View Full Version : Bonnyrigg v Hibs

Pages : 1 2 [3]

Mcbizz1998
17-07-2022, 03:53 PM
I think Kenneh is going to be cracking for us this season.

I hope so but what in this game makes say that?

I’ve barely noticed he is even playing.

2nd place could come down to goal difference. We’re playing Bonnyrigg, +2 goal difference against them isn’t good enough. We’ve a long way to go and I really can’t see this season being much different to last unless we sign some 1st team ready players.

:shocked:

How would you rate this half out of 10? 10 being high ?

Probably a 6. Done what we’ve had to do in the first half to get the win and dropped a few gears this half.

The games been a lot scrappier with more fouls and we’ve found it tough to get into any rhythm

17-07-2022, 03:54 PM
We might be winning this, but it's pub football. I avoided all the terrace talk over the close season, and was prepared to start a new one with a clean slate for everyone, but this is just turgid

cameronw-hfc
Bojang looking a wee bit headless chickeny 🤣

Got a feeling he will be similar to Boyle when he first arrived. Tactically naive, inconsistent end product but serious physical attributes

They're just kicking Melkersen all over the place.

thebausburst
17-07-2022, 03:55 PM
Bojang looking a wee bit headless chickeny 🤣

Doesn’t look great tbh

Unlucky. Good bit of play between Henderson and Bojang.

Unlucky from bojangles there

Bojang looks rapid.

Not lacking confidence either.

Cult hero in the making imo.

Great pass Henderson and nice too see someone running in-behind (Bojang) - cleared off line.

Best bit of play in 2nd half.

Doesn’t look great tbh

🤣🤣

Almost a debut goal by Bojang. Excellent defending.

17-07-2022, 03:56 PM
I hope so but what in this game makes say that?

I’ve barely noticed he is even playing.

Just think he looks need and tidy, makes the tackles and interceptions without busting a gut so must have a good reading of the game.

Bojang looks like he will be a handful, rough diamond.

And Cabraja.

Yep, forgot about him

Kenneh is Rolls Royce

Bojang looks rapid.

Not lacking confidence either.

Cult hero in the making imo.

He’s definitely got pace! Sometimes that’s all you need

Lovely from Henderson 4-1.

OtleyHibs
Cracking finish Henderson

cameronw-hfc
Hendo has a bit of the Scott Allan about him. He was a tricky wee winger at school so nice to see him turning into what looks to be a cracking footballer.

Great finish.

JamesHFC
17-07-2022, 03:57 PM
Had Hibs to win both halves and have most corners both halves at 12/5, get in 😂

What a goal.

Hendo great goal. Fantastic work by Melkerson and Newell

Bojang is adding extra pace up top that Doidge doesn't have.

Great goal by Henderson, very good player.

Great goal by Henderson.

Some run by Melkerson after about 3 pub team thugs tried to do him.

shamo9
Bojang gives us the pace up front that we've been missing since Boyle left.

Great goal Henderson!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

take that you bad keeper you

4-1

Looks like Mcgeady missing that penalty will be the highlight of the Jambo goalies career.

Unlucky, fatty.

17-07-2022, 03:58 PM
Henderson again! Great finish into top corner. Pieman keeper couldn't get near it.

Newell left back assist with the cut back. Melkerson good play before.

Henderson definitely stepped up pre-season and looking much improved.

We have looked better since Bojang has come on and running the channels.

Stuarty1875
Hendo :thumbsup:

Sweet strike.....cmon, one more would seriously piss off a few in that team...

17-07-2022, 03:59 PM
Bojang is rapid

Today hasn't been great but we needed to win inside 90 minutes to keep ourselves in the tournament and we've done that alongside a +3 goal difference (at the time of writing).

There's absolutely loads to work on but it's onto Wednesday night and hopefully we can squeeze into the last 16.

Great finish from henderson, had a really good pre season

CL0762
Henderson is going to be a massive player for us this season IMO.

17-07-2022, 04:00 PM
4-1 starting to get close to a respectable scoreline. Henderson and Melkerson looking like a couple who have come back improved on last season.
As a team, in my humble opinion, we don’t look any better than last season so far. Anyone think we look better?

17-07-2022, 04:00 PM
Who's the co-commentator? McManus?

17-07-2022, 04:01 PM
Who's the co-commentator? McManus?

