View Full Version : Joe Newell.

Pages : 1 [2]

loanheadhibby
15-08-2022, 04:30 PM
Even if that were true, the post I replied to is utter nonsense.

We weren't garbage in midfield when we finished 3rd.

Why do you keep harping on to the season we finished 3rd.
We are all entitled to our opinions on here.
Not everyone rates Hanlon, Newell and Doidge as highly as you.

15-08-2022, 04:42 PM
Why do you keep harping on to the season we finished 3rd.
We are all entitled to our opinions on here.
Not everyone rates Hanlon, Newell and Doidge as highly as you.

There are opinions and there are lies. Saying Kyle Magennis has had more good games for Hibs than Joe Newell is clearly a lie. Wouldn't matter if I rated him or not, thats bull****.

15-08-2022, 05:01 PM
There are opinions and there are lies. Saying Kyle Magennis has had more good games for Hibs than Joe Newell is clearly a lie. Wouldn't matter if I rated him or not, thats bull****.

Away from the arguing amongst ourselves about who said what, there is precious little discussion about what we do if we were playing career mode and were RG and LJ at this point.

Who do WE think we should bring in in centre midfield? Who should we get rid of? Should we just write off Newells contract, or Doyle Hayes, or Macgennis' or make it quietly known that we're trying to get rid, which means a tiny fee if a fee at all, more likely a player swap for another underperforming individual?

Any quality players who are looking for a move and we could afford?

Any ideas?

15-08-2022, 05:16 PM
Coco Bryce and J-C are a couple of fannies.
https://i.ibb.co/6y1hknF/download-1.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

Just messin'

15-08-2022, 05:20 PM
Newell will probably have a good 5 minutes in one of his next few games, and we will see someone post how good he was, ignoring how he's dissapeared in 3 4 5 games previously.

He's pish normally, but is capable of much more.

We need better.

15-08-2022, 05:33 PM
Away from the arguing amongst ourselves about who said what, there is precious little discussion about what we do if we were playing career mode and were RG and LJ at this point.

Who do WE think we should bring in in centre midfield? Who should we get rid of? Should we just write off Newells contract, or Doyle Hayes, or Macgennis' or make it quietly known that we're trying to get rid, which means a tiny fee if a fee at all, more likely a player swap for another underperforming individual?

Any quality players who are looking for a move and we could afford?

Any ideas?

I’m not sure how realistic either ever were given the money they could/are getting in England, but Docherty and Alan Campbell would have been a proper midfield and easy to find a 3rd to compliment them.

I’d be happy to let any or all of Newell, JDH & Campbell go for free if we could find a club to take over their contracts. If we don’t sign any midfielders, other than me continuing to moan about recruitment and the midfield, I’d probably persist with Kenneh, and Henderson and alternate between JDH, Tait and Delfierre for that 3rd midfielder. A poor midfield but at least one that might grow into being a decent one. We won’t ever learn anything new by persisting with Newell, Campbell and to a lesser extent JDH.

15-08-2022, 06:30 PM

Just messin'

🤣🤣👍🏻

15-08-2022, 06:51 PM
I’m not sure how realistic either ever were given the money they could/are getting in England, but Docherty and Alan Campbell would have been a proper midfield and easy to find a 3rd to compliment them.

I’d be happy to let any or all of Newell, JDH & Campbell go for free if we could find a club to take over their contracts. If we don’t sign any midfielders, other than me continuing to moan about recruitment and the midfield, I’d probably persist with Kenneh, and Henderson and alternate between JDH, Tait and Delfierre for that 3rd midfielder. A poor midfield but at least one that might grow into being a decent one. We won’t ever learn anything new by persisting with Newell, Campbell and to a lesser extent JDH.

Alan Campbell would have been a great shout.
Barry Bannan anyone? Would be a statement signing, dropped by Wednesday at the start of the season despite being their POTY last season, very underrated and might want a move home.

15-08-2022, 07:19 PM
Newell will probably have a good 5 minutes in one of his next few games, and we will see someone post how good he was, ignoring how he's dissapeared in 3 4 5 games previously.

We need better.

I wouldn’t accuse Newell of disappearing in games BH, far from it, he’s always showing for the ball. It’s the fact he does nothing meaningful with the ball that’s the issue - he neither dictates or influences games, has no drive, no creativity, and no belief when he gets into scoring distance. He’s simply playing a very very safe brand of football, enough to get by and nothing more.

I agree though, Hibs need much better than Joe Newell. The sad fact is, if he was dropped, I genuinely don’t think he’d be fussed. By that I mean I don’t think he’d bust a gut to show he wanted his place back. I think there’s a very good footballer in Newell, but it’s combined with a very very poor ‘attitude’ for want of a better phrase, in that he’s not got that drive or ability to grab a game by the scruff of the neck. Just a very ‘safe’ languid footballer. His goals return tells you everything, in fact, the goals return from the whole midfield should be enough for the recruitment team to start the process of replacing three or four of them, including Newell.

