View Full Version : Elie Youan
dastardly8
25-06-2022, 12:34 PM
Another striker signed on loan looks big and powerful with pace
25-06-2022, 12:56 PM
I’m really excited about him.
Still young but has actually played and scored goals at a high level. Looks rapid, strong skilful and good in the air.
For those wanting to know/see a bit more about our latest signing;
First interview;
https://youtu.be/ZBHGA4Cuxy0
Instagram;
https://instagram.com/e.youan?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=
Highlights;
https://youtu.be/T9qXnJrVbKw
https://youtu.be/AqGzZx8KQvU
https://youtu.be/o9LG0hQungs
https://youtu.be/oQUkFECH8uQ
CyberSauzee
25-06-2022, 01:09 PM
Definitely looks an exciting signing, interesting the official article talks about him possibly "left-hand side of a front three" - a not so subtle hint about what we can expect from LJ's lineups?
HendoDelivered
25-06-2022, 01:12 PM
Can see him and Tavares causing havoc for opposing defenders
Lendo
25-06-2022, 01:25 PM
Can see him and Tavares causing havoc for opposing defenders
Unbelievably excited at the thought of this.
SON OF PADDY
25-06-2022, 01:38 PM
He certainly doesn't lack any confidence, looking forward to seeing him play.
Welcome to the Hibernian Family Elie.
25-06-2022, 02:13 PM
This is more like it, a guy with a bit of experience of first team football at a good level and certainly looks physical and energetic, could well be just what we need up front. I watched the interview with Nohan Kenneh after Youan's You Tube clip too ... first time I'd seen it and I certainly got a good feeling about him as well.
There certainly seems to be an energy and willingness to succeed surrounding the youngsters we have signed, if that can translate onto the park maybe this could be a better season than I dared hope for ..... if, if if, :greengrin
25-06-2022, 02:14 PM
Love him already.
Anyone who's here to win the title certainly gets my vote 😁
25-06-2022, 02:45 PM
Out there on the terraces the team always gets my full support. I’m not a booer and I don’t generally slate any players.
But in here, I am hugely sceptical about our close season signings. It feels a bit like the Duff Jim close season when he brought in ‘up and coming’ youngsters. They didn’t work out. David Elliot, Jamie Mcquilken, Tall Pish, Jimmy Boco and Lee Power anyone?.
And I say it again. Videos mean very little.
25-06-2022, 02:49 PM
Out there on the terraces the team always gets my full support. I’m not a booer and I don’t generally slate any players.
But in here, I am hugely sceptical about our close season signings. It feels a bit like the Duff Jim close season when he brought in ‘up and coming’ youngsters. They didn’t work out. David Elliot, Jamie Mcquilken, Tall Pish, Jimmy Boco and Lee Power anyone?.
What would it take you to be enthused about them?
25-06-2022, 02:56 PM
I feel sorry for Clyde
Your a real Ray of sunshine 😂
25-06-2022, 02:59 PM
I feel sorry for Clyde
I think we’ll beat them every which way but loose.
25-06-2022, 03:01 PM
And I say it again. Videos mean very little.It's nothing like that at all
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
25-06-2022, 03:01 PM
Sounds like you've got tunnel vision.
25-06-2022, 03:05 PM
I don’t see the comparison at all between now with the signings of Jim Duffy. In fact, there are some people on here moaning that we are not bringing in more players with the types of CV Elliot and Tosh had when they signed for us.
David Elliot - 28 year old with over 200 appearances for Celtic, Falkirk, Partick.
Paul Tosh - 24 year old with over 100 appearances for Dundee.
25-06-2022, 03:17 PM
Tall Pish 😂😂 genuinely laughed out loud there. But come on, are we really comparing this close season to one approaching 30 years ago?
25-06-2022, 04:11 PM
I don’t see the comparison at all between now with the signings of Jim Duffy. In fact, there are some people on here moaning that we are not bringing in more players with the types of CV Elliot and Tosh had when they signed for us.
David Elliot - 28 year old with over 200 appearances for Celtic, Falkirk, Partick.
Paul Tosh - 24 year old with over 100 appearances for Dundee.
Yeah they were known quantities…we knew they were crap when we signed them [emoji12]
Hibiza
25-06-2022, 04:12 PM
Totally different , Duff Jimmy signed his pals , this is completely unique. Enjoy it.
Sioux
25-06-2022, 04:13 PM
That's a complete and utter pile of bs. But, you probably meant it to be. Sad really when you know nothing about any of the new players.
aberhibsfc
25-06-2022, 04:40 PM
I hope we have a cast iron option on him. If this lad plays well, I don't want to experience another Celtic - Agathe situation.
ZitellZeTime
25-06-2022, 05:03 PM
Thats brutal Jimmy Boco was my hero as a kid, think I've still got one of those Boco wigs lying around somewhere, dude was even the captain of the Benin national side. You need to have a word with yourself.
ZitellZeTime
25-06-2022, 05:14 PM
I hope we have a cast iron option on him. If this lad plays well, I don't want to experience another Celtic - Agathe situation.
Aw that was horrible, he was amazing to watch, remember that goal against Dundee from the half way line then seeing Rab Douglas go mental after it, was class. If he had joined nowadays he would have been labeled as ***** and getting booos everytime he touched the ball after he missed that sitter in i think what was his first game too lol.
What was the actual deal there, I thought we took him on like a 3 month trial or something he did well and Celtic then took him, but we got like a tiny amount of money didnt we? So did we let him leave before the end of the loan or something?
That was a big **** up, we would have made decent money from him when he eventually left, Mcleish it was in charge at the time eh?
25-06-2022, 05:45 PM
When I seen a headline on news now I thought this was a signing for the ladies team 😁
Looks a good prospect on paper so another one to get excited about.
Love him already.
Anyone who's here to win the title certainly gets my vote 😁
Terrific interview full of confidence and doesn't he just look the part, looking forward to seeing him play 👍
CB Hibs 68
25-06-2022, 07:14 PM
Aw that was horrible, he was amazing to watch, remember that goal against Dundee from the half way line then seeing Rab Douglas go mental after it, was class. If he had joined nowadays he would have been labeled as ***** and getting booos everytime he touched the ball after he missed that sitter in i think what was his first game too lol.
What was the actual deal there, I thought we took him on like a 3 month trial or something he did well and Celtic then took him, but we got like a tiny amount of money didnt we? So did we let him leave before the end of the loan or something?
That was a big **** up, we would have made decent money from him when he eventually left, Mcleish it was in charge at the time eh?
Pretty sure we had just sold Kenny Miller to Rangers and it looked like Agathe was the replacement.He was a punt as he came from Raiith Rovers and there is not a Hibs fan who knew how good he was .Fast forward an amazing goal against Dundee with Martin O neill in the crowd and Celtic did what Celtic do and nicked him from us .
Green Reaper
25-06-2022, 07:18 PM
Thats brutal Jimmy Boco was my hero as a kid, think I've still got one of those Boco wigs lying around somewhere, dude was even the captain of the Benin national side. You need to have a word with yourself.
It can now be your Jair Tavares wig 😬
ZitellZeTime
25-06-2022, 08:35 PM
Pretty sure we had just sold Kenny Miller to Rangers and it looked like Agathe was the replacement.He was a punt as he came from Raiith Rovers and there is not a Hibs fan who knew how good he was .Fast forward an amazing goal against Dundee with Martin O neill in the crowd and Celtic did what Celtic do and nicked him from us .
Aye I looked it up, it was a short term trial and they nicked them from us, didn't know it was that goal and he was in the stands that sealed the deal, wish he had played ***** that day now lol.
But it says they paid just under 30k to us for him? Its no like he came through our academy or anything, so the only thing I can think is we let him go a couple of games before the end of the short term deal to get the 25-30k or something?
Says he played that well at celtic the next season several top Juventus and Valencia teams were scouting him. I mean maybe we maybe didn't know much about him but im sure Mcleish paid like 250k for Kevin Nicol from Raith who was ***** and basically sat on the bench for a few years got loaned out and never heard of again.
paid a few hundred thousand for Martin Mcintosh, Townsley got a few year contract I think but he was free like Agathe, not sure what he saw to pay money quarter of a mil and give a 4 year contract to the likes of Nicol to warm the bench but just give Agathe who was available for free just a short term trial for him to get stolen.
Was definitely a **** up, was more how we got the little fee that I can't remember though.
ZitellZeTime
25-06-2022, 08:37 PM
It can now be your Jair Tavares wig 😬
I was going to save it for another year or so as my hair is starting to get thin but thats a great idea, I'll just wear it all the time haha
25-06-2022, 09:49 PM
This is more like it, a guy with a bit of experience of first team football at a good level and certainly looks physical and energetic, could well be just what we need up front. I watched the interview with Nohan Kenneh after Youan's You Tube clip too ... first time I'd seen it and I certainly got a good feeling about him as well.
There certainly seems to be an energy and willingness to succeed surrounding the youngsters we have signed, if that can translate onto the park maybe this could be a better season than I dared hope for ..... if, if if, :greengrin
Agreed this one is a bit more like it. Has played at a decent level infront of 15K fans every week so should know what it's all about.
For some sort of comparison, he's scored 11 in 47 for St Gallen in the Swiss top flight. Kamberi scored 3 in 41 with a spell at the same club.
Part of me thinks we are going all out with the policy of buying young sellable assets and where is the plan to form a squad. The other part of me is starting to think maybe we have a signing policy and manager that is putting exciting attacking football absolutely at the forefront that will fans looking forward to going back to Easter Road again after watching dreary football for too long - this I think we can all get behind and become part of the performance as LJ keeps saying.
The feeling changes on a daily basis but the more of these signings that come in the door the more it will be exciting to find out.
