View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian v Aberdeen
17-09-2022, 05:31 PM
PS - David Marshall and distribution. What an upgrade. Best since Goram for it. Better passing accuracy than some outfielders. He's excellent
Did you see the Aberdeen keeper distribution? :hilarious
17-09-2022, 05:32 PM
The pass to Youan in the first half was ridiculous.
That’s one of the best passes I’ve ever seen at Easter Road.
Porto had one in the second half as well that was a perfect defence splitter.
17-09-2022, 05:36 PM
Class all round from our club today. The black armbands, flags at half mast and minute of clapping were enough but not too much. The performance - even though against ten men - was a big step up and the result was excellent.
LJ, the players and the club acquitted themselves really well in what could have been a difficult fixture on a difficult day. Goodwin has chosen to go the classless welt path and it’s pretty obvious why. They really do not look all that considering the money they’ve spent and the praise heaped upon them. Bad day for bampots of various sorts, particularly Tom English and Glum Goodwin.
17-09-2022, 05:42 PM
Aberdeen started time wasting in the fortieth minute,their keeper took an age to clear the ball.
100% correct, truly embarrassing. However in the end, saved them from an even bigger pumping so maybe see it as time-wasting well spent.
17-09-2022, 05:50 PM
Not discussed by the sportsound experts funnily enough.
Tom English saying it could just have easily been a free kick to Aberdeen everyone else thinks it's a penalty.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
He also made a point of mentioning the red cards awarded for fouls in Hibs players this season ..
Better team in the 1st half but didn't test their keeper enough. 2nd half was really good, Boyle and Youan swapped, tempo was upped and the passing crisp and sharp, good win.
17-09-2022, 05:56 PM
The sheep r dire
LewysGot2
17-09-2022, 05:56 PM
Hibs have been getting these decisions this season because we have genuine pace again up top. The return of Boyle has given defenders a lot more to deal with. Its great 🤔😉
Just seen the sending off again and how Goodwin has the brass neck to question it I have no idea. Shameful and shameless.
Also his teams clearly preplanned ****housery at the penalty including trying to rake over the penalty spot needs calling out. Ridiculous cheating. Thankfully Campbell responded by standing over it and fended them off as best he could
17-09-2022, 06:06 PM
I wonder what Dim Badloss wrote on the note his sub ran on with for their captain? 🤣
17-09-2022, 06:07 PM
I wonder what Dim Badloss wrote on the note his sub ran on with for their captain? 🤣
‘We’re only here to see the Hibees. ‘ :greengrin
Ray Donovan
17-09-2022, 06:42 PM
The pass to Youan in the first half was ridiculous.
That was outrageous. We should get him in at centre mid 🤣
17-09-2022, 06:47 PM
Mikey Stewart in yam fud mode on Sportscene, agrees with Goodwin on the penalty and doesn't know what Hibs identity is...prick
Yip just watched him say that, really has become quite anti Hibs.
Davy Mac
17-09-2022, 06:52 PM
The worm has certainly turned and we are now seeing the real Mikey Stewart emerging from the shadows.
Remember we sang used to be a jambo but he is alright now - GTF.
There was only person that wanted to win that ball and it certainly wasnt Scales, Porto had every right to be the positive one.
Dunno but you but I think Thomson was a bit embarrased about the attitude of the prick.
AugustaHibs
17-09-2022, 06:52 PM
Lizzies in a box belting out, boos, clapping...yup shouldn't have went ahead
Game shouldn’t have went ahead hahaha
I’ve read some pish on here but that tops it imo
17-09-2022, 06:53 PM
Wtf is he talking about. Usually like him but that is ridiculous. Mate of Robbie. Replay probably explains it. How we can in any way be criticised for anything today is bizarre. Totally dominated the whole game.
17-09-2022, 06:56 PM
Wtf is he talking about. Usually like him but that is ridiculous. Mate of Robbie. Replay probably explains it. How we can in any way be criticised for anything today is bizarre. Totally dominated the whole game.
We need to tell him what our identity is, poor wee lamb can't work it out...
17-09-2022, 06:56 PM
The worm has certainly turned and we are now seeing the real Mikey Stewart emerging from the shadows.
There was only person that wanted to win that ball and it certainly wasnt Scales, Porto had every right to be the positive one.
Dunno but you but I think Thomson was a bit embarrased about the attitude of the prick.
Sportscene not showing the handball penalty shout in the analysis is poor.
17-09-2022, 06:57 PM
The Dons TV reaction is hilarious!!!
Hands down the most biased of all the club TV channels in Scotland, even worse than Rangers TV.
I watched, I think, one of their European games on it a few seasons ago and the commentators were talking about taking legal action against the match officials because a couple of throw in decisions went the other way.
17-09-2022, 06:58 PM
I think that’s weird because I think we are developing an identity now.
