View Full Version : Aberdeen game nxt wk.

vuefrom1875
10-09-2022, 11:10 AM
On or off?

10-09-2022, 11:15 AM
On or off?

Got to be on unless funeral is that date?

Given cricket rugby is on today racing on tomorrow absolutely no reason next weekends games should be off unless funeral is Saturday

Paulie Walnuts
10-09-2022, 11:29 AM
Whatever the logic for cancelling this weekend was, I’d suggest the same logic can’t have changed for next weekend.

I’d say off but who knows. The decision to call them off this weekend was nonsensical so no point in even trying to second guess it.

K-Zazu
10-09-2022, 11:31 AM
What about Scottish teams in Europe this week will they be played.?

10-09-2022, 11:35 AM
What about Scottish teams in Europe this week will they be played.?

All games recorded as 3-0 wins for the opposition.

Ange, Robbie and Gio already saying "it feels like a win".

10-09-2022, 11:39 AM
No logic for this weekends call offs so hard to know about next week

10-09-2022, 11:56 AM
Whatever the logic for cancelling this weekend was, I’d suggest the same logic can’t have changed for next weekend.

I’d say off but who knows. The decision to call them off this weekend was nonsensical so no point in even trying to second guess it.

Probably as simple as they didn’t trust fans to adhere to minutes silence after the debacle at the Hearts game

chippy
10-09-2022, 12:09 PM

The logic is no public displays of anti royalty

Paulie Walnuts
Probably as simple as they didn’t trust fans to adhere to minutes silence after the debacle at the Hearts game

We’re guaranteed to have one next weekend if we play so that point surely still stands?

Story is the authorities were worried about booing during the minutes silence from a majority/minority of fans. Liverpool/Everton and Celtic no lovers of the Royal family. We have our own small republican faction. 30% of the country (UK) did not support her. I think next week will be off to avoid any further embarrassing marks of respect.

10-09-2022, 12:35 PM
Story is the authorities were worried about booing during the minutes silence from a majority/minority of fans. Liverpool/Everton and Celtic no lovers of the Royal family. We have our own small republican faction. 30% of the country (UK) did not support her. I think next week will be off to avoid any further embarrassing marks of respect.

So there will be no minutes silence if games go ahead this weekend or the one after. Utterly ridiculous imo. I would let those pay their respects if they want and stand outside. Making laws and decisions based on a minority and in this case a very small one is madness

10-09-2022, 12:40 PM
On surely.

10-09-2022, 01:06 PM
On surely. Hard to know but they should say either way now and should have when making the initial announcement.

10-09-2022, 01:14 PM
No reason whatsoever why the games shouldn't be on, even if the funeral is Saturday.

If some football fans would rather stay at home and watch a funeral on the BBC than attend their club's game then that's up to them.

10-09-2022, 01:21 PM

All games recorded as 3-0 wins for the opposition.

Ange, Robbie and Gio already saying "it feels like a win".

Great result for Rangers

one day maybe...
10-09-2022, 01:27 PM
Most definitely off. Police resources are stretched to the maximum due to everything that is going on across the UK. Plus football fans can't be trusted to behave themselves, either inside the stadium or outside, so for that reason all games will be off. Europe is different it is a hand full of games that can probably be policed adequately enough to allow them to go ahead.

10-09-2022, 01:28 PM
The decision for today wasn't taken in isolation by the SFA and SPFL.

Outside of any sentimental pish by the authorities, it's nothing to do with booing of minutes silences (up here, anyway).
The matches are off because if the vast requirement for additional police cover at short notice.
Obviously this impacts Edinburgh, but also the entire route from Balmoral to here. Closing foot and road bridges over the A9 etc for 2 days.
Rangers game on Tuesday will be off for same reason.

After that it is pretty much back to normal.

10-09-2022, 01:32 PM

Outside of any sentimental pish by the authorities, it's nothing to do with booing of minutes silences (up here, anyway).
The matches are off because if the vast requirement for additional police cover at short notice.
Obviously this impacts Edinburgh, but also the entire route from Balmoral to here. Closing foot and road bridges over the A9 etc for 2 days.

No way Rangers game will be off imo

10-09-2022, 01:34 PM
Cancelling today was bad enough without doing next week too. Absolutely mental if they do it.

10-09-2022, 01:56 PM

Don't think that they will come down from Balmoral on the A9. A93 to Perth and m90

10-09-2022, 02:00 PM
Most definitely off. Police resources are stretched to the maximum due to everything that is going on across the UK. Plus football fans can't be trusted to behave themselves, either inside the stadium or outside, so for that reason all games will be off. Europe is different it is a hand full of games that can probably be policed adequately enough to allow them to go ahead.
What will be happening next Saturday in Edinburgh that will demand the attention of vast swathes of police?

10-09-2022, 02:04 PM
Don't think that they will come down from Balmoral on the A9. A93 to Perth and m90

Sorry, I meant M90, was typing on phone in the sun 😁

10-09-2022, 02:09 PM
You would think they need to let the Huns know asap if they have a game Tuesday! Plus Napoli coming to Glasgow etc.

They really need to get a message out to fans etc asap about games in next 7 days.

10-09-2022, 02:18 PM
You would think they need to let the Huns know asap if they have a game Tuesday! Plus Napoli coming to Glasgow etc.

They really need to get a message out to fans etc asap about games in next 7 days.

You're presuming the authorities in this country give a **** about the fans.

10-09-2022, 02:25 PM

I think the policing point you mention might be the deciding factor overall. It would be good to get an early decision on this though to allow folk to cancel travel etc at a time when they can perhaps still get even a partial refund.

JamesHFC
10-09-2022, 02:32 PM
Will come down to policing. Hibs v Aberdeen with Aberdeen expecting to bring a big crowd.

I'd say 60-40 chance just now though in favour of the game being on.

10-09-2022, 02:47 PM
I think the policing point you mention might be the deciding factor overall. It would be good to get an early decision on this though to allow folk to cancel travel etc at a time when they can perhaps still get even a partial refund.

There surely can be no excuse for making a last minute decision on this, I’d expect to know early in the week

one day maybe...
10-09-2022, 03:46 PM
What will be happening next Saturday in Edinburgh that will demand the attention of vast swathes of police?

Not sure mate, but there may be books off condolences situated around the city, flowers being laid at Holyrood Palace or around the Scottish parliament. In my opinion is that the country will be on a whole state of high alert and a decision will be taken to cancel all games. I may be wrong but that's just my thoughts. Heads of police will be busy all over the UK and high risk things like football matches will suffer. Man power will be diverted elsewhere.
There again I may completely wrong :greengrin

10-09-2022, 03:56 PM
Not sure mate, but there may be books off condolences situated around the city, flowers being laid at Holyrood Palace or around the Scottish parliament. In my opinion is that the country will be on a whole state of high alert and a decision will be taken to cancel all games. I may be wrong but that's just my thoughts. Heads of police will be busy all over the UK and high risk things like football matches will suffer. Man power will be diverted elsewhere.

Unfortunately I think you may be right

10-09-2022, 03:59 PM
One of the reasons for postponing (not cancelling says a pedant) will be to take pressure off police forces particularly in London and Edinburgh.This is also the main decision on whether he Euro game at Ibrox goes ahead.

The Baldmans Comb
10-09-2022, 04:03 PM

What is happening next Saturday in Edinburgh.

Same question I know but can't see the answer.

10-09-2022, 04:10 PM
I think it will be off the game given the funeral is the following Monday.

Was hoping it was the Friday.

10-09-2022, 04:19 PM
What is happening next Saturday in Edinburgh.

Same question I know but can't see the answer.

The King is touring the UK before the funeral, so he may be here.

10-09-2022, 04:22 PM
Police resource for guarding a book or some flowers. The odd officer here and there maybe but I can't believe there will be any issue with Police numbers come next weekend. I get that argument for today's fixtures but unless they are all off down south then I can't believe lack of police numbers will be an issue

The Baldmans Comb
10-09-2022, 04:31 PM

Next Saturday.The guy will be nowhere near here.😂

Not aimed at you at all but that is completely ridiculous and the senior English politicians wouldn't countenance such an idea.

10-09-2022, 04:34 PM
Next Saturday.😂

Not aimed at you at all but that is completely ridiculous and the senior English politicians wouldn't countenance such an idea.

He might want to take in the game. He's the King now, so it's his call.

