View Full Version : Match Updates Celtc v Hibernian
15-10-2022, 03:52 PM
Least we aren’t dead as a club
Dont make it any better been thinking back and pretty sure that is the 4th time in my long years watching Hibs that they bassas have got 6 against us (it may be more but my old brain plays tricks at times happens wi age), we really have to stand up and be counted now, this pish about not expecting anything else in the weedge is pure defeatist, we can at least fight them, even if we cannot compete wi them.
Didn’t expect anything from the game but didn’t see this coming either.
This is one of those results where I now avoid the papers, radio and Sportscene for a few days and just kinda black it out and forget about it.
By Thursday we’ll be looking to the St J game and it will be like today never happened.
Surley the kids have been entertained though?
Goals a plenty
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
A goal per child??
A shambles of defending, just handing them goals on a plate. I despair 😡
15-10-2022, 03:53 PM
Better watch what you're saying or you might get a knock on the door tonight after he's tucked all the kids in.
Don’t know if I can stay up that late.
Was worried at 3 nil after 25 mins it could be 7.
Was never comfortable with LJ saying “we would take a few pastings”.
Hibs haven’t won against Celtic in Glasgow since 2010 - there is a reason for that = financial gulf.
However other teams have shown you can keep the game tighter. Even last season we had a great opportunity to beat them after the covid Dubai trip but we didn’t.
LJ also said his only regret at Sunderland was losing 6-0 to Bolton..not sure what he will say after this.
3 points a must now on Friday. Amazing that we are still in 3rd after 2 defeats this week.
Booooooooooooo
Remember that summer transfer window we neglected the defence again
Absolutely shambolic from front to back. Loosing 6-1 and could be more to any team in our division is as close to a sackable offence you can get. 3rd or not this can be acceptable.
Away and do one ya trolling fud. Noone is getting sacked on the back of this - not even approaching it.
OtleyHibs
15-10-2022, 03:54 PM
No defending that, just got to take it on the chin
Long term, hopefully Youan can kick on now he's off the mark
Need much better next week
That wee pidgeon chest forrest cannie get a game for them, but he can get another hat trick against us, its a sair one and the gimps will be loving it.
pheeeeeeeww FT
no more hurt
The Captain....
Very poor performance. Totally naive in so many ways.
Need to reset and go again, at least Youan finally got a goal.
Sent from my SM-A035G using Tapatalk
15-10-2022, 03:55 PM
And the midfield
Shocking performance strewn with so many individual errors. The biggest thing for me was how tactically inept we were. LJ has us playing well recently but he has to take much of the blame for that.
Ionastreethibs
we need to do much better. woeful stuff
Except signing Fish,Cabraja, Bushiri and Miller.
Come on. Anyone can mention the defence after a nightmare like today. Why didn't you mention it after the 4 straight wins?
Thank goodness that is over. Been looking forward to the final whistle since about 18 mins in.
15-10-2022, 03:56 PM
Pace, pace and pace, that's what beat us today.
Strong midfield could have maybe kept us in the hunt, but game was gone before we made the changes!!!
Don't mind getting beat at Parkhead as long as we give them a game, but today we turned around and let them shaft us, poor defending from the front to the back just shows how far behind we still are, even Pat Stanton saying the midfield needed to do far more, making it too easy for them.
15-10-2022, 03:56 PM
Ball watching, not tracking runners and inability to pass and control the ball. Was always going to be a long day.
Hanlon and Stevenson were masters of putting each other (as well as their teammates) under pressure in the first half. Taking forever to decide what to do with the ball and then having to rush a stupid pass/hoof.
Newell and Campbell should've been hooked. Celtic were playing at a pace that neither can keep up with, couldn't match their opponent's run.
Need to really get back to playing football. We've started playing long balls to nobody in particular.
15-10-2022, 03:57 PM
Thank **** it wasn’t 7
I always like it when folks with low post counts come out of the woodwork
Glad when that sixth went in. 5-1 and I’d have been grieving the death of my club tonight
bringbackbenny
Crap result, well beat but Celtic can do that to any other team at our level in their day. We move on.
Smell of Yams is strong on the thread today.
Away and do one ya trolling fud. Noone is getting sacked on the back of this - not even approaching it.
**** off haha
I wasn’t asking for his head. Or to be sacked. I said loosing to anyone in this division 6-1 in a league match is as close to a sackable offence you can get. Today wasn’t acceptable.
Come on. Anyone can mention the defence after a nightmare like today. Why didn't you mention it after the 4 straight wins?
Fish young lad barely played on loan
Miller barely played
Cabby replacement for Doig
Rocky rejoined from last season
It’s been neglected.
Don't think any club will be winning at Parkhead this season (well not from this country). It's all about how we react to this that's important. Good win against St Johnstone and nobody will give two hoots about this result.
Big crowd under the lights on Friday, lots of players coming back in. Let's push on and take this as a motivation.
15-10-2022, 03:58 PM
Ball watching, not tracking runners and inability to pass and control the ball. Was always going to be a long day.
Hanlon and Stevenson were masters of putting each other (as well as their teammates) under pressure in the first half. Taking forever to decide what to do with the ball and then having to rush a stupid pass/hoof.