Lester B
25-06-2022, 09:56 PM
The terraces? Not been to a game in quite a while I take it.
Seriously though. You really think the current situation is remotely analogous to way back then. Seriously?
HFC93
25-06-2022, 10:05 PM
He fits the profile of players who have done well in Scotland in the past. I have a good feeling about him.
HibeEC
25-06-2022, 11:16 PM
Bad signings? Jimmy Boco? No way. Jim Duffy? Yes. After Duffy was McLeish, so who knows? But that was all 20+ years ago. As for the new, younger signings? I just hope that some of them get us out of our seat and singing again!
green with envy
25-06-2022, 11:41 PM
Thanks for cheering me up. Just what I needed.🙈
26-06-2022, 06:16 AM
Looks a really good young player. Let's hope he gets the chance to play to his strengths.
He didn't play much at KV Mechelen in the season just finished. Anyone know the reason for this?
26-06-2022, 06:31 AM
Looks a really good young player. Let's hope he gets the chance to play to his strengths.
He didn't play much at KV Mechelen in the season just finished. Anyone know the reason for this?
Looks like he joined on the last day of the transfer window and couldn’t manage to force his way into the established first XI which was fighting it out for a European place. Mechelen’s main 2 strikers and 2 wingers had 45 goals and 24 assists between so they obviously weren’t crying out for a new attacker.
26-06-2022, 07:31 AM
Think he was just too fit to play any prominent role as the Mechelen Man…they clearly like the bigger types up front [emoji12]
Seen the big fella this morning in Easter Rd loading a big suitcase into the boot of a car with Bojang, obviously getting ready for Portugal.
JammyDoidger
26-06-2022, 08:19 AM
Came across a link from a couple days ago saying Hamburg were interested in Elie Youan, to replace one of their departing strikers, mentions Elie had 9 goal contributions in 17 starts for St.Gallen, didn't think he got enough respect after his start there, implying he wanted more money and got papped out on loan to Mechelen in Belgium, Transfermarkt have him rated at just shy of 1m wonder what the agreed fee we have with St.Gallen is. Really excited by this boy.
https://www.24hamburg.de/hsv/zu-und-...-91609953.html
26-06-2022, 08:19 AM
Seen the big fella this morning in Easter Rd loading a big suitcase into the boot of a car with Bojang, obviously getting ready for Portugal.
Must be cheaper than buying Bojang a ticket.
Looks like he joined on the last day of the transfer window and couldn’t manage to force his way into the established first XI which was fighting it out for a European place. Mechelen’s main 2 strikers and 2 wingers had 45 goals and 24 assists between so they obviously weren’t crying out for a new attacker.
Sounds like a reasonable explanation. He was waiting for his chance but it never came along. Even if he'd been excellent in training, the manager may well have not wanted to tinker with the front line.
Victor
26-06-2022, 09:41 AM
Must be cheaper than buying Bojang a ticket.
[emoji23]
26-06-2022, 10:40 AM
When I seen a headline on news now I thought this was a signing for the ladies team 😁
Looks a good prospect on paper so another one to get excited about.
Glad it wasn't just me
26-06-2022, 10:46 AM
Duffy’s problem wasn’t just the pish he brought in - it was the quality who walked out the door and weren’t replaced.
Leighton was a top keeper, Geebsie was our captain and the glue that held the whole defensive unit together and at that time Jackson was on top of his game, possibly as good a player as we’ve had in my time watching Hibs.
Enter Ollie the goalie, Joe McLaughlin and Lee Power…
Macey, McGinn and Doidge will all be missed by varying degrees but they’re not players of the level Duffy lost.
Marshall will need to be a bit better than Ollie though, whatever happens.
26-06-2022, 10:51 AM
Duffy’s problem wasn’t just the pish he brought in - it was the quality who walked out the door and weren’t replaced.
Leighton was a top keeper, Geebsie was our captain and the glue that held the whole defensive unit together and at that time Jackson was on top of his game, possibly as good a player as we’ve had in my time watching Hibs.
Macey, McGinn and Doidge will all be missed by varying degrees but they’re not players of the level Duffy lost.
Don't think there is anything to worry that not being the case.
26-06-2022, 10:52 AM
I think McLaughlin was a Miller signing (indicative of us cutting our cloth to pay for the new stands) but your point still stands.
Letting McAllister go for a pittance and Mickey Weir leave for free were terrible moves - McAllister was superb for Falkirk for a number of years afterwards, and watching Weir running the show at Ibrox when Motherwell beat them there to condemn us to the relegation playoff really stuck in the throat.
Think Duffy’s reputation for developing youth was the main reason we appointed him, and he was clearly trying to lower the average age of the squad considerably - but he went too far and lost some hugely valuable experience, whilst signing poorly,
HibbyDave
26-06-2022, 11:21 AM
Sure we had other players from St Galen.
One was the subject of a diary series on here I think.
I may be wrong😂
26-06-2022, 12:01 PM
Think Duffy’s reputation for developing youth was the main reason we appointed him, and he was clearly trying to lower the average age of the squad considerably - but he went too far and lost some hugely valuable experience, whilst signing poorly,
Which is what we seem to be doing now, arguably to a greater degree. Let’s hope Marshall, McGeady and hopefully somebody else in the 25-30 bracket can guide the younger guys.
SonOfDavidFrancey
26-06-2022, 12:05 PM
Very nice
26-06-2022, 12:59 PM
Which is what we seem to be doing now, arguably to a greater degree. Let’s hope Marshall, McGeady and hopefully somebody else in the 25-30 bracket can guide the younger guys.
We have Demetri Mitchell, Chris Cadden, Kevin Nisbet, Joe Newell, Christian Doidge between 25-30. Paul Hanlon, Lewis Stevenson over 30 plus the two you already mentioned.
Plus Porteous at 23 with lots of valuable experience.
To me, it doesn't look like a squad that lacks experience, 7 of those players have been full internationals, Kevin Nisbet almost fell out of the game and worked his way back, Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson are living hibs legends. It's now up to the manager to blend the group together and get a cohesive team out of it.
26-06-2022, 01:08 PM
We have Demetri Mitchell, Chris Cadden, Kevin Nisbet, Joe Newell, Christian Doidge between 25-30. Paul Hanlon, Lewis Stevenson over 30 plus the two you already mentioned.
To me, it doesn't look like a squad that lacks experience, 7 of those players have been full internationals, Kevin Nisbet almost fell out of the game and worked his way back, Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson are living hibs legends. It's now up to the manager to blend the group together and get a cohesive team out of it.
I don’t get how so many folk are calling for experienced players when as you’ve stated we have loads.
26-06-2022, 01:22 PM
Aye I looked it up, it was a short term trial and they nicked them from us, didn't know it was that goal and he was in the stands that sealed the deal, wish he had played ***** that day now lol.
But it says they paid just under 30k to us for him? Its no like he came through our academy or anything, so the only thing I can think is we let him go a couple of games before the end of the short term deal to get the 25-30k or something?
Says he played that well at celtic the next season several top Juventus and Valencia teams were scouting him. I mean maybe we maybe didn't know much about him but im sure Mcleish paid like 250k for Kevin Nicol from Raith who was ***** and basically sat on the bench for a few years got loaned out and never heard of again.
paid a few hundred thousand for Martin Mcintosh, Townsley got a few year contract I think but he was free like Agathe, not sure what he saw to pay money quarter of a mil and give a 4 year contract to the likes of Nicol to warm the bench but just give Agathe who was available for free just a short term trial for him to get stolen.
Was definitely a **** up, was more how we got the little fee that I can't remember though.
That’s more or less what happened. Once he’d scored a few and was on fire after the derby, we were trying to tie him down long term. O’Neill came sniffing, Agathe’s head was turned and there was only one place he was going. Pointless keeping him to the end of the three month “trial” so it ended early with them paying something like 35k I think. Big mistake from McLeish. Right up there with not capping Boyle.
26-06-2022, 04:00 PM
Mitchell has a history of being injured and who knows whether he will contribute, Nisbet is out, possibly until late this year, Hanlon and Stevenson are approaching the twilight of their careers, Newell flatters to deceive, Doidge struggled after serious injury. Cadden I like, he's limited in some respects, but he's a decent squad player and Porteous will almost certainly leave before the season starts.
We still need more first team ready quality, at centre half, central midfield and striker.
Thankfully, I think our owner and manager know that and we will see more movement in and out.
Mitchell has a history of being injured and who knows whether he will contribute, Nisbet is out, possibly until late this year, Hanlon and Stevenson are approaching the twilight of their careers, Newell flatters to deceive, Doidge struggled after serious injury. Cadden I like, he's limited in some respects, but he's a decent squad player and Porteous will almost certainly leave before the season starts.
We still need more first team ready quality, at centre half, central midfield and striker.
Thankfully, I think our owner and manager know that and we will see more movement in and out.
I can't believe the amount of injury prone players we've signed this past 2-3 years, it's been a big flaw in our recruitment.
26-06-2022, 06:39 PM
I can't believe the amount of injury prone players we've signed this past 2-3 years, it's been a big flaw in our recruitment.
Should we have somehow predicted doidge and Nisbet would get injured?
dalkeith stu
26-06-2022, 06:43 PM
Pretty sure we had Celtic next in the League and they decided to cough up so they didn't have to face him.
Doidge and Nisbet are not injury prone as far as I can see, I'm talking about, Murphy and Magennis are both known but we now have Mitchell and in the past we lost Hallberg, Newell, Wright etc. We really struggled to play the same players week in week out, little stability.
26-06-2022, 07:27 PM
No, injuries happen.
Magennis and Mitchell are the obvious examples though. Both had bad injury histories then, when they’ve come here, that’s continued which isn’t really a surprise.
