up. I wouldn't be with out it though. GGTTH :aok:
22-10-2022, 04:10 PM
This is the percentage of minutes played in the league so far.
Marshall - 100%
Boyle - 89%
Cabraja - 85%
Youan - 75%
Kukharevych - 70%
Kenneh - 63%
Bushiri - 38%
Henderson - 38%
McKirdy - 33%
Tavares - 14%
Fish - 2%
McClelland - 2% (Now on loan to Cove Rangers)
Miller - 2%
Bojang - 1%
McGeady - 0%
Schofield - 0%
I don't think Fish, McClelland, Miller, Bojang, McGeady or Schofield have played enough minutes yet to form a real opinion on them although Fish and Schofield have clearly come in as backup and McClelland has been identified as not ready.
I think questions need to be asked of Henderson, Tavares, McKirdy and Youan so far. Cabraja and Kenneh have been ok and Bushiri and Kukharevych have been quite good with Boyle and Marshall the standouts.
That's not a great return.
Steven1985
22-10-2022, 04:18 PM
This site should come with a Government health warning when you sign up. I wouldn't be with out it though. GGTTH :aok: Once a Hibee, always a Hibee through thin and thin lol
22-10-2022, 04:21 PM
Once a Hibee, always a Hibee through thin and thin lol
Steven this place is worse for your health than Hibs are but thats why we are all here :wink:
22-10-2022, 04:30 PM
that's some curve the west stand roof has developed :shocked:https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/312146129_5422726421159708_7647526266438885389_n.j pg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=yABELxUgU1MAX-3bWPG&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT_3lyUY0nWV-HjtojG8QBv-ZJGdsxTMdoQZk2Oq6Q0PVw&oe=6359D0EB
Steven1985
22-10-2022, 04:41 PM
Steven this place is worse for your health than Hibs are but thats why we are all here :wink: Meh, I can take or leave this place. I'm 3rd generation Hibs and there's a 4th. So St J beat us at home. Boo Hoo!. When I was a kid, that game would have attracted 4/5k max on 3pm on Saturday. It was a sell out on a Friday night even after a right 6-1 thumpimg from Celtic. My point? Hibs are going in the right direction. We've got it right off the pitch and it won't be too long before we get it right on it. :-)
Steven1985
22-10-2022, 05:06 PM
What a ****ing sorry state this forum is after defeats. I haven't been on here very long but I've lived on this planet long enough to know what "a poor, bitter, attitude" is. Not you BTW, I was agreeing
23-10-2022, 08:54 AM
Meh, I can take or leave this place. I'm 3rd generation Hibs and there's a 4th. So St J beat us at home. Boo Hoo!. When I was a kid, that game would have attracted 4/5k max on 3pm on Saturday. It was a sell out on a Friday night even after a right 6-1 thumpimg from Celtic. My point? Hibs are going in the right direction. We've got it right off the pitch and it won't be too long before we get it right on it. :-)
That's more like it - a good positive post. Personally, I'm a fan of Hibs.net for all its faults. I've depended on it for a lot of my Hibs news and views over the last 20 years. I usually give it a body swerve immediately after a defeat though - there's only so much negativity I can take :-(
23-10-2022, 08:58 AM
I know, perhaps if we won more often it might change.[emoji23]
I hope you don't mind but I'm going to write a strongly worded letter to the club suggesting this.
loanheadhibby
23-10-2022, 09:08 AM
In no way am I having a pop, but I’ve flicked through several threads this morning all with the same theme-
Marshall - least of worries,
Boyle- least of our worries,
Porto - least of our worries,
Rocky - least of our worries,
Hanlon - least of our worries,
Big Dave - doing fine
Cabraja - doing fine
Magennis - least of our worries
Campbell - big improvement on last season
Newell - least of our worries
Etc, etc.
I know I am a negative soul, but if these guys are the least of our worries, what are our worries? Are we actually saying a 7/8th place finish would be acceptable.
23-10-2022, 09:14 AM
In no way am I having a pop, but I’ve flicked through several threads this morning all with the same theme-
Big Dave - doing fine
Cabraja - doing fine
Etc, etc.
I know I am a negative soul, but if these guys are the least of our worries, what are our worries? Are we actually saying a 7/8th place finish would be acceptable.
Perhaps many People trust the team and management to continue to improve and feel that over the piece we have enough quality for a top six finish ..
23-10-2022, 09:18 AM
Big Dave - doing fine
Cabraja - doing fine
Etc, etc.
Coming out with 7th/8th is acceptable won’t help your discussion in any way. We could be back in 3rd next week. Are you suggesting we get rid of all those players? People that just moan for the sake of it don’t really help. What’s your solution.
Helensburghhibs
23-10-2022, 09:25 AM
Im surprised how many people thought the formation worked. I thought it was one of the poorest performances of the season and lacked creativity, too many defensively minded players. I much prefer the 3 up top
23-10-2022, 09:36 AM
Im surprised how many people thought the formation worked. I thought it was one of the poorest performances of the season and lacked creativity, too many defensively minded players. I much prefer the 3 up top
I know what you mean. It worked in the sense that we had dominated the game but I thought a lot of the old habits from last year reappeared.