Newell and Campbell should've been hooked. Celtic were playing at a pace that neither can keep up with, couldn't match their opponents run.
Need to really get back to playing football. We've started playing long balls to nobody in particular.
I actually thought Campbell was our best midfielder today(granted not hard considering)
Steven1985
15-10-2022, 03:58 PM
Said it on another thread. Makes Fridays game bigger, both in terms of making sure we stay in 3rs and also not allowing a couple of defeats to become a stick to beat the manager with. Unlucky midweek, beaten by a vastly superior team today. Friday is a winnable home game, that's the one with no real excuses. I think we've more than enough to beat St Johnstone this season 1-0 2-1 for me
Didn’t expect anything from the game but didn’t see this coming either.
This is one of those results where I now avoid the papers, radio and Sportscene for a few days and just kinda black it out and forget about it.
By Thursday we’ll be looking to the St J game and it will be like today never happened.
Been my approach for the past sixty years.
It’s only a game!
15-10-2022, 03:59 PM
Still 3rd, that’s the only positive I can take from today’s game.
15-10-2022, 03:59 PM
Quite surprised Cliff Pike and Pat Stanton don't know the rules of a goal kick.
Can someone please tweet Hibs TV and save Cliff's blushes and tell him why you're not allowed to take control of the ball from the opponent's goal kick inside their 18 yard box.
15-10-2022, 04:00 PM
Pace, pace and pace, that's what beat us today.
Strong midfield could have maybe kept us in the hunt, but game was gone before we made the changes!!!
Plus the ££££ Celtic have.
Sadly it’s damage limitation playing in Glasgow. Not defeatist just realistic.
Even playing Celtic at home we haven’t beaten them since 2018 !
Soccerscreen, will be a definite miss for this Hibs man, nothing worse than a gloating weedgie covering up the fact that they got pumped by teams on a same sort of level in Europe, sour grape's you better believe it. I detest all and everything they pretend to stand for, on an equal footing wi that other bigoted mob in govan.
LJ did say these results could happen given his preference for open, attacking football. It’s happened before in his previous teams.
I thought we might get overrun today. Mckirdy was a bad call, never ready to start, and expecting Kenneh to be the only sitting player was silly.
LJ hopefully learned that you don't play at Celtic Park like it's Fir Park.
LJ's set up getting a tad of a kicking on BBC Heartzsound
15-10-2022, 04:01 PM
Utterly pathetic, Celtic are good but they've no exactly worked for any of that
That’s the worrying aspect for me today that we allowed them to stroll around at ease. Yes they are a good team but all we can put it down to is a very bad day at the office.
Onwards and upwards
Regardless of the gulf in finance and quality should be putting up way more of a fight than that. Though Celtic can do that to most teams if they are on it.
File this under one of those games as getting a result against Rantic in Glasgow would be an unexpected bonus.
St J type games next Friday will define our season instead.
1875Sean
15-10-2022, 04:02 PM
Those ball boys made the difference today
ManchesterGreen
Well we didn’t concede 6 goals in those games?? :dunno:
Donegal Hibby
Absolutely shambolic from front to back. Loosing 6-1 and could be more to any team in our division is as close to a sackable offence you can get. 3rd or not this can be acceptable.
It's a disastrous result no doubt but this Celtic team is very good and has maybe ten times the budget we have ,Beat Utd 9 nil away and will hammer more than us through out the season . Bringing up talk of sacking the managers plain crazy .It's not a manager you want its a bleeding magician.
15-10-2022, 04:03 PM
I actually thought Campbell was our best midfielder today(granted not hard considering)
Sadly I probably agree. Unfortunately it shows how bad our midfield played. I think there is a reason we are going back to playing long balls or Porteous is trying to thread passes through, our midfield is quite poor. No creative movement, more likely to be looking around and pointing than making runs and creating space. Can't wait until Magennis is back up to speed.
Fish young lad barely played on loan
Miller barely played
Cabby replacement for Doig
Rocky rejoined from last season
It’s been neglected.
Don't forget that Rocky wasn't even wanted and was a cock up by admin (not .net admin:greengrin)
15-10-2022, 04:03 PM
Only positive is once again tam McManus is made a tit of himself again. Touting porteous for Celtic and then we get skelped.
OldEast
15-10-2022, 04:04 PM
I've seen the word embarrassing used a fair few times on this thread. Don't be silly. We lost to a team who will beat every other team in the league 7 or 8 times out of 10. Disappointing?, expected?, naive? but embarrassing? Who's embarrassed actually? Calm doon and look forward.
15-10-2022, 04:05 PM
Don't forget that Rocky wasn't even wanted and was a cock up by admin (not .net admin:greengrin)
More cock ups like that please. Been excellent when playing this season
I always like it when folks with low post counts come out of the woodwork
Funny I was just saying that myself, plenty I've never seen before.
CB Hibs 68
15-10-2022, 04:06 PM
Poor performance but we have to move on and learn from this.Game on Friday is one we need to win to get us back on track.Getting humped by Celtic can easily happen .Christ knows Celtic 6 v Hibs was a regular occurrence when I was. laddie.