26-06-2022, 07:44 PM
No, injuries happen.
Magennis and Mitchell are the obvious examples though. Both had bad injury histories then, when they’ve come here, that’s continued which isn’t really a surprise.
Mitchell’s was nothing to do with his history though, he went into a 50/50 and came out injured.
26-06-2022, 07:57 PM
Mitchell’s was nothing to do with his history though, he went into a 50/50 and came out injured.
Then came back for half an hour and ended up injured again.
Mr. Wonderful
26-06-2022, 08:08 PM
20/80 in the other guys favour. Daft tackle
26-06-2022, 08:10 PM
Last season`s injury situation especially from January onwards was incredibly bad luck . Clarke gets injured before he made his debut , Mitchell soon after his , main striker seriously injured while other isn`t fully recovered from another serious injury . Manager forced to play players who weren`t ready fitness wise ( Doidge after injury , Hanlon , even on loan Jasper who was great before injury in March international break but poor after, after injury , etc ) or experience wise ( 2 Norwegians for example ) . Plus McGennis , Murphy , Wright , Newell ,.. And all this after we`ve sold Boyle . Every club gets injuries every season but last season we were extremely unlucky . In the end it meant we didn`t make Europe and Maloney obviously suffered in losing his job and probably got more to prove in future managerial jobs . Hopefully we won`t have same bad luck this year and players like Melkerson and Rocky will benefit from early experience they got cause of injuries to teammates .
chippy
26-06-2022, 08:38 PM
[QUOTE=IberianHibernian;7005286]Last season`s injury situation especially from January onwards was incredibly bad luck . Clarke gets injured before he made his debut , Mitchell soon after his , main striker seriously injured while other isn`t fully recovered from another serious injury . Manager forced to play players who weren`t ready fitness wise ( Doidge after injury , Hanlon , even on loan Jasper who was great before injury in March international break but poor after, after injury , etc ) or experience wise ( 2 Norwegians for example ) . Plus McGennis , Murphy , Wright , Newell ,.. And all this after we`ve sold Boyle . Every club gets injuries every season but last season we were extremely unlucky . In the end it meant we didn`t make Europe and Maloney obviously suffered in losing his job and probably got more to prove in future managerial jobs . Hopefully we won`t have same bad luck this year and players like Melkerson and Rocky will benefit from early experience they got cause of injuries to teammates .[/QUOTE
Last seasons injuries and the imoact on our failure to get into Europe and cup final is a major reason to have a B team. Guys very close to being ready for the 1st team. A glut of injuries or poor performances them we have oven ready alternatives
26-06-2022, 08:55 PM
[QUOTE=IberianHibernian;7005286]Last season`s injury situation especially from January onwards was incredibly bad luck . Clarke gets injured before he made his debut , Mitchell soon after his , main striker seriously injured while other isn`t fully recovered from another serious injury . Manager forced to play players who weren`t ready fitness wise ( Doidge after injury , Hanlon , even on loan Jasper who was great before injury in March international break but poor after, after injury , etc ) or experience wise ( 2 Norwegians for example ) . Plus McGennis , Murphy , Wright , Newell ,.. And all this after we`ve sold Boyle . Every club gets injuries every season but last season we were extremely unlucky . In the end it meant we didn`t make Europe and Maloney obviously suffered in losing his job and probably got more to prove in future managerial jobs . Hopefully we won`t have same bad luck this year and players like Melkerson and Rocky will benefit from early experience they got cause of injuries to teammates .[/QUOTE
Last seasons injuries and the imoact on our failure to get into Europe and cup final is a major reason to have a B team. Guys very close to being ready for the 1st team. A glut of injuries or poor performances them we have oven ready alternativesI agree entirely . May be frustrating to have to wait but hope club ride storm and stick with B team strategy as I think we`ll benefit from it in a year or two and onwards .
27-06-2022, 05:41 AM
Doidge and Nisbet are not injury prone as far as I can see, I'm talking about, Murphy and Magennis are both known but we now have Mitchell and in the past we lost Hallberg, Newell, Wright etc. We really struggled to play the same players week in week out, little stability.
Murphy and magennis only really had 1 bad injury before Hibs. Murphy played every week from about 18 until that injury.
Turkish Green
27-06-2022, 06:35 AM
My son has a promo video made from his US scholarship days. He looks good and beats his man but I know from watching him from U10s that he cannae hit a coos erse with a banjo. Videos lie, should always see your target play live.
27-06-2022, 09:02 AM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1541344459367059456?s=21&t=RqMQ0ItF9EVQqldwwg4DiA
He’s here and he’s perfect
27-06-2022, 09:05 AM
https://twitter.com/hibernianfc/status/1541344459367059456?s=21&t=RqMQ0ItF9EVQqldwwg4DiA
He’s here and he’s perfect
He's arguably the greatest ever imo.
Scotty Leither
27-06-2022, 09:25 AM
[QUOTE=
Thankfully, I think our owner and manager know that and we will see more movement in and out.[/QUOTE]
Just so long as the owner realises the league season starts in a little over a month, and we still lack a decent midfield playmaker, we need options at centre back and nobody has seen any of the young forwards we've signed in action competitively.
We need our business done early this year, that means no last-minute loan deals at half eleven on the 31st of August.
After the last two transfer windows the excuse bank is empty for me, and I'm not convinced we're spending any meaningful money yet to address the deficiencies of this squad.
Time will tell, I suppose...
27-06-2022, 09:42 AM
Just so long as the owner realises the league season starts in a little over a month, and we still lack a decent midfield playmaker, we need options at centre back and nobody has seen any of the young forwards we've signed in action competitively.
We need our business done early this year, that means no last-minute loan deals at half eleven on the 31st of August.
After the last two transfer windows the excuse bank is empty for me, and I'm not convinced we're spending any meaningful money yet to address the deficiencies of this squad.
Think we’ve signed eight players already, i don’t really think it’s reasonable to complain that we’ve not done business early this year so the club really don’t need any excuses.
How much is meaningful money and what are you basing your assumption on? Genuinely interested because on the face of it, it looks like the opposite is true.
27-06-2022, 09:44 AM
We’ve obviously decided to go with youthful exuberance in attack, I’m assuming McGeady will play more centrally or drift in field, we also have Henderson for that job.
I do agree that central midfield and defence both look light though.
27-06-2022, 10:13 AM
We’ve obviously decided to go with youthful exuberance in attack, I’m assuming McGeady will play more centrally or drift in field, we also have Henderson for that job.
I do agree that central midfield and defence both look light though.
Centre half especially. We’ve looked light here for a couple of seasons imho and it definitely needs addressed this window.
From the squad that left for Program i think we’re still a midfielder and a striker short as well.
27-06-2022, 10:20 AM
Centre half especially. We’ve looked light here for a couple of seasons imho and it definitely needs addressed this window.
From the squad that left for Program i think we’re still a midfielder and a striker short as well.
I'd have to agree definitely short, I'd like 6 but that's hellish greedy, need 4 like you say min 1 CB , a CM player or 2 and perhaps 1 more in forward areas'.
Obviously to get those in people would need to be moved on.
27-06-2022, 11:03 AM
I think we can safely assume the owner understands when the season starts!
Also we have already signed 8 players so clearly we have done a lot of business early already.
And I can confidently predict our new manager will indeed be assessing what else he needs and working with the recruitment team accordingly!
27-06-2022, 11:09 AM
Also we have already signed 8 players so clearly we have done a lot of business early already.
And I can confidently predict our new manager will indeed be assessing what else he needs and working with the recruitment team accordingly!
I don't think I can remember a time when Hibs were ready for the start of the season. Maybe under Ross when we have an excellent start to the season defensively in the empty grounds? Or when we flew out of the blocks in the Championship under Lennon?
Stubbs had a lot to do during his summer windows and there's no doubt that the business he did came very good in the end, but he still managed to start both of his seasons slowly.
Our lack of preparedness for the start of seasons is possibly my biggest Hibs pet hate, so I can certainly empathise with anyone who gets twitchy at this time of year, even with lots of time to go to get ready.
(By contrast, I think we have often been superb at rectifying the situation in recent winter windows.)
Scotty Leither
27-06-2022, 02:48 PM
I'll venture Hearts will have close to their first-pick eleven for the season ready to play us in the first Derby at Easter Road.
I'm not so convinced about us, especially given our track record of recent years when Darren McGregor was first choice centre half for our European games.
We've signed two experienced players, one of which hasn't played for half of last season, and a clutch of young, raw players under this tombola-style approach to recruitment which has bitten us on the @rse in the last two windows.
27-06-2022, 02:55 PM
I'll venture Hearts will have close to their first-pick eleven for the season ready to play us in the first Derby at Easter Road.
I'm not so convinced about us, especially given our track record of recent years when Darren McGregor was first choice centre half for our European games.
We've signed two experienced players, one of which hasn't played for half of last season, and a clutch of young, raw players under this tombola-style approach to recruitment which has bitten us on the @rse in the last two windows.
Yep. Padlock the gates. We’re done.
27-06-2022, 03:00 PM
It’s a particular bug bear of mines that people keep attributing the summer recruitment last year to the same people as the January window.
It wasn’t the same people in charge, and I don’t particularly (if at all) agree that they mirror each other in the way they were carried out.
The results were largely the same, but I don’t think that means they were approached in the same way.
Not a big deal of course it’s just something I have seen people using as a means of critique but I believe it to be incorrect.
27-06-2022, 03:02 PM
But it’s clear we are a different stages in terms of building a squad.
Hearts are complimenting a team that finished 3rd while we are doing what a lot of fans have asked for and looking to overhaul the squad with a new manager.