10-09-2022, 04:36 PM
Next Saturday.The guy will be nowhere near here.😂

Why so?

10-09-2022, 04:37 PM
One of the reasons for postponing (not cancelling says a pedant) will be to take pressure off police forces particularly in London and Edinburgh.This is also the main decision on whether he Euro game at Ibrox goes ahead.

Uefa will kick up **** if the police postpone it. Rangers could well get a 3-0 loss if the police decide it's off.

10-09-2022, 04:40 PM
Uefa will kick up **** if the police postpone it. Rangers could well get a 3-0 loss if the police decide it's off.

Tavernier miss their penalty? Not having that.

10-09-2022, 04:49 PM
I think it will be off the game given the funeral is the following Monday.

Was hoping it was the Friday.

Why in the name of a bad swear word would fitba matches in Scotland be cancelled on the back of a funeral being held 400 miles away in London two days later. This **** is getting utterly ridiculous .... in fact watching the telly today that particular ship sailed about 24 hours ago.

Hibiza
10-09-2022, 05:11 PM

Think Franck is in France.

10-09-2022, 05:33 PM
The games should be on.

If they aren't then fans should be told no later than Monday. No way should it drag on for days and leave people incurring needless costs.

Football jumped the gun this weekend. That's on the SPFL up here. The same thing shouldn't happen again and if the decision to cancel is made due to external pressure then the fans should be made aware of that.

chippy
10-09-2022, 05:33 PM
Football has been cancelled due to the risk of public showings of disloyalty at football matches. FTK , whistling booing , etc

The Baldmans Comb
10-09-2022, 05:39 PM
Why so?

The guys mother is in a coffin in Westminster Abbey for 4 days before presumably she gets cremated on the Monday so to think English politicians would allow him to be in another country on the Saturday while other heads of state arrive from all over the world is outwith the realms of fantasy.

The English people given their on the whole obviously deep mourning would themselves be apolectic.

10-09-2022, 05:39 PM
Football has been cancelled due to the risk of public showings of disloyalty at football matches. FTK , whistling booing , etc

A act of suppression.

10-09-2022, 05:46 PM
I think the football will be back on next weekend.

A monarch hadn't died for 70 years and there wasn't really much of an idea as to what the mood of the nation would be and how events should react. A relatively short timeframe from the news on Thursday to the announcement on Friday meant SFA etc probably erred on the side of responsible and went for the cancellation.

I'd imagine the decision for next week is that the games should go ahead, probably with a minute silence beforehand.

10-09-2022, 05:55 PM
The correct decision.
Could well be cancelled next weekend also.

10-09-2022, 06:00 PM

A monarch hadn't died for 70 years and there wasn't really much of an idea as to what the mood of the nation would be and how events should react. A relatively short timeframe from the news on Thursday to the announcement on Friday meant SFA etc probably erred on the side of responsible and went for the cancellation.

I'd imagine the decision for next week is that the games should go ahead, probably with a minute silence beforehand.

My thoughts on this too. I'm sure they want to change the mood from respectful mourning to looking forward to the future. Post war football acted as a beacon of hope for many and was key in keeping spirits high. I'm not sure the sentiment is the same today, but they need to move on from the mourning.

10-09-2022, 06:04 PM

Tried to get tickets, too late. I ain’t paying dynamic prices.

10-09-2022, 06:08 PM
Tried to get tickets, too late. I ain’t paying dynamic prices.
😄

Honest Andy might sort you out, bruv. No sweat.

10-09-2022, 06:10 PM

‘We have our own small republican faction’ Do republicans boo during minute silences?

10-09-2022, 06:13 PM
‘We have our own small republican faction’ Do republicans boo during minute silences?

The problem is that it only takes a handful to start a chain reaction. A few boo the silence, another few try to shout them down, others from both sets of fans boo the noise and before you know it there's chaos.

Personally I'd do the same as I did for the Andy Goram applause we were railroaded into and just wait in the concourse but some folk love the attention.

10-09-2022, 06:16 PM
From a personal and completely selfish point of view I’ll be happy if it’s postponed, as I’m away to Majorca on Wednesday so wouldn’t have made it anyway :greengrin

10-09-2022, 06:16 PM
The problem is that it only takes a handful to start a chain reaction. A few boo the silence, another few try to shout them down, others from both sets of fans boo the noise and before you know it there's chaos.

Personally I'd do the same as I did for the Andy Goram applause we were railroaded into and just wait in the concourse but some folk love the attention.

A handful of what, republicans?

10-09-2022, 06:20 PM
A handful of what, republicans?

Not specifically. I'm sure the vast majority of republicans are capable of either staying quiet or removing themselves from the situation.

A handful of people intent on disrupting a minutes silence who may or may not be republicans (although it would be odd if royalists or those simply indifferent were the people to disrupt the silence in such a hypothetical scenario).

10-09-2022, 06:26 PM
The logic is no public displays of anti royalty
So it's only football fans that indulge in displays of anti royalty?

inglisavhibs
10-09-2022, 06:29 PM
My thoughts on this too. I'm sure they want to change the mood from respectful mourning to looking forward to the future. Post war football acted as a beacon of hope for many and was key in keeping spirits high. I'm not sure the sentiment is the same today, but they need to move on from the mourning.
I will be amazed if all sport doesn't return as from Monday. It wasn't the police nor the government who put football off, it was the football governing bodies. It makes no sense whatsoever to postpone any more matches other than those on the day of the queen's funeral.

10-09-2022, 06:30 PM
Why in the name of a bad swear word would fitba matches in Scotland be cancelled on the back of a funeral being held 400 miles away in London two days later. This **** is getting utterly ridiculous .... in fact watching the telly today that particular ship sailed about 24 hours ago.
Who said they are getting cancelled, apart from one or two on here.

Sioux
10-09-2022, 06:40 PM
I will be amazed if all sport doesn't return as from Monday. It wasn't the police nor the government who put football off, it was the football governing bodies. It makes no sense whatsoever to postpone any more matches other than those on the day of the queen's funeral.

I think all of those establishments will have been part of the discussion.

10-09-2022, 06:56 PM
Sept 19 confirmed as the day of the funeral. Surely there's no logical reason that next weekend's football will be postponed.

10-09-2022, 07:11 PM
The guys mother is in a coffin in Westminster Abbey for 4 days before presumably she gets cremated on the Monday so to think English politicians would allow him to be in another country on the Saturday while other heads of state arrive from all over the world is outwith the realms of fantasy.

The English people given their on the whole obviously deep mourning would themselves be apolectic.

He's visiting Wales on Friday.

10-09-2022, 07:25 PM

That cant be right though.. There was guidance from the government, it said that sports games did not need to close , it was left up to each individual sporting body to decide how they saw fit to pay their respect.

Unless you mean the spfl by authorities, in which case a minutes applause would surely have sufficed. Each ground could have held one before their next match , would have also meant that any vocal dissent would be silenced so wouldn’t hear a peep.

10-09-2022, 07:28 PM

This is exactly why the whole of Scottish football was closed down. The mess at Tynecastle was warning enough.

10-09-2022, 07:30 PM
Sept 19 confirmed as the day of the funeral. Surely there's no logical reason that next weekend's football will be postponed.

You'd absolutely hope so, two days before a funeral in a city hundreds of miles away.

10-09-2022, 07:34 PM

And quite right too. An acceptamnce that football clubs cannot trust their fans to behave with a degree of decorum for 60 seconds. Cancelling the whole show is the only option.

10-09-2022, 08:11 PM
Whilst I wouldn’t personally support the disruption of a minutes silence I’m uncomfortable with events being cancelled due to concerns that the public might use them to demonstrate their opposition or to protest members/organisations of the establishment.

If people want to attend specially arranged memorial events then I have no issue with that. If people want to force memorials into existing sporting events then they should be prepared for whatever response attendees wish to give.

chippy
10-09-2022, 08:24 PM
I’m sure a large proportion of our support will do the right thing

10-09-2022, 08:27 PM
And quite right too. An acceptamnce that football clubs cannot trust their fans to behave with a degree of decorum for 60 seconds. Cancelling the whole show is the only option.

So you support suppression? Thats essentially what this is. Like it or not, the Queen and Monarchy in general have plenty of reasons to dislike them and disagree with them continuing.

10-09-2022, 08:53 PM
What's the definition of a republican faction in Scotland these days?