15-10-2022, 04:06 PM
No defending that, just got to take it on the chin
Long term, hopefully Youan can kick on now he's off the mark
Need much better next week
:top marks - disappointing but it doesn't define our season. Youan will have a bitter-sweet feeling having scored in such a miserable defeat - hope it settles him in front of goal as that could change our season for the better.
15-10-2022, 04:07 PM
That wee pidgeon chest forrest cannie get a game for them, but he can get another hat trick against us, its a sair one and the gimps will be loving it.
Hibs are a charity for sad cases like Forrest.
MSM will be proclaiming all is well with the world again after the humbling of their heroes midweek.
norhfc
Terrible performance from start to finish. As big Pat said, we need to learn from that. Not tracking players and losing possession in dangerous areas. Only positive was Youan scoring, and a very good goal it was. We move on.
Only positive is once again tam McManus is made a tit of himself again. Touting porteous for Celtic and then we get skelped.
Been trying to think who McKirdy (ignore the daft hair) reminds me of and it is our own wee Tam, no bad at times but no very guid most of the time.
15-10-2022, 04:08 PM
Terrible performance from start to finish. As big Pat said, we need to learn from that. Not tracking players and losing possession in dangerous areas. Only positive was Youan scoring, and a very good goal it was. We move on.
Tbf, if anyone kens about losing 6 goals to celtic, it's Pat Stanton.
Was a shocker all round. Giving Celtic so much space never mind the mistakes!
Guess that’s me hitting the whisky tonight!
Liam978
I think we've more than enough to beat St Johnstone this season 1-0 2-1 for me
It was close to a sell out on Friday, hope this doesn't put our support off. So so hurt about the fact why us, is it because what goes round comes round after the way we laughed at the way the Huns and wee Huns performed midweek.
Steven1985
15-10-2022, 04:09 PM
That’s the worrying aspect for me today that we allowed them to stroll around at ease. Yes they are a good team but all we can put it down to is a very bad day at the office.
Onwards and upwards Celtic & Rangers can do that to any team they like in this league. They usually don't have to but they needed to prove a point to keep their sheep onside after their European humilliation. Other than that, onwards and upwards indeed.
Paulie Walnuts
15-10-2022, 04:09 PM
I've seen the word embarrassing used a fair few times on this thread. Don't be silly. We lost to a team who will beat every other team in the league 7 or 8 times out of 10. Disappointing?, expected?, naive? but embarrassing? Who's embarrassed actually? Calm doon and look forward.
Losing 6-1 is an embarrassing result. There’s no doubt about that.
15-10-2022, 04:12 PM
It was close to a sell out on Friday, hope this doesn't put our support off. So so hurt about the fact why us, is it because what goes round comes round after the way we laughed at the way the Huns and wee Huns performed midweek.
Dont, think laughing hard at the hun and the gimps has any effect on our results, most of what happened today was down to us. Yes they are a reasonable team in our league table, but without fight, you will always get a doing, just the way it is.
Steven1985
Losing 6-1 is an embarrassing result. There’s no doubt about that. No it isn't. They can do that whenever they like, they just don't need to. Getting humiliated in Europe meant they had to batter the next team they played. It just happened to be us.
Despite the set up being wrong imo initially the players just weren't good enough today, poor defending, not enough defensive work in midfield, not enough closing down from the front, some really slack play all over today, players and manager need to have a close look at that today and really learn from it
15-10-2022, 04:13 PM
Losing 6-1 is an embarrassing result. There’s no doubt about that.
They do that to us every 50 years or so.
Paulie Walnuts
15-10-2022, 04:14 PM
No it isn't. They can do that whenever they like, they just don't need to. Getting humiliated in Europe meant they had to batter the next team they played. It just happened to be us.
No, they can’t do that whenever they like. If they could, they’d do it.
Losing 6-1 to a weakened Celtic side is embarrassing.
15-10-2022, 04:15 PM
From the bbc website, somewhat of a surprise, but one of there jurno's has taken off the west coast specs for once.
FT: Celtic 6-1 Hibernian
After Rangers and Hearts were thumped again in midweek, while Celtic slumped to another home Champions League defeat, it was being suggested by some that the financial gap was too great for Scottish clubs to compete with the best in Europe.
Celtic returned to domestic action to thump third-top Hibs 6-1 to emphasise a similar gap exists between Scotland's top two and the rest of the Premiership.
15-10-2022, 04:15 PM
Tbf, if anyone kens about losing 6 goals to celtic, it's Pat Stanton.
Aye we've had plenty smashings off them over the years. I love Hibs having a go at Celtic and Rangers but that starting line up was so lightweight and I feared the worst when I saw it.
Very naive from the Manager. Never expect to get a result at Parkheid but we shouldn't be getting embarrassed like that. Not acceptable.
15-10-2022, 04:16 PM
They do that to us every 50 years or so.
Dont, make it any frigen easier to take.
15-10-2022, 04:18 PM
It was interesting that we kept going rather than shut-up shop to avoid a real doing. Mowbray had an element of that, and folk still don't forgive some of his results. On the other hand, he really shaped our golden generation and is a lot of peoples favourite manager.
There's a cost benefit there, and we have to decide if it's worth the gnashing of teeth.