15-08-2022, 07:21 PM
Alan Campbell would have been a great shout.
Barry Bannan anyone? Would be a statement signing, dropped by Wednesday at the start of the season despite being their POTY last season, very underrated and might want a move home.

Yes, unfortunately Campbell was already looking down south and i suspect outside of our price range by the time he established himself in the Motherwell first team….

BAnnan would be a wonderful addition…great experience and skill set…suspect he’d have good options down south….

15-08-2022, 07:29 PM
I wouldn’t accuse Newell of disappearing in games BH, far from it, he’s always showing for the ball. It’s the fact he does nothing meaningful with the ball that’s the issue - he neither dictates or influences games, has no drive, no creativity, and no belief when he gets into scoring distance. He’s simply playing a very very safe brand of football, enough to get by and nothing more.

I agree though, Hibs need much better than Joe Newell. The sad fact is, if he was dropped, I genuinely don’t think he’d be fussed. By that I mean I don’t think he’d bust a gut to show he wanted his place back. I think there’s a very good footballer in Newell, but it’s combined with a very very poor ‘attitude’ for want of a better phrase, in that he’s not got that drive or ability to grab a game by the scruff of the neck. Just a very ‘safe’ languid footballer. His goals return tells you everything, in fact, the goals return from the whole midfield should be enough for the recruitment team to start the process of replacing three or four of them, including Newell.

Nail on head.

Joe Newell needs dropped. Even just for a change of style / desire from the next guy.

CL0762
15-08-2022, 08:02 PM

Can you name any game at all where Newell, in central midfield, has grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and drove us forward and after it went ‘Jesus Christ we won that game because of Newell today’.

I’ll wait, but I can already guess your answer.

15-08-2022, 08:15 PM
Can you name any game at all where Newell, in central midfield, has grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and drove us forward and after it went ‘Jesus Christ we won that game because of Newell today’.

I’ll wait, but I can already guess your answer.

I wouldn't say that was his style at all, though. There are different types of players. He isn't mcginn, he doesn't drive us forward and I don't think that's a huge problem. He does many other things well and has had plenty of excellent games doing them.

I think Joe is good and other players are failing. I don't think he's playing anywhere near as badly as folk seem to think. Had a very good second half Vs Hearts and wasn't our biggest problem at all on Saturday.

andrew70
15-08-2022, 08:18 PM

I wouldn’t say he is always showing either. Especially Saturday when he hid behind Kenneh who’s role is to split the centre halves and distribute from there.

I was getting extremely frustrated with Newell who was occupying the same space as Kenneh and once again giving no out ball.

I agree we need far better though. That fact is only lost on the powers that be at Hibs seemingly.

15-08-2022, 08:22 PM
Doyle Hayes needs to start Saturday.

Paulie Walnuts
15-08-2022, 08:33 PM
Doyle Hayes needs to start Saturday.

Yup.

I don’t even necessarily think he’s any better, but it can’t be Newell as it’s simply not working.

15-08-2022, 08:37 PM
Yup.

I don’t even necessarily think he’s any better, but it can’t be Newell as it’s simply not working.

Just think he keeps the ball better which we will need v Rangers. Would probably keep Newell in and have Hendo on the bench.

16-08-2022, 05:48 AM
I wouldn't say that was his style at all, though. There are different types of players. He isn't mcginn, he doesn't drive us forward and I don't think that's a huge problem. He does many other things well and has had plenty of excellent games doing them.

I think Joe is good and other players are failing. I don't think he's playing anywhere near as badly as folk seem to think. Had a very good second half Vs Hearts and wasn't our biggest problem at all on Saturday.

Not his style ? He played most of his career as an attacking midfielder or wide player so should have an innate ability to attack with threat given that fact. He never ever does that at Hibs. There’s been plenty opportunities for Joe to break through the lines, carry forward, and shoot. He doesn’t - he plays safe and square 9 times out of 10, passing the responsibility to others - which is cowardly in my book. You say ‘other players are failing’ - when have you seen Joe lead the midfield by example in that case, and if that’s happening in games ? I’ve certainly not seen him drag the midfield and others into a game, which given his experience is again pretty poor. Coaches need to see that too, and drop him if he doesn’t apply himself AND play to his obvious ability - which he isn’t doing - consistently.

In a word, he’s languid. Hibs, again only my opinion, need to get rid of Newell, Doyle Hayes, and Campbell (and Magennis if he breaks down), and get better players and better productivity in that area. That’ll take two or three windows sadly. We were spoiled when we had a really good working unit of SJM, Fyvie, Dylan, Allan, and Marvin. That’s the benchmark and we are way way below it in midfield and standards.

