View Full Version : Joe Newell.

07-08-2022, 02:23 PM
1st half sheite, 2nd half much much better, just do it more Joe, you have the ability.:top marks

07-08-2022, 02:30 PM
He epitomised the strength of character that the team showed today. Well played, Joe. More of the same next week please.

Dead ball delivery was mostly woeful, endless daft fouls. Upgrade required.

Stood out from the mire occasionally last season but I don't see a Hibs team with a centre midfield with him as a regular starter achieving much tbh

cameronw-hfc
I'm a big fan of Newell but thought he was off it a bit in the first half. Much better second as you said, more drive, more forward passes and put himself about a bit better. Campbell in CM is a bigger worry for me. He never hides, puts himself about but you just have no faith in him on the ball.

Newell and JDH have at least shown they can be good players.

LewysGot2
07-08-2022, 02:32 PM
Was the one player in the middle brave enough to keep ball. Thought he was one of the better players today.

07-08-2022, 02:32 PM
Thought he was poor along with Henderson who looked like a wee boy lost. We got lucky today as they had numerous chances in the second half to finish us off. Still they have done this to us loads o times so giruy Robbie.

07-08-2022, 02:33 PM
2nd half he started showing for the ball which is why he improved. Obviously had to be told to do it at half time. 1st half he was hiding. And that happens far too often.

07-08-2022, 02:33 PM
Possibly controversial opinion here but Hibs won’t improve until we upgrade on him.

07-08-2022, 02:34 PM
He’s not for me until he can start to offer more of a goal threat.

07-08-2022, 02:34 PM
Was our best midfielder today.

supermcginn
07-08-2022, 02:35 PM
Never the answer but is a far superior player than Campbell. midfield is so poor

Only midfielder who attempted to create anything today. Always showing for the ball. Always looking forward to see what’s on.

He’ll never be for you then.

He cannae shoot. That’s not going to change.

cameronw-hfc
2nd half he started showing for the ball which is why he improved. Obviously had to be told to do it at half time. 1st half he was hiding. And that happens far too often.

I disagree on the hiding. He's got his flaws, but he rarely hides. Needs to be playing forward more, aye, more drive on the ball sometimes aye, but he's always stood out as one that seems to really care and not hide. Him and Campbell whilst I don't rate the latter, neither of them hide imo, sometimes they're just crap on the ball.

07-08-2022, 02:37 PM
Thought our midfield was missing again today including Joe. The midfield is a puzzle LJ needs to get to grips with im sure he knows that though and im guessing will require a bit of time and a couple of transfer windows. We are very much work in progress but im sure we'll improve. Im not sure Joe will figure too much in the improved version.

07-08-2022, 02:39 PM

Yes, I think so too but with that being the case, We need to replace him with someone that can shoot.

Kenneh won’t get many goals and he’s the defensive midfielder, the other players in the centre need to contribute more of a threat.

Greenio
Showed more composure on the ball than many others which was our main issue today

Folk mistake that for a lack of urgency but the vast majority of the time his touches and passes are positive ones

...agree he needs to bring more goal scoring to the team tho...sure he knows this himself

You must've hated our cup winning midfield.

07-08-2022, 02:41 PM
I despair. He's never going to be the answer

07-08-2022, 02:42 PM
I think today showed both good and bad of him, we've all seen how well he can play, but today he was poor then very good.

He just never produces it enough for me, maybe when we bring in another midfielder he can do it more often alongside someone better in there, if not we will just see more of the same.

Coach Jon
07-08-2022, 02:52 PM
Was our best midfielder today.

Thats a very low bar. Midfield was totally missing today. Need players who can move the ball quicker, its painfull to watch how slow we are at moving the ball forward.

Torto7
07-08-2022, 02:55 PM
Cabrera takes a great corner but he's not had a sniff yet. I thought Henderson and Newell weren't great with most of the set pieces today. I like Joe though. I always think he's one of our better players.

07-08-2022, 02:56 PM
You must've hated our cup winning midfield.

No as we had enough goals from elsewhere at the time. John McGinn would also pitch in with goals from time to time.

CL0762
07-08-2022, 02:57 PM
Possibly controversial opinion here but Hibs won’t improve until we upgrade on him.

I’m in the trench with you on this one.

07-08-2022, 03:03 PM

Where I am tbh.

I think he'll have plenty of games where he looks neat and tidy, will arguably be our best midfielder and have plenty of folk willing to defend him.. after games where the team has underperformed, the team has failed to gel and all sorts of departments have failed to be greater than the sum of the parts.

It doesn't obviously look like his fault and maybe isn't but I just feel that we'll find ourselves looking a better side without him.

07-08-2022, 03:10 PM
Newell, Campbell and JDH will never be good enough for Hibs.

Bang average footballers.

07-08-2022, 03:17 PM
If Joe played to his full potential week in week out, he would be playing in a level well above the SPL. Trouble is that on his off days, he comes across as just not being arsed to put a shift in. Nothing worse than that. What he needs is real pressure on his place.

GreenPJ
07-08-2022, 03:18 PM
Newell, Campbell and JDH will never be good enough for Hibs.

Bang average footballers.

I think Newell could be a very good footballer if there was consistency and if he wasn't trying to make up for others around him. No doubt we need someone to link midfield with the forward line but still think Newell will be part of the equation. JDH is also a good footballer but is too defensive when we already have Kenneth and Newell deep.

supermcginn
07-08-2022, 03:19 PM
If Joe played to his full potential week in week out, he would be playing in a level well above the SPL. Trouble is that on his off days, he comes across as just not being arsed to put a shift in. Nothing worse than that. What he needs is real pressure on his place.
No danger. He's a lucky guy to be at a club like ours.

07-08-2022, 03:20 PM
Funnily enough the general consensus on here is exactly what Rotherham fans said about him. Could be brilliant sometimes but other times look poor.

07-08-2022, 03:21 PM

Agree. Yes, he was better in the 2nf half, thanks to Neilson sitting in for the 0-1, but if he is to be the midfield general then I'm not sure I'll be enjoying much this season.

07-08-2022, 03:22 PM
Wikipedia says he’s scored 1 goal in 79 games for us?

Im sure he’s scored more than that, I remember the one against Dundee Utd, what other ones am I missing?

Just_Jimmy
07-08-2022, 03:23 PM
He's howling. I'm not arsed if he can be Zidane 1 game in 100, he's consistently poor.

He doesn't dominate games, he's not a goal threat, he's not even a genuine playmaker like Scottie was.

Move him on and get someone in who can do one of the three and we'll improve.

Having said that, Campbell and JDH are probably even worse.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

07-08-2022, 03:24 PM
Wikipedia says he’s scored 1 goal in 79 games for us?

Im sure he’s scored more than that, I remember the one against Dundee Utd, what other ones am I missing?

Was that not a cup game? He scored away to St Mirren but other than that I'm struggling to recall others.

Hibs4185
Hibs lose - Newell is the worst midfielder ever
Hibs draw - Newell had a great game.

He’s not up to scratch. On his 4th manager and we’ve had the same problems with every manager. He has one good game followed by 4 bad games.

We have a really good team and squad. Midfield is the problem. Bin Newell and get someone else in and we could be challenging for 3rd.

He's howling. I'm not arsed if he can be Zidane 1 game in 100, he's consistently poor.

He doesn't dominate games, he's not a goal threat, he's not even a genuine playmaker like Scottie was.

Move him on and get someone in who can do one of the three and we'll improve.

Having said that, Campbell and JDH are probably even worse.

You’re comparing Newell to Allan and they’re completely different players

07-08-2022, 03:25 PM
Every corner he took landed in Craig Gordons hands. Would bring in Dylan Tait for a few games to show what he can do.
B

07-08-2022, 03:28 PM
Was that not a cup game? He scored away to St Mirren but other than that I'm struggling to recall others.

Aye, but Wikipedia doesn’t split between league and cup games. Just says one goal in 79 games.

Even assuming it’s wrong and he’s got 4 or 5 goals it’s still an Absolutely hopeless record and we’ve every right to demand more from our centre midfielders. Would be different if he’s a defensive midfielder with no expectation of getting forward but he’s not, he’s got all the ability to drive forward and should do better.

07-08-2022, 03:32 PM
I like Newell but he never shows up for the big games, he just wasn’t good enough yet again today. His set pieces were awful.

07-08-2022, 03:35 PM
Just another average performance from Joe again but have definitely seen worse from him.

Did play one nice through ball to Cabraja second half but really needs to cut out the silly fouls.

Not a chance he's getting sold so we have to get used to another season.

07-08-2022, 03:36 PM
Every corner he took landed in Craig Gordons hands. Would bring in Dylan Tait for a few games to show what he can do.
B

His corners were embarrassingly bad.

loanheadhibby
07-08-2022, 03:44 PM
I like Newell but he never shows up for the big games, he just wasn’t good enough yet again today. His set pieces were awful.