🤔

zitelli62
10-09-2022, 09:00 PM
So you support suppression? Thats essentially what this is. Like it or not, the Queen and Monarchy in general have plenty of reasons to dislike them and disagree with them continuing.

Deary me it's only 60 seconds go for a pie/slash/juice whatever I'm no royalist but even I can keep my mouth shut for 1 minute.

10-09-2022, 09:07 PM
Deary me it's only 60 seconds go for a pie/slash/juice whatever I'm no royalist but even I can keep my mouth shut for 1 minute.

I personally wouldn't boo it. I'd just continue the conversation I was having and not be quiet.

The thing is, banning events in the fear that some might voice their opinions is a bit of a weird thing to do.

10-09-2022, 09:12 PM
What's the definition of a republican faction in Scotland these days?

🤔

Depends on the definition of 'faction' I suppose. If it helps I've just seen a post on Facebook from 'Down with the crown' that commented on the fact that ... and I quote ... "we have a disproportionate number of Scottish members" :greengrin

10-09-2022, 09:15 PM

You must love the new legislation restricting lots of forms of protest.

I suspect a few nutters would disrupt it, a fair chunk would stand in the concourse to avoid it(me) and the majority would show their respect in a dignified way. Stopping games caters for the nutters and rights rules and makes decisions for a tiny minority. It is like a small version of Britain watching the Scottish football authorities deal with what should be a no brainer. Games on, minutes silence, instruction to be respectful or choose to stay outside if you don't want to take part and even if teh worst comes to pass and a few nutters do what they did at Tiny, who cares. Will we stop the games around remembrance day, similar tensions exist there.

I actually think cancelling games is about as disrespectful as it can get. Not allowing those to show respect in the course on one of the biggest activities in Scotland is taking away an opportunity for lots of fans to take part in a visual show of respect.

10-09-2022, 11:14 PM
I will always respect a moment of silence for a deceased person. Other human beings are grieving. They don't need to hear me talking, laughing, shouting or singing during their reflection.

I even kept quiet for Mercer's minute although I turned my back.

Imagine if someone came to your loved one's tribute and talked, sung or shouted through it.

Paulie Walnuts
11-09-2022, 06:58 AM
Whilst I wouldn’t personally support the disruption of a minutes silence I’m uncomfortable with events being cancelled due to concerns that the public might use them to demonstrate their opposition or to protest members/organisations of the establishment.

If people want to attend specially arranged memorial events then I have no issue with that. If people want to force memorials into existing sporting events then they should be prepared for whatever response attendees wish to give.

11-09-2022, 07:05 AM

None at all

11-09-2022, 07:06 AM
I will always respect a moment of silence for a deceased person. Other human beings are grieving. They don't need to hear me talking, laughing, shouting or singing during their reflection.

I even kept quiet for Mercer's minute although I turned my back.

Imagine if someone came to your loved one's tribute and talked, sung or shouted through it.

Just common decency

11-09-2022, 07:19 AM
Just common decency

A good argument could be made that respect is earned and many action of the royal family under her rule have not earned that respect.

If Prince Andrew had passed away, would you respect a minutes silence? I certainly wouldn't. A horrible creature. Now, consider his mother used her considerable influence to keep him out of the same trouble you and I would get in for being accused of such things, is she a person worthy of such gushing tribute? Especially at an event that has absolutely nothing to do with her in the football.

As has been said, if you wish to pay tribute go to many of the thousands of events designed to do so. Sensoring football supporters because they might cause some disruption is ridiculous.

11-09-2022, 07:22 AM
A good argument could be made that respect is earned and many action of the royal family under her rule have not earned that respect.

If Prince Andrew had passed away, would you respect a minutes silence? I certainly wouldn't. A horrible creature. Now, consider his mother used her considerable influence to keep him out of the same trouble you and I would get in for being accused of such things, is she a person worthy of such gushing tribute? Especially at an event that has absolutely nothing to do with her in the football.

As has been said, if you wish to pay tribute go to many of the thousands of events designed to do so. Sensoring football supporters because they might cause some disruption is ridiculous.

Just a personal opinion who is it for me to impact someone else's grieving

11-09-2022, 07:30 AM

But then how much polis will be called to help with the funeral, thus putting next week into jeopardy.

11-09-2022, 07:32 AM
When minutes silences are observed without disruption by football fans, we are always given a patronising pat on the back and complimented for “observing the minutes silence impeccably”, with the undercurrent of the tone being surprise.

Paulie Walnuts
11-09-2022, 07:40 AM

Thing is I think that’s when minutes silences become ridiculous.

Forcing mourning upon people, especially when there’s plenty reasons for disliking them or not respecting them and they’ve no tie to the event that’s being held is stupid really. There’s plenty other places to go show your respects voluntarily. Crowds of tens of thousands of people shouldn’t be made to take part.

11-09-2022, 07:55 AM

Why would someone choose to attend a sporting or other entertainment event in order to grieve. I wouldn’t attend a wake and expect them to stick Soccer Saturday on so I could follow the football scores.

11-09-2022, 08:07 AM
The English Premier League have moved their Monday night fixture to Friday next weekend which suggests they plan to go ahead with their next slate of fixtures. As the SFA seem to copy whatever their English counterparts do it’s hopefully good news for fixtures going ahead up here too.

11-09-2022, 08:09 AM

Forcing mourning upon people, especially when there’s plenty reasons for disliking them or not respecting them and they’ve no tie to the event that’s being held is stupid really. There’s plenty other places to go show your respects voluntarily. Crowds of tens of thousands of people shouldn’t be made to take part.

Not saying I agree with a minutes silence point I was trying to badly make was if there was one I would never disrupt it

Paulie Walnuts
11-09-2022, 08:20 AM
Not saying I agree with a minutes silence point I was trying to badly make was if there was one I would never disrupt it

I wouldn’t either but it’s a stupid place to hold it.

As someone else said, you wouldn’t go to a funeral and expect them to stick the football scores on. I’m not sure why people going to the football are to be expected to sit and mourn someone who had nothing to do with the event taking place.

We’re there to watch football, not mourn the queen. You can do that at your own home or one of the many events that’ll be organised to allow you to do it. I’m not made to have a minutes silence before I can start my food shop or get my first pint of the day in the pub, so why at the football?

11-09-2022, 08:29 AM
The problem is, looking at the fixtures I would predict that in at least 4 of them a minutes silence wouldn't be fully observed. The football authorities will be keeking themselves.

James Stephen
11-09-2022, 08:30 AM

Agree with this. Its a very pure, if emotive, expression of free speech and democracy.

Personally i wouldnt disrupt a minutes silence, but i can understand why people do, and despite the 24hr eulogy on BBC, the Queen (as a position, less so as a person) is divisive, especially in Scotland.

I can accept the weekends games being off (although i didnt agree, especially as cricket and rugby went ahead) but next weeks should absolutely be on.

Its also ironic that despite the state sponsored hagiography going on in the media, the biggest tangible benefit most of us ever had, or will ever have, from the monarchy is the bank holiday for her funeral.

11-09-2022, 08:36 AM

Easter Road belongs to Hibs so our club is entitled to hold a minute's silence there for whoever it wants and to expect those in attendance to respect that.

No-one is forced to take part because we live in a free society, but equally living in free society means that respect has to go both ways so those who do not want to take part do not have any right to force their views on others by disrupting the silence. Instead they can demonstrate their opposition by staying in the concourses until it is over.

11-09-2022, 08:37 AM
More reason to call it off next week than this week.

11-09-2022, 08:43 AM
I wouldn’t be surprised if any minutes silences held next weekend end up receiving a more negative responses as a result of the postponements this weekend. There will some who will now use it as an opportunity to protest that decision by the SFA.

Paulie Walnuts
11-09-2022, 08:53 AM
Easter Road belongs to Hibs so our club is entitled to hold a minute's silence there for whoever it wants and to expect those in attendance to respect that.

No-one is forced to take part because we live in a free society, but equally living in free society means that respect has to go both ways so those who do not want to take part do not have any right to force their views on others by disrupting the silence. Instead they can demonstrate their opposition by staying in the concourses until it is over.

I’d hazard a guess Hibs will be told they’ll be having one rather than having any say in the matter.

JamesHFC
11-09-2022, 09:25 AM
Was it Nelson Mandela we had a minutes silence for a few years back?

11-09-2022, 09:48 AM
Why would someone choose to attend a sporting or other entertainment event in order to grieve. I wouldn’t attend a wake and expect them to stick Soccer Saturday on so I could follow the football scores.