You’re seeing a very very different Joe Newell to me MW. Saying he was excellent versus Hearts second half is hyperbole. He impacted very little the whole game, other than sky a shot into the away end and whip a decent free kick in for Kenneth’s chance. I honestly can’t remember him being involved in any other meaningful chance we created. That was left to Melkerson, Cadden, Youan and Boyle to create.

16-08-2022, 06:09 AM
I've seen Tait a number of times this season and I'm struggling to work out why he isn't playing in our midfield every week.

16-08-2022, 06:09 AM
The best I’ve seen JN play in a single game was v Hertz under the lights last season. That level of performance is way above his normal.

16-08-2022, 06:13 AM
I've seen Tait a number of times this season and I'm struggling to work out why he isn't playing in our midfield every week.

Agree - looks energetic, dynamic, composed, and great passing ability. Did he not pick up an injury in the recent Development game ?

16-08-2022, 06:29 AM
Agree - looks energetic, dynamic, composed, and great passing ability. Did he not pick up an injury in the recent Development game ?

He didn't appear to be injured when he was substituted in a double substitution midway through the 2nd half. If he was injured it wasn't noticeable, he was carried of or wasn't limping.

16-08-2022, 07:47 AM

Has there not been comments that he is technically good but has areas of improvement more in relation to when not having the ball. Many of his games have been against much lower level teams. Certainly an interesting player and can remember watching him for Killie v United and he played well. Up to him to keep fit get better athletically and force his way in.

Paulie Walnuts
16-08-2022, 08:07 AM
Has there not been comments that he is technically good but has areas of improvement more in relation to when not having the ball. Many of his games have been against much lower level teams. Certainly an interesting player and can remember watching him for Killie v United and he played well. Up to him to keep fit get better athletically and force his way in.

It’s similar to what I’ve said on the Scott Allan thread, but if that’s the case, then that annoys me a bit.

We’ve got a guy who’s good on the ball, can make things happen going forward but because his weaknesses lie defensively he’s not ready to play, yet we persist with playing midfielders who are decent defensively but offer nothing going forward like Newell, JDH etc.

The midfield should be balanced and compliment each other. If that means we’ve got a midfielder who offers a lot going forward but not a lot defensively then we play someone else in the midfield who has the defensive attributes they don’t have and the same goes the other way round with defensive players without attacking attributes.

Instead, we seem to be of the mind that you need to be able to do the defensive side of the game well or you’re not playing. If you can do that, the attacking side of things doesn’t seem to be nearly as much of a concern.

There should be room in our midfield 3 for a ‘passenger’ defensively. We make room for 3 guys regularly who are ‘passengers’ offensively.

16-08-2022, 09:21 AM
It’s similar to what I’ve said on the Scott Allan thread, but if that’s the case, then that annoys me a bit.

We’ve got a guy who’s good on the ball, can make things happen going forward but because his weaknesses lie defensively he’s not ready to play, yet we persist with playing midfielders who are decent defensively but offer nothing going forward like Newell, JDH etc.

The midfield should be balanced and compliment each other. If that means we’ve got a midfielder who offers a lot going forward but not a lot defensively then we play someone else in the midfield who has the defensive attributes they don’t have and the same goes the other way round with defensive players without attacking attributes.

Instead, we seem to be of the mind that you need to be able to do the defensive side of the game well or you’re not playing. If you can do that, the attacking side of things doesn’t seem to be nearly as much of a concern.

There should be room in our midfield 3 for a ‘passenger’ defensively. We make room for 3 guys regularly who are ‘passengers’ offensively.

Johnson might (!!) have been excused for having another battler in there by putting Campbell in against Hearts.

It's mainly Henderson who seems to be the most attacking of the 3 midfielders and I'd argue there isn't all that much to the defensive side of his game so if Tait were to come in for anyone then presumably it would be him? Henderson started the season fine but has had a couple of poor games, Johnson might be forgiven for thinking we maybe need a change in there?

In defence of Johnson - we've had midfields in recent years that opposing teams "could waltz right through" so I have a bit of sympathy with the idea that we need at least 2 players in there who can do the defensive side of things to an adequate level (unlike when we used to try to play with both Mallan and Allan in the same midfield).

I'd be surprised if we go that expansive with Rangers up in our next game though.

16-08-2022, 09:30 AM

Good post, one I agree with entirely. Not saying I know a lot about Tait, as I’ve barely seen him, but he looked like he was a bit different from our other midfielders.

I also thought of Scott Allan when I read the comments about Tait not being good enough off the ball. That was never Scott Allan’s strength, but we managed to do OK with him playing alongside SJM and McGeouch, or before that with Liam Craig and Scott Robertson.