It's a disastrous result no doubt but this Celtic team is very good and has maybe ten times the budget we have ,Beat Utd 9 nil away and will hammer more than us through out the season . Bringing up talk of sacking the managers plain crazy .It's not a manager you want its a bleeding magician.
I don’t want to see any manager sacked yet. All I was pointing out was the magnitude of todays result. It is completely unacceptable to loose to any in division team 6-1 going on 8/9. That’s all I was getting at.
Just had the same conversation with Rangers and Hearts fans who just suffered bad losses in Europe like this. You might be expected to loose these games but in that sort of manner is just ridiculous.
15-10-2022, 04:21 PM
No it isn't. They can do that whenever they like, they just don't need to. Getting humiliated in Europe meant they had to batter the next team they played. It just happened to be us.
I wouldn't say a 2-0 defeat to Leipzig was a humiliation to be honest.
They lost by the same number of goals to Leipzig a couple of weeks ago and they nearly dropped points v St Johnstone in their next league game.
15-10-2022, 04:23 PM
They lost by the same number of goals to Leipzig a couple of weeks ago and they nearly dropped points v St Johnstone in their next league game.
They were away from home before the St Johnstone game though. Makes a big difference I think.
Steven1985
15-10-2022, 04:23 PM
No, they can’t do that whenever they like. If they could, they’d do it.
Losing 6-1 to a weakened Celtic side is embarrassing. Yes they can, they just did. Reality is a killer.
Paulie Walnuts
15-10-2022, 04:25 PM
Yes they can, they just did. Reality is a killer.
So because they just done it they can now do it whenever they want? :confused:
Celtic can’t beat teams 6-1 whenever they want. It’s a laughable suggestion.
They’ve struggled through their previous 3 domestic games with one of them even being a defeat. If they could just win 6-1 whenever they wanted then they wouldn’t be getting beat or scoring last min winners against St Johnstone.
15-10-2022, 04:26 PM
Meh. On to St Johnstone
Just_Jimmy
15-10-2022, 04:27 PM
Celtic can’t beat teams 6-1 whenever they want. It’s a laughable suggestion.This season they've taken 6 from us, 5 from killie, 9 from Dundee Utd and 4 from Rangers. That's 4 teams. They're team 5. So they've pretty much humped half the league with 2/3 of the season to go.
I'd suggest they're quite capable of smashing teams when they feel like it and it clicks. Certainly in Scotland.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Scotty Leither
15-10-2022, 04:28 PM
Aye we've had plenty smashings off them over the years. I love Hibs having a go at Celtic and Rangers but that starting line up was so lightweight and I feared the worst when I saw it.
Very naive from the Manager. Never expect to get a result at Parkheid but we shouldn't be getting embarrassed like that. Not acceptable.
“Naive” is the word. Kenneh coughed up the ball so many times it was excruciating watching the laddie.
We got a toe hold at 1-3 with the goal, but one minute later he takes that inexplicable touch to give them the ball and they make it 4-1 and game over.
Positives were Magennis getting a full half and showing up well, and Youan’s first goal, but not much beyond that.
15-10-2022, 04:29 PM
LJ did say these results could happen given his preference for open, attacking football. It’s happened before in his previous teams.
It has, but in the league it happened in he probably didn't have to face a club at any point whose finances and quality of players were so far removed from his own compared to what he faces in this league when we play one of the erse cheeks. It's an absolute fact that he should be taking into account, especially when going to Celtic park, that squad is capable of putting 5 or 6 past any club in the league if they are given the room we so obviously allowed them today.
In the end this is a lesson he has to learn from and adjust his approach depending on who the opposition is and where the game is being played. That being said this is now all about how we deal with this debacle going forward, not a single club outside of the The Rangurz can allow a result like this at Celtic park to define their season, there's a bloody long way to go in this campaign and we won't be facing them every week .... if LJ is the manager this club needs then he will be able to use today as a lesson to his players just how far they have to go and fill them with a determination to get better, starting with St Johnstone on Friday night.
As another poster alluded to .... This was not a doing from one of our peers such as Man Utd got from Man City a few weeks ago, this was a result that's always on the cards against one of the uglies away from home. Beat St Johnstone on Friday and we can stuff it into the box labelled 'best forgotten' and get on with our season.
15-10-2022, 04:30 PM
I think that one should be filed under Hibs.net myths.
Bushiri had a signing OPTION that was exercised upon appointment of our new manager. Why do you think the club waited until they'd appoinrted a manager before exercising that option? (The obvious answer is they wanted the new manager to approve the deal before finalising it).
15-10-2022, 04:43 PM
We were babysitting today and I missed it, thankfully. Don't think I bother with the highlights, was it at bad as it looks?
Steven1985
Celtic can’t beat teams 6-1 whenever they want. It’s a laughable suggestion.
They’ve struggled through their previous 3 domestic games with one of them even being a defeat. If they could just win 6-1 whenever they wanted then they wouldn’t be getting beat or scoring last min winners against St Johnstone. Why are you even bothered? They had to batter someone to save face after being humiliated in Europe. We're still 3rd and we've got St Johnstone on Friday. I'm going 1-0 2-1 Hibs.
We were babysitting today and I missed it, thankfully. Don't think I bother with the highlights, was it at bad as it looks?