How can you like Newell if he never turns up for the big games.
Are you judging him on games v Bonnyrigg Rose.

loanheadhibby
07-08-2022, 03:45 PM
A level well above the SPL.
You are kidding yourself on.
He offers nothing.

07-08-2022, 03:47 PM
How can you like Newell if he never turns up for the big games.
Are you judging him on games v Bonnyrigg Rose.

I like him cos I do think there’s a good player in him which is the frustrating thing when he doesn’t bring it to the big games.

Also I don’t have the hatred for him that many on here seem to.

07-08-2022, 03:47 PM
1st half he was pish, 2nd half just a wee bit better than pish, he show for the ball as much as he wants but until he starts doing something with the ball we still need better than him, for me he's still a showpony that decided to turn when he can be arsed, him and others in that midfield is the reason 2 managers got sacked, time to go.

Hibiza
07-08-2022, 03:54 PM
Joe Newell is simply not good enough , been proven, time and time again. Time for him to go and reinvent a progressive midfield.

07-08-2022, 03:54 PM
Nothing wrong with Newell today. Our midfield were fine until we switched to a 2.

07-08-2022, 03:57 PM
Nothing wrong with Newell today. Our midfield were fine until we switched to a 2.

Newell was better later in the game than he was when we had three in there, when he contributed nothing.

07-08-2022, 04:03 PM

Do you not think our midfield should offer some sort of goal threat?

Mutu
07-08-2022, 04:10 PM
He's our best midfielder.

swordin3
07-08-2022, 04:11 PM
1st half sheite, 2nd half much much better, just do it more Joe, you have the ability.:top marks

He has the ability but needs to push forward more take a chance get into the box .He frustrates a lot of the time with his back and side passes when a drop of the shoulder
would have him 10 yards further forward. He could do a great job but lacks the confidence.

07-08-2022, 04:12 PM

I’d have Kenneh and JDH ahead of him.

We need more from him

07-08-2022, 04:14 PM

He's really isn't. First half he was easily the poorest out of the three. Second half he had a decent wee spell where he shows what he's capable of. Unfortunately what he's capable of isn't anywhere near consistent enough.

07-08-2022, 04:27 PM
A level well above the SPL.
You are kidding yourself on.
He offers nothing.

When he's good he's really good. Just not really good enough times IMO. He gives the impression that he's not really worried about losing his place, and that's not a good signal for any player to send.

Wakeyhibee
07-08-2022, 04:29 PM
I think today showed both good and bad of him, we've all seen how well he can play, but today he was poor then very good.

He just never produces it enough for me, maybe when we bring in another midfielder he can do it more often alongside someone better in there, if not we will just see more of the same.

This, but how much is him or the team he was/is in? Overall things are improving so hope he can shine more f often.

07-08-2022, 04:32 PM
He definitely wasnt the problem today, even first half.
Kenneth looked like a different player to last week when you'd hope he'd dominate like a Bartley or Jack. Henderson, as someone else said, looked like a lost wee boy while Campbell did what he does.

07-08-2022, 04:34 PM
Newell was better later in the game than he was when we had three in there, when he contributed nothing.

We controlled the midfield when we had 3. The biggest problem. Was wasting Henderson out wide. The bringing Doidge out screwed us uo.

07-08-2022, 04:38 PM
We controlled the midfield when we had 3. The biggest problem. Was wasting Henderson out wide. The bringing Doidge out screwed us uo.

Screwed us? We were all over the shop at the start of the second half. Little happened after the sub but Hearts should have killed the game at the start of the second half before Neilson **** the bed with his defensive subs and let us back in.

Thought Doidge was crap, but we were less crap after he came on.

He’s 29, we’ve seen all we will ever see from him. Into his fourth season and we’re still talking about midfield being our biggest issue and a key player in Newell being anonymous for 45 minutes and better/good in the other 45.

Is that enough for us ever to be more than an inconsistent team that probably finishes closer to the bottom six than 3rd more often than not?

Build the midfield around either Kenneth or Henderson, and build it properly. Not just sign players that might be good players but with no obvious plan as to how they all fit together and compliment each other. We’re long since past the time to be ruthless. We got rid of Gogic in January and thought only signing a similar player in Kenneth was the answer to resolving our midfield issues we’ve had for 3 or 4 years now.

Do you not think our midfield should offer some sort of goal threat?

This. It isn't really working right now. We need another attacking mid this window. If not I don't think we'll see much more goals than last season.

supermcginn
07-08-2022, 04:44 PM

Doesn't say much for the rest of them 🤢

Just_Jimmy
07-08-2022, 04:52 PM
You’re comparing Newell to Allan and they’re completely different playersNo, I'm not, I'm stating he's none of those things.

07-08-2022, 04:54 PM
I thought he had a poor middle of the game, but it was his penetrative passing in the last 15 minutes that gave us the chances late on that got us the draw. Deserves credit.

07-08-2022, 04:56 PM
I've said before that I think that Newell, JDH and Campbell are good players, but we need a midfielder who's better than them if we are to be a team challenging at the top end of the league. There's virtually zero goal threat from them - yes, they'll score now and then, but I'd be want many more efforts on goal and assists from them.

As this thread is about Newell, he's a good midfielder but has far to many meh moments for me. For someone of his experience, I would be demanding more. Happy to see him alongside better midfielders, but we need better.

07-08-2022, 04:57 PM
I thought he had a poor middle of the game, but it was his penetrative passing in the last 15 minutes that gave us the chances late on that got us the draw. Deserves credit.

Yep I’ve been a long way from Joe’s biggest fan, but I thought he did quite well today. At least showed a bit of desire and urgency. Deserves his share of credit for the point salvaged.

07-08-2022, 04:59 PM
His pass to Cabraja was exceptional. Needs to do it more often but a very good player

07-08-2022, 05:13 PM
I noticed Joe more than hearts 'top signing, what a player, why arnt we signing folk like that' Jorge Grant

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Hibees1973
07-08-2022, 05:14 PM
Best midfielder we have at the club.

Others should be replaced before Newell.

ZitellZeTime
07-08-2022, 05:17 PM
Thought our midfield was missing again today including Joe. The midfield is a puzzle LJ needs to get to grips with im sure he knows that though and im guessing will require a bit of time and a couple of transfer windows. We are very much work in progress but im sure we'll improve. Im not sure Joe will figure too much in the improved version.

You thought Kenneh was missing? 2nd game in a professional football league and league first ever derby, guys used to playing under 23 football, he got stuck right into them and made some cracking tackles which stopped the play then got up from the challenge then pinged the ball out wide or forward most of the time. Not the finished article and his firs pro season training with first team players, only 19 and he's only going to improve.

Done a good job for a young lad chucked into his new teams game against their biggest rivals, last season he looked good with Jack Jenson beside him, he was box to box, he would win or hold the ball then play the ball for jack to run on to. Just needs the correct midfielder beside him and he will look even better. Newell looked ok in certain parts of the game but **** when he does go forward he stands looking confused around the box, mostly when he was on edge of the box when tons of hibs players were in the box waiting on a ball, he did go forward more second half and had a decent game like he does every now and again but he would be better as someone to come of the bench if we're aiming to finish high, Boyle seems to be a statement that we are.

Magennis could play that role beside him but I don't even know when he's back or how long before he gets injured again. but yeah cant see us tip 4 with him in the middle and signing another defender where we're going to be really short when injuries start stacking up.

Think Youan will just take a bit of time to settle, he's not afraid to get stuck in but think they will be working on his strength, Nisbet out and with Doidge not showing much i n the last 7-8 months a number 9 tyoe to bring off the bench or play alongside if we play 2 there.

CB and CM are the most important though if we get a box to box midfielder even on loan with these qualities for a season or defender would ,ale a big difference.

Never know some English league 1 side might fancy a pung on Doidge and we can replace him. LJ did say he was in talks about several players as well as Boyle, hopefully a cm and cb as we gonna be threadbare in cb in a few months with bookings etc.

But nah I reckon Kenneh already has looked good for us, at 19 is only going to get batter and if we do get someone who naturally wants to drive forward beside him think he will look even better and left isolated,

Few of his challenges in the first half stopped them when they were trying to counter, did what I think he was asked to do probably, let them know hes there early, break up play and get it forward or out to the wings. I like him, think the manager and staff do too. Definitely a lot of potential at only 19.

I had fears of anotherJosh Vela who was hyped as a good yioung prospect who will come on leaps and bounds up here but thankfiully not, he's 19, good and our best midfielder while Magennis is injured which is most of the time in my mind.

Can see us getting a decent fee for him in a couple of years, even Leeds rated him, he turned down a higher wage there to come play first team football there, just got to sit on the bench for 90 mins a few times last year which is fine at 18 in the EPL, good infact but think they signed another CM too and he wants to show what he can do and progress which he wont do as much with under 23 football.

07-08-2022, 05:20 PM
Loved his celebration as well. That's not someone who doesn't get it.

loanheadhibby
07-08-2022, 05:25 PM

That’s why we need an upgrade on Joe. We need a centre midfielder that can do all he can do but also score goals/create chances. And someone who influences the game in both halves of the game.