You either have faith in that approach and that we are building a Dev squad and a First Team squad following a process that involves a global approach in terms of sourcing players based off certain parameters (including key input from LJ) or you don’t I suppose.
Not sure harking back to what we did in previous windows is overly informative in terms of what we are doing this summer but only time will tell. So far though I quite like what we have done and I’m pretty sure there is more to come.
Scotty Leither
27-06-2022, 03:07 PM
Yep. Padlock the gates. We’re done.
No wish to be a pedant myself, but that's not the point I was making, but I suspect you knew that.
Scotty Leither
27-06-2022, 03:10 PM
It’s a particular bug bear of mines that people keep attributing the summer recruitment last year to the same people as the January window.
It wasn’t the same people in charge, and I don’t particularly (if at all) agree that they mirror each other in the way they were carried out.
The results were largely the same, but I don’t think that means they were approached in the same way.
Not a big deal of course it’s just something I have seen people using as a means of critique but I believe it to be incorrect.
They did the same thing as previous Board/recruitment teams at Hibs did though - sold our best player, didn't replace him adequately and half of those they did bring in have been subsequently released because they weren't good enough.
27-06-2022, 03:22 PM
You compare us to Hearts transfer business, yet some of their best business last summer that saw them to 3rd were players with similar CVs to those we are signing.
Alex Cochrane - had only started one game for Brighton in the league cup and played 500 minutes in the Belgian 2nd tier.
Beni Baningime - 21 year old from Premier League reserves, only 7 professional starts in his career.
Cammy Devlin and Nathaniel Atkinson - Young Players from Aussie league.
27-06-2022, 03:28 PM
You compare us to Hearts transfer business, yet some of their best business last summer that saw them to 3rd were players with similar CVs to those we are signing.
Alex Cochrane - had only started one game for Brighton in the league cup and played 500 minutes in the Belgian 2nd tier.
Beni Baningime - 21 year old from Premier League reserves, only 7 professional starts in his career.
Cammy Devlin and Nathaniel Atkinson - Young Players from Aussie league.
Good point.
Scotty Leither
27-06-2022, 11:10 PM
I just hope we're not asking laddies to do mens' jobs. It's one key factor our recruitment team doesn't seem to get.
27-06-2022, 11:17 PM
I just hope we're not asking laddies to do mens' jobs. It's one key factor our recruitment team doesn't seem to get.
We got relegated with a midfield of men and then won the Scottish cup with a midfield of players we signed as laddies. Players are either good enough or not good enough, I really don’t understand the obsession some have with defining players by their ages.
27-06-2022, 11:36 PM
I think they get it. I think they very much get it.
Perhaps it's Johnson's influence but the "laddies" we are signing right now are ready to step up.
Looking forward to it.
28-06-2022, 08:24 AM
If they are good enough they are old enough.
The game is littered with those who are old enough but nowhere near adequate
28-06-2022, 11:22 AM
Assistant manager for Youan’s old club gives his opinion
https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/sport/he-excite-fans-hibs-new-24339046
28-06-2022, 05:34 PM
He is beautiful. Think I have a man crush.
29-06-2022, 06:55 AM
We got relegated with a midfield of men and then won the Scottish cup with a midfield of players we signed as laddies. Players are either good enough or not good enough, I really don’t understand the obsession some have with defining players by their ages.
Not been watching football for long?
Age is quite an important factor. Youthful energy is great, but also nous and experience.
It’s all about balance.
29-06-2022, 08:25 AM
Not been watching football for long?
Age is quite an important factor. Youthful energy is great, but also nous and experience.
It’s all about balance.
I didn’t say nous and experience wasn’t important, did I? I said it appears that some people have an obsession with defining whether a player will be good enough based solely on their age to the extent that they’d probably prioritise experience over ability.
I’ve watched football long enough and seen us sign plenty “experienced heads” but with limited ability to know that a player can have all the nous and experience in the world but if they aren’t good enough it doesn’t matter. At the end of the day, a **** player with nous and experience is still a **** player.
29-06-2022, 12:22 PM
Our first choice centre backs for those games were Porto and Hanlon no?
But Hanlon was injured in the first leg, so couldn't play the second.
19-07-2022, 05:43 PM
Apparently, five goals in today's game versus Norwich city u23s.
I'm excited to see him play. Let's hope we get to see him soon at Easter Road.
JamesHFC
19-07-2022, 05:43 PM
This guy is the dogs bollocks. Our marquee signing this summer 👍🏻
19-07-2022, 05:46 PM
I really hope he’s available soon. Liked what I saw of him in the friendlies.
19-07-2022, 05:58 PM
I really hope we take up the option to buy asap if he's as good as I think he's going to be!!
19-07-2022, 05:59 PM
And it turns out Lee Johnson
Just like us
Was dreaming of Elie Youan
19-07-2022, 06:58 PM
Is Youan the player Johnson referred to when he said he was surprised (and delighted) that we'd got him?
cameronw-hfc
19-07-2022, 07:04 PM
Check his IG story for the goals. Defo got all 5, one penalty and 4 from open play.
cameronw-hfc
Is Youan the player Johnson referred to when he said he was surprised (and delighted) that we'd got him?
Think that was Kenneh
Very excited to see him. Hopefully a star and lifts our other forwards up too
19-07-2022, 07:07 PM
Definitely said it about Tavares.
Must admit it’s Youan I’m he most excited for as he’s at least played a decent amount of games and scored goals at a good level. Kenneh and Tavares I’m a bit sceptical of due to age/lack of experience and we seem to be banking alot on them being the real deal
Lendo
19-07-2022, 07:08 PM
Check his IG story for the goals. Defo got all 5, one penalty and 4 from open play.
Just watched. Filmed from a plane coming in to land at Edinburgh Airport I assume. Some tidy finishes (I think, hard to tell from 35’000 feet)
19-07-2022, 07:09 PM
Great intelligent run for the last goal. Looks like he could be a real threat playing on the shoulder of the last man
19-07-2022, 07:22 PM
Definitely said it about Tavares.
Must admit it’s Youan I’m he most excited for as he’s at least played a decent amount of games and scored goals at a good level. Kenneh and Tavares I’m a bit sceptical of due to age/lack of experience and we seem to be banking alot on them being the real deal
Youan is who I'm most excited about seeing also. Looked really exciting in pre season and to score 5 goals all by himself in one match is impressive to say the least!
19-07-2022, 07:26 PM
Youan looked good in the friendlies but also looks a bit like what we’ve lacked as a team when we’ve toiled for spells during the last few games.
19-07-2022, 07:31 PM
Youan looked good in the friendlies but also looks a bit like what we’ve lacked as a team when we’ve toiled for spells during the last few games.
I think the threat he offers in behind is huge.
Even things like when as a team were under pressure they’ll know a quick ball in behind to Youan gives us a chance and he can make it good. No disrespect to Doidge but he just doesn’t offer that, the defence whilst under pressure need to clip a ball into his chest.
As we saw in the friendlies too he also wins it back a lot and can drive us forward
19-07-2022, 07:33 PM
Youan is who I'm most excited about seeing also. Looked really exciting in pre season and to score 5 goals all by himself in one match is impressive to say the least!
I remember Joe Harper doing that and still getting pelters from the boo boys.
19-07-2022, 07:45 PM
Good to see the positivity building here.
19-07-2022, 07:48 PM
Great to hear, can’t wait to see him play.
19-07-2022, 07:48 PM
That was because he single handedly broke up the Tornados behind Eddie Turnbulls back. Apparently. Ahem.
cameronw-hfc
19-07-2022, 09:30 PM
Garry O'Connor on FB saying earlier it was Bojang that scored 5, then once he was corrected said they both look like twins. Will give Gaz the benefit of the doubt here, but seems like a nasty racial stereotype of all black lads look the same as personally, I don't see the similarities. Seems to be a lot of fans on Twitter that have taken that comment and adamant that Bojang scored all 5 despite Elie posting them on his Insta.🙃
19-07-2022, 09:31 PM
Think he said that about Jair Tavares
19-07-2022, 09:32 PM
Garry O'Connor on FB saying earlier it was Bojang that scored 5, then once he was corrected said they both look like twins. Will give Gaz the benefit of the doubt here, but seems like a nasty racial stereotype of all black lads look the same as personally, I don't see the similarities. Seems to be a lot of fans on Twitter that have taken that comment and adamant that Bojang scored all 5 despite Elie posting them on his Insta.🙃
Jeezo
7Hero
19-07-2022, 10:25 PM
im sure its not meant as racism he is just as thick as 2 short planks. What an idiot..
19-07-2022, 10:34 PM
Gaz really should do himself a favour and stay off social media.
cameronw-hfc
19-07-2022, 10:39 PM
im sure its not meant as racism he is just as thick as 2 short planks. What an idiot..
That's why I said I'll give him benefit of doubt, it just looks pretty awful.
I remember when he blatantly admitted to Si Ferry he was doping in Russia. Said "they'd hook us up to machines, take our blood and put cleaner blood in and I felt better than ever" or something of the sort. Si caught it and changed topic pretty quickly. Was funny to say the least, especially being an MMA writer, I'm pretty clued up on doping etc and this was as blatant as you could get, especially with the Russian doping scandals.
Gaz is just thick as mince, I don't think he meant malice, but it really doesn't look good.
HIBS NUTS
20-07-2022, 06:50 AM
I remember when he blatantly admitted to Si Ferry he was doping in Russia. Said "they'd hook us up to machines, take our blood and put cleaner blood in and I felt better than ever" or something of the sort. Si caught it and changed topic pretty quickly. Was funny to say the least, especially being an MMA writer, I'm pretty clued up on doping etc and this was as blatant as you could get, especially with the Russian doping scandals.