His criticism might have been fair a few weeks ago when Johnson was new and we looked like we were still getting to grips with knowing how to play under him.
17-09-2022, 07:03 PM
Sportscene not showing the handball penalty shout in the analysis is poor.
Shambles of a programme
17-09-2022, 07:10 PM
Very pleasing to come back from a goal down. I feared the worst at 0-1, but that performance was encouraging. Three goals is much more like it.
Least said about the minute's applause the better. You only need a minority to act up for a mess to happen. You don't have to be a monarchist to let the moment pass uneventfully.
Anyway, a very important win and something to build from.
Dunno but you but I think Thomson was a bit embarrased about the attitude of the prick.Porteous, eye on the bakl trying to win it. Defender, eye on Porteous the whole time trying to block him then fouled him.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
17-09-2022, 07:19 PM
They actually said they respect him for giving his opinion. It’s absolutely outrageous!
Thought both Crichton who is murder and Miller both tried to saw anything but it was a penalty. Absolutely ridiculous programme
I_Love_Latapy
17-09-2022, 07:42 PM
I used to think Stewart was an enjoyable pundit - opinionated and balanced. This analysis from him today was opinionated YET UNbalanced. It's like a prosecuting advocate highlighting evidence for their case but turning a blind eye to the other. The lad has both arms around Porteous but this is skipped over to the freeze frame where Porteous is falling down and Scales holds his hands up. Then banging on about Lee J being misguided ... did Lee upset him in a previous life?
Also, no comment on Goodwin admitting having a wee word with the ref about Porteous in advance. Grrr.
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2022, 08:26 PM
The redtv commentary was absolutely hilarious. Rob mclean and craig brown spent the whole 2nd half crying about the penalty and the red card😂.
Right after penalty given one of them said 'Portous pulled our players jumper first ' wonder was it a woolly one :LOL:
raeburnhibs
17-09-2022, 08:36 PM
I used to think Stewart was an enjoyable pundit - opinionated and balanced. This analysis from him today was opinionated YET UNbalanced. It's like a prosecuting advocate highlighting evidence for their case but turning a blind eye to the other. The lad has both arms around Porteous but this is skipped over to the freeze frame where Porteous is falling down and Scales holds his hands up. Then banging on about Lee J being misguided ... did Lee upset him in a previous life?
Also, no comment on Goodwin admitting having a wee word with the ref about Porteous in advance. Grrr.
Stewart is fine, but if anything he ever says about Hibs annoys you, just watch him moping around after the 5-1 League Cup Final.....
17-09-2022, 08:36 PM
I don't get Mikey. The praise he gave us under JR was way OTT in my opinion and now he just seems to hate us. It's odd.
Fuzzywuzzy
17-09-2022, 09:18 PM
Bit off the above topic but I could see folk still queuing at the ticker office 20mins into the game. Is it like that every game?
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2022, 09:30 PM
Really pleased with how good we were today . Campbell and Newell very good , like the look of the new striker going to be a big player for us I think.And with the quality players to comeback from injury think we will get better still:flag:
GreenGray
17-09-2022, 09:32 PM
He’s not had a positive word to say about us since we sacked Ross, which is looking like it was a correct decision in hindsight given how he got on at United.
Like you I used to think Stewart was okay but he’s embarrassing himself again and again.
Not sure who Hibs have pissed off at the BBC but they do not like us, **** them.
yonder1875
17-09-2022, 09:44 PM
Bet the boo boys take the Bank Holiday though.
Utter embarrassment . Hope we get gubbed today for that.
Get it up you.
17-09-2022, 10:18 PM
I enjoyed that game today. At half time I thought it had been a really open game. 2nd half Hibs dominated and should have won more comfortably. Given the players we have to come back, I think we'll give a few teams a right good hammering this season.
18-09-2022, 12:17 AM
He’s not had a positive word to say about us since we sacked Ross, which is looking like it was a correct decision in hindsight given how he got on at United.
Like you I used to think Stewart was okay but he’s embarrassing himself again and again.
Not sure who Hibs have pissed off at the BBC but they do not like us, **** them.
The other weird bit was him saying we had too many forwards? 🙄
Donegal Hibby
18-09-2022, 12:50 AM
Makes perfect sense to me jambos do like a 4-6-0 formation you know ?:wink:
18-09-2022, 01:14 AM
And it was a problem. A huge squad as well . One player less than hertz who have 15 midfielders
No sure I just thought it was v good cross and a good header
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Seen it at ground and thought it was poor marking.
Having just watched it on TV, I agree it was a great cross and header to be fair.
Trinity Hibee
18-09-2022, 07:30 AM
That forward line yesterday looked well balanced and worked well together. I think McKirdy will come in for youan and that will be our first choice front 3.
Cadden and Boyle on the right hand side together too is very dangerous and will be huge for us this season.