07-08-2022, 05:27 PM
That’s why we need an upgrade on Joe. We need a centre midfielder that can do all he can do but also score goals/create chances. And someone who influences the game in both halves of the game.

Anything else?

There are no players in Scotland who do that.

ZitellZeTime
07-08-2022, 06:03 PM
Aye, but Wikipedia doesn’t split between league and cup games. Just says one goal in 79 games.

Even assuming it’s wrong and he’s got 4 or 5 goals it’s still an Absolutely hopeless record and we’ve every right to demand more from our centre midfielders. Would be different if he’s a defensive midfielder with no expectation of getting forward but he’s not, he’s got all the ability to drive forward and should do better.

It does, scroll down past that part your loookig at then it shows you a players form for a club, which season, league games/goals cup, europe etc, think most differentiate from like FA cup and League cup too so think it will be same with scottish cup. I'd imagine it would as it does for other leagues, think they list the league cups as other and Scottish cup as "cup" or something if i remember correctly, was only 4 days ago but am gettin auld eh lol

07-08-2022, 06:05 PM
Anything else?

Like I said, I was quite happy with JN today..

But there are no midfielders in Scotland that are as good as him they can create/score chances and perform both halves??!!

Dear lord..

07-08-2022, 06:07 PM
Like I said, I was quite happy with JN today..

But there are no midfielders in Scotland that are as good as him they can create/score chances and perform both halves??!!

Dear lord..

No. There are no players in Scotland who do all the things you want him to do. The job of 3 players.

Keepthefaith
07-08-2022, 06:07 PM

I think you're describing magennis?? Would be huge to get him back 😁 I'm actually a fan of Joe's too, but can see that magennis would offer more

loanheadhibby
07-08-2022, 07:06 PM
Anything else?

Well scout them from out with Scotland?

loanheadhibby
07-08-2022, 07:09 PM
I think you're describing magennis?? Would be huge to get him back 😁 I'm actually a fan of Joe's too, but can see that magennis would offer more

I’ll take your word for that. Magennis needs chased out the door. Not much use to us sitting in stand.

07-08-2022, 07:12 PM

As ever with Macgennis there’s a lot of woulds and shoulds in there.
Mentally I’ve moved on from him, if he does get himself fit it’ll be like another new signing.

07-08-2022, 07:14 PM
I thought he was utter garbage 1st half. I called him a *****bag in a WhatsApp chat and stand by it.

2nd I thought he was much better. He was constantly showing for the ball, often the only one. So often we had to go long because no one was brave enough to come short, Newell was willing to do that and he got us moving a few times, particularly down the right.

The issue for me is he just isn't what we need as he doesn't excel at much. He's not got an amazing range of passing, he's not got a huge engine, he's not quick and he offers zero goal threat. Kenneh does the dirty work well. Joe's neat and tidy style would work ok if he had better in there with him but that isn't an excuse for him. He could do more to be that better, more energetic player.

We need a midfielder and they need to be an energetic sort that is ready to play. That's going to cost a lot of money at this stage though.

Well scout them from out with Scotland?

Thats true. Although you'd be talking millions for a player than does all those things well. Even McGinn didn't most of the time.

If Joe was consistent, he'd be one of the best in the league. Needs to find that again, like he did in 20/21

Paulie Walnuts

Wikipedia only lists league games unless you go into his career statistics section.

He’s scored 5 in 108 in total.

07-08-2022, 07:15 PM
No. There are no players in Scotland who do all the things you want him to do. The job of 3 players.

Callum McGregor has done not bad for himself for Celtic all though last season wasn't his best also David Turnbull ain't done to bad.

We won't be bringing these two players in but I think the guy just wants a few more goals and assists for Joe Newell which to be honest is not to much to ask for.

07-08-2022, 07:19 PM
Wish he would be more consistent but if anyone thinks he played poor today then they are blinkered

Best player today, especially 2nd half. Some folk need to give the guy a break

loanheadhibby
07-08-2022, 07:21 PM
Thats true. Although you'd be talking millions for a player than does all those things well. Even McGinn didn't most of the time.

If Joe was consistent, he'd be one of the best in the league. Needs to find that again, like he did in 20/21

That’s the key point tho. Newell is not consistent even during games, never mind over a period of games. He’s been here 4 years and never been consistent and likely never to be. We need better.

07-08-2022, 07:28 PM
My view is that Newell has all the physical attributes to be the player that we want him to be, but half the time wanders around in a daze doing the bare minimum.

If he could galvanise himself to be the best version of himself more regularly he would be fine, but he can't.

His set piece delivery is indicative of that, he punts multiple aimless corners straight into the goalie's gloves game after game, all exactly the same.

4 years down the line he isn't going to suddenly improve or find that consistency and we should stop thinking he might.

But..... at this stage he looks a far better bet than Henderson, who looks like a little lost boy, we must hope playing regularly lets him find his feet and get involved, if he doesn't get to grips with it soon, his next move will be a backwards one.

Campbell, like Henderson is still a young boy, but far better able to compete physically and does so well, I just wonder if he has sufficient quality on the ball?

JDH is a neat and tidy footballer but just isn't incisive enough.

Individually they all have their merits, but collectively they are a poor group for a midfield trying to create chances and impose themselves on a game

Paulie Walnuts
07-08-2022, 07:30 PM
Wish he would be more consistent but if anyone thinks he played poor today then they are blinkered

Best player today, especially 2nd half. Some folk need to give the guy a break

Alternatively I think the idea he was our best player today is miles off the mark.

Mcbizz1998
07-08-2022, 07:33 PM

Really??? I thought he was appalling second half.

MagicSwirlingShip
07-08-2022, 07:51 PM
Can’t even put a good performance together for 90 minutes never mind a few games. And he’s a very good player? Give over.

HIBS NUTS
07-08-2022, 07:58 PM
Really??? I thought he was appalling second half.

i actually think that’s a nonsense statement, he was our best player second half, and i’m not a great fan.

07-08-2022, 08:03 PM
i actually think that’s a nonsense statement, he was our best player second half, and i’m not a great fan.

Agreed. I haven’t been his biggest fan since Stirling away but he got on the ball second half and tried to make things happen.

07-08-2022, 08:18 PM
I’ve always been one to defend Newell but I’m losing patience. He’s really naive at times and the lack of composure around the box is disappointing.

3 derbies on the bounce now where he’s come off second best to Haring IMO, which shouldn’t be the case.

He’s definitely still the best we have for this role at the moment though, so hopefully he can adapt to the new system and improve.

Logie
07-08-2022, 08:21 PM
Decent enough first half thought he was our best player second, really drove the team on from the middle and was doing his best to make things happen! Always wanted the ball.

07-08-2022, 08:22 PM
Alternatively I think the idea he was our best player today is miles off the mark.

Best outfield player?

Cletus
07-08-2022, 08:27 PM
Upgrade required. A decent player at times but nothing more. Preferable to the totally out of his depth Campbell. I mean I’d love Campbell to do well and turn out great but I just can’t see it.

Crunchie
07-08-2022, 08:29 PM

Hiding is something you could never accuse the man of and just goes to show you know absolutely nothing about football.

07-08-2022, 08:30 PM
How many times are we going to see threads like this, where he's been invisible, then puts in a good shift?

Looking forward, i agree with some of the other posts, we need better.

Crunchie
07-08-2022, 08:35 PM
How many times are we going to see threads like this, where he's been invisible, then puts in a good shift?

As many times as you start them I suppose, what a weird question to ask yourself.

07-08-2022, 08:46 PM
I dont think he is as bad as a lot of folk make out. Defo have him in the team ahead of JC and JDH and has shown more than Henderson has.

ZitellZeTime
07-08-2022, 11:39 PM
I dont think he is as bad as a lot of folk make out. Defo have him in the team ahead of JC and JDH and has shown more than Henderson has.

To be fair, Henderson is a young laddie at 22, totally different player to Newell. He wasn't good today. But has bulkled up a wee bit over the summer, think he has only played like 20 professional games before we got him on loan in January and the few goals we did score he was involved in them.

He definitely isn't the finished article but over a season he will have more good games than Newell, was posted missing today but Newell does that mostly 3 out of 4 games then gives us a glimmer of hope, he is also one of our veteran players who the young lads should look up to.

Henderson definitely has the technical ability has an eye for a ball but like most young inexperienced players they will be inconsistent, happens with the majority of them with as little game time as he has had in his young career, the good thing is he maybe doesn't always score but he does get involved in the set up of a goal and also plays some lovely weighted balls.

Also with him being 22 we do have time to train him and develop him to this stuff regularly, but he certainly already impresses in more games than Newell does who is a veteran of this squad with tons of experience before even joining us and has never improved, think hendersons scored the same in all competitions or 1 off than newell in about 20 games and Newell is well over 100, he has also provided more goalscoring chances and been involved in the movements.