11-09-2022, 09:50 AM

Absolute nonsense. The English FA had already cancelled so of course the other Home countries had to follow suit. There's been many previous occasions with a minute's silence for members of the Royal Family. Any expectations of disrespect will have been minor, with the exception of one club, and will have played no part in the decision making process. Given we'll almost certainly have a minute's silence and black armbands when football resumes, it defies logic to have cancelled games for the reason you state.

11-09-2022, 09:54 AM

The Baldmans Comb
11-09-2022, 10:19 AM
Anyone know when England are deciding whether their fixtures for next weekend will go ahead though I accept games in their capital probably won't take place.

Everything is now decided for the old lady's funeral regarding dates, tours, attendance and arrangements so a Scottish decision in any normal country would be done and dusted by now.

He's here!
11-09-2022, 10:48 AM
Anyone know when England are deciding whether their fixtures for next weekend will go ahead though I accept games in their capital probably won't take place.

Everything is now decided for the old lady's funeral regarding dates, tours, attendance and arrangements so a Scottish decision in any normal country would be done and dusted by now.

No announcement yet about next weekend but according to the BBC "plans have been in place for a number of years now to pause the UK's national sport in the event of Her Majesty's passing as a mark of respect."

I don't think it's got anything to do with worries about silences being disrupted, more that they're just following agreed protocol. With the vast crowds expected in London for the funeral I think it's likely police resources will be too stretched to accommodate football.

What's a 'normal country' out of interest?

11-09-2022, 10:53 AM
No announcement yet about next weekend but according to the BBC "plans have been in place for a number of years now to pause the UK's national sport in the event of Her Majesty's passing as a mark of respect."

I don't think it's got anything to do with worries about silences being disrupted, more that they're just following agreed protocol. With the vast crowds expected in London for the funeral I think it's likely police resources will be too stretched to accommodate football.

Sport hasn’t paused though. Football has. And it took that decision itself, not as directed.

I do get that I certain locations, police resources will be an issue though.

11-09-2022, 11:02 AM

Protocols that are hundreds of years old, when we lived in a much different world

Helensburghhibs
11-09-2022, 11:06 AM
Haha no games to dave face but loud booing at the live proclamation in edinburgh. Get the games on

The Baldmans Comb
11-09-2022, 11:10 AM

A 'normal country' is one that takes decisions for itself hence the question why the Scottish football authorities can't seem to be able to decide one way or the other if the games in this country go ahead next weekend.

The English government published guidance that there was no need to suspend sports hence it doesn't seem normal at all why we seem to have this silence and my conclusion is that they are waiting to see what the English football authorities decide to do.

I can't think of any other country in the world who would think this like that hence my use of the word "normal'.

He's here!
11-09-2022, 11:10 AM
Protocols that are hundreds of years old, when we lived in a much different world

The BBC report is referring to protocols agreed in the event of the Queen's death, not protocols going back hundreds of years (when there wouldn't actually have been any football), so relatively recently decided.

11-09-2022, 11:14 AM
The great North run is on. Thousands of people lining the streets clapping and cheering and having a good time. Get the football on (although I suspect any minute silence won't go without any issue).

He's here!
11-09-2022, 11:17 AM
A 'normal country' is one that takes decisions for itself hence the question why the Scottish football aurhorities can't seem to be able to decide one way or the other if the games in this country go ahead next weekend.

The English government published guidance that there was no need to suspend sports hence it doesn't seem normal at all why we seem to have this silence and my conclusion is that they are waiting to see what the English football authorities decide to do.

I can't think of any other country in the world who think this like that hence my use of the word "normal'.

You mean the UK government?

The nationwide suspension of football was a collective decision among the associations and would appear to have been agreed for a number of years. The Queen, as we've seen throughout the week, was deeply respected in Scotland and was probably at her happiest here, so whatever we may think of those in charge of the running of our game I think they will have come to the decision to suspend Scottish football all by themselves. Seems normal enough to me.

I don't imagine there's a country in the world whose authorities don't make decisions
which split public opinion.

11-09-2022, 11:18 AM

The English football league have said their fixtures on Tuesday and Wednesday will go ahead as normal. They said weekend games would be decided case by case as there may be policing issues at certain games, which you'd imagine would affect london clubs.

Scottish games should proceed as normal as we don't have any games on Monday anyway and there are no major events planned for the weekend that would be a massive drain on policing resources up here.

11-09-2022, 11:19 AM

The nationwide suspension of football was a collective decision among the associations and would appear to have been agreed for a number of years. The Queen, as we've seen throughout the week, was deeply respected in Scotland and was probably at her happiest here, so whatever we may think of those in charge of the running of our game I think they will have come to the decision to suspend Scottish football all by themselves. Seems normal enough to me.

I don't imagine there's a country in the world whose authorities don't make decisions

The Queen was deeply respected in Scotland? Wtf. What world do you live in.

He's here!
11-09-2022, 11:32 AM

Take a look at the crowds out paying their respects to her today. We're heading down with a few other families to watch the cortege pass through Edinburgh later. Tomorrow will likely see even bigger crowds queuing to see her lie in state at St Giles.

She was a great advocate for Scotland and loved this country. Even the likes of Salmond and Sturgeon know that and have a deep respect for her themselves.

11-09-2022, 11:38 AM
The BBC report is referring to protocols agreed in the event of the Queen's death, not protocols going back hundreds of years (when there wouldn't actually have been any football), so relatively recently decided.

Are you just totally ignoring the guidance the government issued regarding sporting events this week?

He's here!
11-09-2022, 11:43 AM
Are you just totally ignoring the guidance the government issued regarding sporting events this week?

Not ignoring anything. Just quoting what's on the BBC today. I don't imagine things are so set in stone that there's not some room for flexibility. Hopefully some games will get the go-ahead though less likely in London as someone else has said on here.

11-09-2022, 11:46 AM
Not ignoring anything. Just quoting what's on the BBC today. I don't imagine things are so set in stone that there's not some room for flexibility. Hopefully some games will get the go-ahead though less likely in London as someone else has said on here.

You’re banging on about protocols and sporting events being stopped though. When they haven’t been and the government have said they don’t need to be.

I think it’s quite obvious that policing will be an issue for some, but there isn’t any protocol saying stop.

11-09-2022, 11:57 AM
Rangers v Napoli moved to Wednesday night for policing reasons.

Napoli fans aren’t allowed to go to the game and Rangers fans aren’t allowed to the game in Napoli to make it fair :dunno:

Skol
11-09-2022, 11:58 AM
Football made the wrong decision for the right reasons.

I don’t get why people are up in arms about this as there will be people who object whatever decision is made. Remember the fuss when Diana died when the SFA made a different decision and came out looking bad.

The decision is what it is and we should accept that and get on with our lives, paying whatever respect we think is appropriate based on our own opinions and feelings.

However, if you object in any way, you should not be disrupting any mark of respect that is put in place.

11-09-2022, 12:16 PM

Napoli fans aren’t allowed to go to the game and Rangers fans aren’t allowed to the game in Napoli to make it fair :dunno:

Bizarre.

Pytheas
11-09-2022, 12:17 PM

One without a monarch for a start.

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 12:17 PM

Dull one for those that have flights to naples 😆

Stairway 2 7
11-09-2022, 12:19 PM
Celtic will be able to get there minutes silence out the way in Poland on Wednesday with small away crowd, hearts have done there's, up to us to make the headlines if on on Saturday 😱

11-09-2022, 12:21 PM
Haha no games to dave face but loud booing at the live proclamation in edinburgh. Get the games on
Yip and all the "look at me" folk will be out in force.

11-09-2022, 12:21 PM
Celtic will be able to get there minutes silence out the way in Poland on Wednesday with small away crowd, hearts have done there's, up to us to make the headlines if on on Saturday 😱

Without trying to sound anti royal, why are we doing a silence, when the nation is observing it on the 19th?

11-09-2022, 12:23 PM

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/62869447

Full story on the BBC.

11-09-2022, 12:38 PM

Celtic are away to St Mirren at the weekend. They will need to take part in that which I am sure will go well.

11-09-2022, 12:42 PM

So what are the Glasgow Police up to on Tuesday?

11-09-2022, 01:05 PM

Escorting her maj to Edinburgh Airport in the morning, drowning their sorrows in the afternoon. 🤔

11-09-2022, 01:12 PM

One that elects its own government of choice and makes decisions on its own governance.