Thought we were plodding along with the back three spending far too much time passing it between each other when we should have been going for the kill.
To be fair irrespective of the shape, I think we still just lack a bit of guile in the middle of the park. Also think that although he’ll always be a threat, Boyle is a lot more effective out wide.
23-10-2022, 02:54 PM
that's some curve the west stand roof has developed :shocked:https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/312146129_5422726421159708_7647526266438885389_n.j pg?_nc_cat=111&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=yABELxUgU1MAX-3bWPG&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT_3lyUY0nWV-HjtojG8QBv-ZJGdsxTMdoQZk2Oq6Q0PVw&oe=6359D0EB
Brilliant photo that :flag:
24-10-2022, 02:43 PM
Even worse than Tavares and that’s saying something as he’s appalling
You live up to your username effortlessly. How on earth you can reach that conclusion re Tavares is beyond me. He's hardly been on the pitch FFS!
McKirdy I'll concede has not lived up to his billing thus far. Still early doors for him too though.
24-10-2022, 04:52 PM
You live up to your username effortlessly. How on earth you can reach that conclusion re Tavares is beyond me. He's hardly been on the pitch FFS!
McKirdy I'll concede has not lived up to his billing thus far. Still early doors for him too though.
Yep ridiculous how quickly players are written off.
24-10-2022, 05:33 PM
How have you concluded that it's unfair to criticise Tavares due to a lack of game time, but not McKirdy, when he has played less minutes so far than Tavares?
24-10-2022, 06:38 PM
How have you concluded that it's unfair to criticise Tavares due to a lack of game time, but not McKirdy, when he has played less minutes so far than Tavares?
He said McKirdy hadn’t lived up to his billing ‘thus far’. The point being (I think) that writing off either player yet is premature.
24-10-2022, 07:53 PM
He said McKirdy hadn’t lived up to his billing ‘thus far’. The point being (I think) that writing off either player yet is premature.
As far as I could see the main point of the post was to criticise the criticism of a player who has played more minutes so far than another player who the poster then went on to criticise themselves.
Just thought that was a bit odd that's all. Personally think they've both looked below par so far.
24-10-2022, 09:17 PM
Have to agree with this. The reorganisation seemed a bit hodge podge and I suspect Porteous' lack of concentration at the goals may have been related to the sudden demand to play a completely different position.
All a gamble I suppose and it didn't work out. On the plus side we were dominant yet again prior to the red card.
St Mirren are on a great run of form and will be a different test.
24-10-2022, 09:24 PM
Is that true? If so you must be talking about the league Cup games as Tavares has been used very sparingly in the league.. I would say while no player is beyond criticism its ridiculous to write them off after so little game time. That counts for both McKirdy and Tavares imo.
24-10-2022, 11:55 PM
Is that true? If so you must be talking about the league Cup games as Tavares has been used very sparingly in the league.. I would say while no player is beyond criticism its ridiculous to write them off after so little game time. That counts for both McKirdy and Tavares imo.
242 minutes for Tavares and 205 minutes for McKirdy.
25-10-2022, 06:07 AM
242 minutes for Tavares and 205 minutes for McKirdy.
Does that include time added on?
25-10-2022, 08:20 AM
Yep ridiculous how quickly players are written off.
Yep, I bet that’s what the Chelsea fans said about De Bruyne and Salah :greengrin
25-10-2022, 08:55 AM
Yep, I bet that’s what the Chelsea fans said about De Bruyne and Salah :greengrin
Ouch.
A bit like hertz with Cummings and Doig.
Are there many players who we've let go who have gone on to be successful?
John Robertson was on our book, but I can't think of any others.
25-10-2022, 10:12 AM
Ouch.
Hibs had Gordon Strachan, Alan Hansen and Wille Pettigrew on the books at some point. Pettigrew definitely played some reserve football at Hibs before we released him. I think the others mentioned were all training as part of what passed for a youth set up in the early 70's.
Paulie Walnuts
25-10-2022, 11:12 AM
Hibs had Gordon Strachan, Alan Hansen and Wille Pettigrew on the books at some point. Pettigrew definitely played some reserve football at Hibs before we released him. I think the others mentioned were all training as part of what passed for a youth set up in the early 70's.
Hansen had a trial under Eddie Turnbull but never signed as he wanted to focus on becoming a pro golfer.
25-10-2022, 11:48 AM
Ouch.
Paul Hartley went on to do not bad. :boo hoo:
25-10-2022, 12:19 PM
Hibs had Gordon Strachan, Alan Hansen and Wille Pettigrew on the books at some point. Pettigrew definitely played some reserve football at Hibs before we released him. I think the others mentioned were all training as part of what passed for a youth set up in the early 70's.did we also have snodgrass on hibs books at one time.
25-10-2022, 12:27 PM
QUOTE=blackpoolhibs;7139891]Paul Hartley went on to do not bad. :boo hoo:[/QUOTE]
So did a guy called Gordon Smith.:greengrin
25-10-2022, 02:16 PM
Paul Hartley went on to do not bad. :boo hoo:
The annoying thing is i liked him at Hibs. We had a very decent team then though.