Yep.
Celtic could have scored more.
Paulie Walnuts
15-10-2022, 04:44 PM
This season they've taken 6 from us, 5 from killie, 9 from Dundee Utd and 4 from Rangers. That's 4 teams. They're team 5. So they've pretty much humped half the league with 2/3 of the season to go.
I'd suggest they're quite capable of smashing teams when they feel like it and it clicks. Certainly in Scotland.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Of course they’re quite capable of smashing teams when everything goes right for them. I’ve never suggested otherwise.
They’re not capable of simply doing it whenever they please though or else they’d win the league with 38 wins and a +100 odd goal difference.
15-10-2022, 04:46 PM
Yep.
Celtic could have scored more.
Were you at Parkhead, mate? Celtic have been struggling recently, too. Of course, they go and hit top gear against us.
15-10-2022, 04:52 PM
From the bbc website, somewhat of a surprise, but one of there jurno's has taken off the west coast specs for once.
FT: Celtic 6-1 Hibernian
After Rangers and Hearts were thumped again in midweek, while Celtic slumped to another home Champions League defeat, it was being suggested by some that the financial gap was too great for Scottish clubs to compete with the best in Europe.
Celtic returned to domestic action to thump third-top Hibs 6-1 to emphasise a similar gap exists between Scotland's top two and the rest of the Premiership.
At long last, amazing!
15-10-2022, 04:56 PM
Lee Johnson saying if the players can change then great, if they can’t then they move on. Compared it to Sunday league. Seems he is feeling like many on here and letting it be known.
15-10-2022, 04:58 PM
Lee Johnson saying if the players can change then great, if they can’t then they move on. Compared it to Sunday league. Seems he is feeling like many on here and letting it be known.
Did he ? He’s hammered the players a few times now this season …never usually good to do it publicly too often. Behind closed doors. Fair enough
15-10-2022, 05:04 PM
Did he ? He’s hammered the players a few times now this season …never usually good to do it publicly too often. Behind closed doors. Fair enough
Yeah, just seen it on sky sports news. Said he was embarrassed. We were scared etc. On one hand I love it how he isn’t taking any ****, on the other hand, as you say, behind closed doors.
15-10-2022, 05:04 PM
After a 6-1 humiliation the players shouldn’t expect protection from a manager - the players let him and the support down today. He’s basically saying grow a pair, learn from it, and if you can’t raise your game at places like Parkhead then go. All fair for me. Can accept a defeat off Celtic, but not in that manner. It was schoolboy stuff today. Some of those goals were embarrassing to concede.
We go again next week - and hopefully the players will burst a gut to show today’s inept defending all over the pitch won’t happen again.
15-10-2022, 05:07 PM
Not having watched the game I'm curious as to what formation we played in the 2nd half having brought on Rocky for Cadden. Looks like we swithced to three at the back - so was it a 3-5-2 with Mitchell & Cabraja on the flanks and Boyle & Youan up front?
Paulie Walnuts
15-10-2022, 05:07 PM
At least he’s not bought into the idea that Celtic can do that whenever they please and we have to bend over and accept it.
A 6-1 defeat is embarrassing. Glad he feels the same way.
15-10-2022, 05:10 PM
At least he’s not bought into the idea that Celtic can do that whenever they please and we have to bend over and accept it.
Who said that like?
15-10-2022, 05:11 PM
Were you at Parkhead, mate? Celtic have been struggling recently, too. Of course, they go and hit top gear against us.
No couldn't make it today, watched it on a dodgy stream.
We went behind before the 10th minute and were never likely to come back and get anything.
15-10-2022, 05:11 PM
Not having watched the game I'm curious as to what formation we played in the 2nd half having brought on Rocky for Cadden. Looks like we swithced to three at the back - so was it a 3-5-2 with Mitchell & Cabraja on the flanks and Boyle & Youan up front?
Mitchell didn’t come on until later. Campbell went to right wing back
All very well beating Killie, an average Aberdeen, Ross C and a well organized Motherwell but again too many players fail to turn up when we need to step up to play a better team, I can still see a few changes in this team come January.
JamesHFC
15-10-2022, 05:22 PM
Saying it how it is. Imagine if Lenny said that, people within our support would want him hanged.
Donegal Hibby
15-10-2022, 05:29 PM
I don’t want to see any manager sacked yet. All I was pointing out was the magnitude of todays result. It is completely unacceptable to loose to any in division team 6-1 going on 8/9. That’s all I was getting at.
Just had the same conversation with Rangers and Hearts fans who just suffered bad losses in Europe like this. You might be expected to loose these games but in that sort of manner is just ridiculous.
You say you don't want manager sacked YET? What you mean by yet ? I don't want him sacked at all ! Can't keep changing managers like socks .As to it being unacceptable as you put it just look at the difference in budgets ? Celtic can go out and spend 6 ,7 million on one player we can't compete with that and while they are in same division the gap between them and us is one on a totally different level . Since Ange postecoglou has came in they look like they could destroy teams at will . I find it ridiculous you would even bring up talk of sacking the manager .Away OTT reaction.
I really don’t want Lee to be Sacked and although there is massive room for improvement I quite like what he’s trying to do here. Poor choice of words.