11-09-2022, 01:29 PM
One that elects its own government of choice and makes decisions on its own governance.

You mean one in which the SFA made its own decision to postpone yesterday's games? It wasn't told to do so by the English FA and plenty of other sports decided to keep playing.

I disagree with that decision, but given the flak they took when Diana died I can understand why it was made. And the Queen's service to her country is deserving of recognition regardless of anyone's views on the monarchy.

11-09-2022, 01:35 PM
You mean one in which the SFA made its own decision to postpone yesterday's games? It wasn't told to do so by the English FA and plenty of other sports decided to keep playing.

I disagree with that decision, but given the flak they took when Diana died I can understand why it was made. And the Queen's service to her country is deserving of recognition regardless of anyone's views on the monarchy.I'm not sure what that has to do with my post? I was only answering the question put forward in the one I quoted.

stuart-farquhar
11-09-2022, 01:44 PM

I will tell you Wtf. I'm not in any way a monarchist but she always seemed to act for the country and show it in its best light. All lost now and I'm thinking we're the poorer for her death.

I liked her work ethic and respected her ability to be recognised and spoken warmly of in dozens of countries. A fantastic ambassador. I had relatives/ friends sending me messages of condolence ( I was amazed at this) from countries where it was overnight and I didn't even know she was gone!

Unfortunately I'm living back in this country for family reasons. It's not a pleasant listen to all the hatred that simmers away and on occasions like this boils over.

11-09-2022, 01:46 PM

See mine on p2 of the thread.

All about police numbers, nothing suspicious.

HibeeMackenzie
11-09-2022, 02:00 PM
But can we play on Saturday

11-09-2022, 02:04 PM
I will tell you Wtf. I'm not in any way a monarchist but she always seemed to act for the country and show it in its best light. All lost now and I'm thinking we're the poorer for her death.

I liked her work ethic and respected her ability to be recognised and spoken warmly of in dozens of countries. A fantastic ambassador. I had relatives/ friends sending me messages of condolence ( I was amazed at this) from countries where it was overnight and I didn't even know she was gone!

Unfortunately I'm living back in this country for family reasons. It's not a pleasant listen to all the hatred that simmers away and on occasions like this boils over.

Hatred? Simmering? Boiling over?

I'm glad I don't live where you do 😄

11-09-2022, 02:05 PM
Absolute nonsense. The English FA had already cancelled so of course the other Home countries had to follow suit. There's been many previous occasions with a minute's silence for members of the Royal Family. Any expectations of disrespect will have been minor, with the exception of one club, and will have played no part in the decision making process. Given we'll almost certainly have a minute's silence and black armbands when football resumes, it defies logic to have cancelled games for the reason you state.

Genuine question, cos I honestly can't remember, but was there a minute's silence when the 'Queen Mother' died, and was it respected?

11-09-2022, 02:13 PM

...and doesn't continue with an anachronistic Monarchical system more suited to the Middle Ages.

One where people aren't fawned over because they were born into a special position of wealth and privilege by an accident of birth.

One where more attention, and money. is given to the plight of people that are genuinely suffering... such as the homeless or people struggling to pay their bills... than to a family with land, property and wealth that most of us can only dream of.

Any more questions?

11-09-2022, 02:16 PM

Pop into the city centre and see what world he's living in.

11-09-2022, 02:17 PM
Genuine question, cos I honestly can't remember, but was there a minute's silence when the 'Queen Mother' died, and was it respected?

There were no league games the week the QM died. Assume it was an international week.

11-09-2022, 02:18 PM
Hatred? Simmering? Boiling over?

I'm glad I don't live where you do 😄

FTQ is such a friendly set of initials, right enough.

chippy
11-09-2022, 03:17 PM

What hatred? Are we not allowed to oppose the institution of the monarchy? I don’t see many hateful comments. Opposition , yes. Folks who are democrats of all colours opposing the hoarding of wealth and power. Folks who view monarchs as medieval and backward. I have no idea if she worked hard or not. I fancy that’s all propaganda. Vast bulk of the population work hard and many live in poverty. Forcing people to mourn or remain silent is not democratic - its authoritarian

CyberSauzee
11-09-2022, 03:31 PM
I liked her work ethic

Work implies it's a job, if so how does one apply?

It's not work, it's a privileged inherited position of extreme wealth. I wouldn't mind spending my life visiting foreign countries and hosting lavish banquets.

I'm sorry for a family's loss, I don't like the institute of the monarchy foisting their outdated hierarchical values on me for 10+ days.

stuart-farquhar
11-09-2022, 03:47 PM
Work implies it's a job, if so how does one apply?

It's not work, it's a privileged inherited position of extreme wealth. I wouldn't mind spending my life visiting foreign countries and hosting lavish banquets.

I'm sorry for a family's loss, I don't like the institute of the monarchy foisting their outdated hierarchical values on me for 10+ days.

No. Work isn't necessarily a paid job. I mean for example talking to you seems like hard work. But it's not a paid job :)

11-09-2022, 03:55 PM
National league games to return from Monday and midweek EFL games are expecting to go ahead.

Would be nice for clubs to know what's going on ASAP so hopefully an announcement tomorrow that we get back to playing football at the weekend.

Big game for us at home and Aberdeen doing well also.

Zambernardi1875
11-09-2022, 04:02 PM

Ah yes, the English don’t have a separate government, why is that ?

11-09-2022, 04:28 PM
I’d say it’s almost certain that the English fixtures get cancelled next weekend, as they’re already hinting at the policing issue.

No reason why we can’t play though, so the Scottish games should be on.

11-09-2022, 04:37 PM
I’d say it’s almost certain that the English fixtures get cancelled next weekend, as they’re already hinting at the policing issue.

No reason why we can’t play though, so the Scottish games should be on.

How many police do they need?

11-09-2022, 05:06 PM
National League in England to resume from tomorrow. I'd guess that games will be played next weekend with no Monday night games in England.

JamesHFC
11-09-2022, 05:11 PM
Ideally would like an update on this tomorrow. Absolute farce if they don't announce anything until a day or two before the game.

11-09-2022, 05:34 PM

Pretty much them all, tbh.

I read somewhere that London is going to be "full" for the first time ever next weekend.

I'm not sure what that means exactly, but at the end of next week, the motorways heading toward London will have convoy after convoy of police vehicles bringing reinforcements for the Met from all over the country.

stuart-farquhar
11-09-2022, 06:14 PM
What hatred? Are we not allowed to oppose the institution of the monarchy? I don’t see many hateful comments. Opposition , yes. Folks who are democrats of all colours opposing the hoarding of wealth and power. Folks who view monarchs as medieval and backward. I have no idea if she worked hard or not. I fancy that’s all propaganda. Vast bulk of the population work hard and many live in poverty. Forcing people to mourn or remain silent is not democratic - its authoritarian

Really? Never noticed the sectarian bile. I suppose you've never had a 9 year old daughter verbally abused by grown men as as a fenian cxxt because they have the temerity to wear a Hibs scarf. Or perhaps not to have been hit over the head with a bottle of Lanliq (predecessor in many respects to Buckfast) when they themselves were about 9. That sort of hatred.

Paul1642
11-09-2022, 06:23 PM

Near enough every world leader is going to be in London before you even factor in the queens funeral. It’s going to be one of the biggest policing operations the Uk has ever seen.

chippy
11-09-2022, 06:37 PM
Really? Never noticed the sectarian bile. I suppose you've never had a 9 year old daughter verbally abused by grown men as as a fenian cxxt because they have the temerity to wear a Hibs scarf. Or perhaps not to have been hit over the head with a bottle of Lanliq (predecessor in many respects to Buckfast) when they themselves were about 9. That sort of hatred.

What are you on about? You’ve lost me. I’ve had plenty of sectarian abuse myself for being a Hibs fan and fenian as a boy not so much as a man

stuart-farquhar
11-09-2022, 07:18 PM
[QUOTE=chippy;7098564]What are you on about? You’ve lost me. I’ve had plenty of sectarian abuse myself for being a Hibs fan and fenian as a boy not so much as a then you have experienced hatred.

11-09-2022, 07:27 PM
There were no league games the week the QM died. Assume it was an international week.

Mcbizz1998
12-09-2022, 08:17 AM
Cancelling the Aberdeen game as it is the weekend of the funeral would have made sense to me. It’s cancelling the United game that I can’t get my head around.