Gaz is just thick as mince, I don't think he meant malice, but it really doesn't look good.
What looked like the whole of the o’connor family were supporting josh o’connor at the newtongrange development game, including Gary on crutches.
Is there some now doubt about who scored the 5 goals against Norwich, the player might have been down as a trialist, especially if he has no clearance to play ?.
20-07-2022, 07:07 AM
Jeez. Thick as mince.
20-07-2022, 07:16 AM
What looked like the whole of the o’connor family were supporting josh o’connor at the newtongrange development game, including Gary on crutches.
Is there some now doubt about who scored the 5 goals against Norwich, the player might have been down as a trialist, especially if he has no clearance to play ?.
I can't imagine Elie sharing Bojang's goals on his instagram so probably safer to assume it was Youan who scored the goals and Garry has let himself down here.
Arch Stanton
20-07-2022, 07:26 AM
Got a link for that, ta.
20-07-2022, 07:27 AM
Got a link for that, ta.
The stories have expired now unfortunately.
20-07-2022, 07:28 AM
I was at the game but by the time I had finished work the 2nd half had started by the time I turned up. We were already 5 nil up and I was informed that Youan had scored all 5 goals, the person who told me was under the trees beyond the corner flag, could they have been mistaken? It's a possibility. By that time he had been substituted and Josh O'connor was playing up front.
HIBS NUTS
20-07-2022, 07:33 AM
I can't imagine Elie sharing Bojang's goals on his instagram so probably safer to assume it was Youan who scored the goals and Garry has let himself down here.
aye it’s a shame, Gary comes across nice but dim, I used to get embarrassed by some of the things my dad said at games, but he didn’t get, what i was on about, regarding racism.
Hes 91 now and it was just normal for that generation.
20-07-2022, 07:39 AM
aye it’s a shame, Gary comes across nice but dim, I used to get embarrassed by some of the things my dad said at games, but he didn’t get, what i was on about, regarding racism.
Hes 91 now and it was just normal for that generation.
Maybe a can of worms I shouldn’t be opening here but is getting two new players mixed up really racist?
Presumably there was no team sheets handed out and I’m guessing he’s no overly familiar with either of the players. Seems like an innocent mistake rather than anything racist to me.
20-07-2022, 07:46 AM
Maybe a can of worms I shouldn’t be opening here but is getting two new players mixed up really racist?
Presumably there was no team sheets handed out and I’m guessing he’s no overly familiar with either of the players. Seems like an innocent mistake rather than anything racist to me.
I don't think it's racist but some folk will make it so. It's what they do.
20-07-2022, 07:51 AM
Agreed. Should maybe have just left them to it but doesn’t seem right some will be labelling him as being racist or whatever when it was clearly just a mistake (or maybe not if the club were putting it out there that it was Bojang for cynical reasons as was suggested earlier in the thread)
OldEast
20-07-2022, 07:53 AM
Unfortunately this is true. Never happy unless they can find some slight angle to get offended by.
20-07-2022, 07:57 AM
Agreed. Should maybe have just left them to it but doesn’t seem right some will be labelling him as being racist or whatever when it was clearly just a mistake (or maybe not if the club were putting it out there that it was Bojang for cynical reasons as was suggested earlier in the thread)
It's probably racist, unless the criteria for twins is just that they have a similar skin colour.
No one is hounding Garry here, and it's fine to point out that maybe he should think twice about saying two black players look like twins otherwise how is he going to learn?
They look nothing alike, I am not sure how you could get them confused. 2604026041
20-07-2022, 08:04 AM
Unfortunately this is true. Never happy unless they can find some slight angle to get offended by.
Who are the mysterious "they" you refer to?
20-07-2022, 08:06 AM
It’s a big can of worms. They don’t look alike other than black. So to say they are like twins would assume he hasn’t looked past their skin colour. Wether that’s racist and just inherited behaviour is another question.
20-07-2022, 08:08 AM
If you don't think it is racist then you are part of the problem.
Whatever the motivation for the comment, either as an explicit or even as a subliminal racist one, it doesn't alter the fact that it was offensive.
20-07-2022, 08:12 AM
It's probably racist, unless the criteria for twins is just that they have a similar skin colour.
No one is hounding Garry here, and it's fine to point out that maybe he should think twice about saying two black players look like twins otherwise how is he going to learn?
They look nothing alike, I am not sure how you could get them confused. 2604026041
You’re looking at them from pictures directly in front of you. He’s probably seen them both in passing and got them mixed up watching them from pitch level a decent distance away. He clearly shouldn’t have said they look like twins however I still see that as an honest innocent mistake than anything racist.
HIBS NUTS
20-07-2022, 08:13 AM
It’s a big can of worms. They don’t look alike other than black. So to say they are like twins would assume he hasn’t looked past their skin colour. Wether that’s racist and just inherited behaviour is another question.
I was trying to point out early, not very successfully ,that some of words and phases used are inherited, depending on your age background, and intellect.
Let’s give him the benefit of the doubt, and move onto how good it is for a new signing to score 5 goals. 😄
OldEast
20-07-2022, 08:14 AM
Who are the mysterious "they" you refer to?
You're having a laugh surely? It's the new normal across social media.
20-07-2022, 08:17 AM
Not everyone will agree (I'm sure) but I see the 2 big games in August as the Derby and Rangers.
If we lost all other games but won those two I'd be calling it a highly enjoyable start to my season.
So I think it's not necesarily a bad thing that we've signed a cracking player (going by the cameo v Burton that I watched) and he's been kept out of the opposition scouts' eyes.
Bury the Jambos and the British, that's all I ask
Latapy'sVolley
20-07-2022, 08:19 AM
If Youan is able to play for the Dev Squad, does that mean his work permit has come through?
Saw it was only Tavares being mentioned as available for selection tonight so maybe not?
20-07-2022, 08:20 AM
You’re looking at them from pictures directly in front of you. He’s probably seen them both in passing and got them mixed up watching them from pitch level a decent distance away. He clearly shouldn’t have said they look like twins however I still see that as an honest innocent mistake than anything racist.
More worried we will get Ewan and Youan confused on the audio and radio commentary 😁
20-07-2022, 08:22 AM
Do we have triplets if we throw Rocky into the mix too?
[emoji848]
I'm not sure what's in O'connors head but it isn't brains that's for sure
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
20-07-2022, 08:23 AM
Ironically I remember Garry O'Connor scoring five for the reserves up at Dens Park. Sure it was five he got.
20-07-2022, 08:25 AM
It is racist, it doesn't have to be malicious to be racist and can be an innocent mistake/learned behavior, and people pointing it out so he can not do it next time or at least think about is totally fine.
There is no big scandal here, especially on this forum is just people saying these men don't look like twins this was possibly racist so he should think about what he's saying. The people most annoyed seem to be a couple of posters that don't like the fact someone has tried to correct Garry.
20-07-2022, 08:26 AM
My brother used to get David Gray and Dylan Mcgeouch mixed up on a weekly basis and they don't look that alike
20-07-2022, 08:27 AM
You have me here. What is this "new normal" you refer to?
cameronw-hfc
20-07-2022, 08:33 AM
I think it's pretty obviously racist, but that doesn't mean Garry is racist. He's just as thick as it gets and I'd bet 99% chance he has no idea how harmful the narrative he posted actually is. I didn't post it to get him in trouble, this is a forum where I come to spill my thoughts, like many others and if I see something I want to mention/talk to people about, isn't a forum the place to do that?
It's also not making it racist, it is, but not everything racist comes from a racist. Some people are just woefully misinformed, and Gary almost definitely is. The only way to combat these harmful views whether accidentally or on purpose is to talk about them, if we just ignore it then that's adding to the problem.
I also don't think there's anyone that's replied that thinks he's a racist, but he's a bit dim and made a racist comment most likely unintentionally.
And for the comments confused about why it's racist, im pretty sure growing up we all heard the vulgar "all black people look the same" statements, Gary saying "they're like twins" when they look completely different is inherently racist, albeit from a place of ignorance rather than hateful.
20-07-2022, 08:34 AM
My brother used to get David Gray and Dylan Mcgeouch mixed up on a weekly basis and they don't look that alike
Both bald. Back to Gary it is like all Chinese look the same. The subtle racism is passed on through generations. Those around average intelligence spot it before it leaves their mouths.
I remember the debate about coconuts on here and being described as a Latin drug cartel. Same issue but we had lots of culprits on here defending their racism. It is just not limited to sub saharan Africans.
20-07-2022, 08:35 AM
Your brother is Baldist ! :greengrin
I once told my mate that Deek had scored (Cork V Hibs pre season friendly over in Ireland) only to be told by another Hibby that it was Sam Morrow (they bloody did look like twins at one point !)...getting players mixed up isn't the issue here though. As other have pointed out, the suggestion that two black guys are "Like twins" when really the only thing visually they have in common is that they are both black, is offensive and could be deemed racist. Someone with any understanding of the issues (particularly someone in the public eye) would have more sense than to make a joke like Gary made, because they would realise that it would cause offence. I dont doubt it's ignorance rather than racisim in Gary's case, but that doesn't really excuse it.
cameronw-hfc
20-07-2022, 08:38 AM
The new normal to call out dangerous statements and behaviour? Have a word with yourself. I hope it keeps happening, as people who don't mean it won't learn otherwise unless called out, and people who do mean it, well, even more reason to call it out.
Nobody is accusing Gary of being a racist, but he made a racist statement and it's a learning moment for him. I've made racist statements and been called out on them.
I've got a gay friend involved in football, I often say things that are offensive to him, but im learning and still somewhat ignorant despite trying to get better, I get called out on it and it helps me improve as a person and knowing what's offensive to someone I don't relate to in that sense, otherwise I'd probably still be nonethewiser on some of these things, and I'm only 23, so part of the "woke" generation as some would say.