If you’re meaning premier it’s Mikey Stewart

GreenPJ
17-07-2022, 04:01 PM
So one of our biggest problems last season was lack of goals and support from midfield - this afternoon, 2 each for 2 midfielders. No one is denying there is not work to be done but my biggest concern is in relation to Doidge - lacking composure and desire. If he can't get that back we need to hope that Bojang or Youan can come good until Nisbet is ready.

xqnq1875
17-07-2022, 04:02 PM
Newell been good today but will it be the same old story where he’s terrible after this, if we’re not planning on signing any more midfielders then he needs to play like this every single week none of this 1 good game for every 10 games he plays

4-1 starting to get close to a respectable scoreline. Henderson and Melkerson looking like a couple who have come back improved on last season.
As a team, in my humble opinion, we don’t look any better than last season so far. Anyone think we look better?

Hard to tell so far.

Reckon we’ll get a better idea against St Johnstone.

Important to remember we’ve got a lot of players to come back in and work permits sorted before we can judge them properly

Nitpicking but wish our players would drive into the acres of space in front of them rather than standing about looking for a pass

I think we look a bit better, certainly more attacking intent from 2 or 3.

Good enough to challenge for 3rd which is where we all want us to be? Not as it stands imo.

thebausburst
17-07-2022, 04:03 PM
So pleased for Hendo, shutting up a lot of the boo boys with his early season performances.

17-07-2022, 04:04 PM
Good result.

Still a long way to go.

Hopefully Tavares, Youan, Cabraja and a fit McGeady and Bojang make a difference.

Still more quality required imo.

Really hard to tell where the squad is at though with so many unknown quantities and injuries to important players.

17-07-2022, 04:05 PM
So pleased for Hendo, shutting up a lot of the boo boys with his early season performances.

The boy is quality.

Job done. Easy.

If you’re meaning premier it’s Mikey Stewart

Nah, Hibs TV.

yerauldda
Clearly need a central midfielder and central defender. A lot of positive signs but still quite disjointed which is to be expected at this stage in Johnson’s tenure.

I’m expecting Youan to make a big difference to the side.

17-07-2022, 04:06 PM

Annoyingly we won't know for a few weeks and all the new players are involved.

Still would like at least 2 players signed who could step in and make a difference immediately.

A left footed centre back and a central midfielder.

hfcok
Yes more quality needed, and more pace, we seem to be slow in the build up at the moment.

Comfortable in the end and on another day could of been much more.

Positives was both Newell and Henderson who could just share the motm award but was a little disappointed in the last two performances from Porteous.

Done what we had to with the 3 points and a few goals so onto Wednesday!

Nah, Hibs TV.

McManus.

17-07-2022, 04:07 PM
Not slack here and there. Credit to Newell who's been under the cosh from some of the support. Can only play what's in front of the you and with 2 Goals and 1 assist (could argue 2) he done well today getting forward often and making himself available over the park.

Henderson had that touch of quality that many others were sadly missing today.

Also kudos to Rocky. Played well today and won everything thrown at him, also driving up the park on a number of occasions.

17-07-2022, 04:08 PM
Bonnyrigg lessened their chances of a comeback when they brought on Lewis Capaldi to play up front. Great singer but not a goal threat.

Stuarty1875
Nah, Hibs TV.

Kevin Harper

Missed first half, wasn't greatly impressed by the second half, but 3 points, job done ...

17-07-2022, 04:09 PM
Bojang looks ****ing rapid!! Really unlucky not to score.

Really pleased for Newell and Hendo today. Four goals from midfield 😮. Thought Rocky was class as well.

17-07-2022, 04:09 PM
Newell, Henderson and Rocky.

Also solid shout out to Kenneh.

ElginHibbie
17-07-2022, 04:10 PM
Newell, Rocky and Hendo all looking good, Bojang showing promise,

Porto really needs to sort his head out though as he seems to be acting like these games are friendlies

17-07-2022, 04:10 PM
Excellent. Correct score on the predictor thread :greengrin

shamo9
17-07-2022, 04:11 PM

Better than after Boyle left. Henderson and Melkerson are further along in their development for one. Doidge looks fitter and we've got a better goalkeeper. We've now got a proper ball winning defensive mid (Kenneh). We've got more attacking options to affect the game, trade Scott and Mueller for Bojang, Tavares, Youan and
McGeady. The only loss at all in my opinion is Clarke, definite improvement overall.

17-07-2022, 04:11 PM
Rocky good today. Keep it up and keep it simple.

Newell was good today - interesting seeing him left back.