But aye today he was *****. I think Mcgeady could be good for him to learn from, infact now Boyle is back thats probably an even better shout. He was nowhere near the finished article, older and more experienced. I don't think he will exceed how good players Boyle is, I'm shocked we got him back but I think by the end of his career he will be remembered fondly by fans of clubs he plays for either with us and or after us than Newell, Campbell or JDH will. I had high hopes for JDH too, something is just different about him, he's still a decent age and aslong as not played as a 3 maybe LJ can get something out of him but not as a starter.

We've got Kenneh in there who can break up play then get it forward, he will look an even better player if we get someone beside him who can drive forward like Newell does occasionally like the second half today but usually once a month, but one who actually can score even 4-6 goals a season and get a few assists etc instead of driving forward and then not doing much after that 90% of the time.

A Magennis type would be perfect and when Magennis comes back if he's better than the player then we have a like for like replacement, even if its a loan.

But yeah Joe was decent today cant take that away from him, not brilliant but good, especially second half, bar the corners and when he *****s himself at the edge of the box insted of crossing it in, waiting on henderson and by that point all the hearts defenders were back. No idea what he was thinking there, maybe nerves,confidence I've no idea but from our senior central midfielder we need someone better if we are looking to get close to top 4.

WestStandWillie
08-08-2022, 12:55 AM

This is where i’m at.

How many more corners are gonna be wasted? He’s absolutely dreadful at them. Gordon must have been rubbing his hands. Bread and butter stuff.

The midfield is lacking and is slowing the game down too much. It’s been happening under JR, SM and now LJ. Need better quality.

08-08-2022, 06:52 AM
This is where i’m at.

How many more corners are gonna be wasted? He’s absolutely dreadful at them. Gordon must have been rubbing his hands. Bread and butter stuff.

The midfield is lacking and is slowing the game down too much. It’s been happening under JR, SM and now LJ. Need better quality.

Fully agree, so saves me from writing it. His corners yesterday were poor. There's nothing worse than the momentum being stopped by floating a ball into Gordon's reach.

This thread is a typical example of Hibs.net trading opinions. I think the majority on here agree that Newell is a good footballer and can appreciate that he does some things well, sometimes very well. But I think that there is also a majority that accept we need better more consistent players in midfield - who wouldn't - especially those who are goal threats either in scoring goals or creating goals. In terms of creativity, we need better.

08-08-2022, 07:25 AM
Hearts have a fast, competitive midfield. To expect Newell to be top dog in there is unrealistic. However he is our strongest midfield tackler and pushes forward more than Campbell, Henderson and Doyle-Hayes. He absolutely should be better at corners though.

To all the posters claiming that we should sign someone better, no-one to date has identified where we are going to find that mythical player. Particularly to come to a club who could only manage bottom six last season. With better players behind and in front of Newell, I think he’s the most likely to be an ever present this season.

Fans can bump their gums all they want but the last four managers have all shown faith in Joe Newell

08-08-2022, 07:46 AM
Hearts have a fast, competitive midfield. To expect Newell to be top dog in there is unrealistic. However he is our strongest midfield tackler and pushes forward more than Campbell, Henderson and Doyle-Hayes. He absolutely should be better at corners though.

To all the posters claiming that we should sign someone better, no-one to date has identified where we are going to find that mythical player. Particularly to come to a club who could only manage bottom six last season. With better players behind and in front of Newell, I think he’s the most likely to be an ever present this season.

Fans can bump their gums all they want but the last four managers have all shown faith in Joe Newell

Newell isn’t irreplaceable or someone we’re ever going to have to worry about a bigger club coming in for him. Over recent years in our league the likes of McGinn, Kamara, Alan Campbell, Docherty, Lewis Ferguson were all attainable if we moved early enough. We’re now spending on another level and scouting far and wide. So I think it’s wrong to say a player to replace or upgrade Newell is mythical.

08-08-2022, 07:46 AM
I thought he was utter garbage 1st half. I called him a *****bag in a WhatsApp chat and stand by it.

2nd I thought he was much better. He was constantly showing for the ball, often the only one. So often we had to go long because no one was brave enough to come short, Newell was willing to do that and he got us moving a few times, particularly down the right.

The issue for me is he just isn't what we need as he doesn't excel at much. He's not got an amazing range of passing, he's not got a huge engine, he's not quick and he offers zero goal threat. Kenneh does the dirty work well. Joe's neat and tidy style would work ok if he had better in there with him but that isn't an excuse for him. He could do more to be that better, more energetic player.

We need a midfielder and they need to be an energetic sort that is ready to play. That's going to cost a lot of money at this stage though.

Pretty fair summary IMO.

Problem with Newell, IMO, is that he plays such an important position and so much of our play goes through him. Despite that he’s really average in most aspects of the game. He’s capable, but being capable and actually doing it are two different things

We’ve done really well to come away with four points in the first couple of games but it’ll be a struggle if we don’t get another midfielder in.

08-08-2022, 07:51 AM

How did those last four managers fair?

08-08-2022, 08:49 AM

It's not the fans' job to recruit players

08-08-2022, 08:51 AM
Newell was ok in flashes but overall he underwhelms. Henderson similar IMO, just doesn’t get involved enough.

Midfield is weak overall. Probably why we kept bypassing it most of the game

JammyDoidger
08-08-2022, 09:00 AM
He's a steady Eddie player, works hard, but we need to see him bursting forward more and chipping in with the odd goal, zero goal threat from midfield, although Henderson on the left takes a bit of threat away from the middle of the pitch.

08-08-2022, 09:03 AM
Taps Newell sometimes hot sometimes cold

08-08-2022, 09:36 AM

He was up against Haring and Jorge Grant. Neither of them are fast. They just did the basics better and Newell was suckered into silly fouls.

When Newell did find space at edge of the box, he panicked and gave it away a few times. Needs to do much better.

Still think Cadden could move forward to one of these roles and stick Miller in at RB.

08-08-2022, 09:50 AM
I agree that Newell doesn't bring it often enough, but he's a long way from being the worst player at this club and yesterday he was probably our best player in the second half. The absolute battering he got in the matchday thread was way over the top. Perhaps it's because we all know he has the talent to be a far better player than he shows a lot of the time that he gets a harder time than practically any player at the club from us.

I think we can all agree he can't shoot to save his life ... but then neither could Dylan McGeouch :greengrin

08-08-2022, 03:55 PM
Thought Newell had a great game overall myself - he was pushing hard and he put in some terrific balls. IMO the problem with the corners is not always his delivery, but the fact our "forward line" is posted missing where it is needed. His job is to put the ball in the box, their job is to get on to it, they fail to do so so often. He has his bad moments though and he shouldn't commit needless fouls so late in the game, but I thought he was one of the guys on our team who really did not want to lose on Sunday.

08-08-2022, 05:34 PM
I agree that Newell doesn't bring it often enough, but he's a long way from being the worst player at this club and yesterday he was probably our best player in the second half. The absolute battering he got in the matchday thread was way over the top. Perhaps it's because we all know he has the talent to be a far better player than he shows a lot of the time that he gets a harder time than practically any player at the club from us.

I think we can all agree he can't shoot to save his life ... but then neither could Dylan McGeouch :greengrin

Was good to see DM at the game yesterday too - certainly cheesing when he left the ground with his wee one :aok:

08-08-2022, 05:35 PM
Taps Newell sometimes hot sometimes cold

I like it.

08-08-2022, 05:37 PM
Thought Newell had a great game overall myself - he was pushing hard and he put in some terrific balls. IMO the problem with the corners is not always his delivery, but the fact our "forward line" is posted missing where it is needed. His job is to put the ball in the box, their job is to get on to it, they fail to do so so often. He has his bad moments though and he shouldn't commit needless fouls so late in the game, but I thought he was one of the guys on our team who really did not want to lose on Sunday.

I agree in that I thought he was decent yesterday. I did however think he was to blame for the very poor set pieces.

loanheadhibby
08-08-2022, 09:25 PM
A great game ? Deary me you are easily pleased.

08-08-2022, 09:28 PM
A great game ? Deary me you are easily pleased.I'd rather be easily pleased than never pleased

[emoji1787]

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

08-08-2022, 09:41 PM

Seem to remember you called him a show pony one week and praised him the next 🤔

MagicSwirlingShip
08-08-2022, 09:43 PM

Such are the consistency of his performances

john rossi
08-08-2022, 10:11 PM
If you think Newel was poor on Sunday what about Henderson never good enough for Hibs, hides most of the time has no physicality imposter of a player body language says it all little boy lost.

BS44
08-08-2022, 10:15 PM
If you think Newel was poor on Sunday what about Henderson never good enough for Hibs, hides most of the time has no physicality imposter of a player body language says it all little boy lost.

How can you possibly tell all this about a young guy at the very start of his football career?

08-08-2022, 10:23 PM

Henderson didn’t have a good game yesterday but he was one of our best players towards the end of last season and through the summer games.