As for the budget. Listen I don’t expect hibs to go to Celtic park and win. I don’t expect to compete for titles. But getting pumped 6-1 in any league decision game is embarrassing. There is no hiding behind the budget excuses for that.
NC1875
15-10-2022, 05:40 PM
But people on here are telling us we’re brilliant and it’s just because Celtic decided to score 6 today.
Players should be embarrassed.
15-10-2022, 05:40 PM
Saying it how it is. Imagine if Lenny said that, people within our support would want him hanged.
Aye but Johnson also said he was partly to blame. Something Lennon didn’t do.
Donegal Hibby
15-10-2022, 05:50 PM
I really don’t want Lee to be Sacked and although there is massive room for improvement I quite like what he’s trying to do here. Poor choice of words.
As for the budget. Listen I don’t expect hibs to go to Celtic park and win. I don’t expect to compete for titles. But getting pumped 6-1 in any league decision game is embarrassing. There is no hiding behind the budget excuses for that.
Sadly the budget isn't a excuse and has everything to do with it. If it hadn't why didn't we sign Jota ,kyogo , abada , and the two other Japanese players .listen we could and should have done better as a team today but Celtic would still have scored 4 or 5 imo . It's been a bad day so let's move on from the silly sacking nonsense .
Steven1985
15-10-2022, 05:53 PM
That may be fair Sir D of G but getting stuffed 5-1 on aggregate by one of Europes' lesser lights isn't exactly covering yourself with glory either.
15-10-2022, 06:55 PM
Todays set up was more attacking than what we played against Aberdeen. Totally made a caaant of it.
his subs doubled down on it which is the most worrying thing.
15-10-2022, 07:03 PM
Todays set up was more attacking than what we played against Aberdeen. Totally made a caaant of it.
his subs doubled down on it which is the most worrying thing.
I liked the starting line up, bar Lewis coming in. It showed intent - it was the players who looked overawed and caught in the headlights. They let the manager down big time today. Not closing down the cross is as basic as it gets error wise and should not happen so often at pro level. Players stood off, didn’t press, allowed them to dominate. Add in not playing simple passes well, it’s shocking.
I’ll take a defeat but not when players don’t seize the nettle and dig in doing basics well. I’m not blaming LJ today, the players need to have a long, hard look at themselves after that game. And then show a reaction next week 👍
I was fine with the starting line up. Lewis is more defensive so felt it was the right call. Experience back 4 and goalie, same defensive and central midfield and tweak on the left.
The reality is we were *****, backed off them and made a number of individual mistakes. Up to today we had the 2nd best defensive record and had conceded 2 goals in past 5 games.
Hindsight is a great thing re set up and starting line up.
Liam978
15-10-2022, 07:24 PM
[QUOTE=Col2;7130786]I was fine with the starting line up. Lewis is more defensive so felt it was the right call. Experience back 4 and goalie, same defensive and central midfield and tweak on the left.
The reality is we were *****, backed off them and made a number of individual mistakes. Up to today we had the 2nd best defensive record and had conceded 2 goals in past 5 games.
Hindsight is a great thing re set up and starting line up.
Too true Col , only positive if at all , a striker has actually scored,
15-10-2022, 07:42 PM
I hope the children got home safe.......
15-10-2022, 07:52 PM
I hope the children got home safe.......
They’ll be fine, there was a gang of them to look after the poster.
hfc-1875
15-10-2022, 08:11 PM
Give it a f*****g rest. He's a young lad in a big game, we've no been at it today but this calling out players for being useless and soft is pathetic.
He was hopeless, granted the whole team were but I struggle to see what he brings to the team.
We got alot of the basics wrong today and it costs us. Certain players need to work harder supporting the full backs, which is becoming apparent recently and cost us big time today.
Can't make 2-3 individual mistakes and expect to get a result at Parkhead. Need to dust ourselves off, suck it up and learn from it, starting next game.
Mcbizz1998
15-10-2022, 09:34 PM
Just saw the highlights. 2 massive deflections and a goalkeeping howler, not our day. Kenneh fresh air swipe as well, so, so poor.
Sorry but I don’t get Stevenson being in the team all of a sudden, barely featured and suddenly in. I didn’t see the full game so can’t say if he was good or not but cmon, a great servant but why is he parachuted in like that? It’s not fair on Lewy imo.
15-10-2022, 10:43 PM
After a 6-1 humiliation the players shouldn’t expect protection from a manager - the players let him and the support down today. He’s basically saying grow a pair, learn from it, and if you can’t raise your game at places like Parkhead then go. All fair for me. Can accept a defeat off Celtic, but not in that manner. It was schoolboy stuff today. Some of those goals were embarrassing to concede.
We go again next week - and hopefully the players will burst a gut to show today’s inept defending all over the pitch won’t happen again.
Yep, that's my take on it too.
16-10-2022, 02:37 AM
Embarrassing
I know LJ said we’d probably see some heavy defeats with the way his team “plays” but he won’t get away with many more of them.
16-10-2022, 07:42 AM
Yep, that's my take on it too.
Mine too. We usually get beat at Darkheid but that's the first time in 20 years they've scored 6 against us. And we looked like we were scared from the off with loads of individual mistakes. I'm really pleased with our home form just now so hopefully that continues on Friday.