Bonnyrigg just full of overweight angry jambos plus a Hibs fan at right back.

17-07-2022, 04:12 PM
Newell, Henderson, Cadden, and Rocky all good today.

I’d like to see a bit more technical assurance from Kenneh and Miller, but I think it’ll come.

17-07-2022, 04:12 PM
Michael Stewart hasn't looked at the table, Falkirk only have 5 points so far not 6.

17-07-2022, 04:16 PM
Keeper didn’t even save it. Was just a poor penalty.

Weird behaviour but probably his cup final playing against Hibs.

Still should be retaken

17-07-2022, 04:17 PM
Once Bojang gets settled and Youan gets his permit, Doidge will be on the bench most of the time.

17-07-2022, 04:22 PM
Once Bojang gets settled and Youan gets his permit, Doidge will be on the bench most of the time.

Think you’re right.

I think Johnson is the type that wants to have a striker that can run in behind, stretch the games and cause problems.

Liam978
17-07-2022, 04:22 PM
Newell, Henderson, Cadden, and Rocky all good today.

I’d like to see a bit more technical assurance from Kenneh and Miller, but I think it’ll come.

Totally agree, we have to lay off the likes of Joe Newell guys, he has class in his locker.

17-07-2022, 04:31 PM
Didn’t see or hear the game

How did bojang look

17-07-2022, 04:32 PM

How did bojang look

Quick but raw

17-07-2022, 04:33 PM
Quick but raw

I’m hoping more sproule raw rather than konte raw

17-07-2022, 04:34 PM

Hard to comment from what we seen today but likewise

I’m not sure he’ll be a regular starter but handy to bring on

Bridge hibs
17-07-2022, 04:35 PM

How did bojang lookHad a couple of pops at goal, best when he ran onto a delightful through ball from Henderson, rounded the keeper and looked to have scored from a tight angle but it was cleared off the line, certainly looks keen

17-07-2022, 04:53 PM

Sproule was exactly who sprang to mind for me.

Didn't always look like he knew what he was doing but every now and again an opportunity would present itself for him to use his pace and when it did he looked threatening.

He could be brilliant for us. Sproule and Boyle both left different players to the ones who arrived and he looks like he has what it takes to do the same.

17-07-2022, 04:59 PM
Thought Rocky had another good game. Showed his range of passing which was also very good at Falkirk. Couple of cross field balls were excellent.

17-07-2022, 04:59 PM
Bojang made a great run and took the ball round the goalie only to be cleared off the line. Looks ahead of a young Sproule on first viewing.

Mcbizz1998
17-07-2022, 05:14 PM
Bojang made a great run and took the ball round the goalie only to be cleared off the line. Looks ahead of a young Sproule on first viewing.

Agreed. He did everything right and was just stopped by some good defending.

Positive start for the lad.

17-07-2022, 05:29 PM
Thought Rocky had another good game. Showed his range of passing which was also very good at Falkirk. Couple of cross field balls were excellent.

He looks a different player from last seasons rocky . He’s good on the ball , makes powerful runs forward , can pick a pass and he looks a lot more composed .

17-07-2022, 06:05 PM
Porteous was terrible at the goal but surprised nobody is having a go at Stevenson. Running after the ball like a schoolboy left Porto with 2 to mark there.

All Porto had to do was head the ball back to Marshall. Absolutely no-one else to blame there for a total lack of judgement and as usual he's blaming someone rlse for his own incompetence.

17-07-2022, 06:14 PM
Outstanding performance from Newall today. Henderson’s. Close second to him.

Logie
17-07-2022, 06:28 PM
Thought Henderson, newell and rocky were the difference today. Made it more difficult than we needed imo but a wins a win after a potential banana skin knowing Hibs!

Logie
17-07-2022, 06:31 PM
On another note heard some concerning comments today from someone I know is close to players, he mentioned that at least 5 first team players have no confidence in LJ and are very unhappy with his training and his tactical side of game. I would hope this is s***e but passing on as I know this guy is 100% close to first team players as mentioned. Spoke to him today and I know of at least 5 4 first team players he talked about. Mentioning as I hope someone can shoot me down, I’m excited for the season and this was not what I wanted to hear. May get shot down but just passing on the conversation I had..