He deserves to be cut a bit of slack for a poor performance and he’ll know himself that he needs to do better.

cameronw-hfc
08-08-2022, 10:26 PM

Wish folk would stop claiming players hide. Aye, some over the years have, and whilst there's a lot of problems with this Hibs squad, hiding isn't one. JDH, Newell, Campbell and Hendo have all had the hiding chat, it's an easy out for most looking to slate someone despite being a shoddy thing to say about a player.

Wouldn't bother me if they did, but I don't think any do. Some aren't good enough, some are developing, but im yet to see any of these players specifically hide in a match, and over the years we've had a few that do.

I think it's pretty evident whether they're good enough or not, unlike some of our most gash team's, these lads do seem to actually care.

09-08-2022, 04:05 AM

Easy to spot those who only watch derbies.

09-08-2022, 07:58 AM
Henderson didn’t have a good game yesterday but he was one of our best players towards the end of last season and through the summer games.

He deserves to be cut a bit of slack for a poor performance and he’ll know himself that he needs to do better.

:agree:Good post.

09-08-2022, 07:59 AM
He's more often a show pony than good, would you rather i kept saying that even when he does play well and not recognise when he is good?:confused:

Gloucester Hibs
09-08-2022, 08:02 AM

100% this. However Hendo needs to work on his upper body strength as he was brushed aside by Hearts players on several occasions, either that or get his game to a level where he is able to avoid these physical duels.

09-08-2022, 08:03 AM
He's more often a show pony than good, would you rather i kept saying that even when he does play well and not recognise when he is good?:confused:

What is a 'show pony' anyway? He should be the good pony you get out for shows, while your rubbish pony stays in the field lonely eating thistles. Kind of a weird expression.
Zemmama is an archetypal show pony.

Crunchie
09-08-2022, 08:19 AM
Nah, just stop making threads up about the man with your all over the place opinion.

09-08-2022, 08:23 AM

LJ stuck him out on the wing. He's never a winger in a million years. He's a 10. Newell is an 8. Kenneh is a 6.

09-08-2022, 08:55 AM
Typical hibs.net - riding on a high but can't get through a day without ripping into one of our players!

Similar to our managers, it seems some will never be happy with our midfielders until they are all singing all dancing, tackling, shooting, killer-passing wunder-boys. For me the trick is getting the balance right in the middle and Newell looks better when we get that balance right.

He did well in the Derby- give him a break FFS!

09-08-2022, 08:58 AM
LJ stuck him out on the wing. He's never a winger in a million years. He's a 10. Newell is an 8. Kenneh is a 6.

Agreed - thought Henderson was wasted out wide on Sunday. I posted about midfield balance above and right now I reckon that 6, 8, 10 combo is likely to be the most productive.

09-08-2022, 09:13 AM
Agreed - thought Henderson was wasted out wide on Sunday. I posted about midfield balance above and right now I reckon that 6, 8, 10 combo is likely to be the most productive.

A fair few on here seem to expect our midfielders to be complete players with the ability to play anywhere in midfield and still score goals. Those types of player are few and far between in football as a whole. Whoever ends up being number 10 needs to chip in with goals, but i dont expect that much from an 8 (bar assists), and a 6 (one goal a season if we are lucky). We need 2 players for each of these positions, and we aren't far from having that now. If Kyle ever comes back into the team we will have a 10 that we know can score goals. JDH and Newell can play the 8. Kenneh and JDH ( at a push) can play the 6. I also think McGeady will be much better at 10 than out wide.

09-08-2022, 09:21 AM
A fair few on here seem to expect our midfielders to be complete players with the ability to play anywhere in midfield and still score goals. Those types of player are few and far between in football as a whole. Whoever ends up being number 10 needs to chip in with goals, but i dont expect that much from an 8 (bar assists), and a 6 (one goal a season if we are lucky). We need 2 players for each of these positions, and we aren't far from having that now. If Kyle ever comes back into the team we will have a 10 that we know can score goals. JDH and Newell can play the 8. Kenneh and JDH ( at a push) can play the 6. I also think McGeady will be much better at 10 than out wide.

I'd agree with all of this.

My only issue is how much we're likely to see of Magennis or McGeady, both of whom I'd expect to be injured a fair bit.

I'd also say that sometimes when we struggle it can be because Newell drifts back towards being a second 6, leaving us without the 8 and the whole team suffers as a result. He seemed to correct that himself on Sunday, he needs to notice when that's happening and when it's a problem for us and get himself looking forward a bit more, with a bit more urgency.

09-08-2022, 10:10 AM
I'd agree with all of this.

My only issue is how much we're likely to see of Magennis or McGeady, both of whom I'd expect to be injured a fair bit.

I'd also say that sometimes when we struggle it can be because Newell drifts back towards being a second 6, leaving us without the 8 and the whole team suffers as a result. He seemed to correct that himself on Sunday, he needs to notice when that's happening and when it's a problem for us and get himself looking forward a bit more, with a bit more urgency.

Honestly think that was a tactical thing with both Ross and Maloney. They both liked to have two deep centre mids who would play safety first passes in order for us to retain the ball. Which lead to having Newell and Gogic then Newell and JDH never making runs into the opposition box, or attempting a risky forward pass if there was any chance of it being intercepted.

Every game I've seen of Newell under Johnson (even the ones he's been poor), he's been much more forward thinking with both attacking runs and passes into the final third imo.

09-08-2022, 10:31 AM
Honestly think that was a tactical thing with both Ross and Maloney. They both liked to have two deep centre mids who would play safety first passes in order for us to retain the ball. Which lead to having Newell and Gogic then Newell and JDH never making runs into the opposition box, or attempting a risky forward pass if there was any chance of it being intercepted.

Every game I've seen of Newell under Johnson (even the ones he's been poor), he's been much more forward thinking with both attacking runs and passes into the final third imo.

Newell had drifted back towards being the Newell of old during the first half on Sunday, after a promising start.

He then had a nightmare spell where he seemed to accept that he hadn't been involved enough and seemed hell bent on getting involved, and nothing much was going right for him.

After that he settled into a pretty decent individual performance, even though there were a fair few poor ones going on round about him.

He does deserve credit for Sunday. The easiest thing would have been for him to disappear altogether and get hooked after about an hour with us 2 or 3 down. It's mainly down to whoever kicked his arse (might even have been himself) that that didn't happen.

09-08-2022, 11:22 AM
show pony
nounINFORMAL•BRITISH
a stylish or flamboyant person, especially a performer, who enjoys being in the limelight.

09-08-2022, 11:30 AM
show pony
nounINFORMAL•BRITISH
a stylish or flamboyant person, especially a performer, who enjoys being in the limelight.

So thats a good thing then? Certainly that definition isnt pejorative.
Lets all be show ponies.

09-08-2022, 11:40 AM
show pony
nounINFORMAL•BRITISH
a stylish or flamboyant person, especially a performer, who enjoys being in the limelight.He's got the talent but should be hungry enough to put himself at the centre of things. I don't see that appetite.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

09-08-2022, 12:05 PM
He's got the talent but should be hungry enough to put himself at the centre of things. I don't see that appetite.

Out of all the critiques of Newell, I think this is the furthest from the truth . He is as committed a player as we have . He cares about his football and never goes missing, even when he’s having a bad game - always makes himself available for the ball . I accept He’s got a bit of the Mikey Stewart about him , in the sense he can have days where it’s going for him and others it’s not . But don’t agree at all that he needs to have an increased appetite to perform .

Crunchie
09-08-2022, 01:18 PM
Out of all the critiques of Newell, I think this is the furthest from the truth . He is as committed a player as we have . He cares about his football and never goes missing, even when he’s having a bad game - always makes himself available for the ball . I accept He’s got a bit of the Mikey Stewart about him , in the sense he can have days where it’s going for him and others it’s not . But don’t agree at all that he needs to have an increased appetite to perform .
Spot on, anyone that says he hides has either never watched him play or knows nothing about the game.

09-08-2022, 01:40 PM
So thats a good thing then? Certainly that definition isnt pejorative.
Lets all be show ponies.

Well yes and no, he has the talent and he knows this but doesn't show it nearly enough and therefore disappears in games instead of stamping his authority on them. He shows exactly what he can do in patches but we want to see more than just patches, he's a very frustrating player to watch most of the time.

09-08-2022, 01:49 PM
Thought he played well on Sunday.

He just seems to be the easy target for a lot of people right now.

09-08-2022, 02:22 PM
Out of all the critiques of Newell, I think this is the furthest from the truth . He is as committed a player as we have . He cares about his football and never goes missing, even when he’s having a bad game - always makes himself available for the ball . I accept He’s got a bit of the Mikey Stewart about him , in the sense he can have days where it’s going for him and others it’s not . But don’t agree at all that he needs to have an increased appetite to perform .Am not saying he hides. Its about his skills and abilities, which he undoubtedly has, compared to how many times he actually displays them. A player like him playing in the front of the attackers should be demanding the ball and keen to damage the opposition as much as possible. Saw it with Edwards, Zemmama, Latapy, Scotty - I just don't see that kind of appetite coming from him. Opinions eh.