Crunchie
16-10-2022, 07:45 AM
I’m not blaming the defeat on them but Hanlon and Stevenson should be nowhere near our team as we near the Year 2023. Both are way past it and too slow.
16-10-2022, 07:50 AM
In reality imo anyway celtic are by far a better attacking team than the other set of bigots.
Horrible score line but it doesn’t define our season.
If we finish third we will all be happy and say how this result helped steel the team.
As LJ says learn from it or move on (player and management wise)
Not happy getting pumped like that however we are still sitting third as it stands and a couple of winnable games approaching now.
Few players will realise already they are not cut out for his philosophy and think he will know one or two that he will be happy to move on already.
Good
16-10-2022, 08:07 AM
I’m not blaming the defeat on them but Hanlon and Stevenson should be nowhere near our team as we near the Year 2023. Both are way past it and too slow.
Hopefully now Rocky available again he'll get his place back.
16-10-2022, 08:12 AM
Where was this when we won 4 in a row with Hanlon playing very well? He is absolutely not past it. You're saying that because he is 32, not based on actual evidence. 32 simply is not old for a modern centre back. Hanlon is still quick enough to play centre back in this league easily.
16-10-2022, 08:26 AM
Where was this when we won 4 in a row with Hanlon playing very well? He is absolutely not past it. You're saying that because he is 32, not based on actual evidence. 32 simply is not old for a modern centre back. Hanlon is still quick enough to play centre back in this league easily.
I disagree (politely & respectfully) but where we probably can agree is - as for any elite sports person - if Hanlon keeps his place on Friday after that, then he'll know a HUGE improvement is needed to live with SPFL strike forces.
Play like yesterday & saints will hit 4 on Friday & please don't kid yourself otherwise, through sentimentality for a magic guy & a guy who has bee a great servant
Friday is a test
16-10-2022, 08:30 AM
I disagree (politely & respectfully) but where we probably can agree is - as for any elite sports person - if Hanlon keeps his place on Friday after that, then he'll know a HUGE improvement is needed to live with SPFL strike forces.
Play like yesterday & saints will hit 4 on Friday & please don't kid yourself otherwise, through sentimentality for a magic guy & a guy who has bee a great servant
Friday is a test
Saints couldn't hit 4 if we played with no goalie. But yes, undoubtedly a big improvement required from us. Which I think we'll see.
hibby rae
16-10-2022, 09:16 AM
Lewis has been getting that pretty much his entire career, and he then comes into the team and his consistency and reliability proves them wrong.
16-10-2022, 09:28 AM
Lewis has been getting that pretty much his entire career, and he then comes into the team and his consistency and reliability proves them wrong.
For as long as I can remember I’ve heard people moaning about Paul Hanlon and year after year after year he does the same.
He had a bad game yesterday after four very good ones. It happens.
16-10-2022, 09:34 AM
He didn’t do that yesterday. Didn’t think there was any reason to bring him in to the team.
Johnson spoke about playing players who would concentrate and one of your most experienced did the exact opposite after about five minutes.
hibby rae
16-10-2022, 09:44 AM
He didn’t do that yesterday. Didn’t think there was any reason to bring him in to the team.
Johnson spoke about playing players who would concentrate and one of your most experienced did the exact opposite after about five minutes.
I admit, I was surprised at the change.
But one bad game, when by the sounds of it no one covered themselves in glory, means relatively little.
Lewis will have far more good games than bad this season when he features.
Last season he was one of our best players when he played, and he played all over the park.
Lewis was not a huge problem, players like McKirdy etc not doing their job and giving the back 4 protection was the problem. Lewis came off because we moved to a back 3 and Cabreja is a more attacking wingback. My biggest worry yesterday was Cadden who was brutal, he's been good for us but you have to remember he's not a RB, he started and played for Scotland as a RM but since he's came here he's moved back to a RB and defensively he was shown up big time, good going forward though.
hibby rae
16-10-2022, 09:48 AM
For as long as I can remember I’ve heard people moaning about Paul Hanlon and year after year after year he does the same.
He had a bad game yesterday after four very good ones. It happens.
Yep players are gonna have bad days.
Tbh if Lewis is gonna switch off, if Marsh is gonna have a howler. Then it might as well all happen at a place where most other teams in the league will also get pumped rather than a direct rival for league positions.
16-10-2022, 09:54 AM
There will have been a reason for bringing Stevenson in. He maybe thought his experience would be good at Celtic park. I really like Johnson but found the team a bit strange yesterday and feared a pumping would be on the cards. McKirdy starting ahead of Youan was also strange especially with the pace he has on the counter. Just need to look at it as more minutes on the pitch for some players and a little break for others before a huge game on Friday.
16-10-2022, 09:57 AM
Lewis was not a huge problem, players like McKirdy etc not doing their job and giving the back 4 protection was the problem. Lewis came off because we moved to a back 3 and Cabreja is a more attacking wingback. My biggest worry yesterday was Cadden who was brutal, he's been good for us but you have to remember he's not a RB, he started and played for Scotland as a RM but since he's came here he's moved back to a RB and defensively he was shown up big time, good going forward though.