17-07-2022, 06:33 PM
On another note heard some concerning comments today from someone I know is close to players, he mentioned that at least 5 first team players have no confidence in LJ and are very unhappy with his training and his tactical side of game. I would hope this is s***e but passing on as I know this guy is 100% close to first team players as mentioned. Spoke to him today and I know JDH and Porto are at least 2 of them. Mentioning as I hope someone can shoot me down, I’m excited for the season and this was not what I wanted to hear. May get shot down but just passing on the conversation I had..

Rumours like this are always heard but more often than not are nonsense. I would ignore.

17-07-2022, 06:35 PM

What boo boys?

17-07-2022, 06:36 PM
On another note heard some concerning comments today from someone I know is close to players, he mentioned that at least 5 first team players have no confidence in LJ and are very unhappy with his training and his tactical side of game. I would hope this is s***e but passing on as I know this guy is 100% close to first team players as mentioned. Spoke to him today and I know JDH and Porto are at least 2 of them. Mentioning as I hope someone can shoot me down, I’m excited for the season and this was not what I wanted to hear. May get shot down but just passing on the conversation I had..

Probably best not passing it on because it’s probably ***** but will quickly become fact.

17-07-2022, 06:36 PM

Get tae

Logie
17-07-2022, 06:37 PM
Rumours like this are always heard but more often than not are nonsense. I would ignore.

I agree mate hope it’s not true but again mentioning as the guy is a genuine Hibs fan and does meet with players regularly. Again happy to be shot down and no one more than me hopes it’s horse ****

Logie
17-07-2022, 06:38 PM
Get tae

Good reply bud cheers.

17-07-2022, 06:43 PM
Good reply bud cheers.

I echo his reply.

17-07-2022, 06:44 PM

He’s won 4/5 games so far scoring 13 goals in the process.

JDH has played far better his season than under previous management regimes

The fact McGeady choose to sign for him again also makes me think he’s no mug.

I suspect it’s nonsense.

17-07-2022, 06:45 PM
I echo his reply.Same here.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

Mikey_1875
17-07-2022, 06:45 PM

I’d be very surprised if that was true considering the level that our staff have coached at and that man management is meant to be LJs strong suit.

Even if there was the slightest hint of it being true the players would be well advised to shut up and get on with it or find a new club as they are the constant in the downfall of our last two managers.

17-07-2022, 06:46 PM
I agree mate hope it’s not true but again mentioning as the guy is a genuine Hibs fan and does meet with players regularly. Again happy to be shot down and no one more than me hopes it’s horse ****

We're not dealing with a novice coach whose methods are untried.

This is a guy who has managed to a decent level and with decent enough results.

Mcgeady came to hibs having experienced this coaching and having been coached by a few managers at a few different clubs.

It is nonsense.

McGruber
17-07-2022, 06:47 PM

Rubbish.

Not that you weren't told that - just that it sounds a load of nonesense.

In unlikely event it is true- get those 5 on the transfer list regardless of who they are.

17-07-2022, 07:02 PM

:doh:

17-07-2022, 07:04 PM

If any of the players are questioning the tactics then they have no clue themselves as I see a side fully committed to attacking football which we have all been crying out for.

17-07-2022, 07:06 PM
Bizarre

Salisbury Hibby
17-07-2022, 07:07 PM
On another note heard some concerning comments today from someone I know is close to players, he mentioned that at least 5 first team players have no confidence in LJ and are very unhappy with his training and his tactical side of game. I would hope this is s***e but passing on as I know this guy is 100% close to first team players as mentioned. Spoke to him today and I know JDH and Porto are at least 2 of them. Mentioning as I hope someone can shoot me down, I’m excited for the season and this was not what I wanted to hear. May get shot down but just passing on the conversation I had..I would take that with a pinch of salt, but I would advise those players not to make Ron choose between them and the manager.

I think there's a saying, "people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones".
Sent from my SM-A536B using Tapatalk

17-07-2022, 07:10 PM

You sure this relates to LJ?

I heard exactly the same rumour when it came to Maloney - a delegation of senior players/ SDG went to him and had to fess up that they just didn't get what he was trying to get them to do, players who had played under their fair share of managers over the years.

From what I'd seen of Hibs playing with my own 2 eyes it made perfect sense.

It makes no sense in regards to Lee Johnson. We had a dodgy night in Falkirk the other night and today was possibly a bit fiddlier than we'd have liked it to be but there absolutely none of the tell tale signs that suggest problems behind the scenes. If anything exactly the opposite.