We all learn from mistakes, mistakes don't define you but they do need corrected when they impact others and racist statements impact others
OldEast
20-07-2022, 08:41 AM
You have me here. What is this "new normal" you refer to?
You're at it mate. You know exactly what I mean. I'm offended at your condescending tone, that's the new normal get it?
20-07-2022, 08:44 AM
You're at it mate. You know exactly what I mean. I'm offended at your condescending tone, that's the new normal get it?
I'd hope the new normal is educating people so they dont continue to pass down ill advised behaviors. Eventually we may end up with a better society at the end of it. Will be long after we are gone though due to the other new normal of people becoming more right wing and intolerant.
cameronw-hfc
20-07-2022, 08:48 AM
You're too far gone to even bother with. Educate yourself before spewing more drivel.
20-07-2022, 08:53 AM
Don't worry I get it alright.
OldEast
20-07-2022, 08:54 AM
You're too far gone to even bother with. Educate yourself before spewing more drivel.
Fair enough young fella. I wouldn't speak that way to someone I disagree with though. Maybe it's a generational thing, the new normal? 😂😂😂
20-07-2022, 08:57 AM
But it's ok for you to call Garry thick and dim? That's out of order too and you wouldn't even attempt to say that to his face.
cameronw-hfc
20-07-2022, 08:57 AM
Fair enough young fella. I wouldn't speak that way to someone I disagree with though. Maybe it's a generational thing, the new normal? 😂😂😂
Dunno, is it a generational thing to defend racism?
cameronw-hfc
20-07-2022, 08:58 AM
But it's ok for you to call Garry thick and dim? That's out of order too and you wouldn't even attempt to say that to his face.
Well he's either being thick/dim or racist here, I know what id rather be. I'd say im thick/dim as well if I posted saying two black lads are basically twins.
20-07-2022, 09:07 AM
I think it's pretty obviously racist, but that doesn't mean Garry is racist. He's just as thick as it gets and I'd bet 99% chance he has no idea how harmful the narrative he posted actually is. I didn't post it to get him in trouble, this is a forum where I come to spill my thoughts, like many others and if I see something I want to mention/talk to people about, isn't a forum the place to do that?
It's also not making it racist, it is, but not everything racist comes from a racist. Some people are just woefully misinformed, and Gary almost definitely is. The only way to combat these harmful views whether accidentally or on purpose is to talk about them, if we just ignore it then that's adding to the problem.
I also don't think there's anyone that's replied that thinks he's a racist, but he's a bit dim and made a racist comment most likely unintentionally.
And for the comments confused about why it's racist, im pretty sure growing up we all heard the vulgar "all black people look the same" statements, Gary saying "they're like twins" when they look completely different is inherently racist, albeit from a place of ignorance rather than hateful.
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 09:11 AM
Are Bojang and Youan not pretty much the same height and very similar build as well?
If they are then I know that they’d be as well being ‘twins’ to me from a distance when you’ve not got running or playing styles to help you distinguish them since you’ve never seen them play before, much the same as two skinny 6ft2 white guys with dark hair that I’d never seen play before who are wearing the exact same thing would be pretty indistinguishable from a distance as well.
Quite clearly he’d have been better using different terminology as he’s offended some folk but I’d agree it’s not really racist imo and I very much doubt he’d be calling them twins if he’d been standing talking to them from a couple of yards away and been able to distinguish between them easier.
20-07-2022, 09:12 AM
Back discussing his footballing abilities, really looking forward to seeing him play for Hibs, he obviously knows where the back of the net is.
Assuming he's going to be played as a central striker it will certainly give us options across the front when everyone is fit and available
Youan
Bojang
Nisbet
Doidge
McGeady
Tavares
Melkerson
Then off course Henderson can play further forward as can Mitchell.
20-07-2022, 09:13 AM
To be fair, I’m pretty sure Chelsea and other EPL clubs were doing ‘blood spinning’ at that time too.
Not sure if it’s since been banned or just shown to be ineffective.
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 09:14 AM
Back discussing his footballing abilities, really looking forward to seeing him play for Hibs, he obviously knows where the back of the net is.
Assuming he's going to be played as a central striker it will certainly give us options across the front when everyone is fit and available
Youan
Bojang
Nisbet
Doidge
McGeady
Tavares
Melkerson
Then off course Henderson can play further forward as can Mitchell.
I reckon he’ll be our first pick striker imo and wouldn’t be surprised to see Nisbet struggle for starts this season once he’s back.
OldEast
20-07-2022, 09:19 AM
I reckon he’ll be our first pick striker imo and wouldn’t be surprised to see Nisbet struggle for starts this season once he’s back.
I think he'll be first choice too. Maybe Doidge might eventually drop out of favour? Whatever happens our forward choices look much better this season.
20-07-2022, 09:49 AM
Are Bojang and Youan not pretty much the same height and very similar build as well?
If they are then I know that they’d be as well being ‘twins’ to me from a distance when you’ve not got running or playing styles to help you distinguish them since you’ve never seen them play before, much the same as two skinny 6ft2 white guys with dark hair that I’d never seen play before who are wearing the exact same thing would be pretty indistinguishable from a distance as well.
Quite clearly he’d have been better using different terminology as he’s offended some folk but I’d agree it’s not really racist imo and I very much doubt he’d be calling them twins if he’d been standing talking to them from a couple of yards away and been able to distinguish between them easier.
Why do you have to make up a story to justify it? Can you not just accept he should not be calling them twins and move on?
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 10:01 AM
Why do you have to make up a story to justify it? Can you not just accept he should not be calling them twins and move on?
Because it shows how easy it is for people to be indistinguishable on a football pitch.
Move on? It’s my first post. I’ll move on when I feel like it. You think it’s racist, other people don’t. Maybe you should just accept other peoples view point and move on? Or does that not work for you?
Maybe Nisbet will wait until Youan has played his first SPL game for Hibs before he starts fretting?
20-07-2022, 10:03 AM
Because it shows how easy it is for people to be indistinguishable on a football pitch.
Move on? It’s my first post. I’ll move on when I feel like it. You think it’s racist, other people don’t. Maybe you should just accept other peoples view point and move on? Or does that not work for you?
Your viewpoint is racist if you agree with Garry and think they look like twins.
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 10:04 AM
Maybe Nisbet will wait until Youan has played his first SPL game for Hibs before he starts fretting?
Maybe Nisbet won’t fret at all?
Maybe Youan likes pizza?
Why are we making random comments? :confused:
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 10:05 AM
Your viewpoint is racist if you agree with Garry and think they look like twins.
Did I say they look like twins?
20-07-2022, 10:10 AM
Did I say they look like twins?
Garry did, and you wrote a big story about how it's not racist because of the distance/height/build, but calling them twins is racist, and no amount of qualifying statements will change that.
I said "IF" you agree with him they are twins your viewpoint is racist. So do you agree with him that they look like twins or not?
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 10:12 AM
Garry did, and you wrote a big story about how it's not racist because of the distance/height/build, but calling them twins is racist, and no amount of qualifying statements will change that.
I said "IF" you agree with him they are twins your viewpoint is racist. So do you agree with him that they look like twins or not?
Qualifying statements really do change that. You just don’t want them to change it because you desperately want to brand it as racist. You’ve decided Garry’s said it due to their skin colour, why am I not allowed to suggest it’s based on build? Or hair colour? Or their boots? Maybe a combination of some/all of the above? Why are you the only one who’s allowed to decide why Garry said it?
It wouldn’t be racist for a person of colour to say that about two similar height, similar build, same hair colour white people if they were standing a reasonable distance away from them imo. As I said, I very much doubt Garry would have said they looked like twins had he been standing talking to the two of them face to face and I’m more than happy to put it down to Garry suggesting that he couldn’t tell who was who from where he was standing. That’s absolutely not racist.
I don’t agree with him that they look like twins. I can absolutely see why they’d be indistinguishable from each other from about 50 yards away though when you’ve never seen them before. Something that would be the exact same with identical twins, hence why they’re ‘like twins’.
Likewise I’ve no doubt he would never have said Tavares made them look like triplets, because he’s quite clearly distinguishable from Bojang and Youan, even from a distance.
20-07-2022, 10:13 AM
Garry was a great player but was and apparently still is, thicker than a donkeys dick.
20-07-2022, 10:13 AM
I was the same, much to annoyance of my laddies. If they were black players would that suddenly make me racist? He’s obviously not the sharpest tool in the box, I’ll go with that instead of labeling him racist.
20-07-2022, 10:27 AM
I thought that was generally understood well before this incident.
20-07-2022, 10:59 AM
I was the same, much to annoyance of my laddies. If they were black players would that suddenly make me racist? He’s obviously not the sharpest tool in the box, I’ll go with that instead of labeling him racist.
He shouldn't have made the twins comment but I agree that getting them confused isn't racist in itself
20-07-2022, 11:04 AM
Admins - any chance you could do some housekeeping and remove the GOC induced posts. This thread should be a positive thread on a player who we all hope is going to be a major star in the SPFL.
NC1875
20-07-2022, 11:06 AM
Would’ve been more sensible for the initial poster to have just kept the comments to himself.
20-07-2022, 11:06 AM
It would certainly be a good problem to have ! It would be fantastic if we have really unearthed a proper, mobile, aggressive, goal scorer, who get's in behind and scores classy finishes as well as getting his laces through shots and banging a few in from distance.
We really have no idea how it's going to pan out this season but having Youan and Bojang in the squad alongside Tavares, Kenneh, McGeady and a revitalised Ewan Henderson really gives me cause for optimism. One more centre back and an exciting sigining in central midfield and I will start acting like a 15 year old at a Boyzone concert :greengrin
20-07-2022, 11:08 AM
A top player would rise to the challenge anyway. If Youan starts smashing the goals in then it should drive Nisbet on to come back better.