09-08-2022, 02:28 PM
Am not saying he hides. Its about his skills and abilities, which he undoubtedly has, compared to how many times he actually displays them. A player like him playing in the front of the attackers should be demanding the ball and keen to damage the opposition as much as possible. Saw it with Edwards, Zemmama, Latapy, Scotty - I just don't see that kind of appetite coming from him. Opinions eh.

He does demand the ball - regularly ..even when not playing well …There is maybe an argument about driving consistency, or perhaps developing his mental strength - you suggest it is “appetite “. That’s what I disagree with .

09-08-2022, 02:36 PM
He does demand the ball - regularly ..even when not playing well …There is maybe an argument about driving consistency, or perhaps developing his mental strength - you suggest it is “appetite “. That’s what I disagree with .Fair enough.

GreenGray
09-08-2022, 02:45 PM
Thought he played well on Sunday.

He just seems to be the easy target for a lot of people right now.

Exactly, he’s ahead of JDH by some distance. Newell played well second half, tried to make things happen and played some nice forward passes.

09-08-2022, 03:36 PM
Exactly, he’s ahead of JDH by some distance. Newell played well second half, tried to make things happen and played some nice forward passes.

Sunday was the first time for ages that I studied Joe’s performance and I agree that under Johnston we are now seeing a hungrier player who goes looking for the ball at every opportunity whether in attack or by pressing the opposition player carrying the ball.

The thing that I’d previously overlooked was how tightly he is marked. Hearts has clearly identified Joe as a playmaker with the result that he was afforded very little time to run with the ball.

Hibiza
09-08-2022, 03:43 PM
Think Joe should move on , free up a wage and a much needed place.

09-08-2022, 03:56 PM
Sunday was the first time for ages that I studied Joe’s performance and I agree that under Johnston we are now seeing a hungrier player who goes looking for the ball at every opportunity whether in attack or by pressing the opposition player carrying the ball.

The thing that I’d previously overlooked was how tightly he is marked. Hearts has clearly identified Joe as a playmaker with the result that he was afforded very little time to run with the ball.

It's incredible how many times it's overlooked that there are 11 other players on the park trying to disrupt our play.

Hibiza
09-08-2022, 04:56 PM
It's incredible how many times it's overlooked that there are 11 other players on the park trying to disrupt our play.

C'mon ,eh , yes of course . Joe can't handle it . Same disruption for everyone.

cameronw-hfc
09-08-2022, 06:21 PM

That's not true at all. Some players have way more time on the ball, ie, Gogic when he was here. You wouldn't mark him, you'd leave him free, he's the guy you want the opposition to have on the ball as he's useless on it, guys like Newell are the ones that get marked out the game

I'm not saying it's the reason for any poor games he's had, but to say all players have the same disruption is just blatantly wrong, as teams will set up to specifically disrupt certain players, usually the better ones.

09-08-2022, 06:26 PM

That's just a load of *****. He is one of the players who can absolutely handle being pressed.

10-08-2022, 09:50 AM
There's a reason that since Newell got moved into the middle of the park that he's been an almost automatic starter under 3 different managers.

He's not above criticism by any means but some of the stuff that regularly gets trotted out about him is just embarrassing to read. The guy can't do it all on his own but if we lose the knives are out when there are generally always far bigger culprits. I appreciate people can have differing opinions on a players ability but he simply is not the player that his regular critics say he is. At this level he is well above average and his performances range from decent to very good. Talk of him not having appetite, hiding etc are absolute nonsense.

10-08-2022, 11:22 AM
There's a reason that since Newell got moved into the middle of the park that he's been an almost automatic starter under 3 different managers.

He's not above criticism by any means but some of the stuff that regularly gets trotted out about him is just embarrassing to read. The guy can't do it all on his own but if we lose the knives are out when there are generally always far bigger culprits. I appreciate people can have differing opinions on a players ability but he simply is not the player that his regular critics say he is. At this level he is well above average and his performances range from decent to very good. Talk of him not having appetite, hiding etc are absolute nonsense.

Always there to pick up the ball and take under pressure. Rarely miss passes. Much more forward thinking this season. Hard in the tackle and fights to win pocession. Sometimes needlessly fouls. A solid 7.5 out of 10 every game.

10-08-2022, 11:56 AM
Always there to pick up the ball and take under pressure. Rarely miss passes. Much more forward thinking this season. Hard in the tackle and fights to win pocession. Sometimes needlessly fouls. A solid 7.5 out of 10 every game.

Sounds like a player we will struggle to keep hold of!

I agree with elements of your description but a little bit of rose tinted glasses in the description IMO.

10-08-2022, 12:14 PM
Sounds like a player we will struggle to keep hold of!

I agree with elements of your description but a little bit of rose tinted glasses in the description IMO.

Indeed. He is neither fantastic nor awful every week.

10-08-2022, 05:32 PM

Or mostly average 6 with the odd 7-8 thrown in.

Hibiza
11-08-2022, 02:49 PM
Indeed. He is neither fantastic nor awful every week.

It's not good enough , completely uninspirational, quite boring to be honest.

Hibiza
11-08-2022, 02:52 PM
And , yes , I'm boring too.

HIBS NUTS
11-08-2022, 03:44 PM
Fantastic that Joe turned up to watch the development squad last night, he was low profile, just stood behind the goals, good to see. 👍🏻

loanheadhibby
11-08-2022, 03:51 PM
Fantastic that Joe turned up to watch the development squad last night, he was low profile, just stood behind the goals, good to see. 👍🏻
Fantastic? Really.
Nice that he turned up to watch the kids but I'd prefer he turned up at Livvi on Sunday.
The reason I regularly have a pop at Joe is that unlike some of the others he does have some ability.

loanheadhibby
11-08-2022, 03:53 PM

From the start of his H8bs career until now he has been average.
No better no worse.

11-08-2022, 04:14 PM
Fantastic? Really.
Nice that he turned up to watch the kids but I'd prefer he turned up at Livvi on Sunday.
The reason I regularly have a pop at Joe is that unlike some of the others he does have some ability.

I’d prefer him turning up on Saturday tbf

11-08-2022, 04:41 PM
No better no worse.

Just a dumb thing to say really. He started absolutely awful so that was certainly worse.

Since then he's been mostly good, sometimes excellent, certainly no more poor games than anyone else, but some had never got over his start, and him being an English lower league signing.

11-08-2022, 04:43 PM
Just a dumb thing to say really. He started absolutely awful so that was certainly worse.

Since then he's been mostly good, sometimes excellent, certainly no more poor games than anyone else, but some had never got over his start, and him being an English lower league signing.

Thing is he signed from Rotherham after playing for them in the a championship..wasn’t even a lower league player ….

cameronw-hfc
11-08-2022, 05:05 PM

I've said here before it's pretty blatant a certain section of our support just took a dislike to joe, and it's blatantly obvious. I'll come away from a loss thinking certain players struggled, but every, single, time I come home there's a thread about Joe, the match thread is filled with abuse and any other game related threads somehow turn into a Joe Newell is crap fest.

Its a shame as he's really taken to the club, seems to care a lot and give his all, just to be disliked for no reason by a section of our support.

11-08-2022, 05:12 PM
I've said here before it's pretty blatant a certain section of our support just took a dislike to joe, and it's blatantly obvious. I'll come away from a loss thinking certain players struggled, but every, single, time I come home there's a thread about Joe, the match thread is filled with abuse and any other game related threads somehow turn into a Joe Newell is crap fest.

Its a shame as he's really taken to the club, seems to care a lot and give his all, just to be disliked for no reason by a section of our support.

It’s just that folk (and not some tiny minority) hold the opposite opinion to you on his abilities.

It’s nothing to do with disliking the guy, some folk just don’t think he’s anywhere near as good as others do as a player.

11-08-2022, 05:12 PM

Yep. It's really sad. This place was extremely toxic at that time and in his and Doidges case it's never moved on.

MagicSwirlingShip
11-08-2022, 05:15 PM
Poor Joe. He’s just not been given a fair shake of things to win all Hibs fans over (as he approaches 100 games)

11-08-2022, 05:16 PM

It’s a good summary this ..reactions seem to target a few regularly and Joe is always high on the hit list . Still one of our best players imho…

11-08-2022, 05:31 PM
Poor Joe. He’s just not been given a fair shake of things to win all Hibs fans over (as he approaches 100 games)

Folk would have you believe only 10 of those were good :faf: Thats the kind of utter pish hes up against

11-08-2022, 05:31 PM
I’m a massive Joe Newell fan, think he gets far too much stick.

I could say the same about Hanlon.

Both easy picks for any Hibs manager when they’re fit enough.

JammyDoidger
11-08-2022, 05:38 PM
I think personally the problem with Newell is that everyone knows he's a good player, but doesn't really stand out enough in an attacking sense, it seems the dirty side of the game is now what he does more, when he was at Rotherham he was more of a goal threat and a flair player, I like Newell the issue is the midfield as a whole, if we could add a bit flair in beside him he would be fine imo, although I'd like to see him contribute more in an attacking sense goals and assists as he's certainly capable of bursting on and contributing in that regard.

cameronw-hfc
11-08-2022, 05:44 PM
It’s just that folk (and not some tiny minority) hold the opposite opinion to you on his abilities.