We now have 1 of 2 scenarios.

1) Aberdeen goes ahead. Which means we will have had games postponed when nothing was actually happening, but games are played on the weekend of the funeral which will clash with it.

2) we cancel the Aberdeen game and end up with a fixture issue for some clubs, especially those in Europe.

Either way, it’s the decision to cancel last weekend that was bizarre.

12-09-2022, 08:24 AM
Cancelling the Aberdeen game as it is the weekend of the funeral would have made sense to me. It’s cancelling the United game that I can’t get my head around.

1) Aberdeen goes ahead. Which means we will have had games postponed when nothing was actually happening, but games are played on the weekend of the funeral which will clash with it.

2) we cancel the Aberdeen game and end up with a fixture issue for some clubs, especially those in Europe.

Last weekend came about fast after the Thursday night announcement. SFA etc will have thought about what to do in the eventuality of the Queen's deaths, but until it actually happens there was no way to know what public sentiment would be towards events and how exactly they should react.

They went for the politically safe option on this occasion of cancelling. I don't think they'll do it again next weekend.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 08:27 AM

Think it might have been due to policing. Thousands from all over Scotland will have unexpectedly been needed for planning on Saturday then deployed yesterday today and tomorrow. Hence rangers off Tue but OK Wed. I noticed hibs 19s are playing wed as are hibs ladies at Meadowbank

Mcbizz1998
12-09-2022, 08:32 AM
Last weekend came about fast after the Thursday night announcement. SFA etc will have thought about what to do in the eventuality of the Queen's deaths, but until it actually happens there was no way to know what public sentiment would be towards events and how exactly they should react.

They went for the politically safe option on this occasion of cancelling. I don't think they'll do it again next weekend.

Fingers crossed then mate. I was looking forward to the Aberdeen game so really hope it’s on.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 08:33 AM
Fingers crossed then mate. I was looking forward to the Aberdeen game so really hope it’s on.

Same. They will surely tell us today, then again its the sfa so..

12-09-2022, 08:46 AM
I thought it had already been announced that all games are off this weekend coming 🤬

12-09-2022, 08:49 AM
I thought it had already been announced that all games are off this weekend coming 🤬

It hasn't.

BonnieFitbaTeam
12-09-2022, 09:13 AM

How does a game on Saturday clash with a funeral on the Monday?

12-09-2022, 10:28 AM
It hasn't.

Good .

12-09-2022, 10:37 AM
Game on.

12-09-2022, 10:38 AM
NEWS | Following the postponement of all fixtures in the professional game across Scotland last weekend, we can confirm the intention for the professional game to resume as normal.

JamesHFC
12-09-2022, 10:38 AM
Bring on the sheep.

JamesHFC
12-09-2022, 10:41 AM
"Home clubs may wish to hold a period of silence and/or play the National Anthem just ahead of kick-off, and players may wish to wear black armbands."

Mcbizz1998
12-09-2022, 10:44 AM
How does a game on Saturday clash with a funeral on the Monday?

My bad, thought the funeral was Sunday!

Anyway, it’s on so all good! [emoji172]

DIXIHIBS
12-09-2022, 10:50 AM
"Home clubs may wish to hold a period of silence and/or play the National Anthem just ahead of kick-off, and players may wish to wear black armbands."

National anthem...not a chance, but hibs should announce if theres going to be a minutes silence well in advance. If you want to avoid it keep out the way for a couple of minutes. If you want to respect it fine. Be good to keep hibs out the headlines for the wrong reasons. Even start the minutes silence at say 2-30. Any player/ fans wanting to participate can be there early?

12-09-2022, 10:56 AM
National anthem...not a chance, but hibs should announce if theres going to be a minutes silence well in advance. If you want to avoid it keep out the way for a couple of minutes. If you want to respect it fine. Be good to keep hibs out the headlines for the wrong reasons. Even start the minutes silence at say 2-30. Any player/ fans wanting to participate can be there early?

Totally agree with that. I go early to teh game and will leave my seat if there is a silence. Happy to do that quietly and get out the way to allow others to do their thing give us warning if teh silence will be at the usual time. My preference would be 2.30pm too as it would be fascinating to see how many showed up.

12-09-2022, 11:01 AM
Noted as being subject to Police Scotland resourcing. Chance that it could still be off? Or is everything likely to have moved on from Edinburgh by then?

12-09-2022, 11:02 AM
Noted as being subject to Police Scotland resourcing. Chance that it could still be off? Or is everything likely to have moved on from Edinburgh by then?

It moves on from Edinburgh tomorrow.

I'm not sure if police Scotland would be deployed to London or not though.

Mcbizz1998
12-09-2022, 11:03 AM
Totally agree with that. I go early to teh game and will leave my seat if there is a silence. Happy to do that quietly and get out the way to allow others to do their thing give us warning if teh silence will be at the usual time. My preference would be 2.30pm too as it would be fascinating to see how many showed up.

No problem with advanced notice so people can avoid it but making those who want to show some respect to pitch up 30 mins early wont happen and rightly so.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 11:08 AM
Brilliant bring on the sheep

DIXIHIBS
12-09-2022, 11:14 AM
No problem with advanced notice so people can avoid it but making those who want to show some respect to pitch up 30 mins early wont happen and rightly so.

Even 20 mins early. Majority of fans not in ground at that time anyway. 10 mins before KO is when most fans seem to arrive.Dont think asking someone to turn up 10/15 mins early is unreasonable tbh. Worth it to avoid any disruption imo.

12-09-2022, 11:14 AM
It moves on from Edinburgh tomorrow.

I'm not sure if police Scotland would be deployed to London or not though.

Planning will have been done So they must know by now if Scottish Police are needed
Football fans seem to be being treated differently from other sports
But that aside we should be told today

12-09-2022, 11:15 AM
I have a feeling ours will be postponed anyway given it will be in the capital.

12-09-2022, 11:25 AM
No need for a minutes silence, there will have been numerous opportunities for people to show their respect with a period of silence during the preceding week.

HibeeHibernian4
12-09-2022, 11:32 AM
If Hibs think they can get away with playing the anthem they have another thought coming..

chippy
12-09-2022, 11:35 AM
I’d be quite happy to hear Flower of Scotland or Scots wha hae or Freedome Come All Ye. If it’s GSTK I’ll be whistling and booing as that is an sign of disrespect to me as a democrat.

12-09-2022, 11:37 AM
Neither a minutes silence or the "National Anthem" will be respected. We should just play Sunshine on Leith and have a big sing song instead.

12-09-2022, 11:37 AM
I don't think Hibs are tone deaf enough to play GSTK. I'd expect black armbands and a minutes applause.

12-09-2022, 11:43 AM
I don't think Hibs are tone deaf enough to play GSTK. I'd expect black armbands and a minutes applause.

Best solution in think.

12-09-2022, 11:44 AM
Crowd of 18k including 2k Aberdeen fans. Minutes silence passing without incident, I will be surprised. As for singing GSTK, not happening.

Mcbizz1998
12-09-2022, 11:52 AM
We should get Nicola along to sing GSTK. She was belting it out the other day at the proclamation.

12-09-2022, 12:00 PM
No need for a minutes silence, there will have been numerous opportunities for people to show their respect with a period of silence during the preceding week.

We done ours yesterday at the boys football. Impeccably respected by all the players and parents. I don't need another one, so will stay in the concourse. I wouldn't expect the national anthem to be played though.

LunasBoots
12-09-2022, 12:11 PM
They're asking for bother if they play the English national anthem.

Not my anthem!

The Baldmans Comb
12-09-2022, 12:20 PM
Wouldn't it be just amazing if Hibs played the English national anthem.

I would love Ron and Ben forever and a day if they could just do this.

Mcbizz1998
12-09-2022, 12:30 PM
They're asking for bother if they play the English national anthem.

Not my anthem!

Don’t worry they won’t play the British national anthem.

BonnieFitbaTeam
12-09-2022, 12:42 PM

And there's the official one on the Sunday. How many minutes' silence do we really need?

12-09-2022, 12:43 PM
And there's the official one on the Sunday. How many minutes' silence do we really need?

As many, or as few, as you want.

12-09-2022, 12:47 PM
If there's a minutes silence/applause it will be right before the game and don't kid yourself otherwise - with all players, refs, linesmen lined up in full kit and most fans in their seats. I would appeal to all Hibees to respect any such gesture and remember its Hibs they are representing even if from the stands.

chippy
12-09-2022, 12:56 PM
We should get Nicola along to sing GSTK. She was belting it out the other day at the proclamation.