18-09-2022, 07:32 AM
PS - David Marshall and distribution. What an upgrade. Best since Goram for it. Better passing accuracy than some outfielders. He's excellent
Marshall has been a fantastic signing. Having a dependable goalkeeper is as good as having a prolific goalscorer, often a position and is forgotten about. Easily the best goalkeeper we've had in years, probably since Jim Leighton.
Donegal Hibby
19-09-2022, 11:28 AM
Watching highlights of the game ,Dons goal thought it was a good header now Im not so sure ,looks a lucky one that came of players shoulder. Anyone else think this?
hhibs
19-09-2022, 11:39 AM
Bet the boo boys take the Bank Holiday though.
Utter embarrassment . Hope we get gubbed today for that.
Yep.you are most certainly that,an utter embarassment !
19-09-2022, 06:23 PM
Watching highlights of the game ,Dons goal thought it was a good header now Im not so sure ,looks a lucky one that came of players shoulder. Anyone else think this?
I thought it was a good goal and not the type you can attach much defensive blame to.
It reminded me a bit of Cummings’ looping header at Tynecastle only from the other side.
Sauerkraut
19-09-2022, 06:42 PM
I was well placed, for once. It was a hopeful 'keep it in the mix' headflick and he got lucky. Not a foul, not a shrewdly placed one either.
Who was on co comms for hibs tv?
Lendo
19-09-2022, 06:59 PM
Who was on co comms for hibs tv?
Kevin Dabrowski
Dawned on me there at the end of highlights who ‘Kevin’ was
SonOfDavidFrancey
19-09-2022, 07:04 PM
It reminded me of this https://youtu.be/ulqsrMFP7gw
19-09-2022, 07:14 PM
Yip just watched him say that, really has become quite anti Hibs.
I wonder if he is pals with jack ross or shaun maloney? He seems to have taken a right disliking to Hibs recently. I get the feeling he is sticking the boot into us because of something along those lines
Donegal Hibby
19-09-2022, 07:16 PM
I thought it was a good goal and not the type you can attach much defensive blame to.
It reminded me a bit of Cummings’ looping header at Tynecastle only from the other side.
Did loop over alright ,went right into perfect spot in goal just like Cummings goal as well
Donegal Hibby
19-09-2022, 07:25 PM
I was well placed, for once. It was a hopeful 'keep it in the mix' headflick and he got lucky. Not a foul, not a shrewdly placed one either.
So it definitely was a header ? I watched it a few times and thought the same at first then I started to think it came of the top of Duks shoulder .my eyes probably playing tricks on me :greengrin
19-09-2022, 07:40 PM
It reminded me of this https://youtu.be/ulqsrMFP7gw
Cheers for that clip
Well remembered !
A world class goal from a world class player from that era ..or any era !
19-09-2022, 08:01 PM
So it definitely was a header ? I watched it a few times and thought the same at first then I started to think it came of the top of Duks shoulder .my eyes probably playing tricks on me :greengrin
I said to my son at the game right away that I thought it came of his shoulder. Haven't seen it since but I'm still sure it did and he didn't mean it
19-09-2022, 08:03 PM
I wonder if he is pals with jack ross or shaun maloney? He seems to have taken a right disliking to Hibs recently. I get the feeling he is sticking the boot into us because of something along those lines
Mates with Robbie replay I think
Donegal Hibby
19-09-2022, 08:49 PM
I said to my son at the game right away that I thought it came of his shoulder. Haven't seen it since but I'm still sure it did and he didn't mean it
Watched it again I really think it's his shoulder ball comes off ,Would make it a right flukey goal imo
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2022, 10:07 AM
Watching highlights again . Aberdeen's very good chance that player missed Infront of goal.Could or should Hanlon possibly done better with? He seemed to be with Dons striker at the start of the attack but totally lost him at the end which near lead to a goal .Maybe I'm being to harsh on him just .
McGruber
21-09-2022, 10:11 AM
Watching highlights again . Aberdeen's very good chance that player missed Infront of goal.Could or should Hanlon possibly done better with? He seemed to be with Dons striker at the start of the attack but totally lost him at the end which near lead to a goal .Maybe I'm being to harsh on him just .
Never mentioned in the highlights but he was flagged offside. Hanlon had a great game
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2022, 10:43 AM
Never mentioned in the highlights but he was flagged offside. Hanlon had a great game
Agree Hanlon was very good . And I'm not trying to knock Hanlon here btw .It was just that I noticed when Aberdeen broke down the field .Hanlon was really tracking the Dons striker very well until the ball came into our box and he seemed to have totally lost the guy that missed the sitter. Anyhow you said it was offside which I didn't know it was .
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2022, 12:08 PM
You sure that Aberdeen attack was offside seem to think the commenter saying if he had scored it would have stood as he was onside?
Donegal Hibby
21-09-2022, 10:36 PM
Press and Journal have article on our game up , statistics and stuff for anyone interested.