Mcbizz1998
20-07-2022, 11:10 AM
Maybe they do look like twins…..when watching them from far away on a football pitch?
I always get confused between JDH and Henderson when I watch them. Both blonde, both pale, similar build etc. I would go as far as to say that from far away, they could be twins!
Everything is racist though [emoji849]
20-07-2022, 11:17 AM
Maybe they do look like twins…..when watching them from far away on a football pitch?
I always get confused between JDH and Henderson when I watch them. Both blonde, both pale, similar build etc. I would go as far as to say that from far away, they could be twins!
They probably do look similar from afar but you wouldn't say it online. Surely you'd think "hmm that might look a bit racist I'd better not". Garry played with, and against plenty black lads so I don't think for a second he is racist but he hasn't thought about what be posted.
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 11:21 AM
There can be no qualifying statements or context in the court of Hibs.net (unless of course it’s wholly misleading context, like posting face on close ups of the players, a view and distance which I think it’s safe to assume Garry wasn’t looking at them from and asking how they look alike).
This is absolutely racist.
20-07-2022, 11:25 AM
They probably do look similar from afar but you wouldn't say it online. Surely you'd think "hmm that might look a bit racist I'd better not". Garry played with, and against plenty black lads so I don't think for a second he is racist but he hasn't thought about what be posted.
Yep. I don’t think anyone would argue him getting mixed up between the two of them is racist but he surely must have realised saying “they are like twins” could be construed as being racist.
HIBS NUTS
20-07-2022, 11:31 AM
Admins - any chance you could do some housekeeping and remove the GOC induced posts. This thread should be a positive thread on a player who we all hope is going to be a major star in the SPFL.
Agree 100 percent, keep this thread on the new centreforward, if this keeps up the west coast press will be calling the hibs family racist, after picking up on the comments of what an old player said or didn’t say , it’s what they do.
WestStandWillie
20-07-2022, 11:37 AM
This thread has hit an oil slick and is heading for a crash :rolleyes:
I'm really excited to see Youan play this season. Thought he was quite quiet against Hartlepool but he came into his ain against Burton with a well taken goal.
The finish itself was a touch o' class.
Think we've got an awfy good player on oor hands!
Mcbizz1998
20-07-2022, 11:38 AM
Not everybody see’s everything through the prism of race.
If they look similar from afar and that’s what he meant, then it’s not racist in anyway. Not saying it because you are worried about being seen as racist is pathetic.
20-07-2022, 11:44 AM
Not everybody see’s everything through the prism of race.
If they look similar from afar and that’s what he meant, then it’s not racist in anyway. Not saying it because you are worried about being seen as racist is pathetic.
If it was deemed pathetic to be conscientious about the way things we say (despite telling ourselves they’re not racist) might be construed, we’d likely still be stuck in the 70s in terms of progression with racism.
Don’t get me wrong, I (and probably everyone) don’t think Gary’s some big horrible racist. He’s just been daft, as he often is.
Mcbizz1998
20-07-2022, 11:47 AM
If it was deemed pathetic to be conscientious about the way things we say (despite telling ourselves they’re not racist) might be construed, we’d likely still be stuck in the 70s in terms of progression with racism.
Don’t get me wrong, I (and probably everyone) don’t think Gary’s some big horrible racist. He’s just been daft, as he often is.
I think it’s racist to not say things about black people that I would about white people, based on the colour of their skin.
20-07-2022, 12:11 PM
If you feel the need to justfy or explain away a racist comment then you are part of the problem.
20-07-2022, 12:13 PM
Looking forward to seeing him this season, got high hopes
20-07-2022, 12:19 PM
he looks like he could be a cracking player though eh !!!:greengrin:greengrin
20-07-2022, 12:22 PM
I was hoping Youan's work permit would be through in time for him to play tonight. Hopefully he can get at least an hour against Norwich.
He definitely seems to be the one player at a decent age who has a decent calibre that we've signed so far.
jakeshibs
20-07-2022, 12:27 PM
Please can we use this forum to talk about Youan and not GOC
Can anyone post the goals he scored in the developmental game as would like to see.
Hopefully he will go on to score many more for our club GGTTH
20-07-2022, 12:28 PM
Guessing the work permit for Youan isn't through yet since Hibs posted about Jair but not him, which is a shame as going in to the game after scoring 5 he'll have some confidence of hitting the net.
Mcbizz1998
20-07-2022, 12:30 PM
Please can we use this forum to talk about Youan and not GOC
Can anyone post the goals he scored in the developmental game as would like to see.
Hopefully he will go on to score many more for our club GGTTH
Fair enough mate, I was in the process of responding to the G’OC stuff but let’s move on.
I am really looking forward seeing this lad. I was gutted he never featured v Clyde (along with Tavarez). Hopefully he can get a run tonight.
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 12:40 PM
If you feel the need to justfy or explain away a racist comment then you are part of the problem.
No, I’m really not, as much as it’s a nice edgy sound bite.
It’s not a racist comment, there’s nothing to explain away. That comment doesn’t even comes close to falling into the definition of racism.
People screaming ‘racist’ at things that aren’t actually racist only harm the effort for equality. It takes away from the seriousness of actual genuine racist comments when people start desperately trying to turn non-racist comments into racist ones.
Anyway, I’m not going to carry on with the debate as the thread should really be about Youan and his goalscoring exploits.
20-07-2022, 03:21 PM
Your brother must be a racist.
HendoDelivered
20-07-2022, 03:47 PM
10-15 goals for him this season I reckon.
20-07-2022, 03:56 PM
For a thread that started off the positively it’s become painful reading. Can we not just celebrate the new boy, discuss what he might bring to the team & rejoice in his 5 goal spree no one can see clips of now.
20 goals for the season….based on nothing but optimism and the little i’ve seen him play.
20-07-2022, 03:59 PM
Did he really grab all goals in a 5-0 win ?
20-07-2022, 04:16 PM
No, I’m really not, as much as it’s a nice edgy sound bite.
It’s not a racist comment, there’s nothing to explain away. That comment doesn’t even comes close to falling into the definition of racism.
People screaming ‘racist’ at things that aren’t actually racist only harm the effort for equality. It takes away from the seriousness of actual genuine racist comments when people start desperately trying to turn non-racist comments into racist ones.
Anyway, I’m not going to carry on with the debate as the thread should really be about Youan and his goalscoring exploits.
No one is screaming "racist" though, it's been pointed out politely that what he said is racist and that he shouldn't say that. You keep trying to explain this away and say it's not racist for some reason and I have no idea why.
20-07-2022, 04:16 PM
Did he really grab all goals in a 5-0 win ?
Unfortunately not.................................Norwich scored a late goal to make it 5-1:greengrin
20-07-2022, 04:18 PM
Qualifying statements really do change that. You just don’t want them to change it because you desperately want to brand it as racist. You’ve decided Garry’s said it due to their skin colour, why am I not allowed to suggest it’s based on build? Or hair colour? Or their boots? Maybe a combination of some/all of the above? Why are you the only one who’s allowed to decide why Garry said it?
It wouldn’t be racist for a person of colour to say that about two similar height, similar build, same hair colour white people if they were standing a reasonable distance away from them imo. As I said, I very much doubt Garry would have said they looked like twins had he been standing talking to the two of them face to face and I’m more than happy to put it down to Garry suggesting that he couldn’t tell who was who from where he was standing. That’s absolutely not racist.
I don’t agree with him that they look like twins. I can absolutely see why they’d be indistinguishable from each other from about 50 yards away though when you’ve never seen them before. Something that would be the exact same with identical twins, hence why they’re ‘like twins’.
Likewise I’ve no doubt he would never have said Tavares made them look like triplets, because he’s quite clearly distinguishable from Bojang and Youan, even from a distance.
They don't have a similar build, hairstyle or currently even facial hair, their face shape is totally different too. Keep on digging this hole though.
20-07-2022, 04:30 PM
Unfortunately not.................................Norwich scored a late goal to make it 5-1:greengrin
that's very very impressive :agree: Looking forward to seeing this boy play
Paulie Walnuts
20-07-2022, 04:35 PM
No one is screaming "racist" though, it's been pointed out politely that what he said is racist and that he shouldn't say that. You keep trying to explain this away and say it's not racist for some reason and I have no idea why.
You have no idea why?
Because it’s not racist imo and I really don’t think I could make that any clearer. That’s why and it’s absolutely not fair to suggest someone is making racist comments when they’re not. It comes absolutely nowhere near fitting the definition for racist although I’m sure you couldn’t give a hoot about actual definitions as you’ve already dodged that point once and you’re clearly simply desperate to declare this as racist.
Racist is a powerful, serious word. Using it willy nilly decreases the power and seriousness of it if you’re going to throw it around in situations where something racist hasn’t been said.
They’re both athletic, 6ft, slim, have short black hair and if you think anyone is able to see the minimal facial hair either of them have from 70 yards away then you’re simply at the wind up.
Anyway, I did say I’m not going to carry on the debate as this should be about how good a start he’s made in the friendlies, so I’m out.
20-07-2022, 04:49 PM
Saying someone looks like someone isn't racist.
JammyDoidger
20-07-2022, 04:51 PM
Close this thread man, situation out of nothing. It's easy to see why he would have got them mixed up, especially if he's never seen either of them before and they both play the same position.
OldEast
20-07-2022, 04:56 PM
You have no idea why?