She certainly moved her lips, but didn’t seem with gusto. Pragmatism . A reasonable proportion of snp and yes supporters are pro monarchy just now. Keeps them on board and she discharged her office as FM

12-09-2022, 12:58 PM
See that the Arsenal game on Thursday has been postponed. Not convinced all the games will go ahead next week.

chippy
12-09-2022, 12:59 PM
If there's a minutes silence/applause it will be right before the game and don't kid yourself otherwise - with all players, refs, linesmen lined up in full kit and most fans in their seats. I would appeal to all Hibees to respect any such gesture and remember its Hibs they are representing even if from the stands.

No chance pal , you can cooperate with this medieval nonsense but I will exercise my democratic right for as long as I have it.

Torto7
12-09-2022, 01:04 PM
I'm from Roman Catholic stock and I'm perfectly aware of the secret handshake brigade in the UK but I can't understand why people are going tonto over this. It's a song to mark the head of state passing. Just relax and let it pass if they do have a minutes silence or GSTQ. Save your energy for backing the team imo. I can't be arsed with faux outrage from folk who have little grasp of history. Celtic will excel in the cringeometer this weekend leave them to it.

12-09-2022, 01:08 PM

Hardly British as they sing about crushing the Scots 🤮

Victor
12-09-2022, 01:12 PM
Ah yes, the English don’t have a separate government, why is that ?

The same reason they don’t have a separate National Anthem, they equate England to Britain and the United Kingdom, with Wales and Scotland as provinces. As Rees-Mogg stated, Scotland as a state doesn’t exist, it is just ‘Northern Britain’.

Souter96Mac
12-09-2022, 01:24 PM
Hope the club learns from the shambles that was Hearts' half time the other week, and does the bare minimum here. Let the players wear a black armband should they wish, and just get on with the game as normal.
Could get ugly if they decide to play any anthems, or even have minute silence/applause, nevermind potentially damaging relationships with fans

The Baldmans Comb
12-09-2022, 01:26 PM

No worries at all. I want it to happen.

And send her armies forth
Rebellious Scots to crush
God save the Queen.

Or should that now say King.😁

12-09-2022, 01:27 PM
No chance pal , you can cooperate with this medieval nonsense but I will exercise my democratic right for as long as I have it.

Which is to do what?

mvteng
12-09-2022, 01:28 PM

Just schedule the minutes silence or whatever for 30 minutes after the game. Won't inconvenience anyone whos not interested but gives anyone who wants it the chance to do their thing

chippy
12-09-2022, 01:35 PM
Which is to do what?
Listen on Saturday

12-09-2022, 01:37 PM
Listen on Saturday

And if its a minutes silence?

12-09-2022, 01:38 PM

Rebellious Scots to crush. God save the king.

chippy
12-09-2022, 01:42 PM
And if its a minutes silence?
Exactly

Mcbizz1998
12-09-2022, 01:48 PM

God save the Queen.

Or should that now say King.[emoji16]

Presumably referring to the anti-Jacobite version of the song, sung almost 300 years ago for a very brief period and was never published? That’s relevant [emoji23]

Btw, fun fact - more Scots fought for King George than Bonnie Prince Charlie.

12-09-2022, 02:05 PM
I’m not in favour of having a monarch but it doesn’t take much to either stay on the concourse or keep your mouth shut for 1 minute if a minutes silence goes ahead. It’s about having respect for others views as well as having dignity for yourself.

12-09-2022, 02:08 PM
I’m not in favour of having a monarch but it doesn’t take much to either stay on the concourse or keep your mouth shut for 1 minute if a minutes silence goes ahead. It’s about having respect for others views as well as having dignity for yourself.

Spot on

He's here!
12-09-2022, 02:59 PM

No such lyrics. That's a myth.

12-09-2022, 03:04 PM
You sure ? Because I am.
God save the Queen.

Paulie Walnuts
12-09-2022, 03:08 PM

It doesn’t but then means you missing the start of the game you’ve paid your money for.

A minutes silence is pointless. Supermarkets and pubs don’t hold them before we get going, so why the football?

12-09-2022, 03:09 PM

Think it was included as a verse around jacobites time

12-09-2022, 03:09 PM

Agree

12-09-2022, 03:21 PM
If you think booing the queens bad just have a look what the ebc has been getting up to

https://www.thenational.scot/news/21322803.bbc-slammed-john-knox-cleared-catholics-scotland-comment/

https://www.thenational.scot/news/21323547.six-times-bbc-left-scots-scratching-heads-coverage-queens-death/

we should all be ootside ebc offices booing these knuts. So far off the planet its surreal.

12-09-2022, 03:28 PM
Great the games on, ahll be there.

Mcbizz1998
12-09-2022, 03:28 PM
You sure ? Because I am.
God save the Queen.

It was never God Save The Queen at the end of that verse, because when it was sung 300 years ago, there was no Queen….

As I said above. It was sung during the Jacobite rebellion in support of Field Marshall Wade prior to battle, but was never an official version. The Jacobite’s even had their own version of it that they sang at the time (obviously a version against King George II).

It needs to be remembered that the Jacobites were rebellious Scots, and indeed they were crushed…..by other Scots, the majority of whom fought for King George.

12-09-2022, 03:39 PM

God save the Queen.

Or should that now say King.��

That verse was never a part of the anthem. The only people who ever quote it and pretend it was are Scots with a chip on their shoulder.

Paul1642
12-09-2022, 03:45 PM
Planning will have been done So they must know by now if Scottish Police are needed
Football fans seem to be being treated differently from other sports
But that aside we should be told today

Football fans aren’t being treated differently. Football fans, due to the behaviour of some, require a much larger police presence at certain games than what other sports require. At a time when police resources are stretched to the absolute max it’s understandable that there might be no officers spare for football games, hence why lower leagues will now go ahead whilst bigger games are still to be confined for certain.

Steven79
12-09-2022, 03:55 PM
That verse was never a part of the anthem. The only people who ever quote it and pretend it was are Scots with a chip on their shoulder.That's not actually true.

When I was living down south in Bradford they had the lryics up on the wall of the anthem and it included the "rebellious Scots to crush" verse.

Turns out it was downloaded from a teacher toolkit that was used by schools all over England.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

12-09-2022, 04:26 PM
That's not actually true.

When I was living down south in Bradford they had the lryics up on the wall of the anthem and it included the "rebellious Scots to crush" verse.

Turns out it was downloaded from a teacher toolkit that was used by schools all over England.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

If they were claiming that they were ever the official words then the education system down there is not doing too well. :greengrin
Those words were first circulated in a pamphlet. The equivalent today would be somebody changing the words for a laugh and posting them via Twitter.

12-09-2022, 04:31 PM
Delighted the games on, if there's a minutes silence I will likely remain in my seat and observe the silence, then hopefully enjoy the game, it really shouldn't be an issue

StevesFamau5
12-09-2022, 04:56 PM
I've seen a lot of chat about the national anthem being sing and I assume that is the UK one and not the Scottish one. How likely do we think it is to happen? As I personally think it will cause nothing but absolute carnage.

Even a minutes silence is likely to be booed and jeered.

12-09-2022, 05:07 PM
I've seen a lot of chat about the national anthem being sing and I assume that is the UK one and not the Scottish one. How likely do we think it is to happen? As I personally think it will cause nothing but absolute carnage.

Even a minutes silence is likely to be booed and jeered.

I think the only stadium up here that will play GSTK at the weekend is Ibrox, I don't think there's any chance of it being played at Easter Road or any other stadium in Scotland for that matter.

I expect there to be a minute's silence held and hopefully anyone who objects to it taking place can stay in the concourse for an extra 60 seconds.

I personally think it's going to be a recipe for disaster though.

12-09-2022, 05:26 PM
Hi Royalists - British Imperialism was the cause of the Irish famine and millions of deaths around the world. We mourn for them. Sincerely, Ireland.
That’s where I’m at and our clubs founders would no doubt be the same.

chippy
12-09-2022, 05:49 PM
Hi Royalists - British Imperialism was the cause of the Irish famine and millions of deaths around the world. We mourn for them. Sincerely, Ireland.