17-07-2022, 07:21 PM
One thing that was great from today was all the kids standing at the barriers. Players when they were warning up were able to interact with them

Must admit I miss these sort of games/stadiums, it’s real football

Logie
17-07-2022, 07:34 PM
You sure this relates to LJ?

I heard exactly the same rumour when it came to Maloney - a delegation of senior players/ SDG went to him and had to fess up that they just didn't get what he was trying to get them to do, players who had played under their fair share of managers over the years.

From what I'd seen of Hibs playing with my own 2 eyes it made perfect sense.

It makes no sense in regards to Lee Johnson. We had a dodgy night in Falkirk the other night and today was possibly a bit fiddlier than we'd have liked it to be but there absolutely none of the tell tale signs that suggest problems behind the scenes. If anything exactly the opposite.

100% relates to LJ mate, I agree the football under LJ to date has been much better than the whole time under Maloney bar Falkirk which was a blip. I fully agree not seeing the same signs that were obviously under Maloney but that was the chat. Again hoping it’s not true LJ seems a breath of fresh air to me and as another poster mentioned attacking football is what we have all been crying out for.

1875Sean
17-07-2022, 07:39 PM

If true then the best thing to do if move those players along

17-07-2022, 07:41 PM
If true then the best thing to do if move those players along

And asap.

17-07-2022, 07:50 PM

I'm sure you are passing this on in good faith, but it sounds like pish tbqhwy.

17-07-2022, 07:59 PM
Why are there never any rumours that the player love everything the manager is trying to do?

17-07-2022, 08:05 PM

Were you talking to a former, albeit very successful, painter and decorator by any chance?

yonder1875
17-07-2022, 08:06 PM
McGeady being booed from the first minute today, probably by Hearts and Rangers fans but it’s just sad the treatment he gets in this country.

17-07-2022, 08:06 PM

i smell *****

17-07-2022, 08:07 PM
Were you talking to a former, albeit very successful, painter and decorator by any chance?

With some very dodgy friends?

Logie
17-07-2022, 08:08 PM

No but does that mean you have heard similar?

17-07-2022, 08:09 PM

Even if it is true, the players maybe need to look at themselves. Not terribly confident in some of them. That said, I don’t see a great deal to be concerned about in the way they’re applying themselves.

17-07-2022, 08:11 PM
I have no idea if the poster is genuine or not, but even if he is then in every workplace in the land when someone moves on the workplace can generally be split into 3 camps:

1) Those that Hated old boss

2) Those that Loved him

3) Those that couldn't care less

New boss will never do anything right for group 2 who can't see past old boss.

That this is probably happening doesn't bother me one iota, that we have guys causing trouble behind the scenes and sowing discontent with the support does.

It shows them to be both completely untrustworthy and likely working their ticket out

The quicker they are way from ER the better, regardless of who they are as they arent to be trusted

Bridge hibs
17-07-2022, 08:11 PM
No but does that mean you have heard similar?No he needs him to do the fence next

yonder1875
17-07-2022, 08:12 PM

Well I can tell you that is a lot of pish and not true about at least one of those players you just name dropped.

17-07-2022, 08:14 PM
No but does that mean you have heard similar?

All I will say is there is zero truth in this, just checked.

I don’t feel comfortable getting involved in this in the know stuff after the reaction to me mentioning Melkerson got injured - I got unfairly slaughtered on here despite it being 100% true and accurate.

That aside, the players are working very hard under the new ‘leadership team’, apparently that’s the lingo being used.

cameronw-hfc
17-07-2022, 08:16 PM

I don’t feel comfortable getting involved in this in the know stuff after the reaction to me mentioning Melkerson got injured - I got unfairly slaughtered on here despite it being 100% true and accurate.

That aside, the players are working very hard under the new ‘leadership team’, apparently that’s the lingo being used.

Heard the same, albeit im open about my source being a bit of a disaster. Sometimes bang on, sometimes outlandish 😂.

I think it seems like a happier camp than under Maloney, there isn't a proper feel good factor back yet, but it defo feels better than last season for sure and there's not a hope in hell a Maloney team would score 9 goals in 2 wins against anyone, so we can see an improvement there, just need to wait until the league starts to see how much of an improvement it is.

17-07-2022, 08:18 PM
One thing that was great from today was all the kids standing at the barriers. Players when they were warning up were able to interact with them

Must admit I miss these sort of games/stadiums, it’s real football

Wee man got photos with Johnson, Tavares and Youan on the way round. Got a couple of high fives from players warming up. ‘Invaded’ the pitch at full time but didn’t know what to do once he reached the players. Got a photo with Melkersen and Henderson after. All in all, he’s buzzing.