16-08-2022, 01:49 PM

I get that Tait is more of a central midfielder I think rather than a Scott Allan type player. Bottom line is Tait needs to earn his place in the squad and team. If it is thought he isn't quite fit enough then the ball is in his court.

16-08-2022, 01:58 PM
Any news on Tait's injury?

ZitellZeTime
16-08-2022, 03:23 PM
He’s a coward. Misplaced passes, foul, foul, foul. He and his Wallyford bevying buddy Doidge shouldn’t be anywhere near ER never mind on decent contracts.

They drink in wally club aye? Must live out this way.

ZitellZeTime
16-08-2022, 03:49 PM
How's he supposed to know you have him on ignore?

Because he just told him lol

andrew70
16-08-2022, 03:53 PM
They drink in wally club aye? Must live out this way.

They both stay in Wallyford and are well known to their neighbours. Some of which are also Hibs fans.

ZitellZeTime
16-08-2022, 03:56 PM

We need better.

I don't even comment on his performances anymore, as I mentioned this just before the start of the season about how I was excited some of our new boys are looking good and Cabraja had just got his work permit etc, It was all optimism, then I mentioned pretty much what you said there about his either one good half or one good performance every month or so.

Some guy seemed like he was genuinly offended by it and rates him still to do a job for us.

Im just reading this thread cos the interactions between the two who blocked MW are giving me a good laugh lol.

ZitellZeTime
16-08-2022, 04:00 PM
They both stay in Wallyford and are well known to their neighbours. Some of which are also Hibs fans.

Ah I didnt know that I grew up and lived in Wimpey until a few years ago, then left that place and now bit further into East Lothian, when I was wee sure it was mostly jambos I remember there, can't remember them Naysmith I think was one, someone else... I also used to work on Jeffries da's hoose now and again/

Was Billy Broon the one that stayed down Mussy or Stoneybank or something it was him or that other one from Jeffries time as manager etc, remember seeing him cycling with his pure red face, used to get pelters from everyone. In good banter like nothing bad.

ZitellZeTime
16-08-2022, 04:17 PM
I’m still trying to think what guys like delfierre have to do to get a chance in the first team.

Perform well at under age groups ✔️
Perform well in preseason ✔️

Is it really necessary for everyone to have to go through a 3 stage screening process to become a first team player? Can we not give guys a chance in the first team in competitive matches?

Delfierre away on loan to Edinburgh, its leagueone but probably the strongest league one there has been in years so hopefully shows the neat and tidy play and compusure etc he showed in what litttle we got to see of him and performs well, not sure if its til Christmas or end of the season. He'll be playing against some decent midfields and big laddies in a different type of football to what hes used to so if he does well he has to get a chance after that.

Mind you we were desperate to sign Tait, Raith only agreed if we loaned him back out until the end of the seaosn or something remember. I heard talk about a loan for him but surely not, he should be getting a chance. Why we go through all the effort to get him of raith to never give him a chance, looks a decent player as well. Only going to improve too.

Hibiza
16-08-2022, 04:22 PM
Get Tait in ,or a dev player ,or a new signing in for Newell.

16-08-2022, 06:16 PM
Delfierre away on loan to Edinburgh, its leagueone but probably the strongest league one there has been in years so hopefully shows the neat and tidy play and compusure etc he showed in what litttle we got to see of him and performs well, not sure if its til Christmas or end of the season. He'll be playing against some decent midfields and big laddies in a different type of football to what hes used to so if he does well he has to get a chance after that.

Mind you we were desperate to sign Tait, Raith only agreed if we loaned him back out until the end of the seaosn or something remember. I heard talk about a loan for him but surely not, he should be getting a chance. Why we go through all the effort to get him of raith to never give him a chance, looks a decent player as well. Only going to improve too.

You’re right, it is the strongest it’s been for a while. But it’s still 2 levels below the premiership, and against part time teams. He has, imo, shown enough to be getting game time for the first team. That’s kind of my point, it seems to be a standard pathway but how often has it worked? Who was the last player who went on loan, came back to Hibs and is now in the first team? Porteous maybe? Doig was at hearts then came to us, did he go out on loan? I think Bradley made his debut a couple of seasons ago, did well against st Mirren, and has now been farmed out on loan to Dundalk. Unless im mixing him up with someone else.

I get that it’s a pathway to first team football, but it doesn’t have to be the only pathway.

Zambernardi1875
16-08-2022, 06:27 PM

I thought doidge stayed down by newhaven

16-08-2022, 06:34 PM
I thought doidge stayed down by newhaven

So did i

xqnq1875
16-08-2022, 09:15 PM
Getting nowhere with newell in midfield this season as a starter in the league, by all means keep him around for depth but he needs some proper competition a good ball carrying attacking cm is badly needed