Well said

JamesHFC
12-09-2022, 05:53 PM
I think the only stadium up here that will play GSTK at the weekend is Ibrox, I don't think there's any chance of it being played at Easter Road or any other stadium in Scotland for that matter.

I expect there to be a minute's silence held and hopefully anyone who objects to it taking place can stay in the concourse for an extra 60 seconds.

I personally think it's going to be a recipe for disaster though.

It was probably them who proposed the idea.

Eaststandee
12-09-2022, 06:18 PM
If GSTK is played at Easter Road, I don't think I'll be back

He's here!
12-09-2022, 06:21 PM

You'd think Britain was the only nation with a colonial past...if anything the Queen's reign was notable for decolonisation and the establishment of the Commonwealth.

Anyway, that's probably best left for a more appropriate forum. Glad to hear the game's on.

He's here!
12-09-2022, 06:22 PM
That verse was never a part of the anthem. The only people who ever quote it and pretend it was are Scots with a chip on their shoulder.

Indeed.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 06:26 PM

😆 that's mental. I obviously don't like the song either but you can't be much of a fan if that would be enough to never see the team again

12-09-2022, 06:29 PM

Not really true.

12-09-2022, 06:32 PM

Airdrie maybe.

12-09-2022, 06:38 PM
So are we certain the game is on, or still awaiting Police clearance?

12-09-2022, 06:42 PM

What if they played “Charlie is my darling” instead

12-09-2022, 06:44 PM
That verse was never a part of the anthem. The only people who ever quote it and pretend it was are Scots with a chip on their shoulder.If that's the case then it's puzzling that lord goldsmith recommended that verse 6 of the national anthem, which included those lyrics, be re written as part of a review of British citizenship which had been ordered by Gordon Brown?

The Tubs
12-09-2022, 06:49 PM
If that's the case then it's puzzling that lord goldsmith recommended that verse 6 of the national anthem, which included those lyrics, be re written as part of a review of British citizenship which had been ordered by Gordon Brown?

A wee hand where needed:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/politics/7126929.stm

12-09-2022, 06:57 PM
A wee hand where needed:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/politics/7126929.stmSo I think that confirms that this is not a verse imagined only the heads of grievance seeking Scots nats with chips on their shoulders.

I'm fairly sure his final recommendation was that it should be re-written but it was rejected and still remains.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 07:08 PM
So I think that confirms that this is not a verse imagined only the heads of grievance seeking Scots nats with chips on their shoulders.

I'm fairly sure his final recommendation was that it should be re-written but it was rejected and still remains.

It wasn't in the original and was only in the anthem if ever for a short period in the 18th century. Never been part of the anthem officially

http://www.aforceforgood.org.uk/precious/anthem1

The Tubs
12-09-2022, 07:13 PM
It wasn't in the original and was only in the anthem if ever for a short period in the 18th century. Never been part of the anthem officially

http://www.aforceforgood.org.uk/precious/anthem1

Should we believe the BBC or a unionist blog? That sounds like a tautology.

12-09-2022, 07:16 PM

http://www.aforceforgood.org.uk/precious/anthem1Are you really putting up the website of a guy chucked out of UKIP for being a Holocaust denier and claiming it as being a credible source of information.
The website of an organisation which includes the ex treasurer of the national front, a leading member of the BNP and the Britannica party.

You really need to check your sources before posting things.

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 07:29 PM
Are you really putting up the website of a guy chucked out of UKIP for being a Holocaust denier and claiming it as being a credible source of information.
The website of an organisation which includes the ex treasurer of the national front, a leading member of the BNP and the Britannica party.

You really need to check your sources before posting things.

Seen it linked today and thought it was just a blog peace. Guys obviously a prick but is the information wrong. Seems well researched and sourced bar his own imput like most Scots were against the jacobites

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 07:34 PM
Rebellious Scots about the jacobites and proud Edwards army shouldn't be in anthems. Both nations anthems are dirges. I've no skin in the game either way as nationalism gives me the boak whether it's British or Scottish. How can you like or dislike someone for an accident of birth. God guys and ********s in every nation. Meant to feel kinship with Gary mackay

12-09-2022, 07:39 PM

Perfectly stated.

But sadly too intelligent and sensible for the attention seeking idiots that will try to force their views on everyone else by disrupting it.

He's here!
12-09-2022, 08:35 PM
Rebellious Scots about the jacobites and proud Edwards army shouldn't be in anthems. Both nations anthems are dirges. I've no skin in the game either way as nationalism gives me the boak whether it's British or Scottish. How can you like or dislike someone for an accident of birth. God guys and ********s in every nation. Meant to feel kinship with Gary mackay

I quite agree that both God Save the King and Flower of Scotland are dirges.

When you hear them played at the Six Nations rugby matches v the likes of the rousing French and Welsh anthems they're painful to endure.

12-09-2022, 09:00 PM
So are we certain the game is on, or still awaiting Police clearance?

I don't see any reason for the game being off if the SPFL have authorised it.

The police resources up here will be eased up after tomorrow when the Queen's body is flown to London so I don't think that should be a concern.

12-09-2022, 09:26 PM
The idea of singing GSTQ/K at ER is a complete non-starter. Really- GTF with that nonsense idea. A minutes silence would not be inappropriate but I reckon if anything a minutes applause would work better.

LunasBoots
12-09-2022, 09:29 PM
The idea of singing GSTQ/K at ER is a complete non-starter. Really- GTF with that nonsense idea. A minutes silence would not be inappropriate but I reckon if anything a minutes applause would work better.

Have heard that they won't be playing it at ER

Stairway 2 7
12-09-2022, 09:34 PM

Minutes applause always better for anything contentious, also stops the grumbling when people come in singing who don't know the silence is on.

12-09-2022, 11:58 PM
Minutes applause always better for anything contentious, also stops the grumbling when people come in singing who don't know the silence is on.

Not sure would matter for Celtic at least, no doubt will be a lot of boos and songs.

Would feel there would also be a few from our end and maybe even Aberdeens fans also not observing the silence.

Anyway the only silence I want is from Goodwin when we get 3 points and maybe 3rd if results go right? Not tried to work it out yet.

13-09-2022, 12:14 AM
If that's the case then it's puzzling that lord goldsmith recommended that verse 6 of the national anthem, which included those lyrics, be re written as part of a review of British citizenship which had been ordered by Gordon Brown?

It’s not puzzling at all, Goldsmith was wrong, it never was an official part of the national anthem. A typical blundering politician making a backside of himself.
Actually none of the verses are official, what is sung is based purely on tradition.

13-09-2022, 12:59 AM
For me as a lifelong republican it's quite simple.

If there is a minutes silence I will stay in the concourse until it is finished, shouldn't be a problem for me because I'm usually still in the pie queue when the game kicks off anyway :greengrin

If it's to be a minutes applause I will not take part in it but will instead stay sat in my seat eating the aforementioned pie :greengrin

If they play GSTK I will seriously question whether or not the people running our club have lost their actual minds and then have a happy few minutes enjoying the carnage unfolding in both the home and away stands ...... Seriously though, anybody who thinks that would be a good idea at any Scottish football ground outside of Govan, never mind Easter Road, would totally need their head examined :faf:

Yorkshire HFC
13-09-2022, 04:34 AM
For me as a lifelong republican it's quite simple.

If there is a minutes silence I will stay in the concourse until it is finished, shouldn't be a problem for me because I'm usually still in the pie queue when the game kicks off anyway :greengrin

If it's to be a minutes applause I will not take part in it but will instead stay sat in my seat eating the aforementioned pie :greengrin

If they play GSTK I will seriously question whether or not the people running our club have lost their actual minds and then have a happy few minutes enjoying the carnage unfolding in both the home and away stands ...... Seriously though, anybody who thinks that would be a good idea at any Scottish football ground outside of Govan, never mind Easter Road, would totally need their head examined :faf:

In any society, there are minorities and people who live on the fringes - not contributing to the greater good and not benefitting from being part of the collective. That's life - it's just strange that so many of them seem to be football supporters - because I haven't spoken to anyone in real life who has the views of so many on this website.

13-09-2022, 05:35 AM
I don't see any reason for the game being off if the SPFL have authorised it.

The police resources up here will be eased up after tomorrow when the Queen's body is flown to London so I don't think that should be a concern.

My only concern is that (i) it’s a Cat A match, with the knock on resource implications and (ii) the last few days will result in a lot of rest days having accrued and requiring to be taken. We’ll see…