17-07-2022, 08:22 PM
Why are there never any rumours that the player love everything the manager is trying to do?
That wouldn't get you noticed.

Logie
17-07-2022, 08:23 PM

I’m genuinely happy about that. Honestly passed on what I heard but no the guy does have regular contact so strange thing for him to come out with. I have no idea his intentions other than he’s a Hibs fan and is well connected with some of the playing staff. Not trying to cause any crap but thought it may be likely due to the Porto not signing a deal chat. Your post is music to my ears.

JimboHibs
17-07-2022, 08:23 PM
Hmmmm time will tell.

Logie
17-07-2022, 08:25 PM
That wouldn't get you noticed.

Who’s trying to get noticed mate? I’m not interested in being noticed but I’m a dedicated Hibs fan like the other posters on this forum, was mentioning the chat I had as it genuinely disappointed me and was hoping another poster could tell me and others it’s rubbish, that’s all.

17-07-2022, 08:27 PM
I’m genuinely happy about that. Honestly passed on what I heard but no the guy does have regular contact so strange thing for him to come out with. I have no idea his intentions other than he’s a Hibs fan and is well connected with some of the playing staff. Not trying to cause any crap but thought it may be likely due to the Porto not signing a deal chat. Your post is music to my ears.

It sounds as if they are trying really hard to bond together as a new group which is totally understandable given all the signings etc.

That will take time and effort, wins will help.

17-07-2022, 08:35 PM
Wee man got photos with Johnson, Tavares and Youan on the way round. Got a couple of high fives from players warming up. ‘Invaded’ the pitch at full time but didn’t know what to do once he reached the players. Got a photo with Melkersen and Henderson after. All in all, he’s buzzing.

Fantastic to hear, would have made their day

CL0762
17-07-2022, 08:45 PM
Not doubting what the poster has been told, but if there’s any semblance to it being true then I’d want those players to be gone.

They’ve managed to **** it up for the last 2 managers (and barely tried their arse under Gray at times either) so I wouldn’t be caring if they didn’t like or believe in the process.

It’s very clear that RG is investing fully into LJ & I figure that any ‘player power’ would be very quickly shut down.

Logie
17-07-2022, 08:47 PM
It sounds as if they are trying really hard to bond together as a new group which is totally understandable given all the signings etc.

Absolutely, winning breeds confidence, hopefully a few players kick on to Morton and we win that game pretty comfortably. Fingers crossed a couple of work permits are through by then too!

17-07-2022, 08:52 PM
With some very dodgy friends?

What are you slavering about?

McIntosh
17-07-2022, 09:10 PM
I'm sure you are passing this on in good faith, but it sounds like pish tbqhwy.

It sounds like total pish.

17-07-2022, 09:12 PM
Who’s trying to get noticed mate? I’m not interested in being noticed but I’m a dedicated Hibs fan like the other posters on this forum, was mentioning the chat I had as it genuinely disappointed me and was hoping another poster could tell me and others it’s rubbish, that’s all.

There's been a few done that already.

17-07-2022, 09:18 PM

All the players waiting on work permits there. Saw Hanlon as well. Clearly trying to get them all involved.

linlithgowhibbie
17-07-2022, 09:48 PM
Noticed lots of posts slagging the jambo goalie.
So fair play to him.
You should have heard the stick he was getting from a crowd behind the goals, including some near the bone stuff. He actually took it well and gave some back. All the time having a laugh with us. :agree:

21sMay
17-07-2022, 09:55 PM
Decent showing from us today . Cadden, mcgeady , Henderson , rocky and Newell all impressed .

Melkerson looks a different player and will be dangerous this season .

Ryan porteous really needs to either move on or get his head in the game because he was terrible today and totally at fault for the goal.

17-07-2022, 10:34 PM
No but does that mean you have heard similar?Why do you want your rumour to be true?

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

17-07-2022, 10:43 PM

If this is true, which I don’t think it is, we should be sounding out they players and moving them on ASAP.

Most of them are on their third manager now.

17-07-2022, 10:43 PM
It sounds like total pish.

I have heard from a source the players are all working hard and the new signings are making things more competitive. Old players are working their ass off to make good for letting the last two managers and the fans down.