It’s nothing to do with disliking the guy, some folk just don’t think he’s anywhere near as good as others do as a player.

I'm fine with those who think he's got things to improve on, im talking about a section of our fans who seem to think everything and anything on the park is Joe's fault. There's those that rate him, those that don't and those that push it way too far with the abuse/criticism because it's an obvious dislike to him

hhibs
11-08-2022, 05:45 PM
Yep. It's really sad. This place was extremely toxic at that time and in his and Doidges case it's never moved on.

Sorry ,we are not allowed to say we do not think he plays well enough or is a good fit for Hibs because you and others think it is something personal..................total nonsense !

11-08-2022, 05:48 PM
No better no worse.

Maybe hibs nets most negative poster?

Newell is a cracking player and will thrive with better players around him.

11-08-2022, 05:53 PM
I'm fine with those who think he's got things to improve on, im talking about a section of our fans who seem to think everything and anything on the park is Joe's fault. There's those that rate him, those that don't and those that push it way too far with the abuse/criticism because it's an obvious dislike to him

It’s not a dislike of Newell, it’s a dislike of his performances. Include myself in that, I find him so frustrating to watch. Anyone can see he is capable, but the problem with him is that I think we spend a lot of time talking about how he is capable of more without seeing him actually do it.

Don’t think anyone really thinks everything is his fault either. But he’s such a constant and key part of the team that he’s going to attract more comment IMO.

cameronw-hfc
11-08-2022, 05:56 PM
Sorry ,we are not allowed to say we do not think he plays well enough or is a good fit for Hibs because you and others think it is something personal..................total nonsense !

You're missing the obvious point. Nobody has an issue with critiquing him, it's the 25 "waste of a jersey", " heart of a mouse", "wage thief" comments that inevitably come Joes way whenever the team doesn't perform that is getting a bit boring.

If we don't win, I fully expect to come on here and see a thread about Newell, tens of posts in different threads targeting him.

There's fans that don't rate him, sound, there's ones that do, but there's also a section of our support that use Joe as a scapegoat when they need a wee moan.

11-08-2022, 06:00 PM

It’s hermit crab without the dry humour 😂

Sorry HC if you read this 😜

Hibiza
11-08-2022, 06:33 PM
You're missing the obvious point. Nobody has an issue with critiquing him, it's the 25 "waste of a jersey", " heart of a mouse", "wage thief" comments that inevitably come Joes way whenever the team doesn't perform that is getting a bit borin
If we don't win, I fully expect to come on here and see a thread about Newell, tens of posts in different threads targeting him.

There's fans that don't rate him, sound, there's ones that do, but there's also a section of our support that use Joe as a scapegoat when they need a wee moan.

Never seen any comments like that, if they are their very poor , as much as I don't rate him as a player.

hhibs
11-08-2022, 06:59 PM
Never seen any comments like that, if they are their very poor , as much as I don't rate him as a player.

His cheerleaders are,in my opinion,blinded and try and reinforce by claiming there is an agenda against him.

I like you do not see this overwhelming personal stuff being referenced on Newell,some, but not this deluge that some are claiming.

cameronw-hfc
11-08-2022, 07:21 PM
His cheerleaders are,in my opinion,blinded and try and reinforce by claiming there is an agenda against him.

I like you do not see this overwhelming personal stuff being referenced on Newell,some, but not this deluge that some are claiming.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?358358-Doidge-and-Newell/page2

This thread is pretty awful, usual kinda comments.

And that's one of about 6 Newell threads in recent times. There was the one about him on his own during pre-season, the one with Campbell, this one and that's just off the top of my head.

There's a huge difference between thinking we need better and never shutting up about having a go at the one player, which many on here seem to enjoy.

It's a common theme with our fans, think Rocky, Craig, Hanlon, Stevenson, Hogg, Nish, all players I can imagine getting some pretty horrible treatment from our fans despite being the least of our issues at the time. Our fans need a scapegoat, they always have and always will, just so happens because he started terribly, Newell was a very easy target for it.

To claim you've never seen it is either ignorance at it's highest or just lies, as anyone with eyes has seen the abuse.

I tried to say he's a scapegoat on that thread and got "he's no a scapegoat he's garbage". He's 100% become a scapegoat.

loanheadhibby
11-08-2022, 08:29 PM

I can be negative and perhaps over critical at times.
However if you think Newell is excellent you are watching a different game to me.

Basildon Hibs
11-08-2022, 08:42 PM
I can be negative and perhaps over critical at times.
However if you think Newell is excellent you are watching a different game to me.

👍

LeithMike
11-08-2022, 08:44 PM
Yep. It's really sad. This place was extremely toxic at that time and in his and Doidges case it's never moved on.You wrote a lot worse about Malian (whether justified or not).

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

hhibs
11-08-2022, 09:39 PM
Some posters seem to have adopted the role of protecting Newell at all costs

Some to the point of being agressive,claiming their view is the omly one and those disagreeing are ignorant.

Honestly, you are not his Mum !

11-08-2022, 09:54 PM
My view is that Newell is a tidy footballer.

He’s technically good with both feet and able to control a ball quite well. He can find a pass at various ranges. He can weigh in with a tackle too. He also works fairly hard.

He isn’t perfect though. His shooting is poor, he doesn’t offer a goal threat and he isn’t direct enough. He also has the tendency to give away silly fouls.

He isn’t our worst player though, not by a long way. I don’t understand why so many fans have fastened on to him specifically. I don’t get it at all and I hope that him and his fellow players don’t visit this site.

11-08-2022, 10:16 PM
This is an absolute chronic car crash of a thread.

You’d think we lost 4-0 to Hearts with Newell scoring 2 og’s the way some people are going on.

Newell was/is one of our better players.

Get a f’n life and support the player and the club.

cameronw-hfc
11-08-2022, 10:51 PM
Some posters seem to have adopted the role of protecting Newell at all costs

Some to the point of being agressive,claiming their view is the omly one and those disagreeing are ignorant.

Honestly, you are not his Mum !

Very much the same way certain posters have adopted the role of abusing Joe anytime we play, apples and oranges

12-08-2022, 04:11 AM
You wrote a lot worse about Malian (whether justified or not).

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
Not true. I loved big Amadou.

12-08-2022, 06:52 AM

Using “Cheerleading” in a somewhat negative sense to refer to fellow supporters ?
I get the point but that’s quite a revealing turn of phrase.
I think notions of what. Supporter is and does have become a bit debased. But each to their own.

12-08-2022, 07:02 AM

I see what you did there.

12-08-2022, 07:03 AM
Using “Cheerleading” in a somewhat negative sense to refer to fellow supporters ?
I get the point but that’s quite a revealing turn of phrase.
I think notions of what. Supporter is and does have become a bit debased. But each to their own.

It's pretty twisted when backing one of your own players makes you a "cheerleader."

12-08-2022, 07:27 AM
It's pretty twisted when backing one of your own players makes you a "cheerleader."

It's maybe replacing 'happy clapper' as the next way to vilify fans who like supporting the team and it's players as opposed to finding all different ways to hate the club.

12-08-2022, 07:39 AM

He loved us too.

Hibiza
13-08-2022, 05:56 PM
Why / how folks continue to support. Newell is just incredible. He is way sub - standard. Consistently.

Mutu
13-08-2022, 06:07 PM
Why / how folks continue to support. Newell is just incredible. He is way sub - standard. Consistently.

Thanks for posting this new and unique opinion on Hibs.net

13-08-2022, 06:07 PM
Kind of past moaning at Newell now. It’s not him that continues to pick himself. Him being one of our main players is a reason why we’ll continue to see performances like today. It’s the same thing from him most weeks and it’s just not very good for me. But it’s not going to change any time soon which I find a bit depressing really.

13-08-2022, 06:08 PM

I support all Hibs players. Is that some crime now?

NC1875
13-08-2022, 06:09 PM

😴

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2022, 06:20 PM

Come off it.

Newell has been pretty much crap for 4 years with the odd glimpse of quality. He’s the problem, not everybody else.

Paulie Walnuts
13-08-2022, 06:21 PM

People wouldn’t have to keep posting it if he wasn’t inexplicably still playing every week for us after 4 extremely underwhelming years.

Until he stops starting every week, people will continue to moan, because you can guarantee that the majority of performances from him won’t be good enough

loanheadhibby
13-08-2022, 06:47 PM

In a way it's great but we were rubbish today and Newell was non existent.
He gets more stick than some because the fans realise he has more ability than most.
We got away with it last week with a last second equaliser but the signs are not good.

Badge
13-08-2022, 06:49 PM

Yes, it is when they are simply not good enough.

Hibiza
13-08-2022, 06:50 PM

You're welcome ..

Hibiza
13-08-2022, 06:52 PM
Come off it.

Newell has been pretty much crap for 4 years with the odd glimpse of quality. He’s the problem, not everybody else.