You could go through the whole team yesterday, but Lewis was every bit as culpable as the rest of them. He had no idea where Forrest was for the opener. Really basic stuff.
h1bs4life
16-10-2022, 10:25 AM
Just watched the highlights to see if it was as bad after watching live yesterday.
Defending was terrible, Stevenson in no man’s land for the 1st , Hanlon poor at the 2nd Marshal at the 3rd.
Get back in the game only Kenneh knows what he was trying to do in the lead up to the 4 .
Johnson got team selection and how he wanted to play totally wrong . Cadden may be alright at right back at home against weaker teams but not at Parkhead . Hanlon and Stevenson time has been and gone . Hopefully Msgennis can start on Friday.
Johnson stop waffling in the press about world class ballboys etc , you have had a go at the players let see you follow through and make some changes you don’t owe any player anything it’s the players that will end up getting you the sack.
While our season isn’t defined by results against Celtic that performance from the whole team and the management was an embarrassment to the club
16-10-2022, 11:32 AM
Just watched the highlights to see if it was as bad after watching live yesterday.
Defending was terrible, Stevenson in no man’s land for the 1st , Hanlon poor at the 2nd Marshal at the 3rd.
Get back in the game only Kenneh knows what he was trying to do in the lead up to the 4 .
Johnson got team selection and how he wanted to play totally wrong . Cadden may be alright at right back at home against weaker teams but not at Parkhead . Hanlon and Stevenson time has been and gone . Hopefully Msgennis can start on Friday.
Johnson stop waffling in the press about world class ballboys etc , you have had a go at the players let see you follow through and make some changes you don’t owe any player anything it’s the players that will end up getting you the sack.
While our season isn’t defined by results against Celtic that performance from the whole team and the management was an embarrassment to the club
What a load of rubbish. Hanlon and Lewis had a bad game along with everyone else but have been good when called upon all season. We were up against the best team
in the country by a mile who had their tails up after a bad couple of weeks, and we’re at home.
Talking about “players getting you the sack” is ludicrous, we’re third in the league and we’ve seen a positive change in style to our play so far this season.
So many people on here think that trying to sound like Michael Stewart on Sportscene makes them sound clever but it just shows up their true knowledge of the game.
Much like when we pumped Aberdeen - we had a very good day whilst they had a very bad one, yesterday the tides had turned the other way and we had a bad day when our far bigger opponents had one of the better days of their season.
If it was a habit then it’s time to worry but yesterday was just one of those days.
16-10-2022, 11:37 AM
What a load of rubbish. Hanlon and Lewis had a bad game along with everyone else but have been good when called upon all season. We were up against the best team
in the country by a mile who had their tails up after a bad couple of weeks, and we’re at home.
Talking about “players getting you the sack” is ludicrous, we’re third in the league and we’ve seen a positive change in style to our play so far this season.
So many people on here think that trying to sound like Michael Stewart on Sportscene makes them sound clever but it just shows up their true knowledge of the game.
Much like when we pumped Aberdeen - we had a very good day whilst they had a very bad one, yesterday the tides had turned the other way and we had a bad day when our far bigger opponents had one of the better days of their season.
If it was a habit then it’s time to worry but yesterday was just one of those days.
The bad days seem to be a bit of a recurring theme away from home.
We all know and understand that Celtic have better players who, if playing to their maximum, will beat us. I didn’t think they played anywhere near their maximum yesterday, we just didn’t compete.
I think we got a bit of a reality check about some of our players and, based on his comments, so did Johnson I think.
Donegal Hibby
16-10-2022, 11:55 AM
One of the things that really annoyed me yesterday was the amount of space and time they got down our right side when attacking .Remember wondering to myself would Paul Mcginn have tightened it up a bit if we had him ?
16-10-2022, 12:03 PM
One of the things that really annoyed me yesterday was the amount of space and time they got down our right side when attacking .Remember wondering to myself would Paul Mcginn have tightened it up a bit if we had him ?
Cadden got torn apart the whole first half. Not sure where that Haksabanovic came from, but he looks really good.
Cadden is good going forward but quite poor defensively.
16-10-2022, 12:08 PM
Just watched the goal highlights, that was grim viewing. Hanlon bullied off the ball, Stevenson nowhere near his man, Kennah with a fresh air, Joe Newell sauntering back into the box instead of picking up the runner. I’ll forgive Marshall as he’s been great since he’s arrived. LJ was spot on, Sunday league defending, I expect a big reaction Friday night.
GreenGray
16-10-2022, 12:18 PM
I’m far from their biggest fan but Hanlon has been good the previous games and Stevenson showed at the end of last season what he can bring to the team. I really don’t think a pumping away at Celtic when the whole team is bad is the time to judge them.
Donegal Hibby
16-10-2022, 12:34 PM
Cadden got torn apart the whole first half. Not sure where that Haksabanovic came from, but he looks really good.
Cadden is good going forward but quite poor defensively.
I like Cadden but your right he's good going forward but defensive wise he's weak .A more defense minded right back might have been better. Haksabanovic had to much joy against us down that side . Very good player though 23 year old was at West ham at one stage .played youth level for Sweden before switching to Montenegro.Celtic paid 2.25 million for him