17-07-2022, 10:44 PM
There’s probably about half a dozen or so players in the dressing room right now who know they will be moved on or not involved. I guess they will be less enthusiastic about things than the others. It happens. The group will evolve and get on with it.

17-07-2022, 10:46 PM
100% relates to LJ mate, I agree the football under LJ to date has been much better than the whole time under Maloney bar Falkirk which was a blip. I fully agree not seeing the same signs that were obviously under Maloney but that was the chat. Again hoping it’s not true LJ seems a breath of fresh air to me and as another poster mentioned attacking football is what we have all been crying out for.

You're hoping that your mate who is "close to the players" is making up negative stories? Cool.

loanheadhibby
17-07-2022, 10:49 PM
Plumbing the depths with that comment 😎

Will be interested to see how Newell plays v Hearts shortly.

17-07-2022, 10:52 PM
You're hoping that your mate who is "close to the players" is making up negative stories? Cool.

If it’s who I think it is he’s not actually close to players. Knows plenty through his ongoing sponsorship and general involvement in events like testimonial dinners etc. It’s totally inaccurate, no doubt about it.

He's here!
18-07-2022, 09:39 AM
Any footage/goals available to view from yesterday?

18-07-2022, 09:44 AM

Hibs youtube page.

18-07-2022, 09:45 AM

https://youtu.be/p6BAB9Uhb0U

18-07-2022, 09:59 AM
Outrageous how far the keeper was off the line. Should have been retaken.

18-07-2022, 10:24 AM

Any players who are unhappy with the manager after one month can **** off.

About time they actually tried to keep a manager in a job for once.

18-07-2022, 10:46 AM
Any players who are unhappy with the manager after one month can **** off.

About time they actually tried to keep a manager in a job for once.

While I agree with your first sentence, neither manager who has lost his job in the last year can really blame the players IMO.

Ross didn't get the support he needed and deserved and key players got injured. Certainly was no lack of effort from players.

Maloney was just rubbish. No amount of good players would've made him look like a football manager.

He's here!
18-07-2022, 11:38 AM
While I agree with your first sentence, neither manager who has lost his job in the last year can really blame the players IMO.

Ross didn't get the support he needed and deserved and key players got injured. Certainly was no lack of effort from players.

Maloney was just rubbish. No amount of good players would've made him look like a football manager.

Rubbish or just hopelessly ill-prepared/inexperienced? We saw Hearts make the same mistake with Cathro in the sense that a highly-regarded backroom member of staff isn't necessarily ready for management.

We made an even worse blunder with Sauzee.

In saying that, Mowbray and Stubbs stepped up to the plate from coaching roles no problem at all - although Mowbray has made a far better fist of management post-Hibs than Stubbs.

Logie
18-07-2022, 12:01 PM

He’s not my mate.. I never once said that! I’m sharing on here in the hope that it was nonsense. As a Hibs fan why would I or any other Hibby want something like that to be true? Is that not the purpose of a forum to discuss?

ClermistonGreen
18-07-2022, 12:10 PM
I’ve got a mate who thinks Hibs are doing great .
Ive another who thinks they’re ****** !
Im going to watch them and try and make up my own mind .
Yes , I have more than 2 mates ! :agree:

18-07-2022, 01:52 PM
Outrageous how far the keeper was off the line. Should have been retaken.

Only if he saves or it impacts the kicker is it retaken. There’s no way it impacted McGeady so seems like the officials got this one right.

18-07-2022, 01:54 PM
Only if he saves or it impacts the kicker is it retaken. There’s no way it impacted McGeady so seems like the officials got this one right.

Surely the fact he was 4 yards off his line impacts the kicker e.g far less goal to hit especially given his frame :greengrin

18-07-2022, 01:57 PM

Is that the rule?

You can be off the line so long as you’re no impacting the kicker?

18-07-2022, 01:59 PM
I’ve got a mate who thinks Hibs are doing great .
Ive another who thinks they’re ****** !
Im going to watch them and try and make up my own mind .
Yes , I have more than 2 mates ! :agree:

Well, that's just the 2 you've mentioned...

18-07-2022, 02:00 PM
He’s not my mate.. I never once said that! I’m sharing on here in the hope that it was nonsense. As a Hibs fan why would I or any other Hibby want something like that to be true? Is that not the purpose of a forum to discuss?

So this boy that’s got loads of contacts with players has went gossiping to some random that’s not even his mate about what they’ve been telling him?

18-07-2022, 02:00 PM

Are you sure?