13-08-2022, 06:52 PM
Joe Newell is probably our best midfielder.

And that sums up the problem with this squad.

13-08-2022, 06:53 PM

Honestly don't think he is. Think Kenneh is far more effective in his role than Newell is at his. But even then you're right, shows the problem with the squad.

13-08-2022, 06:54 PM

He's been here 4 years?

Can we name his top 5 games / performances ?

13-08-2022, 06:55 PM

And that sums up the problem with this squad.And the next manager might just realise what the midfield situation is.

More to do but this one is glaring......

CL0762
13-08-2022, 07:04 PM
He's been here 4 years?

Can we name his top 5 games / performances ?

I couldn’t even name one.

13-08-2022, 07:32 PM
Rubbish! I've had enough of him. Get him out of the team and replace him with..................oh wait!

13-08-2022, 07:34 PM
I'd personally play JDH ahead of him.

Tully
13-08-2022, 07:36 PM
Why does tait not get a chance

andrew70
13-08-2022, 07:38 PM
He’s a coward. Misplaced passes, foul, foul, foul. He and his Wallyford bevying buddy Doidge shouldn’t be anywhere near ER never mind on decent contracts.

13-08-2022, 08:52 PM
Final straw today…Joe, sorry but please just GTF

13-08-2022, 08:54 PM

He's injured I think

13-08-2022, 08:57 PM

Delferriere looks good in pre season too

cameronw-hfc
13-08-2022, 09:31 PM
He’s a coward. Misplaced passes, foul, foul, foul. He and his Wallyford bevying buddy Doidge shouldn’t be anywhere near ER never mind on decent contracts.

Say this everytime, can we leave classless comments like this out of it? Only a page ago I had a poster telling me he'd never seen abuse to Newell, I didn't see the game today so can't comment on the performance, but regardless as to how you feel about Newell, surely you can express yourself without character assassinations of our own player?

Say he played crap, say he wasn't good enough/isnt. Did we no learn from the Rocky situation? Criticise, sure, don't abuse our own players though.

13-08-2022, 09:33 PM

I don’t think he’s even top 3. He will probably play against Rangers and run himself into the ground. Today he didn’t commit to anything and that’s the problem.

13-08-2022, 09:53 PM
Say this everytime, can we leave classless comments like this out of it? Only a page ago I had a poster telling me he'd never seen abuse to Newell, I didn't see the game today so can't comment on the performance, but regardless as to how you feel about Newell, surely you can express yourself without character assassinations of our own player?

Say he played crap, say he wasn't good enough/isnt. Did we no learn from the Rocky situation? Criticise, sure, don't abuse our own players though.

Hardly abusive, he's nowhere near the standard we need. Standard JN performance today.

13-08-2022, 11:50 PM
I'd personally play JDH ahead of him.

Yep. I wanted JDH to start today. We usually look better when he’s in there

at last 61
15-08-2022, 09:36 AM
He has the ability, we have all seen that, so why does he not show up in every game, we can't afford players who only turn up for the big games, so on that basis why don't we ever drop him, even in the games when he just isn't in the game he very rarely gets subbed

15-08-2022, 09:41 AM
I don’t think he’s even top 3. He will probably play against Rangers and run himself into the ground. Today he didn’t commit to anything and that’s the problem.

Agree with that seems to pick and choose games.

I'm Spartacus
15-08-2022, 10:14 AM
I always think he does 1-2 decent things in a game but 18 absolute brain farts.

Dylan Tait must be worth a punt for a run of games, although Joe gets the full 90 minutes so he must fancy him. Brutal.

15-08-2022, 10:17 AM
Kyle Magennis has put in more decent performances than Newell while at Hibs.

15-08-2022, 10:40 AM
Kyle Magennis has put in more decent performances than Newell while at Hibs.

This is why decent discussion cannot happen on here. It's just impossible while nonsense like this exists.

15-08-2022, 10:43 AM
Drop Joe Newell, give someone else a shot.

It’s just not working with him in midfield.

15-08-2022, 11:39 AM

This is why decent discussion cannot happen on here. It's just impossible while nonsense like this exists.

No point it replying to my posts dafty as I blocked you months ago 😂😂

All I can see in your post is 'hidden' so no idea what you said and personally I don't really care 🤣 🤣

15-08-2022, 11:41 AM

You keep defending him but the whole time he’s been here we have been garbage in midfield.

xqnq1875
15-08-2022, 11:44 AM
Not good enough, been pish for ages now all he does is get himself booked and walk about the pitch, waste of a jersey

15-08-2022, 11:47 AM

All I can see in your post is 'hidden' so no idea what you said and personally I don't really care 🤣 🤣
That makes perfect sense. People general don't like being told what utter rubbish they are talking.

15-08-2022, 11:47 AM
You keep defending him but the whole time he’s been here we have been garbage in midfield.

That’s not true though. We finished 3rd in the league comfortably.

We didn’t dominate possession as that wasn’t the managers tactics but it’s pretty stupid to suggest the midfield was garbage. Looking back we didn’t replace Jackson Irvine (as we relied on Magennis) and JDH hasn’t been any better than Newell or Gogic or Hallberg etc

With the way Lee Johnson wants to play we’re gonna need better in CM. I don’t see anyone disputing that. Kenneh is a good start but clearly we need another one minimum.

Don’t see the point in slating the manager for not recruiting another CM until the window closes.

15-08-2022, 11:48 AM

Even if that were true, the post I replied to is utter nonsense.

We weren't garbage in midfield when we finished 3rd.

Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 11:52 AM
Even if that were true, the post I replied to is utter nonsense.

We weren't garbage in midfield when we finished 3rd.

We weren’t very good in midfield when we finished third.

We finished third despite our midfield. We had a very good defensive record, a cracking goalie and Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet scored 46 goals and had 69 goal involvements between them that season. That’s the main reasons we finished third. The midfield was our weak spot that season and it was pointed out plenty times at the time.

15-08-2022, 11:54 AM

I only see his posts when quoted on my phone, still replies to me too even though I can't see the posts, bit weird.

15-08-2022, 11:55 AM

We finished third despite our midfield. We had a very good defensive record, a cracking goalie and Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet scored 46 goals between them that season. That’s the main reasons we finished third. The midfield was our weak spot that season and it was pointed out plenty times at the time.

Plus no Hearts and a pish Aberdeen.

15-08-2022, 11:56 AM
I only see his posts when quoted on my phone, still replies to me too even though I can't see the posts, bit weird.

🤣🤣👍🏻

15-08-2022, 11:57 AM

How's he supposed to know you have him on ignore?

15-08-2022, 11:59 AM
I'm not seeing any posts on this thread.

15-08-2022, 12:01 PM
I'm not seeing any posts on this thread.

You must be Lee Johnson which explains why you keep picking him.[emoji6]

15-08-2022, 12:04 PM

I told him, got fed up having a to and fro argument with him, he's like a dog with a bone when he gets going, drains you.

15-08-2022, 12:06 PM

We finished third despite our midfield. We had a very good defensive record, a cracking goalie and Boyle, Doidge and Nisbet scored 46 goals and had 69 goal involvements between them that season. That’s the main reasons we finished third. The midfield was our weak spot that season and it was pointed out plenty times at the time.

Weak spot in a good team doesn’t equal garbage.

The midfield obviously contributed to the good defensive record and the 3 goal scorers contributions. The tactics were for the 2 central midfielders to sit deep which they did effectively. Boyle and Irvine were often part of that effective midfield.

Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 12:08 PM
Weak spot in a good team doesn’t equal garbage.

The midfield obviously contributed to the good defensive record and the 3 goal scorers contributions. The tactics were for the 2 midfielders to sit deep which they did effectively. Boyle and Irvine were often part of that effective midfield.

I agree. I would say it wasn’t a great midfield though, but as you say, not garbage.

The midfield was by a mile our weakest part of our team that season though imo and was probably not any better than a 7th/8th place midfield. The rest of the team performing very well is what carried that midfield to 3rd.

15-08-2022, 12:12 PM

We've told him yet he still replies 🤣🤣

15-08-2022, 02:24 PM
I told him, got fed up having a to and fro argument with him, he's like a dog with a bone when he gets going, drains you.

Good times. I loved the meltdowns when you couldn't back up ridiculous statements.

15-08-2022, 02:34 PM
I’m still trying to think what guys like delfierre have to do to get a chance in the first team.

Perform well at under age groups ✔️
Perform well in preseason ✔️

Is it really necessary for everyone to have to go through a 3 stage screening process to become a first team player? Can we not give guys a chance in the first team in competitive matches?

Zambernardi1875
15-08-2022, 02:38 PM
I’m still trying to think what guys like delfierre have to do to get a chance in the first team.

Perform well at under age groups ✔️
Perform well in preseason ✔️

Is it really necessary for everyone to have to go through a 3 stage screening process to become a first team player? Can we not give guys a chance in the first team in competitive matches?

Yeah I’m surprised nobody from the 2nd half of the Norwich game have really been given a chance.