Because it’s not racist imo and I really don’t think I could make that any clearer. That’s why and it’s absolutely not fair to suggest someone is making racist comments when they’re not. It comes absolutely nowhere near fitting the definition for racist although I’m sure you couldn’t give a hoot about actual definitions as you’re simply desperate to declare this as racist.
Racist is a powerful, serious word. Using it willy nilly decreases the power and seriousness of it if you’re going to throw it around in situations where something racist hasn’t been said.
They’re both athletic, 6ft, slim, have short black hair and if you think anyone is able to see the minimal facial hair either of them have from 70 yards away then you’re simply at the wind up.
Anyway, I did say I’m not going to carry on the debate as this should be about how good a start he’s made in the friendlies, so I’m out.
As I said earlier, people not happy unless they can find something to be offended about. Of course this wasn't racism.
Your brother must be a racist.
No, he's Graycist.
hibbie02
20-07-2022, 05:04 PM
A classic example of a positive thread spoiled. Too many folk on here too anxious to demonstrate their virtuous credentials and not enough about the player the thread is about. Makes this site a nightmare to navigate.
FWIW I’m looking forward to see Youan play and hope he is a huge success at Hibs!
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
20-07-2022, 05:06 PM
that's very very impressive :agree: Looking forward to seeing this boy play
Me too Andy
OldEast
20-07-2022, 05:08 PM
A classic example of a positive thread spoiled. Too many folk on here too anxious to demonstrate their virtuous credentials and not enough about to player the thread is about. Makes this site a nightmare to navigate.
FWIW I’m looking forward to see Youan play and hope he is a huge success at Hibs!
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
I'm sure he'll be a success. I know the league is a different ball game to the development side but how much confidence will these goals have given him. A real exciting prospect.
20-07-2022, 05:10 PM
Me too Andy
I was until i found out he never scored the Norwich goal too.
20-07-2022, 05:18 PM
If he hadn't been substituted before they scored then I think he would have got that as well.:thumbsup:
20-07-2022, 05:20 PM
Was it Bojang who scored that one? :wink:
OldEast
20-07-2022, 05:22 PM
Was it Bojang who scored that one? :wink:
😂😂😂😂😂😂
20-07-2022, 05:38 PM
Is there any footage of the goals anywhere?
20-07-2022, 06:28 PM
That was because he single handedly broke up the Tornados behind Eddie Turnbulls back. Apparently. Ahem.
Turnbull was the only person who single-handedly broke up that great team.
21-07-2022, 12:56 AM
The pressure on this guy to be good is huge
21-07-2022, 01:39 AM
No point putting pressure on this lad or any of the new signing while we still play Newell in midfield. Until we fix that, we’ll be crap regardless.
21-07-2022, 07:08 AM
No point putting pressure on this lad or any of the new signing while we still play Newell in midfield. Until we fix that, we’ll be crap regardless.
Yeah because we have never win a single game that he has started.
It's all very well wanting better, we all do, but what use does hyperbolic drivel like this serve.
NC1875
21-07-2022, 07:50 AM
Yeah because we have never win a single game that he has started.
It's all very well wanting better, we all do, but what use does hyperbolic drivel like this serve.
You have to be kidding ? How anyone can watch Joe Newell last season and this season and think he should start every week is beyond me. He slows everything down, takes 5 touches to then make a sideways pass, swans about never once see him break into more than a jog. The guy is one of our main problems.
21-07-2022, 08:29 AM
You have to be kidding ? How anyone can watch Joe Newell last season and this season and think he should start every week is beyond me. He slows everything down, takes 5 touches to then make a sideways pass, swans about never once see him break into more than a jog. The guy is one of our main problems.
I didn't say he should be starting every week.
I merely pointed out we do sometimes win games he starts in.
McGruber
21-07-2022, 08:31 AM
Yeah, Chris Mueller vibes
21-07-2022, 08:42 AM
Not really. You had a bit of a dig in a snidey manner, calling the post hyperbole and drivel!
That's not 'merely pointing out' anything :na na:
21-07-2022, 08:52 AM
He looks like he will score for fun But am more concerned about thst performance last night when there was pressure to beat a team bottom of the group
Ross got us to Hampden in every competition we were in Maloney did likewise
Lee has failed dismally T the first hurdle To not win the group sets alarm bells ringing
21-07-2022, 09:05 AM
Not really. You had a bit of a dig in a snidey manner, calling the post hyperbole and drivel!
That's not 'merely pointing out' anything :na na:
Hello Mr Pot it's Mr Kettle here.
21-07-2022, 11:58 AM
Hello Mr Pot it's Mr Kettle here.
Even with a smiley to show it was a bit of fun. Ah well.
Show me where I had a snidey dig at someone....
Hibiza
22-07-2022, 03:19 PM
22-07-2022, 03:31 PM
It is but if he's the real deal he'll revel in it. He certainly seems to have a bit of arrogance about him.
Jpdhfc
22-07-2022, 05:27 PM
Correct
22-07-2022, 06:20 PM
Can Youan and Cabraja play Sunday?
22-07-2022, 06:21 PM
you say that but how do you know he didn’t sneak back on in a Norwich shirt at the end ?
HendoDelivered
22-07-2022, 06:36 PM
Can Youan and Cabraja play Sunday?
It’s a friendly, so I’m guessing yeah. As Youan played in the friendlies in Portugal.
22-07-2022, 06:47 PM
Not many in the last 10 calendar months thats for sure....hes a poor excuse for a football player
22-07-2022, 06:56 PM
Not many in the last 10 calendar months thats for sure....hes a poor excuse for a football player
Ffs. What an over exaggerated post…would get a game for every team outside of the OF
22-07-2022, 06:59 PM
Ffs. What an over exaggerated post…would get a game for every team outside of the OF
If you're talking about Newell, then absolutely no chance. His poor performances wouldn't be tolerated at Hearts or Aberdeen for as long as we've persevered with him IMO.
22-07-2022, 07:00 PM
If you're talking about Newell, then absolutely no chance. His poor performances wouldn't be tolerated at Hearts or Aberdeen for as long as we've persevered with him IMO.
Yes talking about Newell. Goodwin would love to sign him ..
22-07-2022, 07:05 PM
Hearts have just finished above us for the first time since Jesus was in nappies and Aberdeen have finished below us two seasons running. What makes you think he wouldn't be a key part of their squads?
22-07-2022, 07:08 PM
The 0-0 Derby ER Derby he completely outplayed beningame who was by far and away hearts best centre mid last season.
22-07-2022, 07:11 PM
Hearts have just finished above us for the first time since Jesus was in nappies and Aberdeen have finished below us two seasons running. What makes you think he wouldn't be a key part of their squads?
Because he's absolutely gash time and again?
22-07-2022, 07:13 PM
The 0-0 Derby ER Derby he completely outplayed beningame who was by far and away hearts best centre mid last season.
He would easily get game time there too - he’d have to play well to start every week - when we are fully fit, that will be the same here too ..he’s had little competition for his place - that’s allowed him to keep starting when he’s been off the boil . The criticism of him after Tuesday was way out of balance - there were a number worse ..Kenneh, Doidge and Miller are examples - others too
22-07-2022, 07:13 PM
That famous 0-0 draw. He then got the runaround from Andy Halliday in the next derby and sent off the one after that.
22-07-2022, 07:15 PM
:agree: Short memories indeed.
I’m the first to admit Newell sometimes has frustrating days but some of the hyperbole on here is just ridiculous. He’s not Ed De Graaf. He’s not Jarkko Wiss. I honestly think there is a toxic culture among our support that is WORSE than other supports. Form an orderly queue to accuse me of spouting pish and that ‘we’re no different to other fans’ but FFS some of the baby tantrums, singling out players and outright refusal to be honest about facts is just pathetic.
22-07-2022, 07:17 PM
That famous 0-0 draw. He then got the runaround from Andy Halliday in the next derby and sent off the one after that.
OK. So the facts don’t fit so you move onto the next game where he didn’t do as well. Reality Check for you, NO-ONE is saying he plays well in every game. So there’s literally no point at all in your post.
22-07-2022, 07:19 PM
OK. So the facts don’t fit so you move onto the next game where he didn’t do as well. Reality Check for you, NO-ONE is saying he plays well in every game. So there’s literally no point at all in your post.
So was there any point in the other post, talking about the game where he did play well? Or was that one ok because it spoke about him positively?
Hibiza
22-07-2022, 07:20 PM
:agree: Short memories indeed.
I’m the first to admit Newell sometimes has frustrating days but some of the hyperbole on here is just ridiculous. He’s not Ed De Graaf. He’s not Jarkko Wiss. I honestly think there is a toxic culture among our support that is WORSE than other supports. Form an orderly queue to accuse me of spouting pish and that ‘we’re no different to other fans’ but FFS some of the baby tantrums, singling out players and outright refusal to be honest about facts is just pathetic.
Give Jarrko a run for his money ,in my humble.
22-07-2022, 07:21 PM
So was there any point in the other post, talking about the game where he did play well? Or was that one ok because it spoke about him positively?
Yes. Because everything you have written suggests the boy NEVER plays well. I’m saying he SOMETIMES does.
22-07-2022, 07:22 PM
He seems to pick and choose when he can be arsed and that’s what bothers me about him. That and the fact he should score far more than he does. When he does get a chance it’s normally absolutely pathetic, with the odd exception of course.
There’s a very good player in there but if I was LJ I wouldn’t gamble on him being reliable or consistent.
22-07-2022, 07:26 PM
Jesus Christ go argue about Newell in one of the other 5,719 threads about him
supermcginn
22-07-2022, 07:27 PM
Behave 😂
22-07-2022, 07:40 PM
Yes. Because everything you have written suggests the boy NEVER plays well. I’m saying he SOMETIMES does.
Don’t think that’s right. He does play well, sometimes.