18-07-2022, 02:03 PM
The defending goalkeeper must remain on the goal line, facing the kicker, between the goalposts, without touching the goalposts, crossbar or goal net, until the ball has been kicked.

The players other than the kicker and goalkeeper must be:

at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the penalty mark
behind the penalty mark
inside the field of play
outside the penalty area

After the players have taken positions in accordance with this Law, the referee signals for the penalty kick to be taken.

The player taking the penalty kick must kick the ball forward; backheeling is permitted provided the ball moves forward.

When the ball is kicked, the defending goalkeeper must have at least part of one foot touching, in line with, or behind, the goal line.

18-07-2022, 02:03 PM
It should have been retaken.

18-07-2022, 02:21 PM
It should have been retaken.

It shouldn’t have.

the goalkeeper offends:
• if the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
• if the ball misses the goal or rebounds from the crossbar or goalpost(s), the kick is only retaken if the goalkeeper’s offence clearly impacted on the kicker
• if the ball is prevented from entering the goal by the goalkeeper, the kick is retaken

18-07-2022, 02:43 PM
It shouldn’t have.

the goalkeeper offends:
• if the ball misses the goal or rebounds from the crossbar or goalpost(s), the kick is only retaken if the goalkeeper’s offence clearly impacted on the kicker
• if the ball is prevented from entering the goal by the goalkeeper, the kick is retaken
How would the keeper being yards off his line not affect the kicker?

18-07-2022, 02:50 PM

His left foot was about a yard off the line when he kicked the ball and it made zero difference to where the ball went. I’ve posted the rules to correct a misconception from previous posters.

If anyone still thinks that the keepers position made a difference to where McGeady’s shot ended up then that’s cool, I suspect that it would only be some Hibs fans that hold that view.

18-07-2022, 02:55 PM
It shouldn’t have.

the goalkeeper offends:

Thanks, I didn't know that.

I wouldn't be surprised if some referees are unaware too.

18-07-2022, 02:58 PM
His left foot was about a yard off the line when he kicked the ball and it made zero difference to where the ball went. I’ve posted the rules to correct a misconception from previous posters.

If anyone still thinks that the keepers position made a difference to where McGeady’s shot ended up then that’s cool, I suspect that it would only be some Hibs fans that hold that view.
No worries I was at the game and thought he was miles off his line the way folk were talking on here.

18-07-2022, 03:09 PM

I’d suggest that narrowing the goals by coming off his line could well have made McGeady place the ball wider , and miss the target . There is no way you or me can know if that happened either way ..neither can the ref ..so should have been retaken …

LewysGot2
18-07-2022, 03:24 PM

This is how stuff gets out of hand though. You are sharing gossip at best that could be damaging to the club or fan morale. Lazy journo/jambo/some other Hibs fans take it as accurate and before you know it, it's another Internet fact.

I reckon I can work out who has said it. Sounds a bit like the kind of wind and pish that regularly circulates in some quarters where folk like to be seen to be "in the know" or gossip like its some daft golf club politics. I'm not meaning you but the kind of folks who seem to relish the talk of the steamie. I know at least one city centre hairdresser who is a similar purveyor of tittle tattle using the fact he cuts a former players hair. If I'd recycled every half baked story he relays we'd have the alleged salaries of half the squad and the personality clashes that go alongside them. I take it all with a pinch of salt and really don't feel the need to recycle these stories on a public forum. It's like taking the pub gossip and putting it on the front page of The Times.

No offence intended whatsoever but I'm at a loss to know why a he said she said bit of gossip is something folk would want to discuss?

18-07-2022, 03:57 PM

Given your mate could easily be talking out his arse it's pretty reprehensible of you to name ANY names here! In fact - even if you knew it to be true it would still be potentially damaging to the club.

I would request the admin delete ALL posts referencing these names - including this one here. Whether true or absolute BS, we could do without gutter journalists from the DR et al making hay over this.

18-07-2022, 03:58 PM
It shouldn’t have.

the goalkeeper offends:

This is just another example of the football rule makers making an absolute pigs ear of the game (much like the handball rule). We have a perfectly good rule, which can be applied to the letter (goalkeeper has to have one foot on the line till the ball is kicked. and then we go and ruin it by adding that the referee has to get inside the mind of the penalty taker and somehow decide if breaking this rule put him off !! it just plain stupid. I blame Arsene Wenger ! (even if he had nothing to do with it).

18-07-2022, 09:34 PM

Of course it would